Submitted by Yardbroom
There is a view, that it is dishonest of some main stream media personnel to suggest that the result of the last general election in Barbados, was not influenced – to some degree – by the varied opinions expressed on the blogs. I am not suggesting the blogs handed victory to one particular party… as that is difficult to prove. What I am suggesting is that issues generally hidden in Barbados were brought to light; resulting in the electorate ceasing to view “alleged” abnormalities as normal. This new “participation by observation” nucleus was difficult to assess. However, the result was a landslide victory, not anticipated by some experienced observers.
This new and different voice was in part the reason why some politicians made serious mistakes. They equated the numbers commenting, with a set number of votes. not taking cognizance of the “participant observers” to which I have previously alluded. Those who read, discussed, but never made comments. It is important to understand Barbadian society; as those who do not can equate call in programmes with the blogs. Some participants on call in programmes will say what is expected of them depending on party loyalty etc.
A restraint not always exercised on the blogs.
Astute politicians should catch the public mood and will gather information from “all sources”… a wise thing to do. A hint of what is blowing in the wind, is often the difference between success and failure in elections.
Before the next general election quite a few new blogs will be started. Some will be politically motivated and over time this will become apparent. Others will fail as is the nature of such things and a few will stand the test of time. Those in the vanguard will no doubt improve by building on their foundations.
Into this mix are the commenters, a few have already positioned themselves ready to lay siege; chameleon like they will switch delivery between standard and colloquial Bajan to give the impression, they are in touch with the boys on the block. However, their only “constant” is their own agendas.
No criticism intended. We all have agendas, even if not politically motivated.
If I may be so bold, the Internet “will” have a greater impact on the next Barbados General Election than it did on the last. Why? Barbadian society and its societal interaction are made for it. Who will be victorious? That I do not know, there is a long way to travel, but in most races to win you must be in the right place at the right time. Perhaps, just perhaps regardless of Party the electorate and the Blogs might be victorious.
A quick recap of the 2008 Election results indicate in about half a dozen consitituencies the margin of victory was just about 300 votes. It would be unwise of “any” politician to ignore any medium of support.

62 responses so far ↓
David // October 13, 2008 at 8:02 PM
One of the first clarifications Leader of the Opposition will have to make soon is to explain her attack on the blogs and the free flowing nature of the Internet. The blogs maybe hard pressed to support her on the issues without this clarification.
Wishing In Vain // October 13, 2008 at 11:36 PM
David,
For someone that was dead set on not allowing the freedom of speech and freedom of expression, do you really think that anything coming from this thing can be taken as serious and real??
Its ambiguous nature politically would suggest that it would be quick to say whatever is required to serve its purpose but with no real serious conviction or substance.
Herein lies one of its problems in convincing John Public that anything it says is sincere and genuine as we have seen time and time again its willingness to do what it takes reach its final position.
May I remind it that Owing has fired a warning shot across its bow by reminding it that he is going nowhere and it will have him to contend with from here on down the line.
Tell me Why // October 13, 2008 at 11:52 PM
You’re simply sick WIV and stop being a sick wimp.
The People's Democratic Congress // October 14, 2008 at 1:45 AM
The following information that PDC is putting out on this blog via this submission is NOT intended to be scientific, but is intended to represent a rough but good and honest enough gauge (by us) of what we are actually observing – at the ground/street/community levels – about the political attitudes of some persons concerning a couple of political issues in this country. Of course, we gather this information from the respondents on the basis of informal survey methods – mainly a series of oral questions, chiefly carried out in Bridgetown, with a view of gathering more and more information that will be helpful to PDC in our approach to the question of building a stronger party capable of winning government in this country in the forseeable future.
The persons that we talk with are black/mixed race males and females – numbers of each unknown – are mainly Barbadian between 18 and 75, and of various social, class, political, religious and professional backgrounds – numbers in each category unknown too. On a daily/regular basis for purposes of this information means 8 – 10 hrs of a day. So, here we go.
1) On the ground/street/community level in this country, only about 4/10 of the persons we in PDC talk with on a daily basis concerning support for DLP/BLP Politics in this country really support the DLP or BLP – which, for PDC, is a clear sign that DLP/BLP support bases are NOT so strong – just the recipients of modest support.
2) On this same ground/street/community level, only about 3/10 of the persons that any of our members talk with on a daily basis concerning the need for other parties to replace the DLP/BLP, feel that the time is ripe now for the coming into being of other serious parties capable of replacing DLP/BLP Governments in the long run. This presents some tough challenges – NOT insurmountable though – to parties like ourselves and PEP, if we are to continue making greater efforts at realizing further inroads into the social/political psyches and cultures of the masses and middle classes of people in Barbados, and be successful in those regards.
3) At this level, too, we detect that about 5/10 of the persons that we talk with on a daily basis concerning the removal of this DLP Government, are indifferent or non-responsive to that question, 3/10 are side-stepping the question altogether and are saying that the DLP and BLP are the “same”, and, therefore, as such they may likely be, et al, impliedly representing that they have resigned to DLP/BLP leadership of this country, and/or are impliedly representing a reluctance on their part to see the removal of this DLP Government just yet. Also, less than 0.02 are telling us that the BLP is in a position to run this country now.
4) Also, we detect that 9/10 of the persons we talk with on a daily basis concerning whether they think things have got worse, materially and financially speaking, since the change of government on the 15 January 2008, do believe strongly that things have got really worse. Believe it or NOT, 1/10 have said things have NOT changed since the change in government on the 15 of January, 2008. Interestingly enough, 6 out of those same 9 persons do mainly blame the DLP Government for these sad states of affairs. Too, although such a great percentage of people do believe that things have got worse, there is NOT any national outcry – at least NOT just yet – because not enough people have lost jobs yet, homes, cars – the lack of a strong enough party political force outside the BLP to provide real national leadership on these issues. As it stands now, too, the vast majority of people we speak with concerning BLP politics see the BLP as seriously lacking in moral conviction and authority, lacking in substance given the damage and mismanagement it wrought on this country for 14 yrs.
