The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) decision to change the radio programming by expanding the talk segment appears to have gone down well. The introduction of the controversial neoliberal Peter Wickham as a moderator will boost ratings for that reason alone!
We also observe that the CBC was able to entice Marsha Hinds-Layne from Voice of Barbados (VOB) as well. We have become accustomed to the movement of personnel between CBC and VOB over the years and the competition in talk radio should hopefully make for better radio. We have to admit that we are not surprised at the move by Marsha. She appeared to be frustrated in recent months working under the heavy hand of VOB Talk Show Czar Michael Browne. We shouldn’t blame Browne, he is obviously acting under instructions from CEO Vic Fernandes. It is about saving the station money, to hell with standing up to frivolous suits to protect the honour of the Fourth Estate.
Peter Wickham’s departure has come as more of a surprise. After being treated like a step child by the Nation newspaper in the period leading up to the last general election, VOB was steadfast in their support for Wickham. He has admitted this publicly. We can only surmise that Wickham believes working for one year at VOB in the post election period should be enough to reward that loyalty!
A bit of advice to Lars who has been going about his work quietly at the CBC. You don’t need Wickham on the air for three days, he will become boring after awhile. Why not team-up the hugely popular Tony “Admiral’ Nelson and Larry Mayers to cover the topics of Entertainment/Culture/Sports on Wednesdays? That”s the finish you need!
On the subject of talk shows.
For several years now listeners to VOB have had to tolerate the annoying malfunctioning telephone system which continues to produce poor audio. Many listeners to VOB who call to report the problem are sometimes made to feel that it is their telephone, or their audio pitch, or some reason other than VOB’s malfunctioning telephone system. We have delayed blogging about this problem because there was nothing concrete we could use to point blame. After listening to Peter Wickham last week on CBC, he hinted that he was now working with superior equipment. The cat is now out of the bag. VOB needs to remember who have made them popular, the PEOPLE and show more respect by fixing the problem of its malfunctioning equipment.
The irony is that VOB has increased its afternoon talk show segment to 3 hours but the poor audio quality remains. Could this be about generating more advertising opportunity in what is projected to be a bleak 2009? If it is then it says a lot about how executive management views its obligation to providing good service to the PEOPLE.
Now that Peter Wickham is at CBC it will be interesting to wait for a CADRES study to determine which station gets to be King of talk show radio in the afternoon.
Thanks to BU family member who prodded us to highlight this matter after several unanswered communications were sent to the station.

161 responses so far ↓
Adrian Hinds // January 11, 2009 at 2:33 am
ha ha ha Peter Wickham will be a lightning rod, which is good for CBC and ratings, but i think you are correct, that after a while people will just move on and leave Peter to his opinions. He will not change anyone.
Over the years Barbadians have demonstrated a willingness to talk, and to be heard. The Talk show format is to my mind a gold mine waiting for someone to access it. While i do understand the fear of libel threats, etc, that can be manage within an expanded talk program. On the topic of Moderator and consistent appeal, I think Dennis Johnson beats them all. He covers many topics at a detail level not match by any other.
The Scout // January 11, 2009 at 4:53 am
The VOB talk show has become boring, same, callers (mostly), same topics and mainly a lot of partisan politics. Then there are moderators like Tony Marshall who likes talking down to his callers. The format at CBC was somewhat different, more informative with Sydney Simmons. However, now that Peter Wickham is there, it has degenerated to the VOB type of call-in programme and CBC has lost at least one listener that I know of and that person is me.
me // January 11, 2009 at 8:53 am
The call in programmes can work if the moderators would be more informative instead of condescending. I think that periodically they should have expert guests on the shows to educate the listeners because i find that many of them especially the regulars say things based on ignorant opinion instead of concrete evidence and that does a disservice .
Peter has a way with words so that although I often dont agree with him I like to listen to him.
I detest listening to Tony Marshall who can be a pomp**s a**hole at times. Dennis Johnson is very good.
Peter is definitely a polarising figure and in my opinion thats good Radio.
Yardbroom // January 11, 2009 at 10:58 am
A good talk show host is able to “facilitate” contributors’ opinions to the programme; however much he/she disagrees with those opinions – within the Law of course – thus there is synergy and expectancy to what is being discussed. This makes the programme fresh and varied.
A talk show host who has strong opinions and openly expresses them, is often viewed as trying to corral the audience into his/her way of thinking, there is a freshness about disagreement when it is without rancour and thus acknowledged.
Juris // January 11, 2009 at 11:06 am
I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
David // January 11, 2009 at 11:14 am
@Juris
Agree with you wholeheartedly. But they don’t have to be Guru’s. They can share an opinion about their area of expertize but mostly they need to facilitate.
But who are the ones to blame? The PEOPLE are so lazy in thought that they call most of the time with the expectation that they need to have the opinion of the Guru to validate what they have to say.
Juris // January 11, 2009 at 11:21 am
The thing is though, David, if you disagree with them, the next thing you know is that the host is apologising for “losing that caller”. So what we have now is a sort of “mutual admiration society”, where you simply accede to the moderator’s views. This is especially true of Marshall and Johnson.
Mutual Admiration Society // January 11, 2009 at 11:30 am
The talk shows are a mutual admiration society, much like Barbados Underground has become since the DLP won the election. David, can we please have one article a month that is critical of the DLP government in a specific way? you’ve really lost your foundation. A year is coming up and we really have a change of party forming the government but no real change in how things are done. Different thiefs, that is all.
Anonymous // January 11, 2009 at 11:55 am
It is about time that Starcom gets a run for its money.
They were already heading downhill before the arrival of michael brown the freelance man/producer.However when he stepped in with his dictatorial policies on censorship and on the whim deciding what HE wants a caller to say,then discussion became stagnated.
Recently callers have been expressing to the moderators their frustration and anger at michael brown who unfairly cut them off – just because he can.
One man last week was shouting at the top of his voice asking what did he do to michael brown to be treated that way,another one said on friday that he was about to quote a certain section of the law to counter some point made and he was cut off.
VOB I believe has lost a lot of ground because they felt that the radio audience and the radio callers were not important,but it was just about the advertising dollars and the moderators and producer.
They are almost passe`.
Too many complaints against that station whether it is about ms veoma ali the lesbian woman beater,the horrible announcers on Hott f.m. or the attitude of moderators and producer on the call in show.
However peter wickham is also going to turn off a lot of people if he goes to CBC with the same bad habits he displayed at VOB,that is,trying to push his homosexual and open border/immigration agendas to the public.
Somehow though I think the radio audience is going to be the better for this new push by CBC.
More choice and a stepping up of the game by VOB.Already I can sense a bit of concern nearing panic by the station,because it is well known advertisers go where the audience is,and the larger the audience the greater the income from advertisers.
By the way who is john lovell the new moderator on CBC?
David // January 11, 2009 at 12:15 pm
Nothing wrong with a mod showing some personality. The best ones have always demonstrated such. For example you remove Dennis Johnson’s passion and he becomes ordinary. Contrast this with the blank style of Babb.
We suspect if there was a survey of the mods at this moment DJ would be 1 or 2.
Juris // January 11, 2009 at 12:25 pm
DJ is passionate yes, but he is too prickly at the slightest thing such as asking him to speak up on what is a notoriously low volume VOB. He seems the cleverest though, together with Ellis. Marshall is too pro-establishment, Babb is warmed over cold soup gone cold again; Wickham is too predictable and the evening crew is at best mediocre.
Annette // January 11, 2009 at 12:45 pm
Mabye if VOB were to fix their very poor technical quality the callers and moderators will be able to have a civil conversation as opposed to having to shout at each other.
I am truly amazed that this poor standard of technical quality have been allowed to continue for so long with not a peep from the callers/consumers.
I refuse to believe that LIME and VOB cannot fix the problem of volume during the call in programs. I am beginning to believe that a rocket scientist is needed at either LIME or VOB to fix this problem.
It causes the program to be disjointed and sometimes border on bad manners.
Why has not VOB pressured LIME into fixing the telephone connection if that is the problem. If it is otherwise, why have the engineers at VOB not fixed it.
No moderator or producer turns off the listeners as much as the constant line ” Can you speak up please” or ‘You are very low” ….and sometimes this is being said at the same time by both the caller and moderator.
David // January 11, 2009 at 12:50 pm
@Annette
Remarkably there is the technology out there which would allow VOB to work around LIME,s PSTN network. That is out of the question because of the high advertising revenue which C&W provides.
Annette // January 11, 2009 at 12:54 pm
I know David, but why must we the consumers/listeners be subjected to this poor service?
Certainly your comment is not offering an excuse for this unsatifactory state of affairs. Or is it?
David // January 11, 2009 at 1:03 pm
@Annette
Our comment was to explain the basis for the silly decision which has allowed the poor quality to continue for so long. The silliness of the decision maybe so realised if CBC can get their talk show segment right. VOB maybe suffocating the goose that lays the golden egg.
Sargeant // January 11, 2009 at 1:33 pm
@Juris
• I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
Are they any different from some posters to the blogs?
Bonny Peppa // January 11, 2009 at 1:34 pm
All these talk-shows are basically de same. Sooner rather than later they will all become monotonous and will eventually die a ‘natural death’.
I like all de moderators except Dennis Johnson. His constant laughter is sickening to my ears.
As for the ‘regular’ callers, I have no problem with them really. It is the message as opposed to the messenger.
And to quote my man/woman Ace, ‘crap, crap and more crap’.
