We have to believe, yet again, the renewed effort underway to recruit members in the Barbados Consumer Watch organization will bear fruit this time around. It seems ludicrous that a country labeled to be in a severe economic recession by the International Monetary Fund and with Barbadians indicating the cost of living to be a big concern, yet they would so easily spurn the opportunity to sign-up to a consumer organization. The politicians who suggest that the cost of living is such a big concern for Barbadians should explain our low level of participation and activism in consumer organizations.
Barbadians welcome the intervention of the intellectuals at Cave Hill who recently went public with some research done on what influences prices of goods in Barbados. Our sense is that they needed to go further. Maybe we are too harsh in our assessment of their effort but until we can understand how a supermarket can report $750,000 in shoplifting and remain in business, we have to continue to ask why.
One of the principals behind the Barbados Consumer Watch organization is BU family member, the indefatigable ROK. The President is well known netball administrator Annette Beckett.
Read what President of the Barbados Consumer Watch has to say on their website about the current membership drive.

94 responses so far ↓
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 3:50 AM
@David
One of the critical points about consumers is that we can no longer depend on Government to control prices having signed on to the WTO and EPA.
In recent times we have been hearing the PM threatening to set up another BMC type outlet, but the stark fact is that 200,000+ people are not going to descend on that outlet and neither will it have the variety of items that obtains at outlets island wide.
The concern is not just food, it is: Clothing, gasoline, building construction & maintenance, insurance, banking, health & nutrition, medical services, utilities, household items, transportation and every aspect of consumer spending.
When you consider the discount card, for example BARP cards and magna cards, it means that if everybody were members of both, then everybody would be getting better prices. This in itself suggests that prices can come down.
Too many people get surprised at the checkout counter and I will continue to maintain that there should be no surprises at the checkout. Therefore, consumerism is not only about prices but also about displaying prices, quality of goods and quality of services.
Many better off Bajans throw away their money on defective goods and spoiled foods because they want to keep the peace. Many should consider that doing this makes bad for the poorer person because so long as you are willing to pay the price and throw away the goods, then you start hearing the retail sector arrogantly saying, take it or leave it; somebody else will buy it.
The only protection afforded to consumers is as a collective body strongly influencing the market. Individually, we stand little chance of of success against the pressure that is placed on the individual by big business which controls the retail sector.
General Lee // September 22, 2009 at 4:55 AM
Mr. ROK,
Consumers in Barbados are looking for a messiah to rescue them from the bondage of high prices and poor service. You should know by now that Bajans are loath to join any organization that seeks to represent them, if there is the slightest chance that they might actually have to do something to help themselves.
Last year the union was trying to organize a buyers club but ran into difficulties because of insufficient support from its members.
200 ooo people are not going to flock to the government outlets,which could be located in the various public markets.
Those who now shop at certain supermarkets because they enjoy the ambience, will ignore these outlets like they currently ignore the discount stores.
I do not think that the aim is to offer every single thing that the large supermarkets stock but the basics that most people buy.
As long as consumers continue to tolerate the current situation, the PM will continue to make empty promises on this issue every couple of months to keep the masses believing their suffering is of concern to him.
Your optimism knows no bounds.
Good luck with this drive.
David // September 22, 2009 at 5:48 AM
Is there a role for other stakeholders to push the awareness factor ie the media, church etc?
freewilly // September 22, 2009 at 5:50 AM
Merchants in Barbados have gone past being parasitic bloodsuckers..they are full blown Vampires now..bottom line..buy what you need..see who has the most reasonable prices and support their stores,i would never pull out a trolley at Supercentre Warrens,JB’s or Trimart..i’m not that stupid,if it is a necessity like bread or a very small item they might get my sales..but certain Vampire supermarkets i would never pull a trolley to fill up…never.
freewilly // September 22, 2009 at 5:53 AM
Don’t make me laugh David..the church..the media…lol
freewilly // September 22, 2009 at 6:02 AM
To all cash concious bloggers..Popular and Cherish are the stores for average bajans i always support them..all the other chains are suspect..if not for small shops bajans would perish from these whiteboys bout hay here….true true
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 6:23 AM
@General Lee
You think Bajans have become affluent “minded” and don’t care to admit that they are poor or that they are watching their pennies lest they be fingered as cheap?
There must be an answer somewhere. Being boundless in optimism as you say, I am probing.
Actually, I was so very anxious to see the buying club off the ground that it saddens me to hear that it was shelved. Was there a problem with the concept? I must admit that the idea of a buying club sound cumbersome and involved. What about the cooperative set up by the employees of the electric company, is that not still functioning?
Maybe an answer to David’s point about stakeholders is for all these efforts to combine. Certainly union membership is a large audience. Maybe Annette should get together with the Union and BARP. Together that may become an awesome messiah??
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 6:31 AM
@freewilly
True. We really need to start supporting those small shops more. Problem that they are plagued with the prices too because they have to buy from the merchants.
Popular and Cherish may well be importing their own goods. If this is so, maybe they should let in some smaller retailers in the act and stem the supply of goods at higher prices from the traditional middle men.
David // September 22, 2009 at 6:55 AM
Agree with you freewilly to a degree. Barbadians are followers mostly and will wait for a Messiah to lead the charge. Given the changing position of the global landscape a greater responsibility now falls on civil organizations to compensate. It is not business as usual. Ultimately a vibrant consumer market will benefit all, the status quo is not sustainable.
Bonny Peppa // September 22, 2009 at 8:14 AM
When will B/dian consumers understand they have the power?