5) And, at this level, too, ONLY about 4 /10 of the persons that any of our members talk with on a regular basis that claim they have the Internet/access, actually know about and do read information on this blog site – BU. But, the truth is that we have only met a couple of persons who do ever post on this blog. Our response to this deficit is to encourage or get more people, esp our supporters, to log on to this site and to post, and be NOT afraid to do so. While we accept that locally based internet blogs can and do help promote and foster political change/stagnation in whatever directions, we think esp. younger generational leaders and younger political organizations have to do more to stir the overall political consiousness of the masses and middle classes or to mobilize of them politically in a greater way than now in Barbados, before we – those people residing in Barbados – can begin to give greater merit to blogs for directly inflencing or mobilizing for particular ELECTORAL outcomes.
So, there you have it!!
PDC
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 1:49 AM
David
The blogs and call-in programmes did play their part in the elections but Barbados is not known for giving any party four terms. Plus the last five years of the Arthur administration did not encourage the voters to try something unprecidented. Arthurs only hope of a forth term was when the party was very devided over the Mascholl issue. Miss Mottley has to accept that she has to fight her own battle to regain the government. The only negative thing about the blogs, and I’m going to get curse for this, is the behaviour of some erratic party supporters from both sides especially WIV. he borders on the rediculous and while remaining anonymous, it can damage the BU network.He needs to tone down his blogs and act in a matured manner,if he IS matured.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 6:26 AM
WIV is a staple commentator on this blog. If he/she goes so will I. This blog is made up of all kinds, and so it shall remain. When one reads WIV they should do so fully aware of his/her opnely stated political leaning. They did not ever attempt to hide it. Quite frankly I can tolerate him/her more so than I can tolerate some others who would have us believe that they are independent when clearly they are as partisan as WIV. When Ezra Alleyne got the boot from the Nationnews he lamented the intolerence for the views of patisan commentators like him, and I agree with him. The political party and the party supporter has as much a right as us to air their views and opinions. Those who cannot tolerate such are the real danger to the blogs.
David // October 14, 2008 at 6:49 AM
We are not sure what little impact the blogs are having as opinion shapers on the Barbados landscape. We know that like BFP we have seen tremendous growth in numbers. The BU household has resisted publishing numbers because that is not what drives us. It takes one person to make a difference sometimes and if and opinion we share or a member of the BU family acts as a motivation for that change we are happy.
We started the blog just about a year and a half ago and like BFP we have to our surprise hit the six figure number sometime ago. We have commented repeatedly that as long as we get the positive feedback from the BU family we will continue.
On the subject of WIV, yes he does cross the line sometimes, yes he is a party faithful, yes we have had to edit his comments from time to time (We get so many comments that we may miss some.), we know he understands that his passion sometimes gets the best of him. It is up to the BLP surrogates to counter the substance of what he says not BU.
The BLP should learn from the DLP last election and use the blogs and other Internet based media to channel their message.
Mia says she is about change so let us see if it includes their communications via the blogs.
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 6:58 AM
i would not like to see WIV go either. It is good to hear from bloggers from both sides of the political line, since sometimes they have views that might have been missed. The problem with WIV is the character assasination and libelious statements that he/she makes. As this blog gets more popular, it will draw more attetion and when some-one name is dragged into the mud and they can’t sue the anonymous person, then the site will have to take the hit. I don’t think any of us would want to see the BU forced to close or worse, sued. Therefore, bloggers, express yourselves but do it in a matured manner. It is many ways to tell a person about their big foot without actually saying so.
Wishing In Vain // October 14, 2008 at 7:18 AM
The Scout, Tell me Why,
I am sure that you would that I not openly state that mottley is a known woman beater that has beaten TC to the point of hospital admission, this is not hearsay it is known and proven fact, confirmed by her family and the short Dr J E not a myth as you lot would like to pretend that it is but a real and factual issue.
Do not blame us for circulating the sad news that our political opposition leader is a violent woman beater as the news was created by the thing mottley, instead you should request a decent more refined level of decency from it and seek to get it to respect man , woman and child.
Her failing to adopt a decent and respected manner will continue to lead her into trouble and eventually it will lead her before the law courts as she no longer has the power to corrupt the justice system as she once did and her next victim may feel obliged to seek recourse via legal action before the Barbadian courts, now that she is no longer in a position to alter the process of justice.
Global Voices Online » Barbados: Blogging Politics // October 14, 2008 at 7:41 AM
[...] Barbados Underground predicts that “the Internet ‘will' have a greater impact on the next Barbados General Election than it did on the last.” Posted by Janine Mendes-Franco Print Version Share This [...]
Carson C. Cadogan // October 14, 2008 at 9:07 AM
OFF TOPIC BUT..
One of the burning issues of the last election campaign was that of the large number of illegal Guyanese in Barbados.
They were and still are taking away Barbadian jobs because of their bargin basement rates. This issue more than anything spurred on my family to canvass against the Barbados Labour Party.
Precious little has been done by the DLP to ship out the illegal predators.
I am just sounding a warning to the DLP that who put you in can take you back out once you do not perform to the expectations of those who voted you into office.
30000 Guyanese in a small country most of them illegal is a very serious problem indeed. Make no mistake about it.
Faria has been a pain in my ass with regards to the Guyanese. I read with great alarm today an article on Caribbean Net News.
