Barbados Underground

Ryan Brathwaite Wins Gold At World Track And Field Championships

August 20, 2009 · 246 Comments

Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to celebrate the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene. Brathwaite’s performance this evening to win Gold in the 110 metre hurdles given the vacuum created by our non-performing Barbados and West Indies cricket teams has served to feed the hunger of Barbadians for success from our sports people.

The twenty year old Brathwaite’s performance on the big stage is sure to inspire young Barbadians everywhere that all is possible. Not to be left out are our local officials who can take comfort in the knowledge we have the capacity to produce a world class athlete with home grown talent.

Brathwaite’s success will have other benefits to the country given our reliance on tourism and international services. The respected Barbados brand will continue to take root.

Yella, blue! Yella blue! Yella blue!

Congratulations Ryan!

Categories: Sports · World News
Tagged: ,

246 responses so far ↓

• Mash up & Buy Back // August 20, 2009 at 6:25 PM

Ryan

We are soooooo proud of you.

We are walking with our heads held high.

• Green Monkey // August 20, 2009 at 6:28 PM

Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite for a no doubt very hard earned victory. Now when will the announcers learn that the correct pronunciation for the name “Brathwaite” is “Braffit”. (just kidding)

• A-Fish // August 20, 2009 at 6:52 PM

Ryan Brathwaite, as one of many fellow Barbadians/Bajans, we are so proud of you.

• David // August 20, 2009 at 7:17 PM

A couple of questions:

Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal.

Why did VOB call Sir Othniel Cow Williams for comment immediately after the race?

• George C. Brathwaite // August 20, 2009 at 7:19 PM

Congratulations to Ryan and all those who in any way contributed to his success. I am urging Barbadians to reflect on the common threads among Ryan, Andrea, Obadele, Suki, and all other persons who achieved at the height of their endeavours. I leave with you my observations: determination, commitment, and a strong will to challenge self. These are values that cut across life if you want to achieve. Sacrifice becomes a motor for personal motivation. Do not blame others and take responsibility for self. I am proud of Ryan, and my hopes are raised with the responses of persons around the Caribbean about our successes.

• Technician // August 20, 2009 at 7:32 PM

@ David…

.. Because CBC is pure crap. All along this guy was steadily improving, I had him for the silver because of the class of the Cuban.When I realised the Cuban was out, I said GOLD, needles to say I was laughed at ……until this afternoon.

My problem with CBC is that they missed a grand opportunity to highlight his career all week long, which would have made it fitting for the result.

As for VOB calling Cow……not even going to comment on that other than to nod my head.

Best wishes to him now and in the future.

• X-MAN // August 20, 2009 at 7:51 PM

THE HISTORY MAN
    Ryan you have brought great honour to Barbados with this unprecedented victory. You have rewritten the history book with this historic victory. All of Barbados would like to pay homage to you for this great victory, which is like medicine to a nation in turmoil. In life and in death your name will forever remain a part of this country’s great history. Congratulations and thank you.

• ROK // August 20, 2009 at 7:52 PM

@David
    “Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal.”

Very good David. Would you believe that the Government is going to parliament for the sum of $135,000 to pay for the olympics they have not yet paid for?

Would you also believe that it only costs 9,000USD to carry the games live for the eight days? Now that is news and they in the news business, yet they could pay somebody $100,000 to run their CBC socaholics promotions and that ain’t news.

As for COW. He is the godfather of Barbados and no doubt he will ride on Ryan’s success the same way he did Obadele and others. I suppose we will hear how much he did for Barbados too. Ask him how much he gave so Brathwaite could get to the games?

That is why VOB called COW because they know his MO.

• Pierre // August 20, 2009 at 8:13 PM

Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite on his victory.

• BAFBFP // August 20, 2009 at 8:24 PM

Ryan Brathwaite well done! Hope there is a motocade when you return, but please no naming of any streets or buildings until after another twenty years!

COW Williams, part of the legacy of Lodge School. Don’t mek mah laff!

• livinginbarbados // August 20, 2009 at 8:30 PM

Congratulations to Ryan for the win AND NATIONAL RECORDS in final and semis. It was a mad crowd who found full live coverage in Bubba’s. Nice win to set along side Bolt’s win/WR in the 200M and Melaine Walker’s win in 400M Hurdles, with Championship record.
    @David
    “Why was this race not televised by CBC? Brathwaite’s recent performances would have clued all to the fact he would medal”[Aha, this sad tale...You have not been following. Should have been fixed months ago. Dare I say 'should' and 'do' remain distant friends. Only 3 countres, o/w one Jamaica took up the feed that CMC had bought--giving full coverage from 2-3am our time. I've vented about it already.]

• "*Adviser to the President*" // August 20, 2009 at 8:35 PM

ADVICE TO RYAN : GO FOR THE GOLD

• "*Adviser to the President*" // August 20, 2009 at 8:37 PM

CBC is better these days

• Johnny Postle @ // August 20, 2009 at 9:24 PM

Gaw Lidee, we got gold people. We got gold. For the first time as far as I know, I gine get to her we national anthem by the podium. Hahaha can imagine that we national anthem. I hope that this boy gets the red carpet treatment and a few million dollars waiting for he when he comes home. After all he deserves it more than crooked politicians wasted laundering projects.

• Bonny Peppa // August 20, 2009 at 9:24 PM

Congrats young man. Can just imagine how he’s feeling now, not to mention his family.
    I know that COW will give him his own
    ‘piece a de rock’ and he will also throw in a nice house for good measure.

Blue, yellow and black, put it up, put it up.

• Pat // August 20, 2009 at 9:53 PM

My heart is fairly bursting with pride. Congrats to all who made it possible for this young man to excell.

Congrats to you Ryan Brathwaite. Bajans at home and abroad are walking tall today.

• Sapidillo // August 20, 2009 at 9:58 PM

Congratulations are in order big time. There is a saying, “the race is not for the fast or the swift but for he who endureth to the end.”

Well, this time around, the race was for the fast, the swift and for our own Brathwaite who endure to the end. Hip hip, hooray!!

Dey aint a bajan hearing of his victory dat ent as proud as a peacock tonite.

“Perseverance seldom fails.”

• Bonny Peppa // August 20, 2009 at 10:06 PM

Pat,
    Nitey-nite, I is he personal trainer?Wah you wanna bet? I cudda gone fa de gold too but ROK is enuff gold fa me soul.

Sapidillo
    Ya in lie.

• Pearl // August 20, 2009 at 10:12 PM

An excellent performance by Ryan Brathwaite!

To be honest I was worried because there seemed to be such a short period between the semi finals in which he worked hard and won.

The finals were so exciting and nail biting as they took so long to make the decision.

It’s fantastic news for Barbados, who needs a little uplift at the moment.

Congratulations again to Ryan and congratulations to all the Caribbean athletes who are out in Berlin doing the whole Caribean proud. It’s our time!

As for CBC shame! They missed out on an excellent opportunity. To be honest its no surprise, there’s very little to watch on that channel at the moment, repeats, repeats, repeats. Thank goodness for the internet….

• J // August 20, 2009 at 10:39 PM

We feel so good, we feel so good, we feel so ****-**** good

• Yardbroom // August 20, 2009 at 10:52 PM

Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite a job well done and to have done it of all places at the “Berlin Stadium”; a place of great significance to those who follow athletics, Brilliant!

• Sargeant // August 20, 2009 at 11:11 PM

What a race!!! Brathwaite really made up some ground after hitting the first hurdle. Bajans at home and in the diaspora are proud tonight.

Kudos to all the other Caribbean esp. Bolt & Co. who have done well at the Worlds

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 1:36 AM

It was reported that in any interview with Ryan yesterday that he said once he makes it to the finals, no-one will be ahead of him at the finish. This is the determination which seperates winners from losers. That spirit was shown here in this race, after hitting the first hurdle, he lost some ground but all he could have seen was the finish and NO-ONE would get their before him. You could see the determination in every stride. Congrats, my HONOURED “SON”, you have made Barbados and bajans all over this planet and beyond PROUD. You deserve whatever alcolades are given to you. I hope that other potential successful young bajan realise that they too can excell. Once I’m around when you return, I’ll be one of many lining the streets to welcome you home. Something happening and it’s so exciting, I see flags in the air, I see Bajan flags everywhere’ Why? because our HERO has returned. Take a bow Allwyn

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 1:46 AM

You may want to cross threads to the ‘Purge the psyche’ thread and see discussion on the income/GDP potential from winning.

Barbados needs to look to see if it can apply lessons from the singular senior level success of Ryan Brathwaite. I wrote critically about the way that Shane Brathwaite (Junior World Decathlon Champion, 2007) was being treated. That story warrants an update.

Those not familiar with track and field and how Jamaica has developed that over decades (eg with the Champs/high school athletics meets) may find it worth while to study.

Sport development is a medium term program that needs serious study and implementation at the personal and infrastructural level. It is also a matter of national priorities, and one needs to ask if it is one in general (or with some clear particulars) for Barbados. Sport tourism, for instance, is a better product if it taps into and develops local sport development.

• Bimbro // August 21, 2009 at 2:06 AM

Phew! That was close but, ‘very well done, young man’!!

• BAFBFP // August 21, 2009 at 3:24 AM

The only sad thing is that a lot of nincompoops here are going to bask in the lime light that he has created and in so doing continue to mask a lot of the nonsense that continues to happen with the treatment of our athletes and artistes who seek international exposure.

I wonder how much money is spent sending Politicians and public (and indeed private) servants overseas and about the returns that are derived from such efforts by way of international exposure and foreign exchange?

• Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 3:42 AM

In a few instances the blog has gone into the direction of personal attacks; this is most regrettable as it does not encourage reasoned debate.

It is noticeable how some individuals never miss an opportunity for the

…”I have done refrain”

and constant self-promotion. Restating of their assumed self-importance. Those who have “really achieved” let others make statements to acclaim, there
    is no need for self-promotion.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 4:37 AM

Views differ, that’s clear, and sometimes it’s a reflection of nationality or culture, but of course could be other things.

At last year’s Olympics, the president of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Jacques Rogge (Belgian) criticized Bolt for his public displays during his winning his events, saying “You can’t do that. That’s not the way we perceive being a champion.” Interestingly, the president of the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF), Lamine Diack (Senegalese), disagreed with Rogge’s comments about the behaviour of Bolt after the Jamaican’s world record races at the Olympics, saying such occasions merit extraordinary celebrations.

Jamaica’s PM, Bruce Golding, publicly disagreed with Rogge, see http://www.cananews.net/news/131/ARTICLE/29057/2008-08-24.html. He talked about pure red eye and ‘grudgefulness’. He said “Some people just feel that kind of glory doesn’t belong to a little country like Jamaica. Tell dem to tek weh demself (Tell them to take away themselves).”

Now Rogge and Diack had each had sporting glory–very different, but glory.

It was noticeable that Rogge’s comments were echoed at the time by a few American commentators, who seemed to have forgotten how their winners had behaved over many decades, and continued to behave on the Olympic track and in the swimming pool.

Rogge was also very silent when his countrywoman, Tia Hellebaut, later won the women’s high jump. (I won’t go into whether or not she is from the same linguistic group as Rogge, or if they are opposing each other in that small country of Belgium.) She showed in her performances before, and after, she won, how a champion should act. She pumped her fist and pointed her fingers to the sky after she cleared a good height. Not a Bolt-en stance, but equally clear that she had dominated her rivals.

For those who wish to read my views on this differential treatment they can search for Rogge on my blog.

I hope that Ryan does not keep his light under a bushel. I would not expect his countrymen to downplay his success with a very muted welcome home.

Things done well should be recognized. However, I wonder what would have been the reaction in Barbados yesterday and after, if the event had not been broadcast. Better still, if Ryan had just come back to living in Barbados and carried on as if nothing had happened in Berlin.

I sense that every Bajan and as far as I know most if not all Caribbeans are so proud of Ryan as to burst into tears. I’m glad that I know what he did. It can be an inspiration. Those who don’t know may be told. Those who don’t like what he did? I don’t know what to say.

Jacques Rogge? He suffered a lot of blistering attacks on his views including being urged to focus on getting his own house in order (the corrupt IOC) and not on criticizing the athletes that make his job possible. He has been awfully quiet since last summer.

Bolt? He seems to just keep on doing what he does well.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 4:46 AM

For those interested, The Economist wrote an article about this time last year that showed animal aggression behaviour is normal for someone who is on top and that displays of pride and shame are ‘hard-wired’ (see “Victory is mine”, http://www.economist.com/science/displaystory.cfm?story_id=11919409).

