Barbados Underground

What Is Happening At St. Thomas District Hospital Dr. Estwick?

September 25, 2008 · 75 Comments

Minister of Health David Estwick

In the interest of cutting to the base of a matter we have decided to publish the following three comments which were posted by a BU commenter between September 20 to 25, 2008. The reason for our decision, we do get a little emotional when we hear of mistreatment meted out to the young and aged. In this case the submissions below speak to alleged mismanagement and mistreatment of the aged living at the St. Thomas District Hospital.

We are calling for all BU family members to assist Barbados Underground by feeding back on this matter.

Submission by Commenter  on - September 20, 2008 at 11:20 pm

Staff at a health care institution are fed up with the treatment which the PNO gives to them,the nurses at at st.Thomas district hospital are fed up with her attitude towards them and the way she speaks down to them,the PNO sits in her office and is delivered her food like a lord daily,she shouts at workers and speak down to the staff,both nurses and general workers alike,this lady does not eve like the staff to get a ride in the government’s van which services the hospital,and was the only one who was allowed to drive in it,the driver would pick her up on mornings from home and transport her to work,and if they passed any one on the way they would not stop,on evenings the lady would be taken home in the said vehicle,and pass workers at the bus stop.The only car allowed on the compound to park would me the madam PNO,all others had to be parked on the pasture opposite,where the sheep and goats graze and bounce your cars.Junior nurses were sent to train ahead of senior nurses because these juniors were her friends one just came back from doing Psychiatric nursing,this Pno also recommended one of her favourites to do mid wiffery,but she was not successful,another senior at least 8 years senior to the recommended girl was accepted to do midwifery,but the Pno was unwilling to assist her in being sponsored or even allowing her to do night so she could study during the day,it is sad when a senior would try to keep workers down and use her political affiliations to scare workers,and threaten their job security,this woman thinks because of her pass political linking she is a boss,but it takes a small axe to cut down a big tree.

Submission by Commenter on – September 20, 2008 at 11:58 pm

After reading the above article i was compeled to write my story.I Was a nurse at that same St.Thomas district hospital,and must say what ever was written by lady nurse is true,and is just the tip of the iceberg,Ms.Bourne thinks just because of her connections with the CNO Mitchel Clarke,she can do as she wish and treat people as she sees fit,this woman brags about her early morning chats with mitchie all over the hospital,and she constantly says at meetings and to disgruntle workers “what ever wona say bout me i does know,i got friends in the ministry”mitchie as he is affectionately called by shirley bourne seems to reward bad behaviour for it is he who was willing to send Simone Bryan Na of geriatric hospital to do training despite her beating the old patient,(she is the Guyanese nurse).Shirley bourne was also appointed to the post of PNO despite the complaints against her by staff members,it is apparent she has friends in the ministry,because all complaints fall on deaf ears.Even the principal personel officer Ms.carrol Gay seems to be under her controol and backs her up in her wrong doings.Ms Bourne has a side kick called magarette Albert who is a vindictive as she is.The treatment of staff by this lady needs to be looked into,as staff moral at the institution is at an all time low,thank god i have retired from that place,i just hope things change for the poor staff members who remain there.Retired am I and loving it.

Submission by Commenter on – September 25, 2008 at 11:24 am

I was informed by a member of staff at the st.Thomas district hospital that the nurse is off to do her training in midwiffery,some thing unfolded and she is in class room,the PNO shirley Bourne is not too please though,as her side kick in lied and deception is still not on the programe.The staff are still going through a lot of stress with the PNO and her other side kick Magarette Albert however,on the male ward there is a handicap patient who has severe bed sores,and the pno or the sister ms.albert would not provide the staff with the gauze and other things needed to do his dressings,the nurses are upset,and hurt that this poor patient has to suffer and have exposed wounds because of the management,nurses have resorted to cutting up pampers to cover the patients wounds,George Maynard(the patient) will probibly end up with severe infections as the wounds need to be dressed with sterile matterial to have any chance of healing,and the management refuse to provide it although the store room has ample amounts of the matterial.One has to ask why,why are these managers who are nurses them selves acting this way towards nurses like them selves.The PNO stresses out every one but her pimps who feed her information,and sadly she should be the last one because it is known that the pass mark had to be droped to 30% for this shirley Bourne to pass her Mental health nursing programe years back when she did it,because she nor her friends could not pass the course else wise.If minister david Eswick does not do something soon with Ms.Bourne trouble will occur for the ministry,both by staff and family bringing law suits against the goverment for negligence against the care for their family.Mr minister has to seperate ms Bourne from ms.Albert because the two combined are a devious and wicked bunch.she and ms bourne gang up against the other sister and undermind her authority,despite the fact that ms.cadogan is the senior sister oiver ms albert.whem will this poor behaviour by seniors end?.

Related Blog (Barbados Free Press)

Categories: Barbados · Barbados News · Health

75 responses so far ↓

• Adrian Hinds // September 25, 2008 at 1:21 PM

Amazing I am very surprise that no one has not put a “lil” something in her food. Treating people like “chit” and then having them bring your food to you isn’t very smart. If um did me all like now her hair would be falling out. :)

• JC // September 25, 2008 at 2:28 PM

While we are on this topic; what about the sister whose daughter in law is a Guyanese who is always claiming she hate Bajans. although she has beat a patient additionally being under investigations is STILL going to classes. Stating that nobody can stop her from going to the 3 year programme which is currently on. What is going on Mr. Estwick these nurses got you by the balls.

I SINCERELY HOPE NOT!

• Retired Civil Servant // September 25, 2008 at 5:21 PM

The st Thomas district hospital is a dismal depressing looking hospital,it is not stimulating to the eye at all and for some time now i have had an affiliation with the hospital on a weekly basis and i have heard some of the staff complain repeatedly about their working conditionsand the stress they are under because of working without the necessary items to take care of the patients and compounding that the general attitude of the Matron of the institution and the most junior of the two sisters.I was privy on an occasion to hear this woman ball out the general worker a male who cleans the yard,and i was so surprised because she is also so nice to myself and the other members of the group who visits,she did not see me in the day room,as i had arived before the group,and i guess it was good because if she knew i was there she would never had allowed me to hear her,and i would not be able to verify her dirty attitude.I have become very close to some of the staff up there and it is
    hurtfull at times to hear stories of her verbal abuse and domenering persona.It is because of the patient that i continue my visits there.I have asked many nurses why they dont report the matters to the ministry and they say basically the same thing ‘if you report her it makes no sense,she has friends in the ministry and nothing will come of it’.It is realy a shame because some of the realy good nurses are so disheartened and you can see their spirits dwindle and they are just going through the motions,I was told by a auxilary nurse that she cannot complain because she is not apointed and she could be fired and not be able to support her kids.Barbados was a beautiful place growing up,but the mentality of people have changed we need to gtreat each other with respect and stop trying to pull each other down.

