Of Things Not Bajan!

Hartley Henry - DLP Political Strategist

Phew! That was a close one! For the first time in more than four years of writing newspaper columns I monitored my email entries on the hour. I was almost certain I would have been lynched by the men of this country. But, surprisingly, even they were in agreement with 90 per cent of the criticisms levelled against them in last week’s column.

So encouraged am I by the willingness of our people to address and deal with real issues, that I shall poke my nose a bit further today and address a major peeve. This time it’s against our womenfolk.

Okay, perhaps you are wondering ‘whatever became of the real Hartley Henry’. Why isn’t he dealing with topical and some may say political issues? The truth is this is the time of year when this writer begins to wind down and look towards the summer. Also, and perhaps even more profound on this occasion, is that I am more than a bit nervous about these Common Entrance Examination Results.

I travelled this road six years ago with my son, but somehow, I am sharing the anxiety pains and pangs of my daughter. Indeed, I think I will scream if I don’t hear something by this weekend.

To be honest, I don’t even know what I want to hear. I am not caught up on school status, and everyone knows how much I oppose elitism. But, the constant calls to my home and enquiries on the street are placing me on the brink of an anxiety attack. Truth is I can’t believe my daughter has gotten there already. Therefore, in the meantime and between time, I shall just jive around with a few matters, outside of politics, that intrigue me.

I wrote of the excellent grooming of some of our women when they ‘step out’ on weekends. There is nothing like a beautiful black woman ‘all dolled up’. That is why it gives me the shivers to see some of those who tote around with what passes for wigs and fancy hair-dos in today’s Barbados.

I am not opposed to wigs, weaves, extensions, false hair or whatever the case may be. For one, it is convenient and it makes for great versatility. Indeed, I love ‘corn row’ with extensions. I think it’s divine. But these hair dos are not as low maintenance as some of our women seem to believe. To look good and attractive, like plants, they need to be nurtured. They need love and affection. These styles are not meant to be semi-permanent and they definitely will not take care of themselves. They need to be oiled and sprayed and washed and re-plaited.

What am I saying? Frankly, I find it disgusting the manner some persons, particularly in service industries, carry those hairstyles nowadays.

Not only are they pink, yellow, green and turquoise but, more alarming, they are oftimes pointed in every conceivable direction, simply because they were not ‘assembled’ prior to the owner leaving home and in many instances, they, frankly, need a cleansing.

Serving tasty burgers, samosas or macaroni pie and baked chicken is but half of the process of delivering quality service. Doing such with a pleasant smile and satisfactory deportment helps to complete the experience. The same goes for recommending a design of clothing, choice of shoe or shade of handbag.

As consumers we cannot help but pay a little attention to the person making the sale or offering the service. I am saying that while stress-free hairstyles are appropriate and convenient, they also require a friendly encounter with the mirror before foisting them on an innocent and unsuspecting public.

Barbadians are known for their genuine smiles and warm hospitality, but the impact of the experience is minimized when it is not accompanied by what can be termed the basics. Of course, chewing gum and conversing on cell phones while dealing with ‘the customer’ are matters that need addressing as well.

I do not think we need to enshrine such regulatory matters in a collective bargaining agreement or legislate such in the Parliament. No employer should have to convene a special staff meeting to outlaw the use of cell phones while working. These are basics that should come natural. It’s like those signs in the restrooms of restaurants that say to kitchen staff, ‘please wash your hands before returning to work’. I often wonder what would happen to my health, if those signs were not posted.

We are in the business of giving service. We are smart and intelligent enough to know that ignoring the basics compromises the experience.

Getting up and leaving for work without grooming one’s hair is not an oversight. Having a personal conversation on your cell phone while the customer is waiting is not cute. They smack of indifference! It’s lack of pride. It’s simply not Bajan!

Hartley Henry is a Regional Political Strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com
Advertisement

53 Responses to Of Things Not Bajan!

1. Ready-Done

I get the virgin post, LOL.

I think Mr. Henry right bout something, service sucks, in Barbados.

I am less affected by it than most due to my flirtatious nature, i is make women feel like them ‘look so good’ the ones in the bank the ones at cheffet etc..

I know i cant get all, but i could try. It is nice to be nice.

But i often wonder why service people are only nice to do ones that are ‘overly’ nice to them(me), i think the attitude in general of the Barbadian pubic has changed for the worst but as to ‘why’ i don’t know.

Thing is when you see these women the night before, when them partying them is be dress down and nutting don’t be out of place.

Wait Wanna ent done with the 11plus exam yet? If i was in power that is the first thing i would change.