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 5:18 AM

To watch World Champs online live:
    http://www.channelsurfing.net/watch-iaaf-world-championships.html
    OR
    http://www.fromsport.com/

I have tried both and they work.

• Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 5:36 AM

For those who are “on top” present position displays no evidence of that.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 6:11 AM

Interesting that despite frustration and anger being expressed publicly about the lack of TV coverage since last weekend, it takes a week to clear the air, http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/CMC-say-copy-for-web.

I guess now that the nation has really felt the pain of not having the sights, the possible fall guys want to make clear who should fall.

CMC director Patrick Cozier said: “CMC secured the rights for the Caribbean and on-sell these rights to the local television broadcasters in each country. In the case of Barbados, CBC did not purchase the rights for the event and hence no broadcast of the event on local television.” There you have it.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 6:16 AM

Just to let minds think about what being publicly spirited means.

Given that television access was not available in Barbados, it would have taken little for someone, better still a public agency, to highlight that it was freely available on the Internet.

It could even have been possible to set up a ’screening’ area taking a feed via a computer. However, my understanding is that there may be copyright issues with re-broadcast (as was noted during Cricket World Cup), but private viewing is ok.

Was it a case of ‘eyes not on the prize’? Truth be told, many tried and failed to find Internet coverage, and it took a friend’s close contact with a former media honcho now living in Bim to unearth some of the links posted above.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 6:30 AM

@Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 5:36 AM
    “For those who are “on top” present position displays no evidence of that”[Much of economics is about the study of 'turning points'; more broadly, one can also look at 'tipping points' as studied by Malcolm Gladwell). They are usually clear after they have passed, by when people are getting adjusted to the new situation.

You see it clearly in Barbados with immigration. The turning point was sometime ago, now the country is struggling to deal with aspects of a new status quo. Some wish to turn things back; others can manage to deal with the new situation. The balance of these different positions will determine the next phase. And so on.

The US attitude to being displaced in track and field as supreme-ish #1 has been interesting. Disbelief (actually they had not cared to look before). Suspicion (how could this be possible?, we have 300 million, they have 3 million. Accusations of foul play (even though they had lots of huge skeletons). Attempts to discredit. Interest in what could have been behind the development. [Gradual?] acceptance of new status quo. Dealing with consolidation of new status quo.

Bolt doing what he did in Beijing again in Berlin has been met by some very, very different American reactions. Europeans love it as they do not like much US claims on world dominance. The fact that other Caribbeans emulated Bolt/Jamaica in Beijing and that that continues in Berlin will raise eyebrows again. That may be new for Barbados so the country should look at how Ja. and TT have dealt with it, at least as a guide. It also shows that there is something special in the region at least in this field, and that is worth understanding and building upon.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 6:38 AM

Not the best image from the finish line, but maybe better than nothing for posterity, http://www.twitpic.com/ep5mg

• Sea Cat // August 21, 2009 at 6:47 AM

@ LivinginBarbados

Thanks very much for the links.

I was one of the people looking all over the internet and asking everybody for one, but couldn’t find any.

Would have loved to see that race live.

Don’t mind you get your licks on this blog. You does tek them like a man.

Thanks again.

• Rumplestilskin // August 21, 2009 at 6:53 AM

Young Mr.Brathwaite, well done indeed.

Amazing, given the challenges that any athlete, yet alone one from an island nation, has to face.

May the Almighty go always with you.

I would take the opportunity to request that Government AND the private sector, assess what support or lack thereof, is given to Barbadian athletes and sports teams.

Sports are an integral part of any national psyche, building individual strength of character and community strength, ties among athletes, stakeholders and the community.

Anyway, enough of that, this moment belongs to the Golden Boy.

Peace

• The People's Democratic Congress // August 21, 2009 at 6:56 AM

The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) joins with throngs of Barbadians, inside and outside of our country, in celebrating Mr. Ryan Braithwaite’s gold medal winning performance in the 110 metres hurdles at the IAAF’s World Athletic Championships in Berlin, Germany yesterday.

This Barbadian’s victory was simply momentous, extraordinary, and unprecedented. For, never before in the history of Barbados’ participation in any athletic championships at the highest level has Barbados been done so proud than through Ryan’s amazing but stellar achievement.

Indeed, his victory must be seen as a victory for all Barbadians, and does show that through the proper harnessing of one’s God given talents, through the correctness of discipline and character in whatever exploits, through the ardence of dedication and commitment to a regime of training and conditioning, and through ample exposure to the right conditions, et al, world class excellence and world class standards can be achieved by any person in Barbados in whatever fields of endeavour.

Verily, some of us in the PDC and some of us who have long been small business people on Bolton Lane, the City – Gregory, Joel, Curtis, Jeffrey, Ormond, Mark, Ricky Shanka, Wayne, and most of ALL Paul of Pee Jay’s Jewellery – remember and admire the humbleness, the pleasantness and politeness of manner and the ability of Ryan to listen to our encouragement, as being among some of the outstanding characteristics that Ryan ever so often displayed as an up coming young men’s national hurdler at the Lestern Vaughn Secondary School.

And, therefore, what a complete joy it has been for the Bolton Lane crew and so many others around Barbados to see Ryan match those wonderful characteristics with tremendous improvements in his hurdling times and techniques and performances. Thus, yesterday achievement was like the icing on the cake, so to speak.

Well, to ALL those who would have been supporting him over the years in whatever ways – his family, friends, mentors, coaches, here and overseas, sponsors, here and over seas, and to all other connections of his, we in PDC say to you that you have altogether greatly helped to develop another Barbadian world champion.

Finally, to Ryan, we say thanks for making Barbados proud and we urge you to continue growing from strength to strength and to as much as possible treasure the benefits of your success.

Indeed, we in Barbados do look forward to a great welcome home.

Bless Up!

PDC

• David // August 21, 2009 at 6:57 AM

We heard Minister Suckoo making the expected statements in the aftermath of the Brathwaite victory, have we not heard it all before when Oba did his thing in 2000? Barbadians need to start demanding more of the people we place in public office. In the same vein the ex-pat at CBC MUST be made to explain why the ‘moment’ of Brathwaite winning in Berlin was not seen live by children home on holiday and Barbadians everywhere. This is what we mean when we talk about the deficit in the psyche of our nation. In Jamaica etc this decision would have been a no-brainer, and we muse about moving to world class.

It is not only an economic objective but the social factors must flow hand in had.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:02 AM

@David
    As you know, I usually send you by e-mail things of general interest/use. But let me send this one direct to this thread. I have not tried it (as I am not using Windows at the moment), so perhaps you test first and double check.

Here’s a link WavePad, which can download streams and then save them
    for you in a couple of formats, but it’s more useful as an all round
    audio editor
    http://www.nch.com.au/components/wpsetup.exe

Perhaps users can offer feed back.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:07 AM

@Sea Cat
    “Don’t mind you get your licks on this blog. You does tek them like a man.”[My main concern is that views are symmetrical. If something looks or sounds bad in one place then why does it not get the same reaction elsewhere or with other utterances/commentators. If one does a search on certain profanities etc. the results are very revealing. The attitudes to those (mainly silence) are also revealing.

All I try to be is consistent. I’m often wrong. I also try to pin what I say to things that are concrete or people; that’s how you establish if they actually took place/are correctly reported–you can check. Perhaps that’s novel to some or not possible for others. I cannot say. It’s implicating others in order to corroborate. Any body can make a statement that has no underpinning.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:13 AM

@David
    You know my general attitude to the typos/semantics, so this is just 2 birds with one stone.

“In the same vain the ex-pat at CBC MUST be made to explain why the ‘moment’ of Brathwaite winning in Berlin was not seen life by children home on holiday and Barbadians everywhere”['vein' (not vain); 'live' (not life). The implication is that if it were not an 'ex-pat' the outcome would have been different. If not, then drop the adjective. One could otherwise look behind and point to Minister Suckoo's husband. I'm not sure that's fair or right. CBC is a corporation--government owned too, not a one person show. Let's deal with the institution not a person. Otherwise, you have to go to who appointed the person...]

• David // August 21, 2009 at 7:23 AM

@LIB

Thanks for picking up errors but like many when we write comments we do it free writing style.

Lars is in there to make day to day decisions, it is highly unlikely the decision to broadcast Berlin/Brathwaite race was a board or ministerial decision. If it were one could question why do we need management with the credentials of Lars. The not too subtle point we want to make is, a Barbadian or Caribbean person would have seized this moment given its importance to a small nation. Don’t let us get tied up in semantics.

• Sapidillo // August 21, 2009 at 7:56 AM

livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:13 AM
    …CBC is a corporation–government owned too, not a one person show. Let’s deal with the institution not a person. …”
    ————————————————–I have to agree with you 110%

I could understand that many Caribbean people in Bim, especially Bajans would be disappointed that the race was not shown on the one and only TV station at the moment in time. However, thank goodness that the race is available in case they want to see (after the fact) via the internet and other media.

Could it be that CBC did not see any big deal in showing the race because they did not have enough confidence in the Barbados team, and never thought that their athletes could have pulled off such a victory?

Just speculation on my part.

• Wishing In Vain // August 21, 2009 at 8:02 AM

I would like to take this opportunity to say a hearty congrats to this young man for his massive performance he has does the island very proud.

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 8:06 AM

Imagine many BAJANS, in Barbados missed seeing FOR THE FIRST TIME a bajan standing in the NUMBER ONE position at a world games and listen to the BARBADOS NATIONAL ANTHEM being played. What do you expect? The manager at our CBC; NO BAJAN. This feat didn’t happen “out of the blue”, the young man was destined to medal and there is no excuse why the whole of Barbados should not have been given the chance to witness history in the making. We need a manager who is patriotic, not some foreigner who is just doing a job, a poor one at that

• Sapidillo // August 21, 2009 at 8:32 AM

The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 8:06 AM
    “We need a manager who is patriotic, not some foreigner who is just doing a job… ”

It could be that you have answered part of my curiosity. Something just did not make sense but couldn’t seem to put my finger on it.

• Anonymous // August 21, 2009 at 8:40 AM

Some people just out of touch. Foreigness and success and care for team do not exclude one another. Look at English Premier League, National Team, etc. Ancellotti (Chelsea), Benitez( Liverpool), Ferguson-Scottish (Man U), Ericsson (England team). Scolari-Brazilain (Portugal team) etc. Small mindedness gine kill you all. Only we can deal with we? We so hard to control? Do better than this. You really don’t want the best, right. You just want to do it yu self.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 8:58 AM

@David: CBC/Lars. Why state what you do? Call and ask. Pin him to a statement or lack of one. Why throw mud and not do some basic investigating. Surely some one can call and engage. Now we will have discussion based on assertion. Same old. That is not a good route, I think. If you have the backing for the assertion then lay it on the table.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 9:02 AM

@David, turn your assertion re Lars onto Hal Austin at FT in London. It looks good? My tongue in cheek point about Brits in Bim finds resonance in your kind of analyis. If non Caribbeans so fly get them all out should be the cry.

• JC // August 21, 2009 at 9:30 AM

I walked a little bouncier, I smiled a little broader, and hummed a lot more and felt ‘even better’ about being a BAJAN!

Thanks Ryan for that feeling!

Respect!!!!!!!!!

• Barbadian Wins Gold At World Track And Field Championships | ePress Barbados // August 21, 2009 at 9:45 AM

[...] which allow you, the people to have your say. See what Barbadians have to say about this event at BARBADOS UNDERGROUND. Tagged with: [ gold, track and field ] You can follow any responses to this entry through the [...]

• Anonnymous // August 21, 2009 at 9:53 AM

JC
    I think you need something more than that to tickle your fancy and make you walk bouncier, smile broader, and really hummmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Something to really make you feel the feeling! mmmmmmmmmmmmm

LOL

• Concern Citizen // August 21, 2009 at 9:59 AM

I too am a proud Barbadian and proud of Ryan Brathwaite, but I would like us to recognise our atheletes before they do something big. It cost money to get that far so you have to give kudos to Ryan’s mom for paying for her son. I hope that our government will now look to help some of the people who want to excel and stop the silly spending and gimmicks. I ould like to see our young people go to the top, like the aquatic centre where if you don’t have money you can’t go think about it.

• Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 10:07 AM

@livinginbarbados
    You misinterpreted my remarks, that is quite possible…as I did not mention you by name.

However, – as you have directed your remarks to me – I will not engage in the personal cyclic discourse which seem to be your leitmotif. I have the time but not the inclination to so engage…sorry.

