GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY, INC.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Bridgetown, Barbados
Wednesday, October 29, 2008
Telephone: (246) 426-3610
Email: hroberts@graemehall.com
Backup Letters, Art and Archives: www.graemehall.com/press.htm
Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados to Close
[Vancouver, Canada] Environmental philanthropist Peter Allard announced that the 35-acre Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in Barbados will close on December 15, 2008.
Saying that “no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”
“I thank the the citizens of Barbados who came to the Sanctuary to visit, and thank those who signed the petition with the Friends of Graeme Hall for a National Park,” said Allard. “I believe the Sanctuary would not have been possible without the support of the many eco-visitors, school children and the hard-working employees who put their heart and soul into making the Sanctuary a first class visitor experience.”
Allard went on to say that the Sanctuary would not exist if it had not been for special individuals who helped make it happen such as Dame Billie Miller and her kind and capable Permanent Secretary, the late Brie St. John, Dr. Lorna Inniss, Dr. Trevor Carmichael, Dr. Karl Watson and many, many others.
Approximately 85 employees and contractors will be negatively affected by the closing. It is expected that tour companies, taxis and local businesses will lose bookings as well.
In 2007, over 6,000 Barbadians signed a Friends of Graeme Hall petition in favor of preserving the approximately 240 acre green area at Graeme Hall as a National Park. As the largest green space on the South Coast between the Airport and Bridgetown, the proposed National Park would include the designated 91-acre RAMSAR wetland approved under the international Convention on Wetlands, the 35-acre Sanctuary, and recreational lands.
Saying that that the future of the Sanctuary and the National Park is in the hands of the people of Barbados, Allard believes that the Friends of Graeme Hall and the citizens of Barbados must decide what their priorities are.
“We have great affection and regard for the people of Barbados, and the Sanctuary effort has always been a philanthropic mission. This has been an incredibly painful and saddening decision, but ultimately it is not for us to initiate or set national goals and long term legacies for the nation.”
More information about the Sanctuary and the proposed Graeme Hall National Park can be found at www.graemehall.com/press.htm and www.graemehallnationalpark.org .

212 responses so far ↓
X // October 29, 2008 at 11:32 AM
a very sad day indeed
Tell me Why // October 29, 2008 at 1:00 PM
As I stated earlier, this is the only controlled wetland in the island and should be preserved for our future generations. We also have the only forestation in the island located in Turners Hall Woods, St. Andrew which was given to Barbadians by Mr. Turner after his death with the clear understanding that it should not be destroyed. These special environmental treasures must be preserved now without delay. Our governments love to procrastinate, or maybe, just waiting for the debates slip under the carpet before having a change of used.
Knight of the Long Knives // October 29, 2008 at 1:09 PM
I have been there numerous times and its beautiful. The government needs to step in and take over this property.
Politically Incorrect // October 29, 2008 at 2:11 PM
Who is surprised?
The Government what?
An unwanted caucasian tried to do something positive for the environment of Barbados.
What was he met with constant villification, rejection and disdain.
Keep it up Bim!
frances brennan // October 29, 2008 at 2:19 PM
This cannot happen! The last greenspace between the airport and Bridgetown, a unique environment. Can nothing be done? Is it too late?
Citizen // October 29, 2008 at 3:59 PM
Mr Prime Minister and company, what are you waiting for?
DLP Manifesto 2008 states on page 42 “The Democratic Labour Party has a philosophical and almost religious obligation to preserve Barbados in its natural state.” and on page 43 “Give maximum support to all organizations committed to environmental preservation.”
Where is this on Graeme Hall? What is the problem? What are you waiting for? When will you act?
Straight talk // October 29, 2008 at 4:17 PM
Adrian L:
What is your authority’s authorative view on this announcement?
Given the recent politically correct promotion of environmental tourism some strategy must have been formulated.
Delay will equal disaster for Graham Hall, we need a policy statement now.
The scout // October 29, 2008 at 4:55 PM
It would be a national shame if Greame Hall is closed. I loked going there and sit on the bench among the manbgrove trees. So relaxing. We bajans can never appreciate the natural beauty this country has
David // October 29, 2008 at 4:56 PM
Question does the closure mean this green spot will disappear?
To what extent has this matter been override by politics?
How can Allard allegedly be involved in a law suit naming key and prominent people as defendants and not expect a hostile climate to do business?
Red Lake Lassie // October 29, 2008 at 5:11 PM
Allard isn’t “doing business”. He offered to give the wetlands to Barbados if the government would only declare a National Park. He kknows if he up and give it the government will sell it for condos.
He wanted nothing in return. The offer was made in writing and Owen Arthur didn’t answer. What a shame. What a lesson for others who think they can up and give something to Barbados without greasing some palms.
PiedPiper // October 29, 2008 at 5:15 PM
When you think that Mr. Allard has already incurred the major expense of making Graeme Hall Sanctuary what it is today and now it is just a matter of operating costs and maintenance, one would think that the Barbados Government would welcome the opportunity to have this as a focal point of tourism. However, I do think that Mr. Allard has made the only decision he could by cutting his losses and putting the ball squarely in government’s court to either continue on by finding the funding to maintain Graeme Hall Sanctuary or sell out like previous administrations to those who would put up more condos or gated communities.
It is a sad day indeed when someone who has devoted so much of his time and money to preserve what little is left of a natural Barbados.
The scout // October 29, 2008 at 5:16 PM
I wonder what will happen to those beautiful birds in the sanctuary
Anonymous // October 29, 2008 at 6:42 PM
If it’s Canada he come from, he should go back there and fight de Canadian government to give back de Indians de land dat de white people tief.
Shupes!
This sounds like a poor attempt to twist de government’s arms by appealing to emotions.
Whatever!
No wonder Owen aint tek he on!
There’s no free lunch.
Philanthropist my ass. He getting tax write offs, the US and Canadian economies nosediving and he looking for other loopholes.
Stop being gullible!
Anonymous // October 29, 2008 at 6:43 PM
De swamp aint goin no where. It was there since de Arawaks…
Shupes!
PiedPiper // October 29, 2008 at 7:47 PM
“No Free Lunch”? It would seem to me that Barbados got the free lunch, in fact, the lunch and dinner buffet with drinks.
Red Lake Lassie // October 29, 2008 at 10:24 PM
I think that Anonymous is giving some excellent advice to any foreign investors or charities.
Excellent, excellent advice.
If I were a foreign charity, I would stay clear of Barbados because people like anonymous are obviously in the majority at least in government.
Excellent advice, anonymous.
Anonymous // October 29, 2008 at 11:45 PM
We are always ready to applaud de Great White Savior who comes to the rescue.
Negroman, weigh in on dis doo!
De white people is who destroyed de blasted environment, wrecked de island, deforested de place and plant sugar cane, kill out de frigging arawaks; now coming back to save Graeme Hall swamp.
Shupes
Ravish South Africa! Duh went in dere and made blacks second class citizens under an apartheid system. Turn round and abolish de same apartheid and everybody feel dem is heroes.
So de perpetrator has a change in heart and all of a sudden he’s a hero?
400 years of slavery den a handful o so-called abolitionists in de likes o Wiberforce decide one morning, “we aint doing dis no mo, leh we abolish dis and set de negroes free.” And we turn round and call de perpetrators heroes.
WTF!
Tell Peter Allard to go and fight de destruction of de West Coast and all de swamps down dey dat disappearing!
Shupes.
Or just get a blasted plane and go back where de hell he come from. Or better yet, dont get on a plane because that leaves a big enviro-footprint.
WALK BACK TO CANADA!
Philanthropist my ass!
Shupes!
Anonymous // October 29, 2008 at 11:56 PM
@ Red Lake Lassie
“If I were a foreign charity, I would stay clear of Barbados”
We could do wid out wunna friggin charities and tied foreign direct investment.
Who de hell is Peter Allard to come bout hey telling de government wha to do?
You sick!
Nobody aint want wunna friggin charity!
You drunk or wha!
And wha foreign investment you talking bout?
Dem nasty vulgar nouveau riche dat ravishing de West Coast and hiring black bajans as maids and gardeners?
Well you and all like you could keep dah kinda foreign investment and stuff it where de monkey stuff de nuts.
Tell Peter Allard go and give he money to Greenpeace and stop killing whales and leff de blasted place.
He and his advice are not welcome!
Keep yuh damn charity!
passin thru // October 30, 2008 at 12:20 AM
RLL, you are correct about anonymous. Any foreign investors, philanthropists or white tourists would do well to stay away from a welcome like anonymous gives.
Yes, anonymous gives excellent advice indeed, but it is the former and current governments who gave actions to the words of anonymous.
The People's Democratic Congress // October 30, 2008 at 1:37 AM
Contrary to the impression that is being given by a poster above that these already stumbling and falling DLP leaderships might have had the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary in their minds when they stated on pg 42, of their 2008 Election Manifesto, this: ” On a larger canvas, the land use policies of the DLP, and the need to save agriculture, are part of the commitment to preserve the natural environment. The Democratic Labour Party has a philosophical and almost religious obligation to preserve Barbados in its natural state”. And, on pg 43, this bit: “That a DLP Government will ……give maximum support to all organizations committed to environmental preservation”; we in PDC somehow outrightly fail still to see how these fimbling fumbling leaderships had been thinking about this Sanctuary and the swamp.
There is absolutely NO WAY, NO WAY AT ALL that these people had meant the beautiful and exhilarating Graeme Hall Sanctuary – which some of our members had the occasion to visit some time in 2007, and at the same time to have signed the petition supporting the preservation of the Graeme Hall Swamp as a natural heritage site, and supporting the idea of the siting of a national park in the surrounding areas.
But, knowing full well about the fairly successful bid of many residents and groups in the Graeme Hall Park and surrounding areas to protect and preserve these wetlands, the animal habitats therein, and the immediate environs from the potential destructive behaviour of foreign investors who wanted some time ago to build a water park in Graeme Hall, and the big national debate in 2006 that involved that failed controversial water park plan, this NOT- so-environmentally conscious DLP REFUSED STILL to put in its 2008 Election Manifesto,( 1), a position that would have clearly outlined its unqualified support for the preservation of the Graeme Hall Swamp, and for the establishment of a national park for the relevant areas, and, (2), a position, though, that would have clearly clearly indicated its total opposition to the building by any person or group of persons of hotels, condos, villas, and of residential and leisure facilities that would degradate and despoil that natural wonderful idyllic part of Barbados. For these leaderships silence in that regard might have been truly golden!!
However, though, it would be a tradegy of exceedingly great national proportions (esp for thousands of Barbadian nature lovers and eco-tourists alike) if Mr. Peter Allard were to indeed close the Graeme Hall Sanctuary (the business) in December 2008, having substantially invested in the upgrading and redevelopment of the land and water scapes and redefining them into a perfect example of how humankind and nature can co-exist harmoniously, and then later for it to be seen that it and/or the Swamp and the environs would have had to be sold, or even leased for that matter, to some person or persons most unworthy and unfit to preserve esp. the swamp and the natural habitats in the state that generations of people in Barbados would have properly come to know them as.
Pure shame on the former BLP Government and this present DLP Government for doing ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to help make esp. these wetlands and habitats – among the last remaining regions of truly amazing ecological biodiversity and richness in Barbados – an undoubted set of Barbadian natural heritage sites!! Shame on top of shame for these present and former governmental pretenders!!
PDC
Citizen // October 30, 2008 at 2:41 AM
@ PDC
I know that the DLP manifesto statements on p42&43 does not imply in any way anything to do with Graeme Hall. I merely, posted it to show readers how silly “philosophical and almost religious obligation” sounds in relation to environmental matters including Graeme Hall and the promise to work with “organizations committed to environmental preservation” as not being fulfilled in this context and their performance thus far.
In my opinion, their pages on the environment were greatly lacking in any plan and there was no specific commitments. Even so, in general they did try to sound like they cared. That is what I wanted to expose. I am extremely disappointed so far with their efforts in this area inclusive of Graeme Hall. I want to know what they are waiting for to be really serious.
ru4real // October 30, 2008 at 4:46 AM
What a backward thinking hateful post from anonymous.
Surprised anyone wants to come here at all with the attitude this shows,what a pity that Graham Hall was not donated and advocated by Tiger Woods but them he’s really into golf clubs isn’t he and they are nice green spaces where the public can go and enjoy nature too……….
And Barbados ain’t that exclusive that it can afford to lose a definite tourist draw like Grahame Hall.
Even tourists can pale of beaches and eating over priced mediocre food served by surly waiters.
The birds at least are all color blind.
BWWR // October 30, 2008 at 5:08 AM
Anonymous, I agree. Peter Allard only espoused Graeme Hall as a way of creating a perceived debt so he could do what the hell he wanted in Barbados. Creating a nature reserve gave him a very potent power base. When government told him to go to hell over his other projects (or intended projects like Kingsland) he used the Graeme Hall Nature Reserve as blackmail and a devisive element to focus negative international censure on Barbados. He FAILED!!! We did not cave in to his outreageous demands. We made it clear that we did not ask for his philanthropy and in any case philanthropy does not have a price tag, particuarly the annexation of a country and its laws to further someone’s economic ends.
So, if a few indigeneous turtles and a lot of imported flamingos are the sacrifice we must make to ensure that the sacrifice our forefathers made for our freedom and advancement are preserved, then, with regret, goodbye turtles, flamingoes and everything else that stands in the way of the well-being of our people. And a few foreign nature reserve activists who see the nature reserve being more important than our basic freedoms can go to hell.
