Today Barbadians heard the sad news that the leading media house in Barbados, The Nation Group of Companies has taken the decision to lay-off 28 employees. It is interesting that only a few days after One Caribbean Media (OCM) declared unprecedented profits one of its subsidiaries would brazenly send home Barbadians. After a few years of gouging itself at the expense of Barbadians and others across the Caribbean the Board of OCM has decided that protecting its shareholders is paramount even if the prevailing economic conditions are unforgiving for those tossed out on the breadline. We will write more on this issue soon.
The female in the BU household has insisted that we raise the matter of Scharon Millington the former popular host of Voice of Barbados’ (VOB) Afternoon Delight program. We were surprised to learn a couple weeks ago in response to a caller to Getting Down To Brass Tacks the host Dennis Johnson indicated that Scharon Millington had parted ways with the company. We would have thought given the popularity of Millington the management of VOB would have felt obligated to use gentle public relations to inform her fans.
The BIG question we pose to big-muhguffy Vic Fernandes: Was Millington fired, persuaded to leave or did she resign?
BU sources suggest that Scharon Millington got involved in an accident down by the riverside and had to be on leave for an extended period. The latest and surprising news we have is that she was sent home. How is it that one of their most popular radio personalities could have been sent home?
On a related note, we heard the glee from VOB’s management this morning announcing that it had the exclusive rights to broadcast the finals of the secondary athletics event staged at the National Stadium today (20/3/2009). It is regrettable that the premier amateur athletic event has to become embroiled in a tug-a-war between competing media houses because of the politics of money. This particularly regrettable when one considers that broadcasting the event on TV would have been the desirable option for Barbadians.
It might appear to some that we beat-up on VOB and the Nation newspaper more than others, that perception would be correct. If we are to believe the several surveys, the Nation newspaper and VOB represent the significant media marketshare controlled by the OCM Group in Barbados. Such a large concentration of ownership commits them to being a responsible corporate entity.
Now that VOB’s Chief Operating Officer Alex McDonald has packed it in to move on to the LIME gravy train as Country Manager; are we to believe the murmur that Vioma Ali is on a very short list to assume the vacant COO post?

146 responses so far ↓
Tell me Why // March 20, 2009 at 9:53 PM
David of BU.
I have to take you up on the issue of VOB broadcasting the School Sports. Do you know that VOB or CBC cannot dictate the broadcasting of this event, it is the management of the the event. As I see it, this decision was based on having the stadium filled, and it would not have happened with ‘live’ CBC broadcast. As a matter of fact, this is the first time that the stadium was filled to capacity. Pure economics in this episode David.
Anonymous // March 20, 2009 at 10:34 PM
VOB is a very nasty place.
Why would they want to promote veoma ali after her nasty,destructive behaviour.
Seems like david ellis is doomed to remain a man/boy or a junior/senior in that place.
VOB is no longer the leading station.CBC is now beating them in most time slots.
I am sure if harold hoyte was still at the nation he would not have sent home so many employees.
Ann gittens is the worst thing that ever happened to the Nation newspaper.
Wuh? // March 21, 2009 at 2:02 AM
You got your facts right?
School sports are managed by miserable, difficult people who are horrible to work with.
Jeff Broome, the Jordan woman et al (Mathew Farley?) are downright pains in the backside. One can see them placing unecessary hurdles in the way of live broadcasts.
Showing the sports live is a win win all around. A huge chunk of the population including parents and shut ins cherish the live sports featuring the maligned youth engaged in healthy positive competition.
Its churlish and wicked that its stopped. CBC cannot be blamed in this case.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 4:01 AM
Tell me Why // March 20, 2009 at 9:53 pm
“As I see it, this decision was based on having the stadium filled, and it would not have happened with ‘live’ CBC broadcast.”
I guess this would explain why it was carried “live”on VOB (radio) and not on CBC (radio)?
Granting exclusive rights to broadcast the finals had nothing to do with filling the stadium.
General Lee // March 21, 2009 at 4:11 AM
Starcom’s continued willingness to use every single event as an opportunity to earn advertising revenue is sickening and will eventually run listeners.
I wonder if CBC has the exclusive rights to broadcast the finals of the primary schools.
David // March 21, 2009 at 6:44 AM
The matter of broadcasting the finals probably has to do with the sponsors of the event.
@General Lee
CBC has announced that it will be broadcasting the Primary School finals. Not sure if it is exclusive.
Neutral Observer // March 21, 2009 at 6:56 AM
Scharon Millington was the worst thing on the radio. I’m surprised she lasted as long as she did.
199 // March 21, 2009 at 7:14 AM
They’ve still some way to go to achieve civilised behaviour then, Dave!!
Did somebody mention “first world status”?!!
LOL!!
David // March 21, 2009 at 7:25 AM
Who are the 28 people sent home? Are these retired people? Are these young people stating careers? Is it a combination of the two?
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 8:08 AM
Paul mayers from the sports Dept at vob,Adonijah,Damian,etc
Sylvan Greenidge // March 21, 2009 at 8:30 AM
And while more Barbadians head off to the breadline Thompson and his clan are on TV talking a lot of foolishness in the estimates debates about a “people centered government”, whatever the hell that means, that is supposed to look after them.
He said Barbadians should rap their hopes in the national flag and that his government would take care of them.
When you extract the pretty talk, when you eschew the fanciful vernacular, the political bullshit that falls from Thompson mouth the reality on the ground is that Barbadians are losing their jobs in a fashion similar to that of the early 1990s. Barbadians are about to relive the dark days of the early 1990s.
That Starcom could let go 28 employees, as has been done at so many other private companies even though the Prime Minister has been begging them not to say a number of things about Thompson. 1. Nobody takes Thompson seriously. 2. The business community in this country has no confidence that Thompson can rescue this ailing economy and will therefore not hold on to staff and compromise their dwindling profit margins in an environment where the Government is sending mixed signals and demonstrating a clear lack of competence on the economy.
In December 2008 Thompson told Barbadians all is well go out and spend. By March 2009 he was saying hold strain. Quite similar to what you heard with respect to Clico. One minute you heard that Clico was safe, well regulated and financially sound. The next minute we heard that Clico’s cash cow, Clico Life would be going up for sale.
The frequent ease with which Thompson blows hot and cool on every matter he has to deal in this country has lead to the erosion of investor’s confidence in our economy. Thompson has created an environment of uncertainly in this country that will result in a repeat of the economic disaster of the early 1990s.
Sadly the persons who will suffer worse in such a climate fear and uncertainty are the poor and vulnerable, the workings class who the DLP claims it is protecting.
Wishing In Vain // March 21, 2009 at 8:46 AM
That is why shared so many lashes to your leader and to the former leader in his wrap up yesterday.
Your leader of the opposition is a babbling, brainless, jackass that your former leader made minced meat out of on Thursday to the point that she was made to look a complete idiot in the Prime Minister’s wrap comments some were asking for an ambulance to take it to the hospital it was heard being said that it is against the law for an ambulance to move a political dead and that they ought to call Two Sons Funeral Home.
The former PM went down a path to destroy the interim leader and that he did in his own way, but more importantly he made it known that he was correcting her presentation, how funny is that ??
Then we saw the fiasco of desperation at its very lowest for the two of them to quote from nonsense documents, well, well, well how low can you get for power??
Mottley you are the worst, you are a sad excuse for a person, really you are.
Wishing In Vain // March 21, 2009 at 8:58 AM
Any food in Parliament today Greenidge?
You and Bovell waiting there for your breakfast ,lunch and dinner today?
David // March 21, 2009 at 9:03 AM
Isn’t there a blog two below which deals with politics?
Carson C. Cadogan // March 21, 2009 at 9:03 AM
I have always maintained that in the Business arena, Barbados is a strange place.
There is no doubt that payroll cost to any company is a big expense. Therefore at the end of the financial year if the company breaks even, makes little profit or no profit at all the Directors and Management may take the decision to, among other cost cutting measures, make certain positions redundant in an effort to improve the overall financial picture of the company. Fair enough.
What we are seeing in Barbados however is companies on the one hand making healthy profits and on the other hand jettisoning the same members of staff who assisted them in achieving their budgeted profits.
It just does not compute.
Carson C. Cadogan // March 21, 2009 at 9:08 AM
Unless there is more in the mortar than the pestle.
David // March 21, 2009 at 9:34 AM
@CCC
We were wondering the same thing, maybe this is not about the harsh economic times but more about another Pan-caribbean company like LIME and others rationalising resources.
In the case of Barbados it doesn’t endear the group to government if they are looking for a TV license. Harold Hoyte ho do you feel sitting on the OCM Board?
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 11:49 AM
Neutral Observer // March 21, 2009 at 6:56 am
Scharon Millington was the worst thing on the radio. I’m surprised she lasted as long as she did.
I know it’s only subjective, but to be fair, the lady kept it real and that’s the thing I most appreciated about her. Surely the ‘worst thing’ on the radio would have to be that Cupid character. Wish he would just shut up and play the music and why they even dare let him near a news script is baffling. It’s obvious the young lady was becoming too popular with her unique style and people imaybe including her employers were just waiting to ‘pop’ her down. Whether she gave them just cause to do it, or whether she was unfaired is the question.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 11:51 AM
btw, I hope she’s moved on to bigger and better things. I think she has good potential and needs to pursue it vigorously.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 11:53 AM
btw, i hope she’s moved on to bigger and better things. She has good potential even if she might not realise, and she owes it to herself to pursue that potential vigorously.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 11:53 AM
btw, i hope she’s moved on to bigger and better things. She has good potential even if she might not realise, and she owes it to herself to pursue that potential vigorously.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 11:57 AM
sorry for the multiple posts. i don’t like her THAT much.
