Submitted by Bush Tea
It seems to me that the real challenge being faced with this “global economic downturn” is not about good management ‘gone bad’, but rather, it is all about a new social and economic reality that has presented itself to this world.
This is a particularly dangerous situation, since it appears that our best managers (those who knew how to succeed in the old reality) now appear at a loss as to how to proceed and we all know what happens to the people where there is no vision….
The first to be exposed will of course be the speculative fields such as banking, insurance, real estate etc. What house in Barbados should be valued at $40 million dollars? And how does a 3 bedroom 2-bathroom home on 8,000 square feet of land get to have an asking price of 2 million?
Only because greedy speculators were allowed to impose their selfish will. Greedy managers over the last two decades manipulated the system to create ‘wealth’ for everyone (but especially themselves) by over valuing assets, ignoring risks, and breeching rules of common sense. These are supposed to be the people who are our ‘great Gurus of management’. However, as the old folks used to say, “Day does run ’til night catch it….”. All it took was one spoilsport ratings expert to blow his whistle, and the whole scheme is in rolling collapse.
Where Will It End?
The various multi billion dollar ‘bail-out’ plans being bandied about are quite laughable. No one even bothers to try to explain how these funds would address the fundamental problems faced (loss of confidence in the system and in the ‘experts’). These actions will clearly only serve to buy us a few more months, while pouring resources down into a bottomless pit.
Unfortunately, the world’s economic engines (like all pyramid schemes) were designed ONLY for forward motion (expansion). They do not work in an atmosphere of decline. Indeed, decline leads to and ever-accelerating decline (well… increasing deceleration I guess) in activities – bottoming only at the level of fairly basic trade…depression
The only difference between CLICO and most other similar companies is that they broke a basic common sense rule by having such disproportionately large deposits from a single depositor on their portfolio…(without appropriate conditions for withdrawal)
Most organisations that invested in real estate such as our beach lands will shortly find themselves similarly asset rich (on paper) and cash short, as creditors demand their funds while intended victims (sorry, I mean customers) default on million dollar condo and other property deals.
We all heard how well BNB was performing since OSA sold it. I wonder how much of that ’success’ is reflected in book value of questionable assets (such as the ABC expansion), which are largely figments of someone’s imagination.
Solving The Problem
The first thing that needs to be done to address this problem, both locally and globally, is to have a realistic revaluation of assets and an immediate write off of all fictional accounts. Someone has to pay for all the folly that went on in the last two decades. That someone should be the ‘fat cats’, who engineered the various schemes, the regulators who allowed them, and the governments who turned a blind eye. Stability would quickly return as honesty returns to the system.
Instead, these ‘bail out’ plans seem designed to maintain the fortunes of the very ones who raped and pillaged the system in the first place, by giving billions to these crooks in an effort, apparently, to convert the bogus assets into real value. What a stupid plan!!
…what a world !!!
Thank God that we are nearing the end of this nonsense.

41 responses so far ↓
Doom&Gloom // February 2, 2009 at 11:56 PM
“US President Barack Obama warns more banks are likely to fold, as the extent of their losses becomes clear.” (BBC World Service – 2 Feb. 2009.)
INDENTURED SERVANT // February 3, 2009 at 8:31 AM
This comment will hardly impress those who blog here but this is what it is:
what we are seeing is the Universe correcting itself. we ‘humans’ think we are oh so wise and rush forward with all sorts of schemes. NOTHING WRONG WID DAT. It’s just that we don’t plumb the blocks we lay, so the structure gets out of kilter … and falls.
Nothing unusual nor surprising.
Life goes on…..
Green Monkey // February 3, 2009 at 8:49 AM
Rawstory.com:
California, the eighth largest economy in the world, is broke.
Stephen C. Webster
Published: Monday February 2, 2009
California, the eighth largest economy in the world, is broke.
“People are going to be hurt starting today,” said Hallye Jordan, speaking on behalf of the state Controller. “There’s no money.”
Since state legislators failed to meet an end of January deadline on an agreement to make up for California’s $40 billion budget gap, residents won’t be getting their state tax rebates, scholarships to Cal Grant college will go unpaid, vendors invoices will remain uncollected and county social services will cease.
At least, temporarily. Services and payments will resume once state legislators come to an agreement on the budget.
“This time, there are real-world consequences,” said H.D. Palmer, spokesman for the California Department of Finance, in a report by KCRA in Sacramento. “Because we have not been able to get to a budget agreement, payments aren’t going to be made.”
SNIP
“Some 46 states face budget shortfalls, forcing them to slash funding for many services,” reported CNN. “But California, the largest state in the union by population, faces a deficit that totals more than 35% of its general fund.”
