Prime Minister Owen Arthur delivered the country from the suspense which it has been griped for weeks by announcing January 15, 2008 as the day Barbadians will go to the polls. Nomination Day will be December 31, 2007. In a much heralded press conference which was used by the media to boost advertising revenue, Arthur rang the bell to announce the upcoming general election loudly.
For most Barbadians who have not become completely apathetic, this general election will be one of the most interesting since Independence in 1966. Many factors have interacted to ensure that this will be the case:
-
Many people still have a question mark about the ability of Leader of the Opposition David Thompson to lead Barbados
-
What about the ‘tiredness factor’ which many blame on a third term government
-
Let us not forget the significant overruns on major government projects at a time when the escalating cost of living is impacting many ordinary Barbadians
-
Barbadians had to endure the embarrassing situation of the Mascoll/Thompson conflict which almost caused the country to implode and by extension threatened to rock the political stability of Barbados. How will they response given what they have had to endure?
Although the points above are by no means exhaustive, they provide a snapshot view of the many factors at play that will make this a most interesting general election.
We anticipate that the nature of the upcoming campaign will trigger, and we use the Prime Minister’s parlance, muscular debate and commentary. In anticipation of this, Barbados Underground will flip the switch that will moderate all comments from January 1, 2008.

126 responses so far ↓
Silent Observer // December 20, 2007 at 6:34 PM
The time has come for all Barbadians of goodwill to come to the rescue of this country by ditching Owing Arthur and the Barbados Labour Party. The BLP has failed the majority of Barbadians, especially the poor, the marginalized, the youth, women who have supported him in three elections. The only people who have benefited are the rich who have never had it so good. This election campaign is a fight for our children and grandchildren who stand to become slaves if this BLP government is not voted out of office. The BLP fraudsters will use all types of tricks to confuse you. They will badmouth David Thompson and the DLP but that is a diversionary tactic. David Thompson is a competent young man who is decent and caring and means well. He is not like Owen Arthur who has used Barbadians as the means to an end. Go back to 1994 and see how many promises he has made to Barbadians and has not kept. Barbadians are worse off than they were in 1994 while the rich backers of the BLP, who are planning to wash Barbados with money during the campaign as part of the BLP’s tricks, are richer and better off. The merchants exploited the people, took their prices through the roof, caused poor women and children to go hungry and suffer. Owen Arthur did nothing. Only when elections were getting near, it seemed as if he only then realized that Barbadians were suffering. Have you ever wondered how many people may have died because they could not afford to eat properly and it aggravated their diabetes and other health problems. If your mother or grandmother or a relative died as a result of this neglect, you have to blame Owen Arthur and the BLP. The time has come for Barbadians to take back this country from Owen Arthur and his bunch. You heard him saying last weekend that he wants to establish a dictatorship. He wants to lock up people who criticise him. Remember Hitler. Remember Burnham. Do you see how many Guyanese have had to flee Guyana? It is because of the dictatorship. Do you want the same for Barbados? Do you want to become refugees like the Guyanese, making yourselves a nuisance in other people’s countries. No! I am sure you don’t . Then you have to get rid of Owen Arthur because that is where he wants to take you. It is time to give the Dems a chance. The Dems is the party which has built up Barbados. Honour Errol Barrow’s legacy. He gave you education so that you can see through the tricks of the BLP and others who want to keep you down. Make January 15 a day to remember. Vote out the BLP in a landslide. Say goodbye because Owen is owning and open the door to change and new opportunities. Barbados deserves better.
David // December 20, 2007 at 6:59 PM
A bit of trivia.
There was a time when many people would log to BU from .bb domains (government of Barbados). In recent months they have all stopped. Were they blocked.
Roger Rabbitt // December 20, 2007 at 7:19 PM
For the last five weeks I have not made any comments on either of these blogs. I was getting fed up with the drivel coming from both sides of the fence.
There are comments from ppl like WIV, Hants and even Frankology which I enjoy reading, even though Frank TRIES to be smart and hide his leaning. There are some others.
What I disliked was the way the BLP yardfowls were using offensive and fowl language. I hope that these same ppl would either change their style or keep off the blogs, but i fear that it will get worse if not moderated.
We have more than enough reasons to get rid of this lot. We were fed nothing but lies and arrogance by the government MPs. We are still awaiting answers to a host of questions which will not be forthcoming as there is no need to answer to anyone. Yet we have ppl who are so shortsighted that they see nothing wrong in voting for the BLP a fourth time.
Everytime a candidate shows up on our doorstep we need to ask him/her some serious questions and demand some honest answers. Of course the sitting BLP members should be asked to account for his/her stewardship.
Come to think of it, is there anything outstanding that ANY minister can point to and declare it a success? Is there ONE thing that stands out as being of note?
These are some of questions that the lackies and yardfowls need to address before we can begin to entertain any meaningful discussion between now and polling day.
Roger.
Anonymous // December 20, 2007 at 7:42 PM
“In anticipation of this, Barbados Underground will flip the switch that will moderate all comments from January 1, 2008″.
I can’t imagine why.
Anonymous // December 20, 2007 at 7:46 PM
All you havre to do is remove comments which you don’t like.
Observing // December 20, 2007 at 7:51 PM
Please please please moderate.
Save us from this filth.
Thank you.
God Bless Owen and the BLP // December 20, 2007 at 7:52 PM
Anonymous,
BU is run by DLP supporters.
What he is saying is, from January 1st he will weed out any comments which make the government look good.
Georgie Porgie // December 20, 2007 at 8:09 PM
Anonymous,
BU is run by DLP supporters.
What he is saying is, from January 1st he will weed out any comments which make the government look good.
———
That is a nonsequitur sir.
David // December 20, 2007 at 8:27 PM
Almost eight hours after the BLP announced the election date and there is nothing posted on their official blog/website.
Bush tea // December 20, 2007 at 10:00 PM
David,
Now that we have a REAL press, I would like to know the reason that National ID numbers are linked directly to Ballots.
Do you think that you can use your good blog to solicit an answer from knowledgeable persons here as to why we need to be able to tie actual BALLOTS to the individual who voted.
Where else is this done? Why was it started?
How do we know that this information is not used to victimize voters who may have voted on the ‘wrong’ side of an election?
Is this how Boards are selected?
We may as well vote by show of hands.
It is a system that lends itself to DICTATORSHIP. Even my sports club vote by SECRET ballot to avoid victimization etc.
Are Bajans happy with this situation?
Can we hear from the Supervisor of Elections?
Dmarlehole // December 20, 2007 at 11:04 PM
Bush Tea,
Please give us more info on the process. How is the ID linked directly to the ballot? How do you suggest it be done?
Andrew // December 20, 2007 at 11:19 PM
According to the PM
(Prime Minister Owen S Arthur last Sunday at Alexandra School)
On Election Day, Vote against a ONE PARTY STATE
Roderick // December 20, 2007 at 11:47 PM
Hi All,
It’s that time of year! And the DEMS are throwing the Biggest Xmas Fete
ever, in Heroes Square,
Bridgetown, this coming Friday – between 7:00 and 11:00
p.m.
Black Pond Bessie // December 21, 2007 at 12:01 AM
Roderick,
“It’s that time of year! And the DEMS are throwing the Biggest Xmas Fete
ever, in Heroes Square,
Bridgetown, this coming Friday – between 7:00 and 11:00
p.m.”
Let’s hope that they will draw a bigger crowd than those few dozen people that showed up for their “mass” meeting in the same Heroes Square last week!
Wishing in Vain // December 21, 2007 at 12:43 AM
Anon... // December 21, 2007 at 12:58 AM
Roger Rabbit, you are spot on–I have a small blog regarding Gardening, on which even I have received threatening responses to my posts from people that believe that I have links to the BLP– seriously…I am just growing a few tomatoes over here…
GoGrow:Barbados
(http://greenbb.wordpress.com/)
the duke // December 21, 2007 at 1:24 AM
Is this the same meeting that i went to last week in heroes square because that crowd was great fa god sake stop with the crap man i sick of it
» How the Grinch Stole Christmas by Calling Early Elections in Barbados Keltruth Corp.: News Blog of Keltruth Corp. - Miami, Florida, USA. // December 21, 2007 at 1:30 AM
[...] in court. Keltruth Corp. feels that Mr. Arthur is in a race against time, and that he wants to win the election before details of this story hit the printed [...]
Election Polls // December 21, 2007 at 2:45 AM
[...] Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados [...]
Adrian Loveridge // December 21, 2007 at 4:19 AM
Will the PM still be going to Nigeria for Christmas?
David // December 21, 2007 at 5:50 AM
Could it be that PM Arthur knows that election campaigning is a non no in December and consequently he has contained or influence the ability of the DLP to keep ‘noise’ about the issues?
It could turn out to be a master stroke.
Bush tea // December 21, 2007 at 6:34 AM
If that is the case David, then he did not factor in the BLOGs, You need to be extra careful at this time because the internet – especially well established BLOGS like yours will become central to the campaigns of both parties.
DO NOT LET YOUR GUARD DOWN AT THIS TIME.
demarlehole,
When you go to vote, they will write your NID number on the half of the Ballot that is torn off.
The two halves of Ballot have reference numbers (like a fair ticket)
After you vote, all the authorities have to do is enter the data into a computer of NID and REf Number, while someone else can enter yourVote details and that ref number.
EURIKA -you have a list of each voter and who they voted for.
There should be NOTHING ELSE on the BALLOT PAPER but voting information.
Such Stupid Comments // December 21, 2007 at 8:42 AM
When you go to vote, they will write your NID number on the half of the Ballot that is torn off.
The two halves of Ballot have reference numbers (like a fair ticket)
After you vote, all the authorities have to do is enter the data into a computer of NID and REf Number, while someone else can enter yourVote details and that ref number.
EURIKA -you have a list of each voter and who they voted for.
There should be NOTHING ELSE on the BALLOT PAPER but voting information.