If Mr Allard had simply come to us in the TRUE philanthropic spirit that gives and expects no monetary return (which is what he purported to do) I would now truly regret his departure. As he has stamped his petulant little foot, tried to subvert our laws and hold us up to international ridicule through his two blogs, Keltruth and BFP, I say GOOD RIDDANCE!!!
Personally, I think Almighty Allard is not so omnipotent and omniscient as he thought and it is my view (for which I do have some reason) that his overseas investments have backfired on him in this time of credit crunch. But of course, phoney that he is, instead of admitting this and with it his own error, he will seek to place it at the feet of the government and people of Barbados.
Look at this self-serving rubbish statement: “No one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,” Allard despaired that to preserve the environmental heritage at Graeme Hall for future generations of Barbadians would require “a government-led consciousness.”
Nonsense. If you are a philanthropist, you do no see such a project in finite terms after which government will take over. If you want government to take over, you sign a prior agreement with it. But Allard didn’t do any such thing. He invested in the hopes of annexing the entire country – for a mere US$12 million.
Barbados and its elected government can now decide what it wants to do respecting Graeme Hall. Some of us will be satisfied, and some will not. But in the end, it will be our decision made by our elected government for the good of the majority, not a very minute minority that falls into two categories: (a) those left without their accustomed Allard finances and (b) those who see turtles and imported flamingoes as more important than the Bajan people and their welfare.
Micro Mock Engineer // October 30, 2008 at 6:00 AM
I recall reading that the Sanctuary was put up for sale by Mr. Allard in mid-2007. Is it still for sale?
If he doesn’t want to own and maintain the property because it is costing him too much money to do so, then it is his prerogative to sell it. If he wants to donate it to Government, that is also his prerogative. I am not sure that the short time he has owned the property constitutes “a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation” as he put it, and find his general approach on this matter to be condescending and paternalistic. Personally, I think the purest expression of philanthropy is anonymous giving… Corollary: the purest form of journalism is anonymous blogging :-)
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 6:43 AM
@ BWWR
You are obviously a very decent and erudite person. I agree with you totally but I cant put it in dem fancy words.
All I can say is that Mr. Allard is very transparent and one nasty individual and some of us are too blind to see.
Dem some idiot above trying to make a link to tourism.
I dont understand why for the likes o me people dont understand dat tourism is a frigging product dat we selling. De chinese does sell hairpins and we does sell sand. FULL STOP.
It aint got one shite to do wid liking white people! Shupes.
Why white people feel dat black people should like dem? Now pray tell me! Somebody please explain to me why dem would be so arrogant to feel that we have to like dem!
Shupes!
David // October 30, 2008 at 6:57 AM
Adrian Loveridge submitted his position on the prospect of the Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary closing. This whole affair reeks of political shenanigans but will we ever know?
ru4real // October 30, 2008 at 6:57 AM
I dont understand why for the likes o me people dont understand dat tourism is a frigging product dat we selling. De chinese does sell hairpins and we does sell sand. FULL STOP.
—————————————-
Great put this out and you will have no further worries about tourism.
Tourists will take their money to a place that at least makes a pretense of not hating them.
They will say keep your coconuts and overcrowded little sand spots and your rip off restaurants.
Cuba here we come.
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 7:51 AM
ru4real // October 30, 2008 at 6:57 am
—————————————-
Great put this out and you will have no further worries about tourism.
Tourists will take their money to a place that at least makes a pretense of not hating them.
They will say keep your coconuts and overcrowded little sand spots and your rip off restaurants.
Cuba here we come.
———————————————————————
Wow…..ru4real???
If this is what they will say…then perhaps this is what they are already thinking…..therefore if they want to go to a pretensive alternative…then good for them!!
At least we KNOW they pretend to like us!!
Go on Anon…continue to say what a lot are truly thinking but dont have the balls to say it.
Website
BWWR // October 30, 2008 at 7:55 AM
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 6:43 am
Correct you are. 99.9% of the tourists who grace our shores couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. 99.9% of the off-shore investment sector couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. 99.9% of the Bajans in Barbados couldn’t give a damn bout Graeme Hall. They all have more pressing concerns like feeding, educating and bettering the lot in life of their children and grandchildren and those they love. That does not include prejudicing the education, food and well-being of those people on the very slight off chance that .0009% of them may think that a turtle is more important.
Truth be told, the supporters of Graeme Hall do NOT have their backs to the wall – they can afford to be soft-hearted about turtles. But they must NOT be allowed to do this at the expense of the well-being and futures of our people and of our country. If it is to the benefit of our country and people, then drain the damned swamp and all the “swampies” can go to Florida and buy a nice swamp from the real estate crooks that have been selling them there for generations – they will welcome you as it will probably be the first time they will not have to resort to misrepresentation and fraud to make a sale.
Anonymous, you are an intellegent person. And I do not believe that anyone who cuts to the heart of a matter like you have is not just as capable and educated – and articulate – as I am.
I do want to say to you and some of us, black though we are undoubtedly are, do have some white blood and have loved and been loved by our white forebears. Therefore, we must not be disrespectful to them – that would be to disrespect ourselves. I think (but you need to confirm this for me) that you are talking about Bajans (of whatever hue) as opposed to white visitors from overseas who come into Barbados to take over our land. That is different.
Many years ago, I went to see a movie starring a man whom I might almost have left my late husband for. Sidney Poitier. It was called ‘Guess Who’s Coming to Dinner’. It re-defined my view of myself as a black woman. Mr Poitier, speaking to his screen father, said (words to the effect that) “The problem with you, Dad, is thast you see yourself as a black man. I see myself as a man.” Well, I see myself as a woman who just happens to be black and my blackness has never been allowed to hold me back anywhere, regardless of any stereotypical preconceptions people may have had about me upon first meeting. They soon discovered their error and I (with my prejudices and preconceptions) also had to revise my opinions of them.
This does not detract from your point that there are many people who come to Barbados and feel superior to us and act superior to us. This is indicative of massive insecurity on their part. They see an opportunity to become something they cannot be in their own countries, poor souls. They are to be pitied, not allowed to invest us with a similar complex.
You raise a point about our land being sold to foreigners. You are correct and it is worrying for those of us with children and grandchildren and more. I have looked at every alternative I can think of, but have failed to find a single one that would not have a substantially more detrimental effect on our country. So, what to do? Regrettably, I think we have to just sit tight and wait and see. This world-wide recession I think will show us a way forward. It is going to shake a lot of things up. What are your views on this, Anonymous.
Micro Mock Engineer // October 30, 2008 at 6:00 am. I cannot believe that I am actually (f0r once) 100% in agreement with you. Just goes to show you that wonders will never cease. Thank God.
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 8:14 AM
@ David
Pls correct the spelling of “shenanigan”
BWWR // October 30, 2008 at 8:17 AM
Let us examine Mr Adrian Loveridge’s letter.
Mr Loveridge has an agenda. I would think it is financial. With Peter Allard no long a neighbour of his at Chancery Lane and without Peter Allard’s “interest” in the local flora and fauna of Long Beach and Mr Loveridge’s surfing guests, finances may not be so good for Peach and Quiet.
In a short space of time, Mr Loveridge, from humble beginnings of the indeterminate English variety from which he was never likely to arise in England, has achieved the pinacle of his life, the Barbados Tourism Authority. He therefore periodically allows us Bajans to know that he will present our views to the Minister when next they meet, oblivious to the fact that some of us may have changed that minister’s diapers and need only pick up the telephone to be connected to the minister. But you see Mr Loveridge is in the big time with a minister, something he could never boast of home in England. Poor fellow. Actually, no. Pompous, jumped-up jackass is more like it.
Eco tourism. Nice phrase and most people couldn’t give a damn. They come to Barbados for sand, sea and the other word starting with S and to get drunk on good Barbados rum and Banks Beer.
So, if Mr Loveridge is so interested in advancing Barbados’ share of the tourist market, why is he so silent on the other areas of interest f his friend Peter Allard, like the pink pound/rainbow dollar? This is a FAR larger and more lucrative market than eco-tourism.
I agree completely that Barbados must acquire Graeme Hall. However, there seems to me a very good chance that it may be able to do so by way of legal costs orders issued against Peter Allard and Nelson Barbados. So why should we pay Almighty Allard for what we can have by court order in satisfaction of our expenses over Allard/Knox/Nelson’s case in Canada? Please!!!!!
ru4real // October 30, 2008 at 8:46 AM
Eco tourism. Nice phrase and most people couldn’t give a damn. They come to Barbados for sand, sea and the other word starting with S and to get drunk on good Barbados rum and Banks Beer.
———————————————–
And they go to many other places for that ,that are nearer/cheaper and less resentful.
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 9:24 AM
thank God that nasty place is closing
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 11:56 AM
@ ru4real
Please name dese places that are less resentful?
And state less resentful to whom?
Name dem!
David // October 30, 2008 at 1:13 PM
We heard Adrian Loveridge taking the fight on behalf of GHNS. Based on feedback there seems to be public support for government to get involved.
Negroman // October 30, 2008 at 4:02 PM
Anonymous black people especially those from Barbados believe that white people are the saviors of the world and we must depend on those bastards for our economic & finacial survival.Anonymous you are right those white bastards contaminated,destroyed,wreck havoc and are still wrecking havoc where ever they go believe they are making a contribution to us by visiting here as tourist,buying up our lands and making some idiots like many of our politicians believe that they have our interest at heart.
I agreed that those scums come to these island and in little time are our masters and have controlling power in these lands.Peter Allard,Adrian Loveridge & the rat catcher & mango seller from Pakistan are cases in point.We do not need your investments for our nation to prosper.Neither do we need to continue to wait for the crumbs to drop from massa’s table from North America,Canada,or Europe. to survive.
Our visionless leaders in the Caribbean from Bustamante in Jamaica Errol Barrow in Barbados,Eric Williams in Trinidad,Forbes Burnham in Guyana to our present day jokers never really had or have any real developmental plans for us a a region that is predominately black.Our leaders are of the view that the world only consist of North America,Canada & Europe all practically barren lands with little natural resources who depend on the exploitation of the other regions of the world for their survival.That is why we will have white tourist with their racist attitude,white business people like Adrian Loveridge,Peter Allard & the rest to feel and behave like kings in these regions and to give our leaders & our people thr impression that we cannot survive with out them when it is the other way around.The white race which is a parasitical race has this whole world in turmoil.The havoc unleashed on this world is being felt in all regions of the world.
I hope this government will not put our hard earned black people money in bailing out Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary.Let the place close or the government could take it over and give it to the people of Barbados as a national park.
Do not put Negroman taxes into bailing out any stinking white man business.
David Thompson do not repeat what that clown our last Prime Minister Owen Drunking Arthur did with our money.That is refurbihed white people hotels in the Gem Project and then returned those hotels to them.
JC // October 30, 2008 at 6:07 PM
Negroman and Anon wannah is something else fah trut though!
MichiganTourist // October 30, 2008 at 6:21 PM
Thank you to anonymous and the other truth speakers about how Barbados people feel about white tourists.
Thank you very much. Nice to see some honesty and here’s some for you.
I will honestly take my family to another vacation destination.
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 6:43 PM
@ Michigan Tourist
You dont even have to leave the states.
You should take your family to Jena, Louisiana or New Orleans or South Central LA.
Hey, why not visit Brooklyn.
Or go to the US Virgin Islands.
We selling you a product we are not obliged to love you!
You really think because you buy Japanese cars dat they forgot de horrors of Hiroshima?
Maybe you should take your family on vacation to Japan and ask an honest Japanese what they’re saying about you when they bow their heads.
Wunna does mek me real sick. Always playing victim!
Shupes!
Better, yet, take your family to Iraq. That another 400 years of hatred wunna just created.
Get a life and stay in Michigan let the cold air off de lakes freeze your sick ass!
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 6:50 PM
@ Negroman
Michigan Tourist would have us believe that when dem get on a plane and visit de islands dat dem does leff duh prejudices behind or leff dem packed in de suitcase.
There are 1000 of horror stories that black employees in the Caribbean have to endure from dese racists. Dont talk bout Mustique! Oh lord!
So to Michigan tourist, you and your family can go where you are welcome. Barbados is making 10 cents out of every dollar anyways. To hell wid you and yuh ten cents.
Between de white owned airline and de white owned hotels mekking de most o de money.
Who de hell needs your 10 cents. We could eat flying fish, plant breadfruit and vegetables in de backyard and live for 100 years.
Keep your pathetic way of life and your racist culture at home!
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 7:10 PM
Pot and Kettle
Nostradamus // October 30, 2008 at 7:38 PM
@Micro Mock Engimeer
The release does not say that Allard owned the property for a generation but that“no one individual can stand longer than a generation in the wilderness of environmental preservation,”
What happens when he dies? Will the heirs to his estate be interested in the Sanctuary? If the people and government of Barbados do not care what happens to the wetland, which is approximately owned half by Allard and half by Government, why should his heirs?
Donate it to Government? Go and take a look at the garbage and lack of any management on the government side? According to recent press reports the sluice gate has not worked for 3 years? Is that what is in store for the Sanctuary if it was “given” to Government?
Micro Mock Engineer // October 30, 2008 at 8:26 PM
Monsieur de Gassonet, mon vieil ami… si seulement vous pourriez voir le présent, aussi bien que vous voyez le futur :-)
God Help Barbados // October 30, 2008 at 8:39 PM
I wonder if some of you realize what an incredible disservice you have done to Barbados? This is the internet, where anyone interested in Barbados has access and that includes international travel agencies, travel blogs, TripAdvisor and also ordinary citizens who may be planning a vacation. Also, let us not forget those who may have been interested in investing in the Barbados business sector. Anyone reading some of the appalling racist rants on this blog would certainly consider taking their business elsewhere.
