The long awaited Green Paper on Immigration has been made public. Let us have a look. The BU family has been at the forefront of comment around the need for immigration reform. Let us see if our government has been listening to the PEOPLE.
Comprehensive Review Of Immigration Policy And Proposals For Legislative Reform
November 11, 2009 · 161 Comments
Categories: Barbados · Barbados News · Barbados Press · Blogging · Caribbean · Caribbean News · Caricom · David Thompson · Immigration

161 responses so far ↓
Anonymous // October 16, 2009 at 8:52 PM
Negroman,Scout & Others
This Thompson administration is pulling the wool over bajan eyes.
Having looked at this green paper it is full of unadultarated shite.
Nothing we said on this blog has been implemented.
Imagine anybody can engage in a marriage of convenience,stay in a house together yet seperate conveniently for 2 years and then they get barbadian citizenship.
Nothing we said on this blog for 2 straight years has been taken into consideration.
Everything we were reading about the changes at the last heads of government meeting is in this paper to be made law,e.g.people coming in as skilled nationals and bringing in their wives and NOW their wives or husbands would not need work permit.
Imagine now all non national children will be getting free primary school education.Imagine that with our tax dollars.
Look that green paper IMPLEMENTED NOTHING IN FAVOUR OF BAJANS.
Barbados done like shite man,Thompson done gone and sell we out.
Bjans make some noise over the next few months when they discussing this immigration paper.
Let this government know we want some of these things changed like yesterday CSME or no CSME.
We are swimming in dangerous waters folks.
Don’t let veritas and WIV and others try to sell you for a fool.
NOTHING HAS BEEN TIGHTENED UP IN THIS PAPER,NEITHER CITIZENSHIP,RESIDENCY,DOMESTICS COMING IN,NOTHING SO.
Crap pon top of crap.
BLP – DLP same r***ole difference.
Jay // October 16, 2009 at 9:23 PM
Well after reading the green paper I am thoroughly surprised how tough some of the recommendations are.There is no question the bill seems to have some teeth to it while trying to increase the power & efficiency of the Immigration Department to do its job on the front-line.The most surprising thing by far implemented in the green paper is there will be NO more conferring of citizenship to those who do not have legal Permanent parents in Barbados unless the baby’s parents have Barbados Citizenship,Immigrant status,Permanent residency or one of the approved CSME approved categories as this would be an amendment to the Constitution.I think the jus sanguinis part of the bill was absolutely crucial considering Barbados is still a signatory to CSME & I think government has proposed a much stricter implementation of CSME.
It also looks like there are also some things that have been expanded a bit concerning the fact that someone can lose their Citizenship or Permanent residency under expanded circumstances.
Overall,I am actually content with the proposal.As soon as the amnesty period is over hopefully this will become the law of the land.
The St. Lucian Prime Minister has also thrown his support behind having an assessment done in the two countries that are being impacted the most in CSME,which are Antigua & Barbados.
Anonymous // October 16, 2009 at 9:45 PM
Jay
What bill were you reading.
Can you refute any of the points made in the first post above.
Has citizenship been strictly interpreted?
You made a lot of generalisations about the bill having some teeth and is stronger,yet you name 1 thing, denial of citizenship to children born to persons who don’t have immigrant status,residency etc
So it stabds to reason therefore,that children born in Barbados to persons with immigrant status will have barbadian citizenship….. just so.
Tell me who will be the persons having immigrant status – those very CSME skilled nationals who are working here and want their children to be born in barbados and get a barbados passport..
This green paper is alarming.
Look carefully and see how it will be exploited.
All we have are jokers parading as leaders and technocrats who copy and paste from other jurisdictions and who don’t have an original thought in their brain.
If this immigration paper goes through in its present form barbados will be in big trouble for my children and grandchildren.
This will become law and we might as well tell bajans:’will the last bajan leaving barbados please turn the lights off’.
Might as well tell everyone to come in.
Sister Baby // October 17, 2009 at 4:12 AM
I know this Green Paper is of importance to the country, however, I am wondering if PM Thompson lit a diya in honour of the East Indian holiday Diwali, considering there are quite a few East Indians in country. It is reported in a Guyana newspaper that President Obama lit a diya in honour of the holiday.
black taylor with the axe // October 17, 2009 at 9:18 AM
Obama is an APPEASER! Hindus and Muslims have to reason to be in A protestant Christian country , as in their country they KILL US!!!!
black taylor with the axe // October 17, 2009 at 9:20 AM
One parent should have to be bajan born for Children to get papers .. Other than that let them apply like ALL should haver to do …Immigrant status is for the select few that really have reason to immigrate to our small and over-populated country …They can visit for up to 3 months /they can work if we need them !! thats it period!
David // October 17, 2009 at 9:48 AM
@black taylorwith the axe
The following statement contained in the foreword of the Green Paper is instructive:
Jay // October 17, 2009 at 3:05 PM
@Anonymous,
I will not refute anything because the things you have mentioned are not surprising or nothing new considering the P.M. agreed with these things at the Caricom meeting in Guyana when he was under scrutiny from the other Caricom members.
I have looked at the policy & see that there was at least an effort to implement a much stricter tone within the context of what was agreed within the CSME block,which realistically should have been expected.
Also concerning the social service of free education for Caricom non-national children.That was fully expected when the Prime Minister agreed with it,I didn’t & still don’t agree with it but there is nothing I can do about that.My main concern has still been & will always be “Illegal immigration” & “Population density” within Barbados.I am not against legal immigration to Barbados no matter the “ethnicity” or “nationality” just as long as they respect our country,people & culture.If you look at the bill it seems legal status under this new green paper is easier to take away if it is in the “public interest” or “affects National security”.I don’t know what else can be expected from an official standpoint.The birthright citizenship amendment,imo,is key to closing off the biggest loophole that has existed in Barbados for the longest time.I think it will also curb population density as time goes on.Most haven’t been approved for permanent CSME certificates in Barbados so I wouldn’t worry about that too much.
I still think the enforcement division of the Immigration department should have been expanded more……5 to 11 persons in that division isn’t enough imo.50-60 officers would have been much better to carry out the policy in full.
What the country currently lacks is enforcement of immigration laws as the bottomline………….but the country also simply cannot survive without Skilled LEGAL immigration.
Jay // October 17, 2009 at 3:17 PM
I forgot to mention that Government is still open to comment on the green paper hence its release so I don’t think this is the final thing before it becomes the law of the land.
