The Barbados Labour Party’s Failure To Learn From Mistakes Made In The Last General Election

Submitted by Yardbroom
Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley

When a “great” political party with many years of distinguished service to the citizens of Barbados; seems uncertain how to re-connect with the electorate, can an ordinary citizen make a comment? yes! I say.  Elections are not won by preaching to the party faithful, they will always shout “talk yer talk” to a chorus of clapping and stamping of feet at conference.

However, elections are won by appealing to and convincing the uncommitted, the middle ground, the undecided and the dissatisfied.

As a party and I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party – who seems to be  “as mad as a box of frogs” jumping up with various heads, spewing “constant” bile, insulting those whose votes the party will depend for outright victory, it is time for a reassessment of tactics.

The opposition party has a leader of intellectual depth, articulate, presentable and a household name, with a history of public service, it should not be impossible to work out a strategy to present the leader in the best possible light.  With due weight given to empathy, concern for the masses and to show a dimension of personality hitherto unknown to the Barbados general electorate.

People vote for those with whom they are comfortable.  If some of those who support you and propagate for the Barbados Labour Party are seen as uncaring, insulting, rabid and lacking in guile, it creates hesitancy in the minds of the electorate, you lose by a reluctance of citizens to be mentally associated with you.

Why should anyone care? because in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition”, to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens.

I have “never” made a public negative comment about the present leader of the opposition, because I firmly believe “everyone” deserves a fair chance and the opportunity to put their skills to the test.  On this issue others might disagree with my reasoning…I will have to accept that.

I am not privy to the inner workings of the Barbados Labour Party, I have no connections to ascertain the truthfulness of discord in their ranks about undecided leadership, to me they are just allegations.

What I do know is that the present Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson has connected with the people of Barbados, he has felt the heart beat of the Barbados, electorate.  People like their leader to be decisive, often against the odds, and he has shown that quality on the illegal immigration issue.

He has held aloft the Barbados flag and as it flutters in the breeze “the majority” of Barbadians are with him, he will be “difficult” to dislodge.

Advertisement

130 Responses to The Barbados Labour Party’s Failure To Learn From Mistakes Made In The Last General Election

1. Ready-Done

I don’t know nutting bout politics or the opposition leader, all i know is that she is an alleged ‘wicker with a iron fist.’ and the voice don’t help much.

True or not, that is how i view her ‘in a nut shell.’ so she cant get my vote.

2. If Mia does n’t have the politcal nous for the job den, what can she do!! Doan worry, Arthur will be back when d time come!! unless yuh wants tuh call me, from Englan!!

3. I wid u, RD!! I in voting eida!! Whaever dah is!!

4. As a matter of interest! Why r Barbadian-Americans allowed to vote in Bim elections but not the Barbadian-Briish!! Are Barbadian-Americans considered more Barbadian than British-Barbadians and, if so, why?? Is it because America’s nearer and the assumption’s made that Barbadian-Americans will visit home more often and thus have closer ties with the motherland, otherwise I’m unable to perceive the reason for the distinction!! I actually, know British-Barbadians who visit home very often and so am unable to see the reason for the prejudice!! I would like to be able to vote for my country’s Prime minister!!

5. @199

Your comment was edited. Dont cross the line again.

6. Plus, it would bring a sense of British, stability an fairniss to d entire process!!

Dave, I can’t understand you! RD, used the actual word! I did n’t. Yet, you have n’t touched his post but censored mine!! I doan c d logic uh it an, it doan seem fair tuh me!! Also, r u saying dat I’m blige to vote for one of them, if I don’t want to!

7. I caan onstan dat one at all!!

8. Why do’t you stop and slowly reread to see the difference. Check the word he used immediately preceding.

This is our last exchange with you on this particular matter, just don’t have to time to engage in your prattles this morning.

9. Agree with the position Yardbroom has taken and Bush tea on another blog. The talk shows and the blogs etc have show that politicians will have to come different. Lets see what happen.

10. Dave, please tell me why I should be blige tuh vote fuh one uh dem if I doan want to!! cause I jus caan onstan dah, man!!

11. Ready-Done

For one i dont closely follow politics but certainly i do vote!!!!!!!

I think most of the ‘younger’ public is like me in this regard. Personality plays a big role for the politician, in this day and age, when i notice a problem i should be able to ask my self what would my leader do? and ‘know’ what they would do.

That ‘persived connection’ is all it takes to get my FIRST vote, if ya mess it up, you cant get it again. EVER.

12. It would appear that for Yardbroom David Thompson can walk on water. He (PM Thompson) may have connected with the people but does that immunise him from scrutiny? Remember that the now much maligned Owen Arthur won 3 elections and the now mighty DLP were once reduced to two seats in the House of Assembly.Today’s hero is tomorrow’s villain.

Regardless of criticism of the DLP’s policies contained in the posts of supposed followers of BLP, these can no more be assumed to be authorised missives of the BLP than Yardbroom’s post be assumed to have been penned in George Street. Rather than concern ourselves with the fortunes of the BLP maybe we should be more concerned with factual and principled review of Government policy and promises for instance integrity legislation, agricultural land protection, cost of living reduction measures and QEH improvement all of which were election platform issues.

13. David, thank you for the reply but, “prattles”? Dat hard man!! Anyway, according to your correction I’m going to re-write the sentence:

I in have nuh intention of voting fuh nuh ALLEGED, wikka!! I hope dat satisfy my dear friend Dave’s insistance pun accuracy an fairness!!

But, “prattles”, Dave!! Dat’s hard man!! Dat’s hard!!

I still maintain that my point about the voting eligibility of Bajan-Americans and British-Bajans is still a reasonable point to make!!

14. Adrian Hinds

@ David:
    What is this other blog where comments of a political nature were made by BT and YD?

@199:
    How long now it is, that Bajan-Yankees can vote in a Bajan election????

15. Knight Templar

Over the years, the DLP became practiced at the art of looking back, complaining and attributing blame to everyone but themselves.

It now blames the global financial crisis for its poor judgment and bad decisions, which triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy and made a difficult global financial situation more challenging for Barbadians.

Truth is, the DLP is too stupid to realise that with our foreign reserves plummeting – the global financial crisis is actually doing it a favor.

The list of persons (including die- hard Dems) who are saying that the DLP does not know what it is doing and is therefore creating a mess, is getting longer, daily.

Whether the DLP will be able to hold onto its job – is up to the people.

However, the record will show that even within its first 100 days in office, seventy per cent of the respondents in a Nation Newspaper poll gave the DLP a failing grade.

Watching as family members loose their jobs; being price gouged on land tax; petroleum products and now hurting unnecessary in their pockets – Barbadians are in no mood to give the DLP a second chance.

They remember only too well the words of DLP elder: Sir Frederick Smith, Q.C., when he said: “well give them a chance and if you do not like how they perform, kick them out.”

Still, having created such unnecessary economic pain, the DLP is holding on to its job longer than expected.

Barbadians must not loose their sense of outrage, especially when there is a better way.

In the national interest, the people must rescue this country and put it back on track.

Given its “intellectual weakness” and “political incompetence,” the political institution (the DLP) that dominated the Barbadians political landscape between 1961 and 1976 – will have a near impossible task of convincing even a tolerant Barbadian society – to ever trust it again, especially since the Barbados Labour Party has proven for fourteen years that the DLP will never be able to have influence in a thinking society.

That under Errol Barrow the DLP was a symbol of Barbados’ ascendency but is now diminished and humbled – is unfortunate.

++++++++++++++++++++

While you seek to take the spot light off David Thompson and put it on the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition, note that the “breaking news is that Thompson has stop the Natural Gas Pipeline from Trinidad to Barbados.

Why?

Simpson and Clico. But I will tell you more later.

Talk about collusion and corruption! And the Church is silent as death.

Barbados! Where is your sense of outrage.

16. Wishing In Vain

It is also very amusing that it clearly appears that the same Mottley is struggling with her own internal struggles from within here inner circle of the party structure, if one were to look at the clear divide between her candidate selection process and the rush by George Pain and Dale Marshall vs Mottley, on one hand we have Pain and Marshall going into St James North and undermining their sitting representative in Rawle Eastmond who has very clearly stated that he is going no where and is serving out his term but yet still these two are walking around trying to displace him meanwhile Mottley’s choice of candidate Sandra Husbands is also trying to gain favour in St James North.

Now let us move further up to Christ Church East where in Mottley’s effort to firm up her support for her alleged Gay and Lesbian outlook and her agenda she has turned to a Wilfred Abrahams to be her supporter and her candidate in that region, he is not being picked for his willingness to serve but rather because like Mottley his alleged weakness, he is yet another one that Mottley believes she can stack the Parliament with ones of her leanings in order to secure a positive vote for Gay and Lesbian rights such as same sex marriages, and legalising male and female prostitution.

