Barbados Underground

Canadian Government Right To Ban Sizzla, No Place For Homophobic Lyrics

April 15, 2009 · 80 Comments

Submitted by Noman Faria (Guyana Consul to Barbados)

Sizzla

Sizzla

Last weekend, Jamaican-born reggae star Sizzla was supposed to headline a concert at the Paramount Theatre in Toronto, Canada.  He didn’t even  pack his bags. The Canadian Embassy in Jamaica had denied him a visa, apparently  because of  his songs inciting hatred and violence against homosexual people.  They were quite right to do so.

Sizzla whose real name Miguel Orlando Collins was known to Canadian authorities. He and  another unrepentant homophobe   at the time, Elephant Man, real name O’Neal Bryan had another concert in  the same Canadian city  in October 2007 cancelled after protests from community groups. A homophobe  has an irrational  dislike for homosexuals.

As a spokesperson for the  Stop Murder Music Canada Coalition  correctly noted: This (stopping of this show) was not about censorship or artistic freedom. That stops when hate propaganda is involved.” The SMMCC referred to one of Sizzla’s songs “Log On” which urged people to “stomp” on homosexuals (or “gays” as they are commonly referred to). If  that crude, distasteful and insightful  message wasn’t enough, read what Sizzla says in another  song “Pump Up

Step up inna front line

(Step up to the front line)

Fire fi di man dem wah go ride man behind

(burn the men who have sex with men from behind)

shot battybwoy,my big gun boom

(shoot queers, my big gun goes boom)”

Homosexuality (in women, it is called lesbianism) is a sensitive and emotional issue. The average person in liberal democratic societies  like Guyana and Barbados sometimes have difficulty in understanding it. After all, being called upon to accept men and men together and women and women together, especially sexual acts, goes against the grain of all we were taught from  Biblical and other holy book  teachings.

It took some understanding from the average man, like myself, who felt that nothing could be more normal (and pleasurable) than man having sex with a woman. And after all , it made physiological/evolutionary sense. That was how people evolved to have children.

It took some time but the average person’s essential decency and respect for other people’s rights  emerged. Now there is a growing acceptance in many countries that homosexuals have a right to live normal lives so long as their behaviour doesn’t involve or encourage criminal and sexually unsafe practices.

More importantly that the behaviour of gays should be sensitive to the feelings of ordinary people  about the issue. A growing understanding about gays and their place in society comes too as more  scientific studies show them to be that way because of such factors as genes rather than suffering from a psychological disorder.

There has been deep revulsions over the violence and cruelty meted out to gays. Ten or so years ago a 21 year old political science student named Mathew Shepherd was pistol whipped  by two men and  tied to a wire fence in the U.S. state of  Wyoming and left to die. The widespread horror  shown by ordinary Americans at the hate crime  against Matthew who worshipped at the St. Mark’s Episcopal Church with his parents in home town Casper, led to moves to include crimes against gays in existing US hate crime legislation. First proposed by President Clinton, it was vetoed under President  Bush’s watch but current President Obama has pledged he will not veto the special amendments.

The state, whether it be in Canada or Guyana, must take some of the leadership where appropriate in properly channelling the  increasing social distain  against the violation of peoples’ rights on the basis of sexual orientation. Aside from Canada, the European Union (EU) group of countries also have strict laws prohibiting such discrimination. Last year, Sizzla was denied a Schengen Visa to tour Europe. In 2004 he was banned from entering the UK.

The decisions of the state in these matters are based on interpretation of laws which can deny a person entry if  it is determined he/she will  stir up hatred and cause disorder among peoples.Their recordings should also not be on sale.

This was the rationale  last year when Guyana’s Minister of Home Affairs Clement Rohee  announced that the singers Bounty Killer and Movado whose songs have equally repugnant anti-gay and pro-violence lyrics, would not be permitted to perform in Guyana again. The Minister should be commended for this forthright action . Guyana can do without such incitement to hatred and violence and inflammatory behaviour.

The Guyanese group Society Against Sexual Orientation Discrimination (SASOD) had voiced their opposition to the singers’ presence in Guyana as well as the recent  detention in Georgetown of  a group of  “cross dressers” (men dressing up as women).

As I wrote to Barbadian authorities urging more control and regulation of a certain internet blog in the island which carries the most repugnant and racist postings against Guyanese nationals in Barbados,  the prohibiting of airing of inflammatory and insightful messages has nothing to do with freedom of speech. Hate mongers and racists should have no freedom of speech. We have to think of the overall good of society and its more important  freedoms and rights which protect genuine freedom of speech and the  well being and happiness of all…

Sizzla may be a creative artiste when singing about other subjects. I understand he has  good social commentary in some of his songs. From working class roots, we must respect his creativity and look at his overall work.