2. Knight Templar

Given the David Thompson inhumane doctrine on deportation of Caribbean people from this country, Barbadians are joined by others within CARICOM and across the globe – who are saying that they never ever could have believed that Errol Barrow great political handy-work would become a shadow of itself – with its current leader being on the receiving end of numbers versions of no-confidence motions, from regional academics, regional respected journalists, his peers within CARICOM and the Opposition Barbados Labour Party, all questioning his competence, judgment and inability to lead.

After the death of Mr. Barrow, the DLP began a long and slow process of undermining itself.

Its strengths, like the seriousness it brought to national debate and to addressing social and economic issues, early on, became weaknesses, and it lost its feel for reading Barbadians and Caribbean people, having therefore to rely on political gimmicks, lies and deception and insulting people by seeking to appeal to the dark side and play on their emotions.

Under DLP rule, while the Caribbean people are being deported from this country, Chinese are threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians who have been living on the land for over a half of a century.

And Barbadians remain silent.

The brightest people locally and in the Caribean are squealing: look Thopmson is a threat to security and prosperity.

Yet, Barbadians turn a bling eye. But the watchman guardeth the city.

And if he sounds the alarm and the people take not notice – then when the sword cometh, their blood is on their hand.

Barbadians, you were warned!!!

3. I’m not clear on the purpose of this particular column. Other than perhaps to say, ” i don’t like the way women wear their hair “.
    Why would a ” political strategist” take the time to criticize a persons freedom of expression ? What has personal hair choice got to do with service ? Perhaps Hartley should go back to strategising about….whatever he strategis’s about.

4. Knight Templar

While the DLP moves aggressively to deport Caribbean people from Barbados, right here in this country – Chinese are threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians who have been living on the land for over a half of a century.

Talk about counterfeit DLP patriotism!

Will the DLP Minister, who will go on: “The People’s Business,” on CBC on Sunday night – tell Barbadians why are Chinese threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians who were living on the land for half of a century?

5. When did Hartley Henry become a Lifestyle columnist?

6. Nostradamus

I don’t know why BU wastes valuable space with Henry’ s rambling rubbish.

7. Knight Templar

Why are Chinese working in barbados while bajan are not?

If Barbados is for Barbadians first (as stated by Mr. Thompson) then why are Chinese being encourgage to threaten to bulldoze the homes of bajans who were living on the land for over a half of a century?

8. Nostradamus

Sir Templar, still waiting on you to answer my last questions sover on the article “Do We Really Have A Land Use Policy?”

9. Sargeant: “When did Hartley Henry become a Lifestyle columnist?”

And when did you decide to join the “racist swine” that your female half, Pied Piper called us on here?? Go ahead, deny, deny, deny, as you usually do, accompanied by insults because you’re like a blasted stuck record with your continual denials (“methinks the lady doth protest too much”?) and go ahead and call me Straight Talk and juris and whatever else because you can’t bear to know that people, other than me, know exactly

10. That should be, “exactly WHO you are”.

11. Knight Templar could you explain the circumstance with the Chinese and the bulldozers for me? as i don’t have a clue what you talking about.

Also can you tell me what you think about the DLP’s effective movement to stop the disturbing psv’s culture influence on our future working class citizen???

12. @Diggit, Yahoo, Canada Goose etc.

Wasn’t there a time you claimed I was Green Monkey also? BTW I didn’t insult you I told the truth. I just said that I wasn’t getting into a battle of wits with an unarmed man. Game, set, match…..

13. TRUTH??? You wouldn’t know truth if it jumped up and slapped you in the face. Yahoo?? I thought that was a search engine. Canada Goose? Wrong again – I don’t live in Ontario like you do. You’re out of your tree – go take your medication.

14. Knight Templar

Also can you tell me what you think about the DLP’s effective movement to stop the disturbing psv’s culture influence on our future working class citizen???

+++++++++++++++++

Clico borrowed $25m from Kiffin to buy equipment for Rayside. Clico is now in trouble and cannot pay.

Kiffin put money in the DLP’s election pot. In order to be repaid, the DLP allowed him to price gouge Barbadians on LPG (bottle gas).

To ensure Kiffing gets a fair return on the money he put into the DLP election pot, Thompson caused ZRs to fill-up at Kiffins pump. Forget the crap about discipline.

To further ensure that Kiffin gets his money, given Clico’s fiasco, Thompson now stops the natural gas pipe line from trinidad.

In this way, Kiffin could continue to price gouge on LPG – and get more millions to compensate for Clico’s debt and more to put back into the DLPs 2011 election pot.