Abrahams has no connect or link to ordinary people he sees himself as aloof and of a higher calling than to be mixing at a grass roots level, when he and Santia Bradshaw could meet Minister Michael Lashley in the Courtyard of the Courts of Barbados and chide Minister Michael Lashley for doing the good work to offer his legal services to a Rastaman and they could inform Minister Michael Lashley because he the Rastaman would not have any money to pay they would not do the work for him, this is really a sad reflection of the nature of the ones that you are dealing with.

Minister Michael Lashley told them in no uncertain terms that once there was a person needing legal advise and he was available he would represent anyone for free if it needed to done for free but that each person of this island was entilted to legal advice despite their ability to pay or who the were, not so for Abrahams and Bradshaw the greed of these two is simply unbeliveable.

This level of open greed is made even clearer by Bradshaw’s attachment to Tony Hoyos of HARDWOOD HOUSING FAME, not only did he commit faud at HARDWOOD HOUSING it goes much further than that, it extends to the GAIA where between Brewer and Hoyos these two wanted control of 14 of the airport shops between them and the scam of the airport advertising Barbadian monies being paid to a Trinidadian based company owned and operated by who else ??

Brewer and Hoyos all this done with the blessings and support of Mottley and Owing and the former cabinet of the last BLP gov’t of Barbados.

17. @Adrian

Check the immigration blog underm BT made a comment last night.

18. More Lies By WIV

WIV said…

“It goes much further than that, it extends to the GAIA where between Brewer and Hoyos these two wanted control of 14 of the airport shops between them”

as I recall the rumour mill talked about an “Irish company” which turned out to be Aerianta one of the world’s largest Duty Free operators. As I further recall the operation Caribbean ARI turned out to be a joint venture between Aerianta and Caribbean Airways (a company owned by the Government of Barbados which previously operated the Inbound Duty Free shop) so in effect most of the Duty Free shops at the airport are controlled by the Government of Barbados.

WIV lies again as usual.

19. Wishing In Vain

I stand fully behind my comments had it not been for the actions of one young sensible thinking lawyer who formerly sat on that board to stand up and say enough is enough the Brewer and Hoyos clan would have secured the operation of all 14 duty free shops at GAIA, he in his wisdom stood up to the nonsense and said that some of that space needed to be set aside for local back owned business, I praise him fully for having the guts to go against the trend permitted by Owing, Mottley and company, the only reason Hoyos and Brewer were given so much room to operate is that these two were the revenue generating machinery of the BLP, created to be DLP crusher, the use of vast sums of cash on Election day where Owing and Mascot were openly seen going to the trunk of M50 and extracting white plastic bags of cash in Deacons and the Farm, the electorate were smarter that the politicians by a long way they took the tainted BLP money derived from persons like Hoyos and Brewer and passed on to the BLP network yet still they voted for the DLP and voted you out.

20. @Anonymous June 5, 2009 at 7:45am

Hi Anonymous,
    I did not say or even imply that “David Thompson can walk on water,” but he seems to be walking in a straight line with both feet firmly planted on the ground.

Neither did I say he should be [immunized] from scrunity a second look at the text of my submission would highlight the following: …”in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition” to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens”…

Often fairness and balance are scarce commodities but they should be treasured, for they allow Kings and beggars in rags a dip – even if temporary – in the bath of truth.

The issues to which you have alluded namely: “integrity legislation, agricultural land protection, cost of living reduction measures and QEH improvement” are “fair” comment.

21. Knight Templar

A Fast Free Fall – From Prosperity to Crisis

There can be no denying that under Errol Barrow, the DLP was a political institution that helped lift hundreds of thousands of Barbadians into the middle class.

Back then, the DLP continued the transforming of this country that started by Grantley Adams, utilizing Barbadian talent and innovation and its access to grant funds and concessionary loans.

Today, not knowing what it is doing (even though being the government) the DLP’s slide continues with Errol Barrow’s Party travelling below the earth at record speed.

The DLP’s reality is therefore: “a Fast Free Fall – From Prosperity to Crisis.”

22. @WIV

Since you mentioned Hardwood Housing, would you like to share the results of the Forensic Audit with us?

23. Knight Templar

Will there be an investigation into why are Chinese threatening to bulldoze the homes of Barbadians who were living on the land for over an half of a century?

And , to build a guard wall? A guard who?

24. @199:
    How long now it is, that Bajan-Yankees can vote in a Bajan election????

Adrian, I can’t swear to the accuracy of that statement but either read or heard that this is possible! Perhaps, somebody can confirm weather it’s true!!

25. Knight Templar

Highly respected regional academic, Sir Ronald Saunders, has added his voice to the growing list of intellectuals who are disappointed in David Thompson and feel that he poses a tremendous threat to regional integration.

Sir Ronald therefore adds legitimacy to what has been said by other intellectuals, such as Professor Frank Alleyne; Professor Girvan and Dr. Joseph – the latter of who has openly called for a reshuffle of the quasi-CARICOM Cabinet.

In essence, highly respected regional academics are of the view that David Thompson should be fired because he lacks the capacity to drive to process forward and is only a pedestrian – at a time when intellect and leadership is required.

26. KT, I’m pretty certain that should be KnightS Templar. You’re inadvertently, miseducating the Bajan people!!

27. Knight Templar

?????Why Knight Templar??????

The Knights Templar trace their origin back to shortly after the First Crusade. Around 1119, a French nobleman from the Champagne region, Hugues de Payens, collected eight of his knight relatives including Godfrey de Saint-Omer, and began the Order, their stated mission to protect pilgrims on their journey to visit The Holy Places.

They approached King Baldwin II of Jerusalem, who allowed them to set up headquarters on the southeastern side of the Temple Mount, inside the Al Aqsa Mosque. Since the Temple Mount was the site of biblical King Solomon’s Temple the Order took the name “The Poor Knights of the Temple of King Solomon”, which later became abbreviated to “Knights Templar”.

Little was heard of the Order for their first nine years. But in 1129, after they were officially sanctioned by the church at the Council of Troyes, they became very well-known in Europe.

Their fundraising campaigns asked for donations of money, land, or noble-born sons to join the Order, with the implication that donations would help both to defend Jerusalem, and to ensure the charitable giver of a place in Heaven.

The Order’s efforts were helped substantially by the patronage of Bernard of Clairvaux, the leading churchman of the time, and a nephew of one of the original nine knights. The Order at its outset had been subject to strong criticism, especially of the concept that religious men could also carry swords.

In response to these critics, the influential Bernard of Clairvaux wrote a multi-page treatise entitled De Laude Novae Militae (“In Praise of the New Knighthood”), in which he championed their mission and defended the idea of a military religious order by appealing to the long-held Christian theory of just war, which legitimated “taking up the sword” to defend the innocent and the Church from violent attack. By so doing, Bernard legitimised the Templars, who became the first “warrior monks” of the Western world.

++++++++++++++++++++++

Of Knight Templar, Bernard of Clairvaux, wrote:

“A Templar Knight is truly a fearless knight, and secure on every side, for his soul is protected by the armor of faith, just as his body is protected by the armor of steel. He is thus doubly-armed, and need fear neither demons nor men.”

One of the tenets of their religious order was that they were forbidden from retreating in battle

28. Knight Templar i notice you don’t agree with the sitting government.

What do you think about the move they made to shut down the disruptive psv influence on or future working class citizen, (rich people don’t catch bus) …

Or the move to tax cigarettes, cell phones and gambling.

29. LOL, KT, I din ask fuh uh history lesson!! I already know enuf bout dem tuh do me!!

Ok, Sir Templar Knight!! lol!!

30. Knight Templar

What do you think about the move they made to shut down the disruptive psv influence on or future working class citizen.

+++++++++++++++++++

If the David Thompson Inhumane Doctrine on Deportation was not being administered – the DLP would be terrorising the same ZRs, the rastafarian Ciommunity, vendors, public servants, taxi men and consumers.

Therefore, the David Thompson’s Inhumance Deportation Doctrine i- s merely temporary relief for the group mentioned above.

But the Mini-Budget will come, VAT will be increased so too water rates. More will be fired from the public service.

It is not a question of if, but when!

31. Knight Templar

Cigarette and gambling?

These are sin taxes. Nothing wrong if you are promoting good health (medical and spiritual) and wellness.

The cellphone tax is a nuisance tax.

It cannot be implemented because it would be costly to administer – hence a nuisance tax and a waste of Parliament’s time.