• David // August 21, 2009 at 10:14 AM

There is no investigation necessary, the race was not televised and this is unacceptable. Our people were betrayed to participate at a pivotal moment in history making. Being able to watch the race after is not the point is it?

What does it say about our commitment to sports? We stand by our position that our national TV station should not be managed by an ex-pat.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 10:18 AM

@Yardbroom, I’m not sure I MISinterpreted, I did interpret. The comments were not directed and I was online at the time. They fell within a line of thought I was exploring at that time. I am not pointing to any individual, but as I note some things we see pass by without much comment and others don’t. So I see my points within the general ongoing debate about what discussion is about. I think David has provided a space for free discourse, but some seem to want to be directive of others (eg self appointment as umpire). I personally find that off putting. I try to avoid being personal in a nasty way but do not feel that if mud is hurled it should just be taken. I hope that I have over stepped with those points. By the same token some material I send to David rather than post myself lest people see the name and jump over the content. He’s free to ignore if he wishes. Sometimes we are too cryptic and I admit guilt there too.

• Crystal Clear // August 21, 2009 at 10:23 AM

There I sat in the year 2009, my ear to a little transistor radio on high volume, listening to the exciting broadcast of the race of a Barbadian youth in Berlin. As he won, I had to content myself with the sound of the radio broadcast, my mind imagining how the race looked, as though it were the fifties or sixties.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 10:26 AM

Correction: NOT overstepped…

• EyeSpy // August 21, 2009 at 10:40 AM

As a Caribbean people, let us not forget Jamaican Usain Bolt. He won 5 Gold in 5 races at this venue.

Like Bolt with Puma, etc. Brathwaite is on his way to nuff endorsements with “media value.”

He

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 10:56 AM

“For those who wish to read my views on this differential treatment they can search for Rogge on my blog.”

As Yardie said, people of great importance that promote themselves.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 11:35 AM

@Crystal Clear

“I had to content myself with the sound of the radio broadcast, my mind imagining how the race looked, as though it were the fifties or sixties.”

Well I had no delusions about the age I am in because I was frantically trying to see if I could get an image via internet at the last minute because the official games broadcast was not broadcasting it. I ended up with the radio broadcast instead and like you, using my computer instead, I had to be satisfied with listening through a speak phone…

But what made me know I was in the 20s is that I had my cell phone close to the speaker so that another friend could hear it through his cell phone.

• Ras // August 21, 2009 at 11:50 AM

Here’s hoping a proper homecoming party is in the works.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 11:50 AM

@David

This brings me to the role of broadcasting and the media in the development of Barbados. As much as he is a pain sometimes, LIB gave the example of how sports have helped in Jamaica. It does not take a rocket scientist to understand how the development and encouragement of sports can help the economy, reduce unemployment and by using it to give hope to those who would otherwise have none, reduce crime and violence in the community. USA is another example of how sports and entertainment has help pull poor people out of the cracks.

The media is saying that they don’t get advertising support for these events but they get overwhelming support for the soap operas. The fact that a poor man who could hardly afford it and who is not even remotely connected to Ryan Brathwaite could want to listen to that race sufficiently to call me to find the transmission and hear it over a cell phone, is testament that Bajans are deeply interested.

That assertion is supported by the comments and jubilation in the aftermath of Ryan’s win. Now it is my sense of marketing and promotion that tells me that if you want your product sold, be where the crowd is. Why then would any company that advertises normally in a slot would not want to advertise if a Ryan Brathwaite is seeking gold for Barbados in that slot?

What does this have to do with the role of the media? It means that the private sector is deciding content and that their advertising is not about sales but about control. Could that explain why for so many years we have been having nothing but foreign content on CBC?

If that is so, the private sector must stand guilty of depriving Barbadians of developing good local content. Wow! That don’t sound right. They are not running the media houses. What am I saying?

Sorry, the media houses have been treating advertisers and spoiling them by letting them have what they want over the development of Barbados. Sounds better? Not only CBC but Nation, Advocate and VOB who called COW for comment on Ryan.

Where is the responsibility? Is it all in the name of profit? Customer service? How far can customer service go before it becomes prostitution? Is there a cut off mark?

I am so happy to see that when I turn on my TV, I can see something about Barbados; what the NGOs like Pinelands doing; the achievements of young Bajan entrepreneurs; the success of social programmes; those who made it against the odds; etc.

I predict that it is only a matter of time before people realise and start watching (I for one never used to keep my TV on after the news and did not realise the change). Then advertisers will wake up when they see local programmes gaining a foothold as Bajans vie to see themselves and their friends and their role models on their own TV.

• Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 12:03 PM

@ ROK // August 21, 2009 at 10:56 AM
    “For those who wish to read my views on this differential treatment they can search for Rogge on my blog.”

As Yardie said, people of great importance that promote themselves.”[Maybe choice is viewed differently in Barbados. In the UK or US or Jamaica, when someone says "For those who wish to..." it is simply a matter of information, knowing that not everyone knows everything. Those who have an inclination know where to go. If not interested, they ignore.

It is really not that different from someone having a piece of video that they would wish to share posting it on a blog, or sharing books/authors that they have read. Those interested could have gone to find it/them. So, I really do not see things like that as self promotion--there's no "It's the best..." or similar. It's more sharing what one knows.

I have not offered a long list of things I have written; the piece was very old--12 months--and for many people that's enough to have put it out of sight.

Moreover, my experience with the Internet is that search engines work in varied manner. For that reason I gave a key word that I knew would be apt.]

• Johnnie Too Bad // August 21, 2009 at 12:05 PM

Ryan, well done young man, you have done us all proud. You have been able to get us our first global gold medal. May this inspire many more of our young people to strive for excellence in their chosen fields.
    Congratulations my son
    Johnnietoobad.

• X-MAN // August 21, 2009 at 12:10 PM

Ryan’s gold is a metaphor for what could be achieved in Barbados if it had intelligent leadership. A “developed “ country understands the importance of the role of sport in society. Sport is a great form of exercise; it promotes competition, friendship, excellence and a sense of shared community. As well as sport, a “developed” country also promotes culture on all its fronts: theatre, dance, music, acting, history, etc. A government that promotes “education” at the expense of sport and all other forms of culture, in my eyes, is a failure.
    Look at Jamaica, they have recognised for over thirty years the importance of sport. They are also very conscious of what they eat and remaining physical fit. Their levels of obesity are much lower than that of Barbados. Jamaica is a country challenged with many social issues, their sportsmen/women are hungry and are fully aware with what may be achieved within the sporting sphere.
    Sport is big business – literally. The sporting facilities in Barbados are inadequate. Why are golf courses been built all over the island for a minority, when there is a need for sporting facilities for youngsters? A plan must be developed immediately to have centres of sporting facilities in all the parishes. These facilities must be adequately subsidised so that all youngsters can utilise them.
    Barbados can no longer use the excuse that they are too small to compete on the sporting front. Sport must be seen as having a valuable role to play within society. I would urge Thompson to contact his counterpart in Jamaica; and to find out how Jamaica can assist Barbados on this front.
    I read that there was no TV coverage of this sporting event! This explains a lot.

• Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 12:25 PM

@ROK // August 21, 2009 at 11:50 AM
    I am tempted to engage on the media issue but will resist. All I would say is that “As much as he is a pain sometimes, LIB gave…” does not really need the first clause, in my humble opinion. If it is germane to the argument, then I demur.

• Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 12:29 PM

@ X-MAN // August 21, 2009 at 12:10 PM
    “Ryan’s gold is a metaphor for what could be achieved in Barbados if it had intelligent leadership. A “developed “ country understands the importance of the role of sport in society.”[All ALL countries understand the role of sports…Look at Africa and how it promotes its love, football. When all else may be failing, there WILL be electricity to show games. There WILL be money to send the team. Etc. Some regimes (socialist) long promoted sport as an extension of a socio-economic choice–see USSR, Cuba. What is odd, is that a country atop the list of developing countries does not appear to have a clear plan for sports development.

The remainder I agree with totally.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 12:39 PM

@ David

Would you believe that during the C&W rate hearing, both the Nation and the Advocate refused to publish hard facts about C&W because they feared losing their advertising contracts with them? Makes sense, right? But if C&W had done that, the very next day the headlines of my paper would read, “C&W pulls advertising for printing the truth”. “C&W Attempts to Muzzle media”. “Corporate Giant wringing arms”. This is the power of the media and the same way it can be used to earn goodwill, it can be used to subtract it too.

The amount of bad press they would have had from the media, would make them turn back on the advertising in minutes for fear that half their cell phone customers migrate to the next available company; at the time, digicel and AT&T. Possibly their internet customers migrating to Sunbeach. In any case, C&W is doing us no favours now.

The most important point is that if the private sector was interested, they would put up something for athletes as they put up for scholarships in this and that and other traditional activities, rather than ride like parasites on the backs of those who went out there against the odds and bring fame and fortune to Barbados under great personal sacrifice.

What was the debt forgiven for horse racing? In accordance with LIB, you know how many Ryan Brathwaites we could have produced with that money? I think Government needs to adopt the attitude that every cent spent on the people is preferable to projects like widening the ABC highway or greenland. There is no greater priority than the empowerment of people to help themselves.

• X-MAN // August 21, 2009 at 12:41 PM

I’ve just been reviewing the video of the entirety of last nights’ athletics – sorry to rub it in. The commentary and the newspapers have gone Usain mad and Jamaica mad (sorry about the English). It is quite simply amazing. Tell Thompson to get with the programme. Over here in Europe athletics is huge. Usain and his fellow countrymen/women are doing a great job selling their country to the world. The impact that this country has made during these games has been infectious. It’s almost like the other countries in this championship are irrelevant. Hail Jamaica! Ryan’s success has been recognised. Hopefully he will be interviewed later on today.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 12:46 PM

@LIB
    ““As much as he is a pain sometimes, LIB gave…” does not really need the first clause, in my humble opinion. If it is germane to the argument, then I demur.”

Don’t demur, murmur.

• dougie // August 21, 2009 at 12:55 PM

Congratulation, Mr Brathwaite !!!
    A Bajan flag should have made available to you to augment the occassion.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 1:18 PM

@X-Man
    “Usain and his fellow countrymen/women are doing a great job selling their country to the world. The impact that this country has made during these games has been infectious.”

First let me say an excellent and passionate contribution. Thank you too for expressing the power of the media in your statement above. It would not have been possible without media attention promotion it.

One thing I would purport about the media, it tends to pick up what is important to the society. It finds what is popular and what people are interested in. It is a natural result of and the nature of the profession.

This is in keeping with the notion that the media reflects the society. Can we agree that if this is so, then it means that the media will get the greatest circulation. I have seen some here who claimed to have stopped buying newspapers. In the past, this was not a very sensible recommendation for an intelligent person… but this indicates to me that on their present path, circulation is not maximised.

This control being exercised on the media and allowed by the media in the name of profit is slowly turning the traditional media into a white elephant and one can only conclude that the media in Barbados has abdicated its role.

• Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 1:20 PM

ROK // August 21, 2009 at 12:46 PM
    “Don’t demur, murmur.”[Because I believe that every good gesture merits an equal one, I will send to Mr. R. the message: read Advocate, August 21, 2009, p. 10, top left, letter entitled 'Where's the coverage'. All is there in BLACK and WHITE.

Those who want voice, speak to the people. Those who fear reprisals, dare. Those who have ideas, keep thinking.

OK?

Have a wonderful weekend. The sea beckons.]

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 1:25 PM

@X-Man
    “A plan must be developed immediately to have centres of sporting facilities in all the parishes. These facilities must be adequately subsidised so that all youngsters can utilise them.”

This is supposed to be part of the responsibility of the Constituency Councils.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 1:30 PM

@LIB

Now that you brought up the subject, I am not sure how much CMC itself contributed to the decision. There seems to have been some fallout over the olympic games debt that is carrying over.

• Gear Box // August 21, 2009 at 1:33 PM

Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 1:20 PM

“The sea beckons”

Betta carry a rain coat… and not nah frenchie nider..!

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 1:41 PM

@ROK, letter written last Sunday, when CMC/CBC blame not clear.

• David // August 21, 2009 at 1:43 PM

Whilst Barbadians and Caribbean people bask in the glory of Ryan Brathwaite’s performance, the travesty caused by not televising the race live perpetrated on Barbadians by CBC and by extension the government of Barbados will not be forgotten for a very long time. The negligence of it all merits an apology by the authorities concerned. It is time Barbadians understand that the media houses in Barbados are in a popularity contest. They have long usurped their role!

