Barbados Underground

The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation In The News

September 3, 2008 · 161 Comments

The new General Manager of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation assumed duties Wednesday morning at its Pine headquarters. Lars Soderstrom was met on arrival by CBC Chairman Leroy Parris and Executive Director David Wright and then was introduced to the senior managers in the Corporation's boardroom - Source:Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation 30/07/2008

The Swede Lars G.O. Söderström is reporting on his Website that he has been the General Manager of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) for the last three months. We try to keep on top of the news which affect Barbados but we have to confess we missed this announcement. As always the BU household thanks the BU family member for drawing this matter to our attention. We have to admit though that the Swede’s resume is impressive, on paper!

It is a crying shame that at a time when Barbados is struggling to maintain its  cultural identity we could not find a son or daughter from the region to perform this job. The importance of our ONLY television station to facilitate cultural expression we believe to be critical to the development of our people. In the interest of transparency it would be interesting to find out  the selection criteria used to appoint the Swede to the post of General Manager. Is it true that Mr. Söderström was hired by the CBC as a consultant in 2004 and has participated in a restructuring exercise along with Trinidadian Malina Salandy up until a few months ago?

Barbadians need to have an explanation from Chairman Leroy Parris about this appointment. It appears that the Swede Lars G.O. Söderström joined CBC in his new capacity at the end of July 2008. It therefore begs the question – how is it that the Swede has published on his Website that he has been General Manager of the CBC for three months? As a matter of interest the BU family should recall that it was around July 2008 Deputy Chairman Jeannette Layne-Clarke resigned from the CBC Board citing illness and the need to recuperate.

The CBC has operated below expectation over the years and there are two reasons we think, the high level of political involvement and the cut-throat behaviour of the staff. We remember stories about Nigel Barrow the former Minister of Information playing dominoes away from CBC and looked-up to view a TV, when he saw a former popular news anchor, he telephoned CBC from the domino table. The anchor never appeared on national TV again after the call. Just as important is the need for the CBC staff to recognize the importance of teamwork and professionalism.

The former government had enunciated a public policy of working to beef-up the CBC to make it ready for privatization, is this the policy of the current government? We agree with the policy of the former government that the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) and the CBC should have a model which separates the commercial and development aspects of their businesses. What we can deduce from what we are hearing about the the Swede’s appointment is that it appears to be a continuation of the former government’s policy. Do not forget he participated in a restructuring which started in 2004.

It is unusual for agents who participate in the restructuring of a company to eventually land the job of managing the company. We venture to suggest that it is not the recommended management approach. We have two questions for the BU family:

1. Can you recommend Barbadians and other Caribbean media professionals in the diaspora who qualify for the job the Swede landed?
  2. What do you know about the Swede?

Categories: Barbados · Barbados Media · Barbados News · Barbados Press · Caribbean · Caribbean News · Culture
Tagged: , ,

161 responses so far ↓

• The scout // September 3, 2008 at 7:06 AM

If this is true, has the vacancy been advertised ? If yes, Was there a notice of an application to the Chief Immigration Officer for permission to advertise overseas? Did we look to find a Barbadian who lives overseas? Did we look to find someone from the region? who appoints such employees? What does this person know about bajan culture? What special qualities does he bring to the corporation? These are but a few questions I would like to have answered.

• CENTIPEDE // September 3, 2008 at 8:06 AM

Of course the only real problem is that Mr. Söderström is white.

• Tony Hall // September 3, 2008 at 8:17 AM

He was in a consultancy position from 2004. If this present board saw it fit to hire him even though he was working under the aegis of the previous government then he must have impressed that he has the capacity to steer the corporation in the right direction. Give the man a chance and stop looking at the fact that he is a white man.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 8:27 AM

Wunna at BU aint easy at all. Is dis true though? He’s de GM up dey fuh true?
    Woe betide!
    When Pearson get hired my Bajan brothers and sisters went pon a wildcat strike. Now a Swede sneek in and not a word! Woe betide BU!
    At CBC?
    Wunna telling lies.

• Thinking Aloud // September 3, 2008 at 8:29 AM

What if he was hired as a stop gap measure to give the Deputy General Manager time to settle so that once he goes the deputy gets the post without the hassle of the union?

What are Rodwell London’s Qualifications? both appointments seem fishy

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 8:43 AM

@ Tony Hall

“Give the man a chance and stop looking at the fact that he is a white man.”

I tell ya. We are de most apologetic people on earth.
    Ah wonder if a black bajan could apply for de job of GM of any national TV station in Sweden and get de pick.
    Shupes!
    @ Thinking Aloud

If any of dis is true at all! Maybe de man likes de Caribbean and de weather. Why else would a Harvard MBA work at a unionized government bureaucracy for US$60 000 a year? De average Harvard MBA in his 40s or 50s mekkin three times that amount.
    Woe betide dis morning! Woe betide!

• Ian Bourne // September 3, 2008 at 8:46 AM

David, you left out Glyne Murray as Info Min threatening my job to my father when he wrote ANTENNA, and his firing Rosemary Alleyne as Archive Mgr!

He called CBC “my tv set“, eventually? Murray was sent to Canada as Consul General, before more damage could be done, I do remember Lars shortly before I left – he was there with Marina for a Commonwealth consultancy… I saw him again at the John Mercurio lecture and wondered why he was there, now I understand!

As for Bajan candidates, apart from Dean St Hill, there’s Kent Jordan or even Julius Gittens – but then Richard Cox would probably lobby against that last one, despite Julius helping him get that job!

The reality is this – the fact there’s an overseas candidate in the position makes it easier for decisions to get acted on without too much local knowledge…

I doubt Julius of all would accept the post prima facie, he’d insist that his decisions implemented be acted on w/o political interference and that is why CBC will always be in trouble, as that will NEVER happen so long as there is one TV station which belongs to Govt!

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 8:52 AM

Bourne wha u aint easy at all. Lawd have his mercy!

Anyways, if any o dis is true at all, by de looks o dah CV he might not last too long up dey. So Dean we own HC boy might get de pick after all.
    Woe betide!

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 9:07 AM

Bourney, uncle Glyne threaten you job fuh trute doh?

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 9:25 AM

Bourne, you fuhget to mention we own Sonia Gill, Phd who headed the Broadcast Commission in Jamaica and now heads one o de UN Offices up dey. Not sure she wanna come back to lil 2×3 Buhbados doh, but we got nuff qualified Bajans all over de place dat could do dah job.
    SHUPESSSSSSSSSSS!

• The scout // September 3, 2008 at 9:44 AM

I asked some pertinent questions at the begining of this post. Is it not true that these vacancies should be advertised? How come other campanies have to follow a status quo while CBC could do as they like? Also rumours are that ICBL and Sagicor Ins. were changed for Clic. These things were done without any fanfare. Is it now a one-man- show?