If there is something not to your liking then contact the PM’s office or the DLP party to voice your displeasure.I still think we’re winning this fight even if all things aren’t to my liking,like the Free education for Caricom non-national children or Marriage timeline which should have been increased to 4 years not 2,imo.We have a Prime Minister who is listening to us on the immigration matter but it is obvious there are gonna be constraints to what can possibly be done,even if he is the lead for CSME.
Negroman // October 17, 2009 at 5:12 PM
I am on my annual holiday.I am presently overseas relaxing.I took a break from posting on this blog because when I am holiday I am really on holiday and I block everything else.However,I must agree with Anonymous nothing fundamental has been proposed in that new green shite paper on immigration.
Prime Minister David Thompson is a traitor and a political hum bug.The green shite paper shows the lack of will power of the clowns we have masquerading as politicians.
It is going to be business as usual.
Two years of cohabiting as a couple and then citizenship can be obtained for a non-national partner.Laughable.
David Thompson this green paper on immigration is nothing but a collection of useless recommendations that will not have the effect that the vast majority of Black Barbadians were expecting.
David Thompson you can this green paper and us it to wipe the waste that comes from your body daily.It is nothing but a shitty piece of paper.
Negroman // October 17, 2009 at 5:16 PM
The last paragraph should read David Thompson you can use this green paper and wipe the waste that comes from your body daily.It is nothing but a shitty piece of paper.
mash up & buy back // October 17, 2009 at 5:53 PM
Negroman
You have said it for all of us.
This green paper should be used to wipe their butts.
A complete waste of time.
I wish maxine mcclean or dennis kellman or freundel stuart or one of them so was prime minister,fuh real then.
mash up & buy back // October 17, 2009 at 5:59 PM
I feel betrayed by david thompson,and I am not going to just shrug this off so easy.
Are you telling me this is the best they could do,to put the weakest draft out first instead of the strongest?
David // October 17, 2009 at 6:38 PM
Look forward to reading Linsay Holder’s view on the Green Paper.
Anonymous // October 17, 2009 at 7:55 PM
I hope what I have to say will be given some consideration by the prime minister,the ministers of government,the DLP Elders,and any other concerned citizen.
I am not sure if the prime minister understands that the political capital he had as one of the junior member of the DLP party in the 80s and up to his leadership of the party in the 90s – that the political capital has been used up.
As I listen to young and old barbadians who have voted for Thompson there is no longer that blind trust by persons for him.
Gone are the days of a thompson faction and a taitt or mascoll faction.
Except for a fringe few,persons are watching to see what sort of vision and policy thompson will lay out.
Immigration is one of the biggest indicator of that and to my mind Thompson has missed the boat.
His weak tinkering with the immigration issue suggests to me some one who knows he has to appear to be doing something because the voters are watching,but whose heart is really not in this stringent immigration policy business.
As the product of a white mother and black father it will not surprise me to discover that thompson does not fully understand the passion by persons like Negroman,Scout,JC and others to try and preserve the racial balance in this country,and to avoid the open prejudice displayed by those of indian descent who wish to come and reside in this country.
He hears it through his ears,he understands what is being said in his heart but he does not feel it in his heart or in his bones,because to do so may seem to be an act of betrayal to his non black roots.
Note,it is not only a mixed heritage thing because none of the house niggers in the BLP party feel this passion or care about it either.
Thompson is what he is,and just does not feel the passionate fervour this issue elicits in the heart of a negroman.
Let’s look at his handling of the immigration issue since January 2008.
From all reports the immigration officers are frustrated and confused because they believe he is sending out mixed messages.
From around January 2009 vigiliant immigration officers were strenously enforcing the laws,guyaese,Jamaicans,vincentians ,canadians and all other illegals were on the run in barbados fearful of the 2:00 a.m. knock.
Suddenly a concerted hatchet job was done by ricky singh,roxanne gibbs and the Nation newspaper,shridath ramphal,ralph gonsalves and the rest to ridicule,lie and to intimidate barbados and barbadian immigration officers before the caricom heads meeting in guyana.
An amnesty was announced,there was push back and immigration officers were made to feel that they were being too harsh in the treatment of these known law breakers from these countries who did not meet the legal requirement or had fraudulent documents.
Thompson promised a lot of tough things,but at the end of that Heads of Government meeting, we discovered Barbados had sold its sovereignity at the inistence of Jagdeo and ralph gonsalves.
The result is what we now see in this green paper.
Mark my words,Barbados will not be able to stop the guyanese,Jamaicans,vincentians and others from using this Green paper and the CSME provisions (which only foolee Barbados strictly observes) against us and to insist on getiing in and staying here through whatever loophole or rights provided in this change.
No wonder guyanese are going home,they will be returning in numbers armed with copies of their CSME rights and God help those immigration officers who seek to stem the tide.
Tell me,does a farmer put a fox to guard the hen house?
Why is David thompson being guided by and listening to the very facilitator of this guyanese invasion – the man Gilbert Greaves himself,the former Chief immigration office.
Why did he take Gilbert greaves down to advise him in Guyana and then returned with the opening up of categories to include household help,hawkers etc.
Maybe David thompson is just satisfied with being a prime minister for a day,but what about us who thought we were electing a leader who was going to listen to us and follow through on what he promised us?
Mr Thompson,there may be some unpleasant surprises up ahead for you.
I urge you to rewrite this green paper,and to please read the views of bajans on BU and elsewhere who have been making suggestion on immigration on this site for years.
Do an archive search.
People are growing increasingly irate with you Mr Prime minister.
It is one thing to win,but it is an entirely different thing to govern Sir.
Please walk carefully.
A different anonymous // October 17, 2009 at 10:23 PM
Which party ran Abdul Pandor (an Indian) and Taan Abed (a Syrian) as candidates in general elections? PM Thompson and the DLP supports the reality that Barbados is a multi-ethnic (i.e culture), multi-racial, multi-religious society. How can he reject say the husband of Minister Suckoo or the wife of Minister Estwick? The old two race paradigm is no longer applicable to describing Barbados. Barbados may look very Asian in twenty years time, at least the elites will look Asian. The Green Paper seems quite reasonable to me.
KISSMYA // October 17, 2009 at 10:44 PM
This subject is too high for me but you cant stop multi-ethnicity/multi nationalities
Hopi // October 18, 2009 at 12:54 AM
Green Paper = GREEN LIGHT!
Different day same shite!
Look at Barbados…constantly bragging about how she is 98% literate and HIGHLY educated, yet she has to compete with developed countries for a limited pool of resources of highly qualified skilled immigrants in the area of info and new emerging technologies. In one breath she is patronising the local pool of highly educated and still in the same breath she has to import foreigners to compensate for the inadequacies and inabilities of these same highly educated locals. If that’s the case Barbados needs to stop wasting money and effort in educating her children. This wreaks with the stench of hypocrisy and straight up dishonesty.