David // March 21, 2009 at 12:08 PM
We understand that VOB has been the laughing stock on the CBC 900 radio because VOB had no journalists present at the historic game played under the lights at Kensington last night.
Bonny Peppa // March 21, 2009 at 12:19 PM
Neutral Observer
I agree wid you 1000%.Sharon Millington was as false as my two plates a ‘false-teet’. Wah keep it real wah. And she use to sicken me when she talking ’bout she otha half, one Shawn or sumting so. Sickening.
But we don’t know if she was fired, resigned or on ’study-leave’.
CBC is leading in listenership by far for a long time now. Doan mind de jokers down by de river. Dem cud open dah own circus. Dah won’t be short a clowns fa sure.
Did they announce when Patrick Gollop was dismissed? Can’t remember.
Vivian Gittens is anotha ’square peg in a round hole’ den? My,my,my.
What will they think of nex?
Wishing In Vain // March 21, 2009 at 12:35 PM
David did you attend the game last night it was a great evening we saw that it was possible to fill the oval even if not for a test match of 50 overs match, my understanding is the management team will be asked to put on a min of 20 event such as this game every year.
Last evening was a wonderful evening also to note that these $ 100.00 admissions may need to be reviewed last night may have sent that message.
A really great evening at cricket under the lights, the same lights that were missing at the time of CWC, we all remember the fiasco that was CWC.
How times have changed a NEW Government a NEW Minister a new thought process, some would suggest it is only now that thought has been a feature of Tourism.
Bonny Peppa // March 21, 2009 at 12:50 PM
Anonymous,
ya got ma crying. ya bad.
“why they ever dare let a news script near him is baffling’.
Dat is a classic. I luvs um badddddddd.
I refer to him as Stupid-Cupid.
Like you say, ‘play de music and shut ‘cha trap, clown”.
livinginbarbados // March 21, 2009 at 1:11 PM
@Sylvian Greenidge
Think about what you wrote:
“That Starcom could let go 28 employees, as has been done at so many other private companies even though the Prime Minister has been begging them not to say a number of things about Thompson. ”
Does not lead to,
“1. Nobody takes Thompson seriously. 2. The business community in this country has no confidence that Thompson can rescue this ailing economy and will therefore not hold on to staff and compromise their dwindling profit margins in an environment where the Government is sending mixed signals and demonstrating a clear lack of competence on the economy.”
It shows clearly that private enterprises are not government departments or political playthings that move at the whim of ministers. A business should know what makes sense for it. Governments try to seem ‘powerful’ by associating themselves with business activity, when they know neither the details nor the real objectives. Four Seasons is a great case in point.
If you believe that a politician saying anything about a private company’s or the private future then you stand to be fooled often.
As they say in Jamaica. Nuttun na go so.
Anonymous // March 21, 2009 at 1:20 PM
A whole lot more need to go from starcom like michael brown,natalie peters,the whole lot at gospel 95.5,veoma ali, and others too numerous to mention.
BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 1:21 PM
In Barbados, the one that I would like to live in, I believe the right and proper thing to do would be for senior management, the Donald Austins (now transferred), the Alex McDonalds, the Oliver Jordans, the Vic Fernandes, the Vivian Gittens and so on to take temporary cuts in pay and preserve jobs in the interest of maintaining a viable market place for Barbadian operations. (Sorry this is difficult but I can’t hold it in)…
HA HA HA HA AHA HAAAAAAA HA HA MURDAH… ma belly…!
sylvan // March 21, 2009 at 1:23 PM
The Nation’s motto says it “cares”. We now know what the Nation really cares about. Big profits! Not people! After its Trinidad parent company boasted a few days before of higher profits, the Nation showed how much it cares by sending home staff. Shame! Shame!
Mecca // March 21, 2009 at 1:32 PM
@WIV
A really great evening at cricket under the lights, the same lights that were missing at the time of CWC, we all remember the fiasco that was CWC.
………………………………………………………..
How can we forget. Was Owen there last night? He is a big cricket gully boar with he vertically challenged self. No sign either of Mr. finest hour Noel Muscle Mary Lynch or DeCaires. The heavy boys and wannabees were in fancy boxes in W’s stand so dont know if they were up there. Kudos to gob for installing lights and organizing game. It was pretty special last night at the mecca.
David // March 21, 2009 at 1:34 PM
@livinginbarbados
We have all heard the argument about private sector this and that but yet when we look around the world today who is bailing who? Yes government i.e.taxpayers dollars seem to be in demand. Back to the point. Head of the Nation Group has indicated that because of slowing economic times they have to send home people. After a look at its 2008 performance what is your view? Could they action be considered premature? Could it be that a Barbados company as it was in former years might have factored people going home? After all the Nation was considered a family buisness when Harold Hoyte was at the helm. Now OCM will no doubt be leveraging its low cost model based in T&T. Sound familiar? Lets get real!
sylvan // March 21, 2009 at 1:38 PM
Sylvan Greenidge, it is a pity that my name is also Sylvan. But I am a Sylvan of a different kind. A proud Sylvan. Why are you biting the hand that once fed you? Have you forgotten how nice Thompson was to you in the past, even though you did not deserve it? Your problem is that you have been unemployed since the BLP was kicked out and have no marketable skills to stand on your feet. It baffled a lot of people why Owen Arthur appointed you as his press secretary. What was your experience? Where did you get your training? Owen Arthur humiliated you by making you a big laughing stock for people in the media but you are so stupid that you did not realize it. Go to school, get a marketable skill. Take some pride in yourself and stop allowing people to laugh at for behaving like a Tommy Tucker who sings for his supper.
Mecca // March 21, 2009 at 1:51 PM
BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 1:21 pm
In Barbados, the one that I would like to live in, I believe the right and proper thing to do would be for senior management, the Donald Austins (now transferred), the Alex McDonalds, the Oliver Jordans, the Vic Fernandes, the Vivian Gittens and so on to take temporary cuts in pay and preserve jobs in the interest of maintaining a viable market place for Barbadian operations.
………………………………………………..
Add Tony King the David Seales, Richard Cozier, the Goddards, Bruce Bailey and Jada, dont forget Cow and Bizzy, Fields and Capaldi, Bernie Weatherhead and the blood sucking hotel owners and all of them. You stop laughing!
David // March 21, 2009 at 2:04 PM
Why do we have to politicize everything? Weren’t the lights commissioned under the previous administration?
@WIV we could not make it to Kensington, too far away :-)
Bonny Peppa // March 21, 2009 at 2:09 PM
Mecca,
I can’ stop laffin. Wunna real wicked. You, the other Sylvan, not Sylvan Greenidge and even BAFBFP, gettin in de do ta. Wunna funniah dan ‘laff it off’.
I love BU bad. Don’ tink i could savive widout um. Oh how I luv de gossip corna.
Wunna too insultin doe. Lorddddddd, mek peace.
Maybe his experience was ‘clicking’ rum goblets wid ‘See-tru Arthur”. Wahloss.
“See-tru Arthur” looking real shakey ta me doe. I hare dat he wife leff he. Ooops, moe gossip. My Lorddddddddd.
BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 3:02 PM
Mr Ellis has been Director of News for twenty somebody years. I know of no one else who has held a senior post for as long (other than CEO). I would give him a shot at COO over the super woman that could play five instruments and could speak four languages fluently and got three degrees. (Sorry this one difficult too)…
BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 3:07 PM
Bruce Bailey, David Seal
MURDAH HA HAAAAAAA…!
livinginbarbados // March 21, 2009 at 3:17 PM
@David
Governments stepping in to ‘bail out’ is usually limited to failures of systemically important industries and enterprises, and that is a well accepted role. They don’t usually step in for any and every instance of business failure or problems.
Could the action of OCM group be considered premature? You cannot say, without knowing what 2009 is bringing. Gollop cited some challenges facing the group including “substantial increases” in newsprint and other costs and a marked slowdown in economic activity in the region. What he does not say and should be pressed on is what other savings are needed and if they are to come from job cuts or elsewhere.
Without knowing what jobs have gone you cant go on a ‘witch hunt’. A lot of job ‘losses’ are pre-scheduled and get rolled out on a certain date.
It’s wishful thinking to argue that a Barbados company “might have factored people going home”. I don’t see any evidence that Bajan companies are weathering the economic downturn better than the rest. If so, then let Bajans go buy up the others and show them how to make it work.