32. Yardbroom

the thesis of your post (unless I am mistaken) is expressed in the paragraph : ” As a party and I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party – who seems to be “as mad as a box of frogs” etc …..” You thus proceed to cast aspersions on the quality of the Official Opposition’s contribution to debate on the issues of the day on the basis of the posts of an anonymous blogger whose language can be admittedly “strident”. I place two points on the BU table: 1 Anyone is free to post comment on BU subject to the administrator’s approval and 2. I am not aware that any poster has been authorised to officially represent the BLP (or any party for that matter). In other words should I assume that WIV or Yardbroom is the official “voice” of the DLP (protests not withstanding)?

Let me be blunt, your post is a not-so-subtle attempt to deflect criticism of the Thompson administration not by responding to the charges made by posters but by attacking their style and further to suggest without caveat that they represent the BLP’s position. It is my contention that your thesis is to be rejected unconditionally as a baseless (but malicious) construction of your sole making.

33. Speaking on Starcom Network’s Tell It Like It Is on Friday, Joseph, a lecturer at Cave Hill campus of the University of the West Indies, said “the language and pronouncements made [by the Thompson Administration] would lead one to conclude that the current leadership is not pro-integration”.

He also called for some leaders to be shifted in CARICOM’s quasi-Cabinet.

“You actually look at commitment, skill and personal ability, for example, before you give someone a ministry . . . [but] what we have in CARICOM is where a Prime Minister may inherit a portfolio,” said Joseph

+++++++++++++++++

In short, there should be a reshuffle of the Caricom Cabinet because David Thompson is “intellectually weak” and lack the capacity to drive the CSME process forward.

34. Knight Templar

Sorry about that.

35. Just what we need to import drugs,right Jester Templar.

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2009/news/local/06/05/six-guyanese-guilty-in-huge-bajan-drug-bust/

“Six Guyanese guilty in huge Bajan drug bust
    By Stabroek staff | June 5, 2009 in Local News
    -Narcotics had been secreted in logs

(Barbados Nation) Six Guyanese who have been on a prolonged trial in Barbados on a charge of smuggling ganja and cocaine into that country in 2005 were yesterday found guilty and will be sentenced on June 15.

Lemme Michael Campbell, 45, and his wife Somwattie Persaud, 40, both of 106 New Garden Street, Georgetown; Christopher Bacchus, 43, and his wife Dianne Bacchus, 37, both of Bay Gardens, Bayland, St Michael, Barbados; Wayne Gavin Green, 38, of North Ruimveldt, Georgetown and Bridgefield, St Thomas, and Rohan Shastri Rambarran, a 43-year-old businessman of Georgetown, Guyana, were on trial in the Number Four Supreme Court on six counts relating to a police seizure of hundreds of kilos of both cannabis and cocaine at a house in Bay Gardens, St Michael.

All six had denied possession and trafficking in 91.3 kilos of cannabis and 119.4 kilos of cocaine on November 30, 2005, while Campbell and Rambarran had denied importing both cannabis and cocaine on November 29, 2005.

Around 1.50 pm yesterday, the nine-member mixed jury walked back into court after deliberating for nearly three hours.

The foreman, bearing a sheet of paper, rose and, when asked if the jury had reached unanimous verdicts with respect to each accused, replied yes.

He then intoned 28 guilty verdicts. As he did, Somwattie Persaud started to silently cry and her husband held his head down. Rambarran started to fidget as if wanting to rise and speak.

On hand, inside and outside the court, immigration officers waited, while friends of the six hovered in the courtyard of the court complex.

“The prosecution is asking for an adjournment at this stage,” said Director of Public Prosecutions Charles Leacock, QC, who led the prosecution’s team of Principal Crown Counsel Anthony Blackman and Principal Crown Counsel Wanda Blair.

There was no objection from the defence attorneys and Justice Kaye Goodridge adjourned the matter until June 15.

“And the six accused are remanded in custody,” she said, before thanking jurors, police, prison officers and other court staff for the work during the trial.”
    ——————————————-

I wonder why the BLP are so anxious to be “pro-integration” or is it pro-drug money,hmmmmm ?

36. Adrian Hinds

Yardbroom did not attempt to managed critique of the PM by focusing on the LOTO. The facts are more likely to be that the PM’s position on Immigration is much much more insync with the views of the majority Barbados electors. Conversly, the LOTOS’s objections to the PM immigration position (which really is not an objection since the LOTO AGREES THAT THE PM IS ACTING WITHIN THE LAWS OF BARBADOS)..need to be dealt with. and if there is insistence that they oppose PM LAWFULL immigration views,and action, then it can be said that they are also at odds with the said majority of Barbados electors, and THE LAW. Therefore it is right that ELECTORS focus on these objections voice by the LOTO. Do you know how to that without focusing on Mia Mottley? Should we focus on Owen Arthur, or George Payne, maybe Marshall or Mascoll’s views on immigration? We don’t rightly know who leads that party, and it will matter come next election.

BTW Yardbroom, you are a registered Barbados elector are you not?

37. Knight Templar

Here is what is written on page 69 of the BLP’s 2008 manifesto:

“We have strengthened the capability to effectively police our territorial waters against drug traffickers and other transnational criminal activity.”

Why did the BLP revamp Barbados’ communication capacity by purchasing and installing an integrated wireless telecommunication network at a cost of more that $26 million?

Why was Police operations computerised; state of the art equipment acquired and a Local and Wide Area Network, activated?

What is the judicail system modification all about? Do you realise that the building that was recently named after US AG Eric Holder and not after Sir Federick Smith, Q.C., was built by the BLP.

What was the $59 million coast guard upgrade all about?

Why were new boats bought for the police and coast guard.

Incidentally, is it true that in the last election – the DLP told drug dealers that Arthur bought boats for the Coast Guard so that they cannot get their drugs into Barbados?

Why do drug dealers feel that the DLP gave them a commitment, which it must now honour?

38. Adrian Hinds

@Anon:
    Who elected this Caricom cabinet? who are they answerable to? anyone?

Is there caribbean electorial college that I am not aware of?

Clearly this “Joseph” person wants to BELIEVE. Kind of sad for a so call academic. Where is the proof that could lead him to his conclusion? Or is he speaking on behalf of others?

39. Knight Templar

David Thompson prooves regional academics right.

As if to confirm that he is a joker, david Thompson said recently that the Arawak Cement Plant should put a “welcome sign” on its roof so that people coming into Barbados can see it.

I suppose he will soon tell the BDF at Paragon to do similar.

He then says that he cannot wait for the day when the US economy rebounds.

david Thompson is too “intellectually weak” to realise that there is a link between the US economy rebounding and increase demand – hence increase food and oil prices – hence an increase in the cost of living in Barbados and increase pressure on our foreign reserves.

Why is this a problem? There is already reduced investor confidence in the DLP and a capital flight from this country. FDI down.

People are travelling but not to Barbados.

Peoplem are investing but jut not in Barbados.

Under DLP rule, Barbados is on a free fall from prosperity to crisis.

Mad men at the controls yet no public outrage, despite the warning of the most intelligent locally and within the region.

40. Adrian Hinds

@Knight Tamplar:
    Why would you build a guard wall, purchase a guard dog, Install security cameras and alarm on your property, and then have an open door policy to person’s without vetting them?

41. Ready-Done

Kt ‘killa’ somebody got to get terrorize, you wife get deport or wha?

Tell me something, who/what criteria determines the head the Caribbean integration ‘council’ is it only the head of Barbados?

If that is so then the critique towards OUR PM is unjustified because his predecessors views on integration may not be in keeping with his own.

He may not even want that level of integration.

Once again i will like say this, I expect those I place in power to protect and uphold all laws.

42. Knight Templar

Perhaps if only reads Article 13 to 20 of the revised Treaty.

43. Adrian Hinds

Barbados is not yet a socialist “utopia” like Cuba where, whatever is said by those at the top goes. In Barbados today you have to win the argument, you have to, as in the kind of democracy that we hold too, argue your point to and convince those electors whose support you will require in other to govern. These so called regional academics and the BLP need to win the argument. The latter clearly is on the wrong side of the debate with no way to dig themselves out, and the former, still cannot bring themselves to talk to average people. I don’t know how they can ever convince anyone of anything they say.

44. Knight Templar

Once again i will like say this, I expect those I place in power to protect and uphold all laws.

++++++++++++++++++

Thank you for the opening.

Do you know that the DLP is breaking the law, as it related to Clico’s Statutory Fund deficit?

Based on its structure, the law requires Clico to have $93 million. It does not.

