Barbados Underground

Responsibility, Fairness And The Media In Reporting The Guyanese Illegal Immigrants Issue In Barbados

June 27, 2009 · 183 Comments

Submitted by Yardbroom
Roxanne Gibbs - Executive Editor Nation Newspaper

PNCR leader Robert Corbin is denying holding talks with party executive Dr Aubrey Armstrong

Dr Aubrey Armstrong

Recent lurid details of a female illegal Guyanese immigrant being apprehended, was disseminated by a major Barbados news outlet.  The allegations if true are worthy of investigation by the relevant authorities.  However, the article was so lacking in person details, it was impossible to identify anyone because of the anonymity given.

It is necessary that anonymity is afforded in certain cases, to protect sources from retribution even ridicule, but the level of fairness we are justifiably eager to give illegal immigrants, must also be given to the relevant immigration authorities, the Barbados Government and the citizens of Barbados on whom such allegations can have a negative impact.

If the personnel involved in the allegation cannot be identified, how can appropriate action be taken by the relevant authorities?  Unless there is some dissemination of information the alleged unfairness cannot be properly challenged and rectified.

Major news outlets have a responsibility to ensure accuracy of detail when the good name of a country’s citizens is brought into question.

It is a dereliction of responsibility to allow political bias or an editorial position to get in the way of “accurate reporting”.  A news organization to be held in high esteem by its readers must ensure it can be believed for accuracy and fairness.

This problem of illegal immigration will end and must be solved, but it would be most unfortunate if in the future people are able to refer to a major organization’s article as substantive proof that certain events did occur in Barbados…on just allegations.

Barbados as a whole will have to live with any accusations, not a “particular political Party”.  It is also worthy of note that in our efforts to gain political power and control; that aspiration must never be so overriding that we are prepared to besmirch the good name of our country.

Barbadians now and in the future can hold our heads high, if we know we have acted according to our Laws and with the fairness we have always afforded visitors to our shores.

For any major news outlet to publish stories of a besmirching kind to Barbados, its Immigration Officers, Policemen and its elected Government which cannot be easily corroborated and on which appropriate remedial action – if required – cannot be taken, is nothing less than; I am tempted to say … a disgrace.

Categories: Blogging · Caribbean · Caribbean News · Caricom · Immigration
Tagged:

183 responses so far ↓

• David // June 27, 2009 at 10:18 AM

Doing research on BU blog recently we were surprised to learn from a commenter posted on the 16 April 2009  that Dr. Aubrey Armstrong and Roxanne Gibbs are brother and sister. It is important that as Executive Editor of the daily newspaper with the biggest circulation Roxanne Gibbs needs to be very careful. Careful monitoring of the Nation newspaper in the last 5 years for sure shows a questionable editorial policy. The immigration debate is so critical Barbadians need to start to sit up and question the role the Nation newspaper and other media houses are playing to assist the government of Barbados to distill its amnesty policy. It is clear that the Guyana government owned media houses have removed the gloves while our local media feel satisfied to regurgitate what is being published over there.

The fact Dr. Armstrong is an active political operative in Guyana and seems to be on a shortlist to take control of the PNCR opposition party becomes interesting. It is interesting to note that leader of the PNCR Corbin has joined the bandwagon to toss criticism at the Barbados government for trying to implement a managed immigration policy which must obviously impact Guyanese, the largest group of immigrants in Barbados. Is it reasonable to suggest that Roxanne Gibbs may have some bias regarding how news is published in the Nation on this matter?  The time has come for Barbadians to start asking some probing questions.

Additionally the citing of Annalee Davis’ work which is based on interviews with Guyanese without any corroboration from Barbados authorities lays it bare for all to read the plot. Last week we suggested that a PR effort needs to be initiated by the government of Barbados to bust this plot wide open. We would even suggest that members of the media are invited to accompany immigration officials in the short term to stem the lies being tossed across open waters by leaders in the region who should know better.

Now is the time for all Barbadian entities, churches, academics, opposition party, NGOs etc to work with OUR government to expose the plot.

• Themis // June 27, 2009 at 10:26 AM

Should there be any deportations during a period of amnesty? If so, what does amnesty mean? I’m sorry, but this thing is sounding more and more every day like a sham to get rid of Guyanese (not British, not European, not even CARICOM) immigrants.

• Anonymous // June 27, 2009 at 10:47 AM

Has any official of the Government of Barbados publicly refuted the allegations?

It would be good that news media be always fair, balanced and truthful. However, if at any time any such entity does not adhere to such principles, it is the responsibility on those in authority to defend the country and its public servants.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 11:16 AM

Themis

For you and others like you who don’t ’seem’ to understand;the amnesty is for caricom non nationals who have been living here since 1998 – and who have been working during that period – and who don’t have a criminal record etc.

Those persons who don’t fall in that 11 year period are the bulk of guyanese and jamaicans who came in here by the thousands during the last 4 to 5 years.

So there fore if you are not elegible for the amnesty,then it stands to reason that the immigration officers don’t have to wait until 1st December 2009 when the amnesty ends,to start deporting you.

There are thousands of caricom non nationals who are not covered by the amnesty and therefore should not be waiting until 1st of December to go home and they know this.

They are really only playing for time and hoping that these made up stories and exaggerations will sway public opinion and hopefully the government of barbados and so hopefully thompson will reverse his decision.

Plain and simple.

• 199 // June 27, 2009 at 11:31 AM

Yardbroom, u gone back tuh dis again?!! But YB, dere in nutten we can do about it, so we might as well lef d people alone tuh get on wid it!! We’ve done so wid d homosexuals an d rastafarians, so what’s new!! People are n’t interested in serious subjects, just fluff like music, partying, an ‘whaever happen, happen!! Fuh which they will pay dearly, one day! However, they’re not worried about that! That’s for others to worry about, then!!

• Themis // June 27, 2009 at 11:33 AM

I am afraid that it is not that plain and simple, mu&bb. There is no authority given to the immigration officer to determine by themselves whether or not one is an illegal immigrant. That is a matter to be resolved by the immigrant going and taking advantage of the amnesty before December 1. After that all illegals are fair game.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 11:37 AM

Guyanese Conspiracy.

If there was any doubt that there is a conspiracy going on with the guyanese professionals who have settled and living in Barbados – well today’s Starbroek newspaper lays it all out for everyone to see.

It is clear as day that unlike professor Eudine Barriteau who came from grenanda to Barbados as a young child and benefited from free secondary education from primary to tertiary levels as well as all the other benefits – the guyanese people are extremly ungrateful people who are only interested in taking and taking from this society,but when the time comes for them to stand up for us the bajans – they turn on us and join with their llegal countrymen and women in barbados and their corrupt administration – to destroy Brbados’ image in the world.

Prof Barriteau in a radio interview on VOB, stood up for bajans and their kindness and generosity to her when she came here as a poor young girl,the daughter of a hawker,and she condemned the way these non nationals who are enjoying a better life in barbados are now condemning barbados because they are being deported for being illegal in the country.

BU family we are in UNCHARTERED waters and we are in DANGEROUS times.

Bajans every where needs right now to speak with their pocket book and IMMEDIATELY STOP BUYING THE NATION NEWSPAPER,and instead read it on line or not at all.

Friends,have a look in today’s Starbroek newspaper and see what is going on.

The game being played out is this .The Starbroek prints every day a negative story on immigration in Barbados,and the next day the Nation newspaper headed by the guyanese roxanne gibbs carries the starbroek story in the barbadian paper.

Go on the archives for the Starbroek newspaper and see for the past 8 or more weeks a negative story is carried every day about Barbados.

It is more difficult to fully research the nation because their on line paper is sparse,however what I have noticed is that they will print the negative immigration story on line,but the pro- barbados response is hardly ever published on line.

Now what we have are the so-called guyanese ‘heavy guns’ who have all scampered from guyana and run to Barbados and are living large,now giving interviews to the Starbroek newspapers condemning barbados.

In today’s starbroek it is shridath ramphal, and compton bourne (CDB), and a reference to Prof clive thomas,and of course bharat jagdeo.

Guess who shridath ramphal quotes as an authoratative source? – none other that the subervisive annalee davis – and he quotes her as a researcher.

Now as far as I know she ahs always described herself as an ‘artist’.

See who they use for back up?

They are using the words of BAJANS to hit out against barbados,so we see quotes from mia mottley,or owen arthur,or annalee davis that white girl who cares more about indian guyanese workers than her homeland,or david commissong – the Opportunist, who was born in st vincent.

Roxanne gibbs and her protaganists may see their desired aim of confusion and bitterness against barbados in the short term,but the long term effect for guyanese will be far more lasting.

No matter what gonsalves,stephenson king and the other caricom leaders say;they are watching carefully what happens when you allow a build up of guyanese in your country (like owen did),and will be seeking to prevent the barbadian scenario from happening to them.

However the deepest effect will be the future guyanese – barbados relationship amongst the ordinary people.

For never again will bajans feel they can trust guyanese and will want to reach out and offer them a helping hand – because they know a quick kick in the backside at the end of it all will be coming from the guyanese.

Scout,JC,NegromanAdrian and others did warn barbados about this day a long time ago.

The chickens are finally coming home to roost.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 11:56 AM

Themis

Did you understand what you just wrote?

Or,let me put it another way did you understand what I explained earlier about the amnesty?

You are saying an immigration officer cannot dtermine who is an illegal immigrant;

That is the first lie;

Then you say ‘only when the immigrant goes and take advantage of the amnesty before December 1st,is when he will be discovered to be an illegal immigrant;

Second lie.

ALL CARICOM NON NATIONALS WHO ARE CAME INTO BARBADOS AFTER 1998 AND ARE UNDOCUMENTED – ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR THE AMNESTY – THEREFORE THEY DON’T HAVE TO GO INTO IMMIGRATION.

Instead they should be already on a plane heading back to Guyana,Jamaica,St Vincent,St Lucia wherever.

They know when they came in and they have been telling all and sundry,including a reporter from the Starbroek news who came up here from Guyana to investigate – they said they will go underground and will not be going back to guyana because there is nothing there for them.

I really thought you did not understand,but I am now begining to realise that this is another ‘Hog squeal’ political operative masquerading
    Please,I beg of you, do not play politics with our future.

• Themis // June 27, 2009 at 12:04 PM

You are wrong, mu&bb. The term “amnesty” means a grace period during which there is a hold on deportations so that we can work out who is legitimately here and who is not. What is the use of telling immigrants to go into immigration when any immigration officer can determine whether one is an illegal immigrant or not? And what about the illegal immigrants from elsewhere? Since they are not entitled to the benefit of the amnesty, how come we are not hearing of any of them being rounded up?

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 12:20 PM

Themis

I will try and explain once again.

If on Monday morning prime minister Thompson announces in Parliament that he will be giving an amnesty on the payment of road tax arrears to all barbadians 65 years and over.

If he says those who the amnesty applies to – ie all those 65 years and over – will have until 1st December to come in and get the waiver on outstanding road taxes;

Don’t you think it will be stupid for a 21 year old person to decide he or she is going to wait until 1st December to see if the amnesty will apply to him or her?

Who does the amnesty apply to – those 65 years and over;

Who does the amnesty NOT apply to ? – all those under 65 years.

What should those who the amnesty NOT apply to do?

Go in and pay their road taxes forthwith – or face arrest by the law enforcing agency.

Can you extrapolate from that to the guyanese situation?

I know you can,but you obviously have to play your political games.

Carry on my friend.

• sylvan // June 27, 2009 at 12:30 PM

david thompson needs to get tough. roxanne gibbs, rickey singh, norman faria and the other guyanese refugees must be put in their places. they want to destroy barbados for the guyanese to take over. barbados belongs to barbadians… if these people hate barbados, their status should be revoked and they can return to their wonderful country.

• Themis // June 27, 2009 at 12:39 PM

MU&BB, so what if in your example you have a man who looks like 75 but is really 50 and you have another man who is 65 but looks like 50, does that give a right to the authorities to arrest either of them while they are driving on the road before December 1?

And cut out the nonsense about political games. It is the sign of a weak mind. I am not even Barbadian!

• Eye95 // June 27, 2009 at 1:16 PM

While I am aware that, as part of its job creation strategy, the DLP is paying $0.50 per pound for Barbadians to pick African Snails, I am not in a position to say whether a bounty of $75 is being paid by the Immigration Department to DLP members and supporters who call the Immigration Department to inform on Guyanese living within their communities.

What is ugly – is that Guyanese are being rounded up and deported without even the courtesy to pack their suitcase.

Here is how it works:

1. A DLP member or supporter calls the Immigration Department to say where Guyanese live.

2. The DLP member and supporter then gets $75.00. (not yet confirmed)

3. The Immigration turns up and load the Guyanese on a bus – sometimes chaining them with a rope.

4. Once the Immigration bus/van heads to the airport, DLP members and supporter move into the vacant house and remove the clothing, jewelry, furniture and fitting and anything of value left by the Guyanese.

Deportation of Guyanese is therefore a lucrative business for the DLP.

Their members inform on Guyanese and get rich in the process by stealing the possessions of Guyanese – once they are deported.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 1:27 PM

Perhaps your last statement explains why you are refusing to understand the amnesty issue.

For your imformation,immigration officers are not going on raids wily-nily.

If you read the report in last week sunday sun of an illegal guyanese carpenter deported – he said quite clearly – the immigration officers are operating with surgical strike.

That is,the illegal immigrant said these officers are not knocking on doors and checking for immigrants,they are going directly to the homes where these illegal immigrants are.

They know exactly who they are looking for.

So to your point about a man looking like 50 but he is really 65 and therefore this does not give the authorities the right to hold him – well, if the police in the process of carrying out their duties found your documents a on road tax are not in order – then it is arrest for you buddy.

The immigration officers know exactly who are the persons benefiting from this amnesty,so don’t fool yourself.

Remember the immigration cabinet sub committee studied this for an entire year before they made recommendations to the prime minister and the cabinet.

Remember too,the prime minister made the declaration of the policy quite back in May,and that policy was to take effect in June.

It stands to reason therefore,when the prime minister announced the policy in parliament in May,those who knew they will not be benefiting from the amnesty had from then until the first of june to pack up their things or make arrangements to get them out.

Obviously these illegals felt the prime minister was giving them time to hide and go underground.

So they were boasting that they are not going back and the immigration will not be able to find them.

When you play those games my friend,you have to live with the consequences.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 1:31 PM

EYE95

Thank you political pimp for alerting us to the next set of lies we will be seeing in the Sunday Sun and the Starbroek newspapers.

Just remember when you go to Guyana – with this hatred against bajans you and your party are encouraging – the guyanese will not be asking whether you are a BLP bajan or a DLP bajan.

You sowed in the wind and you will be reaping in the whirlwind.

• Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 27, 2009 at 1:33 PM

We would not be in this mess if the last administration had put measures in place to deal with the immigration issue we now face. I blame it all on them.

Also we Barbadians, as much as our enemies would like the world to believe that we are this and that, are a very receptive and open minded people. I really do not think that many Barbadians are in high opposition to Guyanese living here; if they were we would have seen open protest. The problem is the failure to arrest the influx at the time and the fear that Bajans know comes with people of a certain complexion and hair type who tend to strive towards lucrative success more than themselves.

• Eye95 // June 27, 2009 at 1:52 PM

mash up & buy back, wrote:

“That is,the illegal immigrant said these officers are not knocking on doors and checking for immigrants,they are going directly to the homes where these illegal immigrants are.

They know exactly who they are looking for.”

+++++++++++++++++++++

Not quite old boy, they are even stopping Mini-busses and taking people off.

This David Thompson inhumane and discriminatory deportation policy, which borders on human rights violation – is turning out to be a lucrative venture for DLP members and supported, who are benefitting from the deportation of Guyanese.

++++++++++++++++++++++++

At least in T&T Guyanese are allowed to sell their things or pack and take with them.

• Eye95 // June 27, 2009 at 1:57 PM

Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 27, 2009 at 1:33 pm

We would not be in this mess if the last administration had put measures in place to deal with the immigration issue we now face. I blame it all on them.

++++++++++++++++++++++++

What is it exactly that the Guyanese are stopping you DLP members and supporters from getting?

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet unemployment is still 10.4% and highest among men – something not seen in Barbados for over 25 years.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads, yet there is still grid lock on the roads.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the cost of living is still high

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Barbados’ credit rating has been downgraded.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and someone is still being shot almost every night in this country.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads yet Four Seasons remains close.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads and the DLP is still price gouging on petroleum products, land tax and soon – water rates, “just to please the IMF.”

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, Barbados lost over $700 million in foreign reserves between March 2008 and March 2009.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation – cost of living increases and the US economy is coming out of recession, while Barbados is going in.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, the DLP continues to punish Barbadians by confiscating their wealth through high taxation.

While DLP bloggers focus on deportation, people cannot get an NHC house because they do not have a job and therefore cannot qualify for a mortgage.