Barbados has no natural resources, no boxite, no iron, no copper, no gold, no forests to harvest lumber from and no diamonds. The sugar cane industry in Barbados is dying if not dead. Barbados Agriculture and manufacturing does not sustain the population and hence Barbados relies heavily on imports.
What natural resources does Barbados have? Sun, sea, beaches, palm trees and the tourists that come to enjoy them, are your natural resources. At one time, I would have included the good will, helpful nature and friendliness of Bajans as a natural resource but I think we can strike that off the list now. Anonymous suggests Barbados can do very well without the tourists and that Bajans can just go back to their little vegetable patch, catch flying fish and plant more breadfruit but I wonder how you will sustain that very comfortable lifestyle that most of you have obtained over the past few decades? Who will make the payments on your multi-car households, who will pay the phone, satellite TV and L.&P. bills, who will pay for those trips to Miami or Puerto Rico to buy those nice designer clothes and all the bling you can find a place on your body for? Where will you find the money to build or buy one of those nice wall houses? I don’t care what your station in life is or whether you are black or white or don’t give a shite but you should never bite the hand that feeds you.
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 8:57 PM
We will sell de cars and walk like our forefathers and remain slim and healthy.
We would ride bicycles and stay fit.
We would stop wasting money on brands owned by white people dat dont give a shite bout we.
We would live in board houses dat dont got hot-house-syndrome. Houses dat designed to suit de environment.
We would go back to planting kitchen gardens and do all the things we did before a single tourist ever visit.
You stupid or what?
You really think de white tourists like we or feel dat we like dem?
It’s business – pure and simple.
Get dat in ya tough skull.
Bite hand dat feed ya what?
Wha de white planters do to de environment over de last 300 years, de white tourists coming and finishing off.
We could do widdout de lousy 10 cents.
If tourists dont come you really tink we gonna crawl up and dead?
Shupes.
And why in you little silly brain you only equate tourist wid white? Only white people does travel?
Shupes!
Allard and all de phoney philanthropist like he could cah de white ass where duh come from.
WE DONT WANT YOUR CHARITY.
De swamp was dey before Allard and it gonna be dey long after ALLARD.
Cah he ass!
crossroads // October 30, 2008 at 9:01 PM
To anyone reading this article: the above post of Negroman, BWWR, Anon are to be ignored. They are nothing more than a trio of Jackasses that have crawled out from under a rock with a big chip on their shoulders. More than likely are failures at whatever they try to achieve and are looking for someone to blame, Cuddear!
Anonymous // October 30, 2008 at 10:13 PM
We are three jackasses who got to guts to say how we really feel.
Failure at what?
In a world with materialistic standards set dese white bastards?
Go and come again.
We calling a spade a spade.
Read between de lines and see Allard for who he really is.
Cuddear to you!
Technician // October 30, 2008 at 10:15 PM
Hmmm……interesting.
Anon has stirred up a hornets nest with his /her postings.
Most are ready to tar and feather Anon.
Could he/she be right??
Has anything said, any different from things Hoadie says?….just less eloquently?
I must admit……….it really makes me think…..hard!!
Negroman // October 31, 2008 at 1:43 AM
Crossroads you are the jackass.You like many other stupid ass black people refused to accept this is a racist world.The Chinese are on an expansionist programme.They are recolonizing and carving up Africa to their advantage.The few Chinese this part of the world are not in this region by chance but by design.The Chinese are looking for land for their people and see Africa,South & Central America & the Caribbean as prime areas for their expansion.Asiatic people are doing likewise and the European are restructuring the world to allow them to maintain they dominance.The only race that does not have a programme for its preservation and sustainabilty is the African black race.
Our brainwashed education many of us received and are receiving have us in this predicament.In addition the stupid ass christian religion that was used to enslaved us we have now claimed as our own and feel proud to call ourselves christians.The same religion the stinking, disease white man and his Klu Klux Klan group worshipped when many black slaves were killed and their property burned and destroyed.Churches in Barbados had certain front seats rows reserved for whites only and many churches especially the Anglican & Roman Catholic churches had signs indicating no n—-rs allowed and these churches with their racist doctrines told black people that God cursed us that is why we have that colour skin,that nose and we were meant to be subservient to the white man and we are inferior to the white man.Presently many of our people are and especially our so call leaders and people of influence are now claiming high positions in those churches.We have a lot of black asses feeling proud that they are Reverends,Priests,Pastors & leaders in those churches.What a disservice to our ancestors who died as a result of slavery.No right thinking black man should ever be claiming and feeling proud to be call a christian.
Christianity is the number 1 reason why we as blacks are in this state.Until we get our African Spirituality going again and reclaim our spirituality & culture we will continue to be dominated and will continue to produce black idiots like you Crossroad,Reluctant Non-Believer & the other fools who want to live a white life.
BWWR // October 31, 2008 at 4:19 AM
Come on, folks. Keep your eye on the ball and don’t get sidetracked by outdated racial issues. We as a nation are far bigger and better than that. Leave that to the Americans. We have a black Governor-General and a black government and those (and us) are internationally respected. Let us not go and throw away that respect by holding to long-out-dated rhetoric – like 42 years out of date tomorrow.
The issue is Peter Allard and the closing of the Graeme Hall Swamp. The fact is that Peter Allard bought the swamp and turned it into an unsuccessful (financially) tourist enterprise. In addition to losing money on the swamp, he also was not able to use it, as he had hoped, as a club to batter Barbados into submitting to his other agendas. If you or I start a business in Barbados and it fails, do you think we have the right to expect government to take it over? And we are Bajans. So why in hell should government go and pull this Canadian’s nuts out of the fire? Just because a lot of eco-minded people who would see a child starving on the street and do nothing if it meant that they had to give up on one eco-related project. Well, I do not think so. The eco-project would have to go and I don’t give a damn how many people from Canada or the Excited States see this and object. If it was them and their families whose well-being was at risk, I can assure you they would take a different view.
As for the racial nonsense, as my grandson says, “Stick it”, to which I add “Stop living in the past and wake up and smell the coffee. This is our country – regardless of race or creed.” Anyone who wants to live the life of a black person rather than that of a PERSON is welcome to do so, but don’t come round me. I am a black woman who is as good as anyone else in the world. I know it – AND SO DO THEY! If you want to be black and inferior, go ahead and do it, but count me the hell out.
crossroads // October 31, 2008 at 7:39 AM
BWWR my appoligies to you for including you in my speal. You seem to have more character than I had previously thought. However…..
@ Anon show me another group of people more materialistic than Black people, with all the brand name clothing and cell phone but can’t feed your family of pay ya bills!!
111 // October 31, 2008 at 7:53 AM
One would have really thought that Mr Peter Allard would have sought to setup a meeting with gov’t officials to shed some light on where he was with this project and maybe even to have sought their input and advice going forward.
Sadly I know of no such request for any such meeting with any gov’t official but then we see this announcement made in the daily newspaper.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 8:41 AM
@ my buddy Negroman
You really listen to dese idiots fuh trute tho. I hey cant stop laffin.
One o dem say “We have a black Governor-General and a black government and those (and us) are internationally respected.”
A black governnor general dat represent de so-and-so queen. De same monarchy that promoted slavery. Black politicians dat cant redistribute de wealth, dat cant create a new black business class to run dese white racist mother _________s outta Barbados once and for all.
Only up to a few years ago, David Simmons was still wear dat stupid white wig pon top he head; ingrunt bajans still talking bout lil england; and nuff mo ingrunt black ones still wanna be knighted and called Sir dis and Dame dat. Even Hilary let we down!
Graeme Hall swamp should not have an owner in de fuss place. It belongs to de people of Barbados.
Allard, pack your ass and leave and tek de tiefing Canadian banks wid yuh. We got Credit unions dat we can transform into banks tomorrow.
Shupes!
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 9:32 AM
Sounds like you all want to do a Mugabe. Maybe you should do a little research on what happened after Zimbabwe ran all the white people and the white tourists out of the country. It now has the highest inflation rate in the world and no food to feed its people because the racist Mugabe took the white people’s land and gave it to his buddies. He didn’t give a god damn about any other black person in that country.
So maybe what Barbados really needs to do is run the “black racist mother _________s outta Barbados once and for all.”
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 9:43 AM
“Mugabe took the white people’s land”
Lord have his mercy!
De white people land?
I dont even know how to respond to this!
I can only repond with a scenario.
You really tink de europeans would allow africans to come into europe and tek up land?
Are you some sort of idiot?
Do you see how the italians treat blacks?
Or how the Ukranians and russians treat blacks?
Look at the French!
Mugabe right like shite to tek back his ancestral lands.
You stupid or what?
no name // October 31, 2008 at 10:28 AM
Anonymous,
I guess Mugabe was right to give his friends back their ancestral land and let the poor masses starve to death. Good reasoning there, Anonymous.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 10:36 AM
It is mine if I bought it.
You living in the past.
Mugabe’s people starving but his buddies ain’t so that’s all that matters.
Do you see how blacks treat blacks?
I see who the idiot is here.
You should have taken advantage of the free education offered to all of us.
“We will sell de cars and walk like our forefathers and remain slim and healthy.
We would ride bicycles and stay fit.
We would stop wasting money on brands owned by white people dat dont give a shite bout we.
We would live in board houses dat dont got hot-house-syndrome. Houses dat designed to suit de environment.
We would go back to planting kitchen gardens and do all the things we did before a single tourist ever visit.”
Where you were going to get the lumber to build the houses? Only lumber left is the mangrove trees in Graeme Hall and you don’t want that. Or you going to import from the Guyanese?
Where you going to get bicycles? No steel produced in Bim to build them. Made in China and the US though.
Where you going to get the seeds to plant your garden? Imported from where? Paid for by the money from tourism. No more canes to harvest and pay for these.
You stupid or what?
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 11:28 AM
An economy cant function with imports and export, you idiot.
And if you believe the education is free you are a bigger fool.
And yes Mugabe is damn right to take back the land.
Implicit in your stupid argument is that we cant survive without white tourists or white farmers.
Are you some sort of johnny or what?
You, Allard, Loveridge all need to pack wunna georgie bundles and get off de island. Sick and tired o wunna white people and wunna nonsense.
Negroman // October 31, 2008 at 11:29 AM
Anonymous That is what I talk about the brainwashed stupid ass miseducation we are receiving.That is why we are having responses like that from these asses on the blogs.
The Americans in the 1940’s went into the heart of Palestine and took up the best and most fertile land in that region and created the Israeli State for a pack of half caste Jews from Russia who had to way to go and claimed it was the ancestral lands of the Jews.That is the reason for the conflicts between the Jews & Palestinians.The racist,stinking,murderous Europeans went to Africa killed millions of black Africans took away they lands and claimed the lands as their own and that Comrade Mugabe has the balls & courage to retake the lands and give them back to the people, we have black asses down here saying that he taking up white people lands.You are the biggest ass on this blog So Why not.Africa is the black Continent.The black Continent belongs to black Africans.
The same murderous,stinking white people went into the USA slaughtered the American Red Indians took away their lands and claimed the lands also as theirs.My man those stinking,smelly,disease ridden Europeans are parasitical,murderous and wicked.They accumulated their wealth from the sweat,tears & blood of black people.They did not get their wealth from any hard work.They are a thiefing race of people.everthing they got the bastards stole from other people.
You all idiots read the history of the world objectively and stop being fool by the whole set of nonsense that we are being fed through the international propaganda set up by the thiefing Europeans.They want to justify their wicked actions, but this black man is not gullible or brainwashed and can analyse and think for himself.Unfortunately many of you all swallowed the crap you hear and read from those idiots.
Anonymous on the issue of Independence.That is a farcical situation.We are supposed to be an Independence country and still has that white thrash as Head of State.What a shame.We must report to that smeely woman when making major decisions.As an independence country we still have relic of our colonial past presence in all of our institutions,such as The Police,The Hospital,The Church and other areas.
We do not have Independence we only have symbols & images.Our leaders are a bunch of clowns.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 11:40 AM
We still got a bunch o africans walking bout de place calling demselves Sir Dis and Lady Dat and Dame Dat.
One bunch o clowns!
I find it so embarrassing!
Dem aint even got de courage to tek down Nelson and talking bout Independence!
De great white savior appears and talking crap bout save Graeme hall and everybody jumping pon de bandwagon.
Why de ass duh dont jump on de bandwagon bout Greenland or de stinking sewerage plant in town.
Dem does really mek me sick. Any white johnny could get off a plane and come and fill dem head wid nonsense and dem does run wid it.
De swamp aint goin no way unless david thompson allow white developers to come in and do wha duh like wid it and destroy wha leff.
Why de ass wunna dont go and sign a petition to stop de nonsense on de West coast wunna ingrunt _________s?
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 12:04 PM
Inform me how an economy functions then?
There will be no economy without foreign exchange generated by selling a product that the rest of the world wants. What does Barbados have ? Tourism! Ya “johnny! No bauxite, no precious metals, no crops. Only tourism!
Mugabe didn’t give the land back to his people. He gave them to his friends! His people are starving. The farms that once fed the people no longer exist.
And my stupid argument was that we cant survive without any of the races not only whites. We need each other to survive. Barbados will not survive by separating itself from the rest of the world because we don’t like white people. White people need black people just as much as black people need white people or Indians or Chinese. Listen to what you are saying.
