Barbados Underground

Mottley’s Budget Reply Of Errors

July 18, 2008 · 113 Comments

Hartley Henry’s column as originally posted in the Advocate 18/07/08

Mia Mottley

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

Very often I am asked to explain the nature of work of a Political Strategist, especially in what can be termed “non political season”. Most persons would associate this writer with the conduct of general elections, but in the majority of Caribbean states, elections are held once every five years. Therefore the question of how I keep myself busy and how I remain relevant to and needed by clients is frequently asked. The short answer is that during the “political down season” I focus on advising clients against actions, utterances and behaviors that could be harmful and perhaps even fatal to their chances of victory next time around.

Examples of this were in abundance during the just concluded budget debate in parliament. I have no reason to support the Barbados Labour Party or to wish to see that organization returned to office in the near future. But, as a student of politics I couldn’t help but observe some fundamental errors, the cause and origin of which would have to be placed squarely at the feet of the Leader of that party, Mia Mottley.

First, Mottley should not have attempted to reply to the budget. Receiving the mantle of leadership under the circumstances that she ought not, by itself, to be viewed as overnight acquisition of all wisdom, knowledge and understanding. Whether Mottley wishes to accept it or not, she has an image problem in Barbados. The jury is still out on whether she has the credentials to become a modern leader of Barbados. She is articulate and known for her male-like aggression in politics. But she brings much more than intellect to the table. She touts political baggage of a nature not previously associated with any aspiring leader of Barbados.

The just concluded budget was the first delivered by David Thompson since his assuming the office of Prime Minister. The state of the economy in Barbados is foremost in the minds of Barbadians at this time. One would have thought that the Barbados Labour Party would have nominated its most respected voice on economic matters to deliver its reply to the budget.

Owen Arthur might have gotten arrogant and even vindictive in his latter years as Prime Minister but he is still a respected voice on issues pertaining to the economy and the fiscal options of this country. A David Thompson budget responded to by Owen Arthur would have been an enthralling encounter from which Barbados could have benefited. Rather, because of the hasty decision by Owen Arthur to give up the leadership of his party in the wake of its defeat, he and all Barbados were forced to endure three hours of rambling diatribe that at the end of the day added nothing to the national debate of ‘whither Barbados’ in the throes of a regional and international economic, energy and food crisis.

Not only was Mottley lacking in focus, but also she ought to be tutored in the art of ‘where and when’ in politics. This was the occasion for her to be seen in a statesmanlike manner. She needed to display glimpses of her political maturity and growth in her new position. Rather, her inability to acknowledge ‘anything good’ in what her opponent does, as well as her tendency to want always to “take her opponent out”, did little for the softening of her image, which the new Vidal Sasson hair style and designer clothing are intended to achieve.

Previously I wrote on the folly of political makeovers, especially in circumstances where an individual is already defined by the public. I did not think David Thompson needed to look like anyone other than David Thompson to be embraced by the electorate of Barbados. I thought then and still feel now that Thompson was put through the hottest fires and the coldest winters by the Barbadian public, to ensure his preparedness for the job. He did not become Prime Minister of Barbados one day sooner or one day later than he deserved to.

Similarly, flashy hairstyles and designer female clothing are not going to significantly alter the image of Mia Mottley in Barbados. She is already defined. Her party will have to determine whether it can risk going into an election with her as its leader. But, dressing her like a political mannequin is not going to change the image that most Barbadians have acquired of her.

Voters in Barbados have always been very discerning in the selection of their leaders. Sir Henry Forde and Sir Harold St. John were among those rejected in the past 30 years, not because of their lack of intellect or grasp of politics, but because of other deficiencies that were no where near as damning as those associated with the current leader of the BLP.

So strategically, the Labour Party is making some errors. Its public makeover of Mia Mottley is becoming comical. The change is too drastic. She simply does not look right. Then, there is the issue of her declaration of $3.5 million in assets. That, I predict, will prove a costly political error. This is not ‘political hunting season’, therefore that stunt will be placed under the microscope at a later date.

Next week we shall analyze why Mia Mottley was unable to identify with the positives of the 2008 budget and whether her indifference to sensitive issues had anything to do with her never having caught a school bus, not being a parent and having never come face to face with poverty or other social hardships.

Categories: Barbados · Barbados Labour Party · Blogging · Caribbean · Caribbean News · Politics

113 responses so far ↓

• me // July 18, 2008 at 4:11 am

lets wait and see if the majority of bajans think the way you clearly do about Mia Amor Mottley!

• The scout // July 18, 2008 at 4:22 am

I too read the article and why Mia does have some baggage, show me the politician in b’dos that does not have? I would like to remind the DLP that they are now the ruling party and not the opposition.

• me // July 18, 2008 at 4:29 am

i posit that if DT and his band keep making mistakes that Bajans will not be so concerned about her lifestyle.

• TEMOHPAB // July 18, 2008 at 5:39 am

Let’s call a spade a spade. This Sandy Lane raised politician whose priomary agenda as A

• TEMOHPAB // July 18, 2008 at 5:54 am

Let’s call a spade a spade. This Sandy Lane raised politician whose primary agenda as Attorney General of Barbados was to legalise homosexual practises and prostitution.

She can never and will never identify with the common man in Barbados. Yet the misinformed and scrap-seekers of her constituency continue to vote for her.

She recently “disclosed” her3.5 million Barbadian dollars in assets, but neglected to mention the millions in offshore accounts.

Anyone remember in the aftermath of September 11th 2001, the US Government during investigations, unveiled a number of multi-million dollar accounts owned by Barbadian politicians and businessmen. As I distinctly recall Mia Mottley, then attorney general was quoted in THE NATION NEWSPAPER as saying “Heads will roll”, as she and then Prime Minister Owen Arthur, were leaving no stone unturned in ascertaining how these politicians amassed so much money given their salaries .

All of a sudden a few weeks later they were singing a different tune. I wonder why?

If Mottley is really serious, she should do the “manly” thing and reveal these additional, undisclosed assets.

I am, Truthseeker Temohpab.

• David // July 18, 2008 at 6:43 am

Members of the BU family may be wondering why have we printed this article. Whether we like Mia Mottley or not she is leader of the opposition, a position which is recognized under our constitution for its importance. A weak opposition leader will equate to a weakened democracy. The same way we have and will scrutinize Prime Minister from time to time so too we will Mottley.

In Mottley’s position of opposition leader I would want to hear feedback of all types at this early stage. If taken positively she and her party will be sure to benefit. Of course Mr. Henry is the DLP strategist and the BU family will have to filter his message as they see fit.

• The People's Democratic Congress // July 18, 2008 at 7:07 am

The fact of the mattter is this: the time has come in Barbados for both the DLP and BLP to be SET ASIDE in the interest of the further growth and development of this country; that electors in Barbados MUST STOP electing DLP and BLP Governments in this country, given the fact of so much local evidence being out here that our country Barbados is hardly going any where forward with the majority of electors in Barbados long continuing to allow themselves to be simply but falsely misled by some visionless and backward so-called DLP and BLP politicians and some of their supporters into the wasteful and rotten election of DLP and BLP Governments in this country.

Indeed, it is manifestly clear that these so-called politicians and some of these said supporters’ fundamental interests are really NOT in serving the country and its further and logical development, BUT are MAINLY in making sure that their personal, family, business and cronistic affairs – inside and outside of Barbados – are promoted and secured.

Moreso, the dirty but re-used strategy of almost ALL of these so-called politicians is TO ULTIMATELY USE many “poor and hapless” constituents cum electors (more than the former are able to use the latter) in order to get into and stay as long as possible in political office, so that they do achieve their goals of making sure that the personal, family, business and cronistic affairs that they have going are nearly always tended to and are really given maximum priority over other domestic and international affairs, generally speaking. Thus, in a very digusting manner – for these political nuisances – the fundamental interests of fostering and securing the affairs of the nation/state of Barbados are deliberately lowly placed on their political agenda.

How else do persons generally in Barbados explain the present DLP Government’s lack of resolve in sending back Indians – some of whom are racist towards Black people – and some others who have overstayed their time in Barbados to where they rightfully belong, esp. when there is clear evidence now of an increase in the number of Indians who are members of this old wretched and archaic DLP party, as contrasted with the far smaller number when the late great Right Excellent Errol Barrow was the political leader of the party?

It is very clear that they are so many unpatriotic members of the DLP and BLP that are allowing too many Indians into Barbados, to work, visit or whatsoever, so much so that it CANNOT REASONABLY BE DENIED THAT they are NOT operating in the fundamental strategic interests of the nation/state of Barbados and its further growth and development. This is just one reason why Barbadian electors MUST SET ASIDE the DLP and BLP. Another has to do with the fact of the wickedness and evil of CONTINUING TO IMPOSE TAXATION on the backs of the relevant people, businesses and other entities of this country, as made very evident in the recently presented Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, and when it is so clear that TAXATION will be Abolished in Barbados by a future PDC Government!!