“Guyana government gets tough on illegal immigrants”
When will the Barbados Govt. get tough on illegal immigrants in Barbados? Will Faria spring into action in defence of the illegal immigrants in Guyana or will we be deafened by his silence?
http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-11398–13-13–.html
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 9:10 AM
I find it passing strange that no one sought to comment on Mia winning a settlement from some British base magazine. I am planning to contact this magazine because i have quite a few questions on why they settle rather than fight in court. It is passing strange to me that a magazine commented on the nature of a calypso and it’s contents and was sued, but the calypso and calypsonian was not? I will be inviting the magazine to join with me in shadowing Mia Mottley for as long as it takes to find the proof of her activities and associations. The truth whatever it is and where ever it is to be found will not remain silent.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 9:14 AM
Carson, I have decided to give the DLP it’s full term to do the things the majority of the Barbadians Electors gave them the right to do. I join with you in sounding off to the DLP that the Guyanese immigration issue will not go away, and that our position is not open for dicussion.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 9:27 AM
Wishing In Vain // October 14, 2008 at 7:18 am
The Scout, Tell me Why,
I am sure that you would that I not openly state that mottley is a known woman beater that has beaten TC to the point of hospital admission, this is not hearsay it is known and proven fact, confirmed by her family and the short Dr J E not a myth as you lot would like to pretend that it is but a real and factual issue.
===========================
Johnny Cheltingham in an attempt to pump fear into Barbadians, among other things said that the British magazine search long and hard for information to substantiate the contents of it’s article. Now i don’t know what are the exact contents of the article (BIMBRO CAN YOU SECURE A COPY OF THE APRIL EDITION OF COUNTRY LIVING?) May be i can put the magazine in contact with these persons, and in a position to demand their money back from Mia. :D
This thing annoys me greatly. People have said and continue to say some of the most vile things about David Thompson, and what has David done? He said people can say whatever they want he will not be putting anybody in court. Contrast this with the Fat woman who cannot sing, hers is to gain love and addulation by force acceptance and fear. Well i will not be scared by such, I will use parody on a United States registered website, to get my message about this person out. Parody is protect by the first amendment of the US contitution as artistic work.
Quote: “Being powerful is like being a lady. If you have to tell people you are, you aren’t.” — Margaret Thatcher
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 9:39 AM
WIV don’t seem to understand or just simply don’t care a damn about BU, that he would continue to spout statements without backing them up with concrete evidence. David, I honestly think that you should BEG WIV to tone it down or this might be detrimental for this blog. The day he has evidence that can stand up in court and he identifies him/herself, we bloggers will welcome it. Miss Mottley isn’t an easy person to deal with when it comes to law and I believe she’s just biting her time to pounce on BU. Bring it on WIV but bring it on with proof and with your identification
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 9:50 AM
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 9:39 am
WIV don’t seem to understand or just simply don’t care a damn about BU, that he would continue to spout statements without backing them up with concrete evidence. David, I honestly think that you should BEG WIV to tone it down or this might be detrimental for this blog. The day he has evidence that can stand up in court and he identifies him/herself, we bloggers will welcome it. Miss Mottley isn’t an easy person to deal with when it comes to law and I believe she’s just biting her time to pounce on BU. Bring it on WIV but bring it on with proof and with your identification
Scout why is it necessary for you to tell others what to do? Why don’t you just post your comments and let others do so as well? Not everyone will sign on to your partisan strategy, and please don’t attempt to speak on my behalf with your version of “WE”. Some of us prefer to experience the world using our feelings, beliefs, facts, and ideas. If you prefer to wollow in the feelings of fear, and the belief that Mia Mottley has some power over others, you can carry on without me. I will endevour to bring facts and employ the use of ideas to defeat her strategy whatever it may be.
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 9:51 AM
Carson C Cadogan
I too, have been quite worried about the deafening silence of this administration concerning the guyanese invasion. I happen to have been in a friend’s car, I think yesterday, he was listening to Bresstacks. Peter Wickham made a, as usual, stupid statement. When asked by a caller about the position with the guyanese in Barbados now that there is a downturn in the construction industry. He stated that the illegal one should be allowed to stay or it would mean an increase in labour cost to the bajan house owner. What about the bajan artisans and family on the breadline? how unpatriotic a so-call intelligent man can be!!!! Is this not a perfect receipt for civil unrest?
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 9:58 AM
It was the ’smart and the educated” that made some very dumb decision resulting in the current financial mess the world is in. People should disabuse themself of the notion that Attaining a BA and or a MA, automaticaly confers real and meaningful “smart and educated” status on the holder of such paper throphies. At the end of the day to err is still very human, and paper throphy holders like known socialist ideologs such as Peter Wickham should be treated with the greatest skeptism possible, unless it is polling. :D
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 10:10 AM
Adrian
When I said WE, I didn’t include you, I didn’t realise that you were part of the matured sect. You and WIV can come with all the alleged damaging information on Mia or anyone else, but unless you bring proof you sound stupid. It is this sort of behaviour that has caused Barbados/bajans to be considered as homour mongers. If you stump your toe in Bridgetown, by the time the news gets to St. Lucy” ya dead”, everybody got to make the news sound more sensational/dramatic. Secondly, why it is that everytime I don’t agree with you or WIV, I’m branded as a supporter of the BLP? I will continue to inform you and others, when I was younger, I was an ardent member of the DLP, DLP party, since maturing both in age and understanding, I have taken the position of being independent, both in my political status and in my way of thinking.Senior members of both parties respect me for my position and they prefer to get a response from me than from a lot of the so-called diehard supporters because they know that my remarks are not politically clouded. I have said too much. You can think whatever you like, they will ALWAYS be room for people like you and WIV, I was in that same boat one time
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 10:58 AM
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 10:10 am
Adrian
When I said WE, I didn’t include you, I didn’t realise that you were part of the matured sect. You and WIV can come with all the alleged damaging information on Mia or anyone else, but unless you bring proof you sound stupid.
….and i will continue to sound stupid. I will never accept that you, who at this point is nothing more than some doppleganger can define what “mature” means and have me accept it.
