Barbados Underground

Are We Serious About Agriculture

May 29, 2009 · 144 Comments

Submitted by The Scout

Minister of Agriculture Haynesley Benn

For sometime I have been monitoring the growth of agriculture or lack of here in Barbados. Successive Governments have paid lip service to this industry and local farmers are becoming more and more frustrated, and rightly so. Praedial larceny again has been put on the back burner, this problem has not gone away, just that farmers have stop complaining as we got more angry when nothing is being done about it.

Also there is the problem of monkey theft, these animal over the years have become a serious problem, destroying almost every crop planted e.g potatoes, cassava, onions, etc, yet the Ministry of Agriculture cannot come up with a solution to the problem.

Then there is the problem with those who actually reap a crop to get it sold, we have to compete against foreign product that is subsidised, then against the foreign producers who are growing crops in Barbados and don’t have the overheads that the locals have. What is noteworthy is that I don’t hear of any of this class of local producers report praedial larceny, or the inability to sell their crops.

Is there a concerted effort to eliminate the Bajan farmer right in his own country? These subtle works of art by our neighbours is just another method to disenfranchise and frustrate Bajans and we are soaking it all up like if the doctor ordered it for us.

I’m calling on the DLP government that we the local Barbadians elected to look after our interest, to protect us in these difficult times . We built this nation up to what it is today and we’re patriotic enough to look after it’s future, we would not use underhand means and dangerous methods for monetary gain, while money is important  the welfare of our country is most important.

Categories: Agriculture · Barbados

144 responses so far ↓

• John // May 29, 2009 at 11:15 PM

Colin Hudson used to have several graphs on display.

One I found revealing was the one which demonstraed the inverse relationship between Government support in agriculture and output of that sector.

The highest output the sugar industry achieved was 200,000 tons in 1957 and then again in 1967.

The indiators in the agricultural sector have been trending downward since then.

Output today is at a level, 30,000 tons, which existed at the time of emancipation, and yet we have technology and education levels never seen before in Barbados!!

I don’t believe any government since independence really wanted agriculture to succeed.

• The Scout // May 29, 2009 at 11:54 PM

Please tell me how the BADMC could have imported a 40 ft container of onions when the local farmers for some time now have been getting problems with finding market for their produce? It seems like somebody is getting big on these imports. Farmers are frustrated by the lack of support they recieve from government.

John
    I agree with you, this is not a DLP problem alone. This problem exists with both parties. Somebody needs to come straight with the farmers.

• David // May 30, 2009 at 12:03 AM

Don’t agree Scout. The BADMC is a government corporation and therefore the buck stops at the minister and government. Will we see the Chairman and or general manager of the BADMC disciplined? Don’t think so!

• J // May 30, 2009 at 12:23 AM

Dear David you wrote “Also there is the problem of monkey theft..”

Monkeys cannot steal.

To steal or not to steal is a moral decision which requires a conscience.

I may be wrong, but I don’t believe that monkeys have consciences.

I believe that monkeys take what they need to satisfy their hunger (this can hardly be called stealing)

And yes I farm and have lost crops to monkeys.

This may seem like nit picking but it is not. When people wrongly believe that an animal’s natural acts are bad or immoral, then people punish the animal including killing is for being “bad” as we saw in the newspapers just this week.

Of course no other animal has learned that if you bite a child I’ll chop of your head, so what was the purpose then of chopping off the dog’s head?

• The Scout // May 30, 2009 at 6:07 AM

David
    That is exactly what I’m saying, the problem is, I believe somebody near the top is getting a cutback for impoirting these onions.
    J
    Are you advocating that we allow the monkey population to expold and take over all the crops? Whether you call it stealing or not the monkey population has to be controlled. What would you call monkey just biting fruits and leaving them?

• Johnny Postle // May 30, 2009 at 9:24 AM

What is wrong with Barbados? Our preference seems to be for nonsense rather than commonsense. And I got to throw in the fact that we have become a greedy and corrupt nation. We talk about education beng the pinnacle of personal and economic development yet we preside and decide on matters that does not reflect the inellectual capacity fitting to our big up degrees and higher levels of education. For instance, Agriculture is not going anywhere because we do not understand fully the importance of research. What sense it is to have all these degree holders doing nothing but just getting qualified.

The chief Agriculture officer comes over to me as a mere joker. In fact the Ministry of Agriculture seems to come over to me as a bunch of jokers who are too busy with their biases to get any real work done. I think they genuinely do not know what to do in the agricultural ministry. The honourable Minister is beating his head against the coals with this lot. I say fire the whole bunch and bring in some over and away people to manage this very important ministry. No wonder the auditor general got problems with this ministry, they too busy getting and not giving.

• zion1971 // May 30, 2009 at 9:36 AM

Our Agriculture theme needs to be:EXPORT OR DIE

• Hopi // May 30, 2009 at 9:43 AM

“I say fire the whole bunch and bring in some over and away people to manage this very important ministry.” Jesus wept! More of the same shyte. Bring in over n’ away people to do what your grand parents can do? Why not hire the capable elderly who know the soil, who fed Barbados from the get-go? How much are you willing to pay these people from ova n’ away to sit on their fat arses and attend parties while poisoning Barbados soil with Monsanto and other GM seeds? Why not pay the Barbadians?

Bajans need to take a long hard look at themselves in the mirror and ponder the direction of that island!

• David // May 30, 2009 at 9:46 AM

It seems that the appointment of every Minister of Agriculture whether BLP or DLP the appointment is heralded as the ‘tipping point’ for his important ministry. For example Erskine Griffith was thought to be a person who would have used his experience in Geneva to push start agriculture. As they say, he came, he saw, he left.

Benn seems to have his heart in the right place but the stakeholders in the agricultural industry need to get on the same page. Again a flaw in our civil service given its unwieldy design to respond to change.

• John // May 30, 2009 at 10:01 AM

… Hopi, these old folks are in their 80’s and 90’s …. or sadly dead.

We actually did bring in people from over and away in the 1990’s but I think it is just a case of too little too late.

The damage has been done.

Robert Goddard wrote an article entitled “The Fall of the Planter Class” which provides an interpretation of the crisis in the sugar industry in the 1980’s.

It illustrates some of the machinations that went on over this period.

Good to see historians documenting history when the players are alive and memories are clear.

Robert Goddard, “The fall of the Barbados planter class: an interpretation of the 1980s crisis in the Barbados sugar industry,” Agricultural History, 75 (2001), pp. 329-345

Available in UWI Library and probably online.

• Yardbroom // May 30, 2009 at 11:43 AM

I agree with the analysis of Scout, we have put agriculture on the back burner for several years; there should be a change and we would then see the benefits of growing our own produce. We have a historical barrier to leap…but that should be possible.

There is nothing more disconcerting than to see “luxuriant bush” growing beside some properties in Barbados, with very little effort and enterprise that land could be put to productive use.

We must start early to change a “mind set” a Government initiative led by the schools is the way to go.

Across Europe and other places abroad professional people are out digging in their gardens or rented allotments at weekends or in the evening…they are no less “respectable” for so doing.

With regard to the theft of crops it is a “scourge” which should be punished not solely on the value of the items taken but also considering the lawlessnes and lack of respect for peoples property which such theft engenders.

On a larger picture we treat agriculture as just growing potatoes or planting canes. We have never sought to learn from those at the cutting edge of agriculture technology. There is no point talking about a lack of land, some small specialised enterprises could be started, giving employment to many in “niche” markets. We are often constrained by “we have never done it before.”

• The Scout // May 30, 2009 at 12:11 PM

A suggestion would be for the government to train farmers in new technologies and then find market for their crops. This would call for a proper and transparent policy about foreign importation. It would seem that some “big-ups” in Barbados have to be satisfied irrespective of which party is in power.All those local farmers who are registered in the system and are adhering to the project would get their fertilisers and chemicals subsidised. Very few farmers follow the directions on the label of the product used, all this need to be taught to farmers.

• The Scout // May 30, 2009 at 12:14 PM

There is something that bothers me about the chemicals used especially the imported ones. Most of them carry a warning in bold print, FOR EXPORT ONLY. I would like the Min of agriculture to explain why EXPORT ONLY

• John // May 30, 2009 at 1:01 PM

… and the chemicals used in Golf Courses ….?

Google Golf Course and water quality

• Bush Tea // May 30, 2009 at 2:04 PM

@ Scout

This is not an ‘agriculture’ problem, it is a leadership problem.
    Look at any important area of national life – you see the same thing….
    INCOMPETENCE / No sense of responsibility / No consequences for foolish behavior – not even for ILLEGAL behaviors

You heard what senator Millington said?
    THAT is our problem.

…as to when it will be solved? Soon!!! when things get so bad that the jokers who make excuses for incompetence, stealing, murder, ILLEGAL immigrants and other foolishness are too poor and hungry to protest more…

…of course by then it will be too late for ALL of us…. but as I always say, we always get exactly what we deserve.

With respect to agriculture, you must admit that we are GIANTS at moving the earth around to please though, been by St Davids recently?

…see how fast they can clear bush, move topsoil, cut road track, and so on?

One would think that we have endless land available to us and our descendants…..

@ John
    There is no need to import any special planters to address this problem (they will be frustrated in short order). What would work is a strong, single minded and honest leadership with the guts and staying power to step on some heads – lodge or not….

• Georgie Porgie // May 30, 2009 at 2:46 PM

@ Bush Tea

You better be careful that somebody down there don’t write you off for telling the OBVIOUS TRUTH with such CLARITY!

You better be careful that they dont take your name out of the book of life, FOR LIFE, like they did for me!

As you thruthfully said
    1- This is not an ‘agriculture’ problem, it is a leadership problem.
    Look at any important area of national life – you see the same thing….
    INCOMPETENCE / No sense of responsibility / No consequences for foolish behavior – not even for ILLEGAL behaviors

CORRECT! IT HAS BEEN SO FOR SOME TIME NOW!

After all the agricultural sector produced enough food to feed Barbaos during the war, although then we were not in to fast food, and we ate sweet potatoes and yams locally grown, and had fresh meat grown in the village!