• J // September 25, 2008 at 6:04 PM

Someone wrote on September 25th at 11: 24 a.m. “it is known that the pass mark had to be droped to 30%”

If it is indeed true that the pass mark for mental health nursing is indeed 30% why are we then surprised that nurses or nurse/managers who “pass” such exams are insecure, incompetent managers?

I think that part of a long term solution must be better, more rigorous nursing education.

• Pat // September 25, 2008 at 8:04 PM

That Principal Nursing Officer, or whatever she is called should have been dosed. Those nurses should have put some castor oil in her food. In her lunch gravy, especially if it is stew or curry, and in a muffin or marmalade. That would teach her. haha

I have a cousin who works at the QEH as a practical nurse. She is now going through the RN three year program and is enjoying it. She also wants to do midwifery. The good thing about it is that she gets full pay while studying. That is very good for little Bim.

• Daily Reader // September 25, 2008 at 8:53 PM

I am a Registered General Nurse with many years experience,and i have had the unfortunate pleasure of working for many years with the Pno of the St.Thomas district hospital,this woman has no scruples,and if a very unmanerly abrupt and boisterous person my mum would have called her a piece of trash,andhat title would have truly been fitting to her.It is surprising that people like her would have even been concidered to be a Pno,and what is more she had supercedeed another sister Ms.wavney Best,who s much senior to her,and has equal qualifications,what is much more is this shirley bourne was given 2 appointments within a year and a half of each other,and wavney has not been given her appointment as senior sister,Shirley Bourne has been heard to brag and say that wavney will naver get her appointment a long as she is alive,it is clear shirley has the backings of Mitchie Clarke and the Principal Personel Officer in all her wrong doings,for all complaints made against Shirley falls on deaf ears,the minister of health worked with both me and shirleyand david knows the type of person she is,she cannot change and i dont think she will ever change.The pass mark for Psychiatric nursing is not 30%,however in the year shirley bourne took her final exams she did not pass,and so as to allow her to pass her political offiliation droped the passmark for her to pass,this is widely known,and if any one ask any senior nurse if this occured they will tell you yes,this woman has no moral character,and it is known,that she has a son,who is apparently the son of a political figure or past figure,she should not even be in the psition she is in,and if any one checks the civil list they will see wavney best is senior to shirley bourne,and it is she who should rightfully be running st .Thomas district hospital.It is true that she use to be transported to and from work in the government’s vehicle despite recieving a traveling allowance,what did she do with it?why is it that the poor workers could ot get a ride in the government’s vehicle,ms.Eastmond in the ministry was informed about this and if she is anot a liar would attest to this,why is it that shirley bourne wrote a report whis is basen on lies on an officer,and he was not allowed to get a coppy of the report nor was he allowed to put foward his case no meeting was had,but he recievied a call from the ministry telling him he was to report to geriatric hospital to assume duties as a staff nurse there bases on a report which was written on him,i am surprised he did not carry the matter further because the laws of justice was not afforded to him,there should have been a meeting between him and personel before he was transfered and the truith ascertained and then a decision made based onthe outcome,this is the type of wonan we are dealing with,i am asking this young man if he reads the blogs to write in with his story,or if he does not read it some one who knows him and the story encourage him to write in and let the wheels of justice prevail,he should not allow her to get away with her lies,he needs to expose her and file a law suit against her for trying to destroy his profesional reputation,readers keep writing in with your stories and expose the truith

• chuckles // September 27, 2008 at 3:53 PM

Nursing standards have definitely dropped. Reading your contributions make me feel that I am in a fish market on a Friday evening during the flying-fish season, when vendors are competing for sales. Dr. David, they are too happy. Rotate them. Split them up. Let them work four months at the QEH, four months at Beckles Road Geriatric Hospital and four months in their substantive post at the St. Thomas.

• Retired Nurse // September 27, 2008 at 8:15 PM

The story on the report writtenby the pno of st.Thomas district hospital on the nurse is true,sad but true,i was told by some one who saw the report it was a lot of bullox,and it has to be a conspiracy between the Pno and the them Principal personel officer Ms.Gay,Ms.Bourne hates any one who does not say yes mam to what she says,and this male nurse was not a yes mam person,he knew his work,and did his best for the patients in his care,it is known throughout the hospital that this young man use to spend his money and bring in things for the patients in his care,I worked with him,and i saw the quality of his work and i can truly say e was a good nurse,caring to his patients and knowledgable about nursing care and pratices,and he went above and beyond the call of duty to give the required care to his patients.Shirley tried to unfair this male nurse as she tried with another male nurse that was at the institution.On an occasion the male nurse had his car parked on the compound,as other people did,shirley asked him to move his car,he complied and then she put one of her friends ms.woodruff to park in the same spot,that was unfair,again at a later date she told the male nurse again to move his car and he refused,she told him if he didnt move it she would have it towed.she then told every one they should not park their cars on the compound that the fire cheif said it was a fire hazzard,every one complied,however the pno then decided to drive her car to work on a few occasions when the van was in an accident and parked her car on the compound,now if it is a fire hazzard for one it should be for all dont the readers agree,every one had to park their cars on a pasture on the opposite road of the hospital where little boys play cricket and foot balls and sheep and goats graze and people’s cars get dented and stuck in mud when the rain falls is that fair to workers(remember her car is in safety on the hospital’s compound).What also offended the Pno was when the male nurse informed her he was going to lunch,she told him he had to ask permission,when he told her he does not have to ask permission to go out on his lunch break she told him she was the boss and if he didnt ask her permission he could not go,he left for his lunch break,and she told him she was going to frig him up,there was an incident where a patient had multiple decubitus ulcers(bed sores) and the male nurse did not sit him out in a chair because all over the patient was broken his buttocks,heals,head,shoulders and inner thighs all were broken down,the pno and her side kick as she is affectionately called told him to sit the patient out and he refused based on the fact it would cause further damage to the already bed sore riddeled patient they got angry and told him off,another day the sister ms albert told him to sit the patient out,he again refused to do so and she brought the orderly down and sat the patient out,which i might add is to the detriment of the patient as no pressure or little pressure should have been placed on the ulcers.This young man was accused of poor nursing care by the pno,now any one with any nursing experience would know that this young man was correct in his decision.Shirley Bourne is a PISS POOR LEADER and does not care a bit about the patients in her charge or the nurses i just hope this young man ensures his name is cleared of all lies told on him by Shirley Bourne,and he continues to provide the excelent nursing care he did at the St.Thomas district hospital.Shirley Bourne it is time you change and stop your eickedness.

