Breaking news!
Fire is still not contained, tenders challenged by low water pressure in the area. Approximately 8 fire appliances are on scene. All BICO staff asked to report to the Cricket Legends car park tomorrow at 8AM for a briefing.
Breaking news!
Fire is still not contained, tenders challenged by low water pressure in the area. Approximately 8 fire appliances are on scene. All BICO staff asked to report to the Cricket Legends car park tomorrow at 8AM for a briefing.
That’s the spirit Canadian. That is exactly the point.
@X-MAN
“With development comes responsibility.”[Therefore, so long as a country does not develop it can continue to be irresponsible?]
+++++++++++++++++
@CCC
Your inserted link goes to an empty page.
Thanks LIB, link repaired!
Pat,
Howdy girlie, but I wonder how much help these sprinklers would be if the water pressure is low. Where I live, the water pressure is mostly very low or off. I wonder if I could sue the BWA if I ever get a house fire and my pressure is off or low. I real serious. Been so for eons.
Crystal Clear
Afterall, they did prod along when a certain fast food outlet started importing their own ice cream
Is this the same fast food outlet that has opposed the introduction of Subway restaurants because “bajans would lose jobs”. I suppose if you import Ice cream instead of using the local product you will be saving jobs.
Talk about hypocrisy.
Sarge,
Correct is right. You always ‘spot on’ wid your comments. You sa smart doe.
A lil competition is always good fa de soul. If your product or service is above par, why de fear? Boggles my mind.
Sarge,
Those were exactly my thoughts.
Talking about water pressure, we listened with interest to government’s plans to aggressively develop housing in St. Philip. What are the plans to develop the water supply. Already St. Philip is a parish which suffers from water issues, maybe this has now become an island view.
i the plumber agrees with the plumbing
@David
I’ve mentioned before that real change often needs ‘catastrophe’. Nature does that with things like fire, hurricanes, earthquakes, floods, which change totally the landscape. These events give the chance for new life to spring up from destruction (see volcano sites months after an eruption, or a fire-burnt area after a few weeks).
A similar process comes in economics, with macro events like a recession but also with micro events such as the BICO fire. Now choices that were put off/resisted have to be made (see US auto firms). Unfortunately, they will occur without an orderly transition that could have been possible if things had happened sooner (US auto firms had to go near bankruptcy). The ‘bargains’ now have different terms (beggars cannot be choosers).
Without speculating, things are rarely the same afterwards, or only in appearances.
You do not have to look far to see plenty of examples.
David,
I live in the middle of the island and my water is always low or off. That is the ‘norm’ for me. I didn’t know of the existing problem in St. Philip where I work. In fact, the pressure is so highhh it is frightening at times.Some times I have to bathe when I get to work or don’t bathe a’tall.
Off topic:
David the Gov/t worker who wasn’t paid for 4-5 mths went to see the representative as you suggested. Bare waste of good time. He said that he knows of the situation and they’re trying to rectify it. Some consolation for a person who hasn’t seen a pay packet recently.
While de grass growing, de poor horse starving.
Does dat mene I in gun get my ice cream tonite?!! Scandalous!!
On a serious note and, at risk of hurting one or two prides, I have n’t actually tasted any of the coy’s ice cream although, I believe, it is on sale here in London – must look out for it!! However, I was once given some Bajan sweets and looked forward to having my first taste of a Bajan sweet, since childhood! I’m sorry to say it tasted so foul I had to spit it out and felt shame-faced that some had been offered to some of the other people at my same place of work!! I could swear I could taste kerosene or some such thing, I assumed used in the manufacture of the product! The product would be scorned if offered in Britain and so I thought, the Barbadian sweet manufacturers really need to ‘up their game’ and improve their product significantly! Hope that’s been done, by now! Sorry to criticise u Bajees but, it’s the only way to improve!!
Barbadians deserve better!!
@Bimbro
Off message. Bimbro your prophecy has come through. I cannot believe it Barbados has WON a gold medal in the athletics. I will have the chance to listen the national anthem- finally. Let’s hope that those immoral politicians do not jump on the band wagon. This is a miracle.
Bimbro,
You will still get your cream but without de ice. Still creamy n’ sweet doe.
Wah dah ‘sweetie’ name dat you had ta spit out boe. I would luv ta kno.
But wate, off topic, how wunna could release dat demon responsible for dat Lockerbie bombing? Becaws he sick, so wah. He could die in prison too. Den again he shoulda had de lethal stick long ago.
X-MAN // August 20, 2009 at 3:10 PM
@Bimbro
Off message. Bimbro your prophecy has come through.
X MAN, MY prophecy?!! Sorry, bro! Not with u there!!
Well Bonny, yuh know, duh too ‘sufisticated’ up hay to hing or execute anybody an if duh stay in jail long enuf yuh can bet some sweet-soul will come along an moan, ‘ent it time we release e’!! I caan bodda wid dese people man!! Sorry as France I has tuh live hay but doan tink I could tek d heat uh Bim, anymore! Boy, I rememba walking through dah blazing sun beating down pun my forehead when I wus gine to school day in Bim an it din trouble me much! Dese days, when it too hot I has to run fuh cover bo!! Problem wiv living in d cold too long is it breks down yuh resistance to d heat!! an dah is way I at dese days!! Could n’t tell u the name of the sweet B. Don’t think I kept it and too, long ago anyway!!
The new building regulations calls for an underground water storage tank of a certain capacity in relation to the size of the building. After many many years we have seen the completion( hopefully) of the Industrial Development building at the top of Newton ,near the roundabout on the ABC Highway. A water storage tank of some 1/2 million gallons was included. The burning question is What is this reserve of water used for?
Would it not be better and more practical to designate these water tanks as Extra Water Supply Tanks, and accessible to the Fire Service when water is needed to fight fires in the area.
Bimbro,
Dese ‘sweet souls’ should rememba dat de heartless ring-neck vagabond took innocent lives and in exchange, his should be surrendered to de State too. Dis is a crazy,crazy world we livin in nah?
I agree with u Bon, but, have u noticed even in Bim, duh seem to b too ‘nice’ now to hing anybody?!!
All things depend on people to do what they are supposed to do. See NYT story on Russia’s infrastructure, http://www.nytimes.com/2009/08/21/business/global/21ruble.html?_r=1&hp. It’s not BICO, or Newton Industrial Park, but…
++++++++++++++++++
Also worth recalling that other fall out may be around the corner, depending on how BICO sits in the financial world, see
http://www.jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/20071017/business/business6.html
Bimbro,
I remember only too well de Attorney General, Mr. Symmonds, promising de populace dat if he is elected dat he would ‘hang em high’. Not a boy in hang high nor low. Ya kno how sweet dah mout could be when dah want to be elected? Dah love ta say wah we want to hear an den……………nutton.’cording to my man Negro, a bag of hot air.
Ur so right, Bonny! Don’t know what Symmonds’ waiting for, at all! Musse lost his nerve!!