Finally, we in PDC urge many more of our politically and historically conscious masses and middle classes people of Barbados to do every thing possible to make sure that A SCREECHING HALT is brought to this untoward and demeaning practice of our so–called kith and kin ( esp. those within the DLP and BLP) USING EVERY AVAILABLE OPPORTUNITY THEY HAVE to further sell out the vital interests of country, by our realising the goal of the SETTING ASIDE of both the BLP and DLP as soon as possible, and by our looking forward to the establishment of national coalitional government for this country. Certainly, for the mammoth degradation and unjust that the BLP and DLP would have done – since the 1980s – to this country and to many of its people, both these old and degrading parties MUST REALLY BE SEEN AS TOTALLY UNFIT TO ALONE OVERALL MANAGE THE AFFAIRS OF THIS COUNTRY, and MUST therefore now be forced – for the time being until the people TOTALLY DISPOSE OF THEM – to share state power and authority with other parties, non-party political groups and independent political persons in this country.

PDC

• The People's Democratic Congress // July 18, 2008 at 7:31 am

Inadvertence: line 3, paragraph 3 – instead of, “more than the former are able to use the latter”, it should have been, ” more than the latter are able to use the former”.

PDC

• Centipede // July 18, 2008 at 7:51 am

The PDC reminds me of Joey Harper… loves to ramble on and on with endless verbiage….

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 7:59 am

I must be to first admit that her first attempt to represent the people’s interest as the leader of HM opposition was a rambling, wild and empty presentation, very much like she herself as was evidenced in her abuse of each ministry she molested.

Her attempt to rubbish a Budget which took the worries and and hurt that affects the ordinary people in this society, shows a total disconnect and a total disregard and a total neglect for the ones that she is accused of representing.

The blp are in disarray from the top to the bottom, when Payne , Dugiud, Toppin, Eastmond and Lashley all REFUSE TO SIT FOR THE SPEECH OF Arthur, this speaks volumes of the disunity and hatred that exist for each other, it was ok when they were in office as everyone was getting their sweets of their blp being the Gov’t but in opposition their venom is now apparent towards to each other.

When even in the selection of an opposition leader mottley threatened to send them back to the polls for her seat if she was given the job, with that in mind no wonder there is disarray and disunity in their gathering of scamps.

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 8:01 am

Centipede // July 18, 2008 at 7:51 am

The PDC reminds me of Joey Harper… loves to ramble on and on with endless verbiage….
    AND SAY ABSOLUTELY NOTHING

I wonder how many votes the PDC managed to collect durining the last election???

• tstt // July 18, 2008 at 8:30 am

Who rambled more than the great Errol Barrow in his later years and campaigns. I am not a member of either party, I didn’t listen to nor did I read Mia’s reply to the budget, butI will say that of all the BLP speakers in the last election, she was amoung the two most elequent.

And we must admit that it was her pressure which forced David thompson to reverse his position on the Diesel subsidies. I believe that in time she will make an excellent PM.

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 8:38 am

she was among the two most eloquent.

I agree with you as well but in fairness to her despite her size she is only one person , I know she looks like two but on a closer look it is only one.

The point her is that she does not have the moral fabric nor the control to lead her party furthermore lead this country.

• tstt // July 18, 2008 at 8:57 am

And David Thompson has that moral fabric? Please!! He told us about Hardwood. Accused Clyde Mascol of being a thief. Put all kinds of inuendos into people’s heads. Couldn’t prove a darn thing. If I remember well in final big meeting of the campaing, he mentioned Hardwood once in what was a two hour or more speech. In that speech he simply said that Clyde came on Friday evenings and left with cash. No more mention of Hardwood. He does a forensic audit on Mascol, and still nothing to show. So he rakes the guys name thru the mud for no reason. Where is the morality there? Please!! The way things are shaping up right now, it is looking like Thompson will be a one term PM.
    Again, not a party member, just someone who was at Cawmere with both of them.

This site keeps making reference to Mia as a lesbian. So what? It has been suggested that Hilary Clinton might be that way, and Eugenia Charles of Dominica was rumored to be that way and it did stop them. Mia will make a great PM.

• Jo Blo // July 18, 2008 at 9:25 am

hartley henry should tell the ppl of barbados what he is paid as Principle Political Advisor to the PM and since that is now a public service position – he should then have to declare how much he is paid by the Government of Dominica, St. Kitts and the new govt in Grenada, he should also tell us if he is paid by the government of barbados when he is travelling hither thither and yonder first class with the PM of Dominica or whether he takes vacation when these trips frequently come up.

• Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 9:30 am

“The point her is that she does not have the moral fabric nor the control to lead her party furthermore lead this country.”

What moral fabric is this jerk talking about?
    Cameron Tudor was openly gay…and the late great Errol Walton Barrow whom we all love so much had an affair with Nina Simone…if fact she used to stay at Sam Lord’s Castle…
    “Nina left the United States in September 1970. The continuous performances and decline of the Civil Rights movement had exhausted her. Simone stayed in Barbados for quite some time, and had a lengthy affair with the Prime Minister, Errol Barrow. ”
    This is a well documented fact…and Barrow was married at the time…
    Please bee nor dee cant speak to anyone’s morality…
    Sealy out there screwing endless young girls in de middle of an AIDS epidemic on the island…
    Who are you all to speak to morality…
    HYPOCRITES…!

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 9:32 am

tstt Sadlyu you are out of touch with life in Barbados since 15th Jan you need to catch up.

Did you not hear( I am sure you did but neglect to state you did) that as a result of part one of the forensic audit they advised the Gov’t of Barbados that they awaited their suggestion to proceed into part 2 of the audit for which the PM gave the go ahead in his statement.

Jo Blo
    You need not worry he is not after you for robbing the taxpayers of $ 9,000.00 with the sole mission for you to pamper mottley and to call in the radio shows, you should be the last one to whimper.

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 9:37 am

Reaganomics based on your hatred of the dlp I wish you well in your vast number of years to come in the political wilderness that you and the blp will suffer.

Are you ready for the 15 or maybe even the 20 years in opposition that your party as sentenced you to in the form of mottleys leadership??

• Wasp // July 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

Hartley

I am a BEE of a different species. I prefer call myself a Wasp. I have a few points which I would like you to forward to the relevant Ministers.

(1) Legislation to ban smoking in public places.

(2) Setting up a Government department similar to the Office of Public Counsel, to hear complaints against other arms of Government .

(3) Setting up of a hot-line where complaints can be made against PSV operators and staff.

I know that the Dems are ready to pounce on me and ask why I didn’t forward these suggestions to my BLP parliamentary representative in the past. The truth is that seeing him was as hard as finding a needle in a haystack. I don’t expect to see the Dem rep either since I am a branded BEE (wasp).

I mentioned the ban on smoking because a stupid man lit a cigar two seats away from me at Kensington last month and almost choked everybody sitting close to him, with cigar smoke. Poor child , he wanted everyone to know that he graduated from Trumpeter cigarettes to Cigars. I have never seen or inhaled a bigger puff of smoke than on that occasion.

Re the Government Department to investigate complaints, I have heard of two cases where past employees of the Hilton Hotel are seeing hell to get their Contributory Pension now they have reached age 65. In one case , the NIS department can’t find the records of payments into the fund for the last 8 years of their employment at Hilton and Hilton themselves, under a new management and staff are helpless. Hilton’s Archives are stored at another location and the new staff don’t appear to know what to look for. Furthermore the person was made redundant in 1989 after 13 years at Hilton, received unemployment benefits from Verona House and was paid a redundancy cheque . Added to that, there should be records at the NIS for sickness benefits which the person received during the period they worked. The head of the NIS has ignored everything the disadvantaged person has told her and has advised the person that since there is no record at NIS, then they would have to settle for Non-Contributory Pension. Whom does the person turn to? I am sure that there are hundreds if not thousands of Barbadians who are treated similarly by the Head of the NIS and in some cases, because of circumstances , accept Non-Contributory Pension instead of Contributory to which they are entitled.

Finally, I have observed that there has been some improvement in the behavior of the PSV crew but last night I was almost deafened by the bass tones from one the lewdest Jamaican lyrics one can produce. The Mini Bus’ destination was Hillaby. There was no Owner’s name , telephone number or Insurer’s Company name displayed.

Mr Henry, if this is the wrong forum for these types of complaints, kindly make one available . Brass Tacks, ”Our Readers’ Column” in the daily newspapers or my DLP Constituency aren’t the places for ‘Wasps’ to make complaints. God Bless Barbados Underground and thank you in advance HH.

• Wishing In Vain // July 18, 2008 at 9:40 am

By the way you must also admit that Hartley has done a wonderful job with all his charges ask Owing, Mottley and Mitchell in Grenada he administered more uppercuts and body blows that any of them would have wished their enemy to have.

• tstt // July 18, 2008 at 9:46 am

So will the nation be told the full results of the audit or will we have to wait for an eternity as is the case with Branford Taitt. If memory serves me correct, the new Government had said that they have the report on Taitt. If so, why haven’t they release its contents?

• Redds // July 18, 2008 at 9:54 am

I am not afraid of the openly gay ones I applaud their honesty, it is the ones who hide behind their spouses and children that I am most afraid of.