• chuckles // September 27, 2008 at 8:54 PM

My dear Retired Nurse

I know St. Thomas District Hospital fairly well. Shirley Bourne and her staff need to work in other environments and for shorter periods . Most of them are thinking like geriatrics. I hope Dr. Estwick reads these exchanges and acts swiftly to return nursing to the standards to which Bajans are accustomed. If I had my way, Shirley Bourne would be transferred forthwith to the QEH as Sister-in-Charge of Accident and Emergency. Her young staff , assuming that they are qualified General Nurses, would have to undergo training in Public Health Nursing so that they would be more rounded and equipped to assist at Polyclinics as part of a rotation system. Years ago nursing care at the Geriatric Hospitals formerly known as Almhouses, was limited to dressings and bedside nursing. Errol Barrow in his wisdom, raised the standard of nursing and the thinking of nurses by sending trained nurses to the institutions to complement the staff. Yes, I know those nurses and the ones who followed them. They could wake in the middle of the night and write a report using standard English. Some of the rubbish I read in this file tells me that the present crop of nurses at the St. Thomas Institution need to return to classes at Primary School. We are returning to the dark days of nursing. Mr. Estwick, once again , I am appealing to you…St. Thomas needs a shake-up from top to bottom. Act quickly.

• Chuckles // September 27, 2008 at 9:20 PM

My dear Retired Nurse

If I had my way, I would transfer Shirley Bourne to the QEH as sister of Accident and Emergency for a year where she would interact with people of all ages i.e staff and patients. She seems to be thinking and acting like a geriatric. Earlier I said that I would like Dr. Estwick to rotate the ‘General Nursing’ trained nurses islandwide. This would help the young nurses at St. Thomas and other Geriatric Hospitals get back to the job they were trained to do rather than spending time talking about who likes whom and who spites whom etc.

• of interest // September 28, 2008 at 8:09 AM

put her at accident and emergency to kill somebody now? send the woman to a class to learn ppl skills or give her a desk job as she obviously isnt performing as a manger should.

Its not just St Thomas that has issues this whole nursing profession is now nbeing brought in to disrepute as a result of the high levels of lesbianism in both the lecturers and students.
    Here we speak of pass marks being reduced and all sorts of stuff, is it no wonder with the help of their friends tehy end up with an associate degree in Nursing with high grade point averages then cant pass the RN Exam as it is out of the hands of their cronies, PLEASE THIS PROFESSION OR SHOULD I SAY THE PERSONS ENTERING NEED HELP AND URGENTLY IF THIS CRISIS IS TO BE ADDRESSED

• J // September 28, 2008 at 8:59 AM

There were ALWAYS wiccas in the nursing profession. When I was a girl Sister Skinner, the matron, or deputy matron of the hospital a high-brown woman from St. Lucy was one of the biggest wiccas in Barbados. And that was more than 40 years ago.

Who you fooling that lesbianism in the nursing profession is recent?

I doubt that the problems are caused by lesbianism.

More likely the problems are caused by:

Poor standards

Even poorer enforcement

And lack of integrity.

Low intelligence. In the bad old days before so many professions opened to women, only the BRIGHTEST and the BEST girls could get into nursing. Nowadays nursing has to accept anybody, including those who cannot write a simple sentence and those who can’t think straight.

Fix those and we will see a great improvement.

And let the wiccas continue doing what they have always done.

And if a woman is incompetent to manage a small district hospital why do you think that she would be able to manage, a busy, high stress emergency department?

Methinks that part of the problem in the nursing profession is “fuzzy thinking” Only the VERY BEST nurses (and doctors) should be permitted to work in Emergency. It is not a place for fools or incompetents. The stakes are too high. You get incompetence in Emergency and people (young people and CHILDREN) will DIE.

You do not send people to be in charge of emergency because they are of low intelligence, incompetent or you want to punish them.

What sort of fuzzy thinking is that?

Cheese on bread. Here it is Sunday morning and I am vex as hell already!!!!!!!!!!

• chuckles // September 28, 2008 at 9:12 AM

Of Interest

I love your response. I didn’t know the root cause of the problem till now. I am finding it difficult to type and laugh at your comments. Seriously, lesbianism has been around for a long time in the nursing profession and some of the old administrators had ‘live-in’ girlfriends. However when they were on the job they were very professional. Our dear friend Shirley can’t kill anybody if she is transferred to the Q.E.H A&E. She would either learn people skills within a short time or the people who visit there would ‘kill’ her with pressure. I agree with you that the nurses need help and I am appealing to Dr. Estwick to investigate. It is too important a profession for sexual preferences to lower the standards.

• Dun Kno Wha Gine On!!! // September 28, 2008 at 6:49 PM

I honestly hope that Ms.Bourne sees this because she definately WILL trust me on that one. Firstly Ms.Bourne the matron (pno) needs some MaNnErS…they should put that fat woman dat does drive that piece of beat up hand me down old car dat does run she stink mouth Ms Albert who makes up false documents for her co workers to sign….she needs to set her shite str88 befo she want to come and call shots cause she cant control Her Son & he crooked household and wants To treat her co workers like prisoners and school children. She wants to run the district hospital and is putting all kinds ideas in that dark gorilla lookin hunch back woman name Shirley Bourne…who has no identity and is listenin to this woman who is bringing her problems in the work place.

Alright guys to address my first issue ..Ms Bourne comes to work and sits in the sister’s office and does absolutely nothing. She’s never in her office which is cleaned promptly every morning and is just sitting patiently waiting for her breakfast to served TO HER like she is a paying guest to the HILTON HOTEL. She is very insulting and i don’t know where she finds the time to insult others, when really, the job at hand is taking care of the elderly. The patients at the hospital are also aware of the situation at hand. The way the hospital is being ran is stressing and disturbing some of these elderly folks who should be enjoying the years of retirement. She backlashes others and she should resign if she knows that she can not treat others fairly. DO NOT BRING YUR PERSONAL MATTERS AND PROBLEMS INTO THE WORK PLACE.

SECONDLY . Implements are being stolen … back down from mops to plants ,to a clock and YALL WOULDN’T EVEN BELIEVE THEY CARRIED WAY THE PEOPLE BROOM….lol a cheap broom to besides. i honestly believe that the heads are carrying away the stuff and is stashing away items and Ms Bourne And ALBERT are blaming certain staff members who they disapprove of .. They believe that the hospital is a gift to them from the government, but these two tyrants should really relax and they need a wake up call. MS BOURNE N ALBERT should treat others fairly because eventually they will get old.

The Matron is not giving the workers the supplies to carry out the duties. She does not care about the safety of the workers. She is very controlling and treats the same van driver like a PUPPET PUN A STRING AND he should wake up and know he is a big man and letting this controlling woman determined how he could carry himself. Majority of the staff does not like her because of her behavoir and i think she knows this that is why she acts the way she does. … And the tv that was donated to the hospital that you took home BRING BACK THE PPL TV. … David EsTWICK…you like you aint doing your job.