Was it lawful for Thompson to increase the price of petroleum products from the studio of CBC?

Which law did he use?

The Central Bank is buying its own Paper. Essentially, the DLP is again printing money. Why no public outrage?

Do you know that based on the Provisional Collection of Taxes Act, the DLP is collecting road taxes illegally?

Now, will you withdraw your support; turn down the noise or should Thompson call election?

What law gives Prime Minister Thompson lawful authority to bypass the Insurance Act, as regards Clico’s $93m Statutory Fund deficit, and place it under a Committee that reports to him – its long time lawyer?

Barbados, where is your sense of outrage?

45. Knight Templar

Barbados is not yet a socialist “utopia” like Cuba where, whatever is said by those at the top goes

+++++++++++++++++++++++

The thing that binds Cubans is “UNITY.”

The Party in Cuba has about 850,000 members.

Perhaps you should also be aware that Cuba has tremendous respect for Barbados, Jamaica and those countries that held the line back then and established Diplomatic Missions there, despite the American boycott.

46. Knight Templar

These so called regional academics and the BLP need to win the argument.

++++++++++++++++

Are you aware that the Barbados economy is in crisis and while it is – David Thompson is calling sick-old-men out of retirement from active politics to help him?

This, after telling those same men that their shelf-life had expired and their sell-by-date had passed.

Why would David Thompson reshuffle the Cabinet, a mere 10 months after being elected, and after saying that Minister were carefully selected.

David Thompson does not know what he is doing and the only thing to stop the free fall into further crisis; job lost and increased harship for Barbadians – is for him to call election.

The problem for the DLP is that while it can bribe ordinary people with their own money, it recognises it severe limitations when it comes to regional academics.

The second point is that the DLP was forced to come to the quick understanding that it may be able to trick Barbadians and blame the global financial crisis for its intellectual weakness and political incompetence, but no such luck with regional academics, who can see right through that crap.

This is the source of the DLP’s predicament. People who are bright know that David Thompson and the DLP do not know what they are doing.

47. Ready-Done

If ya braking the law ya should be locked up. simple.

but

‘Rules or made for the guidence of the wise but for fools to follow.’

With that said, if Clico was to fall would it be for the better or worst of Barbados?

All a them breck laws you talking bout is too much for me to swallow, at once. So we gin have too attack them one at a time.

You saying there is a way that i could boycott paying road tax?

Part the printery is??or you did not mean that literally.

CBC is not the best place to broadcast from?

I really is a novice to these things but i wanna learn what going on bout hay.

48. Adrian Hinds

ha ha ha man KT don’t mek me laugh. In that regard you are talking about Cubans. I am referencing Castro and his Cummunist henchmen.

Unite: to bring together so as to form a whole.

How the remaining Cubans where brought together, and kept together needs some clarity. Care to give it a try?

BTW how come you aint mention Grenada in that list of countries Castro, respects? Castro, and his henchmen needs to be friends to Cuban outside of Cuba.

So do you think that we should follow Castro/Cuba political model? Not having to win the argument via civil debate?

Owen wanted to be second only to FIDEL.

49. Adrian Hinds

If they are bright how come they have not figured out a way to “win” the argument with less bright people? I think is it trio of physical, mental, and intellectual laziness that defines caribbean academics love affair with socialist type goverments, such as Castro’s Cuba. They just seem to lack the ability to convince any significant number of people of what they claim they believe, and know. Maybe they just BELIEVE.

50. Knight Templar

How the remaining Cubans where brought together, and kept together needs some clarity. Care to give it a try?

+++++++++++++++++++++

Scholarships, education, discipline, UNITY, sense of identy, resilliance, respect for authority.

Low crime rate and no talk of Chinese threatening to bulldoze “anybody’s” house.

Anybody who can survive for over 50 years, despite American pressure, is a people we can learn from.

The Rt. Excellent Mr. Barrow should be salute for having established relations with the Cuban people in 1972.

How come the Barbadians Mr. Thompson met while in Cuba, who have been living there for years – never came back, whether D or B was in office?

51. Knight Templar

If they are bright how come they have not figured out a way to “win” the argument with less bright people?

++++++++++++++++++

Be careful, there is a plan to have at least one UWI graduate per household.

The “influence” will come just like real change has come to Barbados, when the BLP is re-elected.

52. Knight Templar

++++++++++++++++++

Did PJ Patterson in Jamaica win 4 terms? I am serious! I do not recall if 3 or 4.

Why do I feel 4?

53. Adrian Hinds

Alright KT, I am not going to argue the truth of Castro’s Cuba current and recent past, in this thread. This tread is about Mia, the BLP, and their bewildering pro illegal immigration position. Although Castro’s Cuba was a prominent feature in the BLP’s losing election theme. At any rate it is instructive as to where your party’s anti-peole views may have it’s origins.

54. Knight Templar

At any rate it is instructive as to where your party’s anti-peole views may have it’s origins

++++++++++++++

With the lowest unemployment in the history of Barbados?

You should have posted your DLP anti-Cuban comments while Thompson was there.

55. Knight Templar

AH,

How come no one never ever spread the rumour about David Thompson that he is bright?

56. Knight Templar

AH,

What does David Thompson mean when he told that Nation newspaper reproted that he and Leroy Parris are good friends “social friends and other?”

57. Adrian Hinds

My Anti-Castro comments transcends party politics.

I am no fan of any Politician, but I dislike one more so than all the others.

Owen stated that a win on Jan 15 o8 would have made him the longest serving “LEADER” after fidel. Ask him about PJ wins.

The issue is immigration, and boy do your BLP’s position leave a very bad taste in the mouths of most Barbadians.

58. Anonymous June 5, 2009 at 1:22pm

Courtesy dictates a further response.

You said : “the thesis of your post (unless I am mistaken) is expressed…

It was wise of you to insert that “caveat” unless I am mistaken, I say, you are mistaken.

You further added: “1. Anyone is free to post comment on BU subject to the administrators approval and 2. I am not aware that any poster has been authorised to officially represent the BLP ( or any party for that matter)

Quite true, I concur.

I said: “As a party I repeat for emphasis a “great political party” is reduced to a blogger on Barbados Underground – with alleged access to those in high places in the Party -”

The important word in the word construction is “alleged” it means much hence it was inserted.

I will not infer that you have any “malicious intent” because that I do not know; but I will leave the fairness and balance of my submission for others to judge.
    Adrian the answer to your question is in the affirmative.

59. Adrian Hinds

Knight Templar // June 5, 2009 at 3:22 pm

++++++++++++++++++

Did PJ Patterson in Jamaica win 4 terms? I am serious! I do not recall if 3 or 4.

Why do I feel 4?
    ———————————————

If per chance you hope that I am telling lies on Owen because you think the comparison between him and Fidel is not a particularly healthy one politically, how do you respond to the following?

60. When is the election date?

61. Adrian Hinds

Simple? Is this Simple Minded? ha ha ha recently past or next constitutionally due election?

Jan 15 08 and before Jan 15 2013. Please remember that our tradition requires the PM to have a conversation wid himself, in order for elections to be called. For it to happen sooner you have to create the disaffection amonst the people an their members of parliament, and right now the disaffection is pointing towards you. Fix yuh priorities.

62. @Knight Templar

• How come the Barbadians Mr. Thompson met while in Cuba, who have been living there for years – never came back, whether D or B was in office?
    They couldn’t afford to come back could they? Many people in Cuba rely on rations and Castro’s meager pensions are not transferrable. So if they came back would your BLP have provided them with a pension and housing?

63. The BU blogger as is being referred to is fond of putting the argument that 8000 people separated the two parties in the last election.

The question is does the BU blogger believe that the BLP’s posture on the immigration issue is reflecting the views of the Barbadians who voted BLP?

If yes what is the basis for thinking that’s the case.

On another note we read today that William Duguid’s family has emigrated to Canada. Mia Mottley has countered by speculation that he will be resigning soon by saying she has no information to suggest anything of the sort. Here is an example of the electorate being taken for granted. It is obvious that Duguid will be pulling up stumps shortly.

64. David Thompson has the support of the majority of Barbadians on the immigration issue. He will win hands down in 2013 if the BLP continues going against the wishes of Barbadians.

If a vote was taken now the DLP will win easily because the BLP has surely lost touch with what Barbadians want for Barbados.

All sensible persons know about the economic problems being encountered by ALL countries yet the BLP using that as an attack line.

All the BLP supporters on this blog keep telling us about Caribbean intellectuals who have done nothing to improve the lives of the working class people of the Caribbean.

David Thompson at least went into politics and has been in the Barbados Parliament serving the people of St. John and now leading Barbados.

