Barbados Underground

Report Concerns About Immigration Abuse In Barbados

May 7, 2009 · 62 Comments

Mr.Editor,

In the absence of the Gov’t listing those work permits issued, maybe a title in the blog could be Work Permits Issued, with contributors, anyone, entering places and positions where they know a work permit has been issued?

This would ensure a publicly available database, albeit by bajans at large, who see positions being filled, especially those where bajans can do the work.

Suggestion submitted by BU family member Sir Bentwood Dick – 10 May 2009

Categories: Barbados · Immigration

62 responses so far ↓

• David // May 10, 2009 at 10:24 AM

Let the BU family be the eyes and ears of the nation. Thanks Sir Bentwood!

• J // May 11, 2009 at 11:25 PM

None.

• Adams Bright // May 12, 2009 at 4:42 PM

Sir , Am a Ghanain,who has planned to travel to Barbados this ending of may.please what steps will i take to come to Barbados.i will firstly travel to south Africa from there to Barbados is that steps allowed.Advice me on what to do.

• Adams Bright // May 12, 2009 at 4:47 PM

Is Ghana passport a visa free to Barbados,if it is how..am i allowed to fly from another country to Barbados,if yes advice me.

• Yardbroom // May 12, 2009 at 5:19 PM

@ Adams Bright

Perhaps it might be a good idea to contact the Ghanian Foreign Office, they can supply you with current and correct information, you are then less likely to incur unnecessary expenditure.

• ernst & young // May 25, 2009 at 12:00 AM

BU can you find out why ernst and young have so many philopino accountants working there?

my info is that they are working in the tax division. we counted about 12 and they maybe more. dont we have accountants in barbados or the region to do the job?

• Jay // May 28, 2009 at 4:51 PM

Stabroeknews comment:

“Reality Check.
    Guyanese living there get in contact with corrupt immigration officials and try to obtain Bajan pp. When they get this they can travel to Canada, and UK without a VISA because Barbados is an island with british sovernity.
    Now the guyanese living there legal or illegal, get old after building the country, then the bajans want to send them home, whet they are pensoiners, to put strain on the government pension to which they would be entitled, even though they left and was building another nation. Then they will compalin that the pension is not enough for them to live on in Guyana.”
    http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/05/28/ccl-calls-on-%e2%80%98illegals%e2%80%99-in-b%e2%80%99dos-to-regularise-status/comment-page-2/#comments
    ————————————————-

I know there was a shake-up at the Barbados Immigration Department,but who knows if all matters of corruption have been stamped out.I also hope the Department is also looking out for marriages of convenience & that certain sectors of the public service aren’t still giving out Barbados identification cards.

• Desmond // May 30, 2009 at 3:57 AM

Dear sir, I am traveling to Barbados soon for Tourism. I will be flying in from Jamaica…Do i need an Invitation letter to come there for Tourism? and if Yes, What should the invitation letter look like? I am a Nigeria and i dont need a visa to fly to Barbados. Kindly advice me soon.

• The Scout // May 30, 2009 at 6:31 AM

Desmond
    What do you mean by ” traveling for Tourism?” Are you coming here on holiday? If the answer is YES ands you have proper documenation and enough money to support yourself and a return ticket and reservation to stay for the duration of time in Barbados, YOU ARE WELCOME. However, if your motive is different and you’re hoping to trick the immigration and/or the Barbados government, my advice to you would be to remain where you are.

• Desmond // May 30, 2009 at 8:00 AM

Yes i am coming for Holiday as my friend there is inviting me but he does not know how to write me the Invitation Letter. I need a guideline on how to send someone Invitation Letter from Barbados.

Thanks in anticipation.

• Sir Bentwood Dick // May 30, 2009 at 8:03 AM

I see that the advert seeking a work permit for the ‘Business Manager’, was in last weeks paper, notice to give objection to the Chief Immigration Officer, within a time limit.

So, with so many bajan graduates, hundreds every year, who have gone on to work in large corporations here and so many returned nationals, with experience of many corporations, we cannot find ONE local qualified ‘business manager’?

Give me a break!

