Barbados Underground

The Games That Newspapers Play

January 7, 2008 · 114 Comments

PM Arthur’s Tiawan Deal Allegations Exposed As Lies

There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots?

Categories: Barbados · Barbados Elections · Barbados Labour Party · Barbados Media · Barbados News · Barbados Press · Blogging · Caribbean · Caribbean News · David Thompson · Democratic Labour Party · Newspapers · Press Freedom

114 responses so far ↓

• Anonymous // January 7, 2008 at 8:17 PM

The Nation would have had to inform the BLP that that particular article was on its way. There has to be collusion between the nation and the BLP. This is not good for the media especially when it is clear that the BLP controls both the Advocate and the Nation

• anonymous // January 7, 2008 at 8:17 PM

Who is funding BLP? Communist China?

• Adrian Hinds // January 7, 2008 at 8:26 PM

I fail to see this taiwanese issue resonation with Bajans. I would hazard a guess that I am not alone in wondering who is paying for all this spending that both parties are puting on. I would also guess that most Bajans don’t appreciate the tiawan issue in the manner that Owen and Mia would wish that they do. For Owen To refer to Tiawan as a rogue state or province , tells me that he too is not convince of the argument, and the effect of this bombshell. The BLP may be right in that this revalation was indeed a bombSHELL and not a real bomb, and therefore not having the desired effect. :D

• Georgie Porgie // January 7, 2008 at 9:12 PM

The ad is twice saying to the readership
    BEES — YES
    DEMS NO

Which is the theme of the BLP”s campaign song! QED

• Tony // January 7, 2008 at 9:40 PM

The Nation newspaper is obviously in collusion with the BLP but the story has not had the desired effect. The people have already made up their minds. I have a lot of personal friends who voted BLP last time. I have been on the phone with them a lot and they are telling me that this time they are voting DLP because they cannot stand the arrogance and lack of accountability of this present administration, plus they say that 15 years if enough for any party to be in power. This feeling has resonated with many people.

• Bajanboy // January 7, 2008 at 10:05 PM

Tony, that’s exactly how I feel. Vote the BLP out and hold the fire to the feet of DLP. They will not have that arrogant attitude as they will have to quickly deliver the goods.

• donald duck // January 7, 2008 at 10:21 PM

Please ask David thompson if the dlp was expecting to receive funds from the taiwanese for the campaign. there is a difference between funds received ( which thompson denied) and funds to be received ( which he has not been asked)

• donald duck // January 7, 2008 at 10:48 PM

In October 1971, Resolution 2758 was passed by the UN General Assembly, expelling “the representatives of Chiang Kai-shek” and replacing the China seat on the Security Council (and all other UN organs) with delegates from the People’s Republic of China. It declared “that the representatives of the Government of the People’s Republic of China are the only lawful representatives of China to the United Nations” and thus do not regard the Republic of China as legitimately representing the whole of China.

We should therefore not be recognising the Republic of china( taiwan)

• Brutus // January 7, 2008 at 10:54 PM

Donald Duck – perhaps the BLP should have waited until the funds were actually received by the DLP before making the accusation. The BLP will not let us forget David Thompson’s big flop with the secret IMF deal. Have they now made the same mistake?

• Paradox // January 7, 2008 at 10:58 PM

When Barbadians go to the poles on January 15, 2008, they must demonstrate to the Media and all political parties that they do not ‘follow fools gladly’.
    It is hipocritical to think that so much has gone on, especially in the last 2 years and the media have failed to inform the public.

This a sad reflection on our society, in today’s world where injustices are committed and intelligent people says nothing.
    Have we all forgotten GERMANY and the man who left his legacy behind for history to repeat itself?’
    The media is staffed by so-called ‘intelligent men’ and MUST take some blame.
    A Barbados with over 95% litterate, with institutions of higher learning, where educated people are too afraid to speak out and do what is right, for fear of some retribution to themselves or family.
    This is a disgrace in a modern democratic society.
    People are not fools. It is quite clear for all to see the “indiscriminate way of the newspaper above. It is simply TRYING to advise people, the party of choice; that is what I can see. ‘You scratch my back and I yours’.
    If the newspaper had printed ‘No’,'Yes’; ‘hell would have been on fire’.
    The MEDIA must be free to inform and not to mislead and every Journalist who is worth his ’salt’ should be at the forefront, fighting to ensure best pratice.
    Come this election,we all should and must see change.
    All over the country people are crying out for change. Come January 16,2008, the people will see that change.

• donald duck // January 7, 2008 at 11:04 PM

Brutus

the average bajan can see thru what david thompson is denying. for instance tonight thompson announces on his political broadcast that the dlp will remove vat on electricity for businesses and individuals. the dlp manifesto says they will examine the possibility of so doing. Where then is the true manifesto

• Paradox // January 7, 2008 at 11:28 PM

The great Super power USA is doing good business with the ‘old satan’ China and much of the profit made in trade is funding the war in Middle East.
    The great super power has a number of troops based in Taiwan, for just in case.
    This is all political nonsence to imply or to read something which is not there.
    People can see through this FACADE.

• Lodge Road // January 8, 2008 at 12:05 AM

PM Arthur’s Allegations Exposed As Lies: http://s2.netro.ca/dlpbarbadosod/20080107_PC_Taiwan_China.wma

Cant Wait, Cant Wait, Cant Wait, Man… I VOTING DEM

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:20 AM

It all comes down to two little words….

“to date”

DAVID THOMPSON, DLP: “The DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China or Taiwan….”

Thompson’s denial does not sound convincing to me.

Furthermore….

“The two leadership meetings, as proposed by the BLP, would be between Prime Minister Owen Arthur and DLP president David Thompson, with the second debate between BLP deputy leader Mia Mottley and a deputy to be named by the DLP.”

It reflects very badly that the DLP does not know who its deputy is, ESPECIALLY ONE WEEK BEFORE AN ELECTION.

• fredbands // January 8, 2008 at 12:31 AM

David Thompson as did not explain (or deny) about the 40,000 T Shirts the Owen spoke about that were printed in St. Lucia (they did the say thing last election) also they insult our young people by bringing Luciano, this is Bajan elections could we not have had a selection on Bajan artistes and a band surely then it would have been truly a Bajan affair. Note also like Sonia Cambridge also observed he did not deny it outright, he choose his words carefully.

• Wishing in Vain // January 8, 2008 at 12:39 AM

I wonder why in Heavens name the almighty CBC controlled by the BLP could not find it fit cover the PRESS CONFERENCE GIVEN BY DR DON MARSHALL WHERE HE STATED THAT HIS LIFE WAS THREATENED AT A BLP POLITICAL MEETING ?

• Lodge Road // January 8, 2008 at 12:50 AM

Fredbands get real, was there NOT KROSFYHA which is a Bajan BAND and other BAJAN bands at the DLP New Years campaign launch Party?

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 1:05 AM

fredbands,

Also note, the DLP has yet been unable to present live (or recorded) video of any of their meetings.

Contrast that to the BLP where I have been able to show people halfway across the world what politics in Barbados is like by directing them to the BLP website where they were very impressed with Reverend Joseph Atherley’s address to the people on Saturday night at Carlisle Car Park.

Also notice the huge 9,000 to 10,000 crowd of BLP supporters who turned out on Saturday night at Carlisle Car Park. It’s said that the Oistins crowd at the DLP event was much larger, but how many of them were there just because Luciano was performing? In the case of the Bees, those people went there to deal with politics, not politics+entertainment.

The DLP, despite Thompson’s claim that he was ready since late 2006, seems to have been caught partly unprepared and unready. Of course, having said this, the ruling party would have had the benefit of calling the election date.