• Sargeant // August 21, 2009 at 1:51 PM

Whilst LIB was running around trying to find any link to watch the Championship I posted a connection for those with access to the Internet, as a matter of fact I’m watching it now and note that it is raining and some events have been postponed.

As to the non broadcast of the event by the local CBC I could only speculate that perhaps it’s a question of economics, or the station couldn’t afford to tie up so much air play on the Championship which they may think would not draw the same interest as the Olympics. Since I’m speculating perhaps those making the decisions have no interest in athletics thus they may think that their feelings are shared by the general public. One remembers that some cricket matches of interest to the public were not televised in Barbados either.

One other point I would like to touch for those of limited memory is that I hope that the politicians wouldn’t try to profit from Brathwaite’s time in the limelight. My memory goes back to Oba’s Bronze medal in the Sydney Olympics and the verbal shots taken at him by the then Minister of Sport (Noel Lynch of the outsized ego) because he thought that Oba was not deferential enough to him.

As to that link http://www.cbc.ca/

• Negroman // August 21, 2009 at 3:01 PM

Black Power Real African Power.

Congratulations are in order for Ryan Brathwaite,Usain Bolt,the Jamaican ladies sprinters and all the rest of Caribbean athletes who have done this region proud.As a Caribbean man I feel good when our Black Caribbean representatives do well at prestigious events such as The World Athletic Championship.

It is interested that in the Caribbean report from England that is broadcast on CBC FM 1007 at 7.05 am daily no report was made of Ryan Brathwaite success.No report at all at all everything was centred around Usain Bolt.That is Caribbean Integration.

I do not support the the idea that every time a Barbadian does well internationally that Sir Charles “COW” Williams must offer land & house and other rewards..I am always skeptical when people of the ilk of Sir Charles “COW Williams gave rewards to outstanding Black Barbadians who have done us proud.What is the motive behind his actions?

David Ellis is the most dangerous,deceptive journalist we have in Barbados today.That pathetic fool for a journalist had to call a white exploiter of Black People like Sir Charles “COW” Williams and asked him what he is going to do for Ryan Brathwaite.I think that type of behavior is insulting to Black People in Barbados.

If I was in Ryan Brathwaite position today I would in no uncertain way refuse any rewards from Sir Charles “COW Williams .He could not give me any land that he and his cohorts have stolen from Black People.I would not want it.I will tell him where to stuff his offer.

• Fair Play // August 21, 2009 at 3:22 PM

Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite for his outstanding recovery to win gold. After hitting the first hurdle he showed strength and courage to get back to them and then pip them on the line. He has a heart that will see him winning more gold.
    Now the Government must forget about all the celebrations and give Ryan some good financial assistance that will allow him to train for the next three years to repeat this feat at the 2012 Olympics.
    Recognize him big time, welcome him home with a motorcade, but please put some money behind him so that he can get stronger when he may come up the Cuban and Chinese runners who are at this time injured.
    I think that the athletes who come sixth in heats in the preliminaries should not go to international games. That money can go to athletes like Ryan and Shane Braithwaite.
    Where was the Barbadian flag at the finish? Did Esther Maynard not believe he could win? She is the manager in Berlin.

• Carson C. Cadogan // August 21, 2009 at 3:34 PM

From Caribbeannetnews.

A Jamaican wants to know where the Barbadians to cheer on Ryan in Berlin. Not even a single Barbadian
    flag

http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-18367–7-7–.html

I hope the link works, if not visit http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/index.php and read “Letter:Barbados and the Berlin Games.”

• 2009 // August 21, 2009 at 3:37 PM

Congratulations to Ryan Brathwaite….it was unfortunate that our authorities missed the opportunity to allow your success to be beamed across Barbadian homes LIVE.

RPB…..will recall why ” HOME DRUMS” seldom beats first!

But with Ryan’s victory and the PUBLIC accolades WE know…SOMETHING IS HAPPENING..!

• Sargeant // August 21, 2009 at 4:18 PM

Fair Play

I think that the athletes who come sixth in heats in the preliminaries should not go to international games. That money can go to athletes like Ryan and Shane Braithwaite
    I beg to differ, it is incredibly difficult to produce a World or Olympic champion, and for a country with Barbados’ population World champions are going to be few and far between. Think of the many years between Wedderburn’s bronze (as a member of the West Indian Federation Olympic team) and Thompson’s bronze. If the athletes reach the qualifying time or standard in the event they deserve to represent Barbados at International events. If you only send people whom you think will win medals Barbados will not be represented at many events in the future.

• Yardbroom // August 21, 2009 at 4:39 PM

I hope we show good judgement and allow this young man time; to reflect and make his own decisions. Support him in his future endeavours but please don’t overload him with what he should not do, or make statements to place him on one side or the other.

He is a Barbadian we are “all” proud of him…let us start off on the right foot with this one.

• Fair Play // August 21, 2009 at 5:07 PM

Sargeant
    I agree with you that it is very difficult to produce e a world champion. Barbados is a small country with a population of around a quarter million and should be very proud because there are some countries many times larger that have not won a world championship gold medal.
    But a lot of athletes leave here with B qualifying times which means that they cannot get out of the preliminaries competing against A times and that does not make sense.
    We should follow England and have a sports lottery to raise funds for sports. The funds should be spent on young promising athletes like Akelia Jones and any other s in the primary and secondary schools who have lots of potential.
    I think Akelia jumped 1.94 m at school sports and she is only 14 years old.

• mash up & buy back // August 21, 2009 at 5:09 PM

It is long past time for esther maynard to go.

She is well past her sell by date.

How has she ehanced sport during her tenure?

• Global Voices Online » Caribbean: “Gold Rush” in Berlin // August 21, 2009 at 5:16 PM

[...] Barbados Underground also weighs in: Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to celebrate the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene. Brathwaite’s performance this evening to win Gold in the 110 metre hurdles given the vacuum created by our non-performing Barbados and West Indies cricket teams has served to feed the hunger of Barbadians for success from our sports people. [...]

• Gear Box // August 21, 2009 at 5:17 PM

Trus’ VOB tah tek mileage from Braffit’s success.. Nah blasted shame…

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhh

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 5:18 PM

mash up & buy back
    Esther gave up the presidency of AAA and for the time that she was not president, everything went wrong and all that happened is that there was turmoil in the association. To bring it back on iys feet reluctantly she took back over the office. I too am worried about the AAA’s future without Esther.

• Livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 5:29 PM

@Sargeant
    Good that you got the other CBC coverage; I did too for part of last weekend.

On economics, it’s interesting how resources can be mobilised. Part of the problem may be that the government and people are not at one of the importance of sport overall and certain sports in particular. In that regard, it will be interesting what the retreat may show and also if and what the Wickham poll/survey may show.

On developing athletes, there’s a long road, a lot that goes on behind the scenes, major demands on athletes’ time to do non-sport activities. All of this tends to rise with success. So, right to beware fatigue/burnout. Remember he is first an athlete/himself and next other things. But everyone will want their piece of him, for sure.

• Fair Play // August 21, 2009 at 5:31 PM

Scout
    This is a failure of our educational system.
    We are producing a lot of followers. No leaders
    At least Ryan Braithwaite is not one of them. He said before the semifinals, if he got into the finals it will be trouble. He showed them what believing in yourself means.
    Esther Maynard is a good hardworking woman but the others are always fighting among themselves that is why it would look like that athletics cannot do with out her.

• zion1971 // August 21, 2009 at 5:58 PM

As a passionate caribbean man let me say congratulation to all of our caribbean athletes who performed succesfully and medalled and also to those who tried hard but was unable to make it to the podium, to me you are all still a winner.To Mr braitwaite, my bahamian queen Debbie-ann, Renny quow(trinidad), Joanne Lucas(Trinidad), Daniel Bailey(antigua),the Jamaican team and all other athletes and country you make me feel good.

As a side note, reading the Trinidad express today and the blogs there is a lot of squabbling about the athletes from Tobago(Joanne lucas , Rennie quow and shelly-ann baptiste) and how the mainland of Trinidad want to claim their success.It never ceases to amaze me how divisive we can become among ourself.

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 6:08 PM

mash up & buy back,
    Lord Jesus, who mek you? You is de worsist. You got me hay cryin. How ya mean she ‘well past she sell by date”‘
    Dat is de best fa a long time on dis blog.
    ’she well past she sell by date’.
    Lord mek peace. Ya bad.

I agree wid you. No sport or athlete can be centred ’round no one coach or what ever de ass she is. She ’sell-by’ date gone evva since.

Ya dangerus.

• Proud of Ryan // August 21, 2009 at 6:09 PM

@Fairplay,
    Esther Maynard is a good hardworking woman but the others are always fighting among themselves that is why it would look like that athletics cannot do with out her.
    …………………………………………………………..
    What hard working woman what! You mean she travels free to every meet. She does not even walk with a B’dos flag for the real workers like Ryan. The athletic administrators are the worsest.

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 6:22 PM

Proud of Ryan,
    Lord, wunna wicked, hear? ‘worsest’, luv um.

• Pat // August 21, 2009 at 6:37 PM

Boy, I am surely getting re-familiarized with Bajan on this thread. ha ha ha

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 6:53 PM

@Sargeant
    “As to the non broadcast of the event by the local CBC I could only speculate that perhaps it’s a question of economics…”

I would probably argue the opposite, i.e. it was not a question of economics but poor media judgment. Certainly, for $9000US it cannot be a question of economics.

I think that the media, and especially CBC exercise the poorest judgment when it comes to advertising. First thing, the rates are too high, but even so, a special for small businesses (and I do not mean teleclassified) would help to boost their income. There is sufficient talent at CBC to come up with a plan that will add income.

One of the stabilising factors about any business is to have a wide base of customers, even if these customers spend a dollar a day, so long as you can create a steady stream of clients, you have a base.

I must wonder who watches teleclassified at 1 a.m.? Certainly not the majority of the population. To my mind, teleclassified are a rip-off and is a false sense of advertising because people etnd to turn off their sets once the days programming is over.

I have always argued that CBC is top heavy; too many employees for the limited TV broadcast and very little local and live programmes.

It is time that CBC has a full day of TV broadcast but it makes no sense having a full day of soaps. With a full day of broadcast, CBC could then offer more advertising packages to enhance revenue.

The technology is such now that you have methods like tickers, overlays, quarter screen and over the shoulder layouts that can be employed to increase revenue and drive down costs and prices.

My mathematics tells me that using these methods, CBC could add at least $3M to its revenue annually and that could cover the cost of salaries for 30 persons at $100,000 per year or 60 persons at $50,000 per year. Note that I am speaking of additional revenue.

• X-MAN // August 21, 2009 at 6:55 PM

@ ROK

@livinginbarbados

I’m really sorry that you guys have been unable to receive live coverage from the Berlin games. The atmosphere has been like a carnival. Let’s be clear these games are second only to the Olympics; countries from all over the world are watching and salivating over some of these performances. These games have highlighted some serious short comings concerning are leadership. That Barbadians were unable to witness Ryan’s victory is nothing short of a scandal.
    Are you aware that the German and Jamaican Minister of Sports met in Berlin today? The German minister paid homage to Jamaica with regards to its successful games. Further to this, he suggested an exchange between the two countries: involving German sprinters and some of their athletes going to Jamaica to receive training and Jamaicans going in the opposite direction to learn about field events and to take advantage of sporting facilities available in Germany. Germany is implying we want to learn from you: let’s talk. The ramifications for Jamaica are immense. Jamaica is now an athletics superpower. This association will surely lead to greater social, political and economic ties with Germany; this will bring long term benefits to Jamaica. Jamaica has clearly implemented and developed a sporting plan which it can now profit from. As for Barbados they have that tired old fading chestnut – tourism.
    Serious issues, I know but let’s enjoy our victory and the final days of these games.
    @ ROK, the above story will not be published by The Nation and The Advocat. These are parochial newspapers serving only the interests of their masters.

• Fed up // August 21, 2009 at 6:56 PM

How COW get in this and talking

assness comparing Brathwiate gold to polo.

What the ra##ho## I hearing?

Brathwite’s family earn less a year than a COW polo pony cost.

COW comments insults black people.

• livinginbarbados // August 21, 2009 at 7:02 PM

@X, J’ai resolu mon probleme depuis, et j’ai un beau frere a Berlin qui m’a informe. Je suggere vous ecrivez une lettre aux journaux au moins pour les tester. On se sais jamais. Ils ont publie aujour d’hui ma lettre de frustration ecrit le lundi passe

• David // August 21, 2009 at 7:03 PM

@X-Man

You make a good point from the moment Brathwaite won that race the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight. To meet with Ryan with the world’s media present would have been a priceless moment.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 7:14 PM

@Fairplay
    “Esther Maynard is a good hardworking woman but the others are always fighting among themselves that is why it would look like that athletics cannot do with out her.”