……………………………………………………
Can you now indicate when this requirement or practice came in place? The ANSWER MIGHT SURPRISE YOU
Such Stupid Comments // December 21, 2007 at 8:44 AM
You see Bush Tea, these kinds of things have time lines and must be implemented by some kind of legislation or policy directive, so bring the evidence that this is a case. So PUT UP or SHUT UP
Wishing in Vain // December 21, 2007 at 9:38 AM
During the rein of the terroriser Tom Adams.
I am still awaiting word as to the whereabouts of the files pertaining to the divorce of Owen Arthur and Beverley Arthur.
Can the CJ be so kind to return them to the rightful place???
Amazingly the blp seem to want to hide and have this election nowhere on their site do they mention the date or the calling of the election.
What does that tell you about this fraud Owing and his gang????
Klong // December 21, 2007 at 9:49 AM
Adrian Loveridge,
YOU ASKED: “Will the PM still be going to Nigeria for Christmas?”
When will you stop LYING?
When will you stop trying to MISLEAD, DEFRAUD and DECEIVE Bajan people?
You think because you are a WHITE BRITISH FOREIGNER that we the people of Barbados have no intelligence and will swallow your crap?
You think we can’t go on the internet and find the truth to EXPOSE your LIES?
http://www.tribune.com.ng/19112007/s_south_cul.html
Monday 19th Nov. 2007
“This time round, a delegation from Barbados, including the Prime Minister of and international artist, Eddy Grant, have indicated interest to be part of the festival.”
Indicating an interest to do something is NOT the same as announcing that it will be done.
Every person has the right to express an interest in doing whatsoever he or she chooses.
Unless you have a statement from our prime minister stating that he will be attending the Calabar Christmas Festival, you should keep you stupid white British mouth firmly shut.
Klong,
In the same den of iniquity as ~ B ~ F ~ P ~ E ~.
Adrian Loveridge // December 21, 2007 at 11:16 AM
Just asking a question.
I forgot it isn’t allowed under this Government.
“
Such Stupid Comments // December 21, 2007 at 11:42 AM
Wishing in Vain // December 21, 2007 at 9:38 am
During the rein of the terroriser Tom Adams.
I am still awaiting word as to the whereabouts of the files pertaining to the divorce of Owen Arthur and Beverley Arthur.
…………………………………………………………
Then WIV what has the DLP don’t to change or reverse that position? I can understand why you would want to pretend that the 1986-94 period did not exist. But you need to tell us why the DLP did not reverse the situation?
Also don’t you have a life?
Don’t you know that people get divorce everyday? What is you fascination with Owen’s Divorce. why do you ask about mara’s own? A bet you didn’t know she was divorce too.
Such Stupid Comments // December 21, 2007 at 11:43 AM
Then WIV what has the DLP don’t to change or reverse that position? I can understand why you would want to pretend that the 1986-94 period did not exist. But you need to tell us why the DLP did not reverse the situation?
Also don’t you have a life?
Don’t you know that people get divorce everyday? What is you fascination with Owen’s Divorce? Why don’t you ask about Mara Thompee’s own? A bet you didn’t know she was divorce too.
Such Stupid Comments // December 21, 2007 at 12:32 PM
Look muh Hey
For three whole weeks hear them shouting
Owen frighten – He run away
BIG BIG Mistake they mekking
How Owen Frighten, He run away
That is why Owen clarify
his position as a leader
With a touch of Class
Mek Tompee the ass
Who now playing follow the Leader
So look muh hey
See muh Hey
The whole Country voting BLP
So look muh hey
See muh Hey
Yuh fellas can’t win wid TOM PEE
Wishing in Vain // December 21, 2007 at 3:46 PM
I want to know why the CJ has hidden the settlement from the public of Barbados?
Bajan Yankee // December 21, 2007 at 4:41 PM
I wonder where the stupid idiot – Such Stupid Comments – will run and hide after January 15th? In a sewer?
Georgie Porgie // December 21, 2007 at 6:00 PM
Bajan Yankee
Do you know SSC personally? I dont always agree with him, but I dont call him a stupid idiot or wish that he hides in a sewer.
I believe that he will grin and bear it and tek his licks like a man.
Beat the man with logic, or facts, not invective.
LIAT // December 21, 2007 at 6:05 PM
Bajan Yankee,
In the meantime, you are already hiding in a sewer in New York or wherever.
Get lost!
David // December 21, 2007 at 6:12 PM
Despite all the promises and the large sums spent to resuscitate LIAT we have this strike which shows that all is not well. Will the region ever learn how to manage a regional airline? To what extent are the high intra-regional travel fares effecting numbers of intra-tourist traffic.
Bush tea // December 21, 2007 at 6:17 PM
SSC,
Man take it easy nuh, I never said that the problem with the voting confidentiality was a BLP or DLP problem – It is a SYSTEM problem.
The fact that some people cannot even recognise the problem and that they vote with full false confidence that their vote is secret is not my concern either…. I have for years now been highlighting this glaring LOOPHOLE that needs to be closed…. FOR BARBADOS.
…as I say, we always get exactly what we deserve…
Top Posts « WordPress.com // December 21, 2007 at 8:02 PM
[...] Prime Minister of Barbados Announces General Election Date In Barbados [image][image] Prime Min [...]
Georgie Porgie // December 21, 2007 at 9:20 PM
This is an interesting view point is it not?
Makaveli // December 22, 2007 at 12:29 AM
Harold Hoyte has like so many others fallen for the Trinidad and Tobago trap.
Let me reiterate PNM got less than 50% of the vote. It was a three (3) horse race, with COP and UNC-A combining for more votes than PNM.
Also neither governments in T&T or Bermuda were multi-term administrations with excess baggage.
Barbados will be close in the popular vote, we’ll have to see how the seats go.
Andrew // December 22, 2007 at 12:49 AM
Just returned from Dems meeting in Heroes Square – It was a meeting with a difference, with more emphasis on the spiritual and the meaning of the season.
The highlights??
1) The playing of the VIDEO which confirms what Arthur said at Alexandra School…”
(Proved him a bla***d liar)
2) David Thompson’s speech.
3) The singing Dems showed that they have more worthy talents than the ‘biting’ and the ‘hardwood-at-the-backdoor’ which the other party is famous for.
4) Kimberly Inniss, Smokey Burke and a host of other local talent.
5) The incomparable Carlene Davis, her band and back-up singers.
It was a lovely evening out for the thousands who took time off their shopping to be there.
Thank you DLP
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 1:03 AM
Just saw 15,000…..yep 15,000 Bajans in HEROES SQUARE chanting and singing in the YULETIDE spirit.
One of the major highlights of the evening was the showcasing of young, middle age and senior talent of Barbadian & Caricom citizens ( Jamaica ).
Even the SINGING DEMS was a SMASHER !
Kudos to all.
The atmosphere was electrfying !
The mood reached fever pitched when David Thompson ascended the stage and addressed his adoring people…..I wonder if BFP has it recorded on YOU TUBE ?
Talking about YOU TUBE that same 15,000 strong crowd almost resorted to VIOLENCE when an ecxtract from BLP TV was shown on the BIG screen of the BILGY mouth PM uttering his INFAMOUS ” Ah NEVER want to see another DLP government in office in Barbados AGAIN ” speech !
VIOLENCE was almost done to the screen as members of the audience sort to hurl missles at the images & words of that HARLOT who has NOW sort to DENY using those words !
No wonder Lynette Eastmond said in 2003 there is no need for an opposition party in Barbados !
She probably HATCHED that idea with Owen while the 2 of them xxx together ! ——-edited.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 2:03 AM
I was told this evening that the offending Arthur’s comment where removed from the website and I can now confirm that no where on the blp website will you find a speech by Owing at his nomination it has been removed any record of it has dissappeared into thin air, the earlier comments about mottley and miller cussing out Owing for having said what he said now seems more than likely to be correct.
What Owing has to realise is that we do not want a dictatorship in the same way he wants a dictatorship, we want freedom and freedom of expression and freedom of speech that is so sadly lacking in this island recently.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 2:07 AM
We’re Ready!
Friday, 21 December 2007
The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is ready, and has been so for over a year, says Opposition Leader David Thompson.
Making this bold declaration yesterday following the announcement of the January 15, 2008 General Election, he said his party had been in the field and on the campaign trail with all 30 candidates since October 2006.
Saying the DLP felt Parliament had been effectively dissolved and there was nothing new Government could do now to positively impact Barbadians, Thompson said an election should have been called well before Christmas so that people’s aspirations could be met “through a new government”.
He charged that in the last eight months Government had shown “total contempt” for Parliament.
“So in a sense the Government has demonstrated that it felt that the Parliament of our country had become irrelevant, and therefore we [DLP] felt that we were correct not to return to Parliament,” he added.
Thompson also blasted the manner in which the election date was announced, calling it an abomination against the country’s Christian tradition.
“It is abominable that the Prime Minister would’ve cut right into what is really one of the most important events for persons who practise the Christian faith, which is Christmas. And to my mind, this is another manifestation of a form of tyrannical leadership by the Barbados Labour Party,” he said, asking what Government MP Reverend Joseph Atherley might say about it.
Thompson described the announcement as “insensitive to the thousands of Barbadians who would have come home for Christmas to spend time with family and friends”.
He dubbed the choice of date as an attempt by the Government to short-circuit political debate leading up to the election.
“The period for which you’re going to be able to actually debate and discuss issues on the political platform and otherwise will probably be between January 2 and 14 – a 12-day campaign.”
The DLP leader said his party therefore would not undertake any heightened political activity “until the Christmas and holiday season is over”, and urged his candidates and supporters to take part in church-based activities and make Christmas meaningful.
“In deference to the Christian community, that is what we view as the kind of political activity that should take place and we will start our campaign after the holiday season,” he said.
Stressing the spiritual theme, Thomspon invited Barbadians to tonight’s gospel concert featuring Carlene Davis and local acts in Heroes Square, The City, since this was the DLP’s way of saying thanks and marking a spiritual beginning.