I still long to hear a debate between Arthur and Thompson, even if it is done without CBC which has now reportedly cancelled the previously planned debates due to the short time remaining. They could meet at the VOB radio studios instead, or they could do it themselves, using the same live streaming video that the BLP has. They could even have it live in Independence Square with two loudspeakers for all I care.

I would have loved to see who the DLP who present as deputy to debate Mia Mottley. To my mind, she is sharp as a razor and NO-ONE in Barbados (or the whole region) would better her in ANY debate. She would make mincemeat out of David Thompson for sure.

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 1:25 AM

fredbands,

I disagree with you about Luciano coming to Barbados.

CSME is alive and well. And as Caribbean people we should welcome our island neighbours as we have always done in this region.

I have no problem with DLP or BLP getting t-shirts made in other Caribbean territories either. There are some things which are beyond politics, and picking at them only makes one look small minded.

WOW! Eight more days to go. So far so good. I was driving through the outskirts of Bridgetown today and I’m happy with what I’m seeing. Everything cool and calm. Posters of opponents stuck side by side together on poles. Democracy is alive and well in Barbados as it has always been. My main regret is not being able to get recorded videos of the DLP meetings. I’ve never attended a political meeting in all my years, only ever heard the loud raucous voices coming over the loudspeakers in the distance. Being able to go online from the comfort of my home and looking in on the BLP mass meeting revealed a side of Bajan life which I had never actually witnessed before, and I was VERY IMPRESSED, especially with Rev. Joseph Atherley’s address. Would have loved to see the DLP’s people to be able to compare. Hope they will get themselves sorted out with the live streaming before election day.

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 1:34 AM

Barbados Underground,

I just realised something.

Your headline says “The Games That Newspapers Play”

But what about the games that BLOGS play?

• David // January 8, 2008 at 2:46 AM

There is also the uncomfortable behaviour of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation advertising for the BLP. Should a government station be allowed to advertise for government?

Check it out.

• ~B~F~P~E~ // January 8, 2008 at 3:41 AM

(We just got back.)

“We can create a First World Island
    Nation.”
    – 2008 DLP Manifesto, Page 52.

Barbados Underground, we give you the honour of making the first comment about that particular statement.

The DLP manifesto is a very beautiful document which is full of very beautiful promises. From the short perusal we have given it, they seem to be promising Bajans the sun, the moon and all the stars. But can they deliver all of them? And are they promising too much too fast? Are these promises and targets realistic? We at BFPE await the BLP manifesto tonight (Tuesday) which will probably contain something very similar.

~B~F~P~E~

• ~B~F~P~E~ // January 8, 2008 at 3:49 AM

David,

“Should a government station be allowed to advertise for government?”

Nonsense.

You would not have had any objections if it was a DLP government or a DLP ad.

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 4:47 AM

Campaign financing period. Who are these corporates that have a tradition of financing political parties, and why? If this stops, so many issues will be put to bed. Let’s have a debate on this. This is the mother of all political issues.

WHO FINANCES POLITICAL PARTIES.

• Green(back) man // January 8, 2008 at 5:17 AM

SIGNS of the times.

When a political party start deviating from issues of the campaign to deal with peripheral matters – as the BLP is clearly doing – then they are scraping the bottom of the barrel.

Check Owen fingernails for splinters if yuh doubt me.

• Adrian Loveridge // January 8, 2008 at 5:50 AM

‘and Taiwan, a rogue state’
    Nation – 7th January 2008

Interesting………

Universal sufferage 20 years
    97.5% literacy
    9 years compulsory education
    Life expectancy – 77.46
    Unemployment 3.9%
    Per capita GDP – US16,596

Multi-party democracy

Ah! that its…

The PM doesn’t like the thought of a multi-party democracy.

Now lets hear the stats for mainland China!

• Jerome Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 6:28 AM

The TAIWANESE gov’t made a statement and said that Owen is LYING !

CBC has REFUSED to play the TAIWAN denial !

CBC has CANCELLED all the proposed TV debates between the leaders from the DLP & BLP !

OWEN ARTHUR IS RESPONSIBLE FOR CBC !

Welcome to BARBADOS……..the world newest DICTATORSHIP !

• Anon // January 8, 2008 at 7:46 AM

I am very disappointed with the coverage of the election campaign by the media especially the Nation our most read newspaper. The BLP gets massive coverage grabbing headlines on front and back pages practically everyday. Owen Arthur features prominently everyday. The DLP gets minimun coverage. There should be a complete balance. Half and half. This is worst bias I have seen. The BLP controls the media no doubt about it. CBC and the Advocate are of course worse than the Nation. Those two media are literally working out of BLP offices in Roebuck Street. CBC is an outright arm of the BLP. Strictly BLP propaganda is seen on CBC tv. The DLP gets very little coverage. Shame on the media houses.

• The People's Democratic Congress // January 8, 2008 at 7:51 AM

We in Barbados have entered the final week of electoral campaigning in this country. Too, we are beginning to realize more and more what the result will be at the end of voting. We in the People’s Democratic Congress have already said that this BLP Government WILL LOOSE this Election. And we are primarily stating such because of what seven (7) out of every ten (10) persons who intend to vote this election have been saying to us: that they will NOT be voting for this wretched and failed BLP Government this election. What is very important about this statistic is that it relates to three major facets: –

(1), some persons who did NOT vote in previous elections saying that they are sure that this time they WILL COME OUT AND VOTE FOR THE FIRST TIME but NOT for the BLP, but for other parties including the PDC;

(2), some persons who VOTED in previous elections for the BLP saying that they are sure that they WILL VOTE for other parties other than the BLP; and

(3), some persons who VOTED in previous elections for the BLP saying that are sure that they will NOT VOTE for any body.

So, right away you can deduce therefrom that voter support across this country for this BLP is seriously tumbling, and that voter support is increasing for other parties, including the PDC, esp. since in this schema FAR MORE AND MORE persons are saying that they are switching support from the BLP to other parties than any are saying that they are switching support from other parties to the BLP, and than any are saying that they definitely WILL NOT VOTE for any body.

Also, we are encouraging those who will vote in this election to make sure that they efficiently mobilize themselves and others, esp. those who remain a little undecided about voting but who will still in the end turn out and vote, to go and vote very early on polling day.

Finally, we in PDC are working to make sure that there is a higher voter turn out than the last election. For sure, if there is really a higher voter turn out than last time, it must be that this will be more evidence of thousands and thousands of Barbadians being every so frustrated and sick and tired with this BLP Government, and therefore really and truly their being certain about VOTING this government OUT of office, which WILL be great thing for this country. Good riddance!!

See you at the polls!!

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 8:58 AM

If any ah wanna t’irds parties split the opposition vote I goin’… and I goin’… and when I done, I goin’…. I can believe how people could tink dat by having more parties in a tight ecection goin’ help anyt’ing. Nincumpoops

• Monique // January 8, 2008 at 9:16 AM

I am not at all frustrated with the present government. In fact, life for me is quite good in Barbados. It seems to me that this blog is filled with the same DLP person(s) showing signs of desperation.

I know lots of poor people who were helped by the Urban Development Commission. I don’t know a single person in my entire community who is suffering.

• wow !! // January 8, 2008 at 9:23 AM

monique, u need to take off ur blinkers….15 years is good enuff…we r suffering !

• Monique // January 8, 2008 at 9:27 AM

wow !!, You are suffering enough to have internet access. Yeah, right. Who do you people think you can FOOL?