2- the jokers ……..make excuses for incompetence, stealing, murder, ILLEGAL immigrants and other foolishness

3- see how fast they can clear bush, move topsoil, cut road track, and so on?
    One would think that we have endless land available to us and our descendants…..

4- There is no need to import any special planters to address this problem (they will be frustrated in short order). What would work is a strong, single minded and honest leadership with the guts and staying power to step on some heads – lodge or not….

YOU HAVE AGAIN HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD IN EACH OF SEVERAL PHRASES IN THIS SHORT PARAGRAPH.

OUR LEADERSHIP REJECTS AND ABHORS AND ARE AFRAID OF FOLK WHO HAVE IDEAS OR WHO DO NOT LICK TAIL OR HAVE A MENDICANT DISPOSITION.

But Humpty Dumpty has fallen off the wall a long time ago. We know the rest of that story! All the kings horses and the king’s men only mulling around pretending to look smart, muttering some rhetoric occasionally, and as the scriptures say they PROFESS THEMSELVES TO BE WISE, although THEY KNOW THAT THEY ARE FOOLS, and that MANY OF US ALSO KNOW THAT THEY ARE FOOLS.

• David // May 30, 2009 at 3:37 PM

@Bush Tea

We are watching closely but the current government seems to be operating under the guise of finding houses for people as a workaround to cut up some of our most fertile land. Staple Grove Plantation in St. Davids is a case in point.

• Rumplestilskin // May 30, 2009 at 3:48 PM

John,

Correct, was it not RT.Hon Errol Barrow who declared that no one will again work in the cane fields?

However, this has been compounded in the last number of years, by the absolute impossibility of the ‘average man’ being able to afford an acre or two, for the purposes of growing.

The same youngsters who either grow up in the country or come out of University, fresh with eagerness of youth, cannot afford even a ten square foot property.

The developers push to have every last piece of land changed to commercial or residential use.

There is much arid land suitable for non-real estate purposes, but instead agricultural land is being sought for this.

Why? For two reasons, ‘virgin’ land can be acquired by developers with a connection to obtain a change of use, probably for less than land already approved for development.

Secondly, much of the existing land available for building is owned by, proportionally few people, who really have no urgent need of the money, but sit on the ever escalating values, until such time as someone with enough bank loan, desperately buys a property.

The profit motive guides in both cases.

Our land has become an easy way for some to become wealthy beyond dreams, something outside the reach of us average citizens.

One might argue a case of free market forces, but at an interlude in our development when we should still be supporting the spreading of wealth, after the ending of the era of the large planters and merchants, the market should have been regulated.

Nevertheless, ’should’ is not a word that comes easily to decision-makers and cavaliers when the profit motive is involved.

The real wake up will come when a world catastrophe occurs, such that we can neither feed ourselves, nor keep the peace as a result.

All hell will break loose then.

Peace

• John // May 30, 2009 at 3:53 PM

Our leaders are incapable of doing anything creative.

What is their track record?

How many have any experience running a business?

How many have a clue as to how to look at large tracks of land marshall resources and make them work?

This is the flaw in parliament today.

The model of educated technocrats advising ignorant politicians has cost us dearly.

This is because technical support staff advice can be poo pooed when inconvenient and can be doctored to suit.

It is strategic thinking which is missing from the heads of those in authority, and this flows from a close understanding of how the natural processes of our country work.

This is the difference pre and post independence.

Pre independence parliamentarians invariably had a strong connection to the land and the people who worked it.

These guys and gals today have not got a clue.

We may claim to have come far … and we have, but what was the point if the natural processes that support us potentially render our existence unsustainable?

• JC // May 30, 2009 at 4:20 PM

Each time I pass St. Davids my heart burns. I know that we will regret what we are doing I can feel it in my gut!

We need to value (treasure) that soil!

• Bush Tea // May 30, 2009 at 4:26 PM

@ GP
    .. my name has been erased from their ‘book of life’ for years now…. But surely you know that ‘who BBE bless no man can curse…’

@ David
    I see that too…. and if you were to investigate closely, you will also discover the ‘cartel’ behind the whole charade…. They make their millions from this scam no matter who is in Government; no matter if the project comes off or not; no matter if it is profitable or not; and no matter the damage to this small country.

…from Paradise Beach;to below St Lucy’s church; and along many of the beach fronts that represents the REAL tourism assets of this country, these rapists have been raking it in -while we have been watching our goose being choked….

• Georgie Porgie // May 30, 2009 at 4:39 PM

Within the last 25 years ago there was a white guy at Vineyard I think it was who invested seriously into irrigation and was doing a great job on his land.

Even his own white friends put him out of business, by not buying his produce at thier big supermarkets, and since we did not have export markets the chap folded, as he got the message.

THOU MUST NOT PLANT!
    LET THE LAND GO WILD SO IT CAN BE TERMED RAB LAND THEN WE CAN TURN IT INTO RESEDENTIAL LAND SO THAT A FEW FOLK CAN GET RICH IN THE SHORT TIME—— FOR THE SHORT TIME!

The politicians, who grew up landless, and have no regard for the land, and no longer care that the dream of the once entrenched middle class was only to own thier own little piece of the land…..sold us out.

One of the very last patients I saw in Barbados, was a young woman with a serious headache whose origin I could not illucidate, until I asked her what was her dream. What was her goal in life.

All she wanted was a little piece of land.
    I told her I cant help you today sweet heart. I said to her there was a time I would tell you to save $6000 and when you see an old wood and wall house on a suitable piece of land for 60, 000 go pay down on it quick. You can fix it up and write of the cost against your income taxes.

We all know that even ten years ago those days were gone. I threw up my hands in despair, cause to prescribe Panadol for her headache, might only have resulted in liver damage for the poor soul.

We must weep for pour once sweet Barbados!

• Georgie Porgie // May 30, 2009 at 4:42 PM

JC darling

I have to postone the wedding cause I aint got de money fuh we to buy a piece o land chile, and none o de BU famlee cant help we out! Sob sob, Boo Hoo

• David // May 30, 2009 at 4:48 PM

We now have a class of highly educated Bajans who subscribe to the economic concept that land MUST always be sold at its highest economic value. So there we are.

• J // May 30, 2009 at 5:39 PM

Did 5 hours on the land today, form 6:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.and it feels good.

I am glad that I was able to refuse a recent offer to permit a commercial building on land in zone 1.

Our family has been receiving offers from people who are sure that they will get permission to convert from the time I was at school (1960’s) , including one time an offer on behalf of an American client, whose lawyer was a long time eminent parliamentarian, QC, and a Sir, you all know the type. My dad said no to him in 1969, I am glad to say no in 2009.

Some of us behave as though we will get into trouble if we say no to politicians, lawyers etc.

The truth is if we say no, nothing bad happens. We have to stop giving people permission to rape our land and then pretending that we are victims.

• J // May 30, 2009 at 5:40 PM

It is still true that we cannot eat money.

• Nostradamus // May 30, 2009 at 6:20 PM

David, it is going to be very interesting to see what happens to the three applications to develop 136 acres of prime agricultural lands at Staple Grove.

The records of the corporate registry indicate that Staple Grove is owned by P.D.F. Inc. with directors being Peter Defreits and Cheyub Investments Ltd. What’s interesting is a note in the financials regarding a “Development Cost” The note says “This consists mainly of professional fees incurred in planning of a 500 unit low income housing development on lands at Staple Grove. Town Planning Permission was refused and the project was abandoned”.

Now it seems there are new applications that aim to provide “Housing Solutions” on the agricultural land at Staple Grove. New government, new applications.

Better connected?

• Poor Great // May 30, 2009 at 6:21 PM

It is also true that, today, very few can eat without money.

• Fairplay // May 30, 2009 at 6:28 PM

Yardbroom

You said let us start with the schools.

Most persons would believe that would be the road to go. Most of the students who take Agricultural Science do it make up the six or seven subjects to get into Community College to study another area although Community College has an Associate Degree in Agriculture.

There is no support at the secondary school level for agriculture. Most of the students refuse to choose it as a subject and the ones who are perceived to be slow learners are forced into taking it as a subject.

I saw on the news Harrison College receiving a large modern green house. The head of department for science said it would be used for Biological research. This school would never teach Agricultural Science because that is where the brightest goes.

A green house like that should have been presented to Grantley Adams School, which has a very good Agricultural Science program.

The young boys and girls there would be involved in using modern technology in the production of crops. You can just go and look at shade house technology at work at Strong Hope in St. Thomas.

• Poor Great // May 30, 2009 at 6:36 PM

50 condos or 500 low income units, the end result is the same, somebody will make a lot of money and more good land is lost, even if the latter project is an easier sell to the gullible.

• Poor Great // May 30, 2009 at 6:57 PM

Once when people used to work the land there was little talk of agriculture science.
    People worked the land out of necessity and fell in love with it.
    Some educated fool then decided that it was a science, created a certificate, set an exam and the rest is history.
    Why would a student “waste his time” trying to gain a certificate in Agricultural Science when he has been programmed to believe that Physic, Chemistry and Biology are more important to his quest for financial success.

The problem in agriculture is simple, too many people with no love for the land, studying science, getting degrees, running the Ministry and do not know elephant grass from bamboo.

• John // May 30, 2009 at 7:31 PM

Poor Great

…. and I know this will rile up Yard broom …

Agriculture only worked in the past because families were intimately involved with the land at all levels.

Land has become a commodity now, to be bought and sold so there is no love involved.

No Government operating like previous post independence governments will ever get it to work again.

Something’s gotta give soon …. and I admit …. I haven’t got a clue what it will be!!

• Fairplay // May 30, 2009 at 8:19 PM

Poor Great
    I understand your frustrations with all of those Doctors at the MOA but you cannot segregate agriculture from science.

Take a tour of the shade houses at Strong Hope and see a white Barbadian using scientific methods to produce all the sweet peppers that Barbadians can consume without many pests and disease problems.

This project operates with a computerized system where fertilizers are delivered to each house specifically for the crop that is growing. The houses are located on soil but the plants grow in a soilless medium. That is science at work.