Adrian Hinds // January 11, 2009 at 3:25 pm
Juris // January 11, 2009 at 11:06 am
I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
==========================
I don’t agree with you. I have never gotten the impression from any of the moderators that there are an expert on anything. What i have gathered from your comment and from similar opinions by others about the moderators is that this is solely of your making, but don’t mind me, give the blog family a couple intances when a moderator said something that could not be otherwise construed as the utterance of someone taking on the position of a guru.
I think it is likely as David said that you set that standard and without the moderator’s permission, attempt to stick them with guru lable knowing full well that they cannot measure.
….Alright then, the talk show is not your cup of tea and “some” blog poster rub a NCO de wrong way, to you i say turn off, and to them tune out. :D ha ha ha ha ha I believe strongly that the talk show participants and this blog poster aint gine nuh way. ha ha ha ha ha
David // January 11, 2009 at 6:30 pm
@MAS
This week we have been promised a report to the nation by the government. We will get to listen to the respective ministers talk to the PEOPLE. We will be listening with keen ears.
We have addressed your accusation before on BU and BFP, we declared our position one year ago.
BTW don’t you think the issues we have been addressing are important to the PEOPLE?
Sargeant // January 11, 2009 at 7:35 pm
@AH
Some time ago before the election of you know who you said you were taking a break because the liberals in Bean Town were coming to get you. I thought that meant you were retreating to Alaska to attach your star to a certain politician’s coat tails, but I see you are back
Was my post too close for comfort? I didn’t have you in mind so don’t duck for cover, and as you have more than you can handle with the lady blogger who has threatened to haul you before the courts I promise I will donate to your defense fund (lol).
Nostradamus // January 11, 2009 at 10:33 pm
Anyone know what was the last year CBC provided audited financial statements? How much of our taxpayer monies are going down that botomless hole?
Adrian Hinds // January 12, 2009 at 10:49 am
Sargeant // January 11, 2009 at 7:35 pm
@AH
Some time ago before the election of you know who you said you were taking a break because the liberals in Bean Town were coming to get you. I thought that meant you were retreating to Alaska to attach your star to a certain politician’s coat tails, but I see you are back
Was my post too close for comfort? I didn’t have you in mind so don’t duck for cover, and as you have more than you can handle with the lady blogger who has threatened to haul you before the courts I promise I will donate to your defense fund (lol).
Sarge you are not a threat to me online, and i doubt very much that my view would change on seeing in real life.
If you are referring to Kim Young/J as a LADY BLOGGER, I only recognize the blogger :) If this is whom you refer too. My opinion of this blogger is the same one i have you. You are to my mind both emotional windbags.
….Kind of silly for you to think your weak arguments would somehow get stronger when i am not around.
The Comment i made then had to do with discussing American politics, in here. There is no utility in engaging lightweights on American history and politics likeself in here, and so i have stopped. :)
Sargeant // January 12, 2009 at 9:32 pm
@AH
The Comment i made then had to do with discussing American politics, in here
You seem to believe that residence in the USA provides you with some sort of superiority when discussing American politics in this forum. Well talk about windbag it takes one to know one, with your reproducing multiple posts critical of Obama from The Wall Street journal etc. and announcing you were going to vote for McCain. Speaking about weak arguments after the election was over when there was egg all over your face you posted something to the effect that a birth certificate existed which proved Obama was not born in the USA.
Here once again is my query attached to the statement from Juris:
• @Juris
• I find that you put someone of barely average intelligence to host a talk show and they become a guru on every topic under the sun, law, government, religion, medicine…this is true of every one of them.
Are they any different from some posters to the blogs?
“Who the cap fit let them wear it”
J // January 12, 2009 at 10:02 pm
Adrian Hinds wrote “Kim Young/J as a LADY BLOGGER”
I am J.
I am NOT Kim Young.
I do not even know who Kim Young is.
Adrian Hinds // January 12, 2009 at 11:57 pm
Sargeant // January 12, 2009 at 9:32 pm
what can i say. You are incorrect. I don’t seem to think anything along those lines, and your opinion agreeing with another opinion about average intelligence, of talk radio moderators and blogger are but two opinions, which i don’t share and dismiss out of hand. lol! If you are an intelligent blogger just make sure that you at all times win the argument against the bloggers of lesser or no intelligence. To do otherwise may reflect poorly on you and your assume mental prowess. I voted for McCain, and Barack is now my President, and will have my fullest support, as i will do whatever i can to ensure his/my success.
@J
If you are not Kim Young, then Kim Young is not you. She is already a “nobody” so not being you is of little concern to me. ha ha ha ha lol!
I really have to learn to ignore Idiots like myself. It does not help me to grow and improve beyond my predicament. lol!
Nickolay Kotev // January 13, 2009 at 12:32 pm
Dear Friend!
Welcome to my “Blog”, with electronic adress URL: http://nikotev.wordpress.com/
In the new variant of the blog there are very much new informers, themes, banners and analisys by the variouse problems of the military history and policy. They will be very interesting for you! In the world system of the cybersytes, the blog received a high mark “600,5″.
Your friend Nikolay Kotev
JC // January 13, 2009 at 12:36 pm
AH why you dont behave yourselve I see that you are at your best as usual.
Adrian Hinds // January 13, 2009 at 1:52 pm
But JC, I am just accepting that I am not intelligent, That no matter who is, and who is not Kim J Young, she is still to my mind a “nobody” cause i don’t “no de body!”, That during election season i gine back a fella and no matter who wins de winner will become my leader, and that i believe in self improvement, and will commit to ignoring people whom i deem to be an idiot like me. Now tell me how is that misbehaving? Even if yuh change um to “Must be having a drink or two” yuh would still be wrong. ha ha ha have good day!
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 12:11 am
What is the latest on Veoma Ali and Karen Clarke?
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 1:04 am
What is the latest on Veoma Ali and Karen Clarke?
………………………………………………………
Carson, you should be asking what’s the latest regarding CBC’s unprofessional reporting about the Nigerian nurses. CBC is so shame that it didn’t had the gumption to report the strike with the other Nigerian nurses, the statement by the NUPW or the disassociation of the action by the Minister of Health. Do tell me who approved the airing of that story? Why was the language of the nurses were sent back to Nigeria in ‘body bags’. That was the biggest form of insults to alleged sufferers of HIV which is internationally protected by laws regarding the exposing of individuals by the media.
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 1:08 am
@ ALL
Here’s the International standards for journalist regarding people with AIDS.
“What about confidentiality?
Journalists should not disclose the identity of a person with
HIV unless they have explicit permission to do so. Stigma
and discrimination continues to be a major problem for
people with HIV. In many countries HIV-positive people are
shunned and stigmatised by their families, their community,
their employer and even their local health service. If a
person agrees to be identified, it is important the journalist
ensures they are aware of the potential consequences”.
Did CBC management subscribed to the that failed standard.
JC // January 14, 2009 at 1:16 am
TMW I understand your point but they claimed that Iakobi was a buller and nobody aint say a THING! And these allegations were proved WRONG!
AND HE IS A BAJAN! Why dont we speak out on these things as well!
I like a backing Todd cause we really need to start keeping things real bout here cause everybody kicking up pist bout these Nigerians. NOT A BOY AINT SAYING A TING ON THE BEHALF OF THAT RASTA BOY! Wow!
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 1:42 am
JC. It is difference regarding calling someone an homo or someone calling an individual using language that would point out a person(s) that might have AIDS.
However, I totally agree with you regarding the shift of focus regarding Iakobi ’s death. This might just be an affront to divert justice. Regardless, The Lord ain’t sleepin’ and Justice will prevail. You think that the man would have waited for the presence of the Law for him to jump? Give me a break.
David // January 14, 2009 at 6:42 am
Rightly or wrongly BU sat on the story about the Nigerian nurses. Wonder how me feels about this issue.
me // January 14, 2009 at 7:56 am
me…is very upset a both stories especially the one about the nurses.
The issue with the nigerians nurses sets a dangerous precedent. Are we now going to be disclosing peoples private business when we feel like it ? And exactly how does our society benefit from this disclosure? I think that expatriat nurses will not be looking favorably on Barbados in the future..is that a good thing?
The Homo angle with the late rastafri yute….
1. Being homo does not make you suicidal
2. Was it necessary for the coroner to investigate every gossip angle in Public.
3. I would be upset also if I were the two men who were questioned since it appears they had a relationship an now their business is on the street…
4.Maybe if we all were not so concerned about homosexuality then this all would be a non issue.
JC // January 14, 2009 at 7:58 am
Na Tell me why, as the people would say same difference. I’ll tell you why …….. Just now you will hear that Iakobi thought he had contracted AIDS or some stupid theory!
I know the Lord aint sleeping but Lord he standing real long to deal with these Frauds.
I don’t feel for the nigerian nurses; I feel for Iakobi’s parents, family and friends.
David // January 14, 2009 at 8:32 am
Let us be hypothetical!
What are the implications of primary healthcare personnel(nurses/doctors with AID/HIV delivering service?
JC // January 14, 2009 at 8:52 am
Fair enough me; but for years we know for a FACT that if you are a homosexual you are stigmatised as well!
Anonymous // January 14, 2009 at 9:07 am
What tell me why who has been running between BFP and BU pushing this story does not want you to consider is :Under whose administration did these nigerian nurses come in?
Of course it’s under owen arthur and therefore we have to ask were these nurses required to do any tests for Hiv/Aids,Malaria,Cholera whatever?
A lot of them have to keep repeating the standard nursing exam and yet they are here – were they tested before coming to Barbados to make sure they were really meeting the required professional standard?
