Recently David Ellis, while moderating a radio call-in program, and in response to a caller who questioned why the radio station was restricting discussion on the issue of the large number of Guyanese and large immigrant population on the island gave a surprising response. He indicated that the topic was a volatile one and had to be managed responsibly by the radio station. Up to that point many BU commenters had already made the observation that callers were being unfairly restricted when trying to discuss the matter on the VOB talk shows. Of late, and maybe it is our imagination, there seems to have been a relaxing of the policy at VOB regarding discussion on immigration matters.
The BU family is aware that we have written voluminously on the need for planned immigration in Barbados. We have gone further and accepted that movement of people is a reality in the new world economy. We have put forward the view that the socio-economic impact of the growing ethnic population in Barbados MUST be studied with a view to minimizing social fall-out while maximizing economic output. To our surprise many have accused BU of being xenophobic and racist. Even our sister blog Barbados Free Press rapped us on the knuckles for overstepping the boundary on this issue.
It is interesting that VOB would seek to cherry-pick this issue to censor callers to the talk shows. It is also interesting that the Nation newspaper which is owned by the same parent has not seriously highlighted the issue of our haphazard immigration policy which has low skilled Indo-Guyanese at the centre. This leads BU to conclude that there is an obvious enunciated policy to censor the Guyanese issue by the leading publishing house in Barbados. This has led us to speculate what happens if the voice of the PEOPLE is suppressed on an issue which they feel passionately.
We listened to reports in the media today which highlighted the concerns by many of our Members of Parliament on the need to roll-out a planned immigration policy. We also heard the lucid pronouncement by Attorney General Frundel Stuart that an immigration draft document is in the pipeline to be used to improve existing immigration policy. If we had the opportunity we would ask why his office has not instructed the police force and Immigration department to forge an alliance to round-up undocumented workers in Barbados. Our sources say that this has not been done since the new Thompson government ascended office.
We now feel vindicated.

216 responses so far ↓
Anonymous // June 24, 2008 at 9:19 PM
Can anyone tell me if david thompson is overseas,and is that why he didnot speak on the debate in parliament today.
Maybe he is busy preparing for the budget next week.
Vox populi ,vox dei.
The politicians are finally hearing our cries.
Tony Hall // June 24, 2008 at 9:39 PM
There was a Caribbean heads conference in New York and he was there. He is probably back by now preparing what I believe will be a fair budget next month.
The scout // June 24, 2008 at 10:31 PM
I’m glad the present gov’t has listened to our plea. However I see why the BLP is in opposition, Stupid Marshall actually said that we bajans should educate the illegal guyanese children FREE? He serious? If they are illegal pack them and the chuldren back to guyana. I MUST see that what the gov’t is doing don’t amount to just hot air. The time has come for there to be town hall meetings and let us come out and let this gov’t know exactly how we feel. I AM READY
Yardbroom // June 25, 2008 at 1:44 AM
Barbados Underground you have had the courage, and I say “courage” because that is what it takes; to highlight an issue of importance, when it is expedient to swim with the prevailing media and avoid it.
I believe this issue of “illegal immigration,” is so fundamental to the long term social cohesiveness, and thus stability of Barbados, that it should not be ignored.
To be accused of racism or xenophobia is not pleasant, but if that is the price to be paid for the long term stability of our country, it is a price that should be paid…without rancour or regret.
Over the years many people from the islands, have made their homes in Barbados. Our society is the richer for their presence and the diversity they have brought.
The situation has changed in recent times. Documents illegal and otherwise, can be procured in some countries, with an ease which has caused the immigration authorities in Barbados serious concerns. Consequently, we cannot with the prudence necessary of a sovereign state, check the bona fides of some immigrants.
It is incumbent on us as a democratic country; upholding the principles of fairness and justice for our citizens and immigrants. To “act” in the best interest of all.
Proper immigration controlls, which meet the needs of Barbados society, in both the short and “long ” term; whilst respecting the rights and privileges of legal immigrants of whatever race or country shows foresight. That is a course for stability and fairness.
BWWR // June 25, 2008 at 2:56 AM
It is not racism to object to illegal immigration. Every illegal immigrant places a burden on the taxpayers that ought not to be there. Also, with illegal immigrants, there is no record and no background on them – we donm’t know who and what they are. Barbados is no longer a backwater. It is a fast-growing economy and society. We attract to Barbados some very high-profile VIPs. To date, those people have felt safe coming here. That will soon end if we do not have stringent immigration controls and screening. We do it with money. Why not with people?
Bimbro // June 25, 2008 at 3:01 AM
The solution here is to process illegal immigrants’ expeditiously and ensure they’re deported at the earliest, possible opportunity, a prospect which I can’t conceive of occuring in Bim!
Jay // June 25, 2008 at 3:53 AM
I think a lot more should be done that just “deport” the illegal immigrants & that is to give the Immigration department the money,tools & man-power needed to actually fund & enforce the tighter policy.
Everything always look good on paper but without details & a commitment as a Nation,nothing will ever get done.I think it is about time Barbados actually started getting serious about this immigration problem.Many of the larger countries such as the UK,U.S.[Where I live now] & Canada have all gotten serious about immigration & I am glad that Barbados is starting to catch up & looks to implement a “managed” migration policy,especially for Work Permits.
I hope it would entail something similar to the new U.K or Australian immigration rules where people are given certain points if they meet criteria,like having a college education,work history,know English & is the Job highly in demand for.If a total number of points are given then the work permit would be approved.
I also think the Immigration department should get with the 21st Century & make all documents electronically encrypted to prevent fraud.No need to ask someone their status anymore the documents provided by the Department will tell the whole story.
David // June 25, 2008 at 5:29 AM
To top it all off almost every developed country including the USA and England have been introducing legislation/policies to combat illegal immigration. Why should a tiny country like Barbados become the destination for the riff raff of the Caribbean and the world.
Anonymous // June 25, 2008 at 6:01 AM
Scout, This is Zandah, unless you can round up the illegals and send tham back to Guyana, there is no other choice but to educate them, for to not educate them will result in the violence that is so prevalent in Guyanese society. They will wreck havoc on Bajan society if not given an education that will lead to some sort of job skill or career. I think people who enter another country illegally should be dealt with severly, serve a jail term, pay a hefty fine, and then send back home at their expense. Another aspect is if you enter illeaglly then only God know what other illegal activity you are capable of. I say deal with them severly. Bye Zandah
Anonymous // June 25, 2008 at 6:17 AM
In other words, what I am saying is that if they are not given some sort of education, then they cannot compete in the job market, and that will lead to rampant crime. I read what I wrote and it sounded a bit confusing, so I am clarifying myself. Qucik deportation if they can be found, if not they have to have the same benefits in order to assimilate and become productive Barbadians. Zandah
Technician // June 25, 2008 at 6:20 AM
I also hope they deal severely with the corrupt immigration officers and lock them up for their scams. This is also a big threat to our policies.
David // June 25, 2008 at 6:57 AM
Who gives Vic Fernandes, David Ellis, Mike Browne, Viviene Gittens and Roxanne Gibbs the right to determine the level at which Barbadians should discuss this matter. Barbadians have one characteristic which has been a hallmark of our progress through the years, our education has translated to a level headedness when debating issues. We don’t shoot at people, we don’t beat people up for having differing views and importantly we have NEVER exhibited xenophobic behaviour through the years.
degap // June 25, 2008 at 7:53 AM
“Immigration in black and white”
We can’t makeup our minds if the Guyanese are coming to take jobs from Bajans, live off of the nonexistent welfare system or live a life of crime. Before they “overhaul immigration”, the DLP needs to be honest with the country about all of the immigrants, the jobs they hold, their contribution, and or strain on the economy and social ills. Unskilled immigrants are not taking jobs that the “boys on the block” want. The “boys on the block” have no desire or inclination for hard wuck! Also, there are currently over 30,000 British expats in Bim. Only 2,000 are retirees, so what are the other 28,000 doing? Are they cutting cane, busting tables, or driving taxis? Are we fighting with the Guyanese for bread and butter while the Brits are enjoying ham and eggs over yonder?
Ian Walcott // June 25, 2008 at 9:05 AM
Hi DEGAP…the number of British expats is a bit misleading…there are hundreds of Barbadians with dual nationality and there are recorded in the UK data as expats…
We also have a number of cases where Barbadian children born to UK parents have the right to British citizenship…so the numbers may seem a bit high…but for the most part they’re dual citizens…
I just thought I’d clarify that one…
Negroman // June 25, 2008 at 9:23 AM
It is heart warming what Freundel Stuart said.I also enjoyed James Paul & Stephen Lashley comments.However,that fool Dale Marshall was a complete turnoff. He had me nauseated.He talked a roll of garbish.Educated illegal children.what madness.That is opening up our immigration laws for exploitation.Illegal immigrants having illegal children utilising our education system for free.NO WAY
I hope this is not political posturing on the part of the politicians.They fate is in our hands and this immigration issue will determine the future of this present government and if it will have another term.I believe tthis issue eventhough not debated with any fervour during the elections was one of the key issues that bought down the last inept,corrupt Owen Arthur administration.
I believe we bloggers must take some credit for keeping this issue alive eventhough the radio stations tried to kill the issue.Congratulations must go to JC,The Scout.Anonymous.Gabriel The Horn Blower,Your Truly and the others for keeping this issue alive.
WE AWAIT ACTION FROM THE GOVERNMENT
VOB is now getting the message that we built VOB and we could destroy VOB.
I,Negroman was a regular contributor to VOB call in programmes.After that episode when that character Peter Wickham allowed that fool Norman Faria to come on the programme and isult and threatened Barbadians and wanted VOB to ban discussion on this issue I made a decision I will not listen to VOB.I have kept that promise.I wil not listen to VOB anymore.It has one less caller & listener.
Adrian Hinds // June 25, 2008 at 9:43 AM
Negroman i am with you. I have given up on VOB and David Ellis ill informed posturing.
Degap, if the boys on the block don’t want nuh work then “Project Oasis” is a failure. Tom Adams, for political expediency, libel these young men by calling them “the voluntary idle” and some of us have refuse to move away from this viewpoint.
JC // June 25, 2008 at 9:50 AM
Hear! Hear! Well said Negro man. We are more aware than ever, and are watching our political leaders with ‘hawk’s eye vision.’ We will not be deterred by persons describing us as Xenophobic and blah blah blah, we are concerned citizens who love our nation and realised how severe these problems are to us and our children’s future.
If a man cannot be respected in his country and plays all the godam bills then he is certainly going to get PIST OFF!
Adrian Hinds // June 25, 2008 at 10:02 AM
David you may feel vindicated but i do not. I never wavered in my understanding of the Immigration issue. In fact the many labels we endured in response to our positions bolstered my conviction. I saw such responses as proof that we were correct.
…..no one could dispute the IMF report that Barbadians wages where moderated down by an influx of labour.
…..no one could dispute that if Import monitoring licenses were needed to protect locally produce goods from imports so too does the local labour force needs at least an employment registry as suggested by Sir Roy.
ZANZAH // June 25, 2008 at 11:09 AM
Degap, Thanks for showing this problem in black and white. By the way this year the world book show the population of Barbados as 279,000, but to years ago it was at 300,000. so where that 20,000 go to.
The scout // June 25, 2008 at 11:49 AM
Anonymous
I”m trying to understand what you’re saying and I agree, but if you can find the child to send it to school, are they not living with the illegal parent or someone who knows about where the person/s is/are?
Carson C. Cadogan // June 25, 2008 at 11:55 AM
On the political platform the DLP said that they would fix the immigration problem and I know that they will.
This is a burning issue for most Bajans. It is one of the most important reasons that the BLP is no longer in Govt. As a father of four children I went and canvassed for the DLP in order to get a sensible Govt. in power. The future of my children was threaten by this deluge of foreingners entering my country. I have no problem with others entering my country but the sheer scale of it under the BLP frightened my wife and I.
Cynty // June 25, 2008 at 12:55 PM
While I believe in strict immigraton laws, every child has a right to an education, is it their fault that their parents have bought them here illegally?
Anonymous // June 25, 2008 at 1:29 PM
Carson Cadogan
While you were canvassing for the DLP this year did you find that bajans were very open and angry about the large guyanese and other immigrants presence here in barbados?
Did you sense Carson that the DLP politicians were really THAT concerned or were just saying what they had to?
Listening to chris sinckler and even kellman yesterday in Parliament, I got the distinct impression that they were very much aware that bajans were angry about their remarks at that guyanese association affair last month.
I think chris sinckler has lost a lot of respect by average bajans,and the more I listen to him the more I get the impression that he trying real hard to impress and sound off his knowledge working for a regional organisation.
The DLP politician will be underestimating the situation if they think this is going to blow over after 9 days.
Right now I want them,that is the immigration department and home affairs – to call in the police and get their assistance in rounding up these illegals and deport them – RIGHT AWAY!
Then they have to temporarily halt the giving of permamnent citizenship,permamnent residence to persons who came here and got married,who were living here for a long time and want to get a barbadian passport,to children born here by illegal parent(s) etc.
We will not be settling for less DLP Politicians – so walk good.
degap // June 25, 2008 at 1:31 PM
Ian Walcott,
Although I don’t believe that accounts for the majority, I stand corrected; your point is well taken. As for the children of illegals, if you’re not going to deport the entire family when they are discovered, it is in the best interest of Bim to ensure that all kids are in school. I see no benefit in having a host of illiterate illegal school age kids roaming the streets. When new children show up at a school, it’s up to the principle to refer all suspicious cases to immigration.
Carson C. Cadogan // June 25, 2008 at 1:49 PM
Anonymous
To be quite honest Chris Sinckler’s stand on the Guyanese issue disappoints me no end.
His pernouncements are in keeping with Owen Arthur, Billie Miller, Naorman Faria and the BLP top brass, I think that he is on the wrong side.
I am watching him carefully.
When You Spend // June 25, 2008 at 1:54 PM
Its sensible for Parliament to debate the pressing issue of immigration. Barbadians, apart from the ones who see the majority of us as lazy like Degap and Centipede, are openly concerned about the illegals among us. We however cannot infringe on anyone’s human rights. We are a tourist country and everything we do must have lawful and moral foundation. Illegals should be returned to their homelands but legals must receive same treatment as citizens. After all we approved their status. Witch hunting is out of the question. My only mischeivous peeve is that a country be found to send Norman Faria.That man is a pain in the ass.
Negroman // June 25, 2008 at 2:09 PM
It is unfortunate that the education of innocent children should be jeopardise.,however a strong stand must be taken against this wanton disrespect for our immigration laws.I do not think that excuses should be made for illegals to remain in Barbados because they have children of school age in Barbados. All should be deported.When those children return to the land of their birth the children education will resume.I do not see the long talk on that issue.It is only an excuse for these illegals to remain in Barbados.Get out all children and all.
I agreed with Anonymous wholeheartedly.Stop issuing permanent residences.work permits and everthing.Review all applicants for immmigrant status over the last 10 years.Those that are found to be suspicious deport.I want to see serious action in this regard.The future of my children and grand children is at stake
I WANT ACTION
Finally,I believe the DLP government especially Chris Sinckler & Dennis Kellman really felt the wrath of Barbadians.I believe both wer cuss poisonously by their constituents and therefore must respond in a manner to appease them.I honestly believe that the government underestimate the anger of Barbadians on this matter.
Te ball is in their court.
DELIVER OR ELSE.
Jay // June 25, 2008 at 3:25 PM
Cynty,Current Barbados law actually forbids foreign nationals from going to Barbados schools unless they are Citizens or Permanent residents of Barbados,or at the very least have permission from the Minister of Education if they are neither.
In theory every child SHOULD have a right to an education but Barbados law says differently.However,I believe most illegal immigrants curtail this by going directly to the Headmasters/Headmistresses anyway to see if they can actually enroll their child since almost a third of my Primary school class included foreign nationals.It was always strange when some didn’t show up for vaccinations at school because they had “problems” with getting their “green cards”.
It wasn’t until I got into secondary school that a British & American illegally in the country explained to me what & how everything works in the Barbados illegal immigration underground,so this problem should NOT been seen as only a “guyanese problem” & it has been going on for ages with foreign nationals of all countries.
Anonymous // June 25, 2008 at 3:27 PM
Tell me honestly,
If we could hardly provide school places for our children what the hell we doing playing we too nuff and inviting every caribbean illegal with children to educate their children.
We really understand what kind of financial strains we as a people are facing down the road?
You understand the needs of the bajan people out dey who just because of good ole bajan pride smiling and holding their head high while they smelling hell?
As our Bush Tea would say in his inimitable style :’what educating illegal children what?’
Let’s keep it real people,let’s keep it real.
A big shout out to; JC,Negroman,Scout,Robot,Yardbroom,David and others – we got to keep the fight til we overcome.
Anonymous too proud of you.
propaganda press // June 25, 2008 at 5:04 PM
@when you spend
don’t torture us by sending Faria back to Guyana. please see if you can find another country for him
by the way i heard norm talk and he sound “bajan”
so i did some research & found norm left Guyana over 20 years ago and considers himself “bajan” from all accounts. he just latched on to the perks and benefits of being ambassador leaching off Guyanese tax payers
David // June 25, 2008 at 5:32 PM
We agree that MP Dale Marshall was somewhat incoherent in his contribution to the debate. Although we agree with him that the children of undocumented workers MUST be educated until the status of their stay is unraveled, his other position was strictly for political expedience.
He made a statement that how can we have immigration if it is not managed immigration. It made us wonder how a Cawmere boy could say such a thing. Did Mia contribute to the debate?