State lawmakers returned to the Capitol on Monday evening to continue budget negotiations.
http://rawstory.com/news/2008/California_goes_broke_halts_3.5_billion_0202.html
Rev. Dr. Dick Hertz // February 3, 2009 at 9:00 AM
Bush Tea
should we keep in mind the date Dec 21, 2012? Interestingly Pres. Obama has said that if his administration does not get this financial meltdown under control he will be a one term president – election due Nov, 2012!
see http://www.ourultimatereality.com
By the way, why is our Gov’t (Central Bank) putting $10 million in Clico just after it said that it was sound and there was nothing to worry about?
ROK // February 3, 2009 at 12:30 PM
Rev. Dr. Dick Hertz
How could you ask that question? $10M is a conservative figure. So long as the CLICO assets in T&T can’t cover the debt, it is expected that where ever CLICO has investments, that Governments would have to contribute to the bail out or the local company will lose their assets.
This is what I mean by giving people truthful answers. I do not think that if Government had said that CLICO Barbados will be affected and then further say that Government will contribute to the bail-out package, that citizens would panic. Having sold-out key assets, it is now their duty to save them from going under.
I invite you to read Speaking Up that speaks not only to CLICO, but also to LIME:
http://bangospeaks.blogspot.com
GBL Blog // February 3, 2009 at 12:54 PM
Well written Bush Tea. The fat cats are being bailed out because of the people affected by their failure, the regular folk. I’m all for watching them crash and burn but too many ‘innocents’ will suffer. Of course throwing money at it is a point of contention. It’s a lose lose, but at least you stay the execution doing it the bailout way.
You said thank God we’re nearing the end.. Were you being sarcastic? I think this crisis may have some legs on it yet..
Give this article a read.. A bit depressing if it were to ring true.. but it’s worth considering.
http://seekingalpha.com/article/113843-housing-where-is-the-bottom
ESTEBAN AGOSTO REID // February 3, 2009 at 1:33 PM
Well said Bush Tea!!?
Johnnie Too Bad // February 3, 2009 at 1:42 PM
Seems to me that no one is prepared to take responsibility for their actions anymore. If these fat cats riding around in their luxury cars and jets are prepared to take the fruits of their illgotten gain, why are they not prepared to take responsibilty for their mistakes. Why must governments the world over take the little people money to bail out these fat cats? Let them go to the wall. I see the government write off $19.2 million for the turf club, yet we now planning to go to Cuba to get money to repair our public library. Yet Clico was sound on Friday and by Monday $10 million was set aside for them. Yet there is hardly bed linen at QEH or toilet paper. Do these politicians take us for idiots?
Green Monkey // February 3, 2009 at 1:59 PM
Wildcat oil strikes: Europeans are finally waking up to the demise of democracy
Angry people across the EU are discovering the fine print in all the treaties signed by their leaders, says Janet Daley.
By Janet Daley
The peoples of Europe have finally discovered what they signed up to. I do mean “peoples” (plural) because however much political elites may deceive themselves, the populations of the member states of the EU are culturally, historically and economically separate and distinct. And a significant proportion of them are getting very, very angry.
What the strikers at the Lindsey oil refinery (and their brother supporters in Nottinghamshire and Kent) have discovered is the real meaning of the fine print in those treaties, and the significance of those European court judgments whose interpretation they left to EU obsessives: it is now illegal – illegal – for the government of an EU country to put the needs and concerns of its own population first. It would, for example, be against European law to do what Frank Field has sensibly suggested and reintroduce a system of “work permits” for EU nationals who wished to apply for jobs here.
Meanwhile, demonstrators in Paris and the recalcitrant electorate in Germany are waking up to the consequences of what two generations of European ideologues have thrust upon them: the burden not just of their own economic problems but also the obligation to accept the consequences of their neighbours’ debts and failures. Each country is true to its own history in the way it expresses its rage: in France, they take to the streets and throw things at the police, in Germany they threaten the stability of the coalition government, and here, we revive the tradition of wildcat strikes.
But the response from the EU political class is the same to all of these varied manifestations of resistance. Those who protest are being smeared with accusations of foolhardy protectionism or racist nationalism when they are not (not yet, anyway) guilty of either. It is not purblind nationalism, let alone racism, to resent the importation of cheap labour en masse when its conditions of employment (transport and accommodation provided, as seems to be the case at Lindsey) allow it to compete unfairly with indigenous workers. The drafting in of low-wage work gangs has always been seen as unjust: exploitative of the foreign workers, and destructive of the social cohesion of existing communities which, incidentally, is something about which the Tories say they are much exercised. So can the protesters expect their support
SNIP
In the grand abstract terms of the enlightenment, the legitimacy of government derives from the consent of the governed, and therefore no government should have the right to hand over its authority to some external body which is not democratically accountable to its own people. So when the framers of the EU arranged for the nations of Europe to do exactly that, they were repudiating the two centuries old political struggle for the rights and liberties of ordinary citizens, of government “of the people, by the people and for the people”. It has always been my view that this was a quite conscious decision by the EU founders who, in the wake of two world wars, came to believe that the infamous national crimes of the 20th century could be traced directly to the democratic revolutions of the 18th century, and that the only long-term solution to this was to replace democracy with oligarchy.