Put in another light. If as some claim and the Bajan blogs and other online news sources are really eating into the readership of the Bajan print media, how do you think they will do in the coming year? If they turn round and say in 12 months, say, that their business struggled because of such competition, what would be your response?
sylvan // March 21, 2009 at 4:04 PM
yes, bonny peppa, owing after looking real, real bad. if the wind blows too strong, it looks like it would blow he away. post prime minister life doesnt seem to be treating he too good. in one year, he gone from big maguffy to a haggard looking old man. and the sad thing is he ain’t turn 60 yet. but he still behaving as if he is the savior of barbados. savior, my foot. you listen to the nonsense he talk in the budget debate. seems he believes only he can run an economy. he better concentrate on saving heself and leave barbados to barbadians. owing after got to realize that he time gone. gone. gone. gone. the lord giveth and the lord does taketh away. blessed be the name of the lord. never mind when he was prime minister that he tried to mess up the lives of many people, we must wish him well. he has to live with his conscience. what goes around always comes around.
BUMBLEBEE // March 21, 2009 at 5:54 PM
Sylvan Greenidge // March 21, 2009 at 8:30 am “And while more Barbadians head off to the breadline Thompson and his clan are on TV talking a lot of foolishness in the estimates debates”
Hey – you remember when LIME closed the Call Center, Thompy – huffing and puffing – siad Bajan jobs must be protected – and we heard a lot from Roy over at the BWU ypp – remember? Thompy said he asked the big shots from London to come see him. And they did. And all we heard was that the meeting went well and a further statement would be made.
Hello, hello, hello. Since I dont catch everything would you BU commentator please update me. What is the aftermath of the meet with the big shots … and what has/did Roy do?
Wishing In Vain // March 21, 2009 at 7:53 PM
Why do we have to politicize everything? Weren’t the lights commissioned under the previous administration?
Far from, the brain box Mottley, Owing and Blarney NEVER provided for the installation of the lights, the DLP saw the lack of lights as something that should not have been and they took the measures to install not only the lights but so to they purchased the surface covering material for the grounds all the needed things that the BLP neglected to provide for.
Just for clarity.
David // March 21, 2009 at 8:32 PM
@livinginbarbados
Understand your point but remain skeptical in THIS case.
We are aware of several companies in Barbados that make it a priority to protect employee jobs. They are not afraid to freeze salaries, rollout flexi-time, encourage early retirement and a host of initiatives to not place jobs at risk. Last time we checked these companies were in the business to make money too.
BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 9:55 PM
Well BUMBLEBEE at March 21, 2009 at 5:54 pm
The VIPs flew in and met with Thompson. First Thompson excused the press and then proceeded to buse and cuss them in the most vivid Cawmere language imaginable (as relayed by staffers in the vicinity of the meeting room). The result was that the laid off staff were returned to the payroll though remaining on leave. I believe that Austin was reassigned as well. So something happened
Bonny Peppa // March 21, 2009 at 10:21 PM
Psssstttttttt, listen, a person of interest, sent me some info. pertaining to the Arch Cot incident and it is mighty disturbing news if what it says is true. Somebody or bodies should pay for what occured that fateful Sunday morning. It was a disaster just waiting to happen. Houses should’ve never been built there on that location. The big question is, who at Town and Country Planning gave de ‘go ahead’ to build in de fuss place after being denied to many a moons. This is a very disturbing one. Who will bell dis Tom cat?
BAFBFP // March 22, 2009 at 5:19 AM
and BUMBLEBEE
It wiukd not surprise me if it were that this new guy Alex McDonalds is a card carrying member of the DLP
BUMBLEBEE // March 22, 2009 at 7:50 AM
Hey BAFBFP // March 21, 2009 at 9:55 pm … thanks for that info.
Anonymous // March 22, 2009 at 7:52 AM
Alex Mcdonalds will bring no positive change to lime.
Just another opportunist looking for some quick big money.
Jokers all.
livinginbarbados // March 22, 2009 at 7:56 AM
@David
“We are aware of several companies in Barbados that make it a priority to protect employee jobs. They are not afraid to freeze salaries, rollout flexi-time, encourage early retirement and a host of initiatives to not place jobs at risk. Last time we checked these companies were in the business to make money too.”
Good for them. You get ups and downs. A few is not many or all. Just look up at the projects laying idle. Just using simple logic. The world economy is projected to shrink this year (maybe 1-2%), for the first time since World War Two (60 years+). Explain how things can ’stay the same’.
Maybe you can protect jobs, meaning perhaps paying people less to keep a work force unchanged. But things don’t stop there. The lower pay overall will have its knock on effects, and in a very simple example, can lead to a downward spiral of lower demand. If demand is falling and the choices will still be where to try to make savings, jobs or other things.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 9:40 AM
I am really sorry I already paid my annual subscription to the Nation.
These layoffs seem more about taking advantage of an opportune time to make some changes long contemplated, rather than any financial pressure perse.
So much for pulling together and using the Barbados model of a social partnership to get through this toughest of periods.
Maybe this is an opportunity for the Advocate, CBC and some new media players.
David // March 22, 2009 at 10:02 AM
@Trained Economist
These decisions are being made from T&T. It is what BU is afraid of given the high concentration of T&T interest in Barbados. Remember that the T&T economy is believed to be in recession despite denials from the government.
@livinginbarbados
Are you saying that if companies are encouraged to manage within the convention of the social partnership by reducing/freezing wages etc that is not better than sending home people which has the impact of reducing the workforce anyway?
Are you forgetting that unlike many countries in the world the social partnership is said to have worked well for Barbados in the harsh 90’s? Remember Barbados considers itself a leader.
Zoe // March 22, 2009 at 10:33 AM
In America, over 16 States are quietly, but urgently planning for terrible social unrest that will be the fall out from millions more losing their jobs, down the road; this is no joke, this IS reality, Reality is synonymous with truth, and truth is unyielding. One can choose to ignore it, scorn it, or even curse it, but all to no avail; in the end, truth impassively stands its ground in the face of the most overpowering emotional, verbal, and intellectual onslaughts.
What we have seen in OCM sending home 28 employees, is just the tip of the icebeg, if the great Industrialised nations of America, Europe, et al, are falling apart, bit by bit, who are we in the Caribbean, not to suffer as well>
The question is: Do we realise what the real ’cause’ of this world wide economic Crisis is all about? Do we really understrand what is happening? Do we understand what is about to happen throughout the world, over the next few years? Are we ready and prepared for the worst economic crisis, and all of its attending fall-outs, in the history of mankind?
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 10:43 AM
I agree that the Barbados model has worked pretty well to date, and we must continue to protect it.
One challenge posed by the CSME is the rise of these regional oligopolies, with tremendous market power. Once you have firms with that much market power then many of the free market models break down.
This move by OCM looks like an attempt to bring the TT/Jam corporate model (based on the US/UK) model to Barbados. That model has led to very successful firms, but massive amounts of social inequality and social instability.
It seems to me that the current crisis provides just the cover these firms need to implement their preferred corporate model.
While the local players have been sacrificing to keep employment up, we have these layoffs from OCM, while announcing record profits. What signal does this send to the local players? I fear the worst. Shame on OCM!
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 10:54 AM
The entire sports dept seems to have been cut. This probably means that we will have to live with a lot of wire stories. Why should we buy the paper to read a cricket story we can get at cricinfo? What about coverage of local sports? How does this help national development?
Consumers and local advertisers need to show their disgust at OCM’s callous and disdainful course of action. OCM has just rubbished the sacrifices being made by many businesses to maintain levels of employment in BIM.
Long live the Barbados model, the best hope for the Caribbean.
BAFBFP // March 22, 2009 at 11:10 AM
@ Zoe // March 22, 2009 at 10:33 am
Two discussions at once. As per David and TE what has happening in Barbados over the past six months has NOTHING to do with the “world economic crisis” (other than the fact that CL Financial could not seek help from over and away to stymie a call). OCM and C&W result from straight up profiteering and opportunism.
David // March 22, 2009 at 11:22 AM
What we find puzzling is why the workers are being so passive in the face of the corporate aggression. Not saying that corporations will not have to make adjustments as posited by livinginbarbados but the sense of going along for the ride is not acceptable. The argument that there is contraction in the global market is valid but so what. Let us put our heads together and fashion a plan which gives us a chance to MINIMIZE economic performance. As it is we willing to march to the beat of a few who are sequestered in corporate offices in Port of Spain. We all know that with unemployment will come social fallout crime etc. Is that a market which OCM will want to operate? We have seen what greed has done to Wall Street. Are there lessons to be learned?
We think so.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 11:42 AM
Super compensation packages at the top, the elimination of much of the middle management and a large layer of working poor is a rough approximation of elements of the anglo saxon corporate model. It has become entrenched in TT and Jamaica, and LIME, OCM and countless others would like to make it the norm here.
One of the real questions in a small place is where do the journalists cut from OCM go and practice their craft at a similar level?
This immoral corporate model will fuel social inequality and unrest, and threaten the gains of Barbados.
The govt and the public are the only defense against this model and we must fight it.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 11:44 AM
Check out this article from the London Times (a paper known for its free market leanings).
The continuing disclosures about excessive pensions and payoffs, salaries and bonuses for people at the top stir in us feelings for the oldest of human bloodsports: the search for a scapegoat. But they ought to lead us to think more deeply about the values of our culture as a whole.
Often, these past months, I have found myself going back to one of the most painful conversations I have had. It was with one of Britain’s leading industrialists. He had led his company to consistent success for decades. When I met him he had retired and was near the end of his life.
He was not a religious man but he was a deeply moral one. He spoke of the principles that had guided him in business and of the salary he had drawn. It was not negligible, but it was modest. What pained him was that his successor had awarded himself a salary ten times that amount, while systematically destroying the company he had so carefully built.