J // June 25, 2008 at 5:36 PM
Let’s look at migration from a public health perspective:
We must immunize all children who show up for school or daycare. To have an umimmunized pool of children in school or daycare is a risk for all children there, and can lead to outbreaks of measles and worse in the school and which will spread to the community.
I am old enough to remember neighbours and school mates who became seriously ill with measles, whopping cough and some who died of tetanus and polio. And I am not 60 yet. Most people my age are not fully immunized, and many of us have no natural immunity because we have never had the diseae either. We received emergency polio immunization on an emergency basis during the 1960’s when there was an outbreak of polio. Most of you are likely unaware that most Barbadians over 50 do not have green immunization cards, and many maybe most of us have never been immunized against “childhood” illnesses.
Also ss we know some Barbadian children are not immunized because the parents object on religious grounds. This objection is protected by the Constitution. If we get a large enough pool of religious umimmunized children and “illegal” unimmunized children, and older unimmunized people then as sure as God is in his heaven we wll get outbreaks of the diseases mentioned above;. it will happen among those children, among children whose immunizations did not take, and among children whose immune systems are compromized by cancer treatments, HIV and other serious diseases, and among people my age who did not receive childhood immunizations and who never had the diseases before.
So we have to immunize regardless of status and regardless of cost.
This generation thinks that those diesases are minor or have died out. There are NOT minor and they are NOT dead, just being suppressed by immunizatian.
Actually one of the reasons for keeping all young children regardles of status or income in school is to have the opportunity to compell or persuade their parents to immunize them. People tend to do the right thing when they are compelled.
And if you want to scare the tourists away you just have to shout POLIO, or MEASLES.
Keeping lil’ children healthy and in school is in our own best interest.
Taxpayer // June 25, 2008 at 5:49 PM
David that fool KB Kleen is a Cawmere boy too. Dale Marshall is a pompous jackass. Come to think of it Cawmere has given us more than its fair share of jackasses. We have come to this sorry pass with Marshall as Minister of Immigration. If he and Arthur had regained power only God could help Barbados. Listening to the solid reasoning of Fruendel Stuart makes Marshall’s idiocy more obvious.
ZANZAH // June 25, 2008 at 6:08 PM
Propaganda, Listen he that Norman Faria is not ambassador for Guayna, and he has been in Barbados a long long time, not 20 years, more like 40 years, and I am sure he is a citizen of Barbados, and a sure he voted for BLP Owhen and Mia. He is an honourary ambassador over there, not an a full fledged ambassador like our amabssadors at Paramaribo or Caracas. We don’t have a Embassy in Barbados, he probaably gets a little stipend forhis efforts to help out stranded Guyanese there, BUT and I say BUT he is not a full fledged ambassador, just a honourary person.
Anonymous // June 25, 2008 at 8:21 PM
David
I don’t understand your argument at all.
Are you saying send the undocumented – by that I think you mean – the illegal person children to school until we get their matter unravelled?
Well if you saying that then you using the same nonsensical argument that dale marshall was using in parliament.
We talk glibly about sharing out our social services ie education,health services,dental,etc to these illegal or children of the illegal persons.
Have you asked yourself,or do we know how many illegal persons are in this country.According to conservative estimate 2 years ago it was around 20,000 – 30,000 guyanese alone,not to mention the jamaicans,vincentians,the chineese,lucians,trinidadians etc.
So how many of their children will be eligible for this freeness?
Tell me which sane government that is trying to rid itself of an illegal immigrants problem offers health and educational services to the said immigrants and hope they will leave voluntarily or not return in larger numbers?
Do you know whast financial state this government has found itself in – what with arthur and his cronies tiefin with all dem cost overruns?
A lot us like to talk and act like a rich man on a poor man budget.
No other caribbean country – not oil rich trinidad,not large and in charge Jamaica,not st vincent,st lucia,st kitts,Antigua,Grenada – none – not one of them are doing what some of the commentators on this site are asking,that is provide benefits for the children of those who we know have broken and are continuing to break our laws.
For what reason must we do this – so that people can say what lovely people we bajans are – and how magnaimous?
Wake up and smell the coffee – as the attorney general Freundel stuart said – barbados resources are very finite – we don’t have an unlimited supply to spend on the marrish and the parrish.
Send the DAMN nuisance guyanese and other illegals back to the country like we did with the africans and let start getting our country back in some order.
JC // June 25, 2008 at 8:50 PM
Scout I agree with you 100%. We have to check for our own. When my friends find themselbes on the (so called) wrong side of the law they have to pay the price.
Are persons on this blog insinuating that we should embrace wrong doers. PLEASEEEEEE! give me a break. You have got to be joking.
JC // June 25, 2008 at 8:59 PM
In Bahamas they dont do that; But gullible ass bajans who playin them got the biggest ‘bestest’ heart in the world want to save people who have degraded and raped our laws daily!
You all have go to be joking. Nobody no other place in the world would have felt for none of my children or my friends’ children. Although they would have said cuddear they would have made sure they check fortheir own! they would have claimed that there are too many of ‘my’ kind and we need to stick together.
Well hello we bajans have decided that enuff is enough! We aint backing down for shite!
ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS GO HOME~!
ZANZAH // June 25, 2008 at 9:13 PM
Barbados is much more of a country than the Bahamas will ever be, sorry to say, but true. The fact of the matter is that the illegals are contributing to the ecomony, (for you all can’t tell me that 20,000 Guyanese are just there standing around doing nothing) and as such they should have access to the education and health system of Barbados. I am sure if you were to check the Ministry of Finance they can show that these people do contribute to the economy of the country. Until immigration can sort out who is who, and that could take a while, then the only alternative is to educate and give health care to all persons livng in the country. Just think for a second the child of the illegal Guyanese, upon receiving an education in Barbados could turn out to be the one that finds a cure for cancer, or prolong life to 200 years, we don’t know, but as I said earlier, to not educate them could result in dire consequences for Barbadian society. Another thing to not give the illegal children the required shots, immunisation, (sp) is courting disaster, what if the children that stay home when shots are given got the disease that the shot woudld prevent, the parents are illegal Guyanese, have no money to pay for hospital treatment, then you the taxpayer ends up paying the high price for the treatment of this child, in other words a $10.00 shot is now a $10.000 hosptial treatment.
ZANZAH // June 25, 2008 at 9:19 PM
JC, yes people would feel for your children , children is children, and they have no say in what illegal activities their parents partake in, whether is entering a country illegally or sellling drugs or other illegal activity. Society owes these little ones, and as such government must proivide social services to these children, this is not about your children but the good of the nation and as such the right thing to do is to allow access to education and health care.
gn // June 25, 2008 at 10:24 PM
take a drive to moontown and see who kellman have working for him all guyanese as for norman faria he only look after indo guyanese
Jay // June 25, 2008 at 11:40 PM
Since we are on the topic of Barbadis immigration,I was wondering what everyone’s opinion if Barbados’s current illegal immigrants were actually allowed to stay permanently through some kind of regularization program or amnesty ?
The reason I ask is that I’ve never heard any opinions on this subject particularly.
propaganda press // June 26, 2008 at 12:01 AM
@ zanzah
faria got something good going with the govt of Guyana like rickey singh. you can’t be dog catcher in Guyana without pledging allegiance and there is always money involved along the way somewhere. always.
it took some convincing for us to believe Faria was even from Guyana. he doesn’t even pretend to fake a Guyana accent when around Guyana and we can only think of one time we know he was in Guyana
ZANZAH // June 26, 2008 at 12:25 AM
Hi Propaganda Press, he has been in Barbados since 1963 I believe, but it is quite funny that he is bed with the PPP as I knew people with his last name in the day that disliked the PPP with a passion. They were UF people. Bye He favours the Indians as the wife is a daughter of the PPP
Yes you have to send the children of illegals to school until the matter is resolved. You cannot have children running helter skelter in this day and age, no sir.
mdr // June 26, 2008 at 12:47 AM
I’m glad quite a few of the responses to the article make a sence. Please let the children not become vitims of whatever is going on. Health care, education we owe it to them – they should get it regardless.
Anonymous // June 26, 2008 at 6:26 AM
A lot of guyanese on this site and guyanese sympathisers come on here talking shite about free education for illegals and free health care.
Look move wunnah brassbowl from out here,do.
Instead of talking about encouraging these people by giving benefits we should be talking about strenghtening the immigration enforcement and deportment sections and include the police force and even put the army to work to get these scum out of this country.
Can you imagine that as big and wealthy as america is – that any naturalised citizen who got his green card mind you,and could have been there from year 1 – but as soon as he breaks the law in any semi – serious way – he getting shipped out of the country that he has lived in since he was one year old.
America big as it is means business.
But shitey bajans want to turn us into a welfare state – talking rubbish.
As for amnesty – how many times are we going to keep giving amnesty – we did that already in the 1990’s – when the illegals here were only a 3 or 4 thousand.Now we have over 3o,ooo people and you want to reward them for for breaking the law.
You know what the cost to the country amnesty -and then citizenship and permanent residence means?
You know what change to the ethnic make up of this barbados – when just so – with the stroke of a pen we give all these racists indian guyanese that hiding bout here – the same rights as bajans who parents and grandparents worked hard and built up this country.
You mean being a bajan aint mean nuttin anybody could just come and remain illegal and then we give them benefits and then give them amnesty and a passport.
There are guyanese coming on this site deliberately trying to push a ’sympathise with the guyanese agenda – and all it doing is making me hate the guyanese more.
By the way,Jamaica who has all their citizens hiding out in other people’s countries like caymans,bahams,usa,britain – even they got their countrymen out there who are illegals – they are kicking out the illegal haitians in Jamaica – who if any one should feel sorry it’s for the haitians – yet this new bruce golding govermment sending them back to haiti in the thousands.
Now remember that Jamaica hundreds times bigger than barbados and got more resources ;bauxite,sugar,tourism,manufacturing,agricultural products etc – but they not offering them benefits and they certainly not so crazy to offer them amnesty.
What about when baldwin spencer from antigua shipped home all these illegal guyanese – in the midst of the heated CSME negotiations mind you.
What about dutch st martin and trinidad and st lucia – all these caribbean countries keeping out the guyanese – and NOBODY saying a thing.
Yet we encouraging people to come on this site and push their agenda about benefits to illegals and amnesty.
Kiss wunnah brassbowl.
It only mekkin me hate dem damn guyanese even more.
I suggest scout,negroman jc and others just ignore this sweetness,zanzah, and other names these gyanese come on this site with – maybe they will get the message.
David // June 26, 2008 at 6:33 AM
@anonymous, we don’t think anyone here is saying educate the children of undocumented children wholesale. What we are saying is sometimes it is not always clear cut. What if the authorities have located children with incomplete documentation but it is not clear who are the parents? It is the grey that we have to manage as well anon.
Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 26, 2008 at 7:12 AM
Though the influx of illegal Guyanese in Barbados are major hot topic and concern on the lips and minds of most Barbadians, what we need to be more concern about is why and how our immigration frontlines become so flex for so many Guyanese to thread the illegal line.
If we believe that Barbados’s success and current lavish living is fueled by an economy stabilised by a rich abundant natural resource, (which we all know it is not) we need to think again. Our economy is fragiled and can easily be shattered if tourism here is threatened by the rising scourge of crime, which I a m not saying can be compounded by illegal Guyanese immigrants but it is obvious that the crime situation in Guyana is as a result of Guyanese. How is it that we have allowed Guyanese to come here with out any screening or system of monitoring.
With corruption so rampant in this country, one can not wonder if the illegal Guyanese are not getting access into our country by the help of immigration and political persuasion. We know that the last adminstration was corrupt to the bone and more or less responsible for the invasion of Guyanese now living on our shores. But that said and done, the current administration must not follow the same path but implement policies that will allow highly skill labour from Guyana or any where to enter our shores to further the cause of ‘building.’
Our legislators seem to adopt the last minute fix it mentality after the horse has bolted from the stable and it is impossible to pull him back. The Guyanese are not foolish, especially the women. So the illegals are using ‘ by any means necessary’ to ensure that they illegal status becomes legal. Can you blame time if they are seeking better waters? However they are bringing with them they whole families some of whom contributes to ills and isms that prevail on our tiny rock.
We need it fix or we will suffer for our procrastination of dealing with serious matters.
Anonymous // June 26, 2008 at 8:02 AM
Thank you jukedeycheckshirt!
Thank you for applying some common sense and reality to this discussion.
We here facing a crisis which if the big-ups in the high places and civil servants would speak out they would tell you about the increase in tuberculosis that we seeing since this guyanese invasion and other diseases that bajans don’t normally have a problem with – all coming back,what about the guyanese women who coming here with hiv and aids and boldly talking about how they infecting bajan men and their wives.
You telling me feel sorry for these people?
All like now there should have been massive deportations and raids going on all over barbados.
And bajan men and women should not be encouraging any of them to hide out or marry them for money or even renting them your houses and apartments – it is bajans like these that contributing to this problem – and the immigration should deport some of these bajans who helping the guyanese to commit crime and break the law – back to guyana with the illegal guyanese.
The word is out that barbados and bajans soft – and every body from africa to china – to st vincent to jamaica – and all in between coming down here to hide out in barbados – because they realise – bajan politicians real iggrunt.
For my one part I am going to do all I can to ensure that ALL illegals are sent packing from this country – and barbados does not lose all the gains that we made over the years.
If we were to get the true numbers of all illegals – english,americans,guyanese.vincentians,jamaicans and others who are here it is a wonder that we don’t have a social explosion sooner.
And as for you chris sinckler and others like you who getting up and talking about how bajans are getting too emotional over the subject – let me tell all a wunnah who tink we too emotional – sit back and smile if a decision had to be made that under CSME a guyanese politician could now come and take your bajan politician job and you have to go to guyana – yuh will still be yappin .
You could laugh because you know that will never happen so you feeling safe – talking a pile of jobby – but is the small man and average bajan that feeling de heat.
Not the white businessman,or the immigration offficer or police that getting bribes,or the politicians who getting free sex with these diseased women.
Scumbags.
Sweetness // June 26, 2008 at 10:18 AM
Yardbroom, no one could have said it better you are on point. The only thing is i think there is no reason to be racist we can find more civil ways of dealing with some of the issues.
Sweetness // June 26, 2008 at 10:35 AM
Jukecheckedeyskirt, you have some valid points where people must be screened before coming into the island, I know of guyanese who came to Barbados just looking to make a dolar and better their situation at home and i also know of some who were involved in criminal activities in guyana and are living or should i say hiding out here, this should not be. The system of fingure printing at the airport as you come in is one of the best ways to track lots of illegal persons the immigration should think about implementing this system, no persons being illegal and going to guyana getting a new passport with a different name and coming back into the country this can stop, no persons being here illegal and companies taking their money and allow persons to have kids here on those same permits, many things happen that people are not aware of.
In Antigua the immigration goes on the road and stop transport single out who is not antiguan and you know were you are going if you are caught, first the flood gates needs to be tightened so as to control the influx on non-nationals of a country.
Sweetness // June 26, 2008 at 10:51 AM
To my last comment, if you are not antiguan and do not have a valid work permit home for you and they control the number of persons coming into the country.
Sweetness // June 26, 2008 at 10:53 AM
To my last comment, if you are not antiguan and do not have a valid work permit home for you and they control the number of persons coming into the country.
Schooling for children who are not antiguan is not free you need to sustain your country and making things free and easy for everyone who comes into your country will not do this.
ROBOT // June 26, 2008 at 11:01 AM
barbados belongs to bajans
all others please leave now
recent survey suggest population of barbados
150,000 guyanese
100, 000 bajans
5,000 st lucians, vincentians
25,000—jamaicans, grenadians, australians, chinese , trikydadians, -etc
degap // June 26, 2008 at 11:24 AM
“Reading with understanding”
When you spend,
Although you might find it hard to believe, the “boys on the block” do not makeup the majority of the people in Bim! My people have been doing nothing but hard work for 400 years in Bim and Panama, so how could I insult my ancestors by calling Bajans lazy? You crazy or what?
Negroman // June 26, 2008 at 3:06 PM
Anonymous I am with you 100% .There should be no amnesty for illegal immigrants children and all.These children will grow up with the same value system as their parents I dread the demographic change that will happen in Barbados if we do not control this immigration problem.Children of racist Indo-guyanese will grow up to be as racist as their parents.
Stop making excuses for persons who deliberatedly break our laws.Deport all of them.
I agreed with the point of screening all immigrants for criminal behavior and most importantly disease.We have successfully eliminated many diseases from our landscape.Diseases such as Tuberculosis,Polio and others.There is a high level of Tuberculosis in Guyana and that disease is very contagious.These nasty Indo-guyanese coming into Barbados will bring in that dreadful disease and infect our people including our children.Do we want that for our country?I have no sympathy for criminals or any person breaking our immigration laws.I do not want to hear any excuses.
SEND BACK ALL ILLEGALS
JC // June 26, 2008 at 3:17 PM
Degap negroman scout and crew. We are not givng up on this serinous issue. For too long bajans have stood by and said cud dear this and cud dear that and get the shitey end of the stick.
I will not allow people who do not know about ‘hard work and determination or about being the best that you can be since we dont have alot.’ to come here and manipulate this system. Damn tired!
How dear people claim to understand bajan’s plight? There are many bajan single parents out there who are struggling to make ends meet and are still accomplishing that great feat” why the hell the bajan people aint helping them instead of claiming to help the Guyanese children. What shite wannha telling me!