I don’t want no nurse with Aids looking after me when there are chances that there could be an accident with a needle and blood could be contaminated.
Also who has the pay to treat these nurses during the time they were here and sick with Aids and could not work and who has to pay to ship their body back to africa?
Of course it is this little struggling country Barbados and the new Thompson administration which finds itself cleaning up all the filth that arthur left behind,yet still all the yardfowls trying to come on this site and tell us how great arthur was as a leader.
Even BU in their last article talking ta-ta about how Arthur performed well as economic leader.
You mean with all the debt he left us in and alll the corruption and tiefing he and others engaged in as well as the bad policy of selling off our limited spots of land – and he is an economic master?
Crap,crap and more crap!
David // January 14, 2009 at 9:21 am
Was CBC wrong to have gone public and is Minister Donville wrong?
The Scout // January 14, 2009 at 9:37 am
I heard about this for a while but was shocked to hear it on the CBC news. This goes to reinforce my point earlier of unprofessional journalism. The media have to show some maturity in their release of sensitive information. Not only the african nurses are worried but bajan patients who were attended to by any african nurse, for that matter any foreign nurse. I wonder if these nurses where from a first world country if this “news” would have been aired.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 9:41 am
I believe that if you check wth the National HIV/AIDS Commission, you will find that there were several seminars for journalists which aid out a protocol for reporting.
I will assume that Richard Cox never attended one. Furthermore, if there is a protocol, Mr. Cox should now come under scrutiny for breaching it.
As a senior officer of a Government owned station, his responsibility is even greater than that of a privately owned media house. It is a serious breach and he would not have like the repercussions to his family, if it was done to him.
We like this juicy gossip but what they should report, they does hide up and then take it out on the defenceless. I am sure that the NHAC must be spinning on its pivots.
Of course, he may actually get an award for saying that the BLP bring nurses to Barbados with HIV/AIDS and that this is another side of BLP mis-management and ineptness. Bravo! Cheap politics.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 9:42 am
that should be “Laid out a protocol”.
me // January 14, 2009 at 9:43 am
Do you get aids from touching…. how would you get HIV from a nurse ?
Are all Bajan nurses tested fro everything?
Is that knowledge made public? How about the doctors?
How about the shopkeepers and all the people handling your food?
Nurses and doctors are required to use techniques that prevent the transfer of infection from them to you and vice versa hence the use of gloves, masks, sterilized instruments etc etc…
Be careful what you wish for…
keep driving people away and all u will have left will be who and what exactly???
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 10:01 am
me
You are so correct. I don’t think that Mr. Cox used his education and his ability to reason at all. More and more, the only reason I see is political embarassment and if this outweighs all other considerations, then we understand how callous party politics really is.
I am embarassed for you Mr. Cox. Not only have you brought CBC into disrepute, but being a scholar of that illustrious school in St. John, you have given the public cause to paint all St. John scholars with the same ig’rant brush. What? Sir Henry Fraser?
But let me tell you something, the same politician that put you up to it, will wash his hands and leave you in the cess pool when the time comes. If you had stood your ground, the protocol would have saved you. You need to admit that you did ig’rance so that people would know that you know you did ig’rance. Save your soul!
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 10:12 am
DAVID
“Rightly or wrongly BU sat on the story about the Nigerian nurses. Wonder how me feels about this issue.”
Was there any benefit to sitting on the story?
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 10:15 am
Hard or soft news is news.
I support CBC in broadcasting the story. The public needed to know.
What is amazing to me is the large number of hypocrates on this blog. They want the news aired but they don’t want the news aired.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 10:26 am
Carson
You are full of it. What good did it do for you to know? We may be hypocrites, but I see that you are part of this gossip mongering crew. On this score, I would rather be a hypocrite. The story should never have been aired. Are not all dead people transported by air in body bags? For obvious reasons? My mother came back from Canada in a body bag and she did not have AIDS.
David // January 14, 2009 at 10:37 am
Thanks me, we agree 100%.
me // January 14, 2009 at 10:52 am
it should not be made into a political issue….
The Scout // January 14, 2009 at 10:55 am
Carson C Cadogan
If everything that is suppose to be true in Barbados is reveiled on the air, a lot of people would be packing their bags and getting out of Barbados just to go to another country with just as much or more trues hidden than ours. The moral is ” everything you know cannot be spoken openly”. Call it hypocrtical if you like but this is a fact of life.
me // January 14, 2009 at 10:57 am
It does not present Barbados in a good light internationally either… it suggests ( confirms) that we are xenophobic, unfeeling and callous… if this is what you want then fine! Why even ever talk about human rights and unfair treatment of bajan workers???
The Scout // January 14, 2009 at 11:01 am
me
If any Barbadian hotel workers in USA were sent back home in “bodybags” because of HIV/AIDS, our government would raise stink.
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 11:40 am
Why should CBC sanitized the news? Why should they retract the news Item? Did not 3 nurses died of Aids while working at the QEH?
What needs to be done is continual education of the public about how HIV becomes contagious.
CBC should not retract the truth, but should offer a primetime nightly public awareness note, Outlining the Contagiousness properties for HIV/AIDS:
Here is a list:
Contagious overall?: Yes Contagious by sex?: Yes
Contagious by oral sex?: Yes
Contagious by anal sex?: Yes
Contagious by vaginal sex?: Yes
Contagious from water?: No
Contagious in swimming pools?: No
Contagious from food?: No
Contagious by physical contact (non-sexual)?: No
Contagious from bedding?: No
Contagious from clothing?: No
Contagious from kissing?: No
Contagious from saliva?: No
Contagious from surfaces (or objects)?: No
Contagious from toilet seats?: No
Contagious from blood?: Yes
Contagious from blood transfusion?: Yes
Contagious from intravenous needle usage?: Yes
Contagious from needlestick injury?: Yes
Contagious from organ transplant?: Yes
Contagious from mother to fetus (transplacental)?: Yes
Contagious mother to baby during childbirth?: Yes
Contagious breastfeeding mother to infant?: Yes
Contagious from insect bite (or exposure)?: No
They might also want to follow up with a short news item demonstrating how Healthcare providers at the QEH go about containing Nosocomial infections.
Adrian Hinds is a former U.S. Army medic and nurse.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 11:45 am
AH
Good thinking… but that would be damage control too, not so? That would be an admission of lasck of prudence and sensitivity.
Out of adversity can come something good.
me // January 14, 2009 at 11:47 am
well they cant tek it back… so the PSA as you outliend above could help. However someone needs to apologise to the nurses for stigmatising themvia that new report.
FYI there are over 30 nigerian nurses working at QEH and when they go which I ma sure they will when they contract dun…who is going to replace them? And the QEH is already short of nurses with them there!
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 11:58 am
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 11:45 am
AH
Good thinking… but that would be damage control too, not so? That would be an admission of lasck of prudence and sensitivity.
Out of adversity can come something good.
===========================
Absolutely not. It is call moving beyond an empasse. In doing the above CBC should make it patently clear that they will not be sanitizing the news, that they believe strongly that they have not done anything wrong, and that what they are NOW set to do is in the interest of ALL Barbadians, not a select few.
….today it’s Nigerians, Yesterday it was BL&P, a few weeks ago it was LIME, for 14 years it was the BLP, are you not tired of select groups, and interest groups holding an entire population to ransom? or does that depends? where does the buck stop?
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 12:09 pm
me // January 14, 2009 at 11:47 am
well they cant tek it back… so the PSA as you outliend above could help. However someone needs to apologise to the nurses for stigmatising themvia that new report.
FYI there are over 30 nigerian nurses working at QEH and when they go which I ma sure they will when they contract dun…who is going to replace them? And the QEH is already short of nurses with them there!
In airing the PSA i would like for them to stress The first four, because i don’t want them to sanitize the reports about the numbers of new HIV infections in Barbados, that i believe are due to uprotected sex, mulitple sex partners, and yes Bulling. lol!
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 12:21 pm
me // January 14, 2009 at 10:52 am
it should not be made into a political issue….
everything is political. people are involved, decisions have to be made, and regulations, be they law,procedures, or directives have to inacted, issued or stated to govern our actions. All of this is politics.
Asiba you tekking notes? can we get a history of what we are discussing in this thread?
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 12:24 pm
AH
I have some lessons for you when I get back. I must say though that I like your list. Very Comprehensive!
me // January 14, 2009 at 1:03 pm
there is political and then there is political…
This issuse is being put in public to make the former MOH look bad … I understnad that however I dont think that this makes the current MOH look good
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 1:49 pm
me // January 14, 2009 at 1:03 pm
there is political and then there is political…
This issuse is being put in public to make the former MOH look bad … I understnad that however I dont think that this makes the current MOH look good
If you say so . I gine disagree bright and early. I don’t think anyone needs to put the former MOH in a bad light. Although i don’t quite understand why, he seemed to have gathered sufficient negativity during his tenure to last a life-time. At the end of the day having qualified bajan nures at home doing nothing and hiring nurses from impoverage African countries doesn’t look, sound, or feel good. Now if the information surrounding the impasse between the Bajan nurses, the Union, the QEH management board, the Ministry of Health and the former Minister, was fully aired/vented and not sanitize, we would have by now all the facts to move forward to a resolution that satisfies most if not all, but everybody think they are right, are looking out for their particular interest and once again the public held to ransom. No matter how it is presented or clothed there is but one “political”.
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 1:52 pm
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 12:24 pm
AH
I have some lessons for you when I get back. I must say though that I like your list. Very Comprehensive!