Let the persons who study physics, biology and chemistry become medical doctors and cannot get food to eat.

Food security must be our buzzword. Produce or perish.

• Straight talk // May 30, 2009 at 8:42 PM

What’s the problem with saying Strong Hope may be our path to self-sufficiency?

The GoB doesn’t care a toss, if our most vulnerable have to shoulder the pain.

Waiting for BADMC to promote an effective plan, is marginally more optomistic than “Waiting for Godot”,

Let the UWI technocrats swallow their pride and admit there are existing operations within Barbados who, if their lead is followed, will provide our salvation from the greedy import merchants.

• Sargeant // May 30, 2009 at 10:26 PM

For a moment there I thought that the Staple Grove application had been approved. I hope the meeting with the residents of the area wasn’t a show to pull the wool over the public eyes so the powers that be can claim that the people were consulted. I mean they weren’t even given the names of the beneficial owners.

If you think traffic is horrendous in the BET/Wildey triangle wait and see what it will be like if the development goes on stream and people move in.

Not sure what all the earth moving is all about in St. Davids but doesn’t the People’s Cathedral have permission to build a church in the area? If a church is being built it will require parking etc.

• Ready-Done // May 31, 2009 at 1:15 AM

I Have been growing all my vegetable and fish needs in a 4 by 16 foot space for 4 years.

The technology is called aquaponics it works by circulating water between plant roots and a fish tank. You feed the fish and the waste the fish produce is food for the plants.

No harmful chemicals are used and i also grow heirloom varieties and believe these are Delicious. i will have something available for the average person to own and maintain at home. within the year.

If you want to know more just ask, i am forth comeing with info.

• Rumplestilskin // May 31, 2009 at 5:03 AM

Report today on the issue at Mullins.

Now we clearly the problem with rife overdevelopment along the coast.

This ‘process’ creates problems with erosion, by interfering with natural tides.

Not to mention, that persons overbuild on the coast, then complain when their properties are threatended by sea erosion.

The wise man does not build on sand, nor in too close proximity.

Why do people disregard the old houses on the seaside were chattel type?

Why do they disregard that the land was not previously valuable?

When a large structure is build right on the coast, the owner must have adequate maintenance monies set aside, for expected repairs, rather than go screaming to Government for help after the fact.

The complaint is about the goins built on another project, well maybe those groins will not last beyond one hurricane either.

This is a clear example of overbuilding and the players all around, being burnt by irresponsible actions by developers.

They took away our ‘windows to the sea’.

It is only a matter of time before we have them back.

Peace

• Rumplestilskin // May 31, 2009 at 5:08 AM

Oops, early am, ‘now we see clearly, the problem with rife overdevelopment along the coast’

• David // May 31, 2009 at 5:42 AM

When BU was shouting West Coast rape where was the nation?

Now BU is shouting Inland Rape of our most fertile land being sacrificed for concrete.

• Rumplestilskin // May 31, 2009 at 6:47 AM

Noted. If you go back roughly three years on BFP, you will see the raising of points on a suggested Barbados Land Use Policy, which would have addressed both the Coastal and Inland concerns that you raise, actually the blogging then, specifically addressed the need to maintain agricultural land as is at that time.

I remember John at the time, referring to the Strategic Physical Development Plan, I think it was, that was supposed to be governing document.

However, my preference, stated at that time and still holding today, is for a new Land Ownership and Use Policy.

However, the powers that be ignore such calls, which would place known parameters on any development, which would apply to all.

That would not suit some.

Peace

• JC // May 31, 2009 at 7:16 AM

I think it is time that we make lots of noise about these developments. I was taking a drive up Yorkshire and slowly but surely I realise that a few houses are being built just now we will eat the blaste concrete!!!

This is not good enough!

Georgie Porgie // May 30, 2009 at 4:42 pm

JC darling

I have to postone the wedding cause I aint got de money fuh we to buy a piece o land chile, and none o de BU famlee cant help we out! Sob sob, Boo Hoo
    _________________________-

@ GP

Dont worry boo I am young and am willing to work for both of us!!!

Sooooo dont worry you still CAN AND MUST marry me!

Can’t wait to be Mrs. Georgie Porgie …. smooches!

• Ready-Done // May 31, 2009 at 9:07 AM

Agriculture in Barbados needs a complete turn around.

The consumer has no interaction with what is to be consumed until it is in the supermarket. People don’t know what goes into getting that food on their plate.

I am sure if people had to kill the chickens them is eat, we would got nuff more vegetarians.

It is time that technology is used to better agriculture.

the most viable way to achieve food security is through aquaponics. it address many problems like

land use- aquaponic uses much less space as the plants can be planted very close.

Water runoff- these are close cycle systems and all water is recirculated fertilisers and other harmfull chemicals are not used.

Cheap protein – tilapia fish are a excellent source of protein and raising them are relatively easy as compared to conventional farming + there is no scent & no sounds.

• Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 9:11 AM

Fairplay

I bet the people at Strong Hope love what they do.
    How many of the people presently responsible for developing Agriculture have that same love?

I accept that we cannot separate Agriculture from science and should therefore not segregate it, but I believe we should get the children interested in the practical applications of the science first and then teach the theory to those that desire it.

The positioning of Agricultural Science, next to Physics, Chemistry and Biology, guarantees its rejection by the brightest students, who do not see a clear career option at the end and the others, who generally ignore the sciences, will avoid it.

The powers that be should impress upon the student population the importance of Agriculture to the country, even if they believe otherwise, by granting extra credits to students who study Agricultural Science and promoting the numerous employment options available.

Adequate support would then have to be given to the industry, but everyone knows this already.

Are they willing?

• Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 9:21 AM

John

If men are to be known by their deeds we can conclude that this bunch is like the previous, even if they words are different.

If we are prepared to depend on others to feed us we should prepare to go hungry one day.
    We will only go back to growing our own food if we are forced to do so.

• John // May 31, 2009 at 9:28 AM

At the time when Barbados produced its peak output in sugar I reckon from looking at aerial photos of the day that small holders probably produced 40% of that output because smallholders controlled about 40% of the land area.

All through Bank Hall there were canes in the small lots just as in much of St. James and St. Peter there were canes to the sea!!

Bank Hall plantation had been sold out to housing years before but in lot sizes that permitted agriculture.

Canes grew at Bath where many of the seaside houses are located now and Atlantic Shores and South Point was populated by numerous smallholders also producing cane.

There were canes in the Sand Pit area of St. Andrew, close to the sea.

Much of St. Philip was conrolled by smallholders and in St. Thomas the Spring Farm area was also thus controlled.

These photos from 1951 show the situation in agriculture before the heavy development of the 60’s and onwards.

I think they indicate that most people were deeply involved in agriculture in some way or another.

The smallholders have to a large extent departed from agriculture and their lands are now houses, hotels, appartments and condos.

The larger plantations were and are being picked off one by one.

We are nearing the end of a long road of “development” and are beginning to realise that there is actually an end in sight!!

What next when all the land is all sold or committed to paying bills?

… or has been converted to its “highest economic value”?

What’s the plan?

• John // May 31, 2009 at 9:35 AM

Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

John

If men are to be known by their deeds we can conclude that this bunch is like the previous, even if they words are different.

If we are prepared to depend on others to feed us we should prepare to go hungry one day.
    We will only go back to growing our own food if we are forced to do so.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++

The other thing the land “produces” is water !!!

The easily available water resources have been committed since 1996.

This was predicted since 1978 and was based on work done as long ago as 1946.

Food is not the only issue!!

• Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 10:18 AM

In the future the plan will be to produce water by desalination and reverse osmosis.
    The Belle pumping station will be converted to a desalination plant and water pumped from Spring Garden.
    The process to upgrade the BWA should commence in July and any additional funds needed to complete this project will be sourced from the Land Bank:-)

• Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 10:35 AM

The continued De-vegetation of Barbados is another story.
    Less rainfall, more heat, more air conditioners, less foreign reserves to buy imports.
    Paradise becomes a hell hole.

Depressing.

• Ready-Done // May 31, 2009 at 10:43 AM

Water is not a problem, they are ways of produceing water easily, there is a household device that taps the water in the air and makes drinking water from it.

Here is a link.

http://cleantechnica.com/2008/11/05/how-to-make-water-from-thin-air/

Also i guessing lots of people don’t know about this but i have been running a small engine on salt water yes SALT WATER, for about 3 weeks now, the next step it to put this on my car. It is called HHO gas (check it out on youtube) its every where.

Through electrolysis it is possible to cut your gas bill in half and these work on any car.

• John // May 31, 2009 at 11:07 AM

Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 10:18 am

In the future the plan will be to produce water by desalination and reverse osmosis.
    The Belle pumping station will be converted to a desalination plant and water pumped from Spring Garden.
    The process to upgrade the BWA should commence in July and any additional funds needed to complete this project will be sourced from the Land Bank:-)
    +++++++++++++++++++++++

Spring Garden produces potable water from “brackish water”, not sea water.

It is really a glorified treatment plant, not a desalination plant.

The cost of producing fresh water from sea water is many times more expensive than from “brackish water”.

Brackish water contains fresh water and this fresh water comes from the land.

I reckon that 6/7 of the output from Spring Garden comes from fresh water collected on the land.

When you say that Belle will be converted to a desalination plant do you mean that the 10 or more million gallons per day pumped from there will now need treatment?

Given the heavy development at Warrens and its environs this would be logical.

I can’t see the logic of pumping sea water from Spring Garden to a desal plant at the Belle.

Where would the brine go? … back to the sea, or into the fresh water aquifer?

• Wright B.Astard // May 31, 2009 at 11:41 AM

Have you seen that lovely soil being excavated to the east of St.Davids Church.I was born and raised up in an agricultural belt, with some of the best soil on the island, but that was nothing compared to what I am seeing at St Davids.
    And on another note. The Draining Unit at present is has undertaken a programmed to clean all the drains of mud and debris. Again much of the mud being taken from these drains, as you would have seen it piled on the pavement,would be like gold to plant nurseries, because this in in fact our best agricultural top soil that has been allowed to wash into the drains.