• Duncee Dee // July 18, 2008 at 10:02 am

TSTT

It is a good thing that you are nonpartisan. For your information , Errol was a senior citizen when he rambled according to your posting. Voice-wise Mia sounds a lot like Errol in his final days but the content of their speeches couldn’t be further apart than the North Pole is from the South Pole.

• Duncee Dee // July 18, 2008 at 10:09 am

Gentlefolk

Let’s steer away from sex preferences on this file. As you can see, I am a newbee to blogging and first impressions speak volumes. I don’t think that BU is the place for that kind of debate.

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 10:42 am

Anwar Makes Bail in Sodomy Case, Could Face DNA Test
    By James Hookway
    Word Count: 730
    KUALA LUMPUR — Malaysian police investigating sodomy allegations against opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim released the politician on bail, less than a day after he was arrested. But police warned they might detain Mr. Anwar again and force him to give a DNA sample as part of their investigation — a threat that could escalate political tensions here.

Mr. Anwar was released from custody Thursday morning after his dramatic arrest the day before, when members of a special police unit wearing masks detained him near his home in Kuala Lumpur. At a news conference following his release, Mr. Anwar maintained he …

• JC // July 18, 2008 at 10:43 am

Wasp, I know for sure that I am not a Bee never would bee hahhalol. However, so what if you are a bee who has turned into a wasp! YOU ARE A BAJAN!

And those problems you have mentioned need to be resolved!

Welcome to BU Duncee D!

• Real Ting // July 18, 2008 at 11:02 am

Well said wasp . those in pwoer would do well to heed those suggestions.

on the political baggage situation, barbadians have always been more acceptive of village ram politicians than of homosexuals so the baggage issue is a real consideration BUT Barbadians expect a lot from this government and if it does not deliver change in the social position and cost of living as well as the lowering of the incidence of mismanagement wastage and corruption in government then Crapeau, Rupaul or Ossie More could lead the BLP to victory in the next election.

• Real Ting // July 18, 2008 at 11:06 am

the time for complaints about PSV’s long gone . they want the big stick and a small carrot. reform or brace for the stick. reform and get a little more carrot. Simple.

• Redds // July 18, 2008 at 11:22 am

RT, help me out what is that carrot? The only carrot could be a raise in busfares.

• Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 11:41 am

“Reaganomics based on your hatred of the dlp I wish you well in your vast number of years to come in the political wilderness that you and the blp will suffer.”

No one hates any DLP or BLP…
    You all need to stop speculating about people’s
    personal lives…and talking nonsense about people’s physical attibute…
    It’s not funny…for the most part you Bajans aint cute…so look in the mirror…and deal with issues and stop side tracking…
    Is Freundel Stuart cute?
    Was Dame Nita a size four woman?
    Was Errol Barrow a slim atheletic man?
    Who sounds like more woman than David Thompson…if it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck…it’s a duck…
    Most Bajans come from families where both mother and father have multiple sex partners and children from multiple partners…every single family is tainted by that reality…including yours WIV…everybody got half brother and half sister, from mother side and from father side…(blame it on slavery or whatever…but it’s the reality)
    SO WHAT MORAL FABRIC YOU TALKING BOUT…
    Dont go down the road on the morality debate at all…!
    None o wunna cant tell de nexx one to come back!
    Look in the mirror WIV…..we know who you are!

• Redds // July 18, 2008 at 11:48 am

Reaganomics as a cute bajan, I agree with every thing you say especially the duck statement, lol

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 12:25 pm

Can anybody remember anything Mia Mottley said in her budget reply other than declaring her “assets” and claiming that someone charge government 25000 bds for a lock?

During de election campaign, down in Deacon’s farm Mia Mottley declared “I am who I am” and while i expected her to follow this declaration with her pet conjoining statement “and i go further” she did not and we were left to speculate as too what “I am” really means or points too. Reegan you know? or you still think we should only pay attention to how nice she looks and speaks and nothing further? Can we go further? or only Mia is allowed to say and do so?

….ha ha ha ha uh tell yuh with all her make overs um becoming very difficult to recognize her by sight, only by sound.

David Thompson voice? what about Kerrie “Mia i have your voice” Simmonds????

• Duncee Dee // July 18, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Reaganomics

Shame on you. I thought that Blacks calling Blacks ‘black’ to insult them was a thing of the past i.e when education was hard to come by.

You need to go down to the Archives and do some research on your family background. What nonsense you talking about black ugly man. Half hour at the Archives would reveal that the Governor General, The Chief Justice and the Leader of the Opposition can’t trace their roots past 1833 i.e when names were given to the descendants of the first slaves on the island. David Thompson can only do it on his maternal ancestry. All uh we Blacks are the same. You might be a lighter shade of black , so wuh?

• Anonymous // July 18, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Reganomics is peltdownman and he is white.

• Mintue Mouse // July 18, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Tstt
    For your information the WHOLE HARDWOOD story is so true that if the general public had to really really get some of the fact that are hidden to keep some of these so call people whom you all love so dearlt outta DODDS ,Prime Minister Thompson DID not lie,but then again some of us do not want to believe the truth soooooooo,we hide our heads in the sand.tsk tsk to back enought said.

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 1:33 pm

Mintue Mouse // July 18, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Tstt
    For your information the WHOLE HARDWOOD story is so true that if the general public had to really really get some of the fact that are hidden to keep some of these so call people whom you all love so dearlt outta DODDS ,Prime Minister Thompson DID not lie,but then again some of us do not want to believe the truth soooooooo,we hide our heads in the sand.tsk tsk to back enought said.
    =================================

If there is sufficient evidence to prosecute someone for Hardwoods and that evidence is known and being withheld, those so doing are as guilty and complicit as the actual crooks themselves.

Let axe fall on the hacks , and in the Hardwood case let the hammer of justice fall on the crooks, if they are indeed crooks.

• Duncee Dee // July 18, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Anonymous

The only whites we have in Barbados are the Bakra
    Johnnies from St. John and their descendants. All the others posing as white have traces of black. Hear what I tell you? They leave the Archives heavy hearted each time they go down there. Many of them would like to host a family reunion but they can’t because they would have to invite cousins like you , Reaganomics and me. Lol

• Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 1:54 pm

“Reaganomics

Shame on you. I thought that Blacks calling Blacks ‘black’ to insult them was a thing of the past i.e when education was hard to come by. ”

Seems as if the post was edited Duncee Dee…
    SO MUCH FOR YOUR LITTLE BLOG PROMOTING FREEDOM OF SPEECH…
    Funny isnt it…you all get on here and verbally abuse indians and whites, left, right and center…now the tables are turned…it hurts…doesnt it…
    WIV is ugly and hates himself…putrid character…and most o ya all Bajans suffer from self-hatred…that’s the root of all forms of hatred and discrimination…it starts with self-hatred…
    Check wunna selves…!

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 1:57 pm

So Reagonmics base on your thesis, which seems to suggest that we are all related in this pool of incest call Barbados, then it stands to reason that my pass musings of how much David Simmonds and Mia Mottley look and sound alike might have some validity???????? ha ha ha ha ha ha lol!

• Wishing in Vain // July 18, 2008 at 2:09 pm

Reaganomics,

Once again please enjoy your stay in the wilderness that the in fighting that is so clearly manifesting itself at the present time has commited you to.

Who is your defacto leader??

Marshall, Payne, Eastmond, Arthur or mottley???

I am happy with who I am and what I stand for unlike so many others like part one of your two parts leader who does not know what or what not to embrace as was evident in her recent wild silly mouthings to be critical of a Budget that helps provide for the ones that need the help the most and removes the burden of BUS FARES from the parents of this islands children only because she mottley has never known what it is to suffer from anything or to ever have lacked for anything, having been raised in an elite family, I seriously doubt if she has ever had the need to line and wait for a school bus, she cannot speak to the needs of those that have done so, she can only speak in third hand or fourth hand or by reported speech not by her own living of the hard life, she has not lived it nor will she ever live it not with the Mottley family money behind her to back her ambitions.

Remember the Mottleys see themselves as the rulers of this tiny nation, let us think before we act in future!!!!!

• tstt // July 18, 2008 at 2:12 pm

Minute Mouse

If the whole hardwood thing is true as you say, then that means that Thompson has proof- irrefutable proof. If I remember well from the campaign, he promised to bring all these thieves before the courts.

So if he has proof that Clyde is a thief of Governenment money, then let criminal proceedings begin. Until then, I say that David Thompson owes Clyde Mascoll a very sincere apology.

• Reaganomics // July 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

“I seriously doubt if she has ever had the need to line and wait for a school bus, she cannot speak to the needs of those that have done so, she can only speak in third hand or fourth hand or by reported speech not by her own living of the hard life…”

Is it a crime to be born into a wealthy family…?
    Isnt that what you desire for you and your offspring…
    Dont you wish the future generation to be better off than the last?
    Is David Thompson from a poor family?
    Was Cameron Tudor poor? Was Errol Barrow poor?
    Do u have 2 b poor to understand the plight of the poor or do u simply need 2 have a sensitivity to human suffering?
    No one in their right mind is against free bus rides for school children…
    What sensible, reasonable and rational people are questioning…is the ability to implement the “free ride” without major dislocation…
    Can the Transport Board accommodate the excess from the private system without altering and shifting routes that will affect commuters throughout the island…
    Before you go off gloating…let’s see how it works…
    Let’s see if the system will get all children to school by the start of school…or if loads of children will be left at the bus stops waiting for hours because the buses are late, full, or simple unavailable…
    Let’s see if sensible parents will not continue to send their children to school on the private system…
    Freeness is not the answer…it’s a populist attempt that is not well thought out…
    LET WAIT AND SEE…

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

TSTT: Be reasonable, David Thompson could never have said what you suggest. If that is what you inferred, it still cannot be the utterance of the man. Think of it. If David Thompson had irrefutable evidence would he have called for a foresic audit?

