Barbados Underground

Voice Of Barbados Radio To Discuss Government’s 100 Days In Office

April 26, 2008 · 59 Comments

vob Voice of Barbados (92.9FM) will assemble a panel tomorrow – 27 April 2008 to discuss the government’s first 100 days in office. Looks like true to his promise David Ellis intends to hold the feet of the David Thompson government to the fire. The show should start at its usual time 11AM. We are not sure who the actors will be but it should prove to be an interesting program given the prevailing economic climate along side the promise by the government while in opposition to reduce the cost of living.

Click on the image to listen in at 11AM on the 27 April 2008.

Categories: Barbados · Barbados Media · Barbados News · Barbados Press · Blogging

59 responses so far ↓

• Anonymous // April 26, 2008 at 10:55 PM

Why are we talking about 100 days? How relvant is it? I think it is not coz things have changed.

• boredickey // April 27, 2008 at 12:05 AM

Another opportunity on VOB for the sore cry baby loosers in the BLP to do more campaigning.
    VOB finds it necessary to bring the BLP rejects in the studio each and every time a government minister is part of a panel. This has happened on three recent Sunday btacks. The three were Lady Symmonds; Lynnette eastmond-paris and the expensive bathroom contractor, Liz Thompson.
    These people should be made to use the phone like anybody else to either refute or agree with anything said by panelists. This is a DLP government; the BLP had their time and you never saw this kind of accomodation by VOB. I hope the government does NOT give them a TV license. Even Mark Forde seems to be bias when he hosts Tell It some weeknights. That station is full of BLP supporters, but this is DLP time and I look forward to at least 15 years of David and another 15 of the woman I believe will be the first female Prime Minister of this country, Dr.Esther Byer-Suckoo. She is smart, and tough don;t let her looks fool you.
    So to the demonic forces within the BLP that Rawle Eastmond told the nation about I say…..go eat conch will yah! Stay tuned and learn how to run a country . All those economists and all that wasted money my gosh. DISGRACEFUL>

• Adrian Hinds // April 27, 2008 at 1:02 AM

I will not be listening. I find David Ellis tone to be as offensive and condescending as Carl Moore’s words and comments. I would even go as far as to say, that David Ellis only started making sense after Barbados forum and other Blogs came online. Not one original thought has come from him, and he does not seem to have any depth of knowledge on many of the solutions he speaks about as if he knows.

• The People's Democratic Congress // April 27, 2008 at 6:53 AM

Would it NOT be better to take a Transport Board bus, travel along Highway 2 A, and go to Farley Hill for the final event of the Barbados Reggae festival at which the likes of many of the insiring songs of Sizzla, Capleton, Taurus Riley, Jah Cure and some Bajan Reggae artistes will be presented, rather than to stay at home and listen to much of the same ole dry talk on VOB’s Getting Down to Brasstacks, about the first uninspiring 100 days in office for the DLP Government?

Would it NOT be more educational to, on your way down in the Transport Board bus to Farley Hill, see with your own two eyes the serious and abhorrent leizuration and concretization taking place on some of our former fertile agricultural lands of St. James and St. Peter, than to listen to hear how the DLP has miserably failed to start protecting our agricultural lands from the “murderous desecration” by esp. foreign invaders of these lands themselves?

Would in NOT be better at Reggae on the Hill, and to be in the company of your fellow Barbadians and so many other non-nationals and visitors to our country, and observe for yourselves how the business of Reggae and Reggae itself can bring together so many different people of different social, political, religious, and other backgrounds, rather than to hear how the DLP politicians have failed so far to come up a bettter plan for Barbados being further integrated into the region and the wider world?

Certainly, some of the members of our party will be down there attending the event, and we hope it will be the best so far, rather than we engage our attention in listening to some meaningless, almost pre-formatted call in program!!

PDC

• David // April 27, 2008 at 7:05 AM

PDC are you not being a little harsh? What can any government do in three months? We must give them a little time to figure a strategy which will allow them to execute their programs while stopping the momentum of those in place by the previous administration which has had 14 years to ferment.

In the press Prime Minister Thompson in his strongest language to date on a policy which will affect how land is used going forward on our untouched East Coast had this to say:

BARBADOS’ EAST COAST will never fall into foreign hands

At least not if Prime Minister David Thompson has anything to say about it.

Speaking yesterday at a rededication service in St John for the former St Mark’s Parish Centre, now the Roy Thompson Memorial Centre, he said: “Government will ensure through legislation that
    properties in this area are not sold to non-Barbadians.”

Thompson said he wanted to make it clear he had nothing personal against foreign investors but after noting that Government had discussed the issue in Cabinet on Thursday, he said “we need space to breathe and to see our landscape”.

“So my commitment is to bring the fullest force of the law to ensure this part of Barbados remains for Barbadians,” he said.

Nation 27 Apr. 2008

Unfortunately appears to have passed the point of no return unless Anton…

• Krzysztof Skubiszewski // April 27, 2008 at 7:30 AM

Looks like they’ve given up protecting the West Coast?

Let’s see if David Ellis raises the question?

• Carson C. Cadogan // April 27, 2008 at 7:33 AM

Here is a list of things VOB should have been Discussing but refused to so:-

(1) The cutting down of the ackee tree

(2) Barbados Labour Party Politicians who became millionaires on minister salaries

(3) The Rhonada Juman human rights abuse case

(3) The veco scandal at the new prison

(4) the track record of 3S company

(5) A Barbados Labour Party minister living on confiscated land

(6) The businesses which were shut down during the construction of the South Coast Sewarge project and never compensated by the Barbados Labour Party Govt.

(12) The Eagle Hall Market which continues to be an embarassment to this country which was built by the Barbados Labour Party.

(13) The poor stae of “Journalism” in Barbados at the country’s “media houses” under the Barbados Labour Party.

(14) Giving the Barbados Labour Party a free ride by so-called “journalists” in Barbados.

I could go on and on but I will stop for now. Tell David Ellis that he is fooling no one.

Carson C. Cadogan
    Eagle Hall
    St. Michael

• NO MORE MARINAS EVER // April 27, 2008 at 7:43 AM

Maybe Ellis by holding feet to the fire can find out, at a time when all our everyday prices are skyrocketing, who approved “The Sands” the ugliest and most obvious example of profligate West Coast Rape?

• I want a plantation // April 27, 2008 at 8:06 AM

Carson C no way David Ellis could raise those issues under BLP. I can hear Owen swearing and threatening all now. Ellis dared to question Mary Muscle and Lynch slapped him with law suit which bulged his instant millionaire coffers by $60,000. Ellis tasting freedom after fifteen years and like a two year old in a candy store he wants to touch everything. Bajans are not stupid let Ellis continue his misuse of the fourth estate.