If true that senior members of the poltical class takes advise from you, and that advice is acted on, so that what i see and here coming from them is in some way tainted by said advice then i should not ever more be amaze at what eminates from some of them. :D
I am not now or have i ever been concern or wanted to know about your hob nobbing hither thither and there.
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 11:48 AM
Adrian
Final comment to you an WIV, who I had promise not to engage on partisan politican issues. As a true citizen of Barbados, I made a decision to call a spade a spade both in politics and in life in general. This has made me some enemies but has gained me many friends. The most important thing is that I”M COMFORTABLE WITH MYSELF. I ysed to hate coming out of a meeting and being told by members of that said meeting that points which I raised and diudn’t get the support were correct points BUT. Fear on their part caused big men/women to be silent.At my age, I’m not licking anyone’s backside for favours; I will speak out as a man and I realise that I’ve gained more respect by doing this. I’m labelled a DLP by certain groups and a BLP by others. When I hear this I know that I’m truly independent. Call me what you like; I’m HAPPY by who I am.
Tell me Why // October 14, 2008 at 11:52 AM
This thing annoys me greatly. People have said and continue to say some of the most vile things about David Thompson, and what has David done?
………………………………………………………
Adrian, I disagree with any comparison vile remarks towards the Prime Minister against those of Mia Mottley or Owen Arthur. But, we must be fair when we talk about everyone know how WIV will behave. This is not an excuse. I know better than you about WIV the for the DLP. No one loved the DLP more than the great Errol Walton Barrow, but would he have behaved in such a manner if he was alive? I say a resounding NO. Tennyson Beckles and The Honourable David Thompson love the DLP, would we see such behaviour? Again, I say NO. Adrian Hinds surely loves the DLP, he writes, he defends, he’s by the computer smiling, but will he type such vile remarks. I say NO, because he know that his family looks up to him to be a decent man. Ah lie, Adrian? So please Adrian, yes we do love WIV as a commenter, since the blogs are made up of Bees, Dees, and anybody with social, political, christian or financial views. WIV is brilliant, but he must raise the bar of decency. That’s all I am asking.
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 12:12 PM
Just to set the record straight, I have been critical of the last five years of the BLP government. I cannot, like the DLP touts, say that the BLP government did nothing but damage for this country. Barbados has been BLESSED by good governance over the years, that is why we are the envy of the region. Every P.M, every government of this country has helped to uplift this country, whether DLP or BLP. I personally am indebted to His Exellency, THe Right Honourable, Errol Walton Barrow, for not only what education assistance I was given but for the advice he gave me to think for myself. When I look into the mirror, am I seeing the person I am and want to be. I have lived by that and will continue for the rest of my life.If anyone of you see what you want to see in the mirror, continue to be that person but if in the contrary, you only folling and disappointing yourself.
The scout // October 14, 2008 at 12:15 PM
Tell Me Why
Well put. I hope he gets the message. I would hate losing the WIV but he needs to move to a higher level.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 12:20 PM
…I have said it in on no less a place than the labourparty blog, that i do not like Mia Mottley, and i do not care to be civil, and or decent to or about anything concerning her. That will not change. I will not be guided by Tennison Beckles whomever he may be or By Thompson actions re. love of a political party. You could not possibly know what i like or dislike and whether i am decent or known to be decent by whomever, at any rate such does not concern me with regards to what i have to say about that fat chain smoking woman. So don’t plead with me I like WIV just as he is and he should not allow himself to be convince by anything you have to say. So you can ask all you want, I have nothing to give.
Um is truly amazing that anonymous people could think that they can influence me one way or the other, but thats a bajan for yuh.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 12:29 PM
Scout you cannot sat any record straight, while defending people who by any measurment needs to account for a hell of lot, and while you may have made your final comment i have but now begun.
Is this vile ?
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 12:35 PM
How abou this one?
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 12:49 PM
Wunnuh would want to castigate persons for suggesting that Mia Mottley may very well like women, as much as she likes food. while saying nothing about the following.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wACPASjT_C0&feature=related
and there is another with angry man Kerrie Simmonds up in waterford suggesting that Thompson is a girlie man, which was luaghable coming from him with his squeaky voice.
Wunnuh will not have wunnuh cake and eat it too.
Tell me Why // October 14, 2008 at 1:02 PM
So don’t plead with me I like WIV just as he is and he should not allow himself to be convince by anything you have to say
……………………………………………………….
Me plea wid no man. If dah what yuh want, that is what yuh wid get. I hope you is man enough to defend Barbados when you are in your business sphere and people after reading the blogs ask if this is the behaviour of all Barbadians. Anyway, I am outta dis.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 1:24 PM
Tell me Why // October 14, 2008 at 1:02 pm
So don’t plead with me I like WIV just as he is and he should not allow himself to be convince by anything you have to say
……………………………………………………….
Me plea wid no man. If dah what yuh want, that is what yuh wid get. I hope you is man enough to defend Barbados when you are in your business sphere and people after reading the blogs ask if this is the behaviour of all Barbadians. Anyway, I am outta dis.
I will defend what is right and never what is wrong. The people of America loves freedom of speech and will frown on anyone who seeks to trample such freedoms. I think most here will find favour with my approach. Let the parody of elitist crowd continue.
Barnabas Collins // October 14, 2008 at 2:10 PM
The Internet is a wonderful tool, it can be good or bad. It can also be a good source of information but it will not replace libraries or books anytime soon.
As for blogging, I think it is TOTALLY UNFAIR AND COWARDLY, to make scathing attacks on people’s character and doing so under the cloak of anonymity. We are an intelligent people and I think we should be operating at a higher level than that. I concur with “scout’s” penultimate post.
BC
David // October 14, 2008 at 2:51 PM
The more you talk to media people in Barbados you realize that their heart and soul is not where it should be. This is reflected in the output.