Don’t blame David Thompson for the failure of CSME. It was Norman Manley and Eric Williams who broke up the federation in 1962 because of the same jealousies that exist today with Barbados today. Know your history. Do not let any Caribbean intellectuals mislead you.

65. Ready-Done

At least we sure the PM party backing he, they were backing him for a long time.

I is say this all the time, Barbados don’t got no shanty town.

we as a country ent poor we always had good leaders that made wise choices. Has the PM made choices that we think are bad? So far he doing all right to me.

66. I give the DLP a passing grade up t o this point. Here is a negative on the DLP.
    I believe that the DLP will lose votes for not enacting Integrity Legislation. The BLP will not get those votes. Integrity Legislation should be done because of the principle stance the party took before the elections.

If we are following the West Minister System then follow it fully. In the UK politicians come under full scrutiny and that is what Barbadians want of their politicians.

Let us see the change that you call for. The Prime minister will go down in history as one of the best if he enacts laws that stop politicians from corrupt practices.

When you read the Auditor General’s report some persons got real rich in the last eight years. The BLP has a hard job justifying some of those differences in figures given and those that are real.

67. Fairplay
    While I agree with you, the problem is that the BLP can’t pressure the DLP on the integrity issue bacause they too can’t impliment it whenever they get back in office, God knows when that would be. They all have skeletons in their closets.

68. @ Fairplay :
    Don’t blame David Thompson for the failure of CSME. It was Norman Manley and Eric Williams who broke up the federation in 1962 because of the same jealousies that exist today with Barbados today. Know your history. Do not let any Caribbean intellectuals mislead you.

That is correct Fairplay. Since then the efforts at integration have been to facilitate free trade within the region. Jamaica and Trinidad only want Caricom for trade. They undermine integration. Barbados’ leadership now realize is just a pipe dream as these major islands are not embracing it (e.g. CCJ). Leaders talk and talk and promise and set dates that never bring real results for the people of the Caribbean.

Thompson is just now exposing the “big lie” of Caribbean integration as he realizes it will never happen. Countries will not give up their sovereign rights for common goals…. maybe except the OECS . Now Trinidad wants to join that group.. Why… is it to scuttle CSME?

Well stop questioning P.M. Thompson’s intellect. Owen Arthur did that and lost the elections. Mr. Thompson is an excellent leader and a man who has principles. He is not perfect but I like the measured way he speaks and governs. His move to stop the high-jacking of the country by thousands of economic CSME refugees breaks no CSME or Caricom agreements. It is the correct decision based on the present status of CSME.

CSME will not have true economic integration. It will go no further in relation to unregulated free movement. Mr. Thompson is just implementing this reality first… and others will follow. Forget about the academics.. they can hardly run a classroom properly much less a country.

These are serious times requiring serious leadership, and P.M. Thompson embodies true Leadership. I am saying this as an observer as I am not a Barbadian.

69. (Barbados Nation) Six Guyanese who have been on a prolonged trial in Barbados on a charge of smuggling ganja and cocaine into that country in 2005 were yesterday found guilty and will be sentenced on June 15.

At the expense of the Bajan taxpayer!! But, why should I worry doe, tuh tell yuh de trufe!! Steupse!!

The thing that binds Cubans is “UNITY.”

Look, I doan really waan tuh get in dese conversations too much cause obviously, I in Barbadian to d same extent but, TK, u can’t sensibly make dat assertion because NOBODY can know anything about anything, for certain, in a country where free speech is banned!!

70. Ready-Done

Wouldn’t it take one currency to make csme work?

It wouldn’t be to productive for the country with the stronger currency because everyone will want to work there then take their money back to were they come from.

One currency have to be implemented first, before free movement of people, to insure that all involved countries can exchange goods and services equally.

Other wise the only the rich would benefit from the influx of people doing the same work for less, as the new working class would definitely be poorer and accustom to poorer standards of living therefore willing to except lower pay.

We are not ready for csme. we cant even share flyingfish with our neighbors.

71. @RD

A single economy is important yes. Our academics and some politicians prefer to focus on free movement of people in isolation and conveniently forget that a common settlement framework to facilitate financial business is equally required i.e integration of institutions. There are also some problems which seem to be peculiar to small states which our LEADERS need to workout.

72. Ready-Done

Common cents would dictate that free movement of people would be the last thing to implement.

If i go in T&T all now i cant even drive with my Barbadian license, so why all the fuss about integration when even such simple measures are not put in place as yet?

It isent even cheap to travel inter-island anymore.

73. @ David
    Before we debate the method of implementation of CSME, should we not try to establish WHY we would wish to go in that direction in the first place?

THAT HAS NEVER BEEN DONE!!!

All that we have ever heard in response to the question of ‘WHY?’ has been outdated cliché like ‘unity is strength’ , ‘too small to survive’ , and about the EU.
    …all nonsense in 2009.

1 – even if we do succeed in getting together, we will still be too small to be influential. (in fact, as one entity, we will now have only one international vote instead of 14)

2- Having lived in, or traveled to nearly every one of the CSME countries, I see no special commonality of identity – not even in cricket- which would suggest a natural alignment – …in fact, my experience was quite the contrary…

3 Success in this time is all about efficiency, productivity and creativity. -NOTHING to do with size.

This suggests to me that we need to focus our resources on these factors – and CSME diverts resources, increases diversity, retards productivity and promotes internal conflict….. a sure way to failure in this new world.

….so far from looking at how to establish CSME, we should be looking at how to get out of it as soon as possible, so that we can our limited resources on ‘surviving’.

74. Johnny Postle

People, CSME ain’t gine work in the Caribbean. At least not with the type of thinking and mentalities that exist amongst Caribbean people. Maybe in a few more generations (or on Mars) when we could phase out the jealousies, hatreds, xenophobias, separatist thinking and ‘who is better than who’ ideals from our minds, maybe, and I say – just maybe – it might work. I do not care how much public discourse, representation by the political think tank and arguements for, you put forth, the type of mentalities prevailing in the Caribbean will not let it work.

Now how do we expect a chain of islands to understand oneness and its importance for the Caribbean when in truth and in fact the sea between the islands provides the notion and held notions, that we are separated. I think a Union or United system, like the EU and US, is made easier in the presence of one major land mass, than land mass that is separated by water. I mean, I do not know if my assumtion is true but take for instance England. England, supposingly, is part of Europe, yet they seem to take issue to the idea of falling under the schengen banner, have refuted many a EU policy and seem bent, come hell or high water, on not losing, more or less, their identity. Now I ain’t really know if this is a reason but look again at the problem – separated by water. Also we know that England have laid claim to Ireland, and their history is not one that paints a pretty picture between these two lands. There have existed for many many moons a plethora of indifference and violence. But yet again I cannot help but notice that they too are – separated by water. Now maybe, and I say just maybe, if they (England and Europe) were not separated by water maybe they two would whole heartedly and be unequivocally yoke to the concepts of the EU and likewise Ireland and England.

Now just to strike a balance, I know that there are those who are not separated by water who cannot come to terms with a unification of states of a large land mass, even if you put a gun to their heads. One such huge land mass with nuff nuff resources is Africa. However we know their history to some extent have dictated the courses of their actions and much of the blame has been squarely laid at the feet of the invaders (the ultimate excuses in these moderns times). However the other thing that I have noticed is that most of the land masses that find unity a very difficult thing, and where nogotiations have been stalled, halted or abandon for one reason or the other seems to be those land masses where black people reside. Now I am not saying that black people are incapable of championing the cause for unity but it is darn right plain to me that most of the land masses where blacks resides and presides have serious issues with unification and decades are passing by with no clear prospect that this will be acheived . Maybe these could be some of the reasons why a CSME will not work.

However, a balance must be struck when raising such debatable issues. Firstly that the benefactors of unifying states, who are now reaping the benefits of what uniting their resources can do, also reaped, back in the day, a world wind of wars and human suffering to get there. Their acheivements were in no way, smooth sailing. Examples are: the historical divide between America’s North and South states and the wars before Europa became the European Union. However I will end this little escapade of mind by saying that anything is possible with the right thinking and the right approach but the way how we as black people view certain efforts, I think it is taking us too long to understand the importance of certain things like oneness and unification and the benefits that can be derived if we seek to embrace. I truly do not think we will acheive any mere semblance of a united Caribbean, if we continue to perpetuate a thinking of selfish ideals and biases. We carry to many deep seated indifferences and prejudices to make any real progress towards the dream of a Caribbean Single Market and Economy. I just hope that I am proven wrong but like all things, only time will tell.