From whence cometh this pool of highly skilled immigrants?
Then there the case of CARICOM intending to open up to ALL categories of immigrants. How much broader can this get? By the time they are thru, your indigenous bajan will be history.
Instead of giving them 6 mths we’ll pacify you and give them 3mths to find their way around and do mischief. And in case they don’t show up at immigration we’ll send out our 6 big, bad enforcement agents.
Another big stinking guise is the so-called prevention of drug and human trafficking. The biggest traffickers in these two areas are those who hold so-called high positions in society. But they are always protected.
[A few years back there was a drug case right there in 'Bim' where two gov't agencies were involved. When members of one agency realized what was occurring and tried to clean up, the other agency usurped them by telling them that they had everything under control. A report was subsequently written on the nefariousness of the incident and as a result certains individual were NEVER allowed in such arenas again]. So there’s your need to prevent trafficking.
But the biggest scam of all is the implementation of BIOMETRICS. This is about getting YOU totally under the grid of the beast. This has naught to do with immigration.
But its all good because Barbadians are only interested in patting each other on the back for mediocrity and pea-brain intellect as well as blowing smoke up their own arses, while the country continues to be sold off to the highest bidder.
Barbados you’ve been had, you’ve been took. You’re too damn impressionable. When you listen to your average bajan, you realise that they are nothing but a bunch of non-thinking, cliched, blacked-out, white-washed, self-important serfs.
So just sit and wait for change!
ching! ching!
@Negroman……. continue to enjoy your vacation because the time is fast approaching when your average Bajan will need to have their own gated communities free of the agenda of these political pimps and prostitutes.
@Bro ROK………..this actually belongs on that other thread, but since I’m talking about political pimps and prostitutes, I might as well ask this here. Did Clyde Mascoll declare his hands. Do you know if he has any financial stake in BL&P?
Anonymous // October 18, 2009 at 5:42 AM
HOPI
Thompson’s fate is going to be worse than arthur,because by 15th January 2008 the people knew the evil man that arthur is, and they decided to go for Thompson based on promises he was making as far as immigration clean up and corruption busting were concerned.
They are slowly discovering that the man has no stomach to make difficult decisions.
We are dealing with the fate of this country called barbados and no matter how they try to spin it,this immigration green paper spells the end of the Babrados that Spadillo,bonny peppageorgie porgie,pat and the others are so proudly reminiscing about.
This is the begining of the end.
Let every man take heed:
In that day they will run to the rocks to hide and ask the rocks to cover them but there shall be no cover.
Burn fyah pon dem.
Hopi // October 18, 2009 at 9:42 AM
@Anonymous………”In that day they will run to the rocks to hide and ask the rocks to cover them but there shall be no cover.” So True! There ain’t gonna be no cover because the rock would have been sold off.
The political prostitutes are operating on whitey’s agenda, that’s why they are constantly quoting the EU and the UN. They are traitors. And no election of B/D is gonna change the plight of Black bajans.
Anonymous // October 18, 2009 at 10:25 AM
Some of you seem to be confused. The green paper is a discussion document, not a bill. It’s now that input should be given to help shape the policy. Send them in as requested. Sorry, if you all thought the government was poring over blogs to get this thing worked out.
Negroman // October 18, 2009 at 10:33 AM
I am not surprise with the nonsense that is proposed in the green shite paper on immigration from the corrupt,inept,backward thinking Democratic Labour Party led by the mutant David Thompson who has the stinking white man blood and traits.
David Thompson thinks & behaves like the typical white man,that is he is a schemer,liar & lacks morality.David Thompson is fast becoming the worst Prime Minister Barbados would produced.
The behavior of this present Democratic Labour Party administration is not surprising because this party is well known for its dubious behavior.This same Democratic Labour Party fooled Black Barbadians that it is the party for the masses.Our so-called national hero Errol Walton Barrow criticized & ridiculed white people during his life as leader of Barbados.The same Errol Walton Barrow in the 1971 or 1976 general elections had a party at his then official residence at Culloden Farm. That party was to raise funds for his election campaign and almost everybody there where the elite white businessmen of Barbados with exception of Errol Barrow himself & Muhammad Nassar the former Garry Husbands.Muhammad Nassar asked Errol Barrow why there are only the 2 of them as the only Black People there and Errol Barrow replied was that Black People can only vote for him but he needs these white people to finance his campaign.This is true if anyone is in doubt ask Muhammad Nassar he is still alive.
I mentioned that experience to highlight the trickery that is being play out on Black Barbadians by the two corrupt political parties in Barbados.
The Democratic Labour Party would never bring into force a new immigration policy that would curtail the influx of other ethnic groups into Barbados especially the Indians.The local Indian population has taken over the Democratic Labour Party completely.That grouping is dictating the policies of this government.I have mentioned on previous occasions the Indians are the major financial contributors to the Democratic Labour Party.Peter Harris of CGI Insurance fame the person who financed the former Prime Minister Owen Arthur wedding and benefited from many deals with the former administration is now a leading financial contributor to the Democratic Labour Party and was rewarded by being given the chairmanship of the Combermere School Board.There many others such as Chatrani,Abdul Pandor,stinking Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited who bribes all of our governments with her donations of fire trucks,ambulances & police vehicles and who jeopardized the health of this country by selling us disease chicken and then corrupt Brandford Taitt then minister of health telling us not to worry because we were eating chicken for a long time are also major financiers of the Democratic Labour Party.
Black Barbadian we must prepare ourselves for a long & serious battle to reclaim Barbados from the takeover that is happening.Let David Thompson,Mia Mottley & Owen Arthur know that we are not supporting them anymore.Call to arms Black Barbadians let the revolution start.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 12:42 PM
Anonymous @10:25 a.m.
You said:”the government is not pouring over this blog to get this thing sorted out”.
Really,is this why hartley henry,irene sandiford,sinckler and the other ministers and I won’t be surprised if this includes the prime minister have either contributed or we have been told, read this blog daily or almost daily?
We know Owen Arthur was smart enough to read this blog daily to get the pulse of the people.
William Dugid M.P. was quite open is saying so.
It would be a serious lack of political smartness and foresight if any of the political parties chose to ignore this new form of communication and this important medium known as the internet.
@ David/BU
Very strange that you have not given us your view on this immigration green paper.
This is most unlike you good sir,especially since immigration has been one of your pet peeves which is supported by the BU family.