I recall another conversation with a successful investment banker. He told me that the first thing he had to establish was his character, his reputation for trustworthiness and honesty. Without that, he would have been unable to trade. Nowadays, he said, deals no longer depend on character but on lawyers.
Background
* Crisis could force millions into poverty: minister
* Spendaholics mortgaging our future
* Church offers comfort but little economic joy
* City watchdog to curb bonus culture
Common to these stories is the gradual disappearance of the cluster of principles that went by the name of morality. Whatever its source – religion, conscience, custom or code – it meant that there are certain things you don’t do because they are not done. You don’t reward yourself when customers, clients or shareholders or employees are suffering losses. You don’t pay yourself out of all proportion to what you pay others. You don’t take advantage of your position just because you can. You are guided, even if no one is watching, by a sense of what is responsible and right. Without that internalised code of honour and trust, no institution can be sustained in the long run.
Somehow, between the 1960s and 1980s the idea prevailed that we could do without the moral sense. Who needed it any more? In the 1960s we thought that the State would take care of our problems. In the 1980s we thought that the market would. Self-imposed restraints were dismissed as outmoded and killjoy. Greed was good. The guy with the most toys when he dies, wins.
The result was that we began to lose our understanding of the vital distinction between the value of things and their price. The key example – at the heart of the entire financial collapse – was housing. The value of a house is that it is a home. It’s a shelter, a haven, personal space in an impersonal world. For many, it’s where we sustain a marriage and build a family. It’s where love finds its local habitation and name.
At a point in time, some began to think of houses not as homes but as capital investments. They began to borrow more and spend more. Building societies duly obliged.
House prices kept on rising. Their attraction as investments grew, and so the cycle fed itself: ever higher prices, ever bigger mortgages, until house prices and borrowing lost all connection with average incomes and sustainability. Those who just wanted a home had no choice but to join the game, at great expense and risk. The speculators were convinced they had become richer, but in real terms they hadn’t. The value of housing had changed not an iota, because value is not the same as price.
It was bound to collapse, and anyone who had thought it through, said so. The investor Warren Buffett called sub-prime mortgages “financial weapons of mass destruction” as long ago as 2002. In the collective madness, no one was listening.
After financial collapse many questions are being asked. Should there be more regulation? State ownership of financial institutions? Have we reached the end of the market economy? They are good questions, but they get nowhere near the heart of the matter.
The market economy has generated more real wealth, eliminated more poverty and liberated more human creativity than any other economic system. The fault is not with the market but with the idea that the market alone is all we need.
Markets don’t guarantee equity, responsibility or integrity. They can maximise short-term gain at the cost of long-term sustainability. They don’t distribute rewards fairly. They don’t guarantee honesty. When it comes to flagrant self-interest, they combine the maximum temptation with the maximum opportunity. Markets need morals, and morals are not made by markets.
They are made by schools, the media, custom, tradition, religious leaders, moral role models and the influence of people. But when religion loses its voice and the media worship success, when right and wrong become relativised and morality is condemned as “judgmental”, when people lose all sense of honour and shame and there is nothing they won’t do if they can get away with it, no regulation will save us. People will outwit the regulators, as they did by the securitisation of risk so no one knew who owed what to whom.
The big question is: how do we learn to be moral again? Markets were made to serve us; we were not made to serve markets. Economics needs ethics. Markets do not survive by market forces alone. They depend on respect for the people affected by our decisions. Lose that and we lose not just money and jobs but something more significant still: freedom, trust and decency, the things that have a value, not a price.
Sir Jonathan Sacks is the Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the Commonwealth
J // March 22, 2009 at 11:52 AM
Since it is Sunday.
“What does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses his own soul? And what would a man give in exchange for his soul?” Jesus Christ
“The law was made for man, and not man for the law.” Jesus Christ
J // March 22, 2009 at 12:05 PM
Certainly the newspapers have to find a way for readers to pay for good journalism. I certainly would not mind paying for good journalism. Ask me for my credit card number and I’ll give it to you. It takes money and serious effort to produce good journalists, and it takes money and effort to produce a good newspaper, and it takes money and effort and and a high level of intelligence to produce thoughtful analysis.
Why do we continue to think that we can get something good for nothing?
Why do we want to cling to the fallacy that a democratic Barbados would be better off without newspapers?
Heck David I’d be willing to pay you too. Try charging each user $100 per year and you will see that most of us would be willing to pay.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 12:16 PM
The way I see it, post independence, all Caricom nations started with roughly the same model, largely borrowed from Europe, focused on social justice and human well being.
Economic crises in Jamaica and Trinidad led to the adoption of the US corporate model. Maximize shareholder value, empower and reward corporate executives and roll back government is a crude approximation of this model.
In the economic crisis of 1991, Barbados turned to a social partnership instead of the Trinidad and Jamaica approach. (God bless Sandi, he looks so good and healthy in retirement). With all the flaws of bajan society and the massive room for improvement, I still say, the rest is history. Barbados and the OECS have done relatively well in the last two decades.
The current crisis and the CSM must not be used to impose this immoral anglo/saxon corporate model on BIM and the OECS.
We do not want the levels of inequality in Jam, GUy and TT.
We do not want the thin layer of obscenely compensated executives, a mass of working poor and a government focused on policing and providing security.
A lot is stake in this crisis.
livinginbarbados // March 22, 2009 at 12:27 PM
@David
I’m not sure what “unlike many countries in the world the social partnership is said to have worked well for Barbados in the harsh 90’s” So perhaps you can elaborate.
But, I posed a question. If you yourself/blogs have faulted the local media for the quality of what they have been doing, then how can you expect them to remain in business unchanged, except as a piece of social policy? If , let’s say, the owners (who happen to be Trinidadian) agree with you, why are you surprised that they are paring down some parts of the business that may be uncompetitive/unsatisfactory? The high profit is neither here nor there.
Not making light of job losses, I recall going on assignment to the British presses in the 1970s, when they were moving from typesetting to computer based printing, and had to shed many jobs. Extremely unpleasant socially. Many were offered retraining, but many declined. Many took the payouts and found new work. The industry is supposedly better now than it was.
Change is a process. Losing a job may be part of that and it may lead to new opportunities. Simply keeping people in jobs may sound a death knell later.
Anonymous // March 22, 2009 at 12:29 PM
The Nation and VOB are too top heavy.
Take a man like vic fernandes the CEO of Starcom,he earns close to $200,000. a year in compensation package,yet thre is nothing tangible that he produces that if he God forbid had to die or was fired could not be produced by the remaining staff,or a replacement for a lot less money.
The greedy american model has already entered barbados,much to our detriment.
Pure Bajan // March 22, 2009 at 12:39 PM
VOB- Voice of Boredom
VOB-Veoma Organized Beating
VOB-Voice of Bull$hit
VOB-Very Outdated Broadcasting
David // March 22, 2009 at 12:41 PM
On the subject of ‘obscenely compensated’ now is a good time to make the point about CEO Vic Fernandes. Is not known that Fernandes earns a very lofty salary in relation to his managers and some might add the structure of his salary bares no justice. For example is it true that Fernandes gets paid on a commission basis?
@livinginbarbados
You keep missing our point. While the tripartite arrangement (social partnership) is not perfect it has been lauded as a mechanism which allows key stakeholders in Barbados to respond quickly to challenges in the market.
BUMBLEBEE // March 22, 2009 at 12:53 PM
Hello Mecca // March 21, 2009 at 1:51 pm … you should go into business – your own business – and show them how it’s done.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 12:59 PM
The important point for me here is that OCM has just slapped the Bdos society in the face.
The model of the social partnership and the approach so far has been one of shared sacrifice. Companies faced with a slowdown in construction and tourist arrivals have gone for short-time and so on.
Not so for OCM. They cut staff in what is clearly a strategic re-organization rather than a necessary response to a slow-down in business. the re-organization was not done during a buoyant economy, when jobs are aplenty. Instead, the impending recession is used as cover for an obviously planned restructuring.
I hope they pay a penalty in circulation and advertising revenue for their arrogance and indifference.
Imagine cutting a man like Ado!
Anonymous // March 22, 2009 at 1:00 PM
If Starcom would get rid of Vic or trim his salary to a more reasonable and appropriate level and then get rid of those monkey broadcasters who they are paying peanuts too right now, and invest in some quality staff who can be found in many related fields;for example:
Trained broadcasters can be found right now in:
Public Relations Companies;
Advertising Companies;
Some are in retirement and can be brought back on short term contract basis to do some stints as well as train the new in coming broadcasters;
Some are overseas and with the right pay will be willing to come back home,so advertise overseas in the consulate offices,national newspapers abroad,even in the Nation and Advocate on line which they read every day.
The problem is not insurmountable,the challenge is ‘to have the will and desire’ to do it.
It is almost as painful as a bad tooth ache or ear ache these days to listen to some of these radio announcers on both VOB and CBC,on all the stations but especially the F.M. stations.
Yet it suits the corporate heads to shove this junk on us every day because they want to keep a big,fat,nice bottom line.
Oh for some true competition.
Anonymous // March 22, 2009 at 1:50 PM
Thanks to Zoe, we are bringing sense to this blog.