Given the high penetration of the Internet in Barbados, the sanitized|bland news being produced and the strictures being imposed by the sponsors, a new breed of citizen will turn to the Internet (not necessarily blogs) for local information. During this process of news-seeking they will find the blogs which are highly indexed by the search engines.
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 3:15 PM
let me guess Barnabas Collins is your real name right.
Oh well you keep on “THINKING” you are doing an excellent job at it.
Since you “think” others should “operate” at a higher level, why not lead the way and post with your real name? set the example that you wish others to follow. Or are you more interested in having others do as you say and not as you do?
Is there one person in Barbados that does not preach rigtheous socialist dogma? schuuuessppps
…..David you missing the point here. It isn’t that the traditional media practioners in Bimshire don’t get it, they very much do, but it is more likely that they do not intend to play second fiddle to or share viewership with people like BU and BFP, certainly not for free. Ours is a culture of asking Barbadians to pay for services that are essentially free in other countries. Just like Dr. Sparman was treated to all manner of trump up charges, not because there was legitimate concerns but more likely the result of his pioneering medical procedures in Barbados that others thought was their right to introduce, so too do i view the reluctence of these Bajans Ja-whore-nalist in their continued refusal to embrace the blogs. At any rate the blogs are better of without the David Ellis’s, et al.
notesfromthemargin // October 14, 2008 at 4:09 PM
I think it is clear that the blogs affected the outcome of the general election. What was also clear, was that they were blatantly abused by both sides.
WIV’s input was used with devastating effect, (as much as I think his use of innuendo was slimy, you have to admit it was effective in the circumstances) I don’t think that he will find it quite as effective playing on the government in power wicket.
The BLP just didn’t get it, their response was either to ignore, threaten or launch verbal abuse of the blogs. BFPE I think could be written up as a case study of how NOT to respond to blogs.
On the Margin we kept hoping for a coherent response to the blogs from the BLP to provide for a more balanced debate online and quite frankly it never came. At cost great to ourselves we encouraged whatever new initiatives they tried and it never did rise above the level of abuse. This one sidedness of the blogs is in my opinion a weakness of the blogosphere.
I do think going forward we will see more blogs being launched, some pro government some anti government. I also think we will find that the existing blogs will be more taken up with the government of the day (the DLP) and criticising them.
I do think that what the election showed is that the internet is a force to be reckoned with in Bajan politics and that the modern day political party has to have a well thought out strategy for dealing with it.
What it also showed is that the days where the flow of information could be easily controlled are over.
The future is going to be very interesting.
Marginal
Negroman // October 14, 2008 at 4:41 PM
The internet played a pivotal role in the outcome of the last general elections.It conveyed the general feelings of Barbadians on a number of issues especially the illegal immigration issue with emphasis of the illegal indo-guyanese hum bugs.
Carson Cadogan I am in total agreement with you.I canvassed at my workplace,at home,at social activities and even at my clubs for the Democratic Labour Party because of the Guyanese issue.I put my job in jeopardy because of my open support for the DLP.I indicated that if the BLP had to win the elections I would have resign and left Barbados and live elsewhere more than likely in an African State.I was not prepare to spend another 5 years under a BLP government.I meant it.Lo & behold a DLP government was elected and we thought we had redemption at hand,but we are encountering more fustration and instead of a decrease in illegal Guyanese here there is an apparent increase.This government is the worst.Talk,talk and more talk and little action.Prime Minister David Thompson where is the plan action to get tough on employers hiring illegals immigrants.As I mentioned in previous comments there is an increase of immigrants having normal jobs that Barbadians should have.I will repeat again I took a walk recently in Bridgetown and visited some stores,In at Dallas Discount in Roebuck Street quite a few females workers are Indo-Guyanese,the same at many other stores in Bridgetown.Many of the malls in town have a lot Guyanese workers.I indicated that the Indo-Guyanese in Gateway Mall were the ones responsible for the missing work permit stamp.Those Indo-Guyanese ladies mother who operates a store in Suttle Street is known for her involvement in Sham marriages.An Indo-Guyanese lady robbed a black Barbadian lady out of her stall at Dover beach Christ Church.An Indo-Guyanese lady who works at Siver Fox arcade in St Lawrence Gap who was married to a black Barbadian man who had a twin brother that is a car washer in James Street is suspected in the unnatural death of her husband.The dead man brother life was threatened by a group of Indo Guyanese in a car who tried to knocked him down and there are many more cases of wicked guyanese doing all type of evil things against black Barbadians.The authorities and this government are allowing these things to happen and no investigations are being launch into these activities.
At prison in St Philip there are some Africans still imprisoned and no efforts are underway to assist these unfortunate individuals.There are a numbers of very senior immigration,Customs & particular Airport Security personnell involved & implicated in a lot of scams involving illegal immigrants and this government is doing little or nothing to solve any of these happennings.
I am so fustrated with everything in Barbados that I do not have the desire anymore to comment or worry myself about the happennings in Barbados.
Barbados is in a hopeless state and no BLP or DLP administration can do anything meaningful to address many of the concerns affecting us.
We the people of Barbados must get up and let the authorities know we want real meanigful change or else.
Time has expired.
Concerned // October 14, 2008 at 4:43 PM
What makes Peter Wickham an expert in matters pertaining to immigration, Economics and business?
As far as I am aware, he is trained in Political Science. Therefore what ever he spews out on the Guyanese/immigration matters are his personal opinions and not fact.
Being a moderator on a call-in program does not qualify a person to be a self-appointed Einstein.
Wickham needs to appreciate and understand his shortcoming and not try to bluff the public into believing that he is the messiah sent to save the world.