• xenophobe chick // April 27, 2008 at 8:11 AM

They’ll of course deny it but someone close to the PM if not hizzonna the PM himself has seen BU’s “Stop West Coast Rape” urging. Keep “their feet to the fire” even if no-one else is.

• David // April 27, 2008 at 8:47 AM

We are waiting to see if David Ellis and VOB will insist on making this 100 days business an issue in the country. It is divisive and one which can polarize the country at a time when we need to pool our thinking as a PEOPLE. In the same way he and his handlers have decided to suppress discussion on the concern which Barbadians have on race and open immigration, he can do the same here, can’t he?

We hope that this is not being pushed to satisfy their Systems Survey ratings.

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 9:18 AM

…. We bloggers are always picking on the wrong person.

What David Ellis what?!?

It has always been clear to me that Ellis is just a front man who either lacks the ability to think for himself or the guts to stand by his true convictions.
    The period under the BLP was clear evidence. His unwillingness to stand up to his professional conviction against Noel Lynch took the cake…. this is just somebody’s boy….

I feel that ’somebody’ is Vic Fernandes… now here is the real behind the scenes lacky who should be our real target. I am still waiting for the full story on PG, who was one of the true natural broadcasters on local radio.

…as for David Ellis …. think Peter Wickham, Carl Moore and David – as I said before persons with delusions of grandeur but lacking the necessary substance to achieve…

…By the way Carson C, it looks like the former minister will soon no longer be living on confiscated land, You ain’t seen the massive multi- million dollar mansion he soon completing near the lion? You think David Ellis would have a program looking at examples of creative ways to become a millionaire as a minister?

…or even a CNN copy of ‘keeping them honest?’
    I doubt!
    Only if Vic so instructs – and he probably can’t risk that either.

• David // April 27, 2008 at 9:31 AM

Bush tea we want to refer you to a blog going back to the time Vic Fernandes elected to pay the 70,000 and in the process reduce Ellis in the eyes of his public.

The point which we want to keep making to our managers in the media and especially STARCOM is the obligation to spend some of their profits to test these frivolous suits brought by politicians. Does Anthony Audain or Vic Fernandes think that Barney Lynch would seriously have pursued this matter in court with a general election on the horizon? If this case had gone to trial and Starcom were the loser, the publicity would have served a bigger purpose – to name and shame Minister Lynch. There is a large population who remain ignorant of the behaviour of our politicians. Many of us know that the objective of the politician in government is to shut the call-in programs down. We have some advice for the management of STARCOM.

STARCOM Network Disappoints The PEOPLE Of Barbados

• Donald Duck, Esq // April 27, 2008 at 10:17 AM

Readers should refer to peter wickham’s article in today’s edition of the Sunday sun. He stated that “…. the DLP made three ONLY promises regarding its first 100 days in office”:
    He however forgot to note that there were a number of promises of things to be done immediately, which to me should be included in the category of things to be done within 100 days. I note below a summary of the promises from the DLP manifesto of things to be done immediately and those to be done within 100 days

IMMEDIATE ACTION

Labour rights legislation ( page 36)

A new DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 A Full Employment Rights Act
     An Alternative Disputes Settlement and Arbitration Committee
     A Sexual Harassment in the workplace Act
     National minimum wages legislation
     Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.

Approval of capital account transactions (page 25)

Immediately review the current Central Bank procedures for approving capital account transactions with a view to simplifying and speeding up the approval (or denial) process for restricted transactions.

Port charges (page 33)

The DLP pledges to immediately re-examine the Port charges with a view to significantly reducing these to manufacturers as they consider them to be a burdensome cost. They say that tonnage dues are charged twice; – on raw materials when imported and again on finished products when being exported.

Integrity legislation (page 48)

Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring

 a declaration of assets by public officials,
     a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
     a new Freedom of Information law,
     amendments to the Defamation laws and
     new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.

Health issues (page 11)

A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles

ISSUES TO BE DEALT WITH IN FIRST 100 DAYS

Don’t forget the DLP promises to do the following in the first 100 days

 Introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

 Remove VAT from building materials on houses valued up to $400,000.
     convene a National Consultation on Education

• Donald Duck, Esq // April 27, 2008 at 10:20 AM

Rememebr this statement from a government minister back in February

Minister says 100 day programme on track

Thursday, 14 February 2008
    Social Care Minister Dr. Denis Lowe says the Democratic Labour Party is intent on carrying out the initiatives promised in its 100 days programme.

Dr. Lowe, after meeting with Prime Minister David Thompson Wednesday, says government plans to stick to its programme, even if adjustments are to be made.

“My meeting with the Prime Minister he indicated that we are pretty much on track in those critical areas. A commitment to the public is a commitment to the public.

“As we continue to probe the various ministries that we have to manage we will be discovering things, whether they be matters related to administration or space or whatever.

“Really at the end of the day I don’t believe the achievement of any hundred day program is going to make any difference if the people who have to deliver the mandates of those programs are unable to deliver their work.”

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 10:57 AM

Donald Duck,

Some time ago, a wise man said that “a promise is a comfort to a fool.”

In case you don’t get it, He was saying that anyone who ‘ takes comfort’ in a mere promise is a fool.

When therefore, someone ‘takes comfort’ in promises made by persons whose whole history, and reputation is based on promises that are almost always never kept, this must be going BEYOND being a fool.

…you mean that you actually took the promise of a POLITICIAN who is a LAWYER and also tall, handsome and rich, – seriously?!?

What promises what!?!

…look don’t let me define you in bajan ‘metal bowl’ terms yuh…

…NOBODY ever believes lawyers promises
    …Only yard fowls ever believes politicians
    …Only silly teenage girls believe the promises of “Sweet boys”…

My PM, the onerable David T is ALL three.

Man ease up do!!
    we vote for this government because the next one was ‘thiefing’ too bad, and selling out the place. … FULL STOP.

What promises What?!!!

• David // April 27, 2008 at 12:19 PM

It is interesting that the architect of many of the BLP economic polices since he joined the party has gone mysteriously silent and absent from commenting on the day to day affairs of Barbados, we are referring to Clyde Mascoll. Instead the DLP sent a Minister in the Prime Minister’s Office Maxine McClean and the BLP sent former Junior Minister in the Foreign Affairs Ministry Kerrie Symmonds.

At this early stage it is a discussion which Barbadians don’t want to hear. We want to hear the issue discussed with a sense that there is an understanding to the implications for our economy and people given the global import of the crisis being experienced worldwide. Forty five minutes have transpired and there is a sense of sadness that the political actors continue to use this as a wedge in our small nation.