However when  a singer gets up and publicly urges the audience to go out and kill a certain segment of the population, that is a hate crime. We have to take a stand.     In 1998, US senator Edward Kennedy told a legislative hearing . “Hate crimes are a form of terrorism. They have a psychological and emotional impact which extends far beyond the victim. They threaten the entire community and undermine the ideals on which a nation was founded.”

Amen.

Categories: Blogging · Entertainment · Guyana · Homosexuality · Jamaica · Press Freedom · Racism
Tagged: ,

80 responses so far ↓

• Anonymous // April 15, 2009 at 6:59 PM

Norman Faria r u gay?

• Anonymous // April 15, 2009 at 8:57 PM

The poop fly norman faria is buzzing around again.

• David // April 15, 2009 at 10:32 PM

Mr. Faria please feel free to submit a position even it is 100% critical of BU. Do not feel compelled to hide behind smoke screens. What we would like is for you once and for all to address the legitimate concerns of the BU family. Do not get carried away by the comments of one or two commenters and forget the well articulated positions of the many. Until you do so Mr. Faria we will continue the fight with all our might!

• 199 // April 16, 2009 at 2:53 AM

The damage inflicted on the West Indian reputation by Jamaican, dancehall, lyricists has already been done and is probably, irretreivable. Not content with this, West Indians, here and there, are paying the price for their (the Jamaicans’) latitude with their big-mouths. I should know, I’ve been one of them! However, tell the average Bajan about the stupidity of those people and they want to murder you, so you must just shut-up and suffer whatever excrement you now have to endure as a result of your previous, unwillingness to realise what those people are!!

As with most things, you’re too late, the horse has already bolted so you might as well just close your eyes again, and go back to sleep!! This is ‘after the event’!! Your love for Jamaicans will find you in the gutter, with them!!

• 199 // April 16, 2009 at 3:28 AM

More Jamaican idiocy!!

They’ve got a manopoly on it!!

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article2379533.ece

• 199 // April 16, 2009 at 4:14 AM

Some salutary, advice for my new Barbadian, model, darling Tennille Stoute!! She’s absolutely, gorgeous!! However, darling, if you’ve any sense, you’ll keep well away from that Naiomi Campbell or, you’ll only regret it, in the end!! Let’s hope she remains and dies there, in Russia, where I believe she’s now living!!

• 199 // April 16, 2009 at 4:24 AM

Dave, las night I din have nutten betta to do and read an old ‘Barbados Nation’ I had knocking roung hay an look wha I red!!

“After 43 years of experiencing racist abuse in England and now living back home, I am appalled to see the apathy ad acceptance by most black Barbadians to the covert and overt racism that goes unchallenged by the people and the system……………..”

Could quote the entire article – too long!! But, it seems that piggish behaviour on the roads is only one of the major problems facing Bim!! If I could I’d start a discussion on this subject alone, but that’s your perogative, my friend!!

BTW, above post to Faria is in the wrong forum!!

• 199 // April 16, 2009 at 4:25 AM

Look, dah Tennille can date me, any time!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

• Sir Bentwood Dick // April 16, 2009 at 4:50 AM

199:

For once we agree, that ANY form of communication pushing violence must be rejected, even if under the guise of creative art.

Any such person, if not a citizen, should also be rejected from entrance.

Violence is a no-go and should not be encouraged, full stop!

Hvaing said that, 199 seems to have had his few for the night…

Laaaaaddddd!!!!!

• boredickey // April 16, 2009 at 6:23 AM

Well Norman thanks for explaining what a homophobe is I didn’t know. Can you explain what a “womanphobe” is???Maybe I should also ask your good buddy Peter Wickham.

• Artful Dodger // April 16, 2009 at 8:52 AM

The damage done to Bajan men who are raised in all female households by aunties, grandmothers and mothers who live with their heads firmly pressed into the Bible and who punctuate every lesson in life with quotes from the Bible is profound. The problem with Christian religion and in particular Catholicism, is that it is based on “sin” and guilt and repudiation of “sin”. What was considered “sin” 2000 years ago is not necessarily “sin” today. Homosexuality has been around since the beginning of time as we know it and it also exists in the animal world. I believe that what two consenting adults do in private is no one else’s business. At the same time, I do not like to see homosexuals or lesbians kissing or petting each other in public much the same as I don’t like to see heterosexuals slobbering all over each other in public.