Oh and the black people are wiping out each other more than ever in Africa. Don’t forget Rwanda, Sudan etc. And the Europeans were long gone. How ironic it was that European peace keepers that had to come back to these countries to stop the ethnic cleansing and genocide.
Or Operation Restore Hope in Somalia(1992-1994) which the stupid American whites undertook to bring humanitarian aid to the people because the black warlords would not allow food and medicine to be brought to their people.
The concern is not racial divide, it is surviving with each other because we are all human.
How convenient you forget to tell this story?
Who is the idiot to history? Take a look at the world now!
Negroman // October 31, 2008 at 12:33 PM
So Why Not
The 2 world wars were Europeans killing Europeans.Dispute that.In the 90’s in former Yugoslavia there was ethnic cleansing and a long & brutal civil war.There is an ongoing conflict between the Irish & the English.Many terrorist acts were carried out by the Irish Republican Party and similarly by the English government against the Irish.Dispute that.The Europeans are accustomed to killing & slaughtering each other. The europeans killed the most people in the world and created and are creating weapons to kill.That is is the trait within all white people.It is a killing race.They love to see blood and that is why white people love to eat red meat rare with blood in it.It is a cannibalistic race.
Fool the conflict in Rwanda was instigated by the Dutch colonists if my memory serves me correctly by the divide & rule tactic of putting the light skin Tutsis to oppress & suppress the darker skin Hutus.Idiot go and read the history of Uganda,Rwanda & Burundi and stop coming on the blogs with your weak arguments.
So Why not you have not really challenged any of the points I put forward in my earlier comments.Show some depth and mount a challenge to my comments.
Nostradamus // October 31, 2008 at 12:37 PM
John Da Silva has started a facebook group. “Save The Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary.”
Go to facebook and join the group.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 12:42 PM
I don’t challenge history. But my point is that all races have been responsible for atrocities throughout history.
Your point has been that the white Europeans are responsible for everything bad that has ever happened to the black race.
Come again.
So the fact that blacks like chicken means they like “white” meat?
There are still cannibalistic tribes in Africa.
The fight still goes on in the Congo-http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20081031/ap_on_re_af/af_congo_fighting
I took that link not even 5 minutes ago from yahoo news.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 12:53 PM
My apologies for hijacking this blog. As everyone can see this racial subject really stirs some emotion in me.
Back to the issue of Graeme Hall! Whether or not it is a white man who is offering it to us we as Barbadians should be doing our best to make sure that it is preserved for our children’s children to experience.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 1:18 PM
@ So why not?
I was talking bajan but your use of english is either misleading or you are pure johnny.
“Back to the issue of Graeme Hall! Whether or not it is a white man who is offering it to us…”
Offering what to us?
Are you some sort of johnny for real?
First you said Mugabe took away de white people land, now you are talking about a “white man offering it to us.”
Are you for real or are you just a pure white johnny?
Negroman // October 31, 2008 at 2:26 PM
So Why Not
You are as stupid as they come.I never indicated that all wrong perpetrated against blacks were done by the white man.I will never make excuses for some of the nonsensense we blacks are doing.
I do not want you to challenge history I want you or anyone to challenge my points in an effective way.Do not cop out with the feeble excuse that all races need each other to survive.I agreed with that partially because we blacks could survive on our own because we are the parent race and have the stronger & superrior genes.Anyone can come & dispute that.The other races need us to survive,we do not need them.
Idiots like you always try to make excuses for the atrocities that the stinking,disease,white race perpetrated against blacks and also try to justify the whiteman’s action.
You are pathetic as they come.You are a blog nuisance.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 2:39 PM
And your ignorance shows through on every comment you make.
Because I tackled a subject that you disagree with makes me an “idiot,” “pathetic,” and a “blog nuisance.”
Well I say you are an ignorant, racist, bigot.
And yes the white man is offering us a multi million dollar piece of land at no cost; just that we make it into a national park and preserve it. But it seems you all would rather let the black government line their pockets with money from the white developers and bulldoze it.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 2:45 PM
I have made no excuses for the atrocities perpetrated by whites over our history but to not point out the atrocities of every other race makes this argument misleading and biased.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 2:51 PM
@ Negroman
Put that johnny ‘So Why Not’ on ignore.
So why not? // October 31, 2008 at 2:55 PM
Be my guest. I have tried to have a cultured argument(if there is such a thing) with you two and have been called every name the two of you could come up with because I engaged you and challenged you. Hence your ignorance has shown through with every reply.
Chris Halsall // October 31, 2008 at 3:18 PM
@Negroman: “…I want you or anyone to challenge my points in an effective way.”
I’m willing to give it a go…
@NM: “Do not cop out with the feeble excuse that all races need each other to survive.”
I, personally, do not believe that this arguement is a presupposition. It would, however, be nice…
@NM: “I agreed with [So Why Not's argument] partially because we blacks could survive on our own because we are the parent race and have the stronger & superrior genes. Anyone can come & dispute that. The other races need us to survive,we do not need them.
With respect… Hail Hitler!
@NM: The argument you’re making has been made before (and failed). (Spectacularly!!! (Read: many *millions* died!))
IMHO, we all need each other simply because we all find ourselves within the same bubbles.
(Admittedly, some are betting they can hold their breaths longer than others.)
@NM: As a self-admitted “whiteman”, let me please present that yes, I do see colour. When I first meet someone, I perceive their hair colour, then their eye colour, and then their skin colour.
…and, then, I listen to what they have to say…
…and, *then*, I infer what they *might* think (because *no* *one* can *know* what anyone else *thinks*)…
I *then* judge them on *that*…
(…and *then* I continue the conversation and debate, because I probably inferred incorrectly…)
@NM: Try it. You might find yourself enlightened. (Although, as a warning… as with all mature thinkers, you may not find yourself quite as self-sure as you currently are…)
(IMHO. FWTAIW.)
Busted // October 31, 2008 at 4:36 PM
I am sceptical of anyone who says they do not see colour.
It is politically correct to say that we do not notice a person’s skin colour when we first meet them but deep down we know this is really not the case.
The problem arises when our actions are solely determined by what our eyes perceives.
The race issue is always lurking in the background even though we in Barbados pretend it is not.
Chris Halsall // October 31, 2008 at 4:46 PM
@Busted… So, just to be very clear…
You did *read* my above? Correct?
And, while we’re “talking” — have you seen NM around anywhere? If so, perhaps you could poke them, and remind them they raised a challenge…
I thought we had a discussion going on here, but their silence has (suddenly) been deafening…
Busted // October 31, 2008 at 5:04 PM
@Chris
Yes I did.
The order of your perception is what I find interesting.
“When I first meet someone, I perceive their hair colour, then their eye colour, and then their skin colour.”
Chris Halsall // October 31, 2008 at 5:16 PM
@Busted… I admit, I’m busted… What can I say; I’m biased…
I find (short) orange hair incredibly sexy… (Annie Lennox rocked my world…)
(Although short blue, purple, red and black hair has been known to cause me to change my mass distribution…)
Is NM around anywhere to hit one last time tonight, or am I going to have to retire for the evening with a lovely (colourful) lady?
Busted // October 31, 2008 at 5:27 PM
To each, his own I guess. I tend to notice size and shape more. :-)
Re: NM
Duppy kno’ who fe frighten.
God Help Barbados // October 31, 2008 at 5:27 PM
HaHa Chris you do make me laugh…..which is a good thing when one looks at all the depressing shite on here.
no name // October 31, 2008 at 6:41 PM
My guess is the neither Anonymous nor Negorman has contributed to our country in any meaningful way.
My guess is that they do not give to charity and avoid those in need.
Both are probably overweight and live high.
Unfortunately both have the destructive “sense of entitlement”.
no name // October 31, 2008 at 7:15 PM
We who care in Barbados wish you well.
You have made many lives better here and in places where your kindness and generosity are appreciated.
Thank you!
God belss you.
Straight talk // October 31, 2008 at 7:25 PM
What gets me about Negroman, Scout and the ult. Anon is that they are promoting the self same race hate and discrimination they believe is responsible for their own benighted existence.
They promote the mindset of apartheid SA, the mores of our primitive ancestors in “captive” trading to their white partners, going on for 200 years and prove to the liberal mind that such superior race policies still exist in their unreconstructed brains.
There are more slaves coming out of Africa this year than ever there was in the height of the third passage.
Check it out. Google Slavery.
Unfortunately David, from a perspective of opposition to illegal immigration, which we all support, you have the lunatic Nazi fringe (3 member strong) hijacking every thread you post with more and more xenophobic vitriol, than even you can endorse.
Or do you?
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 7:25 PM
@ no name
Keep guessing!
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 7:38 PM
@ Straight Talk
“they are promoting the self same race hate and discrimination they believe is responsible for THEIR own benighted existence”
It is funny as hell how you exclude yourself.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 8:10 PM
Anybody does tek on Chris Halsall doh?
Shupes…
When last you went to de pharmacy to get you refill o mad tablets?
David // October 31, 2008 at 8:22 PM
We have read the back and forth and we are optimistic that someday on the issue of race relations it will find its level in Barbados. Unfortunately some may think that some of the perspectives expressed on BU represents a fringe element but we think not.
The issue of race relations may someday soon have to be boldly tackled. The media and successive governments have shied away from it but every issue which comes up we hear shades of arguments motivated by race.
We have news for those Barbadians who believe that this situation will fade away, it will not until we confront it squarely.
Straight talk // October 31, 2008 at 8:28 PM
I exclude myself because I don’t hate 90% of the world for being dissimilar.
This may be my shortcoming, but it works for me.
You seem to find your inner strength through hatred of all mankind, except we fortunate 240,000 slave descendants on this speck of rock.
I am pleased you have found your place in life, and hatred as your raison d’etre.
It won’t work with me , and I suspect it will eventually fail for you.
However I wish the three of you well in your crusade to make Bim a better place to live.
Can you imagine what would happen if the whole world held your views?
Thank the lord for evolution.
(With apologies to JC and Sarah Palin)
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 8:49 PM
You like you fuhget to tek you mad tablets too cuz you aint sound like nobody wid cents.
We would send all de apologists like you packing with Allard and Loveridge too.
Straight talk // October 31, 2008 at 8:56 PM
Apologise…moi!
Only for the brainless, racist, moronic 3 Bajans monopolising these threads.
Anonymous // October 31, 2008 at 9:30 PM
You obviously dont know what an apologist is, you dumb ass!
JC // October 31, 2008 at 10:11 PM
How JC get in this leave JC out of this behaivour I trying to behave I have some serious views I got some other issues to deal with right now!
Wannah think black people foolish shupes !! ha ha ha (lol)
Nostradamus // November 1, 2008 at 9:05 AM
I posted this over at BFP.
David // November 1, 2008 at 12:41 PM
Here is an owner’s perspective.
Anonymous // November 1, 2008 at 12:57 PM
So what?
Anonymous // November 1, 2008 at 12:58 PM
There’s absolutely no sympathy for Allard or Loveridge from this corner.
Negroman // November 1, 2008 at 1:53 PM
Straight Talk
You all like to report world affairs in a very convenient manner.It is ludicrous on your part to even fathom the thought that more slaves are being recruited from Africa than during the middle passage.Utter nonsense.Stop coming here and distorting the truth.Human Trafficking is an international crime.Slavery is a crime against humanity.Stop trying to degrade Africa.
Straight Talk,in Europe there is more human trafficking than in any other region of the world.Adults & children from Poland,The Maldives,Romania,Russia & it break away States & other regions of Europe are being transported & exploited in other countries in other European States,Asia, USA & other regions for work,& sexual reasons.Denied this.
Straight Talk,deal with the real issues the world are facing today and stop distorting the truth of Africa.Africa is the cradle of the civilization and this world cannot exist with out the existence of the great black continent and it original black inhabitants that Your Truly is proud to be a descendant from .
Anonymous // November 1, 2008 at 2:08 PM
@ Negroman
Put Straight talk on ignore too!
All dem so we shipping out when de revolution starts.
no name // November 1, 2008 at 3:14 PM
Anonymous says
“Put Straight talk on ignore too!
All dem so we shipping out when de revolution starts.”
Yeh right!
Anonymous is obviously not from around here. Must be a Trini.
Bajans on the whole are too complacent.
If rain falling forget revolution. If the weather is good, make sure the revolt breaking for lunch. If we marching make sure we passing by Chefette or Kentucky at lunchtime.
And remember to bring parasols because the sun is real hot.
How much you paying?
Revolution, my eye!
no name // November 1, 2008 at 3:15 PM
Anonymous, stop trying to fool people.
Anonymous // November 1, 2008 at 6:19 PM
Hahahahahahahahaha. Dah was a good laff, but some revolutions are silent.
The silent ones are the more deadly ones and bajans are known for dat type.
Watch out when my people get quiet. Dah’s when Bajans are most lethal. Ask de BLP who aint learn from 1986 to listen to de silence!
Chris Halsall // November 1, 2008 at 10:14 PM
@Negroman: “Africa is the cradle of the civilization and this world cannot exist with out the existence of the great black continent and it original black inhabitants…
You seem to have difficulty with simple deductive reasoning…
There is a fundamental difference between “[all humans] would *not* exist without [the first humans]” and “[all humans] cannot exist without [the first humans]“.
A simple Proof by Contradiction (AKA Reductio ad Absurdum):
1. By your arguement, no descendent can exist if their ancestors don’t.
2. Are any of your great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great grandparents alive?
3. Are you alive?
4. Quod Erat Demonstrandum (QED).
Anonymous // November 1, 2008 at 10:28 PM
@ Chris forgot to take his mad pills
De long and short is that we dont trust you and we are not obliged to like you.