• Hidden Secrets // September 28, 2008 at 7:24 PM

This Situation is very disuturbing. this woman needs to get her act str88 cause she getting on very ranted and should treat ppl how she wants to be treated. she should be picking cotton cause fa right now she gettin on pissy n shouldnt be round anyone … she has split personalities and protrays different personalities to ppl that would think ya lyin about the same mature person they met before. lol ya lie lol

She sent along the male nurse that would stand up for the right things and she did everything in her power to get him transfered from the hospital ’cause she could not control him like the other staff members that would go along with her program.
    They sent ms rollins from the district hospital thinkin that stuff would be alot better …with ms bourne but she is sain else ya…some of you guys cant imagine how this lady treats others.

a while back some guys came to do someting up by the hospital and they picked a hand of bananas off a tree that was on the compound and the woman get on real outrageous… like if the tree belonged to her and the guys were picking the paitents food… well this woman ranted… she holla at d man n carry we bak to the tales of BULLDOG AND MR SPENCER lol n told him put down them bananas…

oh n not 2 mention she same friend n partner in crime … ALBERT want she post so d woman puttin all ideas in her head so she could corrupt the hospital so she could get shift off so that ALBERT WOULD BE IN CONTROL… how stupid can shirley bourne be ? lol woman wake up lol …
    some a these nurses aint ready yet and why is the pass mark 30 %???????

the bar should be higher because they are dealing with people lives and befo ya kno it .. one a them gine beat the wrong person and the patients might fight back and kill one of them or maybe if not so severe sue them …cause if they ever beat any of my family members i would honestly take them to court because no one should be potraying violence towards anyone else . we are putting our our family in your care and you shouldnt be treating them like this because what goes around comes around …this is bullshyt …str88 …

ms bourne does get on way too bad and always addressing stuff dat should be on the back burner . deal with what is to be dealt with and put yur hatred for your co workers behind you … i doan care what sorta foolishness you does go through but dont carry it in d ppl hospital . this got me so cruel today sunday … albert n ms bourne plz learn to treat others kind as you should no better

• Long out the system, thank goodness // September 28, 2008 at 8:02 PM

Why is everyone crucifing Dr. David Estwick? This nonsense was going on long before he was the minister. Shirley Bourne and Margaret Albert are just 2 vindictive individuals, and folks why would we put SB at A&E? So that they would be a decrease in the order of supplies and medication? So that patients can suffer? Indeed not. She along with Ms Albert neds to be separated and go to counselling sessions on behaviour and proper and effective management.
    Ms. Waveney Best is senior by far to SB. She was always a nurse when SB was a nusing assistant. The problem is they both did admininstation together.
    The real problem here folks is the treatment of staff and patients and the inadequate supplies. Please someone please look into the budget for the hospital and see how the money is spent or in this case not spent.
    There should be unauthorized visits to the hospital to see the conditions there as soon as possible.
    Also if the staff are fed up, victimized and disgruntled then quality and quantity of work will decrease, which is detrimental for the patient.
    Those 2 need to realise that they will get old and quite soon. In fact SB is soon there. lol
    Sister Cadogan is a lovely, kind, respectful and professional nurse. I had the opportunity to work with her when i was a student NA and RN at the QEH, when she was a student also and then at St. Philip District Hospital. I tip my hat to her.
    But it pains me to hear about all of this. This problem needs to be eradicated soon.
    Impatiently awaiting the results.
    NB it was true that the pass mark was dropped to 30% then, but the degree from university in administration was earned. There were no short cuts there. So that is no excuse for the inapporpiate behaviour.

• David // September 28, 2008 at 8:31 PM

The BU family is very sorry and disappointed to hear of the breakdown in the healthcare delivery to the elderly at the St. Thomas District Hospital. It pains us greatly to learn of how these old people are being treated by the healthcare professionals who are public officials.

We believe Dr. Estwick is being asked for help because of the frustration of the players involved. It is unfortunate that the Permanent Secretary cannot resolve this because it appears to be an administrative matter.

While Minister Estwick may not read this we know that his surrogates will. Hopefully you will be able to report to the BU family very soon that there is improvement in the situation.

• beaver // September 28, 2008 at 8:34 PM

i agree wif everyting ting dat is written, shirley is a fraud, real pretentious, laugh in front yuh face and talk yuh name behind yuh back (a real judas} she want jesus! A very poor excuse fuh a PNO, like to brag about she self, and wuh she got, but all she got is two big bubbies, nuh head (only to wear a hat).
    It is sad dat we have to work under ppl like her

• Rn. // September 28, 2008 at 8:56 PM

Shirley Bourne you need to say your prayers and ask god for forgiveness,I would have thought you would have changed your evil ways but you have not,it is true the higher the monkey shines the more he shows his ass,and you are showing yours.Shirley has been known for a long time to be a corrupt and deceptive woman, it is sad a woman being so slack,this is not the type of person one should have at the head of any house hold.She was nasty is hell to the male nurse for doing the correct thing,he took care of the patients above and beyond the call of duty,he gave his all to them,both as a nurse and from a monetary position,he would bring in from nutritious drinks to gauze he bought to care for his charges,and i was impressed i worked with this young man and must say if i was ill i wold want him as my nurse he has knowledge and skills an is not puffed up with his knowledge.I saw him recently and he told me he is looking to leave here he said he is fed up with this system and hopefully will be leaving soon,it saddened me because he is a great nurse and should be encouraged to stay here and not go abroad this will be a loss of a great nurse.people like Shirley and ms.Albert will run our nurses i hope some thing is done about them soon.and shirley diiid take hom the tv,i saw her load it into the van,also a dvd player and x.mas tree,along with food stuff which she loads into her car by the bag fulls in bags,this pilfering must stop,no wonder the supplies run down and none can be given to the patients Shirley Bourne does steal all.

• chuckles // September 28, 2008 at 10:49 PM

David

BU is providing a good medium for the nurses to speak out against a poor administrator. Hats off to you and your network. However be careful. I see a plot bigger than any of the ones in Shakespeare’s plays. Things have been going missing at this institution and other health institutions long before Shirley was PNO. I hold no brief for her but apparently she is not as smart as her predecessors. The stealing accusation is no different from the plot with the missing ring in Shakespeare’s All’s well that ends well. The system needed overhauling long before Shirley took up the post but some of the complainants want to see her back so that they and their buddies can resume unprofessional acts (things not related to nursing). Mr. Minister, please break up this gang. Send some of them to QEH, others to Polyclinics and the ones who did psychiatric nursing can return to Black Rock until the mess is sorted out.

• JC // September 29, 2008 at 12:00 PM

I know the male nurse that is mentioned in this scenario! He loves old people for trut!

I wish him luk in his future endeavours!

• Rn. // September 29, 2008 at 8:12 PM

Any one who thinks this matter at the st.Thomas district hospital is a small matter you need to wake up,i worked that hospital with the late mr.Blackman,and although he had his ways as all people do,he was a great manager and he showed great appreciation to his staff both the maids,general workers and the nurses he would even lend a hand to the nurses if the wards were short,shirley bourne does not know how to be a proper human being,she is evil and hard hearted,she cares about no one but her self and her goal is to bad talk every one she can,and then call them love or bobo,she cannot be trusted,and she is trying her best to destroy a lady nurse who works there she has lied on this woman and threatens her this poor woman is so scared for her job safety,and shirley bourne has again caused her to drop out of midwiffery,Angella you need to get some balls and stand up to Shirley Bourne and her big fat ass friend albert dont let them continue to brag they have fixed you,you are a good nurse and all the lies they have told on you will come out in the open,we are backing you,get down on your knees and ask gods guidance prayer for them both and ask god to deliver you,may god bless you and your two girls.Shirley’s wicked ways will bring her down soon.