75. Wishing In Vain

Mottley’s name is tarnished and badly so, she was the one that took a leading figure in the last BLP gov’t that over saw plenty, plenty corruption and wrong doing she cannot now walk away and suddenly assume to be a saint, no way she was part and parcel of the cause of the corruption and dishonesty in the last administration let her fool you not.

Always remember the fiasco of the VECO PRISON that they told us we were wrong in our understanding that all mention of cost in the Parliament of Barbados must be in Barbados dollars but some how we were stupid enough to know that when they quoted the cost of the prison we did not understand that it was quoted in US dollars.

That smacks with arrogance and contempt that was the former BLP Gov’t

The base that operated on Owing’s behalf, the funding, the on the ground people are NOT working for Mottley in speaking to some of them they are just not happy with her or her ways, there is much discontent among her own BLP members with her candidate selection process in Christ Church.

Getting more to the point it seems to stem from her trying to stack the selection of candidates with ones of her like thinking, hence the inclusion of Wilfred Abrahams in her selection as a candidate to support her agenda in support of Gay and Lesbian rights.

76. Who is Wilfred Adams?

77. Wishing In Vain

Wilfred Abrahams is Mottley’s selection for Christ Church East he is alledged to be like her with a warped orientation sexually but more importantly she is stacking her selection process with thoser favourable to her agenda and same sex marriages as well as legalising prostitution, this is why she is supportive of Abrahams and Sandra Husbands for nomination..

78. Is wilfred abrahams the young lawyer who was head of the bar association wishing in vain?

And are you saying sandra husbands is an alleged lesbian,I thought she was a christian married woman?

79. More Lies By WIV

Wishing In Vain drags people’s names through the mud to distract you from asking questions about Thompson and Parris.

From asking questions about why Barbados is the ONLY jurisdiction in the Caribbean that the government has NOT taken an active hand in.

To keep you from asking questions about the Central Bank Governor of TnT’s comment that Barbados is desperately trying to raise U$ on the Trinidad capital market to “avoid going to the IMF” (check the TnT press if you don’t believe me)

He doesn’t want you asking questions about the hospital, that having said “No New Hospital” Thompson will now have to back down and admit that the BLP was right in saying it needed to build a new hospital.

He doesn’t want you asking questions about the Engineers Association’s silence on the Wildey Death Trap after it raised such a ruckus about the Belle Junction.

Don’t be distracted by WIV, he likes to drag people’s names through the mud with salacious innuendo to distract you from asking questions that might be difficult for his bosses (and his bosses bosses at CLICO) to answer.

80. More Lies By WIV
    In the Saturday Sun one of the BLP stalwarts George Griffith said that Mia is going down the wrong road in the candidate selection. Is he telling lies?

81. Wishing In Vain

Fairplay not even the BLP’s most faithful have confidence or support Mottley at present, she is doing all the wrongs things for all the wrong reasons.

She is skating on thin ice and it will soon let her weight sink but after all a 1000 lbs of Blubber surely should float halfway.

The likes of Bovell and Greenidge that try to come onto this site and others with mistruths and lies have their work cut out in defence of one of their three bosses Mottley.

Were Mottley a honest person she would stop beating ( I do say that in reference to her typical action) around the bush and let the public know that she has been told by Duguid that he is done with politics and done with the BLP, after all he did not vote for her as his selection as leader of the opposition so we would all know where he stands in her pecking order.

I repeat she has the Christ Church branches in turmoil and upheavel not my saying so her own former loyal party supporters saying so.

82. Adrian Hinds

@WIV;
    Well we all heard her pronouncements and strategies with the St.Micheal team in the last election. Would you not welcome her involvement in the Christ Church Branches? I would. lol!

83. As an aside:

Interesting times ahead in Christ Church West. In the 21st May 2003 General Election (a BLP victory)

Dr. William Dugid (BLP) was against Peter Barrow (DLP)
    Dr. Dugid won 2,620 against Peter Barrow 1,438.
    Dr.Dugid achieved 64.6% of the vote.

In the 15th January 2008 Election
    Dr. Dugid was against Taan Abed.
    Dr. Dugid 2,510
    Taan Abed 1,859 Dr Dugid’s majority only 651.

Christ Church West is a winable seat for the DLP – there is a trend on close analysis – hence the delay in resignation…in politics timing is everything.

84. Taan Abed should not be the candidate given the controversy which followed him last election.

85. I agree with David on this one.

86. Did it ever come to court?

87. Of course not.

88. Ready-Done

It seams to me that Owen give her that position knowing full well what would happen.

Now the public has and unsavory view of one and not the whole ‘party’ sometimes ya got to sacrifice one for the grater good.

Smart chap.

Abed was mix up in what?

89. Bragga Dog

Its amazing that the Government got a well prepared ground so much like Ready Done and what happen?
    The tremors from the world economic world wind brek it up in pieces so it appears. All a we reading the radar with cock eyes it seems.

90. @ David
    I have “no opinion” as to if Taan Abed should be a candidate for Christ Church West again and therefore gave none. I have heard of the controversy to which you have alluded. I will not give it legs by further reference now.

However, if there is no truth to the allegations or the controversy can be overcome, the DLP could fight the bye-election, with an in-built advantage.

The DLP could fight the bye-election on the basis of, you say we are xenophobic towards foreigners who make their home in Barbados, but the lie to that is evident by the candidate we have taken to our hearts as one of our own.

To those beyond our shores particularly in “Guyana” we could say…that is the way we conduct politics in Barbados, and do note the decision to have Taan Abed as a candidate was taken long before the issue of immigration came to the fore, it is not window dressing.

That reasoning and line of argument would be difficult for anyone to rebutt…actions not words would have had the final say.

91. Ready-Done

Well said Mr yardbroom.

I only ask bout the ex-mechanic because i cant find nutting bout it on the net.

92. Rumplestilskin

While Yardbrrom has summarised the Christ Church West position very well,
    one other factor to be considered is why it used to be such a solid seat and how that will change via natural evolution.

The seat was Sir Henry Forde’s seat, traditionally strong because of Sir Henry, no other reason.

Hence, the BLP has ridden on this legacy up till now.

As Yardbroom has pointed out, the margin in the last election has declined, possibly indicating that the usefulness of that legacy as an elction-clincher is dimishing, due to the passage of time.

Voters will now require genuine returns from the holder of that seat, to prove worth, whether Duguid or anyone else.

The next election or bye-election in thay seat will surely be closer.

Peace

93. Rumplestilskin

Interestingly enough, there was an anlysis done recently by an international economic body, that tried to assess the reasons for the difference between the post-colonial economies of Jamaica and Barbados.

One of the issues mentioned as critical, was the action of each Government during the international economic crisis of the early 1990′s.

The conclusion reached, was that Jamaica’s following of IMF recommendations to reduce exchange rate parity, had a significant long-term detrimental effect on the Jamaican economy, while the Babados Govenrment action of the time, of a prices and incomes protoc0l, rather than trying to meddle with the exchange rate parity, had the desired short and long-term effects on the economy.

The Jamaican economy thus suffered since, while the Barbados economy has benefitted from the action of the then Government.

This is something that has been known and accepted for a while, by anyone with a modicum of understanding of finance and economics, but is now given further credence.

Hopefully, the rubbish spouted repeatedly, that Sandiford’s economic actions were detrimental, will now be reduced, if not ceased.

As noted above, in a similar manner, the current Opposition is blaming Thompson for the current international crisis.

Worse than laughable, it is idiotic to the extreme, particularly as our own economy has been affected by the debt burden which was inflicted in the last few years of the previous administration.

Peace

94. Yardbroom,

With respect to Ch. Ch. West, I thnk you are wrong on this one.

If you calculate, you will see that Duigid won in 2008 by 58% of the vote. This was acheived during a “massive swing” against the BLP.

Travel back in time and you will see that this constituency has always been a major stronghold of the BLP. No one could beat Henry Forde.

It will take a miracle for the DLP to win this seat.

95. I do however, agree that Tan Abed should NOT be the DLP’s choice.

96. @ Facts
    The point you made regarding Sir Henry Forde, to which Rumplestilskin also alluded about the personal vote of Henry Forde is quite true. It is also noted there was a national swing against the BLP in the last election.

Two points should be factored in, Dr William Dugid as I understood it was the choice of Henry Forde, so he came with some goodwill. He was also well liked by some of his constituents that personal endorsement from Dr Dugid is not -at least as yet- in place.

Dr. Dugid was also relatively local to Christ Church West for many years.

Although there was a national swing against the BLP Government at the last election; the DLP opposition was an unknown quantity…which is always a handicap. That is no longer the situation the “authority” of Government with Ministers and others free to fight the bye-election…to my mind gives the DLP government the advantage..but it could be close.