…..Wher is the St.Joseph Hospital report????? do we need a search warrent for Owen Arthur’s home in Wanstead?

• tstt // July 18, 2008 at 2:33 pm

Mintue Mouse // July 18, 2008 at 1:22 pm

Tstt

tstt // July 18, 2008 at 2:12 pm

Minute Mouse

If the whole hardwood thing is true as you say, then that means that Thompson has proof- irrefutable proof. If I remember well from the campaign, he promised to bring all these thieves before the courts.

So if he has proof that Clyde is a thief of Governenment money, then let criminal proceedings begin. Until then, I say that David Thompson owes Clyde Mascoll a very sincere apology

*** Nuff said.

• Tell me Why // July 18, 2008 at 4:12 pm

David of BU, you are a marketing expert. You throw out a bait and all the sharks trying to get a bite. I prefer to keep away from this discussion due to the direction it is taking and nothing will be accomplished .

• Anonymous // July 18, 2008 at 4:59 pm

Just signed on and as usual in two twos the thread is about anything else but what the headline says. Lord have mercy.

• Temohpab // July 18, 2008 at 5:17 pm

The current David Thompson Budget to my mind is a step in the right direction and for once seeks to address legitimate concerns of the maajority of the bajan electorate. The BLP MANDATE has always catered to the whims and fancies of the Barbadian elite, while throwing scraps to the “yard-fowls” who obsequiously wallow in their wake.

This brings to mind the ludicrous shelling out of millions of taxpayers dollars to the drug-dealing/drug-using “Boys-on-the-block”, many of whom used this cash to either buy dope wholesale for later distribution, or to buy drugs to use themselves.

That money could have been paid to police to enforce a dusk-to-dawn curfew keeping these boys off the block, thus curtailing drug sales as well as depriving criminals of a congregating place.

Oh and Reaganomics and the rest of you HOMO SYMPATHISERS, you can rest assured that the majority of bajans will fight tooth and nail to stymie the HOMO AGENDA. I was born and bred in St. Andrew , Barbados and my old man taught me by example that a man must be a man in all things, never compromising.

This epidemic of homosexuals pervades our society and tramples over politiical and partisan boundaries. I place the late J. Cameron Tudor, who disgraged Barbados in the UK by trying to seduce a young boy and Mia Mottley, with her aggressive, woman-beating habits and Jerome Walcott, who is a late-night predator on the city streets of Barbados, looking for male whores to bugger and all the rest of these miscreants, in the same sick category.

I must commend the current Jamaican Prime Minister on his recent stand regarding homosexuals in his cabinet.

I say NO to the HOMO!!!

• me // July 18, 2008 at 5:23 pm

LOl Im scared of you…

• me // July 18, 2008 at 5:35 pm

Reagonomics….it is very difficult to open close minds even on a blog. People on here basically keep spouting ” do as I say not as I do…” Very hypocritical but they just dont see it that way!

I think its a shame that we get so caught up in rumour and innuendo about the personal lives of people that we lose focus on the good that they do or are capable of doing…

Some idiot is bigging up the Jamaican prime minister when it is clear that he could use afew good gay men abd women in his cabinet giving all the trouble he and his country is having!

Ignorance must be BLISS!

• Temohpab // July 18, 2008 at 7:21 pm

Don’t know about you fella but I walk the walk, and will talk the talk. Why should I open my mind to the prospect of screwing boys and men. If these perverts stop blatantly flaunting and promoting ifetyles there won’t be any rumours.

Fact of the matter is there are laws prohibiting buggery in Barbados, like it or not.

And by the way it is offensive to use the word GAY, which means happy or jovial, to label a homosexual. If you homos here are so loyal to your cause, then call it what it is. So go ahead and say these words “I’m happy and proud to be a BULLER…oops I mean a HOMOSEXUAL!”

• Bajejun // July 18, 2008 at 7:54 pm

Reaganomics
    Your stance on immorality is hypocritical.
    In the U.S. (where interestingly enough you took your handle for this blog) immoral behaviour is rampant , and a lot of it shielded by the American constitution. Yet let any political figure get caught in any homosexual or Adulterous act and see what happens to him or her.
    I agree immorality is rampant also in Barbados but does that mean the we should throw our hands up in the air and leave it alone? .That’s what placed this world in the moral decay it now so gravely faces in the first place . I f your father was a murderer and your mother was a murderer , is it fair for us to assume that you too will be a murderer.

• Anonymous // July 18, 2008 at 7:57 pm

Temohpab,
    I hope Ronald Jones, Richard Sealy and Freundel Stuart don’t tek you on. Watch out for that young DLP senator.

• me // July 18, 2008 at 8:32 pm

LOL

If you guys only knew the private lives of everyone you hold up so dearly you would stop with this high and mighty hypocritical nonsense!

What does a persons sexual oreintation have to do with their ability to perform their job. ?

And why are some of you so full of hate ( isnt that a sin)… mind your own business and let people get on with theirs.

Unless you are intersted in joining the gays why does it bother you so…

There are more than enough women in BIm for you to fuup, impregnate and abandon… and you can marry and divorce as much as you want.

Live and let live.

• Tony Hall // July 18, 2008 at 8:38 pm

I find that with this topic bloggers are getting too personal. Discuss the issues.

• me // July 18, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Bajejun

Barney Frank is one of several OUT gay politicians in the USA and he still maintians his position. I think that the politicians that are hurt by they private behaviour are the ones that presnet a false front like the former governor of New York, who prosecuuted aginst prostitution yet was doing prostitutes continually in secret so I dont see your point.

Mia has never discussed her private life with any of you AND more importnatly she has never condemned any of you for being adulterers and fornicators so it seems to me that you are being very unfair to her.

Your assumptions about her privtae life nad the private life of anyone are irrelevant unless you can show that their ability to do the job is affected by it!

So which country is this world is not immoral?

• Adrian Hinds // July 18, 2008 at 9:51 pm

me // July 18, 2008 at 8:50 pm

Bajejun

Barney Frank is one of several OUT gay politicians in the USA and he still maintains his position. I think that the politicians that are hurt by they private behaviour are the ones that presnet a false front like the former governor of New York, who prosecuuted aginst prostitution yet was doing prostitutes continually in secret so I dont see your point.
    =================================
    Check out Barney Frank in the pic below he is older of the two. He was caught cheating on his partner with this person. Nothing worst than an adulterer.

http://www.houstonvoice.com/2005/5-6/arts/dish/dish-barney-frank2.jpg

Barney Frank like Mia have the support of their constituents. Barney like Mia may never have the support of the majority of their fellow citizens as their Leader.

• Tell me Why // July 19, 2008 at 12:18 am

I find that with this topic bloggers are getting too personal. Discuss the issues.
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    I made a comment earlier regarding my posting any statement about this article, but after reading Hartley’s article at 11 p.m in today’s Advocate, I am now of the opinion that these two entities have now amalgamated. In its over 100 year history, we are seeing this newspaper being bowing to political pressures and allowing themselves to be abused by an advisor. The headline spoke about Errors, but the article have not explained the real errors but goes on to attack the gender of the opposition leader using clear cut language that can be challenged in the people’s court. Paragraph by paragraph HH tried to deliver below the belt insults.
    Here are some of the personal attacks on the lady which I have a fundamental problem with. I am ashamed that a paper would stoop to such a low for political favours. Check with the statements below and judge for yourself:-
    - male-like aggression in politics

- softening of her image, which the new Vidal Sassoon hair style and designer clothing are intended to achieve.

- flashy hairstyles and designer female clothing

- dressing her like a political mannequin

- Its public makeover of Mia Mottley is becoming comical. The change is too drastic

HH your paper article is ‘ a mirror image’ of the famous Wishing in Vain. Same style, same impression, same ideology. Probably, you are the said person or may I say you have a split personality.

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 12:27 am

That Hartley Henry article is nasty…
    Why would any decent political party have him as their mouth piece?
    We’ve now entered an era of hate mongering and politicians who pander to every issue that they believe will make them popular…
    Give the jokers time…it’ll all backfire sooner or later, as it always does.

• Wishing In Vain // July 19, 2008 at 1:14 am

Reaganomics / Tell me Why

We have no doubt that you will not enjoy the Hartley Henry article maybe because it applies the realism that you so willfully try to evade.

You have many issues ahead and the first most pressing issue is who or what is your leader???

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 1:26 am

WIV
    “We have no doubt that you will not enjoy the Hartley Henry article maybe because it applies the realism that you so willfully try to evade.