• John // May 31, 2009 at 11:45 AM

Ready-Done // May 31, 2009 at 10:43 am

Water is not a problem, they are ways of produceing water easily, there is a household device that taps the water in the air and makes drinking water from it.

Here is a link.

http://cleantechnica.com/2008/11/05/how-to-make-water-from-thin-air/

++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I know from hiking that, depending on conditions, the most drinking water a human needs is 2 to 4 gallons per day.

… and yet, on avearge, we consume upwards of 35 million gallons per day, well over 100 gallons per day per person given our current population.

I agree we could do alot where the consumption of water is concerned, but we aren’t.

Producing the quantities of water in the hydrologic cycle into which we tap requires levels of energy that will probably ony be present in Nature.

The household device may produce water cheaply US$0.50 per cubic meter, but how long does it take to produce a cubic meter, about 225 gallons?

My guess it will produce less than 20 gallons per day based on an average household size of 4, sufficient for a household.

I have tried collecting condensation from the roof during the night (dry season and “cold” months) to see how much this process would produce.

It isn’t much.

But it does produce some.

• Poor Great // May 31, 2009 at 12:01 PM

John

The above was not meant to be taken seriously.

However the level of “nitrates” currently found in the Belle is unlikely to decrease any time soon, if ever, so it will eventually make sense to abandon pumping from there. Instead of installing a return line to Spring Garden, the brine could then be discharged above ground to slowly make its way back to the aquifer.
    It could also be used in food preservation creating a new industry that complements the meat and fish farmers.

• Fairplay // May 31, 2009 at 1:45 PM

Is that 24 acres of agricultural land where Holmes Wiliams is building his $42 million church? I was of the opinion that no more agricultural land would be taken out production for such purposes.
    Why would a church invest $42 million in a church and school?
    Oh how those members will become poorer.
    I find that a lot of them catch the bus and walk up the hill.
    Will not support in fundraiser there.

• Wright B.Astard // May 31, 2009 at 2:35 PM

@Fairplay
    With a $42 million church designed to last the next 300 years,there is no way that Holmes Williams and his associate can preach that these are the last days and the world coming to an end soon. But for some of his gullible flock, after hefty donations it will be the end of their world.

• Nostradamus // May 31, 2009 at 3:28 PM

Developments planned for St.David’s / Staple Grove lands

24 acres for Peoples Cathedral church and school

30 acres for an unspecified Legends of Barbados Project

10 acres for Living Waters religious and community facility

15 acres for 95 housing lots by NHC

Headquartes for The Dyslexia centre

New primary school amalgamating St. David’s and South District schools

One of the arguments being put forward by the applicants to justify the change of use for the 136 acres of Category 1 agricultural land is that substantial amounts of the land, as listed above, have already been approved for development and amount to over 67 acres.

Staple Grove Plantation (548 acres/221 hectares) is “categorized as a Category 1 Plantation by the Ministry of Agriculture” (Source page 36 of developers/applicants EIA). The PDP 3.13.3.7 says that Category 1 consists of holdings of 40 hectares or more of high quality soil capability and that “There shall be no subdivision of these lands”.

The PDP 2003 Amended Section 3.13.1 also says that “ Under exceptional circumstances, non-agricultural development may be considered on agricultural land (SUBECT TO AN EIA AND AMENDMENT TO THE PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT PLAN AMENDED 2003 IN INSTANCES WHERE THE LAND IS GREATER THAN 10 HECTARES/24.7 acres) but only if the proposal provides significant economic, social and environmental benefits……..”

The People’s Cathedral development is reported in the Nation to be 24 acres which is just over 10 hectares. Legends of Barbados “unspecified’ project is 30 acres. Does anyone remember Town Hall Meetings and an EIA process being carried out for these applications / developments? Were the necessary amendments to the PDP 2003 Amended carried out for these projects?

Will the PDP 2003 Amended be amended as required for the planned 136 acre/55 hectare residential and commercial development proposed for Staple Grove? Anyone know what the process is for amending the PDP?

• David // May 31, 2009 at 3:45 PM

Nostradamus

It might be useful to repost your last comment under the most recent blog :-)

• BAFBFP // May 31, 2009 at 4:46 PM

Ready-Done
    I get as far as your post. I want to know more about this 4X16…Call me 438-0435.

• BAFBFP // May 31, 2009 at 4:50 PM

JC
    Lef out Georgie. Viagra don’t work at dat age.. try something newer..!

• BAFBFP // May 31, 2009 at 5:08 PM

I am going though some utube videos for this aquaponics thing. God bless the internet…!

• BAFBFP // May 31, 2009 at 5:15 PM

• Georgie Porgie // May 31, 2009 at 5:54 PM

@ BAFBFP

Re JC Lef out Georgie. Viagra don’t work at dat age.. try something newer..!

MURDER
    I REAL GLAD YOU IS MY FRIEND YA HEAR!

• BAFBFP // May 31, 2009 at 6:27 PM

Georgie keep your enemies closer…ha ha haaaa..!

• General Lee // May 31, 2009 at 9:09 PM

This aquaponics stuff looks interesting and should be taught in the schools.

• J // June 1, 2009 at 1:04 AM

“… or has been converted to its “highest economic value”?”

Perhaps the highest economic value is a full belly

• The Scout // June 1, 2009 at 1:14 AM

All I would say about that St. David’s project right now is simply, ” this world isn’t level, who the cat like, he licks.” I always heard the old folks with that saying. I would say no more AT THIS STAGE, except that it makes me more determined to fight a particular issue to the very end.

• Ready-Done // June 1, 2009 at 8:51 AM

BAFBFP i will call you later today, i was in this aquaponics thing for a while even been in the news paper and even to agrofest.

The only problem you would find is that the info online is not for this climate, but i have done the relevant research and will have a system that is design to thrive in this climate for sale very soon maybe by august.

I Have a book with all the info needed to design build and maintain a system. send your email if you want to take a look.

• Homegrown // June 1, 2009 at 10:25 AM

ready done…was your display at agrofest? I would like to see your set up!

• Ready-Done // June 1, 2009 at 10:40 AM

• Ready-Done // June 1, 2009 at 10:44 AM

• David // June 1, 2009 at 11:46 AM

To protect all concern please advise email addresses so that BU can facilitate all communication.

• BAFBFP // June 1, 2009 at 12:57 PM

BU please send my email to Ready-Done. I assume you have them both. thnx

• Johnny Postle // June 2, 2009 at 7:42 PM

Hopi

My answer to your question is who is going to stop the shyte from flowing in the agriculture ministry? You really think Barbadians are going to do it? The Ministry of Agriculture got alot of degree and post graduate degree experts. But what are they doing. VERY LITTLE! You think paying more money will get them off their lazy procrastinating arses. Rather you like it or not, the experts in Barbados do not get on like experts. Talk does not make for good progress unless it is put to action. All we do bout hey is talk a bunch of shyte (like you) because we do not want to admit that we lack so much in our ability to solve some of the most simplest of issues. The industrial outside world ain’t industrial by sitting around and talking a bunch of shyte (like you). They put their money where their mouth is and now reaping rewards for it. If the over and away people come here and rip us off, I think we deserve it. Why, because the thiefing, corrupt bunch of politicians and their big up corrupt government lackeys too busy getting rich and making deals to care much about what really matters. Them too rubbing shyte in we face but I ain’t hearing you say the same ole shyte all over again. I say remove the crap and reap the crop- bring in the experts from over and away.

• David // June 2, 2009 at 8:03 PM

@Johnny Postle

Your assessment of the current hurdles facing Barbados is refreshing.

• Hopi // June 2, 2009 at 10:41 PM

@Johnny ……What the shyte are you talking about? You got to be a real Johnnie Come Lately because if this is the only thread you’ve read with any of my comments you way off base. The people of Barbados who don’t NEED degrees, who have tilled the soil and fed us before are the same people who can do it. And I KNOW of some who actually do that. They don’t wait hand and foot on any government. I say DON’T bring no damn experts to Barbados to feed the people. The same salary you gonna pay an ‘expert’ take that and pay the locals to do the same job. The only time the politickians will get the message is when the people totally reject them and take matters into their own hands. You really think an ‘expert’ give a shyte bout you? Always ready to reject and put down your own for some damn stranger! Since you’re so in love with ‘experts’ why don’t you import your own and watch them poison ya ass!

• Johnny Postle // June 3, 2009 at 8:48 AM

Hopi

What type of monkey idiot you is. Under what conditions did they till the soil and fed us? Are you suggesting that we return to the plantocratic rule with hoe and cutlass in hand whilst the white overseer watch on with his cork -hat and khaki? You expect to speak of “some still doing” and believe that ’some’ is the solution to solve our agriculture issues. The some to whom you refer labour for life on a living dictated by the rule. Now in this age, we need advancements to improve our agricultural yields to sustain local demand whilst at the same time, reducing our rediculous high import bill. The experts in the agriculture ministry needs to take the degrees of the mantle and put them to use. This is where the failings of the agricultural experts are exposing their naked butts. There is no real work happening in agriculture and that is the problem right there.

Also the issue of the nation’s management and the alleged involvement in ruthless undertakings with the merchant cartel has a strangle hold on the middle and lower income group because of sustained high prices. How could we embark on meaningful agriculture when there is a move to keep agriculture in jail so imports can prevail. Some one is profitting from all of this. So tell me why I cannot bring in over and away people to help us set viable and profitable agricultural projects when our own people have not done a thing to improve agriculture.

i kind tell ya now Jobbi, -the agri-crisis cannot be solved by the purports you are suggesting, which to me is a bunch of shyte. There is no vision for progressing the cause of agriculture beyond our current thinking, hence our inability to maintain consistent locally produce food in a sustained way. The same concept that you hold is like a planter class mentality. There is a need for real science in developing our agriculture product. They are easy ways in solving many of the crisis we face but I get the impression that we really do not want to solve. Sugar should have be diversified into other valude added purposes eons ago; but no sir we, we waited till it hit rock bottom before our thinking swayed to diversity. We have the ability to produce enough onions during the productive months that I believe should be sufficient throughout the hard period; but no sir we, we will produce this amount of tonnes and let the remaining months be suffice with imports (what a bunch of shyte).