• ROK // September 29, 2008 at 8:52 PM

David

I am hearing about babies at the QEH going missing. Two mothers are claiming that their babies disappeared into thin air. I really hope that is stale news now reaching me.

I also understand from the source that milk was pumped off one mother’s breast to feed the baby. The explanation is that the mother was sick and had a fever so they did not want the baby to catch what she had; and giving it the mother’s body fluids?

Wow! How people blindly have faith in doctors. Wonder what Carlos has to say about that?

If this is true and this is recent, something has to be done about the QEH. Any connection with the stem cell report?

• In the Game // September 30, 2008 at 10:11 PM

Neither shirley or waveny are nice. Both are wicked and vindictive. Ms R Waithe from St Michael Geriatric is no different. I wonder when we as nurses treat each other bad and we get ill, who would take care of use? the dogs or the cats. If we are nasty to our co-workers, how can the public have faith in us.
    Ms P Augustin is no different. We need to put our political affiliations aaside and deal with the matter at hand.
    C Bryan was accused of beating a patient, she was transfered to ward 2a and N/a N Phillips was transfered to 9-10b. no reason was given, but c bryan does request her entire duty for the week so she can go class.

• In the game // September 30, 2008 at 10:18 PM

The Minister is no different from them. All of them are friends and he has no bit, All he does is bark but can not call any shots. All these intituitions need cleaning up, the higher powers will soon have to pull their wait because a strike is brewing up at the St Michael Geriatriv Hospital. Ms Best, Ms Waithe and mr scantlebury want chasing away. He cant make a common decisio

• in the game // October 1, 2008 at 12:18 AM

what about the situation at the St Michael Geriatric Hospital on ward 2A.
    There is an elderly lady my the name of Ismay Ifill who is psychotic. Her daughter, Marcia who works at courtesy Garage and who lives in Brittons Hill, Her son Trevor who is a Baliff who drivers a toyota jeep and his fat sloppy daughter who drivers a silver runx who is a pastry chef at the Hilton Hotel, who comes to visit her daily, out of share guilt because when she was home no one paid her no attention.
    These animals come to visit their relative ever day. The daughter marcia comes in, walk pass the nurses station and hardly speaks. The Fat slob comes on lunch times with food for her grand mother. she walks pass the nurses, do not speak and go straight to her grandmother’s bed side and proceeds to feed her. No one knows what she gives her on a daily basis.If you dear asked, they usually complains for you to the pass PNO miss pamela Augustin who was transfered for her behaviour similar to dat of ms bourne, who he claimed is his woman.
    every nurse dat tries to carry out hopital policy is reprimanded and transfered to another ward, usually the most hardest ward/ instead of speaking to the unruly relatives.One nurse had resently asked to be moved or matters who have reached an epidemic propotion which would included all leaves of the ministry,and legal, the union even.
    A slow sister who is an actor was recently seem smiling in the man faces and staff was offended especially after complaining for the said individual. Rumours are that she looking 4 aman to take in her house in cane garden or she want one of those reprocess cars de man can get cause she does be seem begging 4 a lift. she aint no different from ms bourne.she too will soon get her share of stress.

• Chuckles // October 1, 2008 at 9:57 AM

David

I suggest that you close this file. Do you
    notice how the plot thickens? It reminds me of the Glendairy Prison Investigation.If a prison officer gave a prisoner extra toilet paper, a spliff, a piece more pig tail etc. he was the best thing since sliced bread. “In the Game” has introduced a new slant to the debate that makes me hold my head in shame.

• no way // October 1, 2008 at 4:08 PM

This file does not need closing,this is a voice for the workers who are having such stress to say what is going on and let the public know the pain and suffering emotionally that we are going through,we have no voice but this site,as the complaints made are always on deaf ears,we need help urgently at St.thomas district hospital,and as my friend who is a maid at Geriatric told me they have the same problems too.Some one please do something at these hospitals before we the workers take matters into our own hands and strike.

• Chuckles // October 1, 2008 at 10:52 PM

No Way

No head of a Trade Union who is worth his salt calls a strike unless he has public sympathy. Do you believe that dirty accusations like wicking , stealing, hating, don’t like me, lowering pass mark to 30 % etc. will get you public sympathy? The debate started off good but it is now in the gutter.

• responder // October 2, 2008 at 9:13 AM

Chuckles the matter at hand has nothing to do with the wicking,hating,dont like me crap people have started to write about,the problem at hand is the poor treatment of staff and the negative effects it will have on patient care,i dont know how the wicking got into it,i join you isn saying to people only write constructive articles on the true occurances in the institutions,i am a staff nurse at St.Thomas and i know we have loads of problems with management,with their wrong doings etc,we dont need to involve their personal lives into it,only the mal pratices of their profesional lives and the poor treatment we are getting from ms.albert and ms.bourne and as every one who is reading this knows we have a lot of problems here at the hospital.please dont make this a forum to involve peoples personal lives speak about the load of problems we all face on a daily basis because of poor management and verbal abuse and the attempts by management to keep us in submission and fear over loosing our jobs if we speak up for justice.

• chuckles // October 2, 2008 at 11:48 AM

Responder

I have never heard of anyone losing a job in the Public Service for speaking out against injustice. It would appear as though you are new to the institution. A word of caution to you…. There are people who will complain 24/7 but when they are asked to sign a letter protesting the working conditions, they run hard as hell. The reason for them behaving in that manner is , they don’t want to spill a drop of blood while demanding their pound of flesh. I hope that the genuine complaints ,aired on BU, reach the relevant authorities and that there will be a speedy resolution to the nurses’ concerns.

• disgustin // October 2, 2008 at 9:00 PM

These stories are lies .I found nothin wrong with the hospital ,and the staff.i;m glad that the male nurse gone .He have no respect 4 man, woman, or child.I hope that the ministry would look into this ,and find out who responsible 4 this letter,and deal with them accordinly.These parties that involve should be fired.Their are not professional.

• responder // October 3, 2008 at 4:14 PM

The above person dont know what is going on the male nurse was very nise and straight foward,he stood up for the truith and did not like foolishness.The person who said they are glad he is gone has to be a pimp for shirley bourne or is shirley bourne or ms.albert,the an stood up for his rights,both of the male nurses
    they were good nurses wake up you primative creature and let the vale over your eyes be lifted it is evident you are a simpleton who allows people to walk over you,get off the male nurses it was them who tried to help get things running straight in the hospital,and neither of the two of them wrote in with their stories you fool.

• sad // October 3, 2008 at 4:21 PM

Disgusting who ever put you up to write the letter is seyying you up for a fall,you must have been paid for your lies,i worked with the male nurse as did a lot of us who remains his friend and he is a nice person and was a good nurse,he has not written in with his story and i suspect it is because he is glad to see the back of you all up there,the man tried to do the right thing,and because of the backward thnking of the heads they knocked him and his efforts,he is a no nonsense person and a very profesional person and he didnt mix with you all up there get off his back he aint thinking bout you all,deal with the hospital’problems and your bosses bad behaviour could god dont lie because you can the man didnt even speak to most of you all he kept to himself.Why you dont be truithfull.