• Monique // January 8, 2008 at 9:34 AM

Today we have David Thompson making accusations of wire-tapping.

Thompson went on: “We have had a campaign strategist who previously indicated that a personal conversation that took place between him and somebody else was referred to in some detail by the Prime Minister.”

Who is he trying to fool? All that happened is that ONE of the people who had the conversation TALKED to someone else afterwards and the word reached the BLP.

• Monique // January 8, 2008 at 9:35 AM

Sorry Mr. Thompson. You need to look for LEAKS not TAPS.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 9:41 AM

I would like to point out the following:

1) To Anon – if you do a check you will see that every election – every single one going back to the BLP rule – the Nation newspaper does the same thing – it gives the BLP front and back page coverage – even when the DLP is making the headlines e.g. launching their manifesto,announcing new policy decisions etc – the BLP will still somehow get at the top of the front page ,even if it means getting an article to talk about the DLP erecting Billboard posters or taiwanese tee shirts.

2)As we well know the Nation newspaper owns VOB – so if there is such clear bias at this media house – why should the DLP (if they are the new government) give the Nation/Vob a T.V. license?

Have you noticed how certain moderators go out of their way to put the BLP side of the story or give a BLP slant even if it means shutting up an anti – blp caller.
    I think they refer to it as ‘balance’.

3)I too noted that something as serious as a death threat made against a senior university lecturer (Dr Don Marshall) – who wrote an article in the Nation a few weeks back – which resulted in Arthur cussing him at his nomination meeting in st peter – yet this press conference by Dr Marshall was given no coverage by CBC.

I think that the dlp on assuming office must give serious consideration to who the new media players would be,and to try and limit the influence of the trinidadian media houses role in Barbados.

Note,Clico has a television company in Trinidad,and they must not be given a license here.

What about wealthy bajans in North America – they could be considered as players in the field.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:05 AM

fredbands,
    What nonsense are you talking? Owen spearheaded the CSME and is proud of such achievements? I thought we were going towards a one economy one market for the Caribbean…where then is the insult?How can you and Owen criticise the inclusion of a positive Jamaican artiste and after elections and after elections take a different position. You speak as though you do not have a brain for ypourself.
    Owen is a dictstor.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 10:14 AM

http://www.nationnews.com/story/335174842586749.php

If the economy is in such a crisis as reported in the newspaper attributed to Mr. Estwick, then how can Mr. Thompson give all these things in the manifesto, will we be reduced back again to the days of Sandi? They are talking in two different tongues, either Estwick or Thompson is lying?

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:17 AM

Sonia Cambridge
    In the case of the Bees, those people went there to deal with politics, not politics+entertainment.

Your statement is speculative. This is no way under you were God that you can state with any accuracy that person attending BLP meeting are more genuine than those attending DLP meeting.That make no sense. The DLP has many young and vibrant supporters. Can you look at the average person attending a political meeting ( except those wearing party shirts, voicing verbal support or body language etc) and tell whether they are BLP or DLP?

This is the same rediculous positon taken by Tony Best. It is groundless and illogical.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 10:21 AM

Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:05 am

fredbands,
    What nonsense are you talking? Owen spearheaded the CSME and is proud of such achievements? I thought we were going towards a one economy one market for the Caribbean…where then is the insult?How can you and Owen criticise the inclusion of a positive Jamaican artiste and after elections and after elections take a different position. You speak as though you do not have a brain for ypourself.
    Owen is a dictstor.

Thompson and his party spoke of the new to put bajans first, the need to make bajans employed and housed and ANYONE else after, so this would have been a great opportunity, they always speak our ailing manufacturing sector. Would the T Shirts not have been a good enough boost? Our was that money too good for businesses? Maybe it was not even in Barbados in the first place. I am just observing.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:21 AM

David,
    I have no problem with CBC advertising but I take issue with the use of the voices of Carol Roberts and Tony Thompson. As employees they should not be adverising for the BLP. Rosemary was almost fired for appearing on a DLP platform as the MC.

• Adrian Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 10:31 AM

Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:20 am

It all comes down to two little words….

“to date”

DAVID THOMPSON, DLP: “The DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China or Taiwan….”

Thompson’s denial does not sound convincing to me.

Furthermore….

“The two leadership meetings, as proposed by the BLP, would be between Prime Minister Owen Arthur and DLP president David Thompson, with the second debate between BLP deputy leader Mia Mottley and a deputy to be named by the DLP.”

It reflects very badly that the DLP does not know who its deputy is, ESPECIALLY ONE WEEK BEFORE AN ELECTION.
    ==============================

ha ha ha ha this Taiwan nonsense is a political red herring. Countries will recognize whom they want to. The US has a blockade against Cuba, does Barbados have one? I think it is an embarrassment to have diplomatic ties with china, where religious groups are persecuted and or banned, where citizens agitating for their rights were literally ran over by tanks. You cannot legitimize China in the eyes of Barbadians to the point that Taiwan is seen by them as rogue state. It isn’t taiwan that has flooded our labour markets with prisoners and other types of Chinese citizens that are barely above what defines slavery.

As for a deputy prime Minister or shadow deputy prime minister, show me the legal, and or parliamentary necessity for such a person. I remember when the then LOTO Clyde Mascoll went thru the exercise of reshuffling the opposition shadow ministers and was laughed at to no end, with Ezra Alleyne using his knowledge of West minister to heap ridicule on Mascoll. Now that it suites the BLP a deputy PM is to be matched with an opposition deputy PM so that they can win a debate. The BLP made this an election about leadership, and the leader is the PM not Deputy PM’s. Let the debate of the so called Leaders begin.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 10:34 AM

Monique, not only have internet access, most of them (like me) have ADSL too, so they can talk while surfing. Sometimes, people make life hard for THEMSELVES, they are genuine people who are in hardship, but most cases are due to bad money management, bad planning and not want to make sacrifices. People want the lastest and best of every thing the is vanity, and then complain that they can’t pay bills or can’t afford to buy repair their house etc.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:41 AM

Monique,
    Why don’t you comment and how and why did Arthur access information on flight numbers and passport numbers? If he can access such information is it so unbelievable that he would wire tap phones used by the Opposition?
    Are you aware that the wire tapping equipment has been in Barbados since Cricket Worls Cup and that it is being used by the Government? I am aware of the building in which these activities take place ,…but for security reasons I will not say.

• Adrian Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 10:44 AM

Adrian Loveridge // January 8, 2008 at 5:50 am

‘and Taiwan, a rogue state’
    Nation – 7th January 2008

Interesting………

Universal sufferage 20 years
    97.5% literacy
    9 years compulsory education
    Life expectancy – 77.46
    Unemployment 3.9%
    Per capita GDP – US16,596

Multi-party democracy

Ah! that its…

The PM doesn’t like the thought of a multi-party democracy.

Now lets hear the stats for mainland China!

Adrian Owen has a history of cussing countries that have vibrant citizen led societies and embracing the leadership of those that treat their citizens as their play things.

At the height of Iraq war Owen joined with Billie Miller in accusing the US of threatening to invade Barbados if they refuse to side with the US in keeping the Iraq debate in the security council of the UN.

Owen treats the citizens of Barbados to a barrage on name calling, like being lazy, gimmie gimmie people, xenophobic, want to go to heaven but not die.

Owen is a friend of Fidel Castor, likens himself unto Fidel by proudly declaring that they both are the longest serving Leaders in the Caribbean, he is the recipient of Cuba’s highest award,

Owen prefers relationship with China over Taiwan, when Taiwan has a similar history and struggle as our people. He prefers to be friends with a country that has outlawed citizen groups like Falun Gong, that repress citizens freedom of speech in the most brutal of ways as Tiananmen square showed.