• Sir Bentwood Dick // May 30, 2009 at 8:07 AM

Accountants, yeah, I am told that there are many in the firms here, cheap labour, rather than pay suitable locals, it appears.

These large corporations only think of the bottom line.

The question is, what analysis of the requirements and availability were given to the Immigration and did Immigration assess it properly?

You cannot just walk into Bermuda and start work and it is very difficult to get a work permit.

They look for Bermudans first.

• Sir Bentwood Dick // May 30, 2009 at 8:08 AM

That said, does the Minister ever overrule the Chief Immigration Officer?

• Desmond // May 30, 2009 at 8:36 AM

Please Kindly give me guidelines on how to write an Invitation Letter to someone who wants to visit Barbados. My friend needs this information soonest.

Thanks

• David // May 30, 2009 at 8:38 AM

@Desmond

Tell your friend to call the Immigration Department.

• Anonymous // May 30, 2009 at 11:05 AM

Sir Bentwood Dick // May 30, 2009 at 8:08 am

That said, does the Minister ever overrule the Chief Immigration Officer?

Better yet does the Permanent Secretary overide the Chief Immigration Officer ………..!!!!!!!!

• mash up & buy back // May 31, 2009 at 6:13 AM

GREAVES THE CORRUPT FORMER IMMIGRATION CHIEF WAS SENT TO DEFENSE AND SECRETARY AS PS. AND HE IS GIVING THE ACTING CHIEF IMMIGRATION OFFICER HELL.

On another note anyone read that story in today’s sunday with the chineese buying up the land a fella and his family lived on for 50 years?

• JC // May 31, 2009 at 7:10 AM

Who is the f###### people who come bout here making noise for OUR land?

David Thompson you and your team of politicians better get to the bottom of this!!!!!1

Who are these people!!!!!!

I vex is shite!!!!!!

NO ONE SHOULD BE ABLE TO COME AND GET FIRST OPTION BEFORE THAT MAN!!!!!

• David // May 31, 2009 at 7:10 PM

Does anyone have any details about the arrangement which this Chinese company has to build the town houses at Maxwell?

• Jay // June 14, 2009 at 3:39 PM

Maybe it is time for visa restrictions for Guyana nationals or fingerprints on entry since they are being deported & finding there way back upon entry at GAIA.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/06/14/mother-worried-about-son-nabbed-by-bajan-immigration/comment-page-2/#comments

Comment by Queen bee
    [quote]i know of a few gt ppl who got sent home went into gpo,and got new bc in another name and new pp and boom they r back in bim,just living it up,thats how guyanese babdly wants to live in bim,the land of the flying fish[/quote]

• David // June 17, 2009 at 10:51 PM

We notice that Condrigton High School has declared its intention to apply for two work permits for teachers.

• The plain TRUTH // June 27, 2009 at 12:20 PM

Everyone is over reacting i think if we use our heads this can all be sorted out,
    all we are doing is bashing the guyanse when we have a more immediate problem on our hands the government of Barbados needs to be checked out. i do agree that the illegal immigrants need to be sent back to their country when they over stay but in a mannerly fashion i personally have experience with the immigration department and it is not a pleasent experiance, their are too many double standards in the department. If Mr. Thopson feel he fooling anybody he fooling he self it bad enough when you had to wait a week for documetation to be stamped into your passport but now since the new and improve changes you have to wait three weeks for a stamp or keep waiting until they call you for another payment for a stamp that you don’t ever get, so if immigration picks you up they have all grounds to deport you because you don’t have the stamp that you paid for to say that you are here legally and the time period for your citizen-ship is way too long. just like guyana has bad people they have good people, just as barbados has bad people they have good people so all this foolish about the best guyanese is a dead guyanese needs to stop we are all caribbean family and we need to put our heads together and come up with innovative ideas to rise up from this ignorant behaviour. Our government see it fit to let all these forign people come and buy up all our property and sell it back to us at rediculous prices, they go out and bring in chinese and other nationalaties to do cheap labour, they deprive us of the few dollars we work so hard for with there so called taxes but study it!!! if we are only being paid say $250.00 a week if so much which NIS another form of taxes is being taken out our utility and grocey bill all have 15% vat on it and those two bills alone are $275.00 or more all together how are we really surviving. They put governtment institutions to assist us but all they are doing is assisting them selves anyways thats all for now if anybody wants to hear more from me just leave a message for me BYE FOR NOW

• The plain TRUTH // June 27, 2009 at 12:22 PM

ps flying fish belongs to the trinidadian people

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 1:40 PM

David
    Have you seen that work permit Advertisement asking for an assistant hairdresser.

