Barbados Underground

Time To Remove The Band-Aid From Education

September 5, 2008 · 125 Comments

Minister of Education, Ronald Jones

Minister of Education and Human Resources Ronald Jones and his Chief Education Officer Dr. Wendy Griffith-Watson have been in the news a lot in recent days; some of the news has been both good and unflattering. The Minister has been attracting negative comment on the talk shows regarding the tone he used to address parents on the opening day of school at the  pilloried St. Paul’s Primary School on Tuesday. It is not the first time that Minister Jones’s strident and abrasive delivery style has rubbed some Barbadians the wrong way. Just a few days earlier Chief Education Officer Wendy Griffith-Watson let ‘slip’ on the Sunday talk show that Springer Memorial School and St. Leonard’s have been trailing the other schools in academic performance (words to that effect). Subsequent feedback in the media has suggested that Dr. Watson was incorrect in her assertions. Both have been holding some warm licks for their comments.

BU supports the need for the Ministry of Education to do some major research into our educational system. Some changes need to be made but…) Barbadians have been treated to too much ‘old talk’ over the years which is unsupported by research. Is it too much to ask that after more than 30 years of significant co-education in our secondary schools, Barbadians still have no significant body of research to reference on this matter?

While we boast of our high literacy and education levels should Barbadians not be disappointed that our educational system has failed in the realm of developing a research and development based approach in its backyard?

The global arena has evolved to a very complex space which requires that our people are possessed of an intellectual capacity to ensure our survival and competitiveness like never before. We have allowed our schools to become overcrowded; it is not uncommon for classrooms in our primary system to average 30, an anecdotal position. We have not provisioned in any significant way to our children with special needs. We have not engaged in any significant research to determine why females should be coaching our boys cricket teams because of the exodus of men from the teaching service. We have not sought to create strategies to create programs to encourage reading back in our schools and homes to combat the influence of television, Internet and other modern day distractions. Now is a good time to highlight our disgust that the Public Library should be allowed to remain close since July 2006.

The former government conceived of EDUTEC which is still a good concept, the problem has been in its execution. Education along with health devours too much of the national budget to be managed from the seat of the pants of anybody. The recent initiative by the government to allow school children under 18 to ride free on public transport is fantastic! The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is no stranger to rolling-out pioneering social programs. It was under the late National Hero of Barbados Errol Barrow that free education and school meals was introduced. We congratulate the government on a seamless rollout of the free bus service. We urge all in the process to remain vigilant to ensure the service is maintained at a high level.

The significance and the benefit to be derived from a free school bus service should not be underscored. We see this initiative as an attempt to engage in social reengineering in our society at a time when morals are slipping and slowly but surely started to wash away the values which have made Barbados strong. Not to be dismissed is the positive affect we anticipate the free bus service will have by countering the sub-culture linked to the mini-bus and ZRs. We are willing to bet that the initiative may save the next generation. Our only concern at this point in the young DLP tenure is the emphasis on rolling out social investment polices which we suspect are placing a strain on public finances. We will have to wait for the Central Bank reporting at the end of the year to properly support our suspicion. While social investment is required to ensure the good development of any social the need to sustain productivity levels must remain a priority. This is key at this time as we operate in challenging economic times.

Minister Ronald Jones we are pleased that our Minister of Education is grabbing the media spotlight even though it means the beautiful Minister of Family, Youth Affairs, Sports and the Environment Esther Byer-Sukoo has been relegated. The stakes are high for our little island, education was the lever used by the late Errol Barrow to enfranchise our people in the 60’s to drive our development, our success as a country remains the envy of many.

Let us fix the damn cracks!

Categories: Barbados · Barbados Education
Tagged:

125 responses so far ↓

• me // September 5, 2008 at 4:21 AM

Esther Byer suckoo is still in the papers every other day…. LOL

Ronald jones is a teacher and a union member so I think he speaks form aposition of knowledge. Barbadians in general cannot handle the truth especially in regards to their children. Good education costs money. On the other hand you can lead a horse to water but you cant make him drink… why are the boys on the block?????

• Bush tea // September 5, 2008 at 5:00 AM

Like everything else, education requires good leadership. Minister Jones is really not the ideal leader for education – in that he brings too much of his football and Union attitude to the job.

On the other hand, the quality of our leadership in Education has declined so much in the last decades that even with his brash style, Minister Jones is a breath of fresh air.
    The business of running around with a ‘hands on’ approach is good for press but REAL leadership is about inspiring your subordinates to perform impressively.

The biggest problem in Education right now is the Ministry of Education. It appears that we have an army of occupation there led by Mrs Watson Griffith whose goal in life is to defend their fetish for co-education at any cost…

One ‘Grenville Phillips III’ outlined in a letter to the Nation last week exactly what is the folly of co-education and why it is GUARANTEED to result in under performing boys; and in men leaving the teaching system.
    Principals like Major Barker, Mr Broomes and others have been saying this for YEARS and yet we allow these women to sit in this ministry and destroy our young men.

What Co-education what!?!
    Transfer her behind to CXC or some other meaningless place and let us have an intelligent MAN providing leadership in education.

Billie Miller and Mia, aided by a string of gutless men like Wood, all sat by and allowed our system to fail through a basic fundamental flaw that was identified from the very beginning.

They all vilified and frustrated principals like Barker etc who PROVED that single sex education WORKS for both boys and girls.

Mrs Griffith Watson should be sidelined if only for her tactless, unsupported reference to Springer and St Leonards recently as the worst performing schools… this was just an instinctive, biased reaction based on her pro co-ed stance.

I think that all school statistics and results should be PUBLISHED so that we can respond by doing what is best for our children.

• The scout // September 5, 2008 at 7:12 AM

Unless Mrs. Griffith-Watson can produce concrete evidence to support her comments, she should apologise to these two schools. Failing to do this she should resign. Comments like these are damaging to the schools. Min Jones got to stop his attitude of talking down to people. He did it when he was president of BUT, he is doing it as president of BFA and he is in a more aloft position now to do it as minister.

• Carson C. Cadogan // September 5, 2008 at 7:41 AM

First things first.

Barbados needs a real Chief Education Officer.

• BABFP // September 5, 2008 at 7:52 AM

Carson C. Cadogan
    She was reall very good, smart and relevant when she started a few years back. Oh how she has deteriorated, and the worst thing is that she is still quite young. We’re stuck with her for a few years yet.

Now Minister Ronald Jones… what a bore!

• Tony Hall // September 5, 2008 at 8:37 AM

The Chief Education Officer’s comments were misguided. If people want her to resign start by flooding the Ministry with letters and getting petitions signed by offended persons. These things will begin the process of applying pressure.

• John // September 5, 2008 at 8:40 AM

The identification of the schools was about as tactless as you can get.

This year, and I think last year, Springer Memorial ruled girls school sports.

QC is at the top in Boys.

One is single sex, the other is co-ed.

We don’t know who came last and we don’t care!!

The only thing that matters is that all students give of their best.

This happens not only because of the efforts of the student, but also because of the motivation they receive at their schools and in their homes.

My gut instinct is that co-ed is not good and I have heard compelling arguments to support this thesis.

… but co-ed works all over the world.

For me it is not the arguments for and against but it is the stories I have heard of sexuality in schools which tell me something is wrong and that our children are being deprived of the chance to be children.

I am not sure if these stories stem from situations where the school staff is in control of the students and keeps them well motivated and directed or whether they stem from situations where the children are left to their own devices.

I remember the staff at school, the interest they took in us and the expectations they had of us.

The adults in my life when I was a child were always involved in some way too, if only to give an encouraging word and communicate an expectation.

I wonder if some teachers are just doing the job for a paycheck and not going the extra mile for their students. I know some parents and adults need a wake up call.

I am thinking this whole uniform episode and the attention it focuses on children by adults (not only teachers and parents) involved in their learning environment is good not only for our children, but for our adults too.

Hopefully it will not be a nine day wonder.

• art // September 5, 2008 at 8:49 AM

It is the opinion of some that boys mature more slowly than girls. Perhaps there should be an equal distribution scholarships, and places at UWI, taking into account applications, specifically on the basis of sex.

Affirmative action? It is not the boys’ fault that they mature later.

• Kay // September 5, 2008 at 9:15 AM

John
    In fact all over the world many people are complaining that co-ed is bad for the boys.
    Here is a true story for you, when I asked my daughter how she could beat the boys in her class in woodwork/metalwork, she stupsed and replied
    “Well all the boys want to do is walk round chosseling the girls.”

• Wishing In Vain // September 5, 2008 at 10:32 AM

As I said in my earlier post I fully support Minister Ronald Jones for first being willing and being on hand in what was destined to be a hostile setup, and for the other reason for being a worker and not a talker as was so often the case with the former adminstration and its officers.

The Minister was prepared and made himself available which is so unlike the former blp Ministers that we only heard but never saw or got real action out of, this Minister is willing and has shown real leadership in taking care of his area of responsibilty, the truth is the Minister has a job to do and he needs not be distracted but rather put all effort into getting it done, it is also so refreshing to see a Minister of Gov’t getting involved in lifting and moving desk and chairs into a class room it is a breath of fresh air and one which must be complimented and set out for the highest praise, keep the good work up Mr Minister a job well done.

I am so happy that The Scout and his clan are becoming more forward thinking and are now prepared to accept that the new Gov’t is good for this island the old tired and worn out people of the blp are in retirement, which is a grand thing for progressive DLP thinking.

The new thinking saw the VERY SMOOTH shift to getting the numerous numbers of school children to their schools on time and without the stress associated with planning of this type the new Gov’t saw to it that each and every child of school age was delivered to their school without having to pay a SINGLE CENT to do so.

I must compliment everyone involved in this exercise and give the Prime Minister The Hon Mr David Thompson, the Minister of Education Mr Ronald Jones, the Minister of Transport Mr John Boyce FULL and complete marks for making this the success that it was without the hassle that many expected, it took super planning and arranging to have reached where we reached minus the hassle that many blp operatives had hoped and wished for, it was carried out in a most professional manner that you could ask for.

May I also state, from reading the comments in the press not only are the parents happy to not to have to pay this burden of a bus fare but so to are the school children they too are ecstatic about their new found means of travel to their schools, my congrats to all that went out of their way to make this the great success that it has been may the lord bless them and give them strength to move on to the next task and deliver there as well.

I also to want to pick out Mr Ronald Jones for special praise, he has been like a beacon on a dark night showing the way, he faced the events and came out of it standing tall as we saw this Minister was seen in the forefront of the events recently THE ONLY MINISTER IN YEARS THAT WAS WILLING TO BE UP FRONT AND HANDS ON IN A SITUATION THAT WAS COMBATIVE AND WHAT DID HE DO ?