David // October 18, 2009 at 1:14 PM
@mash up
No mystery, it is a 95 page document and recently the BU family has been stretched in other areas of life. We want to have a good read before offering serious comment. Remember it is a Green Paper and feedback by citizens is required at this stage to mae the exercise worthwhile. Interestingly we expect several of our Caribbean neighbours will used the new Barbados Immigration Bill to model their own legislation.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 1:41 PM
David
I suspect Antigua’s version may not be as generous as ours.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 1:43 PM
Imagine 70% of our population according to the recent Cadres poll supported a tougher immigration stance and this is what we got.
Goodness!
David // October 18, 2009 at 2:00 PM
mash up
Could it be the government is kite flying? The government is aware of the recent CADRES poll which shows support from both sides of the political fence for a tighter immigration policy. Thompson would be committing political suicide if he ignores concerns. On the other hand he knows the Opposition BLP cannot take an aggressive position on immigration come next election based on Mottley’s earlier mouthings. We are assuming Mottley will take the party into the next election.
On a related note BU was disappointed to listen to Mathew Farley recently expressing disgust at the circulation of a Green Paper on immigration by government. His position was enough had been said on immigration in the country already. The comment is stupid when closely examined.
Veritas // October 18, 2009 at 3:39 PM
David your comment makes no sense because the Cadres poll was earlier this year but the Green Paper, according to the PM, was being drafted since June 2008.
Big point: How is a Green Paper drafted? The PM said it is not settled policy but a discussion document. Should it only reflect David Thompson’s and the DLP’s views or should it reflect the views of a wider combination before the policy is settled?
My sense is that ideas are just being thrown out at this stage.
I, for one, was interested in the proposed constitutional amendment to reverse a 2000 BLP decision to give persons ordinarily resident in Barbados status as of right! That needs to be amended now – the ten years is almost up.
Also, the nonsense that Negroman and Anonymous (the same person – check the similar punctuation errors!) write should be ignored. Who cleaned up the Crane? Not the same enforcement division of the Immigration Dept.?
I would assume that intelligent people would realise that the amnesty ends in December 2009 – that is when action against those who are undocumented should be taken. I will wait until then to see what the government does.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 3:45 PM
Veritas
You and your party ignore people like Negroman at your peril.
Many persons read this blog but don’t comment but they talk to one another.
Negroman’s view on immigration control is not too far off from some of theirs.
Negroman thinking though not always his manner of delivery – is worth listening to because he speaks for the common man.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 3:47 PM
David
I did not hear the comment by farley but was he saying that enough has been said in this country about immigration already,therefore it is time to act?
That could be the only sensible explanation.
David // October 18, 2009 at 4:00 PM
@mash up
If that is what he is saying it does not make sense because to act without comment from the public on the new policy would be breaking a promise made by the Thompson government.
@Veritas
Yes the poll was after but the sub-committee of cabinet would have released the Green Paper last week. Nothing to say it couldn’t have been hauled backed and tweaked if the PM felt it necessary given the poll result.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 4:05 PM
I am dedicating a song for david thompson:
“Ohhhh,yes,I am the Great Pretender,Pretending that is so well……..
Negroman // October 18, 2009 at 4:20 PM
Veritas you dumb ass
I have not posted as Anonymous.I usually post as Negroman & the Anonymous who posted is not me.Please do not worry about any grammatical errors I make,I am not in any damn English examination.
I want you and the members & supporters of the corrupt Democratic Labour Party to come on this blog and dispute what I am writings.Why are you only concern with my English ability.Dispute the points I make in my postings.
It is political pimps & prostitutes like yourself that have sold Barbados over to the rat catcher/mango seller Indians & Pakistani.It is weaklings Blacks like you who are afraid and are dictated by the other ethnic groups.I know because I have to unfortunately associate at a professional level with many Black political pimps & prostitutes like yourself.
The local White,Indian,Chinese & other ethnic groups in Barbados have no respect for Black People including our politicians.I could recite many experiences I encountered where many of our Black political leaders including our former Prime Ministers & Ministers were humiliated by Whites,Indians & other ethnic groups in Barbados.
This Negroman moves in all types of circles and knows everybody in Barbados.
David Thompson the political clown he is has appointed a known white racist to the Senate of Barbados.That person is foolish Peter Gilkes.I know Peter Gilkes personally and that racist has said some of the most despicable things imaginable about Black People and that political nuisance David Thompson has appointed that racist to the Barbados Senate.Peter Gilkes come and dispute the accusation I am making about you being a racist.
Barbados has been sold to the highest Indian,White & Chinese bidder firstly by Owen Arthur now by the mutant David Thompson.
Veritas // October 18, 2009 at 4:20 PM
MUBB, neither you nor Negroman have read the Green Paper. And David has admitted that he hasn’t. So I recommend to David that he reads it since it is clear that the far reaching proposals there are not in synch with the CADRES poll.
I am sure of that.
MUBB is neither funny nor sensible. I am also sure that he is afraid that if David Thompson deals with the immigration challenge, he will be in the closet for a lifetime! And with alot of toilet paper and the Green Paper too.
One point that struck me is that the government proposes that not everyone born here is entitled to citizenship. That would be a major step.
It is one of the things that Negroman et al have been carping about.
MUBB, you are not the only one who talks to people and you should do more listening than talking.
Veritas // October 18, 2009 at 4:23 PM
I will not engage you Negroman. I have never done so and I won’t now. You are too full of hatred. And you are a disgrace to our race.
And ignorant to boot. Do you understand the difference betwen grammar and punctuation?
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 4:40 PM
My dear veritas
Please restrict your nonsense remarks to the political yardfowls.
I have read the document almost to the end and got fed up of the rubbish I was seeing.
mash up & buy back // October 18, 2009 at 4:49 PM
@veritas
I notice that like a true cowardly politician you hitting out at the messengers and not the message.
I notice that you have carefully side stepped the points raised by hopi,jay,anonymous,negroman and others about the weakness in the green paper and the enshrining of rights to non nationals.
Veritas,I almost feel sorry for you all at the DLP,because I fear the backlash against you and your party for not doing what the people expected – is going to be greater.
Sad but true.
For whom much is given much is expected.
A different Anonymous // October 18, 2009 at 5:32 PM
PM Thompson as the second non-Black PM of Barbados is doing a great job. Negroman you are going to have to emigrate to Africa where the Chinese are in control. Don’t rush, Barbados is going to elect its first PM of Indian descent in 2018.
