Prime Minister David Thompson Lashes Out At The Distributive And Media Sectors

Prime Minister David Thompson

Prime Minister David Thompson - Source Barbados Advocate

Prime Minister David Thompson for the third time in nine months, and not unlike the father of his Democratic Labour Party, engaged in a fire side chat with members of the media. He was assisted by Minister Darcy Boyce who has responsibility for energy. In his preamble he communicated a third reduction in fuel price at the pump in under two weeks. The gist of his early preamble was to stress that government is doing all that it can to facilitate a reduction especially in food prices but he was obviously irritated that enough is not being done by the private sector to reduce prices.

Prime Minister Thompson and rightly so was very critical of the passive role the media has played to date to amplify the concerns of Barbadians in the current climate. We felt a deep sense of sadness at the lack of depth to the questions which were lobbed by local journalists. We would have thought that our journalists would have thoroughly quizzed the Prime Minister and Minister Boyce on economic issues given the onset of the biggest economic challenge which Barbados will have to confront in the current global climate. While a question or two were posed about the possible impact on tourism and the international business sector caused by the global turbulence, we were disappointed that a more rigorous query was not offered by the journalists on show. Is it not agreed by many that the current financial meltdown is being compared to the time of the Great Depression?

It was interesting to note the obvious annoyance expressed by VOB’s Stetson Babb who childishly reacted to moderator Richard Cox shutting him down on one occasion. If this is the mentality of our media workers it is no wonder that Prime Minister felt inclined to issue them with a tongue lashing tonight.

We were pleased to hear the Prime Minister recommit his government to a managed migration policy by declaring very rational and plausible reasons for doing so. We wonder what Peter Wickham and Kerrie Symmonds will have to say. Already we are starting to see cracks across our social landscape whether in our schools, hospital, housing, escalating rents etc caused by a large influx of immigrants legal and illegal. What the blind refuse to see is that the attraction of Barbados will easily be compromised if we open the floodgates. We will not forgive the media in Barbados on this issue who has engaged in self-censorship to a degree which begs the question: Prime Minister Thompson was forced to ask are we a practicing democracy?

The Prime Minister again threatened to allow new players into the market supported by price controls if the establishment in the distribution sector doesn’t respond to his government’s prodding. On this point we do believe that the PM is bluffing because he knows that price control is a mechanism which can be manipulated by the private sector as they have done in the past. We however give the Prime Minister eight out of ten for his willingness to come to the public and discuss the issues.

We hope that next time he will allow blog questions!

84 Responses to Prime Minister David Thompson Lashes Out At The Distributive And Media Sectors

1. Donald Duck, Esq

Why did the presss not remember to ask what progress was being made with the promises made in the manifesto with the following time lines and reference pages to the manifesto.

IMMEDIATE ACTION

Labour rights legislation (page 36)

A new DLP government will move to immediately enact a comprehensive national Labour Rights legislative compendium which will include the following:

 A Full Employment Rights Act
     An Alternative Disputes Settlement and Arbitration Committee
     A Sexual Harassment in the Workplace Act
     National minimum wages legislation
     Legislation fully recognizing Trade Unions.

Approval of capital account transactions (page 25)

Immediately review the current Central Bank procedures for approving capital account transactions with a view to simplifying and speeding up the approval (or denial) process for restricted transactions.

Port charges (page 33)

The DLP pledges to immediately re-examine the Port charges with a view to significantly reducing these to manufacturers as they consider them to be a burdensome cost. They say that tonnage dues are charged twice; – on raw materials when imported and again on finished products when being exported.

Integrity legislation (page 48)

Immediately introduce integrity legislation requiring

 a declaration of assets by public officials,
     a Code of Conduct for Ministers,
     a new Freedom of Information law,
     amendments to the Defamation laws and
     new constitutional provisions to rationalize the powers of the Prime Minister.

Health issues (page 11)

A new DLP Government will immediately embark on a health promotion campaign to sensitize the public to the dangers of unhealthy lifestyles

ISSUES TO BE DEALT WITH IN FIRST 100 DAYS

Don’t forget the DLP promises to do the following in the first 100 days

 Introduce the Agriculture Protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

 Remove VAT from building materials on houses valued up to $400,000.
     convene a National Consultation on Education

2. Does Minister Boyce have a speech impediment? I could not understand a word of what he was saying. Am I alone on this?

3. I was happy with how our PM articulated himself. As for the media’ s drilling of our PM – what do you expect from traditional media in Bim? I was very happy with our PM’s tongue lashing of the traditional media.

Yes Donald Duck, Esq you sound like a BLP but legitimate questions never the less. You know how it works though, you promise big during elections and take time to implement. With the big mess left by BLP over the years, should we not all expect implementation to take long? After all, is this not “government”? Governments always take long irrespective of party. I will continue to pray for our PM, government and our country.

4. I thought the P.M gave a creditable account of his stewardship tonight. i believe a move towards a public/private sector supermarket type outlet would drive home the message to these retailers.

5. I thought somemention would have been made about the work climate now that we’re seeing a rise in the unemployment ares visa vie the control of illegals in this country.

6. Barbadians who continue to ignore the dire economic global market while pushing paper promises which the DLP and all political parties make are being unrealistic. The reality is that it will get worst before it improves.

This is a time when we all have to come together for the national good. PM Thompson reaffirmed his commitment to socialist ideals he is obviously not a fan of the free market system which maybe the cause of the roller coaster financial market we find ourselves.

7. Wishing In Vain

It was interesting to note the obvious annoyance expressed by VOB’s Stetson Babb who childishly reacted to moderator Richard Cox shutting him down on one occasion. If this is the mentality of our media workers it is no wonder that Prime Minister felt inclined to issue them with a tongue lashing tonight.

It was most noticeable the blatant attempt by Babb to carry out mottley’s wishes but he lacks the skill or ability to carry out a mission like this against a very educated and versed by a person such as the PRIME MINISTER THE HON MR.DAVID THOMPSON, the first salvo delivered by Prime Minister last evening TOTALLY DEFLATED and DESTROYED BABB’S attempt to carry out mottley’s wishes, he was poor as ever.