Inkwell // October 14, 2008 at 5:14 PM
“Just like Dr. Sparman was treated to all manner of trump up charges, not because there was legitimate concerns but more likely the result of his pioneering medical procedures in Barbados that others thought was their right to introduce…”
Why do people who don’t know what they are talking about continue to open their mouths and make themselves look foolish…again and again?
Adrian Hinds // October 14, 2008 at 7:50 PM
……because foolish people don’t know that they are foolish? and this fool will not be silence by the likes of you. :) Set me straight sir if you can. ha ha ha ha ha ha.
Sections of the Barbadian medical fraternity apparently contacted the Barbados Immigration Department after information about his past was communicated to them.
“This thing has come about simply because of petty professional jealousy (on the part of sections of the Barbadian medical fraternity). When I was feeding them (certain doctors) with a lot of patients, they did not have a problem, but when I expanded in Belleville, it was a different matter.
“None of them can point a finger at me and say I am a bad physician, that I have been unprofessional,” Sparman is reported as saying in his defence.
=====================
Instructive in this also was how hands off Norman Faria was as compared to his current rabid defense of illegal indo-guyanese in Barbados.
Dr. Alfred Sparman is an Afro Guyanese:
http://www.landofsixpeoples.com/news022/nc207196.htm
http://www.zoominfo.com/Search/ReferencesView.aspx?PersonID=625204514
Inkwell i am well aware of your penchant to play “gotcha” it is what most jokers like you rely on to discount someone you cannot stand. All i can tell you is that the only chance you will have of ever having me shut up is to meet me somewhere and lets have a go at it “no holds bar” may the better man win. :)
Wishing In Vain // October 14, 2008 at 9:19 PM
Secondly, why it is that everytime I don’t agree with you or WIV, I’m branded as a supporter of the BLP.
Ever thought that maybe because you are such??
Let me say when you are dealing with slime like mottley and company one cannot pretend to be prestine but you to have to get down in the trenches and fight dirty with the opposition.
Let me also suggest that no amount of hopeful wishes can or will make me abort my due and fair attacks of mottley and company, they would have you believe that it is unfair to attack these crooks this is a new ploy to try to remove them from the limelight of their obvious corruption and dishonesty, but trust me they will be shown their dishonesty at every step along the way and no amout of silly pleading will extract them from that scene.
They were dishonest and were evicted from office for this reason, nothing less nothing more, and they will not wish that branding away.
The scout // October 15, 2008 at 2:53 AM
Negroman
Hi. Haven’t seen your blogs for a while.
i was reliably informed that the escalation of praedial larceny is caused by indo-guyanese. These people have markets either on their own or one of their friends. I hope if one of them is caught, the farmer lick a shot in them. These people are bringing their NASTY habits over here and our authorities are doing nothing about it. All the time they are growing in numbers and establishing themselves. Maxine McClean said Barbadian would know soon, the amount of illegal persons in this country. Nothing have been said for a while. Is it that immigration does not have records of who comes in and out of this country?
The People's Democratic Congress // October 15, 2008 at 6:55 AM
The broad masses and midde classes must continue to reject the BLP, until it reaches a point whereby they are NO LONGER, NEVER AGAIN VOTED into government in this country.
Asking the broad masses and middle classes to look for a brand new radical and more activist-based Barbados Labour Party between now and the next Election, is totally akin to asking the broad masses and middle classes of people to be accomplices to their own slow painful deaths!!
Moreover, the time for this stupid BLP TO BE REMOVED FROM THIS POLITICAL LANDSCAPE IS NOW. It is a simple as that!! NO rebranding, NO renewal, NO 15 new faces or no radical activist-based anything is NOT saying anything. For, such cosmetics WILL NEVER BE ENOUGH to remove the SOCIAL LIFE scars and DEEP PSYCHOLOGICAL trauma that this wicked BLP inflicted on us for 14 years – 1994 – 2008. Too, the Barbadian masses and middle classes will stand TO LOSE only so little in real terms when they absolutely rid the country of this BLP.
At the centre of BLP politics, as well as DLP politics, are certain people like Miss Mottley and Mr. Thompson who are using these BLP or DLP labels, histories and such like to help savagely assist in the continued political exploitation of the broad masses and middle classes. This is something that these same categories of people ought to know and must be prepared to do much about!!
So, just as crucially important as it is to TOTALLY ELIMINATE many other obscenely evil political financial systems like TAXATION SYSTEMS, INTEREST RATE SYSTEMS, REPAYABLE LOANS SYSTEMS in Barbados, in order for other newer and more important and people-centered systems to be put in place to help these social categories achieve greater freedom and responsibilty, it is also crucially important to TOTALLY ELIMINATE political institutions that support such wicked and evil systems that constantly cruelly oppress and suppress these categories of people.
Finally, the broad masses and middle classes must understand that PDC is really there for them – as witnessed by our ideological and policy perspectives – and that they must come and help us build our party further and/or that they must go and help build any other serious parties and/or that they must go and form their own serious people-centred developmentalist parties, in order to really help take this country forward.
PDC
Inkwell // October 15, 2008 at 6:59 AM
“All i can tell you is that the only chance you will have of ever having me shut up is to meet me somewhere and lets have a go at it “no holds bar” may the better man win. :)”
OK Adrian, let’s make it soon,
Behind the Lazaretto, tomorrow, high noon,
And make sure you bring your gutterperk,
Cause shooting off your mouth just won’t work!!
Adrian Hinds // October 15, 2008 at 7:39 AM
Inkwell:
You should have choosen the front of the lazaretto, in front the wall on highway one. I would have been late however, but never the less you would have been crushed and wash away. :)
…BTW should a dry inkwell still be thought of as an usefull inkwell or just a well? I looking fuh someplace to dump my old fridge and stove. :0 lol!
I don’t need a gutterperk or any other weapon, as my mouthing off continues to mallspring your a2s.