• ROK // September 3, 2008 at 11:41 AM

Not sure that the problem here is the white. I think it is a question of cultural sensitivity and norms and standards. Ours are just different. Some may want to say we ain’t got none but we do.

We need people who can manage small things not large. We are a small country but somehow when we say national or Barbados we think we mean the whole world.

This gentleman is not ideal because he is from a different culture and standard which suits where he comes from and not here. Commonsense will tell you that he will want to do what he knows and not necessarily what is in the best interests of Barbados.

We do not need another CNN, Days of our Lives or Batman. We think that once you sound like them and try to portray that image is to be professional.

We boast of 99% literacy (which is a joke), but even then, people need continued education; they need to connect with themselves and their communities; Learn of their identity; feel a part of the nation; etc. and not look up to what is not theirs and try to emulate it.

How many of our youngsters know anything about their African Race and Culture? They can certainly tell you about America and its glitter and glamour, or even England, but what can they tell you about Africa or even Barbados?

We have many who are qualified to be GM of CBC, even if we bring back Julian Rogers. We practice a culture of deprivation on ourselves, that is why Murray, Williams and all the like can do what they do and we accept it.

The concept of a Government in power is quite different to one in office. There is a difference between a powerful person and one who has authority. Government Departments are there to regulate and not dictate. Simple terms but carry heavy meanings, implications and mental messages.

Tells you something about the world view of those who use them, especially the media. It is not a good thing for the psyche of the nation and using improper terms can only reinforce the lack of empowerment rather than encourage empowerment.

Most poor people do not feel empowered. They do not feel deserving of anything good. The feel doomed to a life of struggle; hence the crime and violence because they feel thay have nothing to lose.

If we are struggling against poverty, we need to deal with this mindset. Our media ain’t saying a “pang” when it comes to educating our people. Too superficial and sensational. Life is about balance.

• ROK // September 3, 2008 at 11:48 AM

@the scout:

Very, very pertinent questions. Remember that these are not professional appointments, they are political appointments??????? Is there such a thing though???? Parliament pass laws, Government set policy, public workers execute?

• J // September 3, 2008 at 12:20 PM

The objection is not to the fact that he is a white.

If he was a black Swede of say African or African-American ancestry (and there are such Swedes) we would still object.

It is a culturally sensitive position.

It should go to a Barbadian person preferably or to a Caribbean person.

I would have no objection if the work was advertised, interviews conducted and the best candidate was a white Bajan.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:20 PM

Mr. Soderstrom was declared bankrupt in Trinidad (Claim No. CV 2006-03130) after failing for years to pay child support. He fled to Barbados to avoid service of process by the Official Reciever in Trinidad. Contrary to the press statement released by the CBC, he never served as a VP of the BBC in London.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:22 PM

Wuhloss wuhloss wuhloss.

Woe betide! Another one…

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:23 PM

Millie gone Brazil oh lawd poor millie!

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:25 PM

Where is de CBC Press Statement Anon?

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:25 PM

Anon, sorry fuh being gypsy, but you is de chile mother?

• J // September 3, 2008 at 12:28 PM

The Scout wrote at 9:44 on September 3rd “Also rumours are that ICBL and Sagicor Ins. were changed for Clic.”

I hope that this is not true. I hope that Chairmen of Boards are not engaging in insider trading, that is that they are not shovelling my tax dollars into their own private coffers.

I also do not like the statement attributed to the Prime Minister about fatted calves being shared among those who helped the DLP to victory.

My question is what about the rest of us voting/tax paying/citizens who are neither B nor D.

If we are not B and we are not D then does that mean that we are permanently excluded from the tax-funded banquet?

Why?

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:33 PM

J dont change dis subject man. We wanna malicious in de white man bizness and find out why he aint pay de chile money and wash up pon Barbados shores.

We want de flying fish to come back too!

• J // September 3, 2008 at 12:34 PM

You mean we hire a man who failed to pay his cock tax?

We have thousands of them ’bout Barbados.

We didn’t have to go all the way to Sweden to find a dead-beat dad???

I have a real problem with dead-beat dads. I feel that they should be hung by the ba*ls until they are d*ad.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:34 PM

Link to press statement:
    http://www.cbc.bb/index.pl/print?id=1890051

• J // September 3, 2008 at 12:38 PM

ok

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:51 PM

BU you better run a degree check pon de white man and see if he’s a Harvard MBA fuh trute.
    http://www.degreechk.com/

Or call up Harvard’s Registrar to do the check. They would verify it once you call.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:56 PM

Dis is shameful doh. Tell de trute. Somebody pon de CBC Board did drunk.

And bajans up dey accept dis? And dese is de same bajans dat walk out pon strike cause dem feel Pearson was getting too much money?

Dis is so sickening. I feel to puke.

Who is the Chairman at CBC?
    Dis is de same government dat talking bout bajans first? De same government dat bring in people for crop over now doing dis shite?

I really feel to puke!

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 12:57 PM

I starting to get vex. BU we want his Swedish r_sshole outta CBC. Dis is bear c_unt!

• J // September 3, 2008 at 1:05 PM

Did Leroy Parris and the CBC Board ask Cameron Bailey? Mr. Bailey was born of 2 Barbadian parents in London, England, educated in Barbados at St. Boniface Junior (now Gordon Greenidge Primary) and in Ontario up to the master’s degree level. Currently Co-director of the Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF). Before that worked as a programmer for TIFF for 12 years where founded and managed the Planet Africa segment of the Festival. Planet Africa brings films by African and African diaspora films to audiences who attend one of North American’s biggest and best fim festivals.

Mr. Bailey is member of the board of the Royal Ontario Museum

A brilliant man. And he he is only 44, not yet old and tired.

Did anybody ask Mr. Bailey?

Here is a link to his statement on TIFF’s website:

http://tiff08.ca/aboutthefestival/codirectorsmessage/default.aspx

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 1:20 PM

Man J there is a whole longggggggggggg ass list of highly qualified bajans dat could do de job. And effin duh cant find a bajan, there’s a long list of Caribbean nationals within CSME.
    Lord have mercy now!
    Wha de ass wrong wid we at all doh? This is soooooooooo sickening. I really feel to puke.

• The scout // September 3, 2008 at 2:28 PM

Anonymoue
    Puke, clear your stomach, the fatted calf getting cut up, Wash out your belly and hope that a hefty piece of the calf drop off the truck by your door. I got my pot on since Sunday and looking for the truck too.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 2:32 PM

Only bout hey!

Dont be surprise if the Harvard MBA dont hold up. Cuz I find it strange dat a Harvard MBA would wash up in Bim to work for US$60 000.

Dis two and two aint adding up at all.