When hell freezes over.
Believe you me.
Champagne taste, mauby pockets mentality.
Popular, Cherish? Some won’t be caught in dese places dead.
SuperCentre, JB’s………………. oh, de ambienceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, doan mind de prices, de ambienceeeeeeeeeeeeeeee, ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, so niceeeeeeeeeeeee
The Scout // September 22, 2009 at 8:32 AM
True Bonny, sooooo true
Annette // September 22, 2009 at 8:33 AM
Hi guys:
We are either going to try to help solve the problem or the problem will remain and we will continue to complain and bellache and do nothing. I would like some one to explain to me how we are going to get “this vibrant consumer organization” if the consumer themselves do not join. I decided to make this attempt again, but the truth is, that if the Barbados consumer does not want to be part of an organization that’s their loss. I do hope that people join up and we can make another attempt and see how far we can take it. I , along with some others , are prepared to do the necessary up front work, but it will all go to nothing if the consumers themselves are prepared to do nothing.
Rickey George // September 22, 2009 at 8:45 AM
@David, I have heard “Barbadians are followers mostly and will wait for a Messiah to lead the charge.” several times before. But if that is the case, you would think that Bajans would gladly ‘follow’ good and best practices, if they exist in the country, and also if they can see them elsewhere. But it is not the case, or very rarely the case. Why is that? Is it that Bajans are not followers at all, or is it also a matter of ‘who’ or ‘what’ they follow?
What is apparent is that Bajans seem to prefer their ‘own solutions’ even when these can be shown clearly to be no where near the best. Take a look at what happened with the reform of income tax department during this year, as an example.
General Lee // September 22, 2009 at 8:53 AM
ROK
If people barely have two cents too rub together, how do you explain the fact that they continue to patronize places where the prices are known to be higher?
They will tell you that they get good service, enjoy the AC while strolling through the wide aisles, where they can find everything they want, plus the staff knows their name and make them feel special.
Those people are not watching pennies.
The real poor people on the other hand, know where to go to stretch their few coppers, but after trying their utmost best to stretch those few coppers, when they exit the supermarket, the feeling that they just had an encounter with the three card men overwhelms them.
Someone now have too show them that if they can unite for the common good then all those two cents add up quickly and they can then make demands.
The political leaders, the trade unions and the co-op movement have failed to do so.
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 8:57 AM
@General Lee
I must say that you comment is very instructive and I believe that you are absolutely correct. We are simply looking in the wrong places for support/membership.
General Lee // September 22, 2009 at 9:16 AM
BCW should consider handing out forms in the parking lots of major supermarkets, if they have not done so already.
The people who need you most are probably unaware of your existence.
politcal whoredom // September 22, 2009 at 9:24 AM
I had to put back a container of cherry tomatoes in the supermarket sunday. It cost $24,49!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Annette // September 22, 2009 at 9:43 AM
Ok General Lee..
this is also one of our plans..but guess what…it would be nice to get some volunteers to help us do so. BCW does not have nubmers right now, and this is wht we are trying to do. so anyone who will be willing to hand out the membership forms at supermarkets, shops, cricket grounds, community, church, please let us know and we will try to get the forms to you ASAP, or you have our permission to print the forms from the site and hand them out where ever you think we could get some members. Thanks
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 9:43 AM
@General Lee
Got that right.
@ Political whoredom
hahahahahahahahahahahahaha, lol! I am sure that same tin anywhere else is probably 2 4 $.99
Bonny Peppa // September 22, 2009 at 9:46 AM
Political Whoredom
Exactly and if all the other consumers do likewise, the merchants will get the message. Not?
Who needs cherry tomatoes anyway? A rose by any other name is still a rose, Suga-plum.
Luv de name by de way but u could edit de last 3 letters pun de las name. Sound much gooda. (teehee)
David // September 22, 2009 at 9:54 AM
Not meant to bash anyone but the perception which is currently draped around the consumer movement in Barbados can be described in a name-Malcom Gibbs-Taitt.
We listen to the gentlemen who has for a long time become tainted with his political bent. For the good of the movement others of credible standing must come to the lead. We believe a key strategy is to coopt the support of the moderators of the talkshows. It would help if the media took up this issue as a cause which could be justified as a social investment in the community which they need to exist successful.
mash up & buy back // September 22, 2009 at 10:02 AM
Some of the worst offenders of price goughing are:
The Super Centre chain;
The Tri-mart chain;
Emerald and Carlton Supermarkets;
Pricemart;
Shopsmart;
Minimart in gas stations
You could add to the list.
freewilly // September 22, 2009 at 10:57 AM
So true mu& bb..i almost forgot One Stop Wholesale in Mapp Hill isn’t that bad,you can try there if you have the patience..@ Bonny… i don’t give a F*%k about ambience,all who can’t take rubbing shoulders with the average bajan just because they live in the heights now and driving a flashy car or SUV could continue keeping the vampires rich,i was never one to keep up appearances and get on poor great..lol
Anonymous // September 22, 2009 at 11:26 AM
Where can recent reports on prices be found?
I would like to read the report prepared by the university lecturers and the one prepared for the chamber of commerce.
mash up & buy back // September 22, 2009 at 11:27 AM
Freewilly
That Mapp hill wholesale place is extremly expensive.
There is no benefit to buying anything in bulk there at those prices.
freewilly // September 22, 2009 at 11:40 AM
To be honest mu& bb i only go there for potatoes,a couple of box juices and 1 or 2 other items that you can get in 3’s otherwise i have never bought any vast quantity of goods in bulk from there so i will have to accept your point.