I hope I have answered your question.

15. Ready-Done

basically clico, kiffn and dlp is friends in your eyesight.

Blp got any friend’s?

I was referencing to the fact that school children get to ride buses free. I always wondered how comes the blp said the transport board don’t have any money but the dlp let school children ride free. that is a ease on poor people (rich people don’t catch bus)

When i fist heard about the free buss rides i thought to my self, that is a better move that any made in regards to the long term upkeep of Barbadian morals and work effect. As a product of the ZR culture i can tell you zrs was making a mess of Barbados.

I am young but i notice one big mistake the dlp made. that was to build a two lane highway. that is about all i know of the history of party politics all the rest wanna will have to teach me, i am a clean slate on this topic.

16. Adrian Hinds

Boy we too like to stick people in a catogory. Must be that “CLASS” ting we inherit from de Brits. Hartley showing his versatility.

@ Knight Templar
    Given the David Thompson inhumane doctrine on deportation of Caribbean people from this country.

Is David Thompson acting within the LAW?

Are our LAWS inhumane?

Where these in existance during the BLP 14 years?

17. Knight Templar

I was referencing to the fact that school children get to ride buses free. I always wondered how comes the blp said the transport board don’t have any money but the dlp let school children ride free. that is a ease on poor people

+++++++++++++++++++++

The busses go back to Kiffin and strenghten my point. You would see it were you not allergic to thninking.

Note also that Kiffin’s pumps are at Weymouth.

Free bus rides $12 million

Constituency Councils $6 million

Breakfast = undisclosed millions

Camps = out of control spending in the millions.

Unfortunately, these dependency creation initiatives are not being supported by revenue creation investments and enterprises.

Further, such dependency creation initiative are what Mr. Barrow referred to when he warned Barbadians not to allow themselves to by bought with their own money.

Third point: those DLP dependency creation initiatives are a substitute for the DLP intellectual weakness and therefore political hush money.

There are gimmicks, just like the 90 and 100 day promises and are intended to win the next election for the DLP.

Such ugliness stems from the DLP doctrine that everybody has a price and that once the price is right, the electorate can be bought – hence Clico’s millions and the election result.

18. Knight Templar

Is David Thompson acting within the LAW

++++++++++++++++++++

Remember:

“The Mercant on Venice”

19. @Diggit etc.

Internet troll that you are I seem to remember you posting under you original name (starts with T) when you said that you had started a blog. What happened with it? Closed due to lack of attention? Last time you were here you said I sent emails to your poor cousin in St. Peter but when you were asked to put up or shut up you slunk away with your tail between your legs like a loopy dog. Now you are bringing other peoples names into it in a dismal attempt to curry favour with them. Poor pathetic Diggit etc.

20. Knight Templar

Is it true that Prime Minister Thompson used the Office of Prime Minister of barbados to canvass for the Party in Cayman Islands that recently lost the government?

Is it true that PM Thompson asked Barbadians living in the Cayman Islands to come and meet him but when they arrived, the entire Cabinet and candidates of the Party that hartley henry advises – were there – much to the anger of Cayman Island Barbadians.

First, Prime Minister Thompson was a cheer leader at Obama’s Party Convention. Then he canvassed for the Party in Cayman islands hartley henry advises.

Which election in which country will Prime Minister Thompson meddle in next?

21. Ready-Done

who is Kiffin?

22. Goodness gracious me! Sargeant PERP – I told you to go take your medication, I didn’t tell you to OVERDOSE on it! You are some piece of work, you hear? You insult bloggers on here, calling us “racist swine”, but you still have the audacity to come on here and dish out more insults. No use drawing red herrings, doing cartwheels, camouflaging, dipsy-doodling, to take peoples’ minds off the issue – waste of time. People know WHAT and WHO you are. YOU accused me of being Straight Talk and Juris and one Canada Goose and – oh, for gosh sake – one YAHOO, and now you’re saying that I dragged these peoples’ names up to curry favour with them. Then you say I was a Mr. T who had a blog and it closed down due to lack of attention??? Look, man, you sick fuh true, hear? Instead of all that wine and gin and tonic, drink some Mount Gay and go to sleep, do.

23. Ah Diggit etc. When did I call some one racist or insult other bloggers? I already said that you don’t have a clue and you continue to prove my point. Pied Piper lives in Canada and I live in Canada and because we may have shared a similar opinion in the past – ergo- according to your infantile mind we are all the same and Patrick Porter to boot. Does Patrick know what effect he had on you? At one time you also accused me of being Green Monkey, are there any others on the list? A regular Sherlock Holmes you aren’t and since you said I insulted other bloggers here is one. How did you ever escape from your padded cell?