ROK, you seem to think that i now come pun de internet, I had a computer long before you lost your hair. :0 I don’t need for you to test me, or for me to prove myself to you. You now come town! :) Keep your “lessens”.
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 1:58 pm
Anonymous/Adrian Hinds.
Both of you are missing the fundamental point regarding the rights with AIDS – dead or alive should be protected especially by the media. Again, as ROK stated, journalists have been attending various seminars regarding HIV, yet Mr.Cox seems to be the only one who refused to attend, thus the reason of sanctioning this story. Anonymous, my criticism of the story have nothing to do who is MOH.
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 2:15 pm
I don’t want no nurse with Aids looking after me when there are chances that there could be an accident with a needle and blood could be contaminated.
………………………………………………………
Anonymous, I can’t believe you made that stupid statement. Do you who might have Aids?
What about a teacher, your friend, your kids friends, your pastor, your doctor, your work colleague, your family, your neighbour, your school buddies; and the list goes on. Would you build a fortress and hide away. Should the media announce everyone who are affected? If it was one of your family, would you be happy if the media informed the public? Answer just one and I would agree that CBC was right.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm
Well qualified, decent Barbadian nurses were sent home from the Queen Elizabeth Hospital because they did not want to change their employment status.
They were replaced with Nigerians of questionable character. Now we find out that some of them were Aids carriers. Quite a few had to be sent back home because they could not pass the nurses test even after sitting it numerous times. We also know that Nigerians are notorious scam artists, they make Guyanese look like sunday school teachers and Bajans should know about these things?
Did they infect any Bajan patients? That is also what we need to know.
The Barbados Labour Party made some monumental mistakes while in office, This is another huge one.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 2:42 pm
Yes Carson, purely partisan.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 2:47 pm
ROK
“Yes Carson, purely partisan”
Purely the TRUTH.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 2:51 pm
AH
Don’t dabble in what you don’t know. When I had a computer my hair was still black. I had one in the times when you had to programme them to use them and when you shut down and come again you had to key back in your programme. There were no tapes or floppys at the time.
Furthermore, I don’t have any lessons about the computer for you, but I gine keep the lessons I had for you since you so bombastic with yourself.
I forget that you is a warmonger, so I done with you.
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 2:59 pm
TMW you are saying more of the same. I will always be slow and guarded to agreeing to sanitizing the truth. With regards to personal privacy, public health, the rights of patients and caregivers, this story does not rise to the level that requires the santization that you and others are demanding.
A report stating “Three Nigerian nurses died of aids” does not infringe on any one person’s rights to privacy. Can you prove libel (written), or slander (oral) of the dead?
The fear of this impacting on the living Nigerian nurses is real, but should not be use to stifle the truth. Personally for me being aware of how these Nigerians came to be employed at the QEH i would have to think long and hard before i let one of them touch me no matter their health status.
….We as a people on this earth are encircle by a “cadre” of mock experts who are demanding and forcing us way from best practices into untried, exotic social constructs, engineered with their personal interest at the forefront, an when all hell breaks out, the public must not know, the right of 30 people brought into view by the death of a few are to be held to a higher importance than that of public at large. Again where is this willingness to perpetually hold the public at large to the ransom of few coming from?
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 3:03 pm
Man ROK tek a chill pill. when was de last time you had a good laugh? Yuh gine dead earlier than if you don’t laugh often, hear? I take it you not ever seen a pic of me. Uh poking fun at muh self wid de hair ting. I am about 15 years your junior and i aint got nuh hair. ha ha ha ha ha wuh is de lessen you got fuh me?
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 3:09 pm
Man I keeping my lesson till you lost you hair, cause when I was on the computer you did still in pampers. Dah fuh yuh.
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 3:21 pm
ha ha ha ha ha see yuh could give as well as yuh could tek. So give me de lesson then. I don’t have nuh hair.
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=1351984&l=6c8a4&id=733380748
Thats after a 6 month haircut. ha ha ha ha ha
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 3:25 pm
AH
You think that you do more laughing than me in my lifetime or even when I was your age. I worst than Dennis Johnson; he does hardly laugh compared with me. I just love a hearty laugh and it does ketch unlike DJ.
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 3:27 pm
You see. It is you that need the chill pill. I fraid to look at that profile pic ’cause I gine start laughing none stop; 6 months after a haircut; LOL!
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 3:39 pm
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 3:27 pm
You see. It is you that need the chill pill. I fraid to look at that profile pic ’cause I gine start laughing none stop; 6 months after a haircut; LOL!
Laugh away my friend. I have been butt of jokes all my life. ha ha ha ha ha ha lol! and so i have lost all remaining shame. Feels very liberating. :)
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 5:05 pm
I don’t laugh at people. I may laught at situations but it was the part about 6 months later that made it funny. You see when I look at the picture and remember the haircut six months earlier, I will die laughing. You sure you had hair 6 months earlier?
Adrian Hinds // January 14, 2009 at 5:26 pm
ROK // January 14, 2009 at 5:05 pm
I don’t laugh at people. I may laught at situations but it was the part about 6 months later that made it funny. You see when I look at the picture and remember the haircut six months earlier, I will die laughing. You sure you had hair 6 months earlier?
6 months ago my head would have been shaved. lol!
me // January 14, 2009 at 7:34 pm
it still does not make the current MOH look good!
David // January 14, 2009 at 8:31 pm
As we have commented before BU had knowledge that several of the African nurses are infected with HIV. As a household we took a decision to withhold the information because of the sensitivity and disarray in our healthcare system. We were hopeful that the authorities would deal with the matter efficiently.
We admit that the senior journalists at the Nation are aware of the situation and obviously took the same decision to delay making public like BU.
We expect criticism but we stand by our decision. This is not a straight forward matter, the revelation can still create a crisis of confidence in our healthcare system.
ace // January 14, 2009 at 9:00 pm
I am embarassed for you Mr. Cox. Not only have you brought CBC into disrepute, but being a scholar of that illustrious school in St. John, you have given the public cause to paint all St. John scholars with the same ig’rant brush. What? Sir Henry Fraser?
——————————>>>
C-R-A-P
ace // January 14, 2009 at 9:10 pm
You bet yuh life Bonny Peppa
CRAP ! CRAP and more CRAP !
CRAP ! longside CRAP !
CRAP ! beside CRAP !
CRAP! deep inside CRAP !
CRAP! up above CRAP !
CRAP ! all around CRAP !
CRAP ! wrap up CRAP !
Tek off your eyes and when yuh look back—Still more C-R-A-P !
General Lee // January 14, 2009 at 9:20 pm
Allowing people to let their guards down when in a medical enviroment is doing them a dis-service.
People should always be aware of the risk of HIV infection.
While the body bags bit was tasteless and unnecessary I think this exposure will serve some good.
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 9:35 pm
A report stating “Three Nigerian nurses died of aids” does not infringe on any one person’s rights to privacy. Can you prove libel (written), or slander (oral) of the dead?
……………………………………………………….
You have by-passed the real issue of the matter regarding the stigma and discrimination regarding confidentiality. It have nothing to do with the rule of law regarding slander/libel. You know that I know that you are smart and you should allude to the fact of CBC total failure in protocol.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 14, 2009 at 9:36 pm
DAVID
You disappoint me, it would seem to me that your loyalty is to the aids infected Nigerian nurses rather than your own Barbadians.
Honest, decent, well educated, hard working, Black Barbadian nurses were denied employment at the Queen Elizabeth hospital by the Barbados Labour Party, then a load of Nigerian”nurses”/aids carriers were imported into Barbados to “take care” of the most helpless in our society, the sick, and you kept this quiet. To add insult to injury you are now using the staff of the Nation Newspaper as support for your decision to keep us in the dark.
My question still is, how many Bajan patients have become infected by these Nigerian scam artists?
Tell me Why // January 14, 2009 at 9:38 pm
Where was Richard Cox in the Prime Minister’s report to the Nation?
David // January 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm
@Carson
Since starting on the journey of the BU blog we have had to make some hard decisions. If only we could reveal all that passes our way but unlike some BU family members who consider us irresponsible we have accepted that some issues may have national security implications or even crossed the boundary of common decency.
It is our call and we do what we feel we have to do when those occasions arise.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 12:04 am
We live in a society that slows us down as a society and an economy, based on discrimination, gossip, stigmatisation and deprivation. All of it is senseless; as in it don’t make a difference, but we allow it to.
I can only come to the conclusion that in general, we know too little as a people (Asiba!). We spend time researching, investigating for the purpose of rumour mongering; to what end? Certainly not knowledge.
We delight in taking down our own for some of the silliest reasons, like how Sir Lloyd was too ugly and black. If ever I heard such foolishness. Well we paid dearly for that one, or rather, we were either graced or punished with 14 years of the BLP; you decide.
DLP was not ready; another set of foolishness, because they still were not ready in 2008, right? They were not qualified, right? But only recently we are hearing that it is the most qualified Parliament ever.
On the other hand, looking in from the outside, Barbados has the reputation for having the most batty boys, but yet many more of them exist in Trinidad and Jamaica, so imagine how hypocritical we look to the casual observer, playing that we don’t want homosexuality legalised?
Why are we allowing this colonial mentality to keep us enslaved? Do we understand that the ploy is to create fear and discord in order to keep us picking at one another?
Do we also understand how christianity was corrupted by one simple act of painting Christ as a white man, when in truth and in fact, he was a Black man? Why do we still continue the lie? Why does the Anglican and other Churches still display and accept Christ as a white man when he was black?