• Respect // October 3, 2008 at 5:13 PM

Dear disgusting i dont know why yu would chose to write lies on the male nurse,i am a nurse at the st.Thomas district hospital,and i was a senior to the male nurse,and he was very respectfull to me,and to the juniors who worked with him,actually he got along well with all of us,and i can truly say he was very generous with all he had,it is unbecoming of you to write he had no respect,as he was and is kind person,and this can be said by many people and is said by many,he never mixed up with the workers at st.Thomas district hospital but he spoke to them in passing,he was not a mixer,but he would lend a hand where it was needed,dont write because you want something to say,or because you want to let the PNO Shirley Bourne look good,DONT,the issue is not the leaving of the male nurse it is the poor management of the institution,the fact that the Pno and the Sister would not give us supplies to work with,and the fact that we are treated like children or cattle,we are humans and government workers the same way shirley and magarette is,it is time the truith is told and something is done to ease the tension in the place,good god is it fair to workers to be going through all this stress and harrasment dont be a hipocrite speak for the truith,also there is a lot that can be said about a lot of you workers up there and if you continue to write lies i will expose the truith about a lot and it will not be pretty a word to the wise is enough.

• HA HA HA // October 3, 2008 at 5:30 PM

Guess what the Pno of the geriatric hospital called a big emergency meeting about the posting of the article about the hospital and the problems being faced,she was angry and admonished the staff for writing the article i guess like every one else the new lady wants to keep us quiet about the goings ons in the institution which are very bad lack of staff,poor management and poor environment to work in,there is not even soap for the staff to wash their hands with,is this right?,no pampers to put on the patients you have to put old clothes under the patients to absorbe the urine,there are some warde with 38 patients and only 2 nurses on most shifts,why is this happening,even if the trained nurses are scarce to get use untrained staff,could god we need help,if the pno thinks because of her talk we will stop talking on the blogs she is wrong,we will continue to write until we get what we want,the sister on our unit needs changing,she spoke at the meeting because her name was called on the article about wanting some man to give her a car,lol,we know she was a fool but didnt realise how much of an ass she realy is,always looking Dingy with the few locks,lol,the sister from unit 2 realy got her nurses back,and it can be seen,she spoke for justice,and it can be seen she cares about her staff,hats off to you sis C you are a true leader,the fool Mr.Scantlebury needs to learn how to manage and how to speak,he stammers and is a fool he knows nothing wake up terrel you will never be a PNO no matter how hard you try.

• She Right // October 3, 2008 at 8:02 PM

Shirley Bourn had to fix them 2 staff nurses that come from queens,one got a sickly child that got asmah and the other 1 got she young child and does not got no one to keep it and does want to leave work when the day come to get the chil she should have set she self right before she breed diamon father should keep she.who keeping she now the mother doing midwiffery,none of the two queens nurses have no respect fa authority,them dois treat staff real bad that is why the other one had to come back to work and can finish she course.

• believe it all // October 3, 2008 at 8:53 PM

shirley bourne is a criminal she is a loud mouth bastard, we are so glad she left the hospital at the geriatric please please please do not send her back thank god for small mercies

• when will it end // October 3, 2008 at 9:25 PM

It is about time that u all people learn 2 spell,the spelling is just horrible.Ne way respect is due 2 a dog,u have 2 respect those in authority.Those nurses involved better b careful,God aint sleeping…..1 of those nurses was @ death’s door,she ought 2 b ashamed,her time should be spent thanking God that she is alive instead of causing problems.this is what nursing has come 2….we call ourselves “nursing professionals”,then for heaven’s sake act like if we really are,nursing has come a long way.Some of us are just suited for d fish market with the sort of raucous behaviour we want 2 get on with.

• Chuckles // October 3, 2008 at 9:55 PM

What a pity!! Some of you nurses just can’t help ‘blocking”. You are becoming the laughing stock of Barbados. Think about what you are saying on Barbados Underground. It is read worldwide. A blind person can see your plot.

• Blessing for peacemaker // October 3, 2008 at 9:55 PM

Bless them with a peacemakers kind heart and a builder’s sturdy hand, lord, for these are mean-spirited, litigious times when we tear down with words and weapons first and ask questions later. help them to take every opportunity to compliment, praise and applaud as we rebuild peace in the [GORDON CUMMINS HOPITAL]

• UNITED WE STAND DIVIDED WE FALL // October 3, 2008 at 11:30 PM

Respect the value in diversity to help strengthen the nursing profession.
    Without a doubt, we are a profession in turmoil. Whether than coming together the worst is coming out in us. Spinning off into individuals orbits, we seem to proving wrong the psychological mantra that a group attacked from the outside solidifies from within. Here is nurses bickering and taking potshots at each other for being different. I am not saying you all should not disagree. Healthy disagreement can and will strengthen you. What I am saying is that the fighting weakens the potential for collaboration and is viewed by those outside the profession as indicative of a lack of direction and disrespect for your peers. If you don’t show respect for each other, how can you all expect the public and other health care professionals to respect you and your work?

We are all nurses. We come from different backgrounds. Our diversity makes us stronger, only our ignorance of that strength can make us weak.

For nurses and nursing to suceed, you all must find a way to work through these times without destroying each other and in the process your profession.

• red fox // October 4, 2008 at 9:00 AM

All this tells me is that our institutions are in crisis and that the nurses are smelling hell,crying out but no one is listening.,

• David // October 4, 2008 at 6:03 PM

If you guys are unionized you need to get your Shop Steward involved.

• Retired Senior Sister // October 5, 2008 at 9:51 AM

I am a retired Senior Sister and I will say it is bothering to see the articles written on my profession and by people of my profession,for a long time it has been known that the district hospitals commonly caled Almshouses were in termoil and needed a majour overhall,not only of buldings,but of staff,especially senior staff,the mentality of those individuals who head these institutions have a lot to be desired,and in my oppinion it stems from the fact that they were all trained to be nurses but at the end of their training were sent right back into the geriatric hospitals and not allowed to pratice nursing in an acute setting,thus they fell right back into the almshouse mentality as it is refered to in nursing circles,(old way of thinking)it should never be the pratice of any institution to put old clothes and clothe under any patient to absorbe urine,those days ended in the 70’s and early 80’s,pampers should be avalible to be placed on these old people who have worked so hard to build this country,we nurses have a power which we would not use,and it is sad it is a power of reform,we are perhaps one of the largest profesional bodies in this country and it is time we stand up for the right things and insist on a complete 360 degree turn around,where resources are avalible to us,where senior members of staff respect us as the profesionals we are,and the correct staffing compliment is had,where nurses are respected the way they were before,as a profesion of honour,i know the head of the St.thomas district hospital personally,and I dont want to knock her but i will say for as long as I knew her her behaviour was this way bombastic and abrupt and might i add dominering,Shirley I know you must be reading this and i say to you pull your self up and out of the gutter,get your staff to respect you and stop trying to keep the nurses down,your sister is making you look BAD and it is time you and she pull your selves up out of the darkness and see the light remember what happened to the pno that was there before you? it might very well be brewing for you,you need to ask forgiveness from god and thw people you have wronged,i know a lot f things you have done,including suppercession of workers for training,that is wrong,very wrong,you sent that staff nurse who was only 1 one year qualified to do psychiatric training and senior nurses or up to 15 years were left behind and not even informed there was a course,you have god to answer you better stop doing this foolishness or soon you will be looking for a job,because when the truith comes out your party being in power or not you will have to answer to your actions,remember Nelly Clarke who was sister at st.Lucy district hospital,that might be you.