Christopher Halsall // September 22, 2009 at 12:02 PM
@BU Family…
If I may, please let me bring forward my personal bugaboo… Telecommunications.
Please note that there currently exists (limited) alternatives for long-distance calling.
If you are a business or an individual, Blue Communications are the first provider of alternative long-distance call options.
Please see http://www.blue.bb/ for details.
(Full disclaimer — I am in no way associated with Blue, except that I have worked with their principles in the past in efforts to actually get liberalization here in Barbados.)
Now, if the FTC would ever issue a revised Reference Interconnection Offer (RIO) with “Outgoing International Call Termination”, we consumers would see many more options….
Bonny Peppa // September 22, 2009 at 12:12 PM
Off topic, I would like to extend condolences to the two families who lost loved one over the weekend tragically. This brings to mind my personal tragedy earlier in the year. It is so overwhelming and devastatingly painful. Some days I felt like the need to give up on life. But for a strong family, friend support I felt like I was 2 steps away from Jinkins. It is so painful. I don’t know if you’re religious or not but maybe you can find solace in knowing that when there appears to be only one set of footprints in the sand, it is then that HE is carrying you under his wings. So don’t despair because “He walks with you and He talks with you along life’s narrow ways”.
Tears endure for a night but joy cometh in the morning.
We at BU empathize with you at this time.
“Gone Too Soon”.
R.I.P
Bonny Peppa // September 22, 2009 at 12:18 PM
Chris Halsall
Is this similar to the MagicJack?
Christopher Halsall // September 22, 2009 at 12:27 PM
@Bonny Peppa: “Is this similar to the MagicJack?
No. This is not “Voice over IP” (VOIP). Although, of course, this is also a legal option here in Barbados, thanks to a Policy that I am particularly proud of.
The Blue offering is a “Two Stage Dialing” service. For individual consumers, it is by way of a “Calling Card”.
Bonny Peppa // September 22, 2009 at 12:37 PM
Chris,
Ok. MagicJack is truly amazing. Only accessible to USA n Canada but truly amazing.A bit incoherent at times but works greattttttttttttttttttttttttt.
Bimbro // September 22, 2009 at 12:49 PM
Barbadian consumers will have only a modicum of power while their understanding of customer care is so abysmal and that it’s a two-way methodology, put simply, scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours!! :)
I think that’s brilliant, myself!!
Bush Tea // September 22, 2009 at 9:21 PM
“When will B/dian consumers understand they have the power?”
What B/dian consumers understand what power what?!!
First you need to HAVE power, then one may seek to understand it.
How can you have power as a consumer when you have no ownership in manufacturing, farming or retail?
What power can you have when ‘others’ can decide -in their own discretion- on What to sell you, when to sell you, how to sell you where to sell and at what price to sell?
We have one power ONLY!!! the power to beg.!!
- for mercy
- for discount
- for help
ROK,
What will the new consumer group do? strike? offer alternative items?…. or just talk?
Bush Tea considers this situation the more scandalous when one considers that these same ‘powerless’ Bajans have $1 billion in savings in the credit union system and a couple more billions in the banks….. moneys being used by the same ‘others’ to finance the supermarkets and other retail infrastructure that is currently ripping us off….
..Not only do we NOT have power, seems that we don’t even have the sense to utilize our own resources…
Is that called being ‘done’ twice?
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 9:45 PM
@BT
There is so much to be done for consumerism that I had decided before Annette called me up that I was going to take it all through the court system. I started to think about what points of law could be taken to court and even to the consumer claims tribunal.
I ready for the commercial banks and I ready for the FTC. Only Sunday, I started to frame a writ against the FTC. I got sufficient evidence on the banks to start them too. Hit them one by one until they curb certain practices but I need to choose the battles most likely to succeed because the idea is to register victories one after one.
That recent appeal against a Kentish decision that succeeded, is encouraging to say the least. It tells me that the court is ready to take on a modern view of consumerism.
A consumer organisation could do a lot in this area to represent consumer interest and it would be better poised to deal with the politics too. As a single person it is a waste of time trying to deal with the politics but it could avoid some of the litigation if an organisation emerges.
KISSMYA // September 22, 2009 at 9:56 PM
not my kind of topic
all talk no action
bewitched and brainwashed to be mendicants, Bajans need to wake-up from their docility but everytime you try to be a help , black people usually ask , wha’ s/he want now? and fail to support anything that you propose.
Just like on this blog
Pat // September 22, 2009 at 10:03 PM
politcal whoredom // September 22, 2009 at 9:24 AM
I had to put back a container of cherry tomatoes in the supermarket sunday. It cost $24,49!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What a pity I cant send you some of mine. I planted two plants and the fruit are rotting in my garden. Just too many of the little critters. Cant bottle them, too many seed and skins to peel. Juice maybe. Hardly any slugs to eat them as the earwigs got most of the eggs and a toad and the chipmounts been getting fat off the rest.
I feel sorry for Bajns who refuse to plant a vegetable garden.
You should see my savoy cabbages. I planted only 6. They are spectacular! The local TV doing a series on community gardens and photographed my savoys. They are 3 feet across and the heads are one foot in diameter. They weigh on average 6 pounds. Thing is I only need two for myself.
Bush Tea // September 22, 2009 at 10:21 PM
@ ROK
You know what I like about you Rokky? your heart is in the right place.
