Is Wuking Up “Without limits” Barbadian Culture?

Submitted by Yardbroom

Youths ‘wukking up’ 2 ‘Go Stabby’ during the Bajan Kadooment

In recent years a certain type of wuking up has become a popular Barbadian pastime. Its popularity has meant there is now a license to do anything in public, providing it is accompanied by music. My intention is not to take a moral view on this issue as I do not have that authority. However, if participants display in public, they cannot be surprised if people comment on a public medium.

Last year I saw a boy not more than ten years of age wuking up behind a fully grown woman. As the tempo of the music increased the boy got closer to the woman, encouraged by a crowd of adults who witnessed the spectacle. I moved away on seeing this exhibition, as I felt uncomfortable.

In a quiet reflective period after, I asked myself, was I out of touch with modern Barbadian society? Was I unable to understand our culture? and if this was our culture, how long could it have been so, without my noticing.

Could it be that a certain section of society has decided to define what is our culture, and others not wishing to be seen as out of step, are agreeing to all manner of things? It is often difficult to take a principled stand on issues which are not directly related to one’s personal behaviour, as you are open to being told, there is no compulsion for anyone to participate, or even watch. This is quite true, however, as I have alluded to previously, personal behaviour when public must take cognizance of public sensibilities. No one would say that wuking up is bad, or should not be allowed…that is obviously silly. What I am addressing is lewd behaviour masking itself as wuking up.

When men and women – sometimes small children encouraged by adults – adopt positions of copulation (dry sexing) with no attempt at art or finess, the intention being to depict the sexual act in a public place, it is time for questions to be asked. Are there no boundaries? How should adults interact with children? Does our public behaviour have any social restraints? Can we enjoy ourselves within a cultural frame that indentifies who we are, without going beyond acceptable bounds or limiting our cultural identity?

I seek not to rain on the party, but I was disturbed by what I saw. A small boy wuking up behind a grown woman, encouraged by adults. Our women often ask for equality, to which they are entitled and should be given without equivocation. There is a broader issue here which our women must consider. Women will be respected more if they are inclined to respect themselves.

This brings me to another point, I wonder what that small boy thought of women and the respect he should have for them when the music stopped…alast life does not stop, when the music does, in all its variations and facets it continues, perhaps only perhaps we should review how we behave in public places, or should we?

To those women who ask, what about the men? I simply say it is just that I expect more of you.

Related Link

All This Talk About Culture

205 Responses to Is Wuking Up “Without limits” Barbadian Culture?

1. Anonymous,

you wouldn’t know an African even if you were suddently transported to Dakar or Lubumbashi. It is asinine to talk about an “African instinct” unless you are African (not just Black). Human instincts are really responses to cues from our environment. This term, “instinct”, cannot be used (in any strict scientific sense) with reference to human behaviour. If people respond to say drumming that is in accordance with their prior experience so a Chinese person or a white person or an Indian who is exposed to drumming to the same degree and qualitative association as a Black person will respond similarly.

Unlike Reluctant Nonbeliever, I don’t believe you to be a UWI graduate in the Social Sciences (maybe in computer science). You are about as valuable as a US dollar.

2. Well I dont know bout you, but when I look in de mirror I does see a West African.
    And you are right, I not a UWI graduate or graduate from any university for that matter.
    Your argument about what is scientific and what is not is bear shite.
    What is “strict scientific sense?”
    SHUPES!

3. I responded but the post has just disappeared!

4. David:

I’ve noticed that too.

You submit, then nothing…..no “your comment is awaiting moderation”….nothing, so you hit the submit button again… still nothing, but you get the duplicate post.

ST does the post disappear or do you see it when you refresh the page? WordPress does behave badly sometimes.

David

5. David:

The post disappears from the comment box.

6. reluctant nonbeliever

What’s the problem, little negroman, can’t take a dose of your own medicine?

Like all bullies, you’re a coward. You regularly insult people here (see your comments above about “stupid ass” black women, about “mutant” Byer-Suckoo) in the most crass way, yet you start to whine if anyone hits back.

As to my other point: do us all a favour and stop claiming to be “African”. You’re black, sure: but an embarrassment to any true African. You have nothing in common with us, you hear me? Nothing. You need to relinquish that prop and find strenght elsewhere. For let me assure you, you would be laughed to scorn if ever you visited my homeland (which you clearly never have, except in your sad lonely dreams) and tried to spout your pitiful fantasies about negritude there.

Anyway, I done with you now I’ve humiliated you. You’re too predictable and lame and dull.

Anon has a point. This blog is also for entertainment. And you’re a one-note bumbling fool, about as entertaining as CBC…

7. reluctant nonbeliever

One last comment, negroman. You should take tips on how to contribute to this blog from your “comrade” Anon. He talks a lot of shite, but is often witty and provocative in quite an amusing way, and doesn’t get hysterical if you attack him. His tongue’s in his cheek – unlike yours, which is longs to be up an African battyhole…

Ok, BU…I know that a bit disgusting. Delete it if you want. I just having fun now….