• retired nurse // October 5, 2008 at 10:00 AM

Dear disgustin how can the minisry fire some one who is retired.You ass.

• In god we trust // October 5, 2008 at 11:42 AM

Retired senior sister so u claim u r ,all the letter i read the u wrote , the spelling are horrible u need to spell before u start to write.

• The next step // October 5, 2008 at 12:01 PM

Retired nurse, u are the [ass].if u read the comment it said [the parties involves].enter and bless this person ,lord.so that its circle will be where backlashingare made up and relationships mature, where failures are forgiven and new directions found.

• retired nurse // October 5, 2008 at 12:26 PM

only Rn’s are nurses i hope you all realise this and all the negative comments written we all think it is Shirley Bourne writing them and no one else but shirley and Albert trying to throw the heat off them.LOL

• Shame on you all // October 5, 2008 at 5:22 PM

I am a TNA at St. Philip district hospital and I can tell everyone that Angela Sealy and her male RN friend Eric started this unethical,unprofessional behaviour all because Ms Sealy wasnot allow to go and train(i wonder why?) you all should be shame if you have a problem settle it among yourself not in public if Eric is all the good nurse why is he allowing you to behave like a jerk. It is all over the place that you two along with others started this and it was confirm by Eric friend at his work place that he is bragging about it. I worked with Eric he was senior to me and the things he did to the pno, patients and staff noone will never believe, he has no class, to me he is in the wong profession. The day he left we all rejoice. He carried this same behaviour to Gordon Cummins and now my friend at his work place can tell you he is still the same. But if you Eric think you can do what you have done here overseas think again. You all are sending the wrong message to the juniors and you retired nurse and senior sister shame on you.

• Tna // October 5, 2008 at 6:04 PM

Sherry jones is a nasty person she is a rude and criminal person,i worked with her at st.philip,and she was nasty as hell to us,she has no class,and she unfaired us at st philip,she would not make beds or she would not do baths all she wanted to do was to do medication,this woman was a dirty bitch with no class she was rude to ms.rawlings,aand she went to gordon cummins and did the same,this woman would not change,she get pregnant had a child and could not even care for it,she is a poor mother and the people at st thomas glad she gone training and ms bourne told me she knows sherry start this with the help of eric and angella sealy,mis bourne gine fuck you 23 up

• SAD BEHAVIOUR // October 5, 2008 at 6:11 PM

I cannot go along with you people slandering these nurses,those 3 (THREE) nurses are very profesional and it is evident those nurses tried their best to do the right thing and you all backward people tried your best to mess them up,why are you hiding behind false names and dont put your true names foward if you are telling the truith if these three nurses are so bad why is it that they are working ha? tell me,it is a shame that you all are writing lies about people’s profesional lives and can sleep at night,who ever you all are i doubt you can step into these people’s shoes,you all are low down poor mentality people and i hope you can deal with it when lies are told on you all too,or the truith about your lives are exposed,and believe me when you start tellng lies on people the people will retaliate,and you all and the people in your lives will suffer because a lot of stories will come out.

• TNA // October 5, 2008 at 6:18 PM

sherry jones is a poor nurse,she cannot function,she was at st philip with me and all she would do was get behind a cart and do medication,she won even bathe a patient,this woman would curse the junior nurses like my self,and treat us like shit,she was dirty beyoun belief,this woman lef st thomas and we drank wine and ate cake for the devil herself had left,she went to st thomas and mess up the people medication give patients the wrong medication,and curse staff up there and tell them they in nurses because they are tnas we are the one who does do the work when she does sit down,she is not a profesional and she had to pull strings to get into the miwiffery programe this woma, is no good neither is angela sealy the two of them want fireing and them alwways using the children as excuses it is the same sealy that left the ward unatend and went to see she sick child and a patient fall down and then try to blame poor dorthy barton,

• SAD READER // October 5, 2008 at 6:34 PM

I am a nursing assistant at geriatric hopital and i can tell you i work with the guy eric and i must say the guy works well,he is a good nurse and he did not treat me any way bad,i have friends who work with him and they all like him,as a matter of fact,my friends love him to death because he treat them real well,and he makes a lot of jokes,in my world he is a nice guy,and me and my friends love him to death,and if needed we are willing to put our names for verification.Stop knocking him please.

• David // October 5, 2008 at 7:02 PM

We notice that there is one person using multiple user names, please stop.

• I think // October 5, 2008 at 7:22 PM

This blog page needs shutting down,this is going too far,can you please tell me how to get into contact with the opperators of this site.it is a matter of urgency,some serious lies are being told.

• concern reader // October 5, 2008 at 8:20 PM

I want to know,if this male nurse is all this good why he was tranfer from st philiph,Gordon cummins,and now he’s at geriatric.where would he go next.

• Realist // October 5, 2008 at 9:56 PM

all wanna lying bajan bitches that grudge that poor lady for her post (PNO Shirly Bourne) and sister Albert SHUT WANNA ASS MOUTH AND STOP SCANDALING PEOPLE NAME they are not those type of people that u all trying to pull down Mr.Scantlebury , Ms W. Best, Ms. Waithe and Pno that was sent to st.Lucy district hospital can hold hands they care nothing about all the nurses at st.Michael district hospital beckles road that Mr.Scantlebury he does discriminate nurses he should be ashame calling himself a Christian but he is really a cushion he will never see the lord’s face tell he to stop living with the nurses from the 2nd block across the yard stop playing smart with it u have been caught in the act already the best in the lot Marcia Hoyte she is a no nonsense person if u have a problem u can go to her in confidence and she will lend a helping hand no matter what the case maybe and u don’t hear your cases all over the hospital but with the others u do hear it back may god continue to bless marcia hotye, shirley bourne and my sweet albert sweet hearts don’t mind de people if ya do good them gine talk and if u do bad tha gine still talk so give god thanks and praises and let them keep talking to them mouth drop off

• Realist // October 5, 2008 at 10:09 PM

Guyenesse brian u chop a patient in her head with a cup she was drinking tea out of u should be suspended just like pauline what goes for one goes for all u did it purposely u are a wicked bitch. u does treat the patients badly at times true true true.