97. Yardbroom,

Agreed; but we have to wait and see.

98. But what if there is now a swing against the Government?

99. Poor Great

Yardbroom wrote dat “.. in a vibrant democracy it benefits society to have an “effective opposition”, to keep the Government on track and offer an alternative to the citizens.” Yet he practically campaigning fuh Abed and the DLP! I thought that he would be first concerned dat de people of Ch Ch west get good representation from whichever party. Given that he is concerned about the strength of the opposition and democracy and ting, he would be encouraging the BLP to nominate a good replacement fuh Dogood and hope dey retain the seat. Anyway doan mind me I is only Poor Great.

100. Hi ,Poor Great

Where did I endorse Abed? I said no such thing, if I did, I implore you point me or quote the sentence where I did.

I give a view of the situation as I see it, a pragmatic view, my position has always been, there is no DLP or BLP stamped on my forehead.

I try to give a balance view, with honesty and integrity.

101. Poor Great

Wuhlossie Yardbroom

Yuh aint serious? Pun a Sunday or you is Seven Days? LOL.

102. Wishing In Vain

Mottley is un trustworthy and incapable of honesty therefore not a good candidate for a leadership role she is to be always remembered for her comment to our builders of this island for saying on the subject of the illegal Chinese Workers at the Four Seasons project, that they the local builders either tow the line with these illegals or remember that they can easily be faced with a VAT and or a TAX audit, that was the extent of the callous arrogant one Mottley for you.

Thank god the electorate saw the light and evicted her for any leadership role fearing a country run by Mottleyism with her mother Amour and Elliot behind the scenes pulling her strings ?????

After all these are Mottley’s that believe fully that their entiltlement is to run the affairs of this country and have power and control over you the ordinary people of Barbados.

103. Knight Templar

Pure Hog Poop and stink bombs!

The great Errol Barrow left the island for six months and said that he was going to re-charge his batteries. Do you remember that?

However, the issues this week is chaos in the same social portfolios that the DLP said it was strong in:

Health, Education, Home Affairs and Transport. My point is simple.

The past weekend has not been a good one for the DLP. Notice I have not included the economy or the David Thompson Inhumane Deportation Doctring.

Home Affairs:

In Home Affairs, during the past ten days, six people were shot. In fact, someone is being shot or robbed in Barbados every day, yet the DLP purports that it is strong on the social side.

Health:

It must be embarrassing for the DLP that two people who have not travelled – not have swine flu. How could that be possible, except that right under the DLP’ eyes – our borders have been breached.

The point is, the DLP is failing to keep Barbadians safe.

Education:

Despite whatt was siad by Educator Matthew Farley in the Sunday Sun of May 24, 2009 and despite the free bus rides; the free camps, the free breakfast and the creation of a dependent society – children at private primary schools are out performing those in the public setting. Why?

I will come back to these issues later.

Transport:

The BLP would have spend $145 million and for that Barbados would have had ( I think) six flyovers and two over passes.

Now, according to: “Death Trap Minister John Boyce,” he is spending $134 million, but no over-pass and no flyovers.

Essentially, the same DLP that had a lot to say about costoverruns – will spend $134 million which includes $25m to pave a small stretch of load leading to 6 roundabouts. Some where in that amount is a couple millions for Abdul pandor.

You think the Auditor General’s 2008 is a matter for concern – wait until you see the 2009!”

That $134m does not include the million that the DLP will have to pay 3S in a law suite.

Talk about costoverrun! And yet, no public outrage!

These are the issues – lets talk!!!

104. Knight Templar

Fairplay // June 6, 2009 at 6:25 pm

More Lies By WIV
    In the Saturday Sun one of the BLP stalwarts George Griffith said that Mia is going down the wrong road in the candidate selection. Is he telling lies?

+++++++++++++++++++
    Let me be honest.

Being a member of an organization does not confer intellence on securing membership:

“Politics is like fishing”? Really!Perhaps that explains three defeats, despite a national profile.

In circumstances where the BLP is accusing the DLP of governance by delay – what does it mean, when one says:

“There are some people out there who would be interested in representing the party but would need time to make their minds up.”

Given its literal interpretation, “interest” means:

“a diversion that occupies one’’s time and thoughts (usually pleasantly)”

Therefore, what nonsence about “Unnecesary haste?”

At the last Party Conference, is it not true that Miss Mottley told members to do good works within communities?

Does representation commences when one enters Parliament? Perhaps having come in on a swing or a political high tide – for the DLP it does. But that is not the BLP way.

Let the finest traditions and the journey of excellence continue.

Thank goodness that Miss Mottley is moving away for backward thinking and old-style politics and is bringing something, new, fresh and desireable.

105. KT you are so f ing stupid!

106. Knight Templar

You obviously write without thinking or are allergic to using you brain.

Perhaps I should therefore remind you that I am not the one who called sick-old men out of retirement to help me run the country after telling Barbadians that I was ready.

Neither did I tell regional heads to select the Guyana President to lead the region in talks when they meet with President Obama.

Finally, it is not me that regional scholars like Dr. Tennyson Joseph, Prof. Girvan, prof. Persuad,Pprof. Alleyne, Prof. Howard, Mr. Mascoll, Miss Mottley and Owen Arthur – have serious doubts and concerns about.

107. Royalrumble

Well, while you all are here talking up a storm about any and everything of non-importance, the staff at Clico Barbados is worried if they will be paid at the end of this month. For some months now staff there have been working in faith that somehow money will come from somewhere to pay them and so far certain banking institutions have come to they rescue but they wonder how much longer will such good fortune fall to them.

CLICO BARBADOS IS HAVING CASH FLOW PROBLEMS. How shameful.

The staff at Clico were the ones who built that company and it is truly hurtful that they are the ones who are now worried as to how long it would be around for them to earn a living. It is Parris and Thompson who took the profits out of that company.

I have posted on this blog the parcel of land bought jointly between Parris and Thompson with $925,000.00, in cash, of Clico’s money. The large chegues Thompson received for little if any legal work, the many suits and other expensive clothing bought for Thompson from Paris by Parris, the extravagant hotel rooms and limo services organized for Thompson when they are out dating, the extraction of million of Clico money to buy a plane for just the two of them to joyride have all add up to one of the biggest scandals this Government will have to face now and in the future.

The real reason why Thompson will not allow Clico to be placed under judicial management is precisely because Clico would have to undergo a forensic audit that would reveal the nasty scams, money-laundering schemes and inside rip offs that has brought this company to its knees. Thompson was party to all that. In fact his name would feature prominently in any such audit.

In deed there is a the real possibility that his new home address could be that new facility in St.Philip which falls under the Ministry of his most formidable foe Mr. Freundel Stuart.

I am not fooled by the marriage of convenience between Stuart and Thompson, Estwick and Thompson, Kellman and Thompson, Lowe and Thompson, Sealy and Thompson, Sinckler and Thompson and the list goes on. So you see Hartley Yardfowl Henry aka WIV you cannot start infighting in the BLP. We are simply not that kind of political institution. Look down through the years and see the model that we have mastered in changing our leaders and solving problems in our Party. Check and you’ll see there is no blood letting as seen in the DLP as a matter of course.

In fact Hartley I should let you know that base on some information seen recently, unless you carryout a very thorough clean up of your filthy deeds and actions you can be certain that upon the immediate resumption of a BLP Government you can prepare for the well deserved occupation of your room at Dodds, St.Philip.

The Dems would do well to revisit that Nation Newspaper story for Sunday, May 20, 2004 under the head lines “Stuart: Serve the Masses, not money”. It is a pity that Stuart did not get his wish and as a result the party now finds itself deep in bed with a corporate entity that has abused and destroyed the confidence of its customers and investors. The country now finds itself with a Prime Minister who has conflict of interest and serious integrity issues to deal with.

Rather than introducing integrity legislation we are trying escape the wrath of and global exposure by Transparency International.

108. Royalrumble

It was most interesting reading the comments of Hartley Yardfowl Henry aka WIV and others on this blog trying to raise an issue about who in the BLP is gay.

Of course I need not state the obvious that whenever the Dems are backup against the wall they go for their most tried and trusted subject – scum. Where ever you have them penned down to serious issues affecting the lives of Barbadians they wriggle out by personal attacks and character assassination.

To read them on the gay matter is really strange. You would not believe that the DLP is a party that housed the likes of Ronald Jones, Patrick Todd, David Thompson, Richard Sealy, Cameron Tudor, Dr Erskine Simmons, Hartley Henry and the list goes on.