• J // April 16, 2009 at 5:25 PM

If EVERYBODY keeps the bedroom business in the bedroom we will all be happy.

• JC // April 16, 2009 at 6:04 PM

YA THINK!

• Partly bajan girl // April 17, 2009 at 7:35 AM

I think its good that someone have the courage to take up this inflamed issue; homophobia in the Caribbean.
    Despite all the Bible-reading and churchgoing communities in the islands,it seem like homophobia is big,seen from an european angle.
    I agree that we must look forward, and see beyound someone`s code of sexuality.
    I have myself been brought up to lokk at homosexuals as a kind of nature`s joke, but not to hassle them.
    Why are especially men in Barbados so agressive about beeing gay?
    Later in life i learned that one of my dearest and closest(and kindest and most loving) familymembers is gay.it was a bit hard in the beginning, since it has been a hidden secret.
    But today i respect him and see him just as the loving man he is.It really doesn`t destroy any of his qualities as human beeing!
    Men who are very aggressive towards homosexuals, often tend to be having a need for strengten their own selfesteem, is that right?
    Its like one chicken hacking on the smaller one.
    In Europe we have neo-nazi with their hate-music. Just the same shit.With a dangerous potential.
    Remember that!

• David // April 17, 2009 at 7:44 AM

@bajan partygirl

A generalization if ever we heard one :-)

• Anonymous // April 17, 2009 at 10:23 AM

batty man fe dead

• Undertaker // April 17, 2009 at 11:57 AM

Too be honest I am not at ease with the
    homo stuff, if that is what I am then so be it. But why is it that the homos are so anxious to have everyone on their side or to turn over next generation to homos, lets be real violence is not the answer but they need to be on their own.

• Wondering // April 17, 2009 at 12:25 PM

Homosexuals have all of these “rights” to do whatever it is they do and whenever I criticize them Iam ostracized.

What about my rights, don’t I have the “RIGHT” to say what is on my mind?

Why should I keep quiet to make them feel good their actions don’t make me feel good.

• 199 // April 18, 2009 at 3:21 AM

Well said, ‘Wondering’. I’m prepared to ascribe them their right to do whatever it is they do IN PRIVATE, as long as they keep their blinking mouths quiet!! Which of course, they can’t bear to do which is why, all said and done, I would n’t mind giving them ‘the Muslim-treatment’!! Put it this way!! ‘I don’t think the Muslims have got much time for them’!!

Lord!!

• Artful Dodger // April 18, 2009 at 4:41 PM

Why is it that West Indian men feel so threatened by homosexuality? A gay man is not going to interfer with a straight man. What would be the point? I think it’s because West Indian men have a super hyped up sense of masculinity which is why they drop babies into any woman’ s belly as a sign they are “true” men. Few West Indian men really understand what it is to be a man. Being a man means taking responsibility for your actions and using your brain instead of your doggie. Homosexuals ein interested in what heterosexuals are doing, so why feel so threatened by them?

• Adrian Hinds // April 19, 2009 at 6:45 AM

The author’s name attached to this article does not fool me. I would not be surprise if it actually came from Peter Wickham’s pen. Him and Faria rubbing each others back?????

It matters little to me what Canada does, and I am no fan of the so called artist who was banned.

• J // April 19, 2009 at 8:54 PM

Artful Dodger wrote “Being a [real]man means taking responsibility for your actions and using your brain instead of your doggie. ”

I 2nd that.

• 199 // April 20, 2009 at 2:41 AM

What’a a doggie?? I don’t like pets!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 20, 2009 at 4:28 AM

I wanna giva you a quite interesting article about homosexuality and other types of sexuality in old Africa….
    since we are proud of our african heritage and need to look back to understand ourself sometimes;-)

http://semgai.free.fr/doc_et_pdf/africa_A4.pdf

• Partly bajan girl // April 20, 2009 at 4:45 AM

What I try to suggest here, is that before we condemn caribbean homosexuality as “evil and inpropriate”,
    we maybe need to understand that maybe the strong homophobia i islands
    also derive from earlier, christian white aggression and suppression, even if it is not very obvious??

• 199 // April 20, 2009 at 11:27 AM

Hi Bentwood!! U shoud try agreeing with me more often!! You’d be right more often!! :)

• Partly bajan girl // April 21, 2009 at 2:26 AM

I would really like 199 to read and comment my linked article over, instead of just coming with childish comments taken out of thin air…
    Here i do a serious attempt to explain our reactions today by looking to the past.
    There is a lot of confusion in the caribbean still. A lot of confusion(and undefined anger) espesially in men, because of the severe suppression and aggression that all blacks have suffered through the times here.
    We must take back our pride and our selfesteem. A selfesteem strong enough to NOT put down minority groups like this in own society!
    I want a proper answer from you men here that radiate this aggression..?