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads but Camps are being administered on “a rolling basis” (spending gone wild) and yet – people are not being paid.

How is that possible?

+++++++++++++++++++

Are Guyanese preventing you DLP members and supporters from getting to the trough?

That DLP members and supporters would now be robbing Guyanese – is ugly.

DLP members and supported are deporting Guyanese only to steal what they worked for, while they were here.

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 2:31 PM

(1) Cost Of Living (2) Cost Of Living (3) Cost Of Living………
    It’s more like (1)Guyanese, (2)Guyanese,
    (3) Guyanese.
    Thompson surely lacking vision and this country going back to 1991 status. Petroleum gone back up, water rates going up, light rates going up, unemployment figures up, and all you numb skull DLP bloggers talking bout is Guyanese. Leadership poor.What are we going to gain by deporting lowly Guyanese. All this stupid talk bout NIS and taxes . I sure nuff a wunna bout dey don’t pay fart or trick the system.
    The bottom line is that you GT haters jealous because the people hustling………and making it……..
    I AM BARBADIAN and i fed up with the nonsense.
    By the way i have SOME questions for anyone who has the answers..
    (1)How many undocumented Caricom nationals are in Barbados?
    (2)Who cleared them at the airport?
    (3)Who do they work for?
    (4)Where do they live?
    (5)Who are they renting from?

• Proud Bajan // June 27, 2009 at 2:32 PM

Guyanese are being rounded up like cattle and deported by the plane loads…..

++++++++++++++++++++

You people are the cause of all of the mess but we will get wanna out, my community looks like Barbados again…how sweet.

Let me say thanks to the good hard working immigration officer, you are doing a fantastic job and should be awarded, keep it up.

Don’t hurt your heads with the nation paper we all know its anti DLP, that is also why Starcom will never get a TV license those two media houses are too closely knit, i know for a fact they will NEVER get a TV station.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 2:45 PM

Here is an extract from the Times of India newspaper, where basdeo jagdeo wife took 10 guyanese children mainly indo guyanese to a hospital in India for charitable work on the children needing heart surgery.

Guess what? – The indian hospital detained these guyanese children for non payment and you know starbroek news and Jagdeo and the rest ain’t got nothing to say about that.

These are poor,sick indian guyanese children going to their motherland.

Yet they have time to jump into barbados domestic immigration policy business.

What say you,BLP yardfowls?

CHENNAI: Ten children from Guyana, who were not being allowed to leave a hospital in Chennai for non-settlement of bills for their heart surgeries,
    have now been allowed to return home after an NGO, which sponsored them, and the hospital reached an agreement on Saturday.

The Guyana-based NGO, Kids First Fund, run by Varshnie Singh, former first lady of the Carribean Republic, had agreed to settle the bills within six months for surgeries performed at Frontier Lifeline Hospital, sources in the hospital said.

Singh, who made a vain bid to take the children on Friday, confirmed that a settlement has been reached and they would leave either on Saturday or Sunday depending on availability of air tickets.

The children and two adults brought by Singh were about to leave the hospital late on Friday night on completion of treatment, but hospital officials insisted she settles the bills for the surgeries, performed earlier this month, before they leave.

The NGO had been sending children to the hospital for heart surgeries for the last four years and used to settle bills after their return by raising funds, Varshnie had said.

Before reaching Guyana, the children would visit London for a fund raising event, she said.

Prior to the settlement, hospital chief administrative officer Jose Manavalan had said the NGO owed $13,000 on account of surgeries performed during the last visit, but the hospital waived it.

• Proud Bajan // June 27, 2009 at 2:50 PM

BREAKING NEWS…BREAKING NEWS…BREAKING NEWS

Prime Minister will speak on immigration issue at 4:15 listen to VOB

is he going soft…please don’t sir

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 3:04 PM

Watch it now !
    Simple way to get your community looking like Barbados again…how sweet it will be!
    (1) Charge and Prosecute all persons who RENT houses or rooms to Illegal Guyanese.
    (2)Charge and Prosecute all persons who EMPLOY illegal GUYANESE.
    (3)Charge and prosecute all persons who knowingly let undocumented persons live in their neighbourhoods.
    THERE! PROBLEM SOLVED!

• Anonymous // June 27, 2009 at 3:08 PM

Ef he ever drop the figures at all in this 4:15 statement, i suspect there will be a collective dropping of jaws in shock!

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 3:15 PM

Probably he is reading my blog ….Please sir implement my three simple steps……Lets get back our beautiful Barbados……HOW swweeeeeet it will be!

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 3:19 PM

Trust me ! Giant African snails and Guyanese outnumber Bajans
    50 000: 1. I ain’t going even mention other Caricom nationals…

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 3:21 PM

DEPORT THEM ALL!

• y. paris // June 27, 2009 at 3:48 PM

I support P.M. Thompson in deporting all illegal caricom aliens. Deport guyanese back to their ass backward, underdeveloped country. Let them return and build their country. Barbados is for bajans. Guyana is for guyanese. Bajans, stand strong and support P.M. Thompson in this new, implemented migration policy. Every country have a duty for lookout for their citizens first and foremost.

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 4:11 PM

The first person he got to deport is himself(born in uk), and then his wife(born in St.Lucia). I WONDER WHY HE DIDN’T TAKE ANY OF U beautiful black barbadian women to be his wife!!!

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 4:21 PM

BU Family

For those who missed it the prime minister just gave a sterling presentation on CBC Radio.

It was not carried on VOB.

I think that was very telling.

The prime minister is clearly fed up with the agenda being pushed by the Nation and VOB.

Today the line in the sand has been drawn.

Vivian gittens and Vic Fernandes will live to regret the agenda they were pushing.

The prime minister said he is very resolute.

David the prime minister heard you.

Did you realise the bold,strategic P.R. move he is making?

He is going to beam a paid press conference to every caribbean television stations across the region where he will be stating the barbados position and will be answering questions.

This is the best move because if he left it to the one caribbean media houses across the region to reprt his statement accurately it would be put on page 21.

Stay tuned People.

• LEGAL BAJAN // June 27, 2009 at 4:21 PM

Guyanese ass backward………But yet they are controlling your radio stations, your newspapers …….
    Guyanese ass backwards……….But yet Auntie Olga got to feed and clothe wunna
    Guyanese ass backward…………But yet them taking all your men and women for their wives and husbands.

• Eye95 // June 27, 2009 at 4:25 PM

Hear Thompson on VOB – he breaking for himself. Immigration Officers are being left out in the cold.

His take is – I did not sanction it – blame the Immigration Officers.

Prime Minister Thompson is now telling persons to bring fact – how can they if there have already been deported by his government?

• Anonymous // June 27, 2009 at 4:29 PM

Wow. just heard it. this man is really maturing into a fine prime minister. i cant be more pleased with his sentiments and the tone. I’ve had my doubts at time since the last election, but it seems my vote for him wasnt wasted at all.

• Proud Bajan // June 27, 2009 at 4:30 PM

I listen to the PM announcement today…

…Well said PM, sorry for the nation paper who try to play the sympathy card…PM say it aint gonna work… GUYANESE WANNA GOT TO GO HOME AND STAY THERE.

I love this man…Good work PM don’t move from your word.

• David // June 27, 2009 at 4:30 PM

@Eye95

You are being mischievous.

He asked anyone who has evidence to put it on the table and if investigated and is found to be true he or she will be dealt with.

• Eye95 // June 27, 2009 at 4:58 PM

David // June 27, 2009 at 4:30 pm

@Eye95

You are being mischievous.

He asked anyone who has evidence to put it on the table and if investigated and is found to be true he or she will be dealt with.

++++++++++++++++++++

Did he not read what the landlords are saying in the local press? Who will pay them lost rents now that Guyanes were rounded up and deported?

David, who will come forward?

The people who agree with Thompson’s inhumane, discriminatory human rights violation policy – are DLP members and supporters: not prof. Girvan; not Sir Ronald Saunders, not Dr. Tennyson Joseph – and certainly not respected journalist like Rickey Singhn nor the same Regional Heads – all of who will cuss Thompson (rightly tomorrow).

He is going to Guyana – perhaps he should use WIV as his food taster.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 5:18 PM

Fellow bloggers

Are you seeing how far the blp will go to gain political mileage.

Read that last comment by eye95 who is the same as themis and the same as 123,and all the other aliases.

He is hinting at our prime minister being poisoned in guyana at the nest Heads of Government meeting.

At no time during owen arthur’s reign,even when he was causing all manner of evil to befall us,at no time did we hear,wishing in vain,veritas,hartley henry,negroman nor any other person suggest that a foreign government may do our leader harm.

We have fallen to an all time low with this BLP lot and if rawle eastmond or gline clarke and the others don’t speak out,well we will know that they too endorse this position.

• bradley432 // June 27, 2009 at 6:16 PM

@Eye95 ,when a good logical argument fails,use threats. Its your kind of thing.

• Yardbroom // June 27, 2009 at 6:16 PM

We must not be distracted into vitriol and as MU&BB said be “careful”. The facts of the debate are on our side; we just need to bring them rationally to the table.

We must be resolute, determined and just in our expositions. I said some time ago this issue will test us but we are equal to the task.

We put our faith in our Prime Minister David Thompson and his Government, they will not fail us. I made the prediction before the general election that David Thompson will go down in history as one of the greatest Prime Ministers Barbados ever had, and so it will be.

We must set our faces to the wind, be brave, hold fast and our children’s victory will be ours…they have been surprised by our resolution.

• bradley432 // June 27, 2009 at 6:18 PM

Tell me something.During a gun Amnesty, does the Cops turn a blind eye to each and everyone carrying a weapon?

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 6:38 PM

What I like about the prime minister remarks was when he said if the others will not go with us (on this managed migration issue & others) then, we will go it alone.

Look out fireworks down in georgetown next week.

Thompy cruel yuh hear.

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 6:39 PM

@David (for good sense and perhaps honesty)
    @MUBB
    “It was not carried on VOB…I think that was very telling.”

VOB is 92.9? The question is rhetorical. Immediately after a series of Michael Jackson songs, the PM’s broadcast began on VOB. That is a fact. Why would you state otherwise? I think that is very telling. I listened on the Internet.

• Jay // June 27, 2009 at 6:52 PM

The political pressure will be increased on us who would like the immigration laws enforced.The Barbados standard is the ‘rule of law’,period.If other Caricom countries cannot even understand that basic tenet then what is the point in Barbados being apart of CSME.

Imo,If those whom are against or continue to insist on this path against the Barbados crackdown we will have no choice but to opt out of CSME.I issue this challenge that if at the next Caricom meeting Barbados’ sovereignty is not respected as it pertains to the illegal immigration crackdown then the People of Barbados should be given a referendum to opt out of CSME,effective immediately.Those who have pending CSME certificates would then be given on a case by case basis immigrant status if it is in the national interest,those with approved certificates should be given immigrant status.

This enforcing attitude on the Caricom level to be laxed when it comes to laws is just plane sickening.THE ABSOLUTE HYPROCRISY IN THIS ENTIRE THING IS THAT THEY RUN TO BARBADOS SHORES BECAUSE IT IS MUCH SAFER.

From since when is ENFORCING THE CURRENT IMMIGRATION LAWS an amnesty,IT IS A MANDATE OF ANY GOVERNMENT regardless of if an immigration amnesty is given OR not.

If your papers are not in order you are deported,end of story.It has NOTHING to do WITH CSME or CARICOM.It is a SOVEREIGN matter that the Barbados Government can implement & its people have cried out for the longest time on deaf ears with the previous overlord Government.

No more GAMES,DELAYS or Bullsh*t about CSME .JUST ENFORCE THE LAW.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 7:19 PM

Living in Barbados.

At 4:00 p.m. VOB was announcing motor sports and as you say playing michael jackson songs, while CBC had the prime minister on live.

I again will repeat that is very telling.

I actually thought VOB was not carrying it at all.

Something strange about that to my mind.

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 7:45 PM

@MUBB
    Previous correspondence on this blog had indicated the statement would be on @ 4.15, and that’s what happened on VOB. That CBC broadcast it before, begs question about why that time was publicised (the PM’s office and CBC can clarify), and also may say something about the competition between the state run and private broadcasters. There was a similar incident a few days back on another issue.

More important for me, is that you acknowledge the fact and you can also retract the insinuation of your previous remark about what you think the apparent non-broadcast tells you.

Honest discussion is simply that, and those who do not or cannot engage in such should not stand on ceremony.

There are political games that people play and then there are the real aspects.

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 7:52 PM

@MUBB/David

I see a post from David on another thread @ 4pm that corrected the expected broadcast time to 4pm ( see:
    David // June 27, 2009 at 4:00 pm
    @mash up
    Yes…4.00PM!)

Again, I refer to competition between CBC and VOB, recalling several key political events/that VOB were not permitted to carry live.

• David // June 27, 2009 at 7:54 PM

Obviously there is a story behind the story regarding the live broadcast on CBC and the delay on VOB. This is a side issue which will be explained in the fullness of time. We should stay focused on the core issues.!

• sylvan // June 27, 2009 at 8:08 PM

guyanese Compton Bourne deserves to be kicked out of Barbados. he is head of a regional organisation and should not be interfering in the domestic affairs of Barbados. the government of barbados should demand his removal as president of the CDB. he is out of place. in stabroek news, he is complaining about the treatment of guyanese illegals but not complaining about barbadians who were unfaired recently at the CDB and sent home. the plan is to full CDB with Guyanese and keep out barbadians. this plan must be resisted.

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 8:12 PM

@David
    Food for thought: Unless you are at the heart of decision making you cannot determine what are the core issues for those who make decisions. You have concerns that are very important as a citizen, but they may not be at the core of anything that matters to decision makers. We can deal with that in another arena.

On the matter of immigration, the figures cited by the PM should not be ignored, and have significant implications for what managed migration may mean:
    15 residences raided during June; 47 persons detained (o/w 34 Guyanese), but only 8 deported (o/w 4 Guyanese)
    177 applications for extensions (o/w 41 Guyanese).
    318 applications for short term work permits (o/w 294 by Guyanese), and the PM felt that the majority of these would be approved.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 8:16 PM

Living in Barbados

You were quick to criticise me and insinuate that I was being dishonest.

Now that you realise that I asked david about the veracity of the news of the impending P.M. press conference and he confirmed that it was going to be 4:00 p.m. – I see you did not offer an apology for your uncharitable remarks.

Press conferences are usually broadcast silmultaneously on all the radio stations.

I still think it is telling that VOB chose to do a delayed broadcast.

Anyway,enough of that.
    Well what can I say,you are making yourself clearer by the day.

• 123 // June 27, 2009 at 8:25 PM

I can’t wait until all of these Caricom non-nationals are deported……Then we can deal with some real issues!
    I thought there were no raids? Who will come forward and report anything.They are illegal and already deported?

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 8:25 PM

@MUBB

Your post was made after VOB broadcast, which you acknowledge, started at 4.15. Yet you posted the following:

“mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 4:21 pm

BU Family

For those who missed it the prime minister just gave a sterling presentation on CBC Radio.

It was not carried on VOB.”

That’s a statement you could easily have corrected, even to say, it began with a delay. But you did not. I am not imputing a motive. I am merely saying that you knew it was broadcast, but said it was not.

We can argue about whether the time stamp of the comments are right. But I merely cite what I see/read.

But enough of that. Let CBC and VOB figure out between themselves the issue of broadcasting, and a delay of 15 minutes is not so material, especially if it carried in full.

• David // June 27, 2009 at 8:53 PM

@LIB

Are you saying that discussing VOB’s delayed broadcast is core to the immigration debate? We restate the point! It is not.

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 9:05 PM

@David
    I’m saying that unless you know (intimately) what is driving the decisions you cannot determine what is a core issue. Your commentators have spent much time on news management issues, so if government-controlled entities play into news management practices on sensitive issues, then that can be core, because it affects perceptions of the how the debate is being conducted–as shown by MUBB’s intimation.

Again, we speculate about why it was delayed on VOB, but if it were due to restrictions placed by CBC, then that is not trivial.

I dont need to flog this horse.

• Anonymous // June 27, 2009 at 10:16 PM

The Prime Minister presented some facts that showed that no plane loads of Guyanese are being deported.
    Mr. Prime Minister Barbadians have your back on this immigration policy.
    The patriotic Barbadians on this site should stop responding to the BLP supporters and other Caricom nationals who mean us no good. If this topic continues to the next election Mia will be opposition leader again. Therefore let them continue.
    Living in Barbados is always looking for any loopholes to prove his point against the Barbados government. Now that information is provided he is about to dissect it. If Guyanese are the most illegal immigrants in Barbados then they will be the most to be deported.
    The Barbados Police Force invades Barbadians homes between 3.00 and 6.00 am when they are looking for persons who broke the law. That makes sense because most persons must sleep at some time.
    In the USA the immigration surrounds factories and takes the illegal immigrants away. You do not get any chance to get no furniture.
    If you are illegal you should buy your furniture and send it home, not look to settle. Don’t tell me about any bajans in New York. My fiend got deported from the US and his family there had to send his clothes.