…There is more than enough proof of this ELECTED DICTATOR wishing for what Hugo Chavez has tried and failed, and what Fidel and the communist regime of China has. Will Barbadians allow him?

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:44 AM

Undertaker,
    You are talking foolishness. Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school? Do you have any idea how many people is Barbados are in this position? Why do you think there a Ministry for Social Transformation ..or is Owen Artur lying to us?

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 10:46 AM

My brother is a teacher and he gave me this example (a true story) – two boys at a secondary school fought, because one put the other’s bag on the ground. Now check this out after the boy spoke it was revealed that:

Bag – $130.00 (Quick Silver)
    Pants – $ 125.00 (Tommy)
    Belt – $ 80.00
    Shoes – $ 250.00
    Cellular Phone Razr (few hundred $)

Said his mother gave him these things (which she confirmed) HE IS ONE OF THE DUMPEST AT THE SCHOOL. Mother came to the school, full of jewelry and 2 cellular phone.

Guess what? She way sayng that things are HARD so they had her on the book programme (to get free books)

Every case is not like this of course, but people have to learn to make sacrifices, we have to stop envying each other and move at our own pace. Until………

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 10:55 AM

Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:44 am

Undertaker,
    You are talking foolishness. Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school? Do you have any idea how many people is Barbados are in this position? Why do you think there a Ministry for Social Transformation ..or is Owen Artur lying to us?
    Do you have any idea how many people in Barbados MISMANAGE money? Spend to much on phone cards and fast food, going to each and every cat fight? People need to adapt…….. By the way where are the FATHERS for these children? Like I said people have to try to make wise decisions. We need some wise financial management classes in Barbados. We put ourselves in serious debt just to do what to impress others? Like I said some are genuinely poor, and others just pull themselves down, every loan and credit card they get fooled in taking which they don’t really need.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:59 AM

David,

the CBC advertisement I would assume is a paid ad in much the same way that political ads on other CBC Media are.

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 11:22 AM

Undertaker, Monique
    People clamour for political office because of the large benefits (particularly money-wise and mileage) that can be derived. Give a party, any party, a fourth term, knowing that they would be all to well aware that a chance of gaining a consecutive fifth would be damned near zero, their members will go on a virtual rampage, extracting what ever they could, for the last. This is the nature of things. Kick backs and preferential tendering of contracts (and jobs) are a norm, but given a fourth term,,, wanna aint see nutting yet.

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 11:23 AM

As for victimisation, murder!

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 11:37 AM

BU,

Now let me give you an example of the games that blogs play.

You made reference to a BLP ad carried on CBC’s website and provided a small image of it.

I visited the CBC website and looked at the same ad. At full size it contained the words “PAID ADVERTISEMENT” in small but clearly readable print.

That’s when I realised WHY you shrunk the ad down and made it so tiny when you presented it on your blog.

These are the games that blogs play.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 11:47 AM

banned – what about a first term, give a man first term he not too sure if he will get a second so he might do some underhand things to supliment his income as well. Most of the PM in the BLP have they pensions at least secure, but lets say the DLP ones get in, they might not want to wager the change of not getting twice and getting a pension, they too might will get tempted – members will go on a virtual rampage, extracting what ever they could, for the FIRST. This is the nature of things. Kick backs and preferential tendering of contracts (and jobs) are a norm, but given a FIRST term,,, wanna aint see nutting yet.

The saint David Thompson did some shady things the last time he was minister of finance, I was in a job that made me privy to certain things, and just before elections alot of favours were given, and a lot of assets were sold cheaply to some mega rich folks in Bim, he might pretend but some of us know the truth…….. Reality is 1st or 4th, or 10th term, desperate people do desperate things. A thief will thief, regardless of what he/she has, and a liar will lie. I do hope that the DLP do vote-out Barney Lynch though he is as shady as they get, that is one seat that I would give away.

David Thompson 2Good2BeTrue ;)

He know that if he does not get in now that his political career is DEAD, 3 losses under Owen (4 in the party) would kill any career.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 11:50 AM

That’s when I realised WHY you shrunk the ad down and made it so tiny when you presented it on your blog.

These are the games that blogs play.
    BU Did you do that? :O

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 12:17 PM

Undertaker

Wha’ bout ineffectual (who I used to be like real bad), and Pig Wood, Mia (just as shady as they come), Cheshire cat (Mr Sunshine) Dale Marshall and Mr Smart-Asser (than thou) himself. Why stop with Barney alone?
    Truth is no one wants to be a one term anything, No-One. Teafing and flaunting the rules are less likely to bend the rules in the first term than at any other time. Come on man, you know this. (and I am no D T fan either)

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 12:17 PM

ineffectual Liz

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:23 PM

Undertaker,

Yes he did do it.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/01/07/the-games-that-newspapers-play/#comment-18176

• Isabella // January 8, 2008 at 12:29 PM

Sonia
    BU scanned the front page of yesterday’s nations i believe to include the sticker that the BLP has been placing on all Nation newspapers for some days now. It clearly shows the consistent position of BLP first then DLP next to a yes or no vote (if u need it spelt out) not sure what you are trying to imply here

• Gary Cole (aka Tatanka Yotanka) // January 8, 2008 at 12:34 PM

I am tatanka yotanka the writer: that is, Gary Cole one half of the writing team with my mother Angela Cole that risked so much a few years ago to document and reveal some horrible instances of murder corruption and intrigue.

If you really want to know how corruption works in our society and why i think it and crime are the two issues of the day, and how you can use an anti-corruption campaign from within either party to win out an election, even a snap election like this ask and i will reveal the strategy for the good man of either political party to take the national debate to a higher more constructive level in the interest of democracy

Just ask and i will give you chapter and verse.

I may not know the most recent things, but that will take a day all the figures and the histories i know. I know them all personally at first hand, in my social life not just my political life.

Just Ask.

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:38 PM

Isabella,

Duncy woman!

Go back and learn to READ.

• Georgie Porgie // January 8, 2008 at 12:44 PM

tatanka yotanka

I am asking

Please tell me all…….serious

• Georgie Porgie // January 8, 2008 at 12:46 PM

Sonia

I did not realize a nice looking girl like you with such a sweet voice could be so rude!

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 12:46 PM

Gary Cole

I askin’, I askin’, I deh

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 12:48 PM

Georgie Porgie
    Walas she crass

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 1:11 PM

Last night I became aware of a tactic being used by Rudy Grant in St. Michael Central.

He has a number of ladies going around the district with copies of the voters list for St.Michael Central. They are going house to house asking the occupants whether they are “B” or “D”.

If you tell them “B” or “D” then they are putting a “B” or”D” next to your name on the voters list.

I asked the lady why she was doing that and she said that when they got back to Rudy”s office they will then count the number of “B’s” and “D’s” and this will give them an idea how many votes Rudy Grant will get.

This happen last night.

• Georgie Porgie // January 8, 2008 at 1:32 PM

Not necessarily very accurate, but it might give him an idea of how much longer he should keep trying, or if he should give up now for this election.

• Kadri // January 8, 2008 at 1:35 PM

as long as the funding is not coming from a source who is known for drugs n gun dealings like nigel “bounty” pinder, i dont feel it should be a matter of interest, the main matter is that all funding should be accounted for by the special branch of de rbpf, as to how the funds are spent after and during elections.

when bounty funded campaigns we only heard of it behind police doors, and no one made it an issue, but i guess it has to do with being desperate for votes now that the race is tight.

the press can print what they feel like printing, and the blogs can publish what they feel like, but it all comes down to integrity.

people love scandal and thats what gets publish.

if you owned a publishing company, would you not publish what you think may draw more readers to buy a newspaper or would you publish who you favour.

people its a money thing and competition with the other newsprint just like when something serious happens in bim, whoever publish the article more in detail actually sells more. think openly

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 1:46 PM

Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Last night I became aware of a tactic being used by Rudy Grant in St. Michael Central.