…Bush tea is not 100% sure that your head is fully screwed in though…. LOL.
…how you mean you going sue the banks? sue them for what? taking advantage of idiots? ROK, that is fair game.
If a set of people choose to scrunt and save their money and give it to you to manage…. You take their money and lend it back to them – but only to buy consumer items with high profit markups.
Meanwhile, you lend most to your friends at low interest, on great terms to operate businesses that further rob the idiots….
What sue what bank what?!!
..you should sue the foolish Bajans….
(It hurts Bush Tea to do this, but) I must agree with KISSMYA “….bewitched and brainwashed to be mendicants, Bajans need to wake-up from their docility but everytime you try to be a help , black people usually ask , wha’ s/he want now? and fail to support anything that you propose.”
…the only person who could get Bajans to rally together for a cause would be some foreign joker who speak with an accent, talk lots of gibberish and have a healthy superiority complex….
…WAIT!!! this sounds like a job for LIB!!! ROTFLMAO
David // September 22, 2009 at 10:34 PM
Whenever the matter of consumerism is discussed in Barbados we have the visualization of a train wreck about to happen.
Bush Tea // September 22, 2009 at 10:50 PM
A Train wreck!!!
@ David
In other words you visualize that NOTHING is going to happen – since we have no trains in Bim…
ROK // September 22, 2009 at 11:20 PM
@BT
I like to talk once not idle. I prefer my head not screwed on correctly because it allows me to challenge the foolishness.
freewilly // September 23, 2009 at 5:14 AM
LOL at BT…so everyone agrees that that the Vampires will always come out on top then..no matter what sector..banking,insurance,food distribution,hardware supplies,auto garages,etc..etc..they got us by the balls..lol..simple solution..keep your money in your pockets,stop supporting their businesses and make them reduce prices and sell everything from food to cars at what they really should be sold for..until then Bajans are hopeless..it hurts your heart when you see the price of items on the net and then see what it costs with the mark up here in BIM.
mash up & buy back // September 23, 2009 at 6:50 AM
ROK
I support your effort to at least try something.
We can all moan and wring our hands but it takes the first pull on the loose knot to unravel the whole chain.
David // September 23, 2009 at 6:56 AM
@mash up & buy back
What you write is true and ROK et al know we support them. However you and I know the lack of reaction by the Barbadian public is not commensurate with our reputed level of education. Ironically in the sub-region of the EC they are much more proactive when they have to represent their rights. Barbadians have become very fat and lazy and obviously need a kick in the rear to get going. The current economic situation maybe the motivation to get that foot lifted.
mash up & buy back // September 23, 2009 at 7:47 AM
David
What this country need is a genuine grass roots leader.
A man or woman who has integrity,who has hutz-pa or cajones and who has the stature to deal with the king and the commoners.
Barbados like most small societies can be a very unforgiving place if you have transgress at any point in time of your life.
So a person with skeletons in his/her closet might have a hard time beind accepted as the people’s leader.
However I think our society is changing and what would have been a necessary prerequisite in the past – that is,being Mr or Mrs So and so big -up son to be taken seriously – and not be seen as a rebel,is no longer the case now.
A back bone of steel is a necessary prerequisite.
A man who can take and can also give back some barbs and pips.
A man who is articulate and fearless,but knows when to compromise,and when to give a little but not on the core issues.
A man who is not given to bribes nor is awed by the presence of those in the business or political class,and more importantly some one who will not sell out his people for a mess of pottage,or his ten pieces of silver.
That is the kind of leader Barbados needs.
Sadly we look for this type of leadership only in the political class without realising that we are getting pretty close to the bottom down there.
Today’s politicians aere not men or women of courage or conviction.Rather they are opportunists who sense that being in a politcs is something they can do for at least 10 years,get a big pension after 10 years,and in the process get some name recognition and all the other attendant benefits ie,sex,freebies,a lil respect and adoration etc.
I repeat again David,what Barbados needs right now is a LEADER!
Terence M. Blackett // September 23, 2009 at 8:19 AM
The relationship between consumption and modern hyper-consumerism is receiving much attention in today’s marketplace debate on environmental problems – given the hoopla yesterday at the UN on climate change.
The emergence of consumerism
in Western Europe can be dated to the late 17th and early 18th centuries – starting with the Industrial Revolution on the back of the Enlightenment Period where all kind of scientific formulations came on stream…
Although considerable research has been devoted to the history of both these phenomena, there are
few studies which in depth investigate the connections between them. The connections, when perceived, are taken for granted without further problematization.
One of the early indications of consumerism was the growing market for sugar in Europe in the second half of the seventeenth century and the eighteenth century. (Sidney Mintz, Sweetness and Power: The place of sugar in modern history (New York, 1986); P.D. Curtin, The Rise and Fall of the Plantation Complex. Essays in Atlantic History (Cambridge, 2nd ed. 1998).
The desire to consume was hardly anything new. All human life presupposes some degree of consumption. However, the desire to acquire goods one does not necessarily
need was not as widespread (or even existing) in pre-modern societies as it would become in modern times.
In the 17th & 18th centuries the Caribbean was incorporated into the
international trade network, the “world system” the core of which was constituted by the European colonial powers.
As a broader range of exotic products such as tobacco and sugar became available, European consumption patterns changed. The growth of markets and buying power in Europe stimulated investments in sugar plantations and created a wealthy class of planters on sugar islands such as Barbados, Jamaica and other islands…
What did early modern consumers in the Caribbean “sugar islands” buy? How much were they influenced by European fashion in clothing, food and drink? Did the consumption patterns of the planter class spill over to the other groups? How did the tropical climate shape the development of Caribbean material culture?