• The scout // September 3, 2008 at 2:35 PM

That’s probably what he getting on the books. In that type of circle depending on which foot you’re standing on would determine how much you get.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 3:31 PM

The Harvard MBA is legitimate. Mr. Soderstrom was VP of Marketing for TSTT in Trinidad for only few months before abruptly resigning under unexplained circumstances. See: http://www.guardian.co.tt/archives/2006-11-22/business2.html

• notesfromthemargin // September 3, 2008 at 4:00 PM

David,

perhaps some clarity might be provided here by noting that the calculation of 3 months is NOT actually done by Mr. Soderstrom, but by the “Linked In” website itself. So someone putting in July 2008 to present is calculated as July – September hence the three months.

Linked In is a social networking site (similar to Facebook) that anyone can join and try this for themselves.

It seems to me that all forms of wild allegations are being done here by people who are posting anonymously and engaging in a most vicious form of character assassination. In my view this is an abuse of BU.

Marginal

• J // September 3, 2008 at 4:11 PM

Dear Anon:

It is not good enough to tell us that the Harvard MBA is genuine.

Show us the proof.

• J // September 3, 2008 at 4:13 PM

And a Harvard MBA can’t pay his chile money???

This is very, very, very strange.

Harvard MBA’s make mints of money.

$60,000 USD is no more that some good 5th form men and women in Barbados are making by age 40 or 50.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 4:43 PM

A Harvard MBA opens doors, but is no guarantee of ability or character.

• J // September 3, 2008 at 4:45 PM

Was this job advertised?

Where?

For how long?

If it was not advertised then why not?

I just hope that the Chairman and his Trinidadian business partmer are not “helping out” one of the “boys” who found himself in finacial and matrimonial difficulties in Trinidad.

Because we remember how “Owing” helped out some of his buddies by helping them to our tax dollars.

• J // September 3, 2008 at 4:46 PM

Was this job advertised?

Where?

For how long?

If it was not advertised then why not?

I just hope that the Chairman and his Trinidadian business partmer are not “helping out” one of the “boys” who found himself in financial/matrimonial/professional difficulties in Trinidad.

Because we remember how “Owing” helped out some of his buddies by helping them to our tax dollars.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 4:49 PM

David and the BU family needs to investigate Mr. Lars Söderström’s because when I Google his name “Lars Söderström” (Lars G.O. Söderström) the only info that comes back are to the link BU have already link to with his professional profile and this same BU article we are all getting so interested in.

So again to BU, Bush Tea, and the Yardbroom’s etc. to investigate this appointment.

• J // September 3, 2008 at 4:52 PM

This man is a Swede?

Sweden is one of the 27 member countries of the EU?

He can work in any one of those member countries.

Or in Trinidad?

or presumably the U.S.

but he chooses Barbados? and lands in a job which was not advertised?

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 4:53 PM

Correction BU.

So again to BU, Bush Tea, and the Yardbroom’s etc. can you all please investigate this appointment. As it’s looking like this is going to be another braking story brought to light by the blogs first once again.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 5:07 PM

Dis is a funny one though. Here we are with a communications company and neither de GM nor de chairman o de board does speak English as duh first language.

Wuh loss!

• J // September 3, 2008 at 5:13 PM

Anonymous:

You to wicked tho’.

I had forgotten how Mr. Parris mangles the language.

I’d love to be a fly on the wall when a meeting between these two non-English speakers is in progress.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 5:32 PM

Can you imagine how Jeannette Layne-Clarke used to cringe in dem meetings. Oh Jesus. No wonder de poor woman resign.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 5:34 PM

Mr Parris dont man de language. He does butcher um man. Lawd! Bring de teleprompter fuh he quick bohsie!

• Partial // September 3, 2008 at 6:13 PM

Ms. Layne-Clarke’s ability to speak good English does not give her the right to publicly chastise Pearson in the local media for talking about “laying” on the beach. A lot of people make a mistake at sometime. She should start putting down the politicians and other so called big up officials who make major errors in public all the time. The lady could have referred to his error without calling his name. Pearson is a smart fellow. He would not make that mistake again. Same way she attacked Marsha (?) about her presentation some time back.

Ms. Layne-Clarke seems to be quite a spiteful, vindictive woman.

Yes, I am aware of the fact that when you are in the public eye you are open to criticism. That should also apply to some of the extremely large ladies at CBC who are not at all appealing to the eye.

Perhaps Ms. Layne-Clarke should go on t.v. sometime and show us all how it is really done.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 6:23 PM

Partial

I have to disagree wid u. Layne-Clarke does an excellent job as a critic and she keeps them on their toes. It’s about standards. The fact that she called out Pearson means he wouldnt repeat that error. Trust me, the ones who are serious about their careers take Layne-Clarke very seriously.
    She doesnt have to go on TV since her and Vic Brewsters trains most of them in their own private consulting.
    Now, dont change de subject man, we maliciousing in de white man bizness dat wont pay he chile money.
    Wunna always goin off track. Shupes! We wanna know if BU call Harvard to verify he degree and wha de ass he doing up pon WE TV ahead of a bajan.
    Get back on track.

• David // September 3, 2008 at 6:34 PM

We have several members of the BU family who lives in the USA.

We remind the BU family the point of our blog on CBC. Some bigger issues here which we had hoped would have interest the BU family. J and The Scout have touched on some of them.

• Partial // September 3, 2008 at 6:55 PM

Sorry, BU. Didn’t mean to get off track. That was just a comment.

I too would like to get some more info on this Swede. I have a brother in the US who is a car salesman who gets (or used to) that same amount of money and he barely finished secondary school in Bdos. Very strange that he come out of T&T where the PM and Parris have so many business connections.

There seems to be a lot more to this than meets the eye.

• David // September 3, 2008 at 7:03 PM

Where is the $60,000.00 usd figure coming from.

• Partial // September 3, 2008 at 8:05 PM

Oops. I re-read the entire post and Anonymous seems to be the first person who mentioned the amount, then J and now me.

@ Anonymous. That figure correct? Where you get it from? We need to verify. Might be plenty more than that.

• youcouldbelievethis // September 3, 2008 at 8:28 PM

Interesting, I just hope the hiring process was fair and balenced. Of course I’m a little wary of foreigners running things for us…but his foreigness can also be a good thing. Guess we’ll have to wait and see…and is that Tony Hall from Gayelle commenting?

• J // September 3, 2008 at 8:39 PM

Dear You Could Believe this:

How on earth could the hiring process be fair and balanced if the job was not advertised?

