Recently Prime Minister David Thompson held a meeting at Sherbourne where he gathered all of the CEOs and others appointed to Statutory Corporations. One of the key messages he stressed to those gathered was to appreciate that as political appointees they should make their resignations available to any new government entering office. This argument has gained currency in light of the Thompson led government having to dislodge some appointees to Statutory Boards on ascending office in January 2008. Off the top we can recall that Al Gilkes at the Natural Cultural Foundation was hesitant to tender his resignation along with a few others.
Historically as governments change they would insert their loyal party members to Statutory Boards and quasi-statutory jobs. The debate continues whether this is a smart move or is it self-defeating if we consider the national interest i.e. the country not accessing the best available resources. There was a time the BU household felt that the party hacks should be rewarded for their support. Increasingly of late we are siding with the view that all government appointees should resign but the government of the day should consider reappointing those who are generally felt to have done a good job, whether B or D.
The Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley has been quick to condemn the move by Prime Minister Thompson to ask political appointees to submit their resignation when a new government enters office. Here is a press release issued by Miss Mottley which outlines her position:
PRESS STATEMENT BY THE HON. MIA AMOR MOTTLEY
Leader of the Opposition
Political Leader, Barbados Labour Party
Earlier this week, Prime Minister, the Honourable David Thompson indicated that all new contracts to CEOs of statutory corporations in his Government would be bound by a clause to resign within 3 months of a change of Government.
We oppose this policy as self-defeating. This is a backward step particularly given the Prime Minister’s comments on January 20th, 2008 at Kensington Oval. On that occasion, he declared that there would be no night of long knives and that the country should rise above partisan politics and should unite.
Firstly, this move reduces the pool of competent Barbadians who will come forward and be willing to serve as there is no security for them given the flexibility our system affords for the calling of a General Election.
Secondly, there is the risk of labeling persons who are appointed for their competence and qualifications as automatically supporting the Political Party in Government who appointed them.
Thirdly, this is a dangerous precedent that achieves nothing more than the polarization of politics in Barbados in a way that has not been part of our culture and in a way that will have consequences that will reinforce political tribalism. In this instance, Barbados and Barbadians will be the loser.
I would like on behalf of the Barbados Labour Party to state categorically that we will not support any such policy. Further, that we do not believe that persons who have been appointed by a previous administration should be dismissed other than for cause. Any future BLP Government will not seek to dismiss other than for cause and will appoint persons in these positions based on qualifications, experience, record and potential.
In any event, I fundamentally believe to dismiss someone because of whom they support politically is wrong. I have never supported this type of action since coming into public life. It runs counter to the Constitutional right afforded to Barbadians for freedom of association. It is also for this reason that we have consistently over the last few months spoken out against the numerous unwarranted dismissals that have taken on the character of a Witch Hunt.
We call on Barbadians to publicly reject this policy and to let the Prime Minister know that he ought to be securing the rights of individuals, not seeking to restrict their employment opportunities.
26th July, 2008

63 responses so far ↓
Adrian Hinds // July 27, 2008 at 12:24 AM
Mia Mottley knows that her position is the only way for her to continue to undermine this DLP government. It is the only way for her to get inside information the likes of the 2500 door lock that she presented in parliament. I will maintain that party hacks need to go home. David Thompson was generous in his ‘inauguration speech” but the hacks have shown that they are willing to continue paying their political masters the BLP.
Let the axe fall on the hacks.
Wishing In Vain // July 27, 2008 at 12:29 AM
This is quite amusing when she attempts to address the issue by saying, this move reduces the pool of competent Barbadians.
What she fails to realise that neither the leader of the BLP ( and it is not likely to be her) nor the present leader will be prepared to let remain in office in critical areas of a Gov’t people who have the other party in their favour, come on mottley do not be so immuture and childish to try to sell that idea to adult mature people, it will not cut it.
Do not attempt to accuse the DLP of being hars on their policy because certainly not under Owing See Thru Arthur would he have allowed what took place at Tourism where people such as Oliver Jordan, and Stuart Layne have been given top post under this new Gov’t.
She is purely trying to obtain air time but once again mottley as the public told you after the Budget it is better to shut up when you have nothing of sense to say, that to open your mouth at let the world know that you are nothing more than an oversized skillet with nothing inside, nothing at all.
Wishing In Vain // July 27, 2008 at 12:39 AM
I fully support your call Adrian I fully support you call.
Her real issue is that they need their people in place to continue hiding the files and shredding the host of documents.
Tell me why is it in Elizabeth Thompson’s former Ministry that a whole host of files have dissappeared maybe never to be seen again.
Tell me why the Elevator broke down St James Fort and when the repair men came they found that it had been overloaded with filing cabinets and their contents.
Not a joke it is very real and very disconcerting and worrying.
Or tell us how it can be that rents of tenants of URBAN houses have never made it to the accounts department but when contacted the tenants can provide receipts for rents paid and the receipt is signed for by JOE’s WIFE???
We knew we were dealing with mega crooks but never expected that each and everyone of them were in the pot of corruption.
Maybe for the above reasons they have a vested reason to keep their hacks in place, but I tell you it is not Business as usual, someone is going to go to prison before much longer, can we start with mascot and owing please???? please ???? please????
Wishing In Vain // July 27, 2008 at 12:52 AM
May I also remind the mottley thing that she had 14 years in which to influence and guide, she and her party squandered their position with arrogance and corruption in the forefront of their bad manners, she is no longer in a position of decision making , get used to it because you are where you ought to be in the political dump heap, with every stray dog and including Duguid, Clarke, Toppin, Marshall, Simmons ready to raise their feet to salute you and mark their terrority.