But there it is. And here we are, with a generation of European political leaders who almost all accept the terms in which their predecessors gave away the most important principle of that great democratic pact between a free people and its government. While times were good and there was enough prosperity to keep everybody distracted and happy, the loss went almost unnoticed except by a few persistent and despairing critics. Well, not any more. The American government may be committing itself to a policy that is economically unsound and even irresponsible, but its insistence on maintaining the compact with its own voters – on putting their concerns first – will at least ensure that democracy will survive there. I am not at all sure that will be true in Europe.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/comment/columnists/janetdaley/4424125/Wildcat-oil-strikes-Europeans-are-finally-waking-up-to-the-demise-of-democracy.html
Johnnie Too Bad // February 3, 2009 at 2:17 PM
With respect Mr. Green Monkey, I was given to understand that the Euro and price standardisation would have meant that all costs including labour would have been harmonised . It is therefore the fault of the political class that these things have not been done.
The free movement of goods, capital, people across the union is what was agreed, so why the complaints now with the benefit of hindsight?
Adrian Hinds // February 3, 2009 at 2:26 PM
Johnnie Too Bad. The European union would not have been agreed to were it not for parliamentary decree. In those countries where the people had a say by referendum vote, certain parts of the Union was defeated. So when you say it was agreed too, i have to ask by whom? Certainly not the people who are striking now. This is what will occur throughout the caribbean. Workers will flatly reject WUH DEM LYING POLITICIANS GET AGREE TO AMONGST THEMSELVES.
It is indeed the fault of the political class. Ask Mia. She will tell you it makes no sense legislating anything without the people behind you. true true.
Adrian Hinds // February 3, 2009 at 2:38 PM
Yuh know i am looking at what is occuring in Europe, and the US with the EthnoNationalism taking place, and i cannot get the esteemed INTERNATIONAL AND LOCAL EContoMISTs OUT OF MY MIND. I am calling for the Tarring and feathering of all such person in Barbados.
Johnnie Too Bad // February 3, 2009 at 2:40 PM
Adrian I can see we set for one hell of a bassa bassa here today. The people of the EU have been working out their method of harmonisation since the Treaty of Rome back in the sixties.Why predict trouble in the Caribbean when we have no chance of getting the CSME to work in any form. I saw a couple years ago a bank report that said it would take around US$300 million to set up the institutions of a CSME and to this day we cannot agree who will pick up the tabs, Nor will the politicians tell bajans that in the first analysis Barbados, Jamaica and Trinidad will be net exporters of funds to the CSME.
So please Adrian stop putting the cart before the horse. (By the way Adrian, I maybe non bajan, but that does not equate with white, ok my friend)
Adrian Hinds // February 3, 2009 at 2:54 PM
JtB i aint gine waste no time guessing who or what you are and if you don’t say and continue to make arguments that i think alines you with certain groups, I gine volunteer you fuh membership. ha ha haha lol! nuh skin off my back. Btw de way you sound like a free marketer/globalist/regionalist, tuh hell with nationalism kind uh guy. so i placing you in that group until you demonstrate otherwise.
BTW you are a guy right? cause since PiedPiper, I can’t figure out who is a he or she. ha ha ha h a
Johnnie Too Bad // February 3, 2009 at 3:07 PM
Adrian my good friend, I am a guy and not Piedpiperesque, No failure of me being a globalist or any other tag you chose to freely attach. I am strictly for the little people, I pay my taxes on time and I hate to see these cowboy politicians wasting my money on their friends and sugardaddies or paymasters.
Carlos // February 3, 2009 at 5:36 PM
Bush Tea:
You are so right in what you said in your opening statement, but, I doubt you really understand the serious implications, of this reality.
You said: “It seems to me that the real challenge being faced with the “global economic downturn” is not about good management ‘gone bad’ but rather, it is about a NEW SOCIAL and ECONOMIC REALITY that has presented itself to this world.” emphasis added.
Yes, my friend, this NEW SOCIAL and ECONOMIC REALTY, is real, real, real!
All carefully planned over the last 60 years or so, by the wicked, evil, ‘New World Order’ men, aluded to in God’s Word, the Bible.
I’ll quote an edited version of a brief, but concise series of articles I did a few years ago on ‘Setting the stage for World Government.”
“Globalization, North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), the General Agreement on Trade and Tariffs (GATT), World Trade Organization (WTO), European Union (EU), Caribbean Single Market and Economy (CSME); what do all of these catch-phrases really mean? Does it have any bearing on ‘Setting the Stage for World Government?”