• Wishing in Vain // April 27, 2008 at 12:59 PM

It beats me when this clown Simmons can question land use approval when he and his party could 1 week before elections he and his party could oversee the sale of 20 acres of NHC lands at Kent to a Mr Pinder of Equity Ins (I think) at the pittance price of $ 4 million, these are Gov’t owned lands that could have been used to provide low cost hosing but instead they are sold of to a friend of the party for next to nothing.

Meanwhile robbing the taxpayers of the real value of this property a loss of $ 16 million to the treasury.

May I also add that I am very pleased to see my words on the Director of the NSC Mr King has been sent on leave this is someting I mentioned on this site some weeks ago, I am glad to see the end of him and his role as a scam artist of special class, remember that dinner of less than a 100 persons that he charged the taxpayers $ 48,000.00 for this event.

Next event the revelation is where the container of the Chinese donated shoes has ended up, could it be by Rommel Marshall’s shoe shop???
    Just asking !!!!

• Citizen First // April 27, 2008 at 1:14 PM

Bush tea,

your post leads me to a cynical view that PM Thompson is essentially dishonest or untrustworthy by virtue of his being a politician, a lawyer and a Sweet Boy (whatever that is). So as to not appear foolish, one should expect nothing of the PM vis-a-vis his freely made promises.

I suppose you take comfort that he did not promise NOT to ‘thief too bad’ nor to sell out the place’.

Maybe you wish us to consider the words of Jeremiah 5: 3-5, in particular –
    “So I will go to the leaders
    and speak to them;
    surely they know the way of the LORD,
    the requirements of their God.”
    But with one accord they too had broken off
    the yoke and torn off the bonds.”

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 1:20 PM

…Lord have mercy… You mean this is the Kerrie Simmons that has been touted by the BLP as bright and smart??

…that was an impostor on Brass tacks ??!!

That was the single most insipid lot of stupid talk that I have had to endure since Peter Wickhan has been on air….

stupppsssss…

…plus he sound like a whining, female version of Mia…

Maxine almost kill the idiot…. It is no wonder that the BLP lot kept off the air when they were in office… I certainly could not have guessed how stupid some of these clowns are…

• Wishing in Vain // April 27, 2008 at 1:21 PM

At least a solution is near to hand, and when the time comes may I suggest that the Gov’t reserves three seats on the aircraft to Ghana for , Dr. Ikael Tafari, David Comissiong and that crook Trevor Prescod, please let them return from whence they came and both they and us the rest of the island will be happy.

While at it give some praise to the new Gov’t for getting an arrangement in place that removes a very large portion of the cost in getting these people back to Ghana ans in so doing reducing the burden on us the taxpayers.

Stage two is to charge and arrest those that played a part in this scam at this end.

• David // April 27, 2008 at 1:25 PM

The biggest foot in mouth which occurred in the discussion is when a regular Barbadian quizzed Symmonds about the possible lack of insurance coverage for the NHC units which are being given away.

We note Ellis’s low keyed interaction this morning with the panel. The program was useful in feeding back both opposition and government that the people don’t want no pretty talk. We want to hear about solutions. Unfortunately Malcom Taitt who should know better continue to fail the people given the consumer organization that he represents.

• Wishing in Vain // April 27, 2008 at 1:30 PM

It may even go to say that this present Gov’t has achieved more in a 100 days than the last gov’t achieved in 14 years in office.

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 1:32 PM

Citizen first

I can not be held responsible for what you choose to believe. It is a fairly simple matter to me.

We have created as a society, a SYSTEM where politicians, (who tend to be more lawyers and ‘lawyer-types’ as a result of the rules of the system) present themselves by making promises and taking positions that any THINKING citizen knows that are impractical.

HOWEVER, unless they play the game, even HONEST, sincere applicants will NOT be selected.

What would you call a citizen in that situation who writes down the list of promises made and takes comfort in them???

What has that to do with the integrity and competence of the eventual winner?

ONLY WHEN WE WAIT AND SEE THE ACTUAL RESULTS CAN WE SENSIBLY DECIDE.

…so who but a fool would waste time and energy in the first weeks of a new administration reviewing promises???

What promises what!?!

…the people only just figured where the bathrooms are located…

….and don’t bring the bible into this with Bush tea, I could write that book out my head.
    …You ever see elections held to elect one of God’s leaders yet?

..most of them were SELECTED against their will – not elected.

• boredickey // April 27, 2008 at 1:42 PM

Bush Tea! The same St.George North representative’s brother is building a mansion across the street East of the St.George Secondary School; the last and only two-storied building going south bound on your left.

• QuestionforWishinginVain // April 27, 2008 at 1:47 PM

There is a feeling that Thompson is a nice guy and will never proscecute a fellow, especially those cut from the same cloth.

Your comment?

• Trained Economist // April 27, 2008 at 1:56 PM

The 100 days thing is a bit surreal to me given the extent to which the global economic environment has changed in the last two months.

It should be clear that any bets before say the end of february 2008 are off given the triple whammy of an oil price crisis, a food crisis and a financial crisis.

• Tell me Why // April 27, 2008 at 2:45 PM

It may even go to say that this present Gov’t has achieved more in 100 days than the last gov’t achieved in 14 years in office.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    You’re back, WIV. I am appalled by you and BT. especially with latter ‘comfort to a fool’ talk.

Why are you concerned about commenter talking about the 100 day talk, it was not conceptualised by them, it was not conceptualised by the opposition party…..it was the making of the DLP in garnishing support for the election win. Needless to say, I think it was the most stupid line to follow when it was obvious the BLP was a sure looser due to its three terms being in office.

The 100 day talk is synonymous to lovers where the male promises the sun and moon to his mate only to disappoint her after.

I listen to the same Brass Tacks and both representatives handle themselves well based on the latitude given by the moderator. What I heard were the various partisan speakers with prepared scripts who kept referring to what s happening in England and the USA.

If we dwell continuously on these markets and throw our hands in the ear stating that we cannot overcome these problems if the UK and US having problems, what about Canada, what about Dubai and the other countries that are using creative measures in controlling the Cost of Living? Some of our problems are created by our own people including the large cooperation’s who are looking at the bottom line. Why would Barbadian pay so much for cheese when we can manufacture our own? Why are we paying so much for milk when we have cows in abundance?

Why the G’ment did subsidised flour when we know that we could obtain cheaper flour elsewhere? Now, since we can get cheaper flour why are we protecting ADM Flour Mills when we can open competition and get cheaper flour that would reduce bread prices that are constantly sky rocketing?

WIV, Bush Tea and Hants and even David of BU, let’s have the solutions and stop looking into the plate of others.