X-MAN // October 19, 2009 at 5:32 AM
@ negroman and all like-minded bajan-african brothers and sisters:
Hold tight all is not lost. Somebody great will arise amongst you within your life-time. The battle for the soul of the afro-bajan has already started.
The cries of your black ancestors will liberate, cast aside and expel all those who have no historical links to the foundations of your island home.
Keep the faith. Listen to the words of possibly the greatest african visionage of the last century – Malcolm X. Let his words be our bread and water for today.
mash up & buy back // October 19, 2009 at 7:48 AM
Like with town hall meetings this government is going to use the fact that because only a few people attend these meetings and speak up and because with this green paper a few persons will read the paper and understand and realise how that will set us back forever as a people;then the government will take silence as consent.
Those rights under CSME SHOULD NOT BE IN OUR IMMIGRATION LAWS BECAUSE 20 YEARS DOWN THE ROAD THEY WILL COME BACK TO HAUNT US.
We should be using this opportunity to spell out stricter immigration measures not more generous provisions.
Reducing immediate right to stay from 6 months to 3 months is not a big thing to be boasting about.
Saying that a baby being born in barbados to a non barbadian will not immediately get citizenship is a stupid and insulting attempt to fool bajans because in the next breath you are saying HOWEVER IF THE MOTHER HAD IMMIGRANT STAUS THEN THE BABY WILL BE A BAJAN.
HELLO – most of these guyanese and other non nationals will have some immigrant status of sort under this new CSME PROVISIONS – Barbados is where they want to come.
Countries are now moving away from granting citizenship to persons born in their countries except under strict conditions
It would be only obvious that for a small country like Barbados – CITIZENSHIP -which is the ultimate prize, and confers absolute rights, and means that at any time such a person can chose to return to live in an already over populated place – this will cause chaos in a very,very short time.
The other points raised by negroman and others are also important.Marriages of conveniences especially among indian guyanese women are happening every week here in barbados,currently I think when you marry one of these non national you are asked to spend a few years living in the spouse’s home country together and then here together before you get citizenship.
Now this unelightened man decides that all you have to do is stay in the same house for 2 years and bingo – you win the jackpot.
This david thompson administration is turning out to be one of the most pathetic of all times and this immigration fiasco will be written on his political tombstone.
Hopi // October 19, 2009 at 9:12 AM
@Veritas……………When anyone wishes to conduct business in Barbados, do they consult CADRES polls or do they look at the ‘almighty’ dollar?
X-man // October 19, 2009 at 10:45 AM
I always said that this much awaited green paper on immigration would be nothing worth waiting for. It was always going to be a sell out. A man of Thompson’s background with his type of heritage will never have the spine to do what is right for Afro-Bajans.
Afro-Bajans you are the spiritual owners of this island. Do not share it with those who have no right to be there. Put self first and you will prosper as a nation; adopt the legislation of the CSME and you will wither away.
Afro-Bajans, Barbados is yours – take it!
A different Anonymous // October 19, 2009 at 11:59 AM
There are 43 “Afro-Bajans”. How are they going to take Barbados away from the other 275,295 Bajans of varying degrees of mixture of African and European genetics. Get real, Thompson is the man for the times.
x-man // October 19, 2009 at 1:59 PM
@ A different Anonymous
THE HOUSE NEGRO AND THE FIELD NEGRO
Back during slavery, there was two kinds of slaves. There was the house Negro and the field Negro. The house Negroes — they lived in the house with master, they dressed pretty good, they ate good cause they ate his food —— what he left. They lived in the attic or the basement, but still they lived near the master; and they loved their master more than the master loved himself. They would give their life to save the master’s house quicker than the master would. The house Negro, if the master said, “We got a good house here,” the house Negro would say, “Yeah, we got a good house here.” Whenever the master said “we,” he said “we.” That’s how you can tell a house Negro.
If the master’s house caught on fire, the house Negro would fight harder to put the blaze out than the master would. If the master got sick, the house Negro would say, “What’s the matter, boss, we sick?” We sick! He identified himself with his master more than his master identified with himself. And if you came to the house Negro and said, “Let’s run away, let’s escape, let’s separate,” the house Negro would look at you and say, “Man, you crazy. What you mean, separate? Where is there a better house than this? Where can I wear better clothes than this? Where can I eat better food than this?” That was that house Negro. In those days he was called a “house nigger.” And that’s what we call him today, because we’ve still got some house niggers running around here.
This modern house Negro loves his master. He wants to live near him. He’ll pay three times as much as the house is worth just to live near his master, and then brag about “I’m the only Negro out here.” “I’m the only one on my job.” “I’m the only one in this school.” You’re nothing but a house Negro. And if someone comes to you right now and says, “Let’s separate,” you say the same thing that the house Negro said on the plantation. “What you mean, separate? From America? This good white man? Where you going to get a better job than you get here?” I mean, this is what you say. “I ain’t left nothing in Africa,” that’s what you say. Why, you left your mind in Africa!
http://malcolmxfiles.blogsp...
Jay // October 19, 2009 at 2:40 PM
I think one should always analyze why things the way they are & be careful of being critical towards things as a whole.
Most here have only labeled specific provisions that they don’t like in the immigration green paper but the trend is also being critical of the entire thing as a whole which I don’t think helps the cause.The “green paper” as it is called actually exceeds US INA[immigration] law which is good.I think we should all state only specifically what we like & what would be a good alternative to replace the things we don’t like.
What I believe the green paper does is try to address the realistic situation that Barbados is in by addressing the situation with some tough provisions,but some of the provisions definitely don’t make any sense when we are trying to tighten up the laws even if Barbados is signatory to CSME.THE GREEN PAPER IS ONLY A TALKING POINT so anything you don’t like specifically let the Prime Minister’s office know BUT ONLY THE SPECIFIC PROVISIONS not the entire thing.
I will list specifically what I don’t like & why;
Free Primary education For Caricom nationals in Barbados——–Mr. Thompson obviously agreed to this because of pressure from the other Caricom countries,but the fact remains is that not ALL countries within CSME offer Free Primary education.If this is going to be implemented it should be funded by the Caricom Development fund for their Caricom Nationals & not on the backs of hard working Bajan taxpayers.We currently have a system where Caricom national parents are supposed to be paying for their school children’s back fees & I wonder what happens to those fees that they owe,would it then all be forgiven?Antigua is also currently facing the exact same issue where non-nationals are overstaying their time & then entering the schools on the Antiguan taxpayers over there.We’re basically saying with this provision that it is ok for Caricom national parents to abuse the system we have while also not even offering the same service to our nationals within other CSME states to our Barbados nationals.
