Submitted by Yardbroom
For those who expect this submission to be a strident condemnation of the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF) and its activities, read no further, because it “will not” be. However, bloggers who are interested in a brief examination of the position we are in, and a balanced view of that position, a moment of your time might not be wasted. Providing we do not look at these issues through the agenda of Party politics, as some issues are societal, they affect us all regardless of party loyalty. If debate can “trigger” new ideas and a different perspective, Barbados will be well served.
There is no doubt that in recent years – some say much earlier – the Barbados Police Force have been subjected to a great deal of criticism. It has even been said “they are not special.” I must disagree, when trouble or danger is evident, the public runs away, the police pass us going towards the source of danger. We should always be conscious of this when we make a “hasty” retreat and judgment of the same kind. For this requirement to face danger on our behalf, they should be adequately rewarded financially.
Now to the main points of contention and dispute, there is a perception held by some sections of the public; that people are physically abused by the Police either to obtain confessions or to intimidate. It is even said citizens are shot without good reason. “I” do not have, or know of any “proved evidence” for such statements, but it is true they are common and believed, particularly by some ordinary Bajans, who from time to time interact with law officers.
It has been said – not to beat about the bush – that sections of the Rastafarian community, feel they are picked on and accused, without justification or evidence, and often come to harm when arrested. I also know that Rastafarians and some others believe cannabis should be legalised. There is an argument to be made there but the police uphold – or should – the Law as it stands “now.” That is a separate issue and does not in any way negate or otherwise the points in this submission.
The comments I have made here are general observations, and “do not” relate to an incident which occurred recently, as I am sensitive to the feelings of the bereaved. Further I do not know the details of that incident – and am unlikely to – which are still in dispute.
I am aware of jurisdictions where Magistrates and Judges assist the general public, by commenting even post conviction. The trust of their statements in open court are; that they are concerned about accusations made during trial and ask if medical attention and legal representation were sought in a timely fashion. A few such comments would indicate how the Judiciary stand on this issue. I am not so naive as to believe accused people do not often make malicious accusations against the Police. However, it is imperative that the general public – all sections – on whom the police must depend for the solving of crime, see the police as what they are – supposed to be – a bulwark against anarchy.
I recall as a young boy, when so called “wild boys” were arrested, the popular view among us youngsters then was”de police gonna put some licks pon he.” A view the police never sought to actively dissuade us against, perhaps the fear factor was a tactic. I could not possibly believe modern day police officers are like that. I am inclined to believe they are not. It is best if the citizens of Barbados have a police force which can be trusted, and I might also add, it is in the interest of the Police Force as well.
The Police Force properly paid, accountable to all but intimidated and coerced by none, is not a bad place to start. The skill to deal with all citizens in the same manner, regardless of race, class or social position should be their main consideration. In most organizations the direction and ideology of the organization is determined at the top. I am sure those so entrusted will ensure the public perception of the Barbados Police force is one we can be proud of. It is important that the Police Force get the mix right, so that a level playing field is afforded to all our citizens.
The Police will “always” tread a rocky path. I wish them success, for us to have an orderly future they must achieve it; otherwise darkness and unbridled might beckons, which cannot be in the interest of the Barbados Police Force.
It is by tackling difficult issues which confront us – without prevarication – moving debates forward, garnering new ideas and trying different approaches, is how we make Barbados an even better place to live. This is how ordinary citizens can make a valuable contribution to our society and allow the Blogs to be taken seriously. The Blogs will not only be a source of information but just as important, they will allow us to be in contact with the “true heart beat” of our nation.

19 responses so far ↓
Anon // July 27, 2008 at 3:42 PM
YARDBROOM
You are really living in a Fool’s Paradise!
Remember Mark Stokes? He was picked up by the Royal Barbados Police Force never to be seen again. The two Policemen who picked him up retired as Senior Members of the Royal Barbados Police Force.
Don’t you know of the method where the Royal Barbados Police force put plastic bags over the heads of suspects, spray Insecticide inside of them and then hold the bags until the Suspects “confesses”?
About three years ago a young boy died while being subjected to such treatment and our “nice” Police Public Relations spokesman Barry Hute put out that he died from an Asthma acttack even though his family said that he never suffered from Asthma.
akabozik // July 27, 2008 at 4:28 PM
“It is even said citizens are shot without good reason. “I” do not have, or know of any “proved evidence” for such statements, ‘
Is this Yardperson blind? Is he def?