Bet you that is for one of these jamaican strip club workers,or maybe for even one of the russian prostitutes.

I hope Ms Farmer on top of this.

• David // June 27, 2009 at 3:21 PM

mash up

We suspect that these are illegals currently working in these jobs with some effort now being made to regularize. All is not yet pure at the Immigration Department

• mash up & buy back // July 23, 2009 at 12:28 PM

Check out the nation newspaper under the section’Vacancy’.

You will see that there is an advertisements for persons doing massages and it is clearly stated – they want persons of all nationalities.

Semms like they trying to legitimise the eventual seeking of a work permit for whores from russia,jamaica,guyana,columbia etc.

• adeolu fash // September 6, 2009 at 4:40 PM

i am adeolu fash from nigeria i really want to come to barbados i know its visa free. how do i get an invitation please help me. thanks.

• conliffe0 // October 7, 2009 at 7:58 PM

i see a white american girl working at the dive shop at the boatyard. i know she dont got no work permit.
    you see her permit is between her legs.haha
    how many english and german women have married bazan men for money so they can live in barbados ?????
    is the customs department totally useless?
    it is amazing how many white in particular people from abroad work in barbados without work permits.
    it is sad to see barbados in this state. as i am sure our forefathers suffered and paid dearly for the right to be here on this island.
    now all kind of people who don’t care atol about this island are here.
    just feel cool to be here.
    time for dem to pay dues or get out.
    i know of a famous drummer of a top local band who married his cousin for her to be able to live in barbados.
    are the customs people blind.
    now i think she done with him.

• conliffe0 // October 7, 2009 at 8:04 PM

we know about the Nigerian scammers.
    so good luck with that

• Sir V // October 7, 2009 at 10:40 PM

Nigeria Visa Free ..BS .
    even if people got family connections to Barbados they need to go through the process , In Canada and US u have to spend 4 to 5 years in the country and pass test JOBS to Barbadians FIRST !!!bajan can object to people seeking citizenship and they can block that person ! Sandy lane bringing in hairstylist and i am a hairstylist 20+ years and and a 100% Barbadian and I alpplied and they never even called me back but dem got English weirdos working down there ..illegal dancer/Whores over saying their visas and getting pregnant for bajan men (maybe some in Immigration )Living in Barbados years now illegally UP iN KENT AREA(I could call names but here and now is not the time )llegals working on boats in bars (boat yard /harbour lights ) any pretty ting and some NOT so pretty with a loose nature can stay in BIm in seems !We will have to start calling names and makeing formal complaints if The Immigration Depart would like ??!!!

• Sir V // October 7, 2009 at 10:51 PM

Immigration needs to do more rounding up like they rounded up two Canadian Girls that were working and over- staying, with their boys and now one of the boys in Canada over-staying and playing he studying , he’ll be soon out!!Unless she marries he but I think he married already , but getting back to the point , They teck 2 Canadian Girls from their beds and put them at GAIA to sleep on mats on floor untill next Flights OUt , while I thinks this is CORREct It should be done more with Guyanese.Brazilains /Venez, and Germans /Russians etc…Canada puts people out , US is a JOKE! But barbados needs to put them oUT cause if canad can and they are the BIGGEST country in The World BY AREA sine the demise of the USSR , then BARBADOS COME oNNNNNNNNNNN!!!

• skipper V // October 9, 2009 at 7:24 AM

Flying Fish belong to TrICkY dadians !! BS.. My Dad use to catch dem by de Tousands in Oistins in his 3 Boats every day 40 years ago , barbados is entitled to at least 12 miles of Fishin around and outside barbados waters …trInis GO HOME !!!