The day that we can identify the true image of Christ as Black, will be the day we release ourselves from the shackles. I am sure any conscious man would agree that every white image of Christ either needs destroying, or hanging in a public place labelled “fraud; Christ was not a white man.”
We need to reclaim what is ours, for what it is, and not for how somebody else wants us to see it, because as long as it continues to appear as it is, is as long as we will believe a fraud and is as long as we will not know ourselves.
Just imagine the psychological impact of waking up tomorrow to all paintings of Christ as a Black man. I know, some would holler for sacrilege, blasphemy, etc. without understanding that what prevails now is the real sacrilege and blasphemy.
A principle abounds here. You may say that God don’t see colour and I will agree… but what I also know, is that a family should support their own. Would you feed all your breast milk to somebody else’s baby and leave yours to starve? How do you think God will view a people who make all the sacrifices and say Lord, Lord, but giving all your labours to a stranger so he could live in luxury and you with cap in hand begging the Lord?
What does the Bible say about treating your brother? Certainly not with scorn, but with compassion and brotherhood; turn the cheek seventy times. Is that what we do? No! Our brother does not even get the first turn of the cheek, but we turn our cheek 140 times for somebody else. No colour involved here. Just judge for yourselves.
Everybody from Nigeria is no more a scammer than every Barbadian is a homosexual. Barbados has a protocol like many more countries for reporting HIV/AIDS cases. Some have made it law. We down here playing the tail and want to point at somebody, but we not looking to see what we doing.
Well let me say this. There is a rumour going around that Bajan men had them. ow many orderlies pick fares with women that may have it and go unprotected?
How many Barbadian nurses have HIV/AIDS and don’t tell me none?? How many doctors?? How many orderlies? How many politicians? How many chefs? How many shopkeepers? How many sno cone men? How many of Chefette and Kentucky staff?
So why you want to kill the Nigerians as if you are sinless? And as if you can’t get HIV/AIDS in the hospital from some source other than those Nigerian nurses?
Come on people. Time to wake up.
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 12:16 am
David // January 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm
@Carson
Since starting on the journey of the BU blog we have had to make some hard decisions. If only we could reveal all that passes our way but unlike some BU family members who consider us irresponsible we have accepted that some issues may have national security implications or even crossed the boundary of common decency.
It is our call and we do what we feel we have to do when those occasions arise.
De words and actions of a down right socialist. They know what is right for you Carson, and they don’t need any input from you.
….what national security concideration does Aids carrying Nigerian nurses have for Barbados that you would have to withold their HIV status from the public? De only national security concideration there could be is the resulting anger of the public directed at fools who think these people privacy is more important than the public’s interest. The Hospitals in my neck of the woods are empowering patients to ask all Healthcare providers involved in their care, “if they have wash their hands” and insist that they wear gloves etc. and you gine get here in your fake sense of importance, lording over news about three dead nurse telling me i don’t need to know! boy chah do!
This last sentence
“IT IS OUR CALL AND WE DO WHAT WE FEEL WE HAVE TO DO WHEN THOSE OCCASIONS ARISE.”
is the thought process of a mainstream newspaper editor. The Nationnews may not have to fear you after all if you keep up with this cherry picking nonsense. I keeping my eye on you with this foolishness, The Nation Newspaper withold the information so you follow suite. The fact that they withold cherry pick and sanitize is the reason I am here, if there is going to be no difference between BU and the Nation newspaper, I will not be wasting my time.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 15, 2009 at 1:17 am
ROK
You spent a long time saying nothing at all.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 1:31 am
AH
Well, we Bajans have a way of corrupting the news and sanitising is only shifting to the next direction. (+/-).
None of them line up with the truth but I don’t hear you complaining when the news get corrupted and sensationalised. You does be jumping up nuh? Sweet and juicy!
Well I would encourage you to be fair. This is not the general rule and we know that to every rule there is an exception.
Personally, I do not think that the media should do like the character on the street and repeat whatever they hear. You don’t do it.
You decide what you will repeat; truth or not and that is part of decency for you and professionalism for the media. The media is only made up of human beings and if you telling me that they can’t use their own judgement and standards, I will tell you to get robots.
You cannot use what can be considered a legitimate reason to “sanitise” to paint everybody and everything with the same brush. What you dealing with is one thing and this is another. Do not use it one to judge the other.
In Barbados, unless you are a pensioner or a school child in uniform, you can’t ride the bus free; quarrel with that.
If you are a disabled person, you get to park up-front and close to the door, in other words the most convenient parking and if you park in their spot you get a ticket (where you are); quarrel with that.
There are exceptions to every rule.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 15, 2009 at 1:32 am
I expect the Nation Newspaper to sit on this story.
They do not want to print anything which will distress their Barbados labour Party masters.
I thought that BU was different.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 1:33 am
Carson
You aptly described not oly my contribution but the entire issue. The party nuh?
David // January 15, 2009 at 7:47 am
@AH, Carson et al
You don’t know how raw the information was when we received it. Yo need to give us credit. On the flip side are those times when BU family members wanted us to retract or close blogs we published. Please trust our judgement that is why we all have intelligence.
The matter has a core issue which is troubling to us. The leak of confidential information to the public regarding the health status of the nurses was a terrible breach. We hope the MOH will hold those accountable.
The Scout // January 15, 2009 at 8:04 am
David
Could this be the reason Michelle was asked to moderate last night inplace of Cox.?
me // January 15, 2009 at 8:06 am
The head of the BNA responded in todays Nation and her comments are excatly what I expected. She said “what CBC has done is not only unprofessional but also undignified” and then went on the spell out the potential effects of that report.
I understand that one nigerian nusre called into the talk show last night to inform the public that the news was not even accurate in that only one nurse died of AIDS, the other died of cancer and the third is not dead.
Hmmmm what does CBC have to say about that??
Carson C. Cadogan // January 15, 2009 at 9:15 am
DAVID
“We hope the MOH will hold those accountable.”
Accountable for what?
We ought to be giving medals to those who make information available against all odds.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 15, 2009 at 9:21 am
DAVID
Do you think that the democratic Labour Party would be in office if brave people did not leak inportant information to the public so that they might know of the level of crookedness of the BLP?
Now you are in the vanguard of shutting them down.
Shame on you.
I support CBC 100%.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 9:52 am
Come on Cadogan. How could you equate the two? You just clowning around? You just like sport? Let’s see what happens to Cox because this is a very serious breach to a Barbados protocol by a Government institution.
When it comes to Government a higher level of responsibility arises. I am fairly sure that the NHAC got involved. You understand also that with all the work done by NHAC, this is not excusable? I would not be at all surprised if CBC and the PM got a letter from the Chair of NHAC.
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 10:44 am
Yardbroom and Bush Tea on reflection I want to thank you for knowing when where and how to intervene.
As the saying goes absence makes the heart grow fonder,ever so welcome wait for a call.
Too much of any thing is good for nothing,a word to the wise is enough.
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 10:56 am
Protocol my ass, unprofessional and undignified how? Protocal is not the law. BTW what is this protocol that is bandied about in here? Where is located that i can look at it? A dead person has never won a defamation law suite. How is “Three Nigerians has died from Aids” difference from “1,200 hundred Barbadians has dies from aids” If Cox is punish for this, he should seek judicial relief. The people of Barbados excluding BU, ROK and this ME person et al should view Mr. Cox as a hero. He is in my eyes.
…..Thats why i will continue to have a problem when certain people rise to prominence on the backs of Barbadians, duh gine be hearing from me as long as there is breath in my body. chupse
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 11:24 am
Carson C. Cadogan // January 15, 2009 at 9:21 am
DAVID
Do you think that the democratic Labour Party would be in office if brave people did not leak inportant information to the public so that they might know of the level of crookedness of the BLP?
Now you are in the vanguard of shutting them down.
Shame on you.
I support CBC 100%.
Very good point Carson. The tone that BU takes in the thread is not dissimilar from elitist tone of that double surname person from the nationnews. And it seems that ROK has elevated himself above the masses, to my mind “smarting” from his early successes at the rate hearing.No matter how we aspire to be like the elites they will never let us into their club.
I am going to post a 66 page PDF on a blog somewhere not here, for those of us bloggers who want to talk but have a fear of being targeted with libel threats. It is titled “defending against slander, but the law is a double edge sword and as such there is much you can gather that will allow you to contribute to the blogs without fear of libeling anyone. There is a world of difference between stating something that you cannot substantiate as an opinion and stating it as fact. It is time to expose all the blood-suckers in Barbados, if there are indeed any bloodsukers. lol!
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 11:59 am
@AH
I don’t know why you think I trying to aspire anywhere. I will always be me, no matter where I go or in whose company.
When called upon, I will bat and the bowling does not matter.
me // January 15, 2009 at 12:31 pm
LOL…
Lets change the nationality of the nurses to Barbadian and the have this occur lets say in the UK …would that be fair?
Secondly freedom of information freedom of speech freedom of the press comes with responsibility…
Is it ok to scream fire in an over crowded building because someone lit a match?
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm
Question, would the nurses before workin in the UK , have been made to take blood tests and pass their exam! I am not aufait with the legalities or procedure within these countries! Someone please answer the question!
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 1:33 pm
@ YOU lol!