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 10:26 PM

BU

I just can’t believe what I was reading over at BFP.

I decided to check to see how they were dealing with the immigration debate,and could not believe my eyes!

Barbados Free Press is actually saying that there is a deliberate policy by the immigration officers to deport guyanese and leave their appliances so it could be stolen.

They are also carrying as fact a deported guyanese woman say so that the barbadian immigration department is offering $100. bds for every guyanese turned in.

You know I can understand norman faria,and even Jagdeo,but you know people like mia mottley and annalee davis,george brathwaite and other bajans and those #@***
    creeps at BFP really shocking me to the core.

I now know who Thompson was referring to when he spoke about the anti-bajan filth on the blogs and newspaper columns.

Now that I see what is on BFP,it is clear the prime minister too is also aware.

You know we have some true patriotic white bajans like richard hoad,bizzy williams,foster,the late mr taylor,karl watson and many others.

But boy did we scrape the barrel with the likes of annalee davis and that crowd at BFP.

Phew!

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 10:40 PM

@Anonymous (@10.16pm)
    “Living in Barbados is always looking for any loopholes to prove his point against the Barbados government. Now that information is provided he is about to dissect it.”
    I’ve spent my working life analysis things to see what they tell me and others and make sense of statements. It does not hurt my brain. I means that I try to understand, and sometime the fact fit a prior assumption and sometime they dont.

The data the PM does not show very much because he highlighted Guyanese in each category and left unspecified other nationalities. If people’s concerns are only about Guyanese immigrants (illegal or otherwise), then they may be satisfied that some are in the categories. So, as far as the job market goes, the PM told us that over 90% of short-term work permit requests were from Guyanese and most of them will be allowed to stay and work, ie they ain’t going nowhere. Guyanese only made up under 25% of those seeking extensions. Presumably, they are not going anywhere either, and the remaining 75% we may assume will be treated likewise.

So, the PM’s answers suggest that the process of regularisation is leaving immigrants where they are–in Barbados. Is that a surprise?

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 10:47 PM

More generally, because there is a tendency to see those who do not agree as enemies, there is a tendency to miss some clear big points. The amnesty started a process that said to illegals who arrived after 1998 to get themselves regularised. If I understand what is going on, it means little movement of people in that category out of Barbados. I hinted at that probability some time ago, and asked where would that leave Barbadians who know found that illegals were now legal and able to continue as before, but now with government sanction. No one answered that question. Now you have the reality to deal with.

It’s not about being pro- or anti-government but trying to understand what is really happening. As I have also said, there are many Barbadian vested interests that need to immigrant presence for their survival. Now, do you think those vested interests are going to just disappear?

• livinginbarbados // June 27, 2009 at 10:51 PM

The preceding should have read “…illegals who arrived BEFORE 1998…”

• mash up & buy back // June 27, 2009 at 10:55 PM

Lord help us,

Living in Barbados and his convuluted logic.

• David // June 27, 2009 at 10:56 PM

@LIB

Your assumption is based on the numbers from the PM which represent those captured in the raid?

What about those who voluntary left the island? It is too soon to start jumping to conclusions about anything. The fact that the PM remains resolute in this matter says a lot.

Patriots must continue to rally around OUR government. Barbados has always been fortunate to have good leaders who knew which buttons to press when.

• Themis // June 27, 2009 at 11:03 PM

David, have you considered that the PM might remain resolute because he cannot back down now? Did you and mu&bb notice too his stark disagreement with some on this thread who assert that the Guyanese do not have any constitutional rights?

• David // June 27, 2009 at 11:47 PM

@Themis

We have commenters with wide ranging views on this issue so non sequiturs not accepted :-)

When we talk about rights or lack of we need to contextualize it maybe?

• Adrian Hinds // June 28, 2009 at 12:23 AM

Anon; Everybody got a job to do even LIB. You can always ignore him. His impact depends on your response, therefore you have the upperhand.

@MUBB nuh body much reads what is presented over at BFP.

We are winning the arguments, because we chose not to be shaken.

• queenam // June 28, 2009 at 1:09 AM

I see guyanese immigrants every single day. when I am the bus, they are there. when I am my way to or from work, I am usually accosted by them who are blunt with their wish – they want a wife and willing to pay. I did not hear the figure of the PM but I can bet they are thousands because the immigration department in the past did not seem to properly manage the influx so that it has gotten out of hand.

the ministry of Economic affairs or some ministry should sensitize bajans to the effects of illegal immigration. maybe that will help alleviate the situation, if only a little. i am in sympathy to guyanese but being illegal in b’dos is not the same as being illegal in a first world country. we are only so big. it’s like 2 people working to support 20 and that 20 continues to increase. at some point in time someone will suffer. the PM must do all that he can now and we should give him whatever support he seeks. We must think of our grand children and our great grand children. we must leave them a heritage. but barbados cannot solve Guyana’s problems and i think it is vulgar for the guyanese consulate in barbados to assume a hostile position of the police and immigration dept, assuming without evidence that the illegals are being victimised. yes they have rights but so does the govt of barbados in looking out for the future of barbados.

• The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 3:47 AM

I was not at home to hear the P.M speak. In fact, I didn’t even know he was going to speak but from the blogs, I’ve gotten the gist of his statement. First let me say, it seems Mia &Co intend to cause serious problems in this country. I stated this before but I am now more determined to see that this failure of everything moral, never becomes P.M of Barbados. When persons to get to that level is below gutter politics. Did Mia go to the doctor and she has cancer and is going to die within 12 mths? Wow, that’s why she wants to be P.M before she dies. Secondly, I’ve been saying this all along; their is no LIAT (ZR) at the airport with a sign GUYANESE DEPORTEES, therefore all this talk about bus loads being deported is dangerous lies. Thirdly and MOST IMPORTANTLY, there is a hint about trying to poison the P.M in Guyana, WELL WELL WELL, all I would say at this time is DON’T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT. In closing, Mr PRIME MINISTER, I’m VERY proud of you and as a patriotic bajan I support you 1000%, you know we have not seen eye to eye on all occasions but you know I speak with a clear conscience. Your task is not easy but with the support you have I KNOW you will succeed. When this matter is cleared up, please look at those who caused the disturbance and where-ever possible declare them “personna non grata” for meddling in our sovereign affairs.

• Veritas // June 28, 2009 at 5:58 AM

I don’t mind the licks I get for David Thompson. I listened to the man and he is class. Balanced, articulate, fair-minded and intelligent.

Qualities that Barbadians are known for. He was also patritotic.

Let there be no doubt about it, David Thompson is the man for these times in Barbados.

• Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 28, 2009 at 7:49 AM

Eye 95

I call it like I see it. And when the David Thompson administration do something of the contrary, like the eyebrows that are raised with respect to the CLICO affair, I too will pelt venomous blame in his direction. I am not loyal to any party because none of the parties are not loyal to me (I am not in the circle of friends or infelicities). The last administration created this mess and the Thompson administration inherited it. So let they be a cleansing of those things that have subjected Barbados to sorrowful woes. And the crap about employment high is a given under the current economic crisis. What would the last administration have done to stem the flow of unemployment? I really do not want to know.

I did not worry to read any more of you bi- partisan crap. Have a nice day, and call it for what it really is.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 8:14 AM

@David
    Yes, I drew on the figures cited by the PM. I did not “jump to a conclusion” but extrapolated from those figures. On voluntary departures, I waited to hear what those had been, but no information was given. As I noted last week with regard to Sen. McLean, it is always notworthy when government officials do not give information that they say they have readily to hand. In so doing, the PM left little real clarity about the process. So I worked with the little dough I had.

What you may want to think about is a position 6 months from now when the PM can say that the illegal immigrant problem has been greatly reduced. Amongst the things that may mean is that most of the illegals offered amnesty (pre 1998 arrivals) have been regularised. Then you will have to ask how many illegal immigrants remain.

• sylvan // June 28, 2009 at 8:14 AM

some of the ungrateful guyanese cursing barbados and bajans in the worst way are praying for the destruction of barbados by a hurricane, tidal wave or some other natural disaster. Bajans must go to stabroek news and see their venom just because our government is doing what is right for barbados.

sometimes the bad things you wish for others, happens to you. guyana floods very quickly. this happened a lot in recent years. guyana is below sea level. the sea wall is to protect the coast. the obeah which many guyanese believe in has not saved them when it flooded and it cannot save them them the next time.

• David // June 28, 2009 at 8:23 AM

@LIB

Let us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 8:46 AM

PM Thompson will have to intensify his efforts to get the truth out to the world. It is not only the local media who is focusing on the immigration issue.

From the editorial of the Jamaica Observer on 23 June, 2009 (online):

“It seems to us that instead of insulting his Caricom colleagues because they expressed concern about the inhospitable treatment their countrymen received in Barbados, Prime Minister Thompson should have instructed his police and immigration officers to treat the people they have apprehended with a level of decency and respect for the fact that they are human beings and not beasts.

The Gestapo-like rounding up and deportation of Caricom nationals is, we believe, more damaging to the objectives of Caricom rather than, according to Prime Minister Thompson, “a scenario where everybody is seeking to say something”.

Prime Minister Thompson therefore needs to tell us whether Barbados is committed to Caricom and the agreements forged between member states.”

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/editorial/html/20090622T180000-0500_153980_OBS_INSTEAD_OF_INSULTING_CARICOM__PRIME_MINISTER_THOMPSON_.asp

• Veritas // June 28, 2009 at 8:52 AM

Living in Barbados: You are a Bildungsphilister. Check Neitzsche for the definition – but I will give you a hint: a philistine with cosmetic, nongenuine culture. A dogma-prone blog reader with cosmetic intelligence and shallow depth. You can’t see the conflict between your ideas and the texture of the world.

• Jukecheckedeyskirt // June 28, 2009 at 8:57 AM

Dear Prime Minister Thompson

As I have told you before in other postings on this blog, you have the capacity and ability to be the best Prime Minister ever. Unfortunately, what you do now will determine the type of labelling you receive at the end of your days.

Like the former Prime Minister, who in his early days as a politician brought much intellect and promise to develop our island (and indeed his contribution was remarkable though often questionable) let not your reputation and credibility be tarnished with allegations of corruption, or depictions of arrogant-boastful displays (that followed the former PM).

What people tend to remember is not all the good that a person does but the few wrongs their commit. Let your wrongs be righted by acknowledgement and not blatant show of cover up.

There is a call by the people for you to stand firm to your promises and indeed you have an obligation to do so. Do not let it be said, as it is now, that you are not a man of integrity, transparency or accountability. Embark on doing what you said you would do and do it with the type of finest befitting a man (first) of your stature and (secondly) as elected leader.

These are still early days in your administration and the consequences of the global financial crisis weighs heavily on your ability to pull Barbados through. This, without doubt, will test the mantle of your manhood and ability as a leader to see Barbados through.

Inspite all the criticism you face, your decisions must be fundamental and carefully thought out before execution, less you be redicule further. Put the people first and recognized that some decisions already made needs review on their effect on Barbadians. One such decision is the increase in water rates. You need to determine if this increase will either help bolster the current woes faced by the BWA, which obviously is a problem of proper governance and management at that facility, or subject Barbadians to another burdensome price hike amidst the high cost of living they are struggling to deal with.

Further to this, I want you to know that the the situation at the BWA can also be proclamated at many other government run institutions on this island. There need to be another but thorough reevaluation exercise on government run ministries and departments in this country. The existence of mediocrity, procrastination and inadequate function (not failing to mention unsuitability for some jobs) needs address. To many ministries and their departments are found wanting and lacking.

I implore you Mr. Prime Minister to pay special attention to what is fundamental and foundational to Barbados’s rapid developmental status and to affix protective measures to arrest any possible demise. I know you are trying but you need to try alot harder. I hope that you are surrounded by intelligent, highly motivated people with capability and aptness who put purpose above politics. I hope that what ever endeavours or decisions you may embark for the betterment of the people and this islandd, ensure that you do so with the people’s approval and with the people in your heart. It makes no sense doing something without the peoples approval when your office is influenced by the people. I wish you God speed and blessings in these difficult and dubious times.

Best Wishes

Jukecheckedeyskirt

• The People's Democratic Congress // June 28, 2009 at 9:12 AM

“Certainly, by next Thursday evening, Barbadians will know the exact rate of increase of water. But of whom much is given, much will also be expected. I am going to the public of Barbados in hard economic times and asking for an increase in water rates. I do so with the understanding that you – the staff at the BWA – will by your attitude and aptitude, justify that increase” – an excerpt from a recent speech by the Prime Minister of Barbados to the Board of Management, Management and Staff of the Barbados Water Authority, and which – in its totality – has been reproduced on this BU blog compliments of Veritas – a commenter on the BU blog, and the BU blog itself.

In his 2009 Financial and Budgetary Proposals in May, the Prime Minister told the Housae of Assembly and the public of Barbados that there will definitely be increases in the rates of water supplied by the Barbados Water Authority (BWA). In his presentation, then, Mr. Thompson had apparently set July 1, 2009 as the date for the implementation of these new rates. Whether this becomes a reality or NOT it is NOT clear. But what has certainly been made abundantly clear from the above excerpt is that the promised Thursday ( June 24, 2009 ) announcement of these new rates has indeed passed.

Such matters aside, we in PDC want to state publicly for the first time since the Prime Minister’s announcement of these impending increases in water rates in his Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals, that we are bitterly and diametrically opposed to any increases in water rates at this stage.

We are damnedly opposed to such increases – whether for domestic, commercial or other users – very much because, like the CBC, NHC, the Transport Board and some other state owned enterprises that are grossly being mismanaged, there are profound political, managerial, admistrative, technical and other problems that are so rife and pervasive throughout the BWA’s structure and operations, that they are in need of being addressed and solved first before any increases should have been sought and implemented.

It is these massive problems that are adversely impacting on the overall efficiency and effectiveness of the country’s sole provider of potable water. It is problems like oversized government, blatant partisan political interference into the recruitment process at the BWA; the total absence of a partnership structure; the almost total absence of a pipe maintenance program among other internal and supply side problems that are affecting the BWA’s operational and cost effeciency, and that are ultimately being borne by the general public in Barbados.

And – truth is – that no amount of increases in water rates will be enough to reduce the rising debt and arrears problems at this monopoly in the long term. For, this approach of increasing water rates will NOT increase the demand for water by customers of the BWA. On the positive side, what it will do is to, et al, surely help cause greater conservation practices, greater possibilities of disconnections, and a greater sense of prioritization of utility bill payments by customers at least in the short term, which would be strategies that are opposed to what was recently reported in the Nation Newspaper and attributed to the Parliamentary Representative for St. George North, Mr. Glyne Clarke, that such increases will lead to many using pit toilets again. What rubbish!!

On the negative side – which will outweigh the positive side in terms of the financial situation at the BWA, surely the debt and arrears problems at the BWA – and which are somewhat similar in severity to those at the CBC, NHC, and Transport Board – will continue to increase in the medium to long term NOT ONLY because the BWA is calling for more money per litre used to be paid for its services, BUT ALSO because the cost of living and doing business in Barbados will remain staggeringly high in the medium to long term, once the DLP and BLP senselessly occupy the benches of parliament. So for Mr. Thompson to add greater cost to the people of Barbados via increased water rates will mainly serve over time to help reduce “demand for and supply of many other goods and services in Barbados.

As a matter of fact it is the high cost of living and doing business in Barbados and the general recessionary conditions in Barbados that are seriously helping to cause thousands upon thousands of Barbadians to have less and less incomes to devote to the payment of bills on the whole. Thus the increasing debt and arrears of so many persons and businesses in Barbados.

So, rather than seeking to seriously reduce the cost of living, drastically reduce the cost of doing business in Barbados, properly reduce the size of government, and to pull Barbados out of the stagnation and decline in which it finds itself in, the Prime Minister resorts to increasing water rates at this stage without seriously tackling those and more fundamental problems in the country.

And to read in the editorial of the Saturday Sun, June 20, 2009, that “the Prime Minister is biting the bullet which successive governments have sidestepped” is pure codswallop and political pandering to nonsense. It is clear that what has to be done in this country is for the DLP and BLP to be democratically removed from the parliament of this country so that other serious people-centered developmentalist parties can take their places in this said parliament, wholly committed to the process of taking the necessary appropriate actions and implementing the necessary propitious programs that are needed to help make Barbados a brighter and better place in the future.

PDC

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 9:12 AM

What rot Veritas. The man (LIB) disagrees with your and others’ views and the best you can do is attempt to accuse him of sharing your condition?