Carl Ince, The Barbados Advocate, Sunday December 19, 2004, in his column, said:
“Objective analysis of the current situation…suggest that change will come sooner or later, not directly from our Parliment but through the courts national or international…”
This statement by Ince, was made in the context of the legislating of homosexuality and/or prostitution in this country; however it does have a much wider far reaching implication for the sovereignty of nation/states.
I will cite a few references from Dr. Grant Jeffrey’s book, “Surveillance Society, THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST.”
“This book is the result of over thirty five years of research involving thousands of books, articles, interviews with experts in intelligence, militay surveillance, and the study of Scriptures. (Acknowledgements, p.7).
“Jeffrey is internationally known as a leading teacher in Bible and Prophecy. In his introduction he states: ‘The world is on the verge of the greatest CRISIS in history. Jesus Christ warned that humanity would experience a ttemendous historical crisis just before He retuned to establish His kingdom. This CRISIS, he indicated, would produce an unprecebdented “great tribulation” such as was not since the beginning of the world to this time, no NOR EVER SHALL BE’ (Matt. 24:21).
“The prophets also warned that the most evil man in history would arise during this last generation and would be Satanically empowered to zeize political, economic, military, and religious control of the entire world’s population.’ (p.9).
This is no joking matter, as Jeffrey goes on to point out. “This book will examine the rapid development of a powerful world government that is eroding our national sovereignty and our cherished democratic values. We will investigate the development of a web of international treaties that are preparing the way for the virtual surrender of our national controlo over environment, our economy, our currency, our education, our immigration. Step by step, in the name of ‘Globalization’ and the demand of various United Nations agencies to harmonise our laws with other nations, our national sovereignty is being eroded…” Jeffrey goes on to correctly assert: The proud national sovereignty of western nations that allowed us to create a free enterprise economy with political and religious freedom is being surrendered by our modern political leaders.”
Whether you believe this or not, does not alter one bit the historic reality (present era) of the literal manifestation of what God’s prophets foretold would have.
Let us listen to Jeffrey as he unflds some of the facts from “The Report of the Commission on Global Governance.”
‘In 1991, a meeting of elite globalists in Stockholm, Sweden produced a manifesto entitled ‘Common Responsibility in the 1990s: The Stockholm Initiative on Global security and Governance. Many world leaders, including Dr. Boutros Boutros-Ghali (appointed as the Secretary General of the UN in 1992), endorsed this key planning document for the coming world government. Another report entitled, ‘Our Global Neighbourhood, the Report of the Commission of Global Governance’, by an indepenndent group of 28 global leaders, describes both the philosophy and the strategy to replace the present situation of fragmented and uncordinated national governments with a true world government…tis document illustrates the plans of those who wish to replace our present system of national sovereignty with a ‘New World Order’ under the popular catch-phrase of ‘global governance.’ (p.23).
A bit later, I’ll give more of this devastating plan for ‘One World Government’ from Jeffrey;s meticulous research on this evil, sinister agenda, and which the present unfolding world-wide, economic crisis, is no accident, for it is ALL part of the planned New World Order.
royalbblood // February 3, 2009 at 6:46 PM
I would say something that is very interesting . I only heard about the clico thing yesterday. A good friend of mind ask me to look at this DVD created in the 1980s in Which Garry Car show that the meltdown would happened and its the only way for Global Dominance. May i remind you that not all conspiracy theory are conspiracy , those who wants us to feel that way paint them as conspiracy if there is a germ of truth in the story . Am going to listen to the DVD now i let u all know my findings .. But if you get this guy book .. and if you read Revelation u will see clearly what is going on .
Peace
Watchman on the ground
JC // February 3, 2009 at 9:28 PM
NDENTURED SERVANT // February 3, 2009 at 8:31 am
This comment will hardly impress those who blog here but this is what it is:
what we are seeing is the Universe correcting itself. we ‘humans’ think we are oh so wise and rush forward with all sorts of schemes. NOTHING WRONG WID DAT. It’s just that we don’t plumb the blocks we lay, so the structure gets out of kilter … and falls.
Nothing unusual nor surprising.
Life goes on…..
————————————————
I am impressed by your comment!
another view // February 3, 2009 at 10:22 PM
what we are seeing is NOT the Universe correcting itself
what we are seeing is GOD begiining to correct the Universe ………..whether you like it or not
Anonymous // February 3, 2009 at 11:20 PM
Shupes
David // February 4, 2009 at 1:33 AM
It is unfortunate that our local media is bereft of any serious financial commentators. The fact that our insurance companies are regulated by the office of Supervisor of Insurance should start to worry Barbadians. Compared to the resources at the command of the Central Bank we should be very concern given the complex financial arena.