Start with Stefan Griffith shot in the BACK OF DE HEAD. Unarmed!
No explanation from the police. Story disappeared.
Do a search at the Nation an you will see him in de bed lucky to be alive.
:”no evidence”. Cha!!! What nonsense you talkin?
David // July 27, 2008 at 5:04 PM
The Police Force is comprised of men and women who are a product of our society. Like any profession we will have bad apples. Bring it home the systems which we put in place to ensure transparency and accountability in the force is the responsibility of the Attorney General and by extension the government of Barbados.
Against this background the ineffectiveness of the Police Complaints Committee (PCC) must come under scrutiny. Then when we have issues we would not have to attack the police body but the PCC. We watch the TV flicks and observe the role of Internal Affairs.
Come on Fruendel the RBPF is attracting a bum rap for having to operate in a flawed set-up.
Jay // July 27, 2008 at 7:42 PM
I got to agree with the comments on this board.Especially looking at the newest Nation news article concerning the death of I’Akobi Maloney.
http://www.nationnews.com/story/292240439056082.php
“Police returned Maloney’s bag to his mother Maggie Maloney last week, and she had serious issues with its condition and its contents.
“The police statement that they released clearly states that he jumped with clothes on and his haversack on his back.
“If that is the case, and the cause of death they gave was drowning, then everything in the bag should be water damaged. The bag and its contents are dry – no sea-salt, the papers in it are not mildewed, not sticking together, just dry,” said Maloney.
The statement given by Assistant Commissioner of Police Seymour Cumberbatch in the July 5 edition of the SATURDAY SUN said: “Maloney, on request of the police, put back on his clothing and placed his haversack on his back and started to accompany officers away from the cliff. It was during this period the young man darted away and jumped over the cliff.” “
Technician // July 27, 2008 at 7:52 PM
Yardbroom …..for once you disappoint me ..big time!!
You said….’It is even said citizens are shot without good reason. “I” do not have, or know of any “proved evidence” for such statements..
Do you remember the car washer or maybe you would call him a paro, who was picked up by those ‘lovely police’….taken to a canefield and told to run, while our ‘protectors’ used him as target practice?
He was shot 3 times and those officers never spent a day. True they were kicked out the force but this was well documented in the press.
I find it hard to believe that even YOU never heard of this.
Technician // July 27, 2008 at 7:57 PM
There are good cops and bad cops like everything else in life …..but please dont insult us by saying that because you never experienced it or have that it does not exist.
Technician // July 27, 2008 at 8:04 PM
sorry…should be .or have the proof.
me // July 27, 2008 at 9:25 PM
I for one am quite tired of the ANTI -POLICE vibe of this blog. It seems to me that there are certain posters who would love to see anarchy in Barbados. No rules, no one in authority, no laws and no POLICE seems to be the oreder of the day. I maintain that laws and the work of the people who enforce them are absolutely necessary for an ordered society. I also maintain that the Police like anything else in this world is not perfect but the exception does not the rule make. How can you ask the police to not use sterotypes towards young men wearing locs ( although evidence suggests that the majority of young men who wear locs in this country smoke weed WHICH is ILLEGAL ) and then make generalisations about the behaviour of the police ( when the evidnec suggests thet most police follow the laws and rules of Barbados). Y’all have some nerve.
Whose side do I chose …pot smoking , ne’er do wells for the most part or the police with a few bad apples…
….
me // July 27, 2008 at 9:28 PM
I cant say anything but I learned today that there is a whole lot more to the story of that fella that jumped to his death the other day and the picture is not so perfect for him and his supporters!
me // July 27, 2008 at 9:28 PM
anyhow I tekking a break from BU….too much negativity!
Technician // July 28, 2008 at 3:14 AM
Good riddance to you Me…….as I always say, put up or shut to hell up!!
People like you like to sit in your glass houses and watch and say it will never happen to me or my family because you may think you are better off than others.
You remind me of how Faria is trying to make us Bajans believe that certain things does not occur in Guyana, when most of us knows better.
No body wants anarchy in this country but neither do we need a police state,there must be some balance.
Your statement …..’How can you ask the police to not use sterotypes towards young men wearing locs ( although evidence suggests that the majority of young men who wear locs in this country smoke weed WHICH is ILLEGAL )..clearly shows your bias and ignorance.
Bring the statistics , bring the proof.
The Police are here to serve and protect All. What do you mean how???? It is their duty not to stereotype. When you join the force, you should be professional or leave it out. Every person with locks is not a criminal , just like every baldhead is not a saint.
