Will Senator Kerri Symmonds Resign Or Be Fired?

Senator Kerrie Symmonds

Of course Barbados Underground (BU) is in favour of Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation hitting the statute books. We live in times where motives fuelled by greed and materialistic intent have permeated our society. Why should we feel our public officials have been passed over? Note we wrote public officials and did not isolate politicians.

The government of Barbados when in opposition promised to enact Integrity and Freedom of Information legislation, nineteen months later the status report is the committee charged with creating draft recommendations has submitted to the Cabinet for review. Commonsense suggests the process for implementing such delicate legislation in a tiny country will require finesse in decision making and implementation. What is sure if we read the political play unfolding, this legislation if implemented will occur on the eve of the next general election.

If Barbados is to reign in the indiscipline facing the nation key stakeholders must be guided to play by the rules of engagement. Politicians are the most visible public officials in our government led economy and their actions attract scrutiny from a nosy public. A nosy public bred in a small domicile where we all know the business of the neighbour. When former President Bill Clinton abused the Oval Office by engaging in activity of the cunnilingus kind the BU household unlike many in Barbados felt he had betrayed the office of President and should have immediately done the honourable thing.

Recent reports of domestic issues affecting young Senator Symmonds is regrettable. The question which will be asked if the Judge accepts a recent protection order filed by his wife tomorrow, will it cost him his job as Senator?

Given his visibility BU would recommend to do the honourable thing and resign if he finds himself at the short end tomorrow.

194 Responses to Will Senator Kerri Symmonds Resign Or Be Fired?

1. Minding my business, But I want to Know

correction
    I should have said that I understand she is the one spreading the news.That’s the talk going around.

2. @ Bush Tea,

Man Bonny Peppa only teasing you. She luvs to read you too. She also admires you for your brain. The logical thinking, clear vision of the future, etc.

Yuh got time to waste with them people that living in barbados? Man, after reading a couple of the posts, I just pass them by.

Just came in from the garden. Picked about 2 lbs. beans and 6 star zuccinis, couple tomatoes. Have to go cut my callaloo tomorrow before she flowers. This will be my 5th cutting. The corn looking good. We will be yamming dem in about two weeks. I just love the outdoors in the summertime.

@ROK

Me, I checking you out when I come home. Yuh straight? Leh muh kno’ first. I n got nuh problem if yuh aint, yuh hear?

However, I think we will at least have matching heads – snow on the mountain tops.

3. Minding my business But want to Kno,
    “She is a BITER at large”.
    I hope he in ketch rabies. Dese human dogs like ta much bitin’ man.

But common sense, which isn’t as common as we think, would tell her that she would need to be accompanied by a police officer to retrieve her ‘tings’.That applies in common law situations not sure if the same would apply in this case.

Look, Kerri and Andrea, try an kiss an make up do. Think about the child or children involved man. Life isn’t a bed of roses. Put all differences aside and mek uup do. All relationships got de humps and lumps, so what. It’s the welfare of the children that bothers me.I believe strongly in the nuclear family man.
    Get wunna blasted act together and cut out the trivials man.
    Life is too damn short.

4. Pat
    Nite hunny.
    I was enjoying you til you start getting ‘funny’ wid my ROK. He’s my ROK of Gabralta and me ain’t lettin him go. So please, be off. Lemme kno’ when you comin home dat I cud cah my ROK on a trip to Las Vegas. (Hope he return alive)

You can have the Bush Tea doc. OK? He’s my huny-suckle too but I doan mind sharing he wid you. Can be sa stingy.

Nitey-nite dawlin.
    Enjoy ya garden full of veggies.

5. @Pat

That head must be pretty enough. You got me a bit puzzled though. All them men up there and you coming to little Barbados for me? I am flattered.

@Bonny
    Don’t worry, I will always have the hots for you.

6. livinginbarbados

@AH
    The video was interesting watching. The two ladies watched the Kerrie Symmonds video and gave it a spin that I did not see. They said, “OMG! They’re having a fight. Listen to that. Scratching and stuff. Like cats. Sounds like a jealous tiff.” I never would have seen that myself and that may be because I am not Bajan.