BTW did BU family listen to Supervisor of Insurance on the radio Sunday Carlos Belgrave compared to Director of Bank Supervision at the Central Bank?
Ecoanalyst // February 4, 2009 at 3:30 AM
We now live in a globalized world whether we like it or not…. everything and everyone is interrelated in some way. “All are involved, All are consumed!”
The world’s financial systems have been out of control for years. The economies are globalized, but the financial systems are not therefore there are few stringent central rules and controls. This has allowed for the financial pollution spawned mainly in the USA to affect institutions around the world.
The problem in this “Globalized World”, is that no entity or government is in control of the system and since there is little trust in many of the “derivatives” or bundled financial products that are circulating, there will be a worldwide slowdown that will last for many years.
Many feel that this has been a planned breakdown of world economies to force worldwide financial integration. It is believed that the people and entities who have created and sold the junk finances are now rich… and will now be richer as they “show” the governments how to get out of the financial minefields they have created. Others say it is all about greed and deception.
Closer to home… CLICO is just an example of a company that had too many subsidiaries doing business with each other and ratcheting up their bottom lines. This looks great in good times… but in a collapsing market it spells disaster… like any Ponzi scheme. Like in the USA, where the governments are bailing out banks and companies, the mantra is “We cannot allow them to fail… as it would affect the overall business and economy. We shall see where this all leads to.
There is no doubt that the real estate markets in the region will decline. It is also a fact that declining prosperity worldwide and especially in Europe – weak Pound and Euro – will affect tourism, condo sales and real estate values in general. We will be seeing DEFLATION in many markets to levels where they should be if the insane bidding up of prices in the last 15years had not occurred. Maybe now Bajans will be able to afford a house… that is if you have a job… as only Government jobs may be somewhat secure… that is if the Government will have money to pay their employees as their tax base eventually deteriorates e.g. California.
Economic collapses have happened in the past but they were localized. The Savings and Loan crisis of the 1989’s and the Dot-Com meltdown in 2000 affected mostly US investors. No stringent controls were instituted in the USA after these events, so the speculators were emboldened and now we have a situation where many of the same actors have polluted the world’s financial systems worthless financial instruments for personal gain. They then send the US government a “Ransom note”, which they will pay to prevent worldwide economic collapse.
It would be interesting to see how this all turns out… However, I think things will get worse as they find out the real depth of the ripoff… reported by some as some 60 trillion US$. The loss of faith in financial instruments and financial reporting will affect stocks, mortgages etc and we are in for some hard times ahead. Buckle up!
Or maybe it really does not matter as December 21, 2012 will be the end anyway!!! Google it !!
The Rev O Glenville Butler // February 4, 2009 at 6:46 AM
Listen to God – like Noah, who floated his stocks (human resources) and shares (gilt edge) when every body else went bankrupt
Anonymous // February 4, 2009 at 7:42 AM
Carlos Belgrave is a BLP appointee who does not have a clue about what to do as supervisor of insurance.
The danger of the owen arthur administration will emerge as time goes by but it is up to the DLP to speak to the public about it.
One of owen legacy in additionto giving out large sums of the taxpayer’s money to his friends in dubious contracts and consultancies,has been the appopintments of BLP operatives and lackey’s to key position despite the fact that these people were clearly not qualified to hold the position.
Equity // February 4, 2009 at 10:47 AM
What has supervision of insurance companies have to do with politics? Anonymous, do you have any idea of Belgrave’s training and experience? Any idea what insurance supervision entails? Any idea about anything at all?
another view // February 4, 2009 at 10:53 AM
@ Rev Butler
What nonsense!
Listen to God yes most certainly because he is telling us that the final meltdown as predicted in Revelation 17&18 is indeed very possible. But Noah didn’t float any stocks or shares. Noah simply obeyed God and God delivered him from the judgment of the flood. The final meltdown as predicted in Revelation 17&18 will also be a judgement for man’s greed , avarice and sin.
Some of you wont like what I have said above, but its clear that everything is going to happen just as predicted.
Globalisation and financial meltdowns worldwide will prepare the ideal circumstances for the rise of antichrist as declared in 2 Thessalonians 2.
Adrian Hinds // February 4, 2009 at 11:41 AM
The financial sector in Switzerland — which accounts for 15 percent of the country’s GDP, comprised 6 percent of the entire labor force in 2008 and made up roughly 40 percent of its current account surplus in 2007 — has been rocked to its very core by the global financial crisis. Even prior to the current credit crunch, Credit Suisse and the Swiss giant UBS — which is the world’s largest wealth manager — were hit by the initial U.S. subprime crisis, with UBS eventually receiving a government bailout of around US$66 billion in October 2008.