YOU MOTTLEY HAVE NO MORAL GROUNDS TO TELL ANYONE ABOUT WHAT IS RIGHT IN GOV’T LOOK AT YOUR OWN TRACK RECORD ALONE YOU ARE A SAD EXCUSE OF A PERSON FURTHER MORE A WORST EXAMPLE OF WHAT LEADERSHIP IS TO DISPLAY.
DRAMA QUEEN POLITICS
The recent display by Mia Mottley on public television was testimony to the emerging leadership problem deep in the armour of the Barbados Labour Party. The jury has returned its’ verdict and it is clear that the bungling of the Budget reply has now cast a shadow over the capacity of the once power house Mia to deliver. Her constant need to score points strategy has backfired and has ended up placing her on trial among her peers.
The attempt to smear the name of Rural Development Commission and its chairman by quoting from a partial piece of correspondence slipped to her in the dark of the night by one of her cohorts has opened wide, her political armour . She fell on the sword of poor political judgment. In this instance her exuberance to expose Barbados to a fable of a $2500 lock was indeed seen as very distasteful.
The staged drama of declaring her 3.5million dollars assets repeatedly will go down in history as the worst dramatic screen play ever seen by a local audience. The reviews of this Declaration of Assets episode were even more pathetic as she boastfully sought to justify her vast accumulation of assets in such a SHORT period. The concerns raised in last week’s column regarding her political strategist judgment are even more relevant as her support base within the parliamentary group and the Party continues on a downward spiral.
The Opposition leader must understand that her elevation has nothing to do with any genuine belief in her ability; but rather she has been conveniently placed at the helm as ‘a political stepney’ to satisfy the former leader’s quest to complete the mission – Operation Destroy MIA [ODM]. The quest to destroy the new leader was hatched on the corridors of the Barbados Labour Party’s Roebuck Street headquarters. It was then given further impetus on many occasions when the former Prime Minister sought to let her stew on a number of ‘very … politically sensitive’ issues.
Her response, the Vidal Sassoon transformation has taken full flight. Her stylist must be very pleased as the look is now being publicly acknowledged. The recent comments by Mac Fingall at Soca on the Hill regarding Mia’s new found pearl and hand bag image illustrates the dawning of a new drama queen of politics.
The drama queen of politics has now fully immersed herself into trying to fill the shoes of her predecessor. Her poor leadership attempts in the last six months have escalated into calls for her removal. The ODM is now in full gear as she seeks to respond by planning her recovery. The 3L combination of LASHLEYS – Stephen, Michael and ‘Hammie’ has further thrown her off base as they move in tandem on behalf of the poor and powerless of our land.
The photo in the dailies showing ‘Hammie,’ the grass roots champion of the Barbados Labour Party embracing his namesakes was not very pleasing to the new drama queen of politics.
Perhaps a political lesson from the newly crowned naked emperor at this time would be most appropriate as she struggles to MARSHALL her troops …OOPS what troops?
Adrian Hinds // July 27, 2008 at 1:29 AM
People would want to forget that everyone of the recipients of the “Politics of Inclusion” had to first revoke their membership of the DLP, and join the BLP, to get a pick. Thereafter they had to go above and beyond to justify their acceptance and pick. Neval Greenidge former cop and insurance executive resigned his DLP membership in order to get a BLP pick in either a Tourism office, or the consulate office in Canada. All of a sudden BLP hacks, cronies and yardfowls are to keep their membership and their hack job after a change of government. No way should Thompson allow this to happened.
While there is a valid called for non partisan hiring in the civil service and that we should seek to institute this as soon as possible, I am not going to side with what i can easily suggest is a partisan call by Mia Mottley to let that time be now. They benefitted from the status quo and the DLP cannot be wrong if they are seeking to do the same. What should be the approach is for the political parties to reach a concensus at the end of this current parliament regarding merit base hiring, to be phased in. Until such time LET THE AXE FALL ON THE HACKS.
Redds // July 27, 2008 at 3:33 AM
AH
It is the only way for her to get inside information the likes of the 2500 door lock that she presented in parliament.
You know this whole scenario is funny as hell sort of, I remember Owen in the house earlier this year stating that Thompson don’t even trust his own shadow and why should he. Look he even put Kellman out to sea, why do everyone in his cabinet have to answer to whats his face that wrote the karaoke budget for him to recite, to hypocrites like WIV and Adrian you know what, ask yourselves how did then opposition leader David Thompson get whiff about the $75,000 check and why was he so adamant that the ABC highway contract was not one to begin with. As a mature adult person who can pick sense it seems the PM seems now to be crying foul about the same means/devices he used on the campaign trail that help him gain power. They always say be careful of what you wish for, paranoia is that why his head so white after 6 months as someone stated in another thread?
Adrian Hinds // July 27, 2008 at 5:17 AM
Thank for agreeing with me Redds. I make no distinction between a DLP or BLP yardfowl, they extinction should continue to be certain and deliberate every five years.
David // July 27, 2008 at 5:59 AM
On BU we have established that we will be critical of B or D when the time demands it so we believe we have earn the license to have a little fun at the expense of our BLP friends.
Please click on this link to earn the right to a chuckle. It seems that the BLP blog might have inadvertently posted the flyer which is advertising the upcoming DLP cruise.