We are not in the UK, and i have heard several reports over the years on Barbados radio stations and read in Barbadian news print detailing the HIV/AIDS infections and death rate that was to my mind is much like “x number of Barbadians have died from aids” and this statement is very similar to “x number of Nigerians have died from aids” Where were you then? Have you not heard that the Caribbean has the 2nd highest rate of infections and or deaths from HIV/AIDS in the world? or something to that effect? Does this not treat to a larger number of persons in the same manner that it does the three or two or one Nigerians in Barbados who may have died from Aids? What was the protocol then?
I don’t have to change anything to prove my case, why do you?
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 1:56 pm
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 1:25 pm
Question, would the nurses before workin in the UK , have been made to take blood tests and pass their exam! I am not aufait with the legalities or procedure within these countries! Someone please answer the question!
Excellent question! Duh gine only answer if duh don’t know the answer. lol!
One has to take a HIV blood test for permanent residency status to the US, one has to take another one just to join the US army, and be subjected to one every year after that.
Can you become a health care worker in Barbados without so doing? Why then does a simple food server have to get a health certificate? What are the things that could disqualify that person from obtaining certification, and thereby deemed them ineligible for the job anything?
me // January 15, 2009 at 2:27 pm
a genral statement about the HIV infection rate in a particular country is not the same as saying 3 out of 75 ***ian nurses working in the barbados Health services died of AIDS and went home in body bags so come again.
The report could have run stating that rate of HIV infection in the health service is X and perhaps raise conecrns about what was being done to ensure safety…but to single out one particular group vs all the others is just nasty!
If the previous MOH did not require those nurses to take the HIV test then is that the nurses fault?
If the previous government did not require them to pass an exam is that the nurses fault?
Is it fair to victimise them over a protocol that they are not responsible for?
I will resarch the details of the requirements spelled out to these nurses…
Two wrongs do not make a right ( assuming there was a first wrong)
Since only two had AIDS officially and one is still alive how do we know that they did not catch HIV while here?
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 2:42 pm
Stupse!
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 2:47 pm
One of my colleagues just asked this question.
Why when everyone’s economy is in a down turn are they willing to open our doors to illegal immigrants! BAJANS WANNAH SO STUPID! Negroman rinse them out man! Where will we run after they have used us and abused us and there is nothing left they will go home! Where will we go ha h ah ahahahahahahahahlol ya all are a silly bunch!
Anonymous // January 15, 2009 at 2:50 pm
me // January 15, 2009 at 2:27 pm
You are full of shit! That is the truth only in B’dos do you find people making excuses for bullshit! AH just confirmed what I thought!
But AH you realise that although these nurses have been found HIV positive our minister oof HEALTH is stating that nurses WILL not be required to be tested! ONLY IN BIMSHIRE!
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:28 pm
Let me take it a step back. Do we even know if their status was regularize per immigration requirements to enter Barbados and specically to meet the requirements of their intent to live and to work?
What are the immigration requirements to reside, and to work in Barbados?
Does a potential immigrant have to furnish health documents?
are there any restrictions on persons with any known declared deseases ailments etc?
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm
People in glass houses should not throw stones…
If we continue along the path that you are suggesting in terms of how we treat each other I dont see Barbados progressing at all… But hey what do I know ….
AH and anon clearly know far more than me and are ready and able to lead this country to nirvana…
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:40 pm
@You.
ROK mention some “protocol” that CBC went against in the airing of the news item, do you know what this protocol is? Is it written, assumed, or just thought of?
There is and has been a lot of secrecy surrounding the presense of these Nigerian nurses in Barbados, I am not going to be party to it continuing, and their interest is not my concern. Sorry!
What Barbadians need to do is where possible, boycott these people. It is highly insulting to Barbados to have Barbadians nurses at home while having foreign nurses of questionable immigration, qualified, and personal health status working in their place, IN BARBADOS.
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:44 pm
where all dese bajan nurses at???
are you aware that even with the nigerian nurses the QEH is still under staffed GREATLY in terms of nurses? I guess not!
are you also aware that HIV affects evevryone , not only nigerians
I think I would be interested in hearing what is the HIV infection rate in all nurses, doctors, nursing aides etc… wouldnt you? and with that info there would be lots to think about dont you agree!
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:37 pm
said:
People in glass houses should not throw stones…
If we continue along the path that you are suggesting in terms of how we treat each other I dont see Barbados progressing at all… But hey what do I know ….
AH and anon clearly know far more than me and are ready and able to lead this country to nirvana…
“People” do not only mean Guyanese in Barbados, or Nigerians in Barbados, or the Academic incline, or the privilage few, or the Merchant class, or the Political class, or the middleclass, IT MUST ALSO REFER TO ALL BARBADIANS IN BARBADOS. How some of you divide up and treat your fellow Barbadians can also be questioned, and i do so.
I am not a socialist, I do not have any goals or aspirations to LEAD anyone. If there is a goal to be had it is to encourage all of us to at all times find great joy and happiness using our GOD GIVEN asset, to think, to reason, and face and deal with the results of so doing. I did that to my satisfaction regarding the news item on these Nigerians, and i remain satisfied with the position that have taken.
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:51 pm
and even with the nurses that decided not to work with the board the QEH is still understaffed….
and finally Mr AH, Mr bajan emigrant to the USA when you go to to Mass General, Beth Israel, Shriners, Brigham and womans or any Boston Hospital are all the nurses american or are they foreign contract workers of immigrants just like you???
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:52 pm
Remove the cloak of secrecy from around the the whole issue so that we can see what you are seeing.
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:53 pm
and are you certain that they are all HIV negative and that they are fully credentialed???
And finally are they not human jsut like you?
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:54 pm
I have some assurance given the immigration laws of this country that the concerns sorrounding the Nigerian nurses Barbados would not be needed in my neck of the woods, which by the way does not include any of the institution you have mentioned.
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 4:59 pm
me // January 15, 2009 at 4:53 pm
and are you certain that they are all HIV negative and that they are fully credentialed???
And finally are they not human jsut like you?
Currently do not have a need to questioned the qualifications and health status of healthcare workers in my neck of the woods. I am confident that if such concerns were raised, attempts at full disclosure would be initiated, instead of what is occuring in Barbados.
Case in point in a bordering town to where i live, there was suspicion of cheating in the local police exam, an investigation was started, the chief lost his pick, those cops who cheated were fired.
Adrian Hinds // January 15, 2009 at 5:09 pm
This is not about me. What my circumstances is has little to do with what is the truth, that you want to silence. To my mind you seem to view everything through a personal look back to your own short comings, and as you suggested, as humans we all have short comings, therefore you find it hard to judge,…truth not withstanding. If we all did that there would be little accountability except for where we want to castigate someone for expecting better, or demanding accountability, from someone else. Lets not teach and demand honesty from our children, because we were at some point in our lives dishonest also.
Asiba-The Buffalo Soldier-'why should I wear a jacket and tie' // January 15, 2009 at 6:20 pm
I fully concur with the sentiments expressed by ROK above
ASIDE : I believe that it was me who invented that the reference to— the colonial mentality. I have used it so much in the past that I thought that it belonged to me. Good that others can expressed themselves the same.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 6:34 pm
AH
There is a protocol for reporting which was established through the NHAC. I was on the Commission at the time when it was happening.
This is part of the fight against discrimination. It brought on board, the private sector, trades union, medical fraternity, NGOs, Media, Social workers, the child care board, the nurses, etc. you name a stakeholder and they were there.
This included working out the coding of patients so that test were done anonymously. Not even the lab knew only the doctor and nurses attending the patient.
This placed a responsibility on Social Workers, employers, nurses, etc. to deal with the disease as prescribed; in a professional manner.
This was accompanied with awareness exercises, giving tips on how to deal with all emergencies, AIDS or any other condition; principles such as using gloves when approaching injured persons and a code of conducts / behaviour / action that avoid contamination by body fluids; washing hands, etc.
The awareness offered a level of comfort to participants, to the extent that the reports of who and who has or do not have AIDS did not matter. Even more comforting is the existence of a cocktail that could knock out the disease if caught in time and this is offered to doctors, nurses, or anybody finding themselves contaminated, including victims of rape.
Having dealt with the discrimination, the focus is now on behavioural change and it is the last hurdle to get over in the fight against HIV/AIDS. If we could achieve this we would wipe it out.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 6:49 pm
AH
“This placed a responsibility on Social Workers, employers, nurses, etc. to deal with the disease as prescribed; in a professional manner.”
In this set I should also have included the media; VOB, CBC, Nation and Advocate. That is why you would not have seen it in the papers and should not have seen it on CBC. Remember this is by agreement between the parties; that all stakeholders must act in a particular (professional) manner.
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 6:55 pm
Asiba
Colonial mentality is yours, that is why I had to put your name beside it.
Incidentally, AH, GIS was also part of the stakeholders. All government departments with the remotest link.
Bush Tea // January 15, 2009 at 9:38 pm
Interesting discussion!!!
Merit on both sides.
@AH
I have to agree that any arrangement or protocol which is intended to suppress the truth will be flawed.
One can easily extrapolate such arguments to many other situations which could encourage graft, crime, and other undesirable outcomes.
Only the truth can set us free.
On the other hand, one has to agree that most gossip and even some items of ‘truth’ are best left unsaid.
Overall, the real solution is to always speak and write the truth – in love.
i.e.
If the story is factual, then it should be reported – but it must be done in a tactful, considerate manner – as if it was about the presenter’s own family.
Any time that we begin to compromise on truth, we start down a slippery route with many pitfalls…. this is why we know so little about so many major projects of the last administration. Someone thought that it was in our ‘best interest’ to remain ignorant…..