The Prime Minister on the other hand was calm composed and measured in his address, yet still showing a sense of humour and wit, while addressing the matters of state and importance.

I must also state that the panel lacked or missed the attendance of David Ellis who may have added his type of value to proceedings, when I looked at the panel last evening I could not help but say what a sad shame at the level we have reached.

We can also score yet another point by the action of yet another Prime Minister’s press conference being held, how refreshing it is to see him willing ready and able to deliver on his promise.

This is so unlike the former PM MR OWING SEE THRU ARTHUR who had an aversion to the press and the people of Barbados.

8. You know, I started to watch this “interview” and soon changed and tuned to Animal Planet…

What’s wrong with our peiople? The PM drones on in monotone that puts you to sleep; the whole bunch look like unanimated cartoon characters. The “media” people ask puerile questions…. for a moment I wondered if I watching Sesame Street… but then I realized NO … SS would be more animated, so I came back to reality and cognizant that YES – this is Barbados, the most educated and boring island in the Caribbean…..

9. Marcus Gravvy

“paper promises which the DLP and all political parties make ” – I like your politics (and your morals) – say anything to get elected is just the approach needed to build confidence in the political system.

What are these ‘socialist ideals’ that Thompson is committed to? Did he make these explicit in the run up to the election?

What financial crisis? Yuh mean this engineered attempt to reorganise the financial system at a global level while undermining countries like Venezuela and Iran without having to fire a shot? (Although I glad for that clown Chavez who was so for the poor of the C’bean but now wants OPEC to reduce output so as to keep the price of oil high!!)

It is interesting that socialism is now back in vogue. A few years ago it was a bad word! I’m all for a just and fair society but I fear our personal freedoms will be imperiled by this new “socialism”!

Man, leh we do a Mugabe !

10. Oh dear! David Thompson is now getting his baptism and realising that black politicians dont run Barbados.
    Welcome to the land of black leaders and white rulers Mr. Thompson.
    No amount of public grandstanding will win you sympathy from either the blacks or the whites, so learn from Errol Barrow, Tom Adams and Owen – meet with the white rulers behind close doors and work out your deals and stop with your populist agenda.

11. @Anonymous

Thanks for reminding us about the elephant in the room. We still remember the Erskine Sandiford experience. We agree that PM Thompson should take your advice and manage that group.

12. Help me out folks. I did not listen to anything yesterday. What was the setting that this occurred in? Was Thompson at VOB, did he call into VOB? Are you saying that Stedson Babb “cut” David Thompson? I am confuse. If this is the case, why does David Thompson keep going back to VOB?

13. This is my view of the debate. The Prime Minister did handle himself well and you can see that he researched his speech and possibly could have used the ground swell of the blogs to counteract the media practitioner’s questions. To me, nothing was wrong with Babb’s question since it was one of the fundamental points made in the election run up and based on your introduction David, it would be stupid to use the words ‘tongue lashing’ when it would be compulsory for a response to be made by the Prime Minister. Rash response would show resentment and attitudinal problems. Secondly, I realised that questions asked by Patrick Hoyos was constantly referred to Darcy Boyce who as I realised, just skimmed through without really answering the questions. I feel that Maxine McClean would have been a better debater on this occasion. Thirdly, it looked to me that Mr Cox was just a buffer between the media and the PM and I felt that because he is the head of news at the CBC, it should not automatically make him the moderator and his hushing Babb was totally wrong, since the person to make the first utterance is free to make his point. These interviewers are all academics and not Dyslexics. That would never have happened in the International media.

14. Carson C. Cadogan

I am in complete agreement with the Prime Minister as far price controls are concerned.

The Government has a duty to impose price controls on a range of items. Off the top of my head i can think of three dozen items that must be price controlled in order for Black Consumers to benefit from Government generosity.

The white owners of enterprises in Barbados will never, ever pass on any savings whatsoever, no matter how microscopic, to their Black consumers. They care absolutely nothing about us.

The Democratic Labour Party has to protect us.

15. Are you saying that Stedson Babb “cut” David Thompson? I am confuse. If this is the case, why does David Thompson keep going back to VOB?
    ………………………………………………………
    He was at LLaro Court and he did not ‘cut out’ the PM. He was continuing with a point when Mr Cox told him that Pat Hoyos has not spoken as yet. In International News Conferences, say a reporter from CNN can hog the interview especially if he/she has pertinent questions to asked. That mean if a reporter from another station is not vocal or don’t have anything to ask but just being there to do reactive reporting instead of pro-active reporting.

16. Is it possible to have an objective debate here? All that I am seeing above is party politics and posturing.

The PM identified the major problem we are facing as a nation, i.e. the lack of democracy in a country that professes to be more democratic than any.

This is probably the most important point he made. Furthermore, the construct of democratic mechanisms is very critical; we are going into the realm of social and economic engineering.

When I look at the path travelled by Errol Barrow, it took him 15 years to inch out of colonial mentality and quite frankly much of what he did was turned around by Tom Adams. That is when American culture started to infiltrate heavily on the Barbados population.

We are in the grips of the monopolists because of that same closed door decision-making with white corporate Barbados. We have refused to empower small businesses as a means of fighting inflation and quite frankly, inflation today is about the love of money. Small businesses have no flexibility.

Once upon a time, small business provided the competition to keep prices down: Hill supermarket, Shamrock, Excel, etc. These guys were importing their own stuff. As a matter of fact, when David Seale started dumping his potatoes and onions out to sea rather than sell them to Bajans at a controlled price, immediately the license to import these commodities was shifted to another importer.

This same David Seale became a henchman for the BLP, taking down most of the manufacturing sector; prime example was Gary Husbands. According to my information, in recent times he was the muscle used against Neville Rowe.

The discussion right now should be with small businesses to see how they can be empowered to help fight this monopolistic trend, where all the retailers are dependent on a few importers for their stock; thereby locking in the small businesses.