FULL STOP.
Chris Halsall // November 1, 2008 at 10:47 PM
I’m not here to be liked… In fact, I’ve found that *not* being liked often motivates others more.
To be quite frank, I’m here to (try to) change how things are done here…
However, I do find it interesting that very few seem to be willing (able?) to debate me.
I bring nothing to the table but my (entirely self-taught) mind, and a position of thought based on years of thinking. *Anyone* can do what I do.
So, the questions I’ll leave you with is: why don’t you? Or is that too much to ask from those with (quoting NM) “stronger & superrior[sic] genes?”
Hopi // November 2, 2008 at 12:43 AM
Chris Halsall…
“To be quite frank …..” Man you just added insult to injury. You come with the same stinking attitude as your “SUPERIOR” foreparents who believed that they had a mandate from on high to change/upset the order of Mother Nature. You just want to rule and dominate every species on planet earth and beyond, hence people like the above subject think that they still have that mandate to take control of birds, animals, plants and humans. Can’t you see that you have disrupted the natural order? Can’t you see how much havoc you have reigned down on this planet? Isn’t that enough for you? Or you need total extinction with exception of your kind? You bring your lies, deception, bombs, drugs, “education,” religion, entertainment, diet, disease……. Is planet earth any better off with all your entrapments and delusions? When are you gonna stop man?
Chris Halsall // November 2, 2008 at 1:34 AM
@Hopi…
I come from a position of nothing but scientific, mathematical and logical fundamentals.
The human mind is an amazing thing…
But, does it scale? That is the fundamental question before us…
Negroman // November 2, 2008 at 3:13 AM
Chris Halsall
I am no expert at the English Language,however I tried to put over the point that Africa gave the world its civilization.Africans are the parent race and that human existence came from Africa.You could try to ridicule my grammar and use of the English Language,but I want you or anyone to challenge the points I make on these blogs.You nor no one have brought a counter position to my arguments and have in no way disprove my position.
Chris Halsall with your “superior” education and wisdom I am begging you please come and disprove my points I made on these blogs.I said the Caucasian race is a disease ridden,parasitical,destructive race that has wreck havoc on this earth.I want you to challenge me on that and prove my analysis of the despicable stinking Europeans is wrong.
Chris Halsall,please respond the points that Hopi mentioned also.
PiedPiper // November 2, 2008 at 9:07 AM
Negroman, you starting to sound more and more like Adolph Hitler everyday. Let’s not forget how his “masterplan” turned out. You gine organize all the brothers to do the goosestep around Kensington Oval?
Hopi // November 2, 2008 at 9:56 AM
CrisH…..
You said you’re looking for someone to debate (pay attention to) you, why don’t you answer my questions?
NegroMan….. You don’t have to form your speech according to the Queen’s english. Remember it is this same queen and her language that enslaved our forparents and as a result we don’t even know our own language. English is the language of the treacherous, marauding, criminals. Never mind how much they try to redicule you, you’re doing a fine job of UNMASKING THE CHARLATANS.
JC // November 2, 2008 at 10:26 AM
Pied piper I am not like negro man I wont take it that far but I am not an ass I will not allow my children to wear poppies or celebrate ANYTHING that undermines black people that is not to say that I wont teach them to respect people but I will NEVER ALLOW a boy to disrespect them I will never let my children think that they are inferior to no one. There is a difference. Negroman is just proving his point in his way I dont think that he or anon would get that radical I think they are tired of people trying to undermine their intelligence when we all know that blak people ARE NOT STUPID just humble!
PiedPiper // November 2, 2008 at 11:02 AM
JC: Not for one minute would I think or have ever thought that black people are stupid nor would I advocate humility. Humility, in the context of black history, just has the wrong connotation.
There is nothing wrong with being a proud black person as long as one does not denigrate others in order to feel that pride.
Anonymous // November 2, 2008 at 2:08 PM
“I come from a position of nothing but scientific, mathematical and logical fundamentals.”
That the problem with that race and their insipid culture.
They believe that everything can be based on reason on logic.
Well we got news fuh wunna.
Yuh lie!
Now go and tek yuh mad tablets.
Negroman // November 2, 2008 at 2:15 PM
JC
I am so proud of you as a strong,positive black mother,sister & daughter who is prepare to stand up for what you believe in.We need more sisters like you.JC, you are correct about the purchase of poppies.I also do not buy poppies and I also advise my fellow black brothers & sisters do not buy poppies.The 2 world war was a European war with Europeans killing Europeans.They should have killed out each other.That war had nothing to do with the liberation of black people and it was in no way any help for us.In that war the blacks people were the ancillary staff.That is they were not involved in the actual fighting because the Europeans did not want a black man to kill another European.The blacks had to cook the food,clean the toilets,clean the soldiers boots & all that sort of demeaning work.
We black people must not continue to be fool by history and continue to support activities we do not even know why we are supporting them and in many cases those events were not in the interest of black people.
The 2 world war and Christianity are 2 case in point.
Anonymous,Hopi,JC & rest thanks for the support.I think we need more fearless,strong black people like us to come out,stand up & challenge all the falsehoods that the despicable,killing,disease,immoral,nasty Europeans inflicted on this earth.
I will encourage everyone to read Professor Alvin Thompson article on slavery in today;s Sunday Sun.It makes very interest reading.
Anonymous // November 2, 2008 at 2:28 PM
@ Negroman:
De madman from Jenkins, Chris Halsall, believes himself to be intellectually superior.
When I told him that we dont trust “you” and that “we are not obliged to like you”, he in his great wisdom took it as 2nd person singular and not 2nd person plural referencing the white race and their culture.
There you go.
The guy is a madman from Jenkins or wherever he lives.
Put him on ignore too.
On another thread he had some stupid argument that he’s not to blame for his foreparents wrongs. When asked if he is to share in the wealth they created and stored off the backs of others but not share the blame, he went silent.
Then started talking nonsense bout logic.
It’s all that logic and their smart cunts that got the environment in a mess right now.
Anonymous // November 2, 2008 at 3:00 PM
@ Negroman
I too stopped buying poppies years ago when I learnt what they had black soldiers doing during those wars.
I dont call anyone Sir, Dame or Lady.
There maybe other vestiges that we cant get away from but we certainly to can make the effort to change things.
Let’s see if this government will have the guts to remove Nelson.
The Iraqis tore down statues of Saddam, the Russians tore down statues of Stalin, the Germans brokedown the Berlin Wall and we are still afraid we might offend a handful o white tourists from England and another handful o Bajan whites if we tek down Nelson.
To add insult to injury, de last govt feel dat dem did something when dem put up Errol Barrow statue and mek it bigger dan Nelson. That’s supposed to be appeasement.
We will not be happy until Nelson is taken to f@@k down!
Negroman // November 2, 2008 at 3:13 PM
Anonymous
I fully agreed with you.Nelson should be thrown into wharf.A one hand,one eye thiefin,murderous mercenary.We have a bunch of of “educated”,”uneducated” black idiots arguing for the retention of that white thief to remain there.He did nothing for black people or Barbados.
This country is lucky that I am a law abiding citizen
Anonymous glad to know you do not buy poppies anymore.We must start the process
Nostradamus // November 2, 2008 at 3:26 PM
@ David
Please edit the last line of the above post by “anonymous”
“We will not be happy until Nelson is taken to f…. down!”
JC // November 2, 2008 at 3:54 PM
Sorry if I misundersttod you Pied piper! Sometimes I just think that we love to say cud dear too quick I know we are the parent race fah real!
Any one read Kenyata recently or back then? I found his readings to be too too real and tooo scary! I wonder if Chris Halsall great grand father was one of them persons that come with the bibles and teach us to read it with our eyes closed ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha (just joking dont take offence respect!)
no name // November 2, 2008 at 4:26 PM
Well, I bought a poppy last week from a proud, black Barbadian gentleman who served in the war. A member of the Legion. In fact, it was the second poppy I bought. This gentleman was such an inspiration.
Some people need to get out more.
no name // November 2, 2008 at 4:30 PM
BTW Errol Barrow was a pilot in the war.
Why waste time on small talk about the past when there are big things happening now which need our attention?
Hopi // November 2, 2008 at 5:07 PM
No Name…..
The past is always present! Its the past that brought us the present. The big things that need our attention now are called WARS or the decimation of humanity. There has never been a war in which the black man should have been proud to serve. War has never done us “Blacks” any good. War is a racket and only a few profit. Where the hell do you think those poppies come from? Right in the fields of Afghanistan where the marauders are raping and pillaging everyday, so I don’t understand how a black man from some legion could be proud of any such thing. “He was such an inspiration” Poor fellow! Keep buying poppies and sanction the whole scale murder of those people and tell me if you’re proud of that!
JC // November 2, 2008 at 5:48 PM
Poppies – cocaine
Poppies – war
Poppies – blah blah
good for you no name if that is where you want to spend your money that is your perogative hip hip hooray for no name!
JC // November 2, 2008 at 5:52 PM
Wars made us come back from cambodia all messed up and addicted war made us come back from england and other parts of Europe madder than blasted well hatters and you mean to tell me that I am supppoe to tell my children to buy poppies and la te dah de dah and the cow jump over the moon and bah ba black sheep have you any wool and lord wash me and I shall be whiter than snow ha ha ha you are so FUNNY I FORGOT TO LAUGH SHUPES (LOL) NO OFFENCE RESPECT!
no name // November 2, 2008 at 6:59 PM
Wow!
Hopi and JC,
So please tell us what you are doing about it so that we can join. What meaningful contribution are you making?
Sorry, I forgot, what you are doing about it is not buying poppies. Great! Hoorah!
BTW you do not need to go to Cambodia to get addicted. Perhaps this will give you a clue as to where you can do something “meaningful” to help.
Technician // November 2, 2008 at 7:59 PM
I was reading in amusement at the issue of poppies.
I refuse to wear a poppy but I have no problem donating to help those who fought in the wars.Personally , I think that it is a shame that these men live in such squander and poverty after giving their service.We can knight some of the most corrupt people in the country but can’t give a decent pension to these men.What hurts the most is to see them at the parade every year (if alive) and after all the pomp and pageantry, go back to their dilapidated homes to live out another year in abject poverty. That to me is a damn shame. To me the poppy is a symbol of hypocrisy, that is why I would never wear one.
Hopi // November 2, 2008 at 9:02 PM
Technician..
Henry Kissinger, one of the biggest blood-letting war criminals of our time once said that soldiers are dumb, stupid animals to be used as pawns in foreign policy. This is coming from a man who orchestrates wars. So you see why war is nothing but a racket! Nuff respect for your empathy and do continue to support these poor old men who have been misled. Don’t wear one stinking poppy let queen elizardbeth wear all.
Technician // November 2, 2008 at 10:04 PM
@ Hopi…
Anyone who understands history can see that the wars the USA got involved in had very little or nothing at all to do with them.
Strangely enough, every time there is a recession in the US,there is a war to fight and with so many brainwashed pawns at their disposal….well, just look at Iraq.
On the poppy issue though, I will tell anyone to donate but never wear the symbol.
no name // November 2, 2008 at 10:12 PM
An inspirational movie worth watching is called “Freedom Writers” based on a true story of what is being discussed here.
JC // November 2, 2008 at 10:18 PM
@nno name // November 2, 2008 at 6:59 pm
————————————————
What meaningful contribution I am giving is that if I see anyone that I can help whom I think personally desrves a few dollars that I can spare I give them.
All of ‘us’ are strugglers and live pay check to pay check or at least I am and I will be damed if I will give my hard earned money to persons who think that they helped black people in a European war when they live in the stables and yet their houses are in the worse conditions here in Barbados what bullsh**are you telling me!
That only you have an opinion and I dont!
I refuse to give them a cent of mine when I past that lady by the treasury wen I get pay who is there with her wheel chair I give her my money! When someone in the newspapers child needs an operation I give them my ‘nasty’ 20 dollar or if I see someone in the supermarket who is just like me who has nothing but wants a donation to help them with lupus or cancer I squeeze something out of my supermarket bill without thought so dotn tell me no crap cause you give some soldiers who help the white people to win their war you think that you are holier than thou! I believe in my own for a change instead of others shupes!
I dont have a lot, further more I realise that I dont need a lot to make a change!
crossroads // November 2, 2008 at 10:32 PM
As far as I know the funds raised from selling poppies are supporting the same old black soliders you are speaking of not Eurpeans. So continue to cut off your nose to spoil ya face, Idoits.
JC // November 2, 2008 at 10:43 PM
No body aint send them to fight no whit mans war who the hell you calling an idiot cause we have different opinions to yours we are idiots you smart person well chee thanks you smart and opinionated fellow!
John // November 3, 2008 at 2:30 AM
Negroman // November 2, 2008 at 3:13 pm
Anonymous
I fully agreed with you.Nelson should be thrown into wharf.A one hand,one eye thiefin,murderous mercenary.We have a bunch of of “educated”,”uneducated” black idiots arguing for the retention of that white thief to remain there.He did nothing for black people or Barbados.
++++++++++++++++++
Go and actually read some history and you will find that not only did Nelson’s victory at the Nile in 1798 save Africa from French invasion, but that he also played a deciding hand in Haitian Independence in 1804.
… and the Louisiana Purchase by America is also directly attributable to the impact he had on French aspirations outside of Europe.
… and how do you think we are able to read the hieroglyphics which opened the world’s eyes to the wonders of early Egyptian civilizations? (Rosetta Stone)
Nelson’s impact on world history is far larger that Trafalgar. That was bare icing!! His place was secure long before he died.