HE PUT HIS HANDS TO THE TASK AND LIFTED DESK AND CHAIRS INTO THE CLASS ROOMS, if this is not the real signs of a great leader I do not know what is, he led from in front he did what was necessary to get those kids back into the class rooms and for this I totally admire his leadership qualities and style, he is to be commended and praised for his willingness to take the bull by the horns and address the outstanding issues at the schools and resolved they were, you have my compliments and praise Minister Mr Ronald Jones keep the good work up and may you go from strength to strength with gods help and mercy.

One other point of note is why has it been necessary for the taxpayers to fund Hallam Nicholls, Owing Arthur and Steven Hobson by buying a constant supply of new buses and never having anything more than 200 on the road at any point in time but under this return to school program we saw as many as 250 buses delivered and serviceable and operational to the Transport Board, we really ought to request an inquiry into the operation of the Transport Board as there seems to be steal in their as well, because very quickly under this new Gov’t they have an additional 50 buses in the program, something that was thought to be impossible until the DLP Gov’t took the reins of Gov’t and halted the corruption and dishonesty in Gov’t operations, three chairs to the DLP, Hip, Hip Hooray, Hip , Hip Hooray, Hip, Hip Hooray.

For a job and a mission well done, not even the most vocal like Henderson Bovell has the mouth to whisper a word in disgust, because he knows the ire that it will bring onto himself and his clan of crooks.

• John // September 5, 2008 at 11:38 AM

Kay // September 5, 2008 at 9:15 am

John
    In fact all over the world many people are complaining that co-ed is bad for the boys.
    Here is a true story for you, when I asked my daughter how she could beat the boys in her class in woodwork/metalwork, she stupsed and replied
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I have a link to illustrate the falling education standards in the UK but it doesn’t attribute that fall to coed!!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk:80/opinion/main.jhtml?xml=/opinion/2008/06/07/do0701.xml&DCMP=EMC-new_07062008

My gut instint is that coed could not be good for education and the reason your daughter gave you is one of the same reasons I would advance …. but this reason should affect the girls being chosseled too.

In your daughter’s woodwork/metalwork class, is the top girls and the bottom boys?

I don’t have a problem with coed in sixth form.

Here is where the limited resources available to students should be available based on merit and gender should not be an issue.

• John // September 5, 2008 at 11:43 AM

HE PUT HIS HANDS TO THE TASK AND LIFTED DESK AND CHAIRS INTO THE CLASS ROOMS …..
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Rommell Marshall used to appear in the paper with his shirt sleeves rolled up and looking as though he was actively involved in the roadworks his ministry for which was responsible.

I am glad Ronald Jones actually did his bit but I think you need to give credit to the parents who would not leave their charges and did something about it.

Ronald Jones just figured out he had a problem and he better not falter!!

I have seen in the papers parents lending a hand in the preparation of their children’s schools and it is this that is the highlight, not the minister.

• J // September 5, 2008 at 11:47 AM

Our boys are not in trouble because of co-education.

Our boys are in trouble because too many of our fathers have absented themselves from the lives of their sons.

Take note that boys whose fathers are in the HOME and who are actively involved in guiding and loving their sons are doing EXCELLENTLY.

This is a call for the men of Barbados to come HOME to their boys.

• Anonymous // September 5, 2008 at 11:49 AM

Listen!

Dis is my position. I cant stand de DLP. I think most of these idiots need image consultants and need to be trained in managing their public personas. There are now representatives of the people.
    The talk-down approach has to go.

Now that being said. I must congratulate de ugly idiot Minister for putting a 6th Form at Foundation. Dont understand why it wasnt done ever since. The teachers are qualified and the science labs are already there. If you need to put up a few pre-fab buildings then do it.
    It now time for St. Michaels, CP, Alleyne and Springer to get 6th Forms too.
    Though Ms Griffith-Watson’s comments were harsh they were rooted in statistics. What is unfortunate is that she overlooked the fact that Springer excels in sports. This just shows the bias of the old stupid reactionaries that continue to run de show in Barbados.
    St. Leonard’s also has a good track record in Spanish.
    This is not time to be beating down our young people.

Statistics aside, I always thought she was one conservative c_nt.

The other discussion on same sex schools needs statistical evidence. I dont see HC or QC doing any worse by virtue of being co-ed.
    But there’s still too much conjecture. Where’s the evidence.

I dont think Griffith-Watson should resign over her comments; but a public apology would be in order. It takes a an honorable person to do that. The principals already stated publicly that they were offended. Then she should apologize.
    Of course de stupid ugly minister is backing she up. Johnny he is!

• J // September 5, 2008 at 11:50 AM

I am sick and tired of hearing our men say “my grandmother raised me well”

My question always is “what was your father doing that was more important than raising you?”

and “what are you doing that is more important than raising your son?”

• Q // September 5, 2008 at 11:55 AM

Most people in Barbados who occupy positions of authority are racists: they dont like black people and they discriminate against the majority of the barbadian population who are black. They also hate Barbados and everything Barbadian including its culture : music and food etc. These people gravitate to the North Atlantic cultures and way of doing things and frown upon things Barbadian and things Caribbean.

Some of these people are WOMEN and herein lies the problem. Barbadian women are the repositories of all bad things that the slave masters practise against us: racism , class dinstinction and discrimination, elitism and hatred in general. Some of these women have attained positions of authority by going to University , not necessarily to improve Barbados but simply to work for more money. Some of them are selfish and self centred , hard and inflexible and contribute to the increasing stress in the workplace and elsewhere.

I dont know if Doctor Wendy Griffith Watson is one of these women

WOMEN ARE NOW THE GREATEST THREAT TO THE SURVIVAL OF MAN

Take that statement anyway you want to . I dont expect anybody to agree with me under 20 years. 20 years from now somebody will then begin to see what I am saying to be realistic.

Study ya head before you challenge me

• Q // September 5, 2008 at 12:00 PM

OUR BOYS ARE IN TROUBLE BECAUSE OF THE ADVANCEMENT OF WOMEN IN BARBADOS.

LOOK AT THE STUPID DECISION TO PUT A PEDESTRIAN CROSSSING ON THE HIGHWAY BY PARKINSON SCHOOL

• J // September 5, 2008 at 12:03 PM

Statististics what?

If Springer and St. Leonard’s receives students who have on average done less well at elementary school – and note that I did not say in the 11+, because the truth is that for the most part the Springer/St. Leonard’s students were trailing their age mates all through elementary school – that say the students who go to HC and QC why is Ms. Griffith-Watson manipulating statistics to “prove” that these schools are failing?

I fear that the truth is that Ms. Griffith-Watson herself DOES NOT UNDERSTAND the statistics collected by her Ministry.

Ms. Griffith-Watson is paid very well to manage the Ministry. If by her statement it is EVIDENT that she does not understand her own statistics, my question is what are we paying her for?

That said I congratulate the teachers/students/parents of Springer and St. Leonard’s many of whom continue to work hard and well and who struggle, sometimes successfully to rise above low expectations.

But I expect better, much better, from our publicly PAID officials.

• Anonymous // September 5, 2008 at 12:18 PM

I have to agree with you J.

• Anonymous // September 5, 2008 at 12:34 PM

@ BU

“Let us fix the damn cracks!”

It’s funny that generations of policians after Barrow cant seem to take it to the next level.

Barrow did all the hard work and put in all the systems. All they really have to do is improve, reform and update. Could chrise man, wha so hard bout dah to do?

It just requires decision-making. It hardly requires money.
    A new national computerized ID card is a decision.
    The new driver’s license was a decision.
    New sixth forms – a decision.
    Fixing de roads – a decision. (I cant believe dat politicians drive on these roads everyday).

The lack of decision-making is one of the major hindrances to our development right now.

• John // September 5, 2008 at 2:16 PM

Kay // September 5, 2008 at 9:15 am

John
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Here is a list of the 942 top performing schools in the UK.

The top two are coed.

# 3 is boys only

#4 and #5 are girls only

http://www.independentschools.co.uk/resources/alist/is_alist_2005.php?order_is_alist=position

In the top 20, 8 are coed, 6 are boys only and 6 are girls only.

These results don’t mean girls and boys are doing the same subjects so the comparison is flawed.

The sciences are regarded as traditionally male but here is what a survey for independent girls only schools says.

It seems to indicate that as far as sciences and foreign languages are concerned, more girls will choose to do these subjects in girls only schools than in coed schools and it is felt this is so because of how these subjects are regarded, ie coed is bad for girls!!

http://www.gsa.uk.com/datafiles/hostFiles/host-116/Maths%20Science%20&%20MFL%20research%20findings%20Nov%202004.pdf

I think coed schools should work here if they work elsewhere.

I am more concerned that the cause of the problems that is raised here is related to the standard of teaching and the falling standards in society.

I wonder if coed is being used as a scape goat and there is a deeper issue to be addressed.

Having said all this my gut tells me that coed in Barbados should not begin in the lower school, but again, if the stats in other countries say different, then I would have to say that they should work here too.

Are our children, girls and boys motivated to try their best at school?

• Kay // September 5, 2008 at 2:39 PM

Q
    So you know for a fact that a woman was behind putting that crossing there?

• Negroman // September 5, 2008 at 3:01 PM

The standard we had in our education system has been falling for many years.This year Guyana of all Caribbean countries has a student who top the CXC results & Trinidad & Tobago hve the the best results in CXC A’levels.We in Barbados still have the belief that our education system is still the best in the Cribbean.It is but we are not getting the desire results from the resources we put into education.Education & Health receive the largest sums of money in the government allocation of money in the yearly estimates.
    I remembered a survey was carried out and it indicated that nearly 55 % of all school leavers leave school on a yearly basis with out 1 single certificate.
    I believe that a comprehensive review of our education system must be undertaken as a matter of urgency.It has done us well in the past but I am not so certain if it is catering to needs of a changing and more dynamic world.Individuals and their personalities are not the major problems in education.We must get to the root causes.
    Ronald Jones is the Noel Lynch of the Democratic Labour Party.He is too pompous & arrogant.His style is a bit to combative and he needs to show a little more humility and compassion.I will agree that I do not think he is the best man for an important ministry like education.He doesn’t have the tact.He will create problems for the government with their education policy because I can see he will not get much assistance from his key personnel in the ministry..
    Minister Ronald Jones be humble learn from Patrick Todd my favourite DLP parliamentarian who I believe will make a better minister of education and try to be nice & cooperative.Your style is a turn off.