We talking about free market here so let it be free. Let democracy reign. There is only one missing link and that is the NGOs. Neither D or B, seem willing to embrace the NGOs. This talk about having NGOs present and then handpicking them will take us nowhere and so long as the concerns of NGOs are not properly poised to impact on policy and decision making, we will always have the problems of inflation and poverty. I am ready for those who would say that the NGOs need to pull themselves up because that is a political cop-out.

17. According to my information, in recent times he was the muscle used against Neville Rowe.
    ……………………………………………………….
    ROK, you talking about ‘All that I am seeing above is party politics and posturing’ yet you are dealing with another spin from your armchair. You’ve got it wrong, it was not Sir David Seale in the scenario but the muguffies at BS&T. The elitist supermarket like JB’s, Big B and Super Centre came together to squeeze the two developing supermarkets, Julie’N and Budg Buys from taking over the supermarket industry. Yes, Julie’N was doing a lot of importing but it was the distributive traders that placed a credit restriction on Julie’N, thus, creating a cash flow problem. This behaviour manifested by the said conglomerate buying over almost every distributive outlet to ensure Julie’N would not be able to stock the supermarket. We then saw empty shelves and that was the demise of one of Barbados’ most articulate business men. Sir David along with the son of one of Barbados’ leading and humble businessmen, the late Sam Gibbs ensure that Mr. Rowe survived. So ROK, please don’t start off criticising and leading people to untruths.

18. ROK thanks very much. I can speak volumes about David Seale, and the Bridgetown merchants association. How they control things, how they conspire againts Neville Rowe and Julie N’. Yes Barbados has never been a democracy, and only give appearances to be so. One day all of those Barbadians who continue to see politics as something to be avoided, or as something to profit from individually will come to realize that all things are really political, and that whereas it is now practice at the top, it ought to be very very local, as this is were it hurts the most, and the longest.

…..The NGO’s from the out set do not need to be recognized by government. I have said it before that when things start small, and are built up over time they become a solid force to be reckoned with. This is no different for the NGO’s. Look at the Blogs, they started out small, and was a mere itch to the political class, they slowly became an irritant that needed to be attended too, now they are at the point where questions are being asked, do we have a chance of defeating them or should we embrace them in an effort to gain control over them? The only way the NGO’s will be taken seriously is if they come to the table with strength in numbers, and you build this by given people a reason to be associated with you. Telling them that it is in their interest, which may be very true, and then asking them for a fee or donation will not do it. Get creative, in order to build loyalty you have to be prepared to give value get it. Tangible value i might add. I have use the AARP as a best practice to gaining that loyalty, and i do understand that there is a Barbados version of it, but that shouldn’t matter, for what i understand about them, they are not to my mind really about the political lobbying aspect that the American association is known for.

19. This same David Seale became a henchman for the BLP, taking down most of the manufacturing sector; prime example was Gary Husbands
    ……………………………………………………….
    Again you are misleading the public. Husbands Engineering Works could have been Barbados’ best success story. Here again we see how ‘Big Businesses’ can squeeze a ‘small man’. Husbands was the leading manufacturer in household furniture, gates etc. He was supplying Geddes Grant with his goods and as you know, business people from the elitist group are friends and family and would be relutant in allowing a poor businessman with ideas to supersede them. Anyhow, orders were reduced and Husbands thought that by he being a manufacturer, he would be able to become ‘the retailer’. That was his biggest mistake that we Bajans prefer to go to places like Courts, Geddes Grant, Plantations or Home Centre (I am speaking about years ago) and take out credit or even buy by cash instead of going by Husbands outlet which was on Spry Street to purchase the said furniture. This is the Bajan mentality that keep us subjected to being the underdogs. We must also look at Husbands teaming up with Farrakan who I feel is a trister.

20. The Prime Minister was lucid,clear & concise and handled himself good.I agreed that the probing and hard nose questions from the representatives who call themselves journalists were absent.Many of the questions were straight forward elementary questions that a fifth student at any secondary school in Barbados could have asked.
    The Prime Minister is on the right track if he is prepare,committed & have the guts to carry out his populist apparent socialist programme he will have the people of Barbados behind him and I mean the enlightened blacks.The Prime Minister has the golden opportunity to change the economic & financial landscape of Barbados.If you are pleading & begging the rich businessmen in Barbados to lower their prices and pass on any reduction in prices to the consumer and they refused why not allow your government to come into the market and provide competition.I see no reason why the government cannot open a number of supermarkets.Neither I see no problems why government cannot offer more assistance to village mini-markets and shops.Why not offer soft loans to small black business people who are involved in the distributive trade.I cannot see a problem why government cannot buy a massive building in Bridgetown like Cave Shepherd,refurbish it and rent out spaces in it for black business people in Barbados to operate.Broad Street needs a strong black presence in the business arena.We must not visit Broad Street only as consumers but we must also be the owners of large businesses in Broad Street.
    Prime Minister David Thompson you made Negroman fairly happy not totally happy because I thought those jokers who masquerade as journalists would has quizzed you in an in depth way on your new immigration policy.I was waiting for your response.Prime Minister you touch the surface on that issue and what I heard I was fairly satisfied.

21. SNAKE-in-the-grass

Carson C. Cadogan // October 24, 2008 at 10:29 am – you said “The white owners of enterprises in Barbados will never, ever pass on any savings whatsoever, no matter how microscopic, to their Black consumers.

Question for you…. will the black owners of enterprises in Barbados ever pass on any savings whatsoever, no matter how microscopic, to their White consumers?

It’s obvious a lot of you who write here are still locked in the Middle Ages when everybody knew the earth was flat.

BS&T was/is a public Company with as many black shareholders as there are white. NOW BS&t belongs to Neil & Massey – a Trinidad Company. So what’s all this hoop-la about the whites controlling blacks and other crap?

If you primary school thinkers would open your eyes and see, you’d be able to comment more realistically on what IS.