• skipper V // October 9, 2009 at 1:29 PM

make it that they have to produce their Visas regularily to the police department Or maybe when they rent a beach chair or buy a DRINK!!! lOL

• skipper V // October 9, 2009 at 6:55 PM

conliffe0 u mean Krissy and Maxie Taylor ?

• skipper V // October 9, 2009 at 7:18 PM

nah man she mudda is bajan born , think she fadder is american indian or something like dat !!! She would get in !!

• skipper V // October 10, 2009 at 1:40 PM

Fine them on departure if they over-stay their visas

• baje // October 10, 2009 at 3:35 PM

4 newbury st george illegal guyanese maid

• baje // October 10, 2009 at 3:36 PM

illegal brazilian upton lodge

• baje // October 10, 2009 at 4:07 PM

u could probably call a a lot of residences in BIm especiall White Bajn house and a guyanese will answer the phone as they have become the tricky ones that have deceived white bajans into thinking that bajans TEEF but They do not …Illegal maids etc…

• BIG MOUT // October 10, 2009 at 4:18 PM

Big business UpBeat marketing illegal imports house wives going to venezuela and guyana and puerto rico to shop and den paying off customs man and selling dem stuff at dem shops …sinage places harbour lights and private houses being built using miami imports ILLEGALLY!! I could go on and on … barbados need to cRACK down on these people getting rich off illegal practices (if the Revenue department would just take a look at dem that driving big cars and buying big houses at early ages etc…one fellow the last priminister’s name sake with a sign co , driving audi and buying big house in kent travelling to miami and paying off customs automotive artistic CO man buying big house and big cars and expanding all in miami and other island ..wonder if all of dem pay their taxes All their taxes , fellows with Big Boats carrying all the tourist to have fun on de sea and taking all the US for themselves , wonder if they pay all their dues ….HhhhmmM bajan Queen men got Rich in 6 years and got big houses and doing internationl banking and building condos ,,,wonder if they pay all the dues !!

• KISSMYA // October 10, 2009 at 7:10 PM

BIG MOUT-

yuh mout big ; yuh know things

anyhow yuh mout might not be big enough

• BIG MOUT // October 10, 2009 at 9:17 PM

yeh , maybe , but it could get BIGGER …

• anonymous // October 10, 2009 at 9:21 PM

Ok people Keep Focused , calling names and BIG MOuTING and kissmeA slogans ain’t doing no good , although slander is only slander if it ain’t TRUE or is far from TRUE!!! LOL

• KISSMYA // October 10, 2009 at 10:58 PM

@ anon
    the name is
    KISSMYA
    -get it right !
    ===========
    BIG MOUT
    I like that response
    I did not expect it !
    LOL !
    straight out of left field eh !
    —————
    again !

you know things
    I can tell by what I see from you
    be careful that someone does indeed honour your request for your mout to get bigger

a cuff in it could swell it !
    have yuh ever seen some one with a mout swelled BIG BIG from a cuff

I would not mention the other ways that yuh mout cud increase in size

• KISSMYA // October 10, 2009 at 11:11 PM

ALL OF A SUDDEN BARBADOS is too godd for black people !

• kiki // October 11, 2009 at 4:41 AM

Stop Snitching 2 DVD

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t8q9m2z3e4g

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:04 AM

YEH DON snitch and den dem claiming Freedom of Speech …typical DF,,,,

come meet down lakes and we will see who mout would swell de biggerest !!!

keep threatening me and kissmaa too!!

OH YEH I have seen many mout SWELL big bIG and many a BIG LIPS FLAPPING LIKE YOUR BLOW HARD ,,,hey don open mout out window of moving car eh!!!!

• David // October 11, 2009 at 9:05 AM

big mout/WWAB

relax with all the names.

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:06 AM

Ignorance is a CURSE!!!

Always the Guilty will threaten and play dangerous BUT we know dem and WE NOT SCARED don care how big and Bad dem thinks dey are ,,, can only scare Tourist , and not even de tourist scared anymore caise i know of many a case where de tourist men BUSSING DEM ASSES!!!!