• Ruel Daniels // June 28, 2009 at 9:19 AM

sylvan // June 28, 2009 at 8:14 am

some of the ungrateful guyanese cursing barbados and bajans in the worst way are praying for the destruction of barbados by a hurricane, tidal wave or some other natural disaster. Bajans must go to stabroek news and see their venom just because our government is doing what is right for barbados.

sometimes the bad things you wish for others, happens to you. guyana floods very quickly. this happened a lot in recent years. guyana is below sea level. the sea wall is to protect the coast. the obeah which many guyanese believe in has not saved them when it flooded and it cannot save them them the next time.
    ##########################

sylvan there are assholes in every nation, and the Guyanese who write stupid comments in stabroeknews qualify for that description. Most of them assume names that suggest that they are black, but they are not. It is pattern that has become popular in Guyana, and used to mislead readers that there are large segments of the African Guyanese population who support the PPP. And yes, there are black Guyanese who perceive the issue as a cause they should rally around, rather than going after the real culprit. That culprit is the PPP Government that has turned Guyana into an unlivable nation.

Incidentally, that strip of land which floods in Guyana account for the merest fraction of our territory. A smart regime would have long ago started resetling the bulk of people who live there to higher ground where the soil is more arable, and which is just a stone’s throw away relatively in terms of distance.

Barbados, as a sovereign nation, has the right to determine who it allows to enter that nation. That is an irrebutable conclusion. Barbados also has the right to take whatever precautions the Government deems as practical, to avoid becoming a strife torn nation because of racial superiority/inferiority cultural belief systems and practises. The one unbroken strain that runs thru Guyana, Fiji and Trinidad is the commonality of porejudice based on cultural perceptions that blacks are inferior. The fact that some Guyanese are leaving a country governed by those who they believe are superior, to seek their fortunes in one where the vast majority happen to belong to the group they perceive as inferior, should alert to the insipid and ludicrous doctrine being handed down from generation to generation. Just ask Keane Gibson.

• Patriotic Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 9:23 AM

Anonymous you said “Prime Minister Thompson therefore needs to tell us whether Barbados is committed to Caricom and the agreements forged between member states.”
    You are not being honest again. Last week the Prime Minister said that Barbados was rated number one in terms of upholding its Caricom commitments. None of the other countries denied that.
    We have signed the CCJ as our final appellate court. This is a court agreed upon by the leaders of Caricom. Where is Jamaica? Where were the other countries when there were the ship rider’s problems?
    Barbados went on its own on many occasions and was proven right. We are doing it again. Antigua is following in trying to manage so many illegal immigrants

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 9:24 AM

@Veritas
    “You are a Bildungsphilister. Check Neitzsche for the definition – but I will give you a hint: a philistine with cosmetic, nongenuine culture. A dogma-prone blog reader with cosmetic intelligence and shallow depth. You can’t see the conflict between your ideas and the texture of the world.”
    My German is a bit rusty, but that comes with age and lack of use.

So many oxymorons in one short submission. Weren’t the Philistines anti-intellectuals? I have no idea what gibberish like ‘cosmetic non-genuine culture means’. ‘Shallow depth’? You only need ’shallow’. In times of recession, the less redundancy the better.

Dogma-prone? You mean I hold onto my opinion? Good lord, save us all! Am I the only one I read here with that afflication? Verily, I say, Cum veritas taceo sujectio declamo (When truth is silent, falsehood speaks loudly).

• The People's Democratic Congress // June 28, 2009 at 9:30 AM

In lines 6-7, paragraph 6, it should have read greater possibilities of warranted disconnections, and NOT greater possibilities of disconnections.

PDC

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 9:33 AM

Oh dear, Patriotic Bajan

read the post again carefully! I was not the author of the words quoted. It was the editorial of the J’ca Observer. Please note that I said PM Thompson needs to intensify his efforts to get the truth out to the world. I suggest that you follow the link to see what else is being written about B’dos.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 9:39 AM

@David
    “Let us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.”

Is that your way of saying that this thread is ended :-)? Looking forward to a quiet Sunday, in that case.

PS: I read in today’s Nation (p22A)
    that the CBC/VOB spat spilled over last week on the airwaves, with regard to Crop Over/Sweet Soca and the alliance with NCF.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 9:50 AM

@MUBB
    “Living in Barbados and his convuluted (sic) logic.”

I think the logic is fine–but I am biased. The conclusions you may not like.

Is it not convoluted to think that other Caricom nationals and countries are plotting and conspiring to bring down Barbados? Am I wrong to think of Barbados to be like the goose that has the golden eggs? If so, if this success story is brought down, what will it give as gain to the ‘plotters’ and ‘conspirators’? Is there some kind of Anancy/Brer Rabbit logic at work here?

• David // June 28, 2009 at 9:57 AM

@David
    “Let us get the managed immigration process in place then as a country we will be able to regulate our borders. The AG to be sure will be happy. We will deal with the other issues if and when they occur.”

Is that your way of saying that this thread is ended :-)? Looking forward to a quiet Sunday, in that case.

PS: I read in today’s Nation (p22A)
    that the CBC/VOB spat spilled over last week on the airwaves, with regard to Crop Over/Sweet Soca and the alliance with NCF.

Not at all. BU is all for free speech and the first amendment you know that…?

We have to wait to see how some of this plays out.

• Patriotic Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 10:08 AM

@PDC
    I am taking the liberty to say that you owned a cell phone. I am putting it to you that you pay more money for your cell phone use than your water bill.
    My cell phone bill is $65.00 post paid. My water bill averages around $50-$60.I will therefore not quarrel with an increase in water rates.
    Water is an essential service and the cell phone is not. Cell phone use in Barbados must be the highest in the world per population. There are so many young persons who owned blackberries now. The price for one of them is over $600.00
    All of our governments put a safety net in place for those who cannot pay water rates. Those who can pay will pay
    Where were you when the interveners were fighting to stop the increase in telephone bills and now the electric bills?
    You said that you will abolish taxes if you form the government. I suspect that Barbados would back into the dark ages. Water is heavily subsidized by those same taxes.

• The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 10:11 AM

Anonymous
    What the Observer didn’t mention is the comments by their P.M about CARICOM/CSME. Remember who ducked out of the Federation first? Which party was in power then ? Golding don’t care too hoots about CARICOM or CSME. It is only when it benefits them.

• Proud Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 10:13 AM

Jamaica has the highest murder rate in the caribbean and we don’t tell them how to deal with that, but they want to tell us law abiding people how to deal with our problems and insult us and our leaders.

Im sure if Jamiaca had our problem they would kill them at least we give amnesty and a “free” ride home on airplane.

Jamaica your country is a lawless island and we also have your people living here just to get away from all the crime and lawlessness.

Guyana please fix your water, roads, politics, racist government…what i mean to say is FIX everything in that place, don’t encorage your people to run all over the place making it miserable and confuse.

This is what happens when you let to much of them in and gather in numbers.

Morman Farai i don’t know what plans you had to build the numbers of guyanese to start some kind of movement, political group or whatever but its not gonna happen…SORRY.

And all this talk about treatment oh please, my goverment is spending my money to put your a** on a nice plane and you complaining, if it was up to me you would peole would be on a banana boat at best.

You come here for 3 days and buy a fridge and stove well knwing you breaking the law and now what rights.

Criminals don’t have rights. GO HOME AND STAY THERE.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 10:16 AM

@MUBB
    “You know we have some true patriotic white bajans like richard hoad,bizzy williams,foster,the late mr taylor,karl watson and many others.?

Isn’t Bizzy the one who recently made a proposal that would have excluded people like David Thompson from being active in Barbadian politics (because he was born in England)? Ok, Bizzy retracted it after a hail of criticism.

I suggest that you read the latest ‘The Lowdown’ carefully and really say if the Hoad view of the Barbados that he wants to keep in place is the same as yours.

• The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 10:18 AM

T&T is playing it smart, they linking up with the OECS. It seems they want no part with Barbados because we are the onlt threat to their domination, so they linking with the “small islands.” Remember the famous saying “one from 10 leaves nought.” Boy oh boy these little islands in the caribbean are wasting money with all these Heads of Government talks that will achieve absolutely nothing but talk. At the end of these talks coming up, there will be a lot of hot air from Jagdeo and the guyanese will still be in the same situation and Barbados will still be on their same course getting them out as MUST happen. Jagdeo and Thompson would privately toast on that.

• Themis // June 28, 2009 at 10:26 AM

@Proud Bajan, when you say that criminals have no rights, does that refer to Bajan criminals too or only Guyanese illegal immigrants?

• The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 10:32 AM

on second thoughts, when the amnesty is out and these illegal/undocumented guyanese are still in the island. I suggest that the P.M with the police and immigration do a all out search/hunt for these people. If we find bajans harbouring/housing them fine or confine the bajans. Put the guyanese in the same big warehouse in Six Roads that housed the prisoners until there is enough of them to ship out. I mean ship out on a boat along with the property in the airport warehouse, let them fight and kill each other in Guyana for the property. No-one can then claim inhumane behaviour since they would have been given ample time to get themselves documented and refused, therefore blatantly ignoring the laws of the country.

• Proud Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 10:33 AM

Any criminal

This is my opinion and don’t try to turn this into something bigger than what is really is.

• Proud Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 10:34 AM

@ The Scout // June 28, 2009 at 10:32 am

Totally agree.

• the observer // June 28, 2009 at 11:01 AM

I erad all the comments so far and wish to bring a few things to your attention so that you will understand teh stigam and discremination towards guyanese not only who are living in barbados but many who enters the country to conduct business for a few day.

on April 27, 2009, I a Guyanese Journalist entered barbados for a confernce with all my relevant documentataion, including the letter from teh hotel where i will be staying which contained by room number ect, a letter from the Caribbean Broadcasting Union (CBU) among other documents to support my visit to barbados.

thsi si wahst happened :

a. i went up to the immigration officer and said “good morning sir,
    he replied ” good morning, may i see your passport.
    i handed him my passport and all th other documents to support my visit.
    IO. ” is this your first time here?
    me : yes sir”
    IO” whay are your here”
    me: as you can see sir i am here for a confernce”
    IO who is here to receive you?
    me : sir , i will be taking a taxi to teh hotel (Blue Horizon) where the CBU people will receiv me”

IO ” yeah but should hav had someone to recive you”

Me ok sir i was not aware of that, but i will be geratful if you can call teh hotl and confirm my room.
    IO ” that is not my job you should have put systems in place.

IO ” i am tired of this thing you guyaese come here for short stay and is trouble to find you all ”

me “Mute”

IO ” ist on teh bench in there i will deal with you later (Harsh tone)

i procede on teh bench and spnt about an hour and half and then he came in make a few calls and after a barage of threats an talk around tell me in not th bst of tones ” you could go, but don’t let we have to come and search for you”

i want thsoe commentators who claimed that teh issue is bing blown out of proportion justify for me teh judgement that immigartion officer had passed on me .

i gives a claer picture that the actionsof barbadian immigration against guyanese are premeditated.

i will not heistate to say if a guyanse ommit a crime there he or she should not be dealth with accordingly but at teh same time with respect of human rights, but premediated actions are not acceptable.

maybe guyana might have to put in a barbados bench at its international airport so that when barbadians come here we placed them there, but weare bigger than that and there is no need to fight firewith fire .

there are many barbadians in thsi country and never has this or any other government went on a witch hunt for them .
    the david thompson administrtaion needs to get its act together and do teh right thing

bear in mind barbados is teh lead for teh caricom single market and conomy of which free movement of skills in intregal , so prime minsietr thompson’s actions are highly hipocritical .

i leave with you comments by a barbadian scholar who understands integartion and diplomacy

Professor Norman Girvan Wrote on his website.

COALITION FOR A HUMANE AMNESTY

PRESS RELEASE

THE “REAL” IMMIGRATION PROBLEM IN BARBADOS!

There are thousands of Barbadians, who, having travelled to the U.S.A, overstayed their time, and are now in the process of working on getting their “green cards”. With 6 or 7 years of residence in the U.S.A under their belts, these Bajans have evolved into ‘Bajan-Yankees’, and we would be appalled if the U.S government suddenly started deporting them.

Yet, that is precisely what our Government is doing to ‘Guyanese-Bajans’ and ‘Vincey-Bajans’ in our midst! Our Immigration officers are raiding the homes and work-places of Guyanese and Vincentians who have been living in Barbados for 7 and 8 years, arresting them and putting them on the first flight out of Barbados. And several of these persons are the parents of children born in Barbados, and the owners of bank accounts and other forms of property in Barbados!

Most ordinary Barbadians are not aware that this is happening. Indeed, the Barbadian people have been so misled, that they believe that our Government has given all undocumented or ‘illegal’ Caribbean residents a six month period of time within which to go into the Immigration Department and regularize their immigration status. This is simply not true!

Admittedly, the Barbados government has advised undocumented’ Caribbean migrants that they are required to go into the Immigration Department between 1st June and 1st December 2009, but, they have warned that the only people who have a chance of being accepted are those who came to Barbados before the 1st of January 1998 – almost 12 years ago. All of the others will therefore be subjected to the very real likelihood of deportation! And the Immigration Department has not waited until the 1st of December 2009 to start deporting people! Indeed, they have already commenced a heartless campaign of arrest and deportation.

THE OLD FIVE YEAR AMNESTY

This inhumane approach to our Caribbean brothers and sisters may be contrasted with the progressive and constructive policy that was pursued by the previous Administration.

The previous government had a policy under which undocumented or ‘illegal’ CARICOM migrants who had resided in Barbados for 5 or more years, were permitted to come forward and apply for Immigrant Status. And once they were able to demonstrate to the Immigration authorities that they were gainfully employed, had no criminal record, and were likely to make a constructive contribution to our society, they were accepted.

Furthermore, if they failed to convince the Immigration Department and were rejected, they were given a right of appeal to an “Immigration Review Committee” chaired by a Minister of Government. If they failed to convince this Committee, they would then be ordered to leave Barbados.

This was a good policy, because it came to the rescue of persons who had become ‘Barbadianised’, and had become part of Barbadian society. Deporting such persons simply did not help anybody, and a wise Barbados government acknowledged this.

Barbados has never had a problem with this “five year amnesty” policy! Indeed, it was a good and humane policy and should be reinstated!

THE NEW SITUATION

The ‘real’ problem with the immigration situation in Barbados is that the traditional and long-standing exchange of migrants between Barbados and Guyana evolved into a ‘migrant labour phenomenon’ over the past decade, but the government of Barbados failed to acknowledge this new development, and therefore also failed to establish a formal ‘migrant labour programme’ with appropriate controls and administrative structures.

The reality is that the Barbadian economy and society has evolved in such a manner that the present generation of native Barbadians is no longer attracted to the physically taxing and repetitive labour of the agricultural, manual and low level service jobs that their parents and grand-parents were prepared to do!

Over the past decade or so therefore, the Barbadian economy has come to rely on imported Guyanese workers to perform essential but unwanted jobs in agriculture, construction, care of the elderly, and a range of low level services. This has helped Barbados to maintain strength and efficiency in these vital areas of its economy, and this, in turn, contributed to the maintenance of an overall strong economy in which the unemployment rate dropped to the historically low level of 6 per cent. In other words, the presence of Guyanese migrant workers in Barbados has not caused the unemployment of native Barbadians!

The belief that the quantity of employment available in Barbados is of a fixed nature and that migrant workers from Guyana simply take the jobs of existing Barbadian workers, is absolutely wrong! The fact is that the Barbadian economy has expanded along with the growth in the labour force! Indeed, our economy would be smaller, with lower per capita income, without our imported Guyanese, Vincentian and St Lucian labour!

However, rather than allowing needed migrant workers from Guyana to come to Barbados in an ad hoc manner, we need to put a formal ‘migrant labour programme’ in place, and run it properly! This is what our new government should be doing – not running down and deporting 5, 6, 7 and 8 year residents of Barbados!

THE SOLUTION

Our government is inflicting unnecessary damage on both the image and the economy of Barbados, with their inhumane and myopic immigration policy. Our organisation – the “Coalition For A Humane Amnesty“- therefore asks all Barbadians to join with us in insisting upon a reinstatement of the ‘five year amnesty’ policy, and the establishment of a formal, structured ‘migrant labour programme’ for guest workers from the CARICOM sub-region.

visit this site http://www.normangirvan.info/the-real-immigration-problem-in-barbados-cfha/

• the observer // June 28, 2009 at 11:02 AM

there are a few typo please forgive me

• mash up & buy back // June 28, 2009 at 11:07 AM

I completely agree with richard hoad’s last column.

So that you know richard hoad’s daughter is married to a black barbadian young man,and richard could not be more emamoured with his black grandchild.

Richard Hoad is a true patriotic barbadian.

Living in Barbados you are like most of the other jamaicans and other caribbean non nationals.You think barbadians ‘too big bout here’ and tink dey too nuff, so you always trying to take them down a peg or too.

Thank God we are a confident,hard working people.

We through the hard work of our foreparents and every generation since has built this country to what it is such that it is admired in every international city in the developed countries and the envy of many who would like to be like us.

This is why Sam,pooch and de Duppy want to come here and live,and then when we react to their objectionable behaviour by some of them – we are the worst thing ever.