22. Mr Negroman, you said… “We must not visit Broad Street only as consumers but we must also be the owners of large businesses in Broad Street.”

WHAT’S STOPPING YOU?

While you walk around in your brand name clothes, with a big gold chain around your neck and a boom-box blasting loudly, the ASIANS are buying up all the Broad Street buildings… like DaCosta’s Mall, etc.

You need to be more than just a loud-mouth… you need to put your money.

WHAT’S STOPPING YOU?

23. If you were reading on previous blogs from Negroman you would have realsied that he does not support these places. Many persons for real FOL just have a lotta long talk for trut; We are stopping ourselves!

Barbados is the only place in the world where the minority are in control well well, Barrow wherever you are you must be so shame to see that all the education we have we still working for the minority!

Imagine we go to tertiary level and go and get employed by people who never went to these scools! Stupse we aint easy ya know fah real! These same people that never walk through UWI’s doors are even honored with doctorates and plaques and a whole heap of shite!

Black people because you all are the parent race ya all intend to let people play you for fools for ever. Facts of Life you not lying what is stopping us?

OUR SELVES is the answer!

24. Adrian Hinds // October 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

ROK thanks very much. I can speak volumes about David Seale, and the Bridgetown merchants association.
    ……………………………………………………….
    One thing I must say about you Adrian, is your hype to denegrate anyone who might be to your opinion be a part or make supporting remarks on behalf of the opposition. You are always ready to hammer anyone even if you have it wrong, for instance this case about Neville and Sir David. But as usual, you failed to connect the facts regarding who was in charge of BS&T or who was in charge of the Chamber of Commerce during the demise of Julie’N.

25. Farrakan who I feel is a trickster.

26. SNAKE-in-the-grass nails it on the head. Especially in our modern world it’s all about money.

Money is the root of all kinds of evil. Follow the money and you will find the source.

27. Tell me Why // October 24, 2008 at 1:50 pm

Adrian Hinds // October 24, 2008 at 11:02 am

ROK thanks very much. I can speak volumes about David Seale, and the Bridgetown merchants association.
    ……………………………………………………….
    One thing I must say about you Adrian, is your hype to denegrate anyone who might be to your opinion be a part or make supporting remarks on behalf of the opposition. You are always ready to hammer anyone even if you have it wrong, for instance this case about Neville and Sir David. But as usual, you failed to connect the facts regarding who was in charge of BS&T or who was in charge of the Chamber of Commerce during the demise of Julie’N.
    ===========================

ha ha ha ha You are attempting to constrain the argument to the time that Julie’n actually failed. I wasn’t in Barbados then I left in 1993. I actually worked for Neville, pre Haggett hall, and before that for Glyne Murray nephews who had owned a couple of minimarts. I know of what i speak. David Seale during that time was no sweat bread.

28. No system is perfect. What we know for sure is that we need correction to the current system.

Spread the wealth around, yes Adrian socialism talk but we like :-) .

29. David // October 24, 2008 at 2:36 pm

No system is perfect. What we know for sure is that we need correction to the current system.

Spread the wealth around, yes Adrian socialism talk but we like :-) .
    That is the problem right there, wealth is created, it does not occur in a vacuum. Government does not create it and should not get to spread it. It is not there’s to so do. The type of socialism that we have practice since independence has led to a culture of dependency (mottleyism) that has now morphed into an angry entitlement attitude. This is probably why Owen said “that people want to go to heaven but don’t want to die” a striking statement for someone who claims to be a socialist democrat, and this is probably why Mascoll as DLP LOTO sought to remind the ruling political class then that they are socialist democrats. Indeed it is no wonder to me that Fruendel Stuart could see a return to Conservatism by the BLP. So that now that we are attempting to embark on a strategy of “spreading the opportunity” they are few takers or the takers are taking the opportunity (grant money, generous small business loans etc) and running away with it, spending it frivolously etc. The lack of an entrepreneural spirit is the direct result of unbridle socialism. Indeed our socialism in my mind amongst to welfarism, and as such the gap between the haves and the have not’s gets much wider.

I was on the BLP website last night watching a video clip of their youth forum, and witness a young man “Fabian Brown” of Glass creations, mekking noise for assistance funds. I thought myself that something was wrong with that picture both of the government making the promise and not delivering in a timely manner and also of the young man’s demanding posture.

30. http://blog.bajandream.org/2008/10/24/poverty-and-shelterlessness-an-increasingly-hopeless-scenario-in-barbados/

31. @Adrian

We agree with some of you comment but are we not currently witnessing the Capitalist System of America using Socialist strategies to breath life in their economy?

The reality is that PM Thompson is utilizing defensive and survival economic strategies in the current global turbulence. After all isn’t an imperfect market?

32. If I May be so bold…

I would like to attempt to render some unpracticed poetry. Channeling Laurie Anderson and Leonard Cohen…

[Makes a disgustingly sound... Clears throat...]

Within a tight circle I find myself… Spinning… Spinning…

Where will this all end?

Brilliant lights whip by me. Oh, if only I could be the same! (I suspect I’m expected to covet…) SUVs and Mansions and Jets and Yachts… (Lions and Tigers and Bears. Oh My!)

Spinning… Spinning…

Loud noises might suggest that others have more than I… But most of those making said noises seem to be spinning too…

Off in the distance, there are dull lights… Who seem to be in no particular hurry or motivation to move (or to radiate), and who, frankly, seem very comfortable staying where they are.

Spinning and spinning… I’m all so dizzy!

Will someone please tell me? Where will this all end?