7. You are not making any sense. Would these be the two “shiftless” black people that Kofi quoted you on? wuh they are over at your house on sundays now? You wife know? does she care? lol!

How could they watch the video of Kerrie and be referring to they? ????

8. I believe tht kerrie and Andrea should go they seperate ways. Why I say this if they do make up for the children sake, they would not trust each any more and the relationship would get worse.

9. I believe that Kerrie and Andrea should go they seperate ways. Why I say this if they do make up for the children sake, they would not trust each any more and the relationship would get worse.

10. Archi Bull Cocks

The best thing the couple need is a bi-sexual. A man that could please Kerrie and Andrea. He can act as the mediator and intervenor. Kerrie (of BLP ilk) would quickly accept (with approval from Mia) and Andrea would only be happy to add some spice to her life.

11. that one is funny

12. Archie Bull……………Cocks
    What about hens? Dem too? O dearrrrr.
    I kinda agree wid yu. A manage-au-trois
    should more dan ‘spice’ up tings.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

JuJu
    I believe that it can be repaired. Just a little counselling perhaps and they can make a new start. Trust or no trust, man /woman will still do their thing. You think that trust prevents extra marital affairs? It doesn’t. A lot of the times it isn’t what you do but how you do it. A lot of these affairs are very inconspicuous but it doesn’t mean that they don’t happen?
    The ‘good’ book speaks something about ‘not putting your trust in man, he will deceive you everytime’. This includes woman too.

I hope that they can reconcile. After all is said and done, more is said than done.

Wunna try an’mek’ up do, Kerry n’ Andrea.

13. Wishing In Vain

DLP Column: Let’s hear from Mia

In our Manifesto, “Pathways to Progress”, the Democratic Labour Party committed itself to the establishment of a Ministry of Families. With this in mind, we pledged our support to developing programmes and policies to eliminate the serious issues of domestic violence.

In the recent past, we have witnessed the launch of initiatives likes Service Alliance for Violent Encounters (SAVE) Foundation. Miss Liesel Daisley must be commended for coming forward and securing such a programme. The scourge of domestic violence has become a disease that is seeking a cure in the format of a change in attitude.

The Democratic Labour Party’s leadership has been very strong on its Families First agenda over the period in Opposition. Prime Minister David Thompson has taken a no-nonsense approach to matters that erode our social fabric. We have tried to engage the Barbados Labour Party on the need to have a party position on universal matters of this nature.

The current female leader, Mia Mottley, along with Senator Elizabeth Thompson were victims of a most vicious platform attack regarding their persons. As a matter of fact, the females of the Barbados Labour Party were verbally abused in public, much to the disgust of all right-thinking Barbadians.

The Opposition Leader has earned the reputation of speaking her mind on matters of universal importance. She does not mix her words nor does she run from a fight. As a matter of fact, she starts them. Her leadership style has been questioned by some of her peers, but she has remained resolute in her approach to opposition politics.

The recent summoning to our law Courts of one of her Senators has left us puzzled as to the type of leadership she will offer on this matter. One could only imagine if the late Sir Harold St. John or the former Barbados Labour Party leader Sir Henry Forde were in office how swift their condemnation of such actions would have been. After all, the great Sir Henry Forde has won the hearts of all Barbadian women for his unswerving support of legislation concerning common law unions. This piece of legislation has revolutionised how women are treated in unmarried unions.

Mia Mottley has the opportunity to join thousands of activists throughout the world by condemning any form of domestic violence. The task of leadership in any form is not easy, but firm decision-making will always be a hallmark of any solid leader. The Opposition leader must act now and stop the rot that was inherited by her leadership. She inherited disgruntled members of the Democratic Labour Party under the banner of politics of inclusion and have been stuck with them over the years.

She has been given a platform to embrace a pertinent social issue. The matter has been placed squarely on her shoulders to dispense with. The entire country awaits the utterances of the new leadership. We know, based on past experience, that the female leader of the Opposition Party will not allow for any matter to go unattended that would seek to cast a shadow or contaminate the opportunities of her party’s success.

Mia, it’s over to you now. Do what you know is right on this one.

14. Pingback: Understanding The Appointment Of Kerrie Symmonds To The Barbados Senate |

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s