This phenomenon can be observed in cricket (Barbados and WI) associations and in the past the BFA and those organisations which do not encourage stakeholder participation, especially current players, in its decision making process.

For the most part too many decisions are made without base, for example the selection of players/participants are usually not transparent and too much is left to personal judgments and biases. Then the inside politics starts and it will happen every time.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 7:20 PM

@X-Man
    “the above story will not be published by The Nation and The Advocat. These are parochial newspapers serving only the interests of their masters.”

You sent it?

• Adrian Hinds // August 21, 2009 at 7:36 PM

Not even a million, but one of us dared to win and so did. Congrats to you Ryan Brathwaite. Thanks you very much young sir.

For a tiny speck of an island nation and 280k souls of which I am proudly one, I will celebrate your achievement as if it were my own. The things that we “shiftless” black people can achieve.

• Mash up & Buy Back // August 21, 2009 at 7:40 PM

Bonny Peppa

Nuff Respect!!

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 7:44 PM

Pat,
    Girl, BU family in easy a’ tall hear. You refamiliarising youself wid de good ol bajan dialect? It makes it more indigenous and fun to read.
    We doan mek sport Pat.
    Ya see de word Fed up just invent? Assness, man, we does keep um rale.

Fed up,
    ‘Cow polo pony cost’.
    Had me bitin up my tong day. Try sayin it fas den, if u dout me.

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 7:48 PM

Doan kno’ bout nabody else, but i just watch Ryan Brathwaite on de podium, if dah is it name, and when we anthem did playin, i had ta go an get me hanky.

For he’s a jolly good fellaaaaaaaaaaaaa, dat nobody can deny. (help ma sing man, help ma sing)

• Mash up & Buy Back // August 21, 2009 at 7:48 PM

Pat

Nice to have you back with us.

How is the heat up dey in Canada?

Care yuhself,hear?

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 7:52 PM

Mash up & buy back
    I in able wid u soul. You is got me ’bout hay laffin hard, hard, hard, like I gine off or sah’ing.
    Respecks ta ya good self too.
    keep it up.

• Pat // August 21, 2009 at 7:57 PM

@ Bonny Peppa

Man, I like I back home yuh! “assness” man that word is now in my current lexicon. I had to laugh at worsest – haven’t heard that in an eon. True Bajan, what?

• David // August 21, 2009 at 7:59 PM

Here is a picture of Ryan posing with his medal flanked by the two Americans he piped!

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 8:10 PM

Pat,
    Only on BU girl, only on BU.
    Any other is just ‘fake’.

Hail David, founder of BU.

• X-MAN // August 21, 2009 at 8:12 PM

@livinginbarbados
    @rok
    I have corresponded several times with The Nation, unfortunately they have never published my letters. I can only assume that they do not believe in the freedom of speech. It’s their lost. I’m glad that you were able to get through. I have ceased all communication with them.
    Ryan’s magnificent victory has brought with it many points for discussion. The debate has been lively. This government is certainly under the spot light. I’m working this Saturday. I have to retire. Enjoy your weekend.

• ROK // August 21, 2009 at 8:31 PM

@X-Man
    “I have corresponded several times with The Nation, unfortunately they have never published my letters. I can only assume that they do not believe in the freedom of speech.”

Since the present Editor of the Nation took up her post, it has been difficult getting anything in the Nation. I have been begging for a space for NGOs for the longest time to no avail, so I know the Nation does not have the development of Barbados at heart.

They are interested in exposing the criminals and publishing the worst about Barbados; all the negative stories they turn into juice and even when they publish a good story, the editing leaves a lot to be desired; in many instances rendering the story inaccurate or void of the salient details.

I will not be asking anymore because we are busy putting together our own media. Once we launch, we will be competing with them down to the last advertising dollar. You wait.

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 9:16 PM

I usually switch to CBC TV 8 to watch the evening news. The sports news came on and I was ready to see Ryan once more on the top of the podium and the Barbados National Anthem being played for the first time at a big international athletic meet. That joker Andy brought the little interview with Ryan and then moved on to the 200m’s races. I immediately called CBC and enquired about the medal presentation. The young lady I spoke to told me they did not get the feed so they can’t bring it. I asked her who worst can that station get; no race now no presentation. She tried to explain the reason but for me there was none. However towards the end of the sports news, the clip with the presentation was made. Could it be that CBC is so dumb to realise that they were doing bajans a dis-service by with-holding this momentous occasion?

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 9:18 PM

One other thing shocked me, the old version of the Barbados National Anthem was played. Am I to understand that the powers that be at the AAA don’t know the correct version of the Barbados National Anthem?

• EyeSpy // August 21, 2009 at 9:23 PM

I hope David retires soon and real soon and consider making BU a full-time job/recreation instead of part-time. LOL

A thought: Maybe at that time he could introduce BU to businesses and offer some form of advertising.

• The Scout // August 21, 2009 at 9:30 PM

Question
    Did any of the media report that not only did Ryan become the first bajan to win gold at a major athletics meet but he also became the youngest man to have won that event at the IAAF meet. I guess one of our reporters would have to get it from thew internet since investigative journalism is not not their job.

• EyeSpy // August 21, 2009 at 9:32 PM

Maybe he will be able to bring back a print version as he did with the 3S scandal.

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 9:32 PM

Bro. Scout,
    Ya got ma day. Is there a new and old version of ‘Our song’? Can’t recall.

• Sapidillo // August 21, 2009 at 9:49 PM

Our media got caught with their pant/ies down and probably embarrass to tears.

I’m sure the Government would do whatever it takes to embrace Ryan, a son of the soil. If they did for Obedele, no doubt it is in the making for him.We are talking GOLD, not bronze.

Btw, was there no confidence in Barbados getting a medal; therefore, there was no flag available to wrap around Ryan, or for him to display around the field, as other winners would have done?

• Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 9:59 PM

Sapadillo,
    Nasty, dirty , down-rite shame nah? Not a piece a blue, yellow or black. Shameful man.

But wait, I serious, dem wearing pant/ies now? Ya wicked but I luv um.

• Gear Box // August 21, 2009 at 10:49 PM

David // August 21, 2009 at 7:03 PM

@X-Man

“the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight.”

De Gov’ment ain’ got na money …
    AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

• Adrian Hinds aka Tall_boy // August 22, 2009 at 1:51 AM

The Comments of JOCK on the Breadfruitlime

I din even count dem (US) as challenges, good as dey are. De only body he had tuh worry bout din mek it tuh de finals (injury) namely Dayron Robles (Cub) de current WR holder.
    But he been breathing down Robles neck fuh de whole Euro season. In fact Robles had tuh pull out all de stops tuh outlean he at Crystal Palace

http://redirectingat.com/?id=593X1004&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DEnhQF1HPZcg%26feature%3Dplayer_embedded

• Bimbro // August 22, 2009 at 2:21 AM

AAAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhh

Gearbox, r u in pain?!!

Call d doctor!!

Laaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

• The Scout // August 22, 2009 at 7:12 AM

Bonny Peppa
    Yes there is an old version and a new version of the anthem. The first one was a little plain, this was just after independence, then the then bandmaster Prince Cave beefed up the chorus somewhat and included some extra horns and percussions that really did a lot fot it and makes it sound a lot more caribbean. In fact there is also a shortened version of the anthem also. The sh0rtened version is played at the arrival of the G.G among other occasions,

• Sapidillo // August 22, 2009 at 7:49 AM

Bonny Peppa // August 21, 2009 at 9:59 PM
    “But wait, I serious, dem wearing pant/ies now?….”

Wuh yuh want tuh put muh en now. De media mek up uh both male and female reporters.

• Gear Box // August 22, 2009 at 8:11 AM

Georgie Porgie somebody say call you…

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Ras // August 22, 2009 at 8:44 AM

I’m sure the Government would do whatever it takes to embrace Ryan, a son of the soil. If they did for Obedele, no doubt it is in the making for him.We are talking GOLD, not bronze.

Yeah, right…and maybe they can do the right thing by awarding him the status of youth ambassador. They can surely do no worse since Ryan would be more deserving of this honor than the current holder of this title who has done virtually NOTHING to positive inspire ‘de yoots”.
    The news of OUR youth ambassador finding herself in trouble after being spotted wielding a needle in a Manhattan tattoo parlour without a licence to do so comes to mind.
    Yet, not a word from guvment…an’ dem waan know how de yoots get so!!!

Congrats again to Ryan!!!

• Ras // August 22, 2009 at 9:05 AM

Correction / Clearing The Air

They can surely do no worse since Ryan would be more deserving of this honor than the current holder of this title who has done virtually NOTHING to positive inspire ‘de yoots”.

That is (I meant to state) since having this official title bestowed upon her.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:02 AM

Interesting spread of views about the COW involvement: its origin, its consequences, its implications. Some I heard this morning found it distasteful. Reasons: First, the speed with which RB was ‘thrust’ into COW’s arms via VOB (and there is need for clarification on who set what up). Second, the notion of COW supporting ‘winners’ [athletes/sports persons need much support all along the way, not just when they have 'made it]. Third, the alliance/connection/comparison with the COW polo team [Bajans? No siree.]. Fourth, the land issue–a mixed blessing? Who will ensure development of the lot offered and what happens if it cannot be developed in the normal time frame.

The dissenting views were mainly from a prominent white Bajan, and few opposing views were offered by others present (about 5/5 white/brown; Bajan/foreign). Not scientific, but views count.

‘Piggy backing’ on success is natural but that does not make it acceptable.

I posed the question: What has happened to Shane Brathwaite (Junior World Champion, 2007, Octathlon)? He was Barbados’ last athletics hero, but a few things went wrong (I know some of it). For bio. see http://www.iaaf.org/athletes/biographies/country=bar/athcode=236314/index.html. A fine hurdler too in his own right.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:06 AM

Regarding the flag issue, my understanding is that the Barbadian delegation had remained in their box at the far end of the stadium so it was not until RB neared there on his victory lap that a flag could be conveniently passed to him.

One may ask, if this version is correct, why after RB had posted the best qualifying time in the semis and broken the national record, and Robles had not qualified, there was not a hint of anticipation that he would medal and someone be posted with flag near the finish line? There were a few hours available to arrange that.

• David // August 22, 2009 at 10:09 AM

The adhocism which permeates sports in Barbados in 2009 is not acceptable. The opportunities which sports can facilitate for our youth and by extension our little country and region is sickening. As we did with Oba’s success so too the euphoria of Ryan will wane and then what?

Our leaders seem not to grasp that the success of our sports program should not be measured only in the successes of Obas and Ryans.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:15 AM

For those who do not follow these matters, a major issue revolved around what unfortunately happened when he was presented with a fully-loaded Ford Focus car at the 2007 National Sports Council’s Awards. Someone had not realised that this would jeopardise Shane Brathwaite’s US scholarship prospects. To preserve his amateur status and remain viable for a university scholarship, he had to hand back the spanking Ford Focus for capturing the Sports Personality For 2007 award. Not much has been written about this Brathwaite since.

Since that incident Barbadian the National Sports Council (NSC) has not considered athletes on scholarships for the top award.

Consequently, Olympians Bradley Ally and Ryan Brathwaite, who are on overseas scholarships, are/were deemed ineligible for the National Sports Personality award, which carries a prize of a new car. Under the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) rules, they are not allowed to accept gifts or monetary rewards.

It’s very odd that NSC did not know of the NCAA rules or if they did why they would seek to do what they did.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:27 AM

@David
    “You make a good point from the moment Brathwaite won that race the Ministers of Tourism and Sport should have been on a transatlantic flight. To meet with Ryan with the world’s media present would have been a priceless moment.[Absolutely not. THAT is ad hoc. They can call and make the message needed work, or send an Ambassador or High Commissioner--that's why you have overseas representation. It is certainly not priceless: late bookings are notoriously expensive. Now, if you are suggesting that to mitigate cost the Minister make use of some private jet, that would open an interesting set of issues. The Minister does not need to milk the media moment as you suggest.]

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:29 AM

@X-MAN
    I suggest that you send the letter to the Nation (and Advocate, and/or others in Europe) and ask someone (David? Your choice?) to post it on a blog–that way it’s public whatever. Let the print media then deal with it. Give them the chance to succeed or fail.

Nothing ventured, nothing gained. You cannot win a race unless you enter. etc. Il faut y aller.