I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.
Here are some examples:
Beck Ann Nelson
Ben Nelson
Betty Easter Nelson
Betty Nelson
Black Nelson
Bob Nelson
Bob Nelson
Bob Nelson
Casar Nelson
Daniel Nelson
Debby Nelson
Edward Nelson
Frances Louisa Nelson
George Nelson
Hesther Nelson
Horatia Nelson
Horatio Nelson
Ino Ewd Nelson
James E Nelson
James Nelson
Jim Nelson
Joe Nelson
Joe Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
John Nelson
Joseph Nelson
Kitty Nelson
Lord Nelson
M Nelson
Mary Nelson
Why do you think the Horatio Cooke Auditorium in Belmont Road has in the name Horatio?
Wonder how the deejay Admiral Nelson got his name!!
It is a simple fact that Horatio and Nelson were used as christian names from 1798 onward all over the world. Some families actually used those two names over several generations!!
This is not a phenomena limited only to one race or country. It is found throughout the world.
Go to familysearch.org and choose a surname and put in horatio as a christian name. Chances are you will get several hits from around the world.
People make the mistake of thinking that Nelson is simply Trafalgar and actually believe that the statue only commemorates the Battle of Trafalgar.
The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.
Go and actually read what it says on the statue and stop listening to people who do not read!!
Read, and start thinking for yourself.
When you do, think for a moment about why August 1st could have been chosen as emancipation day!!
You will find a compelling reason on the statue!!
Did you know also that there is a “Nelson” Island off the coast of Africa in Aboukir Bay, and why do you think we have a Trafalgar Street, … and a Nile street!!
This guy was a superstar in his day!!
Only someone who does not read would miss the significance of his life and achievements on world history.
Technician // November 3, 2008 at 7:19 AM
@John….
After all this, I am yet to see what this means for Barbados or Bajans to an extent.
What you fail to put in your reasoning is that even though all these accolades are there, it depends on which side of the fence you are sitting.
Anyone can read for themselves yes but there are also some horror stories about the same Nelson to contradict all that you have said.
To try and use the names of people to show the significance of his name is a crafty move by you,seeing that they took away our original names,religion and way of life and forced theirs on us.
You see, I always have a problem reading HIStory of these so called heroes. I was taught as a boy, that Christopher Columbus discovered the world too.
Anonymous // November 3, 2008 at 9:17 AM
@ John
Your argument is piss poor.
Adrian Loveridge // November 3, 2008 at 9:45 AM
Well! Mr Allard,
On the 7.30am and 8.30am editions of todays StarCom Nwetwork news our Minister of Tourism has stated
‘the lines of communicatons with Government are open’
Please just call the Hon. Richard Sealy on (246) 430 7504
Technician // November 3, 2008 at 10:04 AM
@ John..
I just went on the ancestry.com website to look at some of the slaves called after Nelson in 1834.
Here are some examples: ( add your list here)
————————————————————————
Tell me John, did these people name their kids after Nelson because of his fame and popularity (like how we have all these Aisha, Kobe, Ronaldo etc) or was the name given to them by their masters (like Kunta Kinte became Toby)?
————————————————————
The statue is a memorial to a remarkable man and every Bajan living at the time had a hand in its erection.
Please explain ‘every Bajan had a hand’ in its erection.
Do you perchance mean the labourers who brought the stones?
Or do you mean the rich upper class ‘Bajans ‘ living here at the time?
It is cool to tell people to read but what they actually read and believe could be just as destructive as not reading at all.
As the saying goes….to each his own …I guess.
WTF! // November 3, 2008 at 10:54 AM
Never ceases to amaze me how some people always manage to take these threads and turn them into racism topics.
Instead of being concerned as to whether there may (or may not) be a natural resource (Graeme Hall Swamp) for our children and grand children to experience, they are more concerned at creating hate and strife at home, and now abroad.
Technician // November 3, 2008 at 11:19 AM
@WTF!
Until the issue of racism is totally discussed on a notional level and brought to some form of acceptance by all parties, then every topic and every thread on this blog and others will eventually lead back to it.
That is the reality of it!!
Now …..back to the original thread…..
Hopi // November 3, 2008 at 11:46 AM
John….
You’re saying that black folk should celebrate this blood-letting marauder nelson? Let’s see between him, Napoleon and the Greeks they robbed, ransacked, and pillaged Egypt. You said he helped the world to read hieroglyphics and understand the wonders of Egypt. At least you’re admitting that there was a wonderful non-white world out there before the white man’s “civilization.” Ever wonder how you got european kings and queens? They stole these ideas right out of Egypt. Why was england and france constantly at war? Why can’t the white man ever live in peace? Blood!blood!blood! Nelson actually saved African from the french. Oh sweet Jesus! We should be ever so thankful. Oh you ungrateful descendants of Ham! What the hell is the difference between the British and the French? They are from the same womb.
Let’s see Beck, Betty, Ben and don’t forget Bozo, what a beautiful surname!
Negroman // November 3, 2008 at 12:04 PM
John
You are incredible.What comic reliefYour argument is foolish,nonsensical & laughable.I as a descendant of a black African slave do not gave a damn of any battles that racist,thiefin,one eye,one hand bandit fought.Do not come to insult my intelligence with the foolishness that Nelson save us from the French.The French,the Spanish,the English,the Dutch,& the Portugese were slave owners.All of them murdered & enslaved black people.I do not care if I was speaking french,dutch,latin,english or whatever langauge.The slaves were in bondage by all the stinking European mercenaries.The slaves were not given any different or better treatment from any of the slave owners.
That 1 hand,1 eye wretch of a human did nothing for black people.He is no hero of mine.His statue should be thrown into wharf along with any person who wants to support that thief.
Waterboy // November 3, 2008 at 12:20 PM
@WTF
The off thread discussion is deliberate with the objective of turning bloggers off and not contributing.
Hopi // November 3, 2008 at 12:47 PM
WTF & Waterboy….
There’s no offthread discussion here. This is all inextricably linked. You cannot separate it. Environmental preservation is a code phrase. While the “superior” practise racism some of us point it out. That’s all. We are not practising it. We are above that. It takes an inferior mind to to be racist. We’re just unmasking it since it comes in many different forms.
Adrian Loveridge // November 3, 2008 at 3:49 PM
Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter with special thanks to Minister Sealy, Friends at Graeme Hall and all of you that have campaigned to keep this wonderful facility open.
Chris Halsall // November 3, 2008 at 3:52 PM
@Adrian Loveridge: “Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter…”
Care to provide a URL?
Or does “everyone” know where to find this?
Straight talk // November 3, 2008 at 4:06 PM
You seem to have to sign up to receive it.
Adrian, can you cut, paste and post the relevant section?
Chris Halsall // November 3, 2008 at 4:25 PM
@Negroman: “I am no expert at the English Language…”
What language would you like to debate in then?
@NM: “However I tried to put over the point that Africa gave the world its civilization.”
This point can be debated. Africa did not necessarily give the world its civilization so much as its genes.
@NM: “Africans are the parent race and that human existence came from Africa.”
A point I do not dispute.
@NM: “You could try to ridicule my grammar and use of the English Language,but I want you or anyone to challenge the points I make on these blogs.You nor no one have brought a counter position to my arguments and have in no way disprove my position.”
I’m not ridiculing your grammar nor your use of language. I’m questioning (and am willing to argue) your reasoning and arguments. (Human languages (such as English and Latin are but metaphors for the fundamental language of mathematics.)
And, above, I have proven that your arguments fail simple deductive reasoning (using methods derived from fundamentals by *we* *humans* many hundreds of years ago.
@NM: “…with your “superior” education and wisdom I am begging you please come and disprove my points I made on these blogs.”
I’m trying. But my logical arguments seem to not be understood. (And, again, I’ll present that I have *no* education beyond reading a lot.)
And, interestingly, I’m finding that I’m being attacked for being a “whiteman” for trying…
(Gods forbid a “whiteman” dare challenge someone to debate. They must be racist!!!)
@NM: I said the Caucasian race is a disease ridden,parasitical,destructive race that has wreck havoc on this earth.”
You may have said this. But it holds no logical support. It is language rendered with nothing but emotional energy.
@NM: “I want you to challenge me on that and prove my analysis of the despicable stinking Europeans is wrong.”
You sound like a woman who’s been cheated on by their partner… (And we all know where that ends…)
John // November 3, 2008 at 4:29 PM
Facts have an uncanny way of dispersing arguments based on hearsay and TV.
Deal with the simple facts with Graeme Hall.
I could not help putting in these simple historical facts to show up the standard mumbo jumbo for what it is.
Back to the thread!!
Hopi // November 3, 2008 at 5:12 PM
Chris H… Mr Goody-two-Shoes, seems like Anonymous’ advice worked for a sec, but now it has worn off, you’re back to bless us with that amazingly, scientific, mathematical, logical, fudamentally, imbalanced mind.
John…. Back to the thread. In Allard’s 3rd para he said the the earth is increasingly over-populated. This is such a blatant lie.
Technician // November 3, 2008 at 5:14 PM
Yeah right John…..
You could not help my ass!!
You just thought you were dealing with a bunch of ignorant people that’s all.
You knew exactly what you were doing and saying….you just didn’t expect the replies…..typical.
WTF! // November 3, 2008 at 5:20 PM
LOL….some real comedians on here.
Racism and saving a national natural resource are inextricably linked.
Gotta love it….only in Barbados.
Saw this quote on another forum..think it interesting.
“We may see a couple of new things in the coming years, a black president of the US, and a Black Formula One Champion
When the former has happened, will everyone realise that it is possible that really this whole “nasty white folk” thing has had its day, that what is holding blacks back is not white but a whole lot closer to home! ”
things that make you go hmmm.
I think we should all agree that we need to put aside our differences, whether they be skin colour, economic bracket, class, religeon ect, and come together to save this wetland, mangrove swamp, natural jungle, from becoming a concrete jungle.
Personaly i don’t give a hoot whether Mr. Allard continues to own it, or be involved in it. I don’t give a wuk up if the government takes it as a gift, or buys it at a discount price.
I do care whether it gets destroyed by developers in the name of progress.
I don’t see the difficulty in government saying “we declare Graeme Hall Swamp and it’s immidiate environs are a National Park,”
Case done.
ace // November 3, 2008 at 5:23 PM
SO DAVID THOMPSON IS A GUYANESE AFTERALL
Waterboy // November 3, 2008 at 5:59 PM
@Adrian Loveridge: “Everybody, please see the BTA’s weekly newsletter…”
Where do we find it?
Hopi // November 3, 2008 at 5:59 PM
WTF….. In these interesting times that we are living, environementalism is just another code word for culling the “human” population. Right now its cool to “go green,” to save the planet, to protect the environment, but if you were to assess the orinetation of this new “hip thing” you would see that its the evil hand of a few who want to totally dominate and control, hence the need to save the environment and cull the population. Like I mentioned before, Allard said that the world is increasingly over-populated and that’s a damn LIE. If he sees over-population as a problem he can really make a fundamental change by taking himself out first and hopefully many more who espouse his beliefs would follow his lead. Envionnmentalists, eugenicists and nazis are all the same bunch. That might surprise you! Do these philanthropists ever think about helping “humans?” The Almighty has already created a perfectly, harmonius environment. These folk just like to put the Almighty’ creation into some sanctuary whether it is a jail, prison, hospital, school, church just name it, they just have to control and dominate. Will the wildlife die if the sanctuary closes?
Chris Halsall // November 3, 2008 at 6:19 PM
Hopi… What are you smoking?
Or do you have “upside” on the Sanctuary being developed?
no name // November 3, 2008 at 7:42 PM
I do not agree that there was an attempt here to go off thread. We have just seen a display of exactly what continues to hold Barbados back – small-mindedness, indifference, complacency and racism.
We are comparing a generous gift for future generations with the sacrifice some of our own people are willing to make for our country.
Some of us put our energy into blowing hot air – not buying/wearing poppies, paying our good, hard-earned tax money to turn a statue to face another way and then wanting to spend more money to throw it in the Wharf. Fussing about who did what to whom and blaming living people for what dead people did to our dead ancestors long time ago.
I am proud of my slave family and glad that they survived the horrific passage from Africa. I have a better life because of their sacrifice. I am not an African, I have never been to Africa and I still like who I am. I have never seen a single person who I can blame for ill-treating my ancestors. Those who traded my family are long dead and so are my family members who were traded.
Today people are still trying to do the same thing to us and our living family. This is why we should continue fight for our freedom wherever we are and no matter what colour we are, even when we fight alone or our numbers are few. It is a hard fight but one worth fighting.
Those of us who read the PM’s budget will have seen that he stresses that the country will be glad of the help of philanthropists. We cannot expect our Government to do everything for us while we make little or no sacrifice. Those days are over. But we do need to know that our Government is not wasting our money on nonsense or, worse still, politicians stealing it to feather their own nests and oppressing minorities in the process.
When we are offered help we need to decide if it is for the good of our country and our future. We then need to ensure, through a transparent process, that the help gets to where it can give all of us the greatest benefit.
Does it really matter if help comes from someone who is not the same colour as we are. We all came from the same place.
Technician // November 3, 2008 at 9:21 PM
What a load of rubbish from NO Name.
I agree with you on some of what you say but how can you honestly make this comment..’Fussing about who did what to whom and blaming living people for what dead people did to our dead ancestors long time ago.’
Then go on to say something as ridiculous as ….’I have a better life because of their sacrifice.’
Do you have any idea what it means to sacrifice??
In the context of slavery, what was their sacrifice? They had no choice in the matter. What make this life you have better if you dont even know how, (by your own admission) theirs were.