Calling it “an important adjunct to what we think is necessary in Barbados to bring some healing to our nation”, Thompson said 2007 had been a tough year for Barbados with much tragedy.
“If we’re going to have successful change in Barbados, that change has to come with some important moral foundation,” he said.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 2:31 AM
Dems ready for fight
Published on: 12/21/07.
THIS GENERAL ELECTION campaign will not see the Democratic Labour Party just sitting back.
Opposition Leader David Thompson told reporters yesterday at his Aquatic Gap, St Michael law office that “people will have to fight for what they want”.
Asked if he expected the three-week campaign to be “nasty”, he said: “A line has to be drawn in the sand about the way forward for Barbados and people have to fight for what they want.
“This campaign is not about sitting back and rolling over because in a sense you’re fighting for your children’s future, you’re fighting for your grandchildren’s future.”
He added: “In that sense you can’t play around and I’m certain that rough things will be said relative to the way forward and relative to the alliances that people strike politically in Barbados that have retarded the advancement of the majority of people. Therefore, in that sense, it will be a tough campaign, but it comes at a tough time in our political history.”
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 2:33 AM
Ding-dong battle for Mascoll’s seat?
Published on: 12/21/07.
WILL THERE BE an all-out battle for the St Michael North-West constituency?
Opposition Democratic Labour Party Leader David Thompson is not saying.
He told journalists yesterday at a Press conference at his Aquatic Gap, St Michael law offices there was “enough evidence on the table to make an assessment”.
“I don’t think much more needs to be said. There is a doctrine in law [that says] the thing speaks for itself, and I believe that doctrine applies to Clyde Mascoll.
“He speaks for himself and his political conduct, mores, standards and integrity as a politician have been established and if the people of St Michael North-West are happy with that, then they would be.
“But I have my doubts that there could be any large group of Barbadians in Barbados that would not have concerns with what they’ve seen happening over the past few weeks and what we have revealed relative to the conduct of the Minister of State,” Thompson said.
Mascoll had said at a nomination meeting in August that the constituency in which he was the incumbent would be a “hot seat”.
He said it was so important to the DLP that even if it lost the overall election, but wrested the seat away from him and the Barbados Labour Party, the party would feel victorious.
Michael Smith // December 22, 2007 at 3:36 AM
Georgie Porgie,
You must be one of those clueless Bajans living outside the country.
That’s just another round of meaningless utterances and wishful thinking from an increasingly senile Harold Hoyte.
Age does take its toll… he needs to retire from more than just the Nation. History is full of “old soldiers” like him still yearning for the same power they wielded in days long gone. Somebody should buy him an armchair for Christmas. Hehe!
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 7:13 AM
Michael Smith
December 22, 2007 at 7:58 am….WRITES :
” There are no laws in Barbados which prevent a prime minister from making such an announcement at any particular time of year. ”
Jerome Hinds REPLIES :
Michael Smith…..from infant days / church days you should have known that Christmas is celebrated within the season of ADVENT to EPIPHANY .
That translated into simple language for a SIMPLETON like you means from the first week of DECEMBER in any year to…..6th of JANUARY in the following year .
Therefore, Owen Arthur did call the election during the CHRISTMAS period .
You are right…..it is his RIGHT to call an ELECTION when he so desires !
Michael Smith…….by the same token would say Owen Arthur was RIGHT to tell Barbadians he is
” MOTIVATED in a special way to see that the DLP never holds office in this country AGAIN ”
Given the FACT that the same OWEN ARTHUR has :
** Yet to CONDEMN Robert Mugabe’s declaration of WAR on the OPPOSITION in ZIMBABWE ???
** Yet to PUBLICLY admonish Lynette Eastmond for her 2003 ” No OPPOSITION party ” speech ????
** PUBLICLY declared in 2005 that there will be no REFERENDUM on REPUBLICAN status in Barbados ???
** PUBLICLY demonstrated his PARTY’s intention to change the BARBADOS Constitution only a few weeks ago ????
Michael Smith…..you SIMPLETON…..leave out the APPLETON…..and think & answer….WISELY !
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 8:13 AM
With eminent win by the DLP in this upcoming election. We should now focus on the selection and compilation of the proposed cabinet. This have nothing to do with partisan politics, but a measuring cup based on previous performance and experience by potential winners.
David Thompson – PM and Finance
Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
Undine Whittaker – Minister of Social Transformation
Richard Sealy – Minister of Energy & Environment
Freundel Stuart – Attorney General
Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
Adrian Loveridge – Minister of Tourism
David Estwick – Minister of Health
Denis Kellman – Minister of Consumer Affairs
James Paul – Minister of Agriculture
Let’s hear about your selection.
Anonymous // December 22, 2007 at 8:29 AM
Looking forward to Chris Sinckler, Minister of State, Ministry of Finance
David // December 22, 2007 at 8:34 AM
Are we not getting ahead of ourselves?
Shouldn’t we be discussing the issues which are likely to affect the outcome?
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 8:55 AM
The country is tense at the moment, this is a relax way to imagine, or may I say, pretend what the outcome might be, by this way, we will be able to get from the commenters a feeling of the cabinet if the Dems wins the election.
As you know, I prefer to deal with issues as I see them. We might criticise, some abuse, but in the final analysis it is the people who will decide politicians fate.
We might have a higher ratio of DLP writers within these blogs, but we can not give a true analysis if the viewers are Dees or Bees. We are just assuming that viewers will accede to our views.
May this election be fair and democratic. Do not allow our partisanship be used to destroy the image of this country, because whoever wins, that Government will have to undertake massive damage control. This goes out to Politicians, bloggers, commenters; and all the vile statements from the political divide lackies.
May the best man/woman win and may the better party win.
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 8:57 AM
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 8:13 am
With eminent win by the DLP in this upcoming election. We should now focus on the selection and compilation of the proposed cabinet. This have nothing to do with partisan politics, but a measuring cup based on previous performance and experience by potential winners.
David Thompson – PM and Finance
Michael Lashley – Minister of Housing
Undine Whittaker – Minister of Social Transformation
Richard Sealy – Minister of Energy & Environment
Freundel Stuart – Attorney General
Ronald Jones – Minister of Sports
Adrian Loveridge – Minister of Tourism
David Estwick – Minister of Health
Denis Kellman – Minister of Consumer Affairs
James Paul – Minister of Agriculture
Let’s hear about your selection.
Frankology…..you never cease to amaze me with your pathetic BILE !
How come all of a sudden you are enamoured by the DLP policy decisions ?
Is it because your accomplice ( indeed you are both one and the same ! ) Clyde Asscoll stated in the HOA that the ABC highway needs investigating…..that you have given up on your ABC highway / VECO investigation ?????
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 9:15 AM
Jerome, that is pure nonsense you are trying to create. That is not a DLP policy decision act, it is the free-thinking of a democratic black bajan guess of what might be the compilation of the cabinet. Everybody regarding to political partisanship imagine who will get a ministry, so stop your partisan act.
I have no accomplice or any agenda. Unlike you and the others, I deal with issues as I see them. I have not relax my investigation with the ABC Expansion. As a matter of fact, I may mention of the problem associate with an earth quake hitting Barbados and the reason why we should forget these flyovers. I spoke of the Hillis Carnes first statement in 2005 regarding our limestone decaying and weak with sink-holes and gullies in the vicinity of these flyovers. Yet in 2007, we heard another tune from them that Barbados can accommodate flyovers.
Now Jerome, where were you, why did you refuse to comment on these problems that can be critical to Barbados’ safety, Why do you refuse to comment about the highway first mooted at Bds$120 million, then increase to $140 million and finally up to $360 million. Why are you refusing to discuss the BOLT agreement, which interest repayment is higher than if you had to borrow from the normal overseas lenders.
Jerome, where were you. Or you and others can only deal with Hardwood issues, since it is an individual or may I say, a past associate of your party.
The highway blog on both sites were dominated by my writing and that’s a fact.
That is what I call a hypocritical act clouded with innuendos, deceit and most of all deception.
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 9:27 AM
Sorry, I did not include certain writers in the cabinet line-up, that would have been a DLP policy decision and I have no power to decide about inclusions.
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 9:52 AM
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 9:15 am
Jerome, that is pure nonsense you are trying to create. That is not a DLP policy decision act, it is the free-thinking of a democratic black bajan guess of what might be the compilation of the cabinet. Everybody regarding to political partisanship imagine who will get a ministry, so stop your partisan act.
Therein……exposes your HYPOCRISY !
A party must first hold the BALANCE of power and it’s chosen leader offering a Cabinet posting to his colleagues based on their showings at the POLLS and their suitability to function in a Minstry !
FRANKOLOGY…..the country ain’t get so far in the SCHEME of things as yet…!
You stick to your investigation of VECO/ ABC HIGHWAY…….palaver !
We know who you are and why you want the DEBATE to head to that side of the ROAD !
Was it you who again refer to this
” BLACKMAN ” clap trap !
***** Read your words above !
Did you not use a similar line in the House of Assembly on 4th DECEMBER, 2007 ?
FRANKOLOGY……you are being MONITORED !
The ISSUES are never about BLACK , WHITE or TECHNICOLOUR…..Bajans !
It is about treating Bajans fairly regardless to RACE !
Chase // December 22, 2007 at 10:03 AM
Frankology…..I didnt know you were a politician.All this time I lived next to a politician?:-)
Jay // December 22, 2007 at 10:13 AM
word out today…….19 seats confirmed for the BLP. 6 unsure. 5 guaranteed for the DLP.
Jay // December 22, 2007 at 10:15 AM
Adrian Loveridge will not be minister of tourism. If anything, it would be Anthony Arthur, former head of the BTA in sandiford’s government.
Why would we want David Thompson to be minister of finance AGAIN? shud be 18% pay cuts instead of 8 next time.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 10:15 AM
The apparent selfdestruction that is clear to see taking place within the BLP is causing its writers to stoop to the lowest levels on these blogs, the language is absolutely disgusted and I am ashamed that it even makes it to print.
My party faithfuls all 30 of them please control your tongues and your manners on these sites people deserve better that your poor display of manners.