• Negroman // September 5, 2008 at 3:30 PM

Q You are right on the ball.I did not want to go that route but you are talking the gospel truth.The majority of black women want to look white or indian.That is why hairdressers,cosmetics shops that selling mock hair,straighteners,bleaches and all that junk are very successful in Barbados.
    Q in the early nineties when Mia Mottley was minister of education she wanted to introduce black studies to the curriculum.It received great resistance from the key senior public officers in the ministry at that time.The same Wendy Griffith-Watson,Idamay Denny,Ralph Boyce and others fought hard not to get that programme implemented.We know the results.
    Q I do not know if you know or understand the Willie Lynch Theory but that theory is prevalent in almost all black people in Barbados today.That is why the whites,the indians and now the chinese will dominate us.Check and see those clowns including the biggest clown in education Matthew Farley had to give in to wishes of the indians in Barbados.We have a standardised dress code for our children but Matthew Farley has allow the indians to modify that dress code on the grounsds of religious beliefs.I hope the same is done for Rastafari children.Mathew Farley takes pleasure in humiliating black people.Check he sent home 250 black people children from the Garrison School for little or no infraction of the dress code.He loves publicity.Matthew Farley must be stop from doing his nonsense. No wonder we have problems in education with idiots like Matthew Farley in critical positions.

• Anonymous // September 5, 2008 at 3:42 PM

@ Negroman

In fact the standard of education is quite low.

Someone has done an excellent job at telling us how great the system is. And we believe it.

• Kay // September 5, 2008 at 4:38 PM

I have a little oil to add to the fire.
    How come the students and parents get all the blame for the poorly fitting uniforms?
    The companies that make and market these uniforms should be held accountable. Is it fair that after parents spend so much money buying uniforms they should have to pay someone to remake them?

• Q // September 5, 2008 at 4:41 PM

One of the signs that civilization is at an end will be the ascension of women to more significant leadership positions in the worldsuch as the so-called leader of the free world and similar positions

• John // September 5, 2008 at 5:09 PM

Negroman

That is why hairdressers,cosmetics shops that selling mock hair,straighteners,bleaches and all that junk are very successful in Barbados.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Who do you think pays for these?

… put another way, where does the money actually come from?

• Fairplay // September 5, 2008 at 6:37 PM

Dr. Wendy Griffith Watson is elitist.She is one of the persons who will make sure that the status quo is maintained in education in Barbados.That is why poor people must never let the common entrance be replaced by the criterion reference method of placing students into secondry schools.Most poor children are discriminated aginst in the primary school by female teachers who think like Dr. Griffith Watson.They will operate in a subjective manner allowing the middle and upper class children to enter the preferred schools in the country.At this time some poor children excell in the 11 +because they are brillant and enter the preferred schools. Do not let Dr.Griffith Watson get away with this pious position that Springer and St.Leonards are the worst performing schools.Let her tell you why these schools get hundreds of students who need remediation,but there are no remedial teachers.These students leave primary school not being able to read.If you cannot read at 11-12 years, how can you compare those students at 16 years with HC and QC students.

• David // September 5, 2008 at 7:30 PM

It has come to our attention that unrest is brewing at the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polyclinic once again. Rival groups/gangs have been engaging in skirmishes. Teachers in quiet protest have been teaching their classes and returning to the Staff Room.

Apparently the Principal has been ignoring the problem.

To whom it may concerned, be warned!

• Bush tea // September 5, 2008 at 7:53 PM

J
    “This is a call for the men of Barbados to come HOME to their boys.”
    ———————————————————-
    J sweetheart; Do you think it could be the women that the men running from…..?

• Georgie Porgie // September 5, 2008 at 8:17 PM

Bush Tea

That ball swung in the air, and then off de pitch!

• Bush tea // September 5, 2008 at 8:21 PM

John

The situation with Co-ed is a complex one.. It is not sufficient to compare the top schools, nor is it appropriate to compare schools here with England.

Children at top schools tend to have higher levels of parental support (generally that is why they get to top schools)

Two good parents can overcome many obstacles that would otherwise trap a child. Such support helps to counteract the negatives of a co-ed environment, so both co-ed and single sex schools perform relatively well at this level.

Schools take on special importance where the family structure is fractured, as is often the case in Barbados. Without fathers at home (as J puts it), with teachers who would prefer to be elsewhere, with clueless officials in the ministry and with the added pressures of co-ed poor results are almost guaranteed.

Having spent some time in England, I would suggest to you that there is a distinct difference in the level of sexuality between English and Bajan teens….. to the extent that I have no real problem with co-ed in England…. I will leave it at that.

As to the low number of male teachers…?

Few young men who value their reputation would dare to subject themselves to the dangers of interacting daily with the kind of young females currently populating our schools….

…those who have ears to hear will hear…..

• Bush tea // September 5, 2008 at 8:35 PM

GP
    …are you accusing Bush tea of pitching the ball in the rough? or was it a genuine googly?

• Georgie Porgie // September 5, 2008 at 8:43 PM

Bush tea wrote

As to the low number of male teachers…?

Few young men who value their reputation would dare to subject themselves to the dangers of interacting daily with the kind of young females currently populating our schools….

=================================

I understand that when co-ed was introduced in Barbados schools, this particular phenomenon caused many long serving male teachers to retire in haste.

BT

With respect to …are you accusing Bush tea of pitching the ball in the rough? or was it a genuine googly?

I THOUGHT THAT THAT WAS A VERY GOOD BALL!

• The scout // September 5, 2008 at 9:05 PM

Bush Tea
    You hit the nail right on the head. Our modern day woman believes that she can do without a man and she is protraying that image to the children.They are shutting the men out of their business and in some cases including the child. what respect these children would have for a father? Sometimes these same children rebel, sometimes the girls become “man haters”, the boys either become lawless or start developing feminine tendencies. There has to be a mutual agreement between the man and the woman as to who is the head of the home. Until this is settled, the problem with boys and girls and the respect for each other will get worse. Why would some women married or single prefer to have Ms before their name? Does this meet “man sometimes?” I accredited my grandmother and mother for my upbringing because they were housewives while my grandfather and father were working hard, bringing home the money and the ladies were the economists. Today’s woman wants to be everything. That’s where the problem comes.

• The scout // September 5, 2008 at 9:14 PM

GP
    A male teacher, who is about to retire, told me that where in the early days the staff that was almost all male would after school sit and chat. Today that is no more because the male staff is afraid to say anything about problems they are encountering because by next day the news is spread all over the school. Gossip has become the major fear among the now mainly female teaching staff. They even flag each other and many time a lot of them not speaking to each other. He said in early times the fellows would say the harshest thing about each other and it was taken in stride, today the slightest thing is blown out of proportion and you have an enemy for life. That’s why the men are moving away from teaching.

• BAFBFP // September 5, 2008 at 9:44 PM

Dr.Griffith Watson taught at Springer Mem.. She must know something…

• J // September 5, 2008 at 11:53 PM

Dear Bush Tea:

You wrote “J sweetheart; Do you think it could be the women that the men running from…..?”

“It is not good for a man to be alone” Genesis

The man should NOT be running from the woman. Men and women are natural companions. When a man runs from his woman and children, what does he run to? A man? No? To be alone? No. He runs to another woman. I do not know a single Bajan man who does not have a woman. If a man can live happily with Mary who is NOT the mother of his children, then he can LEARN to live happily with Mary who is.

Parents are too impatient. Too prone to jumping over board when the sea is rough.

In thier haste they sometims jump right into the mouth of a shark.

Its 11:51 p.m. Are all men at home with their sons?

If you do not love your son enough to stay to love and guide him nobody else will.

Its your son. You enjoyed the big “O” now stay and mind the boy.

Don’t expect the female teachers to do it. If they do not like you, why is it that you expect them to love your son?

• Bush tea // September 6, 2008 at 7:11 AM

Spoken like a real woman J.

True, It is NOT good for a man to be alone (Genesis), ….but it is better to live in a desert land that with a contentious and fretful woman. (Proverbs).

Maybe now you could see why a man will not stay with his ’son’ (because of the contentious and fretful mother), but runs after other women (because it is not good for a man to be alone).

Unfortunately, it normally takes decades before a young man realizes that essentially most women are the same. (while he keeps on looking for that ‘virtuous woman who is worth more than rubies…).

After a wasted lifetime of looking for a virtuous woman, most men resign themselves to alcohol, bitterness or some other vice.

Even the wise Solomon and his father David fell into this woman trap, so it is hard for Bush tea not to sympathize with Bajan men.

The problem of course is that contrary to Scout’s suggestion that men and women need to sit down and decide who is the head, the Big Boss Engineers who designed and created this whole earth project, DESIGNED the team relationship for men to need women; for women to need men; FOR MEN TO BE LEADERS; and for women to be indispensable partners.

…if you take a top class computer, designed for use with 120 volts and insist on using it with 90 volts what results do you expect?

Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies. The heart of her husband doth safely trust in her, so that he shall have no need of spoil. She will do him good and not evil all the days of her life……

J, show me a man that runs from such a woman and I will personally behead the idiot….LOL

• John // September 6, 2008 at 7:33 AM

Bush tea // September 5, 2008 at 8:21 pm

John

The situation with Co-ed is a complex one.. It is not sufficient to compare the top schools, nor is it appropriate to compare schools here with England.

Children at top schools tend to have higher levels of parental support (generally that is why they get to top schools)

Two good parents can overcome many obstacles that would otherwise trap a child. Such support helps to counteract the negatives of a co-ed environment, so both co-ed and single sex schools perform relatively well at this level.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I think this is crucial point although I would say that the family is in trouble in the UK too.

However, society is more controlled in the UK than here.

I would lean to the argument that coed makes a bad situation worse.

What do we have to do to fix the bad situation?

Although it is an important indicator, it is wrong to measure the performance of a school by its performance at A levels only.

I went down this line to demonstrate just how sterile the point made by the Ms. Wendy Griffith – Watson really was.

… even the argument … because it works over and away it could work here is flawed.

We have a unique set of circumstances which we need to address in our own unique way.

Doesn’t mean we ignore what is going on outside just means we have to act to define and fix our problems.

• John // September 6, 2008 at 7:39 AM

BT

Men are fools but as the old people would say, “every fool has his own sense”!!

• The People's Democratic Congress // September 6, 2008 at 8:00 AM

This increasingly wayward DLP Government has made another terrible mistake in the eight months that it has so far been at the helm of the political and governmental affairs of this country. It has characteristically gone ahead wildly and irrationally brought greater chaos and disorder to the very essential and productive mass transit subsectors of the public transportation sector of the country. Before expounding on such, we shall let fellow bloggers know what in our estimation are these other gross and reckless mistakes that the DLP Government has made so far. And there are as follows :-

1) The terminating of the contracts of some very outstanding consultants like the Mighty Gabby and Trevor Marshall that were recruited by the last BLP Government;

2) The Prime Minister’s wrongful, destructive, and unnecessary increases in the local costs of fuel in April of this year; and

3) The Prime Minister’s immorally vicious, cruel, and barbarous increases in TAXATION ASSAULTS on the backs of the masses and middle classes of people of this country in July of this year.

However, with regard to this matter of bringing greater chaos and disorder to the mass transit ZR, Minibus and Transport Board subsectors of the wider public transportation sector of the country, this backward DLP Government has managed to achieve this sad state affairs through its near total lack of proper planning and coordination of the efforts surrounding this idea/policy of having free bus rides for school children in uniform et al on Transport Board buses in this country.