• Sargeant // August 22, 2009 at 10:34 AM

LIB

As someone watching from afar I also wondered at the alacrity in which COW was brought on board. Did VOB contact his parents/coaches/teammates for their reaction also?

We know that COW “gave” Oba and Rihanna land in the past and I think in one those instances the “gift” was orchestrated by the Gov’t so at this juncture it seems like VOB was trying to solicit a similar gift for Brathwaite.

Call me a cynic but if COW was supporting athletes or their associations in general it wouldn’t leave such a bad taste in my mouth.

• Sargeant // August 22, 2009 at 10:45 AM

LIB

• It’s very odd that NSC did not know of the NCAA rules or if they did why they would seek to do what they did.
    Many people and organizations in the USA are unaware of the NCAA rules if you read about the infringements even among the coaches caught breaking the “rules”. As far as I am concerned the NCAA is an organization which ensures that Universities and coaches becoming rich(er) from the efforts of the athletes while the athletes remain poor and some uneducated.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:48 AM

@Sargeant
    “Did VOB contact his parents/coaches/teammates for their reaction also?”[I have asked this question this morning and await a reply. I have also asked who initiated teh VOB/COW contact. I just heard "we have ... on the line". That's an outcome. Hence my attempt at cautious wording.

Agreed on other points.

I think philanthropy is a good thing and the government seems interested in using it more widely. But one should look at how and when. Will we get a similar media 'show' if there is philanthropic capital to develop QEH?]

• David // August 22, 2009 at 10:52 AM

@LIB

We have admitted that the thing is adhoc already so why not salvage something from the Berlin experience with media present?

Also have you factored Barbados have senior government personnel in Europe already?

Our point remains, we are guilty for being adhoc but there is nothing wrong with claiming salvage value until we get our act together. By your post you have indicated the Jamaican Minister of Sport is already in Germany, the bar has been set.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 10:55 AM

@Sargeant
    “Many people and organizations in the USA are unaware of the NCAA rules”[We should not regard NSC as like ordinary people; this is their mandated area. They should know. If not, then what are they supposed to be doing? As a soccer coach in the US, for example, it was my duty to check and find out so that my team members did not fall foul inadvertently (and/or, yes, it happens--maliciously). No ignorance allowed for NSC/Ministry of Sports.]

• Sargeant // August 22, 2009 at 11:01 AM

Don’t want to disrupt the thread but my point about the NCAA. See article on John Calipari and his second violation of NCAA rules will he be punished? Are you kidding me?

I have run and cut my lawn before it starts to rain.

http://sports.espn.go.com/ncb/news/story?id=4412860

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 11:11 AM

@David
    LAST POINT AS I AM RELAYS BOUND>>>
    +++++++++++++++++++++
    “We have admitted that the thing is adhoc already so why not salvage something from the Berlin experience with media present?”[No. It's a waste of money! The media have what they need and can call the Minister if they want. She can do likewise. It will be a day before she gets there and the comp. ends tomorrow. Too late. No foresight. End.]

“Also have you factored Barbados have senior government personnel in Europe already?’[Yes. See point on Amb/HC]]

“Our point remains, we are guilty for being adhoc but there is nothing wrong with claiming salvage value until we get our act together.”[Agreed on ad hoc. Yes there is. Get act together. Do not extend ad hocery.]

“By your post you have indicated the Jamaican Minister of Sport is already in Germany, the bar has been set.[On Minister Grange being in Berlin, the reports I read were not clear when she decided to go (I may hear better later). But, I would say that she/Jamaica has a clear agenda on sports development and that is being developed by her contacts with German officials. Yes, perhaps a moment to 'seize' but it's part of a clear plan.]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 11:17 AM

Are we that stupid that because of some amateur status rules to deny Ryan Brathwaite what he deserves? What rules what? We take this thing to heart and allowing foolish rules to get in our way?

So finishing paying what the scholarship refuses to pay and let the man enjoy his achievements and Bajans with him. We so foolish? What scholarship what?

• Bonny Peppa // August 22, 2009 at 11:48 AM

Bimbro,
    Gear Box was a ‘character’ who died a few years ago. Every sentence he made, he would finish it off wid;
    Aghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, hence my man Gear Box using it too. Ondastan? He in want na doctor a’ tall. BU Gear Box does sum it all up in one sentence, add he lil ahhhhhhh and done up de show, just so. He badddddddd. I luv he vicioussssssssssss.
    Bimbro, I did friten as shite fa de real Gear Box.Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.

Gear Box,
    I wanna come long wid Porgie too, ta hol’ you dong while he stick de needle in you pooch ya hear?

Ras,
    Tru dat. Well spokened. We all know dat Rihanna is a klown. All except Bimbro. Dat’s his ‘treasure’, so don’t deny him. Dat poor girl barely get in at Com’mere, by a mere hit n’ miss. You ever hear she during an interview. Poor thang can’t even express she self proplee. Be dat as it may, she got de dollars doe. Better to born lucky dan rich, I’ve heard said. She’s a classic example.
    Ok Bimbro,I gun stop trampling you ‘tweet-hart’.

• Bimbro // August 22, 2009 at 2:07 PM

Hi Bonny and thanks for the explanations, babe!! Had no idea about the history of ‘Gearbox’ and won’t make fun of him any more!!

Disapppointed to hear uv such a low opinion of my Ri! Why babe? Why’d u say she’s a clown? She does seem to have something of a violent-streak in her but hopefully, Chris put an end to that, the other day! Are n’t u impressed by her singing! Boy I tell yuh, dat girl can sing!! Can’t even ascertain what she’s doing these days. Does n’t appear to be touring any more! Hope she can get her career back on its feet!!

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 2:12 PM

Wow! Jamaica women 4×100 gold.
    5000M women: Kenya, Kenya, Ethiopia.

I think that Africa dominated these games when you include Caribbean, USA, GB, France and Africa itself.

• David // August 22, 2009 at 2:15 PM

Saw the race!

Could this have something to do with improvement in drug testing? We have seen the precipitous fall of the US from the top of track.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 3:07 PM

Amazing! These countries using athletes of African descent to win medals. If all of them were competing for Africa, USA would hardly win a gold medal.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 3:30 PM

@David
    “Could this have something to do with improvement in drug testing?”

While the USA was touted to be the user of performance enhancing drugs, clearly the Europeans were heavy on drugs too but they were more clever in concealing it before the tests started.

• The Scout // August 22, 2009 at 3:42 PM

Carl Lewis was instrumental in getting Ben Johnson ban, yet it was said that Lewis was a big user of the stuff. I understand, today he is nothing but a waste, all because of the way be abused his body. The Americans think that they are superior to everyone else and as such they can call the shots. Their reign is over. Imagine what it would be like if the caribbean was competing as ONE nation? Only if our leaders can come together and Jagdeo would stop expoiting his people, this region would can rise to be a force to be reckoned with in this world.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 3:57 PM

@Scout
    “Imagine what it would be like if the caribbean was competing as ONE nation?”

Imagine what it would be like if all Africans were called home to represent Africa???

• Bonny Peppa // August 22, 2009 at 4:13 PM

Bimbro,
    I know it hurts but it is the trute ’bout you girl. She ain’t all de smart. Her singing is neither here nor there with me. I’m an oldies, ballroom sorta gal.I leave de hip-hop and r&b to you bosey.
    She’s a cute lil thing with a good body but that sums it up for me with her.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 4:25 PM

@ ROK // August 22, 2009 at 11:17 AM
    Regarding rules. Perhaps you do not understand the rules or their basic purpose. They try to remove opportunities for people to ‘buy’ athletes/sportsmen under a certain age/while at a certain status. Once they become professionals they can take what they can get, but now while they are amateurs. It helps keep the playing field even. It is not for life. Had NSC thought, they would have promised the car for after graduation. What good is the car anyway while Shane was at college in the US? I think it showed awful ignore and unnecessarily jeopardized a promising athlete’s future. That could be seen as a near wasted investment.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 4:31 PM

@The Scout/ROK
    “Imagine…”[If Caribbean countries accepted that the best will be selected for the region, then wonderful. If there is a need for compromise to deal with ’sensitivities’, then less good.

If Africa called back Africans it would need to deal with several current realities. 1. Many of African origin who are outside Africa–eg Caribbeans–do not see themselves as Africans to be part of Africa. 2. Africa has its own citizens who may rightly say “What about us?”. 3. Africa is not ONE place: it has 54 different countries. It is not a single regional space in any sense. It has many internal differences and issues that are long from being resolved.

So, while this idea may have some nice notions a lot has to happen before it can have any legs.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 4:33 PM

@The Scout
    “Only if our leaders can come together and Jagdeo would stop expoiting his people, this region would can rise to be a force to be reckoned with in this world.”[Only if? I think not. Guyana is not the only country in the region that may be seeing its citizens exploited. Also, what Caribbean are you seeing? English, Spanish, French, Dutch? If it's Caricom only, then it's worth thinking what that is really about.]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 4:52 PM

@LIB
    “I think it showed awful ignore and unnecessarily jeopardized a promising athlete’s future.”

Man you guys are something else. Any idea of the concept of empowerment? You think that if it was to Europe’s or USA’s advantage to celebrate the achievements of its citizens that any scholarship could get in the way? They would pay for it.

What car what? Give him what he needs. The car has value, sell it. The land has value, sell it… and when you done, what is the Government’s contribution? Greenland?

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 4:54 PM

@LIB
    “If Africa called back Africans it would need to deal with several current realities.”

I know, you would look for all the reasons why it can’t happen. You understand the conditional “if”. You so jealous of everything a man can’t even dream in peace for you. You too bright.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 4:55 PM

@LIB
    “Only if? I think not. Guyana is not the only country in the region that may be seeing its citizens exploited. ”

Even electricity got a positive. Like you is the negative pole.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 4:57 PM

@LIB
    “Africa is not ONE place: it has 54 different countries. It is not a single regional space in any sense. It has many internal differences and issues that are long from being resolved.”

You too bright. Only you knew that.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:01 PM

@ROK
    I think you mix up many things. It’s not about whether one celebrates or not: that could be done with cake and ice cream, a nice pat on the head and off you go.

Whether you like it or not most ‘contracts’ are predicated on something. So, where existing obligations are in place, you cant just say, “Dont like it…” (anarchy).

In the case of a scholarship there are conditions–which would also include academic performance. No one is really going to argue about what an athlete needs. The issue is when can he/she get ‘value’ from the skills. He/she can give up a scholarhip, for sure, but one would need to be sure that there are not a set of negative consequences that follow. (Also, let’s not confuse the Brathwaites: Ryan is near to/has ended his college time [I
    cant be precise]; Shane (to whom I referred) was due to start his college time.

Moreover, it’s interesting that you seem to imply a certain expedient approach. But, what of principles? Keep it while we like it? Scrap it while we dont? How does your view give a consistent world before and after?]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:03 PM

@LIB
    “Perhaps you do not understand the rules or their basic purpose.”

What is there to understand. What purpose? Whose purpose? It does not fit our purposes and the day we can’t pay for a scholarship because one of our own getting victimised, we should go back to colonial rule.

They do everything to keep us under subjugation. I tell you already that those white people got their way. You may not hear about the gifts but you could be sure their amateur heroes will live in style and fashion.

There are ways to do things.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:07 PM

@ROK
    Let’s deal with the bits.
    1.”Only if” is a fallacy. Straight up.
    2. Africa. Not negatives. The things that need to be in place do not exist. Africa is not even a unified space. So, how can you jump to talking about “Africa” doing anything. If you mean specific countries, like Ghana, then say so. If you had considered the 54 different countries then I do not see how you could have made your proposition. Saying a fish is a dog does not make it a dog.

If you believe it can work, then make the proposal concrete with the elements and their time frame.]

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:14 PM

@ROK
    “…the day we can’t pay for a scholarship because one of our own getting victimised, we should go back to colonial rule…”[Total non-sequitur. If the government wishes to see one of its citizens lose a scholarship, which it has probably NOT participated in securing, then fine. Stump up the money and cofer the costs. If it cannot find budget funds, who in the private sector will be asked to pay? You?

Who is being victimized? The rules are UNIVERSAL. If the student were a chimp from Waggooggoo, Illinois, and it broke its conditions, it would lose its scholarship.

"They do everything to keep us under subjugation. I tell you already that those white people got their way."[The historically BLACK Colleges also have rules--and they make them for themselves too and/or apply NCAA ones. Now if they apply them are you going to say that the racist white structure told them to use the funds they have secured from blacks to build the colleges and to keep them predominantly black to now discriminate against black students? If you are not sure, then I suggest you do a quick trawl of the largest/best with regards to sports. I can suggest a few names, if needed.]

