A call for Justice, A call for Truth, A call for Change
by Enricco Bohne (www.barbadosadvocate.com)
This was the plea yesterday at the I’Akobi Youth Resource Centre in Tweedside Road as the Justice Committee formed to promote, protect and defend the late Ras Tacuma I’Akobi Maloney’s case, met with various media houses to publicise the status of Maloney’s case.
Tacuma, whose demise at Landlock, St. Lucy on June 17th was met with much controversy, was represented by Committee members KudosSage I (Secretary of the Justice Committee), Brother Heru (Director of I’Akobi Youth Resource Centre and member of the Justice Committee) as well as Ras Lumumba (Priest of Church of Haile Selassie I), and Tacuma’s brother Mandela Maloney. Also present was the moter of I’Akobi and other Rastafari Elders.
I’Akobi side hit at Cop Probe
Source: icarbarbados
MERE DAYS before the Coroner’s inquest into the death of former Barbados Exhibition winner I’Akobi Maloney , the Justice Committee has upped the ante in its fight to get an independent investigation. Clearly stating it was not questioning the office of the Coroner, members of the committee said they specifically believed the information that would be analysed during the November 10 inquest should come from an independent body outside of the Royal Barbados Police Force.
Call for Independent Investigation
November 7th, 2008
by Peter Thorne (www.cbc.bb)
Secretary of the Justice Committee, Ras KudosSage I, called for an independent investigation to be conducted into the death of former Barbados Exhibition winner and Engineer, I’Akobi Maloney. He lauded the late Rastafarian as a man of exemplary character and moral standing. He says the Committee will resist any attempt to vilify Maloney’s character and his adherence to standards of excellence.
He made the call at a news conference at the I’Akobi Youth Resource Centre at Carrington Village in St. Michael.
FORWARD THIS MESSAGE ON TO 3 FRIENDS – http://icarbarbados.org/tacuma

274 responses so far ↓
JC // November 8, 2008 at 9:35 PM
Up today a sister and I had a conversation about this youngster, justice must be served! Answers must be given!
Confused // November 8, 2008 at 10:59 PM
From what I have heard this young man was an outstanding person. However the questions must be asked; what was he doing in that location when he met his untimely death? Why would the police want to harm him? The answers to those questions will solve the mystery. Its all very sad.
Ras Simeon // November 8, 2008 at 11:48 PM
Rastafarians & The Youths Of Barbados Have Given Strong Support To This Present Goverment On February 08, It Is Those Votes That Brought Them Into Power. IAKOBI Was A Rastafarian & Also A Youth, So I Am Saying That The Same Way
The Youths & Rastafarians Of This Island Barbados Lended Their Support In Time Of Need, That The Present Goverment Do The Same. This Situation Have Strengthen The Rastafarian Community Have Brought About A Strong Unity Amongst Them. Peace Can Only Flow In This World Is There Is justice.
RASTAFARI BLESSINGS
The People's Democratic Congress // November 9, 2008 at 8:27 AM
As many of those people in Barbados that have been sufficiently moved by the circumstances surrounding the death of I’Akobi Tacuma Maloney on June 17, 2008, in Land Lock, St. Lucy, must turn out in their numbers at the start of the Coroner Court’s inquest into his death on November 10 2008, to witness the wheels of justice in motion and to give serious support to the family, friends and associates of the late I’Akobi, at this another level of pain and suffering.
For, this inquest must represent a very crucial phase in the quest to as much as possible uncover the truth as to what took place at Land Lock that night, and to make sure that the correct legal courses of action are taken, and the right interests served in this highly injurious matter.
Finally, the Justice Committee, the People’s Empowerment Party, the I’Akobi Resource Centre, Mr. Hamilton Lashley, some sections of the mainstream media, esp. the Nation Newspaper, the two major locally based internet blog sites BU/BFP, those persons who the PDC encountered on the streets with the petition, and others too numerous to mention here, must be commended for keeping the issue of Maloney’s unnatural death, the connection between the Barbados Police Force and Maloney’s death, and the very bad and deficient manner in which Barbados Police Force has handled the public relations surrounding the matter, right in the public’s domain for the scrutiny and apprehension of many of those sections of the public that have been interested in the matter, generally, and for the assessment and judgement of many of those persons of the public who have been in sympathy with the late Rastafari Scholar’s family, and who have been yearning for justice to be served in this matter, particularly. Praises to the Most High!!
PDC
Ras KudosSage I // November 9, 2008 at 11:28 AM
@Confused
I am off to the beach to relax and stroll! Let me take a trip to Cove Bay.
Wow it is wonderful up here. These are some magnificent cliffs to watch the waves rhythmically pound against – this motion soothes me as I meditate afar!
I am off to the fields and hills beyond recall (which are now our very own). I really hope there are no reports about drug landings where I intend to go!
If I were a police officer responding to a drug call at Cove Bay, the first (and every) Rastaman that I encounter, I would have to at least ask him a question or two! Why? Rastafari profiling is the “probable cause” in Barbados and the Caribbean. Maybe if the Rastaman refuses to answer or gives too much talk, I would need to assist him in answering!
However, the first tourist (or tourist-looking person) that I encounter while responding to this drug call, I would ask them if they are having a good day and wish them a happy stay in Barbados. I might even ensure their safety if they walked to near to the edge of the cliff.
Indeed, I am not a police officer! I am at a humanitarian seeking justice!
@PDC
Thanks for your commendations. We look forward to your sustained support in rallying for justice. Notice, no allegations were made by the Justice Committee. All we are asking for is an independent investigation into the unnatural death of I’Akobi Tacuma Maloney!!!
David // November 9, 2008 at 12:46 PM
@ Ras KudosSage I
We support your cause i.e to determine what is the truth.
Other areas of society can learn from your group which have shown the characteristics of courage, persistence and loyalty. May your actions reveal justice and in the process bring closure to this matter so that the late I’Akobi Tacuma Maloney can rest in peace.
Confused // November 9, 2008 at 2:22 PM
I am off to the beach to relax and stroll! Let me take a trip to Cove Bay.
……………………………………………………………..
At night? When did incident occur?
ROK // November 9, 2008 at 2:53 PM
Confused
You are truly confused.
ROK // November 9, 2008 at 3:19 PM
Sorry about that. A slip of the mouse. I remember driving my car to the ends of St. Lucy and even getting out to see the beautiful lanscape below the escarpment and explore the cavities. Lord help me if I was to but up on the Police answering a drug call.
In the morning, in the heat of the day and at nights, I have found myself on that part of the escarpment. What is the problem? We can’t go where we like in Barbados anymore?
Well let me tell you the real problem, I have to conclude that we have some trigger-fingered police who know nothing about investigations. It is like the fella that curse because he run out of vocabulary. The Police want to resort to force in order to replace proper investigation.
The question that needs to be answered is why Police feel that they must grabble and man-handle a suspect, IN CASE HE IS GUILTY.
What was the hurry? If you investigating something then you should see something properly materialise not try to force it out of innocent people. That was pure un-professionalism on the part of the Police that led to the death of a human bieng; in my opinion.
Let us not fool ourselves. Anything that any citizen in Barbados would do, right or worng, will be reflected in the Police Force. They do not come from Mars; and the Police that rough-up suspects, etc. parallel the gang leaders; only, they are perceived to have a licence to do it.
I do not see why this urgency to catch “criminals” or people that break the law. We should understand that the law was made for man and that even Policemen have been known to give people a chance. So you break the law and the policeman or even the courts can give you a chance.
It is known that some culprits have gotten off because evidence was tampered with; so what is that but a waste of energy and resources to feed the selfish desires of a few?
I wonder who are those positioned to tamper with evidence; and you and I know it is not for their health. If they are so fanatical about it, they should turn in themselves or their own.
This is not an act against I’Akobi alone, this is an act against the citizenry of Barbados and if it was you Confused, you may have been over the cliff too; and not just over the hill.
Technician // November 9, 2008 at 3:54 PM
Lets change his name from Confused to IGNORANT!!
Going to the cliff was nothing new to this man…he did it to meditate. He did it in broad daylight.
I have dreadlocks and I can tell you about profiling by the police .
I have been pulled over and searched countless times by the RBPF for no apparent reason other than my appearance. …..or was it the Bob Marley bumper sticker?
Bonny Peppa // November 9, 2008 at 3:56 PM
I’Akobi is a real cutey.
But listen peoples, stop jumping to conclusions before conclusions jump pun wunna.
I would hate to think that he was a victim of circumstance.
Rest in peace my son.
Peace.
JC // November 9, 2008 at 8:18 PM
Confused at times I am confused and i take time from this confusing world and I take a walk with my dread locks and I walk sometimes reallll far and as a rasta woman I don’t know if the police would treat me with such disdain. However, I like my brother Ialokb need at time to get away because I get confused by persons like you who dont understand the meaning of finding solace! You think that all rastas do is smoke weed! stupse stupse! PLEASE!
JC // November 9, 2008 at 8:20 PM
Sorry for mis spelling I’Akobi Tacuma Maloney’s name I was just so pist off to read so much crap from Confused!
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 12:41 AM
If yah got locks in Bim yah guilty ah doing somet’ing, somewhere, at sometime… so avoid being in wrong place. No religion or belief system could be so strong as to make me transform my hair style to locks. Nah, too untidy and stigmatised. Not very fond of ‘em… but even less fond of the bullies that make up the Force!
Keisha Walkes // November 10, 2008 at 2:57 AM
I too am still sad when I hear about I’Akobi. I was here at school in Texas when I heard the name on the news and I immediately saw his smiling face. He and I were hired at the same time a few years ago, by Awarak Cement Plant, to work there over the summer. He was more in the field as he was getting experience for his Engineering degree, but I was in the laboratory testing the samples, inkeeping with gaining more practice for my Science studies.I remember him as a quiet, confident young man who was eager to learn his craft and who was enjoying his job even though we both wished we could just rest for the summer before going back to university. We talked quite often and he was truly soft-spoken, very smart and very nice. I know that he loved learning new things and experiencing all that the other engineers taught. I myself was not too keen to be out there with all the dust and heat and having to lug around that hard-hat and boots, but I’Akobi relished the opportunity. I must say that I was quite impressed by him in the short time we knew each other. I too would like his soul to have some peace. I could not understand why he was taken, and as a young woman with locks (not of the Rastafarian religion), I would hate to think that some stereotype about dreads had something to do with his untimely death. I know that we need to find out what happened to this young, bright light, but now he is with his master. I just hope that we can give his family some closure. Nothing can bring him back to this earth, but I think he made his mark. He certainly made an impression on my life. Rest in Peace and Bless I’Akobi!!!!
Anonymous // November 10, 2008 at 10:17 AM
@ Inspector BAFBFPr …..
If one is to follow your argument, then freedom of choice and expressions doesn’t exist.
I have dreadlocks but I am not Rastafarian.
Rastafarian is a religion and I do not believe in religion. For me it is a personal choice which I have made and I accept and deal with all the negative consequences that comes with my choice.
The way I have found that helps me to deal with the stigma, is to continually educate myself. As long as I have the qualifications and the knowledge, I can be anything I put my mind to.
In Barbados this stigmatizing is slowly going away due to the positive attitudes of our youth and to some extent, employers who look beyond the physical appearance.
As to being untidy…well,every day I am complimented on my locks , dress, and overall appearance, so I must be doing something right.
Until this colonial way of thinking stops, we will all be stigmatized in some way or the other.
ru4real // November 10, 2008 at 10:22 AM
The question that needs to be answered is why Police feel that they must grabble and man-handle a suspect, IN CASE HE IS GUILTY.
What was the hurry? If you investigating something then you should see something properly materialise not try to force it out of innocent people. That was pure un-professionalism on the part of the Police that led to the death of a human bieng; in my opinion.
Let us not fool ourselves. Anything that any citizen in Barbados would do, right or worng, will be reflected in the Police Force. They do not come from Mars; and the Police that rough-up suspects, etc. parallel the gang leaders; only, they are perceived to have a licence to do it.
——————————————-
Some good questions here.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 3:29 PM
@ru4real
fa real dis time roun’.
If yah is a Police in Bim yah guilty ah doing somet’ing, somewhere, at sometime… so avoid dem at all cost.
@Anonymous
You got tidy locks? Yah lying son of …..^&^&. There is no such thing. De people that tell you so ain’ complimentin’ you dey patronising you. And don’ talk about education. Anyone who seeks education and prefers to wear locks on ah ongoing basis needs to educated on what education is… What a disgusting hairstyle.
me // November 10, 2008 at 4:10 PM
I must commend the community for bringing this issue to national awareness and i hope we get down to the nuts and bolts ( the truth ) of this case.
However until Herb is made legal I think the rastafari community has to look at itself to see why they are profiled by the police!
Last time I checked marijuana use and trafficking are both still against the law!
Just thought I would inform you guys incase you didnt know! :0
J // November 10, 2008 at 4:15 PM
Dear Inspector BAFBFP:
You wrote: “Anyone who seeks education and prefers to wear locks on ah ongoing basis needs to educated on what education is… What a disgusting hairstyle”
Can you explain exactly why you find locks to be a disgusting hairstyle. ANd can you also explain why you find other kinds of hairstyles to be non-disgusting?
And while you are about it, please explain what education means.
I await your reply
J // November 10, 2008 at 4:37 PM
Dear Confused You wrote:
“I am off to the beach to relax and stroll! Let me take a trip to Cove Bay.
……………………………………………………………..
At night? When did incident occur?”
Dear Confused:
Lest we so soon forget.
I’Akobi died in broad daylight.
It was about an hour BEFORE sunset.
I do not want anybody to forget that.
If anybody forgets I’ll remind them each time.
I myself go to Cove Bay, and the East Coast and to the hill at Farley Hill to smell the fresh air and the sea.
These are MY fields and hills beyond recall.
I plan to walk them every day until I die.
And I plan to live to be 100.
I will NEVER seek permission from anybody to walk in ANY PUBLIC place.
Our police and sometimes bullies. I was threatened with arrest by a female officer for sitting quietly on a public bus with my busfare in hand willing and ready and able to pay.
I calmly invited her to arrest me.
She though better of it becasue she knew that she had no authority to do so,because I had done no wrong and had threatened no wrong.
If I was afraid of bullies I might have lost my cool.
But I NEVER lose my cool, especially not in the presence of an officer half my age and half my intelligence.
J // November 10, 2008 at 4:43 PM
And I am a Christian not Rastafarian, yet I have been bullied twice by 2 different police people many years apart.
In each case I was right and they were wrong and I calmly pointed out to them that they were wrong.
Some of our police seem to think that once they put on a uniform then they are always right, just as some of our religious people seem to think that a man or woman with a clerical collar, or robe or title can do no wrong.
Jippy Doyle who is now serving 10 years for rape proves that sometimes pastors are WRONG.
Sometimes the police are WRONG.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 5:30 PM
@ J
Just for your information, I do not like the appearenace of Rastas, and do not feel an obligation to explain myself to anyone. It’s not even a matter of judging a book by its cover, I just do not like the way they look. So I avoid both them and the police at any cost. (I don’t like the way they, the police, look either).
ROK // November 10, 2008 at 7:02 PM
One point. There is education and then there is education. Some never get out of the book and are lost to reality. The truly educated are those that get out of the book and keep it real.
Furthermore, the truly educated turn to mother earth and live simple lives based on the laws of nature and respect for God’s creation.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 7:37 PM
NO ROK I disagree
ROK // November 10, 2008 at 7:54 PM
Inspector BAFBFP
What it is exactly that you disagree with? I did not say thay go into the backwoods, although some do that.
Tell us you definition.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 9:14 PM
I believe that if you see a good fight you jump in. For life to have meaning there has to be something worth fighting for. Reclaiming dignity for a people who have been considered chattel for three hundred years and who endured significant exploitation by master-servant legislation for another hundred. It is the capitalist approach that has brought this suffering and it must be within the same capitalist system that a redress must be sought. Rastafarianism and lack of sophistication are NOT what is required to make a difference.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 9:16 PM
ROK I hope you got locks. This gun be sweet.
ROK // November 10, 2008 at 9:31 PM
Inspector BAFBFP
Yes, but not according to the Nazarite Vow.
Technician // November 10, 2008 at 11:49 PM
@ ROK….
Do you really think this person knows what the Nazarite Vow is?
….’Reclaiming dignity for a people who have been considered chattel for three hundred years and who endured significant exploitation by master-servant legislation for another hundred. It is the capitalist approach that has brought this suffering and it must be within the same capitalist system that a redress must be sought. Rastafarianism and lack of sophistication are NOT what is required to make a difference’…..
——————————————————————
Spoken like our true colonial masters!!
I guess dignity is for us Kings to shave our heads to get rid of our kinky hair or for our Nubian Queens to keep on perming and relaxing until theirs is bone straight.
You cannot be sophisticated if you are rasta or have dreadlocks?
Then please explain sophistication to me.
…….’Just for your information, I do not like the appearenace of Rastas, and do not feel an obligation to explain myself to anyone. It’s not even a matter of judging a book by its cover, I just do not like the way they look……
I have never read so much ignorance in 6 lines in all my life….RLMAO!!
…..yup …gotcha now…loud and clear Massa, we be the good negroes now.
ru4real // November 11, 2008 at 1:43 AM
@J
Great posts man!
@ BAFBF/ whatever
yawwwwwwwwwwwn
Inspector BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 7:38 AM
Good “Negroes” are fine. Rastas… Oh nooo! Why should bald be the opposite of Rasta? Why not plain ol’ neat? Rastas like Christians are not to be confronted. Years ago a White manager explained to a visiting executive in my charge that Rastas were Bajan Hippies. I corrected him by saying that they were in the most part, a religious based life style. Whether I was right then or wrong now, it still is not an aspect of our culture that I am particularly proud of. What a pity that Tosh and Marley wore locks.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 7:49 AM
And what is there of Halle Salase to like? When he visited Jamaica he seemed bewildered be the fact that he had such a large following of such strange looking people . Marcus Garvey didn’t think much of him either.
http://www.jamaicans.com/culture/rasta/MarcusGarveyeditorial.shtml
Inspector BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 8:15 AM
A couple posts got lost along the way.
Here is what Garvey thought of Haile Selassie
Anjelica // November 11, 2008 at 8:15 AM
Oh good God, I do strongly suspect that BAFBFP is extremely young (under five) that would explain his childish immature reasoning or extremely old (over 100) that would explain his pre-historic, primitive, acient, blind, irrational, unlogical, uber conservative thinking.
BAFBFP, go play with your little red fire engine truck or yourself already and stay out of adult conversation already, nuh !!!
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 9:32 AM
Clearly, Inspector BAFBFP has distracted the audience with wild, xenophobic comments. I dear not say that I think Inspector BAFBFP is a neo-racist lunatic!