The one area of strong consumerism amongst Bajan women is that of “FASHION”…
Philip W. Scher in Perspectives on the Caribbean: A Reader in Culture, History and Representation argues that:
“Corporate ideologies about femininity and work, and disciplinary measures that subtly enforce them, contribute to pink-collar workers’ pride as “professional” workers. In other words, dress as a manifestation of corporate discipline becomes interwoven with the pervasive and conservative Barbadian ethic that places great emphasis on grooming and deportment.”
A number of social critics have debated the fashion question – whether fashionable dress is a form of female
oppression or self-expression and adult play.
“Is it part of empty consumerism, or is it a site of struggle symbolized in dress codes? Does it muffle the self, or create it?” (Wilson 1990:231)
Questions worthy of answers…
Terence M. Blackett // September 23, 2009 at 8:33 AM
@MU&BB
“I repeat again David,what Barbados needs right now is a LEADER!!!”
Please excuse my frank candor – “But who in their ‘cotton-pickin’ mind would want such a task????
As a student of social history, I am sure you can appreciate what happens to those who undertake the task of leading a miserable bunch of ingrates to a “Promised Land”…
So we need a “MOSES” huh?
Remember, Moses led 3 and a half million slaves out of Egypt – they all died off and a new generation entered that promised land under the strain of war and distress.
Every true Black leader that has ever emerged to lead our people from time immemorial has either been killed by his own, murdered by the establishment or just hung out to dry – fading into the mist of obscurity…
BOB “the music prophet” Marley said it best:
mash up & buy back // September 23, 2009 at 9:22 AM
I am amused by all these naysayers who always shoot down whatever suggestion is made and do not offer a credible solution.
Terrence blackett who lives over and away and treats us to long discourses on every conceivable subject now dismisses the idea of a new leader coming forth in Barbados – because as he tells us – what’s the use of doing that – since every leader is killed by his own people.
The Oracle has spoken and that is the end of the matter.
Next subject.
I suppose the people of barbados can take great comfort from that piece of wisdom,which would have helped their cause a great deal.
This is why my respect for ROK is growing.
Rok may not be what Barbadians might think as the traditional leader,but at least he is not contented to sit back and spout grouses,he at least puts his words into action.
Man we like a lot of talking.
Give me a person of ideas and action any time.
I am sure there are a lot of persons out there who may be diamonds in the rough,with a lot of leadership characteristics – and all they want is some support and encouragement and guidance.
But yuh know how it is bout here,we will tell yuh,man I behind you a 100%,but when yuh look back,not a soul around.
Terence M. Blackett // September 23, 2009 at 9:40 AM
@MU&BB
“The Oracle has spoken and that is the end of the matter….”
Did I dent something here?
By the way, the “ORACLE” either lives in Omaha or his name is Dr. Vince Cable…
I stated the facts…. and for your information, my family and I have investments, interests and inheritances in Barbados – so to assume that I am far removed living on PLANET ZOG*, looking down on the minions as they get on with the process of living frankly is intellectually deficient at least and a parody of an insult at worst….
We had a great LEADER in “THE RIGHT HONORABLE ERROL WALTON ‘dipper the skipper’ BARROW – look what he was up against, moreover, if left to some in my country – they would LOVE* to stamp out his legacy!!!
Ask our beloved Prime Minister (forgive me for taking the piss’) why he isn’t following the script left by this great man?
Until then BRUV* – have a nice day!!!
mash up & buy back // September 23, 2009 at 9:55 AM
Terrence
You have a nice day too my brother wherever you are.
Still will reiterate Barbados needs a great leader right now.
Only men need apply // September 23, 2009 at 10:46 AM
These ideas from mash up and buy up sound so good at first.
“However I think our society is changing and what would have been a necessary prerequisite in the past – that is,being Mr or Mrs So and so big -up son to be taken seriously – and not be seen as a rebel,is no longer the case now.
A back bone of steel is a necessary prerequisite.
A man who can take and can also give back some barbs and pips.
A man who is articulate and fearless,but knows when to compromise,and when to give a little but not on the core issues.
A man who is not given to bribes nor is awed by the presence of those in the business or political class,and more importantly some one who will not sell out his people for a mess of pottage,or his ten pieces of silver.”
But, man, you spoil it. You look like you only interested in MEN IN POWER. If that’s a slip of thought, better get the other half of the population and electorate back on board. Your mother might not like what you saying.
mash up & buy back // September 23, 2009 at 11:09 AM
Only men need apply
If you read above that post you quoted from, you will see I spoke about a leader being a man or woman with integrity,cajones etc.
Leaders as we all know come in different colours,genders,size,philosophical leanings etc.
I am not too caught up with any feminist arguments here too be honest.
All I am saying is whoever fits the bill step up to the plate be they man or woman,although I will admit if we consider the examples thrown up in the region’s political circles,caribbean countries have not given us many female political leaders – Dame Eugenia Charles and Portia Simpson.
Maybe this may tell the story as to why we are in the mess we are in currently,who knows?
We may well ask,will a woman have to prove herself to be twice as good as compared to a man?
Hopefully any future prospective female leader will not feel she has to ‘act like a man,think like a man’ etc
Our educational and other institutions have not been shaping our young minds in the direction of national service,of creative thinking,of having an independent mind set.
Things which are necessary ingredients in the making of a leader.