It is not our fault that your leader is at war with most of them in his party no wonder we witnessed the blistering attack that he received the other day after the delivery of his wild boy speech that he does not want ever to see the DLP rule this country that miller , mottley and company hammered his for bad judgment and just downright arrogance, so much so that they have removed the offending comments from their website, Owings nomination and not a single word on their website with his speech????
Or do they need to loose their cool when subjects such as COST OVERRUNS, VECO PRISON,DANOS 3S ROADWORKS, OIL STORAGE FACILITY, CHEQUES, HALLAM NICHOLLS, GLYNE BANNISTER, DAVID SHOREY, OFFSHORE BANK ACCOUNTS,COMMISSIONS ON EVERY VEHICLE AND NOW BOATS FOR THE COAST GUARD ARE BOUGHT PAID TO NICHOLLS AND OWING.
Just admit to your many corrupt acts and plead guilty, remember Mr Thopmson has promised to put one or two of you and your clan behind bars stating with, NICHOLLS, LYNCH, and OWING it will be a first the former PM committed to prison for stealing taxpayers money.
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 10:31 AM
Jay // December 22, 2007 at 10:13 am
word out today…….19 seats confirmed for the BLP. 6 unsure. 5 guaranteed for the DLP.
Dream on…….JAY !
It is obvious the only street you STUCK on is……ROEBUCK STREET opposite LIONEL HILL SUPERMARKET !
By the way…..now that you are back on – line…..how come your party leader’s much heralded nomination speech is no longer on BLP TV ??????
One of your BLP die – hard party faithfuls shouted out last night in HEROES SQUARE….thank God for the DLP…..when a clipping of the speech from BLP TV appeared on the BIG SCREEN !
Tell OWEN be VERY careful what he now seeks to DENY in this TECHNOLOGICAL era !
$ 750,000 CHEQUE……what I am telling you……????
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 10:32 AM
This total clown Lynch is not the sharpest tool in the shed and to boot he is cocky and arrogant with himself, do we need any better reason to kick his butt out of office??
The people of this nation are hurt by the wicked stealing of their money by people that they elected to do a job not to steal from them, they are sick of the arrogance and the total disregard for the needs of the common man.
How can it be fair with these people that have stashed away mega amounts of taxpayers cash now tell people that the inflation is not our problem it is your problem because you eat too much food ??
DISGRACEFUL VERY DISGRACGEFUL
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 10:40 AM
YOU KNOW THINGS MUST BE CHANGING WHEN PERSON SUCH AS BEN MARTINEZ THE FORMER CONSUL GENERAL TO FLORIDA UNDER THIS BLP ADMISTRATION ATTENDS THE HERO’S SQUARE MEETING AND WATCHED THE VIDEO CLIP PLAYING SHOWING WHAT ARTHUR SAID HE DID NOT SAY AT HIS NOMINATION MEETING LAST WEEKEND.
EVEN BEN IS LOOKING FOR A NEW BEGINNING, WELL DONE TO YOU.
OWING MAY CALL YOU LATER TODAY TO BLISTER YOU IN CURSE BUT TAKE IT LIKE A MAN ( do not take it like JEROME WALCOTT, NOELESS LYNCH, or ROMMEL MARSHALL) YOU STAND UP AND TAKE IT AND THEN YOU HIT BACK BY ASKING OWING ABOUT HIS OFFSHORE ACCOUNTS AND THE SIZE AND LACK OF PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE ABOUT HIS DIVORCE SETTLEMENT AND THE LACK OF ESPOSURE TO PUBLIC VIEWING HAVING BEEN CONCEALED BY THE GOOD FRIEND DAVID SIMMONS.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 10:53 AM
Cou Cou has been informed by someone very close to the horse’s mouth, that an individual left one location with an idea in his head and a number on a document, and headed to a second location with “17″ ringing in his ears.
But, after being informed of a leak and that the number was not in his head alone, he made some quick decisions and substracted two. The rest, as they say, is history.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 10:55 AM
Five left behind
THE CALL has been made but apparently at least five operatives in the hive have been caught with their pants and slips very much down.
Cou Cou was told by an inside source that they were still trying to fine-tune certain plans in their ridings when the word came.
They apparently had received a wire of the imminent move and had sought at least a two-month grace period. But it never came. Indeed, one individual has started to have some roads in his urban area paved after they had been in a dreadful state for over a decade and he had previously promised to get them fixed.
Cou Cou will not say who the five are but readers can check for any signs of disorganisation in the weeks ahead and the answers will be self-evident.
KC // December 22, 2007 at 10:58 AM
Jerome Hinds,
You claimed on BFP that there was a 15,000 crowd in Heroes Square last night.
Where are the photographs of the “15,000 crowd”?
There’s NOTHING in the news here about that.
You won’t help the DLP cause by lying.
Last time you people also came here and reported a “massive” crowd in Heroes Square but I had been passing through the city that same night and I saw a very sparse crowd at a poorly attended event.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 11:13 AM
It appears to me that after Owing ran afoul of his other party members he opted to unmercyfully shaft them by calling the election even though many of them were not nearly ready for an election.
I also put it to you that he even surprised the Commissioner and those at the Electoral and Bounderies Commission with his decision on his date so much so that the Commission is no where near ready for this election and are short of staff to man at least 3 polling stations 2 of which are in the St.James zone.
Look at what can happen so rapidly when the party tries to start fighting on too many fronts it disintegrates to a shadow of its former self with mottley at owing’s throat and owing at mottley’s throat no wonder they are unable to get the peoples work done.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 11:16 AM
KC those lies no longer get mileage you are so full of it there was a massive crowd at Hero’s square last night end of story you sad liar.but then again you are blp and if there is one thing you and your party and your leader get passing marks in is for lying in the largest measure.
Jerome Hinds // December 22, 2007 at 11:25 AM
KC // December 22, 2007 at 10:58 am
Jerome Hinds,
You claimed on BFP that there was a 15,000 crowd in Heroes Square last night.
Where are the photographs of the “15,000 crowd”?
There’s NOTHING in the news here about that.
You won’t help the DLP cause by lying.
Last time you people also came here and reported a “massive” crowd in Heroes Square but I had been passing through the city that same night and I saw a very sparse crowd at a poorly attended event.
Jerome Hinds REPLIES :
KC…….Do not get beside yourself…..!
He who control the PRESS……… prints the NEWS PAPERS and publishes the PHOTOGRAPHS !
If they report or show photos it up to them !
But CHECK this ( not the $ 750,000.00 ) one Owen got……I know BLP people always FEAR the CHECK / CHEQUE word since March 2007 !!!!
Ha…..Ha…..!
The concert was in HEROES SQUARE !
The 15,000 STRONG crowd spilled over to :
** The BOARDWALK !
** INDEPENDENCE SQUARE !
** CAVANS LANE !
** BROAD STREET !
And KC……..you asked about VIDEO CLIPS/ PHOTOGRAPHS……?????
When Owen’s VIDEO CLIP / PHOTOGRAPH from BLP TV appeared on the BIG SCREEN…….the conservative crowd estimate of 15,000 SWELLED to nearly 20,000…….!
Just imagine what the crowds will look like when the $ 750,000 CHEQUE ( among others ) appear on the BIG SCREEN over the next 3 weeks !
Brother…Sister……it will only get ACID !
KC………….
However…..about the ISSUE of LYING :
** Noel Lynch 90,000 cruise passengers , 70 yatchs for CWC 2007 !
** Owen Arthur ” I NEVER said not another DEM government in power ”
KC……..you ever hear more…..LIE ????
Wait & Watch !
Fred // December 22, 2007 at 1:15 PM
The most surprising event todate I have just driven by RAWLE “I DO NOT KNOW WHAT I HAVE DONE THE PRIME MINISTER FOR THE LAST ( YEARS AS HE HAS DONE NOTHING FOR ME OR MY PEOPLE IN YEARS”(HIS WORDS NOT MINE) EASTMOND’S OFFICE A NOT A SOUL AROUND MEANWHILE THE DLP CANDIDATE IS OUT AN AROUND DELIVERING HAMPERS FOR THE POOR AND THE ELDERLY AND THE SHUT INS , ALL THE WHILE HIS OFFICE IS OPEN ACTIVE AND WORKING.
NO WONDER MR LARRY TATEM WAS WILLING TO CONCEDE THAT THE ST.JAMES SEATS WILL GO TO THE DLP BECAUSE THE DLP CANDIDATES HAVE WORKED ALL THE WAY THROUGH FROM THE LAST ELECTION UNTIL THIS ONE, THE NON STOP EFFORT IS PAYING OFF.
NOW THAT IS CLEARLY A MAJOR CONCEDE ON HIS BEHALF. AT LEAST HE IS SEEING THE REAL PICTURE AND NOT SEEING IT OUT OF ROSE COLOURED BLP GLASSES !!!
Fred // December 22, 2007 at 1:32 PM
We have to get rid of this pint size dictator and his scamps.
It may well be that he and the clan are doing a very good job at it themselves give he and mottley and miller more rope please let them hang themselves please.
My opinion is that Owing has amassed enough personal wealth and does not give a hell about any of them despite the smiling at one another the willingness to kill each other politically is very evident for all to see, as he said on Sunday he will not let mottel be PM in his time and as result of that statement there is only one option for it to take that is remove Owing from the front line and conqueror the floating support within the blp.
Keep fighting Owing, Farley, Atherley, mottley, Clarke keep up the good work.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 1:34 PM
Can anyone please tell me why a mailing being sent out to the public from the BLP states that polling day is on the 15th January 2007 are they living in times past ???
Just another example of how unready they all were with Owing’s effort to shaft all of them when they annoyed him.
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 1:42 PM
Hi David, Every time I write a comment my computer is locking up. Yet, I am seeing endless comments by WI and JH.
Please let me know if I am under moderation.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 1:46 PM
http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=190&Itemid=2
This is a class act !!!!
frankology // December 22, 2007 at 1:49 PM
Frankology…..I didnt know you were a politician.All this time I lived next to a politician?:-).