It is great that you are the type of person you are today and I commend you for it but please never try to deny the facts that the horrors of slavery and racism have descended through generations and are still perpetrated by the same descendants in these times.
Hopi // November 3, 2008 at 11:32 PM
ChrisH……
I’m smoking an “anthropomorphic” hashish. Want some? It may help correct the imbalance in your amazing mind!
Can't find BTA newsletter // November 4, 2008 at 7:15 AM
visitbarbados.org is the official site of the BTA.
Nothing on that site for Graeme Hall.
So stupid we have to beg for the report. Where is this mythical newsletter Adrian?
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 7:22 AM
@ no name
“I am proud of my slave family and glad that they survived the horrific passage from Africa. I have a better life because of their sacrifice. I am not an African, I have never been to Africa and I still like who I am. I have never seen a single person who I can blame for ill-treating my ancestors. Those who traded my family are long dead and so are my family members who were traded.”
I dont know you but these are some of the things I hear coming from the mouths of my young students at university.
All jokes aside.
I’d like you to try a simple mental exercise.
Try constructing a family tree.
You mother and your father. Then their parents and see how far it takes you.
By the time you get to four branches back in history you will have stumbled upon African slaves.
Now imagine that you are a result, spiritual, physical, emotional, cultural (you name it) of all these African people who have produced you.
Now try another exercise.
Imagine that there’d be no you without them. In other words, they are you and are they. You are connected.
Now look in the mirror. Look at your father and look at your mother and you will see similar physical traits.
Now imagine that when they look at their parents, your grandparents; they see similar physical traits which were passed onto you.
Now take this to it’s logical conclusion and you will figure out somehow that we are Africans.
We may not be sure exactly where we came from but the traits are there.
It’s more than sacrifice. It’s a continuum.
When you’ve done this little mental exercise, I’d like you to go deeper and start asking yourself one simple question – why am I?
Then close your eyes and try to imagine that you (remembering that you are a residual of all those ancestors) are on a ship, deep in the hole, next to hundreds more, chained, naked, defecating and urinating on each other.
Imagine the heat, the stench, the darkness and the sheer fear, dread and horror.
Now imagine that you are there against your own will and that you had a family before (brothers, sisters, aunts, mother, father, grandfather) and you will never see them again.
You want to jump off that ship and take your life but you survived the horror of the crossing.
Then for the next 30 to 40 short years of your expected life, you are forced to work in the sun, cutting canes and doing all kinds of manual labor with no pay at the end – but yet you survive.
Yet you survive.
Now ask yourself if it isnt a little arrogant to say that this was mere sacrifice and that you are not an African because you’ve never been there.
JUST THINK ABOUT THAT HONESTLY FOR A FEW MOMENTS.
I trust that you will arise a little more enlightened from your slumber.
JC // November 4, 2008 at 8:21 AM
Anon anyone who know me knows that I am an emotional basket I cried when I read what you said cause I remind my friends daily on the block why I will never forget where I have come from I would have been one who would have either jumped from the boat or perhaps swung from a tree because I cannot bow t no man. We want to forget what has made us into a strong people.
Thanks for reminding me (Although I didnt need any reminding) However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
Adrian Loveridge // November 4, 2008 at 8:48 AM
Can’t find BTA newletter,
Call or email chayd@visitbarabdos.org
and I am sure he will email it to you.
At the same suggest that the Weekly UPDATE is posted on the website.
I have by the way emailed it to BU and BFP twice.
no name // November 4, 2008 at 9:07 AM
Thanks Anonymous,
I fully appreciate what you are saying, perhaps more fully than you know. I have done your exercise.
We all have African blood. So if that makes us African then okay we are all African. African does not mean black/white.
Enlightenment comes through experience and most Bajans hear stories about the people who are struggling today but are not moved to act. Few of us have a drop of activist blood in our veins. I am afraid most of us are too comfortable.
No slumber here. Just cannot afford to spend time blaming others when there is a struggle at hand now.
What you have said is exactly the point I am making. My family refuses to be oppressed today the way we have been for generations. We overcame that and are not going back.
I see that you (and I) believe that the traits of our ancestors play a significant role in who we are today. Do you believe that most Bajans inherited the peaceful traits hence there complacency?
Have you given any serious thought to what the influx of immigrants may mean for Barbados’ future as far as inherited character traits goes? This might be a good exercise for your young students.
I am not convinced that we should chase away foreign philanthropists because we do not like their colour or because they are not brown nosers. Although we do have to look very closely at what we are being offered and how it will affect future generations.
I just cannot see how the Nature Sanctuary and a reserve in the area could have a negative effect on future generations. I have been there and it is magnificant.
ru4real // November 4, 2008 at 9:08 AM
However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
————————————————
Just remember that Africans sold other Africans as slaves and Africa is the only continent in the world where slavery is still practised.
Technician // November 4, 2008 at 9:29 AM
ru4real // November 4, 2008 at 9:08 am
However, this morning I will remind my son and my dauhgter and my frineds that we are proud africans incase they need to remember THANKS!
————————————————
Just remember that Africans sold other Africans as slaves and Africa is the only continent in the world where slavery is still practised.
—————————————————————-
@Ru4real……
You just cant help can you?
Slavery is still very much alive in Europe also albeit by another name.
You are the kind who just cant accept that slavery was wrong. People like you would say anything to justify your ignorance.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 10:21 AM
@ no name
I’m impressed by your passion and I too believe that Graeme Hall swamp should be protected at all cost but I challenge you to read the Press Release between the lines.
Do some background research into this philanthropist and you will understand the vitriol being spewed.
Bajans are not as complacent as many would have us believe. We use other peaceful methods of resistance that have worked for us for centuries.
We are a very intelligent and pragmatic people.
Just remember that we were sold for glass beads and other trinkets.
Today those beads and trinkets are still used. The only difference is that they have now morphed into the biggest illusion of all, MONEY.
Many times the trinkets will come in the form of philanthropy and what the philanthropist will do is to take one of us to be the mouthpiece for the project and play the emotional card.
I urge you to visit the website of Graeme Hall swamp, study the language, watch the video and listen very very carefully to what is being said.
You are very intelligent.
Just do like they do and take your emotion out of it for a minute and see what happens when you analyze it coldly.
Negroman // November 4, 2008 at 10:32 AM
Technician well said.Slavery is alive & real in my many Eastern European countries.The nonsense that was fed to us through the misinterpretation of slavery is so deep in the thinking of ru4real that nothing could be said to convince an idiot like you otherwise.
ru4real would you accept the fact that slavery is being practise in many Eastern European States such as Romania,Poland,The Maldives,Russia & some it break away states among others.Eastern Europeans men,women & children are being traded for labour & sexual practises.If this is not so please come and denied it you ru4real & others.While at it come here and list the African countries where slavery is still being practise.
Africans did not sold Africans into slavery.That is the biggest lie ever told on the African people.Africa did not conceptualise slavery and NEVER NEVER invited the stinking,smelly,detestable,disease Europeans to come to Africa & captured Africans.That is a blatant lie.Bring proof.That is a ploy & an excuse for the white stinking European bastards to justify slavery and to escape the issue of paying reparations.They want us to accept that we played a role in the slave trade.We did not.But uninform human waste like you will like to believe we did. ru4real you are 1 of the biggest asses on this blog who does not have independent thought.You are swallowing the shit that the poisonous,semi retareded,half make,disease ridden,non-human Europeans want us to believe.
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 10:49 AM
Anonymous,
I would gladly send you back to where you belong… I’ll pay for your ticket even… cause well… “De White Man” is how you get to live on this wonderful island now…
“De White Man” is how you got to type on a computer now… Oh but wait… people in Africa are still killing each other…
We dont do that on this wonderful island… hmmm… possibly cause we are a civilzed nation…
Well, at least the rest of us are civilzed Anonymous.
I extend my invitation again… one way ticket to your homeland… wherever it maybe… and then the rest of us can think about what we can do to protect something that is not only a part of our island, but also part of our industry (as our main income is tourism)
Wake up and smell the coffee beans…
no name // November 4, 2008 at 10:51 AM
Watch it Negroman.
Those “stinking,smelly,detestable,disease Europeans” of whom you speak live on the same land mass as Africa. We do not.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 10:52 AM
@ Oh Please wake up
Hahahahahahahaha. They did a wonderful job on you!
What a successful experiment!
Cuddear!
no name // November 4, 2008 at 10:56 AM
Oh Please wake up,
We all belong right where we are and we do still have a choice.
You do not need to be sarcastic here. Read carefully what Anonymous is saying before you take this discussion down.
no name // November 4, 2008 at 11:08 AM
No argument here, Anonymous.
My people sold my family for “glass beads and other trinkets”.
As far as I am concerned we both realize that this is exactly what our people are doing to us right now but I am not convinced that greed is any other colour than green and that our people are any other colour than the rainbow.
The issue is money NOT skin colour. Skin colour is the big ploy that continues to keep us back. High time we realize this and move forward.
Check Obama. (Incidentally, my family looks very much like him. Perhaps he is a cousin).
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 11:16 AM
@ no name
Please read the late Prof Walter Rodney’s seminal thesis “How Europe Underdeveloped Africa.”
It’s still in print. It’s on reading lists of many european universities.
Start your reading there!
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 11:39 AM
My Sarcasm is a bliss compared to the ignorance being portrade… anyhow, this thread is about Graeme Hall Sanctuary… not Africa… so here is a suggestion, why dont you start a different thread about it… as I am not disputing what has been said, and that is a strong topic… This thread is about The Sanctuary…
So, moving on… what Barbados needs to think about is what we as citizens can do to stand up for the swamp, at the end of the day it serves as a refuge but also a source for education… UWI students have used the swamps for years for surveys. It is a part of an eco-system that is very fragile also because of the new developments (e.g. the loss of the beach for the water outlet) without people to go into the area and assist the nature (as confusing as that sounds) the swamp can actualy suffacate itself… so even if it is just left alone, it will still not survive well… And what happens next can be a number of things…
A Bajan // November 4, 2008 at 11:46 AM
Who would have thought that the closing of one of our last nature sites…a heritage for all Barbadians…Black and White…would be the springboard for a racist to rant his retoric. How sad that in the 21st century we still have ignorance on this level in our country. Anonymous you should be ashamed of yourself. We can only be thankful that you seem to be in the minority and that most Barbadians are not so like minded.
black in my body // November 4, 2008 at 11:54 AM
As a proud white bajan with obvious black roots at some point in my being I have to state from the unsaid “whitemans point of view” Anon, shame on you you say so clearly time and time again that this is” your” island the bajans island the black mans island and you want to race people off of it…It is not yours truthfully its not even the whitemans in fact the race it belongs to is all but completely anialated and not even by the “English…Whiteman” but by the Spanish,Portugese settlers.So please when you are running people outta this beautiful island keep running yourself.we will leave if you will tooo.Now honestly as it was taught to me, as it has been taught to anyone else with parents who wanted their children to go up with level heads ,we are for the most part barbadians you were not born of africa ….your parents were not either. therfore you are Barbadian…have pride in your place of birth this beautiful island. do not seek to corrupt it further with ideas of slavery. you have won. there is no secret agenda no plantocracy we are a free independent nation.any ties to england are only there by either the fact that they benifit us or we are too lazy a people to change them.stop thinking race this island is 95% black 2% white how could we few people still leave such a big chip on your shoulder when you yourself never even felt the hardship. For the record I have traced my ancestry and my forefathers did arrive on a whitemans ship from england as his slave .a stablehand who was allowed to sleep in the half a stable they had .I bear no malace to them.the same forefather married a black woman should I as a bajan be shamed for that too??? again not about race Anon.We cannot change the past we can only hope to not repeat the mistakes in the future.be yourself a better hope for our future and understand that regardless of who owns it, Gramme hall is part of Barbados and we should be pleased to have it cleaned up and given back to our island for future generations of barbadians to enjoy.
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 12:04 PM
Well said black in my body… we are so fortuate that we are getting Graeme Hall back so beautiful… it was horrible and dying before Allard and company come… Im not sure if anyone remembers how bad it smelt… and how much mosquitoes were in that area…
Farmz // November 4, 2008 at 12:43 PM
As others have said, this is a thread about the future of one of our natural resources.
How racism has managed to raise it’s head in here is really beyond me. I have read comments by Technician, Hopi, Negroman and I do think that some of their comments regarding racism are valid.
However, I fail to see why this is even being discussed.
I think it was WTF that said (and I paraphrase) “I don’t give a hoot whether Allard continues to be involved, or not. I don’t give a wuk up whether the government get it as a donation or buy it back at a discount price.”
The only thing that I see as being relevant to this discussion is what we as a people (black, white, brown, indian, chinese ect) can do to make sure that OUR heritage, is not further destroyed by greedy developers,as has happened on the west coast.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 12:52 PM
@ black in my body
Strange you should define yourself as white!
Poor fella!
Cuddear!
Therein lies the problem. You prove the point!
black in my body // November 4, 2008 at 1:02 PM
To Anon should you pass me on the street I am a complete white man. the only black on my body is the growing flesh from cuts and scrapes and the ultimate knowledge that barbados is a complete melting pot.they are only two peoples that growing flesh are common in . that is African and Italian and I a damn sure none of my forefathers came from italy after all we live in Barbados not New York.It is sad for you to assume however that because I choose to say that I am white with a hint of black that I should be a black man who does not know himself.It is Kinda like you being A barbadian who refuses to know himself.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 1:48 PM
I am an African my friend. Make no bones about it.
black in my body // November 4, 2008 at 1:53 PM
Then as an African, you are a guest in Barbados as you cannot be both an African and a Barbadian .I suggest you try and seek to return to your homeland.Although truth be told I know of Few Africans who would like to go back to their homeland ,feel free though.