Which, thankfully, the normally staid Trained Economist, has had to agree with.
People lie but actions tell the truth.
What we are seeing is the planned destruction of the upstart middle class.
There is no role for these in the New World Order, hype them up, invest their new money (debt), then collapse the market and we’ll steal it all.
A system of masters and peasants is being planned for the States, a model to be rolled out worldwide.
Ignore Alex Jones’ over exuberant warnings in the posted video, just reconsider what is happening day to day.
It doesn’t take a genius to realise that democracy is being sold out to the money men by our politicians.
Check out what is happening on a much smaller scale right here.
Wake up Barbados, or get the shackles back on.
Trained Economist // March 22, 2009 at 1:57 PM
I am passionate about social justice. The bdos model, of which the social partnership is an integral has delivered more social justice for cbean people than the alternatives out there.
OCM and the Barbados Employers Confederation (shameful sacking of Harry Husbands) have acted in ways that threaten to undermine the partnership and should be roundly condemned for their actions.
David // March 22, 2009 at 4:09 PM
We wondered why Terry Ali was hired by VOB and left after a couple of weeks. Our sources suggest that he left a job in the UK to take up a senior post but when he hit the ground things did not work out. Our point remains. VOB is a leading radio station in Barbados with significant marketshare locked up. Importantly it is an important part of the Fourth Estate. The time to do the PEOPLE’s work has come!
Devil's Advocate // March 22, 2009 at 4:16 PM
@ BUMBLEBEE. Don’t listen to BAFBFP. This is the real 411 on the LIME saga. As one who has been to severa of he meetings between LIME, The Government and the Union. Neither of the three parties have made any progress, far less the Labour Minister say he all but done with this matter cause he can’t tell LIME what to do, The union keep going round the montain on protocol, Lime insists dem still sending home the contact centre workers plus 200 more in the coming weeks, plus dem can’t keep paying these people for stanin home . They don’t even plan on taking back not even one employee so Thompy talk a lot of hot air when he say that there will be a suitable resolution. It was all a farce hoping that in 2 months bajans would forget and the staff would be too frustrated to care.
livinginbarbados // March 22, 2009 at 4:59 PM
@David,
I need to look more at how the social partnership really has worked. The impression I have is that workers, employers and government come together and discuss in an open fashion. But, unless I am mistaken, government does not decide for either labour or employers. Unions dont decide government or corporate policies. Corporations do not decide government or labour positions. The compromises that worked in the past should face their hardest test now, in a recessionary environment. So, let’s see how this plays out in the next few months.
JC // March 22, 2009 at 6:54 PM
It seems as if nowadays everyone is a law unto their own selves ………..
I am sick of this facade that is going on …… and when we think things are bad it gets worst!
The People's Democratic Congress // March 22, 2009 at 8:18 PM
It is becoming more clear that now is the time for the broad mass of voters of Barbados to STOP elect DLP and BLP Governments in this country. Of course, this reality must form part of the fundamental objective of all right thinking voters/citizens of this country, i.e., ridding Barbados of these two intellectually bankrupt and backward parties, esp. at this time when neither of them has a clue as to how and when this country ought to be rescued from out of this very vicious recession that it has ironically been helped put into by both DLP and BLP.
Indeed, it must be told to as many Barbadians as possible that – since about the first quarter of last year -thousands upon thousands of people have lost their jobs, their businesses, homes, land spaces, vehicles, investments, etc, to the ravages and rages of this deepening recession. And, no doubt the worst is yet to come!! So, while many people and businesses continue to suffer tremendously in the country at this stage, both the DLP and BLP, and especially their leaderships, are still seen engaging in political gamesmanship – e.g. blaming each other for the causes of this recession, even as it is so damnedly clear to PDC that both them are of little or no use to this country’s further progress. Moreover, they have been senselessly and wickedly taking the broad masses and middle classes of this country for a ride, with their anti-masses and middle classes, anti-developmentalist stupid and backward policies, and their blatant lack of vision and perspicacity. No wonder that many throngs of people and businesses that PDC relates with are so sick, tired and fed up with both these joke parties.
Incidentally enough, some of the above comments are similar to the ones that we have for a long time been making in the political hustings, and are similar to some of the last ones that we were making when we last blogged on this blogsite last year. But, look how many economic and financial conditions have changed from bad to worse and from worse to worst since the election of this DLP Government in January, 2008!!
The truth is that we will continue to make these truthful statements over and over to our people, and, the more, too now that we have fully made a necessary transition from our old location to a new location in another part of this country, and thus with this adjustment out of the way shall see the continuation of our very steadfast efforts on this BLOG at getting many more Barbadians to become more sensible to the fact that they must increasingly give support to the PDC and any other serious political groups in this country that are anti-DLP and anti-BLP, and that are prepared to use all constitutional legal means available to them and to the people of this country, to help realize the removal of these antiquated parties from out of Parliament of this country. So, Down with the DLP and the BLP still!!
PDC
boredickey // March 22, 2009 at 11:21 PM
Ok! I voting for the PDC next general elections. Either them of PEP OK?…………….Gulp! Gulp!
BUMBLEBEE // March 22, 2009 at 11:23 PM
Good thing The Nation is not a “white owned Company” or else these pages would be on fire and all readers’ computers would explode….
Gear Box // March 23, 2009 at 6:23 AM
De Fourth Estate Emeritus
AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh
Zoe // March 23, 2009 at 1:21 PM
To All: After all the ideas, plans, concepts, have been brought to the table, every one making their contributions; and the economic crisis, finally hits home right here in BIM, in six months, a year, a year and a half, with thousands across the employment arena, from maid, to CEO’s going home, with the attendant social unrest that will inevitably be the fall out; WHAT ARE WE GOING TO DO?
When the PM, Economists, Central Bankers, other experts, have all exhausted their human expertise, and nothing is working out, starvation, riots, rich people still have cash, but there is nothing to buy, who or what are we going to turn to?
The utter reality of this scenario, is no joke? Let us stop being in various stages of denial, and face the facts. Again I ask, who are we going to turn to?
BUMBLEBEE // March 23, 2009 at 3:18 PM
Zoe // March 23, 2009 at 1:21 pm … “Again I ask, who are we going to turn to?” Not to God, please. Not to this man-created, comic figure…..
We should turn to the person we should have been taught to turn to from the git-go, instead of to someone else. That person is Oneself.
By the way – enjoy these lyrics from the song …
Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)
Tony Bennett
Written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley
Peaked at # 33 in 1964
Also charted by Dionne Warwick at # 62 in 1965
From the Broadway show “The Roar Of the Greasepaint-The Smell Of the Crowd”
Who can I turn to when nobody needs me?
My heart wants to know and so I must go where destiny leads me
With no star to guide me and no one beside me
I’ll go on my way and, after the day, the darkness will hide me
And maybe tomorrow I’ll find what I’m after
I’ll throw off my sorrow, beg, steal, or borrow my share of laughter
With you I could learn to, with you what a new day
But who can I turn to if you turn away?
With you I could learn to, with you what a new day
But who can I turn to if you turn away?
Georgie Porgie // March 23, 2009 at 3:29 PM
Zoe asked “Again I ask, who are we going to turn to?”
Answer is simple: THE ANTICHRIST!
2 THESSALONIANS 2 (which describes the conditions for the rise of antichrist or the lawless one, or the man of sin or the son of perdition) and makes it very clear that if one refuses to believe THE TRUTH, he will believe THE LIE!
I know whom I habe believed, and am persuaded that he is able to keep that which I have committed unto Him againstthat day!
The Scout // March 23, 2009 at 4:08 PM
I have made a decision not to post a commenet on any blog where persons like BumbleBee and others. All I will do is pray for them.
BUMBLEBEE // March 23, 2009 at 7:38 PM
Hello Scout … the world is round now, not flat… move on and up.
Let the dead bury the dead…
Adonijah Sent Packing By Nation Group, Read All About It! « Barbados Underground // March 24, 2009 at 12:17 AM
[...] 24, 2009 · No Comments Arising from an earlier blog Down By The Riverside fellow blogger from the Living In Barbados Blog expressed the view that private enterprise must [...]
David // March 24, 2009 at 12:25 AM
We have observed that Patrick Gollop who was fired from VOB is now working on his project the “Road Runner” in a manner of speaking. Although not employed directly by VOB he is part of the ‘Road Runner” fronting as the Courts (sponsor) representative. This can only mean one thing, ratings in the morning are slipping.
Bajan // March 24, 2009 at 5:24 AM
The Market Vendor has priced the starcom stations clean out of the market. He has changed most of the time slots to prime and A classifications, added 10% to crop over and Xmas advertisng, and raised the rates on everything on the station. He is now reaping what he sowed. The terminated staff members were escorted off the property by guards.
Anonymous // March 24, 2009 at 8:13 AM
Bajan
Can you give us the list of persons who were fired?
Also what is the atmosphere at starcom now since these dismissals?
Although the programming is still poor,especially in the afternoon,that new lady carol toppin-pitt is far superior to sharon millington.
I think advertisers are slowly realising they have another alternative in CBC and are using it.
Adrian Hinds // March 24, 2009 at 3:44 PM
Anonymous // March 24, 2009 at 8:13 am
I think advertisers are slowly realising they have another alternative in CBC and are using it.