All politicians “count their votes” so that is nothing new, most know they supporters and non, so they minus/add and just look for the rest of votes, also lets them know if to expect a defeat/win as the case maybe.

• Undertaker // January 8, 2008 at 1:50 PM

I would be good, if BU and BFP would ask every poster to give themselves a “name” so that if you want to reply to a poster you would do so by name instead of copy & pasting for the “Anonymous” ones. Or you have to refer to them as Anonymous 12:30pm etc. A little name calling don’t always hurt.

• Observing // January 8, 2008 at 2:00 PM

The DLP, despite Thompson’s claim that he was ready since late 2006, seems to have been caught partly unprepared and unready.
    ———————
    To make this statement shows your inability to grasp reality.

Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 10:59 am

David,

the CBC advertisement I would assume is a paid ad in much the same way that political ads on other CBC Media are.
    ————————
    Then why is it the only NON-CBC related ad on the site, and why is there no web page spelling out advertising rates and costs for anyone else who may want to advertise online. And why oh why is the ad alternating with CBC’s election coverage ad??? Spare me. It’s clear that the government is influencing CBC.

• Jerome Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 2:02 PM

anonymous // January 7, 2008 at 8:17 pm

Who is funding BLP? Communist China?

Anonymous,

You got to be a fortune teller !

Read below about the $ 1 Billionsweet heart deal !

The BEES already have the money to burn !

From CHINA a country that :

TORTURES it’s citizens !

FORCED ABORTIONS of it’s women folk !

NO NEED FOR OPPOSITION PARTIES in it’s political process !

So you see why there was the beating of journalists at QEH ( TORTURES ) ?

So you see why George Griffith from Barbados Family Planning in the BLP camp ( FORCED ABORTIONS ) ?

So you see why Owen Arthur is ” Specially motivated to see the DLP party removed from the face of BARBADOS ( NO NEED FOR OPPOSITION PARTIES ) ?

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/09/21/mia-mottley-returns-from-china-with-promises-of-money-in-exchange-for-continued-silence-on-laogai-slave-labour-camps/#comments

• Isabella // January 8, 2008 at 2:03 PM

Sonia

I am sure you would agree that all commentors can have an opinion on any and all comments, and I am sure that you would further agree that civilized individuals can resist the urge to attack commentors over comments.

• Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 2:23 PM

Anonymous,

“Would you be able to manage $200 per week as a single mother with three teenage chidren at a secondary school?”

Nonsense! Any single mother with three teenage children who is living off $200 a week would have to be a real fool if she thinks that she is going to get a rich husband, three less children, or a bigger salary after the elections.

• Jerome Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 2:35 PM

Though accusing other countries of

MEDDLING into another country’s politics

is a very serious issue, it is often

said that LAUGHTER is very good

medicine…

Take a read…..

Dumbest Kid in the whole of Barbados ?

A young boy enters Broad Street and Owen

Arthur says to the onlookers, ” This is the dumbest kid in the whole of Barbados. Watch while I prove it to you.”

Arthur puts a $ 50.00 note in one hand and a

$ 100 bill in the other, then calls the boy over

and asks,

“ Who ACCUSED the DLP of taking money

from TAIWAN…….Owen Arthur or David

Thompson , my son ? ”

Owen Arthur further explained , that the

$ 50.00 bill represents Thompson and the

$ 100.00 represents Arthur.

The boy takes the $ 50.00 bill and leaves.

“What did I tell you?” said Arthur. “A little child shall lead them! ”

Later, when the crowd left the scene, they

saw the same boy coming out of Days

bookstore . ” Hey, son! May we ask you a question?

Why did you take the $ 50.00 bill instead of

the $ 100.00 dollar bill knowing that

Thompson NEVER made that

ACCUSATION about TAIWAN ????

The boy holding, very closely to his chest, his

book entitled, “ Lies, Damn Lies …” replied,

“Because the day I remind Owen Arthur of the TRUTH, the game’s over ! ”

Remember, Barbadians every skin TEETH ain’t no…..Laugh….

Have a nice DAY !!!!!

• Jerome Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 2:44 PM

Sonia Cambridge a.ka Royalrumble,

It is a crying shame that Royalrumble had to give up MANHOOD to post a LIE on this blog !

The BLP has a LEADER & COUP LEADER !

The BLP said this election is about LEADERSHIP !

David Thompson from day one says he wants 3 LEADERSHIP debates !

If the BEES have moved their leadership base to 2 persons then…..that is a matter for DEM !

The public is watching……!

• Adrian Hinds // January 8, 2008 at 3:07 PM

Sonia Cambridge // January 8, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Isabella,

Duncy woman!

Go back and learn to READ.

=============================

You can always tell a BLP supporter and or member. They sure know how cuss and put down people, when they question their weak arguments. :D

• My Blog Stop - kadriwalco††online » Blog Archive » On the Drug-Lord Bounty’s Payroll… // January 8, 2008 at 3:08 PM

[...] Georgie Porgie // January 8, 2008 at 1:32 pm [...]

• Kadri // January 8, 2008 at 3:09 PM

i wonder why my comment from 1:35pm still under moderation?

• Justin // January 8, 2008 at 5:00 PM

Mia mottley is now the standard in Barbados (and the entire region, according to Sonia) for debating prowess???? LOL right….

• banned // January 8, 2008 at 5:03 PM

NO TV Debates. What the f***. I don’ buy any of the crap excuses for discontinuing this laudable initiative.

• Kadri // January 8, 2008 at 5:16 PM

I THINK I WILL BE VOTING FOR THE DLP, SEEMS TO ME THE BLP LOST THEIR INTEGRITY.

one thing i hate is people who dont face truth and spread propaganda for positions

• Ding Dong Dell // January 8, 2008 at 7:24 PM

Kadri,

What business is it of anyone who you vote for or whether you vote at all?

You don’t seem much different from Adrian Loveridge’s BFP with its fraudulent pretense of preaching integrity but coming at the end of the day to dictate to Bajans who they should vote for.

I respect common self-declared yardfowls like Wishing in Vain more than I do false pretenders who seek to deceive the electorate.

Ding Dong Dell of ~B~F~P~E~

• Kadri // January 8, 2008 at 7:55 PM

Ding Dong Delli say wa i want sonny boy, if u dont like what i type, scroll to something else.

stupid poppits you BFPE people are, if wunna dont like what people comment and say when they show support of another party, keep up de stupid comments like urs, only display to de world what type of people we have in bim

at least i am not scared to use my real name either and back it up with real pics.

when u get a real name and pics to back up who u are, then u can step to my level u arrogant imbicile

• Top Posts « WordPress.com // January 8, 2008 at 7:59 PM

[...] The Games That Newspapers Play [image] There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thou [...]

• Ding Dong Dell // January 8, 2008 at 8:12 PM

Kadri,

Heh-heh…. boy you must HATE free speech REAL BAD!

Sorry fuh you!

• Kadri // January 8, 2008 at 8:21 PM

na, i dont, i love it, thats why i love coming on BU. but what i hate is people who dont respect other peoples opinions without acting their own shoesize

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 9:31 PM

Kadri I telling you, nuff respect.

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 9:38 PM

Everyone ready for the Chapo/Boxil poll on Sunday showing the BLP way out front?