Now what happen here? We are still puzzled by this occurrence because it means that someone uploaded the image to the website. Now why would a BLP Website want to do such? :-)
anotherview // July 27, 2008 at 6:33 AM
So funny.What it tells me the people are still active behind the BLP and possibly DLP blogs. Why have they shut them down? In the Gelection both were active with the propoganda. As the next election approaches I anticipate what will happen. Coz we do have short memories.
Barnabas Collins // July 27, 2008 at 8:16 AM
This is an issue that whoever commits it should not be condoned. I have some questions: Are we saying that everyone that was appointed to statutory corporations in the last 14 years should be fired given that there was this “politics of inclusion”? How do you differentiate between “as it has been said” a political hack and someone who is not? Since you cannot make that distinction with any certainty, it means everyone will have to be fired. It is obvious that some should put their instruments at the disposal of the minister but should that be in every case? You know what, this is very dangerous ground because we would slowly become like other jurisdictions in the caribbean where citizens feel their very existence depends on who is in power. Is that what we are looking to do? Lest we forget, the DLP will not be government forever. Also remember, Barbados is a small jurisdictions and members of families can be on both sides of the political divide. That means that a political party runs the risk of firing a person who maybe the sole bread winner in a family. Do you think the member that voted for the DLP, would do that again? Do we think that that would be consistent with the DLP’s message that they are for the people?
Two things happened recently that should scare any right thinking Barbadian even those who judgement is clouded by “partisanship”. In the general election, a “cashed” cheque which was cashed by no less than the former prime minister was shown at a political meeting and it also appeared in the press. If a cashed cheque can be procured that belonged to the prime minister, logically, any information from private citizens would be even easier to procure. Subsequently, a letter from one polling organisation was shown by the former prime minister. The pollster try to convinced the non-techies of us that someone got on his computer and stole one of his letterheads which I thought was very amusing listening to his tirade. Those are two situations that should be condemned to the highest order but our citizens like to hear and see that sort of thing so only the affected parties complained. I would suggest to anyone who is thinking without their labioglossal closely attached to the parties’ gluteus maximus, that we should rethink any attempt to take Barbados to these tendencies of what can be termed “tribalism”.
Finally, just from reading these blogs, I fully expect that I will draw the ire of some but just not to be confused, I embraced the change.
BC
David // July 27, 2008 at 8:18 AM
We should be careful not to confuse two issues. To ask for resignations does not preclude the reappointment of individuals from the other side. As Adrian alluded to when Arthur was practicing the politics of inclusion some people would have argued that it had a destabilizing affect on the DLP which they are still trying to overcome. That approach only serve to deepen the political division in Barbados
It will take time for our system to transition to what some would prefer i.e. let the BEST man or woman do the job. Unfortunately Barbados continues to be polarized along partisan political lines and that is the reality.
If people want this change it will only occur if the if some other things are put in place. It will not occur in a vacuum. Forgive my pessimism but until I see people voting along conscience in our Lower and Upper Houses we are just blowing hot air.
Tony Hall // July 27, 2008 at 8:35 AM
I don’t care what anyone says. When a gov’t changes the new gov’t should put people in place who will carry out its policies, not sabotage. What is so hard about that to understand? Mia Mottley is playing this moral high ground but she knows the reality. She also knows that her time is short. Desperation is setting in. She knows that she does not command the confidence or respect of the majoroty of the 10 right now. We shall soon see!!!!
Banned Again From BFP // July 27, 2008 at 8:59 AM
I feel dat Judges and Magistrates should offer deh resignations too. Mos’ a’ dem ain’ nah use anyway.
Banned Again From BFP // July 27, 2008 at 9:01 AM
Specail mention should be made of any Chief Justice that is appointed by an administration.
Adrian Hinds // July 27, 2008 at 9:50 AM
Tony Hall // July 27, 2008 at 8:35 am
I don’t care what anyone says. When a gov’t changes the new gov’t should put people in place who will carry out its policies, not sabotage. What is so hard about that to understand? Mia Mottley is playing this moral high ground but she knows the reality. She also knows that her time is short. Desperation is setting in. She knows that she does not command the confidence or respect of the majoroty of the 10 right now. We shall soon see!!!!
=================================
This is the same Mia Mottley that infested every ministry, and corporation that fell under her responsibility as Minister with HER PEOPLE. Now why would she do that, and why would successive Ministers in a new government keep these people?
It is common protocal when working in statutrory corporations and when you are a political appointee to present your credentials and resignation to the new government. The decision has got to be that of the new goverment to determine who will work for them.
Project Oasis // July 27, 2008 at 12:56 PM
Mama Mia talking rubbish. The civil service which has served Barbados exceptionally well does not change with governments and we must ensure that never happens. However political pimps and yardfowls have to go its only commonsense. How is a political hack going to serve two masters? Think about Dems keeping Gabby, Johnny Tudor, Joey Harper, Harold Bovell, Booza King and so on. You are asking for sabotage and trouble.
Mention is made of Al Gilkes and Oliver Jordan two known BLP stooges. Jordan a Barney MM Lynch messenger is now installed in a major position by tourism boss Richard Sealy although he is a certified BLP cheer leader. Thats generous on David Thompson’s part and destroys Mottley’s argument.
Al Gilkes cant get adjusted to the lack of sweet life he enjoyed as Monarch of the NCF. I am in full agreement with Thompson that high level political appointees from either side should tender their resignations when the other side wins.