While we are NOT in opposition to this idea and policy – and we have made this clear in our talks with other people in Barbados on this issue, we are mightily taken aback by the fact that this wayward DLP government has NOT brought a better set of partial albeit far-reaching solutions to the many problems that have long beset these particular mass transit sub-sectors.

Of course, this DLP Government must be told in NO uncertain terms that the partial solutions to the still rampant indiscipline and loud and lewd music on some ZR and Minibuses do NOT lie in many owners and operators and conductors being SERIOUSLY disadvantaged by the extant harmful effects of this particular so-called Transport Board free-ride idea/policy. Nor will any partial solutions to the terrible long running financial and resources inefficience of the Transport Board be brought about on the basis of this said so-called free-ride idea/policy.

Instead of searching for real and specific solutions to these problems and issues, this bunch of DLP misfits has therefore sought to further promote and deepen a divide and rule riff raff culture and ethos in regard of these particular mass transit sub-sectors of the country, by further putting private owners, operators and conductors of ZRs and Minibuses UP AGAINST the state owned Transport Board Government on the basis of this so-called Transport Board free ride idea/policy, even as it is seen that the Government wickedly and demonically continues ever so often to steal ( via TAXATION) great portions of the incomes of these people who own and operate ZRs and Minibuses in this country just to support its coffers, and even as it is seen too that the same government has allowed those people to use Transport Board facilities to get diesel at a lower “price”. What chaos and disorder!!!

Meanwhile, this irresponsible group of DLP clowns continues to disregard, and some times frown on, the incessant pleas of owners, operators, and conductors and their representative bodies (apparently ONLY one now – Private Transport Operators Association of Barbados) for increases in bus fares, at a time when for them and thousands of others in this country the cost of living and the cost of doing business in Barbados have gone up. Look how silly it is therefore that this DLP Government continues TO REFUSE increases in bus fares at the behest of the far greater efficient ZR and Minibus sub-sectors , while at the same time it NOT ONLY allows the far less efficient Tansport Board sub-sector to give away so-called free rides to school children both in uniforms and out of uniforms up to 18 years BUT ALSO allows the Board to continue begging for subventions from central government year after year to help bail them out. What chaos and disorder!!!

Finally, with all of this chaos and disorder existing within these particular mass transit sectors of the public transportation system of Barbados and with this joke DLP Government so disgustingly contributing to it, we in PDC have to wonder about the the validity of the utterance that was made sometime ago by the present Minister of Public Works and Transport, Mr. John Boyce, about his examining the idea of bringing the ZRs and Minibuses and the Transport Board together as one form of public tranportation for the country. What more choas and disorder are we seing!!!

PDC

• The scout // September 6, 2008 at 8:38 AM

When these schools like the so-called “newer secondary schools” get students that excel I congratulate them highly. these schools are given the less graded pupils and they are given the same syllabus as the high flyers and tested at the same time. Until we zone ALL schools, then we can’t compare. Mrs Watson should know this. Instead of condeming these schools she should encourage them and congratulate the students and teachers when the school gets some good grades.

• Juris // September 6, 2008 at 8:53 AM

What did Trevor Marshall do as a consultant?

• John // September 6, 2008 at 10:21 AM

Juris

You are being picky!!

• The Devil // September 6, 2008 at 10:27 AM

Fewer men than women are in teaching because Barbadian society percieves teaching (like nursing) to be a job for women. A significant part of being a teacher, especially at the primary school level, is providing pastoral care. This is seen as “woman’s work”. We (the society) do not trust adult males with our children particularly female children (maybe with “good” reason?). I have even heard women say that they would not leave their child with the child’s father for any extended period (yet continue in a relationship with the man). Some women would not let a child’s father bathe the child, or tend to the child when it is sick or hug the child (but they want the “chile money”!) It is also true that many men are also happy with this arrangement as it allows them to abscond from what should be their responsibilities.

We even see subjects as having a gender connection – Maths for boys, Languages for girls. Since most (if not all ) teaching and assessment of any subject is done through verbal interaction – speaking, reading, writing – is it any wonder that boys fall behind academically when they do not read, have a poor command of the spoken word except for the vernacular (which unfortunately is much too limited to allow access to the many fields of knowledge) and cannot write?

What is the source of these problems? I have come to the conclusion that it is the socialisation of our people. A socialisation which is guided by a thoughtless, irrational and often incorrect interpretation of religious instruction and tradition. At a subconscious level, we attempt to maintain gender roles and behaviours designed for a nomadic, hunter-gatherer society existing 3000 years ago while having to live in a capitalist society with enormous technological influence.

• J // September 6, 2008 at 3:17 PM

Dear BT:

Dear BT:

I will send you the name/address of a distant cousin – VERY DISTANT – who told me once that he loves a half-wutless woman. I was struck speechless and so was unable to ask him to explain himself further.

I doubt that he is the only man so inclined.

Happy beheading.

• Equity // September 6, 2008 at 4:11 PM

John, I’m sorry. I guess my pickiness comes from the fact that I pay loud taxes monthly.

• Partial // September 6, 2008 at 4:41 PM

@ Bush Tea

Women are contentious and fretful for a reason, perhaps many reasons.

@ J

So what is wrong with BT wanting a half-wutless or preferably a whole wutless woman? Men want a lady out and a whore in. The sooner women in general understand that the better they will be able to keep their men at home.

On the other side, BT, women would like a whore man in as well.

A little more help with the housework, the children, more romance and foreplay with their men instead of the constant jukjuk, thank you maam.

If they can get that, perhaps they would not get so nagnag and irritable with their mates, and their constant going outside and dealing with other much younger women who are looking strictly for money.

This is not meant to be a sex lesson, but quite frankly, women are not built like men, and they require a lot more “attention”.

and @ Juris or is it Equity

What the hell is wrong with being picky?

• Bush tea // September 6, 2008 at 5:00 PM

The Devil,

You must be a real youngster.

What teaching for females what?!!

I went to a mixed primary school, a single sex secondary, and a few universities, and I can count the number of female teachers that I have had on the fingers of my hands. My teachers were predominantly men….. and in most cases, very impressively so.

Teaching became a “woman’s” job, ONLY AFTER mass Co-ed in Barbados, and especially after the influence of destroyers- (starting with Billie Miller), managed to create an environment which wise men tend to avoid.

You should be careful that you are not speaking for yourself reference those men who are not allowed to help with their children. My own personal experience with children and mothers is dramatically different….. somewhat of a bush tea magnet.

Your last paragraph is misguided and completely erroneous.
    What socialization What?!!

‘Men do not teach’, because we have created a school system, run by women, designed to frustrate and to fail, and one that is hostile to men. Of course some ‘males’ will always continue to tag along, but as I said, MEN will leave …or revolt.

There is a fundamental design mandate that men are designed to be leaders. We can defy that design spec to our peril. So when we force our women to take over this role (either by men not stepping up to the plate or by females seeking to prove some point – or just from following the dictates of the international lending agencies) the price that we will pay is a complete decline of men in society and consequent decline in leadership and management.

…you may recall that Bush tea has long identified the lack of strong leadership as THE critical issue facing us nationally.

• ROK // September 6, 2008 at 6:04 PM

I think that it is about time that we start creating specialty schools. It is a waste of resources for all the schools to teach the same thing, in the same way that one would make a mold for a concrete block or some other standard commodity.

Are we keeping pace with development. We are still trying to push our students into academics, when we need to produce a lot more diversity.

For example, we talk about the cultural industries but who trains these people? Why can’t one of the schools be a music school, another a drama school then an art school, a school of engineering, etc.

We only have to choose about six or eight good categories, especially those subjects that require knowledge and practice from early childhood; somewhat similar to what we see the Chinese do in acrobatics and much closer to home, the Cubans.

As a matter of fact, Cuba has been able to hold its own because of its education system producing the required skilled workforce.

I know how conservative we are. I will not hear the end of this. A vast majority is still of the opinion that their children should have that shot at doctor or lawyer.

Whatever it is we have to get real. I know there are those who would rush to take their children to a school of music. Not that the children would not be rounded scholars but will have a grounding in something other than academics that will be useful in their lives. These kinds of schools will also have the effect of preserving culture. I bet that the brilliance of children in such an environment would shine.

I have seen many competent musicians that are doctors and lawyers, but what this would do is provide professional alternatives. They will still sit CXC, etc. This would also allow for the expansion of CXC or other examination bodies.

• Q // September 6, 2008 at 6:24 PM

WHO is this BUSH TEA ?

I see that s/he speaks the truth

Come to the top of the class my friend

You have earned the right to be called enlightened.

Go forth and spread the word for it is people such as yourself who can make a difference.

Do not hide behind the cloak of invisibility that the Blogs provide. Come forward and organize similar thinking persons into an entity that can make a meaningful contribution ——

A pressure group would be such an entity

Go Forward !

• The Devil // September 6, 2008 at 8:53 PM

Bush Tea

I am not old but not so young either! I am fully involved in my childrens’ lives and Mrs Devil has happily left the children in my care when she had to travel outside of Barbados. It was, in fact, at the time of one of these trips that surprise was expressed by a female acquaintence that she did not leave the children with her mother instead of me! I have since heard other women say similar things which in my world is very foreign.

I think that in the past there were fewer job opportunities so men (and bright men at that) went into teaching. With Independence and as the economy expanded other employment oportunities became available and teaching became the job of last resort.

It is noted that although the majority of teachers are women, the majority of principals of secondary schools are men. Mrs Griffith Watson is the first female Chief Education Officer (I may be wrong on this) and it was Loius Tull that authorised co-education starting with Combermere in 1976. Billie Miller became education minister in 1981 by which time St. Michaels, Lodge, CP, HC and QC had already gone co-ed. The discussion to go co-ed predated Tull’s appointment but it was during his term of office that the final decision was made.

After Miller, the Ministers of Education have been Cyril Walker, Keith Simmons, Tyrone Estwick, Mia Mottley, Cappy Greenidge, Reginald Farley, Anthony Wood and now Ronald Jones. So over the last 32 years there have been 9 Ministers of Education of which two were women (the only 2 in the history of Barbados) and one female Chief Education Officer. The present educational system seems to me to be a product of the leadership of men.

• Q // September 6, 2008 at 9:11 PM

MRS DEVIL ???

sounds like Scary Movie 6

• Bush tea // September 6, 2008 at 10:58 PM

Thanks for the response Devil, and please extend my sympathy to Mrs D for having to live with you. LOL.

Your relationship with your children seem like the norm that I see. Many of the fathers with whom I interact play full roles in their children’s lives. Indeed I have noted recently to a female friend that fathers seem even more attached to daughters than to their sons.

…of course there are the usual degenerate lot of retards who fail to live up to their responsibilities and also there are those women who foolishly make life so miserable for their partners that those men decide to head for the desert…

It is NOT a matter of men being socialized to avoid children. The system deters men from teaching.