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:15 PM

s/b and COVER the costs

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:16 PM

@LIB
    “that could be done with cake and ice cream, a nice pat on the head and off you go.”

What? If Usain Bolt was at university under a scholarship, what would have happened in Jamaica? You would give him a pat on the back?

“But, what of principles? Keep it while we like it? Scrap it while we dont?”

You ever hear about moving the goal posts? What principles? Whose principles? You talking about a world that has none. Why should we have principles for them? Why should we follow their principles when they keep moving the goal posts. They have principles? It’s all a game of entrapment with them setting the traps all the time.

We need to understand empowerment. We need to understand that when it comes to what benefit our people, we can’t succumb to the whims and fancies of those who would like to penalise us for winning. JOKE!

If any Brathwaites win and the public heaping of gifts on him will save 1000 young people, what is a scholarship that we can’t pay for, if it will help us reduce crime and give hope to those who have not yet achieved?

You forget that you hold up Jamaica for its focus on sports and how these wins reduce crime, etc.? What you saying is not consistent with that. Just like you want to stop our Minister of Sports from travelling last minute to Berlin and yours there already; talking foolishness about last minute flights could be expensive.

I hope that the Bajans on this blog seeing you for what you are. This man trying to throw salt in we eyes.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:20 PM

@
    “If it cannot find budget funds, who in the private sector will be asked to pay? You?”

It found budget funds for H1N1 at very short notice too. This has to do with what is important and what is priority. If Ryan Brathwaite is important a few government offices would just get a little less paper; use more e-mail.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:24 PM

@LIB
    “Who is being victimized? The rules are UNIVERSAL.”

Universal? You really mekking sport. They blind you with that? I will risk to bet you they got contingencies for those rules. A scholarship? Man you mekking bare sport at we and yourself too if you really believe that.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:27 PM

@ROK
    The NCAA rules apply to athletes in the USA irrespective. Again, if you are not sure, I suggest you check. If you keep speculating your feet will get wet.

Bolt studied at UTECH in Jamaica–why hypothesize?

I do not think you understand empowerment. Your arguments are all about DISABLEMENT, configured to seem otherwise. We are not helpless people who can only move forward by heaping on blame. Dem days done! I asked for a concrete proposal on Africa. Do you have one? If not, when should we expect to see it. That would help convince me about what empowering you see.

The rest of your argument has no logic.

People see what they wish to see. That I cannot control.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:29 PM

@LIB
    “If you are not sure, then I suggest you do a quick trawl of the largest/best with regards to sports. I can suggest a few names, if needed.”

OK skipper, jump off a cliff and if you don’t know where to start I can suggest a few ways you can get over.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:29 PM

@ROK
    I heard that H1N1 cases in Bim are now 50+ If you are saying that the choice is between dealing with that possible start of an epidemic (I’m no doctor, but contracting it is easy), and feting an athlete. I would vote for the control of the epidemic. Why not conduct a poll of readers/commentators?

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:30 PM

@ROK
    “OK skipper, jump off a cliff and if you don’t know where to start I can suggest a few ways you can get over.”[Let that answer stand as an example of what content is NOT. This is what empowerment means?]

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:32 PM

In general, if there is no substance there is no argument. Asked to substantiate make an idea real, ROK says “Go take a hike”. I hope that is not the best that is on offer.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:38 PM

@LIB
    “I heard that H1N1 cases in Bim are now 50+ If you are saying that the choice is between dealing with that possible start of an epidemic (I’m no doctor, but contracting it is easy), and feting an athlete.”

You feel that we igrunt, right? Who compared H1N1 to feting an athlete? Just typical of you to twist words and play dumb to get over your negative positions. As JC said, all you do is “try” to insult Bajans’ intelligence.

I never said that so there is no need to conduct a poll because the two don’t clash and are exclusive to each other.

In case you did not understand let me make myself clear. You spoke about budgeted funds. I responded to say that even if that were true, they found funds for the H1N1 because of its importance. If there is something that is equally important that probably costs 1/10 or less of what the H1N1 cost us, you saying that the government of Barbados can’t find the funds. Where did they get the extra funds for H1N1 if they were all so budgeted?

When projects get overrun by less than what it would cost for a scholarship, don’t you see the Government going to Parliament for supplementary funds? Where that comes from?

What you really trying to rub in our eyes?

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:39 PM

@ROK
    I sense no desire to get a handle on facts. So, read, https://web1.ncaa.org/eligibilitycenter/common/, or http://www.ncaa.org/wps/ncaa?key=/ncaa/ncaa/legislation+and+governance/eligibility+and+recruiting.

I will concede ANY point that you find in the NCAA eligibility rules, germane to this discussion. Nothing else. If you want to have new rules, then let’s see your draft.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:39 PM

@LIB
    Furthermore, look what you reduce it to, “feting an athlete”.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:42 PM

@LIB
    “In general, if there is no substance there is no argument. Asked to substantiate make an idea real, ROK says “Go take a hike”. I hope that is not the best that is on offer.”

No real substance because you say so? When did I tell you go take a hike? Actually a hike may do you good. Get some fresh air and smell the roses.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:45 PM

@ROK
    It has not been reduced. Barbados loves fetes (celebrations) and have we not just had a great one? Again, are you saying something else should have been said.

From the original post. “Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to CELEBRATE the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene.” [my stress]

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 5:47 PM

@ROK
    As I see it, you have a lot of work to do, not necessarily tonight. I really look forward to the worked out ‘Africa’ proposal. You planted that goal post. Again, if you do not have it, or want to do it, better to say so and move on. We will understand what your original remarks were.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:51 PM

@LIB
    “I sense no desire to get a handle on facts. So, read, ”

You miss the point and probably the boat too. This is not about content of some set of rules, this is about a sovereign country determining what is important to it. Not even international law don’t w3ork unless the sovereignty concedes to it and even then if there is no support legislation in place, it gone thru the eddoes.

So don’t tell me about some rules made up by institutions, they just can’t stand up to a sovereignty. I will not sit here and allow you to twist everything to your whims and I will not be sucked in. The contents of the rules are unimportant in this case. These kinds of rules cannot stand in the way of a country’s progress.

We have Barbados Scholarships every year, offer the man one. He is deserving. No stupid rules can’t get in the way. What would be the reason for having conditions to a scholarship that does not allow the receiver to accept gifts or be rewarded for outstanding performances in the name of his country? Sounds to me like there should be some exceptions to those rules.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:55 PM

@LIB
    “As I see it, you have a lot of work to do, not necessarily tonight. I really look forward to the worked out ‘Africa’ proposal. You planted that goal post.”

All you offer is condescension, arrogance and a swollen head. You are an expert for the white system. Your job is to make sure we follow some arrogant rule set by people to keep us down and then to make sure that Bajans swallow it, right?

You think you could send me to do work? Man you lost your mind. Find a school to teach at.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 5:59 PM

@LIB
    “Again, if you do not have it, or want to do it, better to say so and move on. We will understand what your original remarks were.”

Well skipper, move on. You trying to imply a lack of substance and you trying to dupe me into some road you laying out and then your deduction if I don’t follow what you say is that I lack substance? Show me the substance in yours. I think it is you who have work to do if you want to have substance.

So in the absence of any substance it would be good to follow your own advice and move on.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:05 PM

@ROK
    Had I wished to be condescending I would have used your strategic dismissal. Let me remind you:
    “ROK // August 20, 2009 at 3:49 PM
    Stick to your profession and let me stick to mine.”

This is one of mine (former athlete, professional sportsman, qualified coach, qualified FIFA referee, founder-manager of football club).

Now, can I ask about the proposals? I am giving you space to perform.

If you dismiss my qualifications I may have to go back to some tried tactics from several sports.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:05 PM

@LIB
    “It has not been reduced. Barbados loves fetes”

Is that so? then the following statement by you is not only a non-sequitor, it is stupid because if we love so much celebrating, we would find something to fete about and not wait for Oba or Ryan.

““Not since Obadele Thompson’s bronze medal performance at the Sydney Olympics has Barbados had reason to CELEBRATE the performance of our sportsmen on the world scene.” [my stress]”

Your stress is right because I can’t understand why you stressing out yourself on Bajans when Jamaica want so much help from people like you? Go home and do your national duty then. Leave us to deal with our problems, they are lesser than yours. This is candy, Jamaica is hernia.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:07 PM

@ROK
    “We have Barbados Scholarships every year, offer the man one. He is deserving.” [They too have rules...academic performance. Who will you deny? They are limited. Rules dont matter? Inconvenient truth?]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:07 PM

@LIB
    “Stick to your profession and let me stick to mine.”

That is condescending? Oh your arrogance and insults have no bounds, do they?

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:09 PM

@LIB
    “They too have rules…academic performance. Who will you deny? They are limited. Rules dont matter? Inconvenient truth?”

Like you don’t understand. We set those rules. Pick sense from nonsense.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:10 PM

@ROK
    “I can’t understand why you stressing out yourself on Bajans when Jamaica want so much help from people like you?”[You have it in one. YOU cannot understand that someone with no national stake would care that another nation improve. You see national interest fixed in nationals only.

It is not a matter of 'when'. Jamaica too has my input. Come and I will show you my other activities. I have talked about capacity for self sacrifice. That I think you do not understand.]

I think you have placed yourself squarely and openly to see.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:12 PM

@ROK
    “We set those rules. Pick sense from nonsense”[WHO will you deny? The 18 names have been published and the students are set to go. Name one candidate. Please do not ask me to choose.]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:14 PM

@LIB
    “This is one of mine (former athlete, professional sportsman, qualified coach, qualified FIFA referee, founder-manager of football club).”

I was none of them, so that gives you the right? You qualified in England? Good for you?

Ask anybody that went to school with me and they will tell you I never run an inch. I was never a boxer, I was never the junior judo champ of Barbados. I never played competitive cricket, football, squash, tennis. You did all and I in a wheel chair.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:14 PM

ROK you seem to not recognize the words you uttered–see the Psyche thread.

I chose not to use the same argument. I said keep going, even though I thought you were in my professional space. If you have the credentials, fess up, If not… But I will still listen. Not for long though.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:16 PM

@LIB
    “The 18 names have been published…”

You obviously talking about the pic-o-de-crop semi-finals. forget we like fete.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:16 PM

NO ROK. Ran and played in England. Played and coached and refereed and founded and managed in USA–yes, I know the system. Played in Africa–know the place. You have not told us a thing. We look onto empty space.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:17 PM

Listen then, because I have no qualifications. I am certainly not in your professional space and if I was, I would step out.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:18 PM

Tired and wondering if I can sustain the waiting for the proposals. I think I will check again tomorrow. I like it that people can show us something to grapple with. The African proposal is still on the docket. You made the argument, not me. Give us the plan.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:19 PM

I can accept ’step out’. Please do not presume that people will not look carefully at propositions. That IS condenscending.

Matter closed.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:20 PM

@LIB
    “NO ROK. Ran and played in England. Played and coached and refereed and founded and managed in USA–yes, I know the system. Played in Africa–know the place.”

I really did not ask you all of that and really don’t care to know either. I suppose you playing to the gallery and showing off yourself.

Man you look pretty enough!

• David // August 22, 2009 at 6:30 PM

@ROK

Your substantive point has been made and heard. We should find a way to fund our athletes who demonstrate above average potential. To hell with the status quo.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:35 PM

@ROK
    http://www.nationnews.com/story/LEAD-scholarships-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER, and
    http://www.mes.gov.bb/pageselect.cfm?page=78

Now truly closed on the matter.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 6:50 PM

@David

Thanks for that intervention.

@LIB “The African proposal is still on the docket.”

Sorry, that is off-topic.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 6:57 PM

@ROK
    The African proposal (it’s yours, but not detailed) was very ON topic, but just not realistic. Big difference.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 7:00 PM

@LIB
    “All anonymous women out there, you are now male. New rules. ROK does say rules dont matter so look out for further changes.”

What happen man? You trying to use me to get a sex change? That is out of my professional space. That is the domain of the Creator.

• livinginbarbados // August 22, 2009 at 7:07 PM

@ROK
    You’ve crossed your threads. The context was Psyche. But from there, let me repeat YOUR words:
    “I not worried about that anonymous person. I think he is a Jamaican too so he would say anything to back up his man.”[Please note YOUR pronouns.]

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 7:12 PM

@LIB
    “You’ve crossed your threads.”

Well, I ain’t perfect. By the way, that is how you make cloth. Not a bad thing, I’m sure you would agree.

• ROK // August 22, 2009 at 7:14 PM

@LIB
    “Please note YOUR pronouns.”