• Anonymous // January 8, 2008 at 9:43 PM

“Everyone ready for the Chapo/Boxil poll on Sunday showing the BLP way out front?”

Sarcasm????

• FYAHHH! // January 9, 2008 at 1:47 AM

i really hope that all of you in this chat room really and truly understand the state that the MAJORITY of people are in…Monique you sound like a lesbian…therefore i know where you’ll be casting your X.
    Internet access does not mean a damn thing…cause i struggle to pay for it monthly.
    I am a 22 year old citizen and it pains me the way that this current gov’t has run the country…filthy…for lack of nastier word.
    I hope that you all know…if the BLP for some strange reason under the sun had to retain…our sweet b’dos will get very bloody…ppl like monique will have to run and hide not from criminals but from ppl who are very hungry..

a hungry man is an angry man..
    a hungry bajan will kill you!!!!

FOOD FOR THOUGHT!

• st,peter pub // January 9, 2008 at 1:54 AM

can anybody tell me why bigwood lock off smallwood neck after the B.L.P PRESENTED there team in bay steet and went back to there headquarters in roebuck street and malik stood up in a corner like a loopy dog?

• FYAHHH! // January 9, 2008 at 2:02 AM

lol….lol….thats a good question..

they both got dirty secrets…she can treat him anyway she wants…but unfortunate for her… or him…whatever she or he really is..
    time has run-out…malik really and truly int got a clue what he put himself in…when de real juicy corruption scandals hit de fan..he going be just as surprised as the rest of us…

Corruption is very high game…the BLP played it well for the past 10 or so…their only mistake was being arrogant…bajans hate that…shame on bigwood…(lmao)

• Barbados » Blog Archive » Thriller Snorkel Cruise, Barbados // January 9, 2008 at 3:06 AM

[...] The Games That Newspapers Play There is the popular saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots? [...]

• Adrian Loveridge // January 9, 2008 at 7:41 AM

Just listened to the PM ranting about the President of Taiwan’s planned visit to St. Lucia.
    Of the ‘100′ persons included in the President’s party are ‘50 journalists’ according to the St. Lucia Star.

Why would he object to the visit of a democratically elected President from a MULTI PARTY state?
    I suppose the red carpet would be put out for the non-democratically elected leader of a communist single party state where people are beaten to death for filming human rights abuses!

• Kadri // January 9, 2008 at 8:43 AM

ADRIAN, THERE IT GOES AGAIN
    back to de leaders of the caribbean or should i say followers.
    i am still yet to see a true leader of the caribbean who display leadership and not people who are influenced and intimidated by other world leaders and their policies.
    sorry to say but the caribbean like its the only region without policies.
    if osama bin laden had to visit bim, i feel they would give him the red carpet treatment too, and then bush would call owen or one uh dem and say arrest that man, yes he would be arrested.
    then after bush may say let him go, stupid people here will listen, then few days after we will be invaded by washington for harbouring a terrorist.

the moral of the story is that our so called heads throughout the caribbean are like arrows, other leaders use them to aim and strike us hard and deadly.

• Brutus // January 9, 2008 at 8:52 AM

I hope Mascoll checked first to see whether anyone in the BLP had ever been approched about establishing relations with Taiwan.

CLYDE MASCOLL said yesterday he had reason to believe Prime Minister Owen Arthur’s charge that the Opposition Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was negotiating with Taiwan for election campaign financing.

Mascoll, a former DLP leader who is now running on the Barbados Labour Party ticket, told a Press conference at the BLP headquarters: “When
    I was Leader of the Opposition I was approached to consider visiting St Vincent, and I got the impression that the Taiwanese wanted to get my position with respect to whether the Opposition supports the relationship between Republic of China or the Taiwanese.

“I made it quite clear that on this matter that the Opposition was seeing eye-to-eye with Government with respect to where our loyalties are.

“I cannot say that they were seeking to buy me, but what I can say is that I was in no position to sell Barbados and I remain firmly committed to the view that foreign policy is something that has to be taken seriously by an opposition… .” he said.

There was reason to believe that the DLP was contacted and may have “succumbed to such available financing,” he added.

Mascoll, the BLP candidate for St Michael North West, said he truly believed Arthur’s statement last Saturday night that he had intelligence indicating that the DLP’s campaign was being funded by the Taiwanese embassy in St Lucia.

Meanwhile, Opposition Leader David Thompson has vehemently denied the charges, stating that “the DLP to date has received no campaign funding from either China and Taiwan and the issue of diplomatic relations with either has not surfaced in any of the councils of the party.

In addition, Joseph Chang, a Taiwanese diplomat in St Kitts, said in a BBC Caribbean Report that Arthur’s charge was “ridiculous” and “groundless”. (TM)

• Adrian Hinds // January 9, 2008 at 11:29 AM

Adrian Loveridge // January 9, 2008 at 7:41 am

Just listened to the PM ranting about the President of Taiwan’s planned visit to St. Lucia.
    Of the ‘100′ persons included in the President’s party are ‘50 journalists’ according to the St. Lucia Star.

Why would he object to the visit of a democratically elected President from a MULTI PARTY state?
    I suppose the red carpet would be put out for the non-democratically elected leader of a communist single party state where people are beaten to death for filming human rights abuses!
    Utterly amazing. There were many BLPites that believe that Richie Haynes was a communist,….don’t asked them to back it up with any evidence, they just believe what they were told by their poltical masters in the BLP. This willingness of Barbadians to never question the statements and actions of BLP members has got to be the root cause for Owen and his band of thieves to be still in power. How can a man do as many dictorial things as he have done and escape the label of being a communist is simply amazing.

• frankology // January 9, 2008 at 11:48 AM

In today’s Nation on page 8A, you will see the Peter Wickham’s article. Where are the Forth Estate critics?

• Brutus // January 9, 2008 at 2:19 PM

From the Advocate online, Jan 9/08:

“He [Arthur] explained that given the current development path of Barbados, it would be beneficial to Taiwan to try to land the biggest fish in the Caribbean and as such, he too was approached by the Taiwanese Government back in 2003.

There is no harm in the DLP acknowledging that they have tried to get them to switch too, and that meetings have been arranged because they met with me too, to try to get me to switch. And I told Taiwan, under no circumstances will I do other than recognise the Peoples Republic of China, as the legitimate representative of the people of China. ”

So, would it be correct to say that the BLP have been having secret talks with the Taiwanese as far back as 2003? (just kidding)

• Adrian Hinds // January 9, 2008 at 3:13 PM

Someone should ask Owen who legitimize the government of china’s as the Chinese peoples representative? Elected persons in democracies make a mockery of the process they otherwise say they treasure by one recognizing and legitimizing Communist states, and two; by referring to another democratic state as a rogue state. Utterly amazing.

Arthur knows that he has lied to the public with the contents of his failed bombshell.

• Adrian Hinds // January 9, 2008 at 3:19 PM

If Arthur truly believes in the Errol Barrow maxim of Friends of all satellite of none, a statement that he has used to frame his argument against the US in it’s war with Iraq he would at least refrain from lying about the actions Taiwan and referring to this democratic nation as a Rogue state.

• Adrian Loveridge // January 9, 2008 at 3:47 PM

‘Rogue state’ or ‘no better friends?

St. Kitts Minister of Nation Security, G. A. Dwyer Astaphan has hailed the friendship between St. Kitts/Nevis and Taiwan describing is at a perfect model of humanity focussed bilateral relations’.

adding, ‘This country has no better friend than Taiwan’.

and

Minister Astaphan ’stressed that his Government is extremely grateful to Taiwan for its continued effort to improve the economic and social fabric of the twin island Federation’.
    He pledged ‘that St. Kitts/Nevis will continue to work with its ally to deepen and strengthen this bond and build it in love so the citizens of both countries can reap the benefits’.