The Dems unlike the Bees are people oriented and humane. Were the shoe on the other foot Mia grand kid of the ruthless Rugged, Billie Miller and imbiber Owen Arthur would have fired eveybody immediately. Many examples abound from their reign of terror.
Tell me Why // July 27, 2008 at 2:19 PM
Are we depreciating CEO’s by giving them a 5-year shelf life? Who will be so stupid leave a permanent position for a short-live political job? Adrian , Tony and WIV, I am recommending you for these high profile jobs. Enjoy!!!!!!
Tell me Why // July 27, 2008 at 2:27 PM
Guys, have you observed how democracy work. Do take a look at the recent Democrats election. Clinton et al and Obama et al were at war with each other to see who will be victorious in the recent polls. After election, these candidates and supporters put everything behind them and are working together as a team. Do you feel Barbadians are that matured in accepting defeat gracefully? I say “NO”.
Anonymous // July 27, 2008 at 6:55 PM
The short tenure will ensure that we have only the “hacks” as you all refer to them. No professional of value will apply for these positions. The association with being political appointees will be career suicide not to mention having to look for a pick in 5 years. The govt will have to scrape their CEOs up from the bottom of the barrell. Lets hope this works out for the better.
Evergreen // July 27, 2008 at 9:27 PM
The Prime Minister has every right to determine whom he wishes to carry out the policies of the government. Didn’t Mr. Arthur and others before him do the same. If I recall, its only the persons who are political appointees that are affected and futhermore, they take these jobs with the knowledge that any time the government changes out they go. Perhaps, it’s not the ideal for a small country like Barbados where job opportunities are few at certain levels.
Wishing In Vain // July 27, 2008 at 9:30 PM
Do not attempt to trivialise matters here Tell me Why.
We are well educated in the style of the blp remember when the Ambassadors were given 24 hours to leave?
That was a wicked and dangerous action taken by WHOM???
THE BLP not the DLP.
Tell me Why // July 27, 2008 at 11:29 PM
WIV. Your rebuffs assure us that Barbadians are not really democratic as we professes. Maybe, partisan politics are too strong and personal that we failed to accept the qualities in others while looking through one-sided-glasses.
The People's Democratic Congress // July 28, 2008 at 1:18 AM
It is high time that the broad masses and middle classes of people of Barbados stop electing DLP and BLP Governments in this country. It is so patently clear that the country is NOT progressing or developing as much as it ought to with the ad nauseum election of DLP and BLP Governments in this country.
The move by the Prime Minister of Barbados to contractually provide for the ending by this DLP government of all political appointments to CEO and other relevant senior positions in statutory corporations and government companies, 3 months after a change in government, and at no cost to the government, is another clear sign of the errant leaderships of both DLP and the BLP falsely and terribly misthinking that the government of the country really belong to them, when in truth and in fact this or any other future or past government of Barbados belong/belonged to the people.
What is worse about this issue that this BU thread is engendering – and like so many other national issues – is that there has been this proclivity by some sections of the mainstream and wider media to frame this issue in such a way that only the very blindly partisan would think that the DLP and BLP are the only major political organizations existing in this country, when this is clearly NOT the case. How pathetic!!
Nevertheless, what our country really needs right now is stable and unified national coalitional government, made up of nationally elected representatives of parties, non-party political groups and independent political figures, and with such a crucial dispensation being one of the major national thrusts at the centre of a NEW CONSTITUTION that the PDC has envisioned for Barbados. Surely, this politico-constitutional approach to fundamental state and democracy building is one that has been pretty long advanced by us, and is one that is based on a very common sensical position of the PDC: that the most able, most skilled, most progressive, most representing, etc. of our Barbadian eligible political figures – NOT just party people BUT ALSO non-party political or independent people – must have very fair and decent opportunities to present themselves as political candidates in the relevant elections, i.e. PROPORTIONAL REPRESENTATIONAL ELECTIONS (surely a PDC led Government shall Abolish the first past the post electoral system), and consequent upon winning their seats in such elections, having very fair and decent opportunities to assist in the good and responsible governance of this country, regardless of their political socialization and acculturation.
Moreover, the way how we in PDC have conceived of such an approach is that NOT ONLY shall it ( national coalitional government) apply to future Cabinets of Barbados, BUT ALSO it shall apply to Boards that will be elected by partners ( present-day workers/supervisors/managers/consultants ) to run these prospective sub-divisions, agencies and other entities falling under State Partnership Inc – the entity that under a PDC led Government that shall replace the Crown, ministry, etc. The prospective Secretary ( PRESENTLY A MINISTER) in whose division such a prospective board is located SHALL HAVE THE POWER AND AUTHORITY TO ONLY APPOINT AND DISAPPOINT ALREADY ELECTED PARTICULAR BOARD MEMBERS TO THE POSITIONS OF CHAIRPERSON AND VICE-CHAIRPERSON, IN THE PARTICULAR STATE ENTITIES, SO THAT SUCH PERSONS, ET AL, SHALL BE IN CHARGE OF EXECUTING THE POLICY OF THE NATIONAL COALITIONAL GOVERNMENT. Hence, no Secretaries shall be appointing whole Boards, like now where ministers appoint whole boards. Under a PDC engineered national governance system and consistent with the prinicple of national coalition governance, other non-party political and independent members of the Cabinet shall appoint the right and most competent persons to such boards, and in addition to the partners of these state entities having already elected such persons to serve on such boards, it shall have been seen that such a latter process shall have already been carried out on democratic basis. Some of these prospective boards shall replace the present Service Commissions. PARTNERS SHALL ULTIMATELY DECIDE WHO SHALL ENTER THEIR SUB-DIVISIONS, AGENCIES PARTNERSHIPS OF STATE PARTNERSHIP INC. THEY SHALL ALSO DECIDE HOW DISCIPLINE SHALL BE CARRIED OUT IN THE PARTICULAR STATE ENTITY, WHAT LEVEL OF EDUCATION AND TRAINING AND REMUNERATION EACH PARTNER SHALL HAVE RELATIVE TO THE ROLES THEY ARE GOING TO PERFORM.