• David // April 27, 2008 at 2:48 PM

Tell me Why we ruminated long and hard, all of 2 minutes actually, whether to respond to you or not and decided not.

• Tell me Why // April 27, 2008 at 2:55 PM

The biggest foot in mouth which occurred in the discussion is when a regular Barbadian quizzed Symmonds about the possible lack of insurance coverage for the NHC units which are being given away.
    …………………………………………………………………
    Kerrie Symmonds kept saying that he never saw any evidence of insurance for these units. I disagree with the BLP for trying to sell these units and I also disagree with the DLP for givin’ ‘way dese units. If Government can continue the upkeep of these houses until the bill of sale is with either the new owners or the banking institution, then, the Government could have continued with them since these units can be rented to the vulnerable poor. All the long talk and political posturing will never change my mind regarding this poor decision by both parties. I dunn wid dat.

• Donald Duck, Esq // April 27, 2008 at 3:00 PM

Wishing in Vain // April 27, 2008 at 1:30 pm

It may even go to say that this present Gov’t has achieved more in a 100 days than the last gov’t achieved in 14 years in office.

WIV

Are you writing from the psychiatric hospital? Only patients down there could make such a statement.

• Tell me Why // April 27, 2008 at 3:09 PM

Tell me Why we ruminated long and hard, all of 2 minutes actually, whether to respond to you or not and decided not.
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Simply. You can not debate facts or logical reasoning.

Let’s be fair. Ask the housewives and house husbands who visited the supermarket recently and you will hear the many items that are being increased. As a matter of fact, calculators are the order of the day whilst shopping. David, check with the private truckers who were paying $100.00 in diesel now having to pay near $175.00 for the same diesel. Why will we blow up an entire house to kill a centipede under the bed? We blew up an entire house to stop under 3 % private owners of SUV’s and also destroying the vulnerable poor who have to take the bus, who have to but kerosene, who were glad for the BL&P fuel bill reduction, who too glad the water rates ain’t gone up and those who cannot afford to get a loan to build a house but prefer to buy a cement bag and few blocks every month.

It is hurting the poor man and will hurt him further.

• ROBOT // April 27, 2008 at 3:47 PM

boredickey

what a name

this has to be an older bajan
    having studied linguistics, i can locate this in time and space

wow !

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 5:25 PM

…man ROBOT, I think that the older version of the name is intended to be ‘board’ … and there is supposed to be an associated reputation…

I suspect that it is however something like my friend ‘Runt’ ….. he is about 6 feet 6 inches and real pounds….

…but boredickey, If The PM turns out to be too nice to prosecute these crooks do you think that we could persuade our man at BU, David to launch a public inquiry into some of these issues – right here on BU?

…a David is a David… (by the way though, how do we know that BU David ain’t PM David T? and that Mara and the girls ain’t the BU household?…or even the now famous mommy?;-))

The former minister of ABC flyover scheming should provide an excellent test case. We could ask BFP to be the lead prosecutor…

• Sam Gamgee // April 27, 2008 at 5:32 PM

TMW/ Frankology, I glad BU showed some class and decided to leave you alone. You are a bit tiresome.

BT, I wid you on all dat; wuh promises wuh.

WIV and DD Esq, you guys should just chill.

I am still trying to figure out who told Bajans that they do not have to take responsibility for themselves.

Is there going to be a survey done at Reggae pon de Hill to find out how the present issues in the world are affecting the people there and how they plan to handle them?

I real interested in dat type of info! LOL. Just went by Shop Smart and saw Canola Oil for 35.99 today. 13 days ago it was 26.99 at the same place. Price Smart still had it today at 26.99.
    Asked a question and came to the conclusion that Bajans are starting to hoard rice; there was no rice to be had at Price Smart.

BTW, I have also noticed some funny words being used by some members of the opposition and its supporters. Couple that with the world wide happenings and I know this gov’t/country is in for a dusty time.

When I hear Chefette, KFC and all the other places whose business it is to cook food for lazy people complaining, I will know that we have taken stock.
    When I hear that Purity bread on the shelves spoiling I will know we have taken stock.
    When I hear BICO icecream sales are down I will know that we have taken stock.

Me? I tek stock ever long time since and still reflecting on how to do things a little better every day!

• Wishing in Vain // April 27, 2008 at 5:34 PM

Donald Duck, Esq your clan of crooks were on auto piolt for a long time working purely on the desires of arthur what he wanted he got.
    He alone did more to destroy the good name of Barbados internationally that anyone else, his growing scam of charging personal fees for permissions was disgraceful to say the least lets not forget the $ 1 million fee he charged to the owners of Portico, the fact is he got out of place and out of hand with his request.
    You only need to ask the owners of Royal Westmoreland and others what his charges were and how often he called on them for money then you would get a clearer picture.

Your group left nearly every Ministry in a mess from your years of gross neglect so do not come on this site defending this clan of bastards and crooks you are wasting your time and your effort, they are guilty as charged and will be found even more guilty as time goes on.
    QuestionforWishinginVain // April 27, 2008 at 1:47 pm

There is a feeling that Thompson is a nice guy and will never proscecute a fellow, especially those cut from the same cloth.

Your comment?
    I am not that closely connect to the thinkings of the leadership of the party but I would strongly suggest that they charge whoever ought to be charged and do so in the knowledege that once it is needed and deserving it will be supported by the public of Barbados no questions asked in my view.
    My Personal view standing on the outside is based on bits and pieces of information that I have heard they are a few of them that have earned their time before the courts, without question, we will have to wait and see.

• Donald Duck, Esq // April 27, 2008 at 6:32 PM

WIV

Your mouthings indicate that you are an inmate of a psychiatric hospital. You have not denied that.

If you cannot provide evidence of such things as the $1 million fee supposedly charged to Portico then you need to cease and desist from making such comments. Do tell us who is Portico. Is he or she one of your fellow inmates?

• Bush tea // April 27, 2008 at 7:19 PM

Sam Gamgee,

Thank you for introducing the REAL topic that should have been on Brass tacks today… namely:

“WHAT MUST BAJANS DO INDIVIDUALLY TO PREPARE FOR THE VERY ROUGH TIMES THAT ARE UPON US…”

… the truth is that according to Bush tea’s calculations, this trouble was due some years ago, I really thought that 911 was the cue….

The biggest threat that each person now face is the misplaced trust that we have in modern day technologies.

THESE ARE FALSE GODS that will desert us suddenly, leaving almost everyone totally helpless….our cars, our cell phones, TVs computers etc…. could easily be just so much junk…

Nationally we could have prepared ourselves by becoming much more self-reliant in feeding ourselves, less indebted to strangers, more productive and efficient in the use of our limited resources etc.