• The scout // September 3, 2008 at 8:41 PM

WIV
    I’m still awaiting to hear from you. I will check the blog in the morning and hope you reply to me.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 9:14 PM

US$60 000 is the approx figure at the top of the scale for heads of statutory corporations when you include, travel (including vehicle and petrol), entertainment and all de lil perquisites.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 9:21 PM

@ notesfromthemargin

It seems to me that all forms of wild allegations are being done here by people who are posting anonymously and engaging in a most vicious form of character assassination. In my view this is an abuse of BU.

Characater assassination my ass. De long and short is dat a bajan should be in de r_sshole job.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 9:28 PM

@
    lsoderstrom@cbc.bb

GET TO F_CK OUTTA BARBADOS GO LONG BACK WHERE U COME FROM. DUH GOT BAJANS DAT COULD DO DE JOB PON WE TV.

• Partial // September 3, 2008 at 9:56 PM

@ Anonymous

Cuh Loss, Anonymous. We really should not be attacking and cursing this poor man.

After all, he din give heself the job. The ones who really want buseing are those who put the man in this precarious spot by hiring him without advertising the position.

Although it seems real strange that with his qualifications he would accept a position at that salary, if that is really what he getting, maybe the position also come with one of those beach front houses with swimming pool rent free – in a tropical paradise. Maybe it isn’t so unbelievable after all.

The staff at CBC seem real frighten, though, or maybe they just real loyal. Not one of them would not even unpick duh teet and give the BU family a little news.

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 10:02 PM

In typical bajan style dem mussee up dey grumbling in de corridors. You believe dese same so-and-so people walk out pon strike when pearson get hired year before? And not a fella unpick he teet when dis swedish refugee sneak in dey!
    SHUPES!

• Anonymous // September 3, 2008 at 10:07 PM

@ Partial

We aint want no mo news. We got enuf. He aint had no right dey. Gih a bajan de job. Any bajan, any color, any race, any religion, but not he. He aint no bajan. Go and work somewhere else. Go in de private sector. Not pon de government owned TV. dah aint mekking no kinda sense at all.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 12:05 AM

Marginal:

Wild allegations?

The man claimed to be a VP of the BBC (see CBC press statement link above) when he was merely a sales consultant for a technology unit in the lead up for the sale of that unit to Siemens of Germany (see his own LinKedIn posting)>

If you doubt the bankruptcy and deadbeat father allegations, look up the Trinidad case referenced above.

If you doubt the mysterious circumstances of his abrupt departure from TSTT, check out the link provided above.

If this is not enough to warrant a closer review of his qualifications, then more details of his true past can surely be provided.

Lastly, how is someone named “Marginal” any more reliable than an “Anonymous” who actually provides hard proof?

Anon

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 12:12 AM

Partial:

Yes, he has been provided very comfortable accomodations and a generous expense account.

• Warrior // September 4, 2008 at 12:59 AM

Now I know that this is off topic, however I think it merits mention and if possible some investigation.

I have noticed that MCTV has taken to showing pornography on one of its Cinemax channels, not only are they showing it but early in the evening like 9:30 pm when children are awake and flipping through channels.

This is not right and should not be allowed at all, I am deeply concerned as a parent that this dog is going on. I am really very angry at it.

• Negroman // September 4, 2008 at 1:35 AM

Well well well the more things change the more there remain the same.We looking to this government for action with illegal immigration & questionable work permit that were issued.
    A white swede with a questionable personality heading CBC.Only in Barbados.
    Trinidad is next door to us and no background checks were made of the individual who was short listed to take up such an important post.
    What kind of joke government we have in place.Hopeless for us.We are from the frying pan into the fire.
    This government should be recalled.I cannot believe this.I am totally dumbfounded.
    A joke government with clown ministers we have elected.

• The scout // September 4, 2008 at 2:50 AM

It would appear that this government is hell bent on cutting up this fatted calf among people that was staring for 14 yrs. If that isthe case Mr.P.M you making a big mistake and playing right into the hands of that ******woman leading the opposition. We want Dipper or Tom duppy to come back quickly and save this country.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:34 AM

@ Warrior

Put dat in submissions nuh. Wha you come here and change de subject fuh and see we maliciousing.
    Btw, tell me which channel de porn pon.
    Oh shite I got Direct TV though.
    It free pon MCTV? I better switch back.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:36 AM

Somebody tell Warrior dat de remote control can block out de porn so he lil children cant see it. Shupes.
    Shite man, de Hallelujah Chorus come over here too?

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:40 AM

@ Negroman

Since BU aint plan pon doing it, gypsy me calling Harvard today. I goin put on my speakie spokie accent and find out if de Swede got he MBA fuh trute.
    Ya know if it did one o we, duh woulda call ever since. Or duh woulda say “man he aint got nuh doctorate fuh trute, he buy dah!”

Why Layne-Clarke cant come out and tell de public something? Or we gotta wait to hear um in Pampalam?

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:44 AM

@ Scout

You getting too political now. You want WIV come on hear and talk bout corruption again? You aint tired o he/she? We got 50 months till elections.
    Wha got me bothered is dat de staff in de Pine quiet like church mice.
    Wha dem brutes does strike fuh any lil ting.

I feel Leroy Parris got dem friten or confused. Duh mussee cant understand how such a green verb idiot could be setting policy. I feel duh confused.

• Partial // September 4, 2008 at 7:47 AM

@ Warrior

BU, I’m not getting off track the subject, but just another lil comment.

I don’t mind watching a lil porn every now and again and I don’t see why I should have to wait till midnight to see it. I ain’t Dracula. I pay MCTV big money too and they should be catering to all tastes.

All you need to do is put parental control on the channel if you know it shows porn at 9.30 p.m. and then unblock it when the kids gone to bed so you can get a lil peep – if you want.

Back to CBC and the foolishness that keeps going on and on.

Chairman Parris. Barbadians need some transparency here please. DLP dealt with criminals and now BLP doing the same. Any man who does not support his child is a criminal and any man who runs from country to country to avoid same is worse.

Make sure you let Ms. Layne-Clarke help you with the speech before you let loose with the verbiage. (I hope that is a word).

• Partial // September 4, 2008 at 7:49 AM

Sorry, family. Switch round the Bs & the Ds.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:54 AM

At 9:30 he children should be sleeping to get up early fuh school de next morning. If dem aint dah young, den duh ole enuf to watch porn. If he block it pon TV duh goin in duh room and watch it pon de Internet or somebody else chile goin bring it school and show everybody.
    You wanna tell me he aint see a porn magazine at school.
    De Hallelujah Chorus does mek me sick.

Who send he over hey to change de subject doh?
    He talking shite bout porn and tt is alleged de GM o CBC wanted fuh chile money!

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 7:56 AM

@ Partial

I thought you were a peace loving person. Why de hell would you want to unleash Leroy Parris pon de poor public with a speech. Could chrise man!