24. Ready-Done

haha kiffin Simpson.

It is my understanding that all parties have ‘friends’ with which fortunes are shared, why cant the sitting government do likewise?

25. Oh, this must be the ” anything goes” thread !
    From bad hair , to bad vibes.

26. Ready-Done

Dan, you think all a political strategist is to do is to strategies? Life has lots of topics, that’s what gives life meaning.

Expand your horizons. a lil bit

27. Ready – done,
    I take it that your willingness to evaluate someone based on a single comment, means that you are either very young, or very foolish ( or both).
    But if you insist here goes…I don’t like your hair. ;-)

28. If a cat had kittens in an oven, would they be considered bread?
    Is chalk cheese when eaten?
    Are you a fool when you ask stupid questions?
    When you reap African Snails would they be good food?/ good agriculture?
    When you bias is this piping for a dress or material cut on the cross grain?
    When ya tell lies long enough do lies become truth? and does the story teller become a saint?
    Should the wavering mind believe that SATAN is GOD?

29. Dan you shouldn’t start something you can finish.

cause.

what you do on to others, them gin do on to you.

&

I is 25, and i foolish as you think i is.

+ i like my hair, yours too.

30. So Hartley tell us how your Little Susie did in the 11+.

I din see she name in de paper Saturday nor Sunday.

My Little Susie get in fa Harsun

You Little Susie going there too?

Or you ow waitin’ by the back door to ask a question?

31. Ready done, “I is 25, and i foolish as you think i is.”
    I’m glad to see you admit to your foolishness, it shows growth, and a chance for improvement.

32. Knight Templar

Why is it that despite the DLP’s abundance of DLP freeness and hand-outs, private primary schools are now outperfoming the public ones?

We were told that the problem was the ZRs. Well the children are no longer on them but what?

Matthew Farley said in his Sunday Sun article of May 24, 2009 that the teacher at public primary schools get more money; are better educated; have security of tenure and work in a superior environment.

Then why are private primary schools out-performing the public ones?

Is this justification that the free bus rides programme is a costly failure?

Is this the needed proof that the Common Entrance Exam should stay?

Should a person go to Queens College and Harrison College because he/she is bright or because he /she lives in Haynesville or Halls Road?

Let us talk about serious things!!!

33. Get the facts from the ministers spawning education, home & families and poverty. Get the drift from the children at primary and secondary without any PRO prompts. Dat is something to wuk wid.

34. Teachers in the gov’t primary schools teach extra lessons for who can pay and no provision is made for those who cannot pay. The syllabus is continued after school at lessons in the evening. Next day it is continued. All who can’t get lessons after school in duck’s guts cause de teachers ain’t keeping back the class for the slow ones.How can you expect without the help of lessons to keep up. The little ones give up cause they spurned by the fast learners. Not all teachers employ this unfair practice.
    The gov’t system is geared for passing the Common Entrance Exams. I see this for myself . Who looks after the interest of the slower children who are disadvantaged even though the government pays for their education?
    A nine year old calculated, if a teacher gets x amount of children at 100$ a month for lessons, she could pay for her car . This is a true story. Well, if little minds can observe, then, the more matured should be able to assess things likewise.

35. Knight Templar

I repeat!

Educator Mr. Matthew Farley said in his Sunday Sun article of May 24, 2009 that the teacher at public primary schools get more money; are better educated; have security of tenure and work in a superior environment.

Then why are private primary schools out-performing the public ones?

Is this justification that the free bus rides programme is a costly failure?

Is this the needed proof that the Common Entrance Exam should stay?

Should a person go to Queens College and Harrison College because he/she is bright or because he /she lives in Haynesville or Halls Road?

Let us talk about serious things!!!

36. General Lee

What is the purpose of this exam,
    if every child is guaranteed a place at a secondary schools and all secondary schools are equal?

Why is it that year after year, very few, if any, children from the villages and housing schemes make the front pages of the newspapers?

Do the well to do and better offs have a monopoly on intelligence?

The majority of Bajans know that the Common Entrance Examination is more about class separation than anything else.

Any political lackey, who seeks to compare public and private primary schools and ignore the socio-economics involved, should be demoted immediately from that position and restricted from entering the party’s propaganda office.

37. Knight Templar

You are a fool who obviouly do not read. Here is your reference.

See page 8A, Sunday Sun, May 24, 2009: Public Schools: A better option – Matthew D. Farley, Educator and Secondary School Principal; Chairman on the National Forum on Education and a Social Commentator.