According to Inspector BAFBFP, “Anyone who seeks education and prefers to wear locks on ah ongoing basis needs to educated on what education is”. Obviously education has nothing to do with length or style of hair as 500 years ago education had nothing to do with colour of skin or eyes.
Why did Moses wear a beard? Why did Yeshua have long hair? Why did the mighty and hairy Samson shake the corrupt and vile Philistines down to the ground? It certainly is not because they were black or because they did not shave! It is because they respected themselves as images of God!
I must add that “J” was right about I’Akobi’s demise occurring in broad daylight! I just wonder what BAFBFP thinks about local police investigating local police! This is the main topic at hand.
Waiting in Vein // November 11, 2008 at 10:13 AM
Inspector BAFBFP // November 10, 2008 at 5:30 pm
@ J
Just for your information, I do not like the appearenace of Rastas, and do not feel an obligation to explain myself to anyone. It’s not even a matter of judging a book by its cover, I just do not like the way they look. So I avoid both them and the police at any cost. (I don’t like the way they, the police, look either).
—————————————————–
You fighting a losing battle spector. White women love rastas. Whether they unwashed or smelly the white gals home based and tourisses love em. You can talk as much boo as you like.
cynty // November 11, 2008 at 11:26 AM
There’s Rasta’s and men with dreads, VERY different and the men with dreadlocks would like everyone to believe they are Rasta’s!
ru4real // November 11, 2008 at 12:04 PM
You fighting a losing battle spector. White women love rastas. Whether they unwashed or smelly the white gals home based and tourisses love em. You can talk as much boo as you like.
———————————————–
Probably because they are gentle polite and mannerly ( women like that sort of thing) not boorish arrogant ignorant male chauvinists .
Bongo Baldy // November 11, 2008 at 1:55 PM
BAFBFP
That piece by Marcus Garvey on Haile Selassie is serious stuff. Rastas does got both Garvey and Selassie pictures pun buttons that they wear. The house like it divided so you know it cant stand. I always wanted to know what is so ‘conscious’ about dreadlocks? It can’t be a unique black thing because I see white people with locks too. Rastas are just as wacky as them christian evangelicals or muslims all just following some superstition. To each their own let we live and let live.
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 2:42 PM
@Bongo Baldy
Why did Moses wear a beard? Why did Yeshua have long hair? Why did the mighty and hairy Samson shake the corrupt and vile Philistines down to the ground? It certainly is not because they were black or because they did not shave! It is because they respected themselves as images of God!
Also, we are Rastafari, NOT Rasta, NOT Rastafarian, not any other thing – we are Rastafari!
Back to I’Akobi and the fundamental issue of local police investigating local police… Do not forget the topic!!
ROK // November 11, 2008 at 3:21 PM
Bongo Baldy
What did Errol Barrow say about Grantley Adams and vice-versa? What did Malcolm X say about T.H.E.M. and what did Martin Luther say about Malcolm?
Tell me about the white heroes in other lands that had things to say about other white heroes that share the same pedestal?
Why do we always seek to shoot ourselves in the foot when others are not? You think we have a higher standard or it is just we ignorant and intend on staying divided?
ROK // November 11, 2008 at 3:25 PM
Ras KudosSage I
I see that little is reported on the first day of the inquest. Any possibility that you can brief the BU family on the issues?
A burning question is why the legal team wants a second examination of the remains? Is it that what was presented is at odds with other facts?
David // November 11, 2008 at 3:41 PM
@ROK
Our understanding from the local Press and email received it is to facilitate an independent examination if granted.
ROK // November 11, 2008 at 5:31 PM
Bertie Hinds should be ashamed of himself for that statement. I think the onus is on the police to reach out. They are the ones who have been invading communities and vexing the population. He has a strange sense of right.
Anthony Collymore should also be ashamed of himself and even blame himself for the passing of Maloney. Why call the Police? Was it public land or private land? Is he paranoid of Bajans? Has anything happened in the past that threatened his community or home?
He should also be arrested and charged for wasting the time and the resources of the state. He was out of place unless he could show otherwise and his testimony does not support his actions. Of course this does not excuse the police action.
@David, my question is still unanswered. Who is to facilitate this independent examination and who is to grant it?
BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 5:35 PM
@ROK
What did Errol Barrow say about Grantley Adams and vice-versa? etc.
——–
But Salasi is referred to as a virtual God. Human beings do not deserve such adulation (including Yeshua bin Yusuf). See the point?
@ Bongo Baldy
Cool it. Yah might stir up a hornets nest.
ru4real
White women love rastas.. Probably because they are gentle polite and mannerly
——–
What hog wash! These women are here for rough trade, sex with males that ain’t too bright, so she won’t feel self conscious. They also are made to believe that they are gifted.
@ cynty
Don’t like neither, particular the religious blowhards. I like ROK’s brain so I gun try wid he.
@Waiting in Vein
White women love rastas. Whether they unwashed or smelly
———-
Rough Trade friend! They see them as pets that they will encourage for as long as they need to. They have these silly fantasies and so on…
@Ras KudosSage I
I just wonder what BAFBFP thinks about local police investigating local police! This is the main topic at hand
—–
No argument from me. But I can’t say sorry for the distraction because an apology must be a statement of remorse, regret, a promise not to do it again, and an offer of reparations.
I have a problem with three of the aforementioned.
@Anjelica
I think that ALL women should be banned from using the ABC Highway before wanna kill somebody (T’row out de baby an’ de baffwater together). De worse drivers pun de road is women. And it look like some ah wunna ain’ nah better at mekkin’ a point pun a blog neider. Wallas… Lard come fah yah worl’..!
BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 5:40 PM
@Technician
Yah Australopithecus africanus
David // November 11, 2008 at 6:57 PM
FYI – compliments Justice
Mac // November 11, 2008 at 7:20 PM
Would the fireman have called believe the police if it was a white person. The police would have profiled the youngster and Akobi as an educated person would have challenged the officers. When is it illegal to sit and experience the serenity of our unspoilt east cost. The police pimp for a fireman had the audacity to call back to thank the police to thank them for their prompt response. Dont get me wrong I am a law abiding citizen and believe laws must be upheld. I came back recently from England and was one of the few black persons to be pullled over by our customs with a rough approach ” WHERE YOU COMING FROM” caucasians dont get treat that way in Barbados.
The fireman will never be able to live with himself as he is complicit in the death of Akobi. However let us not jump to any conclusion as GOD WEARS PAJAMAS BUT HE DOES NOT SLEEP. Long live AKOBI
fat man // November 11, 2008 at 8:57 PM
ROK>Anthony Collymore should also be ashamed of himself and even blame himself for the passing of Maloney. Why call the Police?
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Are you a numbskull or involved in illicit stuff? The fireman was at his home not yours. He said the area is known for drug drops. Firemen like police are trained to look out for suspicious activity. He called the police because the scene did not look right. The fireman saw a white boat off shore .
Suppose Maloney was being robbed or beaten the fireman’s call may have saved his life. Stop showing your bias and lets analyse objectively all the evidence. Why the rush to judgement?.
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 9:33 PM
@Mac
I agree that a white person would never have raised the eyebrow of the fireman (even when the boat was white!). He, the fireman, then went on to say that he did not call because of the Rasta dreadlocks!!
Especially for confused and BAFBFP, please see below >>
Fireman was suspicious of stranger
November 11th, 2008 – Nation Newspaper
A fireman who called police after seeing a stranger in the area of his house in Pie Corner, St Lucy, earlier this year, yesterday denied to a coroner’s inquest that his actions were bigoted.
Anthony Collymore, who lives at Glitter Bay, Pie Corner, St Lucy, testified that he did not call 211 simply because he saw a man with Rasta dreadlocks, but because he saw a stranger in an area well-known for illegal drug activity.
Collymore was the fifth person to give evidence on the first day of the coroner’s inquest into the unnatural death of I’Akobi Maloney.
He told the court that on arriving home on June 17, he noticed a barebacked man with dreadlocks stooping about six feet from a cliff’s edge near his home. Using his binoculars, he noticed a white boat out to sea.
GO TO http://icarbarbados.org/tacuma and read the entire article….
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 9:47 PM
@fat man
I agree that we all, including agents of the “establishment”, must be objective hence no allegations from myself or members of the Justice Committee.
However, it would be interesting to delve into the relationship between Mr. Collymore and the police!!! Evidence thus far indicates that Mr. Collymore is well-equipped, well-positioned and well-trained to carry out the specific surveillance function that proved to be a false hit (since I’Akobi was not a drug smuggler).
I might have to retract the comment about Mr. Collymore being well-trained because if he saw no communication (or communication devices – not even a white shirt or flag – only dreadlocks) between I’Akobi and the white boat, why would he “turn away (twice)” to use a (cordless phone – assumption) and ORDER a RAPID RESPONSE.
Mr. Collymore is obviously in cahoots with the police who respond to these drug activities near his well-positioned home.
Objectivity fat man, objectivity…
BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 10:02 PM
Ras KudosSage I
David Comissiong and Andrew Pilgrim are the best people for the job. If something is afoot they will expose it.
My dislike of the Rastafarian hairstyle is eclipsed by my utter contempt of the entire RBPF particularly from the top. There is only one member that I have come into contact with over the years that I actually do like. He used to be an exceptional and very popular beat cop in the St. Michael South Central area. Now he is a Station Sergeant.
ROK // November 11, 2008 at 10:02 PM
fatman
desist from the names. We never lived in the USSR and we were never a satellite of them. What is this thing about setting citizens to spy on their own in such a fanatical way? DRUGS! DRUGS! DRUGS!
This is about profiling and the Police obviously treated it that way and could not believe that a man with dreadlocks was innocent.
A human life is more important and we say that we fighting illegal drugs to save lives, yet an innocent one was lost here and not to drugs?
This is where professionalism comes in. The Police has to be surgical when it comes to crime, not just pick on the first thing they see. That is unprofessional.
The professionalism of the Police force would have to measured on them doing their job without abusing the human rights of ordinary and innocent citizens.
That statement by Bertie Hinds was very timely; sharing the same page as the inquest. I wonder why? He probably shares your view that the fireman was right. How could it be that he was right and it turned out so wrong?
I have some questions arising form the report which I would like to pose:
1. Why is it that the fireman conveniently was not looking after the Police arrive and approached I’Akobi?
2. How long would it have taken for the BDF vehicle to be notified that a man jumped and then to get to the scene?
3. If it was a known spot for drugs, why did the BDF driver had to ask for directions?
4. And how coincidental it is that the same fireman happen to have met the BDF vehicle to ask him for directions?
All things are possible, but let us look at what is probable.
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 11:18 PM
I cannot believe that this is a historic blogging topic and where else does it happen… Give thanks for Barbados Underground supporting the efforts in seeking justice within this unprecedented case.
@BAFBFP
I have an activity that you should attend, even if you do so anonymously. It is the Caribbean Rastafari Organisation’s 12th International Summit, Cultural and Trade expo. ALL ARE INVITED.
Make no sport about the Divine name of His Imperial Majesty Haile Selassie I (The First). Make no sport about Rastafari!
@ROK
Such beautiful questions to blog upon.
1. Convenience exactly.
2. WOW! Within 10 minutes! Where on earth was the BDF vehicle – maybe just across the pasture? See map & other digital reports here – http://icarbarbados.org/tacuma/category/reports/
3. Circumstantial. Let’s assume he knew that Mr. Collymore knew exactly where and they braked after speeding to ask him – they probably knew that he was the fireman with the binoculars!
4. Too coincidental even though circumstantial.
** Look out for the Interactive Timeline…Coming soon one click away!
Objectivity fat man, objectivity…
fat man // November 11, 2008 at 11:33 PM
Ras and Rok no establisment agent here. I want the truth to lead us to who is culpable, police or not. Thus far I dont have a clear indication where the blame lays. It has to be heart wrenching for Maloney’s mother to see her bright young son dead. However its early days in the inquest. I will be following the hearings with keen interest.
Ras KudosSage I // November 11, 2008 at 11:43 PM
I concur fat man, it is early days in the inquest.
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 1:28 AM
Kudos
You ain’t see questions yet. There is much more to be had out of Mr. Collymore. You see, I would put it to Mr Collymore that he was on the road because he was going to the scene. That is why he met the BDF vehicle.
I would further put it to Mr. Collymore that:
1. He saw every thing that transpired;
2. Whatever happened was so gross, he left it out of his testimony;
3. If one and two are true, he is witholding evidence;
4. Given that the policemen would have known that Mr. Collymore saw, he would have to agree that the life of one Dreadlocked man is not worth the friends he has in the RBPF of him to be protecting them.
Furthermore, he could tell a lot of detail about the scene; the colour of the car. He knew the plain clothes men were police. He would have had to take the time to ensure he knew the men and identified the vehicle. He could also tell that nothing happened with the boat.
It means he was scanning the scene for some time from his vantage point during the time the police was there.
If we check the time it would take for two policemen to get out of a car and approach the suspect, it could not amount to 30 seconds.
From the time the policemen was in the presence of I’Akobi, Mr. Collymore would have been watching. Considering the time that it took for the BDF vehicle to arrive, it would seem that I’Akobi met his death within minutes and possibly seconds after the Police made contact with him.
If Mr. Collymore met the BDF van on the road, it means that he was at home during that time observing the proceedings, and also, prior to going down on the spot he should have seen that I’Akobi was missing from the scene from his observation point. So this story about the BDF van should be checked.
I smell a rat. Collymore should be given a polygraph test. He may be the key to solving this case.
me // November 12, 2008 at 8:54 AM
As expeceted the more you think you know the more your true colours show. Of course now Mr Collymore is the villain because it suits your cause that he be seen as such. I know CoveBay very well and I would have called the police too whether he looked like a Rasta or not.
Its a shame that a good citizens ( Mr Collymore who is A FIREMAN) is being demonised because you cant handle the possibility that the young man may have taken his own life!
So far nothing indicates that this possibility was so improbable…
Wunna need to stop smoking da weed!
ace // November 12, 2008 at 9:21 AM
none of you know what happened
so stop guessing and speculating
shut The F—k Up
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 11:00 AM
My! My! It is a good thing this is a supposedly free country. You guys ain’t even come out of the backwoods of Africa where they say the most ignorance abound. There is more respect there.
As a citizen of this country, I believe that everybody has the right to comment on what is in the public domain. It seems that in as much as I would like to find out what happened, is as much as you would like to absolve the Police from their action; so my post was bad news for you.
Well that’s the way it goes. Seems like what I said struck a chord. Maybe that is the barometer. Freedom is not a one way street for you only.
Knight of the Long Knives // November 12, 2008 at 11:17 AM
I don’t necessarily have a problem with the guy being suspicious and calling the cops but the cops need to learn to treat people with respect. It is not guilty until proven innocent. The truth is though for every Ras Tacuma I’Akobi Maloney there are 90+ common criminals who wear dreadlocks. I have many friends and family who are rastafari but it has a completely negative connotation. So as much as I see it as a symbol of black people having pride in ourselves for a change and as much as I see the red, yellow and green flag with great respect, these things will continue to happen.
me // November 12, 2008 at 11:59 AM
Seems to me that problem begins and ends with marijauna. I say left it out!
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 12:18 PM
Why is this spititual herb such a problem? Why are cigarettes and rum not a problem; that cause so many lives daily?
The problem is with us because we outlaw what is natural and legalise what is not natural. Did we learn anything from prohitition? Who gets hurt in the long run? Not the barons that profit from it. If it was legal, the profit would not be there and it may very well be less abundant.
A vice, is a vice, is a vice. What makes rum and cigarettes so exceptional. We could eliminate this by making it legal, save our resources and money for something more beneficial. If we can handle alcohol we can handle this. Today, there are less and less rum drinkers and smokers are fast becoming extinct. This is what education and awareness does. We need not get so paranoid, but this is about economics and not even ours, but somebody else’s who want to remain on top.
Tony Hall // November 12, 2008 at 12:32 PM
I believe that persons are making judgements on this blog and the inquiry hasn’t even gotten halfway yet. You might not like the police but I have faith in the Coroner. She is going to call a spade a spade, and please stop demonising the fireman.
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 12:33 PM
This is what happens when you set citizens on vigilante missions. The fireman is not a policeman. So every time he sees somebody out there, he has the power to call for emergency response?
This is taking it too far. What you talking about “good citizen”; is that equivalent to being a “good nigger”? And who is demonising him? If there is one thing I agree with is that he did as he was told… but then again, this agency called the Police should know better than to ask citizens to behave this way.
It would be better to station a policeman or keep a constant patrol in the area if it is so important. Do not put citizens to do Police work.
me // November 12, 2008 at 1:57 PM
Stop smoking da weed…
I prey that bajans never become like Jamaicans who never inform nor assit the police. In recent news an 11 yo was beheaded in JA ( and unfortunately there were no concerned citizens like Mr Collymore ).
The facts remain that rastafari smoke weed in general. Use of weed is illegal in Barbados. Weed is not grown ( at least not openly in Barbados). It must be brought in illegally. sure other people also use weed but that is beside the point in that it is not central to their way of life unless they are addicted.
clearly the Police profile rastafari but can you blame them?
Profiling is par for the course for all civil agencies in most civilized countries.
I dont know maybe the police should look beyond the more likely individual and go after the ones that less likely to be involved …makes perfect sense.!
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 2:17 PM
@me
You are not a bad fella, you know. The real problem is that the true perpetrators don’t get caught, just the couriers.
Tell them to look among themselves too for the drug evidence that go missing. Talk about cherry picking? Lol!
Winston Hall // November 12, 2008 at 5:37 PM
Why wanna don’ inquire wha’ realy happen when de po po catch up wid me? I understand that at least I was a convict but still, when you allow events to take place unchallenged, they somehow have a way of coming back to haunt you.
Technician // November 12, 2008 at 7:33 PM
Me says…Weed is not grown ( at least not openly in Barbados). It must be brought in illegally.
There you go again with your ignorance.
FYI…..some of the best grade on the market right now is Bajan….even rivaling Jam in price.
Anyhow …on another topic.
…..’clearly the Police profile rastafari but can you blame them?
Of course you can. What if you were gay and the Police didn’t like it and beat you up for it? Wouldn’t you blame them?
The Police took a paro from the city one night and carried him into the country and used him for target practice just for the fun of it.They thought he was less than human…profiling again….dont you blame them or do you blame the paro for being less of a human being in their eyes?
……’I dont know maybe the police should look beyond the more likely individual and go after the ones that less likely to be involved …makes perfect sense.!
Boy to do that……hmmm……don’t think we have enough Lawyers for the Lawyers or Police for the Police or Judges for the Judges to ever make that happen.