…………………………………………………………………….
I myself never realise I was Mascoll, or Ascoll or the name-calling by these partisan writers. I was just thinking who might make up a DLP candidate and the guns start blaring. The election has not be won as yet and the hostility begin.
This is the same bullying tactics that were displayed in the Antiqua elections. You call it the manipulation of politrixs.
Jerome, my mother never named me Mascoll, I am not even a family or friend to the Mascolls.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 1:50 PM
All results are in play in this election including the most unlikely results.
Why would you suggest that Arthur cannot be beaten after all the corruption that he has masterminded the people of St.Peter are feeling the strain of his stealing just as all the other parishes are they are no different had he not feathered his nest so well we would not be feeling half the strain that we are feelin now.
Wishing in Vain // December 22, 2007 at 1:51 PM
sorry the above was meant for BFP
we are all going thru the same detail so chill.
Georgie Porgie // December 22, 2007 at 2:05 PM
Yesterday in ISSUES & IDEAS: Leadership is it, EZRA ALLEYNE wrote
OWEN ARTHUR’s hour-long acceptance speech at the Barbados Labour Party’s nomination in St Peter last Sunday effectively opened his party’s next general election campaign.
Speaking on the theme A New Beginning, he went directly for the jugular of David Thompson’s brand of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), and spoke of “his determination never to see the DLP [under Thompson] hold the reins of office in this land”. The newspaper reported the word “country” instead of “land” but that may be a lawyer’s point.
What is very much more than a lawyer’s point, is that it is difficult to justify the lead paragraph of the story in last Monday’s NATION which says that the Prime Minister was on a mission “to ensure that the Democratic Labour Party never governs Barbados again”. That paragraph does not accord with Mr Arthur’s speech, which I have thrice carefully scrutinised.
========================
Ezra seems to be floating on some cloud far far away in never never land that his conclusion about Owen’s erratic statement is at variance with the people’s opinion and even that of his own party; seeing that they have removed his speech from their forum/webpage.
Ezra in his hair splitting points out that “The newspaper reported the word “country” instead of “land””. Seems that Ezra did not go to his Latin classes, or if he did, he forgot that the word “PATRIA” means native land, or country. Hence country =land in this case. Hence one’s country is one’s land.
Dear dear Ezra, in 1962 we got free education, and many of us learned well in school. Therefore, you or the other BLP negrocrats cant fool us by splitting hairs with words.
Remark your runup Ezra, and come in again. In the interim, the populace will be beating Arthur’s bad ball like pulp to the fence. That one bad ball is so significant that it MUST CAUSE THE BEE’s THE ELECTION. THERE MUST BE NO ONE PARTY STATE IN BARBADOS. BAJANS MUST BE ABLE TO DISSENT .
Ezra also noted in his diabolical diatribe and drivel that between 1991 and 1994, that folk suffered dreadfully under the DLP. You know what? The people had the right then, and made the choice to remove the Dems. Why must Arthur now think that the same people should not now have the right or make the choice to vote the Dems back in?
Anonymous // December 22, 2007 at 2:20 PM
Wishing in Vain
I have to tell you… there is nothing appealing about any of that.
http://www.dlpbarbados.org/cms/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=190&Itemid=2
Where are the 15,000 people?
All I see there is a very small crowd of perhaps dozens.
Poor Dems. Even their singing is not sweet. They look defeated already.
:-)
Andrew // December 22, 2007 at 3:29 PM
Anonymous
If we defeated already,
why Owen have to lie, when the Dems have the evidence for all to see; (even though Billy and Mia tried their best to erase it)
And why out of spite he called elections when he did, when his candidates aren’t ready yet???
Yuh cud fool sum of de people sum of de time but yuh cant fool all de people all de time
Keep fooling yourselves…
night does run till daylight ketch it.
Ps: the shots in the movie didn’t show people on the Broadwalk, in Independence Square nor on the sidewalks out of Parliament Buildings
Keep fooling yuhsaelf…de Bees gud at dat
Andrew // December 22, 2007 at 3:35 PM
Oh and Anonymous
I forgot the scores seated on the ground, over which the camera angle was shot
Keep fooling wunnuh self
de cheques coming up soon
Observing // December 22, 2007 at 4:19 PM
WIV, when did Owen deny making the statement?
Jerome Hinds // December 23, 2007 at 6:48 AM
Some of the findings of that poll I referred to in my earlier post above on the BFP site .
http://www.nationnews.com/story/327555760952090.php
David // December 23, 2007 at 10:56 AM
In today’s newspaper there is a Public Notice on pages 34A which encourages Barbadians to register or update the Register of Electors. What is interesting is that Barbadians are being encouraged to go to the various centres starting this Tuesday and Wednesday. In case you have forgotten this coming Tuesday and Wednesday is Christmas Day and Boxing Day respectively. It means if we assume that Barbadians will not participate in the election activities during Christmas week that leaves two weeks before January 15, 2007.
We are also mindful that usually the prospective candidates work with households in their constituencies by assisting them to register/update the register of electors in the previous elections. In our opinion the short period leading up to this election has short changed that process.
This election must bring into focus the call to have a known election date which will subtract the shenanigans at election time, similar to what occurs in the USA.
Despite our comment above how can we fault the master political strategist Owen Arthur because he has taken advantage of our present system.
900 lb Gorilliphant // December 23, 2007 at 11:15 AM
David,
I think you are being overly naive. Or is it a slow news day at BU?
I think that everyone in Barbados who intends to vote is very ready to do so. If elections were called for next week Bajans would still be ready.
Our last elections were on 21 May 2003. Under our system everyone is well aware that elections could be called anytime up to May 2008.
So what are you mumbling about?
Do you have stage-fright now that the date of the great FOUR-LOVE has been announced?
David
Anonymous // December 23, 2007 at 11:37 AM
When an Indian by the name of Jevan Jutagir the head of RED ADVERTISING a foreigner attempts to influence the minds of the Barbadian voters by being paid by the blp to do it, it says to me that is is truly a sad day in the politics of this land.
If I were you I would email him showing our level of unrest and dissatisfaction with someone such as he interrferring with the political outcome of a BARBADIAN VOTE. red@red.bb is the address to get the man at.
When a political party can feel so threatened by the people’s power to hire the services of that Indian clown from RED ADVERTISING to carry the torch for this starved blp party under the name of LEROY AND DAVID among many other names and to spend his day blogging in defence of the ruling party it is clearly stated that they are on a mission to negate the effect of the DLP supporters towards this blog.
Here we have the ruling party throwing money at a foreigner to carry out the services that they require, this is a disgraceful act of the worst kind.
It speaks volumes of the fear that this party has for the voting public of this nation, no wonder arthur was so keen not to have them contest another election on this island and rule from his DICTATORSHIP style and manner.
I would highly suggest calling or emailing him to find out how many other blp assigned names he has in use.
David // December 23, 2007 at 12:21 PM
Here are a few question for the BU family.
How do you think the radio stations will manage the coverage of the upcoming elections and specifically the reintroduction of the very popular call-in programs after the Christmas break? Should they restart the call-ins next week?
If the wait for Christmas week to pass then the ‘People’s Parliament’ may not have any significant opportunity for ordinary Barbadians to air their views.
Emma // December 23, 2007 at 1:59 PM
David,
Barbadians will have plenty of opportunity to air our views on election day.
If I post on Bajan Patriots, will you delete my comments here on BU?
After what just happened to me on BFP, I want to know first.
Anonymous,
Jevan Jutagir must be doing a very good job then.
You are a desperate liar.
Global Voices Online » Barbados: Election Date // December 23, 2007 at 3:08 PM
[...] this general election will be one of the most interesting since Independence in 1966″: Barbados Underground reports that the island's Prime Minister has set a date for elections. Share [...]
frankology // December 23, 2007 at 3:16 PM
Here we have the ruling party throwing money at a foreigner to carry out the services that they require, this is a disgraceful act of the worst kind.
…………………………………………………………………….
I am on your case buddy. Creativity do no come in colour, creed, religion or political persuasion. You have to realise that a political party have to be extremely careful who creates election promotions for them. That company must have professional ethics; and most of all, the workers must display professionalism, not get on the phone or send email or a copy of information to the opposition.
So please leave nationality and colour out of the elections.
Jerome Hinds // December 23, 2007 at 4:43 PM
It was pathetic listening to George Belle on BRASSTACKS Sunday answer the PROBING questions being put to him by respected POLLSTER Peter Wickham !
None of George Belle BLP crooks came to his defence for what was clearly designed as a POLL of propaganda !
Why did George Belle allow the Nation to have access to his poll without it being commisioned for them ” as he claim ” ?
Therefore, in that regard George Belle cannot now claim that the NATION news paper and not he is responsible for what was published.
It was a clear ploy to SENSATIONALISE public sentiment .
But I would end on this..as much as Owen Arthur seeks to publicly ridicule Peter Wickham, Peter Wickham sits on no organisation or committee affiliated to the BLP or DLP .
George Belle is the CHAIRMAN of the Pan African Commission which falls under the PRIME MINISTER OFFICE !
While I am at it, GEORGE BELLE next time you seek to advise OWEN ARTHUR about an inportant decision ( like dissolving Parliament ) always look around the room before you speak !
Beware of the FLY on the wall !
Jerome Hinds // December 23, 2007 at 4:55 PM
It was pathetic listening to George Belle on BRASSTACKS Sunday answer the PROBING questions being put to him by respected POLLSTER Peter Wickham !
None of George Belle’s BLP crooks came to his defence for what was clearly designed as a POLL of propaganda !
Why did George Belle allow the Nation to have access to his poll without it being commisioned for them ” as he claim ” ?
Therefore, in that regard George Belle cannot now claim that the NATION news paper and not he is responsible for what was published.
It was a clear ploy to SENSATIONALISE public sentiment .
But I would state this…….as much as Owen Arthur seeks to publicly ridicule Peter Wickham, Peter Wickham sits on no organisation or committee affiliated to the BLP or DLP .