….instead, we prostituted ourselves on the alter of ‘first world development’ whatever that is.. and in the process turned our people into lazy, block limers whose idling is not even worthy of being counted as unemployment (they are voluntarily idle while we bring Chinese and Guyanese workers to build this country).

Strangers continue to own our best land, our bankers (the IMF and World Bank) tells us what to do – we have been reduced to slaves again, (albeit with big rides..)

But as you said, Sam, maybe answers were provided to thousands of seekers today at Farley Hill….

• Donald Duck, Esq // April 27, 2008 at 8:46 PM

The chamber of commerce is hosting an old day session on wednesday this week to determine how to reduce the cost of living. I am sure that your thoughts would be welcomed.

• Trained Economist // April 27, 2008 at 9:23 PM

If you persist with a policy of subsidies, why on earth would people and businesses even consider adjusting.

Whatever the motives, that in my view was the fundamental flaw of the last administration’s policies on the energy and the cost of food.

A recent BLP column suggested that a bond could have been raised to cover the debt of the oil company. The message to me was, move the debt somewhere else, let the good times roll and the problem will eventually go away.

We are facing a perfect economic storm, which requires deep and meaningful adjustments. The PM may be no economic genius, but this actions to date suggest he has some appreciation of the gravity of the situation and is willing to act.

• Sam Gamgee // April 27, 2008 at 10:02 PM

TE, I always figured that what the prev. admin. needed more than another economist was an accountant. That group still seems to need one.

BT, you may be right about 9/11. One of my favorite investing columnists said that that was the start of what is all unfolding now. Seems the recession started then was headed off and not allowed to run the course so here we are.
    You could check him out at Sottburns.com.

Dese are some serious times!!

• Sam Gamgee // April 27, 2008 at 10:27 PM

9/11 and the Foreclosure Crisis
    By Scott Burns
    NEW YORK– Trundling a suitcase and a computer bag in piercing cold, I head into an office building on 55th Street. I am immediately stopped by an array of security turnstiles and watchful guards. One calls to confirm that I am actually scheduled to visit a particular person in a particular office on a particular floor. Then he copies my driver’s license and hands me a sticker/pass. They allow me to pass through the turnstiles into a monotone gray space.

Welcome to post-9/11 New York. If this were a movie, it would definitely be in the paranoid sci-fi genre, something like “THX 1138” or “Brazil.” But it isn’t.

Nor am I visiting the United Nations, the New York Federal Reserve or virtually any firm on Wall Street. They’ve all been drum-tight for decades.

No, I am visiting a literary agent in an obscure and slightly decrepit Manhattan office building. If the federal government rated buildings by probability of terrorist attack the way Amazon ranks best-selling books, this building— trendy, literary location notwithstanding— would be hopelessly far down the list.

Having just spent five days in the disaster that is Florida real estate, it makes me wonder: Is it possible that the 9/11 terrorist attack is the root cause of declining home values? Is it possible that sub-prime loans and speculative building/buying were no more than tools, the equivalent of hijacked airliners?

If so, the eventual economic cost of that single attack may run in the trillions. It may also help us find the unity to gird our country against the biggest threat since World War II. Here’s the case.

We were in the second year of a brutal three-year stock market decline when radical Islamic terrorists destroyed the World Trade Center. Even so, borrowed money wasn’t dirt cheap. The federal funds rate, down from nearly 6 percent during the Internet boom years, was 3.65 percent in August 2001.

It fell to 1.75 percent within weeks of the attack. Policy makers struggled to keep the economy from coming to a standstill.

The federal funds rate continued to drop, hitting a low of 0.98 percent in December 2003. That was more than two years after the attack. We were well into a powerful stock market recovery. The federal funds rate stayed around 1 percent long enough to set off a boom in low-cost mortgages and in home prices.

Home buyers discovered that very ordinary paychecks could now buy extraordinary homes. People with cash to deposit learned that their money earned virtually nothing.

Interest rates on home mortgages dropped fast enough that the National Association of Realtors’ well-known housing affordability index showed that almost anyone could buy and own a house somewhere in America, even if they couldn’t do it in Santa Barbara, Palm Beach, or Manhattan. As a practical matter, borrowed money was virtually free.

Small wonder home prices soared. According to the Office of Federal Housing Enterprise Oversight (OFHEO), the national index of home values rose 46.9 percent in the five years ending September 30, 2007. That’s an annualized appreciation rate of 8 percent— enough to make us all think owning a home was way better than the stock market or actually working for a living. Buying and owning a home was literally a cheap thrill.

During the same period, the CPI rose at only 2.9 percent annualized.

We could, of course, blame the Federal Reserve for keeping interest rates too low for too long. We could also blame Wall Street. Or mortgage lenders and their brokers. And we could blame the borrowers for being foolish. We certainly can’t take any pride in the greed-driven decisions that fueled the problem.

But one big fact remains: None of this misery would have happened if 9/11 hadn’t happened first.

Is there a bottom line here?

I think there is. As opponents, the terrorists have played us painfully well. They bleed us internally with financial upheaval. They bleed us externally with the cost of oil and military expenditures. Our leaders— political and business— have underestimated both our vulnerability and the strategic smarts of our opponent.

• Green Monkey // April 27, 2008 at 11:01 PM

…. As opponents, the terrorists have played us painfully well. They bleed us internally with financial upheaval. They bleed us externally with the cost of oil and military expenditures….

And many (but certainly not all) Americans have mis-identified who exactly are the real terrorists. See:
    http://www.barbadosforum.com/index.php?showtopic=6694

• Wishing in Vain // April 28, 2008 at 12:46 AM

Donald Duck, Esq If you cannot provide evidence of such things as the $1 million fee supposedly charged to Portico then you need to cease and desist from making such comments. Do tell us who is Portico. Is he or she one of your fellow inmates?

Donald Duck, Esq you quack, I have names times and places that link your former leader to these actions and I do not need to explain them to you, but a word to you would let you know that some of your most trusted friends are now singing like birds to get themselves out of trouble.
    Funny how life can be is it not???

• Bush tea // April 28, 2008 at 6:51 AM

Thanks for the interesting perspective Sam Gamgee

…seems like however we look at it, we are in for a rough ride.

The bible pushers have been predicting ‘the time of troubles’ of the last days for centuries now, but it seems that they had been drowned out by the scientists with their global warming, population crisis, food crisis, fuel shortages, aids, etc.
    Now we have the economists admitting total loss of control and a spiraling decline into chaos.