Negroman // October 15, 2008 at 1:52 PM
Hi Scout
I am on vacation and overseas and trying to relax.As I mentioned in my comments I am disgusted with the government performance to date and particularly on the immigration issue.I am at the stage now where I do not really bother myself with the happennings in Barbados.The Guyanese are solidifying themselves in Barbados and it seems impossible to uproot them.Bribes and all sort of scams are taking place and the authorities are unable or unwilling to act.
Scout you are correct Guyanese are involve in the increase in praedial larceny in Barbados.As you mentioned it is organised and they have a ready market available.Those slimes are intent on destroying Barbados with their wickedness like they did to their own country.
The selling of illegal work permits is still occurring.An illegal Jamaican was caught recently with an illegal work permit and he indicated that he bought it from a Guyanese.I wonder if this matter is being investigated.
Scout this government is taking us for granted and is not committed to effectively deal with this immigration issue.This government’s hands are tied because some of it’s big financiers are indians and many of it’s members and some candidates are indians also.It cannot move against indo-guyanese in any meaningful manner.
David Thompson,Maxine McClean and this Democratic Labour Party administration all Barbadians are not stupid or gullible.The government is not operating in the best interest of majority of Barbadians and this administration will feel the wrath of Barbadians at the next elections if it does not act in an effective manner on this illegal immigration issue.The big Indian financiers can only finance the party and your campaign but those rich Indians CANNOT make you the Prime Minister of Barbados.It is the majority of us black Barbadians who have the power to elect or reject any leader.I believe you are about to be rejected because of your ineffective leadership on many issue especially this illegal immigration issue.
Prime Minister David Thompson I am disappointed in you as a leader because you have caused yourself to be manipulated by rich Indians in Barbados and one a rat catcher & mango seller in Pakistan is boasting that he has yourself personal cell phone number and he carry all type of meat for you & your family on saturdays in St Philip.
Are you a hand to mouth Prime Minister?
The scout // October 15, 2008 at 2:51 PM
Negroman
I told you a long time ago I have a plan “B”. i realise where this country is heading. In true bajan parlance” it gun be cat piss an peppa.” Hopefully, my family and I would not be around. By the way, How do you know about the meat going to St Philip on saturdays? I got to watch you. I thought you said you’re overseas but then the world is a global village and ya know village talk does spread.
Negroman // October 15, 2008 at 5:50 PM
Scout
Yes Iam overseas and enjoying myself.I mentioned on previously topics that the rat catcher & mango seller from Pakistan has the Prime Minister cell number & he carrys meat for our Prime Minister on Saturdays.I said that in August that is nothing new.
We have hand to mouth leaders like Owen Arthur & now David Thompson.
Negroman // October 17, 2008 at 6:18 PM
The Advocate has it that Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins indicated that the majority of squatters in Barbados is non-nationals and his department is having a dificult time in imposing the law.
This is going to be an expensive to our country for looking for homes for these squatters.These non-nationals broke our laws including immigration and will now be given free houses at the expense of us Barbados.
Is this fair?
Only in Barbados.The non-nationals have all the rights in Barbados because if the government move against them victimisation will be the outcry.
NB Have anyone ever seen the Busstands & Bridgetown so dirty.Only after the influx of non-nationals especially guyanese.Bridgetown is just as dirty and stink as Georgetown in Guyana.
Barbados has gone to the dogs.
JC // October 17, 2008 at 8:11 PM
Hi Negroman whats up, You dont want to hear the half of it;
Some guuyanese say that the previous government promised them land to the back of the Pine and that is like 10 years ago~! and we cant get one shite for my children.
WHAT ARE YOU DOING MR THOMPSON!
All of this talk has to stop! You believe that we the people of Barbados who canvassed for you at home, in the shop, on the block, in church, and even at government places where they worked and knew that they would be fired, Mr. Thompson. We were willing to give them a fight for their money! I remember going to a government institution and seeing a man doing the dawg for Thompson and he didnt give too hoots; (He was right in a bee’s hive Mr. PM) and he didnt give two hoots.
This is the treatment that you give us stupes I waiting patiently. More and more GTs them aint voting for you ya know it is we the foolish bajans that are !
This is the treatment we get? With all due respect Ms. McClean WHAT ARE YOU DOING!
Only recently one of them was cuffed around his head on a block! Someone told me that he was talking about wukking up on a man in Nelson Street talking bout how he like men! Stupid ass wont leave so they let him know what time it was!
We are sick of this nonsense all this bulling, theifing, and the list goes on!
What are you doing Ms. McClean!
Mr. David do something cause the men on my block are monitoring and we seeing real GTS bout here! I know the other blocks see and realise it as well! This is not fair at alllllll!
JC // October 17, 2008 at 8:13 PM
Immigration authorities check Nicholls bakery, the cashier is a GT the person packing the bread shelf is a guyanese.
Only the chauffeue is the bajan.
The Guyaense are even helpers at Nicholls, I getting sick sick sick sick
BAJANS LETS BOYCOTT NICHOLLS! In Bibby’s lane!
Anonymous // October 17, 2008 at 8:41 PM
Allyuh better realise dat GTs here to stay. Bajans too backward and will never stand up for anything. The day that Mr. Errol Barrow warned about came and went and Bajans didn’t notice. Other people not have more rights than Bajans. Bajan vendors can’t get permits to sell in town but other people selling all over the place.
It is said that bajans don’t want work so the employers hiring GTs.
Mr. White hiring GTs, Mr. Wong hiring GT’s, Indira hiring GT’s and Bajans hiring GTs too.
You getting sick but I done get sick, right now I blue vex!!!
JC // October 17, 2008 at 9:21 PM
We need to put some serious fines on these people.
A friend of mine went to the UK and didnt even get off the plane good; his ass was in detention camp why? They said he didnt have enough money to prove that he was there on a vacation.
the more they layway and dont deal with this issue the more pist off everyone is becoming! I know that people just waiting for an excuse my perfect example is of the block that I mentioned earlier!