Finally, this unnecessary cosmetic tinkering that Mr. Thompson is therefore engaging in, and the paltry and anemic response that the Opposition Leader has served up to Mr. Thompson’s ideas clearly show how DLP and the BLP Governments are a monumental waste of the people’s time in this country.
Peoples, STOP THE ELECTING OF DLP AND BLP GOVERNMENTS IN THIS COUNTRY IF THINGS ARE TO GET PROGRESSIVELY BETTER, ON THE WHOLE, GIVEN THAT OTHER VERY CAPABLE PARTIES AND OTHER POLITICAL PEOPLE WOULD BE ON THE CUSP OF BEING SERIOUSLY INVOLVED IN THE GOVERNANCE OF THE COUTRY!!
PDC
Wishing In Vain // July 28, 2008 at 2:34 AM
When you read this article I think it just about sums up life under Owing and his gang.
carolyn // July 28, 2008 at 3:58 AM
This proposed new policy is certain to deter professional qualified candidates from offering their services to statutory corportaions in senior roles. The increasing polarisation and politicisation of all these posts is completely unnecessary. There are several roles in statutory corporations such as regulators like the securities commission and fair trading commission which are not and should not be mired in politics. This type of approach means that a pool of valuable talent will be lost in our small society and would disourage persons who have picked up valuable skills overseas from returning home for such roles.
David // July 28, 2008 at 7:05 AM
@Reudon Eversley’s Article
We never thought the day would come when a Press Release would generate so much discussion. But then we know why don’t we? Mr. Eversley has listed the pressures which the journalists have had to work under the Arthur administration and this may well be so.
We wish to put the other side to Mr. Eversley. Unity is strength in any profession learn for example from the the Bar Association who has been frustrating honest Barbadians victimized by some unscrupulous lawyers for years. The journalists in Barbados will NEVER be taken seriously until they can come together under an umbrella body. The Barbados Association of Journalist needs to be resuscitated and perhaps registered as a union. Unity is strength and when the journalists understand that just maybe they maybe able to draw a line in the sand and say enough is enough.
So Mr. Eversley someone above said that the DLP was blown into office on the back of the wind of change. It;s time to move on The PEOPLE are watching Sire! We are tired of the old politics. We are tired of new wine in old skins.
Anonymous // July 28, 2008 at 7:14 AM
David
My suggestion to you:
Would you post that article by reudon eversley which is included under wishing in vain post – put it up as an article and as a counter to the piece by mia – ‘leader of opposition clears the air’.
So the other side of the story is also featured boldly – as a response.
David // July 28, 2008 at 7:22 AM
@Anonymous
We can consider it but the truth is the DLP people have done well in the last year at how they have inundated the blogs with their messages before and after the election. The BLP needs to learn from the DEMS on that front.
Give Mia Mottley her moment in the spotlight. The PEOPLE deserves to have her statements placed under scrutiny.
Wishing In Vain // July 28, 2008 at 9:09 AM
David you know my bias and of my support for our new leadership of this osland and I do think the writer does have a good point that you should put the article up for more review and comment.
You to should write a lead in on the article as well and let us see how it fears for comment.
Bajantease // July 28, 2008 at 9:17 AM
Ambassadors and boards are policital appointees and they should indeed go..which I believe has been done.
The major concern about the firings is when you are speaking about civil servants and those in similar capacities in the gov’t owned statu. corporations. Whilst anyone can be placed on a board (ok they should bring some sort of useful skill/knowledge to the table), managers and senior managers, ceos etc. should be professional in their field and not be changed at the change of an election just so you can get your people in as political support payola to say thanks.
A country cannot be run as a business where you need trained professionals to do a job and if they don’t work out they are fired. Why? Look at who we elect to run the country.. Lawyers, Doctors, Priests, TV Presenters.. and put them in charge of a hospital, tourism, the economy etc. can they run a business, manage people, manage money, or just sound good on the platform??? How many new businesses fail compared to those that suceed beyond 5-7yrs? These political structures control by policy but have not a clue how the business really works, generally.
If you fire the people with the skill, experience and knowledge, simply to drop in your own Barbados will suffer for it.
Reaganomics // July 28, 2008 at 9:25 AM
If what Reudon says is true and can be substantiated, Reaganomics finds it abhorrent and wishes that he will make all of this public. This is against the basic principles of human rights and should not be tolerated from either side of the political spectrum. This nonsense has really got to stop. “Fa real” as de young people would say.
Mintue Mouse // July 28, 2008 at 9:31 AM
Wishing in Vain.
I feel your pain I to suffered under the BLP,I was humilated and treated like an alien because of my address. Almost every day i was asked to leave willingly or be fired ,until I finally handed them my resignation .
Mr Thompsom was a perfect Gentleman to my family and myself, his concerns were geniune.