We talking deriving yields in abundance to completely feed our nation which requires technological intervention and expert discourse (I say bring in the over and away people and let them teach us how to make we own brands from some of our locally produce foods). What is wrong with us producing our own brand of cornflakes from locally grown corn. IF we need outside help to help us set up food producing companies to manufacture some of local foods into value added products then I say bring in the over and away experts to help us. Let me repeat. BRING IN THE OVER AND AWAY EXPERTS AND TO HELL WITH THE TALKERS. Because the thinking of Barbados is skewed towards individual needs and not the needs of the nation as a whole.

• Ready-Done // June 3, 2009 at 9:43 AM

Johnny Postle + Hopi

I was just wondering what the two of wanna think is the best way for Barbados to achieve %100 food security.

Do we look for a %100 new way? If so what way do you think it is, or could be? Or do we go back to the kitchen garden?

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 9:50 AM

@Johnny Come Lately…….I’m gonna tell you a little secret…your ass is living thru a created illusion. If you truly think that you are not living under ‘plantocratic’ rule with a white overseers’ whip to your arse, you’re dreaming! They operate under such titles as PM, GG, & MP. Barbados is run by corporations NOT ‘we the people’.The only reason why agriculture is ‘failing’ is because this is one global conspiratorial farce to get everyone off their lands and have the disease-infested corporations poison everyone with their GM foods.What has changed since the period in time when my grandmother fed her whole clan with all the food we needed and then some, so that she could share with neighbors? The reason agriculture is ‘failing’ is no accident and it’s bogus failing is not because the locals don’t know how to cultivate the land.

If you wanna build a bridge bring in a foreigner. If you need some kind a surgery sell ya blood, mortgage ya ass and go ova ‘n away.If ya want to build an airport get somebody from ova ‘n away. If ya want tief land and build condos bring in somebody from ova n’ away. If you wanna grow mangoes down in Sin Andrew bring in somebody from ova n’ away. Why the hell don’t you just shut down the whole damn ‘education’ shitstem from primary to university. Just shut them down and bring back the physical ball n’ chains. What’s gonna happen when de ships stop coming with food? If Barbados has to bring in another human being to teach them how to cultivate their land, THEY DON’T DESERVE THE LAND NOR THE PRODUCE THAT MIGHT COME FROM IT.

• Ready-Done // June 3, 2009 at 10:07 AM

Hopi??

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 10:19 AM

@Ready-Done……When our foreparents cultivated the soil, did they go to a university or went ova n’ away to learn how to do such? Was there anytime in the history of Babaduss when Bajan were stricken with hunger and starvation because they didn’t have the ‘expertise’ of anyone from ova n’ away?

• Knight Templar // June 3, 2009 at 10:24 AM

If Barbados is really serious about agriculture, why no recognition by this poor-rakey DLP administration that the problem for agriculture is not access to land, but acces to labour?

Then why the inhumane immigration policy?

Why deport CARICOM nationals at a time when Chinese are going to people who were living on land for a half of a century, and threatening to bulldoze those house, just to build a guard wall?

Chinese!

Imagine, Barbadian construction workers cannot get work; unemployment rising within the construction sector but Chinese working: “bout hey.”

And the DLP talks about being “patriotic,” as regards it inhumane, hard-line deportation policy towards Caribbean people, at a time when Chinese are threating to push down houses owned by bajans.

And there is no outrage! Chinese!!!

Lord Save us!

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 10:37 AM

@Knight Templar/DK/BH…….Which party was at the helm when the chinee and all other foreigners were given the ‘privilege’ to come and buy up Barbados?

• Knight Templar // June 3, 2009 at 10:55 AM

See what I tell you about looking back, and having absolutely nothing constructive to add to development and progressive transformation, even after having 14 years to plan.

But let us play your game:

Which party was in office when unemployment reached its lowest ever and even lower that European countries?

Which party was in office when Barbados amassed $2.7 billion in foreign reserves? The reserves that now save barbados from the hip-pocket of the IMF?

Which party was in office when the Pope praised Barbados for its humane policy on poverty eradication?

Which party was in office when the UN Secrtetary General praised Barbados’ judgment, integrity, and leadership?

Which Party was in office when people did not have to pay income tax on the first $25,000 and land tax on the first $150,000 and were given a reversed tax credit?

Sir, when the BLP was in office there was a shortage of labour.

Are you at all concerned that May 15, has passed – yet the DLP cannot release unemployment figures for the last quarter?

Isn’t remarkable the the DLP is deporting Caribbean people but Chinese are here threatening to push down the home of people who were living on the land for the past 50 years?

Talk about “conterfeit patriotism!”

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 11:01 AM

Boar Hog……Looks like you gotta answer this one for Knight Templar.

• Knight Templar // June 3, 2009 at 11:27 AM

Typical DLP froath, (hog wash) which explains why the DLP was in Opposition for 14 consecutive years, and would be still there had not for Clico’s millions.

I post substance, you respond with trademark – “intellectually weak DLP froath.”

It is not surprising why the DLP is deporting Caribbean people but Chinese are here threatening to push down the home of people who were living on the land for the past 50 years?

That the DLP is focussed on deporting Caribbean people – is only a reprieve for PSV employees, poor people; public servants; taxi men; motorists; vendors and the rastafarian community.

But the Mini-Budget will come!!!!

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 12:08 PM

@Knight Templar/DK/BH…You’d be surprise to learn that Hopi does not give a rat’s ass about any politician/politics. I wish that when the next election come around that no one would go to vote for the scumbags..both Bs &Ds all scumbags. I asked one simple question of you and you go putting me in some political bracket.
    Dark Knight can you answer my earlier question since Boar Hog prefers to stay mired in his own puke.

• Knight Templar // June 3, 2009 at 12:23 PM

Save your puke and smut for your peers. I never was and will never be that far down the food chain.

But had not for men like Wilberforce and Grantley Adams and others – you would be on my plantation picking pond grass.

Remember a few years back when thugs from a certain constituency were commiting crime and the then M.P., has cause to speak to them?

They told him that they are not going to vote for him and he promptly told them: “I do not want you to vote for me – keep your vote or vote for the DLP.”

The simple point that I am trying to make is that I am not going to subject myself to the indignity of your crap.

For what! A vote? Keep it!

But since neither you nor Negroman seem capable of figuring it out, here is Why Knight Templar:

+++++++++++++++

The Knights Templar trace their origin back to shortly after the First Crusade. Around 1119, a French nobleman from the Champagne region, Hugues de Payens, collected eight of his knight relatives including Godfrey de Saint-Omer, and began the Order, their stated mission to protect pilgrims on their journey to visit The Holy Places.

They approached King Baldwin II of Jerusalem, who allowed them to set up headquarters on the southeastern side of the Temple Mount, inside the Al Aqsa Mosque. Since the Temple Mount was the site of biblical King Solomon’s Temple the Order took the name “The Poor Knights of the Temple of King Solomon”, which later became abbreviated to “Knights Templar”.

Little was heard of the Order for their first nine years. But in 1129, after they were officially sanctioned by the church at the Council of Troyes, they became very well-known in Europe.

Their fundraising campaigns asked for donations of money, land, or noble-born sons to join the Order, with the implication that donations would help both to defend Jerusalem, and to ensure the charitable giver of a place in Heaven.

The Order’s efforts were helped substantially by the patronage of Bernard of Clairvaux, the leading churchman of the time, and a nephew of one of the original nine knights.

The Order at its outset had been subject to strong criticism, especially of the concept that religious men could also carry swords.

In response to these critics, the influential Bernard of Clairvaux wrote a multi-page treatise entitled De Laude Novae Militae (“In Praise of the New Knighthood”), in which he championed their mission and defended the idea of a military religious order by appealing to the long-held Christian theory of just war, which legitimated “taking up the sword” to defend the innocent and the Church from violent attack.

By so doing, Bernard legitimised the Templars, who became the first “warrior monks” of the Western world.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Of Knight Templar, Bernard of Clairvaux, wrote:

“A Templar Knight is truly a fearless knight, and secure on every side, for his soul is protected by the armor of faith, just as his body is protected by the armor of steel.

He is thus doubly-armed, and need fear neither demons nor men.”

One of the tenets of their religious order was that they were forbidden from retreating in battle.

Now!!!

Take your place “BOY.”

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 1:17 PM

@Mr. Schizophrenia……….Poor lost soul, can’t even find an identity. One minute he’s a knight, then a templar, then a boar hog. Since you think you know so much about the knights templar what is their secret….do you even know it?
    But then again that title does aptly suits you, since they’re nothing more than a bunch of criminal, thieving,lying murderers who does anything necessary to maintain the illusion. And yes he is fearless because he has all the apparatus of the state to protect him. Talk about infiltration, deception, delusion and lies.

And NO, I don’t remember anything bout no MP and no thugs.

Are you mad that neither you, Wilberforce nor Grantley Adams have nor had any influence in my thinking. No impression at all. And it would be IMPOSSIBLE for HOPI to be working on your plantation. Impossiph..kingble!

• Knight Templar // June 3, 2009 at 1:50 PM

On the topic of onions, why is such a small issue creating so much stress for the Minister of African Snails and Rat Poison and the DLP, which had all the answers when in Opposition?

What next, sweet peppers?

• Ready-Done // June 3, 2009 at 3:18 PM

OK so we all agree that none of the successive governments do anything to improve the state of agriculture in Barbados, but what should they do?

Any ideas? or are we going to sit down and point fingers.