Negroman // January 15, 2009 at 9:45 pm
That report about the Nigerian nurses dying from AIDS was very distasteful.We have nurses from The Philippines,Guyana,St Vincent & other Caribbean Countries and why not report if any of those nurses have AIDS or other horrible diseases.This country is sickening.That report was just to malign the Nation States that make up the great Africa Continent.I am sure if those nurses were from The USA,Canada or any European Country that story will never be carry.There was nothing news worthy to highlight that nurses from a particular country died from a particular disease.
I am here wondering if that white general manager at CBC did not had a hand in orchestrating that ridiculous nonsensical news item on those unfortunate Nigerian nurses.I boggles my mine that item was carried as a news item.That is the level journalism we have in Barbados today.
I am asking CBC when prominent White,Indian or Chinese living in Barbados die please investigate their deaths and let us know what those individuals died from.
This country is corrupt,with a lot of wicked people in charge.
Prime Minister David Thompson leads the way.
Tell me Why // January 15, 2009 at 9:57 pm
Where were you then? Have you not heard that the Caribbean has the 2nd highest rate of infections and or deaths from HIV/AIDS in the world? or something to that effect?
……………………………………………………….
Adrian, don’t let your intelligence be clouded by the past behaviour of the past administration. Let’s deal with the media and why I have stated from the outset that it was unprofessional of The CBC. Also, you should research the true data of AIDS death defore positioning the Caribbean as #2. Here’s the 2007 positions
South Africa
Nigeria
Zimbabwe
Tanzania
Mozambique
Uganda
Malawi
Ethiopia
Zambia
Cameroon
CHINA
Cote d’Ivoire
RUSSIA
Thailand
Sudan
Myrammar
USA
Ghana
Vietnam
Ukraine
Lesotho
BRAZIL
We must be fully aware that AIDS is not a homo thing, anyone can be infected and we must respect the living connections of those who might have died form it. Remember, it could be your family and trust me, I know of families who were shunned because someone of that household died. We must be humane in our behaviour towards mankind.
David // January 15, 2009 at 10:34 pm
BU family please help the BU household to understand and make sense of the dilemma we were in when we first heard about some African nurses possibly having contracted HIV/AIDS from a source. Bare in mind that we currently operate in a society where an individual’s medical history is confidential. How would the BU household have known that the information was beyond reproach? Maybe if we had seen the doctors notes for ourselves our consideration on the matter may have been different.
Does the BU family remember when David Commisong wrote this letter to the Nation questioning why former David Estwick made the following pronouncement? Obviously the MOH knew more than he was telling the public. Did he intend to send a message to the African nurses which they have not heeded?
Bush Tea // January 15, 2009 at 10:57 pm
@ David
From my own perspective, I fail to see any problem with BU’s actions (or lack thereof) in this case. I would not be surprised if there are hundreds of ‘facts’ in your possession as a result of information from sources. Surely we cannot expect you to rush each and every piece into publication.
Had you chosen to release this particular info, I have great confidence that you would have given the facts in as tactful and considerate a manner as you have generally done with other scoops.
The fact that you chose NOT to publish is a matter of your editorial judgement too and we respect that.
I for one think that you have been a model of openness, fairness and decency almost to a fault.
If you ever decide to get on ‘igrant’, I recommend that you start by banning Bimbro/199 and ru4real for ‘gross disrespect for the laws of logical BLOG discourse’
LOL ha ha ha wahloss
ROK // January 15, 2009 at 11:07 pm
David
Many Questions: could one cite the Minister’s statement as discrimination against a particular set of people? Did he give a reason?
Are there legal ramifications?
Do you think this reinforced feelings of xenophobia in Barbadians by targeting “foreigners”?
David // January 15, 2009 at 11:49 pm
The truth is ROK we don’t know what to make of the former Minister’s statement. Logic forces us to ask the same question Commissong asked. Why single out the Nigerians when they are other groups of nurses. Seems to be some ethical matters which are raising heads.
Tell me Why // January 16, 2009 at 12:17 am
David. I was the first to respond to the CBC’s release due to the reckless expose of patient’s confidentiality. This action could have culminated with the first report by the last MOH and probably this last report could have been made to justify why he said that he would be sending back these nurses. I would like to know who give CBC the inside information. If the head of news was following protocol regarding patient’s confidentiality in respect to HIV/AIDS, he would have done like the other media and the two blogs in being professional. Surprisingly, Keltruth who is always on the blog ball refused to even deal with the issue. So I ask CBC, was your action based on your political agenda. I feel that the entire board should be removed since no one feel that it was reckless reporting the story. I rest my case. Things will just resort to normalcy.
WIV, why?
Tell me Why // January 16, 2009 at 12:23 am
Both governments know which country to pressure. Guyana is the most vulnerable, now we are looking at the Nigerians. Check with how we dealt with the Indians with World Cup. We accommodate them and send them back home without any fuss. Probably, we are ensuring the economic climate with these large scale employers are not compromised.
Tell me Why // January 16, 2009 at 12:27 am
David, what about taking this Nigerian nurses story and making it separate from the heading that it is under. Just asking!!!!
Carson C. Cadogan // January 16, 2009 at 1:21 am
Sending black Barbadian nurses home to sit and do nothing was the height of foolishness.
Then to give their jobs to foreigners was despicable.
The fact that Nigerian “nurses” are starting to fall like nine pins from aids is poetic justice.
Foreigners working at the Queen Elizebeth Hospital and being paid by Barbadian tax payers and Black Barbadian nurses sent home unable to pursue their chosen career is something I thought that would never happen in this Barbados.
God does not like ugly.
Some one on this blog said that the Nigerians may not renew their contracts and will return home, I say,Bravo. The sooner they leave the sooner we can once again offer employment to our Black Barbadian sisters, women whose integrity we can vouch for.
The Barbados Labour Party has a lot to answer for.
Tell me Why // January 16, 2009 at 1:36 am
Sending black Barbadian nurses home to sit and do nothing was the height of foolishness.
……………………………………………………….
Carson, Oh Carson. Your loyalty is unblemished, your brain is still unblemished. You seems to take history and convert it to your wimp and fancy. You fail or you deliberately refused to admit that the nurses made the decision not to go with the board. No one was sent home my friend. I have to admire you being the devil’s advocate and you keep the blogs active my giving your own interpretation even if it is far from the truth.
I know may nurses who prefer to part company, get the monies owned to them and start working at the various government health clinics. Same government, new salary, nuff money on the bank.
So Carson.These nurses weren’t push. They jump, that’s right, jump right into the bank laughing.
me // January 16, 2009 at 7:02 am
AH the wonderful thing about being human is our ability to feel empathy for others and to have respect.
Ill leave it at that… Im looking forward to seeing this new Barbados where everything TRUE is just announced !
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 10:12 am
@ Tell me why
My statement was an opinion. It sought to deal with a statement made at some point that cast all caribbean people in the same light as the CBC news item dealing with the Nigerians.
The following speaks to my opinion, that such a statement was indeed made, and i know that i heard it and read it via Barbados media.
“Overall HIV Trends Caribbean
Outside of sub-Saharan Africa, the Caribbean has the highest HIV prevalence in the world. In 2006, AIDS was one of the region’s leading causes of death among adults aged 15 to 44, claiming the lives of an estimated 19,000 people. That year alone, approximately 27,000 people were newly infected with HIV, according to UNAIDS. The number of people living with HIV/AIDS (PLWHA) in the Caribbean is estimated to be 250,000. Nearly three-quarters of them are from two countries: the Dominican Republic and Haiti. National adult HIV prevalence rates are high throughout the region: 1 to 2 percent in Barbados, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, and Suriname, and 2 to 4 percent in the Bahamas, Guyana, Haiti, and Trinidad and Tobago. The Caribbean epidemic is fueled by a culture in which men are encouraged to have multiple sexual partners, by a thriving sex industry, and by MEn having sex with MEn.
Here is another tit bit from the article that i think speaks to this issue and the culture of secrecy in Barbados.
“Given the poor quality of epidemiological data in the region, the HIV status of most people is not known, and the true magnitude of the epidemic is thus not known.”
Not only USAID, but the IMF via 14 years of consultations with the GOB have decried the lack of good record keeping, and good data. Even Lynette Eastman decried the culture of information hoarding in Barbados.
I strongly believe that Barbados would have been much further if such secrecy, and information hoarding was not endemic.
I made no reference to the year, as it is not important to the point i am making.
If you continue to bring my intelligence of lack thereof in the discussion i will be dragging yours into it as well. lol!
Keep it up the obituries don’t lie.
11Jan2008)Sunday Sun:
Anthony H -age 43, Sonia C -age 51, Ormond C-age 48, Nigel G-age 40, Glynne H-age 58, William M-age 55, Mark H-age 38, Anthony S-age 56, Tracey I-age 35, David H-age 47, Cleston T-age 52,
I don’t know what these persons died from but the ages should be of concern, and given the culture of secrecy and information hoarding, it may be long time before we can begin to act.
http://www.usaid.gov/our_work/global_health/aids/Countries/lac/caribbean_profile.pdf
me // January 16, 2009 at 10:34 am
AH I agree that knowing more truths about the HIV epidemic would help, I agree that we keep quiet about alot of things here to our detriment but I still dont get that agreeing with the above makes it acceptable to broadcsat false and inflammatory info about the Nigerian nurses…
Truths:
>>>Only one nigerian nurse died of AIDS
>>>based on the known rate of infection there are probably several bajan nurses infected with HIV
>>> a nurse would have to intentionally inject you with her/his blood to infect you with HIV ( or sleep with you unsafely)
>>> Barbados has a severe shortage of nurses
>>> AIds is not the only thing killing our young people. heart disease, diabetes etc etc are quite prevalent.