And another thing there are plenty people on th block who work I know that for a fact! Cause I am one of them who dont disc my own, I know haow they struggle and survive and we make it we contribute to this blasted country and work hard is hell!
We put up with the blasted system and its mediocrity and blah blah blah. People judging you left right and center and to hear that we dont contribute. NEWS FLASH WE BLASTED WELL DO!
We cant run and go no where.
TALKAHOLIC // June 26, 2008 at 3:42 PM
Zanzah u said that Guyanese are making a contribution to our economy….where can I find this info…….the only money these guyanese spend bout hay is in rent, and in the rum shops….especially out by the bus termanal….other than that they take all their money and send it back in Guyana to suport their families…….I read on a well known web site that some “big up” in England told ALLLLLLLLL Caribbean people…..if wunna dont like our immigrnat laws, leave the country………and I feel Government should adopt that same attitude especially if the illegal immigrants are of no help to our econmy.
ROBOT // June 26, 2008 at 3:53 PM
To all Guyanese :
leave barbados now
To all born barbadians
Time fuh action
wunnah talking too much
Jay // June 26, 2008 at 5:55 PM
Anonymous said;
Instead of talking about encouraging these people by giving benefits we should be talking about strenghtening the immigration enforcement and deportment sections and include the police force and even put the army to work to get these scum out of this country.
Can you imagine that as big and wealthy as america is – that any naturalised citizen who got his green card mind you,and could have been there from year 1 – but as soon as he breaks the law in any semi – serious way – he getting shipped out of the country that he has lived in since he was one year old.
America big as it is means business.
But shitey bajans want to turn us into a welfare state – talking rubbish.
As for amnesty – how many times are we going to keep giving amnesty – we did that already in the 1990’s – when the illegals here were only a 3 or 4 thousand.Now we have over 3o,ooo people and you want to reward them for for breaking the law.
——————————————–
I see,I had no idea an amnesty was previously offered in Bim.I was just wondering if all Bajans had lost their resolve to treat this problem.
You are also right about America meaning business,I live in America & friends I know from the islands left & right are being deported for the simplest of reasons,in fact a friend of mine has to go to Federal court for a deportation hearing because he had many unpaid parking tickets even though he is a US green card holder.However,I have recently come across a story in which a family member told me that a guyanese national convicted of rape was able to keep his Bajan citizenship by using insanity as a defense in front of the Immigration commission that was capable of stripping him of it,which was back in 2005. : (
I think that Barbados has more than enough internal security to handle this problem,but a good amount of Bajans & politicians don’t appear to be willing to make it happen,imo.Barbados laws are quite clear in that Permanent residents & Citizens alike SHOULD have all the benefits of the country but it doesn’t appear to be enforced that way.I think that Barbados could start the following in order to get this problem under control.
1./End Birthright Citizenship or switch to a Jus Sanguis in which at least one parent to a newborn is at least a Permanent resident or Citizen before Barbados Citizenship can be conferred on said newborn.
2./Centralize all immigration records by digitalizing them,so any Barbados enforcement agency can have access to them.It would also result in efficiency of deportations.
3./Hire & train Immigration enforcement teams for each Parish until this problem gets under control.
4./Facial & Fingerprint technology on entry & possibly EXIT to ensure that people are actually LEAVING the country & not taking advantage of the system.Automatic deportation orders should be issued to those who do not have a VALID reason for overstaying making which would make them permanently inadmissable from returning to Barbados.
Jay // June 26, 2008 at 6:31 PM
I also think that there should be some concern of conferring Citizenship through Marriage so easily.I think it is reasonable to believe that most Barbados Passport holders hold a relatively good visa-free access to many countries such as Canada or the U.K. .With the U.K now recently cracking down on overstays,they are also re-thinking visa-free access for some countries such as Trinidad if something isn’t done on their part.If any amnesty or regularization program is given who is to say that those that are currently illegal if given Citizenship won’t try to move to one of the larger countries [remember the Ghanaian & Nigerian scam] which could endanger or relatively good visa free access
gn // June 26, 2008 at 9:17 PM
I will like to know how it is that indo guyanese can not live under a black Government in guyana but can come here and live under one here , and they indo Government are locking black young men and boys and runing them out the country becouse they can not get jobs becouse the job are for baboos
JC // June 26, 2008 at 10:35 PM
Politicians we are watching you ‘especially you Mr. Sinckler. You all didnt hear our pleas? We are crying out about this burning issue. Tonight I made sure I went on the block and let them know what was going on the blogs.
They then told me some stories about these Guyanese that would hurt your head. A shameful Lot.
Mr. Sinckler we are watching you! You and Kellman!
GO HOME ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS NOW!
ZANZAH // June 27, 2008 at 12:41 AM
Talkaholic Hi, The Ministry of Finance of Barbados would have that info, or the UWI at Cave Hill, School of Business, plus Barbados Chamber of Commerce, even the political parties keep tabs on such things. What I am saying is that if people work they make a contribution to the broader society.
ZANZAH // June 27, 2008 at 12:45 AM
JC Meh head huthing bad aleady, suh meh nah wan fuh hey wah dem a tell yuh at de lime, Meh nah wan fuh drop down dead wid stroke and preshuh.
degap // June 27, 2008 at 8:10 AM
JC,
Men who have jobs don’t have time to hangout on the block interfering with all the school girls who walk by. The “boys on the block” didn’t take advantage of the educational opportunities afforded them in Bim and they have no one to blame but themselves. Illegals should be deported full stop, but if you’re not going to deport the parents, adding to the number of “boys on the block” by kicking their kids out of school is total idiocy. If Guyanese are taking jobs away from Bajans, why is the unemployment rate the lowest in the region? If the Guyanese are contributing to the crime rate, that is easy enough to establish. How many Guyanese are in jail, and how many have been arrested over the past year? This immigration discussion needs more facts and less idle talk.
Anonymous // June 27, 2008 at 9:11 AM
Yes people,it has started.
Today in the nation newspaper Ricky singh is already there voicing his disapproval of this government proposed new immigration policy that will embrace according to our learned attorney general – freundel stuart – ‘the concerns and anxieties of the barbadian people’.
Now you know ricky singh and norman faria and basdeo jagdeo president of guyana cannot be pleased with that!
They will no doubt be saying:
You mean some bajan politicians will actually be listening to these bajan people concern about the large number of guyanese and other immigrants in barbados?
Wait,we can’t have that – look let’s get mia mottley and owen arthur down here quickly to see how we could stop this new immigration policy.
Perhaps we could suggest that they give all the guyanese amnesty – and then – the indian guyanese could legally send for more indian guyanese to marry those in barbados – because after all with this amnesty they are now bajan citizens.
Oh,and we could go even further and when those first set of indian guyanese married the indian guyanese turned bajan – then they could divorce them and send back for some more indian guyanese to marry a second time – all the while increasing the population of the indian guyanese in Barbados.
Oh yeah,I think Mia and Owen might be able to help me with that.
So listen bajan people the next step in the plan is for guyanese and guyanese sypathisers to start talking about amnesty for everyone – although amnesty was already given under the BLP in their first term in the 1990’s.
It started on the radio already yesterday evening.
So make sure you resist this argument at every turn whether it is on the radio,on the block,in your homes,on the internet blogs,becuse amnesty is not simply making someone a citizen – there are some frightening consequences that will follow.
Some examples:the increase cost of health care provision,the increase cost of education,housing,water supply,garbage disposal,tranportation,land supply,an erosion of our tradition and culture,an erosion of our international reputation overseas as jay in his post pointed out earlier – re the already disgraceful behaviour of guyanese,jamaicans and other caibbean nationals overseas and they being black-listed and visa free benefits from some of these country now being taken away.
Consider also these possibe long term effects:
A gradual take over in the future of key,strategic national and political positions resulting in what we now see with the indian jagdeo PPP/CIVIC and the african based PNC as well as the trinidadian situation with the indian Panday UNC party and the african Manning PNM party.
When those indian partyies are in citizens of african descent suffer,and suffer badly.
The racial conflicts which have continued in these countries should be studied,and here in barbados we have another layer which is the white bajans – which for our 300 years or so we are still struggling to get along,and although there are some slight progress there is stillno real mixing between bajan blacks and whites.
We voted ‘Time For Change’ – Mr Thompson – AND WE EXPECT TO SEE REAL CHANGE IN THIS COUNTRY.
A word to the wise is enough,I hope you DLP politicians are listening.
Mr. Anderson // June 27, 2008 at 9:24 AM
This is what happens when certain people get power.
http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20080627/ap_on_re_us/forced_labor;_ylt=AvJxunYEWBEkHDmZFo6rQMRH2ocA
When was the last time you read about a “Wealthy African American Couple” in the US holding housekeepers in slavery?
Mr. Anderson // June 27, 2008 at 9:26 AM
While I wait for the other post to come up . .
Search Yahoo news for Varsha Sabhnani.
You think it can’t happen here?
JC // June 27, 2008 at 9:30 AM
You think that only men who have jobs is lime? Get real i am a woman and I lime. I am not saying that there are people on my block who dont work. But I am telling you that at least 70% of the men on my block WORK! And that is a fact! I amnot asking you dg I am telling you that!
We have good discussions it is not all about herb and blah blah!
We talk about this illegal issue daily and it would surprise you and other bloggers to know. That these men are DEEP. In their philosophies, values and principles. In all blocks we have our want to be gangsters. But Degap we have some conscious youths out there who just want direction and guidance. AND THAT IS A FACT!
TALKAHOLIC // June 27, 2008 at 9:55 AM
@degap are u saying that men only lime on the block when they are unemployed…..where did you get such an idea from……the majority of the men on most of these blocks are employed so dont get your facts twisted….as a part of my school project a group of us went around on different blocks conducting surveys and you would be surprised…not only are they employed but you would see how educated some of these “block boys” can be……because a person doesnt have 10 CXC’s mean they dont know nothing or what is going on around little Barbados…..so study your head good and wheel and come again……
Anonymous // June 27, 2008 at 10:39 AM
Mr Anderson
Doesn’t that varsha sabhanani woman remind you of someone – the female owner of the royal shop and Mrs Ram from furniture Ltd.
For years now they have been treating their black bajan workers with scorn,but they were scared to go too far overboard because they were small in numbers,but now the indian guyanese are coming and staying here in large numbers – watch and see you will see these indian business people getting bolder and bolder and hiring more indians in their top positions and dissing black bajans.
Bajans need to boycott these indian businesses – find out who own them as well as the mini buses,and these run down houses that they rent out room by room and spend your money elsewhere.
They have made no noticeable positive contribution to this country – their only interest is making as much money as possible.
I don’t think bajans are really thinking about the shit that is about to hit the fan.They still thinking about jazz on the hill,and fore day morning jam, getting a costume to jump up in baje or gwenneth squires band or buying a new reconditioned car and taking a trip overseas to shop.
The people that need to take up this fight are the middle class,and the professionals and the academics up at cave hill,but don’t expect too much from these people because their lifestyle have not been threatened as yet – so like peter wickham,don marshall,david ellis and others they could afford to spout nonsense.
One day coming soon though.
You ever wonder why politicians from both side all leave Mrs Ram alone.
People we got to fight our own battles and insist that the politicians join us.
Put on your battle gear and be prepared for a long battle ahead because the politicians might do token stuff to appease us but we want far reaching change to our immigration laws – and the ease with which people can come in barbados and get citizenship through bogus marriages,or over staying in the country over a number of years.
Negroman // June 27, 2008 at 11:28 AM
Anonymous I support your views again.Ricky Singh,Norma Faria and all the Indo-Guyanese sympathisers are going to cloud this issue and introduce this amnesty nonsense.We must be on our guard.
Your points are well made and those points are what I am alluding to in my arguments.The demographic shift in the racial makeup of Barbados will spell doom for us African Barbadians.We have the case studies of Trinidad & Guyana to observe.
I always make the point if Indo-Guyanese do not like black guyanese,will they like black Barbadians I will answer NO. Black Barbadians please do not be gullible.we are setting up ourself for destruction at the hand of this distasteful lot.These racist,disease ridden,uneducated,nasty Indo-Guyanese.
NO AMNESTTY GET ALL INDO-GUYANESE OUT.
Anonymous // June 27, 2008 at 11:49 AM
Negroman
I don’t only want indian illegal guyanese out but I want all illegals in barbados out – whether they are chineese,vincentians,black guyanese,italians,british etc.
We need to get this country back on track – we cannot afford to have so much illegal persons in this country and I believe Maxine Mcclean is the best person to deal with this because she is a no nonsense person.
Negroman // June 27, 2008 at 12:22 PM
Anonymous I slightly disagree with you.I concur with you that all illegalsshould be out of these country.However,as a black man I am going to bias and state this is black man’s country and consideration must be given to blacks illegals so as to build up the black population in Barbados to offset the increase in the other ethnic groups.I agrred get rid of the Indians,chinese,British,Italians and the rest.
Leave the blacks alone.
Technician // June 27, 2008 at 2:00 PM
JC…….people like De Gap never even go near a block because they think it is all about weed, drugs,guns etc.
I hang out on the block after work and some of the discussions there would rival others in bars or more upscale places.
Talkaholic put it right …..so study your head good and wheel and come again……
People like De Gap would go to Weisers or Carib Beach Bar or Bubbas for an afterwork lime…..take some time to really chill on a block…you will see the difference.
Perception is a funny thing….
Sweetness // June 27, 2008 at 5:33 PM
Cool negroman i am now with you 100% now i will let you know about me I am a black and proud barbadian female i am not to happy about the indo-guyanese either but i know one or two who are nice but when you go to guyana and see the treatment they give black guyanese and i am sure this is seen by anyone travelling to guyana no wonder you feel the way you do about them.
Yes you have to wonder when lots of indo-guyanese get here what then will be the behaviour towards black this time it will also be involving bajans.
I had one run in with an indo-guyanes at their airport which was not nice so he found out what i thought of them. I am very close to guyanese blacks actually everyday i am around them and it is a great experience for me i do learn alot from them and them me i can not speak for the indians.
Sweetness // June 27, 2008 at 5:37 PM
One thing i must say the immigration needs to really do something about the number of indians coming in the country people in that area need to be educated about the differences with indians and their behaviour towards black they should really visit guyana and i am sure they would work differently.
One thing i must say the immigration needs to really do something about the number of indians coming in the country people in that area need to be educated about the differences with indians and their behaviour towards black they should really visit guyana and i am sure they work differently.
Sweetness // June 27, 2008 at 5:38 PM
One thing i must say the immigration needs to really do something about the number of indians coming in the country people in that area need to be educated about the differences with indians and their behaviour towards black they should really visit guyana and i am sure they would work differently. They do not like black people they treat you with no respect they are very nasty and relationship wise they love to practice homosexuality this is a custom with them if you really want to talk about diseases start there.
Technician // June 27, 2008 at 5:49 PM
Sweetness………….girl you swinging like a pendulum on this blog.
FairPlay // June 27, 2008 at 6:09 PM
It is great to see Bajans finally waking up and recognising what is going on with immigration in this country. I agree with those who want an immigration policy that will benefit Barbadians now and in the future. I for one will not support an AMNESTY or I will not support free education for children of illegal immigrants. I have started educating all around me about the immigration situation and everyone I speak too agrees with me…..Illegal Immigrants need to go home. I think as Barbadians we need to find out more about our Caribbean neighbours especially Guyana. Do BArbadian men really understand that INdo- Guyanese hate and treat black Guyanese with scorn. I agree with Negro man if u hate blacks in your country u cant love them in Bim.They are taking advantage of us and it needs to stop more Bajans need to wake up and look after the good of our society. Whilst we seek to improve our immigration laws lets also teach our children about the sacrifices our ancestors made for Barbados. Let them underatand that we need to cooperate and work together so politicians cant use the excuse that we are lazy to bring in more non-natls. What about the Trinis and Jamaicans etc that getting the jobs in corporate B’dos at the expense of our own. I am not saying they should not work here but only if there are no Bajans that can fill the jobs. I intend to spread the word (Barbados for Bajans first) and I hope everyone does the same.
JC // June 27, 2008 at 11:52 PM
Technician I glad you realise that ms. sweetness is playing Devil’s advocte. however, If fairplay and others who read the blogs but dont comment, yet spread the word as we are doing one would see more pressure added to this burning issue among us bajans!
My Bajan View // June 28, 2008 at 9:25 AM
Hello to everyone, I agree that illegal immigrants must be deported and a lot of focus has been placed on the Guyanese but there are a couple of issues that are not being addressed. Many of these children being spoken about are actually BORN here in Barbados. Their mothers come here illegally, find a ‘willing’ Bajan man, get pregnant, fill up the waiting rooms in the polyclinics for prenatal care, have their babies in the QEH and get the same medical care ‘we’ get and all the while pay NO TAXES. But, at the end of the day the children are born here. So, what do we do? Send back the parents and keep the children?
Another issue that is not highlighted is the fact that although many illegal immigrants are lower income earners, there are quite a few that come here and take prime jobs from very educated, very capable Bajans who are forced to take what they get in the job market and more often than not never fully utilize their skills. What is worse these people are encouraged to flout the law and work in this island in full time positions and travel back and forth every couple of weeks so as not to overstay their visitor’s visa. And the people who are advising them are supposed to be upholding the law yet they allow them to use their ‘illegal’ positions of authority in the workplace to abuse locals, force them out of their jobs or threaten to fire them day in and day out. It is not right.