Jack Bowman // September 23, 2009 at 11:23 AM
Mr. mash up & buy back has several opinions. Here is one of them:
“I am not too caught up with any feminist arguments here too [sic] be honest.”
Mr. Negroman! Welcome back. You have been missed by your fans. God bless.
Anonymous // September 23, 2009 at 3:56 PM
@Only men need apply
Read things in context don’t distort them to serve a purpose.
Anonymous // September 23, 2009 at 7:24 PM
I agree that there is an obvious need for an association which can champion the consumer’s rights.
I’d like to join but I have two questions:
1. Does the Barbados Consumer Watch association have an action plan (i.e. things to do and how those things will be done)? What is it?
2. Does BCW plan to work with other consumer organizations and the FTC? If so, how?
KISSMYA // September 23, 2009 at 9:04 PM
It is time for the Rapture -OCTOBER 2011 , according to what is being foretold, the world ends for WHITE RULE….BLACK people will rise again
Bonny Peppa // September 23, 2009 at 9:16 PM
KissMya
You bin drinkin?
ROK // September 23, 2009 at 9:46 PM
The following two questions are an example that Barbadian consumers are seeking leadership:
1. Does the Barbados Consumer Watch association have an action plan (i.e. things to do and how those things will be done)? What is it?
2. Does BCW plan to work with other consumer organizations and the FTC? If so, how?
One would have thought that the purpose of forming an organisation would be to get input from members to do the above.
The Scout // September 23, 2009 at 9:54 PM
Kissmya
I’ve been seeing these posters stuck all over the place. Lord have Mercy, we’re getting so fanatic about Christianity? My Bible tells me that NO-ONE knows when the end would be, it could be tonight or on the October 2011, or millions of years after. What is important to me is to keep myself in readiness to welcome his coming. I’m not perfect, far from, but when I sin, I ask forgiveness. I try to live a simple Godly life.
Anonymous // September 23, 2009 at 10:12 PM
@ROK
I personally do not think that it would be beneficial to the BCW if they depended on input from its members on how it shall operate.
An association with an action plan will be far more efficient and beneficial to the public at large than one without one.
I asked those 2 questions because the following question popped into my mind when I read that the set date for the meeting will be in November:
1. Will this meeting have an agenda? ie Do the founders know what they want to do and how they intend to do it?
It’s not a crippling question to the association so please do not take it as such. It’s a question to ascertain the existing goalset of the BCW
ROK // September 23, 2009 at 10:50 PM
“I personally do not think that it would be beneficial to the BCW if they depended on input from its members on how it shall operate.”
We have so very little faith in ourselves. No wonder there have been charges that some PMs were seeking to install themselves as dictators; a self-fulling prophesy you think????
Are you aware that for this government to deliver good governance it has to rely on the input of ordinary people?
Are you aware that such instruments as policy papers, white papers and green papers are as a result of gathering information from the general public?
Are you aware that in taking legislation to Parliament Government has to take into account the general feeling of the people?
Are you aware that the best Government policies are derived from public consultations?
We talk about democracy and we do have it in our hands but fail to exercise it.
It is a joke to think that one man can sit down and decide for all. Just check back these blogs and see what is meat for some is poison for others. Don’t care what you do.
That is why the best way is to get everybody on board and all the opinions collected so that in deciding on policy or strategy we have as many win-win solutions as possible.
I however, take your point, but I am not the President and how she will approach it I will leave that to her.
What I will say though is that there is a lot of groundwork to be done. Consumers need access to information. We are buying food, drugs, dietary supplements and all manner of goods and do not have the first clue about them; many of them are affecting our health and well being and even our offspring.
Also, metrology, standards of quality and safety; references where the consumer can go and access up to date information easily, on goods that are recalled, etc.
Another thing we have to set up is a system of processing complaints so that they reach a conclusion.
We need lawyers, engineers, scientists, economists, sociologist and if not them, their knowledge, studies and research; not to mention writers and other resource people that can make practical inputs if we are to have a vibrant organisation.
Just my take.
KISSMYA // September 24, 2009 at 4:12 AM
Bonny
you ‘ve been fooping ?
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 6:13 AM
@ROK
Thanks for the reply. You have made it clear that some directed thought has been put into this.
Bonny Peppa // September 24, 2009 at 6:39 AM
KissMya,
Yes, I foopsss all de time.
You bin drinkin?
ROK // September 24, 2009 at 7:50 AM
“You have made it clear that some directed thought has been put into this.”
Oh yes! Much directed thought but not a strategic plan. I must apologise if I misunderstood you in that respect.
There are certain basics which each consumer must know and we would have to start there.
For example, prices on items in a retail outlet should be displayed. This is very important to ensuring that there are no surprise at the checkout.
Do you know where to look to ensure that the gas pump servicing your car with gas is calibrated and giving you the right amount?
What do you do when you walk in a store and see”Sale”, “No Cash Refund”? Is it legal for a store to do that?
So in terms of a “plan”, there is more than an idea of how we have to move forward… but I thank you for the exchange because you are making me realise that we may have taken it for granted that consumers know these benefits.
Therefore, even in terms of a membership drive there should be a parallel public education programme so that people could understand what they are getting into and what are the benefits.
Only men need apply // September 24, 2009 at 9:00 AM
As far as context goes, men have ‘cojones’ and when a South African runner was found to have them but not descended her feminity was put in doubt. Let’s show integrity and acknowledge that with maybe a bit of careless writing the strong impression was given that good leaders would be men. No attempt was really made to use inclusive words. Take away man and substitute white and for women use black. Now does context give the same impression?
mash up & buy back // September 24, 2009 at 9:28 AM
Only men need apply
You are sounding mighty familiar,like LIB or rickey george for example.