8. reluctant nonbeliever

@puzzled

A thoughtful, interesting post.

9. Thanks for the comments. Well, I had only commented because after reading the entire thing, I felt like I just had to say something (the beauty of the Internets, no?). The debate part, I suppose I wasn’t feeling to be caught up in at the moment. I presented my views; I didn’t feel like I added anything because I really don’t have the high-faluting words/theories on culture/morality/etc. that I’ve seen in previous posts. Y’all folks really have a vocab… sent me to Google a time or two. Anyways, if I ever post again in another thread, I will make sure to redeem myself, as well as my university’s academic honour (btw, it is a great school Anonymous), by actually formally throwing my stick into the fire, or whatever cliched idiom works there.

10. Dear BFP, it seems that you’re all for freedom of expression, provided the opinions expressed ‘are n’t too, controversial’ excepting your own, many would consider, very controversial views, of course!! My dear, fellows if that’s the way u intend to proceed then I’m happy for you to do so, without me!! However, it shows me that u don’t really, possess ‘the full-length sword of courage’ which I thought, u did!!

Nonetheless, best wishes to you!!

11. Oh, and btw, it’s nice to have blogs like this, being a student away from home. At least when I come back, I won’t be completely clueless about what’s really been going on.

12. ‘Reluctant nonbeliever’, is it really, impossible for u to raise your standards above the level of the shit-hole!! Disagree with the man, if u must, but do u have to be quite, so offensive!!

13. This is my last comments to reluctant nonbeliever.You are as pitiful as they come.You do not know shit about me.I have African friends in Barbados.I have not visited the continent as yet but I am in the process of finalising my plans to go.I will be there next year hopefully.African do not think like you.
    Reluctant nonbeliever I believe you are not African but another misguided,torn up,bitter person seeking self glorification.You have not humiliated me in no way whatsoever.In all your postings you have not come up with credible rebuttals of my points.
    You are a waste of a human being.A pea brain clown wallowing in self pity.
    You are the loser and will amount to nothing in life.
    Nothingness is you fate.
    Idiot

14. Can’t we all just get along??? (LOL)

15. Rodney King // September 3, 2008 at 6:47 am

Can’t we all just get along??? (LOL)

Hopefully, SOME of the time, but unfortunately, ALL of the time would probably, produce a sterile, world!!

16. Negroman, cool ya head and hold ya position. Dont leh dem get to you. But a good busing every now and then is aiight too.

17. Fellas Fellas Fellas
    start a new thread nah…we heading to the 200th comment…
    AND I’M LOVING EVERY LAST ONE…START A NEW ONE.

18. Negro Man –I admire you as a poster but by your comments above -you have let me down. You seem intelligent enough not to call another human being by such names never mind how much such a person angers you.

Forgive yourself and do not allow it to happen to you again. Any time you are angered by such persons–reverse the feeling and think and visualise —Love and Peace and wish the person the same—–this will ease the tension.———–

19. Q On reflection I made many comments that I later regret.I should know better as a mature person.I accept your advise and I now sincerely apologise to Reluctant Nonbeliever for any harsh and demeaning comments I might had made against him.
    Reluctant Nonbeliever please accept my apology in its sincerity.Let us be men to agree to disagree.
    Fellow bloggers if my harsh and sometimes contoversials comments offend anyone I say sorry.
    However,my views on many subject matters will not shift whatsoever and I will defend my views to the fullest.

20. Wait Negroman, de Hallelujah Chorus like duh pray fuh you.
    Or you went to de Obeah woman in St. Joseph fuh a bush bath or some shite?

Listen, CBC just hire a white Swedish man dat running from Trinidad fuh chile money. Look we we come to doh nuh.
    Come over to dah story leh we lambaste duh c_nt!

21. negroman, spoken like a man.

I accept your apology to me, and also apologise to you for my intemperate language. Won’t happen again.

okwasea na ne guan te mprenu, as my grandfather used to say (which roughly translated, means “only a fool lets his sheep break free twice”).

22. The above post was from me, reluctant nonbeliever.

23. @ Rodney King

How ya mean “why cant we all get along?”

You should know better dan dah. De white police in Los Angeles aint beat you and cause all hell to brek loose up dey?

Just kidding muh brudda!

24. I glad to see Reluctant and Negroman stop cussing each other.

Duh wuk obeah pon Negroman!

25. I saw a video on utube,( 2008) IN BARBADOS where a man was actually doing it to a woman from the back. She was leaning over and allowing him to copulate right in front of the camera s.YOU DO NOT NEED TO GO TO PORNAGRAPHY ON THE COMPUTER, OR TV. JUST GO TO BARBADOS, that 166sq mile island during Cropover, and you will see everything for free. The sad thing is that the Barbadian society has lost its values. 270,000 PEOPLE, and nearly half being ROTTED BY THE NEGLECT OF THEIR CLERGY, TEACHERS, AND PARENTS.
    It is expected that these words will be attacked, but Barbadians must stand up for the decency that they it once showed. It is known that all a lot of bajan boys and men think about is ‘attacking’ the ———-. Children being most vulnerable

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s