Co-education was instituted as I recall, by the World Bank. I well recall the events of the time when as you pointed out Louis Tull was minister.

I always thought that Co-education was a condition of the world Bank loans provided to build a number of schools. Government lacked the vision (guts?) to resist this interference, and teachers at the time were against it, but said not a word.

The real destruction of our school system began with the Billy Millar VS Aurie Smith of Lodge school saga, and then she went versus the headmaster of Combermere. She single-handedly destroyed The Lodge School, the authority of school boards, Principals, and teachers -and changed teaching into something that real men would never be again be attracted to.

Do you know of the days when a teacher was THE man in his village? Universally respected, often emulated? ……this was ended by Miller in order to ‘prove’ that SHE was now THE man.

Mia placed large numbers of (her) females in positions to ensure that few real man would ever again seek to make a mark in teaching.

Change the environment tomorrow and you will be surprised at the number of men who would gravitate towards the extremely rewarding profession of framing tomorrow’s citizens.

HOW?
    1) Reduce the staff at the Ministry of Education to one person (to answer the phone and refer matters back to the appropriate school principal)
    2) Have school Boards appointed equally by the Alumni, PTA, and Government .
    3) Let the School Board fully manage the affairs of the school.
    4) Publish ALL school results, accounts, staff appointments and performance ratings. Full transparency and quarterly school board meetings as in the USA.

With respect to the males you listed who held the portfolio of education, the least said is probably the best option…..

• The Devil // September 6, 2008 at 11:48 PM

BT, re your sympathies

quote from Mrs D “At least somebody understands!” but don’t mind her, she’s been saying that for over twenty years and still won’t let anybody else make my evening tea. Not that I would dare partake of anybody else’s brew!

Not familiar with the Lodge school issue and Miller as I was away from B’dos at the time.

On the School Board approach, this sounds very American and they are not exactly a model of success. For starters, we might have to get rid of most of the present crop of principals!

It is sobering that 2 women could trump 7 men.

• John // September 6, 2008 at 11:49 PM

Here is an article I was sent some time ago about university education in the UK. I think it fits with this stage of the blog.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/opinion/main.jhtml?xml=/opinion/2008/06/07/do0701.xml&DCMP=EMC-new_07062008

• Bush tea // September 7, 2008 at 8:14 AM

John

That is an excellent article. Much better put than Bush tea’s BU contribution a few months ago. A degree nowadays now only tells you that the recipient had three or four years to spare and access to a computer with internet.

Devil, have you considered that maybe Mrs D is committed to protecting the rest of us from you..?

As to the ability of two women to trump seven men….. surely you jest Devil!!
    ..ask the Mrs, …ONE woman could trump one thousand men. Consider the Palin phenomenon currently under way in the US of A. …men are fools.

There are one or two example that can be drawn from the US. The openness and public access to information is better than most.

..as to the need to ‘get rid of the present crop of Principals’ (get rid of’? LOL- that sounds drastic coming from the Devil). In short order most of them would need to be replaced by real leaders and role models.
    The current lot has been selected to suit the current system model that has been created – Subservient lackies who take messages from the ministry and pass them on to the other teachers, students and parents.

Can you picture Major Noot or ‘Tank’ cowering to any Chief Education officer? Check out how Combermere’s sixth form was started…. or how Art and music was introduced…

• J // September 7, 2008 at 3:53 PM

“national strategy for children’s play”.

Creepy indeed.

But even so can I be appointed the Right Honourable Minister Responsible for Play?

• John // September 7, 2008 at 4:29 PM

J

…. don’t laugh, these politicians need to come up with justifications for their existence!!

• David // September 7, 2008 at 5:14 PM

Like we said another fact finding mission for ROK and his NGOs…LOL. We are so educated and cannot find it possible to have initiated studies on co-ed and other factors which are negatively impacting our educational system.

Too Sad!

• The Devil // September 7, 2008 at 5:40 PM

Didn’t Prof ‘Rocky’ Layne of the UWI do a study on co-education? I attended a public lecture given by him some years ago on the results of his research. My recollection of this lecture is hazy in part because of Prof. Layne’s style of presentation which I found distracting. Hopefully not misrepresenting Dr Layne but in essence he did not find co-education to be a factor influencing the academic performance of boys.

Before Bush tea jumps up … shoot the message not the messenger (the Devil).

• David // September 7, 2008 at 5:54 PM

@The Devil

Don’t mean to put you on the spot but how many years ago would that be that you attended the lecture? Our recollection is that the co-ed experiment started around the mid-70’s. The question to ask would be what period should elapse before meaningful studies should be conducted.

The other point we want to emphasize is that a highly educated society like Barbados should have a BODY of research to reference not a 1 or 2 study.

• Suh-Warrior // September 7, 2008 at 6:13 PM

Pray tell how an educational system debate become a family life debate.

Don’t you think this topic should be a separate post?

• The Devil // September 7, 2008 at 7:46 PM

The lecture may have been about 10 – 12 years ago. I believe that Prof Layne did some follow up work about 6 years ago. There is also the evaluation unit at UWI (which was once headed by Prof Newton) which has published a report on the state of schooling in Barbados about a year ago.

• Bush tea // September 7, 2008 at 9:41 PM

Devil,

A number of high profile persons claimed that from their ‘research’, nothing was wrong with co-education. These included Prof Layne, Dr Shorey (in the early days) and even Spoonie Roach.

What research What!?!

..all Bush tea knows is that if there was any hint of a 16 year -old girl in my class while at school, The Bush man would probably be a ward of the state by this stage….. I had enough problems just with day dreaming LOL.

Wuh um is only common sense….

Of course some of us may not have this ‘problem’ and could not therefore understand the insurmountable urges of which Bush tea write.

When you listen to men like GP and Ganong speak of their school days – would you let them any where near cute school girls -ALL DAY LONG?!?!

Only a person who has not experienced real male puberty, or someone who does not have a teenage son (or daughter), (or who is a complete idiot) would fail to understand the challenges of co-education…..

I read many of these ‘reports’, and they are not written by idiots….

• David // September 8, 2008 at 1:03 AM

Bt

How do you think men will be able to wrestle the domination of the education system away from women? Do you think it will be handed over with out a fight?

The only way to do it is to present irrefutable evidence linked to research. If you cant God help you!

• J // September 8, 2008 at 4:35 AM

Dear Bush Tea:

I believe that up to 1971 or even a bit after there were “mixed all age elementary schools” and that the pupils in these schools were up to 14 years old. Up until the 1960’s and even the 1970’s most Bajans did not attend secondary school. Many of us, maybe most of us attended mixed all age elementary schools up to standard/class 7, or age 14. And at age 14 we were well into puberty.

My questions are how did the pre-1971 adolesent boy cope with girls in the all age mixed elementary schools?

How did the male teachers cope?

Respectfully

J

• J // September 8, 2008 at 4:39 AM

Dear Suh-Warrior:

An educational system debate became a family life debate because home and school are so tightly bound together that it is impossible to separate one from the other.

Whether we like it or not, whether we acknowledge it or not home and school are married to each other.

When one is dysfunctional as sure as the sun rises in the east the other will also be dysfunctional.

• The scout // September 8, 2008 at 9:02 AM

I heard Ms Watson on air appealing to the public to donate books to the schools. I have well over 1000 books extra that I can donate. In fact many children use my library for research. However until or unless Ms Watson apologises to the public and to those two schools in particular first, no-one will take her serious.

• Bush Tea // September 8, 2008 at 11:05 AM

J,
    Since you were never a real boy you can be excused for asking this question. I also forgive Mrs Griffith-Watson for using this argument in ignorance for the same reason.

The problem with boys really shows itself between ages 12- 13 to 15-16. Everyone who deals with teenage boys knows that they have a hard time (in more ways than one) and that their learning and listening instincts are not what they would be if they were girls.

This problem more than sorts itself out after age 16, when boy actually outperform girls.

Unfortunately, in a competitive school environment AND with predominantly female teachers, who, like you and the CEO, do not personally appreciate this phenomena, boys are unable to catch up with girls having fallen behind on the basics.

In all boy’s schools, while they collective fall behind at those ages, they ALL DO IT TOGETHER and are not defined as failures. Also they tend to have more male teachers who understand what is happening. Such boys then catch up, and go on to do very well (like GP, Ganong, MME and of course Bush tea…LOL)

You will recall that the main reason for going co-ed was to correct the disparity where BOYS were outperforming girls when we had single sex schools at this age level.

The issue of primary school is not relevant since there is no question of ‘catching up’ after age 16, and even at age 14, the ‘problem’ was just beginning

• J // September 8, 2008 at 10:07 PM

Actually BT:

I have discussed the teenage boy difficulties with a dear friend we’ll call The Honourable Teacher Man. His Honour has informed me that you do indeed speak the truth about this ahhhhhh!!!!!!!!!! delicate matter. But his Honour who has actually taught for nigh on 40 years and who attended mixed primary and secondary schools and who has taugh at all boys and mixed secondary schools, and who still has a passion for teaching has assured me that a good teacher can still keep his class on task.

But I don’t know, never having taught myself.

• John // September 8, 2008 at 10:45 PM

J

Maybe our teachers are not good.

Is that what you want to say?

• J // September 8, 2008 at 11:10 PM

No I do not want to say that our teachers are not good.

• Dr. Boobie // September 9, 2008 at 8:38 AM

Our lastest Doctor on the block -Ms. Griffith Watson, which school did she earn her doctorate from?

• Q // September 9, 2008 at 3:41 PM

OUR TEACHERS ARE NOT GOOD BECAUSE MOST OF THEM ARE WOMEN AND LETS FACE IT–WOMEN AINT READY YET

• J // September 9, 2008 at 4:44 PM

But Q

Women and men have have a common history and geneology.

Men and women have always had to pull together for the betterment of families and institutions.

If women are not ready yet can you suggest a time when they might be ready?

And what things that they should do to make ready?

Thanks

• Bush tea // September 9, 2008 at 7:32 PM

Hi again J,

If I was a detective I would deduce that you are NOT a Bajan and Not a woman. However I am not one, so I will take your word for it.

You mean to tell Bush tea that you actually checked the facts with someone who knows, reviewed your previous position and (gasp!!) conceded to the BU family that Bush tea was right?!?

What Bajan woman What!?!

No Baje woman concedes defeat!
    No Baje woman concerns herself with mere facts!
    And where did you ever hear a Baje woman apologize publicly just so????

But your honourable friend is absolutely right. It IS possible for special men to teach successfully in the current environment.
    I interact regularly with a very special group of such men, and I do appreciate why you would classify your reference friend as ‘honourable’….

…but the numbers are no where near the amount required to make a difference.

• Q // September 9, 2008 at 7:45 PM

what have women invented other than gossip .