—————————————–
Just thought i would throw the above in the mix. It’s relevance to mind is it’s size, it’s importance to the economy where it is headquartered, the troubles it found its self in, and Government’s response. What is taking place in Barbados re. CLICO Barbados and the GoB response, seems reasonable and understandible to me.
The other but lesser relevance is to the approach of SOME bajan “White-shadows” regarding naming Black Barbadians labled as “BLP OPERATIVES” in a letter to UBS.
The internet and anonoumous blogs are being used to pummel the names of Black barbadians and conspicuously missing is any names of White Barbadians. If you can name a person in the foreign service, a retire BLP parliamentarian, why is there no mention of a certain former senator, former minister of health, former Technology consultant to the Government in the prime minister’s office who just happens to be white? why?
Adrian Hinds // February 4, 2009 at 12:08 PM
[quote]
Williams said: “I cannot understand why it should be queried that the institution is not as strong as we feel it is . . . Something that has been intended to be positive is being construed to be other than positive.”
Govenor of The Barbados Central bank
http://www.nationnews.com/story/328432055131939.php
Maid Marion I do understand why, and i feel you do too, but it wouldn’t be prodent for you to say. Today for the first time in my life i will go and purchase a RED-SHIRT and wear it in soladarity with all those persons whose names appear on one of three Bajan blogs believed to operated by bajan White-shadows, until they are removed or reflects all BLP operativee regardless of their skin color. It is about color so a red shirt seems appropiate to me.
big eyes // February 4, 2009 at 1:49 PM
lord have mercy mercy mercy now we will all be similar to haiti equality for haiti at last
Adrian Hinds // February 4, 2009 at 1:55 PM
big eyes // February 4, 2009 at 1:49 pm
lord have mercy mercy mercy now we will all be similar to haiti equality for haiti at last
==========================
How so BIG EYES???? What can you SEE that I can’t?????
Carlos // February 4, 2009 at 9:52 PM
Picking up from where I left off yesterday evening, ‘Setting the Stage for World Government” citing from Grant Jeffrey’s intense research over 35 years, and the hidden agenda behing NAFTA; GATT; WTO; EU; and CSME, all of which are just microcosm’s in varying degrees of the ultimate ‘One World Government’ and is literally unfolding before our very eyes, day by day, as Prophesied in God’s Word, the Bible, the coherence of which is confirmed by the sequence of world wide events and crisis, ALL converging at an unprecedented rate.
It is really myopic to be too focused on our Central Bank and the Supervisor of Insurance re Clico, for while I do understand the concern of others for our national interest, it is, nevertheless, some what analogous to the ‘needle’ in the haystack, B’dos being the ‘needle’ with America and the other big economies being the ‘haystack’ which is crumbling piece by piece, and the external, though ever present force, Almighty God is trying to get our attention, to come back to Him, and many of us are focusing on our ‘little’ needle, (B’dos) which without God’s help simply will not make it!
As Dr. Grant Jeffrey, states:
“Despite the rise and fall of countless empires throughout history, there has never been a true world government, as we begin the new millennium, the elite globalists are moving behind the scenes to create one. The rising power of the United Nations (UN), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Trade Organization (WTO), and World Court (WC), are moving us quickly beyond the days of national sovereignty and politically independent nations.”
Most citizens of the western democratic world, treasure and appreciate the free enterprise system, notwithstanding its inherent failures and shortcomings. Therefore, the globalists must of necessity, have and promote some covert rational anseer to the many who see through and oppose this concept. Or a Jeffrey says:
“One of the most effective aerguments of globalists in favor of world government, is their claim that hundreds of millions of deaths due to the horrific conflicts of two world wars, and the history of international warfare over the last several centuries, shows the absolute necessity of eliminating the ‘nation states’ that have fought these wars. They argue that if there were ‘no’ nations, then war will become almost impossible.” Jeffrey then goes on to correctly point out that, “While this sounds reasonable, a closer examination reveals the flaw in such thinking. There are at present far more violent and deadly civil wars that are being fought today ‘within’ the borders of nations than international wars.”
The man who in most recent times pushed and promoted the concept of a ‘New World Order’ was none other than former President George Bush. On this Jeffrey writes:
“On september 11, 1991, former President George Bush announced to Congress that he was working to create a ‘New World Order’, Bush subsequently used the term ‘New World Order’ more than 200 hundred times in his speeches. However, noting the growing opposition to world government from patriotic citizens, who began to realize the true implications for American democracy, Bush’s National Security Advisor, Bret Scowcroft, persuaded Bush to refrain from alerting the public abot what the New World Order really meant.”