ROK // November 12, 2008 at 7:57 PM
In terms of valuable witnesses, the fireman is a parallel to the beauty queen in the Pele case. Just wait and see.
Keisha Walkes // November 12, 2008 at 9:36 PM
I am sorry that I’Akobi’s memory has been dwindled to an immature banter about the integrity of dreadlocks. As I said, I knew him while we worked at Arawak and he was an intelligent and respectable young man who conducted himself with pride. I do not know why the issue of appearance is so important in Barbados. I am not Rastafarian, but I do have locks and one’s choice of religion or hair-style has nothing to do with one’s inner self or one’s intelligence. I have chosen this as a hair-style but I respect people’s right to religion and belief; I have many friends and old Harrisonian school-mates who are Rastafarian. But furthermore, we are people of African descent, who should be proud of our kinky hair and curls, and not of the chemically-produced ’straightened’ hair that the world has said is the acceptable look. What is wrong with us growing our hair into long, pretty locks? I don’t hear any complaints about people who have chosen to put on long ‘braids’ on their hair, or other races living in Barbados who choose to wear their hair down to their waist; I only hear talk about dreads. I am sad that we have not progressed yet to see the value of OUR OWN hair and its unique texture. Yes, I am young and a student and I may be in a rebellious or discovery stage, but I made the decision to have locks after much examination and thought. I am certain that I have found the value of individuality of self anf of race. We need not have the straight hair or force ourselves to look like any other people, because we are AFRO-CARIBBEAN. We must see that the outward appearance may be an expression of self, but it is not all there is to someone. I too am one of those so-called ‘academics’, and when I think of the circumstances around I’Akobi’s passing, I wonder if I, a young woman with locked hair, was home in BIM at that time and had gone to take some pics on that Cove to bring back to school with me, if I could have found myself in a similar situation as my young friend. I hope we as Barbadians learn from this incident in more ways than one, and I hope that I’Akobi’s strong, proud, purposeful spirit continues to flow over us in the sea breeze.
Technician // November 13, 2008 at 2:16 AM
@ Keisha Walkes …
You are preaching to the Choir as far as I am concerned.
I only hope some of these people read and understand your contribution.
199 // November 13, 2008 at 5:30 AM
Inspector BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 7:49 am
And what is there of Halle Salase to like? When he visited Jamaica he seemed bewildered be the fact that he had such a large following of such strange looking people . Marcus Garvey didn’t think much of him either.
Inspector BAFBFP // November 11, 2008 at 8:15 am
A couple posts got lost along the way.
Here is what Garvey thought of Haile Selassie
Dear Inspector, I should like u to know that I AGREE with your views of Rastas, COMPLETELY!! As a person who has posted to this site for some time, I should also like to inform u that any criticism of Rastas here or of any subject with which he disagrees with u is likely to lead to your being the subject of puerile, invective by foul-mouthed ‘Technician’ which is tolerated by the owner of this blog, so the best advice I can offer u is to leave them alone to get on with it. Fortunately, I don’t live in Bim and have no intention of ever doing so, again!!
However, best wishes to you and good luck with those people. I fear you’ll need it!!
JC // November 13, 2008 at 5:30 AM
Well Miss Walkes I am a young woman living in Bim wiht long dreads and on Sunday mornings I walk reallll far to meditate and give God thanks for letting me see another week! I dont go to smoke a spliff I go to say a prayer and thank my Supreme Being that I am alive and well.
Most of the times I take my skipping rope with me and I exercise a little and then wander I live in the country and sometimes I wander pretty close to white people’s property and these were once places where there were dunce and guava trees (all these thing gone now) anyhow, it has caused me to wonder if they see this sweaty rasta woman bout the place with a skipping rope if they would call the police if I would be arrested ………..
David // November 13, 2008 at 7:43 AM
Whether Rastarari smoke weed or L’Akobi for that matter there should be a protocol when the Police is making an arrest.
ROK // November 13, 2008 at 8:32 AM
@ Keisha Walkes
Our problem is that we don’t understand that if it happens to me, it can happen to you. If it happened to I’Akobi, it could have happened to me.
Too many cop out and say, “Oh it happen to them but not to me”. It has to hit home first for them to understand and by then it is too late, damage done.
All right thinking Bajans should denounce the lazy attitude of the Police and denouce the fact that (for all intents and purposes) a citizen is able to call for rapid response concerning drugs, and if you get in an accident on the road nuff man hours lost because the Police take hours before they turn up.
What makes it worse is that a citizen calls for rapid response and another innocent citizen dies. When properly analysed, the Fireman called a false alarm, which the Fire Department has been pleading with the public about false alarms, etc. A person can be charged for calling a false alarm.
One other confusion in my mind. His co-worker dropped him off in Speightstown. How did he get back to Cove Bay?
me // November 13, 2008 at 9:22 AM
It almost seems that the RBF is gulity until proven innocent …
We all have choices we can wera what ever hairstyle we chose however Im a realist. Life is just not fair! And yes we should try to change peoples perceptions and predjudicies! Agreed !
But is this the case here. What eveidence do you have other than your mistrust of the police. To the point of crying down a civic minded citizen of this country!
I repeat… Ive been to JA lots of times ….we are headed in the wrong direction. Smoking weed is the problem
Wunna same people on here would call de police if you saw a muslim leave his bag at the airport unattended.
We profile people everyday!
Anonymous // November 13, 2008 at 9:33 AM
@David….
There is a protocol but the Police dont use it unless challenged by us.
Have you ever been stopped by The Police and treated like a criminal for something as simple as a seatbelt?
I make it my business to know my rights, so that when these instances do occur, I can defend myself.
199 // November 13, 2008 at 11:12 AM
Keep good Englishman.
BAFBFP // November 13, 2008 at 11:13 AM
@199
Keep good Englishman
JC // November 13, 2008 at 12:26 PM
David I understand your pint but do you understand that you dont have to do anything to be victimised or harassed by SOME of these people. I know some policemen who are very fair. But I wonder if I didnt know them personally if I would be treated as nice as I am treated I just wonder ……..
ROK // November 13, 2008 at 12:43 PM
@ me
If the Police get a dose of their own medicine they may better understand the shoes of lesser mortals. You ever see how Police deal with suspects? And you ever went into the Magistrates Court and see that those coming before the court are guilty until proven innocent?
So there is one rule for us and another for them? No! No! No! It was them that went to I’Akobi and he went over the cliff. This cannot be denied. Show me which Bajan will jump off a cliff just so? I therefore suspect foul play and so far have seen no evidence to refute that.
As for me, I am no judge and as a defender of Human Rights, I am more akin to the prosecutor and must piece together the evidence before me in order to arrive at the best theory as to how I’Akobi met his demise. A Prosecutor accuses the suspect; no holes barred. Sorry! You be the judge.
BAFBFP // November 13, 2008 at 12:43 PM
With salaries the way they are and the fact that places like Bermuda pay US5 K per month salaries, you could bet that these remaining big belly short-ass or schoolboy constables are the bottom scapings of the pan.
ROK // November 13, 2008 at 12:58 PM
@ me
You are not for real at all. Call the Police because a Muslim leave his baggage unattended at the airport? I always doing that.
I don’t even see Muslims. If they are there I don’t notice. If that is what you would do you are paranoid. Never even thought of it. Why should I pimp behind mislims to see what they doing with baggage?
I leave that for the Bushy heads in the White House. We have no quarrel with the Muslims, but if we walk ’bout signing shiprider agreements and treaties against terrorism and bowing to Bush pressure, well then we deserve what the USA gets; although I not even sure that terrorists do anything to them. Both literally and figuratively, the USA brough it upon themselves just to get Middle East oil for their reserves; greed! Would you aid a robber?
199 // November 13, 2008 at 1:21 PM
BAFBFP // November 13, 2008 at 11:13 am
@199
Keep good Englishman
At to you, BAFBFP! The post at 11.12 a.m. is n’t mine, but another juvenile Barbadian’s – u can probably, guess whose!!
Best wishes!!
199 // November 13, 2008 at 1:30 PM
Rastafarianism = the law of the gutter and the lowest, common denominator!!
Ras KudosSage I // November 13, 2008 at 1:39 PM
Forensic Pathologist: Lungs were inflated
November 12th, 2008
by Barbados Advocate
WHEN a forensic pathologist performed a post mortem on the body of 23-year-old engineer I’Akobi Tacuma Maloney, among other things, his lungs were inflated.
That was te evidence of Dr. Carl Winskog of the Government Forensic Sciences Centre at the Coroner’s Inquest into the death of Maloney, formerly of Reed Street, City.
The forensic pathologist said that on June 20, 2008 when he performed the post mortem, he also found blunt trauma to the head, multiple lacerations to the head, arms and legs, and a laceration to the liver. He attributed the cause of death to drowning.
FOR FULL STORY – http://icarbarbados.org/tacuma »
Ras KudosSage I // November 13, 2008 at 1:42 PM
I must say that no one summoned the contemptuous statement of 199. Your blasphemy is expected of your kind! Have a pleasant day :)
ace // November 13, 2008 at 1:58 PM
J // November 10, 2008 at 4:43 pm
And I am a Christian not Rastafarian, yet I have been bullied twice by 2 different police people many years apart.
In each case I was right and they were wrong and I calmly pointed out to them that they were wrong.
Some of our police seem to think that once they put on a uniform then they are always right, just as some of our religious people seem to think that a man or woman with a clerical collar, or robe or title can do no wrong.
Jippy Doyle who is now serving 10 years for rape proves that sometimes pastors are WRONG.
Sometimes the police are WRONG
TRUE! TRUE! TRUE !
ROK // November 13, 2008 at 2:25 PM
Well we all know that “Bush” grows in gutters left unattended and that is why USA, who you look up to so much is in the gutter.
Furthermore it is the Rastaman from Kenya that has to take it out of the gutter. Would you say that we are good at cleaning gutters? I am sure you think it is a job well suited to us.
Since that puts you in the gutter, let me tell you that gutters stink; just in case you get so accustomed to the smell and can’t tell the difference. Hail your saviour; the conquoring Lion of the House of Judah. Did you recognise HIM?
I am not surprised; just as the scriptures foretold. Remember that he coming like a thief in the night and you know how thieves does come through gutters?
Steer yuself! I would like to see you in that 144k. This is about freedom of expression, not perversion or persecution.
199 // November 14, 2008 at 4:35 AM
Rastafarians, the people who make black people look both ridiculous and pathetic not to mention riven with crime and would drag all socitey dowm into the gutter with them, given half a chance!!
Technician // November 14, 2008 at 7:21 AM
199 // November 14, 2008 at 4:35 am
Rastafarians, the people who make black people look both ridiculous and pathetic not to mention riven with crime and would drag all socitey dowm into the gutter with them, given half a chance!!
—————————————————————–
Poor Bimbro, your hatred for anything black, African, Jamaican, Pakistani……in fact anything other than blue eyed, blonde hair white people is amazing to see.
You are too old to get out from that colonial brainwashing so it is sad you will die an ignorant old fogey. We were made to believe that black is inferior by our old ‘masters’ and we can see that you are one of their best experiments.
Have you noticed the amount of white Rastas in your neck of the woods increasing?
What about the New Zealand politician?
……Riven with crime? do you have the statistics to show that there are more Rastas in jail than bald heads or white men?
Drag society down?
Lets see….a degree in Engineering, scholarship winner, humane, kind,conscious etc etc…..right….I can see where this can drag down any society (especially those filled with bigots like you).
You have accused me of being foulmouthed even though I have not been until now, so I must concur today……Bimbro you are truly a c#*t!!
199 // November 14, 2008 at 9:03 AM
Bimbro you are truly a c#*t!!
C#*ts r very, nice, unless ur a deviant!! Need I say more!!
199 // November 14, 2008 at 9:24 AM
Keep smoking the weed!! You’ve proved my point!! Draggers-down of society!!
Technician // November 14, 2008 at 9:36 AM
LOL……Deviant…..cool…at least I am in good company…Malcolm X, Marcus Garvey, Nelson Mandela (remember what Margaret Thatcher called him).
Anyway cricket is on….West Indies ( led by a Jamaican) is playing Pakistan…..guess you cant bear to watch…LOL!!
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 10:38 AM
Hi Techy
Nelson Mandela is no hero. South Africa today is as bad as it has always been for the masses of people and the immigrants because of Nelson Mandella. He gave up. Worse he gave it up, all of it; all of the designs to control a viable military, the judiciary, economic clout through nationalisation and so on, the nincompoop and his party caved, big time. He and the rest of them should have died in jail perhaps a true struggle would have continued. Why do you think White people around the world (including COW) revere him?
Black people… my God
Tony Hall // November 14, 2008 at 10:52 AM
BAFBFP,
You seem to be very anti-police. Since they are at the bottom of the barrel I hope you won’t call them if you or your family are the victim(s) of any crime. For you guys to pass judgement before the coroner’s inquest is finished shows that you have no faith in the Coroner. She has to make a determination as to whether a crime was committed or not, not you.
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 11:47 AM
Tony you ever had to stand before one the old magistrates in traffic court. If I didn’t have a lawyer with me on one occasion I woulda cuss one ah dem. A veritable idiot in Boarded Hall as fah dah woman in Oistins… if they weren’t young people like Magistrate Birch and Worrell I would tell you that I have on faith in Magistrates neither. Where do you get off in believing that Barbadians are obligated to respect the good judgement of those who operate in the Justice process? I ain’ nah fan of Rastas, but that man and his family get unfaired. No question.
And yes I am anti-police. There should be targeting deviants and respond with haste to incidents of criminal activity, not exploiting people because they match a profile.
Anonymous // November 14, 2008 at 2:26 PM
ha ha ah BABFP Nelson Mandela was never a fan of mine either never never I thought he was a FOOL! I make no apologies for saying that. They gave Winnie a hard time! ha ha ha just like they are giving ‘Akiobi’s family a hard time for daring to ask questions!
Stupid people! Wake up!
199 // November 14, 2008 at 2:30 PM
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 10:38 am
Hi Techy
Nelson Mandela is no hero. South Africa today is as bad as it has always been for the masses of people and the immigrants because of Nelson Mandella. He gave up. Worse he gave it up, all of it; all of the designs to control a viable military, the judiciary, economic clout through nationalisation and so on, the nincompoop and his party caved, big time. He and the rest of them should have died in jail perhaps a true struggle would have continued. Why do you think White people around the world (including COW) revere him?
Black people… my God
Hoorayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!! U tell e BAFBFP!! Most of dem daon even know wha de *ass duh talking bout!! Mandela a hero – yeh, for spending 27 years in prison!! Dah is d kind ugh hero I can do widdout!!
Laaaaadddddddddddddddddddd!!!
BAFBFP, yuh right!! Black people!! or rather, dah idiot Tech!!
Too much weed!! Caan think straight, no, correct that, can’t think, full stop!!
Laaaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!
ROK // November 14, 2008 at 2:35 PM
Tony, we will see what Marshall-Harris can do. I want you to know that she is struggling against a conspiracy.
It has to do with what she can extract. They are stacked against her and there is going to be some evidence which she just has to accept; either because there is no alternative source of evidence or no alternative or available expertise.
It is the system… but you know, if you have ever had the privilege to have seen the police operate, you too would be anti-police; not because there are not good policemen, but because of the very few who are incompetent and who feel they are bad boys, with the force of the law behind them.
There are some Policemen who would look for any excuse to harrass or charge a person. They tell you all sorts of things like if they talking to a ten year old. Of course, if they know you and/or appreciate you the treatment is different.
ROK // November 14, 2008 at 2:43 PM
These personal abuses are unwarranted and typical of the mentality that if you can’t win the argument, cuss them.
Bonny Peppa // November 14, 2008 at 5:02 PM
BAFBFP
We usually see eye-to-eye, but this time I have to disagree with you. First, I will not condone your belittling judges, magistrates etc. Respect due. Sometimes we were punished wrongfully by our parents when we were growing up but that doesn’t give us the right to disrespect them. You should try putting your faith in the Almitghty, not mortal man.
A lot of us are anti-police for whatever reason but who do you call when anything happens? You seem to think that the POlice are sitting at their Stations, clipping their nails, shaving,reading a book or relaxing and so as soon as a call comes in they are to jump up and rush to the crime scene. Get f*%cking real.
You talking as if you have first-hand knowledge ’bout this I’akobi case. How you know dat he family get unfair? I would like all a wunna to stop jumping to blasted conclusions. As anything happen wunna like to label de Police. You tink it easy dealing wid Society dese days? Gimme a break man.
I still luffs ya doe………..and Scout.
Ya likes ma?
Technician // November 14, 2008 at 6:04 PM
@ BAFBFP…
While I agree with you that Nelson Mandela might have given up. What he stood for before he went to prison is what I have always admired as this was all I knew growing up. Those years in prison would break many a man. One cannot also, attribute all the disappointment to one man.
My references as to what Thatcher called is relevant to what idiot Bimbro said.
Idiots like him are always looking for people to judge but just like all police are not bad, all dreadlocked people are not criminals and I would cuss any one who brings that ignorant ass mentality to me.
Let us just leave him to Pat…she seems like the only one to shut him up.
Now…back to the topic.
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 6:06 PM
Bonny Peppa
First up Magistrates are not my parents and cannot be compared to them. They are seriously overpaid when they sit on traffic cases. Its not only that you could be charged $800.00 for not having your rear licence plate coloured yellow/orange, it is the way they look at you as if you have committed the most heinous crime imaginable. It is the way they address you. And incidentally Bonny, when you take a lawyer you are only charged around $200. You see there is an obvious scam going between the bench and the bar that encourages you to utilise the services of a brother/sister of the profession or pay a higher fine.
Now to the traditional incompetence of the RBPF; I am not referring to the big time cock-up international embarrassment of sending an army of armed riot prepared nincompoops in battle attire to quell a protest action by University students, STUDENTS bonny, average age 19 years old, naaah, I talking ‘bout the time that they appeared on the scene three and a half hours after I reported that my friends car was stolen. Miss Peppa the assholes had the audacity to call her three and a half months later to ask if she had recovered it yet.
Peps there was a night years ago when on my way home at 2:00am after a bar lime (still legal) one stopped and proceeded to search me, me, my person for weapons. He had a female police wid he so he must have been showing off. So when he ask me to drop my pants I did, underpants and all, ‘cause I had to show the female what I had in store. Man she had to smile, you know the smile dey give you, sorry you wouldn’t know, man he tek off without a word. Wish I could catch up with the female again.
Ms P, do not kid yourself, police are not the smartest of people, if they were they wouldn’t have been police in the first place. They are menacing characters who get off on exercising power over ordinary citizens.
You sure you luff mah?
John // November 14, 2008 at 7:04 PM
The people who look to Nelson Mandela and hope to reduce his struggle to black and white are seriously disappointed.