Women drivers: harsh and overly competitive on the road

Women Teachers: ignorant to the needs of boys and discriminatory against said boys. loving up the girls alienating the boys. stunting the robust development of these boys: telling boys not to come into their classrooms smelling sweaty or looking untidy

Some women lovers: will call their men’s workplace and tell lies against the man just to get back at him; will take a man”s money or even marry a man knowing full well that they dont love the man;

some women are : producing children and hating them ; treating said children bad; cursing them and telling them the worse things at two and three years old, dragging them along the streets and taking their frustrations out on the child-(abuse)

at other times:dressing up said children in adult looking wear complete with gold chains etc;
    some women are unforgiving , inflexible, hard

Ignorant to things such as diet and exercise and as a result growing lazy and thus not able to monitor the activities of their boy children because of the laziness

Ignorant to fixing anything be it car, aplliance, clothes iron , washing machine etc thus contributing to the mash -up and buy back mentality that translates into a lot of things that can be fixed being thrown away.

easily ripped of by unscrupulous workmen

Recently men women have been drinking and getting drunk and having sexual liasons with other women (wickking) in greater numbers

Taking the jobs of men; building houses and living alone and undermining the idea of the nuclear family which is good for society

Women in Barbados would go to a school and block, will have sex on the same bed where their child of school-age is sleeping,
    would have a child and deny the father seeing said child

Service at retail outlets such as stores and other outlets is poor because women work in these places . some of them treat people so bad it is shame and if they, in their stupid perception categorized you as a nobody because of how you are dressed etc proceed to treat you with dis-respect . All the complains about poor service in supermarkets and stores can be blamed on female employees

The older generation of men knew that women had to be monitored and controlled and not allowed a free hand. They knew that destruction could result if there was a failure to control women-they knew that women would get out of hand. They knew that women do not think, are not logical and will not reason. Women feel , they dont think.

Foolish modern men now feel that women should so-called equal rights and have gone overboard

• J // September 9, 2008 at 9:45 PM

Dear Q:

It breaks my heart to hear that your experience has been so bitter.

I had the benefit of 2 wonderful grandmothers, a wise mother, 7 sisters whose price is far above rubies, 2 daughters who are a joy, excellent female teachers, cooperative colleagues, good neighbours, wonderful female cousins and friends (and the same with grandfathers, father etc. )

So no I do not know where you are coming from.

I regret that your experiences with some women have left you so embittered.

But who raised you to to adulthood? who is raising/has raised your children? who combs your infant’s hair, who cooks your grandmothr food, bathes her, takes her to the doctor, picks up her medicine?

• J // September 9, 2008 at 9:52 PM

Dear Bush Tea:

I do not pretend to know everything.

My mind is not closed.

I come to the blogs to read, to agree or disagree, perchance to learn, maybe even sometimes to teach.

My mind is NOT closed. I hope that it never closes.

You and I will agree sometimes and sometimes we will agree to disagree.

• John // September 10, 2008 at 1:36 AM

… but the female teachers we had at HC were good too.

OK, some were definitely distracting but they did their jobs and did them well and we always knew we would be cut no slack because they were female.

Six years after I left HC I got stuck a Saturday afternoon in Belgium when my $400 car broke down. It was a mini.

Everything was closed.

Because of the grounding I had in French with Ms Alleyne up to fifth form, I was able to find a mechanic who dealt with British cars and would listen, very difficult with everything closed, communicate the problem, get the part and “fix” the car.

The three other students with me from India were amazed that I could “speak” French.

Since then I have never been in such a position but the confidence it gave me that I could survive in a country where French (or Spanish which I did for three years to O level) was the native tongue has stood me in good stead in my travels.

I doubt I will ever be a conversationalist in those languages but when faced with a problem where I need them I will survive!!

So I can’t speak ill of any female teachers I had.

• The Devil // September 10, 2008 at 3:52 AM

I still do not accept the thesis that the feminisation of the teaching profession and coeducation is at the root of the problem in schools. The idea that adolescent boys are inordinately distracted by the presence of girls in the classroom is not borne out by any research. We should not reject information from research simply because it contradicts our intuition or “common sense”.

The feminisation of the teaching profession, I continue to maintain, is as a result of better economic opportunities available to men in other fields of work and the percieved suitability of women for teaching re the pastoral care component and that teaching with its long vacations and shorter daily work hours allow women to earn a living while carrying out child rearing responsibilities. That men were the majority of teachers in the past can be explained by the limited job opportunities and the barriers to the employment of women. For example, a woman could not remain employed after marrying or getting pregnant. I remember reading with great surprise that such rules were only removed within the last 25 years in some of our Caricom neighbours. Dame Billie Miller (or her gender) is unfairly blamed for the Education Act of 1981 which no administration has attempted to change in the last 27 years. As to this popular view that Mia Mottley placed “large numbers of her females ” in positions, is not supported by any evidence I am aware of. In fact it is to be noted that the number of male principals in secondary schools has increased even in those fomerly female only schools (St.Michael, Queens, Alexandra) and the majority of principals of secondary schools are male. I can only think of St George and Springer Memorial (maybe St James?) with female principals. Based on research done recently (unfortunately not publically accessible), it was clearly seen that although the overwhelming majority of teachers are female, the role of principal is seen as that for males. That there are more female principals in the primary schools is due to the fact that there are so few male teachers to start with. As to principals of the past not cowering to a CEO, Tank for example bailed out soon after the new act was passed. His absolute power as principal was legally removed. Such was the power of principals that they could send home teachers, dock their pay, expel a child etc almost without answering to anyone. Which teacher (male or female) or parent today is going to go back to that situation? The changes in the Education Act had little to do with Miller’s gender and as I have pointed out were set in train long before her appointment. Some of the problems experienced after the Act was passed really had to do with the resentment of principals to their loss of power in favour of the Ministry of Education.

Differing maturation rates can partly explain the academic achievement gap between boys and girls but this disparity is a relatively recent phenomena, is widespead worldwide and is growing. That it is seen across cultures and socio economic classes and that it is of relatively recent occurence suggests that the problem is enviromental or contextural in origin. Simply put, the model of schooling today may be out of sync with the needs of society.

I invite readers to look at http://www.williamdraves.com/works/boys.htm . This article summarises many of the issues surrounding what is a multi facetted and complex issue.

I do NOT share all of the conclusions of this article and I think the idea of computers in schools as a panacea to the problem is very flawed. I do sincerely believe that reform in schools has to be informed by developments occuring in the wider society especially in the economic spheres of activity as the ultimate objective is to prepare our young people for that wider role as citizens. I think our boys moreso than our girls (but the girls are not far behind in manifesting dissatisfaction) are telling us that the educational institutions presently provided are inadequate mechanisms for preparing them for the brave new world out there.

• John // September 10, 2008 at 8:09 AM

The Devil // September 10, 2008 at 3:52 am

I think our boys moreso than our girls (but the girls are not far behind in manifesting dissatisfaction) are telling us that the educational institutions presently provided are inadequate mechanisms for preparing them for the brave new world out there.
    +++++++++++++++++++++
    I think you have a point.

I think our young people know that they have been let down by us.

They are far smarter than we used to be.

• Q // September 10, 2008 at 12:22 PM

Listen J

My information comes from research and not from personal experience

dont assume my gender either

everything I have said is true and the veracity of the statements CANNOT be challenged sucessfully———>> >

————————————————>
    a commenter above wrote the following

” The feminisation of the teaching profession, I continue to maintain, is as a result of better economic opportunities available to men in ……….”

I dont care what the reasons are
    I dont care who says what ……WOMEN are a problem. lets face it nuh ! I dont want the academic bullshit talk , lets get down to the nitty gritty, down to brass tacks as it were.

cheese-on bread man !!!

• Georgie Porgie // September 10, 2008 at 12:34 PM

Can anyone explain the need for a sixth form at Foundation etc?

Are we not turning back the hands of the clock?

Was not the BCC started almost 40 years ago as a sixth form school to accomodate students whose schools did not have a sixth form?

Has not the BCC served this purpose well, besides doing much much more?

• J // September 10, 2008 at 1:04 PM

Dear Q:

I’ve re-read my submission.

Can you kindly point out to me where I have assumed your gender?

• J // September 10, 2008 at 1:46 PM

Dear Q:

On September 9th at 7:45 p.m. you wrote that your “information comes from research”

Q wrote “Women drivers: harsh and overly competitive on the road”

I say “show me the research based evidence”

Q wrote: “Women Teachers: ignorant to the needs of boys and discriminatory against said boys. loving up the girls alienating the boys. stunting the robust development of these boys: telling boys not to come into their classrooms smelling sweaty or looking untidy”

Q wrote “Some women lovers: will call their men’s workplace and tell lies against the man just to get back at him; will take a man”s money or even marry a man knowing full well that they dont love the man”

I say “Show me the research based evidence”

Q wrote “some women are : producing children and hating them ; treating said children bad; cursing them and telling them the worse things at two and three years old, dragging them along the streets and taking their frustrations out on the child-(abuse)”

Q wrote “at other times:dressing up said children in adult looking wear complete with gold chains etc”

Q wrote “Ignorant to things such as diet and exercise and as a result growing lazy and thus not able to monitor the activities of their boy children because of the laziness”

Q wrote “Ignorant to fixing anything be it car, aplliance, clothes iron , washing machine etc thus contributing to the mash -up and buy back mentality that translates into a lot of things that can be fixed being thrown away. ”

Q wrote “easily ripped of by unscrupulous workmen”

Are you telling me that it is women’s fault that there are unscruplous workmen???? Really, really?? YOu really wrote that?

Q wrote ” Recently men women have been drinking and getting drunk and having sexual liasons with other women (wickking) in greater numbers”

I say “show me the research based evedence”

Q wrote “Taking the jobs of men”

I say “show me the research based evedence”

Q wrote ” building houses and living alone and undermining the idea of the nuclear family which is good for society”

Q wrote “Women in Barbados would go to a school and block, will have sex on the same bed where their child of school-age is sleeping”

I say “show me the research based evidence” and if some women do this are they having s*x with men, with or with duppies?

Q wrote “would have a child and deny the father seeing said child”

Q wrote “Service at retail outlets such as stores and other outlets is poor because women work in these places…All the complains about poor service in supermarkets and stores can be blamed on female employees”

Q wrote “women do not think, are not logical and will not reason. Women feel ”

I say “show me the research based evidence.”

Q wrote “The older generation of men knew that women had to be monitored and controlled”

I put it to you that the older generation of men knew no such thing. Up until 1962 when the oral contraceptive became available women (and men) started having children in mid to late adolesence and continued until about 45 for women and until whenever for a man who could find a young woman. IT WAS NOT MEN THAT HAD WOMEN IN CONTRO”. It was BIOLOGY that had women (and men) in the headlock of constant child bearing and child rearing.

And if you think that it so easy to bear and rear multiple children even while inventing stuff, why don’t you try living as a woman for the next 30 years, regardless of your current gender. Go to the Childcare Board and ask them to give you a new born baby every other year for a 30 year period. Raise these children, invent your stuff and report back to us.