• 199 // April 21, 2009 at 3:23 AM

What ‘linked article’ r u referring to? I don’t see any!! Anyway, u don’t need to be a genius to assess that homosexuality is a perversion but concede they have a right to practice it, consensually, and in private, if that is their desire!! No lesson in history’s required!! Any idiot can claim ‘childishness’ – does n’t prove that it is!!

As for the Jamaicans!! Well, they’re beyond redemption!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 21, 2009 at 4:00 AM

Dont you see the blue link from yesterday over??

• Partly bajan girl // April 21, 2009 at 4:12 AM

Your comments are quite…..flat.
    You have big problems expressing yourself in a way that can explain why you are so homophobic-
    Just like a howler-monkey you answer without explaining anything about the subject.
    More and more researchers nowadays tend to believe that children are born homosexual. Its nothing you “learn” or a way you “become” because of f.x wrong upbringing.
    Its in their genes.
    So how can it be perverse, if Big Creator made them like this?
    And what about genuine love and trust among them? Lifelong relationships like your Mum and Dads?
    Is the problem that the islands are so small that homosexuality is too visible for ya?
    And do not accuse them of spreading HIV because the biggest transmitters of that in the islands, are promisquous, hetero men!

• 199 // April 21, 2009 at 6:28 AM

Thank you PBG, I’ve seen the link now and frankly, I have n’t the time to read all the junk and I’m surprised that u have!! My posn. is summarised in my previous post! I also, object to the description of homophobic, the usual crutch which u rely on!!I’m intrigued that you’re so homosexuals-sympathetic!! Are u one?!!

• Artful Dodger // April 21, 2009 at 7:02 AM

Party bajan gal: You have made a very astute obseration of “199″…….flat and spouts opinions that have no basis in fact, just repeats worn out stereotypical ideas, lver little informed independant thought.

• Partly bajan girl // April 21, 2009 at 9:19 AM

Quote 199:”I’m intrigued that you’re so homosexuals-sympathetic!! Are u one?!!”

No, I am not. I love men. Heterosexual men who are selfconfident and mature enough to be a man, even among people who think and feel differently!
    Thats a real man!
    And my article about Africa is not junk.
    Its facts.
    And in many rastafaria-blogs I find the same theories; earlier white/christian aggression/suppression fucked up/screaved the african-caribbeans common mind and weakened us in so many ways..
    And this will still follow us, if we do not detect it!
    Be proud enough of your manhood to walk safely among otherwise sexually thinking without feeling so bad.

• 199 // April 21, 2009 at 11:48 AM

And in many rastafaria-blogs

Rastafari!! Well, AD!! Say no more!! One confuse mind after another!! BTW!! ‘Artful Dodger’!! u in ‘my fren’ ‘T’ in another guise, are you!! Well, if u is, ‘T’, wha u hiding fa!! Get out hay an let yuhself be identify!! I know u is a Rastafari but at lease yuh in one uh d udda kind!!

Laaaaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

Partly bajan girl // April 21, 2009 at 9:19 am

Quote 199:”I’m intrigued that you’re so homosexuals-sympathetic!! Are u one?!!”

No, I am not. I love men. Heterosexual men who are selfconfident and mature enough to be a man, even among people who think and feel differently!
    Thats a real man!

‘PBG’, u c why I caan tek u people serious! You’re a woman and purport to know what it’s like to be a ‘real man’!!

Laaaaddd!!

‘PBG’, let me tell u dear!! U can’t be a real man when u have to be looking around u every minute to check who’s standing behind you!! Get my drift?!!

Now, just please return to being the normal woman u claim to be and leave being a man to us!! Tanks u very much!!

Lord!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 2:31 AM

Quote 199;”‘PBG’, u c why I caan tek u people serious! You’re a woman and purport to know what it’s like to be a ‘real man’!!

Laaaaddd!!

‘PBG’, let me tell u dear!! U can’t be a real man when u have to be looking around u every minute to check who’s standing behind you!! Get my drift?!!

Now, just please return to being the normal woman u claim to be and leave being a man to us!! ”

I know what it is like to be around real men!
    Men who can smile and laugh it off, even if someone of the same sex seems to fancy them!From behind!
    So thats where your homophobia comes from, you are afraid to get bummed all day long?:-)
    Poor man, its a hard world!
    Maybe you send the wrong signals?;-)

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 2:50 AM

199: I know you are confused, but not all rasta think the same,do they?