(FWTAIW… LOL. Bows towards anyone who resonates…)

33. What do you difine as socialist strategies?

This is really simple to me. If individual citizens could get along they wouldn’t need government, but we can’t therefore we need do. What we have in our system is a credit squeeze, caused by corporate citizens, banks, not lending to each other, out of fear and mistrust, it makes sense for government to intervene, as they would amongst private citizens. This is what government were created to do. Yet they (government) remain a necessary evil. A evil that is the heart of socialism. I have no interest in having my life at all times overshadowed by such evil. :)

34. @A.Hinds…

With all due respect, you represent here on the BB Blogs the most evil of all of (American) capitalism…

The issue is not that individual citizens can not get along with each other, but rather, that said individual citizens can not trust those that sell financial products to them (despite all the promises)…

Empirically, said individuals cannot trust said sales persons…

In the US there’s this bizarre concept of raw capitalism, which suggests that if anyone can fsck over another, that is their right, because the former deserves to gain, and the latter deserves to be fscked over for being ignorant and stupid.

Interestingly, this posture is the fundamental basis of evolution, which for reasons I will never understand, had been rejected by most of the US citizens as “ungodly”.

(Gods forbid one observe and internalize the empirical!)

IMHO, we live in *very* interesting times.

35. Donald Duck, Esq

Adrian Hinds

You should ask Neville Rowe what he would he doing now if it was not for the help he received from the likes of Sir David Seale.

Try and get your facts straight in future!!

36. Where is it that i said that i am for raw capitalism? Those that know of me before the blogs would tell you that i believe life is about balance. I have use the term “unbriddle socialism” in the same vain that I have used “Unbriddle Capitalism” such extremes cannot be good.

I never suggest that citizen’s inability to get along is THE ISSUE. It was use to draw an analogy for government intervention. It was not the focus or the core of my comment. Neither was my comment made to paint a picture of my agreeing to the 700 billion intervention, in the manner it was done.

37. @A.Hinds… So, with all due respect…

You’ve presented immediately above all the things you’ve not argue…

Would you (please!) present here a positive argument you’re willing to stand behind?

38. Donald Duck, Esq // October 24, 2008 at 4:32 pm

Adrian Hinds

You should ask Neville Rowe what he would he doing now if it was not for the help he received from the likes of Sir David Seale.

Try and get your facts straight in future!!
    Set me straight DD esq. don’t hoard the info. I don’t have a problem with being wrong, once the evidence is produce, I will conceed. But i must tell you, I can never do as i am told without being told or shown why. :)

39. Donald Duck, Esq

Adrian Hinds

Go and ask neville rowe and see what he tells you about the help David Seale and similar traders in Barbados have given him

40. Straight talk

CH:

Oh souperman (not Naniki) when will the screwed ever give up their adoration of their rapist.

41. @A.Hinds… So, with all due respect…

You’ve presented immediately above all the things you’ve not argue…

Would you (please!) present here a positive argument you’re willing to stand behind?
    uh??? why would i have to argue the opposite of the things you accuse me off, that are not true? You accuse me of “representing the most evil of all (american) capitalism”. A statement that makes litte sense to me. You arrive at this conclusion by referencing ANALOGOUS statements i made in an attempt to give context to my view of government intervention in the American liquidity crisis. What is there to argue? What i presented above dealt with your opinion of what i presented as an analogy. You do know what an analogy is right?

What i mean by anology: Similarity in some respects between things that are otherwise dissimilar.

For your sake again : Government is a necessary evil because private citizens cannot get along. Like Corporate citizens cannot get along as is the case in the current American Liquidity crisis, then it make sense for some form of Government intervention.

Intended Analogy is private citizen or corporate citizen, Government intervention can be a good thing.

42. Straight talk // October 24, 2008 at 5:16 pm

CH:

Oh souperman (not Naniki) when will the screwed ever give up their adoration of their rapist.
    poor analogy? How common is it for the violated to so do? :) not straight talk at all.

43. @ST: “Oh souperman (not Naniki) when will the screwed ever give up their adoration of their rapist.”

I laugh with you; And find myself laughing with you near the weaker thinker(s)…

To answer your direct question: I suspect that those being screwed will give up their adoration when they finally decide it is time to stand up… (Which might, sadly, be quite some time from now…)

Just for those trying to keep up… The song I referenced is actually Laurie Anderson’s “Oh Superman”. And the lyrics go “O Superman. O Judge. O Mom and Dad. Mom and Dad. Hi. I’m not home right now. But if you want to leave a message, just start talking at the sound of the tone.

“Oh… Oh… Oh…

44. Tell me why

Tell me about David Seale’s chairmanship of BDB.

Orders get reduced? and mistake to do retail?

That is my problem, we are boxed in. A clever network of friends.

Came to Rowe and Hinds defence? My foot. There is always something in it. Don’t let them play you for a fool; they are all the same clique against us. Have nothing to do with how they fight one another for the spoils that we build up and then let go. When we let go, who profits?

45. @A.Hinds…

So, with respect… Based on your above…

You actually cannot argue any position which you are comfortable standing behind. You present a “position” where you would rather argue complicated and convoluted language which, at the end of the day, actually means nothing…

Thank you for this. Just like so many elected officials. And, with all due respect, we *all* do so note…

46. You know what? With Husbands out of the way; with Neville Rowe out of the way; with Hinds out of the way; Where have all our bright entrepreneurs that made a difference gone?

Paying out Neville Rowe is OK ’cause he gone. Who picking up the spoils? And when the time comes for full ownership to be repatriated, Neville may be an old man or something else will happen; to simply keep him off the scene.

We need to empower our small businessmen and insulate them from the muscle of big business.

47. @A.Hinds…

So, with respect… Based on your above…
    You actually cannot argue any position which you are comfortable standing behind.
    =========================

Are you saying i can’t because it is imossible or because i don’t know how?

You present a “position” where you
    ————————————-
    what is the “position”?

would rather argue complicated and convoluted language which, at the end of the day, actually means nothing…
    ———————————-
    So i can’t argue a “position” but i can argue “complicated and convoluted language”? How does one “argue” language? Or does one argue using convoluted language?