>>> Confidentiality of medical records is the norm in the developped world.
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 11:05 am
If the story is untrue that’s a whole different ball game. Who is correct you or CBC? In my opinion you have an agenda so i am not going to readily believe anything on this coming from you, on this matter. Where is your proof coming from? and if CBC is still sticking to their story they must be doing from a position of varifiable facts. what say you?
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 11:24 am
Me when i take all that you have said above and i place it next to the issue at hand, which is “should CBC have broadcast the truth” I am still not persuaded away from a YES answer. The fact that it was NIGERIANS mentioned and given the issues surrounding their presense in Barbados, I am even more so in agreement with airing it. However if the news item had mentioned Barbadian nurses or any other i still would not have a had a problem with it.
….but i want to single out the following comment you made
” AIds is not the only thing killing our young people. heart disease, diabetes etc etc are quite prevalent”
I agree and will be returning to this when there is a discussion centered around public figures and the setting good/bad examples. For now though i am willing to speculate on the ages we see reflected in the Obituries, the stats contain in the USaid article and the epidemic of life desease affecting Barbados, that those death are more likely to be HIV related than lifestyle desease related. My speculation is further bolstered i believe by statements i have seen, from Dr. Henry Frazer, the former Minister of health, and few others that suggest we have an epidemic of people (living) with lifestyle deseases, and not deaths. Quite frankly I don’t think it is very prevelant for someone to die at age 40-53 from hypertention, diabeties and other lifestyle deseases. Suffering yes deaths no.
Lifestyle diseases (also called diseases of longevity or diseases of civilization) are diseases that appear to increase in frequency as countries become more industrialized and people live longer. They include Alzheimer’s disease, atherosclerosis, asthma, cancer, chronic liver disease or cirrhosis, Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease, Type 2 diabetes, heart disease, metabolic syndrome, nephritis or chronic renal failure, osteoporosis, acne, stroke, depression and obesity.
Wikipeidia
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 11:42 am
So if you stick with our assumption that the deaths and ages we are seeing the in the obits are more related to lifestyle deseases, than HIV/AID, then Wikipedia’s definition cannot be right, cause Barbados is indeed a civilized country. Yes?
me // January 16, 2009 at 12:12 pm
In todays Nation… it was made clear that one of the nurses said to have died by CBC is very much alive…
My sources also reveal that one of the nurses had cancer not AIDS
so clearly the report was not accurate!
Secondly it is a known fact in the medical circles to which im privy that bajans have a strong sense of denial with respcet to lifestyle diseases and the big CA cancer… hence the high rate of amputations, deaths from Diabetes an heart disease etc
I dont disagree that some people are dying from AIDS withoutb that cause being disclosed but it is a very big stretch to ASSUME that AIDs is the main cause of death in those people you saw in the paper considering the other prevalent diseases in BIM ( which btw also includes ASTHMA)
So you would have no problem is a TV sation in Boston announced that 3 of 75 Bajan nurses were sent home in body bags and that they could not pass their exams and that the current govt in say Boston had no intention of getting nurses from Barbados. If you say yes… you are indeed harsh and unfeeling…. But i guess thats just you!
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 1:01 pm
So you would have no problem is a TV sation in Boston announced that 3 of 75 Bajan nurses were sent home in body bags and that they could not pass their exams and that the current govt in say Boston had no intention of getting nurses from Barbados. If you say yes… you are indeed harsh and unfeeling…. But i guess thats just you
If it is all true. I would want to know about it. I cannot begin to empathize or sympathize, and more importantly work with the state government (in my neck of the wood) and with Barbadians authorities to repair and correct .
You are poor judge of what harsh and unfeeling is. I think it is more harsh and unfeeling to hush it up and not give anyone a chance to deal with it. Those who are not move to actions when so much wrong is clearly in need of being righted are to my mind the hars and unfeeling.
It is not a big stretch for me base on how i outline the statements and statistics I used to speculate as i have.
me // January 16, 2009 at 1:23 pm
what if your sister was one of the nurses singled out ? what if she was the one who had not died?
the other issue is do we know or care about the situation these same nurses face in Nigeria wehn they return home, it terms of the negative stigma attached to HIV…
I ma not sure if the crimminal deportees are announced on the TV
Carson C. Cadogan // January 16, 2009 at 1:28 pm
TELL ME WHY
“you being the devil’s advocate”
So that is how you see it. Almost everyone on this blog supporting Nigerian “nurses”, trashing Barbadian CBC and I am the only idiot supporting Barbadian CBC.
I maintain that these foreigners should not be working at the Queen Elizebeth Hospital in the first place taking away Barbadian jobs. Whatever happens to them happens to them and it must be revealed.
ROK // January 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm
AH
What makes you think that HIV/AIDS cannot now be classified as a lifestyle disease?
ROK // January 16, 2009 at 1:37 pm
TMW, why you wasting time with Carson. He is the only person marching in time. All others are marching out of time. LOL!
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 1:46 pm
me // January 16, 2009 at 1:23 pm
what if your sister was one of the nurses singled out ? what if she was the one who had not died?
the other issue is do we know or care about the situation these same nurses face in Nigeria wehn they return home, it terms of the negative stigma attached to HIV…
I ma not sure if the crimminal deportees are announced on the TV
Some one close to me died of Aids, and we never hid it, nor treated to them in a manner to cause them any suffering. We made it known for a number of reasons
1: Rumour and gossip only have legs when there is a concerted effor t to hide, deny and cover up.
2: To be a living demonstrations of all that the health authorites try to teach regarding, the contagiousness of HIV/Aids, to fight back agains discrimination, and becuase the bond of love was much stronger than the adversity afflicting the person.
3: The person used their ailment to be an example to the younger ones in the family, to follow best practices in relationships, hygene, etc.
I cannot be so concern about Nigeria to the point that i will allow foreign born workers in my space in the manner that sorrounds these Nigerians workers. Open up the process let us see and hear how they were vetted, what are they qualifications etc. This recent episode is but another blot on their presense here. I have not been accepting of them before and it will not change now.
If a relative of mine was reported as dead and was still much alive, I would first seek to correct the error, find out what lead to the error, determine if there is relief under the law (people must be held to account when they deliberately set to break it) and thats that.
B.T.W i use to date a sweet Vincy girl who is now a nurse at the QEH. LOL!
me // January 16, 2009 at 1:48 pm
Too easy….too too easy…LOL
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 2:20 pm
me // January 16, 2009 at 1:48 pm
Too easy….too too easy…LOL
Go for it Me! I am aware of what you might be attempting. I am skeptic first and foremost, and therefore I asked myself the question, “what and where is ME goin with these questions?” I came up with several answers. Lets continue. It’s all hypothetical anyway, if faced with a real situation there is no telling if my response would be so scripted. ha ha ha ha ha ha lol!
Adrian Hinds // January 16, 2009 at 2:33 pm
ROK // January 16, 2009 at 1:33 pm
AH
What makes you think that HIV/AIDS cannot now be classified as a lifestyle disease?
Oh nothing ROK absolutely nothing. It is now a matter of record how certain special interest groups have force changes and addition to AMERICAN JOURNAL OF PSYCHOLOGY and the American Medical journal.
As long as you can present and air-tight logically irriefutable agrument, Anything is possible. Yes? LOL!
Carson C. Cadogan // January 17, 2009 at 1:18 pm
ROK
“TMW, why you wasting time with Carson. He is the only person marching in time. All others are marching out of time. LOL!”
As you should know, the majority is not always right. They are so many historical examples of this.
Do you remember what happened when Pilate asked the Jewish crowd who do you want, Jesus or Barabas?
The majority replied, “Give us Barabas”.
Were they correct?
ROK // January 17, 2009 at 1:46 pm
CCC
Was it the majority that said Barabas or a few “cheer leaders” that incited the crowd?
ROK // January 17, 2009 at 1:52 pm
AH
I was not being sarcastic. It is a serious question. If after all the money spend on AIDS education, the conclusion is that Bajans have become fairly knowledgeable about AIDS, but yet their behaviour has not changed, does not lifestyle pose a problem?
Tell me Why // January 17, 2009 at 9:17 pm
As you should know, the majority is not always right. They are so many historical examples of this.
……………………………………………………….
Are you saying that the DLP with the majority seats ain’t always right?????
Just playing with your language CCC.
Ah just feel like vexing you.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 18, 2009 at 11:05 am
TELL ME WHY
DLP
We have to give them a chance.
Tell me Why // January 18, 2009 at 3:33 pm
I am here to give them a chance, but when hard core loyalist refuse to accept wrongs, then I have a fundamental problem. However, you see the CBC airing is being condemned by CMO and probably it might create problems in HIV funding. Don’t say you have not been warned.
Carson C. Cadogan // January 25, 2009 at 5:28 pm
“Find a legal way to end the Nigerian “nurses” contract after they walked the job at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital.”
“They are guests in Barbados and their behaviour was inappropiate and unacceptable. By walking all off the job the nurses may have endangered the lives of patients and that makes it unacceptable.”
Dr. Cynthia Degazon
I agree 100%.
What say you now,ROK, DAVID and others?
It is amazing to me that our CMO did not think it appropiate to comment on the endangerment of patients welfare by these Nigerians walking off the job. The CMO seemed to me to be more concerned about not revealing the aids status of the Nigerians.
CBC was absolutely right.