That is …
My Bajan View
My Bajan View // June 28, 2008 at 9:34 AM
For those people who think that we should allow people to come into the island without restriction they need to wake up. When Bajans were travelling to other countries to seek a living more often than not those countries were much larger and they actually encouraged people to come and work. Now, those same countries have put strict limits on who can come and live. Canada for instance has many areas that they would like persons to come and inhabit, to work and contribute to their economy BUT they only want persons with specific skills, higher levels of education, etc. and the ability to speak French is also a bonus.
We need to learn and adopt some of the better things from these larger countries if we are to protect what we hold dear – our little ‘rock’ or dare I say what is left of it since de las’ administration done sell it out.
David // June 28, 2008 at 9:40 AM
@My Bajan View
You have made a good point which is the Grey area we have highlighted earlier. We can only hope that the the proposed amendment to the immigration act will address this obvious hole which is being exploited. We all know this to be the case. In the USA and other developed countries they have slam this door shut a long time ago.
Sweetness // June 28, 2008 at 10:58 AM
Some one had to play it seeing what people are really about helps you to understand them and then you are able to help in some way no matter what goes on here we seem to be on the same page right now illegal immigrants is our problem and also the illegal actions taken by some of our citizens which has to stop you will not get all but the majority can be dealt with but we have to start at the top to rid the country of all the trials we have to deal with. Government and their deparments who deals with statuses of any kind know the system and how to manipulate it in the end what ever you do will haunt you later if not you your kids remember this is the place we are building to leave for the youth do we really want to leave all this kios for them to deal with.
JC // June 28, 2008 at 7:11 PM
At 7;10p.m. I am listening to Chris Sinclair on TV talking about the schools bursting at the seams. and pledging to build more schools.
It seems as if he is pledging to keep the Guyanese children bout here! I hope I not reading too much into this latest comment! hmmmmm. I could tell I gon have to get on REAL F—— BAD.
Encourage them people to stand bout here and wanna DLP people gonna see.
David // June 28, 2008 at 7:21 PM
The BU household listened with rapt attention to Minister Sinkler and the admission that the school system is struggling with the problem of overcrowding caused by having to admit the children of illegals.
Never in our history have we ever confronted this problem. We warned Clyde Mascoll when he slighted the concerns of Barbadians to the growing problem caused by migration. Even his former lecturer Dr. Michael Coward warned him of the disastrous outcome for Barbados.
Lastly we direct our wrath at VOB management who has bottled and controlled discussion on the airwaves about the immigrant problem as it concerns Barbadians.
Negroman // June 29, 2008 at 2:34 AM
This man Chris Sinckler talks with two tongues.JC I had the same feelings you have when I listened to Chris Sinckler.He is a character.
Iam watching him and Esther Byer-Suckoo and this DLP government on this immigration issue.I will judge this government by the way the government handles this issue.
DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY -A WORD TO THE WISE IS ENOUGH.
I am interested in the family policy of Esther Byer-Suckoo in her Ministry of Family Affairs.Rememeber she is of African & Indian extraction.
Take note I am not sure if she made a presentation on the immigration issue debated in House of assembly on Tuesday.It is also interested that Dr David Estwick who has a Indian wife from Guyana did not make a presentation.
I AM WONDERING
Anonymous // June 29, 2008 at 4:59 AM
Now that you mention it negroman I didnot hear david estwick or suckoo speak on the issue although let’s face it every one can’t speak on the bill.
That chris sinckler reminds me of cotton candy – pretty on the outside but no substance when you take a bite.
He full of pretty talk but if he doeasn’t realise it he is talking himself right out of a parliamentary seat.
I think david thompson needs to ask chris sinckler to shut his ****#@** mouth.
This david thompson DLP administration is acknowledging there are hard times ahead,they are acknowledging that bajan children are being affected by overcrowing in school,they are acknowledging that illegal immigrant children – or in other words the guyanese illegals mainly – are the ones putting the stress on the system at the primary school level – and that the gov’t has to look for money to build new schhols,fund new teachers,get new desks,and other school supplies – all because of the illegal immigrants sending their children to our schools.
What the ra***hole is the problem?
CHILDREN WHO ARE HERE ILLEGALLY SHOULD BE SENT BACK TO THEIR COUNTRY OF ORIGIN AND BE A BURDEN ON THEIR SOCIAL SERVICES.
People like chris sinckler and others like him – just shows how a little power can go to their head.Following a path that is against the wishes of the barbadian people.
We are not france or germany or england – we are little ,barely got anything barbados – and we should not be upholding wrong doing.
Every other country once illegals are found whoever they may be – they are deported -america did it just last year with a 4 year old mexican boy,born to an illegal mexican mother who a catholic church in california was giving sanctuary to.
That is big rich America people.
David thompson I want the laws of the land to be observed.
Children of illegal persons must not enjoy the benefits of hard working bajans.
I HOPE YOU GOT THAT.
JC // June 29, 2008 at 10:10 AM
If they think that this issue can be easily resolved as in thinking that this talk “gon only last for 9 days” they have another thing coming. THE DLP GETTING ME VEX IS R*****LE!
dont tell me to behave myself, I want all readers to understand this is a serious issue! this is a ticking time bomb and before there is an explosion THE GOVERNMENT better do something about it
There is no way on God’s green earth that my f…..ing taxes should have to pay for f…..ing wrong doers!
What the ass you telling me.
I watching ya no I watchin!
All Bajans who realise what is going on, need to open their voice be HEARD!
THIS IS TOTAL SHITE!
dotn tell me no shite you mean I put wanna there cause I was getting scared cause I realised that we were going to be victimised and my leaders didnt give a shite bout me and I trust my X to the Ds and there is still no hope!
I hope that Suckoo and them listening and reading THIS WILL NOT DIE FOR SHITE!
DAVID THOMPSON TELL SINCKLER TO SHUT TO R###@888 UP!
John // June 29, 2008 at 11:06 AM
… I had to wonder if my ears were deceiving me when I heard Chris Sinkler.
Maybe I missed something.
Anonymous // June 29, 2008 at 12:42 PM
“BARBADOS AND THE CARIBBEAN must commit to the single market economy as soon as possible. ” – the Sunday Sun (29 th June) reporting on a speech by PM Thompson at a ceremony at the BWU Cooperative Credit Union.
Have Negroman, JC and the others lost the battle? Can anyone tell me what is the difference between the BLP and the DLP with regards to the CSME? Let’s not forget Sinckler’s comments.
Negroman // June 29, 2008 at 12:43 PM
I believe that David Estwick and Esther Byer Suckoo absent themselves eliberately.I do not believe it was a coincidence.These two are very silence on this immigration issue.I listen to comments of all parlaimentarians very closely.I cannot recalled these to making comments on this issue.
This immigration issue is going to be the death of this DLP administration.The Party is pampering to the wishes of the business class just as the last administration did and ignoring the concerns of the masses.
I believe this government has only talk and little action.We must stop talking and take some action.Iam thinking about a protest march.It should get the support of many Barbadians because many Barbadians feel the same way that we bloggers feel.I believe we are the mouth piece of thousands of Barbadians who do not have access to a computer or who are not courageous enough to stand up and voice their opinions.
ENOUGH TALK TIME TO TAKE ACTION.
Negroman // June 29, 2008 at 12:57 PM
Anonymous,This government is inept and very confuse.It is saying one thing at one time and then it turning around and saying the complete opposite on the other occassion.I think it is just bungling through it work and nothing has any serious thought to it.This government is operating in an adhoc manner.
Little hope for us.
We need decisive leadership now or demonstrate and ask for a recall of all parlaimentarians.We do not have to wait for five years.We put them there to act in our interest .
This immigartion issue is of fundamental interest to many Barbadians and this party is playing the backside with this issue.
I AM DEAD SERIOUS I WANT ACTION NOW.
Anonymous // June 29, 2008 at 1:21 PM
Negroman
I believe that you are right to be concerned but I don’t think the Gov’t is acting in an ad hoc manner. That would suggest that they don’t really have a position. IMHO, the Gov’t is NOT on your side in this issue, it knows what it wants (and that is more Guyanese, Vincentians, Lucians etc) but it thinks that it can fool the people.
For a party(the DLP) that was offering itself as leaders of Government for nearly 15 years, to be now behaving as though it now has to figure out what to do, makes me wonder if they gave any thought to the issues all that time!
Sweetness // June 29, 2008 at 2:18 PM
The Bible must be fullfilled the only things is lots of people will suffer because of the lack of commitment to the country and its people we are so small that the slightes change be it negative or positive will be drastic on us all so coming together as one and voicing our problems and opinions so one will listen just hoping that some one has the power to make a change.
Our systems are set mainly to provide for the Barbadians change will come but with change we still need to control how we do things, we musty take care of our own first then any additions to our country and systems should be of a certain standard and by the book, this system right now is destroying us all.
JC // June 29, 2008 at 3:52 PM
Negroman when you ready let me know! Imagine we as bajans having to put up with this shite. David Thompson if you do not listen to the masses you will suffer the same annihilation that the BLP suffered.”
Ask them oops I forgot you were there! since we chose you!!!!!!!!
JC // June 29, 2008 at 3:57 PM
Have Negroman, JC and the others lost the battle? Can anyone tell me what is the difference between the BLP and the DLP with regards to the CSME? Let’s not forget Sinckler’s comments.
—————————————————-
Jc and crew have not lost the battle dear!
I think that is the problem we are not looking at this situation wholistically it is not just JC’s and negroman’s problem this is
ALL HARDWORKING BAJANS’ PROBLEM!
If I suffer everybody else suffers!
karina avilla // June 29, 2008 at 11:20 PM
as a Guyanese it is interesting reading the comments here
we’re under siege in Guyana by certain racist elements of East Indians in Guyana. please challenge norm faria, rickey singh and all apologists of Guyana when they show up in barbados
confront them about the murder, torture and exclusions of Africans in Guyana when they show up in Barbados with a wink and a smile
JC // June 30, 2008 at 7:21 AM
Karina avilla, I sympathise with your plight, Norman Faria and crew think bajnas are asses. But we are not. We hear and know about the inhumane treatment that is given to the negro population in guyana!
I hope that the politicians are reading and listening to the henious and murderous acts that have been happening in Guyana to black people! If they happen there they will happen here sooner rather than later.
Ms. Karina avilla stay strong!
JC // June 30, 2008 at 7:25 AM
Have you all realised that all the persons who are insulting bajans are INDIA. it has started!!
The People's Democratic Congress // June 30, 2008 at 7:32 AM
The Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade in the Government of Barbados, Mr. Chris Sinckler, in an address to a gathering of principally Guyanese nationals at a fun day organized in celebration of the 42nd anniversary of Guyanese independence at the Bay Street Esplanade on May 25, 2008, apparently had to remark – in too an illogically broad manner – that Guyanese in Barbados were entitled to certain basic rights, like the protection of the law and access to health care and education, and that we in Barbados have a right and duty to treat them equally as good or even better (whatever the incomplete nature of this sentence) because they are our brothers and sisters (Nation Newspaper 26 May 2008).
Then, in his contribution to the debate in the House of Assembly on an amedment to the Immigration Act on Tuesday, June 24, 2008, Mr. Sinckler was reported as stating, but this time in a very absurd and contradictory way, that ANY influx of immigrants into Barbados has NOTHING to do with Barbados’ commitments under the revised Treaty of Chaguaramus but has been the result of so-called economic migration in the region.
Yet, while we have clearly thought that Mr. Sinckler did rightly point out that immigration has been a key component in every successful economy in history, we have also shuddered to think , and quite ashamedly too, that such a learned fellow could have actualy gone on to be reported as saying the following: “that we (the present DLP Government) will meet our obligations (same as commitments) and will ensure that once persons come here legally that they are treated with decency and respect as human beings first, and as Caribbean nationls or even extra-regional persons (Nation Newspaper, June 25, 2008)
Now, we in the PDC also have a very serious and fundamental problem with this Owen Arthur type utterance of the Minister concerning the use of this broad term Guyanese to NOT ONLY mean Afro-Guyanese, Chinese-Guyanese, Amerindian-Guyanese etc. BUT ALSO to mean even the destabilizing Indo-Guyanese. So, just like some of the commentators on this blog have suggested, we in PDC have sufficient solid evidence that many, many of these Indo-Guyanese in Guyana are very racist towards our black brothers and sisters in Guyana. Hence, to think, and even to accept, that this Minister is saying that we blacks in this predominantly black country must treat them equally as good or better .. because they are, for him, our BROTHERS AND SISTERS, and which would be, yes, good if he was talking primarily about our Black brothers and sisters from Guyana, but which would be, NO, and therefore totally outrageous and insulting, if he really meant those racist Indo-Guyanese, many of whom are among us in Barbados, must – at the same time as he was making the relevant utterances – have signified that the Minister was sending some very dangerous and potentially combustible signals to those many thousands of countrymen and women and children who do NOT wish to see a growing Indian presence in this country. Surely, a word from the wise is good enough warning!!
While we in PDC certainly do not hate NON-RACIST Indo-Guyanese, we are still as strong as ever in our very categoric position that if we were at the helm of the government of the country today since January 15, ALL of these Indo-Guyanese and Indians of other national origins who would have come to our shores within the last 10 years would by now have been ASKED TO LEAVE this country or be FORCIBLY REPATRIATED out of this country to Guyana or to wheresoever else they would have come from, whether or NOT within this time they would have been married to Barbadians, would have got children here from Barbadians or Non-Barbadians, or would have had property here, whatever.
Such actions would have, of course, been consistent with such a government putting in place a national immigration and strategic development policy regime that would have been ideally suited to the peaceful and harmonious growth and development of our country, and that would have been crafted in recognition of the very crucial need to protect the national strategic interests of this country. Where black Guyanese and other black nationals are concerned, if we were at the helm of government today, such a policy regime would have been also crafted to get more and more productive and well behaved Blacks into this country from overseas, primarily as a means of making sure that they contribute properly to Barbados becoming a well balanced, world class society achieving average real annual material production and distribution growth rates of 8 – 10 %.
Finally, we also have a massive and fundamental problem with the fact that this DLP government is so strongly committed to this foolishness called the CSME. For, it is this CSME nonsense that has indeed facilitated this great influx of Indo-Guyanese, on the basis of some nuisance concept called free movement of capital, goods, labour, etc.. But who would believe that when this wretched DLP was in opposition in parliament that it used to be very critical of many aspects of the functioning of the CSME, and esp. those aspects that very adversely affect skilled artisans and small businesspeople in Barbados, until it achieved government in this country. The truth is this if we were at the helm of Government today since January 15 2008 we would have long started the process of withdrawing Barbados from the CSME – thus leaving it to lumber along the way without Barbados’ participation. And, finally, finally, we would like to continue telling Barbadians on the whole that it is time enough to STOP ELECTING DLP and BLP Governments in this country and to begin thinking about coalitional government for this country, if we wish to see our country’s affairs grow and develop soundly and systematically.
PDC
Negroman // June 30, 2008 at 9:40 AM
Karina Avilla I share the pain of my fellow black guyanese brothers & sisters.The points you highlighted are the points I am constantly making on this blog regarding the influx of indo-guyanese.They are wicked .I cannot understand how those indo-guyanese could unfair,destroy & wreck the lifes of many black guyanese and those bastards could come into a predominantly black country and live comfortably.It shows what sort of people we are.We are to passive and simple minded.
Daily many black lifes are lost in Guyana and it seems that the authorities do not care.
Something is wrong in a society when young people as youg as thirteen or fourteen are are so disillusioned that these young people will prefer to resort to violence and be prepare to die.That is what the present administration in Guyana has done to the black guyanese.Police harassment in black communities of Agricola,Buxton & Friendship has driven the young men in those communities to respond in the manner they are responding.This present administration produced the “Fineman” Rawlins & the gangs in Guyana today.
I envisage this is the future of our blacks sons,& grand sons in Barbados in the not to distance future maybe another ten or twenty years.Blacks are going to suffer at the hands of these wicked ,stinking,nasty,disease ridden indo-guyanese if we do not control the influx of these scum bags. The future of black Barbados is at stake.
Karina Avilla thanks for your contribution.
just wondering // June 30, 2008 at 11:06 AM
This morning I was on my way to work and a friend of mine informed me that the shop operated on BAy Street is run by the Guyanese and that not only do they sell drinks but prostitutes as well!
I would like to know what the immigration officials are doing about this matter!
Chris sinkya you need to remember that the persons in Black Rock are mostly blacks and we voted for you!
NOT THE GUYANESE!
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 12:37 PM
Just wondering
That is only the tip of the iceberg!
Today when I read again those remarks by chris sinckler that because non nationals sending their children here to school illegally we must build more schools to accomodate this increase in school children he got me vex all over again.
Man he so full a shite that it coming out he ears,nose and mouth.
POPPETT.
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 12:38 PM
Maxine Mcclean is in charge of immigration and she needs to tell us what they are doing about this problem.
JC // June 30, 2008 at 2:10 PM
This story has made me and negro man and others at times very ‘riled up’
However, let us look at this discussion seriously. I blame my parents and foreparents for this mess. One might ask why? I say this because for years black people have been led to think that every one else is more beautiful than them.
I as a parent have started to let my children know that Black is beautiful. I think that we need to stop talking and prove to the world that we love our own! That is your black women, and men.
Bajan men have me so sad, I am not saying that you cannot marry or fall in love for that matter with an indian or white person. I am saying that we as black people always get the shittier end of the stick. We black mothers need to be more conscious in how we raise our sons.
When our sons look at us they should be a feirce pride; hence you will find our sons marrying proud black women. We need to say to our children there is nothing wrong with being proud and black; instead, you find persons who have the audacity to look at me when they see my daughter and say things such as “Wait you had a Guayanese or a white man. As if black people cannot produce some sweet adorable children. I want persons to comprehend that a black person can create any color child. We are the parent race.