————————————————–
Well advertisers will follow the listeners.
Bonny Peppa. // March 24, 2009 at 9:17 PM
Anonymous
“Carol Toppin-Pitt is far superior to Sharon Millington.”
Ya in lie. By leaps and bounds. More genuine.
Dennis -d-menace, Stupid-Cupid, Sharon Millington and the likes turn me off from “Down by de river’ many moons ago. I still like David Ellis doe but he in de rite church but wrong pew.
I love Peter Wilkinson an he “big -ride” pun evenings. Dah music is my speed not ta mention de menu. Interesting.
GEAR BOX // March 25, 2009 at 12:17 AM
Comforts toffies de nuts de gum, tell mah wah yah want young fella…
I hope Market eat every ting dat he don’ sell… just so he
AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhh
Bonny Peppa. // March 25, 2009 at 6:57 PM
Gear Box,
What would BU be without you? BS, I guess.
teehee.
Ya nut-sella
Bonny Peppa. // March 25, 2009 at 8:15 PM
look, I doan want Sharon (wid or widout a c) Millington no whay near de Pine. Ta confuse de people place now. She could ga down Fontabel at de Advocate caws nabody doan read dah paper anyway or at least not too many.
She’s as fake as a 3 dolla bill. Fa rail.
Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
Rumplestilskin // March 25, 2009 at 9:01 PM
Zoe:
Three paragraphs that you wrote say it clearly and accurately.
Hence, why I have, for the past three years, focused on food security for the island, focused on moving to simpler living.
Truly, we do have a lot to face.
Nevertheless, would you rather be here facing it, or would you rather be for example, in New York City, facing the same thing?
Personally, I say here, maybe I am wrong……..
But, this (although earlier would have been better) is the time to push and implement much more farming, fishing and strategically placing the island to live simply.
We have a serious crisis to address.
Understandably, the leaders are trying to ride the problem with gusto and positive publicity, unfortunately, I think that the hurdle is much more serious, deeper and longer than they either believe or wish.
Wake up people, wake up for goodness sake.
Peace & Live Strong
BAFBFP // March 25, 2009 at 11:09 PM
Food security with this cadre of female academics in place to call shots and determine public policy? Their solution to everything over the past 40 years that they have replaced white rule is to commission reports, studies and set up investigative bodies. Anything remotely productive is old hat. Look at who sits on their consultative committees.
All sizzle and no goddamn steak… on both sides
BAFBFP // March 26, 2009 at 7:37 AM
VOB’s response since this thing in Wall Street broke was NOT to drop advertising rates. Instead they used the dead time to advertise themselves more.
What a bunch of pussies.
smiling to my self // March 27, 2009 at 6:39 PM
take my info as credible… I will tell you this as I am on the inside looking out. There were actually 17 persons sent from starcom. the entire sports desk of paul mayers, damien best and curtis hinds, the “technology” department suffered three casualties – a long serving tech by the name of harold ebony tull that has 37 years in the company (i should note that he was escorted off the premises by ARMED security guards. why I don’t know BTW paul was there for 18 years) colin durant and a secretary that though was the most junior was the most qualified – more so than the CEO secretary who goes around the company as if she own it but can’t spell T H E = the) advertisng lost one, new media lost one – Himal Reece of Bajan dancehall fame and the rest came from DirectV. The StarCom offered the sports boy a chance eto come back – but they need to form a company and bid for a contract to provide news. same thing for DirectV. Now…Scharon Millington she was “let go”.
that accident she had at VOB – a bulletin board fell on her knee – she couldn’t walk and the management saud she was faking. she went on extended leave and Dennis Johnson was not please so we all know what happened. Some one new is in that place.
Back to vob, they had a meeting on friday and Vic said they wouldn’t be letting go anyone else annd in the same breath said that depended on the current economic climate (more layoffs 2 come possibly?) he launched into the announcer basicallly telloing them that some of them deserved to be fired.
I will provide more info soon when i leave down by the river side and head home.
bless
SMS
Observer // March 27, 2009 at 6:53 PM
@SMS
Does Vic still bring a gun to staff meetings?
smiling to my self // March 27, 2009 at 6:54 PM
so i am told
Anonymous // March 27, 2009 at 7:33 PM
Smiling To Myself
Thank you for filling us in.
Are the workers at Starcom happy to see sharon go?I know I was.
Also why did Vic blast the announcers SMS and which announcers did he blast?
Are the remaining staff uneasy,especially david ellis?
Gear Box // March 28, 2009 at 12:03 AM
La la la..
Want information
On Dennis’ johnson
Ask fat belly Vic
Wid de needle size
AAAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhh
Ian Bourne // March 28, 2009 at 7:54 AM
Patrick Ward from news was let go as well I heard, for some reason I keep thinking of Josef Stalin and his pogrom?
BAFBFP // March 28, 2009 at 8:25 AM
Ellis, Johnson, Browne and the represent the mouthpiece of Starcom have got their heads shoved so far up Vic Fernandes’ ass that it is impossible to tell where Fernandes ends and where the rest of ‘em begin. I hang with people who work for themselves and make their own way and heap scorn on company “men” who exixt on towing the line. Pussies.
Trudatz // March 28, 2009 at 10:43 AM
I agree with the earlier comments re Scharon/Sharon Millington. Her brand of broadcasting was nothing more than trite, self-worshiping fluff – absolutely zero substance. CBC has managed to produce a far better afternoon programme called Girl Talk. Millington was obviously a legend in her own mind and I believe CBC can truly do better if the rumours of her move to the Pine are true. But then again, if she needs a job, I suppose you can’t fault somebody for trying to keep bread on the table. I just hope if she actually starts at the Pine that they keep her on a short leash, because I truly do not miss hearing all of her self-praise and constantly rattling on and on about her significant other. It was piss poor!
David // March 28, 2009 at 10:48 AM
@Trudatz
Does it matter what you think or what the Systematic Survey which VOB boasts about states?
Tell us what the survey says about her afternoon slot as far as the popularity of her program versus the market.
Trudatz // March 28, 2009 at 10:57 AM
@David
Do you honestly believe that those Systematic Surveys are always “accurate”? Select media bosses pay for them and over the years they have tended to trend towards who has the bigger “interest” at the particular time. Don’t be fooled…I know far more about the nuts and bolts of the media biz than you may appreciate. I’m not saying that she did not have a following but that is no accounting for the poor quality of the show itself. She generally targeted the lowest common denominator in terms of market and, without sounding too arrogant, that segment of the market “like anyting so”. Bottom line – just because she was popular with some people does not mean the quality of her programme was up to scratch. In a larger market like the US and even some of our neighbours in the region, a programme like that would not have lasted a month properly.
David // March 28, 2009 at 11:15 AM
@Trudatz
So you are saying that VOB and other media houses mislead the public by using these Systemic Surveys which are padded to support the organization paying for them. Are we correct?
You are also saying that because the radio segment who listened to Scharon Millington are not consumers? Not sure if your assumption is correct that because this group is poorrakey in your eyes that they don’t have buying power. Also we are told that her listen ship represented a cross-section. Didn’t we hear Dr. Don Marshall say on the same VOB last week that he admired how Scharon used an unusual style to build a popular show? She did it on personal style and did not have to advertise to the extent VOB is currently doing so to promote the show.
The other point would be if her show was so poor why was she supported by management for so many years? Finally if she was sent home given her popularity why did VOB disrespect her fans by not issuing a statement?
Please confirm if Scharon’s popularity with senior management had more to do with her willingness to be scathing in feedback to management and her general no nonsense approach?
Tied Tongue // March 28, 2009 at 11:25 AM
VOB moderators too full of themselves. Moderating is not about you hogging all de talk and not allowing de callers to say their piece. Talking is not about school clique . The most unlettered Barbadian from way back years can express his or herself. VOB moderators seem only willing to accept points put forward with accents and a particular party line. There is no need to help the DLP’s position anymore there are not in opposition now. They deliver themselves very well to the people of Barbados.Why doesn’t VOB find out how many Canadians are getting work permits and permission to live in Barbados. Well dey need to check these facts with Sen Maclean. Let us know if the statistics overtake those of our neighbouring brothers and sisters from Guyana. VOB fuelled the airwaves about Guyanese regularly. Maybe they can ask Mr Peter Wickham to help them in gathering information on this subject and “Tell Barbados the facts”.
Or better yet are we the watching and listening public suppose to provide with the information. Anyone out there hear anything?
Anonymous // March 28, 2009 at 11:37 AM
Look it is obvious that someone in david’s household liked sharon millington and is feeling a lil embarassed by how the blogger above described sharon’s listeners.
Sharon millington was piss poor.However she catered to a lot of simple minded people with a lot of made up stories which she pretended were real.
At least right now carol toppin and ronnie clarke are telling you out right the situations are merely hypothetical.
Sharon millington was the only call in show on all the radio stations in the afternoon for a very long time,hence her listenship,since people like to talk and like to listen to talk.
Now she has competition and people seem to have gravitated to CBC with the girls talk show and peter wilkinson and his Big Ride show.
VOB is now struggling and has reduced their call in segment on Afternoon Delight to just one and a half hours.
If sharon was still there the same thing would have occurred.
I am glad she is off the air,she was full of herself,false and full of bad grammar.