• Realist // October 5, 2008 at 10:20 PM

Mr Minister of Health Hon. Dr Estwick complaints from some of the geriatric hospital beckles road nursing staff (nurses) we the nurses would like to have a shuffle around some of us are tried and burn out of working double wards at the distinct hospital for more than five years stationery sometimes its two nurses to 40 something patients or one nurse to twenty something patients stationery and the sisters and nursing team at the hospital has done nothing about it that is why the nurses are staying home when burn out please do something quick before we burn and catch a fire (concern nurses).

• In the know // October 5, 2008 at 11:07 PM

I have been privy to information first hand in relation to the male nurse and to you who asked he was not forcefully transfered from the st.philip district hospital he asked to be,the man was fed up as a lot of you are up there but are too shamed or afrait to speak up,however due to a report written by shirley bourne pno st thomas he was transfered,now even if you dont like a person you must admitt if a report is written on an officer he/she should be allowed to read the report and allowed to defend themselves,he was not allowed that privalage,that was wrong,put aside your personal feelings for people and deal with the facts,if you uphold ignorance and wrong doings the shoes could be on your feet some day,and you will feal the pinch,let truith prevail,and stop the vicious lies that are being told on these officers,respect your seniors,mr scantlebury and ms waithe are not bad people,neither is ms Best,respect them and they will respect you,please stop bringing down your profession lift it up please the world out there already have a negative oppinion of us please dont prove them to be true i beg of you,stop this cut throat behaviour i beg of you,because this blog started out with the truith being told,but i guess people decided to make a mockery of it,I think it is time this conversation is shut down,inocent people are being hurt with vicious lies.Let this end here and now i beg of you all.

• Chuckles // October 6, 2008 at 10:45 AM

I can smell the pig-dung in some of these comments. Look what the nursing profession has come to !! You have gone past the gutter and now are in the cesspool. Good luck trying to get the ear of a Minister with this kind of behaviour.

• james alleyne // October 8, 2008 at 5:51 PM

It is a sad day when nursing has sunk so low. It is the undesirables who pass themselves as nurses that are giving the profession abad name . Ask any of them about patient care or confidentiality or ethics and they will be at a loss, THANK GOD FOR US PROFESSIONALS THE SERVICE WILL CONTINUE TO BE UPHELD IN THE HIGHEST ESTEEM. LONG LIVE THE TRUE PROFESSIONALS.

• Bonny Peppa // October 11, 2008 at 3:53 PM

If these accusations are true about this PNO Shirley Bourne, it just goes to show that absolute power corrupts absolutely. In many organisations, there are too many square holes in round pegs and too much of who you know and not what you know. How can we as a people, whether in an authoritive position or not, treat persons like shit. What would become of you should you fall ill on the job? Wouldn’t it be indeed tragic to see that these same persons, that are accusing you of illtreating them, be the first ones to come to your aid? This sort of behaviour is unacceptable. Remember, as the old adage goes, “wah in ketch ya, in pass ya”, so tone it down, stop treating people like shit and remember to be kind to others on your way UP because these same people you will meet on your way DOWN.
    And finally, I know that it will be hard to regain respect and trust from these disgruntled workers, but a word of advice to you would be to try being human in the future. I know it is hard for some of us animals, but you can try.
    How ya like ma?

• Chuckles // October 11, 2008 at 7:15 PM

Well said James Alleyne. You can tell from some of the contributions , who are the ones who don’t really belong to the profession.

• concern // October 28, 2008 at 7:44 PM

we r talking about shirley bourne but what about ppl like Christopher, a clerk at st Philip hospital who does as he likes there. He comes to work as he likes and noone tells him anything. Its known that his mother is a friend of the Prime Minister. This man wants sending home, he does absolutely nothing. He is a poor e g for a man. Pls investigate this loser and c that im not accusing him. Get rid of this waste. The government is paying him to do nothing. Ppl there r doing his work for him while he stays away from work for days without reason and excuse. He comes to work everyday after 11 am. He brags that noone can do him a f, all he is waiting on is his appointment and he gone. He always say to f the PNO, he cares nothing about her.
    GET RID OF HIM.

• me too // October 28, 2008 at 7:52 PM

I just read the comment about Chris and i agree with it. He work with me before and he did the same thing. He would leave his work undone and go to gamble in Marhill street everyday. All he cares about is the many women that he brags of bedding. He really needs to do atlease a good day’s work, which he has never done in his working life. He also thinks that he’s God’s gift to women but all the women say that he’s a waste in bed.
    POOR BOY, CHRISTOPHER

• tired and bored // October 31, 2008 at 5:46 PM

it’s time this page is closed. it is only being used for malicious lies and scandalous activity.

• boo justice // October 31, 2008 at 7:12 PM

POOR CHRISTOPHER …..the man that is an International Pimp @ the St. Philip District Hospital??? the man that tell everyone how much women he does got up in his mudda house in one night…….that go0d for nothing….no one can touch him cause it is tru he does brag about Uncle David (the Prime Minister) who does let he get way with whatever cause he mother is second in command and always bailing he out….Chris never work comes in late leave early have no respect for no one and don’t care about nutting cause he get paid for it and have friends in place that have his back……its not that no one is doing nothing about it its that he have the highest in Barbados on his side…A real mumma’s boy, a crack head and a pimp….by the way he brags about the politicians, singers, and local bajans that does business with his prostitutes…so whoever you are u should know

• David // October 31, 2008 at 8:07 PM

You should discuss trying to make your working conditions better but getting into the mud does not become the nursing professions. We prefer not to close the topic but we will if the conversations does not rise.

• cassey // November 1, 2008 at 9:05 PM

that woman should be punnish i would not like her to take care of me that;s why
    when i visit barbados i bring extra money that if anything happen to me i can go to a private doctor. i am so socked at the way that the bajans is behaving

• Bonny Peppa // November 3, 2008 at 8:36 PM

tired and bored,
    ‘malicious lies and scandalous activity’, is what makes life less boring. Don’t lose any sleep over this my dear for this too shall pass.
    I get a good laff reading these blogs, so I won’t like it closed at all.
    You know that they talked about Jesus and also crucified him, so who is mortal man that ‘we’ won’t talk ’bout.
    Tek it easy man.
    How ya like ma?

• Very Cross // November 7, 2008 at 9:33 PM

How about male nurses in health institutions who apeears to be heterosexuals and are really homosexuals!! yes they are out there! Beware BCC Student Nurses

• Concerned! // November 7, 2008 at 9:41 PM

I am responding to the very cross! i have heard about this at a black rock health institution where one male nurse attacked another male nurse. but it is alleged that he tried to sexually assault the male nurse who had to retaliate by beating him unmercifully and sent him on sick leave. Is this True! i pray for those individuals involved in that homosexual behavior. It is A SIN

• Chuckkles // November 8, 2008 at 6:29 PM

David

Kindly make good your promise to close this scandal page. Submissions by Cassey on November 1, Bonny Peppa November 3, Very Cross November and Concerned on November 7 are pure gossip. The best place for this type of communication is the telephone .

• Like gas stations in rural Texas after 10 pm, comments are closed.