George Belle is the CHAIRMAN of the Pan African Commission which falls under the PRIME MINISTER OFFICE !
While I am at it, GEORGE BELLE next time you seek to advise OWEN ARTHUR about an inportant decision ( like dissolving Parliament ) always look around the room before you speak !
Beware of the FLY on the wall !
Andrew // December 23, 2007 at 5:01 PM
Emma?
Wait you are the same Emma that was over by BFP?
I still want to know why we should trust Owen S Arthur when he makes Forbes Burnham type comments like
““I’m motivated in a special way by the determination never too see the DLP hold the reigns of office in this country’.
Give us a good reason please????
Jay // December 23, 2007 at 5:13 PM
Sink-cur claim the DLP can win as much as 20 seats in the election. He also claims that information has been with held from the poll lol.
He claims the DLP is well on their way….
The only thing they are well on their way to is yet another defeat! 4-0
David // December 23, 2007 at 5:37 PM
Pollsters usually have to have a track record to gain credibility. What we don’t understand is why is the leadership issue being played-up by this poll and the Nation when historical data clearly show that the leader of the opposition always lag behind the incumbent in this category.
The other question is what motivated this poll and who paid for it.
Andrew // December 23, 2007 at 8:31 PM
David
Despite Mia’s denial, all right thinking Bajans know that it is just another case of BLP Smoke and Mirrors.
They never knew, that the fact that the swing is up from 5% to 7% and that the desire for change is up from 43% to 53% would have surfaced.
Only goes to show that the BLP has the Nation in its hip-pocket; but some dissatisfied mole will always expose them. Soon they will not know who to trust.
Student // December 23, 2007 at 8:59 PM
In 2003 election Richard Sealey tore pompous socialite Billie Miller to shreds in a television debate. The only person in Barbados who said Miller won the debate was George Belle. He became irrelevant for me from that day. Any poll conducted by Belle has to be viewed with suspicion. Belle is a communist and a lap dog of Owen Arthur. Like his dictator master he specially wants to ensure the Dems nor any other political party never hold reins of office in our beloved country. Like Owen and Lynette he is prepared to do whatever it takes to make sure Barbados becomes a one party BLP state.
Roger Rabbitt // December 23, 2007 at 10:38 PM
I am not surprised by anything written by George Belle. He is one of the very included and so as to earn his keep, he has to portray Owen Tiefin’ Arffer as the great leader. But, as I have asked before, what is Owen Arffer’s claim to fame? Why do these educated lackies think that Arffer got any monopoly on leadership? What has he done to deserve that title?
If the other BLP MPs are blind and Owen has one eye, then he has the right to be called “a” great leader, but I am yet to see the reason for promoting this drunkard. Why are these ppl doing this? Don’t ppl like Belle and company think we are all idiots out here?
I believe that these “akademics” are all losing their marbles.
They should be rightly called “the great ass-lickers”
Lodge Road // December 23, 2007 at 10:43 PM
David your comment on the NOTICE that appear in today’s Sunday Sun on page 34A, which states the below quote leave me to believe that the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) are attempting to hijack the Election come January 15, 2008, by recommending that Barbadians register or update the Register of Electors to be able to VOTE, on December 25, and 26 which are both bank holidays in Barbados and most parts of the region.
Lodge Road will be going with the DLP this time around.
Roger Rabbitt // December 23, 2007 at 10:47 PM
Pollsters usually have to have a track record to gain credibility. What we don’t understand is why is the leadership issue being played-up by this poll and the Nation when historical data clearly show that the leader of the opposition always lag behind the incumbent in this category.
……………………………………………………
If poolsters must have a track record on which to run, then George Belle cannot be considered as anything.
It is clear that his “research” is flawed as he promotes his foolishnes about leadership.
David, I believe that Owen paid Belle to conduct the poll. Who else would pay George Belle to come up with sumtin’ so?
Give it up, Georgie boy. Al Gilkes may have done a better job.
Observing // December 23, 2007 at 10:47 PM
David, this poll was clearly intended to bring the leadership issue to the surface again in an attempt to gain mileage from it coming out of the holidays. Lucky for us intelligent persons can see right through it. The quote that sunk this poll’s credibility was
“Indeed, of possible concern for the DLP is the fact that the party has more negative than positive ratings.”
Nowhere within this poll (the newspaper version) were there any indicators or questions that could be considered to represent a “negative”, hence, no person or party could have attracted more negative than positive ratings. One may have had less favourable, or less positive ratings but not negative.
Also, they called 35% to 30% “relatively” close. Given a margin of error I think “dead heat” would be more appropriate.
Sigh. The propaganda has begun in earnest. Sharpen your wits.
David // December 23, 2007 at 11:00 PM
Where did we hear that the full results of the poll is to be printed in the Nation on Wednesday? We also heard in the news, can’t remember where and when, that the University of the West Indies was motivated to do this poll as a project because it is an area of learning which they want to strengthen on the “Hill”.
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 12:07 AM
David // December 23, 2007 at 5:37 pm
David ,
I endorse your views above and repeat some comments I made on BFP site about the BLP ploy on this issue and the cold facts as they occured around the globe recently.
The BLP has demonstrated without a doubt that their only claim to office is to give the impression of an apparent wedge between David Thompson and Dennis Kellman !
This clap trap argument that they continue to advance about LEADERSHIP is appalling .
Every general election held in the British COMMONWEALTH over the last 12 months WHERE THERE WAS CHANGE recorded……. the opposition leader TRAILED the incumbent prior and during the election campaign.
Sir John Compton TRAILED Kenny Anthony !
Hubert Ingram TRAILED Perry Christie !
Bruce Golding TRAILED Portia Simpson !
Kevin Rudd TRAILED John Howard !
This is the INFORMATION that George Belle need to analyse :
** swing against the BLP is now 7.9 % up from 5.5 % in OCTOBER 2007 …….HARDWOOD !
** % of the ELECTORATE now wanting CHANGE is 53 % up from 43 % in OCTOBER 2007 …..BLP inability to be ACCOUNTABLE to voters !
The CHASM of discontent with the BLP is growing !
POLLS do not VOTE…..but they give a fairly good representation at times of the possible outcome !
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 12:28 AM
Jay // December 24, 2007 at 3:37 am
Mia Mottley will be PM by 2011 and Clyde Mascoll will be Deputy PM.
Jay,
And since he made such good use of the taxpayers $ 2 million ………Anthony Murrell would be the Minister of FINANCE !
Anonymous // December 24, 2007 at 4:24 am
Jay…..why the hell we BLP supporters cannot listen or see Owen Arthur’s nomination speech on BLP TV ?
Is this WHY all the BLP candidates are now saying……WE GINE LEH GO OWEN….NOW MORE….THAN EVER…..?
Trouble in the HOUSE….opposite Lionel Hill Supermarket !
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 12:48 AM
open eyes // December 24, 2007 at 4:26 am
and in the past 20 years since barrow dead, who has emerged leader? the puppet there now cant even name a leader power to he and the DLP
Anonymous // December 24, 2007 at 4:41 am
What does the last 14 years says for the BLP ?
Owen had BILLIE then switched to MOTTLEY….but would NOT dare step aside for them !
Owen decided to leave…..then now returns begging for 15 more years !
Not even in STRONG MAN ’s land
( VENEZUELA ) did Venezuelans extend CHAVEZ term in office !
You gotta be JOKING…..Bajans ain’t taking no more BLP CRAP !
You better……open yuh EYES !
frankology // December 24, 2007 at 1:52 AM
To all my blogging friends especially my debaters – Jerome and Adrian Hinds and Wishing in Vain. Along with Bush Tea, Waterboy, Straight Talk, all the Anonymous writers, Hants, Velzo, The Barbados Underground moderators. I would like to wish all of you and those that I did not mention ALL THE BEST FOR THE HOLIDAYS. May you and your family be blessed with excellent health and happiness, the money will come after. Merry Xmas and a Happy New Year.
DE BUMBLE BEE // December 24, 2007 at 12:23 PM
You see what I mean one hour , five minutes and eighteen seconds ( 1:05:18 ) of Owen speech, but the part with ” Never another DLP government in office ” is missing.
Does our BLP supporters realise that the DLP has the original tape ?
Such Stupid Comments …….wake up and do not do any further damage.
A lot of BLP people were in the room at Alexandra from what I have been told.
Follow the speech below :
http://blp.org.bb/blptv/speeches
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 12:29 PM
When would this TOM – FOOLERY end ????
In 1999 just before the GENERAL ELECTION…..Liz Thompson announced that GREENLAND would be opened in JANUARY 1999 !
That date passed……GREENLAND remain closed !
Just a few weeks ago Liz Thompson announced that GREENLAND would receive it’s first BAG of Garbage on 2 JANUARY 2008 !
Now that date is at hand…..we are being told that GREENLAND would be ready by DECEMBER 2008 !
And how can GREENLAND be within BUDGET…..when there was so much RETROFITTING & DELAYS ??????
TIME………is…..MONEY !
In this case……$$$$$$$ MILLIONS of tax payer $$$$$$ !
And these BLP PARIAHS talking about…..LEADERSHIP ???
There is no LEADERSHIP……if INTEGRITY & ACCOUNTABILTY are absent !!!!!
Barbados…..in TROUBLE !
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 1:20 PM
DE BUMBLE BEE Says:
DE BUMBLE BEE // December 24, 2007 at 2:38 pm
To all my fellow BLP bloggers on this site.
Why does our leader , Owen Arthur’s , nomination speech no longer appear on the BLP web site or BLP TV ?
I watched that speech live on the 16th of December 2007.
On the morning after, 17th December 2007, I watched it again with 2 of my neighbours.
I will admit that there were areas of the speech that Owen start to frighten me !
I could not believe my ears when he spoke about the Late Errol Barrow in the way he did.
This is the same Errol Barrow that OWEN was praising in Independence Square in January 2007.
Then the talk about no ” DLP gov’t in office again ” shook me up.