Citizenship by Marriage in 2 years————–I am ok with non national spouses being able to work during their time period for Citizenship,but to give the greatest benefit this country has to offer within such a short time span is lunacy.It should be at least 4 years to see if the marriage is legitimate also the spouses shouldn’t have any Free entitlements such as healthcare or education until they have acquired citizenship at the 4 year mark.
Guaranteed 6 month entry for Caricom nationals——–This is nothing but a joke.Considering we have a huge illegal immigration problem this just further invites people to circumvent our immigration laws.I can see this being abused by Caricom national parents where they will bring their children in for Free primary education or other nefarious means like narco trafficking & sex slavery.
Domestic workers portion of CSME—–Nothing but an absolute joke because it is NOT a SKILLED provision that Barbados requires.I don’t think anyone truly understands how dangerous this provision really is.People NEED to ask themselves does Barbados have a shortage of Butlers & Maids.
A different Anonymous // October 19, 2009 at 3:23 PM
X-Man
yadda, yadda, yadda ,…. Farrakhan must be a house negro given what he did to Mr Shabazz. By the way what is Mr Thompson?
mash up & buy back // October 19, 2009 at 3:46 PM
Jay Barbados needs to look at the bermuda regulation.Bermuda is a good fit as an example because it is a very small,over populated island with a high stand of living.
It has a strong english tradition,strong legal system,low on crime,stable currency and a harmonious society.
Same as Barbados.
You would have thought that the prime minister and his advisers if they wanted to, would have looked closer to home to bermuda to check out what their immigration laws look like;
For example – CITIZENSHIP – You must wait 10 years after marrying a bermudian to get citizenship and if during that period you seperate,then you forfeit that right.
Children born in Bermuda do not automatically get citizenship etc,etc
I am beginning to get the clear impression that Thompson was taking us for a ride.
Reminds me of that song:
oh,oh,oh,……. the great pretender….pretending that all is so well…….
x-man // October 19, 2009 at 5:28 PM
@ mash up & buy back @ Jay
It is pointless splitting hairs over this CSME policy. A trap has been set for Barbados and it is going to fall into it. This policy will marginalise the Afro-Bajans. Can you guys not see that there are groups out there who would like to see this group of people – Afro-Bajans; removed from this island – by any means necessary. Wake up!
@ A different Anonymous
I thought Thompson was your “Prime Minister”
X-MAN // October 19, 2009 at 6:24 PM
Apologies for the poor grammar in the above article. I only had a few minutes to compose it and was almost locked in the library.
Hope you can make sense of it.
The Truth // October 20, 2009 at 11:12 AM
Name me a country where there is a black minority and they are not the lowest economic group.
Name me a country that has a black majority and the other ethnic minorities are not top of the economic ladder.
You can fight but you can’t change fate.
The negro is there for other races to take advantage of and these other races don’t have to work very hard to achive this.
Black people are still selling themselves and their birthright.
Slavery never stopped, it’s just the rules has changed, the outcome the same.
Negroman // October 20, 2009 at 11:54 AM
The Truth
It is sad to agree with you but what you have posted is the painful truth.Black People are at the bottom of the social,economic,& financial ladder wherever we are located.
The late great Marcus Mosiah Garvey recognized that situation and went about trying to change that situation and ended up a defeated,depressed,frustrated individual who died lonely in a hotel room in England.
In any country that Black people try to to establish themselves into a dominant position,we encounter all types of obstacles not only from the other ethnic groups,but regrettably from our own people.The White man has done a tremendous job on us and that is why we have leaders like David Thompson the mutant with the stinking white man’s blood in his veins leading a set of backward thinking Black Barbadians.
Barbados was one of the few Black dominated countries in the world that could have been a model for other Black nations to emulate where significant progress was made in the advancement of the economic,financial & social conditions of Black People.However the progress we have made as a people in Barbados is being sacrifice by the unscrupulous,greedy,backward thinking political nuisances we have masquerading as politicians.
It is only in a country like Barbados that the likes of stinking COW Williams,the wicked Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited fame who jeopardized the health of nation & has broken & still is breaking all laws imaginable in Barbados,and the party hopping dishonest individual Peter Harris along with his equally dishonest brother Thomas Harris of Josef’s Restaurant who humiliates his workers by throwing their wages as them could be big financial contributors to both major political parties.
Black Barbadians our lot has been sold by our dishonest leaders
A different Anonymous // October 20, 2009 at 1:48 PM
The Truth wrote ” The negro is there for other races to take advantage of and these other races don’t have to work very hard to achive (sic) this.”
Negroman agreed.
Conclusion(?): Is it thus divinely established that Black people shall forever be hewers of wood etc etc? Are Black people the descendants of Cain who cannot be leaders of anything except the march to hell? Thank heaven for sending David Thompson to lead us.
Veritas // October 20, 2009 at 4:18 PM
David Thompson the mutant with the stinking white man’s blood in his veins
x-man // October 20, 2009 at 4:24 PM
@ Negroman
We are the survivors. 350 years of slavery and colonization failed to eliminate us from the face of this earth.
We are resilient, strong in mind and in body. We have a long and proud history of resistance.
You are not a Hindu so why are you alluding to a form of fatalism? Your unpleasant and hard hitting rhetoric is what the Afro-Bajan requires from you.
Persist with your message, it will get through. The scent of revolution is peppering the clouds; eventually that scent will rain down on Barbados. Once the people realize that those who govern (either party is irrelevant) are naked of ideas and believes; and seem brazenly determined to hand over Barbados as if it were a dowry. Then, I prophesy that those who govern – will be removed.
I have just discovered a FULL documentary on Malcolm X tracing his life. It is incredible viewing. Far too deep for CBC! It is called – MAKE IT PLAIN. Look under You tube: MALCOLM X essential-the life of Malcolm x part1 of 15. I would politely ask you to circulate this address to all other Afro-Bajans.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O1ywFC3Xk7k&feature=related
@ The truth
Our time is coming. Remain positive.
Hopi // October 20, 2009 at 4:28 PM
To all Konscious BLACK MEN & WOMEN, TRUTH crushed to the ground will rise again! They can kill the Body but not the Spirit!
mash up & buy back // October 20, 2009 at 5:03 PM
I am not going to insult the prime minister and call him a mutant,but I will express my deepest frustration and anger at how his lack of will,and his stubborness in ignoring the will of the people is going to end up destroying this country.
The BLP has set this government up for a big fall because Owen carried the country to the brink by laying out the CSME plans but the people will forever remember that it is david thompson that tipped us over the brink with this loose,weak immigration laws.