48. @A.Hinds… With all due respect…

Crash and burn…

Thanks for playing…

49. Where have all our bright entrepreneurs that made a difference gone?
    ……………………………………………………….
    We still have some bright entrepreneurs from the past who are still keeping focus and not lavishing off profits like certain former black businesses. One such businessman who has kept his head above water for nuff years is my friend James Husbands, who looks like a millionaire but don’t abuse company monies. We have Trotman from Kingsley Store who is keeping his business on even keel, These businesses have survive due to their owners being involved in the business to look after their investments.

50. Tell me why

You singing a familiar tune. However, I am talking about creating competition in the retail trade. Not just one or two… but you talk to James Husbands recently? Let me tell you a secret, he would debunk your argument about the splashers; that is a red herring. James would tell you, “Splasher or not” the fate is the same. Don’t take my word for it, call him.

51. Tell me why

So it is a sin to lavish off profits? Is that supposed to make one feel guilty? You should go behind the trees and shrubs where the white profiteers live and then tell me why anybody who can lavish off profits should feel guilty? Or is that why they locate themselves out of the sight; in order to avoid feeling guilty?

52. I think the honourable PM invited people with whom he could have a “civilised discussion” with and not a competitive tit for tat. I’m very happy certain media people were left out this time.

53. Chris Halsall // October 24, 2008 at 8:59 pm

@A.Hinds… With all due respect…

Crash and burn…

Thanks for playing

Who crash and burn? You or me? and why are you leaving so early? I still want to play. Enjoy it now because i am not incline to respond to you ever again.

54. So it is a sin to lavish off profits? Is that supposed to make one feel guilty?
    ……………………………………………………….
    I read an earlier blog regarding managing money and you admit that you are not a good at managing money. I have no problem in businessmen enjoying some of the proceeds of business providing it will not affect the financial state of the business. You call that abuse of profits.

By the way it is different of being a splasher and being a reckless spender. James Husbands has pride in himself and keeps himself pleasantly attire.

55. ROK // October 24, 2008 at 9:50 pm

Tell me why

So it is a sin to lavish off profits? Is that supposed to make one feel guilty? You should go behind the trees and shrubs where the white profiteers live and then tell me why anybody who can lavish off profits should feel guilty?
    ROK this part of the problem. some people in the wholesale and or retail business of a certain hue, can spend up too half million dollars on a racing car, and it is ok. A black business man buys BMW or a Mercedeze and he is a splasher.

56. One such businessman who has kept his head above water for nuff years is my friend James Husbands, who looks like a millionaire but don’t abuse company monies.
    ……………………………………………………….
    Adrian/ROK. I cannot understand how you all can misinterpret my language as stated above. I have no problem in a SUCCESSFUL businessman with a COMPANY commanding realistic PROFITS purchasing a BMW or a Rolls Royce once he don’t sink the company by living up to a lavished lifestyle. WE must also be cognisant to the fact that the elitist who might purchase racing vehicles worth thousands might only spend 25% of cost and the other 75% would be furnished by his friends and sponsors with financial backings. This is where you all have things wrong.

57. Negroman Oct 24th 11.17a.m
    Theseare exactly my comments posted on the same date at 3.29 and 3.31 a.m. As long as I see a positive move by the P.M, I’m happy. Unfortunately, some of these journalist seem to be looking for favors from the P.M and therefore afraid to ask serious questions. No-one was brave enough to ask him about his comment on bajan work for bajans first and Ralphie’s idiot response. This would have caused him to declare his hand. I was shouting trough my T.V set begging some-one to raise the question. The P.M himself was skirting around the matter waiting for thew question but no-one had the guts to ask.

58. Where Bush Tea gone?

No one lives more lavish lifestyle than the minority elite. No way black businessmen can top the gasoline wasting megabucks racing cars Bizzy, his boys and cronies has as play toys. And we have not gotten to the yachts and polo. Black entrepeneurs conspicuous lifestyle pales into insignificance

Beleive you me Bernie Weatherhead, the Edgehills,David Seale of course Cow and the rest of them live in a such a grand fashion it would be hard for a desperately poor youth from Silver Hill to imagine.

Tell Me Why will you stop defending the indefensible.

59. Tell me why

I think you misunderstand me. When I spoke of MANAGING money, that does not have anything to do with splurging. It has to do with a relationship with the bank and knowing the system.

For example, I may receive $5000 in cheques on Friday and I need $6000 in stock to start Monday. I have $5000 on the bank. Should I pay for my stock by Cheque on Friday and get it so that I have something to work with next week?

Lo and behold, I write the cheques and they bounce. You see, I now have cash flow problems. I may write ten cheques and if all get to the bank the same time, they sending back all ten because the $5000 in cheques did not clear before my ten cheques reach and I don’t have sufficient money to cover $6000. They are not going to pick and choose which ones to pay, they sending back all.

So check the problems I now have: the bank charging $20 per cheque, so that is $200.00, then the businesses to whom I write the cheques charge me $50 each. In total that is a $700 penalty. I now have to work and turn over about $3000 to get back that $700.

Meanwhile, I have a time factor that is a restraint. Will I do an extra $3000 in sales that week to make up? Impossible, so I going through the floor every week and as far as I am concerned, the bank is creating that three day thing which really works out to five days because in those three days, don’t count the day you made the deposit, then let three days pass (that is now four days) and then I will be able to collect on the fifth day.

Now if I had my cash from my customers rather than cheques, I would not have that problem. Why would the bank make me wait five days when in fact they have my money cleared in 2 days, the most?

So I cannot be timely in business? I have to have something for employees to work with and I cannot afford to be out of stock because then I may lose not only sales but customers.

One thing I have learned about keeping customers is that there must be some guarantee; as my old man used to say when customers come to his shop and “call”, you “must have it!”

60. I at you again you know, TMW, You see that sponsorship thing, I hope you understand that you talking about crumbs off the table. For me, that would be a huge investment and a huge risk; not sure about you.

This is where the inequality comes as well as the boxing in (or out). Now I can’t be a rally driver because the money out of my reach. Secondly, the white boy in the race will get all the sponsorship and I will get none. So even if I go in with my “Jallapy”, the odds against me.