Them BLP CROCKS should be locked away sooner than later.
I WELCOME CHANGE .THANK GOD FOR THE RIGHT TO VOTE!!!!!!!
Bajantease // July 28, 2008 at 9:47 AM
Oh yeah.. on the growing number of consulants.
A consultant should be an authority in that which he is being asked to consult upon; Both in knowledge and experience, with a proven track record. A consultancy should also be short term, otherwise hire the person it must cost less.
What skill sets is the person bring to the job.. Mr. Vanderpool-Wallace is a leader in the tourism industry, so he could consult on that.. but to bring in a consultant because it is said he can organise well??? Get any good housewife it’ll cost less. Clearly the management structure in the org. needs to be strengthened from within.
Oh what ever happened to making public the salaries of consultants.. was this not a new policy on transparency?
Down the same road?
Reflecting // July 28, 2008 at 9:54 AM
Reagonomics/Ian Walcott agree with you on this one. Eversley was victim of crass political thuggery. There were others who were targeted by Owen Athur and his goons. Check the statutory corporations.
Luckily for Eversley he got redemption. For others fired and hounded out of jobs by Owen his band of corrupt enforcers there has been no redemption.
The only crime these people were guilty of was being suspected as DLP supporters. It had absolutely nothing to do with job performance.
Reflecting // July 28, 2008 at 10:17 AM
Eversley I emphathise with you one hundred percent. At least as a senior journalist you have a public canvas to paint the torture Owen and his mongoose gang put you through.
I can assure you they are other men and women who lost their picks through sheer victimisation by Owen and his bandits but have become forgotten people .
Reudon Eversley // July 28, 2008 at 10:27 AM
I have only told half of the story. Lots more will come. Including a most vicious case of name-carrying by a person. I will not call her name because I do not wish to cause problems for her — that is the caring side of me — but people must know the evil she has done, nevertheless.
Stop believing life under the BLP was nice. This is the party which makes vit ery clear in their motto that they are about A BETTER LIFE FOR OUR PEOPLE. If you are not one of their people, you are not entitled to a better life. In face, you are entitled to starve. Remember the Let Dem starve speech?
Only people who have utter contempt for the average Barbadian’s intelligence would pompously parade such a motto. Think about it deeply, Barbadians. A BETTER LIFE FOR OUR PEOPLE. The BLP’s philosophy as summed up in THEIR OWN WORDS.
Reaganomics // July 28, 2008 at 10:36 AM
@ Reflecting
FYI Reaganomics is not Ian Walcott or Peltdownman or Anonymous or Randy Persaud.
THANK YOU.
Wishing In Vain // July 28, 2008 at 11:23 AM
Reagonomics/Ian Walcott it sounds so much like Walcott my friend.
He maybe taking out an INSURANCE POLICY to protect he Walcott from INSURANCE FRAUD.
Tell me Why // July 28, 2008 at 11:54 AM
WE NEED TO EMBRACED A NEW DISPENSATION.
The worst form of corruption can be dispelled by the media due to its power in informing the public. This is the real world Reudon, just grow up and realise that journalism is filled with corruption from the top to the bottom and is due to corrupt business people, corrupt politicians and corrupt publishers. But again, not everyone is corrupt, can be corrupted or will allow others to corrupt them.
CORRUPTION WILL NEVER END – unless our politician embraced ITAL. Otherwise, we will be still talking about corruption when our kids are grandparents.
Real Ting // July 28, 2008 at 12:30 PM
Most self respecting professionals dont spend more than 5 years in a job unless it is a specialty area. If you are a professional and you perform inevitably a jucier offer will come along. If you do not want to be replaced then separate your politics from your performance. When a CEO could organise transportation for his staff to a party general conference he would have to be frightened of being fired when de government change.
ACT PROFESSIONALLY if you are a professional.
It is interesting to note that In the USA the heads of the Departments of Transportation, Aviation and many other federal departments tender their resignation when a President is selected. Why should a Statutory Board be any different?
A statutory board is free of many of the beaureacratic constraints of Central Government and as such the CEO has tremendous powers. Maybe one of the ways to ensure that CEO’s are held to a high standard of behaviour and performance would be the requesting of resignations upon change of government. If you performed well and acted in a Non-Partisan way well then you have nothing to fear. The problem is too many of these Boards and CEO’s feel their duty is only to Party Supporters . people who perform like that should be axed whether BEE or DEE.
Georgie Porgie // July 28, 2008 at 12:45 PM
I absolutely have no difficulty in believing that what Eversley says is true. Though not a friend of the PM or a BLP supporter as he is, I was treated in the same manner, until I was forced to rebel.
But as Eversley says, there is a God who delivers and looks after his own.
Tell me Why // July 28, 2008 at 12:47 PM
Most self respecting professionals dont spend more than 5 years in a job unless it is a specialty area. If you are a professional and you perform inevitably a jucier offer will come along.
……………………………………………………………………..
Are you for real with your 5-year stint. Professionals prefer to set a benchmark of successes at a company that they are comfortable working. Many a CEO’s received job offers with a higher take home pay and is refused due to the longevity of the post. Do you feel these statutory bodies will attract professional for just a 5-year position? You gotta be kiddin my friend.
Anonymous // July 28, 2008 at 1:04 PM
Reudon Eversley
I am glad to see you on Barbados Underground.
Please don’t be a stranger – come again.
Your story as well as the stories of other barbadians who suffered under the hand of owen arthur and the BLP must be told.