I encourage the immigration officers to go out there and enforce the laws in a straight but strict manner and get rid of ALL the illegals.

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 11:09 AM

The Thompson administration is still being very accommodating to Guyanese immigrants. I notice that he mentioned that a number of Guyanese have applied for extensions of their work permits and he believes that these will be approved.

• David // June 28, 2009 at 11:19 AM

Interesting to read this notice sandwiched in the back part of the Sunday Sun newspaper today. In the prevailing environment which is hyped with emotionalism and inaccuracies we would have thought the print media in Barbados would have given preeminence to this government notice. Especially so given the accusations swirling that the Barbados government has sanctioned Gestapo tactics when rounding up suspect illegal immigrants.

It is time that the media of Barbados understand that it is Barbados and Barbadians responsible for their revenues.

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 11:30 AM

SOMETHING HAPPEN TO MICHAEL JACKSON ? WHAT ?

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 11:36 AM

@MUBB
    “Living in Barbados you are like most of the other jamaicans and other caribbean non nationals.You think barbadians ‘too big bout here’ and tink dey too nuff, so you always trying to take them down a peg or too.”

As David would say, don’t jump to conclusions, especially about people you do not know.

You build a straw man. I see no sense in thinking that that an island of some 280,000 can ever be “too big bout here”. I think Barbados and Barbadians can be proud of what they have done and what they are. That does not mean that they need be loved or will be loved. That’s up to others to decide for themselves. What I do detect from your remarks and from others’ is that some Barbadians do not feel that anyone else has lifted a lick to get them and the country to where it is. I think and know that is utter hogwash. No island is an island and you can blind yourself with the notion of total self reliance as long as you like, but it’s still a huge falsehood. Barbados has benefited from UK financial support and special relations, and from EU subsidies and grants, and from Canadian development assistance, and from UN financial and technical support, etc.. It has also benefited from loans and inflows from other countries, and still does so. It is not Bajans who do all the financing of development in this island. It is foreign visitors from outside the Caribbean mainly who bring in FX to this island, not just inflows from native born Barbadians or those of Barbadian heritage who were born abroad. The philanthropes that are being sought to help finance medical development are mainly non-Barbadians. Keep thumbing your nose at foreigners.

You are entitled to like or dislike any foreigner you like, but stop fooling yourself that only Bajans have built this country.

What Richard Hoad’s daughter does is her business, and it’s his business how he treats her for marrying a black Barbadian. But if his response were not extraordinary then why bother mentioning it?

You have not addressed Bizzy’s plan to disenfranchise the likes of David Thomspon. Feel free to expound on that.

The Lowdown Hoad view that the status quo (post independence) of white Barbadians owning most businesses, mainly Indian merchants making lots of money, black Barbadians providing the work force and now holding political reins is not one that I like. Foreigners have some play in this national equation, with certain Caricom nations (mainly Trinidad) now taking more control of economic entities, and some pressure on the work force coming from other Caricom nations (Guyana, St. Vincent, Jamaica, etc.) But the basic structure does not look much changed and the Lowdown view is that “we like it so”.

• mash up & buy back // June 28, 2009 at 11:38 AM

OBSERVER

Let us dispense with this propoganda that guyanese and norman girvan and others with their agenda are pushing about Barbados.

Let me state a few facts:

1)Guyanese have not built up Barbados.

Guyanese have contributed the least to our sugar industry compared to other carcom workers.In other words they are ‘now come’.

From the 7o’s,80’s, and up to the 90’s barbadian along with our caribbean brothers and sisters from from st lucia,at vincent and dominica came here for over 30 years and worked on our sugar plantations assisting in the sugar and food crop industry.

2)Despite what norman girvan and others say – guyanese are not coming here and doing work in construction,care of the elderly and agriculture that bajans won’t do.

Guyanese are coming here from a place where they earned $5.00 u.s dollars a day and in barbados as an unskilled person can earn up to $40.00 u.s per day.

They therefore are quite willing to undercut the barbadian worker and are known to go behind the back of a barbadian worker and say I will do this job for half the price.

For years many bajan workers were crying out about this practice in construction,while in the home help area every day unskilled bajans are daily asking persons for work in looking after elderly relatives,cleaning etc.

Every year government pay to train unemployed bajan women in Care of the Elderly and even some dishonest illegal guyanese have managed to enroll using their fraudulent I.D.s and sexual favours.

Agriculture is one area where they are making a contribution,but they have done this to the disadvantage of the vincys and lucians whose banna trade has now been destroyed and are willing to work but however will not stoop as low as the guyanese.

Now the planataion owners have a group of people – the guyanese – who will do anything for money and draw the line at nothing;unlike the vincys and lucians.

So they work monday to easter sunday,,Good friday,boxing day – 12 hours a day with overtime so that they can take the hard earned foreign exchange our barbadian companies earn and send it back to guyana.

They pretend to be skilled in every trade when in truth they know nothing about the trade, and have introduced the system of bribing public officers which is the norm back in guyana.

Using fraudulent documents,engaging in prostitution,trafficking of their young women,squatting and defecating in open areas in zone 1 water areas which again is common in even their city georgetown which up to last month in kaeiteur and starbroek newspapers, mayor green was crying out about open sewage on the streets of georgetown.

I can go on and on,but guyanese bring more harm than good,more cons than pros and their contribution to guyana has been grossly exaggerated for obvious reasons.

I guarantee you than when the guyanese leave, Barbados will continue working and will probably work more smoothily when they leave.

Like Australia we have to decide the type of workers by skills and temperment we want in here.

• mash up & buy back // June 28, 2009 at 11:42 AM

I agree totally with Bizzy.

As you will see from my above post,I pay great tribute to the contributions of my caribbean brothers and sisters.

You have deliberately misread richard hoad’s position.

I agree with his overall position too.

• Bradley432 // June 28, 2009 at 11:55 AM

@ mash up &buy back .
    Nevertheless, we should not overlook the vital contribution that the Guyanese have made to our sugar industry in their role as Pan Boilers, way before the 70″s.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:04 PM

@David

How is the essence of the Government of Guyana’s request to its nationals for information of their mistreatment different from what PM Thompson said yesterday (citing from The Nation)?

“”I wish to state here and now that the Government of Barbados has never, does not and will never sanction, condone or even turn a blind eye to the issue of degradation or denial of human rights to anyone visiting or resident on these shores. . . just as we will not permit illegal and unchecked migration to continue, so too will we not permit the abuse or violation of rights and privileges of persons resident on our shores, under whatever circumstances,” the Prime Minister stressed.

He invited all aggrieved persons to supply evidence of any negative treatment, but said that most of the bizarre stories were “untrue and without foundation”.

“Tell us who, what and where!”?

• sylvan // June 28, 2009 at 12:10 PM

norman girvan writing a lot of crap. it looks that he wants for barbados what happenin jamaica. he should write about his advice to manley and explain if it helped destroy the jamaica economy. a lot of jamaicans have said so. ignore him because nobody takes him seriously. is it true he was hired by the last blp government?

• mash up & buy back // June 28, 2009 at 12:11 PM

Bradley 432

How many pan boilers came to barbados?

25 – 40 – 100?
    When you read the guyanese on starbroek news you would think that barbadians in the 1920’s and 30’s were starving and went begging for bread down in Guyana.

A couple hundreds bajans went down at the request of the government of British Guiana in the late 1880’s and 1920’s to asist Guyana with their sugar and bauxite industries – but now we have over 50,000 guyanese,mostly of an unskilled nature descended on barbados over the last 10 years.

And guyanese trying to compare the two and make demands on barbados by trying to play up this brief history.

2 days ago the Kaeiteur newspaper had a letter to the editor which quoted the work by the late Walter Rodney who did a paper on the Barbadian connection,where he showed how badly the barbadian workers who came in the 1880’s and 1920’s were treated as compared to the indians indentured labourers who came from India.

If we allow this deliberate misleading propoganda and exaggeration about the guyanese contribution to barbados and their assistance to barbados to go unchallenged over time – this will eventually be taken to be facts.

• David // June 28, 2009 at 12:12 PM

@LIB

Do you think the onus should be on those making the accusations of abuse to produce evidence?

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:12 PM

@David
    Let freedom of speech and expression of opinion reign!

• Sargeant // June 28, 2009 at 12:22 PM

@David

It’s a pity that the notice didn’t also instruct Guyanese citizens that when they are in Barbados they should also respect the law of the land. Perhaps the Guyanese Gov’t would like the respect for law in Barbados to descend to the same level as it has in Guyana. A Gov’t where one of the most senior cabinet members was denied a US visa because of suspected illegal activity. A Gov’t that sought to cripple one of its then harshest critics by denying it revenue by prohibiting Gov’t ads; looks like Stabroek got the message and is now toeing the line.

I also notice that in these posts that the International economist and Global traveler who is arguing about interpretation of Statutes and nuance about Lowdown’s most recent article has not seen fit to comment on Ramphal’s assertion about “ethnic cleansing”.

Despite all the rhetoric on this debate, that has been the most devastating critique about Barbados coming from a former senior mandarin.

If the Nation was a newspaper we would see articles about that remark instead of salacious reporting on illegal immigrant being dragged off toilets.

• ROMER // June 28, 2009 at 12:30 PM

Please let good sense prevail

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:44 PM

@Proud Bajan
    “Jamaica has the highest murder rate in the caribbean and we don’t tell them how to deal with that, but they want to tell us law abiding people how to deal with our problems and insult us and our leaders.” [Barbados and Barbadians could offer advice if they wished. The murder problem and the immigration issues are not birds of a feather. If the Jamaican murder problem had some important element that caused by other Caricom non-nationals and Jamaica sought to deal with them through deportation then I would be surprised if the relevent Caricom governments would remain silent. This has been the pattern with regard to US efforts to expel Caricom nationals associated with crime or other misdeeds, which they seek to deport.]

“Im sure if Jamaica had our problem they would kill them at least we give amnesty and a “free” ride home on airplane.” [Too silly to really warrant a reply. But, follow the case of Jerry Small, a Bajan national on fraud charges in Jamaica, see http://www.caribdaily.com/article/171862/bajan-remanded-on-fraud-charge/.

"Jamaica your country is a lawless island and we also have your people living here just to get away from all the crime and lawlessness." [Not true. Jamaica has a ridiculously high murder rate, and the crimes are concentrated into two major urban areas. It has its origin in a struggle for political control and has been further fuelled by the use of Jamaica as one of several Caribbean staging points for the drug trade between the USA and south America--the World Bank report on crime in the region is good reading. For what it's worth--and we all like to use anecdotes--my father, who is 80 and lives most of his life in Jamaica, sandwiching 30 years in England, has never been robbed or attacked. No one in my family, has ever been robbed or attacked since I was born in the mid 1950s. I have a young cousin whose friend was recently murdered. The Jamaicans I know who live here came from many places, including Jamaica, but not to escape crime and lawlessness. Most of them, whether or not they have homes there, return to Jamaica frequently, and send their children there for holidays. That is not the behaviour of people who fled crime and lawlessness. My wife, a non-Jamaican Caricom national worked there over several years and still goes there often on business, and has never had an indicent to report--and she is a great target.]

Incovenient truths?

• Proud Bajan // June 28, 2009 at 12:54 PM

@ livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:44 pm

I see you are tyring to prove many of us hard working loving bajans wrong but it won’t work.

You can take your diluge spin somewhere else and let someone who has no brain read it.

You are fooling no one.

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 12:55 PM

What were the original nationalities of the persons that started Banks Breweries and Life of Barbados (now merged with Sagicor)?

Who was the first High Commissioner of Barbados to the UK. He was appointed by the Great E.W.Barrow.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 12:55 PM

@Sargeant
    Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence if he feels the need, and given that he has a home here should be easily contacted for a follow up comment. The remarks that I have read are the following: “‘The knock on the door at night’ is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of ‘ethnic cleansing’”. He’s right: those things are not part of the Caribbean culture. Do you disagree?

• David // June 28, 2009 at 1:01 PM

@Sargeant
    Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence if he feels the need, and given that he has a home here should be easily contacted for a follow up comment. The remarks that I have read are the following: “‘The knock on the door at night’ is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of ‘ethnic cleansing’”. He’s right: those things are not part of the Caribbean culture. Do you disagree?

@LIB

You know that this is a false statement. Immigration, Bailiffs, Police routinely raid the homes of potential suspects at the early morning period for the obvious reasons. Nothing new there at all.

Your other comment submitted on 2009/06/28 at 12:44pm:

Despite the numbers given by Prime Minister Thompson yesterday from which you have extrapolated to use your words you still think the responses in the Jamaican editorials and elsewhere in the region are appropriate?

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 1:04 PM

@David
    “Do you think the onus should be on those making the accusations of abuse to produce evidence?”

Undoubtedly, and that is what both PM Thompson and the Government of Guyana has urged. If there are those who among the accused who wish to step forward, then that would be grand, though I think unlikely.

The PM said that he found the reports “sickening”. As you have said elsewhere, let’s see where that process leads. If the accusations are not/cannot be substantiated, then they should stop. But, if they can be proved the PM also said “the Government of Barbados…[will] not permit the abuse or violation of rights and privileges of persons resident on our shores, under whatever circumstances” The PM was very careful when he said “MOST [my emphasis] of the bizarre stories are untrue and without foundation.” So, he clearly does not discount that some of them may be true.

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 1:09 PM

As this issue goes, I am coming to the conclusion that the announcement of an amnesty, etc was a mistake. The government should have just let (encourage) the immigration dept. and the police do their job i.e find the illegal migrants and deport them. Maybe there should be moratorium on renewing/extending or granting new work permits.

• livinginbarbados // June 28, 2009 at 1:15 PM

@David
    I would agree with you on routine police etc. raids in the context seeking out criminals. PM Thompson’s comments suggest that what has gone on since June 1 is in line with routine practice. I have no issue with or information on that. That still leaves Sir Sridath’s other point.

Have I become a spokesman for the Jamaican media? I hope not.

• David // June 28, 2009 at 3:12 PM

Now that Linsay Holder has exposed David Commisiong in his letter to the editor which appeared in the BarbadosAdvocate, what now?

David Comissiong, was that you?

6/26/2009

IN AN article appearing in another daily on Tuesday, 23rd June 2009 and titled ‘Misleading Policy’, David Comissiong continued his tirade against the proposed managed migration policy of the current Government of Barbados. He made two particularly interesting statements in the article, and they are as follows:
    “This inhumane approach to our Caribbean brothers and sisters may be contrasted with the progressive and constructive policy that was pursued by the previous administration”.
    “However, rather than allowing needed migrant workers from Guyana to come to Barbados in an ad hoc manner, we need to put a formal ‘migrant labour programme’ in place and run it properly!”
    In response to Mr. Comissiong’s article, I invite readers to guess who made the following comments in 2005.
    “With the Owen Arthur styled Caribbean Single Market and Economy, Barbadians are witnessing the opposite of the vision of the ‘founding fathers’ of Caribbean Integration. Rather than over populated Barbados providing the vastly under populated Guyana with skilled and productive workers, the Guyanese labour force is being siphoned off to Barbados in a scheme designed to lower the wages of Barbadian workers and produce more profits for the Barbadian capital class”.
    No doubt, you guessed correctly. That person was none other than David Comissiong.

Lindsay Holder

• Themis // June 28, 2009 at 3:31 PM

This is another example of the same point LIB made on another thread; politicians have been known to “change their mind”. Lindsay should have said where Commissiong wrote or said the first statement though.

• The People's Democratic Congress // June 28, 2009 at 4:34 PM

Don’t fellow bloggers realize that what could perhaps be described as the greatest scorn to have so far been dished out to a lead blog on this BU blogsite, could actually be developing on this BU blog at this time??

And what a most disconcerting sight it is for many bloggers to realize that so many commenters are avoiding posting comments under Mr. Hartley Henry’s latest contribution to this blogsite, as if it were being seen that they were attempting to avoid the leper.

That they have decided NOT to furnish comments under Mr. Henry contribution on essentially the SWINE FLU and its effects on the country, is also akin to a situation whereby nobody in Barbados wants to contract the same virus of which he writes about. Never before has the PDC seen such a lead blog so repudiated and shunned by other commenters in all of our time spent posting and reading comments on this blogsite. Up to the time of our starting to write this post, there was just one measly comment under that thread for the two days or so that that thread has been around.

Surely, this kind of rejection must contain serious lessons to be learned by this political nuisance. It has been clear for a while that many persons on this blog are sick, tired and fed up with much of the nonsense and frivolity that he writes and continues to send off to the relevant media – the Barbados Advocate and the BU blog – in this country.

Certainly, we in PDC have been observing on here and elsewhere some very pungent and unsavory talk about the lack of measure and content of his articles. But, gone are the days when his party – the DLP – used to be in the opposition, and he used to write with much passion, coherence and logic about so many issues and problems in the country!! But look how terribly he fallen from his proverbial tommy horse.