You have many issues ahead and the first most pressing issue is who or what is your leader???”
    What order of an ass are you? n whois ur leader? U monkey! stop aping politicians u stupid monkey!
    U kno who runs bdos? Certainly not Hartley Henry nor Thompson nor owen nor mia. De white man runs bdos, you idiot.
    De white man in de background laffin and watching idiots like u descend n2 tribalism. YOU UGLY MAN! GET LOST U JERK!

• Temohpab // July 19, 2008 at 1:41 am

I harbour no hatred for any human being but I do detest the subtle and sometimes blatant indoctrination of our children by homosexual predators in high places. If a man or woman has a hankering for those of their own respective genders that’s their personal business but I take an affront to them flaunting their perversions with a view to snaring the young and underprivileged, who due to economic pressures succumb to the seductions of these well-to-do homo predators.

Hartley Henry is spot-on with his article.The woman is a confirmed lesbian, who is known to aggressively persue younger females. So the horse has left the stable long ago and any attempts to transform Mottley into a politically correct female caricature is an exercise in futility.

Bajans are not as stupid as some of you here may think and their memories are certainly not short. I do reacall a while ago that in adition to her agenda of decriminalising homosexuality and prostitution, Mia Mottley harbours a desire to abolish school prayers. She doggedly seeks to debride the moral fibre of Barbados by any means necessary and I cringe at the thought of her ever becoming the leader of this country.

A country or society is gauged or assessed according to the character or lack thereof of its leader. President George W Bush is a classic case in point and the world as a whole ridicule Americans due to his inadequacy and buffonery.

In New York City, Bajan is synonymous with homo and lesbian, especially among the Caribbean populace there and I find this ultra-offensive and Mottley and those of their ilk need to cease acting like they alone speak for the general population of Barbados, the majority of which is God-fearing and of the heterosexual persuasion.

I wonder what her father thinks of her sexual orientation, then again the berry never falls far from the tree.

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 2:01 am

the moral fibre of Barbados ?

the general population of Barbados, the majority of which is God-fearing ?

God fearing people dont hate!
    What moral fibre what? A legacy of men with children from several women – on the same street? Women with multiple partners? What moral fibre? High level of abuse and drug use and alcoholism.
    Moral fibre? What a laff!

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 2:36 am

Reaganomics you are talking nonsense and you know it. Strange that our drug addicted/alcoholic/promiscuous country is so atttractive to all other Caribbean nationals they literally sell their souls to get a piece of our Rock.

Last I read Trinidadians bought up the majority of Apes Hill estate lots and a major portion of Georgetown Guyana’s population have taken root in Bimshire. Should I mention the the large St. Lucian and Vincentian presence which runs Hall’s Road to the Bayland? Need I go on?

Believe me your idiotic and misinformed comments are offensive to me as a 100% Bajan and I’m sure all others here are offended as well.

Now I’m convinced you are no Bajan. Now I suggest you crawl back into your cave in Reagan-land and invite your homo friends and fellow sympathisers over. We can do without your type in Flying Fish Land.

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 2:48 am

“Believe me your idiotic and misinformed comments are offensive to me as a 100% Bajan and I’m sure all others here are offended as well.”

Truth hurts, doesnt it?
    What moral fibre what?
    TRUTH HURTS…look at your legacy. Stop throwing stones if ya live in a glass house. U idiot.

• me // July 19, 2008 at 5:24 am

Im a bjan 100% that lives in BIM and I agree with reaganomics …

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 5:29 am

My legacy is solid fella. Worked hard and achieved. From your reaction I can tell thr truth is killing YOU, you damn moron. Also if you have such a low opinion of Barbados and Bajans, go live in Guyana, T & T, Jamaica or Haiti. I’m sure they’d love to have you.

Evidently this whole affair has you knickers all bunched up. I am a Barbadian, born and bred and proud of it!!

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 5:35 am

Any more homo-sympathisers care to join Reaganomic’s bandwagon?

I mean really all this indignation due to a man taking a stand against homosexual practises.

• bajan4real // July 19, 2008 at 6:01 am

I want Mia to be leading the BLP to the next general elections so David could rip the cloths off her fat rump.

• Referee // July 19, 2008 at 6:46 am

The more Reaganomics writes, the more he comes over as a Dominican Carib. Just because they have a little kinky hair and a straight nose they refer to other Dominicans as “You ugly person” and other terms used by Reagan. Furthermore he is defending Mia with the passion that the Caribs defended Eugenia Charles, a Mia look alike and talk alike. Anything else I can add WIV? What is a 100% Bajan product? Seldom is the raw material Bajan. Most of the times it is imported stuff which is assembled here. Reagan’s boast that he 100 % Bajan can fall into category.

• Tony Hall // July 19, 2008 at 7:01 am

This is getting nassty? Why all the personal attacks?

• Tony Hall // July 19, 2008 at 7:01 am

This is getting nasty. Why all the personal attacks?

• Temohpab // July 19, 2008 at 7:27 am

Here’s my heritage story. I am no Barbadian by descent or naturalisation or by fraud:

My father’s father is of African-Scottish-Irish descent and his people hailed from St. John and St.Phillip. Actually one of his ancestors led a slave revolt, which ranged across the eastern section of the island and he ultimately met his demise at the hand of the manager of Haggatt’s Plantation, St. Andrew, who shot him dead.

My father’s maternal grandparents are off African slave stock bred at Bruce Vale Plantation, St. Andrew.

My mother’s family originated from African slave stock at Burnt House, Rock Hall and Black Bess Plantations, St.Andrew.

My paternal grandfather was one of the Barbadian Labourers who participated in the construction of the Panama Canal and was one of the first black men of the early 2oth Century in Barbados to own his own land outright and who had the right to vote. He and his brothers were early supporters of Grantley Adams and the Barbados Labour Party.

I am one of 4 siblings educated at the venerable Harrison College, myself under the tutelage of such as Albert Williams, Canon Ivor Jones, Lady Adams (Tom’s mother), Anthony Walrond and Ralph Jemmott to name a few. Anthony Wood was my senior, Donville Inniss and David “Kid Site” Piggott my contemporaries and Kerry Symmonds was my junior. I could go on but ’nuff said.

What’s your claim to “Bajanicity”, Reaganomics?

• David // July 19, 2008 at 8:29 am

What does a blame culture do? Our society is not perfect and will never be. If we chose to target one ill in the society others will say what about the others, and it goes on. So what do we do?

Do we surrender and say well there is fornication, adultery, lie, steal etc so leave homosexuality and other acts which many feel to be immoral. So will say this is a cul-de-sac debate which leaves what?

Well we know the position of some, live and let live.

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 8:53 am

David

I would like to suggest 2 things:

You remember a couple weeeks ago you told negroman quite sternly if he continued along the lines he was – then he was ging to get ban?

I believe it was because he used the phrase ‘ethnic cleasing”.I encouraged him then to be careful because we value his contribution.

Please tell me why you have allowed peltdownman aka reganomics aka facists to post the vilest of racist comments against black bajans on this site and all you have done this morning is to tell him he has been given latitude and be carful.

Under this very thread he has repeatedly call wishing in vain a monkey,ugly black man (I believe he relly mean to use the ‘N’ word) on the other thread he has refered to persons as barefoot black people -using out tiolets and riding in donkey carts – and yet you either engage him in conversation – but do not ban him.

I know you are very liberal with this censorship idea – but for goodness sake – we the contributors to your blog who are mostly bajan and black – like I assume yourself – can’t help but feel that it is like a man coming in our house to insult our wives or daughters – and we are powerless to do anything about it – how can this be fair?

This from a man who accuses the other bloggers of being racists in their views and comments.

From his contributions last night and this morning – he has become very emboldened by your inactivity on the matter.

I believe there is a limit to free speech – and reganomics has reached his.

Only you can defend us from these hurtful, racist personal insults.

Please ban him from the site perhaps even on a temporary basis to let himsee you are serious on this matter.

Secodly you may wish to consider if you see it fit to do so – a deletion of those long,legal extracts by BWWR,or keltruth and others that are posted under Submissions – because it took me so long to scroll down to post this comment that I gave up and came here

What may happen is that off comments meant for submission may go elsewhere – because of the bulk of these legal posts.

I believe any one wishing to read them could go on keltruth or on another site set by BWWR.

Thank You.

• me // July 19, 2008 at 8:55 am

but is it fair to demonise a group of people who are no less moral than the majority of you…

Why select homosexuals?

A far better exercise would be to work on yourself and work out a way that you could be a better person instead of condemning others unless you think that condemning others somehow gets you points in heaven

Barbados has a lot of problems but these have nothing to do with what homosexuals do in their bedroom…work on them and levae people who are not troubling alone!

the original issue was about Mia…

Is MIA the first and only woman who some may consider masculine?
    Is David thompson masculine?
    Does the fact that he has a wife and kids make him 100% heterosexual?

Is Ronald Sealy Striaght?

Is Does Richard Sealy sleep around?

Do these questions tell us whther they can mange the guyanese problem or not?

How about the gas prices? How about education?

What about you… Do we get to peep in your bedroom to see whether you can be an authority on morality?