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:08 AM

david y U not tell KISSMAA /?? HHhmmmmmmmmmmmmm

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:49 AM

David it is KISSMAA dat start all the racist statements and Racist Videos from the tube !! u should really manage this site so that just any Idiot cannot get on here ad do as they like with VULGAR screen names etc…It is typical behaviour though ! play BiG Black and bad and Scarey so you can do as you like !! iE De Police/De NCC/ De Defense Force De government Etccc…..THEY DON”T SCARE ME !!!

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:52 AM

how comes Some Screen names are BoLD and BLUE and others are DUll and black does this mean they are NOT approved , David do your JoB and lets keep it SENSIBLE!

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 9:54 AM

yeh seems KISSMAA know all BOUT MOUT SWELLING He mussyna bULLA!!!! LOL

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 11:37 AM

• WWAB // October 11, 2009 at 11:44 AM

ISeen Black panters To Kill Bil O’reilly on FOX ….

• KISSMYA // October 11, 2009 at 12:22 PM

Hey
    whoever you are

the name is KISSMYA. Why do you assume that I am male ?

You have completely misunderstood me
    I did not or will I ever threaten you or anyone else for that matter.

I have no reason to do so

My post to you was just to alert you to infinite possiblities of what is out there and it was little joke too-it sounded good at that time and it was spontaneous. Please do not mis-understand me.

I am on your side -so dont get too worked up and scared and lose your sense of reason.

I find that too many of us like to assume things and then come to conclusions based on our assumptions and not on fact. Please do not assume things about me. I am annonymous on this blog, I have been called political and partisan political. I am none of these things but it goes to show how people will latch on to anything.

I am a simple individual trying to express an opinion and having some fun at the same time.A blog such as this is like Kadooment/Carnival and the idea of mass and mask or masking. You come here incognito , take on a personality and you be somebody else you have fun, agitate, infuriate and then you go back into your world and be the person you are, more often than not.

Please dont take me seriously
    That goes out to you and all other commenters.
    So there ! I have squashed the suspense and mystery-(or so I think -ha! ha !)-you see what I mean ? ha! ha! ha !

• BIGM // October 11, 2009 at 1:40 PM

you like U get scared … i know what ya meaning doe !! LOl … I just jucking to!!hahah… But some things have to be serious .. without snitching there would be no FREEDOM oF SPEECH ..snitching is what ya do when ya at school ! Tell me IF a man SNITCH on someone who is breaking the lAW is that BADDDDDD??? Don’t think so Buddy!

• 'BLacK TAYLOR with THE AXE' // October 15, 2009 at 10:36 AM

hey maybe its Robbie garrett !! Nahhhhh cuase his limey ass always drunk !!!

• 'The Equalizer' // October 27, 2009 at 8:52 AM

wait eva body gone COLD !!! Where de reports of the Illegals .. they better get out quick as the Amnesty going run out in a hurry and den it is dem RASS at police station and airport depotation room if dey lucky ..cause it going be $50,000.00 Or 5 years or both !!!

• what will happen to us as bajans // October 30, 2009 at 9:04 PM

let me say something seriously! if Barbados isnt careful, soon we could have a brit PM, everybody is going on about own people from the caribbean, but somehow missing the brits on this island. they are taking over! look on the west coast soon you would be lucky if you can see a black face down there. look down there at the gardens they put up that block off from the see but leave that shape of a window meaning window to the see! he must think we too stupid to figure it out. what i want to know is how these people can be in this country travelling working and yet they are illegal????

• what will happen to us as bajans // October 30, 2009 at 9:14 PM

right now i know bout 1 man that wanted back in the states for kidnapping he own daughter, i went in & tell the police them asking me what i want them to do they are not american police & i know he illegal here, he driving a car that dont have a road tax or insurance. these people we as bajan are being forsed to live with. it really does bring tears to my eyes when i think how hard i does work & these people just taking advantage, i done old now is my children & grandchildren i does feel sorry for. God help us yo hear… our own goverment aint protecting us what we gine do.

• yvette // December 9, 2009 at 3:59 PM

ms weekes need to be polite to people and stop getting on so piggist and unmannerly

Leave a Comment