That this ‘New World Order’ must be brought about clandestinely, is again demonstrated by what the powerful Democratic Senator, Alan Cranston, from California, who was at one time the President of United World Federalists, said. Jeffrey quotes:
“Cranston declared, ‘I believe deeply in the need for world law…I believe in the concept of federalism on the world scale.” Jeffrey then asserts: “However, Senator Cranston also realized they could only achieve their goals of world government by stealth, rather than through open debate and demoncracy. In an interview to Transition magazine, published by the Institute for World Order, Senator Cranston admitted, ‘The more we talk about world government, the less chance of achieving it, because it frightens people who would not accept the concept of world law.”
A New World Order will ultimately and inexorably lead to political, economic, and religious slavery for all of us; and that is where we are heading with the present economic crisis.
Former British Prime Minister, Margaret Thatcher, expressed her deep concern and clear perception on this sinister ‘New World Order’ in the context of the European Union in these words:
“It would be the greatest abdication of national and political sovereignty in history.”
Because of her stance and outspokenness, she was overthrown by Sir Geoffrey Howe, the Deputy Prime Minister, as Jeffrey says:
‘…because her patriotic pro-British stance stood in the way of the UK’s enthusaistic entry into the European super state. Howe admitted that the plans for the formation of the European super state were originally created following the end of World War II.”
This sinister ‘New World Order’ is not to be doubted, but obviously still not grasped by many, including some benevolent, well-meaning leaders of democratic, free enterprise countries, as this deception is essentially ’spiritual’ in nature, and not intellectual.
This ominous, evil ‘New World Order’ that will usher in the Anti-Christ World Government, is foretold in God’s Word, the Bible. Jeffrey mentions a statement made by the great scientist Sir Isaac Newton in a book called ‘Observations on the Prophecies of Daniel and the Apocalypse of St. John, he wrote:
“And the giving ear to the prophets is a fundamental character of the true church. For God so ordered the prophecies that in the latter days ‘the wise may understand, but the wicked shall do wickedly, and none of the wicked shall understand.” (Daniel. 12: 9-10).
The Lord Jesus Christ spoke of those who would ignore the prophecies about His return. He said:
“O fools, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken.” (Luke. 24:25).
The planning of this New World Order, and One World Government, has been going on for a long time. On this Jeffrey goes on to point out:
“The Council on Foreign Relations was established following World War I in an attempt by the elite groups controlling the financial and political life in the United States, to make sure that the future foreign policy of America followed their interest. This was carefully organized by people in the State Department building key relationships in Britain and Europe with similar one world government mind-sets.”
Council on Foreign Relations.
The composition of the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR), is described by Jeffrey this way:
“The list of major weel-known media personnel that are members of the (CFR) is staggering. Many of the well-known major American media people have been members of this secret group for decades. There is an interlocking membership involving the Trilateral Commission (TC), the (CFR), international banking and manufacturing corporations, high military positions, powrrful State Department diplomats, and White House cabinet officials. Very few people make it into the inner circles of true power in Washington unless they have first served as members of the CFR or the Trilateral Commission.”
Others with an alert perception of what is unfolding are not afraid to speak out, as Jeffrey reports:
“The Manchester Union Leader ran an editorial during the 1979 presidential primaries that warned about the Trilateral Commission: ‘It is clear that this group of extremely powerful men is out to control the world.”
Jeffrey goes on to emphasise that:
“The Council on Foreign Relations is committed to the elimination of existing national boundaries and the merging of all nation states into a powerful world government. Members of the CFR and their globalist allies in other key nations have shaped the economic, foreign and defense policies of the United States, Britain, France, Canada, Japan, and Germany for the last 50 years.”
“The move towards a New World Order, is no accident. Every single move has been meticulously planned by these secret groups. It is time to wake up and realize where they are taking our nations, our democratic rights, and our freedoms. Thye purpose of the Trilateral Commission and the CFR is to quietly infiltrate the decision-making bodies of governments, education, business, the military and the media, to consciously influence the key leaders to adopt the ‘globalist’ philosophy of the ‘New World Order.’ The whole process depends on networking at the most sophisticated level.”
When I first started to study and learn of this 25 years ago, I never doubted the reality of what God’s Word prophesied,
but, I never thought it would unfold in my life time as rapidly as it has, especially over the last seven to eight years.
No doubt, many, if not the majority, will deny what is happening, even some Christians; looking and hoping that their leaders, politicians, economist, educators, et al., will through secular wisdom, find a solution; utter folly and deception will reign in the hearts of most; this is why so many in the States and world wide have placed their ‘hope’ of change in Obama; he CANNOT change a thing, in fact he is a ‘glimmer’ of the ultimate Anti-Christ person, who is presently alive, waiting in the wings, for the right moment in time to make his appearance, but the time is not yet right, the economic ‘crisis’ has to develop more, this is only the tip of the iceberg, waite until later in 09, into 2012, men’s heart will fail them for ‘fear’ as Christ said it would.