The reason is that Mandela’s triumph was one of the spirit, not of the flesh.
His example is there for anyone who is oppressed to follow, regardless of skin colour.
Anonymous // November 14, 2008 at 7:28 PM
Tell that to 199 John…….his head is so far up the Queens ass it is tragic.
Most policemen are just thugs with a licensed gun and uniform.
As a youngster growing up, we respected them because they operated with respect and loved their community.
Now, you have some of the biggest bullies from high school as officers.
If anyone thinks that the force is not one big conspiracy…think again. Look at the number of officers in the force who are members of the lodge.
Anonymous // November 14, 2008 at 7:43 PM
BAFBFP
For a kiss-me-ass middle class Bajan, you sure got a high opinion of yourself but then if you didn’t, nobody else would.
Mandela, a nicompoop? WTF!
Tony Hall // November 14, 2008 at 8:54 PM
BAFBFP,
Lighten up. You should not be anti-police because you had a run in with a few. If you continue with this attitude how is it going to help you. You have got to get rid of that anger. I agree that some officers are uncouth and bad but remember they are a microcosm of the same society you live in.
North Point // November 14, 2008 at 9:12 PM
Rasta possee when does inquest resume?
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 9:22 PM
Tony Hall
You don’t know the half of it.
Anonymous
How you know that I is middle class? When it comes to opinions about myself, I sorry man, but …
I LUV ME…Heee Haaa Raw hide!
PC Broomes // November 14, 2008 at 9:31 PM
Luka I was on de force fa yars now and ain’ neva see a promotion yet. Dat should mean that dey got standards right?
BAFBFP don’ lemme ketch you pun de road after 12 pm you hear me? I is a microcosm, like wah Hall say. So dat mean dat I spiteful and vengeful and ogly. I know de Force don’ pay, but we know how ta close ranks and pull tageddah, you feel me?
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 9:34 PM
PC I know who you is, you is one ah dem Lodge boys that stop down three times in first form.
Bonny Peppa // November 14, 2008 at 10:28 PM
BAFBFP,
It is indeed a small world. What would you say if I told you that I was the ‘female officer’. Ya catching ya rass now nah? Not fa true. Stop shaking now.
When I referred to your parents I was just using that as an analogy.
We is still pardners ya know but Tony Hall slowly but surely replacing you on my ’special’ list. Doan leh Scout know cause you know how I luffs he.
Both my sons are policeofficers. Good ones, by de way. It was instilled from young to treat others like you would like to be treated, regardless to your status in life. It is paying off, I hope.’
Still luffs ya. Ya is still got me ‘cracking up’.’
Ya likes ma?
199 // November 15, 2008 at 3:59 AM
BAFBFP, excellent post at 6.06 pm yesterday. You’re absolutely, right for sneering at your detractor and telling him that ‘Majestrates r not your parents’!! Some contributors r so silly!! My sympathies with u for being searched in the presence of a woman police officer and possibly, in public!! I wonder if they’d do the same if u were a woman being interviewed by a male, policeman!! Just shows how far Bim has to go!! Keep up the fight, bro!!
199 // November 15, 2008 at 4:08 AM
His example is there for anyone who is oppressed to follow, regardless of skin colour.
Anonymous // November 14, 2008 at 7:28 pm
Tell that to 199 John…….his head is so far up the Queens ass it is tragic.
Dr Martin Luther King is the only, black hero I need, and Anonymous, u can stick that up YOUR ass!!
JC // November 15, 2008 at 9:55 AM
BAFBFP // November 14, 2008 at 6:06 pm
Bonny Peppa
gigiggle giggle
Tony Hall // November 15, 2008 at 10:45 AM
BAFBFP,
I know a lot more than you think. The below quotes say a lot about you as an individual.I would hope for God’s sake you won’t call these “bullies” if you are the victim of any crime.
“Miss Peppa the assholes had the audacity to call her three and a half months later to ask if she had recovered it yet.”
“Ms P, do not kid yourself, police are not the smartest of people, if they were they wouldn’t have been police in the first place. They are menacing characters who get off on exercising power over ordinary citizens.”
“Now, you have some of the biggest bullies from high school as officers.”
BAFBFP // November 15, 2008 at 10:47 AM
BIMBRO
Being stripped in front of a female officer di’nt too bad. Yah gotta look them in the face and put on a lil’le grin. Jus’ wish I could ketch up wid she again, she was a bit of a looker. In London on route back home on entering the departure lounge I had to be padded down by an officer. There was a female who saw to the women and a male searched the men. I felt sorry for the women passengers as they got their breast massaged in front of everyone… humiliating. I asked that I not be padded by a man, but by the female attendant instead. Man dey say no. Didn’ like dah atall…
Anonymous // November 15, 2008 at 11:15 AM
BAFBFP
yuh get stop by police in B’dos and display yuh shortcomings to the woman constable (she nearly ask yuh if yuh parents know that yuh out so late), yuh get stop in London and get feel up by a white man (beggars can’t be choosers), BFP ban yuh…wuhloss hee haaw rawhide!
and you say that Mandela is a nicompoop? WTF!
ROK // November 15, 2008 at 11:23 AM
I think this terrorism thing gone too far. Because they are police officers or working with the state do not give them the right to touch your person. Having breast massaged in public is surely an offence, even having them massaged is surely assault and sexual assault at that.
ROK // November 15, 2008 at 12:08 PM
Tony, there are very few persons of academic ability that join the Police Force and those that do never find themselves on the beat or being part of a squad for too long. They are the ones that end up doing the paper work, the prosecutions, etc. and they go on to complete their university education like the present and past Commissioners.
These are so few Police seeking to improve their studies and those that do are always given the time off. It is so rare.
Furthermore, those that went to school with me that joined the Police Force were school boy bullies except for two that I can recall and one is now a senior officer in Foreign Affairs and the other is still in the Force behind a desk pushing a pen.
As I recall, the Force has been complaining that it cannot get the required amount of recruits and as a result, many of those on the border of criminality join the force. You would be surprised at the bad boys who suddenly turn Police and let me say that to them, it is merely to be able to continue doing what they do with the law behind them; thieves, drug dealers, con men, etc.; those among the lucky ones not to have ended up in jail.
So I would say to you and to any other person that when you call the Police, be mindful of whom you may be calling. I never call them except maybe an accident or other insurance matters where a police report is necessary.
They are of absolutely no help when it really matters. Let’s take an example where I reported a break-in where goods were stolen. I found the thief on a block with the items. The Police were called and soon apprehended the man with the items.
They charged the man with some other offence and I never got back my stuff. If I had bound-board that man, and take away my stuff, I would have it now and he probably would not be in jail right now for the other thing he committed.
You see where this thing leading?
David // November 15, 2008 at 12:30 PM
We need to let our prejudices lead to generalizations. This young man died under circumstances which many agree needs better explanation from the authorities. Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, MP Hamilton Lashley and others have publicly pledged their support to the Justice Committee and the late I’Akobi’s family.
While we have confidence in the Coroner she will only ably to arrive at her conclusion based on the evidence. The integrity of the evidence is outside of her control.
A working democracy must always be vigilant, comfort in the norms while satisfying may not be sustainable. Sometimes it is not the result which the process brings but the process itself which supports justice and transparency.
This is not a time for mudslinging, the outcome of this particular process may prove to be a watershed in our judicial system.
Bonny Peppa // November 15, 2008 at 1:17 PM
who could be more silly than you.
I was just using an analogy when I compared his parents/guardians with Magistrates. Go and learn to read and comprehend. Reading isn’t just calling words.
You contort my whole contribution and feeling smart calling me a detractor. Ya pu*^yhole.
Another thing doan get in me and BAFBFP business, ya wood get squeeze and also I is a woman. ok?
Ya likes ma?
199 // November 15, 2008 at 2:45 PM
BAFBFP // November 15, 2008 at 10:47 am
BIMBRO
Being stripped in front of a female officer di’nt too bad.
BAFBFP, I did get the impression that u enjoyed it, to an extent!! :)
However, I only tek my pants down for a woman in one solitary, circumstance!!
I’m sure u know what I mean!!
Lorrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!
I think ur a bit, wicked, BAF!! :) In London they got nuh sense of humour at all!! Lor!!
199 // November 15, 2008 at 2:46 PM
Statement from the Hon. Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition
November 13th, 2008
To: All Media Houses
At their request, Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, Q.C., M.P., met with a delegation from the Rastafarian Community of Barbados
= the reds under the bed!! or should I say, rather, all over Bim, these days!!
PC Broom // November 15, 2008 at 8:43 PM
ROK
You would be surprised at the bad boys who suddenly turn Police and let
How you know sa good? Wah I spen’ 3 years in lower first and now I’s a police fah yars…
David
Ms Mottley playing politics again. She don’ deserve nah credit…
Bonny
As waman, yah’s cuss too sweet. OOH YEAH
Anon
I’s the man dah search he. He run me man…
BAFBFP // November 15, 2008 at 10:14 PM
Man I am a bit of a show off (not to be confused with exbitionist)
199 // November 16, 2008 at 3:22 AM
BAFBFP // November 15, 2008 at 10:14 pm
Man I am a bit of a show off (not to be confused with exbitionist)
LOL!! Enjoy yuhself, BAF!! LOL!!
ROK // November 16, 2008 at 9:58 AM
PC Broom
You could not have spent no 3 years in Lower 1st, that is impossible. Only one man ever did that in the history of Lodge School and I sure you ain’t he.
ROK // November 16, 2008 at 10:23 AM
David
I have to agree, except that I am not sure it will be a watershed in the judicial system, unless it causes the Police to act differently and more professional in dealing with the public.
The point that the Police miss is that law is a regulator, designed to regulate human activity and not as a means of incriminating people.
To brand a person as criminal is discrimination and hence against the convention of human rights and the constitution of Barbados.
Morally, to brand a person a criminal is to say there is no hope for that person, he/she is evil, which is not necessarily so. Everybody has their niche in life and if allowed to realise their potential, can make a meaningful contribution.
In saying that, we have definitely got to take a more rational look at the concept of imprisonment.
Technician // November 16, 2008 at 11:34 AM
To brand a person as criminal is discrimination and hence against the convention of human rights and the constitution of Barbados.
Morally, to brand a person a criminal is to say there is no hope for that person, he/she is evil, which is not necessarily so. Everybody has their niche in life and if allowed to realise their potential, can make a meaningful contribution.
————————————————————–
So well said ROK.
Maybe if we can get rid of this ignorant way of thinking where we hate what we do not understand, things can be better.
As my granny used to tell me ….if we would change the way we think…we will change the way we live.
199 // November 18, 2008 at 5:13 AM
So well said ROK.
Maybe if we can get rid of this ignorant way of thinking where we hate what we do not understand, things can be better.
As my granny used to tell me ….if we would change the way we think…we will change the way we live.
Eminent clap-trap!! Most people understand as much as they want to know or need to know about the scourge of rastafarianism!! We don’t need to be derelicts to recognise cocaine!!
As for what ur granny said – more ole-time Bajan, nonsense!!
Technician // November 18, 2008 at 8:32 AM
As for what ur granny said – more ole-time Bajan, nonsense!!
———————————————————-
At least this Bajan nonsense is what raised many of our prominent people.
“the scourge of Rastafarinism”…..please explain..
You stay there in your one bedroom flat, surrounded by the people you hate and despise so much….poor soul.
If only you were rich, maybe you would be here living on the West coast looking down at we mere mortals, instead you have to stay up in the miserable, cold damp place you are with the Pakis, Jamaicans, Rastas etc….the perfect treatment for an old bigot like you.
Praise Jah that you are not rich and cant afford the airfare back to Bim…we can do without another igrunt bigot .
Anonymous // November 18, 2008 at 10:00 AM
I find it rather strange that someone whom the police recognised as “not having his mental faculties intact” was allowed to walk behind all two officers.
199 // November 18, 2008 at 1:36 PM
Leh me stay cold an poor in Hinglan stead ugh being roung people like, YOU!!
Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!
ROK // November 18, 2008 at 2:17 PM
The only scourge I seeing around here is you. I ain’t even mentioning bonny peppa cause she is sweet peppa. I see somebody say that you “old” and you say you don’t like “Ras”. Well you know when you put the two of them words together with an attitude, it does make for bad words; so I am not surprised at you.
Bonny Peppa // November 18, 2008 at 2:33 PM
ROK
I luvvs it. Ya bad. “when ya put old and ras togetha, it does make fa bad words”.
I luvs um.
Depends on which ya use as the prefix or suffix.
Ya know moi preference. I would use ‘ras’ as my prefix. Sounds betta.(ya bad) luffs ya.
Ya likes ma?
ROK // November 19, 2008 at 9:40 AM
But Bonny Peppa, you can’t leave out the attitude when you put them together. It is the attitude that make the difference. suffix it to say the prefix, does the trick.
ah likes ya
ROK // November 19, 2008 at 10:16 AM
The death of Ras I’Akobi raises serious questions about the state of Human Rights in Barbados. If every human respected the rights of every human, regardless of rank, power or authority, then something like this could never have happened.
The Police would have know that to hold a man for over an hour, based on a report from an ordinary citizen, which is in turn based on his personal bias & suspicion and comes without evidence of any wong-doing, must be unprofessional action and likely to be against that persons human rights.
They would also have understood the importance of a citizen’s freedom to enjoy the serenity and natural beauty of Cove Bay and that not everybody that goes to cove bay is a drug trafficker.
They would also be cognisant that their professionalism lies in not disturbing, violating or abusing the human rights of others in the course of their duty and understand that mere suspicion is not sufficient cause to interfere with the rights of citizens.
When all the above is weighed, it seems obvious to me that the professional Poilce action should have been to observe I’Akobi, i.e. place him under surveillance. Then even if the earth had opened up and swallowed him because it was his time, the professional action of the Police would have ensured that they could not be accused of anything.
All citizens must be treated equally in like manner as any good parent seeks to treat all his/her children equally and without favour; one over the other. The law is a regulator and should not be used as a tool to inflict autocracy; fear, paranoia, suffering, etc. through abuse and violence against citizens.
ROK // November 19, 2008 at 10:22 AM
It is the duty of citizens everywhere to stand up and support total adherence to the human right convention. Support any group or people in pursuit of human rights. Come out in your numbers! Don’t let abuse go unnoticed! Punish the perpetrators!
That is how to give effect to the words of Martin Luther King, “Injustice anywhere is injustice everywhere.” Let’s stamp it out!
M****** H****** // November 19, 2008 at 11:24 AM
Just let de woman do she job without u people passing justice.
Lets give it a chance. 4 once.
me // November 19, 2008 at 12:49 PM
“It is the duty of citizens everywhere to stand up and support total adherence to the human right convention. Support any group or people in pursuit of human rights.” Hopefully this includes homosexuals LOL
me // November 19, 2008 at 12:54 PM
am mmmm if they had observed hi an he had still jumped wouldnt you still be on here claiming that they pushed him…
please! the POLICE although not perfect have a job to do and when they dont do it wunna does be the first to ask where th police at… stupse.
the more i follow this case the more it is clear to me dat de yute was not right in de head ( too much pot prolly) and dat he jumped…
ROK // November 19, 2008 at 1:50 PM
me
Let’s be realistic. Two hours of surveillance is not a very long time. If it took him being on that cliff for two hours before he jumped, it would be clear that he was not pushed and the Police would have nothing to answer.
Take those two fellas that got arrested for rape. In the eyes of the society, they are already guilty. Nobody ain’t saying give them a chance to prove themselves innocent. All I hearing is, look what them two hard-back men do with that little girl.
So in the face of such questionable circumstances and the only people there were Police, are you going to change your demeanour now? Those police come from the same society as those two accused and wearing a uniform does not make a Policeman automatically better. It has to do with the person.
Confused // November 19, 2008 at 2:42 PM
Hey ROK this inquest is making interesting reading. I must say I am yet to see any skullduggery on the part of the police.
You and Technician assured us the police culpable. When is police wrong doing going to surface? The committeee supporting Maloney, Commisiong and weirdo Pilgrim have a surprise witness coming?
Case looking more and more like a slam dunk suicide jump by Maloney. I can still be persuaded otherwise so long as their is credible evidence .
I feel sad for those involved especially the young Rastaman mother.
Technician // November 20, 2008 at 12:39 AM
You and Technician assured us the police culpable.
—————————————————————————————–
And where,pray tell, did I assure you or anyone of this???
What I did assure you,however, is that the Police profiles citizens and treat them accordingly.
They cant enter a gated community when called by a victim but can kick down your door in the Orleans because they feel like.
They can shoot a car washer/ paro for fun, shoot a suspect in the back of the head early one morning after surrounding his house. This by a trained marksman who represents this country in the sport…guess he was proving a point (no pun intended).
Do you remember Dexter Yarde??
He was a friend of mine from primary school days. Still nothing conclusive on his death.
Do you remember Grantley Farmer?
This man could not even raise his hand properly (as testified to by a doctor), yet he was supposed to have attacked an officer who went into a bed room alone to ‘arrest’ a dangerous suspect….said officer is high ranking…was in a bit of hot water earlier though (ego).
Do you remember 17 year old Kim Joseph?
Shot by police in her head and left for dead…any officers charged? NO!!
Remember Matthew Kydd and Kane Garrett?
Do you remember what Magistrate Pamela Beckles had to say about Police investigating themselves?
Do you really think all these instances are slam dunk??
Maybe because of these experiences, plus my personal ones, I have a bias against police investigating themselves.
Maybe because it is a known fact that most of them belong to the Lodges and we know what the motto is.
Maybe it is because when my family was in trouble, I was asked to pay $10,000.00 by a well known officer, to have the charges dropped because he knew I had just come into a substantial amount of money ( guess you know what I told him).
So you see Confused….maybe I have my biases but to me the RBPF is supposed to serve and protect, therefore, anytime some one dies in their custody under strange circumstances, the burden of proof is at them.
From the time they approached I’Acobi, they were responsible for his well being. They are supposed to be trained personnel not amateurs.
J // November 20, 2008 at 12:58 AM
Technician wrote “Maybe because it is a known fact that most of them belong to the Lodges and we know what the motto is.”
What is the motto of the lodges?
It seems lke I am the only Bajan who does NOT belong to a lodge neither do I know any lodge members, so can somebody tell me what the lodges’ motto is?
pepper seed // November 20, 2008 at 3:37 AM
The folks I know who belong to lodges are driven by a belief in their own self importance. They are arrogant social climbers who cannot be trusted. They are sneaky and secretive. Strange people those lodge klansmen.
Technician // November 20, 2008 at 7:55 AM
@ J…..
The brotherhood before all other…..
I know the members are going to throw a fit but I really dont care. I speak from experience. The RBPF if full of them, the Judiciary too.