Here an article that maybe explain why jamaica is the most homophobic place on Earth:
    What do you think?

http://www.xtra.ca/public/viewstory.aspx?STORY_ID=4003&PUB_TEMPLATE_ID=7

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 3:49 AM

Men who can smile and laugh it off, even if someone of the same sex seems to fancy them!From behind!

PBG, that attitude displayed by such ‘men’, as u describe them, and ‘women’, have led to the new topic at the top of this blog when I open my eyes dis morning!! U people won’t get sense until it’s a homosexual-world, and then it’ll be too late!! I gun tek every opportunity to cuss d homos cause I want my children to be normal, when dey grow up!! No doubt, I will c u pun de new thread, where I propose to cuss them, some more!!

Maybe you send the wrong signals?;-)

Send them the wrong signals?!! PB, u know what the Muslims do to them?? It involves an axe and cutting their heads off!! That’s the signal which I’d like to sen to them!!

lor!!

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 3:59 AM

PB, tanks fuh d offer but, I in waising my precious time reading nutten bout nuh homosexuals!! I got mo important tings to do wid my life!! Plus, I don’t regard the Jamaicans as being homophobic, at all!! According to these creeps, who is n’t homophobic?! U tell me!! Just about everybody who does n’t support their filthy lifestyle!! Power to the Jamaicans where that’s concerned and standing up for christianity and decency, which is more than you’re doing!! See yuh pun d new thread!! I got some mo cussing uh homosexuals, to do!!

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 4:00 AM

Opps, my coding went wrong, dere!! Only meant to apply to ‘is n’t'!!

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 4:01 AM

Tank god dat, David, at least, is normal!! :)

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 5:00 AM

Qoute 199:” I gun tek every opportunity to cuss d homos cause I want my children to be normal, when dey grow up!! ”

I really hope you do not have a little girl or a little boy who is genetically? prone to become a homosexual when they grow up!
    What would you do if your son tended to be more attracted to other boys or liked more “feminine” things?

When it comes to the way you talk about me in person here, it seems like you have no respect at all for people who think a bit different than yourself…?
    By resoecting homosexuals i am a freak, no real woman, “man-woman” or definatelly lesbian.
    You are very wrong.

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 5:14 AM

When we look back at the article about homosexuality in old Africa, it seems like something has gone quite wrong on the way…
    From coming from pre-muslim and animistic cultures, beeeing thrown into the tringletrade and western/christian suppression and brainwashing, it looks like many afro-caribbeans have become their own spiritual,moral and religious Frankensteins?
    Why must everything you think and feel,be so influenced by old,western,christian beliefs?
    I feel i meet so much double-moral many places….
    Its okay to hate gays,lesbians,and all other different in the name of God.
    But what about manhood in the caribbeans?
    Thousands of children grow up without a fatherfigure around, beeing fed and supported by single mums,aunts and grannies.
    Where are all you men?
    If you are so afraid that homosexuality comes from wrong ideals and legislation, why dont you stay at home with your women,supporting your kids economically and socially,so they become strong and independent men with no hate in their hearts??

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 6:16 AM

PBG, wuh u get up very early?!! PB, is u my nemesis at de Nation?!! come hay to bodda me again?!!

Anyway, PB, are you a lesbin or even a lesbian?!! They’re equally, objectionable to the homos!!

PB, why r u so interested in the details of homosexuality?!! R u quite sure dat u in one?!!

Thousands of children grow up without a fatherfigure around, beeing fed and supported by single mums,aunts and grannies.
    Where are all you men?

PB, of course, I’m unable to answer for other men, just as ur unable to speak on the behalf of other women. What I will say is that I’ve always been there for my children and they themsleves, would confirm that to you. I certainly, had no intention of leaving my offspring purely in the hands of who might be a demented mother!!

As for other black men: well many of them are idiots just as r many black women, or whites or of any other race!! However, I’m not quite sure what that has to do with homosexuality as a result of which, none of us would be here today!!

As to your last point: I’ve ALWAYS supported by wife and children even, to this day!! much more than can be said for the battymen!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 6:42 AM

Well,then you are a good guy,then?

Quote 199:”Anyway, PB, are you a lesbin or even a lesbian?!! They’re equally, objectionable to the homos!!
    PB, why r u so interested in the details of homosexuality?!! R u quite sure dat u in one?!!”

No,i am not a lesbian.
    I love hetero men and they love me.
    I`m even soon a Mum myself, and will learn the child to be tolerant,openminded og warmhearted.