• David // July 19, 2008 at 9:02 am

@me

We admit that there are points on both sides of the aisle. The reality for Mia is this issue will not go away. It will come and go as the next election comes. But we can assure you that she will have to deal with it because it will become an issue next election for her. We are sure that you know that it is simmering.

• David // July 19, 2008 at 9:07 am

@Anonymous

We have banned people before and we have had to delete comments before and when we reach that point in our best judgement we will again but we hope we don’t have to. It is a learning we create by being able to tolerate difference. For example me and the BU household are not on all fours on the matter of homosexuality but we read me’s views and try to understand the arguments put forward.

In the case of Reaganomics we know who he is and we will give him some latitude to get whatever of his chest. We assure you that we are reading his comments carefully. We also know he is a black Barbadian and for that reason we have ignored some of his comments which have bordered on nasty.

We will see.

• Wishing In Vain // July 19, 2008 at 9:29 am

Reaganomics It seems that you and your lot have nothing sensible to say as was displayed by mottleys ramblings in her reply to the Budget but it seems to have followed Serenader into his singing as well.

Unfortunately for two-time monarch Serenader, however, it was not just cents that were missing but words, as he forgot his lines and left the stage prematurely.

• JC // July 19, 2008 at 9:29 am

Anon in todays paper there is a story of a guyanese who went on a rampage at Bayview Hospital and is now in Dodds.

It seems as if he was asked to leave and decided to break a window; but you have not heard the best.

Imagine, he had the audacity to ask for a phone call to Austria to call his wife! the judge replied we are paying for your deprtation already! LOL

This place has turned into a loony toon town! Marsha is leading the race of loonies and traitors!

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 9:30 am

David

Thank you very much for your response.

I am really surprised to find out that he is black.

David what could have caused him to be so venomous?

He must feel really threatened by the impending changes.

I feel so naive and innocent among a nest of vipers.

• Wishing In Vain // July 19, 2008 at 9:36 am

We admit that there are points on both sides of the aisle. The reality for Mia is this issue will not go away. It will come and go as the next election comes. But we can assure you that she will have to deal with it because it will become an issue next election for her. We are sure that you know that it is simmering.
    Then again who knows she may be side stepped for the post of leadership, she may well be allowed to lead the party going into the next election with them having no real chance of winning anyway so she maybe permitted to carry them thru but the real challenge will come in 15 years when they may feel that they have some hope of winning they may well replace her for a more suitable person with a good moral background and someone of substance and worth.

• Wishing In Vain // July 19, 2008 at 9:40 am

Then again David 15 years down the line Barbadians maybe more tolerant of Gays ands Lesbians than there are in 2008.

The agression and beating aspect will never go away, and that will be her downfall.

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 9:44 am

“Under this very thread he has repeatedly call wishing in vain a monkey,ugly black man (I believe he relly mean to use the ‘N’ word) on the other thread he has refered to persons as barefoot black people -using out tiolets and riding in donkey carts – and yet you either engage him in conversation – but do not ban him.”
    Anon…if u read very carefully, u will realize dat these are obvious taunts 2 impress upon others not 2 attack becuz this is how people view u.
    There is nothing engaging in HH’s article and when some1 makes the point bout “god-fearing” and “moral fibre” then the rebuttal is 2 laff becuz both parties and indeed the whole society is guilty.
    The irony is y would some1 go after a political career n subject themselves to dis kind of abuse from the people they fight for 2 advance. That really baffles me. Maybe that’s y politicians quickly lose their idealism n c afta themselves and their families becuz they become jaded by the abuse they hav 2 take from the very people they’re trying to advance. So the more u continue 2 abuse them the more u push them in2 selfishness as opposed to selflessness. Think about who will be attracted 2 bajan politics in 20 yrs. Who will want to run?

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 9:56 am

What makes homosexuality worse than adultery? I am wary of doing business with someone who cheats on their spouse. My rationale is that if a person would hurt their spouse and possibly their children then what would they do to me? Or, are there big sins and little sins?

The test of a person’s fitness for public office should be on the basis of the ideas they articulate and whether their personal behaviour can be definitively shown to negatively and substantially affect others.

• Icansee // July 19, 2008 at 10:03 am

It is within the rights of a person to live an alternate lifestyle. It is not their right to demand that I accept or support them in doing such.
    Homosexuals are free to live yes, by why are they trying to convert the world to their way of life.
    Mia is what she is and the majority of “real” bajans will reject her and her party when it comes down to the nitty gritty. Her constituency is not the entire country.

• Bush tea // July 19, 2008 at 10:07 am

My problem with Mia is not only her publicly unconventional lifestyle which ‘Me’ is so keen to defend, but also the fact that she has consistently and aggressively been using her position to appoint her “women friends” to positions that they did not merit.
    I also hate this practice where appointments were made by males of their women friends etc.

In short, she is too petty and inconsiderate to be a good leader. This can be seen in each of the areas for which she has held political responsibility.

…and ‘Me’, it is one thing to represent the RIGHT of any individual to live whatever lifestyle pleases them, but when it comes to establishing NATIONAL standards of acceptable behaviors, do you really think that the majority of us should be guided by fringe groups and deviants?

Also, why should we be comfortable with a leader who promotes a lifestyle that runs contrary to the nationally accepted norm?

Come down off your high horse ‘Me’, If Mia wants to be our leader then she needs to champion national standards, national norms and national consensus – no matter what her PERSONAL biases are…

…of course it is much easier for us to select someone who ALREADY have personal biases that are in sync with our national norms… but I would admit that a MATURE leader with unconventional personal leanings could be an effective leader.

But it is fairly obvious that Mia would like to convert us all to her way of thinking… by Law if need be.. and Bajans naturally will not support this…. so David is correct in his conclusion that this will always be an issue for voters.

• Reaganomics // July 19, 2008 at 10:29 am

“Also, why should we be comfortable with a leader who promotes a lifestyle that runs contrary to the nationally accepted norm?”
    “…to champion national standards, national norms and national consensus…”
    “a MATURE leader with unconventional personal leanings could be an effective leader”

Very well said Bushtea:
    Leader A had an affair with an American singer.

Leader B womanized from St. Lucy to St. Philip while married.

Leader C had an affair, divorce he wife and marry de woman he had an affair with.

It’s very hard to demand moral rectitude of person’s in public life because humans are fallible and weak.
    Think of the priest who can command a flock but cant control his own children.
    Think of policemen who uphold the law but then abuse their own families.
    Think of men and women who draft and implement rules, laws and legislation but cant run their own families, yet set the laws for all citizens to abide by.
    This is the philosophical reason y u cannot hold man to such lofty ideals.

• Anonymous // July 19, 2008 at 10:34 am

Bush tea means that he would vote for an old bu33#r but not a young one!

• Referee // July 19, 2008 at 11:29 am

TEMOHPAB

I read your heritage story with great interest. We have a lot in common and I suspect every member of the BU family, apart from Reagan, is of similar ancestry. My maternal line can be traced to African-Scottish from St. Peter whereas my paternal line is all African. They were slaves on more than one St. Joseph plantation. We attended the same institution on Crumpton Street but I belong to the generation before you. Some of your teachers and Mia’s dad (a perfect gentleman) were my contemporaries. I can’t believe that apples can fall so far from a tree. IN DEO FIDES

• Temohpab // July 19, 2008 at 10:16 pm

Bush Tea, your post is the most sensible I have read in this thread and I endorse your comments 100%.

Referee I’m deligted to make your acquaintance and hope that others here would be as bold and proud as you and I, in revealing our deep blo0d-ties to our hallowed homeland and commit to being “STRICT GUARDIANS OF OUR HERITAGE”.

I would also take this opportunity to apologise to any person offended by my previous posts and will make it known that though I am stringently opposed to homosexuality and all it stands for and promotes, I do not advocate discrimination against those of that persuasion and they do deserve to exist in peace and without fear.

I am FIERCELY protective of Barbadian heritage and way of life, which in the past twenty years has become threatened, especially with the out-of-control immigration policy of the BLP. CSME too is very flawed and our country will derive the least benefits of the member territories. The “Big Three”, Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago and Jamaica have tangible natural resources and extensive unused land area, yet their currencies are weak as compared to our own. I am no financial wizard but my way of thinking is that to cover all the region’s economies under one umbrella, “Peter will pay for Paul”, meaning that by virtue of our economic status, Barbados will have to shoulder the debts of Guyana, T& T, Jamaica and the other states, and adopting or establishing a common currency will mean the devaluation of our own. That is the stark reality of it all.

Am I opposed to Caribbean unity? Absolutely not. However I believe such an entity like CSME should have a mandate based on duty-free trade, with each territory specialising in certain commodities, for example Guyana due to its vast acreage of unused arable land and numerous water sources, could be the CSME’s food-basket, Trinidad& Tobago exclusive supplier of petroleum products and asphalt, Jamaica and Guyana, aluminium products. The smaller territories such as Barbados, Antigua etc. could be suppliers of intellectual resources such as people trained in internet and information technology as well as highly trained tradespeople such as builders, mechanics, electricians , welders etc.