ERROL MAYNERD // November 20, 2008 at 8:44 AM
WHAT THE POLICE SOW,THEY WILL SURELY REAP
me // November 20, 2008 at 8:54 AM
some on here clearly have anti-police agendas. I think thet the same way you dont want the Police to profile rastafari for ‘dope’ activities although a vast majority of rastafari smole weed you shouldn’t be profiling the Police for the few bad apples in the force…
Stop smoking de ganja …it does addle ya brain
Technician // November 20, 2008 at 9:29 AM
@ Me…..
….,you shouldn’t be profiling the Police for the few bad apples in the force’…
I think it is you who smoking something and it sure aint weed.
How on earth can you equate the Police to citizens?
It is their duty to enforce the law fairly and without prejudice.
Whether you are Rastafarian or not is beside the point. Was Ronja Juman Rastafarian?
How can anyone here on this blog with a conscience just give the RBPF a pass and a clean slate .
A few bad apples in the force?
Then tell me …….how many bad apples are acceptable?
Tony Hall // November 20, 2008 at 11:22 AM
Technician,
Man you really hate the police. Do you know that Grantley Farmer was a real real criminal and his intention was to kill a policeman? He always had this in him from the time he was 16 years old. I guess you would have felt better if the police whilst executing a warrant in the house had gotten injured or killed by him.I guess judging from all the run-ins you have had with the police over the years you definitely wont be calling them if you and your family are the victims of a crime.
Technician // November 20, 2008 at 6:36 PM
@ Tony Hall ……
Don’t be stupid!!
I don’t hate the Police, I dont even hate people, it takes too much effort, I just have a hard time with idiots like you trying to make some of them out to be saints, when you know too well what they are capable of.
If my family are the victims of a crime, sure, I will call the Police. It is the law and the right thing to do and it is their JOB!!
When your telephone or ADSL is not working, who do you call even though you are frustrated with the service??
Duhh?
I never said that all are bad. FYI I have good friends who are in the force.
What I have issues with are the abuse of power by some, the blatant lying by some and the unfair treatment meted out by some.
You would like to assume that every dreadlocked person smokes weed or does something illegal, yet still you can’t seem to believe that some officers are corrupt.You are a hypocrite to think this way, only because it suits you.
If you want to live in a fairy tale world believing that ALL Police are good, well, suit yourself.
I find it so stupid , that as soon as you have to question the Police, people like you have a lot of shit to say.
Answer this Tony……if you or your family were ever wronged by the Police …wouldn’t you want them to be held accountable?
Stop trying to detract from the issue with silly statements…how could you or anyone possibly know what Farmer had in him from 16 yrs old? Did you know this for a fact? Did you even know him personally?
The facts are that these are suspicious deaths and incidents involving the Police which have raised many questions for years.
David // November 20, 2008 at 8:09 PM
ROK // November 20, 2008 at 8:32 PM
Just for the record. I have an uncle, a cousin and a step sister in the RBPF. I had two uncles in the Force and one passed away (illness); the RBPF could not ask for more reasonable gentlemen in its ranks, than these two; humane to the bone. The one left there is a very senior officer and last I know, he was at the Police Training School.
Actually, I was very happy when he was posted there because I always used to complain to him that the Police behave this way because of whatever they are being taught, or however they are being trained. The manner in which I have seen or heard of how he conducts investigations, leaves no wanting for professionalism and in my opinion a hallmark for the respect of human rights.
I therefore have to thank Technician for putting me on my guard that some may think that I have branded all Police the same way. I did make it clear earlier that there are only a few bad apples, but in general, and for those who are of my age, there can be no doubt that the general demeanour of the Police is a lot better than when I was a youngster. So you know the type of ig’rance that was in the Force before; there is no doubt that we now encounter more reasonable policemen in public.
We have to deal with the squads. This is the source of the headaches. Maybe they should be disbanded and Police stations beefed up and returned to being the official response of the RBPF.
ROK // November 20, 2008 at 8:40 PM
Which idiot would believe that? What is the probability that two people seeing the same thing will write the exact words in their statements?
From a social science perspective, the probability tends to zero. As Policemen, they should be held in contempt or charged with conspiring to corrupt justice. Shame!
TRUTH SEEKER // November 21, 2008 at 12:27 AM
one thing for sure. He wasn ‘t going over that cliff if they weren’t bugging him! I doubt any other individual would be made to leave from breezing by the cove to go to the police station just because he was chilling 3 miles away from a small boat out at sea…… near a CLIFF. ( I have seen church buses frequenting the same area on excursions. So it ain’t a drug hole. Note that the avg man could never retrieve the drugs from that cliff in a short pants and no special equipment. How? Climb down ? Climb up ?catch de bus wid de drugs after ?And he couldn’t Swim? Apparently it was a false alarm anyway because we ain’t heard bout the boat since. He ended up over a cliff though. First time he did that after visiting many times. Those are the facts. I wonder how the happy camper that made the call feels? I wonder if he still feels Iakobi looks “suspiscious”
Technician // November 21, 2008 at 12:27 AM
Just to go back on the silly comment of Tony Hall…….
…..Do you know that Grantley Farmer was a real real criminal and his intention was to kill a policeman?
Then explain to ignorant me, if this is the kind of person an officer was going to arrest, why then would he enter a bedroom with this man alone,…after asking the other officer to remain outside?
Ask any officer if they would have taken on Simeon ‘Buddy’ Brathwaite in any 1 on 1 situation….and we all know where he stood when it came to Police.
Watching // November 21, 2008 at 12:42 AM
TRUTH SEEKER // November 21, 2008 at 12:27 am
one thing for sure. He wasn ‘t going over that cliff if they weren’t bugging him
—————————————————————-
Because the police ask a hard back man what he doing on the cliff he jumped to his death. How intelligent or sane could that man be?
Tony Hall // November 21, 2008 at 12:45 AM
Technician,
I understand your bias against the police but it is absolutely consuming you. Anything the RBPF does will never be satisfactory to you. As least the majority of Barbadians don’t feel the way you do.
David // November 21, 2008 at 12:50 AM
Maybe what me and Tony are saying is that we should be careful when attacking the Police even if we are targeting bad apples because of what the uniform represents, law and order. If that symbol to civil society is tarnished enough it could lead to negative consequences.
Secondly can anyone confirm the nature of L’akobi’s back injury?
Lastly the point about the high level of membership in the Lodge by judges and lawyers is interesting. All we can do is give them the benefit of the doubt that the fraternity has never forced them to compromise decision making.
J // November 21, 2008 at 1:06 AM
Dear Technician:
Thanks.
And we don’t give a d*mn if the old fogies ah! brotherhood throw a fit or not.
Somebody needs to tell the old bats to learn to behave themselves.
To thyself first be true.
J // November 21, 2008 at 1:14 AM
ROK wrote “Why are cigarettes and rum not a problem;”
But indeed ROK we know that cigarettes and rum are a big, big problem. My smoking buddies tell me that they spend upwards of $5,000 a year smoking, add the that excess sick leave, more frequent hospitalizations, reduced life expectancy etc. BIG, BIG problem.
199 // November 21, 2008 at 5:05 AM
Tony Hall and anybody else, please stop wasting your time feeling sympathy for Technician. He’s already admitted that he smokes pot, WHICH AS FAR AS I KNOW IS ILLEGAL IN BIM!! So, what the hell r u feeling sorry for him for!! It’s because of people like him that law and order in Bim is constantly, being undermined!!
I, for one, hope the cops WILL catch e, the very next time they stop him and lock his rass in Dodds for a good few years and teach he and his like respect for the law!!
Stop being so gutless, Barbadians!!
Technician // November 21, 2008 at 8:09 AM
Poor old Bimbro….
I never have or never will deny smoking weed!!
I do it from the comfort of my Patio.
Same as you pick fares, have sex with minors, buggery and all the other ILLEGAL activities done behind closed doors.
Never asked or wanted anyone to feel sorry for me…..don’t like pity.
What is really undermining law and order is the corruption,lying and stealing done by the very ones who are there to enforce the same laws and order.
Cops catching me? Well that is the nature of the beast….very possible…like doing 100km/h on the 80/km highway or the many other laws we break every day knowingly.
The laws will always be broken…that is a given (imagine no criminals,no lawyers,no prison). The point is that when you have an establishment which is supposed to uphold it, breaking it themselves and twisting it to their own agendas, that is what undermines society.
Does a man smoking a joint in his home undermines society any more than the Police who sells the weed.
Does a man who kills another in a fight undermines society any more than the Police who shoot and kills unarmed ’suspects’?
Check ya self Bimbro…..
Who guards the guards??
Anonymous // November 21, 2008 at 8:15 AM
Although I have never been a weed smoker, I agree with the point Technician is making.
Tony Hall // November 21, 2008 at 9:16 AM
Technician is getting angry. He has gotten to the point that he cannot disagree with another person’s point of view without trying to insult or demean. Sad, sad, sad.
Technician // November 21, 2008 at 9:24 AM
David // November 21, 2008 at 12:50 am
Maybe what me and Tony are saying is that we should be careful when attacking the Police even if we are targeting bad apples because of what the uniform represents, law and order. If that symbol to civil society is tarnished enough it could lead to negative consequences.
——————————————————————-
@ David….
Do you think speaking out on corruption is tarnishing that ’symbol’?
Let anyone here dispute any of the instances I spoke about earlier. These are all incidents, where, left unchallenged or unexplained to any degree of certainty, undermines the same symbol you would have us respect.
We are not sheeple man….
Anonymous // November 21, 2008 at 10:37 AM
@ Tony…..
You yourself are guilty of the same behavior.
Anyone one who has a conscience in this country would or should be concerned with a lot of the issues of bad Police work.
Technician introduced me to this blog and even though I dont always agree with his views, I agree with them this time. So even if he is angry, even if it is inexcusable …it is understandable.
A lot of young people are seeing these incidents and have no respect for law and order.
Silver Foxx // November 21, 2008 at 4:28 PM
Hello readers ,not saying that I Defending the RBPF but one question must be asked. Do you expect anything different from the police force? These people are a group of power hungry ,organized criminals. They stereotype ‘dreads’ because the public stereotype them also, those paramiliatary thugs (police) came from the society…. Thats why that informing PIG called the police . If he had seen a White man on that cliff no police would be called in .
Silver Foxx // November 21, 2008 at 4:52 PM
When I hear people putting Barbados and independence in the same sentence I feel like I want to vomit . We are only independent on paper but our thinking is still colonial ,and I mean ancient colonial. The Barbadian public are still in this discriminating fad ,which may look as though its a culture hence that explains why we would not see an islam or rasta police ,fire man ,prison officer etc anytime soon. The colonial have grown away from that thinking because discriminating against a religion is an offence . We are no different from the KKK or Hitler because we are stare down our noses at human beings like our selves . And look what separates us all, religion, wealth , colour and even academic qualifications.
199 // November 22, 2008 at 4:16 AM
Thanks Tony, I’m well used to his abusiveness and can’t wait to see him locked up! The excuses he and his friends make for breaking the law do not impress me at all!!
It’s thus no wonder they’re such admirers of the Jamaicans!! Soon, they’ll import Jamaican behaviour to Bim, generally, and then ull all be *hitting yourselves!! I suspect it’s started, already!!
Technician // November 22, 2008 at 9:44 AM
When it isn’t the Jamaicans, it is the Africans, Pakistani, Muslim or anyonyelse you have a dislike for.
Have you ever wondered if the problem is you??
199 // November 22, 2008 at 1:59 PM
Continue to talk bollocks Technician!! That’s all ur good for!! I just pity the poor Barbadians who have no choice but to live among the degradation which you and your friends have inflicted and r going to inflict, upon them!!
May the lord help my poor, Barbados!!
ROK // November 22, 2008 at 6:55 PM
Tony Hall
The people that matter and that are the victims of police action will have nothing to do with the Police when it comes to being a witness against their neighbour.
The Police just do not have that kind of reputation; hence many avoid the Judas syndrome, where you would hang yourself when you see what your information does to your neighbour. You would not wish it upon your dog.
So the Status Quo becomes, “don’t care what a man does, he does not deserve to be in the company of the Police.” Where does that leave our justice system? It breeds crime!
ROK // November 22, 2008 at 7:01 PM
David
Whose responsibility it is to maintain the reputation of the Police Force? If those who are being paid to do so can’t, well then it is the citizens right to ask for something to replace it that will act in their interest. Do we really need a Police “Force”? We need a “Citizens Protection & Investigations Agency” to “serve” the needs of communities.
ROK // November 22, 2008 at 7:13 PM
J,
That is the exact point and it goes beyond the expenditure; the spending on alcohol maybe approaching 100 times that of cigarettes. So how much worse is the cannibis than the two of these that go together? Why so fanatical over this than the alcohol and cigarettes?
Well I would risk to bet that if fate had it that cannibis was discovered before alcohol, it is the alcohol that would have been illegal today and the cannibis bringing in the wealth. Just happens to be the other way around now; but it does not matter. What matters is their ability to make something which they are controlling, exclusive and accessible to them alone and all other substitutes outlawed.
This is not about right or wrong, but what gives an economic edge to the already rich, while crippling those who would dare compete with it; our own parliament, our own laws and our own police used against us to keep their status quo.
This is not about Cannibis, people.
ROK // November 23, 2008 at 3:15 AM
Does anybody remember this at all:
“According to an article in the Nation News, Magistrate Pamela Beckles lambasted the Royal Barbados Police Force for poorly investigating wrong-doing by police officers. Magistrate Beckles stated this as she was forced to dismiss assault charges against three Special Services Unit constables who were accused of assaulting surfer Matthew Kydd and a student Kane Garrett some four years ago on May 5, 2004.”
This allows two Policemen to come to an inquiry with the same statements. Why? Because the magistrate, as much as she talks at the time, allowed the policemen to go scotch free.
Tell me about Magistrate Marshall-Harris ability when the Police pulls this kind of stunt????
Technician // November 23, 2008 at 7:29 AM
199 // November 22, 2008 at 1:59 pm
Continue to talk bollocks Technician!! That’s all ur good for!! I just pity the poor Barbadians who have no choice but to live among the degradation which you and your friends have inflicted and r going to inflict, upon them!!
May the lord help my poor, Barbados!!
—————————————————————————–
You see Bimbro….it may seem like ‘bollocks’ to you but it is the reality of the situation.
I will put it too you that I have and I still am contributing to my country in a positive way.I didnt run from it like you, only to go live in worse conditions, just to say I live abroad. I have a green card to America but I live in Barbados because this is home. When I see people like you talk it really sickens me.
You don’t pity us, you envy us because deep down, you know it is sweet here. Where you are living now is 10 times worse than Bim.
We dont need pity from bigots or traitors. Time now for you to go on ignore.
ru4real // November 23, 2008 at 8:36 AM
“According to an article in the Nation News, Magistrate Pamela Beckles lambasted the Royal Barbados Police Force for poorly investigating wrong-doing by police officers. Magistrate Beckles stated this as she was forced to dismiss assault charges against three Special Services Unit constables who were accused of assaulting surfer Matthew Kydd and a student Kane Garrett some four years ago on May 5, 2004.”
This allows two Policemen to come to an inquiry with the same statements. Why? Because the magistrate, as much as she talks at the time, allowed the policemen to go scotch free.
——————————————-
This is disgraceful but is not an isolated occurrence.
The Police in Barbados are a law unto themselves.
They do not hesitate to lie to protect each other and get away with it.
The circumstances around this mans death are disturbing and even are the Police are innocent of wrong doing in this case the general behavior of the Police force makes it very difficult for the public to believe this.
They have lied their way out of trouble once too often.
David // November 23, 2008 at 9:46 AM
@ROK
All we are saying is that when we criticize the police we have to do it in a very circumspect manner. It is not like we are criticizing teachers or the other professions. Given what the police stands for we have to be careful not to undermined the uniform. It is why calling for an active independent body is maybe more worthwhile than attacking the police directly.
This approach is all the more relevant in todays environment where there is a general lack of respect for most things.
199 // November 23, 2008 at 3:13 PM
Of course, ur perfectly right Technician!! The subject of this discussion, not to mention others, show just how ‘paradisical’ a place Bim is!!
Yeh, and I’m soooooo jealous!! LOL!!
BTW, how yuh does cope wid de heat!!
Lord a mercy, not to mention d flies!! – doan open yuh mout!!
Laaarrdddddddddddddddd!!!!
ROK // November 23, 2008 at 3:57 PM
David
You have me confused. What is the difference between Policemen and teachers or other professions? If our teachers come into disrepute there would be as much or even more an outcry because they deal with all of our children daily.
That thing you talking about “respect for uniform” I would place in the realm of colonial thinking. That old time “respect for the uniform” is pure subjugation, fear and only serves to mentally prime the lower classes to accept injustices dealt out by those in authority…
and as a matter of fact, you know the youngsters will not view it that way. You earn respect otherwise you get none; don’t care what clothes you wearing. Just keeping it real.
We don’t need to waste money polishing up image. Establish Departments with mandates that fit the needs. Spend the money on the people.
me // November 23, 2008 at 4:15 PM
I know that there are bad policemen and I know that protocols will have to be improved ( BECAUSE we are more developed and people have greater expectations).
BUT the idea of lambasting the police and not looking at the specific case and recognising that the Police in this situation have a job to do is interesting. I thinks that the rastafri community and people like technician etc have far more sinister motives than justice for this unfortunate fellow. Technician admits that he smokes pot on the regular hmmmm. Rastafari also smoke pot on the regular hmmmmmm
NO police interference no problem… it must be nice to want ANARCHY!
David // November 23, 2008 at 6:03 PM
ROK call us old fashioned or pragmatic, we prefer to treat the police with a deference which is exclusive. The police is a special group, if there is no law and order in society some strange things will happen. It is not to say other groups are not important but the problems which result are not so immediate.
ROK // November 23, 2008 at 7:10 PM
David
You can’t be more old-fashioned than me when it comes to discipline, but that is hardly pragmatic. More like conservative. You know why certain children fear cockroaches and crickets and other children don’t?
I think it is time that fear of the masses is put oneside. It is completely groundless. The real fear comes from those who have beyond their share and they pass on the fear to you who may not have, with the promise that some day you too may have riches or own property and therefore when you have, you need security.
Keeping the peace is the responsibility of each and every citizen (actually it is a civic duty); Police or no Police and the sooner we take a good look at our educational system and see deviance, not as wickedness but as the symptoms of those who feel left out of society, the better our society will be.
We must stop being selfish and seek a better nation and it can only happen when all hands are on deck. When that happens, Governments could sign a million EPAs and they will not have any effect on this economy.
I want to leave you with this. When it comes to predial larceny and police abuses, Barbados does not have any Police. It does leave us at the mercy of the guards; is that not frightening?