• Partial // September 4, 2008 at 8:01 AM

@ Anonymous

I’m not so peace loving, but you quite right. Lol.

• The scout // September 4, 2008 at 8:26 AM

So much for transparency and integraty. These are just fancy words. I guess some people meant what they said when the staement was used but when your hand is in the lion’s mouth you have to befriend that lion. Welcome to the real world of politics.

• The scout // September 4, 2008 at 8:30 AM

See why I can’t support any particular political party? Too many diehard supporters end up spitting up in the air and watch it falling right back unto their faces. The funny thing is the poilticians look on a get a good laugh.

• Negroman // September 4, 2008 at 8:43 AM

Leroy Parris the chairman of CBC the comedy act of the year.That is right the idiot of Barbados a political lackey is the head of such an important national institution no wonder we have the spectatcle of a white swedish “criminal” running from his moral responsibility heading CBC.”The blind leading the blind”
    I agree that we replaced 1 oppressive,corrupt government with an equally oppressive & its appears to be just as corrupt government.
    The clowns are at it again.
    David Thompson & his cohorts.

• The scout // September 4, 2008 at 8:48 AM

I asked the question a few days ago and didn’t get a response. I am asking it again. Is it true that Sagicor and ICBL Ins. were dismissed from CBC and replaced by Clico?

• The scout // September 4, 2008 at 10:24 AM

Is my question too sensitive for an answer? Am I treading on dangerous ground? Negroman, Anonymous, you are my friends, if I’m asking too much please tell me so that I can stop. Victimisation can be detrimental to my family and I

• Ian Bourne // September 4, 2008 at 10:49 AM

I have no idea if Clico took over, but Sagicor at CBC did not give as good a rate as in Hospitality – I eventually signed on under my wife when she was at Grand B’dos and now at Hilton (can claim more for my specs) was given a better plan & it was cheaper too… The same Sagicor, amazing huh?

• Real Ting // September 4, 2008 at 10:56 AM

As far as I heard scout; tenders were sought for Insurance and Clico and somebody else were the lowest bids . the portfolio was then split . I seem to remember reading this in the press at some point in time since it was a burning concern earlier in the year.

Maybe Mr. Parris cant speak, I dont know; I have never listened to anything he has said , never had to; But I would not disregard his business acumen and ability to efficiently manage a corporation; after all he has done it with one of the largest in Barbados. I seriously doubt if as chairman he has anything to do with programming etc

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 11:09 AM

Let Parris sit on the Board and shut up. Please dont ask him to speak on anything. The agony is too much to bear. Could chrise man!

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 11:10 AM

Nobody cant victimize you Scout. We would come fuh dem!

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 11:11 AM

We would send de same people dat work Obeah pon Negroman to soften he up fuh dem ef duh trouble you.

• Warrior // September 4, 2008 at 11:33 AM

Just like the sneak in the new Swede is just like they sneak in the porn on the MCTV. If I had any idea that it was showing I would not allow my children to watch it, and for the record it was during the summer holidays.

Perhaps the reason why they snook in the Swede is because they know that Bajans are now callous to anything and anything goes.

I prefer to sing the Hallalujah chorus any day.

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 11:42 AM

Wow! The Swede bring de porn? See? Cultural norms??

• Negroman // September 4, 2008 at 11:51 AM

Anonymous You are making me laugh.Somebody wuk obeah on Negroman.Wuh loss.No one could shut up this blackman,however,in war you must know when to retreat,regroup and come again. I am the same old Negroman fearless and willing to state his position.

Do not inflict the “green verb man” Leroy Parris on the good people of Barbados..
    Scout,I heaard the insurance company at CBC was changed to CLICO I heard that on a news cast on CBC a few weeks ago.I believe it happened when thre was a retreat for the staff of CBC.I wonder if some light could be shed on that issue.I also believe we the public should be given a reason why the insurance company of CBC was changed for CLICO whose president is the CEO of the said company.
    Could this be a form of corruption or a conflict of interest?

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 1:02 PM

@ Warrior:

Aiight den. I fuhget de childrun was pon vacation. So I trust you does put dem to bed early now dat school start back.

Mek sure de newniforms in order ya hear, cause de head o de Hallelujah chorus (my good friend Matthew Farley) leading de campaign and sending home de people children.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 1:04 PM

@ ROK

Well yuh know dem swedes good wuffless. Dem like more porn dan me.

• Anonymous // September 4, 2008 at 1:06 PM

@ Negroman.

My brother, in de good ole days we called dat conflict of interest. Under Thompson it’s called sharing de fattened calf.
    Wuh loss. Duh right like shite!

• J // September 4, 2008 at 2:56 PM

Well a lot of you let yorselves be fooled by the DLP’s “time for change” jingle.

But my question has always been change to what???? I did not hear any answers during the election campaign.

CBC should not be showing porngraphy at all. Not at anytime. If they can’t afford any programming then shut down programming at 9:30 and let the good men and women of Barbados go to bed and sexually entertain each other instead of watching mock-mock sex on tv.

We need to get back to old fashioned Bajan family (and family making) values.

At 9:30 p.m. sharp every man goes to bed with his own woman. NAKED now tht it is so hot outside. No need to pay for porn in you have a good man or woman in the house. If you don’t have one, then start looking for one now.

• no name // September 4, 2008 at 3:06 PM

Wow, J,

I agree wholeheartedly.

When I was younger I had a friend who had many siblings. He said his parents had no TV to watch at night.

There are a few things we can do about that now.

• Q // September 4, 2008 at 3:23 PM

CHANGE TO WHAT -

-was always my question too

Owen asked the same question on the election campaign trail.

OWEN –yuh did good -never mind the naysayers
    WHAT WOULD THEY HAVE DONE ?

• David // September 4, 2008 at 5:37 PM

@ROK et al

Do Statutory Corporations in Barbados have to abide by a legislated Code of Ethics? If so wouldn’t Chairman Leroy Parris have bene expected to recuse himself/CLICO from the insurance transaction which occured at CBC?

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 6:09 PM

@David

Not sure about a code of ethics but under Owen Athur, there has been some attempt to redefine the status of the officers of these institutions and bring them under the Ministry of the Civil Service.

Since this happened it is obvious that from Director up would become political appointments and outside the control of the Ministry, except that in the case of a director the unions may still claim territory as seen at NPC.

When it comes to board meetings all that happens is that if a matter concerns you, you declare your hand and when the debate arises you either leave the room or say nothing depending on the depth of the involvment.

That is the extent of the transparency. So if the Chairman owns a soap company and he happens to be the Chair of the Government soap buying Corporation, then as Chair why should he not make a contribution to the use of soap and simply because he happens to own a soap company don’t mean that the company should not benefit because he is chair…

But was COW Chair of Pine Hill Dairy and was selling the most milk to the dairy? Is that how we should look at it? Two different situations? Can’t say.