• Hopi // June 3, 2009 at 4:03 PM

@Ready-Done…..Let me tell you a little something! As I noted previously, I grew up with my grandmother tilling the land with about every staple that was necessary for nutrition. And almost everyone in Barbados with a couple sq ft of land around their house grew their food and bartered with their neighbours. And this food was grown ‘organically’ and without the help of ova n’ away ‘experts.’ And the nation was fed. My parents preserved their ground provision for times of scarcity. I say the same thing can be done today. Don’t sit around and wait on any government. All the governments care about is passing legislation to protect big business whilst getting a cut, and giving you the crumbs to keep you alive so that you can return to the plantation day in and day out to slave for the money grubbers. The problem with your average bajan is that they have become too ‘intelligent’ to know/learn about growing their own food and to that lot as well as the other mealy mouthers, I say to let them eat crow. Barbados has the capacity to feed herself and stop importing poison. The local grown food taste way better than the imported garbage. I’m yet to taste a banana that’s better than Barbados’

• Homegrown // June 3, 2009 at 5:25 PM

readydone…please contact David for my email address– I need to speak to you. Thanks!

• Georgie Porgie // June 3, 2009 at 6:22 PM

Hopi wrote
    I’m yet to taste a banana that’s better than Barbados’

It is for that reason that I find it very hard to buy a banana or mango or any fruit that is grown in my mother’s yard here in FL! I prefer to go without!

• Mike Ashby // June 3, 2009 at 7:41 PM

Welcome back… I nearly forgot that this is a question of agriculture in a modern Barbados and not a lesson in international history.

ALL produce shipped to “developed” countries are GAS-RIPENED as opposed to SUN-RIPENED hence the taste. even those produce shipped from one state to another hence NO taste.

• Johnny Postle // June 3, 2009 at 9:21 PM

Gaw blimah. I gine tell ya now that I ain’t giving no ideas to know one in this country for nothing. So do not even ask me what solutions to the agri-crisis. All Hopi talking about is he grand-mur and grand-far planting this and that and not starving. How much choices did they had back in those days. This shyte, Hopi, talking about days that when you speak to any old person they always lament how hard they had to work and how long they had to work, for a few meagre pennies trying to feed them starving children. Unless Hopi was one of them well to do blacks, many bajans can attest to hard realities of the yesteryear life.

Since those days what strives have agriculture made that are beneficial to us now. Agriculture by the black masses in this country is seen as a low key career. We were thought to look to jobs with prestige and status; not poop, piss, dirt and hot sun to turn is blacker. With the type thinking existing today; I gine tell ya that a lot of bajans do not want to offset their bleaching creams.

Also you think that we have painted agriculture in a light that people can see its value and lucrativity? Agriculture carries a bad name in this country and our systems has made it so. Back then it was cane and more cane. Now the cane soon gone we certainly do not know what to do now to make this sector profitable. We are so F’ing foolish that we took we black belly sheep and sell its genetic seed to the over and way people for them to tell the world, black belly sheep belong to them and it is the best lamb in the world. In fact the same people soon selling back to us. And you telling me shyte about we got Bajans here who can do it!!! Chuuuupse. I dare you HOBI to round them up and bring and let us see the resurrection of agriculture by the one eye blind man. How the heck we expect agriculture to go anywhere when we does sell of our assets. If the over and away people know what to do let them come here and do it. Barbados in interested in developing industry. We interested in tourist white man coming to this place. If the shyte that Jobby or HOPI or what the ass he chooses to call himself think that a few kitchen gardens will make us all right I think he betters think again.

• Ready-Done // June 3, 2009 at 11:58 PM

“When you point one finger at some one four are pointing back at you.”

The answer to everyone(s) problem(s) was posted earlier.

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 12:08 AM

Focus

@ Johnny Postle

You said:
    “Talk does not make for good progress unless it is put to action.”
    “I say remove the crap and reap the crop”
    “Now in this age, we need advancements to improve our agricultural yields”
    “There is a need for real science in developing our agriculture product.”
    “Because the thinking of Barbados is skewed towards individual needs”

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 12:13 AM

Aquaponics is science.

Aquaponics is a real, viable option for maintaining food security for a house hold, and by extension the nation.

This is technology fused with the kitchen garden. All the benefits and more with a lot less drawbacks.

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 12:26 AM

FOCUS

@Hopi

you said:

when the people totally reject them and take matters into their own hands

, I grew up with my grandmother tilling the land with about every staple

everyone in Barbados with a couple sq ft of land around their house grew their food

this food was grown ‘organically’

The problem with your average bajan is that they have become too ‘intelligent’ to know/learn about growing their own food

• Johnny Postle // June 4, 2009 at 7:54 AM

And Hopi, We are living under New Age plantocracy, Yes! You know why? Because as intelligent as we are, and for all the strives that we have made in education, we are still an ignorant bunch of blacks whose ‘crab in the barrel’ mentalities are the reason why we have no endeavours towards developing meaningful productive cooperative businesses. The words Unified Front, means nothing to blacks. We too f’king ignorant to understand what that means and how it could change our status in the control of economic affairs in this country. The day that whites and their business ever leave Barbados, I gine tell ya, we will suffer the same fate as Mugabe’s Zimbabwe.

• Hopi // June 4, 2009 at 9:06 AM

@GP……Furthermore,in my neck of the woods there’s no food that taste as good as food grown in that bajan dirt.

@Mike Ashby…….So what about the nutritional value of the gas-ripened food, is it the same as the sun-ripened?

@Ready Done……..Aquaponics, hydroponics and Greenhouse all have their place but do you have a problem with growing food the old fashioned way? What’s wrong with putting some root into the soil….it has brought many a human thus far.

@Johnny P……..Your comments @ 9:21 pm 6/3. I get the impression that you personally are not interested in growing your own food. Seem to detest what you and others see as hard work and the blackening sun.

But I’ll pay homage to Ra!
    Anedj Herack Amon Ra!

Now we can get on with the ‘Gaw-blima! Yea Gran-mur and Gran-far had to work hard back then because this ‘hard-work’ in the hot sun has been brought to us by the white progenitors of slavery. The white man was not willing to till the land so they used black people to do such for no pay. Overtime they got a little pay but just enough to keep them poor and coming back. And that has been the legacy with field work. But to prove how important and exalted field work is…..let’s just get rid of them. All those who are under the illusion that they are smarter than the fieldworker, cannot live without the fieldworker but the fieldworker could surely live without them…so who is really smarter or of more value to a society? Give me the man who will feed me everyday to a lawyer or accountant and I know that fresh produce will keep me away for Georgie Porgie’s office.

Yes, there are still some Black Bajans who can still do it despite the highfalluting asses you see running the street to kentucky and cheffette and the other white-owned resturants. I have 2 cousins who grow their own produce on a small scale as well as neighbors from whom I get fresh milk and other produce. So all is not lost.

I too question the slave mindset of the entire bajan society. And it makes me rethink WHAT IS INTELLIGENCE! Because bajans do NOT fit into that mould. I see the majority as nothing but a bunch of mis-educated-uppity-wanna-be poor-grate niggers who live their lives thru a magazine or a tv show. Everyone would rather have a collar n’ tie job up in some air-conditioned office and run out to the restaurant and buy ‘food’ from ‘godknowswhere.’ What a sick, dumb, stupid bunch of sap-suckers whose only purpose is still to serve the white man because that’s all a service economy does. To those, again I say let them eat phu..ing crow!

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 9:14 AM

LOL i drop sleep last night typing on this blog, lol BU better than tv, i like it here, i think i going to make this my new home.

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 9:35 AM

Aquaponics as a science has the appeal to the Barbadian in general because in dealing with aquaponics you are now a “scientist growing food” not just a field worker.

Plus you is grow fish for eating right in your backyard.

• Knight Templar // June 4, 2009 at 10:10 AM

Nothing is happening in the agricultural sector.

The plans left by the BLP for a sugar cane industry have been derailed, so too the plan for food sovereignty and security.

While there is a crisis, the Minister is behaving as though he is the Minister of African Snails and Rat Poison.

Unfortunately, while Benn dithers, the cost of living is increasing. Yes! Sugar production may be up slightly but only as a result of rain and not because of any improvements in the industry.

We may export more or the same tonnage of sugar but will get less as a result of reduce price being offered by the EU, even thought – as I understand it, it was the policy of the BLP not to export bulk sugar.

The much needed reforms ,which I am told – the BLP identified for the viability of the industry, have been abandoned and no alternatives have been developed.

This should really be treated as criminal negligence on the part of the MInister and the DLP, you know!

It is therefore be clear to everyone except the Minister of African Snails and Rat Poison, that unless the sugar industry is reformed and the maximum use is made of the sugarcane, the industry will not become profitable and will have to rely on the Government for support in order not to collapse.

The poultry and pork sub-sector,s which the BLP left doing well – have lost some of the dynamism and have not made the progress that was expected in spite of a slight increase this year.

There has been a small increase in the production of cassava and sweet potato but except for those – the continued growth of the dairy sub-sector and the much talked about food security – are still some thing of the distant future.

In short, there has been more talk than progress.

Even the growth, as regards fresh milk production – started in 2007 and not in 2008 or 2009.

The truth is that there is no leadership from the Minister because he does not appear to have the desired intellectual capacity needed to get passed talking about snails and 4 H, important as they may be.

Again, while the Minister focuses on catching snails and handing out rat poison, unless the necessary improvements are made and the contemporary technologies are embraced throughout the agricultural sector, it will continue to under-perform.

It will not meet the needs of producers neither that of consumers – from the point of view of profitability or affordable prices.

If these ideas do not help, then the Minister does not deserve being the Minister.

It is already widely accepted that the DLP is not capable of good governance or any governance at all, by modern-day acceptable standards.

• John // June 4, 2009 at 10:20 AM

In agriculture, the contribution from people at all levels is important, particularly large scale agriculture.

Take a look at how a plantation in the days of slavery was organised.

In 1817 all of the slaves in British Colonial Dependencies were registered.

In Barbados, their names, ages, occupations, colour (whether black or coloured) and whether they were born in Barbados or not were recorded.

It is interesting to see the order in which they were recorded on the large plantations and the roles they played in the day to day life of the larger plantation.

Typically, a large plantation had about 150 slaves at the time.

Males were listed first, females second.

Within the male grouping and female grouping, oldest came first.

Next were the specialised occupations.

In the male grouping, occupations like Ranger, Driver of the first gang, watchman, mason, carpenter, domestic etc. had precedence over age, but not always.