Barnabas Collins // November 23, 2008 at 8:27 PM
My sympathies go out to this young man’s family. I think this was a case of profiling. He is a rastaman down by a beach in St. Lucy so he had to be waiting for a drug boat. The rest is anybody’s guess as to what happened.
But as a bajan there are some injustices that continue to haunt us a nation.
1) Profiling citizens because they wear locks. Every rasta is a drug runner.
2) We have a hospital that continues to be run by consultant doctors and irrespective who is in charge of the ministry nothing changes. They continue to kill people or accelerate their demise. Two people I know were victims of that hospital where people gave them medication that they were allergic and a couple days later they were dead. And there is that rumour of a spinal tap that left someone paralyse and near to death. If you decide to take a legal step, all notes and other information disappear. But where can you go for major critical care.
3) The sea port in Barbados continue to extort money from business people under government from both major parties. And if you have the audacity to complain, you will find that one’s goods will be in the port for months or sometimes years and not be released. Furthermore, they charge you port storage fees on the back of it.
4) This nonsense of ushering in Christmas in November and not honouring Independence as we should. We mimic a lot of things from the US but we don’t ever mimic their patriotism.
I know that I am not alone in these.
BC
ROK // November 23, 2008 at 8:43 PM
Well said Barnabas Collins and as an addendum to your point #2, I know of a lady who was about to be discharged after a minor surgery and when the orderly went for her with a wheelchair to wheel her down as you do patients being discharged, she was dead.
Apparently, also, the doctor told the family that he was doing the post mortem from his notes.
Technician // November 23, 2008 at 11:03 PM
Me says……Technician admits that he smokes pot on the regular hmmmm. Rastafari also smoke pot on the regular hmmmmmm
—————————————————————————-
First of all Me, I am not Rastafari.
Rastafari is a recognised religion and I do not believe in religion. Please do not try to make any connection.
As for smoking pot, dont we all have our vices? Some of us like prostitutes, rum, men, little boys, little girls, even saw today that some even like horses.
You try to put me in the same category as criminals and of course I will take offense to it.
I have never seen the inside of a courtroom other than as a visitor, my primary job dictates that I have a Police certificate of character every year. My small business brings me into contact with people from all levels of society….from the richest to poorest…black, white, Indian etc.
Explain to me what sinister motives I could be up to(guess you would call wanting to see justice sinister)
In all the cases I have put forth, Justice was never the outcome.
What you have just proven is what others on this thread have been trying to show. You dont even know me but because I smoke weed, have locks and speak out against corrupt Police, you put me in the category of someone sinister…..thank you sir, for proving my point.
Just think…..I might be the dreadlocked guy, in the shirt and tie next to you in the line.
It is so sad that some think this way…oh well……continue to believe weed is the cause of all problems in the youth today.
……excuse me…..while I light my spliff!!
199 // November 24, 2008 at 4:42 AM
Technician admits that he smokes pot on the regular hmmmm. Rastafari also smoke pot on the regular hmmmmmm
NO police interference no problem… it must be nice to want ANARCHY!
‘me’, u tell them!! They’re such *unts!!
me // November 24, 2008 at 6:39 AM
I didnt call u a rasta but clearly if you lifestyle ( a clear choice, a clear decision you made and make every day) involves illegal activity which also requires others( the trafficers ) to circumvent the law AND give the Police a lot of trouble clearly it benefits you to PULL down the POLICE!
I’m just reminding you of your real MOTIVE for seeking justice here
Technician // November 24, 2008 at 7:38 AM
I’m just reminding you of your real MOTIVE for seeking justice here……
—————————————————————————————–
Tell me how on earth can you know or even remind me of my ‘real ‘ motive.
Is this the same way of thinking by the fireman or the Police about I’Akobi ?
This is exactly the way he was profiled…..no, he couldn’t have been relaxing on the cliff.A dreadlocked man HAD to be landing in drugs.
Can you sit there and honestly say you are perfect, that you dont break ANY laws, that your moral compass is always pointing in the right direction?
If so,then you have my admiration and respect….if not…who are you to be judging those you don’t know.
Keep on profiling…..one day coming soon.
me // November 24, 2008 at 8:40 AM
The Police have a job to do , a job the i beleive is increasingly needed. Although I can understand how and why people become illicit drugs users it does not change the fact that they are …
Until the day comes when anarchy reigns and ALL people can do exectly what they feel , when they feel and how they feel I am on the laws side.
On the subject of profiling ‘if it walks like a duck , talks like a duck, is in the place where ducks hang out etc… it is usually a duck’
I do however believe that the RBPF needs to keep improving the protocols by which they interact with the general public and i hope that this case quickens these changes!
Tony Hall // November 24, 2008 at 10:27 AM
Me,
Well said!!
Technician // November 24, 2008 at 12:36 PM
@ Me…
I know the Police have a job to do and no..I dont want anarchy but tell me….dont you think that they bring some of this on themselves with their behavior?
…..On the subject of profiling ‘if it walks like a duck , talks like a duck, is in the place where ducks hang out etc… it is usually a duck’
You can’t be serious with that quote man….it is the officer’s duty to investigate. That is the most ignorant quote one could use in a case where this kind of thinking can cause an innocent person to suffer unnecessarily. It is ok for citizens to hold that view as we do not decide a persons fate but when those in authority act like that, then I would say that anarchy would be the eventual outcome.
The Devil's Advocate // November 24, 2008 at 1:11 PM
Everyone knows that all ‘dem Pine people’ somehow connected with the drug trade and anyone who disagreed with the infamous police lock down of the Pine was seen as ’supporting criminal activity’. After all ‘if it walks like a duck and talks like a duck then it must be a duck?’ Do all ducks look like ducks and walk like ducks? What about a duck that looks like a goose or a goose that walks like a duck? Will you be able to tell the difference?
Do all rastas smoke weed? Are all ‘bald heads’ drug free? Can you tell the difference between a drug free rasta and a weed smoking bald head? By looking at them? Any one who assumes makes an ‘ass’ of ‘u’ and ‘me’. I encourage those of you who submit to stereotyping in any form to consider this……………. At one time we were all discriminated against for being darker than was acceptable. Most of you know so much about rastas that you don’t need our version of it, do you? You are all morally superior to any rasta so you have to let us know the ‘right way’.
Those of you who are authority’s on rasta should consider this. The rasta considers marijuana ‘in its natural form’ to be medicine and this has been recorded as such throughout prehistory. Rastas will smoke weed (as well as other medicinal herbs) for different conditions. Some of us do not touch weed that has been ‘tampered with’ i.e. has been transported via the drug trade. The majority of elder dreads DO NOT SMOKE unless they grow the plant themselves. The rasta believes in that which is natural so we are not interested in anything that has been altered by man. Making weed illegal in this part of the world and legal in Holland and such places has ensured that most of you are smoking ‘lab weed’ which will send you mad. So sometimes it may look like weed and smell like weed but it causes you to behave in ways that weed never did before. The weed they write about in foreign papers is not what is smoked down here. But then they will say that the only people who need to know so much about weed are those who smoke it, right? Can you tell if your decent, well dressed, lockless children are smoking? I have noticed that they are careful not to be seen when they pull up in their expensive rides to buy from ‘those criminals in the Pine’. Also the Police road block did not affect them because when the police arrived they ‘did not look like they belonged there’ so they were allowed through. If I wanted to smoke weed and get away with it all I would have to do is cut my locks.
me // November 24, 2008 at 1:59 PM
Clearly ‘the devil…’ is an expert at being a police amongst other things and seeks to now school me on discrimination and profiling. Tsk Tsk…
I never said baldheads dont smoke weed and BTW they also have a profile.
I dont see the comparison between blacks and rastafari since I didnt chose to be black but I can chose to smoke and get my mind all f***ked up!
Anyway like I said before we will keep pulling law and order down until we become a ‘yard’ of Jamaica… mark my words.
Enuff said!
199 // November 24, 2008 at 2:12 PM
Anyway like I said before we will keep pulling law and order down until we become a ‘yard’ of Jamaica… mark my words.
‘Me’, my friend, that’s what the *unts r all hoping will happen, then they can spend all day lost in their gunga-induced, fog of existence!! All power to the police in dealing with the idiots!!
The Devil's Advocate // November 24, 2008 at 2:23 PM
@199
‘drag all socitey dowm’— you have outdone rastas with this phrase alone because I can spell ’society’ and ‘down’. I have trouble with some other words but not those two and I am a rasta!
It is better that we believe that nothing good came out of Africa. There is no value in wearing ‘notty, dirty, lice-ridden’ hair. Everyone knows that our natural hair has to be processed to be acceptable. We worship some man that claimed to descend from Solomon but that cannot be true, no King from no Ethiopia could be descended from Solomon. Solomon would never have had sex with some African woman named the Queen of Sheba she never existed, after all, it’s not in the Bible. Tell me christians, who was the woman in the Songs of Solomon? Tell me christians, why should I believe in your Bible when it has been altered and doctored and not in the Kebra and Fetha Nagast which predate the Bible and have been kept in a place that was to protect it from white invaders from Rome. Hmm! Ethiopia is the oldest Christian nation on earth. Africans have always been ‘christian people’ who believed in God, that is until we were saved by slavery. Read oh my people, instead of Parroting what you heard.
If the African were ’savage’ and ‘godless cannibals’ that had to be saved by the ‘humanising’ process of slavery then why did they not eat all the white people when they landed and save us all this self hatred and nonsense. We have black people who hate anything that is natural to black people. A Christian woman once told me that I cannot enter the kindom of heaven unless I cut my locks. If I follow the ‘duck’ logic I would have to conclude that christians are backward, illiterate people who believe in a religious doctrine that was previosly used to enslave them, based on a book that was rewritten to justify said enslavement, but I know better.
mad man // November 24, 2008 at 2:44 PM
199, you are an ass!
ROK // November 24, 2008 at 2:58 PM
Mad man
Such kind words do not describe 199. I beg you to look into your vocabulary again.
Bonny Peppa // November 24, 2008 at 3:18 PM
To add fuel to fire, smoking is wrong. Full stop. The body was not designed to accommodate smoke, hence lung-cancer. And those who claim that they smoke whatever for medicinal purposes, I often wonder if they are pharmasist or doctors who would know the prescribed amount to use daily so that it won’t be harmful to the brain/body. I’m just curious. I guess the same argument could be applied for alcohol or any of the other vices we tend to abuse daily.
Me,
I’m with ya.
There is corruption in almost every organisation in this world. Police is no exception. They are products of our society. So you thought they came from Mars? Well, you’re wrong. Let’s give them our support. They’re cake to compare with NY police man. I know wha’ I talking ’bout. Been there, done dat.
Ya likes ma?
Bonny Peppa // November 24, 2008 at 3:19 PM
Rok
Hee,hee, hee.
Ya likes ma?
me // November 24, 2008 at 3:35 PM
Its sad that law and order is not a priority for black people in a predominantly black country!
I posit that we need to work on our society NOT just the RBPF!
And some of us need to stop addling our brains with weed so we can think str8!
Technician // November 24, 2008 at 4:00 PM
me // November 24, 2008 at 3:35 pm
Its sad that law and order is not a priority for black people in a predominantly black country!
I posit that we need to work on our society NOT just the RBPF!
And some of us need to stop addling our brains with weed so we can think str8!
———————————————————————————
Especially people like you in society who love to judge, stereotype and profile people.
What make you or anyone think you are better than others. For all you know, it might be a kind hearted, dreadlocked man who assists you when you are down. No one knows what the future holds.
Silver Foxx // November 24, 2008 at 4:01 PM
I initially thought that 199 was an idiot thats why I never adhere or reply to none of his or her comments.But I was wrong ..199 is not an idiot , he or she has passed that stage now. 199 is a kunt and a kunt is meant to be phucked not argued with….. So ROK ,devils advocate and mad man just ignore 199, that individual is a pussy ,keep talking OK…. the 2 curse words were written that way to avoid editing .LOL
ROK // November 24, 2008 at 5:35 PM
Bonny peppa, you know I likes ya, but I can add a lot to that list that the body ain’t make to take:
Too much rice
too much macoroni pie
too much pork
too much chicken
too much salt
too much sugar
vinegars
even lemonade and other imbalanced concoctions like pinacolada, etc.
Hence the hypertension, the cancers, the heart disease, the onset of diabetes, the kidney diseases, and a host of other diseases caused by imbibing what we should not, but we take it for granted and call it good food.
So why the discrimination against smokers as if it is such a big crime. Let us stop judging others and saying they are doing wrong things when in truth and in fact everybody doing nuff wrong things.
You hear recently that bonny peppa good for cancer? Chaaaaa! Wunna better put a little in wunna food everyday.
Bonny Peppa // November 25, 2008 at 8:35 AM
ROK,
Ya mean to tell me dat bonny peppa good fa sumting? And I always taut dat I was ‘good fa nuffin’. Tanks fa de reassurance man. Ya is a good fella.
By de by, cayenne peppa good fa ya ta.
ya likes me?
Bonny Peppa // November 25, 2008 at 8:42 AM
Silver Foxx,
Wuhloss, wuhloss, wuhloss, ya bad but I likes ya.
By de by ya not suppose to explain why ya use de ‘double entendre’ man. Leh we decipher it fa we selfes.Doan do um agen.
You is de Silver Fox wid white hair or silver wun?
Ya likes ma?
199 // November 25, 2008 at 2:21 PM
When I become PM just leh me katch yuh smoking a spliff pun Broad St, and yuh gun see!!
Laaaaaaaddddddddddddddd!!!!
Bonny Peppa // November 25, 2008 at 5:32 PM
By de time you become PM you in gun be able to katch nabody. Doan mind doe, I would help ya ketch dem, hear.
Ma likes ya.
Ya likes ma?
Pat // November 25, 2008 at 9:48 PM
@ Bonny Peppa
hahaha, by the time 199 becomes PM, you who already “ole ‘n swibly, but still hawtt”, wud be cole ‘n long gone, Yuh in tink so? lol!
muh likes ya.
Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2008 at 8:09 PM
Pat,
Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, doan leh 199 kno dah. I tryin to set ‘e up fa a fall (teehee).
Ya likes ma?
Chris Halsall // November 26, 2008 at 8:20 PM
@Bonny Peppa…
You keep saying profoundly stupid sh1t, and then asking if “[we] like[s] [you]?”
Why the fsck should we care? Get over yourself!
Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2008 at 8:40 PM
Chris Halsall,
Sing along wid me if ya kno de tune:
“I wake up dis mornin and say my Lord’s prayer, it ain’ me, it is you, ya confuse.”
Even an idiot (like you) is entitled to his own opinion. Ya foolish bitch. Now I kno’ fa sure dat you likes ma.
Ya likes ma?
Chris Halsall // November 26, 2008 at 8:48 PM
@Bonny Peppa…
Who hath drawn the circuit for the Lion?
Is ya ! a fscking profoundly stupid ignorant fool?
David // November 26, 2008 at 8:50 PM
Please!
Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2008 at 9:00 PM
Chris Halsall,
“who hath drawn the circuit for the Lion?”
I can’ draw, so it can’ be me, Skippa. You got de wrong body. I can’ draw.
You like you had too much to drank.(hiccuppp). Go and sober up buddy.
Ya likes ma, I kno fa sure.
Chris Halsall // November 26, 2008 at 9:00 PM
@David…
Sorry… My humour is often not appreciated…
Chris Halsall // November 26, 2008 at 9:04 PM
@Peppa…
Ah, so you are a student of Saberhagen. Seminal science fiction…
Why are you here? What do you bring?
Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2008 at 9:17 PM
Chris Halsall
Look, ya confusing me now. I gine an drank a cup a redrose green tea an two biskit.
I doan want de dialogue back an forth wid we so all de time. Waste a time. Good ting we in got ta pay fa um.
You know why you hay, doan worry ’bout why I hay an wah I got to
brang. OK?
I no ya likes ma fa sure now.
Chris Halsall // November 26, 2008 at 9:32 PM
@Peppa… You appear to be easy to confuse…
I’m inferring from your above that “You no [longer] likes [me] me for sure now.
Imagine this: I’m OK with that…
Bonny Peppa // November 26, 2008 at 11:20 PM
Chris Halsall,
Boy, at my age, I easy to confuse, diffuse, refuse and any other ‘fuse’ dat yu cud add.
By de by, you like pussy cats? I got one fa yu to kiss. Aw-rite? I gone.
Ya likes ma nah?
Shocked // November 29, 2008 at 12:11 AM
At about 9:00 pm Friday 28 Nov, 2008 (i.e 2 hours ago) I was startled by the sound of someone crying for help. On looking through my living room window I saw a man being assaulted by two other persons (a man and a woman). The couple appeared to be robbing the man. The male assailant had his face and hair covered by a cloth possibly a bandana. The woman’s features could be clearly seen as the area is lit by a nearby streetlight. This was taking place about 25 feet from where I was standing. I even shouted (probably unwisely) to them to leave the man alone. My wife who also witnessed this apparent assault called 211, Central Police Station, District A Police station, crime stoppers hotline and a few other police listed numbers to no avail. NO ONE ANSWERED THE PHONE! By 9:10 the attackers had walked away and the victim went in the opposite direction apparently unhurt. I persisted in trying to call the police and about 9: 30 pm after dialing the Police PABX (430 7100) I finally got through to someone. After explaining the reason for my call, I was transferred to someone else. I again related the reason for my call where upon I was told that no response by the police could be made unless the victim made a report. I indicated that although those involved had left the area, there were some items on the ground outside my fence probably belonging to the man that had been apparently assaulted. The officer told me if I wanted to bring the items to the police station, I could do so. I stated that I would not be tampering with the items and bid the officer goodnight.
Well here are my lessons from this episode:
211 and the crime stoppers hotline are apparent jokes.
The police do not investigate crimes unless the victim makes a report.
and I am now amazed that the police responded in force to a call about a man (I’Akobi) walking about near the coastline of St Lucy but yet seem totally uninterested in the report of a possible crime having been committed in St Michael!
I once thought that the police were there to protect and serve but I now feel even more vulnerable to the actions of criminals.
ROK // November 29, 2008 at 12:16 AM
Shocked
You get the point I was making earlier, right? How could an average citizen evoke a rapid response?
Of course the policeman that told you all that crap, should be fired.
Shocked // November 29, 2008 at 12:26 AM
ROK
The officer (a woman) did not ask me my name or any other question about my report. Maybe she didn’t believe me.
Powerless // November 29, 2008 at 12:40 AM
Female police officers are notoriously rude specially on the phone. I had an experience similar to Shocked where it looked as if a stabbing would take plce. I called the police station and a female officer instead of getting off her backside to protect, serve and reassure told me to stop shouting in her ears or she would put the phone down. To say I was baffled is an understatement. She carried out her threat and put down the phone . Luckily the fracas ended without anyone being hurt.