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 6:47 AM

What about you 199, can it be that you have a tiny,tiny fear deep inside, that you maybe could be gay yourself,
    under other circumstances?
    That you could have fell in love with a man or enjoyed sex with him?
    What if the wt dream was about a man, or you turned on watching gay porn?
    Maybe fear is what drive ya?

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 6:50 AM

199: “I certainly, had no intention of leaving my offspring purely in the hands of who might be a demented mother!!”

??

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 7:46 AM

PB, yes, I’ve always been a sweetie!!

Lord!! :)

Anyhow, world-domination is what both they and the muslims are after and anybody would be stupid, not to realise this!!

What about you 199, can it be that you have a tiny,tiny fear deep inside, that you maybe could be gay yourself,
    under other circumstances?

PB, I’m both ashamed and disappointed with u!! This is the kind of propagandic-drivel which the homos like to trod-out to try to make us feel guilty for being normal and entice us into their camp!! It wun work wid me boa!! I too fond of d delights of the ladies!! whatever they may be!!

Lord!!

PB, forgive me dear, but I’m completely ignoring the rest of that particular post!!

Yes, B, some mothers ARE quite demented, just as some fathers are!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 22, 2009 at 8:06 AM

You should never be ashamed or disappointed by a wellreflected,goodlooking,smart, eurobajan girl:-)

But i think your fear of whats going on behind your back,is somewhat exaggerated..
    There are many types of gays too.
    faithful gays, in love gays, horny gays, shy gays,friendly gays celibacy gays,married gays et c. etc.
    Not everyone is after your ass!

• 199 // April 22, 2009 at 11:38 AM

PB, ‘euro’-bajan!! Explains all!! Whites have a natural predisposition to homosexuality!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 23, 2009 at 2:35 AM

“PB, ‘euro’-bajan!! Explains all!! Whites have a natural predisposition to homosexuality!!”

Said who?
    I am politically VERY black.
    I think I am less dominated by eurosentria,white christianity and rasismn than you have ever been.
    Homosexuality is as old as time. It has been around in Africa, even Middle East! and all the rest.
    The reason that it is more heard of in Europe in history, is that Greece was , in eurosentric eyes, the cradle of civilisation…..
    But you are not bright enough to even understand what I am trying to say here,are you?
    What I say, is that your homophobia derives from beeing under the heels of very conservative,white christian ruling for centuries.
    In times when black men in Barbados were seen as only one thing: breeding studs.
    From there comes a lot of still going on problems.

• 199 // April 23, 2009 at 8:07 AM

Euro-PB, I did n’t grow-up in Bim and have n’t lived there since, so my ‘homophobia’ – do I also have a phobia for not liking sea-eggs?? – is a result of being NORMAL, for which I make no apology, which clearly, u think I should! You’re a homosexuals-sympathiser and a threat to the normal, decent morality of our society!

• Artful Dodger // April 23, 2009 at 8:27 AM

199 aka Bimbro, “normal”?? Hey guy, you have used up your annual allotment of bare shite talk.

• 199 // April 23, 2009 at 8:47 AM

PB, why r u so keen to defend the homos!! If you really ARE normal, do you think it’s in your interests or does it bring a sense of importance to your otherwise, dreary life?!!

AD, kma!!

• 991 // April 23, 2009 at 9:03 AM

PB don’t worry about 199, he is the sort of person that talks this sort of talk, but I bet he sits next holes in the walls of public bathrooms looking hopeful.

• Partly bajan girl // April 23, 2009 at 9:15 AM

199:”Euro-PB, I did n’t grow-up in Bim and have n’t lived there since”

So why so concerned about whats going on behind your ass in the carribean, then?

199:”PB, why r u so keen to defend the homos!! If you really ARE normal, do you think it’s in your interests or does it bring a sense of importance to your otherwise, dreary life?!!

AD, kma!!”

What is NORMAL in this world?
    I do not have to call me normal because its no standards,really.
    Have you 199 have signed papers on that you are “normal”?

(I cant help laughing here)
    But I defend homosexuals to be homosexals and live out their sexuality and love because its the way they are born.
    It is not a treath to anything in society and has never been.
    Plenty of black babies will still be born, and nothing really fades.
    I have homosexuals in my family,and instead of turning my back against them, I see them and their true colors.
    I have worked with gays, and I have shared room with a unknown, lesbian woman without being raped.
    For me they are persons first,then thereafter women or men, and then beings of sexual codes.
    Its in MY interest to be goodhearted and tolerant, because I have been unconditionally tolerated and embraced myself.