When persons read this the first thing they will say is that Jc is racist and blah blah; Not this time! This is far from the truth (at least in this comment). I am just speaking from the heart to see that persons not just guyanese but illegal immigrants can come and manipulate the system as they see fit and no one says nothing what so ever!
Sometimes emotions plays a big part in what a person says and the emotion of hurt is what I feel at this time. ltherefore, I will say that it hurts me to realise that our own black politicians are making us snort!
Jay // June 30, 2008 at 2:34 PM
Lol,so I guess Barbados will not be implementing a tighter policy according to the topic header ?
It looks like the island can expect a LOT more illegal immigrants & stresses on social services if this is the case.Here in the U.S. a typical stay at a Hospital for ~3 days can get you a bill of ~80,000 US if you don’t have health insurance.
On the whole issue of race,I think it is IRRELEVANT.What happens in Guyana should stay in Guyana,if they are illegally in the country deport them,PROBLEM SOLVED.Remember BAJANS FIRST,not just ‘black’ bajans.
JC // June 30, 2008 at 2:59 PM
I was not speaking about blacks and indians or whites I was just saying that most of the times blacks have themselves to blame for the situations we find ourselves in!
And I am one who want Barbados for Bajans first. But you must remember Jay!
I AM BLACK! therefore I was just giving my humble ‘black’ opinion!
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 4:22 PM
JC Girl
We in bare trouble hear.
Read today’s advocate newspaper and an article by katrina best about the sindi indians.
Read how richard sealy and esther suckoo talk in glowing terms about them saying how they have positive values which bajans should emulate.
Esther suckoo told them hold fast to their traditions and their values.
Now if my observation is right,these indians which include Mrs ram and others are very,very,very clannish.
They do not believe in their childrem marrying black children.
They do not treat their black employees well and mainly engage in business that take away rather than add value to the country – hardly ever in in manufacturing – mostly in retail trade of cheap products.
They bring their traits of offering bribes and other corrupt practices to politicians and influential civil servants to get their way in business.
They bring their worship of multiple gods and entrenched acceptance of the caste system – and their dislike and scorn of dark skinned persons.
Now tell me what about those practices did esther suckoo and richard sealy see as so laudable that they are promoting these values to bajans?
JC – that is that woman – esther suckoo that unfortunately you said you voted for – too bad we now seeing what she is about.
Don’t get me wrong I believe that if persons come here and make worthy contributions to the society – well – yes we should point that out.
But these group of indian persons who came here from India – with very little and are now through the help of both BLP and DLP governments and the bajan people – very rich – have made no meaningful contribution to this country – all they have done is made money for themselves.
I am telling you JC,Negroman,talkaholic,scout,jay and others – I believe only some real,real serios action will get these DLP politicians to sit up and take us the voters seriously.
First we had 2 ministers in chris sinckler and dennis kellman running behind Faria boxy at bay street,and now we have 2 other senior ministers running up to a group of people who number 500 hundred persons on the island – yet they could get 2 senior ministers to go and eat roti and listen to indian music and dance.
JC you think you could get a minister or your M.P. to come to a meeting by some group from the village or the boys from the block?
My heart is really really heavy.
I keep telling everybody don’t only talk on these blogs – cuss your M.Ps or any DLP politician until they realise you are serious – talk ,talk,talk until people start to sit up and listen.
J // June 30, 2008 at 4:29 PM
Anonymous have you considered that Ministers Sealy and Byer-Suckoo were just being polite.
When one is invited to a party or wedding or funeral is is customary to make polite noises to the host.
JC // June 30, 2008 at 4:30 PM
I am not giving up on this issue. How dare esther suckoo talk about values and principles that Indians have.
What about us black people’s values AND principles to trust her enough to put her there!
They went up to Ms. Ram’s prison and talk a bunch of nonsense! They realise that they are causing a nation to be split down the middle!
I can see it unfolding before our very eyes.
Funny enough someone asked how comes scout has become very silent on this issue. Hi scout how are you? I miss your thoughts and opinions very much!
J // June 30, 2008 at 4:33 PM
JC: This is one black person who has always felt beautiful and whose children know that they too are beautiful. My father, born in 1911 and unschooled always said of us “All my children are beautiful” I am sorry for all those who were told that they were not beautiful and who in turn told their children the same LIES. So you see not all the elders were foolish or felt in any way inferior.
Kay // June 30, 2008 at 4:52 PM
JC
You are correct when you try to teach your son to respect females of his own race, but you are fighting a doomed battle if the black men that he emulates do not respect their own women.
I am not talking of your family but in general.
If we bajans respect our women so much how can songs that are derogatory be so popular.
Do we say to the young people that the sentiment is wrong and turn off the radio? Or just go along with it because it has a good beat and is popular and we don’t want our children thinking we are old fogies?
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 5:02 PM
J
What I am saying is that there is a very disturbing pattern developing where our very senior ministers are pandering to a minority population and are sending the wrong signals to the black poulation they depended on to vote them in.
Then too,why are they – the ministers of government- going in the two’s to the event – are they considered to be so important – like the guyanese association party big-ing up these guyanese people who quite a few are known to be engaging in destructive behaviour and breaking the law by staying here illegally – yet sinckler goes up there and tell bajans -treat the guyanese right – and that illegal children must get free education – I don’t know if he was talking for himself or for david thompson – but then david didnot correct him.
Then at this sindi indian dinner – why these 2 particular ministers had to go there? – were they the ones these indians specially invited? – if so what is the ulterior motive behind that?
Why haven’t these ministers spoken about andrew bynoe,elcock eletrical,eddies trading etc and the great example they are setting?
What about these black businesses – didn’t they demonstrate the right values as well – esther suckoo and richard sealy?
What de ra****hole going on in this country people?
What is going on with this DLP party?
Negroman // June 30, 2008 at 5:04 PM
I told you all about my feelings about Esther Byer-Sukoo.It is coming to pass.She will align herself mostly with her indian ancestry than her black one.
Richard Sealy I am not surprise.He comes from a privelege background .I was told he has little regard for black people.
I agree we are in trouble. Like JC I am not giving up.we must continue to pluck away.
I want to comment on Just Wondering comment about the guyanese shop in Bay Street.Just Wondering it is not only that shop but the other one in Bay Street too.Prostitution is happening at that other shop.
I see this government appears to be trying to get the moral standard of Barbados at the level it was at in the sixties,seventies & eighties before that that degeneric and worst leader we had in post independence Barbados the scum bag Owen Arthur took over with the introduction of a dress code for our sshool children.I applaud the government for that.
However,the last administration practically legalised prostitution in Barbados with the introduction of the indian guyanese prostitutes.
Beside those two shops many guyanese prostitutes could be seen around the Garrison and on our streets at night strutting their stuff.In some instances the police are in the Garrison area patrolling and protecting these prostitutes.
How could the moral fibre of this country rise again if we do not get this prostitition business under control.I want to see morality return to this island.
PROSTITION MUST STOP DEPORT THE ILLEGAL DISEASE INDO-GUYANESE FROM BARBADOS AND HELP SAVE OUR CHILDREN & COUNTRY.
Negroman // June 30, 2008 at 5:15 PM
Anonymous.Itold you all the Democratic Labour Party is the only political party in history of Barbados that ran two indians.Abdul Pandor in the city in 1999 & Taan Abeds in 2008.I also highlighted that Abdul Pandor is the chairman of the national Housing Corporation,Chatrani is on another board,A Mr Singh is on the Film Censorship Board,another indian is on the QEH Board and that wicked,SOB PeterHharris is the chairman of Combermere School.Think about that.
This government is pandering to the big financiers of the party and will neglect us the masses.
We are in hopeless state because we cannot go back to the BLP.People’s Democrat Congress made the point we might need a coalition governement.I think that is food for thought.
Both the DLP & BLP have outlived their usefulness.We must move on.
The scout // June 30, 2008 at 8:18 PM
I understand that there is a number of private school with guyanese connection that are schooling these children. Also I heard that there are some going to a particular secondary school and paying school fees. I thought school fees was a thing of the past?
The scout // June 30, 2008 at 8:32 PM
For all of you who were asking for me, thanks for your concern. This whole saga has me so sick that I was actually physically sick too. However, I’m back and I realise the problem has escalated. Let’s stop talking and do something about it. Just now this barbados that we love so much, will become like jamaica,t&t and guyana. It’s just a matter of time. I never thought in my wildest dreams that this would happen to MY COUNTRY. The type of politicians we have now don’t seem to have this country at heart, it’s selfish greed. We want back Tom or Dippa duppy
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 9:30 PM
Glad to know that you are back and better Scout.
The Dlp handling of this is also making me very sick to my bones.
I am prepared to do whatever it takes within the law to support this cause.
I know there may be some dlp politicians who are reading this blog who may be saying – man that’s just a few of them out there that upset – but that will blow over.
I don’t think they have a clue about the thousands and thousands of bajans who every day are being pushed to the brink of their anger on this overcrowing of illegals and lack of proper immigration controls issue.
I want to know what is ronald jones the minister of education saying about this – I have an idea – but I will keep my thoughts to my self until…
Reudon eversley said last week that bajans are too passive – and he is right because I tell you this would not be happening if this was jamaica – only bout here.
You know why I know bajans too passive – ask yourself where are these guyanese staying,who are the people employing them,who are the men sleeping with them for money and carrying back Aids for their wives?
Who are the principals of school who are taking them in,who are the immigration officers and policemen who are not raiding the places where the illegals are?
Who are the doctors and nurses taking them in at the polyclynic and the QEH?
Who are the lawyers and politicians who are helping them to eveade the law?
Who are the people in the media who are condoning this behaviour by not speaking out against and by shutting down any discussion on the airwaves and in the newspapers?
You know what,If barbados started rioting about this matter – the way I feel now I will cheer loudly – that is how far I have come on the issue – and that – to my mind is a dangerous place to be.
What if,just what if there are many more like me!
Are we waiting for that last straw to break the camel’s back?
Anonymous // June 30, 2008 at 9:33 PM
David check for my post.
JC // June 30, 2008 at 9:51 PM
Scout I m glad that you are ok I missed u!
Yardbroom // July 1, 2008 at 2:49 AM
The Past, The Present and The Future Looking Through the Smoke of a Cane Fire: Illegal Immigration.
We have reached a stage in Barbados, where the messenger is vilified and the message is lost in transmission.
Players are now in the shadows they keep clean hands, while putting forward others to do their bidding.
I say to those who advance a view for the majority black Barbadians and “all” citizens of our beloved country. Be not vituperative in your comments, even in anger. Your anger can be interpreted as you being irrational..but be strident.
I know of no country on this earth where an Indian majority has sought to accommodate a black African minority with equality and fairness as their motivation…it just does not happen.
Yet in the small space we – blacks – inhabit we are now being told to be over magnanimous. We have lit cane fires in the fields next to dry wooden chattle houses for illumination…will we as a people ever learn.
Long term stability comes not from hating another race, or feeling superior of inferior to them. It comes from doing as much as you can for “your own”, to uplift them so that they can be strong independent and mentally free. Thus, they will not be oppressed by the limitations of poverty and a lack of education.
When you have paid a heavy price – in blood – for the space on which you stand. It is folly to relinquish that space in a cavalier gesture of far reaching consequences, particularly when “history” is speaking in your ear.
Anonymous // July 1, 2008 at 7:22 AM
Isn’t the stance of this DLP Government disturbing, to wit, saying Barbados must embrace CSME even though the other countries do not?
We bought a pig in a poke on the Jan 15th. Not only is it the twin of the pig we chased away, it seems to be a runt!
To all those who say Negroman, JC, Scout etc talking foolishness, please go and do some research on the recent history of Fiji.
Kay // July 1, 2008 at 8:12 AM
Yardbroom
I agree with your last sentiments. But if women come in from another country and trap our men with their bodies whether through prostitution or sweet talk to procure a ring, surely that could not happen if we had brought up these same young men to value our women. And we need to look at our culture, our education system, our religions, our family units and see where we went wrong and go about correcting these mistakes. I wonder if co-education has not been one of the problems.
Anonymous // July 1, 2008 at 8:44 AM
I am heartened by the comments of anonymous who posted at 7:22 this morning and yardbroom and kay – along with our other tireless warriors,ie JC,Negroman, Scout,jukecheckedeyshirt, Jay and others.
I am heartened because every time I read a post by a new blogger I know the message is not being missed and the concerns are not going unnoticed.
This is why the people at starcom;david ellis,mike browne and those at the nation and CBC have my eternal disgust.
A lot of these persons who are holding down responsible jobs in these media centres are really square pegs in round holes.
Most of them with perhaps one or two exceptions could not tell you what the tenets of journalism are.
Most of them see it only as a means of earning a paycheck and a means of getting their name recognised across barbados.
Have jewel forde,dean st hill,richard cox,and others at CBC ever considered and taken the time to do a critical piece on the negative impact of illegal immigration on barbados?
Do you think mike browne who is another one of those pay check earners and not a journalist,or David Ellis would conside dedicating a series of programmes on discussing that illegal immigration and overcrowding issue?
What about the nation or advocate newspapers?
Why isn’t the DLP blog leading on this matter?
Just for the record, crtical analysis means more than getting norman faria to come and spout his illogical propoganda and then get some other ill prepared and half informed person to give a weak counter argument.
An indepth analysis should mean talking to civil servants on the record and off the record,talking to citizens in districts which are affected,talking to ordinary bajans who have lost jobs to these guyanese,or are finding it difficult to get adequate housing because of this huge demand for low income housing.
It means going to the QEH and to schools where the overcrowding problem exists – to accurately reflect the problem.
It also means going to guyana and trinidad to observe without the presence of a bias companion – the true state of race relations in this country.
Finally it means confronting the ministry of home affairs,immigration,education,health and the prime minister on what are the specific plans for dealing with this problem.
It means going back in history to show the patterns of migrant labour in barbados – with the st lucians,the vincentians,the skilled guyanese in the 60s and 70s – and how there was little if any social upheaval and importantly the contribution they made then.
Next we then show how in the 80s under the tom adams government and one o’brien trotman as minister of immigration – how guyanese female prostitutes came in.
Then in the 90s with the owen arthur administration – with o’brien trotman somewhere in the shadows – the floodgates were open and the resulting negative consequences.
That my friends could be called an indepth analysis – step,by step by step.
You think we could see some media house taking up this challenge on behalf of the barbadian people – on whose behalf the media say they speak.
Does any of these media organisations have a social conscience you think?
Right now my faith rests only with David and the Barbados Underground Blog.
What say you my fellow bloggers?
Negroman // July 1, 2008 at 9:04 AM
Kay Your comment are of utmost importance.Many of our institutions still have many aspects of the negatives of slavery.The legacy of slavery is still prevalent in many of us blacks today.The disrespect and lack of appreciation of own black women are some of the negatives of slavery.The Willie Lynch theory of division among us is still prevalent today.I will advise my fellow bloggers to read up on the Willie Lynch Theory.Get a copy of the book “Let Save our Children”by the late Barbadian Dr Ashton Gibson and we will have an insight why many of our black males behave in the manner we are practising today.
Kay we have a lot of work to do.Our men folks are unfortunate victims.I am not making excuses but the legacy of slavery lives on.
Anonymous,I feel like you I am at my breaking point.I am trying extremely hard to control myself.I feel it is only a matter of time before something disastrous happens in this country regarding this illegal guyanese issue.
Anonymous it is not only a few of us on the blogs but thousands and I say thousands of Barbadians feel the same way as we do.
Scout,I am glad that you are okay.Welcome back.
Yardbroom // July 1, 2008 at 9:37 AM
Kay
I have said repeatedly that it is the duty of our young men to respect our women. It should be done as a matter of course. That some men have degraded themselves in ad hoc relatioships is no reason for our elected representives not to take positive action on behalf of those who have elected them.
I believe in one decade we can change a lot of what is wrong in Barbados, but it will take leadership and courage.
We need a cultural shift and it can only be done by example. We have allowed ourselves to be too easily bought and thus corrupted. Consequently others have lost respect for us and later can treat us with contempt.
We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.
It never ceases to amaze me, what supposedly intelligent people will do for a few dollars.
JC // July 1, 2008 at 9:52 AM
Long term stability comes not from hating another race, or feeling superior or inferior to them. It comes from doing as much as you can for “your own”, to uplift them so that they can be strong independent and mentally free. Thus, they will not be oppressed by the limitations of poverty and a lack of education.
When you have paid a heavy price – in blood – for the space on which you stand. It is folly to relinquish that space in a cavalier gesture of far reaching consequences, particularly when “history” is speaking in your ear.
———————————————–
Yard broom every thing that you said was “deep, true and factual.” Sometimes, your emotions take over and common sense and logicality takes a backdoor. Therefore, one can imagine, Saturday Night watching the television and one of your representatives, has the audaciousness to proclaim that we need more schools!
Are these people mad, I want everyone to take a look at an article that was written in one of the weekend papers (cant remember which one) and see why I was double pist off! The story states that an Indian man paid to get his son’s wife murdered. That is why I got on the blogs June 29, 2008 and behaved in a NASTY MANNER.
If the natives of this country think that these things can never materialise in Barbados. ha think again. I did read about Fiji. I know about Guyana, Suriname and Trinidad.
SO DONT SAY IT CANNOT HAPPEN!
Because as far as I can see
IT HAS ALREADY STARTED!!!!!!!!!!
