As we do with the 11-plus Examination Barbadians engage the same conversations every year come Crop Over time; too much wukkin-up, lyrics too lewd and quality of the music, and the stakeholders who stoke controversy etc. In 2009, add to the list whether the festival should proceed in light of the H1N1 virus threat and the mother of all issues the leak of the 18 semi-finals of the Pic-O-De-Crop competition.
What is evident to BU is the transition from a culture driven festival to one greatly influenced by economic considerations. Is it not obvious to the decision makers that there is a conflict of interest if the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) continues in the role of sole producer of the festival? The Crop Over Festival is the premier national event used to attract visitors to Barbados, a bonus benefit is the large number of Barbadians living overseas who see Crop Over as the ideal time to visit the land of their birth. There is no question the important economic activity which is linked to Crop Over.
In our opinion culture issues have taken a backseat in recent years at the expense of running the festival as a business. BU has no issue with the need to make money, however it is important to have the correct model to satisfy the business side as well as the need to facilitate cultural expression.
The burning question which must be given serious thought is, can the NCF adequately enable the environment to accommodate cultural expression and in the process grow the cultural industries in Barbados?
The Crop Over Festival in Barbados has become subsumed by one stakeholder, the Calypsonians. The NCF has had to allocate disproportionate resources to manage this disorganized group through the years. The perception seeded in the public domain and given root suggests a high level of distrust which exist between the NCF and the Calypsonians. Barbados has been overseeing Crop Over too long for the controversy level to be at critical year after year.
We listened very carefully to Christopher Sinckler singing the benefits of the EPA with the EU when he had responsibility for Foreign Affairs, Foreign Trade and International Business. One of the selling points was the economic opportunity the EPA would provide for our entertainers. He was at pains though to point out that Barbados had a lot of work to do to build structure to our entertainment industry if Barbados was to capitalize on the EPA. The EPA was signed on the 15 October 2008 and to date BU remains ignorant about any initiatives to efficiently organize the entertainment sector in Barbados. Is the NCF responsible for managing the cultural and entertainment industries in Barbados to ensure a smooth transition from an immature to competitive industry which can compete on the EU stage?
Until we have some sense about the role of the NCF in the overall strategy of managing the cultural industries cum entertainment industry in Barbados we are going no where fast.

David
How do you feel about T.C. coming 9th and colin spencer last?
Mash Up Buy Back,
I feel dat dese judges (if ya can call dem dat) does be listenin to something else. How on earth can TC come before Spencer or Ruel and Heehaw come before him too? Gimme a break man.I was hoping beyon’ hope tonite dat TC woulda come 12th outta 10. She is a real show- hog man. Can’ tek she a’ tall.
I luv de bag wid everyting in me man. I doan kno’ if is possible to luv he any moe.
RED PLASTIC BAG I LOVE YOU.
Just got back from Georgetown a.k.a Spring Garden. The Guyanese tek over Crop Over.
RPB is the greatest.
Anonymous,
Please don’t mention de great RPB and dese GT Banna humbugs in de same breff. It is distasteful. (if dah is a word)
LONG LIVE THE ‘KING’……RPB.
Bonny
I agree with you a 100%.
Anon
Are you saying there was a large contigent of guyanese?
I thought they were frighten to show their face for fear that immigration pick them up.
It seems as though roxanne gibbs and starbroek news did their jobs well – now the P.M. and immigration backing off sending home these illegals.
@Mash up
Spenscer appeared flat in rendition and very stiff on the stage, he had no energy.
TC was a little better but not by much.
The truth is the separation between RPB and the rest was significant and it reflected in the final points tally.
The only change possibly would have been Blood ahead of John King but 6 one half dozen the next
It was a poor competition compared to previous years.
I agree. The competition was a little lacklustre this time around. But I enjoyed it anyway in the ambience of my living room with some good food, drinks (non-alcoholic) and family and friends. This is our ritual every Finals night. And anybody dat is not hailing for my King,the Bag, knows that he/she is not welcome.(not fa true)
Colin spencer has a real sweet voice and I don’t know that you have to be jumping and prancing all over de stage. (he could sing me a lullaby any time)
I was finding difficulty in the diction in some of the songs too. I doan kno boe. Seems like anyting goes dese days for de Finals. Stupseeeeeeeeeee.
I still trying to undastan Bumba in day.I like I missin sumting.
Anyway, “wuk up pun it, wuk up pun it”. She come in from Hinglan wid out any ‘usband, looking fa a real man. Wuk up pun it, wuk up pun it.
Bimbro ya hear whay she come from? Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, wuk up pun itttttttttttttt.
But David,
Rendition is only 25 points,and surely rendition means more than not wukking up or moving all over the stage.
I sense the real calypsonians are fed up wid dese crazy judges.
Bonny peppa,Please be careful when yuh wukkin up on it because yuh just might butt up on a swine – and get some flu – and dat will be real ‘do fo do’.
How yuh likes muh?
Mash up & buy back,
According to a fam’lee memba who was enjoying his wknd. delicacy of puddin n’souse, “how dis cud gih anybody de flu? not my swine man. Cuh dearrrr”.
Mash up, I am an optimist and strongly believe in fate or destiny and if Bonny is to ketch de ‘swine’, she gun ketch um regardless caus dere is always de ‘unguarded moment’. Agree? So worry not about things you have no control over and live and let live , dawlin. It is a small world. Let not ya heart be troubled.
Ya gine an ‘fire’ one now fa de Crop? Ya very rite.I can’ tolerate de drinks or I would ‘fire ‘one ta. Cheerssssssssssssssss
Feedback on Cohobblopot anyone?
From all reports another flat show compared to last year.
Montana ran a similar set from last year and some are asking if the experiment is working.
My man King Shepherd did not perform as was advertised so de Show was more than flat for me. Disappointing as france man.
I enjoyed the Immigration something with Nard, the Chinese fella and can’t remember the other name now. But they were so amusing especially NARD. He is a real mental case.
Stabby de guard cud wuk uup real good hear. He had my mout waterin. Lordddddddddddddddddddd.
I will be returning home to Barbados soon, and as a returning national who has been away for a long time, I have been examining Barbados and Barbadians from a sociological perspective during my recent numerous visits.
I have to say that I am confused, perplexed, and disappointed by what I see, at least on the surface. It seems that though the country has advanced economically, it seems stagnant and mired in maintaining heritage issues at the expense of advancing the culture, and by extension, its citizens.
I hope to write more on these issues at a later time. I just happened upon this website and felt the impulse to say something of the cuff.
I must add that there are many other things about Barbados that I find impressive. Heading that list are the advances of the young people, male and female, who I consider to be equally knowledgeable to their counterparts, and possibly more so, in other parts of the world, particularly the industrialized countries, particularly in the new technologies.