Chris Halsall // November 29, 2008 at 12:49 AM
@Shocked… Did you ask for the officers name and badge number?
Did you record the times of your calls, and the numbers called? (You *can* request this information from your telephony provider after the fact.)
Are you going to file an official complaint?
If you didn’t / don’t, you’re letting yourself, and your fellow humans, down.
Chris Halsall // November 29, 2008 at 12:52 AM
@Powerless… My same as to @Shocked.
IMHO, you are only powerless if you choose to be.
Shocked // November 29, 2008 at 1:05 AM
Hallsall
I did not get the officer’s name. When she answered she spoke so quickly that I did not understand what was said. When these things happen one is not as collected and in control as one should be. I was just interested at the time in getting some police assistance at the time and I was frustrated that the phone wasn’t answered earlier.
About an official complaint, I suppose I should but is it worth the effort? Does anyone really care? I’m a nobody not someone with power and authority. I spoke to a neighbour just now and he says it’s a small matter, nobody got hurt, forget about it. But….I ‘ve got young children who saw what happened and they are asking me if the “bad” people are going to come back.
Chris Halsall // November 29, 2008 at 1:52 AM
@Shocked: “When these things happen one is not as collected and in control as one should be. I was just interested at the time in getting some police assistance at the time and I was frustrated that the phone wasn’t answered earlier.
Trust me: been there…
@Shocked: “About an official complaint, I suppose I should but is it worth the effort? Does anyone really care? I’m a nobody not someone with power and authority.
You are a citizen!!! You are the most powerful entity in this fine country!
IMHO, even if this particular complaint does not immediately result in a change, the results of many such complaints will. It’s all about the aggregate action. (One action is unlikely to have an immediate effect. But many will.)
@Shocked: “But….I ‘ve got young children who saw what happened and they are asking me if the “bad” people are going to come back.
This is going to sound melodramatic, but you should register the official complaint simply so that your children are more likely to be able to raise immediate help if (Gods forbid) they have to call 211 themselves sometime in the future….
Technician // November 29, 2008 at 2:15 AM
Wonder where Me and Tony Hall are on this issue.
ROK // November 29, 2008 at 7:56 AM
Shocked
Do your civic duty and report this matter. Chris is correct. It is a good example for your children to see you doing your civic duty. It tells them what their civic duty should be when they become of age.
Shocked // November 29, 2008 at 8:52 AM
ROK
update: went outside this morning to find some items left scattered on the ground where the assault took place. Among these items was an ID card for a 73 year old man (the presumed victim). I collected the items, placed them in a plastic bag and took them to District A. I handed them over to an officer at the desk, giving my name and address and related last night’s events. He said that they will check out the owner of the ID card.
ROK // November 29, 2008 at 1:31 PM
Shocked
I am surprised that the person did not return to the scene to collect items. I trust that you got the name and number of the Policeman you handed it over to?
This is one of the weaknesses of citizen actions. Too many people go to departments of Government and do not record their transaction or the people they spoke to. By the same token there are a lot who do.
You therefore should have had a list of all that was in the bag and you could even have gone a bit further and ask the policeman to sign that these are the items you delivered.
If we are to protect our human rights, these are some of the things we should do as citizens. It helps prevent corruption too. Police could lose the bag. Many things could happen and with a little bit of dilligence fate could be altered.
Think about the Policeman who took it. If he knew it was recorded somewhere that he took it, then he may make sure that he handed it over correctly to the next duty policeman. He would definitely take care of that bag.
The subject of Civics should be taught in schools.
Chris Halsall // November 29, 2008 at 4:51 PM
@ROK: “The subject of Civics should be taught in schools.
Are you telling me that it isn’t??? [Brain explodes...]
Oh, right. My bad… The “Me! Me! Me!” generation assumes that this is someone else’s problem and responsibility…
makiala iyoka ashanti nyabinghi // December 9, 2008 at 6:28 AM
I am up in the dawn of this wintery cold day thinking of the silent illimination of the black race( aspects of Rome’s New World Order) focusing particularly on the 45,000 being killed in the Congo each month, I take a global look at how black people are being used by the colonialist mind to wipe out each other and my mind went to I’Akobi Moloney and Chris a bright youmg artist from St Andrew, living in a bed at the Geriatric Hospilal Bayland paralysed from a police bullet for sinply sleeping under a shed in the Queen’s Park when he missed his last bus, I remember the accountant turned Rasta Shaka, harrased and insitutionalised in Jenkins who I saved in the middle of the night from the marksman aim of Rap Brown that could have finished him, he was already shot and bleeding, when I jumped out of my sleep and throwing open my shop door to see what the commotion was about, shouted ‘officer please don’t shoot”
The police of course thought the Temple yard was deserted when they picked on Shaka then mentally destroyed by Jenkins drugs, for wearing a camoflauge suit, and the Temple yaed would probally have been deserted that night, had the last bus to St Andew not refused to stop for me for no apparent reason, as far as I am aware, nothing has come out of these and numerous cases of police brutality. I was throughly brutalised and then used as the only witness for only prosecution on the facts of speaking the truth, in the Wilcox case that is still shrouded with for me with mystery and for others with propaganda( started by the Nation newspaper and spreaded mostly by Rastas) that will one day be revealed, still no justice.
When I firstbecame Rastafari I was bruttalised, strangled, threathened with police gang rape ( luckily one of the officiers called in to take part knew my family so I escaped rape) and pelt in jail to starve for seven day offered only pork , just for being Rastafari in the dawn of Rasta rising in Barbados and as the woman sent forward to face the physical warfare (police) and spritual warfare (wilcox) in the birth of Rastafari in Barbados
While I am mobolising for the sexuallay mutilated women of the Congo at an international level, at home, the silent war by the minds controlled by the colonialist continues on Nyabinghi children, using the same methods used in the Comgo, black against black, there is a link between what is going on in the Congo and the murder of I’Akobi , google ‘Queen Nyabinghi of the Congo and see’.
The solution the teachings of Margus Mosiah Garvey for all black people.
The RBPF were offered by the colonial minds, ’specialist training’ from ‘abroad’ in manhandling their own people, topped up by the individual ignorance of self hate, loss identity as one oppressed race, ignorance of ture history and culture.
When we decide to get to the root of this matter and preventing reoccurances, the majority believes that the police murdered our son I’Akobi on the image of Rastafari, dread locks whateverm African not caucasian, I am convinced that re-education is one major, not the only solution, yes, re-educating the police as well. Having suffered police brutality that only a super woman could endure and on the other hand having been interviewed by top ranks of the police, I am convinced that there are those in the PBPF at alllevels who dispite the acts of some vagabounds in the force are men who respect justice, not all police are vagabonds, and there is room for dialouge that can root out or reform the vagabond behaviour from the RBPF as well as in our society at large where some youth have to be confronted by the same police for comitting the same acts committed on I’Akobi on each other without mercy.
To project the image of ‘the police’ responsibility for unlawfull acts of some officiers is to start a cold war between police and civilians in Barbados, the police are armed, the youth of Barbados are now armed some by the same vagabond police who at times sell them guns, and it can escalate to black killing blacks while the rednecks too who were always armed from plantion days, but wont be getting involved in the black on black fight.
I wish to recomend that we embark on a national campaign to re-educate the masses of Barbados including the police in the teachings of Marcus Mosiah Garvey and African History Launch I’AKOBI BLACK EDUCATION PROGRAM pressuring goverment to ban Halloween vulture rising in Barbados, the talk of accepting sodomy as legal, providing land and jobs to outlaw whoredom abolishing then term sexworker, gay, spookamania etc from our vacab, all products of the colonial mind and raise self esteem and awareness through identity by implementing the accredited African History Georaphy and Culture course into the national educational cirriculum, highlighting I’Akiobi life of education and enlightment in celebration of Black History Month climaxing on the end of October to stamp out pagan halloween misleading our youth and disrespecting our christian society.
To ensure that there is a foundation of consious minds less susceptible to the colonialist control of self destruction of our simple or most valued resources, our youths. The program should make use of community centres to reach adult education in the same teachings, so our youth past school age wont fall victims to ignorance amd self hate, that allows them to embrace follow fashion monkeism, halloween , skull and bones mockery of their fate planned fashion, trunking, battism and the other evils whose root can be found in the same colonial mind.
I am convinced that any police officier who may have striked the death blow on I’Akobi would be living in misery of regret and torment when he realise what a bright light his hands put out, but any Rasta youth though uneducated as ell is also a bright light, yet the public responsed may have been less magnified, however, this goes to show that the death of I’Akobi highlights the silent pain of all who suffered at the hands of vagabonds who join the RBPF. We need to call on goverment to research police brutality Barbados, asking people to log their experiences at an office set up to record this in order to alert the authorities of the hidden facts and manitude that go unaccounted for which spoils police officers into thinking its ok to go on like this.
I here call on educated Rases to develop an awareness short course on overstanding Rastafari and ask the COP cooperation in delivering it at police training seminars and at the Police training centre for new recruits, why? BLACK PEOPLE, THE COLONIALIST MIND HAS MASTERMINDED TO ILLIMINATE OUR RACE WITHOUT GETTING THEIR HANDS SOILED DIRECTLY , THEIR PLAN IS BLACK ARMED AGAINST BLACK SOME IN UNIFORM LIKE THE REBELS IN THE CONGO, THE OTHERS AS CIVILIANS WITH THEIR DRUGS AND THEIR GUNS TO WIPE OUT EACH OTHER. This is relevant because there is a lot of polic brutality even to death not highlighted like L’Akobi’s case.
We can only defeat this master plan by re-educating our people, (the physical and mental warfare) and by not allowing our youths to celebrate halloween spookamania and the lot, the (spritual warfare) that will open the door to the dangerous powerfull demonic entities of the skull and bones order of the secret colonial world which challenged us in both way at the dawn of Rastafari in Barbados, and continue to oppose us regainining our Jah ‘God’likeliness powers, the powers that Queen Nyahbinghiand Nanny of the Maroons posessed that early colonoaist found so remarkable, against their guns, and went on to subdue branding as obiah and evil with their distorted version of christianity. Finally the phrophesy of Obidiah is never read in their churches despite being one page in the bible because it is the prophesy that to them is evil because it documents their final end of their evil rule, read it.
Our ancestors would have contacted I’Akobi in the sprit world and get a clear account of exactly how he died and in our African tradition there is no evil in that despite bibical verses reversioned to the contary, we were vividly in touchn with the sprit world as part of our culture and ancestral worship.
Long live the irate of Queen Nyabinghi, long live the irate of I’Akobi, arise and hear us oh sprit of our great ancestors in the rythm of the drums of Nyabinghi.
Anonymous // December 10, 2008 at 10:58 PM
To fit the criteria of a policeman in Barbados… It has been purported that the individual should undergo some “rigourous prcoess of selection”, I have uploaded the information from their website at (http://www.barbadospolice.gov.bb/_sec.cfm?category=Human+Resources) to this page.
……………………………………………………
Entry into the Royal Barbados Police Force is through a selection process. However, in order to be considered for selection, you must first meet certain essential prerequisites.
Essential Prerequisites
1. Age:
Police Constables:Not less than 19 and not more than 30 years of age.
Persons over the age of 30 years may be enlisted as Police Constables in the following cases:
1. Special Constables who have served not less than three (3) years in the force.
2. Persons who have served not less than two years in a police force.
Special Constables:Not less than 19 and not more than 40 years of age.
2. Academic Qualifications: At least three (3) C.X.C. subjects (General) and grade I, II or III or Three (3) subjects at G.C.E. (Ordinary) for Police Constables. These qualifications are not required of an applicant for the post of Special Constable.
3. Citizenship: Citizen of a Commonwealth Country .
4. Character: Good character and conduct, high integrity.
5. Health: Physically and mentally fit
Selection Process
The selection process commences with the receipt of your application at the Training Office. This process can be broken down into 8 stages.
Initial Interview: You will be interviewed by the Recruiting Officer and another member of staff. This interview will be based on the information contained in your application.
Written Entrance Examination: This examination comprises English, Arithmetic, an Essay and General Knowledge. It is designed to test your grammar, written communication skills, numeric skills and knowledge of current affairs.
Intelligence Test: this test is administered by the Ministry of Education. It is designed to test your perceptiveness and ability to make timely and logical decisions.
Blood Tests and Chest X-Rays: These are to ensure that there are no existing abnormalities likely to affect your training and subsequent service as a police officer.
Physical Fitness Evaluation: This comprises a series of exercises and a timed run over a measured distance. It is designed to test your agility, strength and stamina.
Medical Examination: A complete medical examination by the Force’s Medical Officer to ensure that you are in good medical health. This examination includes testing of eyes, heart, lungs and blood pressure.
Psychiatric Evaluation: You will be assessed by a trained psychologist to determine whether you are psychologically fit for police work.
Formal Panel Interview: This panel comprises members of the Selection Board, headed by an Assistant Commissioner of Police. Your file will be examined in detail and, in addition to other questions, you may be queried about information contained therein. (The Board determines your suitability to be enlisted as a Police Officer.)
……………………………………………………
While these are kept in consideration I would like to draw reference to the litany of articles which have been published regarding the recruitment and retention of police officers. From my humble opinion, I do believe that these so called standards have been compromised so as to accommodate the enlistment drive OR it could be Dottins Dilemma(http://bararchive.bits.baseview.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2008/June/02/LocalNews/58864.xml&start=20&numPer=20&keyword=police+recruit§ionSearch=&begindate=1%2F1%2F1994&enddate=12%2F31%2F2008&authorSearch=&IncludeStories=1&pubsection=&page=&IncludePages=1&IncludeImages=1&mode=allwords&archive_pubname=Daily+Nation%0A%09%09%09) could have caused suspicion to be thrown on individuals which may conform to a particular set of behaviours (i.e. profiling). However one thing is sure, a serious blunder has been made.
Mandela // December 10, 2008 at 11:54 PM
I am well aware that in order to be a policeman you must meet certain criteria. I have uploaded these from the official website Entry into the Royal Barbados Police Force is through a selection process. However, in order to be considered for selection, you must first meet certain essential prerequisites.
Essential Prerequisites
1. Age:
Police Constables:Not less than 19 and not more than 30 years of age.
Persons over the age of 30 years may be enlisted as Police Constables in the following cases:
1. Special Constables who have served not less than three (3) years in the force.
2. Persons who have served not less than two years in a police force.
Special Constables:Not less than 19 and not more than 40 years of age.
2. Academic Qualifications: At least three (3) C.X.C. subjects (General) and grade I, II or III or Three (3) subjects at G.C.E. (Ordinary) for Police Constables. These qualifications are not required of an applicant for the post of Special Constable.
3. Citizenship: Citizen of a Commonwealth Country .
4. Character: Good character and conduct, high integrity.
5. Health: Physically and mentally fit
Selection Process
The selection process commences with the receipt of your application at the Training Office. This process can be broken down into 8 stages.
Initial Interview: You will be interviewed by the Recruiting Officer and another member of staff. This interview will be based on the information contained in your application.
Written Entrance Examination: This examination comprises English, Arithmetic, an Essay and General Knowledge. It is designed to test your grammar, written communication skills, numeric skills and knowledge of current affairs.
Intelligence Test: this test is administered by the Ministry of Education. It is designed to test your perceptiveness and ability to make timely and logical decisions.
Blood Tests and Chest X-Rays: These are to ensure that there are no existing abnormalities likely to affect your training and subsequent service as a police officer.
Physical Fitness Evaluation: This comprises a series of exercises and a timed run over a measured distance. It is designed to test your agility, strength and stamina.
Medical Examination: A complete medical examination by the Force’s Medical Officer to ensure that you are in good medical health. This examination includes testing of eyes, heart, lungs and blood pressure.
Psychiatric Evaluation: You will be assessed by a trained psychologist to determine whether you are psychologically fit for police work.
Formal Panel Interview: This panel comprises members of the Selection Board, headed by an Assistant Commissioner of Police. Your file will be examined in detail and, in addition to other questions, you may be queried about information contained therein. (The Board determines your suitability to be enlisted as a Police Officer.)