I am told about the speech made by Mr. Mascoll in the DLP’s auditorium that cost him the leadership of that party. Apparently Mascoll had a few unkind words to say about gays and following his speech one of his friends was kind enough to inform him that he had just sealed his fate in that party.

Little did Mascoll know that when he attacked gays he was attacking 80% of what constitute the real DLP and hence his support and existence in the DLP was brought to an abrupt end.

Only recently I was told of an incident that occurred many years ago where Hartley while in the company of Eric Sealy and others were chased out of a certain St. Michael district, not far from the Telephone Company for trying to seduce a young boy who lived in the same area.

I don’t try to outtalk the DEMS on bulling and gay talk neither do I pretend to know who are the person in our society that are so inclined. Quite frankly I gladly surrender that wisdom to the architects of that art.

109. Ready-Done

Royalrumble got on he boxing gloves!!!

110. Sir Bentwood Dick

Hoy-hoy. Wunna check that paragraph dat Royalrumble called alla dem names?

Eh..eh..he shooting mout rough.

But den, looka what de Templar Knight said ”Miss Mottley is ….bringing something, new, fresh and desireable.”

Wuh, deng. DESIRABLE!

Templar man, yuh gettin’ hot here, ef yuh ent careful with dem words, yuh goin have our fren’ from over an’ away, ’199”, down ‘ere looking foh dem ‘new’ desirables yuh talkin bout.

But knowing ’199′, as long as dey ent rasta, eh?

111. Wishing In Vain

Ready-Done // June 8, 2009 at 8:39 pm

Royalrumble got on he boxing gloves!!!

You are right THE PARRO IN A SUIT GREENIDGE.

As he usually would, he is SHADOW BOXING he maybe scared to take on a real opponent for fear of receiving a knockout punch.

112. “I am told about the speech made by Mr. Mascoll in the DLP’s auditorium that cost him the leadership of that party. Apparently Mascoll had a few unkind words to say about gays…’

I don’t beleive that Mr. Mascoll could be so unaware that a lot of bright gay people have offered themselves in service to both the DLP and the BLP.

From their beginnings neither party could nave achieved much without their gay members, including gay members of Cabinet (on both sides).

It is past time that both parties acknowledge their gay members.

113. Ready-Done

Go away J

114. Which is worse? Being gay or interfering with under-aged school-girls?

Answer that first and I will provide some interesting information that just came to hand on Royal Rumble…

115. Wishing In Vain

Who Royal Rumble…The Parro In A Suit Greenidge???

I would not waste my effort on him, trust me he is not worth it.

I notice that he is always in defence of Owing but not so in defence of Mottley what does he know that the rest of the BLP camp do not know.

116. Ready-Done

Gay CHOSE not to reproduce, not to pass on the life given to them,

gay denies the HUMAN right to life,

gay is anti-life. therefore the worst thing ever.

117. Knight Templar

Veritas!

Since you better than anyone would know, please answer the following questions:

Exactly when is David Thompson going to buy back the BNB, as he promised?

When is the DLP going to start building the brand name hotel it promised to build every two years?

Why is the DLP not building the 2000 houses each year it promised?

When is the DLP going to start construction on the Port in the North of the Island, it promised?

When is the DLP going to release the unemployment figures for the first quarter (Q1) of 2009?

Is it true that the unemployment rate has jumped to 12% under DLP rule?

What is the DLP doing about the cost of living?

When is the DLP going to stop price gouging Barbadians, especially on land tax and petroleum products?

What is the DLP doing to keep Barbadians safe in their homes and communities?

What commitment did the DLP give drug dealers in the election campaign?

118. Royalrumble

Hoba Hoba Circle
    123 Royal
    Rumblings
    Barbados

June 9, 2009

Dear Veritas,

In your last letter to me you wrote, “Which is worse? Being gay or interfering with under-aged school-girls”?

Well well what kind of a question is that? Only a morally sick person would think that one is worst than the other. You depraved soul, both of them are bad, wrong and disgusting.

But I warn you be careful how you speak about Chris Sinckler on this blog because even if he manages to destroy the files at the Child Care Board in the rape case of the St. Lucy girl, I can produce in a flash the copy I hold.

So you have some information that has just come to hand on me. How lovely. But guess what I just received some new information on Thompson too – our first “Family First” Prime Minister. I would love to read what you have on me and I am certain that you would enjoy reading what I have on Thompson.

It is with a clear vision and bated breath that await your urgent response.

Your sincerely
    Royalrumble

119. Royalrumble

Oh Veritas please attack me oh please attack me. Please tell fellow bloggers of this new information you have on me I beg you please, please, please.

I sit here eagerly awaiting your attack so please do not let me down. Never mind when you attack me I feel like I am being savage by a sheep you can still attack me.

So I will go now and await your attack.

120. I notice that he is always in defence of Owing but not so in defence of Mottley what does he know that the rest of the BLP camp do not know.
    _____

It is an affront to sensible Barbadians that Mia Mottley employs these people like Royalrumble (Sylvan Greenidge) and Knight Templar, Hog Squeal (Henderson Bovell) to express the views of a great institution like the BLP.

Can you imagine what goes on behind the scenes in the BLP meetings with such degenerates having a say?

All of these people at a table – wife-beating Owen, thiefing Sylvan, indebted “waitress” Bovell, gay Mia – planning for such a once-great political party?

Where is the BLP going?

121. Wishing In Vain

Kitty,
    You have to understand that the messenger Bovell and Parro Greenidge are so dependent on the BLp for their lunches and their dinners that I bet you that if you were to call parliament that you would find both of them having dinner, as they very likely had lunch there today as well, parliament has not longed finished.

These are two of the sadest excuses of persons and more amusingly Mottley and Owing are comfortable being seen in their company, what does that tell you abot the morals or standards of Mottley and Owing??

Not much, you are also correct in your reading that they make little positive comment about Mottley but continue to praise Owing for his dishonesty in both his private and his public life.

122. Sir Bentwood Dick

So, we have political lackeys exchanging threats of personal exposure and quarreling about sexual preferences on a public blog.

No wonder, then that major issues are being ignored, such as your land policy, agriculture, when the lackeys get most enjoyment out of bickering on rubbish.

There is not a politician now, nor in the past, who can step forward as being without fault.

Wunna know it too!

So, cut the foolishness and get down to business.

Nonsense!

123. This is the reason i never follow politics, 2 parties all ways fighting with each other and no ones fights with the problems at hand, if i had my way every one of wanna would be independent.

124. You mean independent like Hammie or independent like a bird out on a limb alone by itself.

125. I mean independent from child like squabbles, name calling and finger pointing.

126. Knight Templar

Here is a crystal clear indication of the type of visionary, caring, mature and patriotic leadership Barbados deserves:

“How we handle this crisis will determine whether we can rebound in the short term or whether we step on to the slippery slopes from which so many developing countries have been unable to get off.

We are too close for comfort.

Any further downgrade will threaten our Investment Grade Status. This must be strenuously avoided, as it will make any attempt to borrow on the international capital markets both more difficult and certainly far more expensive.

The Prime Minister must start to exhibit strong and frank leadership on the economy.

He must focus, as there is no further room for delay or for piece meal and ad hoc solutions that do not address the core of the problem.” – Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition.

127. Sir Bentwood, can you?

128. Wilfred Abrahams is just a lap dog for the BLP who is power hungry , who would sell his soul for the right price and perhaps already has done just this.
    he is a true sickophant( someone who sucks up to rich people you know a real hob nob who worships these individuals and the smell taste of money
    The yester years of people like Sir Henry Forde seem to be gone and replaced with a new generation of BLP a government for the elite and the elite alone

129. wishing for accountability

There seems to be a call to either be gay, bi sexual or lack m0rals to be part of the BLP
    Bisexual, buller, lesbian, promiscuous party is what the abrieviations stand for!

130. wishing for accountability

Santia Bradshaw =daddy and who????-pele? Cover -up she was born into scandal, so she comes from 0 morals.
    her friendships with the likes of Ruel Ward who is a the’fe, Sagicor went and hid in France after stealing millions,
    and is now her partner,

Now her companion Hoyos who is evil defined and magnified,
    All the wives he has and dumps. A plantation dancer who has a baby a few months old for him cause he can’t keep his hands off the dancers some say he sexually harasses them to keep their jobs
    He was fired from PWC , Hardwood Housing he has millions of G0vt Money defaulted on BNB loans over this and all the money he has off shore with Ruels as well,
    Oh Ruels wife Sharon dates Wilfred they like orgies in the BLP you know Hoyos is kinky dresses so swapping and swinging is in the party plans MORALLY CORRUPT where is God in this party?

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s