For CSME to succeed each territory has to maintain its distinct cultural identity within the union. For instance a Jamaican, Guyanese or Trinidadian may not (I said may not) fathom the concept of violence-free elections, which is a bajan staple; on Saturdays we eat black pudding and souse or cou-cou with fish.

At this present time there are hundreds of thousands of inadequately educated and disenfranchised young people, especially angry young men, who believe there is no hope for them within a structured society and taking matters into their own hands, have resorted to criminal activities as a means of survival, be it the trade in drugs, kiddnapping for ransom, extortion, robberies etc.

This extremely grave matter cannot be swept under the carpet or avoided, for with each new graduating high school class thousands more hit the streets with no sense of direction and resort to the street-corner gang as means of solace and identity.

The solution is not to build larger prisons but to establish specific interventions at high scool level withe the CSME where non-academically inclined students are evaluated to ascertain their areas of aptitude and apprenticed at that stage to particular businesses, which each govermnent should subsidise for beig a part of this programme.

The Cuban Tourism giant is awakening and we in the lower Caribbean need to get our acts together before yawns.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 2:41 am

Also to address Reaganomics’ assertion that bajan men abdicate their responsibilities as fathers and providers of their families, I will say this: I was born and reared in a sizeable country village 3/4 of which was in St. Andrew and the other and the other part in St. Thomas. From my recollection there were in excess of 150 households and all but a few, maybe less than 10 or so had a father or father-figure as the heads of those households. The exceptions were those where women had been widowed or the few elderly that lived alone.

This was the situation as it was when I was a child and young adult from the late 1960s thru to the 1990s. The same scenario exists today, only now there is a growing Caribbean, specificially Guyanese immigrant infiltration of these country villages, moreso than in city areas, that are the traditional haunts of St. Lucians and Vincentians. We have many illegal immigrant women having illegitimate children by bajan males with a view to remaining in Barbados due to the children’s birth status.

This practice will eventually prove a huge problem, especially since these immigrant women eventually “import” their other children from Guyana as well as extended family.

Cultural infiltration and dilution/adulteration of traditional Bajan customs by immigrants, unless stymied will in due course completely obliterate our society as we know it.

• JC // July 20, 2008 at 8:11 am

To reply to temopab that is what I was talking about along! But they called me xenophobic and racist! Thank god someone understands what I was saying proper management of CSME and migration policies.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 7:57 pm

JC preservation of our “bajanicity” is paramount. I remember the Cropover Festival in its infancy was all about Barbados and Bajan Culture, now imagine this year the travesty of the inclusion of Trinidadian artistes in Cohoblopot, which to my mind should remain centured around Barbadian Culture.

Why not invite a folk corale like SING OUT BARBADOS, or THE MERRYMEN or THE ESCORTS INTERNATIONAL? Machel Montano and his troupe have absolutely nothing to do with Barbados!

I guess someone is seeking to establish new state called TRINBADOS.

I am mad as hell that elected governments in Barbados are IGNORING the wishes of the electorate and arbitrarily squandering our birthright. …

BS& T (Barbados biggest Corporation), Trinidad-owned;

Barbados Farms Limited (Barbados’ largest land owner), Tridnidad-owned;

Barbados National Bank, Owen Arthur’s cabal literally gave away for peanuts to a Trinidad -owned bank, which recently off-loaded iy for a profit to Royal Bank of Canada.

I recall a few years back BRIAN LARA was supposedly renting a plantation in St. Peter from Sir Charles Willliams, then he came up with
    a scheme whereby he hosted an event at the same property, which many idiotic Brbadians attended, charging atttendees in excess of Bds. $3000. a head. And from my calculation at the time he raked in over 3/4 of a million dollars. Now in a Nation newspaper of the past week he gloats about owning the same property, which was no doubt paid for in part by Bajans. I wonder if he was charged any V.A.T. on that huge monetary windfall?

I am watching closely now to see if David Thompson in his caspacity as Minister of Town and Country Planning is going to allow this Trinidadian to subdivide those plantation lands into housing lots as Lara evidently plans to do.

Arawak Cement, another Bajan entity solf off to Trinidadian interests, bought numerous acres of St. Lucy land, which could have been used as housing lots for landless Bajans. Now they got permission from the Barbados Government to convert into a quarry.

David Thompson and you other politicians who I know constantly read this blog site, let me state emphatically that the same way Owen Arthur’s pompous regime was cast aside by the people, so will yours if action is not taken to address this constant selling out of Barbados to Trinidadian and other foreign interests, whose mandate revolves around their profits and not Barbadian survival.

Owen Arthur is full of bullshit and was evidenced when Bajan fishermen several years back were intercepted at sea and imprisoned in Trinidad, suffering sundry indignities like common criminals and the good prime minister declared “war” in the press but never followed through.

It is pathetic at this stage that Dennis Kellman is shuttling back and forth with hat in hand begging Manning and his government for an “ease”, yet these Trinidadian corporate raiders are having a field day gobbling up Barbadian companies. That BS& T deal, The Barbados

• David // July 20, 2008 at 8:05 pm

@Temohpab

Point of clarification:

As far as we know it cost considerably less to attend Lara Fete. It is RBTT which was recently sold to Royal Bank and not Barbados national Bank.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 8:05 pm

Continued from above:

Farms LTD deal and the others done in secret should not have gone through unless a comprehensive fisheries deal was set out in black and white. If that was the case, I bet you all that those corporate big-shots would have exerted pressure on the Trinidadian government. Why bajan politicians today are so emasculated baffles me. Not in a million years would Errol Barrow or Tom Adams have pandered or folded under pressure to any Trinidadian entity or regime.

• Wishing In Vain // July 20, 2008 at 8:13 pm

Temohpab many idiotic Brbadians attended, charging atttendees in excess of Bds. $3000. a head.

In your wild and wicked effort to SCORE CHEAP POLITICAL POINTS YOU ARE LYING THRU YOUR TEETH.

I can confirm that tickets were BDS $ 250.00 per persom, if I or others are to take you seriously may I request some honesty in your comments as there was no honesty in that previous comment.

May I suggest that either by intent or stupidity its comments are rife with lies.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Thanks for the clarification Dave but isn’t Barbados National Bank an entity or subsidiary of Republic Bank Of Trinidad & Tobago? Correct me again if I’m wrong in this assertion.

As far as the Lara fete I may have gotten my figures mixed up now I think hard about it. I believe it may have been in the region of 3000 guests who paid a pretty penny but his takings that night were astronomical that’s fot sure.

• David // July 20, 2008 at 8:18 pm

Yes, Barbados National Bank is owned by Republic Bank which is based in Trinidad.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 8:36 pm

Wishing in vain I have no need to lie, am no politician, have zero political aspirations nor do I have political affiliations. As for the Lara party issue I made a pure error of memory as I do not have the relevant newspaper article to hand. However The main point I am putting across is how oblivious Bajans are to the Trini-invasion and the erosion of our Bajn Identity.

I was in Canada recently and got into a heated argument with a Montreal-born woman of Bajan parentage who cockily asserted that Barbados has no unique culture since we eat Trinidadian and Guyanese cuisine, play Jamaican music, dress in Yankee clothing and talk like the British. I took offense to these statements and proceeded to put her in her place, much to the delight of her parents. I however appeased her later by making a wicked pot of mellow cou-cou (with no lumps mind you) with steamed Bajuan flying fish.

• Temohpab // July 20, 2008 at 8:43 pm

So David are you saying that Republic Bank was bought out by RBC but BNB does not fall under that umbrella, even though it is a subsidiary? Not trying to be a wiseass here just seeking clarification.

• J // July 20, 2008 at 10:51 pm

Dear Temohpab:

Re: your post of July 18th at 7:21 p.m.

“I am happy and proud to be a buller”

There I’ve said it.

• David // July 21, 2008 at 12:53 am

@Temohpab

Barbados National Bank is owned by Republic Bank. RBTT is a separate entity. It is RBTT that was bought by RBC which has nothing to do with BNB, so that in Barbados we now have BNB owned by Republic and RBTT which was a separate entity gobbled by RBC.

Hope this helps!

• Temohpab // July 21, 2008 at 1:22 am

More power to you J. However as of now I will not be entertaining such trivial persuits as the homo agenda as my stand has already been made known. There are far more pressing issues affecting my people, many of whom perish, due to lack of knowledge and the heart of this problem is that many of them do not read but spend endless hours with their heads glued to a cell phone, sitting in front of the idiot-box watching and digesting American filth or playing nonsensical video games.

Gladstone Holder must be rolling in his grave due to the stark lack of articulation and inadequate use of grammar in our nation’s news periodicals on a daily basis by journalists and the editors it seems are lacking as well for not thoroughly perusing this lethargic verbiage and putting some red ink through it. Harold Hoyte you are sorely missed.

Now as a Barbadian I will never deposit a cent on BNB as it is not Barbadian owned. I have for years now patronised two credit unions . The credit union movement is largely responsible for so many Bajans both in the low and high income bracket being able to own property and to establish their own businesses.

Now I’ve observed that there is a subtle force at work seeking to regulate the credit union movement. The commercial banks for years have been hellbent on muscling in on credit unions and it seems that this government is in cahoots with the robber barons towards this end.