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 9:52 AM
LOL, And here we go to the extreme, but since MANKIND and MOTHER NATURE exist should we automatically assume the same “context”. No one specified the male species as a better leader, it was stated that “man”, very commonly used to generalize mankind would be a good leader. You are blowing this out of proportion. No on here is trying to be sexist or biased in whom is a better leader.
Ps. Women do lead better in some fields than men and men in others. Leadership of a country is not an exception. I don’t mind a strong leader whether it is male or female once the are leaders and not puppets.
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 10:01 AM
Leadership is about credentials, and not simply those that you acquire at an educational institution. Life experiences and education are the main factors and credentials, with some backbone, of a leader. But also some vision and the ability to adapt. If you argue differently, or want to add to that be my guest but that is the starting point or as some people say, the foundation. A leader like any professional in THEIR field or any other should still be willing to learn and grow as time passes by and not be stuck in the past.
Bush Tea // September 24, 2009 at 10:43 AM
Bush tea is willing to argue that it takes balls to be a good leader…
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 1:31 PM
Well you won’t have to argue with me, I agree with that,but you got to put the balls on the table for everyone to see, just not a select few.
Bush Tea // September 24, 2009 at 1:44 PM
I don’t know where you are going with this ‘table’ thing anonymous…. you could put yours…
….but in my opinion when someone has real ‘testosterone producers’, that fact is plain to anyone with eyes to see….
….ain’t that what got Semanya in trouble…?
Christopher Halsall // September 24, 2009 at 2:00 PM
@Bush Tea: “Bush tea is willing to argue that it takes balls to be a good leader…
I would counter that rather than actual balls, it takes nerves of steal; a willingness to be disliked; a willingness to make hard decisions.
IMHO, being a good leader does not necessarily mean you have to have testicles (although any good leader will need what is colloquially known as testicular fortitude…).
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 2:07 PM
The table thing is figuratively speaking Bush Tea.
Well said Mr. Halsall
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 2:24 PM
As for Semanya that was a disgusting abuse of power, and down right despicable. They knew prior to the event and used her for their own foolish gains. Don’t support that one bit
Ebenezer // September 24, 2009 at 2:35 PM
Mr. Sherlock Mash-up: ”
Only men need apply
“You are sounding mighty familiar,like LIB or rickey george for example.”
Lissen, masquerading as Sherlock Holmes is your part-time job? Every second post of yours is accusing somebody of being somebody. You don’t get tired of yaself?
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 2:51 PM
Off topic, but i am curious as to what people think about the spending of $45 million dollars to renovate/fix/build the LESC, and not place that money in to something more socially needed as in the hospital or health care facilities and supplies.
robin hood // September 24, 2009 at 2:59 PM
@ Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 2:51 PM
Don’t you understand as yet that Sherbourne Centre is the DLP shrine that was started by the “professor” and was not completed! It has surprised me that it took them so long to get back to completing the job! I really thought that project would have been job No. 1 after the elections. LOL.
mash up & buy back // September 24, 2009 at 3:01 PM
Solid points Anon @10:01.
Please be careful around the bushman,because you can’t play too close to the crease,he will get your wicket in no time.Lol.
Young Bajan // September 24, 2009 at 3:14 PM
Anonymous will now be posting as Young Bajan to get away from any confusion.
I understand that is the case but while the finish that one would think that maintaining the status quo with the voting public one would be more socially active and not personally motivated.By socially active i do not mean coming on tv every night to “display/say” what you are doing, actually showing what you are doing that is beneficial for the masses is what i mean. But maybe second terms are only worried about when that time comes and we are thought to have short memories.
CARRY A BONE: BRING A BONE // September 24, 2009 at 3:58 PM
EBENEZER-stop troubling people
Bimbro // September 24, 2009 at 4:41 PM
Consumers have little or no power in the abscense of having money and we’re in a recession so their power is little or non-existent!!
Christopher Halsall // September 24, 2009 at 4:54 PM
@Bimbo: “Consumers have little or no power in the abscense of having money and we’re in a recession so their power is little or non-existent!!
I strongly disagree.
Consumers have the ultimate power…
They can choose to not consume. Or, at least, choose not to consume as much.
And to not consume as much from those who take advantage of them.
But since we’re all told and encouraged (and embarrassed) to “consume”, “consume”, “consume”, that is not so easy for many….
Bush Tea // September 24, 2009 at 5:14 PM
@CH
As you well know, Bush Tea has developed a lot of respect for your humble opinion. Indeed, I well know that it is politically expedient to say that men and women are ‘equal’… otherwise it will be hell to pay!! LOL
But Bush Tea ain’t care one bit…
What equal what?!!
The brilliant engineers that designed this whole shebang DECIDED and DESIGNED that the two sexes were NOT equal and that women were better at (designed for) different roles and men were better at (designed for) other roles.
Leadership is one role of specific mention.
Not to say that women can’t lead, but donkeys can race too, and thoroughbreds can do hard labour….
GP will tell you that his good book says that towards the end of this phase, “..your women shall lead” – but only because the men are not real men anyway – so the women are actually BETTER leaders in that situation.