Such a rejection of Mr. Henry’s latest dose of inappropriate writing method, could also have much to do with the fact that many persons in Barbados are becoming more and more intolerant of the type of personality he begets, as observed through this style of writing. The way he writes, esp. when he drools about some of his overseas shopping trips; about some type of fruits (mangoes?) he purchased somewhere in Barbados sometime ago; and about his making crass excuses for the massive failures so far of this government to avoid the worse impacts on Barbadians as a result of recessionary conditions, would no doubt very much indicate how arrogant, cocky and how half ignorant a fellow he might be or is. Well, of course, NOT many people in Barbados that we know admire arrogance, cockiness and down right ignorance as coming from others!!

Truth be told though there are so many important issues and problems that are happening in this country that this former reporter cum public relations expert so-called regional political strategist ought to be writing about critically. But, no, it suits him to think that he can write such friviologies, and with that situation scores of Thompson supporters who are now suffering financially and otherwise would still support him, philosophically. Well, huh!!

The one but last lesson – for now – to be learned by this individual is that because so many, many Barbadians are becoming increasingly tired already of this DLP Government and its failures and have rightly been associating him with this government and its failures – does mean he is bound to take some of the heat for these failures. That such an individual – who is so lacking in real political science skills – could have been put to the test in his capacity as some political advisor to this failing government – and can therefore be found to be struggling shows the type of dressed up and puffed up bare-necked political yardfowl he is. What a pity too that DLP supporters on this blog have NOT even come to his rescue but are finding it more important and interesting to comment on other subjects on here!!

Finally, to those who have refused to otherwise comment under Mr. Henry’s thread we say to them to continue to load it to hell on.

PDC

• Anonymous // June 28, 2009 at 4:39 PM

What is making the PDC so mad about Hartley Henry?

• The People's Democratic Congress // June 28, 2009 at 5:52 PM

For those who do NOT know the real maze, or mess, that Mr. Commissiong has put himself in over this immigration issue, simply get access to a copy of last Friday’s Weekend Nation Newspaper and one would see the kind of confusion that exists within the PEP camp over this immigration issue.

And take note that some times the Nation Newspaper can – by doing very deliberate and mischievous things – depending on how one looks at it or NOT – be found guilty of helping to foment greater and unnecessary division and controversy within and among certain groups of people in Barbados surrounding these kinds of issues.

Anyhow, we have tried NOT to enter this discussion under this thread for reasons that we have already long stated our position with regard to the immigration affairs of Barbados. Thus, it is for this primary reason that we need NOT have any restatement of it at this stage, and therefore no resulting debate with anybody concerning it or concerning the almost unnecessary stoking of a national debate over the immigration affairs of the country. As well, too, we will never allow this joke DLP Government to indirectly set our immigration policy agenda.

Furthermore, we have tried harder NOT to publicly criticize or expose our friends over at the PEP in regard of some of the open weaknesses that are found within their policy and political strategy affairs, given that it is far better to allow the PEP to grow and develop in this country without many esp unwarranted public criticisms of it than to try to do as much as possible to disable it on its present trajectory.

For, once it is clear and certain that Mr. Commissiong is about helping to make the PEP a viably strong people centered political fighting force in the long run – the truth must be that hordes of people in Barbados must be eventually seen to be in need of the PEP more than ever in the country, mainly because the vast majority of the masses and middle classes must be inspired and guided along the way by at least three new people centered national political organizational entities, into helping to root these two traditional backward parties – the DLP and BLP – out of the parliament of this country.

Having said that, though, the PDC must say that we have been so emboldened by the highlighting of the above contradictions in the various positions that the PEP leader has over time held on some CSME/Immigration matters, that we must tell many bloggers that having accessed a copy of the particular issue of the Weekend Nation Newspaper, to realize that on page 12 of this said Weekend Nation Newspaper there is the PEP column that continues to rail against aspects of this present government’s recent immigration policy, but that on page 13 there is – for reasons best known to the Nation Newspaper – placed a letter to the Editor over the name Neville Roach – who was Mr. Commissiong’s campaign assistant during the last election – that endorses this government’s immigration policy.

So, there you have it evidence of the maze, or mess, Mr. Commissiong and the PEP is in with regard to this said immigration issue. Also, this is clear evidence of some weakness in the consensus building processes and policy formulation and political planning strategies of the PEP, which we hope they will be able to correct as quickly as practicable.

PDC

• Albert Brandford // June 28, 2009 at 7:37 PM

Re the Observer who claims to be a journalist: be more careful with your attributions. The press release you said was written by Professor Girvan is actually a PEP column authorised by Gen. Sect. David Comissiong, and merely posted on the Girvan website.

• Sargeant // June 28, 2009 at 8:28 PM

@Livinginbarbados

Sir Sridath is a big enough fellow to come to his own defence
    On this and other blogs we are always parsing the words of politicians and would be politicians to get to the hidden meaning.
    The “honourable” Knight could have made his point if he had used the word “discrimination” instead of “ethnic cleansing”. A particularly harsh comment on the strength of a few deportations of illegal immigrants from Guyana. I thought that the phrase would have stuck a chord with you; however it appears I was mistaken.

I hope that I can speak for other Bajans in saying that we now have an understanding of Ramphal’s agenda.

• Anon // June 29, 2009 at 12:01 AM

Taxpayers erected a building named after Raphal on University Hill. He paid us back with”ethnic cleasing”

• Patriotic Bajan // June 29, 2009 at 12:20 AM

I am an avid follower of Bacchanal Calypso tent. Never missed an opening night
    For the first time Norman Faria turns up to the tent. He was recognized as te only white man in the crowd. He must have been surprised, in that the Bajan women gave the Guyanese lady who sang the Guyanese song a respectful round of applause.
    He came looking for more hostile environment, but Barbadians are the most loving of all Caribbean people. They are always willing to please people.
    He can now go and write something positive about Barbados.

• livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 3:43 AM

@Sergeant
    “On this and other blogs we are always parsing the words of politicians and would be politicians to get to the hidden meaning.”

You’re right. But, given the range of meanings the particular term can have (and it is not one I would have chosen to utter without being absolutely clear), and one of them means ‘explusion’, another is ‘discrimination’, and we know there is ‘killing’, it is important to know which he had in mind. We can parse and be wrong. I am not going to guess at which meaning Sir S meant.

• Jay // June 29, 2009 at 4:21 AM

Was there ever a doubt that Barbados’ social services were being stressed.I’m getting the impression that we’ll have to stop universal healthcare coverage & education if these problems are not fixed in a timely manner where everyone will have to pay the appropriate fees.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/donville-copy-for-web

“ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS in Barbados have started to affect the country’s social services adversely and Government cannot ignore that situation.

Minister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.

However, he told the DAILY NATION that Government would not change its policy of not seeking to know people’s immigrant status before providing them with health care.

“But the reality is that it is a necessary expectation that any large increase with respect to inward migration would place pressure on our hospital, our polyclinics and all our health care facilities,” he said.

Inniss said Barbados’ small size and limited resources militated against having open borders to everybody.

He added the granting of an amnesty was something Government was not under an obligation to do, and people had to comply with the law.

“I find it very strange that the individuals who are calling for us to allow people who are illegal to remain in Barbados are the same ones who would criticise ZR drivers for reckless behaviour and breaking the law; criticise young people for their behaviour and breaking the law.

“Every country has laws that must be respected, and the reaction of these people is that they are condoning illegal activity,” he said.

Inniss dismissed complaints that authorities were “rounding up” illegal immigrants.

“If you are living in a country illegally and it is the determination of the immigration office that you are to be deported, what are we to do? Give you a phone call and tell you that we are coming for you next Thursday at 2 a.m.? You do not make an appointment with an individual to deport them,” Inniss explained.

He said he did not hear anyone complain when Barbadians were deported from the United States, Britain or Canada after being there illegally or committing other crimes. He added that in many of those cases Barbadians were given their belongings in a plastic bag and sent on their way.

“Our approach has been far more humane. There is not an ounce of inhumanity in what we are doing, and Barbadians who share these views need to get up and speak up about it. It is a vocal minority criticising this policy and it is their right to criticise,” he stated.

He also had advice for regional leaders criticising Barbados’ immigration policy.

“What other Caribbean leaders should do is mind their own business in respect of this matter. They should do like Barbados and fix their economies and get them to the point where their citizens do not feel the need to run away,” he said. “

• Anonymous // June 29, 2009 at 6:29 AM

I honestly believe that the government’s policy is being dictated by economic realities. The government’s policy is sensible. The government recognizes that the economic ship of state is leaky and taking on water fast- declining output, increasing unemployment, declining reserves, increasing deficits and as a result a downgrade in our credit rating. The bad economic situation is staring us in the face.

It is unfortunate that some Barbadians have taken the opportunity to show their dislike for Guyanese, while some Guyanese have taken the opportunity to show their lack of appreciation for the government’s attempt to save Barbados from economic collapse.

• mash up & buy back // June 29, 2009 at 6:57 AM

I want to direct readers attention to an article in today’s Starbroek newspaper where a guyanese woman – a savita boodram (i think is her name) went to Canada on a visitors permit – did not leave the country – went and got married to a mad man -a canadian suffering from schizophrenia.

Obviously this man was asn easy prey.
    And like most of these illegal guyanese here in Barbados,especially the indian ones,she went and got 2 children quickly – one is 8 months old (still a baby) and she is pregnant again.

Guess what people,despite her marriage to a canadian,despite her being pregnant and having a young 8 months old baby,the canadian authorities decided that she was an illegal and was put on a plane for deportation.

Luckily her doctor gave a medical report that she should not travel because of a difficuly pregnancy and she was given a reprieve.

Where is basdeo jagdeo,where is shridath ramphal,where is compton bourne,where is ralph gonsalves,norman girvan – and all those who are bashing barbados for inhumane treatment of illegals?

I suppose that is the white people country so they can do as they like.

What this case shows is that being married to a citizen of a country,and even getting children – does not guarantee you the right to stay in that country.

I hope Ms Farmer and the immigration department are reading this.

• Negroman // June 29, 2009 at 9:13 AM

Well said Minister Donville Inniss

My taxes should never be use to pay for the services that are are for Barbadians and being use freely by illegal non-nationals especially Indo-Guyanese.Minister Innisss you are right on track in mandating that all non-nationals seeking our health services must be legal residents of Barbados.No illegal must access to our health & other social services for free.They have no rights in Barbados.

It is amazing that Indo-Guyanese have a distinct hatred for Black people but yet will do anything possible to reside and look for status in a Black dominated and Black run country like Barbados.

Indo-Guyanese do not want a Black man or a Black government to rule them in Guyana but are prepare to come to Barbados to be govern by a Black man.

I do not support or condone crime but reading what happened to that Guyanese businessman made me think.I would not say how I feel about that situation but —-

• Themis // June 29, 2009 at 9:28 AM

You obviously have a difficulty reading or understanding, Negroman. The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care” What did you think that means?

• livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 9:45 AM

I have read The Nation article several times to try to understand what the minister actually means. As it does not appear to cite Minister Inniss verbatim, perhaps we have a bit of gobbledygook. But the report states: “Minister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.” and then “The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care”. I cannot reconcile those two points. So, someone help me. How do you CONTINUE to not check status but yet appear to know the status of those making use of the service?

• Themis // June 29, 2009 at 9:48 AM

LIB, perhaps by lholder’s “casual observation” (LOL).

• David // June 29, 2009 at 9:57 AM

Could it be that the Minister is stating that the public health system will NOT refuse treatment to anyone legal or illegal. Simple logic also says that in the process of delivering that healthcare routine information sought during or after the diagnosis or treatment exercise info on the status of the patient would have been revealed.

• livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 10:01 AM

@David/Themis
    Could be both, perhaps, but my visits to doctors here (not QEH or polyclinic) have never sought any info on my residency status. More grist for the confusion mill.

• Themis // June 29, 2009 at 10:02 AM

Every patient?

• Day Watcher // June 29, 2009 at 10:14 AM

Barbadians may not have paid attention when people like Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali were terrorizing and slaughtering innocent people. But since January 15, 2008 (with the help of Clico’s millions) Barbadians would have been monitoring the rise of a Dictator.

They would have seen David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran, in action.

For while in his hard-line policy, David Thompson has ban the Opposition from CBC – in Iran, the same is being done to the Opposition.

It is why many would willingly agree that David Thompson most resembles Pol Pot and Hitler. Still there will be little doubt that these men carry: “The Mark of the Beast.”

Pol Pot began by declaring, “This is Year Zero,” (Thompson said, Barbados is for Barbadians) and that society was about to be “purified.” Capitalism, Western culture, city life, religion, and all foreign influences were to be extinguished in favor of an extreme form of peasant Communism. (Thompson is riding Barbados of Guyanese who are being stalked and targeted)

All foreigners were thus expelled, embassies closed, and any foreign economic or medical assistance was refused.

The use of foreign languages was banned.

Newspapers and television stations were shut down, radios and bicycles confiscated, and mail and telephone usage curtailed.

Money was forbidden. All businesses were shuttered, religion banned, education halted, health care eliminated, and parental authority revoked. Thus Cambodia was sealed off from the outside world.

In Barbados, by deporting Caribbean people, while leaving brand-name persons from China and Europe intact – like Hitler and Pol Pot, David Thompson is handpicking people for cruel and inhumane treatment.

However, David Thompson is stopping short of what Idi Amin did – in that to date, there is no massacre, tortured, person being beaten to death buried alive.

Still, the reality is, David Thomson is doing precisely what Hitler, Charles Taylor, Pol Pot and Idi Amin did before. He is singling out people (Indo-Guyanese) for his cruel and inhumane treatment.

Left to DLP members and supporters, Guyanese would be massacred, hunted in the night and buried alive.

Once DLP members and supports call the Immigration Department for Guyanese living with their communities, as soon as the Immigration bus starches off for the Airport – the possessions of Guyanese are immediately pounced-upon and confiscated by Dems, for whom the deportation of Guyanese has become a lucrative business.

That an Iron-Fist David Thompson is now doing damage control – is only because of people like Prof. Girvan, Dr. Joseph, Rickey Singh, Sir Ronald Saunders and the Opposition BLP – who have said a loud no to cruel and inhumane treatment, which borders on human rights violations.

Notice in all this – people like Pastor Lucille Baird, Pastor Holford, Pastor Durante and other DLP Pastors – are silent.

It is pressure from the most intelligent within our local and regional society – who have the shared values to stand up and say no – that in his Media Statement on Saturday, June 27, 2009 – Mr. Hardliner a.k.a. Prime Minister David Thompson was forced to say that 177 people had their stay extended and that some 71 Guyanese were in that number.

It is clear that like Pol Pot and Hiller did with the Jews – the DLP is targeting Indo-Guyanese.

But while the decent people in our society is saying “yes” to a Guest Worker programme; respect for the laws of Barbados and managed Migration – they are saying a loud “no” to Thompson’s cruel and inhumane treatment of Guyanese, in particular.

Mr. Iron-Fist was forced to say on Saturday that there are 380 applications for renewal of short-term permits and 294 of that number are on behalf of Guyanese.

But, even before Thompson spoke, several Guyanese had already complained that their permits were not being renewed even though they kept checking with the immigration department.

Notice that “Thompson the Terrible” – made absolutely no reference to the number of Guyanese his administration deported, as part of its clampdown – who had merely gone in to the Immigration Department for a renewal, but were ambushed.

Hear Mr. Iron Fist speak on Saturday: “I have no reason to believe that the majority of these applications will not be approved.”

He added that in his opinion, the level of activity by immigration and police during this period “does not in any way represent any hardening of attitude or abrasive action towards Guyanese nationals.”

Do you understand that people are being ambushed in the dead of the night as they sleep you know!

So what nonsense when Guyanese and OECS nationals are being rounded-up and deported for three reasons.
    Firstly, they are not philanthropists; Secondly, they are part of a ploy in which the DLP wants to create a distraction tactic – so Barbadians would not focus on the economy, but would incorrectly blame Guyanese ( and not the DLP) for the hardship they (Barbadians) now endure; Thirdly, rounding up Guyanese and OECS nationals and deporting them is the DLP’s idea of a job creation strategy – hence the DLP’s public statement that Barbados is for Barbadians first and Thompson’s threat to the local private sector, not to employ people from CARICOM.

Who says history does not repeat itself: “Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali, David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran.”

• Anonymous // June 29, 2009 at 10:25 AM

It is a fact that many citizens of other Caribbean nations are jealous of Barbadians and have been for many years and will be for many years to come. They try to control themselves to an extent while visiting and staying in Barbados. Notice, I say many but not all are jealous. They talk about rough treatment in Barbados but what about how they treat one another in their own countries. These so-called Indo and Afro Guyanese(whatever that means) need to create a climate in their own country where there is justice and fair treatment for all. Wherever they go, some of them take their bad attitudes with them so emigrating to other lands does not improve the situation in their homeland.