Puzzled // July 1, 2008 at 11:16 AM
Yardbroom wrote
“..no reason for our elected representives not to take positive action on behalf of those who have elected them.”
“We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.”
This could only refer to Byer-Suckoo (on whom he posted a glowing tribute sometime ago), Sealy, Sinckler and Kellman.
Yet he never calls a spade a spade, he never calls out the Dems! Stopping trying to shield Thompson and the Dems. The Dems seem even more determined than the Bees to put the CSME noose around our necks along with the welcoming of Guyanese to Barbados.
Diaspora-ite // July 1, 2008 at 11:45 AM
Negroman…exactly! The 174 years since the abolition of slavery are but a mere blink of the eye in historical terms. Many of the unfortunate and undesirable consequences and legacies of slavery linger on.
Black women, who are the backbone and foundation of Barbadian society, deserve better. They are the ones who have kept homes and families together. They are the economic experts. It is tragic that many Barbadian males still do not acknowledge and fulfill their duties and responsibilities. It is the women who have moved on and progressed but, sadly, many – but not all – Bajan males are still stuck in the concubinage paradigm, preferring style over substance, recklessness over responsibility.
At some point in time the page will have to be turned if Barbados is to truly progress. May I recommend the book, “It’s OK to Leave the Plantation,” by the African-American author Clarence M. Weaver, a former Black Panther. At some time we all have to take ownership of our actions. We are always free to choose, BUT we are not free to choose the consequences of our actions. The Law of Unintended Consequences casts its net far and wide socially.
Yardbroom // July 1, 2008 at 3:20 PM
Puzzled
I try to be honest at all times. If by chance I fall short…to err is to be human.
I believe that we can make our country -Barbados – a model of decency and honesty. Men/women make things and they can change them…but there must be the will to do so.
You have taken my words to refer “specifically” to Byer-Suckoo, Sealy, Sinkler and Kellman.
I wrote: “We often sell out our brothers, to be seen at the supposed right places, or to rub shoulders fleetingly with those who deride us.”
The plural “we” was a general observation of what has occured in Barbados politics recently, and the disrespect often shown to Barbadians by the wealthy and others, as a result of special favours granted to them.
I supported the Democratic Labour Party at the last election, because I felt it was time for a change. I also considered the level of dissatisfaction felt by the electorate…evidenced by the election result.
I have not as yet criticised the Government – Democratic Labour Party – because they have only in the last six months taken office. It takes time to implement policy and change the direction of government…one has to be fair with a new administration.
In reference to Minister Byer-Suckoo, I wrote with regard to what the Minister said about young people in Barbados. It was worthy of mention and I did so.
If a member of the BLP had made a statement about Barbados and I felt it was in the interest of our citizens…I would have done the same.
Although I have no evidence, I dare say there might be members of the BLP who feel as I do about illegal immigration. In the minority and now without a voice, but they might be there.
There will have to be a definitive statement about immigration before long; by this administration.
Politicians when in office think they will be there for ever, that is never the case. You should never be so certain as to neglet the people who elected you…greater men and women have paid a price for so doing.
The citizens of Barbados are greater than either the Democratic Labour Party or The Barbados Labour Party and I am only a “small grain of sand” at the bottom of the ocean.
Puzzled // July 1, 2008 at 4:06 PM
Yardbroom
To use your metaphor; the fire is burning next to our homes! The four politicians mentioned have neither brought water to out the fire nor to wet our houses. They bring kerosene and kindling. Will policy matter if there are only the smouldering embers of our humble home left?
What then? If only….
Yardbroom // July 1, 2008 at 5:15 PM
Puzzled
With great tactical skill you have tried to tease from me, a condemnation of the persons mentioned above.
I am loath at this “juncture” to do so.
However, I am sure now that the spotlight is on this issue, it would be unwise of any “sensible politician” not to take note.
Ultimately the people will decide. This issue is so important, that long after we are dead the judgement wil be passed on us by our children and grand children…I hope it is not a harsh one.
JC // July 1, 2008 at 5:32 PM
Yardbroom in another article I said the same thing but in different words I therefore see it fitting to repeat these words:
We as a nation need to stop the governments from destroying our two most cherished institutions: the family and the village. We allow them to destroy our land and our crops. Most importantly there are now attempting to destroy what makes us the same and that is our identity and comradrie spirit.
I am talking about the spirit that bids us at times to socialise with Ms. White, Blackman, Clarke etc. and their grandchildren down by the beach. The spirit of peace and tranquility that we can find we take a drive to any beach and look at our majestic ocean which seems to calm our inner qualms. Or the spirit of happiness, when we can go to the beach or in the villages and although we might not know a stranger we can play a game of cricket since they have the ball. These days are disappearing.
The truth of these words is beyond doubt, but the mission to which they call us is not as difficult as it sounds. I JC come to this blog to make a passionate plea to my beloved nation to read and understand that our children’s future depends on the decisions our governments make. I do not want my children and hopefully, great grand children look at me with tears in their eyes and ask: “why didnt you say something” They watch as we poison our water, as we destroy our people.and we loose acres of arable land to concrete monsters. This madness MUST STOP!
Negroman // July 1, 2008 at 5:42 PM
Our children & grand children are destined for a life of servitude at the hands of the other ethnic groups that will be controlling our economy.Little or nothing is in place to protect & enhance the future generations of black Barbadians.I shudder to think what type of Barbados I am leaving for my children & grand children.I am scare of my children’s future.
This immigration matter sholud be concern for all right thinking Barbadians. I endorse the views of Anonymous,Yardbroom,JC & The Scout wholeheartedly.
The old political order has done well for Barbados but I honestly believe that a new political dispensation is needed in Barbados at this present moment.The old guard has outlived its usefulness.we need leaders from among the people to take over the mantle of leadership in Barbados. The old school ties of Harrison College,Combermere,Queens College,The Lodge,Foundation & the other older secondary schools must be replace.Those persons are far remove from the realities that affect average Barbadians daily.They try to understand our pain,but they are doing a feeble attempt at it.That is why we will have the Richard Sealys,Esther Byer-Suckoos,David Thompsons,and people of that ilk behaving in the comtemptous manner they are behaving at this moment because they feel people of their ilk are born to lead us.We must let them know we are not prepare for that type of behavior anymore.
ENOUGH IS ENOUGH
I Negroman understand the importance of a vote.I know my ancestors did not had the oppurtunity to vote and make a decision of who should have been they leader.However with the present crop of politicians we have I am disillusioned and I am putting it mildly with the politicians performance and behavior.I believe I am going to do like the younger people and do not participate in any future general elections in Barbados.I cannot continue to vote for those hypocrites,jokers and whatever.I cannot even find the adjectives to describe the lot.I am really piss off with these losers.
Puzzled // July 1, 2008 at 6:11 PM
It is hoped that all politicians read this blog and seriously contemplate the ramifications of CSME and an open border policy!
It is late in the evening, I hope as my dear Grandmother would say, that night does not catch us without bus fare!
FairPlay // July 1, 2008 at 6:37 PM
Remember Puzzled, our illegal immigration problem have little to do with CSME and more to do with a slack immigration policy. It amazes me in a few short years that our beloved Barbados has come to this juncture. Where the average Barbadian feels under seige in their own country. Enough is enough.
I am all for letting the relevant authorities know how we feel on this matter. For them to ignore this will be at the detriment of us all. What really has me flabbergasted is that Caricom leaders refuse to address the real concerns of Caribbean people. They need to do more and talk less. Why cant the other Governments make the sacrifices B’dos has to provide basic (health, education etc)services to their people. Afterall we have done it with very little resources a country like Guyana has so much potential yet they want to flood us with their citizens to stress our already overburdened social services.
We cant allow this to happen its a non-sensical situation to get me out of had. Further more our leaders should be ashamed to admit we need more schools etc..for illegal immigrants. This is ridiculous. SEND THEM HOME. Our laws must be respected and obeyed.
I am very interested to hear what Mr. thompsons contribution has been today as he chaired a CARICOM meeting. This will give us some idea of what direction we are heading in. For me I dont like what I see happening in this country. We have to ensure we protect the birthright of our future generations.
JC // July 1, 2008 at 6:43 PM
I have a story for all fellow bloggers, imagine a taxi driver called me just now and told me that this evening he dropped a woman at the airport, and of course she had a story.
This woman is guyanese and she told him that she worked at a well known restaurant for 300 dollars per weeK. She went on to say that the immigration came looking for her since she had come into the island for 3 weeks but this 3 weeks turned into 6 months.
Furthermore, she stated that luckily for her she was off that particular day and her boss called her and told her to go and buy a ticke and go back home at least for 4 weeks. Then he will try to get her status regularised when she comes back.
Everyone should know that once immigration has not deported you, one can freely come back into the country untouched and unquestioned.
You see these negligent slipshod attitude that our immigration policy has? that is why we are suffering because we know that it is wrong to have these people here illegally, yet we ignore laws and forget about our own!
THIS FOOLISHNESS MUST STOP!
How comes someone is known to these people as ‘fugitives’ and yet still they can ‘lazy on up’ to CUSTOMS and go through freely. Isnt there a list that is updated to know who is not supposed to be here so that when they decide to return that they cannot, what is goingon here?! This is SHODDY! FOOLISHNESS! UUTTER NONSENSE!
FairPlay // July 1, 2008 at 6:53 PM
JC
Ur story is just one of thousands that beat our inadequate sytem. I think we must the joke of the Caribbean. “Bajans think they smart but we outsmart them at every turn. Cant u just imagïne them laughing at us. What a farce.
But what is really disgusting is those Bajans who claim they dont want another bajan to work for them but would hire someone from whereever else. JOKERS
Black bajans, we can be an economic force to be reckoned with in this country cause if we dont spend money they cant make none. Let us be concious like the Whites where we spend our hard earn money and boycott those who scoff and ignore what few immigratin laws we have. Support ur own and lets work together to further uplift our country
Anonymous // July 1, 2008 at 7:52 PM
Fairplay
I am with you all the way.
We have the power of our numbers,the power of our money,the power of our vote.
Let’s not become another ruined country like guyana and trinidad – with the race hatred between indians and africans.
FYI,Tonight on the CBC news david thompson said that the 2 pressing problems for barbados are:
1)The freedom of movement under the CSME
2) I can’t remember the second – I think it had to do with our exchange rate
Thompson stated that because barbados is an attractive destination we have had large numbers coming in and it is putting a strain on our limited resources.
Fairplay and others some of the things we must insist to these politicians are: we don’t want any amnesty for persons who have broken the laws and stayed here illegally,they must be deported – we want to send a clear messge to the thousands getting eady to come here.
Second,we don’t want our tax paying dollars paying for children of illegals -either in education,health services,NHC housing,welfare payments – whatever.
Third,we want a stricter qualification for persons becoming a barbadian citizen or getting permanent residence – get rid of the policy that says once you live here for a couple of years you can become a permanent residence or once you marry a bajan you become a barbadian citizen.
A review of the granting of work permits,permanent residences,citizenship and I.D cards over the past 15 years.
Immediate deporting of persons here illegally and a temporary halt on any granting of ciizenship or permanent residence.
As Jay pointed out yesterday,we must move to fingerprinting persons entering the country to avoid the scam of deported persons returning with false passports.
An increase of fines – in the thousands of any one employing an illegal person in Barbados.
These are just some of the things I will be looking to see the david thompson administration get cracking on.
Anonymous // July 1, 2008 at 8:02 PM
JC
That $300.00 a week that illegal guyanese woman was getting amounts to $60.00 a day.
Which barbadian restaurant worker works for $60.00 a day?So that is some bajan job that was lost to an illegal guyanese for low wages.
You see how easy it is for any one to come in here and work? Who knows maybe the fugutive Fineman Rawlins must be here working at the Hilton hotel too?Who knows?
You wonder why businesses keep saying that bajans are lazy and horrible workers and they need these ‘hardworking’ guyanese?
I have often wonderd how come the union bosses trotman and clarke are not expressing outrage about these high number of illegals putting pressure on bajan workers for their jobs.
They seem very close to norman faria who every May day brings out guyanese workers to march in their parades.
Shouldn’t the union be at the fore front of this issue?
The scout // July 1, 2008 at 8:13 PM
Gentlemen/Ladies
We are the employers of the politicians, we sit on the board of management, we are the shareholders. We don’t seem to recognise the power we have; we can hire and fire with our X. Therefore we have to tell our new employees (the government) that we are not satisfied by these serious blunders they are making and that we expect a better quality of gov’t or we would have to exercise our rights before their contract expires. If we don’t do something, we might lose our pick on the voting panel. WORDS OF ADVICE
FairPlay // July 1, 2008 at 8:14 PM
Well Said Anonymous ….I agree with you totally. We need changes now to our immigration laws and we have to get those in authority to act quick or else I fear the illegals will continue to use all scams in the book to become Barbadian citizens.
I am thinking that we have not educated our people in the right way. Now is the time to get our act together and to ensure our children are not displaced because of recklessness, poor foresight and slack immigration laws.
The scout // July 1, 2008 at 8:17 PM
Chris Sinckler said we need more school so that we can house the foreigners. That sound like we are a little Kuwait. Some of these new breed heads swell. Maybe they now seeing money. What is happening with the integrety legislation that the DLP was pushing so hard while campaigning?
Anonymous // July 1, 2008 at 9:05 PM
You noticed Scout how chris sinckler had a half smile on his face when he talked about building schools to accomodate illegal children?
Maybe he was thinking – these foolish people who complaining are getting so emotional,but I am the minister of foreign affairs and I travel and meet with these foreign dignataries – these people don’t know of what they speak – because we have to think of the EU arrangements and the UN treaties and the Caricom agreements – we can’t mind them.
I say all this with sadness – not in any jest because I was one of those who was expecting to see a quick and decisive move by the DLP on this immigration problem.
We know who put us where we are now- the rotten BLP lot – but we expected a more vocal and bold position by the DLP.
FairPlay // July 1, 2008 at 10:58 PM
Well Anonymous I guess the jokes on you and the thousands of BAjans who voted in January for quick and decisive move by the DLP with this immigration fiasco.
Its ironic when a country that has prided itself with providing free education to the tertiary level for citizens is grappling with such a fiasco especially when the main perpretrators do not have this luxury in their country of birth. I guess common sense isn’t very common.
Caribbean people were doing fine wih integration before the politicians dirtied the water. Many Caricom nationals moved around the region to work and make a better life we in B’dos had no problem with this. These same persons are now integrated into our society.
Then along came the politicians with their destructive words and deeds and emasculated our immigration department and now we are struggling to curb the tidal wave. STUPSE.
And its a real struggle… each day I realise it more and more. I suppose if this was a problem for the white community then more urgency would be applied to it. But as it is, they live in a different B’dos to the masses so it hasn’t touched them…..YET. In the meantime we are suppose to grin and bear the foolishness and wait with bated breath for our leaders to give us a few signs that they are going to do something with immigration. Think people what signs have we seen….apart from the AG where do the others stand.
Are they going to wait until its tooo late or r they going to take that positive action that the majority of Bajans stated firmly they wanted with their X in January.
JC // July 1, 2008 at 11:06 PM
Fairplay your guess is as good as mine !
JC // July 3, 2008 at 9:54 AM
I dont know if anyone has listened to the news this morning. I didn’t get all of the information; but it seems as if CARICOM nations detest Bajans. Yet we still press ahead with CSME, although we can envision the consequences of our actions.
That is why I stress that we need to unify as a people, cause we can see that no leader within CARICOM has little or no respect for BARBADOS!
Pudding and souse // July 3, 2008 at 10:18 AM
JC the news said Jagdeo was referring to Barbados and Antigua when he call for islands to stop the humiliation of Guyanese. Immigration in Trinidad regularly deport scores of Guyanese with work papers. The Trinidad people say they coming to take away jobs from locals. Why Jagdeo avoid pointing out that Trinidad treats his people worse than Barbados allegedly does?
Anonymous // July 3, 2008 at 11:05 AM
Welcome Pudding & Souse to the discussion.
Have you noticed that since tiefin owen arthur gave Jagdeo the freedom to chastise barbadian immigration officers and the bajan people,that jagdeo feels he could tell off bajans every time a guyanese get deported.
Now if we had a prime minister like ralph gonsalves he would most likely tell jagdeo in no uncertain terms where to get off.
He would almost most certainly tell him about his exporting his people the guyanese dregs of society to every caricom country so that they can work illegally and send back to guyana the money in U.S. currency which guyana can use.
You notice he never addresses the problem of these guyanese using false passports to get into these countries – it is always about how guyanese getting unfaired in these countries.
He will never mention Trinidad – because they have a large number of indians and he is part of the racist global indian organisation known as GOPIO.
JC // July 3, 2008 at 12:59 PM
David Thompson if you and your members read this blog. I am challenging you to tell these persons where to get off!
We have put up with this CRAP for too long no one appreciates us no one! For instance, imagine our bajan fisherman pleading for assistance from ‘colleagues’ to be told wait until we finish fish. You believe dah?
It is time Sir for you to become a fair but strong leader.
I am tired of all their insults and I think it is ample time, that we as a nation from the pinnacle to the depth of society to unite as one people having one assertion and that is to be BAJANS and look out for Bajans first and foremost.
Negroman // July 3, 2008 at 2:29 PM
Anonymous & JC I agree.We are putting up with this nonsense of being insulted by all and sundry including our own.Why didn’t that foolish man Jagdeo with his wierd sexual lifeslyle tell off the leader of St Maartins when that guyanese man was beaten unmercifully by the St Maartin officials.Guyanese are being deported from almost every Caribbean country including Barbados.Why only pick on us.Jagdeo as Anonymous mentioned you believe that we still have that freak Owen Arthur as our leader and we have no one to defend us.