CH
….if you know any REAL woman, ask her if she WANTS to be a leader or if she would much prefer a REAL man to be her partner and leader…..but since real men are so hard (pun intended) to find, the poor women are required to step up and do the best that they can…
But from a DESIGN perspective, nothing beats a Godly man with balls as a true leader- with a real woman at his side.
—————————–
@ mash up & buy back
…cud dear, why you trying to give the bush man a bad name? It is just that the bush man real old and have seen all the batting styles before…. plus my balls does turn real sharp off the seam….
———————————
@ Young Bajan
I like the new name – proper!
However for both you and MU&BB ’s sake let me explain that leadership is not about credentials, willingness to listen or indeed most of the items that you listed @ 10.01.
Leadership is about;
1 – knowing where you want to go (vision)
2 – having the character charisma, and reputation that inspires others to trust /follow you.
3 – Having confidence in yourself
4 – Having the balls to defeat the natural attempts of the misguided to derail your plans, and the persistence to carry on.
5 -Understanding what makes your followers tick…
Some of the best leaders of all time had NO credentials. (you can always find experts)
Listening to others is mostly just a source of added confusion unless you have a firm plan of action yourself.
etc
Leadership is the most valuable asset available to any organization, group, or country….and good leadership is definitely a blessing directly from God.
Christopher Halsall // September 24, 2009 at 5:31 PM
@Bush Tea…
It pains me to say that I have lost a lot of my respect of you from your immediate above….
Bush Tea // September 24, 2009 at 5:39 PM
Fret not CH
Your loss of respect won’t cause me any loss of sleep LOL
Christopher Halsall // September 24, 2009 at 5:54 PM
@Bush Tea: “Your loss of respect won’t cause me any loss of sleep
But you words and thoughts might cause approximately 50% of your readers loss of sleep….
KISSMYA // September 24, 2009 at 6:05 PM
Bonny
you foops all the time ?
in your dreams !
mash up & buy back // September 24, 2009 at 6:16 PM
Bush Tea
Age brings wisdom.
I give it to you bushman,you got me here looking a second time at my list of leadership qualities.
Good one sire.
Anonymous // September 24, 2009 at 6:38 PM
I’m curious how this discussion has gotten so into what we need as a government (and yes it is true things do need changing). But in all that is being said about prices are we taking into account here shipping goods to this island (it aint free) or even the taxes imposed on these items?? Even if you decide you are going to go away and send home a barrel, as so many bajans do, if you don’t know someone or you happen to get somebody at a bad time chances are your going to pay upwards of 60% on what you brought in. So when you sit down and work out what you paid for something away, then add on shipping and then the ‘applicable taxes and duties’(should you not have a friend in the right position) your not any further ahead.
So instead of bitching about these ‘vampires’ lets look more closely at the right persons imposing said costs. And lets also look at the houses we live in, the cars we drive, the computers we are on, and the cell phones that everyone has. Quit going on about all of these high prices and recession and be grateful you all obviously either still have jobs that your on the here or you sitting at home bitching or in the very least you have a friend thats letting you use theres.
I agree with Rok’s last 2 comment, bajans need to be able to make an informed decision
Bonny Peppa // September 24, 2009 at 8:09 PM
Anonymous,
I want a front-row seat when dese ‘balls’ go pun display pun de table, hear? Doan faget ma.
KissMya,
Who tell ya sa good? I foopssss all de time an yes, even in my dreams. YOu nevvva foopsss in you dreams? Ya liah.
(I cud hear de lafta from hay man, ya purv)
Bush Tea // September 24, 2009 at 9:39 PM
@Chris
“But you words and thoughts might cause approximately 50% of your readers loss of sleep…”
My friend, if I really had the ability to share my thoughts and words effectively, approximately 99.9% of my listeners / readers would suffer from loss of sleep – they would be too busy in prayer…
Bimbro // September 25, 2009 at 2:25 AM
Chris, the problem is we probably all ‘consume’ far too much and a little further contemplation might not be a bad recipe, instead! Consumerism seems to be the modern-day ‘opium of the people’ and many of us r hooked on it, to our wider detriment!!
An dah is d end uh my philosophical-lesson fuh tuhday!!
Laaaddddddddddddddddd!!
Bimbro // September 25, 2009 at 1:22 PM
Conceivably, consumers are n’t even that without spending power in the abscence of which they’re reduced to the status of mere spectators and beggars!!
Pearl // September 26, 2009 at 10:53 PM
I think ROK has the makings of a good idea but I think for it to work it really has to be high profile i.e. reports in the media or a radio or TV programme. Perhaps accept anonymous tips as not everyone will want to be a member.
Alternatively rather than just signing people up in advance, organize a meeting make sure its well publicised, press, radio, Mornin’ Barbados and take it from there. Then try and sign people up at the meeting. That way people have a better idea of the organisation, its aims etc. Plus you may get a wider spectrum of the people.
Also the education aspect for the Consumer Group would be good as well. Sometimes we just see the price on the shelf and think its too hot but do not take into consideration things that could be affecting the price i.e. when importing goods how costs are made up e.g. how much duty is paid to the government, how much is paid to the freighting companies etc. How the cost of fuel affects the pricing of goods imported and or local.
I agree that we have a choice, those of us that are finding the prices challenging can go to shops such as Cherish etc, who offer better prices but you have to go with the right attitude and be prepared to wait, the lines can be long in there, especially if you pick the wrong one. In addition to this we can cut out non essential items, make clothes last longer, repair shoes instead of throwing them out, take lunch to work etc. but whilst we are doing this to make ends meet the economy slows down even further. What’s the solution?