Let me tell you a story. I was in a supermarket and I saw a youngster dismissed by a white man. He only wanted a dollar or something like that. When that white man got to the check-out counter, up comes a mulatto man with a trolley load of goods and said to this same white man, “pay for these goods for me.”

Without batting so much as an eyelid, he held on to the cart and paid for the goods. The truth is, that mulatto man was circling the ailses for some time; trolley full ever since, but only waiting for the right man to come in and pay for the goods for him and know that he is not going to be refused.

You talking about crumbs TMW!

61. @Where Bush Tea gone?

They are some who would say that the group you named responsible for creating the jobs. Certainly the free marketers like Owen Arthur, Kerri Symmonds, Adrian H et al. They must feel that if they creating the wealth why are they not at liberty to have a little recreation via motor sports after all they will tell you that it is a foreign exchange earner as well.

Bush tea comes and goes but like you we do miss his/her comments. We have a special regard for Bt because of the early support which he/her gave BU when we started the blog and did not know what to expect.

62. Thank you, Where Bush Tea gone?, I am glad that there is at least one person here with an understanding of the magnitude of wealth we are dealing with here.

When I was at school, I used to hear that Barbados’ population was 95% black and 5% white and that the whites had 95% of the wealth and blacks only 5%.

So when I start to drive around Barbados and look at the houses and cars black people own and salaries, etc. I ask myself, this is only 5%? Chaaaa!

63. @ David

Well you see, if black people had the wealth they would create even more jobs, ’cause we would want from a finger maid up.

So, the Edghills and David Seales ain’t saying a pang. We would be better off if we sidestep them and spend our money with our own. They make money out of us and go and spend it somewhere else or bank it somewhere else. They are extractors from the economy and do not put back in sufficient. That is why we have so many poor people.

They practice depravity on black people; they give with the left and take with the right. These people are about bleeding this economy and keeping it just where the profits would keep rolling in; so people starve so they could splurge and maintain an elite lifestyle.

64. @ROK

The other view which you should consider is to ask yourself who is responsible for the millions gathering dust in savings in the banking sector? If the answer is Black people then what does it say?

65. The ‘problem’ PM Thompson has … and just about all the other local politicians … is: they have not learned the technique of effective communication.

Referring to the ‘interview’ the other night and I’ll restrict my comments to Thompy… he sits there like a frog on a lilly pad… and droans on in a monotone with sentences composed of hundreds of words… the listener gets bored and the idea expressed gets lost in the sauce.

If you listen to speakers ‘who know,’ (check any speaker of CNN for examples) — you notice they speak in short sentences, maybe of about 30 words, with a brief pause at the end of each sentence. This makes all the difference! And they look animated! And they speak with expression! And they avoid the cliche phrases like “at this point in time” and “against the bacdrop of” etc. etc.

It’s surprising why local politicians simply won’t/don’t take the time to learn how to communicate effectively.

66. Wishing In Vain

It is very amusing that the accused leader of the opposition has been very quiet almost dumb in recent times on the matter of price changes on fuel.

I am sure that the idiot will however wait until there is a price increase to run its mouth once again , where is it logic and sense?

Or does it not operate from a position of logic and sense?

Or are we to assume that it is too preoccupied with outing fires with the former PM Owing See Thru Arthur to have time to expel vacant hot air as it usually does so often?

It will be a very tense time for mottley while she waits to see if Owing returns or stays true to his threat to her to boycott the Annual Conference this weekend, there is more in the mortar than the pestle with these two and the disarray of the blp.

67. Hello ROK, this is your friend for years, you even frequent my home. That’s your homework to find out.

I can also tell you the same story with a Caucasian gentleman. One day I stop by Atlantic Computers to buy a wireless mouse for my computer. When I reached the cashier this gentleman was in front of me and I said with ‘tongue in cheek’, “I better let you pay for this for me”. The gentleman floored me with his response “ring in that item for the gentleman”. I never met the man, I was dressed in a simple T.shirt and three quarter jeans with normal sandals on my feet and the reality is, I AM REAL BLACK. I smiled and gently responded to his generosity with the words “Thank You Sir” That was nearly fifty dollars that I saved, and I can tell you now, it was my last fifty dollars in my pocket. Colour is not the entire issue why Blacks remain marginalised.

68. No one lives more lavish lifestyle than the minority elite. No way black businessmen can top the gasoline wasting megabucks racing cars Bizzy, his boys and cronies has as play toys.
    ……………………………………………………….
    The first thing we as a people (blacks) must do is to manage the little wealth we have and invest accordingly. The best jump start for obtaining wealth is through past-down-the-line family wealth. For you to buy gasoline, you must have a car, for you to have a car you must have money, for you to have money you must have a job or a wealthy family, unless you are in the illegal trade. So it is totally inaccurate to compare a yout from Silver Hill with the financial moguls like the Williams, Weatherhead et al, unless you want to sell the car so that you might gasoline.

We must also look at the spreading of wealth. These same wealthy race car owners utilise black mechanics, black helpers, black bodywork men et al. When we have race meets, gas station owners, small shops, rent-a-car agencies, beers, ice manufacturers, bakeries and I can go on and on will benefit from the same elitist with a race car. We must have an open mind when dealing with who really have the money. Spending it will have a spin-off effect for the economy. Hoarding it in the banks will surpress the same economy. Pick one ROK and “WBTg”.

69. Just left the BLP conference. It is pathetic. Really. Is this what my party has come to? That when the roll call was done, no one was there to be counted?

Come on, don’t let Mia destroy this party. Let us claim it back in the name of the Rt. Hon. Owen Seymour Arthur M.P. and bring him back to our leadership.

This is a very sad day. Very sad. My party is dying.

70. Wishing In Vain

Wuh?
    The biting question for mottley must be will Owing See Thru Arthur show up?

71. Wuh? // October 25, 2008 at 1:45 pm

Just left the BLP conference. It is pathetic. Really. Is this what my party has come to? That when the roll call was done, no one was there to be counted?
    ………………………………………………………
    I realised you turned up at the wrong venue. I saw the CBC news and I saw many people in attendance. Your agenda failed.