Her approach and contribution to these scenarios were of little or no value.
Long may she rest in her self imposed exile.
Trudatz // March 28, 2009 at 11:53 AM
@David
If something is working for you, why fix it?
Advertisres tend to go for segments/time slots that they believe will benefit them and I’m not going to argue that this was not the case in terms of Millington. I recall hearing Don Marshall’s “positive” remarks but I also recall hearing former VOB moderator Peter Wickham’s on-air criticism of her show (while he was still working there) in terms of its lack of depth and substance.
As to why the Starcom head honchos were “disrespectful” to her “fans” after her dismissal, that is just typical disrespectful behaviour where they are concerned. Do you remember hearing any big press announcement from Starcom when Patrick PG Gollop was sacked? Unlike Millington he was virtually considered Mr VOB himself.
Even here more recently big names like Patrick Ward and Harold ‘Ebony’ Tull were also given their walking papers after putting in 30-plus years each, not to mention the entire Starcom sports desk in a much-talked about 30 second meeting after they sweat in the Stadium sun the same day covering the Finals of interschool sports.
In other words Dave, they don’t know any better or more specifically, they silently hope and pray that no one asks anything and that whomever will be forgotten over time.
Also, I don’t know about the scathing in feedback and no-nonsense approach that you are talking about where Millington is concerned. My understanding is that she and Starcom managment had a disagreement over her sick leave, a second version of the story links her to doing work for a present Government minister which is against OCM rules for its employees (there is actually a thick document with a million rules for OCM staff including restricting them from sitting on boards etc – I do digress).
While you seem to be either playing the devil’s advocate in Millington’s defence or standing up for her, from what I was told she believed that she was bigger than Starcom and they basically called her bluff. I’m sure she used to give her blood, sweat and tears to Starcom but she was not the only one. I can name several others, some of whom were recently let go and others who are still hanging on, even though Starcom remains the poorest paying media house in Barbados.
The biggest mistake any media practitioner can make is to get too cocky in any media organisation, regardless of how big your name might be, because radio stations, TV stations and newspapers last for generations, while personalities are often forgotten over time as they get older, retire and pass away.
The part is never bigger than the whole Dave. Unfortunately, she came to that realisation in a sobering, albeit unfairly harsh way.
BAFBFP // March 28, 2009 at 12:57 PM
@ Trudatz
In a larger market like the US and even some of our neighbours in the region, a programme like that would not have lasted a month properly.
+ @ Anonymous
Sharon millington was piss poor.However she catered to a lot of simple minded people
SOMEBODY SHOULD FIRE GERRY SPRINGER AND TARA MANKS
BAFBFP // March 28, 2009 at 1:04 PM
AND TONY MARSHALL
BAFBFP // March 28, 2009 at 2:09 PM
Unlike all, and I mean all of the moderators on Starcom, unlike the CEO vendor himself, Scharon Millington created something new in Barbados radio with Afternoon Delight. Vic Fernands and his clan have a way of waiting until someone else has tried and tested a service or idea, be it a religious station, or a station for mild listening or a call in program or a sports edition or anything even a specialised magazine program of some sort before they move in and try to steal someone else’s thunder.
If you are going to fault Ms Millington on her arrogance, be reminded of an ad just too short weeks ago about ‘going radio’ and hearing Vic Fernands telling the audience at the end that it is He, Vic Fernands that is giving this advice (inference that his advice is sufficient to sell the idea of choosing radio over other forms of advertising). The same gentleman four short years ago kept the Prime Minister of Grenada waiting on the phone for eight tedious minutes while he engaged in a soliloquy on why the Prime Minister should choose Starcom over any other as Grenada’s portal to Barbadians who may be seeking to offer them help in their time of desperate need. Insensitive, arrogant, what a shite. Surely he has created this aura that so many seem to sense in Sharon Millington
J // March 28, 2009 at 8:54 PM
Dear BAFBFP:
Explain to me how “Afternoon Delight” differed from Patrick’s Gollop’s “Heartbreak Hotel”
We have real, real short memories.
BAFBFP // March 28, 2009 at 9:58 PM
Had Gollop’s show been in the afternoon I would be equipped to give you a proper response.
Tied Tongue on recession // March 29, 2009 at 9:29 AM
Recession, succession, obsession,
fallout, bailout, lockout , buy out, starved out and BLACKOUT.
Downturn, wrong turn, meeting turn
income,outcome, burdensome
Pay cuts, job cuts,lamb cuts
sneeze, squeeze and freeze.
Words all associated with current world trends. How shall we make it?
Anonymous // March 29, 2009 at 10:35 AM
David ellis seems intent on pushing this doom and gloom to the max.
Notice how almost every sunday brasstacks show is about how bad the economic downturn is and how bad it will be for barbados.
Today they want every one who has lost their job recently to call in the show I suppose to have a big pity party.
I hope ebony tull,and patrick ward and the boys from the sports team call in and really Tell It Like It Is!
Anonymous // March 29, 2009 at 11:27 AM
So far there is an intersting discussion going on with a young business man.
BAFBFP // March 29, 2009 at 2:09 PM
Sorry Anon
I tuned in, heard Mathew Farley’s voice and turned the radio back off…!
Dark Knight // March 30, 2009 at 11:23 AM
I am just wondering what the DLP plans to do for the thousands who it has forced on the breadline since it became the government in January 2008.
It does not help knowing that the DLP has cut the vote to the welfare Department by some seven million.
Doesn’t the DLP realise that while the BLP create jobs, it places people on the breadline?
Imagine, Barbadians are loosing their jobs daily, but DLP Politicians (who do not not know what they are doing) are keeping theirs.
There is one other thing I am concerned about:
It took the BLP fourteen years to increase the national debt by $2.8 billion.
In contrast, it has taken the DLP a mere fourteen months to increase the national debt by one billion.
David // March 30, 2009 at 11:32 AM
Wonder if BU family members have been observing the advertising war which has broken out between CBC and VOB. CBC is running a Pearson Bowen ad which draws attention to the length of time VOB is now entertaining callers. Inferring that they have few callers on the line waiting. VOB is running an ad that if MCTV subscribers whose boxes have been knocked out by the recent power outage they can sign-up free for DirectTV.
In the first instance it is our opinion that VOB is losing to CBC radio in several different time slots. In the last instance people are putting up with the MCTV/power outage inconvenience because they view it as a superior product.
Recession? // March 30, 2009 at 9:00 PM
Anonymous,
I agree with you. We have to be very careful in pushing this recession talk; it is dangerous. We are not into a recession; yet from all the advertising and promotion by VOB it would appear that we are gripped in its belly.
Yes, we should be observant, but we need to be careful that we don’t create a premature recession.
BAFBFP // March 30, 2009 at 9:57 PM
I discovered the Admiral on 94.7 from 10:00 till 2:00. Music w/o de long talk. The admiral will spell the death of VOB’s phoney call in program. Straight up..!
Wishing In Vain // March 30, 2009 at 10:17 PM
David,
VOB is really annoying with the amount of selling of airtime that they are trying to sell, every free moment is tied up with a VOB advertisement, very annoying this is.
As far as the call in shows are concerned as someone who used to listen nearly every day now I hardly ever listen, because as some of the host realise that they must entertain the silly ones like Bobby Mathews, and the clown from the one man council, to hear them spend as much time as they are allowed is quite simply a turn off, but these same host worry if they will have enough call to fill the time of the show and this results in long silly presentations that otherwise would not be given airtime but the emptiness of the shows dictates that they use these clowns as filler.
My best advice would be to reduce the duration of these shows to half an hour and make them sharp and appealing
and cut out the long meaningless contributions.
That also applies to the long monologues by persons like Dennis Johnson who I am convinced likes to listen to his own voice.
How could VOB cast an advert to say that you are better off with their Direct TV than Multi Choice is really stretching the truth in advertising, lord let us hope never to see VOB gain a TV station licence, that would be a sad day.
CBC is doing a fine job and I wish them well for all of their future endeavours, also keep the good work up with your show Mr Wickham you are doing an excellent job.
YES David you are correct in your reading that VOB is not getting the type of support to keep their call in show viable and they ought to rethink their offerings, drop Dennis Johnson and shorten the show would be where I would begin.
Anonymous // March 30, 2009 at 10:54 PM
In the first instance it is our opinion that VOB is losing to CBC radio in several different time slots. In the last instance people are putting up with the MCTV/power outage inconvenience because they view it as a superior product.
…………………………………………………..
David, your entire submission regarding VOB losing out to CBC have no basic, as I see it, you are totally opposed to VOB. I have been in the advertising world for over 30 years and I am still dealing with the voice media and I can assure you that I receive more results from VOB. CBC’s rate is 50% less than VOB, yet VOB receives far more advertisers than CBC.
The amount of people calling in on Brass Tacks are so heavy that you have to wait for lengthy times, I can attest to the long wait. So David, please ease up on partisanship and bring facts to the table.
What I would say about VOB is the stupid ads promoting radio listenership. Voice and Print medias serves a purpose and both have its strong points according to the situation.
Peace.
Tell me Why // March 30, 2009 at 10:55 PM
The above post is mine
Wishing In Vain // March 30, 2009 at 11:02 PM
Tell me Why, You ought to speak to the host of the call in shows who will openly tell you that the are willing to allow as much time to the so called regulars because of the fear of not knowing if they will have the calls to carry them thru to the end of the time slot.