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 1:59 PM
Yes you are.. we have established this.. And the way you portray yourself helps me, and the rest of us I’m sure, understand why there is so much termiol in Africa…
Now can we talk about what the thread is about you Highness??? or start another thread and leave you here…
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 2:01 PM
It’s unfortunate you dont see the linkages.
Cuddear!
Negroman // November 4, 2008 at 2:04 PM
Black In My Body
You said you have white in your body and consider yourself a whiteman with European heritage.But blacks in Barbados should not consider themselves black with African heritage.
Barbadian is only a nationality but our ethnic origin is African.Like it or not we blacks are the descendants of African slaves and that is an undeniable fact.
In Barbados we have an ethnic group that we call Indians.We have a few thousand Indians borned in Barbados who have Barbadian nationality,but we Barbadians refer to them as Indians.We never mentioned them as only Barbadians.We specify Indian.
The reasons are:
(1) Those Barbadian Indians look like Indians from the Indian Continent
(2)Those Indians maintain the same dress code as the Indians from the continent.
(3) Those Barbadian Indians practise the same religion,have the same culture and the same norms & values as those from the Continent.
Eventhough those borned Barbadian Indians have Barbadian nationality they have not forgotten who they are,where they come from,and where they heritage is .On the other hand we black Barbadisns with African heritage must abandon everthing African,forget we have African in us and believe we are only Barbadian and for us that should only matter.
I will admit I have little regard,little love if any at all for Indians.However,I have respect for the way the Indians preseved their heritage in every region of the earth that they go.
We blacks can learn a lot from the Indians in Barbados .
Unfortunately for us blacks the legacy of slavery has practically destroyed our heritage and it will take a period of time before we can reclaim what is our and recognise the true Afriac.It will take time but the rebuilding process is under way.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 2:06 PM
By the way, I’m not quite sure what you mean by “termiol in Africa.”
Please help me to understand that.
Anonymous // November 4, 2008 at 2:12 PM
Thanks Negroman
PLease educate them on how the Motherland was carved up at a table in Europe and how ethnic groups were divided – the root cause of today’s strife.
PLease show them the parallels in the former Yugoslavia, Georgia and the list goes on.
Please educate them on the artificiality of the nation-state in Africa (another white man construct) and show them the root causes of today’s strife.
Negroman, educate ya brothers and sisters doo.
Please explain to them that true philanthropists dont meddle in governmental or national affairs. They donate their money and keep quiet unless they have another agenda.
Please show them the linkages between the so-called Graeme Hall project and the rape of the West Coast.
Please, please, please!
Farmz // November 4, 2008 at 2:12 PM
This thread really needs locking down, as nothing relating to the topic is being discussed any longer.
black in my body // November 4, 2008 at 2:24 PM
I have never and will never be upset over my heritage white or black however you are a barbadian you loyalty lies with the country of your birth and your parents birth not some continent that you have possibly never even visited. unlike you I do not call myself african or english even tho I might have hertiage on both sides I am a Barbadian.and if we do not all act in the best interests of our island it will not grow.so Grow up as a Barbadian,Proud and erect not as some half baked Moron bent on driving the dreams of barbadians on the whole down the perverbial tubes.As for the Indian culture here in the island you are correct in all but one area the Indian population also stays firmly away from trying to discredit any race or group in the island and stay out of all politics as well.
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 4:34 PM
As someone had said earlier that Allard should go back to Canada… If you read the beginning of the article you will see that the article was sent from Canada… So the man has been sending funds to this as a charity already… and is ready to give it away… It’s so typical that we dont open our minds to possibilities, it could easily be a public park, it would be much more fascinating than Barclays…
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 4:39 PM
Termiol… Africa… your own people kill each other… tribal wars still exist…
What… you dont know… CUHDEAR.. get educated… watch the news…use the net… now back to the thread thats on GRAEME HALL…
Oh Please wake up // November 4, 2008 at 4:46 PM
p.s. your book… its an opinion of one man… go take a history course… then come talk to us…
Chris Halsall // November 4, 2008 at 5:00 PM
@Adrian Loveridge: “I have by the way emailed it to BU and BFP twice.”
So, are you ,AL, submitting to the readers that BU and BFP have the information their commentators are asking for, but have not brought the same forward?
Humm… Are the BB blogs nothing but the traditional forth estate (in different clothing)?
I do hope *someone* will speak to this…
Could someone (anyone) advise?
Bonny Peppa // November 4, 2008 at 5:20 PM
Anonymous,
I wid you all de way man. These people really think that what you say could sway tourist from coming hay? (stupse)
I would like to see the swamp before it dry up cause people getting on like dat is what will happen. Who gun cah me?
(Just a lil humor fa de bloggers.)
How ya like ma?
How ya like ma.
wondering // November 4, 2008 at 7:26 PM
what a useless thread. this could have been an intelligent one except we ended up with whole load of crap as to who got what in who blood…
David // November 4, 2008 at 8:00 PM
@Chris H
You are not prepared to give is the benefit of the doubt?
Please note that Adrian L sent us a link from within his inbox which prompts for a login/password to his email account. Adrian we wondered if you could cut and paste the information.
ru4real // November 4, 2008 at 8:21 PM
u4real // November 4, 2008 at 9:08 am
————————————————
—————————————————————-
@Ru4real……
You just cant help can you?
Slavery is still very much alive in Europe also albeit by another name.
You are the kind who just cant accept that slavery was wrong. People like you would say anything to justify your ignorance.
———————————————
Its very much alive in Africa under the same name slavery!
Shut your eyes and dream of the Africa that you have never even been too.
Africans sold Africans and today Africans kill Africans so be happy that you are Bajan and no nothing of the reality of Africa where life is cheap – that is why Africans risk their lives to get out of the place every single day.
Ignorant?
Read the news lately?
Hundreds of thousands fleeing from other Africans in the Congo,
13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia.
Slavery was a terrible thing but the decendents of slaves are far better off living in Barbados than the majority living in Africa.
Straight talk // November 4, 2008 at 9:14 PM
If all humanity originated from the Olduvai Gorge, and that in reality is the cradle of civilisation, how come Anon fell out that cradle, bumped his head, eschewed civility, and earned a teaching position at UWI.
Technician // November 4, 2008 at 9:35 PM
@ru4real….
You still dodging the fact that your Europeans are also involved in everyday slavery as much as the Africans but lets leave that for another day, you really pinch a nerve when you tell me to read the news.
Hundreds fleeing Congo……….give the true reasons not the one dictated by CNN or FOX.
13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia……..there you go again.All the journalists who were invited to the debacle said to them she looked 23. This is in agreement to what the officials say. Under Sharia Law, it is illegal if the girl is 13.
I am in no way condoning this killing as I think it is Barbaric but please dont come here with your arrogance,telling people to read news, when it is clear that the only ‘news’ you read is what you see on CNN or FOX.
any how, done with you, another place …another time……peace.
Straight talk // November 4, 2008 at 10:11 PM
What’s the true reasons in Rwanda, Techie.
Are blacks really hacking blacks to death in the cradle of civilisation?
Tell me no.
ru4real // November 5, 2008 at 5:51 AM
13 year old girl stoned to death after being raped in Somalia……..there you go again.All the journalists who were invited to the debacle said to them she looked 23. This is in agreement to what the officials say. Under Sharia Law, it is illegal if the girl is 13.
——————————————-
O sorry thats alright then she LOOKED 23 so it ok that she gets raped by three men and THEN gets stoned to death.
Do go back to Africa you will fit in jus fine.
Adrian Loveridge // November 5, 2008 at 6:04 AM
David/Chris,
My apologies, apparently the BTA News Update is only available to a limited number of ’stakeholders’.
I cannot even imagine what is the ‘management’ logic behind this decision.
And I thought we were trying to get the general public to better understand the vagaries of the tourism industry!
Technician // November 5, 2008 at 6:49 AM
@ ru4real……
Show me where I ever said it is ok.
All I tried to show, is that the media also plays a part in its coverage with deception, which in turn creates emotional public responses for their own agendas.
Keep on twisting my words …..you have been taught well.
No need to go to Africa….Barbados is slowly becoming like it,
Straight talk // November 5, 2008 at 6:59 AM
ru4real,
off thread I know, but is it true that poor foundation design at the Hilton just cost us that $8m?
JC // November 5, 2008 at 7:40 AM
A 13 year old girl was raped by jippy doyle and then was castigated by persons who should have known better shupse what is the difference what shite am I hearing! I never once denied (I know negroman aint going to like this but) that Kings lived handsomely off of the bloods of their own but please remember that all over Europe persons sell children and women for next kin to nthing. The next leading King of the world are blatantly killing their own an wwe still support them (china) your point there is no lil sin and big sin frien! Congrats to Obama!
David // November 5, 2008 at 7:53 AM
GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY, INC.
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Bridgetown, Barbados
MONDAY, November 3, 2008
Telephone: (246) 426-3610
Email: hroberts@graemehall.com
Art and Archives: http://www.graemehall.com/press.htm
SUNDAY AT THE PARK GRAEME HALL NATURE SANCTUARY WILL OPEN FREE TO THE PUBLIC
Place: Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary
When: SUNDAY, November 9, 2008
Time: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Cost: Free to all
On SUNDAY, November 9, 2008, Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary will be open to the public.
Admission is free.
“Sunday will be an opportunity for everyone to come and see the Sanctuary,” said Harry Roberts, General Manager. “We are saddened that we are closing the Sanctuary on December 15, but this is a chance for all Bajans to come and see a pristine example of their national heritage, and the beauty of the wetland before the gates close.”
The Sanctuary is part of the proposed 240-acre Graeme Hall National Park (www.graemehallnationalpark.org), of which 81 acres have been designated as a RAMSAR wetland approved under the international Convention on Wetlands. The Sanctuary is located entirely within the RAMSAR site.
A video of the Sanctuary and the proposed Graeme Hall National Park can be viewed at http://www.superu.ca/content/425 .
In 2007, over 6,000 Barbadians signed a petition in favor of preserving the entire green area at Graeme Hall, since it is the last and largest green space on the South Coast between the Airport and Bridgetown.
ru4real // November 5, 2008 at 11:08 AM
@ST
ru4real
off thread I know, but is it true that poor foundation design at the Hilton just cost us that $8m?
————————————–
I dont know ST ask the BAPE lot they should have been on the case.
Chris Halsall // November 5, 2008 at 3:32 PM
@David: “You are not prepared to give is the benefit of the doubt?
Never. It is not the scientists’ way. (Smile.)
I detected an inconsistency between the “outputs” of two “trusted” sources. One of them had to be wrong…
@Loveridge: “My apologies, apparently the BTA News Update is only available to a limited number of ’stakeholders’. I cannot even imagine what is the ‘management’ logic behind this decision.
The BTA is aware they will fall under the FOIA. Correct?
They may wish to consider this, and begin acting as if the act has already been enacted…
David // November 5, 2008 at 7:24 PM
Here is the elusive BTA news alert :-)
This is verbatim
Interesting that the blogs as usual got not a passing mention when we were at the lead of the fight, notable mention Barbados Free Press.
Chris Halsall // November 5, 2008 at 7:48 PM
David et al.
Thank you for your above.
If I may please share, and quote a great personal influence… Dire Straits (Mark Knopfler) / Love over Gold (1982) / Industrial Disease…
“I go down to Speaker’s Corner I’m thunderstruck…
they got free speech, tourists, police in trucks…
two men say they’re Jesus one of them must be wrong…
there’s a protest singer singing a protest song – he says:
‘they wanna have a war to keep us on our knees…
they wanna have a war to keep their factories…
they wanna have a war to stop us buying Japanese
they wanna have a war to stop Industrial Disease…
they’re pointing out the enemy to keep you deaf and blind…
they wanna sap your energy incarcerate your mind…
they give you Rule Brittania, gassy beer, page three…
two weeks in Espana and Sunday striptease’…
meanwhile the first Jesus says ‘I’d cure it soon…
abolish monday mornings and friday afternoons’…
the other one’s on a hunger strike he’s dying by degrees…
how come Jesus gets Industrial Disease?
ru4real // November 5, 2008 at 7:50 PM
A 13 year old girl was raped by jippy doyle and then was castigated by persons who should have known better shupse what is the difference what shite am I hearing!
————————————————-
The difference is she is still alive not stoned to death for ‘adultery’
GHNS // November 6, 2008 at 11:59 AM
If that is the “verbatim” release of the BTA it is embarrassing.
The real links to the Press Page and National Park are:
http://www.graemehall.com/press.htm
http://www.graemehallnationalpark.org
And the Sanctuary is 35 acres, not 25.
Chris Halsall // November 6, 2008 at 5:34 PM
@GHNS: “If that is the “verbatim” release of the BTA it is embarrassing. The real links to the Press Page and National Park are:…
*Very* well done!
Is It Really the End of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary In Barbados : The Barbados Blog // November 9, 2008 at 4:06 PM
[...] For further reading on the plight of the Sanctuary I would recommend reading the following articles Nature Sanctuary in Barbados forced to Close – Lapwings and other migratory birds now at risk and Graeam Hall Nature Sanctuary Closing . [...]
ru4real // November 23, 2008 at 9:14 AM
What a pity that this topic has been hijacked by sad trolls such as Negroman.
There are some interesting posts in between his brainless rants.