• 199 // April 23, 2009 at 12:26 PM

I taught de perversion was a worldwide one, not just of the caribbean!! In fact, did n’t the pertinent incident occur in Canada – beauty queen nonsense!!

PB, u don’t know what’s normal!! Poor you!! I glad u won’t be my mudda then!! or, in fact, anyting to do wid me, for a parent, much less a child, needs to know both what is normal as well as what’s right and wrong!!

PB, I don’t need nuh papers!! Yuh jus got tuh look at me!!

PB, you mus be very young, innocent and naive! Daon worry, I fuhgive u!! Ull grow up one day!! I just hope it would n’t be too late!!

Anyway, I gine to listen tuh some Rihanna now an lef u tuh yuh homosexual frens!!

Lord!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 24, 2009 at 2:20 AM

No, I am old as time, and naive like a treetrunk.
    Have no pity with me, I will allways survive and I do not have to look behind me all the time.
    I wish you luck with your serious homopobia and hope there can be a kind of cure, even for you.
    Smile and just lime.
    Maybe we meet on the Rock one day and discuss over a bottle of Banks or 10.

• 199 // April 24, 2009 at 4:17 AM

Smile and just lime.

Too much liming darling!! That’s the problem with West Indians!!

• Partly bajan girl // April 24, 2009 at 5:01 AM

199″Too much liming darling!! That’s the problem with West Indians!!”

Can you explain yourself?
    Where are you living and do you have a steady income?

• Partly bajan girl // April 24, 2009 at 6:05 AM

Informing article about homosexuality in Africa and the mystic claim that homosexuality is ” un-African”

http://www.keithboykin.com/author/africa.html

• 199 // April 24, 2009 at 2:10 PM

Darling, wey I live and whether or not I’ve a steady income is of no importance to this argument. Liming is a West Indian disease!!

BTW, are u proud to be a BLACK woman or fall into the category above!!

• 199 // April 24, 2009 at 2:13 PM

BTW, are u proud to be a BLACK woman or fall into the category above!!

Ooops, getting dis one confused with the other thread!! Please answer over there!!

• Ready-Done // May 24, 2009 at 3:21 PM

If a space alien was to land with a lazer beam zapping all humans to take this planet as their own i am sure each and every one of you would feel compelled to do every thing in your power to stop/kill the alien.

To protect the human race as a whole.

Gay people willfully choose to not procreate, they are killing out the human race,as a whole, i say ignore them the same way we would the alien.

How can gay be in the genes when gays cant have children? what is homophobe? how can i be afraid of a gay person?

Gay happens in animals that are in captivity and feel the natural need for sex but doesn’t have the appropriate outlet. You would never find gay in the wild!!!!

And even if, all human actions are by choice that’s what makes us human, we are not animals, what they do has no affect on an ’seemingly’ intelligent beings.

• Juris // May 24, 2009 at 3:45 PM

How about barren women and men, R-D? Kill them too?

• Ready-Done // May 25, 2009 at 3:04 PM

Only if they choose to be barren.Juris

I got a better idea, take all the gay and put them on the moon or something so that they don’t influence my human children with this kind of thinking.

I tired see that on tv. stupesss

Did you know that gay was first classed as a mental disorder?

• Christopher Halsall // May 25, 2009 at 3:40 PM

@Ready-Done: “Did you know that gay was first classed as a mental disorder?

You are incorrect.

Please justify your above.

• Juris // May 25, 2009 at 5:13 PM

I pity you RD. You know what they say about you rabid homophobes, however.

• Ready-Done // May 28, 2009 at 12:36 AM

Christopher Halsall, The American Psychiatric Association removed homosexuality from its diagnostic list of mental disorders in 1973. (google it)

Juris, do you know the meaning of the words you use? homo(man)phobes(fear).
    Do you think i hate mankind? no i dont i love ‘mankind’ this is why i have sex with women so i could make more of mankind.

I add/positive to mankind not a take away/negative.

Gay defies any human reasoning and i don’t understand why would a male have sex with a male? how does that smell? what is the lubrication? nature provides female with glands that produce lubrication. do males have such glands.

Can any GAY person prove to me that gay has any benefit to society?

All gays do is lash out with dirty curse words and comments but never use reasoning to prove gay should be accepted. until then i say NO.

• J // May 28, 2009 at 1:52 AM

Dear Ready-Done you wrote “i love ‘mankind’ this is why i have sex with women so i could make more of mankind. ”

I put it to you that you do not have sex with women because you want to make babies. I put it to you that you have sex with women primarily because it is so much FUN.