Your wait may have been conditioned by having to wait for a regular to finish their 15 or 20 mins of pure nonsenses.
I eagerly await the host that will say that their show today will not have the voice of a regular on today, that to me would be a welcomed step in the right direction.
Tell me Why // March 30, 2009 at 11:02 PM
CBC is doing a fine job and I wish them well for all of their future endeavours, also keep the good work up with your show Mr Wickham you are doing an excellent job.
………………………………………………………
The show moderated by Peter can be termed a Political Broadcast. As far I am seeing it is being used by ministers to give a report to the viewing public. Wonder how many people switch to MCTV or DirectTV to get away from these political commentaries. So WIV, please wheel and come again with realistic assumptions.
Peace
BAFBFP // March 30, 2009 at 11:07 PM
Rather than cut their rates to attract more or new advertisers in a time when discretionary budgets are being cut, they have increased their rates and chose to advertise their station more. Well they have cut staff so obviously this ploy has not worked.
WIV
When more people discover 94.7 FM in the a.m. you will see a dramatic shift in ad preferences. Sorry man VOB is a shite station, and Starcom a callous, opportunistic and cheap excuse for a media house. Over priced rates and under paid staff; how do you figure?
Tell me Why // March 30, 2009 at 11:14 PM
WIV. I am also putting to you that if VOB have a reduction in callers might due to the moderator. Mr. Marshall was going good until the January 2008 election where now he is defending the action of this administration.
Moderators are the reason why people call in to a radio station.
Wishing In Vain // March 30, 2009 at 11:34 PM
And why would David Ellis also be wary of a lack of callers?
White Plastic bag // March 31, 2009 at 5:23 AM
persons like Dennis Johnson who I am convinced likes to listen to his own voice.
……..
This is true.
!!!!! // March 31, 2009 at 5:51 AM
I am glad VOB is finally feeling the weight of the listeners’ dissatisfaction.
VOB with David Ellis and more recently Mike brown treated callers and listeners with scant respect.
There was no day that you listened to their programme where you did not hear the moderators talking down to the callers or the producer cutting off large portions of the callers conversation on almost any subject.
It started to become really sad listening to callers pleading with them to let them try to get their point across.
Well the swallows have flown from down by the river to up in the pine trees.
CBC needs to be careful of not becoming too complacent,have more open call in shows and be respectful to one and all.
This type of competition is good for the listeners.
Observant // March 31, 2009 at 6:52 AM
Caribbean Bradcasting Corporation is doing a fine job surely for the government . Wished that CBC and the Pine Consituency Council would look again at themselves. Is DEMocracy representing all sides? Mr Wickman you look so mischievous when presenting your DLP show under guise of the PEOPLES BUSINESS. Perhaps a name change like “DEM PEOPLE BUSINESS” would be more appropiate. Resident political analyst you obviously are working for your money.Your scale is off balanced i.e weight should equal items in the scale. Stop tipping de scale. The look in your eyes is selling you out. Mr Wickman you prided yourself on being fair and unbiased before, but now the rules of the game seem to have changed. Roll the pitch and come again. Are you trying to take away Mr Hartley Henry’s job too?
How selfish have we become. Your boxers are showing. Is this not indecent exposure outside of the crop over season?
Mr Wickham mix de music man, “le we all party too nuh”.
BAFBFP // March 31, 2009 at 7:10 AM
Interesting to see if Peter would host a member from the opposition on the “DEM PEOPLE BUSINESS” show.
Wishing In Vain // March 31, 2009 at 7:27 AM
Observant,
DLP show under guise of the PEOPLES BUSINESS.
I never heard your call when Owing and Mottley used CBC as an arm of the BLP, when the night news was edited offsite and sent to CBC for broadcast or when Mottley overloaded the place with her friends.
You have an awfully short memory my friend.
Poor Boyce // March 31, 2009 at 8:16 AM
To ‘Wishing in vain ‘.
Just now you gine have a short memory of what happened in 1994 with the current happenings in the DLP.
Remember “I don’t loose any sleep over $70m in depleted foreign reserves.”
That certainly doesn’t sound like Owen After.
QUIZ
Tell me who or what was that?
ANSWER…………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Dark Knight // March 31, 2009 at 2:19 PM
Wishing In Vain // March 30, 2009 at 11:02 pm
Tell me Why, You ought to speak to the host of the call in shows who will openly tell you that the are willing to allow as much time to the so called regulars because of the fear of not knowing if they will have the calls to carry them thru to the end of the time slot.
———————————-
Well, if according to you – CBC now has the pull, perhaps the new host can get DLP Ministers to answer the following question, which the DLP of so-called “accountability” refused to answer in the Estimates Debate:
1. Where is the Plan to reduce the Cost of Living?
2. Why is the government, which purports to be on the side of the people – price gouging Barbadians on Land Tax?
3. When is the DLP going to remove the VAT from light bills?
4. Is the DLP on course to building the 2000 houses it promised to build each year, but did not build last year? Will they be built next financial year?
5. Where is the Fishing Agreement with Trinidad?
6. When will Thompson stop telling lies?
7. Where is the Stabilization Programme for the Barbados Economy?
8. On which page or pages is the DLP’s Job creation and job lost Prevention Plan in these Estimates?
9. Where is the Agriculture Protection Act?
10. Where is the Rent Control Act?
11. What is the status of the Food Security and Food Sovereignty Plan Senator Benn promised Barbados?
12. Where is the DLP’ Security Plan for Personal and Physical Safety?
For those who blame others for their incompetence // March 31, 2009 at 6:28 PM
This is what can be said to smiling to myself – don’t hate the people who ARE overly qualified but keep it to themselves while they try to keep the place good. Shame on those who harbour hate and envy and lack truth and decency and worship the antichrist. Those who ‘believe’ but not in the Almighty! All the while making much ado about nothing because they finally get a job that making them work.
Be Sure You Know the Beast of Whom You Speak // March 31, 2009 at 8:10 PM
Scharon Millington …talk show host extraordinaire? Hell No! A new Oprah in the making? Hell No! This so called christian who tried all sorts of Religious tactics not to work lauded herself as a DIVA! Really now Mrs Millington we who know you are not in any way fooled by youapparent about turn…we saw what you did..we know what you are. But yes, maybe you are a DIVA, as defined by Beyonce Knowles ..DIVA is a female version of a hustler! Yeah! Yeah that’s you. Pretending to be extending a helping hand to those in need, then standing by refusing to do any of the real work, but praising yourself telling everyone how hard you worked to ensure that those poor people werre looked after! PLEASE..take your form of religion and ask for forgiveness!
Bajan // April 2, 2009 at 9:43 AM
It is clear to me that most in this forum dont have a clear understanding of the media. That’s no surprose, many of the so-called media big wigs don’t understand it either. Scharon’s programme could have been a money earner for Starcom, just as the soap operas were for TV. The problem is that the sales dept in most stations don’t have a clue on how to position such programmes. They try to sell every programme buy using the same methods. The fact that the market vendor has long term sponsorship for his shitty programme is a example that most things can get sponsorship. The Media in Barbados is full of people who stroke their egos and masturbate the minds of the general public. With that said, I am not surprised at the level of ignorance about the media as a business model.
Dark Knight // April 3, 2009 at 10:41 AM
Every Sunday night you can expect to see another DLP face on the People’s Business.
When you see them, know that the DLP does not know what it is doing.
Know that it is because of the DLP that you are being price gouged on petroleum products; land tax and that it is because of the DLP that you are loosing your job.
In this regard, ask the DLP where is its job creation plan and what does it plan to do to reduce the cost of living.
Anonymous // April 3, 2009 at 2:36 PM
Who are the moderators now on VOB?
Tony Marshall,stetson babb,david ellis and sometimes dennis johnson?
They now have to resort to a lot of fill – ins.
That station is now a shadow of its former self.
Lord,how the mighty have fallen.
Anonymous // April 3, 2009 at 10:33 PM
Dark night
I would like to poop, bring forth your mouth.
Dark Knight // April 6, 2009 at 11:37 AM
The DLP is into cosmetic changes.
It change project OASIS to Youth mainstreaming.
It change Social Transformation to social care.
It is changing to composition of boards to make room to additional dems.
Well, given the context, why not do what heartley henry said and rename the People’ Business on CBC: DLPTV.
Anonymous // April 6, 2009 at 9:13 PM
Dark night
‘Pull a string and I’ll wink at you, I”m your (BLP) puppet”. (poppet)
BUTOFCOURSE // July 27, 2009 at 9:54 PM
VOB VOB VOB VOB VOB. Looks like Vic David and the clan got to all of you who claim not to abide by the results of the Survey. Starcom, for those who are interested has other stations if this one pisses you off so badly. Gospel offers a different perspective, and I happen to spend the majority of my working day under the “spell” of Love fm. No self indulgent talk show hosts, announcers with grammar intact, the widest and best selection of music in Barbados, and best of all no DAVID ELLIS, DENNIS JOHNSON, MICHAEL BROWN OR VEOMA ALI. I know I sound like an ad but I’m hoping Vic will read my rant and perhaps use my to read those numerous self advertising commercial. Go radio…oh VOB is going alright, down the toilet.