……………………………………………………
It is my humble opinion that these “so- called” standards have in some way been relaxed with the recent litany of articles by some of the RPBF’s “top brass” which have publicly declared that they have had issues with the recruitment and retention of officers
http://bararchive.bits.baseview.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2008/April/07/LocalNews/55893.xml&start=20&numPer=20&keyword=police+recruit§ionSearch=&begindate=1%2F1%2F1994&enddate=12%2F31%2F2008&authorSearch=&IncludeStories=1&pubsection=&page=&IncludePages=1&IncludeImages=1&mode=allwords&archive_pubname=Daily+Nation%09%09%09
http://bararchive.bits.baseview.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2007/February/28/Politics/33963.xml&start=60&numPer=20&keyword=police+recruits§ionSearch=&begindate=1%2F1%2F1994&enddate=12%2F31%2F2008&authorSearch=&IncludeStories=1&pubsection=&page=&IncludePages=1&IncludeImages=1&mode=allwords&archive_pubname=Daily+Nation%09%09%09
OR it could have been “Dottins Dilemma” (http://bararchive.bits.baseview.com/archive_detail.php?archiveFile=2008/June/02/LocalNews/58864.xml&start=20&numPer=20&keyword=police+recruit§ionSearch=&begindate=1%2F1%2F1994&enddate=12%2F31%2F2008&authorSearch=&IncludeStories=1&pubsection=&page=&IncludePages=1&IncludeImages=1&mode=allwords&archive_pubname=Daily+Nation%09%09%09) which could have caused suspicion to be cast on individuals which may conform to a particular set of behaviours (i.e. profiling). However one thing is sure…. a serious blunder has been made
makiala iyoka ashanti nyabinghi // January 7, 2009 at 1:49 AM
First of all your headline says I’Akobi NEEDS TO REST, please allow I to correct one and all that it is not I’Akobi that need to rest, it is the bereaved, because I’Akobi was at rest minutes or seconds before the fatal blow that seperated him from amoung us, please overs that this is not a tribulation for I;Akobi but for all of us who feel it, especially who feels it most. I’Akobi is not feeling any pain grief or demanding anything , he is basking in the glory that he has been taken up to IN THE SEVENTH CELESTIAL HEAVENS , THE SPRITUAL GALAXIES , and I am positive of this because there seem no evil in this young man, so he is in an extremely glorious place, and if you doubt me call him and he will reveal this to you either in a vision or by direct spritual contact like when you call the ancestors and they walk and talk with you, that depend on how spritual one is, not every on can experience this communication, my mum said I was born with a white veil on my face, so I have this gift, (plus we have beeen brainwashed by wesstern religion that it is wrong to talk to contact your ancestors, those who youd on) trust me on this I’Akoibi lives in peace and is AT REST, as a matter of fact more rest and glory than when he was here with us. When Naisoma was troding over and up her mother Ireka told me she told her just before she went over ‘I find a place where I can cope’ I can assure you that I’Akobi suffered no pain and is safe with Niasoma, this has its reasons I wont reveal here. However, it is all concerned both Rastafari, frends, family and symphatisers that obviously find it hard to rest untill they get the answers THEY need and justice they are demanding that I’Akobi is demanding. I sat THEY because although I am Rastafari my demand for justice is the same but in a different context, it is twofold maybe threefold, this is because I see with the comment of Winston Hall posted on 12.12.08 above and I have to agree, simply because Rastafri need to remember that I never got no justice from my own Rastafari community at all or the police to a certian extend or did Winston Hall get justice, and most of all they must learn from this that JAH is no respect of persons and non partial, in his eyes Winston Hall and I’Akoibi are no higher than each other, Winston became a convict unjustly according evidence the evidence of the wife of the murdered man, yet no one demanded justice for Winston, and I and I youths became a scorn and a derision unjustly because of lies and popaganda, I n I never got no justice when I n I survirved the TERROR BY NIGHT, (the spritual warfare), please read the psalms of David and realise that what removed I’Akobi from amoung us was the PESTILENCE THAT WASTES AT NOONDAY (the phisical warfare), I was victim of them both. Winston Hall in his comment above said that when you allow things to go unchallenged they return to haunt you, this is so ture. It is sad to say this but if the police had done the same to one of my youth no one would give a daaammm the Rastafari community would not budge just because as far as they are concerned my youth would be a mrnobody or worst of all iyoka youth missnobody, or even if it was some youth from Chapman Lane or Nelson St who never seen a school door, I can afford to say this because it is no disrespect to I’Akobi as you may wnat to think but a demand for nonpartial respect for all humanaity from those of the Rastafari community. It seems to me that the greatest source that people consider in most cases if what is behind your name not that you are a living entity with a heart and feelings but IYAH JAH dont see it this way that they do, so when HIM slap us in such manner we want to know how can he do such a thing, can’t he see who this person is? how can you allow so much to be wasted? etc etc, Like I said before in my previous comment which I did not see, was it too bold to publish? that may I suggest that in setting up I’Akoibi Resource Centre please dedicate a desk for all who suffered police injustice to log their concerns , then ask the goverment to appoint an independent panel to look into these complaints with an aim to stop others from suffering the loss the hurt and pain which we now feel as a result of I’Akobi physical absence. Trust me on this one, IYAH (JAH) did not allow this innocent yout to feel no pain or suffering, its us that are feeling it and need to close our doos and stare each other in the face and ask the same question I ask when I remember my tribulations WHY???????
ps. I’Abobi is one of us that went through a great tribulation, but without pain and suffering and is robbed in white seated at the throne of the father, sometime him (not he) comes down to visit especially his mother to reasure that all is well in his glorious galaxy. This will be frequent for the first forty days after a time as him travels higher n higher to reach the seventh heaven his visits will be less frequent mostly to contact close ones. I had a powerfull awakening to the sprit world and I can assure you that I’AKOBI IS AT REST.
Ashanti Empress Iyoka Makiala Nyabinghi
makiala iyoka ashanti nyabinghi // January 7, 2009 at 2:00 AM
Important correction to above comment — line 25-26 that I’Akobi IS NOT demanding
makiala iyoka ashanti nyabinghi // January 7, 2009 at 2:08 AM
Please allow I to add that I think that all should be done where and by all means necessary if it mean exhuming get ever it takes to get the evidence to prove to those responsible that they cant get away with it, and for the protection of prospective victims.
JC // January 13, 2009 at 12:25 PM
It hurt me this morning whn I read the newspaper in which persons are sending annonymous letters to the coroner asking if Brother IAkobi was really gay! ha ha you know the system is something else for trut! STUPSE!
The Public aint foolish man !
Adrian Hinds // January 13, 2009 at 1:55 PM
Men deny link with
Published on: 1/13/09.
CORONER Faith Marshall-Harris said she summoned two employees at the Arawak Cement Plant to give evidence at the inquest into the death of I’Akobi Maloney because she had been receiving anonymous reports that they were involved in a relationship with the deceased.
Process engineers James Walker and Jason Collymore both gave police statements denying that they were involved in a homosexual relationship with the 23-year-old scholar who police say jumped over a cliff to his death on June 17 last year.
Yesterday after they gave their testimony, attorney for the Maloney family, Andrew Pilgrim, queried why the two men were summoned, saying that their evidence introduced something of which “we have no confirmation or denial.”
But the coroner said it was the most she could do amidst rumours and anonymous letters that she had received.
“The two statements are based on allegations which were made but since we were unable to get those persons who are making these allegations, which are fairly widespread, we thought that the best thing to do was to bring the two persons who were involved.
“Since it is two persons denying, it is the most justice can do in the situation. One of the things a coroner can do is dispel a rumour,” she said.
“The best that I can do in the circumstance is to bring the persons involved to deny their involvement,” she stated.
Related stories
http://www.barbadosforum.com/index.php?showtopic=7242&st=0#entry70429
http://www.barbadosforum.com/index.php?showtopic=7296&st=0#entry70427
Technician // January 13, 2009 at 6:05 PM
…….talking about red herrings and straw men.
ROK // January 13, 2009 at 6:56 PM
This is the problem I have with our society. Why did not the Coroner bring people who could testify that I’Akobi used to go to the bathroom. As far as I am concerned, the Coroner went beyond her call in this and should not have heard it because those who are spreading the rumours did not identify themselves.
This is a serious breach of privacy which the Coroner involved herself in. She could have simply made a statement condemning the rumours and those who spreading them; pointing out the cowardly behaviour of those who would seek to anonymously drag the man’s name through the mud.
Furthermore, it is this kind of behaviour that got the Police there in the first place. Talk about vigilante? Anonymous people could not only get the police to do their dirty vigilante work for them, but a coroner too. Hah!
JC // January 13, 2009 at 7:12 PM
ROK I can feel more is yet to come. Imagine what his parents are going through at this point in time. this is embarassing, false, disrespectful, AND WRONG!
Persons who are not blind let them see. Tomorrow it could me or you …..
Stupse!
Juris // January 13, 2009 at 7:36 PM
I, too, think that the Coroner erred on this one. It is true that she does not have to deal only with admissible evidence and that her role is investigative rather than judicial, but …a rumour from an unidentified individual?
Bush Tea // January 13, 2009 at 7:53 PM
@ Juris
Did the coroner not have the option to hear the witnesses in chambers so she could make a judgement about the rumour. She could then decide if the matter was worth follow-up or -as was this one , not.
I am not sure that I have a problem with her exploring possible leads, but surely not doing preliminary review in public.
JC // January 13, 2009 at 8:59 PM
aah Bush tea boy you said t why in he public’s view! In te end it was a waste of time Stupse! Isn’t this not slander! Come on lets get real here, it was WRONG! No excuses!
David // January 13, 2009 at 9:09 PM
Who guards the guard?
Who is the Coroner answerable to regarding decisions taken?
G unit // January 13, 2009 at 9:21 PM
This enquiry is becomiong more weird by the minute. The homo connection is a shocker. The coroner called on people to stop sprinkling dust around the court house . Who is doing that? What a potent mix of obeah, homo, rasta, dope, cops, cement, cliff meditation, back problems, uwi, iration et al. What next?
Negroman // January 13, 2009 at 9:37 PM
I do not know.Can the deceased mother sued the state for maligning the name & Character of her disease son?
This is a national disgrace.A respected Coroner bringing two men to testify because of rumours she heard.
Only in Barbados.
The Coroner should be charged.
My rasta brothers & sisters mobilse yourselves again and demand that idiot Coroner Faith-Marshall-Harris be remove from conducting anymore investigations into the young man’s death.She has a Kangaroo Court.
Georgie Porgie // January 13, 2009 at 10:33 PM
Bush Tea
Im an idealist.
I always thought I could get ahead with out ripping off people. I have never overcharged my patients, and often I didnt get even what I charged. But I always had more than I needed.
Divorce and then a few bad investments destroyed me. I know that we can do better. Doctors make a living by several means beside seeing the sick.
Being good to patients has long lasting results. There is a lady that I dont think that I did so much for- except to see her dowstairs in my little office early one morning and sent her to hospital some 25 years ago. She is still bringing ground provisions etc to my parents home. She has paid me how many times over.
Georgie Porgie // January 13, 2009 at 10:37 PM
sorry put that post the wrong place
me // January 13, 2009 at 10:41 PM
No comment!….
JC // January 13, 2009 at 10:52 PM
aah me have something to say! This is slander! this is unfair! What was this woman thinking I think the Rastafarian community should start to protest!
It seems that when we think Barbadians who make serious decisions within this country are doing the right things they go and disappoint us! Stupsejust now you gon hear he was living with the fish in the sea that he why he jumped STUPID LOT!
General Lee // January 14, 2009 at 9:49 PM
Do Rastafari really expect justice in Babylon’s courts?
Technician // April 8, 2009 at 5:24 PM
http://icarbarbados.org/tacuma/2009/04/cops-had-no-reason-to-harass-him/
Does anyone believe this bullshit?!?!?
The Police get a call stating there is a boat in the sea just below the cliff and a Rastaman is on the cliff looking out to the sea…..duh? Police turn up….please give me a f@#*ing break….do they really think we believe that the popo said, ‘hi I’akobi…you must be the guy with the Barbados Exhibition,…you know… the Chemical Engineer from the cement plant……you are so nice and cool sir…what are you doing out here?…chilling?…you are cool man.’
Bullshit!!!
Anyone with half a brain or that knows how our ‘force’ operates, will see this for what it really is….a damn cover up!!
The popo didnt know the paro they took to the canefield and used as target practice was the son of a big up.
They didnt know that the youngster they beat up after cricket was a national surfer.
Their report came in 13 days later, identical to the grammatical errors, and the excuse is that they were traumatized…..WTF!!
Isn’t trauma part of their job?!?
This reminds me of a guy at primary school who copied in a test and copied the other guys name and all.
If this doesn’t highlight the deception and lies in our Police force, not to mention the blatant attempts at cover-up, then I dont know what ever will.
This is more than a tragedy…..it is a damn shame and disgrace!!
Anonymous // April 8, 2009 at 5:40 PM
What shocked me the most about all of this is the homo guy who testified that akobi was having a homosexual relationship with the guy’s bulla friend.
Wuh!
Can’t figure out all this crazy stuff dread.
Technician // April 8, 2009 at 7:23 PM
It is always easy to say things about people when they cant be there to defend themselves.
This is not about his lifestyle, this is about the Police acting suspiciously in an unnatural death circumstance. All these distractions are really just to cloud the real issue .
Anonymous // April 8, 2009 at 7:35 PM
But what if he was depressed,or ashamed of the homosexual relationship and wanted to kill himself?
The police story strange and real suspicious, and yet I can’t see why they would prefer to push him off a cliff rather than bring him in alive and lock him up.
Really strange!
concerned // April 27, 2009 at 5:18 AM
I agree with the comment that mother should seek advice as to if there can be a law suit for disgracing the name of I Akobi near anything like sodomy and if it can be pursue it because it it obvious a silly excuse and so obvious made up to slaughter the character of this young man. I also want you all concerned to read my reveation on the other blog Barbados Underground which I posted today and bring a closure to the sense behind this all. It is only fair for those who struggle in feeling the disgust of this to be unaware of the LAW OF MAAT and how it relates to the truth the whole truth that we will make a big mistake trying to delete the message in my revelation.
makialaiyoka ashanti iyahdutuI
Dark Knight // April 27, 2009 at 10:58 AM
The Attorney General of Barbados recently described the Public Service Act as a “horrible Injustice.” (see page Sun on Saturday, April 25, 2009)
I do not think that Attorney Andrew Pilgrim; the familiy of I’Akobi Maloney and the Rastafarian Community – agree that that is what the real “horrible injustice,” in Barbados is!!!
Accordingly therefore, Mr. Stuart – you are wrong!!!
Mandela // May 11, 2009 at 3:56 PM
The question of how I’Akobi met his death has still been left unanswered after approximately 10 months of deliberations both inside and out of court. Although the coroner had dismissed the idea of I’Akobi going to the cliff with the intention of taking his own life, the verdict of misadventure is still debatable. In her context it was defined as the act of running from the police which inadvertently resulted in his death. Our family vehemently refutes the coroner’s claim in this regard; as the act of running towards what the police perceived to be a 60 ft. drop head first with hands outstretched in this ‘mad’ dash for freedom quintessentially describes the act of suicide. Although the coroner removed the police’s postulations of why he had taken his life that being (depression, homosexuality, madness and drug association), she inadvertently or intentionally accepted the single report submitted by Headley and Walkes as the irrevocable truth. How she arrived at this ‘reality’ still remains a mystery as she had not too long questioned the likeness of both officers’ statements (from the order of sentences to adjectives).
We are now firmly of the belief that the police are an autonomous body in Barbados and subsequently we must now call ourselves a judicial apostates as it relates to any interaction between this body and the general public. This was heightened by the coroner’s dismissal of the event relayed to us (face to face) by both Dottin and Reece (the officers who informed us of a fatal accident where they had personally witnessed I’Akobi ‘iffing’ i.e. motioning as though he was prepared to leap over the edge of the cliff). The rationale for this decision she claimed to be miscommunication. This too was her explanation for not taking into account, the information (the leading of a squad i.e. more than one person as well as the sketchy details) relayed to us at the Holetown police station by Seargent Headley. What is left to be surmised is that the police are free to tell the families of victims whatever they feel without being held accountable for their utterances.
Our family rejects the timeline fabricated/procured by the police and subsequently accepted by the coroner. There were residents who as early as 4:30 saw a congregation of police assembled at the cliff whilst the body was in the water, approximately one hour before the policemen were alleged to have arrived at the scene. As with autonomy the police are also the official timekeepers and their standard is universally accepted as gospel. The coroner’s claim that the ‘5 minute window’ did not present a large enough divide for such an occurrence, especially since the incident was in an open area, does not take into consideration events of brutality known to have occurred in Barbados. The beating of the white and black patrons at the Kensington Oval provides a suitable enough analogy, where the police manhandled these patrons in the view of a cameraman and other eye witnesses. Additionally, as it takes mere seconds for a body to land at the foot of a cliff, ‘5 minutes’ provides an ample enough window for this “fatal accident”.
Ultimately, she failed miserably in her role which was to allay the concerns of our family and the public. There still remains much misinformation disseminated by the police which she would like to have our family believe was a result of miscommunication. There remains the unexplored domain which she was reluctant to deduce. That being that as from as early as June the 18th when our family had talked to Sergeant Headley there was no consensus as to how he had died, Harvey’s subsequent involvement brought about solidity of the scenario (there were only two people who interacted with him and no more). This answers puzzling question of why the nine other officers who were at the scene could not validate these two policemen’s account. They were never intended to be material witnesses and to give them a significant role of witnessing the entire event especially after Harvey had completed his investigation would be succinctly dubious.
As Khalid Muhammad said whoever controls the diameter of our learning controls the circumference of our ability. The police provided this diameter with their fabricated report subsequently the coroner’s ability was then controlled and limited to their facts. It is therefore likened to the adage that a great house will sink in sand. There must be a more sturdy impartial foundation to the proceedings of the coroner’s court if it is seeking to be a truly independent entity.
JC // May 11, 2009 at 4:40 PM
Please tell your mom that I remember her in my prayers all the time!
JAH AINT SLEEPING!
DONT GIVE UP THE FIGHT!
David // May 11, 2009 at 7:22 PM
As a commenter posted yesterday the fact that L’Akobi died while in Police custody would have triggered a civil suit misadventure or not.
ROK // May 11, 2009 at 7:44 PM
Can this decision be challenged in a higher court?
If you say that she failed to take vital evidence into consideration or allowed evidence to overly influence her decision or judgment, in the face of obvious fabrication, this seems to be a good case for review; or appeal.
I think we need to find ways of getting at justice. Our lawyers are too embedded in a culture of doing things and in a lot of ways their hands are tied because of the said culture. We as citizens must stand up and get up and get our justice.
I have first hand experience of winning where all lawyers were saying it can’t be done. I did it myself. Anybody can too. There is no mystery about the law. Don’t mind the legal fraternity; you only have to know your first principles and argue your case against the balance of probabilities.
The evidence is overwhelming; what is the probability that I’Akobi jumped? Well all the evidence presented seem to establish that he had no reason to jump; the only people saying so were the Police who had the same statement.
If this is so, then what is the probability that the Police pushed him? If you wanted to add a third probability, it would be that the land slipped; so if this happened why was no evidence presented to suggest this?
So after such examination, what would be the conclusion? If this conclusion is correct, what would make the Coroner think otherwise?
Put some other facts together. They had an encounter with an innocent man for what? Half an hour? Police had no charges against him, so why spend half an hour with a man who, for all intents and purposes went to “chill”? There is no evidence to suggest otherwise.
Then ask yourself why an innocent man would run from the police? He was being harassed is an obvious answer. If he was being harassed, then the Police was responsible because they would have had to be acting not only unprofessionally but unlawfully.
Don’t mind what the lawyers are saying, seek your own justice and one of them will come along; don’t worry. The culture has their hands tied and only your actions will untie them.
concerned // May 15, 2009 at 6:43 PM
We can go from one thing to the other on and on and on forever about how what where and when but if we continue to bury our heads in the sand about why ??? it means we continue to chop at the branches instead of getting to the root and they will grow back again and again , therefore much learning will not respect the divine simple laws of MAAT, and not absorb the lesson to be learnt from such a harsh judgement so that no other of us do not make the same mistake ever again to cause so many so much pain.
The police was only the instrument of this rebound.
HEIGHTS
ashanti
concerned // May 15, 2009 at 7:01 PM
when the father sent Jerimiah the prophet to warn the people they put him in the dungeon
ashanti
warrior-princess // August 23, 2009 at 12:33 PM
i met I’Akobi at u.w.i. (trinidad) where we were both students. quite soft- spoken, kind-hearted, polite and humble was this young man. we were in different faculties but often met at our fav. eating spot. i remember most his concern for my sons being victimized for having locks as he himself was victimized by teachers at elementary level. he told me that at one time his teacher whispered in his ear to cut that sh*t off his hair…he was no older than ten. thank God that my sons’ teachers are far more educated than that and i should also add that my “rasta” sons are at the top of their class with percentages no lower than 90. it was quite disheartening reading some of the comments posted here. i pray that God open the eyes of those that have theirs shut and let us not lose track of what is really going on. for the Maloney family i feel your pain, have no fear our God is real and justice would be served. Selah!