But, there is hope,the blessed hope, in the ONLY One who has the ultimate answer, none other than THE LORD JESUS CHRIST, who alone can give peace, calm, in the midst of terrible ‘Tribulation’ that is, and will continue unfolding in these distressing times.
The scoffers will no doubt continue scoffing, and mocking at His Word; you have no idea what you are rejecting, but you will soon find out!
J // February 5, 2009 at 12:50 AM
Dear Carlos you can’t make it short and sweet? Look this is how the Bible does it “Our Father, who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy name, thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven, give us this day our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive them that trespass against us, and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil, for thine is the kingdom the power and the glory for ever and ever. Amen. (only 70 words)
J // February 5, 2009 at 12:53 AM
Or
“there are 2 great commandments, the first is
Love God.
The second is Love thine neighbour (see only 16 words which tell us most of what we need to know about Christianity)
See short can be very sweet
Not Saved // February 5, 2009 at 1:39 AM
“Dr” Grant Jeffery also wrote a book called “The Millennium Meltdown”.
From the cover,
“The lights will go out where the computers that run the electric power grid fail to make the transition to the next century. Many government agencies and businesses will be unable to function as their essential computer programs either shut down or produce false data. The failure to correct this massive problem before the Year 2000 deadline will threaten jobs, our food, and our finances.
Virtually every part of our complex society is vulnerable because every system is interlinked with sophisticated computers. The Year 2000 Crisis will be the most devastating and expensive problem in history. This crisis may set the stage for the coming world government that was prophesied to arise in the last days. In light of the overwhelming danger from the Year 2000 Crisis, it is essential that we learn how to protect our family, our homes, and our finances from the approaching danger.
The Millennium Meltdown will document the extent of the computer collapse and how dramatically this will impact your life. This book will outline practical strategies to protect your family from the greatest technological crisis in our lifetime.”
seems like “dr” Jeffrey is not so good at predicting the future.
LOL
oh by the way, his PhD, its not from an accredited institution but I suspect most people here already guessed that.
J // February 5, 2009 at 7:58 AM
Bush Tea wrote “What house in Barbados should be valued at $40 million dollars? And how does a 3 bedroom 2-bathroom home on 8,000 square feet of land get to have an asking price of 2 million? Only because greedy speculators were allowed to impose their selfish will.”
Dear Bush Tea:
I put it to you that the speculators did not IMPOSE their selfish will on us. I put it to us that we WILLINGLY lay down and let them scr*w us.
JC // February 5, 2009 at 8:42 AM
J // February 5, 2009 at 7:58 am
Bush Tea wrote “What house in Barbados should be valued at $40 million dollars? And how does a 3 bedroom 2-bathroom home on 8,000 square feet of land get to have an asking price of 2 million? Only because greedy speculators were allowed to impose their selfish will.”
Dear Bush Tea:
I put it to you that the speculators did not IMPOSE their selfish will on us. I put it to us that we WILLINGLY lay down and let them scr*w us.
————————————————–
J you aint easy ha haha ha ha !
Carlos // February 6, 2009 at 12:15 AM
Not Saved:
Your attempt to discredit Grant Jeffrey by referring to his book, ‘The Millennium Meltdown’ is ludicrous, as NO one, not even the most brilliant minds in the computer world, could say for sure, that what not only Jeffrey, but many others also said, ‘could happen’ thankfully, did not happen.
As you quoted, Jeffrey said:
“The year 2000 crisis ‘MAY BE’ the most devastating and expensive problem in history.”
And Yes, millions of others also felt this way; even Airline Captains, were unsure if the ‘computers’ would fail during flights, every one was unsure and scared.
As Jeffrey said: “This crisis ‘MAY SET’ the stage for the coming world government.”
Well it didn’t, at that time, but the indepth research presented in ‘Surveillance Society: THE RISE OF ANTICHRIST’, is so coherently connected and linked together with ‘facts’ not myth, especially confirming the series of world wide events alluded to in the Bible, regarding the ‘End time’ events, all of which are vividly unfolding before of very lives; that only a ‘fool’ would disregard such evidence, that simply cannot be refuted, it can be denied, but not refuted by any honest, clear thinking person!
Not Saved // February 6, 2009 at 12:24 AM
Actually Jeffrey said,
“The Year 2000 Crisis WILL BE the most devastating and expensive problem in history.”
LOL
You are in typical form
Anyone not sharing your viewpoint is a “fool” and your opinions apparently “cannot be refuted” by any “honest, clear thinking person”
Keep posting, it is entertaining
Not Saved // February 6, 2009 at 12:30 AM
And I just quoted the cover, you should see the complete nonsense inside the book !
Carlos // February 6, 2009 at 9:34 PM
Not Saved:
Keep reading the nonsense, and also believing ALL of the other nonsense that you already subscribe to!
Jean // May 30, 2009 at 11:19 PM
…