David thompson could have walked back from this as many governments do when starting a new administration and to make matters worse he is seeking to codify in our laws,public prouncements on CSME by governments in the region who will never follow through on these promises,however it will be written into our laws which any foreigner will be able to go to courts and demand.
Even if it is a draft,it is beyond belief that this is what is in the thinking of the prime minister.
After all the people have been saying this is what he comes up with huh?
kiki // October 20, 2009 at 5:34 PM
Who Am I (feat. Gamilah Shabazz)
[Big Daddy Kane]
And that’s comin from the daughter of Malcolm X
So black women put it in your texts
so you can never let, opportunity pass you by
or even ask yourself, who am I?
kiki // October 20, 2009 at 5:39 PM
Money is not only the root of all evil
It’s also the destruction of black people, so
conjunction junction, what’s your function?
Bein a scout, or sellin out?
Look in the mirror at yourself, eye to eye
and say: who am I?
X-MAN // October 20, 2009 at 7:17 PM
America had Malcolm X, Jamaica had Bob Marley, Cuba had Castro, South Africa had/have Nelson Mandela; and what of Barbados? We had The Economist and now we have The Lawyer: men in suits, simply serving time masquerading as heavyweight regional politicians.
Barbados I pray for your soul.
Anonymous // October 20, 2009 at 7:50 PM
Mr david thompson does not seem to take too kindly to counsel from the poor black man.
Are black people only to be seen as voters who put these politicians in power and once they get in they serve the interests of the minority group,ie the whites,indians,chineese?
Are these black voters only there to put up posters and election billboard and to make up numbers soaking up the dew,late into the cold night cheering on these political aspirants as they tell us all they think we want to hear at their political meetings?
Do you think mr thompson that it is only hand outs we need?
Do you think constiuency councils,free bus rides and summer camps will satisfy us and secure our future ahead,when the children of the foreigner will be sitting in our schools as teachers and their children will be in the front of the class while little black boys and girls get put in the back?
While these indian and chineese children enjoy the scholarships and educational benefits that we their parents sacrificed so hard for;
they will be presiding over the dispensation of loans in our banks;
they will be sitting in our parliament making or not making laws as it suits their fancy,
they will be who our children see as the face of who is in control on our t.v,and our radios,and in our newspapers and not our black role models;
By then david thompson may be safely ensconced in a foreign land or here at home in a lovely villa,or even in st lucia, enjoying his pension as a former prime minister while our black youth will be mowing lawns and cleaning floors,and being nannies.
Flying fish will be a rare dish and roti and curry and peking duck will be our main staple.
Is this what we fought so hard for when we got rid of the blp?
Where there is no vision the people perish.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 20, 2009 at 7:53 PM
Might I make a suggestion?
Instead of ranting and raving and using mean language, why don’t we use all that energy to tell the Prime Minister how we feel about the Green paper on immigration.
The same time we take to write here on the blog, construct some rather nice letters addressed to the Prime Minister highlighting the areas of the green paper which are giving us gripe.
Let him know how we feel about the stupid sections of the green paper. Tell him what we want them replaced with.
Send the letters to the Prime Minister at:-
The Government Headquarters
The Democratic Labour Party Headquarters
The Democratic Labour Party Constituency Office in St. John
The Prime Minister residence, I think in St. Phillip.
Even though Prime Ministers have rather robust gatekeepers some of the letters will get through to him before the green paper becomes law.
Another thing which can be done is to find out when the next branch office meeting of the St. John office of the DLP is going to be held. Go to the meeting and make a special effort to speak to the Prime Minister at his branch office about your feelings. You can also meet him at his branch clinics, I do not know which day these are held, call the branch office for information.
Those of you who live in constituencies of Cabinet Ministers, do the same as above.
Write to them at their constituency offices, at the Government headquarters, at the Democratic Labour Party headquarters, at their homes, visit their branches on clinic days and let them know how you feel.
Negroman // October 20, 2009 at 11:09 PM
I have no qualms about calling our Prime Minister stinking David Thompson a mutant with the stinking white man’s blood running through his veins.This same stinking David Thompson has insulted thousands of Black Barbadians who voted for him as Prime Minister with this shitty piece of green paper on immigration that ought to be used to wipe the waste that passes through his behind on a daily basis.After what I read in that piece of shit for a green paper on immigration, I have no respect for that red thing we have unfortunately as our Prime Minister.
I perused that green paper and I cannot find anything in it that I could honestly say would offer some address to the myriad of immigration problems affecting this country.
The mutant Prime Minister is trying to conveyed the message that Barbados is hamstrung with our commitment to CARICOM & CSME.That is bullshit.Our commitment to CARICOM or CSME is not written in stone and if the people of Barbados do not support many of the provisions of CARICOM or CSME and we seek to demand that our commitments to CARICOM & CSME be reviewed so as not to disadvantage Barbadians,I do not understand why that red gawk we unfortunately have as our Prime Minister should use those commitments to suggest that he is handicap to bring about a more stringent immigration policy that is keeping with the wishes of the people.
Our weakling Prime Minister has capitulated to the verbal abuse he received from the funny Guyanese leader Bharat Jagdeo & the alleged rapist Ralph Gonsalves.Yes it is a fact Prime Minister David Thompson was cursed in the most brutal fashion by those 2 leaders.
David Thompson is such an ass that the other regional leaders have little or no respect for him and for Barbados as a matter of fact.
Guyana has just deported 30 American Mormons who the Guyanese authorities allegedly broke their immigration laws.There was no ifs & buts.The Mormons had to leave Guyana.We in Barbados started deporting illegal Guyanese and all types of remarks were made and that weakling we have for a leader had to visit Guyana to give an explanation for his actions.A total waste of human sperm.
There are 2 leaders in the Caribbean that I believe our incompetent,weak mutant leader should emulate.Dean Barrow of Belize & Baldwin Spencer of Antigua are 2 Caribbean leaders with vision.Both of them refused to sign on to the expanded category of workers who could travel freely under CSME.Baldwin Spencer of Antigua indicated that his country has a serious immigration problem and it must be cleaned up before he make any further commitments to CSME.I do not know the reason why Dean Barrow of Belize did not sign on.The point is those 2 leaders had reasons not to support the expanded category of workers.David Thompson our unfortunate leader had more compelling reasons not to sign on,but that weakling had to sign on because of the fear driven into him by Bharat Jagdeo & Ralph Gonsalves.
David Thompson you are a monumental disaster for Barbados.I regret that day January 15,2008 when I left home and went to a polling booth and put an X beside the name of a candidate that represented your disgraced party and allowed you to become Prime Minister of Barbados.