Dear Q: I would not wish it to seem that you are emotional and petulant so I look forward receiving the EVIDENCE that “your information comes from research”

• Q // September 10, 2008 at 2:57 PM

J

YOU ARE TYPICAL FEMALE
    I KNOW YOUR TYPE

ANSWER THIS QUESTION
    WHY DO SOME FEMALE EMPLOYEES HATE FEMALE BOSSES
    WHY WOULD YOU HEAR FEMALES SAYING THAT THEY DONT LIKE WITH FEMALES
    ——-want a hint ?
    —————————–
    if you are going to ask who is combing my children’s hair -you are assuming my gender

• Q // September 10, 2008 at 3:01 PM

-insert –working with
    WHY WOULD YOU HEAR FEMALE WORKERS SAYING THAT THEY DONT LIKE TO WORK WITH FEMALES

• J // September 10, 2008 at 4:35 PM

If some females say that I guess that there is some degree of self-hate.

The same self hate that propels may Bajans to look for a lighter skinned spouse than themselves (and the lighter, the better)

However it does not mean that good social policy should be based on self hate.

• J // September 10, 2008 at 4:37 PM

But Q you say that you have research based evidence.

Gimme me the citations nuh? So that I can check the research for myself.

• David // September 10, 2008 at 7:35 PM

@GP

We have heard that the logic is to have a six form which is strategically located, we have heard that the Community College is full, we have heard that there has been strong lobby to have admitted Foundation be admitted to the ‘elite’, we have heard many things.

Our position is that Community College could be extended to accommodate increase six form applications. It seems a better use of resources.
    What is the truth?

• Georgie Porgie // September 10, 2008 at 8:54 PM

David
    I agree with your position that extending the Community College to accommodate increase six form applications is a better use of resources. That was why the BCC was designed in 1969.

• ROK // September 10, 2008 at 10:43 PM

@ David,

This is a tall order. If we are going to put education in focus, it must produce the workers, skills, professionals, etc. that we need, not only to build a society and economy but also to maintain it.

This debate went into the feminists realm. I think that our women should re-think feminism because feminism is the creation of the women associated with white imperialism and they successfully found allies in women all over the world because of how we socialise our women and men for that matter.

We have different issues. I have always argued that if the courts used to award custody to men like how they do with the women, the women would be more dilinquent in their payment of child money than men are today. It would become more of a disgrace than is perceived to be for men.

Sometime back there were two cases where fathers were awarded custody of their children and the mothers never paid a cent in child support. Instead they were contented to spend time in jail ever so often for non-payment.

Most of our women, when asked, will tell you that they ain’t giving no man money. You see that is their socialisation. to receive; some say a recepticle in more ways than one; and nothing derogatory, simply a natural physical phenomenon.

Women do not have a culture of employment at the managerial level and again, that is a fact. Not saying they cannot work but that for most of the decisions they have make, their approach is not based on a culture and is more of a raw brashness meant to redefine the work culture by replacing the male culture with a female touch which was hitherto unknown, untested and untried.

For them it is a new horizon but for most men (and women for that matter) it is or has been a nightmare. In a bank for example, I have seen people (including women) allow others in front of them until a male clerk is available.

At one point I thought that service would be different, i.e. more caring; because we talking about mothers who brought up children, but I have come to find out that women will care for their own children but really have very little feelings for other children.

There is no spirit of motherhood of the nation as may be expected, but rather a determined effort to undermine men, especially in the public service.

In recent times, there has been an effort to move towards something called womanism, which takes into account the cultural role of the relationship between men and women.

We relate to our women in a certain way and other cultures relate to theirs according to their ways. This theory argues that the advancement of women should happen from a cultural base and move towards equality from there rather than this reverse feminism that we are seeing right now.

It is definitely too harsh. One of the principles of law is that man was not made for the law but the law was made for man. This really speaks of regulation; a disciplined approach to human activity. However, this discretion is abused in too many instances.

Take a good example, again from the bank. Sometimes we may agree to partner with an NGO that may not be registered and/or don’t have a bank account.

In these instances we would simply ask the NGO to sign over a cheque written to them and we would change it for them. Over a period of a year we never had a problem with this. Not much of this happens anyhow.

One day I personally went to the bank with one of these cheques and was told by the female clerk that it was against bank policy. I told her that she was the first clerk in my life to tell me so and that no male clerk ever told me that.

She went for her supervisor who was a man. Of course before he came she gave him the low-down and he confirmed what she said, which did not surprise me, given the conversation I saw happened behind the glass.

I therefore went to another branch of the same bank and this time a male teller took it. he looked at it, picked up his rubber stamp, stamped it and that was that; cheque deposited. This was the same bank where the last teller was asking me if I wanted her to lose her job.

I really expect a totally emotional response from a female to this post but in the interest of making this a better Barbados, women cannot think that they are perfect and whatever they do is well done.

I overheard a couple arguing one day, where the man told the woman, “I don’t treat you so.” And she said, “that is because I don’t do anything to get you vexed.” His response was, “How you know that? Because I don’t complain?”

• J // September 10, 2008 at 11:27 PM

Dear Q:

I am posting this list of female Nobel Prize winners just for you”

Marie Curie, Maria Joliot-Curie, Irene Joliot-Curie, Dorothy Crowfoot-Hodgkin, Gerty Cori, Rosalyn Yallow, Barbara McClintock, Rita Levi-Montalani, Christine Nusslein Volhard, Lidnda B. Buck, Selma Legerlof, Grazia Deledda, Sigrid Undset, Pearl Buck, Gabriela MIstral, Nelly Sachs, Nadine Gordimer, Toni Morrison, Wislawa Szymborska, Elfriede Jelinek, Doris Lessing, Bertha von Suttner, Jane Addams, Emily Greene Balch, Betty Williams, Mairead Corrigan, Mother Teresa, Alva Myrdal, Aung San Suu Kyi, Rigoberta Menchu, Jody Williams, Shirin Ebadi, Wangari Maathai.

• Q // September 11, 2008 at 3:48 PM

J

I refer you to the post above by ROK

deal wid the case

deal with reality and stop trying to get into academic mumbo jumbo -bull-shit talk.—Lets deal with the lived reality. This is not an end of semester college exam

• David // September 12, 2008 at 1:08 AM

@ROK

Your argument is a contentious one but one which is worthy of discussion. Part of the challenge for developing countries is the fact that many of our people have been educated at higher learning institution in the developed world. It is obvious that our thinking must be influenced by the learning received.

How can we manage our Caribbean space given how we have been taught to make it relevant to our people?

• ROK // September 12, 2008 at 10:20 AM

@ David

That last sentence should have stated “…how we have been taught to make it IRRELEVANT to our people?”.

We could make it relevant by producing the labour, skills and professionals we need, rather than allow our best brains to make themselves available to Imperialism.

How many scientists have we graduated over the past forty years? How many of them did experiments with our own flora and fauna? We let a white man come down here and put our lizard/snake in the scientific journals and I am sure one of our scientist would have had to direct this man to the snake.

So what else? What about the medicinal value in our plants? We are here spending heaps upon heaps on importing medical supplies when in fact we have the raw materials for an entire industry here.

So like Chis said, we are the consumers. We spend, spend until all is gone and do not invest any of it in ourselves. So we have to heap the praise on those mauby, seasoning, ketchup, jam, syrup, jelly and wine producers.

Imagine that we surrounded by Sun (the source of energy) and sand (a raw material for retrieving silicia (which taps the energy from the Sun) and we allow the rest of the world to convince us that the process of getting silicon is too expensive. Foolishness!

Ask any Caribbean scientist how to get silicon from sand and they can’t tell you. You know why? Well that side of the science makes the oil producers too vulnerable to allow solar to creep into any science course. This thing is so carefully hidden, that I challenge you to find a description of the process, David.

I see Mr. Husbands from the BMA pursuing it and I told him in no uncertain terms that any way I can help let me know. As a matter of fact I plan to meet with him in the very near future.

In order to reverse this trend, we would have to re-think our educational system. It can be argued that having an educational system which does not push our citizens into competitiveness is a formula for maintaining crime levels and producing crime waves.

That is also why if one man start selling pig tails and is a success everybody jump on the bandwagon. Check the amount of pork limes they have now. See how when the ZRs came in everybody wanted a ZR. What does this tell you?

We talk about Garvey but we don’t take the time to understand him. Our leaders still think that to pursue a Garvey philosophy would be to ostracise us from the world, but what Garvey did in essence is to construct a society based on our people’s culture and their needs.

We quote Garvey as some kind of literary exercise. We uphold him but do not embrace him. Well Hammie La is spreading Garveyism when he behaves the way he does; when he puts poor people at the top of his priority list; when he creates systems and processes for them; when he says to Government, let the people shape their community according to what they want and what their needs are.

When he brings computers for them; installs the best sporting and other facilities; when he established the welfare to work programme under the Ministry of Social Transformation.

This is to let them know that anything anybody else can do they can do and even master it too. Give them a pride in themselves and make them feel like human beings, rather than the scum of the earth expected to commit all the crime in Barbados.

Move them into new areas of activity and help them develop their true potential. You ever heard of Parkinson Business centre? There is a lady there now who used to dream of owning a laundry and Hammie La made that dream come true. There is a Barber there now who was so desparate for work and to find a source of income, he ain’t got no more problems.

Prior to that, this was a useless empty space where nothing could happen and which we went through horrors with Town Planning in the early years. Then after years of prodding at the Town Planner, finally, Hammie came and told me that the Town Planner approved it and that all we had to do was to make sure of the space between the buildings to allow for emergency access, etc.

Also, see how he used education to lift up the people: The Home Help programme for the elderly was expanded under his watch to give a better and regular service to the elderly; especially the shut-ins and disabled.

He establsihed a training programme called “Care of the Elderly” which trained the personnel to expand the service and created another opportunity for our women to to find alternative employment.

Today the “Care of the Elderly” course is a permanent part of the SJPP education courses. What this course has also done is to create a critical mass of workers that makes trained personnel available to homes for the elderly. This is now two-fold, because it not only provided employment but also upgraded the services to our elderly across Barbados. Think you could get into that course if you don’t come early? Ask SJPP.

Our school system needs dismantling and we need to create focussed schools that will deliver the education as well as prepare our youth for the development of our country, rather than for its destruction.

• Chris Halsall // September 12, 2008 at 2:00 PM

@ROK, @David…

Short form…

I agree (generally) with ROK — we in the region need to be highly literate, educated, and thoughtful.

How we get there is the unclear and explosive question…

IMHO, surrounding *all* of ourselves with learned books, newspapers and (some of) the Internet is a critical component.

• A True Believer // September 12, 2008 at 2:43 PM

what wrong with this person Q. Them like they got a thing against women. Them behave like they get fart out a man backside when they born.

• The scout // September 12, 2008 at 3:27 PM

A true Believer
    tell why a lot of women/ females/ ladies don’t have many female friends. This is something that always baffle me.