… I wonder exactly what it will take for us to see the much BIGGER picture? Even without the benefit of the analysis provided by Sam above, It was obvious to Bush tea from 2001 that it was no longer business as usual.

Obviously different individuals will have different priorities when faced with a reality like this, but I am amazed at the prevalence of the ‘head-in-the-sand’ group. The ones that behave as though if we don’t think about it, it must go away.

In the final analysis however, Life on earth is a project that has run its course. We happen to have been born at the wrap-up stage of the project -a fact that Bush tea considers a special blessing.
    While it will be the most chaotic time in the history of the project, these troubles merely represent the birth pains of the next phase of project ‘Life on Earth’.

When one understands this bigger picture, then the ‘troubles to come’ are far less scary or daunting…

What trouble what?!?

• The People's Democratic Congress // April 28, 2008 at 7:48 AM

David,

Having just read through the comments of persons under the top blog, and we would have read also your response to us, we are somewhat clear in our minds that there was NOTHING OUTSTANDING ABOUT THIS PARTICULAR CALL IN PROGRAM AND THAT IT WAS THE SAME OLE DRY TALK THAT WAS BEING REPRESENTED BY THOSE PARTICIPATING ACTORS. So, really those members of our party who went to Farley Hill missed NOTHING!! The show was fairly okay, but did NOT live up to its usual great billing in terms of the on stage performances from the artistes on the whole, although the attendance was very good, and the crowds very well behaved, among other things favourable.

But, back to the real subject at hand, the fundamental strategy of a particular and dastard effort by the DLP and BLP, and in association with the mainstream media, is to allow most of politics in Barbados to be defined by things DLP and BLP. What total and complete ignorance? So they have this call in program about the first 100 days of this already failing DLP Government, and they seemingly ONLY invited representatives of the DLP and BLP? No representatives of the other two parties? So, right away this call in program did NOT have real legitimacy from the start to the end, and from the point of view of the lack of other perspectives from the other parties about what is presently happening in Barbados and in the rest of the world, politically, economically and financially speaking, so that in the alternative these other representatives would have been in position to give a more balanced and learned and dispassionate perpective on the matters that had been or could have dealt with on the program, if they had been invited and had attented. Rather than the DLP, BLP and the mainstream media ) wanting us – the masses and middle classes of people in Barbados mainly – to be so wrongly focussing on some idiotic belief that the DLP and the BLP – which have so stupidly contributed to many of these problems themselves – really have many of the solutions to these problems, and therefore must be ones always represented on these programs. What a sick joke to play on the masses and middle classes of people of this country!!

David, the point must be made by us, too, that the first 100 days of a government are used to partially measure what kind of start a government has got off to doing, or could have got off to doing but did NOT got off to doing, but especially given the promises that the party later forming the government would have made in the preceding election period, and therefore what one could look forward to from that government for the rest of the term of government. It is NOT really about what a government would have been EXPECTED to do in those first 100 days – especially with regard to any serious and complex and grandiose policies and programs!! However, we have given the DLP a D for its first 100 days performance.

PDC

• Sam Gamgee // April 28, 2008 at 9:27 AM

BT you can also check out http://www.philipslater.com

• Adrian Hinds // April 28, 2008 at 1:53 PM

The Barbados Labour Party will attempt to turn 2008 into 1991 by falsely making reference to the current global resession as something that David Thompson and the DLP caused and that Mia Mottley and the BLP would have averted.

…..I got news for them. In 1991 Barbadians where not made aware that they were facing the same issues as other citizens around the world. 2008 is different, the awareness of Barbadians their ability to recall these current events in 2012, will be my focus. The task of all Barbadians in the diaspora is to relay our own exeperiences with our families at home, so that they can become aware that they are not alone. In addition current worldwide news articles, podcast etc, that are currently dealing with todays world economies, will be readily available to combat the political trick and lie machine of the BLP. It will not be convenient to remake 1991 into 2008 for election marketing come 2012.

• ROBOT // April 28, 2008 at 5:18 PM

sam gangee !

yeah ! and when bajans take stock and the named business start complaining —do you know what will happen ?

WORKERS will be dis-employed, laid off, fired—– results: UN-EMPLOYMENT—-it is like the past 14 years did not happen and we are right back to 1991-94 when OWEN SEYMOUR -had to rescue our tails from disaster.

as a matter of fact quite unfortunately for the DLP they have taken over at this time and more unfortunately is the fact that the present prime minister and his government cannot manage this economy. this economy is a boom and bust economy and you have to be skilled in the mode of errol barrow, tom adams and owen seymour to effectively run this economy. david thompson cannot get um run and that is why they advised the hardears people in barbados –not to vote d l p at the time . there was absolutely no need for change and never mind what d l p apologists such as some of the commenters have to say , no amount of excuses will help david.

it is goin to get worse, people will start resigning from cabinet and from statutory boards etc. colin spencer is the first but not the last. i suspect that the ministers who are not real real politicians will be the first to quit cabinet. maxine might be the first, followed by walters, boyce, kellman, lashley, -and the beat goes on -until 3 years down the road -bang ! um dun –d l p government in trouble

this is not fantasy-it happen already.
    in 1986 the d l p fooled the people wid promises–
    by 1988 haynes and sadiford were at war: sandy appointed winston cox and dr king as director of finance and planning and govenor of the central bank without telling richie haynes who was minister of finance–and the rest is history

david thompson will make sandy look like sir winston churchill

ah tell yuh !

• ROBOT // April 28, 2008 at 5:24 PM

100 days ——is pure crap and everybody agrees that it is bare crap even the d l p lackeys and apologists on this blog

just check the comments or listen to maxine

• Sam Gamgee // April 28, 2008 at 8:08 PM

Robot, unlike you I believe that civil servants run things and ministers make policy.
    I do not believe that the BLP had specialists anymore than the DLP has specialists. So they are even. Their ways of doing things just differ is all.
    That said I still think the country is in for a dusty time and the only winner or loser I see is going to be Barbados not the DLP or BLP.
    If you are still in election mode I do not see how that is of any use to the situation at hand.
    The world is in a mess and you had better hope for the best and stop looking back to what you seem to believe was such a rosy time. Some people were catching their tails ever since.
    Seems that you think that Barbados is the world and not a miniscule part of the world. I am under no such illusions.
    Thing is I have never needed a politician or expected one to do anything for me. What I expect from them at all times is that they will do their best for the country.
    I guess the BLP did that for a time and then got tired and full of S##T. I expect the DLP now to do their best as well. As for me and my house we will do what we have to do to survive if God grants strength.
    You can decide if the politician is going to be your saviour or not. You can also play prophet of doom and gloom as though you’ve got dibs on the future.
    I figure you should try to be positive in the face of all the stuff going on in the world, but you seem to prefer to waste time talking about who can run the country or can’t.
    I am sure the sky is not falling Chicken Little. Try to take life one day at a time Robot.
    BTW, you did not see a tsunami in that future for us did you or a hurricane, or an earthquake, or the end of the world,…?