And now them mekking noise for land ha ha ha ha halol Anon! this thing serious yeah real real serious!
Anon why they dont talk about the Guyanese woman who lives in Clapham guess how she get the land the old man that she use to take care of dead *(dont ask me how and negro man you aint lying the women is work in at Silver Fox! Believe me it is true! I am going to see if I can get a picture of the land cleared away in St. George and some evidence. I have other serious issues going on in my life right now; but as soon as I get a chance which would probably be before December i am going to do some serious investigative journalism and mek the nation look like shite!
Anon they giving us stories every sunday about our close ties ; nobody aint giving you the story about the old man who is living in the district hospital whilst the Guyanese and her family after putting the said individual in the hospital now renting out the house wel well you aint lying anon! I waiting to see what David going do!
Let me tell you how long we was saying so the more things change the more they remain the same hmmmmm
David Thompson we aint want no lotta long talk.
Negroman // October 18, 2008 at 8:25 PM
JC
Nice to hear you commenting on these issues again.David Thompson,Maxine McClean and the DLP are a bunch of sell outs and human waste.I have no apologies to make to anybody for calling our Prime Minister & our other leaders human waste.That is what they are.Our Prime Minister accepting meat & other food stuff from a rat catcher & mango seller from Pakistan. No wonder many of our senior government officials are accepting all types of bribes & hand outs from the Whites,Indians and Chinese in Barbados.We have our leaders setting the example.
This inept,incompetent government promised us serious action on this immigration issue and up to this moment nothing has been done.JC & others we must take matters into our own hands,we cannot wait on those losers for relief.I am going to mobilise the marganalised black youth across Barbados to take action by any means they consider necessarry .Talk done.The youth are seeing jobs being taken away from them and their parents in Barbados by non-nationals .JC do likewise with the youth in your neighbourhood.
TALK DONE THIS IS ACTION TIME.
GT Lover // October 19, 2008 at 1:48 AM
Stinking BU a*sshole.
Kiss yuh scunt.
What a bunch of LOSERS!
Barnabas Collins // October 19, 2008 at 6:54 PM
Mr. A. Hinds…..amazing…..name calling. YOU have definitely raised the level of this debate.
Anonymous // October 19, 2008 at 10:48 PM
What is wrong with well managed immigration policies. We have been pleading for months with the government of the day to deal with this issue.
Yesterday I went to Courts and to my amusement there are now hiring the the guyanese what is going on! dont believe me go to Sheraton Center tomorrow. ha ha ha lol! they claim the person was the best person for the job!
Are we not good enough to get jobs anymore!
Bajans need to wake up!
The scout // October 19, 2008 at 11:11 PM
Anonymous
Guyanese now are receptionists, maids,taxi drivers, truck drivers security guards, just now one of them will be in parliment and crapo smoke we pipe.I have had enough. Negroman, you told me that something is happening soon to rectify the problem. That is taking too long I’m ready to sacrifise my life to help resolve this injustice. My country has been peacefully invaded and my leaders have sold us out.
Negroman // October 20, 2008 at 2:59 PM
The Scout maybe I must confess but I was duped by senior goverment,politicians from the DLP and even government ministers that positive action was underway.I was assured that this government would had gotten serious with this issue,I am so wrong it is amazing.It is up to us to let the government knows we mean action.Like you I prepare to make the ultimate sacrifice.
David Thompson,Maxine McClean and the rest of his goverment are a bunch of political hum bugs and despots who are taking Barbadians for a ride.These politicians are lucky we do not operate like Jamaicans and other regions in the world.One day coming soon that might change.
Adrian Hinds // October 22, 2008 at 3:30 PM
Barnabas Collins // October 19, 2008 at 6:54 pm
Mr. A. Hinds…..amazing…..name calling. YOU have definitely raised the level of this debate.
“name calling”? Barnabas Collins is not and has never been a real person, Dr Sparman would not be upset with the context in which his name was reference. Only David Ellis could be, but he does not visit the blogs. Or does he???????? Oh well I am not interesting in playing seek while you continue to hide. Nothing decernable here so I am moving on. :) :)
Anonymous // October 22, 2008 at 5:42 PM
Negroman I know you will be happy to hear that some measures are being put in place by this Government. Are you bak from your trip!
I hope it was enjoyable!
David I know you all will like what you hear! I dont want to say too much people will know who I am!
All I will say is that in order to get a job in Barbados for an illegal immigrant is going to be difficult.
Fines and so on are coming hmmmmm about time!
Anonymous // October 22, 2008 at 5:44 PM
Ms. McClean is willing but she is treading carefully!
Negroman // October 22, 2008 at 7:23 PM
Anonymous Yes I am back home in my beloved Barbados and indeed I enjoyed my trip overseas as usual.I will be happy and satisfy if the government will act decisively on this illegal immigration matter.The time has long passed for meaningful action to being taken.If fines and other measures are implemented to deter business owners from hiring illegals immigrants I am all for it and will rightfully support the government.I hope this is not one of the many promises that this government proposes from the start of its term on this illegal immigration issue and is yet to fulfill any of them.
Anonymous like you I receive many assurances from senior government officials and even the minister but yet nothing positive has occur and this is nearly a year.
David Thompson,Maxine McClean and this DLP administration Barbadians are depending on this government to deliver us from the invasion of our shores from illegals from the Caribbean especially the Indo-Guyanese scums and the nasty racist Chinese.Act or we will act on your administration at the next elections.
JC // October 22, 2008 at 10:49 PM
Negroman it is JC that wrote both of the previous comments; now I have checked i relise that my blog name was not in the name box.
Yes negroman things seem to have started I got some information that I know for a fact that has started. I feel good about it and very confident.
The government has to start protecting their own first!