Source: Sun St. Kitts newspaper – 23rd November 2007

• links for 2008-01-09 : James Mitchell // January 9, 2008 at 4:20 PM

[...] The Games That Newspapers Play To those of you who are a bit slow this Monday afternoon we have highlighted four areas on the image. Can you connect the dots? (tags: newspapers photos politics election barbados) [...]

• Donald Duck, esq // January 9, 2008 at 5:02 PM

adrian l.

you would be my best friend if you gave me 10% of what taiwan has dished out to st.kitts.

• David // January 9, 2008 at 5:04 PM

I t is very obvious that Georgie Porgie is a stinging Bee and bees don’t sting themselves so I understand his comments! For the rest of us who are being stung …and have managed to survive, what does he expect us to do? Be stung and bear it? Tell Georgie Porgie we are waiting for the date to come.

• Georgie Porgie // January 9, 2008 at 8:18 PM

Very interesting, and very wrong! I cant imagine who would say such a thing or why.

I have been personally stung and unfaired by the Bees. So much that a BEE told me you better leave the country cause there is nothing here for you.

There is in a particular Government Department where the public officers will tell you how well I served, where it is written than I must never be employed there again. And you call me a stinging bee. You think I am in exile for nothing?

I too am waiting for the date to come.

• Adrian Loveridge // January 10, 2008 at 9:37 AM

Donald Duck esq.

Not quite sure what you mean?

Are you saying everybody, everything and every country is up for sale?
    Is is just about agreeing a price.

If I had a choice between dealing with a democratically elected multi-party state and a single party dictatorship, who do you think I should chose?

• Adrian Hinds // January 10, 2008 at 10:41 AM

am

ADRIAN, THERE IT GOES AGAIN
    back to de leaders of the caribbean or should i say followers.
    i am still yet to see a true leader of the caribbean who display leadership and not people who are influenced and intimidated by other world leaders and their policies.

============================

Kadri, a real and true leader gets his mandate from the people, not true pretense. People must in truth and indeed be given the opportunity to clearly say whom they wish to lead them. No PRIME MINISTER IN THE CARIBBEAN CAN MAKE SUCH A CLAIM.

…….A prime minister assumes the results of the ROYAL LIE or better known as the Royal pejorative, that was once the lies of confusion that gave Kings their mandate.

Look up Royal perjorative and or royal lie and see what you come up with.

Rommel marshall is fond of saying “where there is a leader there a party” and as you see poltical parties in the Caribbean are moving towards having their leader pick by the rank and file members of the party.

WHY CAN’T BARBADIAN CITIZENS BE ALLOWED TO POPULARLY ELECT THEIR LEADER? WHY MUST I JOIN A POLITICAL PARTY TO HAVE ANY SAY THOU LITTLE IT MAY BE, IN WHO CAN BECOME THE LEADER OF THE COUNTRY?

• Georgie Porgie // January 10, 2008 at 4:37 PM

Can anyone explain why the DLP can’t get its speeches on it’s website?

Those of the BLP are up within two days at least.

• Adrian Hinds // January 10, 2008 at 5:48 PM

Georgie Porgie // January 10, 2008 at 4:37 pm

Can anyone explain why the DLP can’t get its speeches on it’s website?

Those of the BLP are up within two days at least.
    ============================

I don’t understand why they have dlpbarbados.org redirecting to this new new website which isn’t ready. Looks like they could have really used the Taiwanese money. :D

DAVID ARE YOU STILL THINK THAT THE DLP POSTER FEATURING “LIL FIDEL” WAS OVER THE TOP?

did you hear him compare himself to Fidel as the second longest serving Leader in the Western Hemisphere? How is Richie a communist and he isn’t?

• terdrail // January 10, 2008 at 7:26 PM

FORWARD EVER WITH DAVID, THIS TIME!

Cave Hill’s respected historians and most of its top political scientists should easily be able to confirm (or deny) that each and every time a SIGNIFICANT CHANGE in political leadership has taken place IN BARBADOS, Barbadians of all walks of life have benefitted tremendously, and Barbados has moved forward by leaps and bounds!

Simply, take a closer look at the periods 1951 to 1994, for instance: the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), which was formerly established in late 1938, was responsible for the enactment of the Representation of the People’s Act (1950), thus giving immediate rise to Barbadians, across the board, exercising their democratic right to vote in national elections (or as some refer to it as an opportunity “to exercise their franchise”).

Under the dynamic and astute leadership of a young Oxford-trained attorney-at-law named Grantley Herbert Adams (later Sir), the relatively [then new] political metamorphosis, with the assistance of other minority groups, introduced true democracy to the island, and by 1954, Adams had emerged the first Premier of Barbados. And, with adult suffrage already in place, the island was more or less on a sound footing in the areas of industrial relations (with the intro of the Barbados Worker’s Union (BWU), a broad-based educational system, the new Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH), a new health initiative, several new West Coast hotels, a lower-income housing boom, the construction of a new airport and seaport, and road-building throughout the eleven parishes – all of course, within the constraints of the entrenched Westminister mode and a colonial force to be reckoned with.

In fairness to G.H. Adams, historians who chronicled his relatively “brief” career as a political CEO in Barbados, have stated that he had a lot more to contribute, innovatively, to local politics, but was abruptly called to higher office, and actually, went on to become the first and only Prime Minister of The West Indies Federation (1958-1962). Unfortunately, the caretaker BLP regime he left in place (1958 to 1961), was not able to successfully sustain his innate appeal to the nation.

Indeed, the 1961 national elections saw the elevation of a brand new breed of man, a brand new breed of politician, a brand new breed of political creativity and democracy.

At that time, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), a sort of feisty splinter group of the BLP, and led by an energetic, London-trained attorney/economist called ERROL WALTON “DIPPER” BARROW — a man of immense popularity and political foresight far beyond his years, broke the obvious malaise then in existence on the island.

Barrow (then) was just like DAVID THOMPSON (now): a real breadth of fresh air for all Bajans, at home and abroad. The main difference between the two is that Thompson (in 2008) would have had 21 years of uninterrupted parliamentary experience compared to the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow’s five, in the Barbados House of Assembly. Thompson was also a Finance minister in an earlier administration.

That fundamental difference, however, did not hinder or slow down the grand implementation of a NEW DAY for Barbados! Without hesitation, the inhabitants of the 166 square mile isle saw an unstoppable social revolution unfold right before their very eyes!

Between 1961 and 1976, Barbados experienced a newness that transformed the island from a village to a proud nation: a place which is today the ‘ENVY OF THE WORLD’ because of Errol Walton Barrow and the creativity of the lowkeyed DLP.

Not only were Barbadians privileged, for the first time, with (1) free secondary education; (2) free tertiary education; (3) the establishment of six brand new comprehensive (secondary) schools [now full-fledged high schools]; (4) a school meals service for all schools; (5) several clinics and polyclinics; (6) the resurgence and revival of the cultural summer money-maker known as CROP OVER; (7) a non-discriminatory banking system opened to all Barbadians; (8) new houses for lower-income Barbadians; (9) running water and electricity and telephone service for each and every parish; (10) better wages for those who worked in the sugar industry; (11) expanded farm-labor programmes in the US and Canada; (12) the establishment of consular and diplomatic offices in UK, USA, Britain, Venezuela, Brussels, the CARICOM territories; (13) membership in the United Nations, the Commonwealth of Nations; (14) a vibrant set of industrial complexes which employed thousands of workers; (15) the erection of the now famous East Coast Road; (16) the intro of national insurance for all; and (17) new well-paved roads in all the main arteries, just to mention a few.