• Yardbroom // September 12, 2008 at 3:42 PM

ROK
    I believe in most of what you have said: education in today’s world is the key to most things, and I mean education in the broad sense of the word, and from whatever source. If that education teaches us that we “must” make short term sacrifices to achieve long term goals, we are half way there.

Unfortunately we believe that everything must be achieved yesterday, and most things of value cannot be thus achieved.

If we as a people are able to change that desire for immediacy, we can achieve a lot…the mantra must be education, education, education. I mean education in the sense of being able to think clearly, and hold ideas before prudent execution.

Perhaps most important of all, never yes, never, allow ourselves to be bought, now that is really making a man/woman of us.

• ROK // September 12, 2008 at 4:00 PM

@ Chris

We have not come to grips with the computer. We seeing it as a gadget. Some see it as a means of entertainment. Very few see it as educational or beyond a modern or interactive dictionary or thesaurus.

Even fewer see it as a communications device that is far more potent than the telephone.

Really, the computer and internet is all the above and more. It is a totally integrated medium, capable of everything the mass media could do. Capable of transacting all kinds of business. Capable of creating new industries and managing contemporary ones.

Capable of providing you with maximum security in your home or office. A calendar, a diary, an appointment book, a place to do research, etc., etc., etc.

You cannot begin to imagine how BANGO’s work would suffer if we had no internet. We would not be able to speak to our counterparts across the Caribbean and the world for that matter.

From this laptop, I have been getting the latest before it hit the airwaves. Get information that do not even hit the airwaves. Able to communicate this information to other NGOs when it is not available in the media or otherwise. Able to carry on discussions for weeks and weeks with counterparts all over the world.

Our problem is that our teachers do not have IT skills, but you can get an entire education from the internet. The other problem with the internet is content. We have not moved to deal with this yet.

I have argued that we should not be using yahoo messenger we should have a green monkey messenger or a Mudda Sally or something to capture the attention and imagination of the Caribbean and its diaspora.

I have to say that we have the talent to do it, including my son who is about to graduate with a doctorate in this subject matter, but we have been taught to get qualifications and get a good job.

Of course I have been driving it in his head. He tells me he will start such a project in Summer 2009. We will see.

I have been saying that the first person to do it will become the Caribbean Bill Gates, but it may so happen that since no one person has all the money, it may get divided up once one person starts.

• ROK // September 12, 2008 at 4:08 PM

Yardbroom

I hope that you are not putting me in the category of wanting to achieve things yesterday. So long as there is movement towards change that is good enough for me. I have fought tirelessly for years and still fighting, but only to see a start, not necessarily to complete the mission.

Like Martin Luther King, I have seen the promised land (from afar though, did not get a tour so I can’t give you any details) and I know it is a long and treacherous road to get there; and that every journey begins with the first step.

• Chris Halsall // September 12, 2008 at 5:02 PM

@ROK: “We have not come to grips with the computer.”

If I may expand the argument, I don’t think we’ve come to grips with technology in general.

Too many people are willing to view technology as “magical”. Therefore, unassailable.

That position leads to weakness when the magic stops working, and the “wizards” who sold it to you insist on charging you large sums to fix it.

Microsoft, car mechanics, lawyers et al fall into my above…

Technology is knowable from first principles — by definition. Therefore, anyone can figure it out if they wish to.

Instead, most (consumer) technology has turned into little more than vehicles for one-way delivery of entertainment and amusement. Pacification.

• David // September 12, 2008 at 6:27 PM

@ROK

As usual you are not afraid to table your views even if they are contentious and may need some lateral thinking to digest.

While Sir Hillary is building world class cricket and football facilities not since the death of Professor Headley have we seen and development in solar research. When one considers the pioneering work which would have been done by Headley it points to a dearth in the science arena within the UWI.

Please note that we are not mekkin sport at sport but in all things we should have a balance.

• Straight talk // September 12, 2008 at 6:49 PM

David:

Do not despair about our apparent refusal to advance our abundant renewable energy.

New developments and partnerships are developing apace, even without UWI input.

Leeve them alone to continue churning out the lawyers, and let the people who can innovate get on with it, undistracted by academic constrictions.

• Q // September 12, 2008 at 6:58 PM

True Believer

what exactly is your point
    because you give me a million dollars and you are wrong -i am supposed to shut up and keep quiet

Probably with the exception of one well documented instance , it takes a man and a woman to produce a child, a woman does not do it alone

It is the woman’s role to get pregnant and carry the child. You would like to change that but you cant, so accept it and produce some children

• ROK // September 12, 2008 at 6:59 PM

Straight Talk

What I can say about you making that statement is that you understand this thing, even if you are not an academic. It is the entrepreneur that do these things and not the scientists or academics.

They may assist with the research but the development is left to the entrepreneur who gives leadership to an idea to bring it to being a successful enterprise.

• ROK // September 12, 2008 at 9:02 PM

@ David

The association between cricket and UWI is fine. We somehow have this feeling that sports is a last resort and that it does not play a part in developing human potential.

The development of sports and solar are of equal importance to the nation. In both cases, enterprise will have to get on board; this is plain to see.

ST is right, there are developments going on quietly and before you know it the market will explode, why? because we have a set of enterprising men who aim to beat the odds; against all the scientific advice about not being worth it.

In years to come and not very far away, we will be riding in solar powered cars and even aeroplanes, boats and amphibious craft using technology that will surpass the speed of fossil fuels.

My take is that we want to fit solar into fossil oil technology, but solar has to be a different technology and the chemistry, physics and mechanics of the fuel oil technology cannot be efficiently supported by solar.

• The Devil // September 13, 2008 at 8:18 AM

About 10 years ago, the CARICOM Heads of Government issued the following document as an ideal outcome of the educational system.

The Vision of the Ideal Caribbean Person adopted by the CARICOM Heads of Government at their 18th Summit, and to which all Caribbean Group for Cooperation and Development (CGED) member countries might subscribe, provides a useful lens through which to apprehend the ultimate desirable outcome of the education system. Such a person is described as being someone who:

• is imbued with a respect for human life since it is the foundation on which all other desired values must rest;

• is emotionally secure with a high level of self-confidence and self-esteem; sees ethnic, religious and other diversity as a source of potential strength and richness;

• is aware of the importance of living in harmony with the environment; has a strong appreciation of family and kinship values, community cohesion, and moral issues including responsibility for and accountability to self and community;

• has an informed respect for our cultural heritage;

• demonstrates multiple literacies, independent and critical thinking, questions the beliefs and practices of past and present and brings this to bear on the innovative application of science and technology to problem solving;

• demonstrates a positive work ethic;

• values and displays the creative imagination in its various manifestations and nurtures its development in the economic and entrepreneurial spheres in all other areas of life;

• has developed the capacity to create and take advantage of opportunities to control, improve, maintain and promote physical, mental, social and spiritual well-being and to contribute to the health and welfare of the community and country; and

• nourishes in him/herself and in others, the fullest development of each person’s potential without gender stereotyping and embraces differences and similarities between females and males as a source of mutual strength.

Whew. A teacher friend of mine suggests that by the act of stating such “lofty” objectives, the reverse would actually be done. I ignored him as he is such a cynic.

• Chris Halsall // September 13, 2008 at 8:52 AM

@The Devil…

“The Vision of the Ideal Caribbean Person” is a long, long, *LONG* way from “The Development and Implementation Plan for Training the Ideal Caribbean Person”.

(IMHO)

• The Devil // September 13, 2008 at 9:06 AM

Halsall
    I may agree but could it be argued that at least the destination is known?

• Chris Halsall // September 13, 2008 at 9:28 AM

@The Devil: “…it be argued that at least the destination is known?”

True. But “visions” are easy — generally put together by politicians who have no actual idea how to get there.

For example, I’ve always had a “vision” of walking on Mars… Figuring out how to get there, and then to pay for it, is where the difficult work exists.

• The Devil // September 13, 2008 at 9:58 AM

Agreed!!!

• John // September 13, 2008 at 9:55 PM

… Lord have mercy. These words actually came out of the mouths of our leaders?

…. cut and paste works!!

• CHURCH MOUSE // November 1, 2008 at 8:52 AM

I must be missing something the critics of the Chief Ed. Officer get. Here’s someone at the helm of the administrative system for education in Barbados. If she doesn’t know which schools perform better than which she should be removed from office immediately. Am I to understand that they are people outside the ministry who have access to statistics unavailable to her? Ridiculous!
    Having said that it probably was tactless to name the schools.

• CHURCH MOUSE // November 1, 2008 at 9:00 AM

All of the sabre rattling about co-education is pointless unless the critics can cite credible research proving it to be disadvantageous to boys. So far none of them has. It’s all about emotions based on prejudice. Boys and girls have been learning together in this country for years and the boys have been performing well. Co-ed didn’t start with the elite secondary schools as some of us seem to think. All of the old private secondary schools were co-ed and they produced some outstanding males. I myself attended a co-ed school and I never considered myself at a disadvantage to girls.

• David // November 1, 2008 at 9:01 AM

@CHURCH MOUSE

Barbados must be the only place a public officer can make statements and not be expected to support those statements using empirical evidence. What if the Commissioner of Police does the same thing? What about the Chief Medical Officer etc. These people must be mindful of maintaining public confidence.

What about all the reports over the years which have been commissioned by the ministry doesn’t the public have a right to know? What about all the schools operating below the mean? What about all the schools which generate thousands of children who score 1 to 10 marks in Maths and English?

The Chief Education Officer needs to respect her public. If any member of the BU family has possession of any of the many reports we understand have been commissioned by the ministry please share with the BU family because we know Minister Jones as a teacher himself maybe interested in maintaining the status quo.

Just maybe the enactment of the freedom of information bill will provide access to this kind of information to the public.

• Church Mouse // November 6, 2008 at 12:24 PM

David, let us keep things in perspective.
    The statement at the centre of the issue was an incidental reference. It was not a major statement or even a statement of general information. It was an incidental point the Chief Ed. was making. You don’t need to cite impirical evidence for every incidental point made in a discussion. For goodness sake the woman in the chief administrative officer in the Ministry of Education. Can’t she be credited with at least knowing a bit more about the performance of schools than the average Joe?

• David // November 9, 2008 at 10:13 PM

@CHURCH MOUSE

it may well have been an incidental “reference” but you must know that when the topic of education is being discussed in Barbados historically there has been a dearth of data/information. For the Chief Education officer to make incidental references in the prevailing climate reflects the height of insensitivity.

• Minister Ronald Jones And A Case Of Confidence « Barbados Underground // December 4, 2008 at 8:53 PM

[...] Time To Remove The Band-Aid From Education [...]

• Noble // April 1, 2009 at 3:46 AM

hello! The babes are here! This is my best site to visit. I make sure I am alone in case I get too hot. Post your favorite link here.

Leave a Comment