David Thompson we elected you to defend the interest of Barbadians.You are not living up to our expectations.Defend us and get out these nasty,despicable,uneducated,disease ridden,scum bags indo-guyanese now or we get rid of you as our leader Take a page out of the books of Ralph Gonsalves we might not like what he is doing but at least he has the balls to stand up as a man and express his feelings.Unfortunately we are not seeing that type of courage from you.You appear to be lame duck and timid.
ENOUGH TALK ACTION IS REQUIRE
Anonymous // July 3, 2008 at 5:13 PM
Wonderful news everyone – just heard a news extract on CBC which said that Prime minister Thompson who has lead responsibility for CSME stated that caricom will have to push back the date for the implentation of the fredom of movement of peoples because some countries economies cannot support the influx of persons – and that it is foolish to push for implementation dates – just to say you have complied with a date when it is clear some countries will not be ready and will be disadvantaged.
They are to give more details of his press conference later – and I will await eagerly to hear his further comments.
David // July 3, 2008 at 7:27 PM
Prime Minister David Thompson’s statement this evening appears to be a response to how Barbadians feel and also the propaganda which the President of Guyana is spouting every chance he gets. Finally we are hearing a Prime Minister of Barbados expressing the will of the PEOPLE.
We look forward to hearing him go one step further by indicating what Barbados intends to do about the large number of undocumented workers. The longer we wait the more our infrastructure is at risk.
JC // July 3, 2008 at 7:39 PM
David up to today me and some work colleagues were discussing this ‘humorless story.’
We were wondering if it is too late and we have reacted (as usual )to late. Our infrastructure is very fragile and I just don’t know…….. do we have the tenacity and courage to do what is expected at this dismal time!
Can we ride through this storm? It is left to be seen……
I for one am going to traipse along no matter how cumbersome I may become. After all I am a PROUD BAJAN!
Anonymous // July 3, 2008 at 7:56 PM
David
Prime minister thompson sounded really harsh when a journalist with an english accent kept pressing him on this immigration problem in Barbados.
As the calypso says – ‘He ain’t mekkin no sport dis year’.
Kudos to you David and the family of the Underground.Many persons villified us and and called us all sort of names,but thank goodnes our cries seem not to be going unnoticed.
Don’t break out the champagne yet.
Now we have to press for specifics and for immediate deportation as well as a change to the easy access to barbadian citizenship and permanent residency.
Tight,tight,immigration policies are needed now.
I heard Mr Thompson saying that he didn’t want there to be a an underclass of people in bridgetown.
I want children of illegal persons who are enrolled in schools must be taken out and sent back and not allowed to remain and get free education.
Bajan families are seeing hard,hard times and we need every available dollar to provide for those barbadians seeing hardship now,and for the others who might need help down the road as tough economic times continue.
whether you from guyan,jamaica,trinidad,st vincent – once you are illegal – time to head back home – my friend.
Negroman // July 3, 2008 at 9:43 PM
I am delighted that David Thompson is now showing that he has balls and will be prepare to deal harshly with illegal immigrants.I will put my celebrations on hold until I see physical action is being done and draft policy on immigration is debated and put into law in Barbados. I have a very soft spot in my my heart for the Caribbean blacks especially the unfortunate blacks from Guyana who are treated like shit at the hands of the indo guyanese.
Anonymous we will differ slightly on this issue.No problem though my brother.
One Love
The scout // July 4, 2008 at 8:52 PM
Negroman
If we in B’dos can accept the 2nd generation English/Badbadian then we should also welcome the same from guyana. Our foreparents went to B.G and left real family down there. They are black guyanese and catching hell. Those are the ones I would help to migrat legally to b’dos not the indo-guyanese. They are no relations to bajans, they are oppertunist/racist.
Anonymous // July 5, 2008 at 2:43 AM
The Scout That is true and that is why I have no problems whatsoever with black guyanese migrating to Barbados.They are our kith & kin.Black guyanese are suffering under the repressive and racist PPP government of Guyana.I believe that we must reach out our hands and help our unfortunate brothers & sisters from Guyana.However,I do not want to see one ( 1) smelly,musty,uneducated,racist indo guyanese in Barbados.I hate them with a passion.Indo guyanese do not like blacks people and those bastards will unfair us blacks in Barbados and our children if we give them a chance to take root in Barbados and grow to be a strong ethnic group in this island.We blacks will suffer terribly.
Indo guyanese go home and stay home.we do not want you all in Barbados.
LEAVE NOW
Negroman // July 5, 2008 at 2:46 AM
I am the person who posted the above comments
The scout // July 5, 2008 at 11:47 AM
Negroman
It seems we both think alike then. Then we both know of other relatives in black guyana. Somehow these are the ones that get most problems at the airport. By the way there were about 7 to10 african who didn’t make the flight back home. What happen to them? Are they still here?
Anonymous // July 5, 2008 at 11:52 AM
To all fellow bloggers and persons who are avid readers of the blogs. In an above post I contemplated if we will be too late in controlling this immigration policy. I also mentioned that I will trudge along no matter how cumbersome I got.
However, I am very upset at this point in time, and I dont know if anything can be saved from this onslaught of pure wickedness. Whilst I was outside doing some chores, some old men and my self were discussing politics church and of course the immigration policies.
What pist me totally off was that one of the old men told me that a Guyanese man borrowed 1500 dollars from him and went and received a Barbados ID Card. These persons who are in charge of the ID Card Department, should be locked to ass up! I told off the old man too, cause if a bajan had come on their guts crawling he would not have loaned them the money ole blasted fool!
Every body just cares about the almighty dollar and they are selling Ids for a measly 1500 dollars that can not even send themselves or their children to a doctor if there were threatened with a serious medical problem.
This government has a lot of cleaning up to do. Under Seymour Arthur these things seemed to be the norm.
I can hear them now, ” Oh I can afford to be a theif after all Owen is one and he want the Guyanese to take over no body aint cay bout de stupid ass bajans”
This is stupidity and downright wickedness at its best!
Negroman // July 5, 2008 at 1:51 PM
The Scout I am at a lost like you regarding those africans.I hope if those africans intend to stay that they will become productive and useful citizens of this country.We do not need nuisancs to pull this country down.This also goes to all the black Caribbean nationals who want to live in Barbados be productive,stay on the right side of the law and earn your keeps.Please do not squander any oppurtunities that might come your way.
We blacks need a strong and united race to safeguard our future and be strong enough to withstand the onslaught that is coming from the other ethnic groups that are growing at a phenomenal rate in Barbados.
We are here under the false belief that the majority we now have will remain that way.I had a look at the official statistics regarding demographic make up of Barbados.If my memory serves me right the official figure us put us blacks at about 88% of the population down from the high high 90’s we had before.It alsom states that the black race in increasing at a decreasing rate and the other groups especially the indian race is increasing at an increasing rate and that was about 3 years ago.You could understand the figures now.
We are in trouble.
I want anyone to tell me which race on this earth has any genuine respect and love for the black race.Tell which race will not oppress and illtreat us if that race is given the chance.
All the indian & other ethnic sympathisers challenge me on these matters.
Tell me where on this earth that blacks are not oppress even in Barbados we are oppress to some degree.
I await the challenge.
JC // July 5, 2008 at 4:08 PM
You have no challenge from me negro man none at all I see what is happening and I make sure that i preach it every day.
I try to ‘lift up’ my friends on the block. I know that they can make a vast difference if given the oppotunity.
Jay // July 5, 2008 at 7:48 PM
I am glad to see Mr. Thompson finally talking about this issue.I am also glad he will be the main person taking care of the CSME implementation,can anyone imagine if it was up to President Bharrat Jagdeo,lol ?
I think Barbados & all nations for that matter need to be very careful concerning their immigration policies & it looks like the P.M. is doing both as it relates to the Caricom region & Barbados as a whole.The “Managed migration” policy also looks to be [url=http://www.nationnews.com/story/43462566102175.phpimplemented[/url] before another CSME meet by other Carib heads of government.
“What his Government was determined to avoid, added Thompson, was the creation of “an underclass” of CARICOM non-nationals in Barbados exploited by employers and others, and discriminated against in various ways contrary to official policy.
He is hoping to have Barbados’ new approach to managed migration in place prior to the proposed stakeholders’ consultation on the CSME. “
Badri // July 5, 2008 at 7:53 PM
The guyanese give value for money. They do not want to take over Barbados, they just here to do the work, get some money and move on. A lot of bajan workers just want to smoke ganja, drink guinness and listen to the radio instead of doing the work. Bajans like to talk and argue too much on the job.
JC // July 5, 2008 at 8:08 PM
Badri you have got to be mad. Only yesterday I saw one of your kind sayto call him Roger Khan playn he camouflage in a old looking suzuki, all that time he distributing cocaine all over Barbados and you talking shite bout how they just come to work.
KNOW YOUR BLASTED PLACE AND TALK FACTS!
Jay // July 5, 2008 at 9:40 PM
Badri,The concern about this immigration mess [for me at least] is NOT about work productivity &/or which particular national is better in the work place.It is about the fact of the matter of if those particular persons in the work place are LEGALLY there & went through the proper process in order to get there.
I am not xenophobic &/or hiding behind the law but logic dictates that one should follow the rules of the country you’re migrating to,I know since I am in the U.S. now & have played by the rules.You’ve got to admit a plurality of Guyanese nationals have gone to Barbados on “Vacation” & overstayed with their stay being assisted in some shape or form which to me has assisted in the uproar on this important subject.
One final question,are you in Barbados legally ?
Badri // July 5, 2008 at 9:58 PM
I am in Barbados legally. I don’t have a problem with immigration doing its job. I just don’t like the racial talk against indians. There are bad people in every group but most of the guyanese are good hard working people. I don’t know anything about cocaine but the talk I hear is that the pushers work for white bajans and arabs.
JC // July 5, 2008 at 10:33 PM
Roger Khan sells it to people whom I care about and they are BLACK!
And I have reason to be pist off when indian, black, white or any other color person can have the ‘gall’ to come and manipulate our good nature.
Jay // July 6, 2008 at 12:27 AM
Badri as long you’re currently in Barbados legally,I don’t mind you as an individual & as I’m sure most Bajans,but as I’ve mentioned before you have to understand that quite a few illegal immigrants from Guyana are in the country & it is very easy for any Barbados native to paint a broad stroke,hence why most don’t even mention other illegal immigrants but call it mainly a “guyanese problem”.
The scout // July 6, 2008 at 1:59 AM
Badri
May I suggest that if you’re here legally, you do not bad talk bajans or it might be detrimental to you. I’ve had enough bad talk about bajans and it got me pissed off. Badri STOP IT. Just like U.S chase bajans out of the states even though they were legal,you too can get your ass out of Bim if that is your attitude. We can do without that from you. If we bajans didn’t accomodate you, you would have left eversince, so enjoy b’dos and keep your trap shut or get out NOW, before the shit hit the ceiling.
Negroman // July 6, 2008 at 3:51 AM
Badri Take Scout advise seriously.Do not come into Barbados and criticise us you and your indo guyanese counterparts will not like the outcome of your actions.We blacks in Barbados WILL NOT allow you all to treat us the same way that you all treat my unfortunate black guyanese brothers & sisters.
KEEP YOUR BLASTED MOUTH SHUT IN BARBADOS.
How dare you talk about Barbadians workers.Barbadian workers are hard working,diligent and competent.Who built Barbados?Who gave us the standard of living we have today that is the envy of all in Caribbean?
The answer to those two questions are BLACK BARBADIANS.
You all have the biggest and richest Caribbean state refused to live comfotably with your black guyanese counterparts and the result of that action is the destruction and hampering of the true potential of Guyana.You all uneducated indo guyanese destroy your country and now want to come to the best run black countryin the world prior to that idiot Owen Arthur stint as leader and destroy it.It will never happen wants Negroman,JC,The Scout,Anonymous and others who think like us are around.
BADRI &
JC // July 6, 2008 at 6:40 AM
Badri if guyanaese are such diligent workers, WHY ARE YOU HERE?
Are you MAD?
I know for a fact that we bajns would not be so disrespectful as to go in a man’s country and insult his standard of living or country.
We respect people. How dare you have the ‘testicular fortitude’ to come in my country and talk crap/ You fah real.
CHECK YOUR SELF!
Before we decide to forget about good manners and react like your kind!
KNOW YOUR PLACE!
Technician // July 6, 2008 at 7:57 AM
I just hate to hear people give kudos to these so called hard working Guyanese.
I have Guyanese friends here (black) who are accountants, engineers, office administrators etc.
These few are qualified and university graduates.
Because of my profession, I have to work along side some of these ‘hardworking’ people. Most lack basic education and cant count , read or even spell.
Some cant read a measuring tape. I saw a guy who came as a painter and did not know the difference between a paint brush or a dust brush.
The thing is , because of this lack of education, they dont even realise they are being exploited…or maybe they dont care.
People who say Bajans are lazy are jokers who never visited a work site.I am on sites daily and this is a myth. Bajan talk and argue cricket, religion, politics while doing their work, make sure they get an hour for lunch and a break later in the afternoon which is entitled to them by law.
If this constitutes laziness then most of us are guilty. I am not saying that there would not be exceptions but overall I think IMHO, most Bajans are just as hard working as anyone….just that we dont stand for shit and refuse to work for pittance.
JC // July 6, 2008 at 8:01 AM
My sentiments exactly. I have many friends who are construction workers up to yesterday evening one of my people told me that he was so pist off this firday since his boss man told him and some more guyanese to put on doors. He did 11 doors and the guyanese 1
GOOD WORK ETHICS THATS A LAUGH!
STUPES!
Anonymous // July 6, 2008 at 8:25 AM
I am now convinced that it is finally reaching the attention of the middle class and the professionals that Barbados is being over run with guyanese especially the indian guyanese.
Only a couple of days ago a professional person remarked to me that they realise that they seeing a lot of indians in this country.
I really had to wonder where they were all along.
However as I keep saying,if black bajans don’t give them work,don’t rent them their houses and aprtments,don’t get into relationships with them,if bajans report them to the immigration and overall don’t make them feel so comfortable here that they think this is paradise for them – if we don’t do all these things then they will get the message and leave.
Inaddition the government must do its part,and I am hearing that the immigration coming down hard on giving anybody extensions,and they are even rounding up some.
Anybody else hearing the same thing?
JC // July 6, 2008 at 9:07 AM
No, I am not hearing anything as yet. I hope your words are true.
This morning I was talking to a friend of mine and she is the sweetest person I know. I admire her greatly. She told me she is beginning to hate these guyanese. I could not believe my ears. Not my friend of all people who always deals with situations open mindedly and just.
to Mr. Thompson and government, this is no longer a time bomb; this issue has exploded I can feel it, hear it and know it.
This is how ethnic cleansing starts; you better believe it.
If my firend who is always rational has exploded, what can be said about the hasty person. Please do not let us be like Guyana, Trinidad or South Africa.
Unless it is to far gone…………..
Roti too Sweet // July 6, 2008 at 10:56 AM
This describes the Bajan workplace attitude and manner perfectly….
“Bajan talk and argue cricket, religion, politics while doing their work, make sure they get an hour for lunch and a break later in the afternoon which is entitled to them by law”.
and we wonder why the Guyanese are here, being employed by ….. maybe other Guyanese (like Owen Arthur)?
JC posted this gem
“he was so pist off this firday since his boss man told him and some more guyanese to put on doors. He did 11 doors and the guyanese ” .
I hope JC took a dose of salts with that one OR that boss man losing real money on that job OR the work is being done for Government (probably a public toilet on the beach).
Thankfully, this Government is not taking on people like JC, Technician and Negroman who are just nasty racists (they don’t even like Byer Suckoo because her hair straight). Notice that Thompson and Jagdeo looking real comfortable together at the Caricom meeting.
Ian Walcott // July 6, 2008 at 11:35 AM
I too love an all beef Chefette roti…man you got my mout watering for one now…shupessssssssss…
Now get serious!
Any immigrant works harder in the first generation…the motivation factor is simply different…
Look at the first generation of Barbadian migrants to Guyana, Trinidad, UK, Canada and the USA and how hard their worked to build their base then look at the generations after…
This happens to every single migrant group…
Technician // July 6, 2008 at 11:46 AM
@ Roti too sweet…….the government does not have to take them on at its own peril.
What people fail to understand is that if this situation is not nipped in the bud, it willl be chaos in this country soon.
Have you ever realised how most Bajans look at Guyanese even if they are legal or not. This is just the start. When these feelings are allowed to fester without being addressed, what do you think the outcome would be?
I ask you this and hope you can answer me honestly….what do illegals do in MY country to add to its development?
Show me their contribution to the social development of MY country.
I await your honest reply.
JC // July 6, 2008 at 12:23 PM
I voted for Suckoo you silly person. your point…… ? It has nothing to do with being racists it has to do with the truth and the truth is that you all are a pack of rapists. and you think that somebody will really come and be so wicked and vindictive to form a conversation on their block and tell lies about this serious issue stupesss we dont hide our feelings on the block we keep it real!
We are not like you people.
and by the way, Dont let Mr. Thompson listen to us and see if he OR Mrs. Suckoo will get my vote!
I wonder who would get the last laff ha hahahhahah…..lol!!!!!!!!!
JC // July 6, 2008 at 12:27 PM
Oh and by the way my daughter has “straight hair”! dont be misleading!
Anonymous // July 6, 2008 at 12:37 PM
JC & Technician
I am trying real hard to keep my emotions in check this lovely Sunday morning.