• Barbados » Voice Of Barbados Radia To Discuss Government’s 100 Days In Office // April 29, 2008 at 1:21 AM

[...] Voice Of Barbados Radia To Discuss Government’s 100 Days In OfficeVoice of Barbados (92.9FM) will assemble a panel tomorrow (27 April 200 to discuss the government’s first 100 days in office. Looks like true to his promise David Ellis intends to hold the David Thompson government’s feet to the fire. … [...]

• ROBOT-now called SIR ROBOT // April 29, 2008 at 12:12 PM

i stand by my words -sam –

every word i say is true–
    as for my predictions : these are done based on previous experience,
    already i have been told that all is not well in the d l p camp.

everyone is not in agreement with the maximum leader for the price increases he introduced and cracks are beginning to widen , cracks were present before.

i am not political, i called it as i see it
    and the way i see it, this economy has always been a challenge and if you dont have the ability to run this boom and bust economy you will run the country into trouble. thompson and his band are not CAPABLE of running the economy. this is not a joke

• Wishing in Vain // April 29, 2008 at 1:47 PM

Bovell robot suits you to a tee, you clown, sit back relax and enjoy the ride, meanwhile remember you got thrown out of office for fraud, deception, stealing, and arrogance the people are still hating you for your actions while in office, take a rest, we have a new gov’t and a new gov’t that will not refuse to give locals contracts because they the contractors refused to pay bribe money as was the case with prison project and instead of costing us US $ 67 million it cost us US $ 144 million because your friend Hallam Nicholls was refused payment of a 7 % commission, instead he sent the work offshore to VECO so he could free his hands. and free up the bribe money.

• Wishing in Vain // April 29, 2008 at 1:57 PM

SEE BELOW COMMENT IT MAY EXPLAIN WHY WE ARE NOT ALONE.

Anchorage food prices soar with fuel costs
    10 PERCENT IN 3 MONTHS: Drought and farm subsidies squeeze consumers.

By GEORGE BRYSON
    gbryson@adn.com

Published: April 29th, 2008 12:03 AM
    Last Modified: April 29th, 2008 04:40 AM

You can see it in the bread aisle at Carrs, where shoppers nowadays stare long and hard at a small $4.50 loaf of all-grain Oroweat Best Winterwheat bread before placing it in the cart.

Click to enlarge

TUNA up 34% 2007 $1.76 2008 $2.36

Click to enlarge

RICE up 85% 2007 $0.46 2008 $0.85

Click to enlarge

WHITE FLOUR up 21% 2007 $.34 2008 $.41

Click to enlarge

EGGS up 23% 2007 $1.80 2008 $2.22

Click to enlarge

COFFEE up 14% 2007 $2.40 2008 $2.74

Click to enlarge

CHEDDAR CHEESE up 61% 2007 $2.75 2008 $4.42

Click to enlarge

WHOLE GRAIN BREAD up 22% 2007 $1.48 2008 $1.81

Click to enlarge

WHITE BREAD up 33% 2007 $.92 2008 $1.22

Click to enlarge

GROUND BEEF up 18% 2007 $2.41 2008 $2.85

Click to enlarge

APPLES up 24% 2007 $.98 2008 $1.22

Story tools

Comments

E-mail a friend

Print

Digg this

Seed Newsvine

Send link via AIM

Font size : A | A | A
    Or at the Costco on DeBarr Road, where fears over rice availability and price increases to come created a small stampede near the entrance Monday morning as customers raced for the food aisles — clearing out four whole pallets of rice in less than 15 minutes.

Or in the wall-to-wall faces of morning diners at Bean’s Cafe, which increasingly caters to Anchorage’s “working poor” — low-income residents who tell the staff they can’t afford to buy their own food the last half of the month.

Food prices in Anchorage are rising.

After remaining stable for several years, the cost of a typical weekly shopping cart of food for an Anchorage family of four shot up 10 percent during the first three months of this year — from $121.31 to $132.88, according to preliminary statistics reported Monday by the University of Alaska Fairbanks Cooperative Extension Service.

Some individual items have climbed even higher. From March 2007 to March 2008, ground beef rose 18 percent. Eggs, 22 percent. White bread, 33 percent. Cheddar cheese, 61 percent. Rice, 85 percent.

Experts blame a variety of factors, from global-warming-related droughts to higher shipping costs (driven by steadily rising fuel prices) to allocation decisions traceable to farmers who choose to grow government-subsidized biofuel crops rather than food crops.

But it all comes down to a bigger hit on the pocketbook, according to Anchorage resident Janet Galbraith, who says she’s changed the way she eats because of the increase in prices.

“Everything has gone up,” Galbraith said Monday afternoon, standing with her cart at the Midtown Fred Meyer. She’s buying more generic groceries now and tailors her cooking to what’s on sale.

“I’m just more careful than I was before,” she said.

RUSH ON RICE

The most dramatic example of costlier food, both locally and worldwide, might be the suddenly soaring price of rice, partly due to droughts and shortages in producing countries in Southeast Asia.

On the global commodities market, the price of rice has jumped 68 percent this year. And rice eaters in the U.S. — including a significant population of Asian-Americans living in Alaska — are stockpiling rice after hearing horror stories about shortages and soaring prices from relatives back home.

That trend accelerated last week when news spread that Sam’s Club and Costco, which typically sell some of the lowest-priced groceries in town, had set new restrictions on how much rice its members can purchase.

Costco members can now buy no more than five bags of rice per day, which still allows someone to purchase as much as 250 pounds per trip — if it’s available.

By 10:15 a.m. Monday, all the rice at the DeBarr Costco, which had been restocked overnight from the Sunday shipment, was gone.

Manager Bob Ripley said some of the rice-buying spree should be a short-lived story, at least at Costco, since supplies from U.S. growers appear to be ample. He expects more rice to arrive with each new ship. The restrictions, he said, were aimed mostly at the owners of local restaurants that serve a lot of rice cuisine.

“I have some pretty big accounts that buy a lot of rice from us, and it wouldn’t be fair for us to sell everything we own to them — and then have that price not be a good value to all our members,” Ripley said.

WHEAT AND FLOUR

But rising prices don’t stop with rice.

“You talk to any retailer or wholesaler in town and they’re going to tell you the same thing,” Ripley said. “Prices are going up across the board — with gas and everything else.”

Wheat commodities are also on the rise worldwide.