I love my BLP & my PM , but like a lot of BARBADIANS we love OUR country real bad.
If the BLP hierachy believe Owen was out of line , then ASK him to apologise .
Tony Blair APOLOGISED during his time !
George Bush APOLOGISED during his time !
John Howard APOLOGISED during his time !
Erskine Sandiford APOLOGISED during his time !
That is the HALLMARK of LEADERSHIP for me & thousands more BARBADIANS !
Put back up the speech on BLP TV and APOLOGISE…….or ELSE
Kiss the 15th of JANUARY 2008……GOOD BYE .
Posted on December 24, 2007 at 2:40 pm
58Jerome Hinds Says:
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
DE BUMBLE BEE // December 24, 2007 at 4:20 pm
You see what I mean one hour , five minutes and eighteen seconds ( 1:05:18 ) of Owen speech, but the part with ” Never another DLP government in office ” is missing.
Does our BLP supporters realise that the DLP has the original tape ?
Such Stupid Comments …….wake up and do not do any further damage.
A lot of BLP people were in the room at Alexandra from what I have been told.
Anonymous // December 24, 2007 at 5:16 pm
DE BUMBLE BEE ,
I do not know you but I must congratulate for you bravery , openness & honesty.
Thanks for the wake up call you provided in the link above about Owen’s speech.
I know he said it because my mother – an untiring BLP supporter – came home that evening from Alexander School Hall voicing her disgust about that statement.
I have just listened to the link you provided and the crowd there was very lukewarm from their responses – my mother agreed as well .
No wonder Owen called the election 4 days after .
But why is the BLP hiding what Owen Arthur said about the DLP on that ” never return to office ” issue.
Rickey Sighn wants to know as well.
The BLP & Owen has shown poor LEADERSHIP on this one.
Are we voting for a one party state on the 15 january 2008 ?
Where the BLP commentators on this one ?
Speak up & speak out !
Barbadians are watching and listening .
Jerome Hinds // December 24, 2007 at 2:51 PM
DE BUMBLE BEE // December 24, 2007 at 6:48 pm
Such Stupid Comments , Jay , Open Eyes and other BLP commentators on this site , you see how you all doing further damage to the reputation of the BLP ?
Do you all notice that the DEMS trailing the BEES 35% to 30 % and SOME of we BLP supporters talking ‘ bout the DEMS divided !
WE ain’t fooling Barbadians with that nonsense in 2007….yuh HEAR ?
I am asking BLP supporters again….. Why does our leader , Owen Arthur’s , nomination speech no longer appear on the BLP web site or BLP TV with the ” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?
Do we BLP people understand what it means with a SWING growing from 5.5 % in October 2007 ( WICKHAM POLL ) to 7.9 % in December 2007 ( UWI / BELLE poll ) and the electorate complaining about how we have dealt with the :
COST OF LIVING ?
HARDWOOD ?
VECO & THE DODDS PRISON ?
750 MILLION IN COST OVERRUNS ?
ABC HIGH WAY ?
KENSINGTON OVAL ?
We BLP PEOPLE fuh REAL ?????
Observing // December 25, 2007 at 5:53 AM
Sigh, I too watched the speech in earnest of the now infamous comment. The fact that the BLP would edit a video to omit a quote that was reported, heard by hundreds of witnesses and recorded in other places shows a lack of respect for my common sense and devalues their attempts at openness and freedom of informatino via BLP-TV. Yet another reason not to give them my vote on the 15th.
Fred // December 25, 2007 at 7:14 AM
I too watched the speech in earnest of the now infamous comment. The fact that the BLP would edit a video to omit a quote that was reported, heard by hundreds of witnesses and recorded in other places shows a lack of respect for my common sense and devalues their attempts at openness and freedom of informatino via BLP-TV. Yet another reason not to give them my vote on the 15th.
My old man always used to say to me that you really always should believe what a drunk mans says to you, because it is when he is drunk he is at his most unguarded and honest in what he says and he means.
It was reported that Arthur was drunk when he made his now well documented I did not say that speech about never wanting to see the DLP hold office ever again and his hateful comment about our father of Independence and our NATIONAL HERO ERROL WALTON BARROW to have said what he did about a NATIONAL HERO OF THIS ISLAND is grossly disrespectful to our NATIONAL HERO and to Barbadians in general.
His comments made while drunk as I started by saying maybe those made from the heart and should be seen as such that given the chance he may well do ANYTHING and EVERYTHING to alter this election result including voter fraud, let us not forget the stack of ID cards that lurked around with Mark Smart’s campaign !!!
If they would do it for MARK SMART why would they not do likewise for this election?
These are serious times ahead let no one fool you, voter with you heart and not with your pocket and life will get so much better.
Think about the stage that we are a in this country now, not a single project in 7 years has come in ON BUDGET OR COME IN ON TIME, add to that $ 750 MILLION in COST OVERRUNS on everything that this lot is involved with, do we need more of the same?
Not for me it is time for a change, and it is coming on the 15th of JANUARY 2008 , Thank God for the opportunity to make a difference!!!!!!
Ayub // December 26, 2007 at 1:50 PM
I also watched the speak made by Owen, how he pulled down the good name of Errol Barrow and boldly showed his traits as a dictator. As a Barbadian living oversea ,I am very concern about the direction in which Bim is going and obviously believe the time is right to get rid of Owen and his bunch crooks.
Please let your vote count on 15th of January 2008 and save my dear country.
Jerome Hinds // December 26, 2007 at 7:03 PM
If LEADERSHIP will indeed be one of the main planks in this election campaign…..then HONESTY & INTEGRITY must be exhibited by all who aspire to leadership positions.
Listening to OWEN Arthur in the extract below :
The following points must HIGHLIGHTED :
** The 1990’s were characterised by a GLOBAL RECESSION !
** The IRAQ war was a contributing factor !
** Many countries around the world including the Caribbean were affected by this recession !
** In Trinidad & Tobago there were job cuts & the COLA allowance…….check out Black Stalin song !
** In Antigua there were job losses & salary cuts !
** In Dominica there were retrenchment of Civil Servants & salary cuts !
** In Britain & USA there were salary cuts & job losses !
This is the REAL point……..was ERSKINE SANDIFORD & the DLP responsible for what occured in all those COUNTRIES above ?
REGARDLESS…….of who was in office in Barbados during the EARLY 1990’s the results were going to be the same.
So why do we have Owen Arthur and the BLP making it sound that only Barbados was affected by this GLOBAL RECESSION ?
Wishing in Vain // December 26, 2007 at 7:31 PM
How can we really suggest that leadership can be an issue in this election when we have tolerated the leadership of what will go down in history as the MOST CORRUPT PRIME MINISTER TO EVER HOLD THE OFFICE OF PRIME MINISTER and the most POWER HUNGRY PERSON ever to have had the honour of leading this country.
When in his quest for a DICTATORSHIP HE CAN STATE THAT HE NEVER WANTS TO SEE THE DLP LEAD THIS COUNTRY EVER AGAIN it REEKS with ARROGANCE but I think I understand his NEED FOR POWER AND CONTROL he HAS TO AVOID THE RISK OF BEING CARRIED TO THE COURTS FOR BRIBERY, FRAUD AND CORRUPTION.
Therein lies his real reason to maintain power it is not about the peoples cause, it is about his own needs to cover his tracks and to direct justice, we aleady know of his ability to affect justice with his lack of documentation with regard to his divorce from Beverley, he and DAVID SIMMONS are two peas in a pod, both crooked as ever.
If this is what we have for leadership, forget it, we could bring GEARBOX back from his grave and he would command more respect from the people than Arthur does and better yet GEARBOX would be seen as a poor honest man much to his credit, so unlike this one call OWING ARTHUR.
I am eternally grateful that we have a leader in waiting to bring some order to this Nation, come the evening of the 15th of JANUARY. THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH MR DAVID THOMPSON for being a loyal servant to the people of this island for nearly 30 years of your life that is a major sacrifice to have made for us the citizens.
Jerome Hinds // December 26, 2007 at 8:36 PM
Amen to that….Wishing In Vain .
Anonymous // December 27, 2007 at 1:58 AM
I learnt only today that the one called TREVOR PRESCOD is actually quite an aggressive person, it was reported to me today that when he worked at WIRL before, he got involved in a heated debate with a female worker at the factory at WHIRL where he rushed at her with a scissors and attempted to stab her, the police, the BWU were all called in to settle the issue.
The others involved in this even were a Mr Worrell and a Ms Boucher, he is reportely a very short tempered person suffering from the short man’s sickness.
The next time you see him ask him if he was fired as result of this incident or not.
Wishing in Vain // December 27, 2007 at 2:20 AM
DEMOCRATIC PROCESS UNDER SEVERE THREAT
OPPOSITION LEADER DAVID THOMPSON says the non-national vote in the January 15 general election, combined with Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s stated desire for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) never to hold office again, could pose a serious threat to Barbados’ democratic process.
In an exclusive interview with the SUNDAY SUN during the DLP’s Christmas concert in Heroes Square, The City, on Friday night, he responded to Dame Billie Miller’s comment that there was not any one non-national group where the numbers were large enough to make a difference in the next general election.
“I find it alarming that the Government would make those kinds of statements, even against the backdrop of there being outstanding a case relative to the registration of non-national voters.
“Therefore, until I am satisfied that there have not been persons who are registered as voters in Barbados who are not entitled to vote, I would have to be extremely concerned about that.
“I am (also) concerned about the statement by Prime Minister Owen Arthur that the Democratic Labour Party should never hold office in this country again, because, taken together, they are a significant threat to democracy in this country.”
Thompson said Dame Billie was “out of touch” with what was happening in Barbados because there was a dominant group whose votes were very relevant to the outcome of the elections, and in marginal constituencies their involvement was something to watch very carefully.
The MP for St John also responded to Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley’s announcement on Thursday that the unemployment rate had slipped to 7.1 per cent of the labour force (for July to September) from 9.8 per cent in the same quarter last year.