What about the Chairman of the Private Sector Agency being Chair of CBC? Is that not a conflict too? The CBC runs off advertising from the Private Sector. That sounds even more dangerous.

I would therefore have to conclude that there are no codes of ethics, only policies pursued.

• J // September 4, 2008 at 6:19 PM

Dear ROK:

Can you say that in English please.

I studied English up to university level and I don’t understand a word of what you are saying.

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 6:27 PM

@J

What can I say, I ain’t too pretty at this English thing. I only recounting what I know from sitting on corporations as an NGO and then from what I see happening.

I never see a copy of a code of conduct that was legislated unless done as Chris suggested; by statutory instrument (SI).

• Chris Halsall // September 4, 2008 at 6:40 PM

@J: “Can you say that in English please. I studied English up to university level and I don’t understand a word of what you are saying.”

For the record… I almost dropped out of (Canadian) high school because I hated, and could not deal with, “English class”… It was only because I was introduced to Shakespeare in grade 11 that I kept on…

I managed two more years in University (without English classes) before dumping the “formal education thing” because I had already learnt what they were teaching… (I felt somewhat vindicated when, ten years later, I was invited back to teach…)

But, to put on the table, what ROK wrote above, and which you objected to, was perfectly clear to anyone who can read…

May we live in interesting times…

• David // September 4, 2008 at 6:41 PM

@ROK

We suspect that you are correct and this is a shame. It fits with some info we got recently that former Prime Minister is about to hand over several gifts which he received when Prime minister to the Arlington House Museum in St. Peter.

• J // September 4, 2008 at 8:27 PM

Dear ROK

“I never see a copy of a code of conduct that was legislated unless done as Chris suggested; by statutory instrument (SI).”

Now yah talking.

Thanks muchly.

• Chris Halsall // September 4, 2008 at 8:52 PM

@J… @ROK… @David… @Et al…

Please forgive me for this… But… I asked a very simple, but very deep, question here: do we know our own Laws?

Prejudice aside… Do we? Can anyone here speak to the SIs?

For the record, I can speak to a few… Can anyone else?

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 9:23 PM

There are methods of checking for law. They don’t change that often but I will give it to you straight. Sometimes even Government Departments find themselves implementing laws that don’t exist.

For example, during the rate hearing there was an SI that was not proclaimed, when all along we were saying that it was and the FTC was acting as if it was. It was a former Legal Counsel who went and did the research and came back and advised that is was not proclaimed and therefore not law.

These fine points make it difficult for the layman and therefore I would say that the law is not always known.

As to the SI being held back from public, it really can’t be but somebody may have a single copy or the Government Printer ain’t print the law yet so none are available; but a year pass; etc. All kinds of unforgiveable scenarios.

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 9:26 PM

One thing for sure though is that the Parliamentarians know. As PA to Hammie, many times I had to resort to his Parliamentary packages.

• Chris Halsall // September 4, 2008 at 9:45 PM

@ROK et al… Please forgive my while my brain expoldes…

[BOOM!!!]

Are you actually telling us that even though the SIs are not available to the public… that after we go to the Printery, knowing what to ask for, and paying for copies of same…

…that after all of this, we *still* can’t determine *our* *own* *Laws*?

*Please* tell me your joking!!!

Or should we simply give up now? (This last question is *very* serious.)

• SWEETNESS // September 4, 2008 at 9:53 PM

Politics Politics Politics!!!! What a shame. We wanted change so accept the change that is coming.
    According to Anon we busying in de man business so let us get back there

• SWEETNESS // September 4, 2008 at 9:54 PM

Don’t mind what Owen did. He was a LEADER and not a follower

• Chris Halsall // September 4, 2008 at 10:44 PM

@SWEETNESS…

My apologies for wasting your time…

My apologies for wishing to determine the actual laws under which we act.

My apologies…

• ROK // September 4, 2008 at 11:55 PM

@ Chris

You got me cracking up! Sounds ridiculous? …and how much more ridiculous situations you come across? It’s part of this political structure. Then we talk ’bout Mugabe and Idi Amin.

We are no different. There is too much disregard for people’s rights and it exists all through the system. It is not uncommon to hear public officers/servants being referred to as “little Hitlers”.

• Q // September 5, 2008 at 5:07 PM

DAVID THOMPSON:

has not yet said what his vision is for Barbados and where he wants to take the country

what sir is your vision for BARBADOS ?

• Wunna like dah nuh // September 5, 2008 at 5:58 PM

The post was advertised. Pearson on the evening news announced the appointment sometime ago but it was rather low keyed. Sometime ago Lars was trying to get CBC to contract his company to do some work. On another CBC matter anyone notice that ABC network ’s local Miami feed on HD is now falling off our screens? Also today’s press indicates that there will be a new GIS chief soon, the present one is being given her walking papers, but she read it in the press like all of us. The daggers seem to be out!!

• Chris Halsall // September 5, 2008 at 6:27 PM

@Wunna like dah nuh: “The post was advertised.”

Care to share exactly where this was advertised? Care to share exactly when?

For the record, I don’t actually expect any answers to my above. (Answers to questions appears to be beyond our ability at the moment… [My apologies in advance -- that might be interpreted as being cynical and negative...])

But, again, for the record, it amuses my sorry ass to keep asking questions… I’m channelling my “Four year old” self… “Why?”, “Why?”, “Why…?”

(As an aside… How do young children learn? By asking “Why?”… How do adults learn? Again, by asking “Why?”, but understanding the answers…)

• Wunna like dah nuh // September 5, 2008 at 6:32 PM

Chris

Can’t really give you exact dates but I do remember seeing adverts on CBC TV 8, however I can’t say if it was done in the print media.

• Partial // September 5, 2008 at 6:42 PM

Where are our “investigative reporters”? Isn’t this the type of info they should be digging into? Owing ESAF gone now and I was hoping things were getting better.

Are they still afraid?

• Tell me Why // September 5, 2008 at 7:34 PM

Can’t really give you exact dates but I do remember seeing adverts on CBC TV 8,
    …………………………………………………………………….
    Are you privileged to a special television feed from the Pine, how come My TV didn’t show it?

• The scout // September 5, 2008 at 9:21 PM

Not many barbadians watch channel 8 , so if it is advertised there, how many barbadians will see it? Why was it not placed in the print media? Why if no barbadian was found, was a notice not placed in the print media indicating that they intend to advertise overseas? Isn’t this the norm? My gut feeling is that this job was already allocated to this man. If there was an ad on T.V.8, that was just formality.

• Observing // September 5, 2008 at 9:51 PM

The post was actually advertised in the press as well, if you didn’t see it doesn’t mean it wasn’t there. If it matters that much to you go the the news paper libraries at the Advocate and the Nation.