• Wishing In Vain // June 29, 2009 at 10:40 AM

The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care” What did you think that means?

Livinginbarbados
    I take it that your status is also in order?

The Ministers statement is not mind boggling or difficult to understand surely????

• Anonymous // June 29, 2009 at 10:48 AM

livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 9:45 am

I have read The Nation article several times to try to understand what the minister actually means. As it does not appear to cite Minister Inniss verbatim, perhaps we have a bit of gobbledygook. But the report states: “Minister of Health Donville Inniss disclosed that public health facilities were under mounting pressure as a result of having to deal with the high number of undocumented immigrants.” and then “The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care”. I cannot reconcile those two points. So, someone help me. How do you CONTINUE to not check status but yet appear to know the status of those making use of the service?
    ————————————————-
    I will not pretend to know what the Minister said, what he intended to say, or what the reporter heard or thought he heard and thereafter interpret.

The two statements seem fair and not at odds to me.

““The Minister said “…the Government would NOT change its policy of not seeking to know peoples immigrant status before providing them with health care”.

I interpret the above to mean that, they do check but NOT for the purpose of determing who gets treated and who get turned away. So there can be statistics from which the Minister’s comments are based.

….Don’t you have to produce your ID card at the QEH? Do illegals have Bajan ID cards? Why do they make us Bajan produce an ID? Cost to patient ratio, maybe? uh mean the QEH can and have told us in the past how many person where patients in a given year, how many where male, female, etc.

The truth is DJ you don’t need nuh help on this one.

• livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 10:51 AM

@WIV
    My status is a matter really between me and the government, but thanks for asking.

I have not seen a statement from the Minister; I read a report from a journalist. If what the minister said were broadcast, then I would gladly listen to that and know whether what the reported conveyed was the same.

David has indicated that status may incidently become known but not be sought specifically, and that makes sense.

• Adrian Hinds // June 29, 2009 at 11:06 AM

Does anyone remember when Shridath Ramphal retired? I need the date and time. I am sure I have a CBC video clip of Shridath speaking to a journalist around that time. The reason I would have save the clip was a rather odd comment he made in response to the journalist question about returning to Guyana to live. Anyone remember? I can’t find it on my current external harddrive and it may be on one of many I have stored away.

• ROMER // June 29, 2009 at 11:11 AM

I think GT girl was more pitied than anything else in the Tent Sunday Night at the Party stand.

I SAY SO !

• Equity // June 29, 2009 at 11:15 AM

So, Anonymous, why would he need to say that Government would not change its policy if “illegals” are putting a strain on local services?

• Jay // June 29, 2009 at 11:16 AM

@WishingInVain

I was wondering the same thing.Pending applications for Skilled certificates do not confer a legal right to stay in Barbados.

The statement also appears quite clear that the Barbados Government seeks to know a person’s status before providing healthcare but does NOT turn away illegal immigrants or appear to report them to the Immigration dept..Therefore,the social service of Healthcare is under threat.

As I’ve said before legally speaking,Only Citizens of Barbados or Legal permanent residents should be accorded the benefit of free healthcare.

• livinginbarbados // June 29, 2009 at 11:28 AM

@Anonymous/10.48am
    “uh mean the QEH can and have told us in the past how many person where patients in a given year, how many where male, female, etc.”

Thanks for the clarification. I would hope a hospital of all places could tell us how many patients it served and if they were male or female (not sure what etc. is). I would even accept ‘casual observation’ on that.

• mash up & buy back // June 29, 2009 at 12:01 PM

I will advise all right thinking barbadians employed as health care workers;nurses,doctors,accounts personnel etc who are in possession of information of illegal persons accessing the health care system,they should inform the enforcement division of the Immigration Department.

Be patriotic and support your prime minister and your country.

• lholder // June 29, 2009 at 12:58 PM

Themis,
    Why wouldn’t you leave me alone. Just kidding. Discussing and debating various issues on the blog is fun, but it requires a lot of time that I, unfortunately, can’t spare.

With regard to access to free health services by immigrants, the United Nations International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights speaks to that issue. Barbados ratified this Covenant in 1973. It was the first CARICOM country to do so. If you require a list of the countries that have ratified the Covenant, let me know.

Article 2 of the Covenant states that:
    1. Each State Party to the present Covenant undertakes to take steps, individually and through international assistance and co-operation, especially economic and technical, to the maximum of its available resources, with a view to achieving progressively the full realization of the rights recognized in the present Covenant by all appropriate means, including particularly the adoption of legislative measures;
    2. The States Parties to the present Covenant undertake to guarantee that the rights enunciated in the present Covenant will be exercised without discrimination of any kind as to race, colour, sex, language, religion, political or other opinion, national or social origin, property, birth or other status; and
    3. Developing countries, with due regard to human rights and their national economy, may determine to what extent they would guarantee the economic rights recognized in the present Covenant to non-nationals.

The specific economic rights referred to in Clause 3 of Article 2 are:
    • The right to work, which includes the right of everyone to the opportunity to gain his living by work which he freely chooses or accepts;
    • The right of everyone to social security, including social insurance;
    • The right of everyone, ‘ particularly in those circumstances where welfare services or social safety nets apply’ (our insertion), to an adequate standard of living for himself and his family, including adequate food, clothing and housing, and to the continuous improvement of living conditions;
    • The right of everyone to the enjoyment of the highest attainable standard of physical and mental health; and
    • The right of everyone to education.

The above Covenant was opened for signature, ratification, and accession by the United Nations General Assembly
    on 16th December 1966 and was entered into force on 3rd January 1976.

Note that the Migrant Workers’ Convention, which came later, sought to address the rights of migrants within the framework laid down by the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights, by the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, and by other applicable international treaties.

• Day Watcher // June 29, 2009 at 12:59 PM

Barbadians may not have paid attention when people like Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali were terrorizing and slaughtering innocent people. But since January 15, 2008 (with the help of Clico’s millions) Barbadians would have been monitoring the rise of a Dictator.

They would have seen David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran, in action

• Jay // June 29, 2009 at 2:42 PM

@Mash up & buy back,

Although I support the immigration crackdown,I think that would be a bad move considering the current Swine Flu problem.Remember,~10% of the Barbados population is illegal & we’re an island if word got out about that no illegal would want to get treated.The only alternative is the current immigration crackdown.

The truth is that our current laws are also being used against us.In Education for instance,Barbados requires that every child be in school & that currently trumps immigration status even though technically only Citizens & Legal permanent residents are entitled to have free education.If the illegal immigrant parent cannot pay for their child to go to school then the Barbados taxpayers are fitted with the bill no matter the child’s status.

This is why I support the following in a truely managed migration package:

Confer Citizenship by descent within Barbados-No newborns born in Barbados will have citizenship unless at least 1 parent is a Legal permanent resident or Citizen of Barbados or hold a Barbados skilled CSME certificate.Keep the citizenship by descent abroad rules the same.CSME Skilled nationals must have payed taxes for at least 5 years in Barbados.This would likely require a change in the Constitution.

Immigration enforcement-Expand the enforcement division of the Immigration Department above what the Auditor General recommended temporarily to deal with the immigration influx of illegal immigrants.

CSME Skilled portion-The reaility is we cannot do without the skilled portion.It would assist in Barbados’ development greatly but ANYTHING beyond that I cannot agree with,period !

Residency-NO ILLEGAL IMMIGRANT WOULD BE GIVEN IMMIGRANT STATUS,period.The so called 5 year BLP amnesty/guest worker program would be totaly revamped into 2 categories.Those whom are in the SKILLED CATEGORY of workers with the relevant degree & job can apply for Immigrant status,while those with NO relevant degrees will have to return home after their job is over.

Marriage-This might require a change in the Constitution,BUT marriage to ANY Bajan would never again confer Citizenship ONLY Barbados legal permanent residency through a Bona fide marriage for at least 5 years.

Voting-This would require another change to the Constitution.Only Citizens of Barbados can vote,those whom are Commonwealth citizens & are legal permanent residents of Barbados will not lose their right to vote after the Constitution change.New Barbados Permanent residents from Commonwealth countries would not be allowed to vote.

Social services-ANY Social service will require the relevant status being confirmed FIRST before the service can be offered.NO IMMIGRATION STATUS,NO SERVICE !

Referendum-All of the above would be implemented by a referendum vote,with current Barbados citizens being allowed to vote ONLY.It would require at least 60% in the approval to move forward so there is no question that the PEOPLE are in charge,NOT CARICOM or GOVERNMENT.

———————————————————————————————————————————————————

Most of the above immigration rules are actually covered by the Caymans & Bermuda exempt the CSME portion,Referendum & marriage since I believe they require it to be at least 10 years,which is ridiculous imo.

• Jay // June 29, 2009 at 2:43 PM

BTW,Does anyone know where I may get a copy of the current Barbados immigration rules as it relates to the implemented managed migration policy.

• Jay // June 29, 2009 at 2:49 PM

Here is another article concerning an Antiguan who believes the Prime Minister got it right,but the reality it is something the people have been clamoring over for sometime.

http://www.myantiguabarbuda.com/

“THE PRIME MINSTER OF BARBADOS IS BOSS

Prime Minister Thompson of Barbados is paving a new path to true Caribbean integration.

The fundamental problem we are facing regarding immigration is this: Irresponsibility. The governor of the ECCB recently mentioned the lack of fiscal responsibility on the part of Antigua and Barbuda, and Jamaica. A few more countries can be added to this list. I want to suggest that it is also political and civil service irresponsibility that is at the heart of the problem.

There are penalties for running a country or an immigration department worse than a peanut vendor. Barbados is taking a responsible approach to immigration and the irresponsible Caribbean nationals, including Norman Girvan, are upset. They are upset because they still do not get it: Running any country, in particular a developing country with a post slavery society, demands almost a slavish attention to professional responsibility. Freedom is not free.

In the context of the Free Movement of People, there can be no such thing until the wild and vulgar degrees of political and civil service freedom we practise are replaced by responsibility; not perfection, just plain old measurable and manageable responsibility, as Prime Minister Thompson is trying to chart. Without this, Free Movement of People will be nothing but a public guttural exercise on a public toilet.

And by the bye, Antigua and Barbuda should NOT enter an IMF program. If we do, our lack of fiscal and other professional responsibilities will mean that not even dog will want to eat our supper.”

• Jack Bowman // June 29, 2009 at 2:54 PM

One of the most striking things about all the populist demagoguery surrounding this issue is that Bajan “reporters” and “journalists” are largely reduced to reporting what is said in the foreign press. It’s breathtaking.
    In any other country with a “free” media, the local press would have been all over this story like a cheap suit. Every politician and civil servant with some connection to the immigration issue would be plagued by reporters wanting to know some actual facts. How many illegal immigrants are in the country? How many are employed and therefore contributing to the local economy? How many are destitute and therefore a drain on resources? What is a sudden upward pressure on wages likely to do to business confidence? Will the jobs left vacant by deported immigrants be filled by Bajans?
    Given the facts, other journalists would be estimating the likely economic impact on Barbados of a sudden exodus of immigrants. Unless they’re growing all their own food, making all their own clothes, living on the street and walking everywhere, immigrants are contributing to this economy simply by buying goods and services. It might be the case that their contribution is offset by other factors (are they swamping the schools and the doctors’ offices, for example?) but in the absence of reliable data the whole discussion is moot. Or rather, it ceases to be any kind of cost-benefit analysis and degenerates into the kind of “Guyanese-are-smelly” infantile bigotry that infects some of the discussion on this very thread.
    As far as I can see, Bajan “reporters” are people who go to press conferences, keep their mouths shut and write down what the guy in the suit says. Or they re-write corporate press releases and then publish them as news stories. On any realistic ranking of priorities, at the moment it really isn’t important to know what was said at the graduation ceremony of every single school on this island. Bajan “reporters” aren’t journalists. They’re typists.

• Inkwell // June 29, 2009 at 3:53 PM

If some Caricom nationals are known to be exploiting the fact that any child born in Barbados automatically acquires citizenship, should we not be moving to plug this loophole?

At what point does an Immigration Officer deny a visitor entry on the basis that she might give birth here?

Is a visitor ever denied entry for that reason?

• Day Watcher // June 29, 2009 at 4:41 PM

It is clear that like Pol Pot and Hiller did with the Jews – the DLP is targeting Indo-Guyanese.

But while the decent people in our society is saying “yes” to a Guest Worker programme; respect for the laws of Barbados and managed Migration – they are saying a loud “no” to Thompson’s cruel and inhumane treatment of Guyanese, in particular.

But, even before Thompson spoke, several Guyanese had already complained that their permits were not being renewed even though they kept checking with the immigration department.

Notice that “Thompson the Terrible” – made absolutely no reference to the number of Guyanese his administration deported, as part of its clampdown – who had merely gone in to the Immigration Department for a renewal, but were ambushed.

Thompson just does not get it!

Does he understand that Guyanese are being ambushed in the dead of the night, as they are asleep?

• Negroman // June 29, 2009 at 4:46 PM

I am surprise that no one has taken note of the Nation Newspaper attempt to inject the notion that Barbadians are targeting Guyanese & even robbing them

It is indeed interesting that the robbery of that Guyanese family had to be prominently display on the inside front of today’s edition of the Nation Newspaper.
    What message was the Nation trying to send?

The Nation Newspaper is playing a very dangerous game in Barbados.I believe the authorities must act in a decisive manner with the Nation Newspaper.It seems it is hell bent on distorting the facts with this immigration issue.

Sir Shridath Ramphal is talking abou ethnic cleansing.
    Yes I support ethnic cleansing.Barbados must be cleanse from the harm the Indo-Guyanese will bring to the country.We do not want the ethnic clashes that occurring between the Indo-Guyanese & Black Guyanese transplanted into Barbados.That is why we must rid the country of all the Indo-Guyanese who have no respect,love or appreciation for Black people.Sir Shriadath Rampahal you & musty Norman Faria should be put out of Barbados.

Yes I believe in ethnic cleansing that is why the local rat catcher/mango seller Indian & Pakistani communities in Barbados must be monitor & controlled .We must keep a lid on those rat catcher/mango seller bastards because we do not want Black Barbados to disintegrate into the violent,turbulent societies that are India & Pakistan today. We do not want any suicide mass bombers in Barbados who will kill just for political or religious reasons.Ethnic cleansing of Barbados will mitigate those threats.
    Yes we want ethnic cleansing to minimize the total disrespect and bad treatment those same rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani dished out to Black people.We all know to well how that Indian monster Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited fame treat her Black Barbadian workers.The verbal & some times physical abuse are well documented in Barbados. She is an Indian monster to say the least.Yes we want ethnic cleansing to stop the harsh treatment that stinking Indian Thomas Harris of Josef’s restaurant fame from occurring.He has the habit of throwing the workers weekly wages at them when the workers go to collect their wages.He is a hater of Black people.His brother Peter Harris of CGI Insurance is a similar monster to him.He uses Black women and then discard them them like garbage.His company CGI Insurance have questionable insurance practises that I believe should be investigated by the supervisor of insurance.

Yes I support Sir Shridath Ramphal with his ethnic cleansing call.Barbados needs it to preserve our country from the horrors other countries in this world face with a build up of other ethnic groups.

• Day Watcher // June 29, 2009 at 4:48 PM

Here is what inspired the DLP’s Inhumane Deportation Policy:
    1. Guyanese and people from the OECS are not philanthropists, hence Thompson will not have any use for them.
    2. Guyanese and people from the OECS form part of a distraction tactic – so Barbadians would not focus on the economy, but would incorrectly blame Guyanese ( and not the DLP) for the hardship they (Barbadians) now endure.
    3. Rounding up Guyanese and OECS nationals and deporting them is the DLP’s idea of a job creation strategy – hence the DLP’s public statement that Barbados is for Barbadians first and Thompson’s threat to the local private sector, not to employ people from CARICOM.
    Who says history does not repeat itself: “Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali, David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran.”

David Thompson hates Guyanese as much as Hitler hated the Jews.

• mash up & buy back // June 29, 2009 at 6:20 PM

See how starbroek news and the Nation newspaper are riling up the guyanese.

Today a guyanese commenting on starbroek news has suggested that prime minister thompson wear a bullet proof vest this week.

The BLP yardfowls who are bajans mind you,are suggesting on this blog that the prime minister should be poisoned down there.

When you listen to people like ivan linton on the call -in shows and some blp supporters man they are in their glee that barbados name is being tarnished – all because it is happening under thompson’s watch.

• Ruel Daniels // June 29, 2009 at 6:51 PM

Yeah right. Day Watcher and his ilk are guilt tripping Bajans into ethnic suicide.

Racism and Genocide against Africoids In West Papua and Melanesia
    Posted: Monday, December 24, 2001

By Nubiyang

After Africa, Asia has the largest population of people of African descent. That number is about 500,000,000 (five hundred million people) who belong to the two branches of the Black race. One branch is the Negroid Branch composed of Africans, Americas-Africans, Afro-Europeans, Melanesians, Papuans, Agta of the Philipines, Fijians-New Caledonians and other Melanesians.