Let us not fool ourselves – both DLP and BLP have in the past rewarded their supporters with government positions ;whether it is a janitor,a clerk or a consultant.
However BLP supporters if they want to be true to their conscience know that owen arthur,mia mottley,billie miller,anthony wood and almost all of the BLP politicians perhaps only with the exception of rawle eastmond – practised this tribalism that mia has now found her voice and is speaking on.
Countless of civil servants,permanent secretaries and ordinary barbadian who were providing services to the government were harassed and hounded out when owen came on the scene.
Redds // July 28, 2008 at 3:57 PM
Reudon “long suffering “victimize” “enslaved” Eversley you are no more than a hypocritical, DLP political hack/yardfowl. The article in the Nation ” Stuart coup d grace” summed it up all for me, the name of your game is “political retribution” plain and simple. You talk about what your christian beliefs and upbringing wouldn’t make you do but now after Jan 18th you are an avenger and judge, even more bias and partial.
Wishing In Vain // July 28, 2008 at 5:05 PM
If mottley could it necessary to fire Norman Barrow because he attended Parliament to observe the last evening of debate on the Budget and she saw it fit to fire him from the job of supplying the sound system to the Southern brach conference, and she is in opposition what do you think that she would do as a leader ?
Haven forbid throwing that kind of assault at the people of Barbados.
Simply put in her vengence to get even she acting in a manner so accustomed to her way and style pure fighting aggression, she fires a man because he attended Parliament, what would be next for this beast???
Wishing In Vain // July 28, 2008 at 5:07 PM
If mottley could find it necessary to fire Norman Barrow because he attended Parliament to observe the last evening of debate on the Budget and she saw it fit to fire him from the job of supplying the sound system to the Southern branch conference, and she is in opposition what do you think that she would do as a leader ?
Heven forbid throwing that kind of assault at the people of Barbados.
Simply put in her vengence to get even she acting in a manner so accustomed to her way and style pure fighting aggression, she fires a man because he attended Parliament, what would be next for this beast???
Adrian Hinds // July 28, 2008 at 5:30 PM
My Mother continues to be correct, about her son Adrian. She would always say that she was so happy that i left Barbados in 1993. She feared that someone would have killed me or i them for i did not ever know when not to speak the truth, and showed little regards for power and titles when so doing. I still do. I am at this moment having a very difficult time envisioning Owen Arthur making my life miserable, and still able to walk bout Barbados without throngs of security. I am heavily invested in making people account for their sins and transgression committed against me, and fully understanding that the Law for the most part protects the powerful and included while time and time again it harasses the poor and disadvantage, I had never taken my own form of justice off the table. When all avenues of traditional approaches to gain justice when wronged had been exhausted with no results, Justice must still be served, and so it has always. You see i was never a good victim.
Adrian Hinds // July 28, 2008 at 5:34 PM
Redds // July 28, 2008 at 3:57 pm
Reudon “long suffering “victimize” “enslaved” Eversley you are no more than a hypocritical, DLP political hack/yardfowl. The article in the Nation ” Stuart coup d grace” summed it up all for me, the name of your game is “political retribution” plain and simple. You talk about what your christian beliefs and upbringing wouldn’t make you do but now after Jan 18th you are an avenger and judge, even more bias and partial.
=================================
So redds Reudon should live and let live right? Boy i tell yuh. Tuh me Owen get off lightly. There is no way he or anyone could threathen my livelyhood and walk bout unscathed.
JC // July 28, 2008 at 5:39 PM
Persons were treated like shit and reminded that they didnt have a job coz there were from St. John!
I saw the tears everything that Mr. Eversley said was TRUE!
I saw it first hand, SCARY!
JC // July 28, 2008 at 5:43 PM
Only you AH could say it like that! LOL
Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' // July 29, 2008 at 6:36 AM
The more I read most of these comments, the more I realise that Barbadians are suffering the injustices of a a shameless group of DLP vermin set to divide our society. It is clear that in an attempt to defend David Thompson who clearly needs no defence, these DLP crawlers are muddying the waters with lies, blatant untruths, and all manner of infelicities. I am a member and supporter of the BLP, but I am foremost a Barbadian citizen. Wake up! Clean up your thoughts, words, and deeds, unless you are prepared to bring down the whole country just to say who you perceive to be more sordid than the other. Both parties have made tremendous contributions to this society over the years and both parties are guilty of misjudgement on some occasions. Let us have political battles without descending to a bottomless pit. Instead of detracting attention away from the high cost of living, I challenge you so-callled DLP supporters who express the most tainted of views on these blogs to illustrate and provide alternatives as to how best we as a country can solve our socio-economic problems. No one is perfect. Even if we reach consensus that the DLP is the government at this time most likely to address any lingering societal wounds, why would you want to smear its contribution by espousing bitterness, contempt, and every irascible thing you can find against another party that is not under the microscope in this woeful period. About Eversley, he never tells anyone that he practically sold his ass to the highest bidder. Neither has he told anyone that he has hardly stood on his two feet and fought like a man when the need was there. He runs off into the nearest camp for shelter, shaking his ass, unable to represent himself or those persons who may have had similar ‘bad days’ at the office. A word to the wise is sufficient, and I would plead to David, ‘watch’ Eversley closely, he is not all he portrays himself to be.
Anonymous // July 29, 2008 at 6:58 AM
Reudon Eversley
The thing that I found particularly touching was when you said that david thompson during those dark days of tyranny by owen arthur – he david,remembered you and checked on you often.