Dear Ready-Done you also wrote “nature provides female with glands that produce lubrication. do males have such glands.”

Yes males do have glands that produce plentiful lubrication when the male is sexually aroused. I am surprised that you claim to be a sexually active adult male and you do not know this.

• J // May 28, 2009 at 1:57 AM

Dear Ready-Done you wrote “I got a better idea, take all the gay and put them on the moon or something”

I think that those of us who believe also believe that GOD is the only life giver.

If God in his wisdom has given life to homosexuals and if in His wisdom he has determined that they live on earth with us who are heterosexual why then would you want to send gay people to the moon?

Do you think that you know better than God?

• Technician // May 28, 2009 at 2:11 AM

@ J…..

stuuuppppsssseeee!!!!

• J // May 28, 2009 at 2:13 AM

Let us REASON Technician. REASON.

A stupseeeeeeeeee ain’t good enough.

• Ready-Done // May 29, 2009 at 11:15 AM

J i ask someone to prove with reason that gay has a benefit to society. If you attempted it was a poor attempt.

You cant tell me why i love to have sex with women, in fact you don’t know my reason for anything unless i tell you what it is.

Natural sex is fun, i like it, fyi, males do not produce lubrication we have no such glands, our only sexual organ, the penis only produce fluids that are used for fertilization of the female egg.

God lend humans the breath of life, not gay, gay don’t reproduce therefore gay is anti-life, as all life reproduces.

God doesn’t like anti-life/death, he dident create death, death is the result of sin.

I think gay should separate itself form human because gay is anti-life & anti-human.

• Ready-Done // May 29, 2009 at 11:31 AM

The more i think about it, science shows that all fetuses are essentially female in the very early stages, the fact that males have nipples and no uses for them is evidence of this.

If we all are female in the beginning we all must have some sort of female in us, sometimes that female try’s to get out, for logical, rational, male humans these ‘urges’ are keep in check usually on an unconscious level because we know we have a penis and stronger penile ‘urges’ and know what it is used for.

But for gay there brains must not be working properly. And they think that it is right to be gay. But with little REASONING i sure all gays can see the error of their ways.

I am still waiting for someone to prove gay is a benefit to society.

• Ready-Done // June 1, 2009 at 8:04 AM

I know this blog dun because na nasty bullers cant defend them self.

Well done ready, we gin run out the whole a dem.

• partly bajan girl. // June 25, 2009 at 9:58 AM

Is this how you(and God) wanna solve the “homosexual problem” in Barbados too?

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1195410/Disturbing-YouTube-video-church-casting-homosexual-demon-teenage-boy.html

• uname // September 26, 2009 at 5:18 PM

what the fuck u talking sodomite & baty bwoy hav fe get killed. that is against jah creation.

• kiki // September 27, 2009 at 9:11 AM

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/27/free-me/

Sizzla Lyrics – Free Me

They got to free me

the f**k*n world wanna see mi

Babylon, be yourself you cyaan be mi

• bobe // January 28, 2010 at 3:21 AM

Fotunately, no one’s opinion here matters.

Barbados is hardly the leader in intellectual debate – anyone worth their weight leaves the island for more challenging debates.

Barbados is a little dot that is nothing more than a three week playground for tourists. Barbados does not contribute to international democratic and cultural advancement. It just resists change for a decade (or two) and then conforms. So chill and enjoy the beach, sun and unchallenging nature of its economy. Like it or not, the real thinkers, all of whom are outside the little rock, are the ones that will change your world, not you theirs. And, the vast majority of them have no issues about gayness…kissing on the street or otherwise.

• Crusoe // January 28, 2010 at 5:36 AM

Bobe ‘Barbados does not contribute to international democratic and cultural advancement’.

Thank God and may it remain so.

We would not wish to be responsible for the murder of the multitude of civilians in the Middle East, labelled as ‘collateral damage’, for the starvation of children across Africa, due to the expense on weapons instead of humanitarian advancement neither the manufacturing and sale of weapons of war.

Indeed, we do not have the intellectual capacity of winning ‘hearts and mind’ with AK 47’s and cluster bomds, we are too simple for that.

Neither could even envisage blowing up a plane blowing up a plane to make a point, we are too peaceful to be so determined to make a point.

No, we do not contribute to that great level of ‘democratic and cultural’ advancement that you worship.

Although some here aspire to the cultural lifestyle of New York, with the opulent wealth on one hand, but also the carboard box housing alongside, many of us are also too simple to worship that either.

As you note, it takes someone of special calibre to understand the above attitudes and live by them.

We just do not cut it, do we?

Leave a Comment