“I believe that [Mia] Mottley needs to speak to the Minister of State in the Ministry of Finance Clyde Mascoll, who certainly, when he was a member of the Democratic Labour Party – and I believe professionally – has indicated that the unemployment statistics are inaccurate in the manner in which they are measured,” he said.
Thompson reasoned that the statistics did not capture large numbers of persons who were unemployed in this country but who were otherwise categorised.
“I am very reluctant, based on the advice given to me by Mascoll many years ago and given to us and the country when he was Leader of the Opposition, to accept those statistics by Mascoll’s analysis,” he said.
Wishing in Vain // December 27, 2007 at 7:24 AM
Let’s debate
LEADER of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) David Thompson has called for three live televised debates among the party leaders, ahead of the January 15 General Election.
“By announcing a date for the General Election just before Christmas and thereby limiting the campaign to 12 days, (Prime Minister) Owen Arthur has clearly shown he wants to avoid full debate of the issues,” Thompson said in a statement yesterday.
According to Thompson, the Prime Minister’s cutting down of the campaign time would avoid the Barbados Labour Party’s (BLP) record over the past 13 years “being subjected to unwelcome scrutiny”.
He added: “It smacks of arrogance and is a most anti-democratic move because full and open debate is the lifeblood of democracy.”
In proposing the three televised debates, Thompson said they could be held under the broad themes of Economic Policy, Social Policy and Governance.
He said three of the country’s most senior and respected journalists should be invited to pose questions to the leaders during the debates.
“Limiting debate of the issues to the political platform puts Barbadians at a serious disadvantage, especially considering the BLP’s tendency to use public meetings more as avenues for distracting entertainment than serious debate,” Thompson contended.
He added: “The Democratic Labour Party intends to stick to the issues because we believe it is important that Barbadians are fully informed about the choices they have, ahead of January 15.
“More than ever before, this election is about the type of society we want in the future, not so much for ourselves, but more for our children and grandchildren,” he concluded.
In 2003, there was one debate between the political leaders.
Observing // December 27, 2007 at 8:08 AM
He’s at it again.
“I must also thank the Democratic Labour Party for it because by their absence from Parliament in the last few weeks, we were able to do six weeks’ work in two days.”
This was “a wonderful achievement” which underscored “what could happen … when the Labour Party is allowed to dominate Parliament”, Arthur said.
Nation Newspaper, December 27.
Wishing in Vain // December 27, 2007 at 8:22 AM
dominate Parliament”, Arthur said.
Please tell me what is this man on ???
Rum or just an EGO trip with his use of power someone better grab him by his shirt tails and keep him on the ground.
It reeks with ARROGANCE here again, but that is what we have seen with 15 administrations, gross contempt and arrogance seeps in.
Jerome Hinds // December 27, 2007 at 10:16 AM
Jerome Hinds WRITES :
The BLP suppoter , De Bumble Bee….is not allowing her BLP colleagues to go the way of PAKISTAN.
She is asking some tough questions.
Check her comments below & on the BLP blog.
DE BUMBLE BEE // December 27, 2007 at 2:08 pm
q // December 27, 2007 at 8:17 am
As for the bumble bee I have been following your comments and whilst you may be a DIE HARD BEE as you say, you are certainly not a BLP supporter.
DE BUMBLE BEE WRITES :
That is it…..Q you believe that we BLP supporters should RASCALISE politics !
If our leader , OWEN said something wrong….let us get him to APOLOGISE !
And if you insist he ain’t say nothing WRONG…..then why the words NO LONGER appear in the speech on BLP TV ?
” No DLP gov’t ever again ” line ?
I hope you following the EVENTS in PAKISTAN ?
The president SUSPENDED the CONSTITUTION recently !
Today supporters of the PRESIDENT assasinated Benazir Bhutto the OPPOSITION leader !
In Barbados we BLP party & party leader tried to SUSPEND the CONSTITUTION !
On the 16th DECEMBER 2007 our party LEADER , OWEN ARTHUR , told the country that he is DETERMINED & MOTIVATED ” to keep the DEMS out of office FOREVER ” !
If we BLP people do not REPENT !
Come the 15th of Jan 2008 Bajans gine mek we pay for……..SUCH STUPID COMMENTS !
Wishing in Vain // December 27, 2007 at 2:26 PM
When I listened to Farley on the call in show today I wanted to get in my car and drive around this island and observe all the development sites that he referred to listening to him, it left me with the impression that every 200 yards we would have been seeing another piece of land with HARDWOOD HOUSES being erected but the reality of this is very much different to this, it is not the case, there is total inaction on the matter of delivering of homes for Barbadians but what we do have is a lot of fancy talk and lip service with no follow up action, so typical of Farley and his clan of crooks.
Meanwhile as the former minister of Housing and Lands what measures has he taken to remove the barrier across the road at COLONY CLUB??
ZERO ZERO ZERO
Thats the former minister for you plenty hot air once again and no action.
Georgie Porgie // December 27, 2007 at 3:14 PM
Observing wrote on December 27, 2007 at 8:08 am
He’s at it again.
“I must also thank the Democratic Labour Party for it because by their absence from Parliament in the last few weeks, we were able to do six weeks’ work in two days.”
This was “a wonderful achievement” which underscored “what could happen … when the Labour Party is allowed to dominate Parliament”, Arthur said.
Nation Newspaper, December 27.
=========================
I was just about to post that extract but Observing beat me to it.
It is important to note that Owen is not repentant in his stance to undemocratically see that there is a one party state in Barbados, and that the BLP dominates parliament.
My question is does this man have a malfunctioning brain? Does he realize what he is saying or is he deliberately committing political suicide.
It is of course written some where in classical literature that WHOM THE GOD’S WILL DESTROY THEY FIRST MAKE MAD .
Observing // December 27, 2007 at 4:47 PM
Did anyone notice or mention the number of bills (10) that were rushed through Parliament as supplements to the Order Paper on December 18th? And does anyone know the impact of these bills on our day to day lives?
Wishing in Vain // December 28, 2007 at 12:00 AM
WHO PLAYED A BIG ROLE IN CAUSING PRICE OF OUR LAND TO BE SO HIGH ?
Prime Minister Arthur once said that he must sell land to pay our bill (debts), even though it is now one of the famous things he has said publicly and then denied saying. He further stated that it is the citizens of Barbados that have pushed the price up by selling our land to foreign investors.
If you were a foreign investor would spend millions to buy land in Barbados, conduct a feasibility or environmental impact study for a major development like condos, town-houses or a water park unless you first had at least a verbal agreement from our government that you could develop that land for the purpose intended ??? We think not !!!!!
Would could you talk to about getting that verbal permission ?? The Chief Town Planner. But he or she could not operate without submitted architectural drawings and the relevant studies conducted. What about the Minister of Housing ?? Very Unlikely !!!
What about the MINISTER RESPONSIBLE FOR TOWN PLANNING ???? Why of course!! after all this Minister sets policy for the land use in the island and when the rich foreign investors start threatening to take their projects to other islands there is a need to act swiftly.
Mr. Investor, we can now see why you buy our land and almost immediately after it is bought you are able to swiftly start your multi – million dollar projects, causing the value of nearby land to climb steeply out of the reach of our citizens.
Yes we sold our land to you Mr. Investor but you were aided in your decision to purchase our lands by the MINISTER RESPONSIBLE FOR TOWN PLANNING AND HIS LAND USE POLICY OR LACK THEREOF.
WHO IS THIS MINISTER ?? RIGHT HON. OWEN S ARTHUR. FOUND GUILTY !!!
Wishing in Vain // December 29, 2007 at 9:07 AM
Taan The Action Man
His navel string may not be buried anywhere on this island, but Taan Abed’s love for the people of Barbados is very deep.
After moving to Barbados more than 30 years ago from Damascus, Syria, there was no moving back to the East. Instead, Abed has made his plan to move forward here in the West Indies.
In fact, he has taken up the mantle to become the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) candidate for Christ Church West to run against Barbados Labour Party (BLP) general secretary William Duguid.
The reason to him is clear: “Barbados needs a change for the better.”
“I choose the DLP because of my relationship with Errol Barrow and what he taught me about the DLP and its wants for every Barbadian, so I am here to give my 100 per cent.
“I met him when I was 23 and he was in his [50s ] – 55 or 56. I was a Syrian military officer when I came to Barbados and he came to the airport and picked me up.
“The minute I talked to him we were friends. Then I met him again and I fixed his car. He also knew my uncle very well, where I was also working at the time and we talked [about] those times too.
“We got to know each other very well and he started to visit me. A relationship grew between us and we became very close friends. He taught me the DLP way,” Abed reminisced.
If the decision to be a DLP candidate was clear, then seeking the Christ Church West seat was even more obvious for the mechanical engineer.
“I chose Christ Church West because I am here living in it. I have lived here for 32 years; my wife lived there for over 49 years. In that time, I have seen no representative for the poor people, and the conditions are getting worse.
“The area is diverse – there are very rich and very poor people. But the poor people are suffering and being neglected in housing areas like St Matthias. The roads there are horrible, the health care is awful.
“When you see conditions of people suffering and you are close to them and you speak to them one by one, you see their major concerns. Cost of living is No. 1, and health care is a great concern for the people in Christ Church West. I have to do something about it. I have to help the people and I can.”
Dubbed the “the action man”, a very passionate Abed pledged to be the best representative, promising proper representation across all social, ethnic, religious and political boundaries.
“My priorities are to give the basic human needs of education and religion. I am a firm believer in God and Jesus and I want to bring religion back to our lives. I want it back in the school system.
“The only solution to control crime in this country is through religion and education,” Abed stressed.
So after serving his duty in the Syrian military airforce, where afterwards, in 1995, he migrated to Kuwait, he found his solace in Barbados with a visit to his family.
“Here is where I met my beautiful wife and I have been married for more than 28 years to a beautiful Barbadian woman. And when I married my wife, I married Barbados. I have three children, a daughter and two sons, all of them born and bred right here in Barbados.
“So I want to give back to this country for what it has given me.”