The other group are also of the Negroid African race and consist of the Black Dalit and Black Tribals of India (see http://dalitstan.org ), as well as Australian Aboriginals. In the case of Australian Aboriginals, studies show their origins to be in the Sahara and East Africa, where people who look exactly like them, such as the Tibbou, still exist.

Today, Blacks in East Timor, SE Asia, West Papua, Australia and Melanesia as well as the Indian Ocean Islands are being systematically oppressed and exterminated or wiped out. THE ATROCITIES COMMITTED AGAINST AFRICOIDS IN MELANESIA IS PART OF A POLICY CALLED THE “ASIANIZATION PROGRAM,” WHERE ALL BLACKS AND EVENTUALLY AUSTRALIAN AND NEW ZEALAND WHITES, CHINESE AND OTHERS LIVING IN PLACES LIKE INDONESIA ARE TO BE ELIMINATED AND THE LANDS OF BLACKS TAKEN OVER BY THE MALAYS OF INDONESIA ( see http://www.westpapua.net ) http://www.koteka.net http://www.gn.apc.org/tapol

Nubiyang

• mash up & buy back // June 29, 2009 at 8:08 PM

Ruel Daniels

Why don’t you do more regular posts at Sarbroek and give us some support there,same as you are doing here?

Your guyanese kin folk are really going too far and are turning off many bajans.

• Anon // June 30, 2009 at 8:30 AM

Anonymous says:

“The Prime Minister presented some facts that showed that no plane loads of Guyanese are being deported.
    Mr. Prime Minister Barbadians have your back on this immigration policy”.

Americans had Bush back on the war in Iraq to. But now they got his head.

You see, I understand what Thompson is doing. It is as pellucid as day. Thompson has failed to deliver the “change” that he promised in his campaign. He has failed to manage the economy and deliver the social goods for Barbadians.

Unemployment is skyrocketing, foreign reserves are falling rapidly, poverty is on the rise in Barbados again, businesses are in trouble, and tourism arrivals are on the decline, with a $7 million cut in welfare support the vulnerable groups in Barbados are suffering. In fact the Guyanese humanitarian amongst us, Dame Olga Seales is hard at work again trying to feed our children and comfort our adults. She has done more work to uplift this country than our present English Prime Minister and his St. Lucian wife and for that Thompson wants to lick up this country.

But I blame Barrow for all the mess we are in now. Had he not written into our constitution provisions that to allow the likes of this red little missy boy Thompson to become a Barbadian, we would not now be faced with this problem. We would have been living happily with our Caribbean brothers and sisters not like sheep and goats the way the English lives.

Thompson does not care how many families he destroys with his hate policies, after all he did not come from a happy himself. His father and brother both when to prison, and, well I need not say anymore as it relates to his mother and sister.

The only word for Barbadians at this time is to hold on. In a couple years we will rectify this problem. Peter Wickham has already warned Thompson and the DLP that this DLP will be a one term government. Mia Mottley is our only hope. She is a young dynamic, brilliant woman. She has all the characteristics of a future leader of this country and Barbadians must give her a chance to prove herself. She understands economics, she is sincere, and she is industrious and worked hard for all she owns. These things cannot be said for Thompson. He is lazy, dose not have a clue about economic, never worked for anything in life and lives on the easy side of life.

His law practice was given to him, his political life was given to him, his wealth was given to him by Clico even the recent QC status was given to him. With all this free living how can he ever take life seriously? He will always see politics and life in general as a blood sport

• Veritas // June 30, 2009 at 8:51 AM

BU, the above comment is pathetic and sad and I very much pity this lost soul who is prompted to such sordid untruths. It adds nothing to be debate and no doubt the writer is masturbating while writing it!

This is someone crying out to be noticed by David Thompson. He is consumed with Thompson’s personal life – as was Royalrumble elsewhere.

Prime Minister, please find some time to engage this deranged blogger. Give him a little attention.

• Ruel Daniels // June 30, 2009 at 9:01 AM

Ruel Daniels

Why don’t you do more regular posts at Sarbroek and give us some support there,same as you are doing here?

Your guyanese kin folk are really going too far and are turning off many bajans.

Stabroeknews began censoring my posts a while back. My comments are too vocal about the marginalization of black people in Guyana. There are no black owned newspaper in Guyana, and very few black blogs.

If I was Barbadian, I would not care a rat’s ass what people write in a newspaper in a different country. What do you expect, and who do you think is writing that shit under black sounding names? Why even make an attempt to defend yourself in an arena where the judge, jury and prosecutor are all biased. Pick your turf to fight, and pick one where you are offered the best footing to wage war.

The fact of the matter is that the President of Guyana and his racist administration are driving people out of the country. On top of that, he expects Barbados to foot the bill while they scurry off with the national loot in Guyana. Read the editorial from the Stabroek News which point out that the auditor general of Guyana claims that billions of dollars from lottery and other places is not being deposited in the national treasury. This money could have been used for developmental projects that would keep Guyanese at home.

This is not a immigration issue, unless that is how you wish to argue it. This is an issue about the administration in a large and resource rich nation that has resulted in its citizens fleeing into and becoming a burden on the limitted resources of a nation that is a mere fraction in size of the abuser. This is about direliction of its obligation by a regime in Guyana that took 168 million dollars from a pension fund to give to an Indian Businessman who was under indictment for fuel smuggling at the time. Barbadian activists need begin framing this debate in a manner that gets to the source of the problem, rather than playing defensively to hostile bowlings down one particular line of the pitch.

• David // June 30, 2009 at 9:22 AM

Interesting to hear Prime Minister Baldwin Spencer to Antigua issuing a statement which aligns with Prime Minister David Thompson on the immigration matter. For those who continue to centre the debate on Thompson and Barbados they are clearly off the mark.

• David // June 30, 2009 at 9:36 AM

@Themis

Your last point is valid and could have been avoided if the previous administration had shown some leadership on the matter of a relevant immigration policy. Now many in the region admit there is a problem but Thompson for showing guts is being used as the poster boy. People need to address the bigger issue. Why are Guyanese of all hue leaving one of the most resource laden countries in this region?

• West Indian // June 30, 2009 at 10:06 AM

Day Watcher says; “Who says history does not repeat itself: “Pol Pot, Benito Mussolini, Adolph Hitler, Idi Amin, Slobodan Milosevic, Charles Taylor Osama Bin Laden, Chemical Ali, David Thompson of Barbados and Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and Ali Khamenei of Iran.”

“David Thompson hates Guyanese as much as Hitler hated the Jews”

I support your comments Day Watcher because it makes the point I have been making all along. Thompson is using this Guyanese issue as a distraction from his monumental failings on the economy.

I am willing to be quoted as having said on this 30th day June 2009 that David Thompson will go down in history as the worse Prime Minister this country has ever had.

• The Scout // June 30, 2009 at 10:38 AM

West Indian
    Your statement of P.M Thompson being the worse P.M this country has ever known is noted. However, worse is just a relative comparison, to me he will go down in history as one of the leading P.M not only in Barbados but in the modern region. Many other P.M’s in the region owes great gratitude to P.M Thompson for being strong enough to bring this vexing matter of illegal migration to the fore. Now some of these P.M’s are lining up behind our P.M to have this matter resolved but my P.M is bold enough to talk the bullets because he is supported by the vast majority of Bajans. Therefore let’s sit back and watch this matter unfold. POWER to our GREAT PRIME MINISTER.

• David // June 30, 2009 at 10:42 AM

West Indian, Day Watcher et al please don’t assume that BU is silly. Pick a handle and make your point and avoid the discussions with yourself.

• Adrian Hinds // June 30, 2009 at 1:41 PM

Comments attributed to Shridath Ramphal :
    “He maintained that ‘The knock on the door at night’ is not within our regional culture; still less are intimations of ‘ethnic cleansing’”.

———————————————–
    Indeed indo-Guyanese are not native to Barbados in the context and history of our sovereign state, and I use “indo” interchangeably with INDICS as used and defined by Professor Allsopp. I am also checking for recent incidents that were both define as “ethnic cleansing” by reputable sources, Shridath not included, and that was marked by deportation to another country, which viewed the deportees as they own.

If Shridath truly believe that ethnic cleansing is not indicative of our deepest nature, why would he enter any thoughts of such into the debate?

Maybe he does not see the Prime Minister of Barbados, as the leader of Barbados, for the article continues with Shridath saying
    ——————————-

““No Caribbean leader would countenance such departures from our norms and values; but all must not only believe, but also act as if they believe, that we forget our oneness at our peril; whether the ‘otherness’ that displaces it is an accidental place of regional birth, or otherness of any kind.”
    ——————————-

When will Shridath, and Ricky Singh speak to Trini and Guyanese Indic leaders about the history of Apanjaat? Why did he and others not take Peter Wickham to task for his labored views as contained in his two articles Accident by Birth? Where he highlighted the depths of the divided between the two ethnic groups. Can Shridath honestly recall why he chose to live in Barbados rather than returned to Guyana? Professor Allsopp told us why he chose to live and die in Barbados, tell us Shridath why you would continue to live in a country that seemly display “intimations of ethnic cleansing”

What oneness could he be musing about that exist in and with Guyana today? Certainly if I happen to run into Shridath I will seek an explanation from him as to what he really means. Any respect I might have had for him (as I do all older people nothing more nothing less) is now lost and must be earned anew.

“No Caribbean leader would countenance such departures from our norms and values; but all must not only believe, but also act as if they believe, that we forget our oneness at our peril; whether the ‘otherness’ that displaces it is an accidental place of regional birth, or otherness of any kind.”

• Adrian Hinds // June 30, 2009 at 1:49 PM

David // June 30, 2009 at 10:42 am

West Indian, Day Watcher et al please don’t assume that BU is silly. Pick a handle and make your point and avoid the discussions with yourself.
    ————————————————

if you are “intimate” with Apanjaat (ones own kind) Then having a conversation with one self becomes natural. Must be a Guyanese Indic.

• Ruel Daniels // June 30, 2009 at 5:42 PM

If Shridath truly believe that ethnic cleansing is not indicative of our deepest nature, why would he enter any thoughts of such into the debate?

##########################

Why don’t Ramphall speak of the ethnic cleansing of blacks from the public and civil service in Guyana. He choose to live in Barbados under a black Government, but heaps criticisms on it while ignoring the hurt the Indian party in Guyana is causing blacks. That is why it is so galling to listen to white black people criticizing Barbados. It is no wonder the blackman is still at the back of the bus. The “massa we sick” syndrome has become a pervasive facet of the personality of too many of us.

Why are people from a family that live in a big house loeaving that house to go seek help from a family that live in House that is a fraction the size of their home. These John Steinbeck’s Lennies have to be the most miserable black people since the house slaves who sold their brothers down the drain. Here you have an ethnocracy in Guyana that orchestrated the lynching of hundreds of black people criticizing a small nation like Barbados because it attempts to avert the experiences of Guyana, Trinidad and Tobago and Fiji. And a whole bunch of stepping fletch negros jitturburging and shuffling obsequiously before the replacement massas abd lamenting “we sick” What a bunch of…………

• mash up & buy back // June 30, 2009 at 6:15 PM

Ruel Daniels

I am glad you explained to me what Starbroek news is all about.

They are part of the portugese clan that does not care about black people.

Keep up the fight for your people.

• Anonymous // June 30, 2009 at 6:54 PM

Can someone tell me why is Stetson Babb still being used as a moderator/talk show host?

Whenever a caller ask him for a comment – he usually mumbles – I am listening to you.

He never has an opinion on anything.

So what is his real purpose?

• David // June 30, 2009 at 8:13 PM

Submitted on 2009/06/30 at 6:54pm

Can someone tell me why is Stetson Babb still being used as a moderator/talk show host?

Whenever a caller ask him for a comment – he usually mumbles – I am listening to you.

He never has an opinion on anything.

So what is his real purpose?

He will tell you he is a journalist and therefore should avoid promoting opinions. It makes one wonder what role can he play as moderator from that psoition.

The real reason we suspect is economic, Vic knows he does not have to pay Stetson extra as he would have to pay a non employee.

• The Scout // July 1, 2009 at 1:07 AM

On tonight’s Caribbean News, Antigua P.M admitted that what P.M David Thompson is doing is a step in the right direction as his country is also being over-runned by illegals. This vindicates my P.M for taking a bold step that all the other cowards were scared to make. I think you would find that many regional leaders will fall-in behind Mr Thompson next week at the summit meeting.

• 123 // July 2, 2009 at 7:14 AM

Guyanese High Commission in Bridgetown? Here comes the real tsunami>>>>>>>

• Dark Knight // July 2, 2009 at 11:34 AM

In the interest of regional integration and a restoration of Errol Barrow’s legacy, which is in danger of being vandalised by Thompson – the only decision that Regional Heads should take at this Summit – should be a reshuffle of the Quasi-CARICOM Cabinet.

Until a change of government in Barbados and the re-election of the BLP – Thompson should be replaced by either Manning or the Guyana President, and strip from having lead responsibility for the CSME.

• Anonymous // July 5, 2009 at 5:30 PM

So are you saying Adrian Hinds that East Indians are native to Guyana, they came 300 hundred years after we came there, they are still counting the years that they have been in Guyana, 168 years to be exact. The East Indians when they go overseas never say they are from Guyana, they see Guyana as a black peopl country, they are East Indian first, and then British too them to work in Guyana. I too want to know why Sir Ramphal lives in Barbados.

• J // July 7, 2009 at 9:28 PM

Dear Anonymous you asked “I too want to know why Sir Ramphal lives in Barbados.”

He lives in Barbados because Barbados is a good place to live.

• mash up & buy back // July 26, 2009 at 12:17 PM

David/BU

I want you and the bloggers to pay attention to what happened to this jamaican citizen,AND NOTE WHAT THE IMMIGRATION AND DRUG OFFICERS TOLD HIM ABOUT JAMAICANS.

I am watching to see if the Nation and roxanne gibbs will have some shame and in the interest of fairness and balance in reporting will pick up this story in the same way they were picking up all the lies and negative stories about Barbados that were being carried daily in the Starbroek News.

Let me see if VOB and CBC carry it also.

Stranded Jamaican rescued by kind hearted Guyanese family
    July 26, 2009 | By KNews | Filed Under News
    Despite his traumatic ordeal, a 27-year-old Jamaican is expressing his gratitude to a Guyanese family who provided him with food and shelter when he needed it most.
    Harvey Anderson was taken in by a North Ruimveldt family after he was found wandering in the Stabroek Market area, following his release from the custody of local drug agents.
    Anderson had been holidaying in Guyana for a month and when he was about to board a flight back to his homeland on Wednesday morning, he was taken off the flight by anti narcotics officers who claimed that they suspected that he had ingested cocaine.

Jamaican Harvey Anderson is thankful to his ‘Good Samaritan’ Philippa Pearson.
    “They bring me to a hospital and they did two X-ray on me, and they say I’m discharged. They bring me back to the office, they don’t have no where to put me,” Anderson told this newspaper.
    Anderson, who is visiting Guyana for the first time, said that he told the drug agents that he only had one friend in Guyana and could not make contact with him at the immediate moment.
    He said that all the time he was detained, the drug agents refused to allow him a telephone call to contact his local friend.
    Not knowing the city very well and strapped for cash, Anderson was released into the unknown on Thursday.
    He made his way to the Stabroek Market area and despite his pleas for help he was left stranded until a ‘Good Samaritan’ in the form of Philippa Pearson saw him.
    “I ask the friend if they can put me up for just the night because they told me I was gonna fly back out the Friday morning and up till now, I don’t fly as yet,” the Jamaican told this newspaper.
    Pearson said that she met Anderson by the Stabroek Market and when he related his story to her she was overwhelmed.
    “I see he on the park and I ask he wha going on and he tell me exactly what happen with he and he ain’t got nowhere to stay. They just dump the guy by big market. I pick he up and got him here for the li’l time,” Pearson explained.
    She said that since then she has been contacting the drug enforcement unit and no proper arrangement is being made for Anderson to be sent back home.
    “They just keep telling me that I got to wait on this body, that body. I had to ask them how they expect this man to eat. Now the line ringing long, long and nobody is answering,” Pearson said.
    “They don’t give me no money fi feed meself. They don’t even put me inna hotel or nothing. I have to charter me own taxi to go out and thing like dat. Those thing nah right,” the Jamaican said.
    “This leave an impression that I will never want to fly on a plane again, much less to come back to Guyana. I heard bout Guyana and this is the impression I get. They tell me dat I’m a Jamaican and I have drugs. I tell them, ‘If you know I’m a Jamaican and I have drugs, then tell them dat you don’t want no Jamaican in your country,” Anderson stated.

• mash up & buy back // July 26, 2009 at 12:20 PM

David

Could you highlight the article and do a story around it?

Thanks.

Leave a Comment