What were you saying silly.

Now!!! Let us REALLY talk about serious things!!!

Not you “Brek Lee”

38. General Lee

The problem with political lackeys is that they are not allowed to have an opinion of they own. They are so accustomed to being poppets, that they believe this is the way it should be and that it is so for ordinary people.

Pinocchio, you political nuisance,
    what is wrong with a child living in Halls Road attending Harrison College if, as the political jokers like you say, all secondary schools are equal?

If the objective was to encourage children to take Transport Board buses and provide some relief to their parents, how could it be a costly failure?

It is time for you to find another hobby, kissing political ass is not honourable.

39. Knight Templar

The problem with political lackeys is that they are not allowed to have an opinion of they own

+++++++++++++++++

Tell me, lady!

Who best qualifies as a political lackey:

Political Strategist Hartley Henry or Ronald Jones, who won because of Henry’s strategy?

Now! Who do you suppose would be most concern about the education portfolio?

That being the case, what about the thing primary scholl children are now doing: “Lip Service and Hide and something?

Surely you have heard about it unless you do not know what is happening under you nose.

40. Knight Templar

If the objective was to encourage children to take Transport Board buses and provide some relief to their parents, how could it be a costly failure?

+++++++++++++++++++

Wait a cotton picking minute, madame jet Ski.

Weren’t we told (as the primary reason for the policy) that the bus service was to take children off ZRs which were corrupting them?

How can a dollar provide relief for parents who are struggling with a doubling of the cost of living cause by price gouging on land tax and petroleum product, by the DLP?

Why is that each time you have an intellectal conversation, the DLP struggles?

Ask Prof. Girvan, Dr. Joesph and Sir Ronald Saunders.

41. Do you educated ones surmise that something may be wrong wid the method rather than the subjects being taught. Or can it be that primary schools main focus is working towards the top ten results in the Common Entrance Exams in the island. If that is the case some will surely be left behind. Do teachers have personal achievement targets to meet with their employer?
    What is the measurement tool use to determine success or failure re primary school performance.

42. Knight Templar

Why is it that despite the DLP’s abundance of DLP freeness and hand-outs, private primary schools are now outperfoming the public ones?

We were told that the problem was the ZRs. Well the children are no longer on them.

$12 million dollars in bus rides and an unmeasurable amount of millions on camps, yet private primary schools are out-performing public one, why.

43. Man de system got structural defects, if you got de information,then share it or drop a hint.

44. Knight Templar

Imagine, the DLP is yet to pay people for a two-week camp, which saw millions spent.

How much will it cost taxpayers for a close to 10 week camp, with food at $10.00 per plate per day, plus misl. cost.

Why should we have to wait for the Auditor General’s 2009 Report. You can guarantee that public servants will be blamed but who is the real culprit?

45. General Lee

Knight Templar // June 8, 2009 at 1:39 pm
    “Why is that each time you have an intellectal conversation, the DLP struggles?”

Would it have something to do with your definition of “intellectual”?

It would appear that when intelligence was being shared, the last two portions were given to you and the village idiot and he was ahead you.

46. Knight Templar

the last two portions were given to you and the village idiot and he was ahead you.

I do not know of any man whose girl friend caught in bed with a man. Do you?

Let me ask you another question: have you ever had sex with a man?

Do not lie “my african sister!

47. Knight Templar

Why call yourself “general?” Such misrepresentation of fact. Does it have to do with first down last up?

Why not madame, african sister?

48. Knight Templar

Who best qualifies as a political lackey:

Political Strategist Hartley Henry or Ronald Jones, who won because of Henry’s strategy?

49. Knight Templar

Jenny Lee, what are your views on spanking, especially boys and males?

Do you feel Thompie should spank Leror for what is happening at Clico?

Do you feel the Valley Dragon should spank Skerrit for not speaking on Immigration matters within CARICOM?

50. General Lee

I am having trouble following your ramblings?

I have heard talk about an uncle, his wife and his niece, but your dark desires and fantasies do not interest me.

Humility really does not become you, from the evidence presented on this site, I submit that you are the most qualified political lackey I have seen thus far.

Now go and fix your petticoat Boy George.

51. where’s the song being played on Bajan radio sung by a guyanese woman teaching bajan women how to keep their men?

52. KT you see for your nasty insults and innuendos to persons on this blog!

You will and have sealed you and your party’s fate ….. You are so silly!

53. J hartley’s daughter has gone to St. Michael’s school! But what that has to do with anything …..

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s