Just to educate all those indians and white who think that black bajans will continue being passive – I say ‘think again’ – and remain 1937.
Just wait and see – if david thompson does not deal with this matter quickly – guyanese will wish they did not know of some where called Barbados.
Roti too Sweet // July 6, 2008 at 12:42 PM
Who is talking about “illegals”? Is every Guyanese worker an illegal migrant? What percentage of the migrant population is illegal ?
Are all or most of the illegal migrants of Indian extraction? Are Black (and even White) illegal migrants ok but not Indian ones?
The problem with this debate is not whether there should be proper and enforced guidelines and administrative procedures regarding immigration but the racist tone of some of the comments like your need to specify that your Guyanese friends are Black.
I too have worked in contruction, agriculture and manufacturing and I am distressed by the decreasing levels of productivity of Bajan workers particularly the younger and less skilled ones. To be sure, this problem is exacerbated by poor management and inadequate training but often attempts to put in place more rational systems are stymied by unions, politicians (with their eye on the votes) and civil servants for whom productivity is a bad word. This country is attempting to fix its problems by every way other than hard work guided by informed, creative and principled cognition. We want to sell our land, bring in foreigners to do the work and charge more for the same old product even though there is no real value added.
The Guyanese (and others) are here because Barbadians want them here and for many they must be doing a “good” job because we keep employing them.
And to Ian Walcott, I agree with your observation.
Negroman // July 6, 2008 at 12:46 PM
Roti To Sweet.You write and sound like a simpleton.I will not even respond to your diatribe.
If you like it or not Barbados is for black people and people of your group will never be welcome with open hands in black Barbados.
By the way Esther Byer-Suckoo will never be a leader of Barbados and the mistake that the people of St George South made in the last general elections will be corrected.
Her true intentions are showing through.
jodiperry // July 6, 2008 at 12:54 PM
Technician.
I’ll try and answer you.
In a word.
Rihanna.
Any further questions??
Bimbro // July 6, 2008 at 2:18 PM
Jodiperry, I love Rihanna too, but that’s not a fair reply! Please reply, to Technician, properly and relevantly!
Technician // July 6, 2008 at 2:52 PM
@ Jodiperry…..My question was..’what do illegals do in MY country to add to its development?
Show me their contribution to the social development of MY country’.
Either you are an idiot of the highest calibre or just playing devil’s advocate.
In what way is Rihanna an illegal?
Please dont jump on her bandwagon now ok?
For all those who like to defend the illegals …tell me this …especially Roti too Sweet.
Who is the most deported people from Barbados?
Which nationality other than locals are hauled before the courts any given day?
Who are now rated as the most untrustworthy people in the Caribbean?
Guyanese are here because contractors want cheap labour with no NIS or PAYE contributions. Have you ever seen a non national up Collymore Rock?
They are here because ignorant Bajan men who cant take that shite talk to a real Bajan woman, look for the easy ,dirt cheap alternative.
Tell me how much NIS or PAYE they put into the treasury.
We have Trinis, Lucians, Dominicans, Vincies, Jamaicans et al here but the only negative people who stand out are the Guyanese….and you want to blame Bajans for this?
How come you all know how bad we Bajans are , how you claim we are racist…..yet still you all brekkin’ ya asses to get here, knowing you might be deported at BGI……
Check ya self ……and study ya head!!
Anonymous // July 6, 2008 at 3:24 PM
Tecnician
You ask:’have you ever seen a non national up collymore rock?’
Please explain that one for me.
Good for you putting the likes of jodiperry in their damn place.
I want to see the day when these guyanese and in particular these indian guyanese frighten to go to bed and sleep,because they waiting for the knock on their door of the immigration and police waiting to tek dem to grantley adams.
JC // July 6, 2008 at 4:07 PM
Technician i was going to anwer for you but I wanted to respect you by letting you answer Ms. Jodiperry for yourselve. Well done and well said!
Jay // July 6, 2008 at 4:24 PM
Technician said:Tell me how much NIS or PAYE they put into the treasury ?
———————————–
This is just another point about this issue & why they must leave or be forcibly deported.
Fiscally speaking,illegal immigrants don’t add anything to the country ,in fact I think they really just weigh the whole country down should they require any social services as previsous posters have mentioned.Tax payers in BIM shouldn’t have to contend with a Barbados government who caters to illegals who stay.The government should do its job by taking care of those who are legally in the country ONLY & especially those who are citizens.Is Bajan citizenship worthless nowadays ?
What has me concerned is that the DLP P.M. has been in power for some time now & it does NOT take any new legislation or “managed migration policy” to issue a crackdown on enforcing the current immigration rules.
Also,If the DLP does manage to pass a new “managed migration policy” it sounds like it would only affect those that are arriving on Barbados’ shores & not dealing with those currently in the country illegally.
If the DLP & BLP never really even enforced the old rules what makes ANYONE sure that the current DLP government will enforce the new ones or is it just another smokescreen to say we did something about it ?
P.M. Thompson was a lawyer & knows that the current laws are & they are more than good enough to handle most of the illegal immigrants in the country.Don’t believe me ?,check out Barbados’ immigration rules in the following link.
http://www.barbadosbusiness.gov.bb/miib/Legislation/documents/immigration_act_cap190.pdf
Jay // July 6, 2008 at 4:51 PM
Anonymous // July 6, 2008 at 3:24 pm
Tecnician
You ask:’have you ever seen a non national up collymore rock?’
Please explain that one for me.
———————–
I assume Technician is talking about the NIS building just off Collymore Rock.
Heh,It is like saying you would find illegal immigrants at Careenage House in the The Wharf.
Ian Walcott // July 6, 2008 at 6:36 PM
Guys…come on please…
Our own history should teach us not to hate others…please think harddddddddddddd before you allow your emotions to take over….
We are a civilized people…please stop the hating…
Have a look at this blog and see what racists are saying about blacks in Canada…
http://www.stormfront.org/forum/showthread.php?t=65664
This is soooooooooooo wrong…please speak to the issue of illegal immigration without targeting our brothers and sisters based on race…
We are too educated and civilized a people for this kind of behavior…
This is very disheartening! This is quite scary actually…
JC // July 6, 2008 at 7:53 PM
Dont get me wrong, up to tonight I had a lovely discussion with a Guyanese whom I like; I always get her to pin up my hair as well as my mum’s.
This Guyanese came from in the late 80s early 90s and I like her and her children immensely. I dont feel threatened by her at all. However, this new breed that is entering our country is not nice! I know what i am saying THEY ARE NOT NICE!
Therefore I have no reason to be nice when people can come to con you and yours out of house and land No way!
ROBOT // July 6, 2008 at 7:54 PM
Guyanese are here because contractors want cheap labour with no NIS or PAYE contributions. Have you ever seen a non national up Collymore Rock?
They are here because ignorant Bajan men who cant take that shite talk to a real Bajan woman, look for the easy ,dirt cheap alternative
——————
TRUE ! TRUE ! TRUE !
Technician // July 6, 2008 at 8:20 PM
@ Ian Walcott….if this is scary to you now……..stick around, it will get much worse.
You see I am one of those who are in touch with the reality of what is happening on the ground here in Barbados .When shit hits the fan, and it will, I can guarantee that it will affect me directly as I dont have the luxury of most of these politicians .
I dont hate them personally as that is not for man to decide….I just hate their ways, lies, tricks and deceit.
Rather that their own counterparts scold them and try to get them to curb their ways ,instead the call us Bajans xenophobic . For defending what our parents and their parents built for US?
I call a spade a spade and I make no apology to anyone. We have let greed and corruption turn this lovely country into the cesspool of the Caribbean.
I remember,as a little boy growing up, the immigration van come through our neighborhood. There is one very popular musician here now would tell you (if shame wouldnt kill him) how fast and far he and his sisters had to run on a weekly basis.
Boy I miss those days.
Instead, we have a woman deported 3 times.On her third time she vows to be back by CWC……she did too….tried to swim to freedom.
So you see….the immigration officers corrupt, the politicians corrupt, the police corrupt, the employers corrupt…..who do we have to turn to but ourselves now…..it gine get worse before it get better.
Technician // July 6, 2008 at 8:21 PM
@ Anonymous…Jay said it for me.
Ian Walcott // July 6, 2008 at 10:51 PM
This is sooooooooo frightening you guys cannot begin to imagine…
I think there’s a need for a national consultation on the issue…let people come forward and vent their feelings and then go about some process of healing and reconciliation…this is not healthy…
Please calculate all the possible outcomes to this kind of rhetoric…
There are Barbadians all over the globe…so please think about possible reactions and a backlash that can hurt your friends, family and our country’s image…
This is like the perfect storm waiting to happen…
PLEASE STOP AND THINK….
Uh mean…high oil prices, a bad tourist season, possible economic recession, political victimization…people are going to look for scapegoats and target illegal immigrants…
This is very very very scary…
I wish it’d come to an end and that common sense will prevail…
This is so not healthy my people…
Negroman // July 7, 2008 at 12:55 AM
Ian Walcott,You are making excuses for the reckless immigration policy that your belove Barbados Labour Party left us in.
All the commentators,JC,Technician,The Scout,Jay,Anonymous and all the rest what they are saying is true.
Ask any black guyanese,or black trinidanian and they could give you horror story upon horror stories .
Ian Walcott if you are black the future of your children and grand children is at stake.
Please do not compromise our children’s future.
Bimbro // July 7, 2008 at 1:42 AM
There are Barbadians all over the globe…so please think about possible reactions and a backlash that can hurt your friends, family and our country’s image…
Ian Walcott, is suggesting that Barbadians should maintain silence and allow their country to be overrun by an alien, people. You must be joking Sir!!!! People abroad will make scapegoats of west indians, anyway, we’re always the preferred-target! Just as I have to here, in the UK, we will just have to be prepared to suffer, if necessary, for the right of our national, self respect!
My gripe is our allowing them to settle in our country on retirement after hitherto, victimising us in their own countries! I get the impression the whites are buying-up Bim!!!!
Bimbro // July 7, 2008 at 2:02 AM
Dave, I’ve just read your lead-in article, above. DO NOT allow your voice to be silenced. Speak out loudly and boldly on ALL matters. Silence and censorship is the way to enslavement and much suffering! I should know, I live in a country where people are afraid to speak out on so many subjects and the consequences are evil, duplicitous, and numerous. Don’t allow yourselves to become slaves again, because of political-correctness. Fully, express yourselves, and BE FREE!!!!
The scout // July 7, 2008 at 9:53 PM
Negroman
Shame on you!!!!!. You actually called Roti Too Sweet a simpleton? Come on man, don’t waste words, just call him/her an INDO-GUYANESE.He wouldn’t understand what you meant. He probably though you were paying him/her a compliment.
Bimbro // July 8, 2008 at 6:30 AM
Technician says:
IMHO, most Bajans are just as hard working as anyone….just that we dont stand for shit and refuse to work for pittance.
However, others say the opposite about Barbadian workers’ attitude to their work. It would be gratifying to know which was the correct, account.
The High Priest // August 5, 2008 at 6:20 AM
Barbados is a small, small,small island; but Barbados is beautiful small, small, small- island.
there is no need for ignorence, no need for hatred, no need for prejudice,but for sence;
common sence; if BARBADOS allow everyone to come and stay in this little-small-small-island, common sence tells us that very soon this small island will be overcrowed, and this small- island may not be so beautiful again. let us keep BARBADOS beautiful, keep the doors open to all, but they must leave after the holliday or the vacation is over; BARBADOS must decide when visitors must have to leave; if not , many visitors will stay just because the SMALL-ISLAND is sweet and beautiful, we need to keep it so; let BARBADOS remain a little JEM in the world,
a place where many, many people want to come ; dont wait until the little small-island become spoiled by who so ever will; if those in charge dont do something, then we must get rid of them next time, let they stay in power be short just for the sake of beautiful BEAUTIFUL barbados.
mediator // August 20, 2008 at 7:52 PM
After much analysis of your comments I would like to make one of my own. Firstly I support open and constructive debate on the very divisive topic of immigration. It is indeed a legal and public health issue both of which should be given the highest priority.
I speak as a black Trinidadian and empathise with the perceived threat to social cohesion that illegal immigration may cause especially pertaining to indo Guyanese. They are coming from a society torn apart by racism. Social norms are not easily overcome especially among insular ethnic groups who do no assimilate into the culture of the host country.
Trinidad has to deal with a society torn apart by racial tension. We deter Guyanese from residing in our country or meddling in our affairs because we are afraid that they may import their particularly virulent form of racism to our shores, thus making matters even worse. Look at your country 20 years down the line and make up your mind as to how you would like your country to be. A future of harmony or discord. It’s your choice. Barbados I understand what you are trying to avoid. Stand firm.
mediator // August 20, 2008 at 7:57 PM
After much analysis of your comments I would like to make one of my own. Firstly, I support open and constructive debate on the very divisive topic of immigration. It is indeed a legal and public health issue, both of which should be given the highest priority.
I speak as a black Trinidadian and empathise with the perceived threat to social cohesion that illegal immigration may cause, especially pertaining to indo Guyanese. They come from a society torn apart by racism. Social norms are not easily overcome, especially among insular ethnic groups who do no assimilate into the culture of the host country.
Trinidad has to deal with a society torn apart by racial tension. We deter Guyanese from residing in our country or meddling in our affairs, because we are afraid that they may import their particularly virulent form of racism to our shores, thus making matters even worse. Look at your country 20 years down the line and make up your mind as to how you would like it to be. A future of harmony or discord. It’s your choice. Barbados I understand what you are trying to avoid. Stand firm.
Jay // August 20, 2008 at 9:15 PM
Hi Mediator,What you say makes perfect sense & it appears as time goes that we may have to deal with this problem not only as individual Nations but as a Region as well.It is quite clear that our Caricom neighbour to the south does not respect their neighbours’ borders.I believe that should this continue Barbados & many of the other islands affected by this common problem should band together and let the so called “Caricom leaders” know that maybe it is time to re-think Guyana’s membership within in the community.It would definitely solve the problem.
Anonymous // August 20, 2008 at 9:20 PM
Mediator
Thank you for your timely intervention.
Can you share with us some of the racist practices that indo trinidadians have perpetuated against afro trinidadians?
Could you share with us what this racial behaviour has done to the trinidadian society over a period of time?
Do you think that the indo racism became more open after basdeo panday became prime minister?
David // August 20, 2008 at 11:40 PM
@Anonymous
Did you not listen to Peter Wickham on national radio today when he stated more than once that PNM is the ruling party of Trinidad because of race? Remember that Wickham is the region’s leading pollster!
Negro man // August 21, 2008 at 2:02 AM
Why waste time with an idiot like Peter Wickham.I have that stupid man on permanent ignore.He loves the alternative sexual life style and therefore will stand for anything sinister.He is an unethical and immoral excuse for a human being.
I love Jay comments.That is my position on this idea we call CARICOM & CSME.Guyana & Suriname 2 South American countries we went and included them in the Caribbean.A monumental mistake.However,mistakes could be corrected and I agree the membership of Guyanese should be review within CARICOM & CSME.After all it is a burden to all the other participating countries.I believe it should be drop from both CARICOM & CSME.
Look at the human rights abuses being perpetrated against the blacks Guyanese by the racist,wicked PPP governement led by the despicable Bharat Jagdeo & the humbug Clement Rohee.
The blood of hundreds of black Guyanese boys & men is on the hands of those two.
GUYANA MUST BE SUSPENDED FROM CARICOM & CSME
Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' // August 21, 2008 at 3:35 AM
Venom, bigotry, XENOPHOBIA. How else can I describe much of the trash I am seeing here? You really call yourselves proud Barbadians? Goes against the very nature and culture for which we are known. I am ashamed at the shenanigans who would perpetrate such mischief just to discriminate against other Caribbean citizens who over time have contributed to Barbados’ unrivaled position as the number one place to live in the Caribbean. Let us start dealing with facts, and not tainted fiction. Let us take personal preference away from a situation for which the whole world will judge us and treat us accordingly. Do we really want to discriminate against Guyanese? Will we live successfully in a world thereafter that label us as xenophobics whose moral and ethical standards resemble Barbarians rather than Barbadians of the past? Think on these things if Barbados truly means something to you!
Anonymous // February 18, 2009 at 8:59 AM
please
The Scout // February 18, 2009 at 1:59 PM
Someone said the “BLP Stalwart”
If Barbados allow guyanese to saturate this country, don’t you think the rest of the world would laugh at us for allowing these indo-guyanese to destroy Barbados the same way they destroy Guyana. Well Sir/ Madam, I can assure you that will not happen. I prefer to be labeled Xenophobic than to be labeled STUPID.
toon // July 23, 2009 at 5:29 AM
Hi, so far I’ve only read one message from a Trinidadian, whose comment was very intelligent, but i do believe all Trinidadians, of different races, do actually want to live together peacefully, and truthfully, most do. The people who cause the divisiveness are the politicians for their own gain, and I believe now more than ever the citizens of these beautiful islands are seeing this. So, I don’t think separating races is the answer, that does sound xenophobic, whether you like it or not, we need to have an open mind and open heart, let’s try to learn and understand eachother, and only in this way we will see that the other person is a reflection of ourselves. I myself come from a very mixed Trinidadian background, and I love and appreciate what all the races add to the island of Trinidad and ultimately to myself, so to my Trini brother, although i may be considered Indian in Trinidad because of some of my features, you are loved and appreciated by me, and by extent my family and friends, and this is being said with my head on a block as well!!!!!!