You come with your hearsay about I’akobi’s death. I challenge you….what could you possibly learn now that his family dont know. Put up facts or shut up!!
Technician // July 28, 2008 at 3:17 AM
What you fail to understand is the damage that can be done by ‘a few bad apples’.
I only hope your children or family never experience a situation from one or two of those bad apples….I guarantee you will be singing a different tune.
David // July 28, 2008 at 6:33 AM
@Technician
We side with your view as we alluded earlier about bad apples in the barrel. Unfortunately the police force is one of those entities which require a high level of public confidence to do its work well. This why the an independent oversight body is important to th effective functioning of the police. Unfortunately Barbadians tend to avoid discussing issues like this and others which are similar because of the perceived conflict which may occur.
Some may say that Barbadians have been enjoying the good life for so long that the if it aint broke don’t fix it mentality tend to surface.
Harrasment // July 28, 2008 at 7:17 AM
Who does Peter Boyce complain to Yardbroom?
Euphoria Cliff Hanger
Every year consistently without fail, the Royal Barbados Police Force does its utmost to stop Euphoria!
In our first year 2005 they denied police security and then spent the entire weekend of the show harassing the euphoria venue owner contriving reasons the show should not go on. They failed.
In 2007 the letter we sent to police requesting security mysteriously disappeared and conversations we had with them they could not remember having. They failed to stop the event then too.
Now in 2008 the Police once again has stepped up to the plate in its draconian and even more aggressive efforts stand in the way of cultural entrepreneurs.Not only are they denying security but by calling the media to ensure that the message is sent that Euphoria production is in joepordary achieves a more sinister objective we will reveal.
Why has the agency whose primary task is to prevent crime also added to its objectives stopping an entertainment event?
Let Boyce tell you why, because every Euphoria event has been on the same night as cohobblopot. Therefore the police has been constantly used as a tool to protect the financial interests of the government by stamping on private enterprise.
Even if you look at their call to the media, as you would know the police is not known to be a friend of newspapers as media has a nasty habit of reporting on incidents of abuse done by the police.
The malicious intent of the timing of their phone call is to effectively remove “euphoria” as competition so that cohobblopot tickets would be free to sell.
In all the previous years that we have had Euphoria there is one person who stood by us in these times of difficulty with the police.
That person is our now Prime Minister David Thompson. Back then he was David our legal advisor and he was very effective in representing us in these Police issues.
I can honestly say if not for the efforts of David there would be no Euphoria.
Guess who I have written too?
Anon // July 28, 2008 at 7:40 AM
The Police top brass seem not realised that the BLP is no longer in office. Yet they continue to do their bidding!
Tony Hall // July 28, 2008 at 9:42 PM
Keep beating up on the Police!!!
Technician // July 28, 2008 at 10:16 PM
Just like they keep beating up on us!!
» Ben Freeman Barbados Rape Trial - Why do Certain People Get Transcripts and Others Don’t? Keltruth Corp.: News Blog of Keltruth Corp. - Miami, Florida, USA. // October 19, 2008 at 12:38 PM
[...] Barbadian courts do not usually provide a court reporter, but the judge’s notes may be made available. (In one case we have received the judge’s notes along with the decision 17 months after the case was heard!) In another case, a person was asked if he would record the transcript. He flatly declined, stating he was afraid that it would damage his career. It is of great interest to the Knox family to see this report that some people are getting transcripts, while we know that others are not. Is this a level playing field? [...]
lexicon // April 25, 2009 at 10:24 AM
I am commenting on the police brutality in Barbados, I live in United States of America, and just this week one of my brother that have a daughter in Barbados called me and told me that A detective from the C.I.D went to his daughter,s home in Carington Village to Arrest her boyfriend for receiving stolen Properity. She said the one of the Detective who is now Dating Rehanna Mother put a bag over her boyfriend head and started to beat her, and what really shocked me it the fact that she said that the detective hit her six month child, and when she gotting to the police station the same detective beat her some more. So I said to my brother we used to live behind District A police station wall and most of the police were our role model growing, and most of my friends are in the mounted branch and the police force Band,and that his daughter resisted the police and even was probable fighting with the police no police that i know would start beating a baby and a women for no reason, i don,t beleive if there are many decent respectable police officer in Barbados Protecting the citizen of Barbados, we know that there alway going to be a few bad people in any profession. Thank you,