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

You too bright! Never thought you would have picked that up. My humble apologies for underestimating your intelligence.

• zion1971 // August 22, 2009 at 7:36 PM

Most middle eastern countries especially( Bahrain, quatar and yemen) are invovlved in “sporting citizenship” or from the athletes perspective “flags of convenience”.Kenya and ethiopia(great athletic rivalry between these countries) have an over abundace of A grade and B grade athletes who are still not good enough to be on their nationl team(very competitive atmosphere).So a lot of these athletes “sell” their endurance skill to other countries who do not produce home-grown athletes and the biggest beneficiary of this is some of these rich arab states .These “flags of covenience athletes”(mostly kenyans) are promised a income for life and are moderately taken care by these rich gulf states.If an athlete is able to medal they are rewarded handsomely also. Most will tell you they do it for economic reason because the athletic federation in Kenya donot take care of its athletes.Sometimes you find in a race family members racing against each others and representing different countries.

A lot of these kenyan runners once they becom citizen they change their name and religion to muslim.You will always find this situation in countries that provide an extra abundance of talent eg brasil with soccer players, china with table tennis player, USA with basketball players etc.That is why the IAAF and the IOC have three year waiting period for athletes that change citizenship and must be agreed by both countries unless a waiver is granted. If some of these rules were not in place then these less-endowed athletically rich countries could buy a whole olympic and world championship team.

• livinginbarbados // August 23, 2009 at 12:27 AM

@ROK, acknowlegements graceously noted. None of us is perfect, and to err is human. But we try to get better.

• Bimbro // August 23, 2009 at 2:40 AM

Hi Bonny and thanks for the further info about Ri! Still disappointed ur not too impressed with her but everybody can’t b the same! Fully understand ur love of the ballroom-music etc, but, u know, dat track of hers I played the other day’s a slow-number!! Just hit me for six, man! I jus love the girl!! Think, if I were young again, I’d have to try and ask her for a ****, that’s if she would have me, which, I’m not sure she would!!

Bonny, forgot also to mention I watched a prog on New York or NY City!! I suppose there’s a difference, last night, and guess what it revealed! That, in NY THERE R MORE BAJANS DAN IN BIM!! Can u believe dah!! But wha d Bajans doing?!!

Laaaaaaaaddddddddddddd!!

• Bimbro // August 23, 2009 at 2:48 AM

Hi Dave, 2 of my posts (just now) have n’t appeared!! What’s happening, bro?!!

• Bonny Peppa // August 23, 2009 at 1:00 PM

Bimbro,
    I try connecting de dots that you would ask Rihanna for and I come up wid kiss, date, fupe, which it is man? :)
    You in na good ya kno.
    My sons not even into r&b or hip-hop so my chances of hearing her would be pequeno. They into de ‘dance-hall’ as you would guess. One of them playing a oldies cd right now.

I myself got a whole bunch a family down in NY. Some straight, some narrow. I luv Bim and don’t plan to go anywhere else so, it bothers me none.
    Two a you post disappear? Be careful. Me n’ you might be gettin ban cause one or two KLOWNS callin fa um. Um won’t stop me from eating be Christ.

• Bimbro // August 23, 2009 at 1:45 PM

Hi Bon, and thanks for the info. The posts appeared merged into one, above, so it’s ok!!

Really more interested in her singing than anything but the pics of her seem more and more appealing by the day!!

Lord!!

Anyhow, I caan worry gal!! I had my turn at being in my 20s aready an I mus leave it to d rest now!! I just want her to have a huge hit again so we can c her on our screens every few mins, like before! I really doan understand what she’s doing at the moment, at all!!

• The Scout // August 24, 2009 at 2:21 AM

Why worry about LIB? he is typical Jamaican. A typical jamaican once told a bajan friend of mine, in an argument that his thinking was limited because he was from a small island. This jamaican was arguing so wrong about a simple matter. My friend told him, he was right about coming from a small island, that’s why bajans would hear when the scool bell rang. This almost started a fight. Maybe, LIB didn’t hear the school bell too often and relied on those who heard it to report what happened at shool.

• X-MAN // August 24, 2009 at 4:55 AM

@ david
    http://www.independent.co.uk/sport/general/athletics/bolt-puts-the-writing-on-wall-for-long-jump-world-record-1776436.html

Worth a read

• Bimbro // August 24, 2009 at 6:53 AM

Scout, dat may be d reason but I doubt it’s the only one! Posssibly his fondness fuh ganga, u know, the intoxicant which d JAs caan live widout or close proximity to such Bob Marley-type users, lef e brain addle a long time ago!!

• Bonny Peppa // August 24, 2009 at 5:44 PM

Bro Scout,
    Dat baddddddd. I luv um. He din hear de school bell.

I gone doe, I cud hear mine ringing :)

Bimbro,
    Ya ring-neck-vagabon.
    A too luv ya comadee.

• robin hood // August 24, 2009 at 9:49 PM

@All

I thought this thread was supposed to be about congratulating Ryan Griffith!
    However, it seems to have degenerated to the usual personal attacks, innuendo and hyperbole that we see occurring on nearly every thread on BU!

• Bonny Peppa // August 24, 2009 at 10:29 PM

Robin,
    Aren’t you guilty of the same? Then shushhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Ryan brathwaite // August 25, 2009 at 11:31 AM

thanks everyone for supporting me

• bUnderGround // August 25, 2009 at 12:32 PM

Your welcome.

• David // August 25, 2009 at 7:10 PM

Let me join with BU household member and thank Ryan for taking time out of his training schedule in Switzerland to post on BU, we will track your every performance going forward, we wish you well!

• The Scout // August 25, 2009 at 9:15 PM

Ryan Brathwaite
    Congrats my fellow bajan; you have made us PROUD. Please remain humble but positive. You are the TRUE ambassador and mentor for our youth here in Barbados. Keep flying the Barbados flag high.

• zion1971 // August 26, 2009 at 1:28 AM

@ scout

The typical bajan man in all his literacy glory will not accept that the fact that the three noble prize winners from the caribbean are not of bajan stock.

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 8:14 AM

Somebody commented about multiple handles from one person. I see ‘David’, and it links to BU. I see ‘bUnderground’; that also links straight to BU. So, I guess mutliple handles is a NON ISSUE.

Murmurings are heard in some corners in Hillaby that Ryan did not send any message to BU. Can someone confirm. It would be bad to embarrass the boy by abusing his name. He could claim identity theft.

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 8:19 AM

Mr ZION1971, your sentence that reads: {The typical bajan man in all his literacy glory will not accept that the fact that the three noble prize winners from the caribbean are not of bajan stock} explains clearly what LITERACY glory is (LITERARY?). Do you mean NOBEL, which is a noble prize to get? bajan should be Bajan (proper noun?). I do not want to be rude but you need to make a better case.

The NOBEL committee is there to be contacted instead of moaning from down here. They can be reaced in Oslo.

Dont you think it is time that people in Barbados see that others have merit? If Bajans want to win everything then they need to compete in everything and be the best. Do you see any Bajans lining up with Chinese skills to go to Beijing and work in the Embassy? If there are none do we send the ones we have who know about eating Chinese food? Is that good enough? How about sending the Crop Over song Chow Mein and not send Sir Lloyd at all?

• David // August 26, 2009 at 9:29 AM

@Anonymous

We have ignored your barbs, innuendo and insults all yesterday. We have even ignored your multiple handles because most BU family would know what you have been trying to do. We will clarify a couple points raised.

Ryan Braithwaite is known to a member of the BU household who contacted him in Switzerland and asked him to comment. Secondly, the BU household member who contacted him posted the comment which followed. Usually, most comments are posted under David but it does not negate the contribution of the other members of the BU household.

To be honest, we are disappointed a man of your touted academic standing would be stooping to such levels but we shall see.

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 9:54 AM

David, a few issues. You say now it was not Ryan who made the comment. Why did you not state that and why then thank him? You could have written “comment provided by friend of Ryan Brathwaite on his behalf” and that would have been well understood.

You seem sure of the identity of the poster and that is something that if wrong you may want to redress. Several posters are following the threads and are seeking to see where the discussions go.

You seem to have at least misled the BU family. Do you agree?

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 9:56 AM

If various posters are using multiple handles, including yourself, what is it thta you are saying that is wrong? You can seem to be several and others cannot?

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 10:02 AM

Just to help. I am a female. I am a graduate. I used to live in Barbados, and know it well. I never worked for the IMF but have worked in the USA. I can offer directions to my office, and will be glad to meet, and with a witness in case there is any need to 3rd party confirmation. Now, do you still want to think that you know to whom you are responding?

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 11:37 AM

David, at the very least the following gives a particular impression, and you imply that in fact you were 2 of the ‘persons’. Who was the BU household member you were addressing? Are David and bUnderGround different or the same?

Ryan brathwaite // August 25, 2009 at 11:31 AM

thanks everyone for supporting me
    #

bUnderGround // August 25, 2009 at 12:32 PM

Your welcome.
    #

David // August 25, 2009 at 7:10 PM

Let me join with BU household member and thank Ryan for taking time out of his training schedule in Switzerland to post on BU, we will track your every performance going forward, we wish you well!

If what you are arguing is to make sense then who will post comments from say ‘David Thompson’?

Signing off.

• The Scout // August 26, 2009 at 12:52 PM

There are so many matters that need the BU family to swabble over, I don’t believe that posters can now be making a controversy over such a famous event. Let enjoy the occasion and congratulate the young man. Most of you who are using the moment to create a problem, can’t even jump over onr of the hurdles at their own pace so just switch-off.

• Anonymous // August 26, 2009 at 2:53 PM

@The Scout, in case you misunderstand. In many senses, the original post was tribute enough to Ryan’s exploits and it seemed very sincere. But, when it appears that the sentiments are enhanced by further comments, we appear to hit a problem. If Ryan appreciated the gesture of BU, so be it and let him or a representative express that, and say so clearly. However, it appears that another impression was sought. That may be a misreading. David has now clarified.

What could have happened and it often does, is that someone shows the blog to Ryan who then publicly denies it being from him and then egg may hit faces. No need for that. That’s all. He ran well. All should be proud.

• Gear Box // August 26, 2009 at 3:12 PM

Anonymous gotta pokey too…!

AAAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhhhhhh

• Bonny Peppa // August 26, 2009 at 11:38 PM

Gear Box,
    You notice? Haw hawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

• David // August 28, 2009 at 7:12 AM

Barbadian Ryan Brathwaite will compete today at the AF Golden League in Zurich, Switzerland. Click on the link to check how the races will run-off. Ryan’s race will be at 20.20 (Switzerland Time)

• Themis // August 28, 2009 at 7:27 AM

That’s 2p:m our time, David.

• zion1971 // August 28, 2009 at 4:30 PM

Ryan came third in a time of 13.21, behind trammell of the USA and Thomas of Jamaica.Congratulation Ryan.

• Mrs Bishop // September 13, 2009 at 2:55 PM

I am sorry he did not have a flag to do the victory lap with and you know he was looking for one :) congratulations Ryan, and yea CBC knew he was making strides why not pre-empt the crap that they usually show and show something of National Significance??? COW….loafer that is what!

• David // September 13, 2009 at 7:20 PM

Ryan ends the season in style!

Lets all get out on Thursday and give him a rousing welcome home.

• David // September 17, 2009 at 8:24 PM

A fantastic tribute to Ambassador Brathwaite!

• tiffany // September 18, 2009 at 3:56 PM

SEXY TG. I SAW RYAN ON TV HE IS LIKE SOOOO CUTE ESPECIALLY WHEN HE SMILES.I WAS SO FREAKING OUT OVER HIM.I’M
    REALY GLAD THAT HE GOT HIS HONOURS BECAUSE HE DESERVES IT HE CAN CALL ME AT 422/SEXY I’M FROM BARBADOS ALSO

• JENNIFER // September 18, 2009 at 4:03 PM

SEXY J,J. IT WAS REALY GREAT TO HEAR THE NATIONAL ANTHEM IN BERLIN .HE MUST HAVE FELT REALY GREAT[AND TIRED].I KNOW FOR SURE THIS WILL GO DOWN IN HISTORY

• Anonymous // November 24, 2009 at 7:09 PM

i love u ryan

• 43 Not Out But The Pitch Is Starting To Take Spin « Barbados Underground // November 29, 2009 at 8:56 PM

[...] many Barbadians 2009 will be defined by that moment when Ryan Brathwaite won the gold medal at the World Championships. It was the first time Barbados had achieved such a [...]

Leave a Comment