72. Wishing In Vain

Tell me Why
    You appear to be scared to mention mottley and See Thru in the same sentence, why is this?

Or more importance is was See Thru there in person in live and living colour????

I say not, and should you be very concerned by this happening?

I say most certainly, you have more issues than we have time to speak to them, my, my, my.

73. The vast majority of voters in Barbados must STOP electing DLP and BLP Governments in this country!!! For, voting DLP and BLP is a big waste of time in this country. Thus, many thousands of people have already realized that at the last election in this country the DLP deliberately lied to the people of this country about how – if it were to have gone on to win the government – it was going to go and reduce the cost of living. But after 9 months of having won the government, this already rudderless joke DLP, far from doing anything to reduce the cost of living, the DLP leader got on television last Thursday night and prattled about bringing in competition from outside; about once again reducing the cost of diesel and gasoline to consumers in Barbados, after his having in April stupidly raised in the first place; about price controls and other recitations of the same damned things – relative to the cost of living – that he has been muchly talking about ever since Jan. 15, 2008.

Well, the Prime Minister was so poor, then, in his grasp of the fundamental issues related to those strategies that are necessary to be implemented by the state/private sector to reduce the cost of living and doing business in Barbados, that hundreds of persons told us later on that after watching the coverage for a little while, they either dropped off to sleep, turned off the television, or simply went to other channels or to doing other things in their homes.

But, again, gone are the days when these old traditional parties made much sense. Now, check this lousy stupid BLP leadership!! Having allowed, and in some instances, caused, the cost of living in Barbados to skyrocket during esp. its last term of office, and – at that same time – to help pulverize the incomes of esp. the poor and vulnerable in the country, this wretched BLP can now shamelessly be seen to be looking for issues to raise at its present Annual Conference at this weekend wherefore the issue of the cost of living will be among other topics addressed. Could any one imagine the large amount of hypocrisy, insincerity, and sheer madness that will swamp Queen’s College??

And, gone are the days – between the early 60s and late 80s – when the DLP and the BLP were thought to be the only parties capable of educating and mobilizing a great number of people in Barbados. But, thank goodness for our party’s use of modern and, sometimes, unconventional means of communicating and interrelating with so many people in Barbados, that thousands of the masses and middle classes are still able to get very clear, precise and important messages from the PDC concerning the next phase of development for Barbados, and concerning the fact that the years of electing DLP and BLP Governments are fast running out. So, down with the DLP and the BLP!!

PDC

74. TMW

I give up on you. You got to be a white man. Manage what you don’t have? You want to keep me busy counting pennies while you count the Grantleys?

75. @A.Hinds: “…because i am not incline to respond to you ever again.”

Please forgive me… I’m a bit confused…

Is this a threat?

Or a promise?

76. David // October 25, 2008 at 10:11 am

@Where Bush Tea gone?

They are some who would say that the group you named responsible for creating the jobs. Certainly the free marketers like Owen Arthur, Kerri Symmonds, Adrian H et al. They must feel that if they creating the wealth why are they not at liberty to have a little recreation via motor sports after all they will tell you that it is a foreign exchange earner as well.

Mia yesterday reminded us that Barbados does not practice free market economics. Do you want to prove her wrong?

A person owning a for profit business, does have the rigth to spend his/her money as he sees fit. Does he not? and as such this has nothing to do with free markets or other typed of markets.

77. I give up on you. You got to be a white man. Manage what you don’t have?
    ……………………………………………………….
    ROK, don’t give up on a poor ‘black’ man. Yes, I did managed what I don’t have (sorry ‘owned”)but I can assure you that I am a black man who went to St. Giles and then to Parkinson.

78. TMW

you can’t manage what you don’t have, you does make-do. You may be contented to make-do but if somebody else want to reach for the stars, nothing should be in thier way.

We have too much resources in Barbados for small businesses to be failing. It is just a question of tolerance on one hand, and on the other, not stacking the odds against success.

As a poor black man, you will find out that you will work 10 times as hard as any white man during your lifetime and don’t even see one-twentieth of the reward he gets. So we have to stop fooling ourselves. We only have what to get-by with. We are on a timetable reek with changing priorities, missed opportunities and untimely death (if you don’t be careful).

79. ROK, don’t give up on a poor ‘black’ man. Yes, I did managed what I don’t have (sorry ‘owned”)
    ……………………………………………………….
    ROK, you missed my jargon. I did managed various businesses for wealthy business people. However, based on limited wealth, I ensured that I live within my means and allowed my children to have an education. I saved by not smoking, drinking or partying. Plus, I am still waiting to have my honeymoon after 26 years. Probably, I could be a recipient for Social Care.

80. Pingback: The Rise And Fall Of Traditional Journalism « Barbados Underground

81. TMW

You just cheap as … I feel you going to take that to your grave. That poor woman… You don’t smoke, you don’t drink, you does eat?

Man, give the woman the honeymoon, it may add a few more good years to your life.

82. Man, give the woman the honeymoon, it may add a few more good years to your life.
    ……………………………………………………….
    ROK, you want to lemme five Grantleys. That would be good for a artificial honeymoon. My honeymoon is everyday with my wife by my side. Probably, that’s why I am still happily married. You can try it before it is too late.

83. TMW

I would not where to start so count yourself lucky.

84. DESMOND Eugene MILLER

Thompson , why does he have to have Darcy Boyce by his side all the time. I am a 60 year old barbadian, and never once have seen a prime minister having a talk with the nation with someone there holding his hand. WHAT NONSENSE IS THIS. If you fit to run you fit to hold the heat . If you take a look at the portfolios, thompson and boyce they are identical no wonder thompson can travel all over the world to these “GALAS” aka parties especially in NY. Why are the poor people in Barbados suffering paying 2 men doing the same job. Why are the people of Barbados paying Hartley Henry and not our party the DLP?? I always put Barbados first and then party.

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s