Barbadians also benefitted tremendously by the fact that Barrow was a devout regionalist to the bone, and he was very instrumental in creating and structuring bodies like CARIFTA (now CARICOM), the Caribbean Development Bank (CDB), and several other relative and meaningful initiatives that are today firmly entrenched and working for the good of the people of the region.

In the media world, it was Barrow’s regime that established modern-day aviation as we know it today, Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) in the Pine; and the Cave Hill Campus emerged during his political reign. And, last but by no means least, it was Barrow and the DLP that fought for (and won) Independence for Barbados on November 30, 1966. At that point, he became the first Prime Minister of Barbados; and in many ways led the smaller territories in gaining their independence from Britain.

After putting all that work to make a brand new Barbados for all, the voters (in 1976) felt that they should have a fresh face to run t’ings politically.

The islanders opted for the young charismatic JMGM “Tom” Adams and his Team-BLP to lead them, for a CHANGE, from 1976.

Tom Adams, an Oxford-trained lawyer/economist and son of Grantley Adams, like his predecessors, set about the task of managing the economy of Barbados in a manner that made Bajans everywhere quite proud. Having been also trained at the BBC, he was known as a distinguished orator who possessed the diction of other ‘greats’ within the Caribbean region.

More importantly however, Tom Adams’s legacy is even broader: he is credited with the creation and building of the new Financial Building in Bridgetown; he (and his ‘great combination’ of ministers) were responsible for building the many beautiful highways, by-ways and roundabouts, and provided Barbados with a much needed EXPEDIENCY for moving its goods and services at a pace 20 times faster than ever before, and in keeping with the that of the global village in which we live.

Tom Adams, who sadly died in office in 1985, probably had many more goodies in store for Barbados, had he lived. He left, and the demise of his BLP party followed shortly after him. After Tom, there were no creative juices left in the BLP larder!

Incidentally, when Prime Minister Erskine Sandiford stepped up to the plate to carry on the work of an old and tired Errol Barrow (who died in 1987), he and his Team of innovative DLP-ites, again made Barbados proud.

Lest we forget, it was Sandiford, et al. who pushed for (and established) the Barbados Community College (BCC). [Take a good look at the resumes of many of the candidates running in the upcoming election, and you'll notice that most of them attended the BCC. Had not for the innovative dandy Sandi and the DLP, probably the whole lot of them would be without the graduate degrees of which they can boast today. That's what positive CHANGE does for a country like Barbados, and the evidence is clear to see. More education (with appropriate jobs) will lead to less crime, and a much better quality of life.]

Sandi and the DEMS were also responsible for building the fierce money-earner known as the Sherbourne Conference Centre (which should be renamed THE ERSKINE SANDIFORD CONFERENCE CENTRE). When it was being constructed, there were many who opposed it vigorously. Those who lacked foresight, of course!

And, if you were residing under a rock, it was Sandi and the DLP that were responsible for the steadying of the BARBADOS DOLLAR at a juncture when all of the More Developed Countries (MDCs) of the region, were having their currencies devalued left, right and centre, to unthinkable ‘new lows’.

Circumstances, probably beyond his control led Sandi to make way, via an election in 1994, for a young economist named Owen Arthur who was (and still is) the leader of the BLP.

Arthur, a political infant of sorts (then) took the baton and ran with it. Luckily for Arthur, he was surrounded by sound Tom Adams left-overs like H. St. John (a short-lived PM); Henry Forde (a short-lived Opposition Leader, a minister and longstanding MP); Louis Tull (now Sir); Richard Cheltenham (now Sir); Billie Miller (now Dame); and Mia Mottley (one of the most brilliant politicians in the region); to mention a few.

With such distinguished colleagues around him, Arthur has still scored a “C” for creativity, innovativeness, and significant change for a better Barbados.

Don’t take my word for it, go and check for yourself: Arthur still was unable [1994-present] to come up with one single, brand new system that could benefit Barbados in the long run. CAN YOU IMAGINE THAT? He and BEES have been significantly bankrupt of ideas ever since they were running Barbados. What a pity!

He and several of his cohorts (and spinners) have often described him as a superb political leader, as well as an excellent economic manager. [That's also a joke too (with 4 people in the Ministry of Finance, today): the only "FINE ANTS" he knows 'bout is the ones in de sugar!]

Arthur is like a popular neighbourhood JOINER who is good ONLY at polishing furniture, but can’t construct a table or chair if his life depended on it. When the DLP says ‘it’s time for a CHANGE, listen to them Barbados. Go wid David an’ DEM. Trust me!

Moreover, Arthur will be on his own after January 15, 2008. There will be no Bree; no Henry; no Billie; no Louis; no Johnny; and perhaps, and no Mottley either.

If YOU, THE GOODLY PEOPLE, retain Arthur and the BEES – which Dr. Clyde Griffith has repeatedly said “has a tail that begins at Mia,” then you’ll be in for a five-year period of plenty tiefing, beefing and weeping.

Arthur, the furniture-agency man will be “waiting in de (political) junction” to (as usual) throw a little barber green here and there; to spruce up Kensington and other landmarks; to pelt a little paint on the walls of the QEH (and other clinics); to build 3 or 4 more secondary schools (same ole, same ole); to build flyers that are guaranteed to create major traffic jams at the points where the underpasses meet the overpasses; to again have 4 ministers of Finance; 2 in Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade; 2 in Tourism; 2 in Education, and so on, at the poor taxpayers’ expense.

Is that being creative or innovative for the good of the people of Barbados? You deserve much better, don’t you think? So, as they say, VOTE WISELY, for real, on January 15, 2008! And wake up to a Beautiful Barbados!

If I am forced to mention one or two things that Arthur has done between 1994 and the present, let me say this – from my heart – he has systematically plucked 12 senior candidates from the DLP camp, by offering them huge sums of money (an/or positions) at the expense of you the taxpayers. And, he has systematically plucked (and paid-off) senior journalists from each and every media house, nearly all he neutralized, with exceptions of the likes of: Orlando Marville, the late Oliver Jackman, Reudon Eversley and David Ellis.

Now, you fully understand why there is ONLY ONE WAY TO VOTE … for a better life for our people … vote DLP all the way … next BLESSED TUESDAY!

Eat them out! Sweep them out! Keep them out! Thanks Barbados.

• Georgie Porgie // January 11, 2008 at 12:51 AM

terdrail

Your thesis is fairly accurate and very thought provoking. Good post!

• Anonymous // January 11, 2008 at 3:19 AM

Terdrail

I have always stated that Bajans would one day wake up and discover that the worst thing that could have visited barbados was owen arthur as prime minister.

Jamaica at their peril found out that this man is an empty suit.

Your chronology of the development of barbados is a worthy one.

Owen has set barbados back to pre independence days – it will take a lot to help us out of this social,economic and immoral rut.

Whereas before we bajans could put our hands to the plough and help pull this country out,now we have the burden of over 35,000 illegal guyanese on our backs draining our social services,shipping out our foerign exchange to guyana as soon as we make it,and depressing our country with their immoral,and degrading behaviour.

We need a strong leader who will take strong action,David Thompson is all we have right now people.

• GoWEB Blog » Web Roundup (Jan 7th - Jan 11th 2008) // January 11, 2008 at 11:09 PM

[...] The Games Newspapers Play [...]

Leave a Comment