In the female grouping, occupations like driver of the second and third gang, nurse, cook, water carrier or domestic took precedence in order.

The bulk of the slaves followed and were divided by age.

Field slaves who made up the first gang were listed first. These slaves varied in age from 18-20 years of age up to over 60 years. Their leader/driver was a man usually in his 30’s or 40’s. Oldest usually listed first.

Both men and women made up the first gang.

The second gang was made up of ages from about 12 to the first gang age, both males and female and their leader/driver was an older woman, sometimes in her 60’s.

Oldest usually listed first.

The third gang ages ranged from 6 to 12 and their leader/driver was also an older woman. Both boys and girls belonged.

Finally, children had few responsibilities. They probably remained in the care of their mothers or as a group with a nurse, usually an older woman.

What is clear from looking at the listings of occupations on the plantations is how important each occupation was, from the carpenter and mason and boiler who kept the milling operations going, through the driver of the first gang, to members of the three gangs.

Large scale agriculture is a team effort.

In the case of sugar agriculture, the mill has to function for the boiler to do his job and if the canes aren’t delivered to the mill everybody might as well go home.

… and if the people who understand the seasons and the land and say what to do and when to do it are not present …. things will also fall apart,

…. and if the capitalist who puts together all the forces decided not to ….. also a show stopper.

One man or woman forking a piece of ground or owning a tiller does not translate to large scale agriculture …… but they can produce some sweet food.

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 10:49 AM

“One man or woman forking a piece of ground or owning a tiller does not translate to large scale agriculture”

HA your wrong.

One man or woman feeding them self is a food secured person!!!!! If all persons feed themselves the whole nation would be food secure.

Then the plantations could focus on feeding the tourist.

There is money in agriculture for all a we.

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 10:56 AM

Recent brake throuths in bio dirived plastics give us a chance to revive the sugar cane industry

They are making plastic from sugarcane now that means their is money in sugarcane.

A simple salt meat bucket with the lid on and a hole in the side with some bait in it is the best way to catch snails. them is go in and cant get back out and you dont be putting a lot of poison in the water path.

only thing is the bait is beer,

BUMMER,
    less beer to drink,
    stupes,

but funny thing is them like BANKS better than an other…..

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 11:08 AM

https://www.inventables.com/technologies/sugar-cane-based-plastic

Here is a link to info about the sugarcane based plastic.

• Hopi // June 4, 2009 at 11:13 AM

@Ready-Done……Since when do you get off feeling better about yourself that you are now a aquaponist and not a mere field worker. If you don’t think that growing food in accordance with the laws of nature is a science then you still got a way to go. Isn’t that the same food that nurtured you to this point?

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 11:21 AM

I am not talking bout MY views i talking bout the views of the Barbadian public as a whole.

But Hopi agriculture is a science. If one follows natures rules you get results, as a scientist i set out to find the optimal conditions of plant growth.

• John // June 4, 2009 at 12:18 PM

In order to get plastics, or sugar or ethanol from cane it is necessary to have a factory or factories.

When those factories exist, the land to feed them needs to be earmarked.

If the farmers and the factory work as a team, there may be success.

… but if there is arbitrary change of use permissions and no clear vision as to how the land should be used, it is all a waste of time.

No one man can supply a factory on his own, but teamwork works and this I think is what is missing in agriculture and I think it has been destroyed purposely and for personal gain.

The last “new” sugar factory built in Barbados is Portvale. Portvale is in St. James.

There is no cane in St. James!!!!

The only significant acreages in neighbouring St. Thomas is Applewhaites …. this is a high rainfall parish.

There is no cane in St. Andrew.

It is no surprise its closure is mooted, but how will cane from St. Peter and St. Lucy get milled?

• Ready-Done // June 4, 2009 at 12:27 PM

I am sure if i open a factory buying cane at a reasonable price people gin bring the cane to me. instead.

Money is the driving force in this world.

• John // June 4, 2009 at 1:04 PM

… try it!!

• Mike Ashby // June 5, 2009 at 1:28 AM

@Hopi and GP 6/4

NO…The nutritional value (of the gas-ripened fruit/vegetable) is significant less because the natural process is interrupted. even with animals and fish, there is the concept of ‘farm-raised’ vs ‘open-range’. That would be like cutting young cane and processing it for sugar. There is lots and lots and lots of food in the US and lots and lots and lots of know-how, yet still there is lots and lots and lots of problems with diet and nutrition.

If we want to sell off all the viable farm land in preference for concrete, then we can import some of this same food. And we will end up with the same problems of diet and nutrition. A big belly is not necessarily a full or healthy belly.

Think about this; The whole concept of ‘organically’ grown produce is something I think a few of us grew-up (cleaning out the various pens and carrying the ‘stuff’ to either the kitchen garden or small cane patch out back) with but we do not see value in these things unless we’re paying through the teeth. This is like a black organization honoring Hillary Clinton for the statement “it takes a village” or a white-owned company selling baseball caps with an ‘X’ on the front to inner-city blacks.

Go figure.

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 5:36 AM

This tread is not no different from the politicians that wanna chastising. Wanna should discuss solutions or talk bout something else.

This whole tread highlighting the same problems over and over, regurgitating the same bull every time.

Pointing fingers mussy gin solve the problem or at lest meck ya feel good bout your self.

Sit at wanna computer and try to figure out who kill agriculture and why. Give me two mins i going and feed my fish and see what ripe for the picking today,

I coming back now.

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 5:38 AM

115 comments of nutting

• Hopi // June 5, 2009 at 9:30 AM

@RD……….Including your right?

• Knight Templar // June 5, 2009 at 9:51 AM

Here is reminder (transcribed) of what the Leader of her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition said in the 2009-2010 Estimates Debate on Agriculture:

+++++++++++++++++++

“What is worse, Sir, when you look at page 280, guess what one of the objectives is?

Transforming the sugar industry into a sugar cane industry and, Sir, what has been abandoned, is the sugar factory at Buckeley, a factory that would take Barbadian sugar and instead of us exporting it as a bulk commodity against the fact that the Europeans have said, we are giving you a 36 percent price reduction on the price of bulk sugar and that the only hope for us is for us to have a sugar cane industry that produces specialty sugars.

Then, look to see how we can use the cane to help make pharmaceuticals, and other products.

Sir, there is nothing about that in here.

Sir, we had gotten the Barbados Light and Power Company Limited to agree to take equity into the company.

They agreed to buy back the electricity that it would be producing.

We also agreed, Sir, that we will be taking some of the material from Mangrove to help produce the electricity.

We also agreed that we would take Buckeley Sugar Factory in the heart of St. George – not a word from the Honourable Member for St. George South – to create a living museum, in order to be able to create jobs for people from Ellerton and elsewhere, so that they could still have economic activity, where heritage tourism would effectively come to them in the parish of St. George.

Sir, would you believe that this would have been relegated to the back burner, if any burner at all, simply because the Minister of State in Finance, does not deem it a priority.

Sir, poor Minister of Agriculture this, and the Sea Island cotton have been put on the back burner.

Would you believe, Sir, that there is nothing in these Estimates to allow Barbadians to maintain national security, in terms of food, to be able to reduce a $1/2 billion import bill?

++++++++++++++++++++++

This is where we need to pitch this debate: what ought to be happening, but is not.

Why! Because of the “intellectual weakness” and “political incompetence” of the tire and stale DLP outfit.

The DLP does not know what it is doing and so believes that “Agriculture” is: African Snails, Rat Poison, 4H and Sweet Peppers.

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 12:39 PM

@HOPI no body ent paying my aquaponics no mind so yes….

BUT

what needs to be done to get agriculture making money in Barbados?

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 2:46 PM

We should pay government workers by what they do and not for just sitting down.

• Hopi // June 5, 2009 at 3:22 PM

@Ready-Done……..Don’t you think that the compensations of those who till the land to feed the nation should be on par or better than compromised, depraved,corrupt politicians, lawyers and accountants?

• John // June 5, 2009 at 5:19 PM

Robert Goddard in his article published in 2001 in Agricultural History figures it was an imbalance between factory and field which set the stage for the collapse of the Sugar Industry.

He reckons if I understand it right that there were two factors which were the origin of this imbalance.

“One factor “intrinsic” to the industry was the change in the industry’s leadership from factory-owners/planters to purely planters.”

“The other factor was a pattern of “questionable” land use decisions taken by government agencies which alienated arable land in unpredictable ways, making it impossible for the industry’s leadership to match factory capacity to field supply.”

“In one striking case the two came together when the building contractor, C.O. Williams, became simultaneously the island’s largest landowner and an aggressive advocate of non-sugar agriculture”

“Williams played a paradoxical role during this time. Single handedly he stripped the factory division of 50,000 tonnes (metric tons) of cane supply while charged with guiding the industry as a member of the BSIL board.”

The article goes further:

“The phenomenom of conflict of interest mentioned earlier with regard to the management structure of BSIL, reappeared with regard to the dairy industry as well. C.O. Williams became not only the largest dairy farmer during the 1980’s, but chairman of the island’s only dairy as well. Control of dairy farming and the dairy coincided with upward pressure on milk prices paid by domestic consumers.

According to data compiled by the Llandell Mills Commodities Group, by the late 1980’s, Barbadian consumers were paying five times the price of milk as consumers in other territories.

Thus the reallocation of cane lands by the C.O. Williams Group reflected price structures distorted by monopolistic practices rather than longer term economic trends.”

We look on in shock and awe as agricultural land is concretised without realising that this result was set in train by decisions taken years ago.

The article published in the Agricultural History in 2001 by Robert Goddard is worth reading.

• The Scout // June 5, 2009 at 5:34 PM

The Min of Agriculture needs to move beyond the traditional method of farming, instead we’re depending on the guyanese to farm for us at a price. These people are using so much chemicals in the soil that sometimes the fields refuses to produce, plus these people just don’t follow instruction. directions for use, they usually use much more than reccommended, all this is messing up our water supply.

• John // June 5, 2009 at 9:06 PM

I always heard that to produce sufficient ground provisions and vegetables for the local market required very few acres, certainly not thousands.