Great Harvest Bread Co. owner Dirk Sisson, who buys flour by the ton, says his Benson Boulevard business has seen the price of white flour he purchases from a seller in Montana double in the past three months — from $18 for a 50-pound bag in January to $36 today.

“The franchise has never seen anything like this,” Sisson said. “The problem is just basic economics of supply and demand. … There’s a shortage of wheat right now.”

As a result, he’s raised the price of his breads about a quarter a loaf, Sisson said.

Part of that covers the higher shipping costs for the 6,000 pounds of flour he buys each week, he said.

“Whereas a year ago I was paying about 10 cents a pound for freight, now I’m paying 15 cents.”

BUSH GROCERIES

The steep increase in shipping costs is, of course, expected to hit rural residents the hardest. It’s already being felt in Bethel, according to grocery story owner Christy Inman.

“Every time I look at my billing, it seems like things keep going higher and higher,” Inman said Monday. “This is just the tip of the iceberg. It’s going to get way worse by the end of the summer.”

She said she doesn’t know how people from surrounding villages are going to be able to pay for the boat fuel to come to Bethel for groceries.

“But, fortunately, they can subsistence fish and hunt. They can go out and get birds and eggs, pick berries,” Inman said. “They are at least going to be better off than the people in the cities who can only go to the store.”

Cathy Squartsoff in Port Lions, on Kodiak Island, said she and her husband are taking the ferry up to Anchorage to load up on groceries for their lodge. The cost of putting three vehicles on a ferry and shopping at Sam’s Club and Costco is cheaper than buying groceries in Kodiak, she said. “It is just more expensive,” she said of the island prices.

Nome resident Sterling Buffas said the cost of milk has gone up from about $6 a gallon to $7 recently. “We’ve got two babies, a 2-year-old and a 3-year-old — we still have to buy it,” he said.

THE HUNGRY POOR

At Bean’s Cafe near downtown Anchorage, executive director James Crockett has seen food costs for his nonprofit agency rise steadily since the start of the year.

“We’ve seen a 15 percent increase in roast beef, a 19 percent increase in tuna, a 23 percent increase in apples,” Crockett said.

At the same time, he’s watched low-income residents in the community — people he calls the working poor — increasingly take advantage of free meals at Bean’s, especially during the second half of the month.

“These are people who basically pay their rent and put money in the gas tank, then they look in the refrigerator and it’s empty,” Crockett said. “They used to come (to Bean’s) around the 21st of the month. Now we’re seeing them toward the 10th and 12th.”

——————————————————————————–

Find George Bryson online at adn.com/contact/gbryson or call 257-4318. Reporter Megan Holland contributed to this article.

——————————————————————————–

Trip to the store

Weekly shopping cart for a family of four in Anchorage:

2005 (Dec) $118.33

2006 (Dec) $119.32

2007 (Dec) $121.31

2008 (Mar) $132.88

UAF Cooperative Extension Service

• Adrian Hinds // April 30, 2008 at 9:21 AM

wait WIV, This Robot is Henderson Bovell? Was he finally let go from the political post he had?

Is he the subject in the following taken from the last weeks’ “Flying Fish & Cou Cou”?

“Pieces of silver

WORD IS THAT a certain individual who has changed his charge from saint into a modern-day male Jezebel, went on a mission early in the year and it backfired in his face.

Seems that his about-turn and departure from the hive, is, and was something, that he was trying to impress on his former foes at every juncture.

Cou Cou understands that he went with $5 000 to a certain individual and offered it as a gift to assist in a particular venture.

But after assessing the situation and acknowledging that he was dealing with an individual with no fibre, the individual told him: “Thanks, but no thanks, you keep your pieces of silver.”

• Wishing in Vain // April 30, 2008 at 10:02 AM

He has resorted to hiding in the halls of the leader of the opposition’s office only to be seen in public when arthur or mottley are near to hand, this the same clown and crook that collected $ 9,000.00 per month to be the voice of the blp on the call in shows.

A political pimp if there was ever one, that is HENDERSON STANDS FOR NOTHING BOVELL.

Actually he was only one of the 28 or 29 that have been revealed todate most of which hail from arthur’s office, Ezra Alleyne, Clyde Griffith, Phillip Goddard, Denil Agard and the list is on going, each one earing no less than $ 100,000.00 of our money.

• Wishing In Vain // May 4, 2008 at 8:45 PM

It seems the opposition and its leaders problems will just no go away, as taken from the blp blog today.

ENJOY THE OPPOSITION AS THIS IS WHERE YOU DESERVE. // May 5, 2008 at 12:40 am

Get used to the opposition, you have been put there by your own actions, remember the Prison , the 3S road works, the transfer of the Holders land, TIME IS LONGER THAN TWINE people, ARROGANCE AND COORUPTION WAS YOUR FAILURE LIKE IT OR LUMP IT.

You and your party were under the feeling that you were untouchable and you acted in that manner, but your day of decision came before you were able to fully raid us any further.

Thank god for the sensible thinking Barbadians that came out and voted you out of office.

Let us remember those statements made by mottley to some of the biggest names in the building business here that they would tow the line with regard to the illegal Chinese workers and if they did not TOW THE LINE THEY COULD EXPECT A VAT AND TAX AUDIT, this is just not how business is done in this island and it is a disgusting act by a Deputy P M to threaten our business leaders in such a manner for her own selfish reasons.

Is this the method of a Deputy P M or a DICTATOR in action?????

• Wishing In Vain // May 4, 2008 at 10:04 PM

Based on this latest development of the FBI to continue working with these two former VECO leaders, I would suggest that the players from this end such as HALLAM NICHOLLS, OWING ARTHUR, GLYNE BANNISTER need to keep looking over their shoulders as these two guys are singing like birds to reduce their own jail time, I am sure if the FBI ask about the DODDS PRISON PROJECT it is going to become very nasty for this lot, lets just wait for the next chapter to unfold and unfold it will.

Veco sentencing on hold

The Associated Press

Published: May 1st, 2008 01:49 AM

Federal prosecutors aren’t ready just yet to recommend sentences for their two witnesses in an ongoing federal corruption probe.

In a status report filed in federal court Wednesday, prosecutors requested that sentencing for former Veco executives Bill Allen and Rick Smith continue to be postponed as the investigation continues.

Prosecutors wrote the investigation is “exceedingly complex,” and they promised to have another update no later than July 31.

Both Allen and Smith pleaded guilty last year to federal bribery charges.

They’ve been key witnesses in the convictions of two former state lawmakers so far, and former Rep. Bruce Weyhrauch is awaiting trial while questions about evidence in his case are being appealed.

Leave a Comment