The true hallmark of a humane soul.
Arthur worst days may be ahead as retribution catches up with him,for your story is just one of many such stories told.
Juris // July 29, 2008 at 7:53 AM
Anonynous,
You call attacks from a PM in this two by four country a “bad day at the office?”
Wishing In Vain // July 29, 2008 at 8:19 AM
Someone said the ‘BLP Stalwart’ You start off very nicely but then you fall into the true BLP nasty mold.
I fully understand your call not to discus your former leader ( and who may still be your current leader) and your parties actions because you cannot defend their disgusting actions, would you rather we discus Owing , Nicholls, VECO, DANOS 3S ????
Barnabas Collins // July 29, 2008 at 8:55 AM
I read the comments by Mr. Eversley and I am very sympathetic and abhor victimisation coming from any political party. But having said that, I know there are 3 sides to a story and I know that while Mr. Eversley would project his side, I am not totally convinced that he was a lowly party supporter minding his own business and up came the leader of the “axis of evil” and just terrorised the hell out of him. The other thing, is that punctuating his comments with how nice the other leader is will not convince me either because I am well aware that ALL political leaders ARE ruthless to some extent. Some are more ruthless than others but this is politics and if you want to swim with the sharks, you better be a shark. Goldfish don’t swim with sharks.
I have some advice for other citizens who are thinking about joining active politics; there are many instances that exist that should show that ordinary citizens should not get into politics and politicians at a certain level. Just ask Mr. Walter Blackman who couldn’t get work in Bim although his party was in power, the simple fact that all the Presidents of BAPE are engineers from Light and Power or Cable Wireless and why some economists are dumb when certain parties are in power. And please please, don’t ever think that it only happens when one party is in power and not the either. That would be a collosal mistake.
That is also one of the reasons why some people decide to do things that are less than ethical so that at the end of the party’s term in office, they would be set for life when the other party comes to power. That is also why integrity legislation will always be talked about but NEVER implemented.
JC // July 29, 2008 at 5:38 PM
Someone said the BLP Stewart knows how to beg! He is good at it!
If you doubt me ask him!
SSTBLPS
I am glad to see that you have fulllllllly recovered!
Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' // July 29, 2008 at 9:00 PM
Indeed I have JC although ‘begging’ has never been one of my known means of achievement. Nevertheless, there is a time and place for everything under the sun. I am sure that sooner or later vindication will come about. What a shame it will be when the tones that sing praises today, later sigh in regret. I shall also remind you JC, the records will speak for me, I will not depend upon public sympathy as Eversley does. By the way, did I touch your nerve, some people just would not deal with truth less their ass remains bare. I am from St. John, I spoke openly with David. The fact is I was never and will never be a two-timer. Bye for now, more pressing concerns demand my time in an effort to make those records continue to speak.
JC // July 31, 2008 at 1:12 PM
I know you well SSBLPS and I KNOW YOU LOVE TO BEG!
Remember the shop close to where you live! ha ha ha lol!
I’m glad to know you have recovered haha lol! thought you would have never left Intensive care!
JC // July 31, 2008 at 1:18 PM
When are you running against David Thompson I heard you bragging to some friends approx. a year ago that you were going to discredit thompson and then win the seat!
Dont do dah yeah ya aint gon leave the ICU hear!
Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' // July 31, 2008 at 6:17 PM
Ah JC, you are such a sweet lady, a pity you are not more truthful. Then agin, this is the blog and anything goes. Keep to the subject matter. If it interests you that much whether I shall run against David, why don’t you ask him. He knows the answer.
Can you tell me what is the plight of Barbadians 7 months after a general election? Can you tell me or rather give David some possible alternatives? What you do not understand is that I am for the development of Barbados. I do not have to run for a seat to make a contribution. JC, Please think of something positive to recommend against the vagaries of this economic downturn we are seeing. After all, the people on ICU will need greater resources available to them if they are to do a good job. Bye for now.
Reaganomics // July 31, 2008 at 6:28 PM
“Can you tell me what is the plight of Barbadians 7 months after a general election?”
Stalwart: here are the standard answers you’ll get to your questions.
Thompson inherited a mess and let’s blame it on the global economy. Mind you, there is still growth in the global economy.
Oil prices were rising consistently for the last 10yrs and they were sudden spikes be4, but Thompson is special.
Somewhere someone called it panic economics.
Reagonomics will be right here watching when 1991 repeats itself all over again.
And smiling!
22 yrs // August 4, 2008 at 4:20 PM
Is this an anti-BLP blog? well at least the majority persons leaving comments seem to be.
I think some of these comments are ridiculous but I agree with Mia, I’m not affiliated with any party and thus if a party decided to move me out a job/post they better be replacing me with someone with superior skills rather than someone who is loyal to the party.
Appointing persons loyal to parties is UNFAIR and UNDEMOCRATIC.
I’d work in another country first before taking a job in which I have to resign after the government changes. If the rest of young people in Barbados think like me I’m sorry for Barbados’ future as all will leave.
David // August 4, 2008 at 5:10 PM
@22yrs
What is stopping the BLP supporter from coming to the blogs and representing their positions? Certainly no the BU household!
The Prime Minister in his Press Conference on Sunday clarified somewhat that he is referring to political appointees and contract employees i.e. civil servants seconded. He also indicated after being pressed by David Ellis that a clear criteria will have to be worked out to guide this matter.