What do we do with the tens of thousands of acres left?

We have managed to undermine centuries of progress in agriculture, … I think because we wanted to ….

…..without really understanding what we were doing or the consquences of our actions.

I don’t think the ministry of agriculture is going to be of much help …..

….. and the Guyanese really only just scratch the surface on a few acres!!

I suspect that it is “development” that contributes to the high levels of nitrates in our water …….

… pesticides/herbicides is probably agricultural misuse ….

…. and think of all those dishwashing liquids and toilet cleaners that go down the drain!!

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 9:29 PM

Well Hopi, friend, I don’t see how the government could feasibly compensate the small farmer, what needs to be done is to set up a reliable avenue for distribution of produce. We get allot of tourist ships and planes here, who is supply these with food?

A major draw back is that farmers are not to fourth coming with their experience/information. Farmers don’t like to share what works and what doesn’t. A page or to in the news paper with the best\newest practices in farming should be the norm. it might counter this type of thinking,

It might be in practice right now but i would like to see more detailed information on varying types of farming.

Something that would make the average person want to farm, i am not talking about a couple big size farms making all the money i talking bout getting normal people to see that a lime tree could replace a lady in the night or couple okras is take the same water as a ficus hedge.

you know that growing your own food is a viable way to ease your pockets.

Has any one done a study to show just how much money a ‘average’ kitchen garden can save a family over a year?

Real figures would help people to see farming is good.

• The Scout // June 5, 2009 at 9:49 PM

I have seen persons who plant vegetables on the two sides of their driveway both for decoration and consumption; plants like sweet potato, sorrel, tomatoes,and beans. they are also many people who are now doing tyre gardening. The thing is, when you are growing these produce just for domestic purposes you can control the amount of chemicals used, if any is needed

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 10:09 PM

• Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 10:16 PM

• Wright B Astard // June 5, 2009 at 10:28 PM

@Scout
    Speaking of excessive use of chemicals by some farmers.One day I stopped at Tappy or Coot Pond in St George , just up from Sweet Vale to see if I could spot one of the very rare elusive Coot birds that have been mainly nestling there for many many years. I was shocked to see the amount of chemicals stored in a nearby shed/pumping station. The chemicals are pumped to other sites on the farm, mixed with water drawn from the pond. Leakages on the output side were evident, and fell back into the pond.
    I hope that very soon that those on authority will make Coot Pond a Heritage /Protective Site in order to protect the decreasing population of Coots nestling there.

• The Scout // June 5, 2009 at 11:12 PM

Ready DONE

• The Scout // June 5, 2009 at 11:17 PM

Ready Done
    I remember being in Canada last yearand while visting afriend of mine, I saw that he was growing scotch bonnet peppers and large tomatoes in decorative pots right in his living room. This looked so unique, maybe, we can learn a thing or two from some of these experiences. We prefer to plant a dessert rose or a palm instead.

• Ready-Done // June 6, 2009 at 6:28 AM

@ The Scout your right plants that produce food take the same care as plants that don’t, with that said the variates of plants available is poor, when people see different variates of plants that are unusual/unique they tend to be drawn to them.

As a home grower i do not need the same seed as a plantation owner yet there is no way i could get seed of rear unusual seed in Barbados.

This brings me to another issue, what is the government doing to protect this islands genetic diversity? this is a very important issues in it self.

A plants resistance to a pest or disease is usually in its genes, not the amount of chemicals you can put on it, therefore the more types of genes you have would means the higher the chance of having a variety that resists a pest /plague in an island wide epidemic.

This is a serious problem as history teaches us in the ‘Irish potato famine.’ a period of starvation and disease between 1845 and 1852, one million or more died. The cause of famine was a potato disease called late blight.

This blight cause so much trouble because there was only one type of potato being farmed at the time.

• Johnny Postle // June 6, 2009 at 12:51 PM

@ HOPI
    “I too question the slave mindset of the entire bajan society.

“… it makes me rethink WHAT IS INTELLIGENCE!”
    “… I see the majority as nothing but a bunch of mis-educated-uppity-wanna-be poor-grate niggers who live their lives thru a magazine or a tv show…”

” Everyone would rather have a collar n’ tie job up in some air-conditioned office and run out to the restaurant and buy ‘food’ from ‘godknowswhere…’ What a sick, dumb, stupid bunch of sap-suckers whose only purpose is still to serve the white man because that’s all a service economy does…”
    ===========================

Alas Hopi I can respond meaningful to your post. That is the clincher to the crux of Barbados’ perrenial problems. Our thinking, our notions, and how we plan are important pursuits. Unless we change this thinking, Agriculture will not have a hope in hell. All the high-fu-luted discussions in this and other forums will not remove the crux of the problem that keeps Barbados from progressive Agriculture in diversifed developmental way. Development of products with value added initiatives and research into markets demands for unique products must be the thinking forward. The cassava initiative is a good product idea but we must spend some money looking into other research potentials such as golden apples, hog plums, gooseberries all for the productioon of unique and exotic fruit juices. Alternative uses for yams and potatoes must be found. We must look into the potential of fish and its various internation niches to see where best we can tap into these markets for export. Agriculture must be diversified from what currently is to what possibly can be. But first we need a change from our small island thinking and plan way beyond our 166 sq ml shore. Our talking must now reflect funding to viable, meaningful research. Our people have already been invested into now we need to spend some millions into our food initiatives. In other words we need to put our money where our mouth is. My only concern with all of this is: are our researchers capable of delivering. The post by HOPI highlights why Barbados remains in box-like-thinking.

• Poor great // June 6, 2009 at 2:17 PM

Johnny Postle

What are you doing to help Barbados establish “progressive Agriculture in diversified developmental way” or are you just running your mouth like Hopi the hopeless and the rest of us office workers ?

• Ready-Done // June 6, 2009 at 10:41 PM

I just curious but right now i am growing 2types tomato, 2types corn, 2 types eggplant, 2types chives, lettuce, soy beans, 2 types okra, 2types melons& pumpkin. Tilapia fish.

What are you growing?

• Poor great // June 7, 2009 at 12:04 AM

I growing two types of lawn grass (savanna and Joysia) , two types of hibiscus (I had some western ficus but something kill de damn hedge), I gots a lime tree but it don’t bear and some guppies and thousands in a old bathtub.

• Straight talk // June 7, 2009 at 6:57 AM

Start feeding your family and friends on the cheap, by working with nature -

http://www.viddler.com/explore/PermaScience/videos/3/

or for the wider view of our food future, this recent BBC video -

http://www.viddler.com/explore/PermaScience/videos/4/

• Ready-Done // June 7, 2009 at 8:01 AM

Poor grate i realize that nuff people lime trees got blight(a black thing on the leaves), soap water is teck it off.

And if you run your gray water (water from de sink) to the tree it would bear all year round.

But the weather change so much. All now i would be looking fa mangoes and thing but the trees barely putting out. Outside still so dry.

• Johnny Postle // June 7, 2009 at 8:31 AM

@ Ready Done

I am running my mouth and hoping that policy makers would listen with attentive ears and act towards change. I am willing to contribute my high-fo-luted qualifications to advancing the causes in agriculture. That is why I return to this island to contribute; unfortunately I forgot that you must first go through alot of fustration, red tape, swore allegiance to some political party and have a complexion that tends towards white skin to get any possible recognition on this island.

However I believe that the government needs to establish a National Agricultural Standards Research and Monitoring Agency. There have been purports that such an agency was discussed in previous times but again just another lot of long time. To those who are embarking on their little science projects kudos to you; but we must not view agriculture as mere kitchen garden venture that satisfies our individual needs. We must look at the export potential of agriculture and see where we can make our mark in earning our keep.

• Ready-Done // June 7, 2009 at 9:25 AM

Johnny postle i believe the phrase is ‘a lot of long TALK’ lol.

Due to factors like a small land mass, extremely high cost of labor, having to import all forms of agri-chemicals and the government. Could it ever be plausible to export conventional agriculture produce at a price that compares to that of other larger nations?

I strongly believe before we look to export we should feed our selfs, then all the tourist that pass through here.

National Agricultural Standards Research and Monitoring Agency. This is an excellent idea. How do we move on this?

Are you aware that society is a ‘collection of individuals’, thous feeding every individual, by extension, feeds the society as a whole.

The most viable way to achieve food security is to let the society feed itself.

That undeniable truth.

• Poor Great // June 7, 2009 at 9:34 AM

Johnny Postle

de people wid de greenhouses (at Strong Hope?) ain’t got no “high-fo-luting” qualifications. Dem growing someting. People like Ready-Done may be engaged in ” little science projects ….” which ” satisfies our individual needs.” but dey growing someting. Maximum respect to Ready-Done and de others dat actually growing someting!! Wuh even me got a lime tree. But wuh Postle growing?

Plenty people long before Postle wid plenty high-fa-luting certifications pass through here before him, wid him and dey gwine keep coming long after him. Most just like him, paper giants and wind pie cooks. Postle list some obstacles to getting recognition but Contone ain’t white, belong to no political party, dint go thru no red tape and certainly aint have any frustration and he get plenty recognition. Forget recognition, we want to grow food. De first obstacle is having de willingness to get yuh hands dirty (literally not just figuratively).

As fuh me I gwine tek Ready-Done’s advice and see if I could get de lime tree to bear. De days getting hot and nothing sweeter than lemonade to cool off.

• Hopi // June 7, 2009 at 11:22 AM

@Poe Great……..June 6 @ 11:40 pm
    “My buddies tell me to wake up and stop talking pup.” Bullseye! I’m sure they know you betta than me. Maybe some of that green grass will help!

• Poor Great // June 7, 2009 at 12:41 PM

Ah Hopi-less

how much itals you grow in de concrete up dey in Nort Amerca! Yuh does be in panic if de 7-11 close fuh a holiday, yuh dun know!

• Hopi // June 7, 2009 at 12:55 PM

@Poe-Great…….I’m not really in any mood for this BS today. The shit that’s coming down the pipe is way more important that your petty BS. So be off and tend ya grass. And Hopi has never shopped at a 7-11.

Leave a Comment