Wake up bajans and be very aware that our children’s legacies are threatened. Now’s not the time for divisiveness. If you are truly a Bajan, with Barbados’ interests first and foremost on your agenda, speak up and be heard, regardless of your persuasion. That’s all that matters.

• me // July 21, 2008 at 5:23 am

Insularity, Xenophobia, homophobia, myopia and ignorance is a horrible combination of issues!

• Temohpab // July 21, 2008 at 6:06 am

A phobia is a fear “me” and this man fears nothing or anyone but the Almighty who solely has the ultimate power to create and destroy.

If I be branded a xenophobe due to my stance on maintaining the Barbadian Identity and cultural uniqueness, then so be it. It’s just a word that is as insignificant as a mote blown in the wind.

You accuse me of being insular. So far from the truth fella. I am by no means narrow minded or do I lead the isolated existence of a recluse. I am well-read, have travelled extensively and have close friends and associates on five continents. I am also conducive to positive change, admit if I am in error but will call a spade a spade if need be.

I am neither narrow-minded, short-sighted nor intolerant but detest those with ulterior motives and con games. I am a firm believer that a person either stands up for his beliefs and defends such with every fibre of his/her being or fall for every scheme put forward by those who imagine that they have a monopoly in cunning and all others are stupid or oblivious enough to swallow their rhetoric hook, line and sinker.

“Ignorance?” Man please! I am a renaissance man in every sense of the term. You are an infant in intellect as far as I see. Instead of needlessly throwing words around, post something of consequence to the betterment of Barbados. If you don’t think “The Darling Of The Caribbes” is worth salvaging and preserving, I sure do.

• Adrian Hinds // July 21, 2008 at 10:10 am

Temophab: soon you will come to realize the practice of those bent on re-engineering society’s views on devientcy, via social contruction. Some of the tools use to achieve this is to attack the objector by labeling them with these exotic terms such homophobic, xenophobic etc.. Such attacks and attempts are designed to shut you up. They can only succeed if you allow them.

Just so you know, It’s almost 5 years now that i have been labeled as racist/xenophobe the likes of ENOCH POWELL by at least two bajans on the Barbados forum.com. I have not budge from my position on illegal immigrants and unmanaged migration.

• Temohpab // July 22, 2008 at 3:48 am

I got your back Adrian. You have to stick to your guns in these issues and believe me many are listening and taking to heart our comments. Gone are the days when a politician drops by every 5 years around election time and drops off a pint and a half bottle of rum, a few cans of corned beef and a tin can of biscuits and he or she is guaranteed the vote.

Today’s electorate are educated not only academically but to the ways of the world and are not so easily hookwinked. Incidentally I see the practice of road-repair and construction during election time is still very much in vogue. They need to cease this nonsense now and do right by the people.

Anyhow my brother, keep the faith and stay strong in you convictions.

• Wishing in Vain // July 22, 2008 at 12:23 pm

Much to my amusement when I read the online version of the Nation today ( I have stopped buying the Nation) there is absolutely no mention of the PM’S statement that under his watch no post will exceed the Max of 3 months after a change of Gov’t, this in itself is a massive step forward, so unlike the previous method of the last adminstration where the new Gov’t is burdened with loyal blp supporters working under a DLP adminstration.

This is one giant step forward towards proper goverance.

Tell me how does this compare with people given jobs for which they cannot deliver the product?

Or a case we have before us now where Dennis Clarke can have his girlfriend being given a job that he recommends her for because Arawak had to get the rid of her for non performance in her role and the same NUPW had to get the rid of her, she kept her job intact by sleeping around with the leadership of the NUPW such as Joe Goddard and the same Dennis Clarke.

Then maybe she should also explain how a son of the union leadership landed a job for which he is not qualified.

• Redds // July 22, 2008 at 2:11 pm

WIV, I hope be Christ that you are a woman because if you are not lets repeat after me “I am happy and proud to be a buller” lol.

• Mea Culpa // July 22, 2008 at 11:59 pm

Mia will not lead the BLP into the next election. No leader of the BLP who accepted leadership after it lost has ever survived! Bree St. John, Henry Forde (the best PM we never had!) and now Mia.

Let’s not worry about her… Hammie La and George Payne will be her undoing and someone else will emerge.

• Wishing In Vain // July 23, 2008 at 12:14 am

Hammie La and George Payne will be her undoing and someone else will emerge.

You know that the short man not finished with her as yet, he will grind (I used that word with some care) her into submission.

• Wishing in Vain // July 24, 2008 at 11:42 am

SO SO SO TRUE !!!!!!

IT’S NOT MIA’S FAULT!

Chances are twenty years from now all that will be remembered of Prime Minister David Thompson’s first budget is the removal of bus fares for school children and measures to spur the construction of low-income houses. By the same token, the reply of Opposition Leader, Mia Mottley will be recalled as the one in which she declared herself a millionaire three times over.
    In retrospect Miss. Mottley would have been better advised to associate herself with the removal of bus fares and the simplification of access to the Student Revolving Loan Fund. She should also have welcomed the removal of VAT from building materials for low income houses and shared the joy of those less fortunate groups who received significant increases in pensions, grants and other allowances.
    None of these measures can be considered the proverbial ‘silver bullet’. They will not make poor people rich. They will not guarantee citizens the standard and quality of life they aspire to and truly deserve. What they will do is signal to less fortunate groups in our society that the government is aware and that it cares. They will also create a new sense of hope in our citizens that there is a silver lining behind the dark, economic cloud that hovers over our region.
    By going out of his way to reach out to persons relying directly on the state for financial assistance and also by removing the few remaining obstacles to low income earners owning a piece of the rock, and living proudly on the rock, the Prime Minister reflected a knowledge of and appreciation for the plight of this group in our society.
    There was a time when what Barbadians would term his “light complexion” got in the way of David Thompson portraying and being portrayed as having a working class background. Few know of David Thompson as a student catching public transport or working part time for ‘next in to nothing’ to help make ends meet. But, the reality is that David Thompson is as working class as 90 per cent of the Barbadian population is.
    In recent years, we heard of another Prime Minister whose father was a shopkeeper. This reality was milked for every ounce of political capital, but clinical analysis will show that precious little was done by that individual, when he had the opportunity, to ameliorate the suffering of poor people.
    The figures revealed by Prime Minister Thompson speak for themselves. This country has been mighty cruel to its less fortunate. We gave millions and millions of dollars in tax credits and waivers to the filthy rich wanting to own homes and conduct business in our country. We permitted companies to come into Barbados and rape our treasury dry, in the construction of such notorious edifices as the new prison, the expansion of the ABC Highway and the airport. We gave million dollar jobs to contractors who, back then, could not differentiate a hammer from a chisel, but yet, the disabled child was given a $20 a week pittance as if he or she does not belong. All this was during a period of so-called unprecedented growth and prosperity.
    Partisan politics aside, an Opposition Leader, in touch and in tune with the working class, would have acknowledged the social concessions granted in the budget and would even have gone a step further to suggest that they were not enough. But not so with the holder of that office in Barbados! Those issues appear of little significance or relevance to her. She suggested that matters of global warming, climate change, East-West relations and the EPA were more deserving of attention and prominence.
    It is inconceivable for a person to speak for three hours in reply to a budget and not comment on the impact of the removal of bus fares for school children or the 500 house lots that are now available to low income earners. How can one not share in the joy and the relief of pensioners, the indigent and the disabled? How could access to $100 000 by young Barbadians wishing to study abroad be a non-issue?
    I was completely floored by this clear oversight until the Leader of the Opposition declared her assets. Still six years short of age fifty, Miss. Mottley boasted to the country that she has amassed $3.5 million. Working class Barbadians spend their entire lives trying to amass a net worth of $0.5 million. But Mia Mottley, with half her working life still ahead of her, is already where 90 per cent of Barbadians will never reach.
    She could not identify with the social benefits of the budget, because, with $3.5 million in assets, they mean nothing to her. She is not a parent. She did not have to take out a loan to acquire her tertiary education. She has never had to share a bed or a bedroom involuntarily and her address has always been that of a suburb.
    Owen Arthur’s father was a shopkeeper. David Thompson’s father was a painter. They each boast a working class background. So too did Erskine Sandiford.
    The point here is that Barbados is at both a fortunate and an unfortunate stage in its development where some of its aspiring leaders have not a clue what ordinary, everyday Barbadians encounter and endure. We must think on these things!

• From North of the Salt Pond // July 26, 2008 at 1:16 pm

Funny this thing call politics before elections and there was a funeral, you would be seeing representatives of both political parties vying to be seen as the caring person and the attentive one.

Now as was the case today they still continue to bury the dead but no longer are we seeing people like the former PM , the former Deputy PM or the former AG at funerals any longer or trying for that Kodak moment, today was a classic example of this new style when in the parish of St.Peter a very loyal son of the soil was laid to rest and other than a Minister of this current Gov’t Mr Haynesley Benn and a Senator not a single member from the opposition showed up, not even the Former PM who knew this deceased person extermely well and in whos constituency this person resided up until his untimely passing.

Elections and politics have a way of extracting the worst out of some.

Leave a Comment