• Chris Halsall // September 5, 2008 at 9:53 PM

@The scout et al…

If I May… Two very simple questions:

1. What are the rules?

2. Were they followed?

• Chris Halsall // September 5, 2008 at 10:09 PM

@Observing: “The post was actually advertised in the press as well, if you didn’t see it doesn’t mean it wasn’t there.”

Care to share *when*?

As I understand it, the “rules” are these types of positions must be advertised at least twice in the “press”.

Then, and only then, if an appropriate local candidate is not found, then there must be at least one additional advertisement in the “press” stating this fact.

I, personally, try to read both Barbados “papers” every single day. Please forgive me if my memory is not as good as I think it is, but I don’t recall seeing advertisements for this position.

There are many very learned individuals on this Blog. One might think that *someone* would be able to recall such advertisements… Or, perhaps, CBC (and/or The Nation and/or The Advocate) might be asked when they purchased the ad space.

And, equally important, the dates of same…

I’m, as always, more than happy to be proven a fool.

Can someone *please* do so?

Kindest regards to all…

• J // September 6, 2008 at 12:01 AM

Dear CH:

I read both papers everyday too and I do watch channel 8 from time to time and I never saw or heard the ad. But somehow this Swedish guy knew about the vacancy, applied and after a rigourous interview process he was found to be the best of the 12 people who applied.

Yeah right!!!!!!!!!!!!

• The scout // September 6, 2008 at 8:51 AM

This administration “mekking sport at we.” How long is too long when it’s good; real good but for whom?

• Tell me Why // September 6, 2008 at 1:06 PM

Can’t really give you exact dates but I do remember seeing adverts on CBC TV 8,
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    Wunna like dah nuh: OK I agree with you that it was shown on CBC, but you didn’t say it was shown on CBC in Canada. Hee Hee. Now, yuh like dah nuh. Trying to fool habitual readers.

• Tell me Why // September 6, 2008 at 1:10 PM

By the way, an advertiser must run the ad three days in one paper. If no one fit the requirement, the advertiser must run an ad for three days stating no one fit the job and objectors must apply to the Chief Immigration Officer lodging any objections. Since the Swede is not a Bajan or not within the CSME, the company should have gone through the right procedures.

• Anonymous // September 6, 2008 at 1:18 PM

Well we aint know if he marry a Trini and has rights in CSME. De point is dat we dont want he dey. We want a bajan in de job. Plain and simple.

• David // September 6, 2008 at 1:43 PM

Seems that there is no end of controversy at CBC. Do you remember our friend Rosemary Alleyne who was relegated to the CBC library under the former administration? Well she has started to find her voice. Seems the the reporter Shane Sealy who wears his hair in the braided style of Senator Damien Griffith is being targeted by Rosemary Alleyne who has objected strongly to his hair style.

As we all know Rosemary is into the African garb which to our way of thinking conflicts with her view on the hair thing.

The big question is whether this matter will find its way to Court!

• The scout // September 6, 2008 at 1:50 PM

Interesting!!!!!!
    The precident has been ser by our young senator. Rosemary is a big noise in the party and she dress up like a circus clown, why can’t an ordinary worker at CBC wear braids? This fatted calf real big or some people getting too much.

• Partial // September 6, 2008 at 3:42 PM

Somebody needs to object strongly to Ms. Alleyne’s appearance. She is big, fat and ugly. Regardless of how large she is in the party, she is a f%%@!&g eyesore!!

• Wunna like dah nuh // September 6, 2008 at 7:32 PM

What is Ms. Alleyne’s new position? I notice that she is back on the set, has she replaced Richard Cox?

• Anonymous // September 6, 2008 at 10:11 PM

I dont find Rosemary ugly.

• lowbattery // September 7, 2008 at 1:01 AM

lets see. we have a local tv station, with cable.
    BUT.
    it cannot find the channel space to put on an all day community service channel.
    it cannnot find time to solicit local video of sports, schools and community events.
    12 years ago, in HALIFAX, behind God Back, there was a communty channel with text notes from churches, habbi birthdays, dance announcements and local video of b-ball and hockey……
    and under previous management, CBC cul not manage that.
    maybe, a breath of fresh air might get that done.
    we are SO afraid of change in Barbados.or not.
    and yes, there are many qualified bajans that coud fit the bill.
    but.
    perhaps, they might actually start changing things…..

• youcouldbelievethis // September 7, 2008 at 9:01 AM

Hey J… I’m not from Barbados, and I probably missed the line in the post where they said the position wasn’t advertised.

• David // September 7, 2008 at 10:20 AM

It is normal for the GM of CBC to speak-out on cultural and other matters . Will Barbadians be seeing the Swede operating in this role? What is evident is that this appointment is to beef up the managerial skills on the commercial side of the business, if this is true then we should see the appointment of a strong GM recruited from local/region to counterbalance the thing.

• Juris // September 7, 2008 at 10:23 AM

David,

When last did you hear a GM of CBC speak on anything?

• David // September 7, 2008 at 10:30 AM

@Juris

Until Dr. Allyson Leacock-Roach was booted by Owen she was certainly seen in the news often and Melba Smith to a lesser extent.

• Juris // September 7, 2008 at 10:34 AM

Agreed, David, but scarcely on cultural matters and nothing controversial. And who was the last GM?

• David // September 7, 2008 at 11:50 AM

@Juris

We don’t agree Juris, we can think of the controversial Crop Over initiative which Dr. Leacock started and which she publicly gave support. Your comment about the last GM is somewhat a red herring because we all know Claude Graham, who some describe as the neo-colonialist was a stop gap decision.

• Juris // September 7, 2008 at 2:37 PM

Claude Graham was not the last GM. Was it not someone called David Wright?

• David // September 7, 2008 at 2:47 PM

Are you for real Juris? David Wright is a political lackey who was on the previous Board and drafted to the position when Claude left the job we think. Suppose to be an accountant by training and clueless about running a media house/TV station.

We need to get serious about media management in Barbados especially at the only TV station.

• Wunna like dah nuh // September 7, 2008 at 7:38 PM

How in heaven’s name can a man who slaughters the english language be made chairman of a broadcasting authority?

• Anonymous // September 7, 2008 at 8:00 PM

A pig in a suit is still a pig.

• Ian Bourne // September 8, 2008 at 12:39 AM

David Wright was not even GM, he was “CEO” a previously non-existent post & Claude was Interim GM as whoever in power said jump he’d ask feet or metres

Barry and me made a joke about Sales unable to sponsor cricket in 2000, and we were threatened to a mm for our jobs!

Yet that very year when the Nation carried the same event as an amazing windspout in a pee-pot… There was more advertising than you can shake a microphone at!

Hence – Graham & Melba owe Barry and myself profuse apologies on bended knees – if we did not draw attention to the drought, there may have been no televised cricket that year, twits!

• John // September 8, 2008 at 9:46 AM

Bring back Austin “Tom” Clarke.

He is now an award winning novelist, well versed in Barbadian culture, …

…. and he is the only person who has been put in charge of CBC in the past that had a calypso written in his honour.

• John // September 8, 2008 at 10:48 AM

One verse of the calypso I seem to remember went something like this:

“You must be see how me chauffer driving
    an’ I sitting down in de back

How impressive I does be looking
    do you envy me jes fa dat

Now let me tell you I am a hard seed
    loaded wid sex appeal

An’ all de women have agreed
    I cud do whatever I feel.”

• Sargeant // September 8, 2008 at 12:07 PM

If I remember correctly Tom Clarke was drummed from his post as GM at CBC because he had some values which didn’t fit into the employee mindset at the time. These include such quaint notions like punctuality and not accepting “de rain falling” as an excuse for not turning up for work. I hope things have changed.

• John // September 8, 2008 at 10:49 PM

I know!!

Another verse had in a line to this effect.

I was just being provocative.

Something like this:

“Barbadianise de Station
    Tom Say
    Every man Jack
    Under
    My Administration, have to get in at 8 o’clock”

• Keeping It Real // September 10, 2008 at 10:55 AM

CBC is a poor excuse for a TV station ‘Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation’ what a farce less than five minutes is allocated to caribbean news. We live in the caribbean and we can’t get any info on our neighbouring islands but they can claim CBC is shown in how much islands. Caribvision on MCTV is a CBC clone. CBC service sucks it doesn’t matter who is on the board or who is the GM CBC sucks.

• Q // September 12, 2008 at 7:07 PM

cbc sucks

what does this expression mean
    sucks what
    sucks who
    sucks when
    sucks where

why has this expression entered into our verbal expressions

• Q // September 12, 2008 at 7:15 PM

How in heaven’s name can a man who slaughters the english language be made chairman of a broadcasting authority?
    ——————–
    oh brass bowl

seems the man may have slaughtered more than the english language from what i hear coming from cbc as a result of a certain meeting that was followed by an event that engrossed the attention of the nation for a litle while

• GoatCheeze // September 13, 2008 at 7:52 PM

I sent this info to bajanfreepress a long time ago, i have it under good authority that at lease 2 capable people applied for the job, rosemary Alleyne and dean st.hill, if not were successful then an AD should have been placed in the paper and none such was done, Mr. Paris believes that CBC cannot exist without him and Barbados has allowed this man with such horrible English to continue, because he’s rich. again we see the Thompson government doing the illegal dictatorship moves of the gestapo. Lar has no idea about the CBC or it’s culture neither does he have any idea about Barbadians. this is a grave injustice to the people of Barbados, but what do u expect from corrupt politicians.

• Dell // September 13, 2008 at 8:13 PM

Parris is a clown. At this stage in our development as we search for national identity a Bajan should head CBC. As a key opinion shaper it is critical our sole television station be run by a national. Parris should be fired.

• The scout // September 13, 2008 at 8:25 PM

dell
    You actually had the guts to say “Parris should be fired?” You have just commited high treason for that remark. I suggest you do your homework, investigate the individual before making such a statement. I hope the court have pity on you for your ignorance and CRD you, with just a warning NEVER REPEAT THAT STATEMENT AGAIN

• Someone said the 'BLP Stalwart' // September 15, 2008 at 3:56 PM

Hahahahaha! I am amused. Just listen to the Prime Minister’s statements about who should be hired, when, and under what circumstances. If this is not as farcical as the pre-election mantra and post-election excuses of the Dems, then nothing is. I am convinced that we are in for a rocky and rough ride for the next few years. Be as it may, I wish the country well, and I hope the Dems come around to putting people first (i.e. Barbadian and Caribbean people).

• Q // September 15, 2008 at 3:59 PM

there must be some other qualities about the man

he might not be good at speaking english so what the heck’

he must have qualities in other areas
    english language is not that easy ; it can be complicated and stupid at times and it is not a black man’s language anyhow.

Africans speak a particular way with speech patterns that are different from the European. Language is a concept of the mind and the man might be close to his African roots and would be probably at home speaking an african dialect-the appropriate one for

so if he is ok in other areas–all well and good –Thompson would have seen qualities in the man–perhaps he is a philanthropist–a good one
    hahahaha-mi-la

• The scout // September 15, 2008 at 7:08 PM

My question is. Did CBC go through the correct channels to hire his non-national, non-regional person?

• Tony Hall // September 15, 2008 at 9:25 PM

You guys keep attacking Leroy Parris all the time about his lack of the use of proper grammar. Granted, but what about the positive side? Hasn’t he been a success story in the insurance field? You cannot be an idiot and be as successful as he has been. We certainly like to pull down one another. We have a lot of white Bajans whose grammar was terrible and they have become successful business persons. I never heard one person on this blog ever made mention about their grammar. We are still in mental slavery. Leave the man alone.

• J // September 15, 2008 at 10:02 PM

The thing is he doesn’t speak good Bajan either.

• Tony Hall // September 16, 2008 at 11:37 AM

J,
    You got me cracking up with your last comment.

• Tell me Why // September 22, 2008 at 12:25 AM

I say dis Parliament should pass legislation

To buil’ a high-tech launchin’-pad in dis place

So dat one fine day, dey-all could tek-off from hey

‘Pon a one-way rocket trip – to Outer Space

* Jeannette Layne-Clark is a writer
    and a former BBC broadcaster.
    ……………………………………………………This is an abstract from Jeanette Layne Clarke’s article in Today’s Nation. Based on the writing you can see something actually happened during her tenure as a director at CBC. Sooner or later we will hear what actually happened between Parris and Layne-Clarke.

• Anonymous // September 25, 2008 at 1:15 AM

he wife a Trini,

• Ian Bourne // October 7, 2008 at 2:59 PM

Jeanette Layne-Clarke is certainly not a doyenne nor the be-all nor end-all on Broadcasting matters – her paradigms were suited for her era, and she happily stays there like a good li’l dinosaur…

Anyway, what to my wandering eyes at RBTT-Hastings did appear, but good ol’ Lars and him say not even BOO 2 muh! Lawks-A-Murky, me was so hurted …………………………………………………………………………………………………… NOT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOL/LMAO/ROFL (Maybe he saw my Comments or even how I referred 2 matter on my own News-Blog?)

• Anonymous // February 24, 2009 at 5:20 PM

“he wife a Trini — interesting. Check with the Trini wife’s brother as to Lars — he might tell the whole story. Could be most interesting.

Leave a Comment