X-MAN // October 21, 2009 at 4:57 AM
@ Carson C. Cadogan
“Might I make a suggestion?
Instead of ranting and raving and using mean language, why don’t we use all that energy to tell the Prime Minister how we feel about the Green paper on immigration.”
Carson these are fine words. You are a romantic; i’m a realist. The Afro-Bajan should reject this quasi-political system.
This two party system does not serve the interests of the Afro-Bajan. It is futile to put your faith in either one.
The Afro-Bajan requires one of its own to govern Barbados.
The masses should take to the streets and express their contempt for this weak and insipid leadership.
The question you have to ask is this: how can Barbados avoid this train crash?
I believe that a positive form of Black Nationalism will wash-up on the shores of Barbados. This should not be seen as a negative. It will mean that a large number of those who have been foreign residents in Barbados will be, politely, asked to leave.
Carson your romanticism will not cure the difficult problems afflicting Barbados. The only cure for this island is Black Nationalism.
kiki // October 21, 2009 at 6:28 AM
You can defeat the system by working
within it to eliminate corruption and
incompetence by raising issues and
formal complaints through all available
channels. Leave no stone unturned.
What is a 9-5 job for some is a 24-7-365 life for others. However racism is wrong
but self-determination is not.
mash up & buy back // October 21, 2009 at 6:33 AM
Carson Cadogan
You say instead of ranting and raving,tell the prime minister how you feel and what you want.
So Carson what you think the people were doing for the past 3 or 4 years?
Before the 15th January 2008 and after,the people of barbados were telling thompson in no uncertain way through letters to the editor in the newspaper,on the call in radio shows,on the internet on this site,on the streets to the DLP members they meet,to the prime minister himself …. what more you want Carson.
Thompson ain’t care a shite about what these people had to say you know.
He intend to do what he wants and he going ahead with that,but I tell you he will have a long time to be sorry,and I am not talking about him just being voted out at the next election.
If they continue to think that all the people got short memory,they will find out that they may have been sadly mistaken.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 21, 2009 at 8:07 AM
So, in other words, continue to do nothing other than rant and rave here on Barbados Underground.
In the mean time the green paper becomes law in its present form.
Wonderful.
mash up & buy back // October 21, 2009 at 9:16 AM
Carson
Did you read what I wrote.
For your simple consumption I will say it simply and briefly.
THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS DID NOT JUST RANT AND RAVE ON BU,THEY USED EVERY MEDIUM AVAILABLE – NEWSPAPER,RADIO,INTERNET – UP TO AND INCLUDING SPEAKING TO THE MEMBERS OF PARLIAMENT THEMSELVES AND THE PRIME MINISTER.
Understand now.
What did all of that achieve – a green paper which ignored ALL that they were saying to HIM.
By all means citizens should write and object and offer suggestion etc,but it will NEVER remove from my mind what was in the heart of this man.
This first draft represents what is in david thompson’s heart and the people got a chance to see just that.
I will not forget nor will others,we are not as stupid as some think.
Hopi // October 21, 2009 at 10:05 AM
To appeal to any political party is a waste. They all represent the same evil force that was instituted to keep our minds in spiritual lockdown. This democracy, capitalism and globalization are not for us Black people. It is a parasitic shitstem. it sucks our life blood and turns us against each other while those at the ‘top’ laugh at us. We constantly look to the wrong source for guidance and we are led into the deadly abyss.
The best form of revolution is one that starts at the atomic level. It is quiet and deadly. The enemy does not need to know our strategy. Every time we hit the street and revolt, we show our hands and they checkmate us. So a street revolution is ineffective.
But like NM said previously, stop patronising businesses owned by whitey,indian or any non-traitorous Blacks. We allowed them to take that creative power away from us and we now have to run to them for our needs. But it does not have to be this way. Reject all their bullshale! And reject the poLIEticktians!
DON’T VOTE, ITS A JOKE!
Work with Mother Nature and She will guide you. Cherish your Melanin!
REJECT ALL MAN-MADE SHITSTEMS!
Carson C. Cadogan // October 21, 2009 at 11:08 AM
mash up & buy back
So you just lay down and play dead?
Is that it?
I think that you need to get pass yourself and you would see where the solution lies.
mash up & buy back // October 21, 2009 at 11:32 AM
Carson Cadogan
My friend I expect better of you.
Hopi // October 21, 2009 at 7:49 PM
Hell what a big boo — on October 21 @ 10:05am should read other TRAITOROUS and not NON-.
mash up & buy back // October 22, 2009 at 12:00 PM
As I listened to the News yesterday I found myself shaking my head in amazement.
Did I hear this news correctly?
Did I hear the prime minister saying that this recession that is affecting us is going to have a heavy impact on employment and many barbadians will be left without jobs?
I am sure I have heard many a minister say that this economic situation has left them without funds to finance certain social services and public projects.
Yet with declining revenue from unemployment and less vat received as sales decrease,this prime minister is proposing to offer free education at all non national children in this country at primary school level.
Where are we going to get the money from to pay for this ?
Are there no destitute barbadians who these funds casn be used to assist?
Aren’t the schools overcrowded and government has no funds to build the number of schools required?
Are we the caribbean god father that we will pay to educate their children once they are here in barbados?
Have this government really costed the financial and social expense of directly and indirectly of these proposals in this immigration green paper?
“We are at a level of ignorance that is unbelievable”.
Heard that comment recently and thought it is very appropriate here.
michael // October 22, 2009 at 2:36 PM
i have read the green paper in its entirety,i have read all of your of your blogs,what i have noticed is that most of you are very emotional and you are not stating what you want the green paper to say,let me say this what i want the government to do they probably cant do it in the immigration bill, but what i would like done is for them to stop selling land to none nationals what they can do is lease it for a period of year say some thing like 30 years.the next thing is to bring in a law that states that any ethnic group found miss treating Afro-bajans verbally or physically will be subject to a term of imprisonment or fined, and we need this because since slavery no black nation has put such a clause on the statute books secondly we don’t want any other group setting up there culture in bim, it is too small if they want to have they festivals get the 747 back to India or pakistan,and the chinese can go back to china,china is larger enough to accommodate them for they needs.now if i have miss the point can some one explain it to me,some of you are very eloquent and use words i don’t under stand so please keep it simple
David // October 22, 2009 at 3:05 PM
The Green Paper (GP) suggests three major issues should be addressed:
BU wonders if recognition can be given in the GP to preserving the social and cultural identity of Barbados. There must be elements which make up the Barbados brand and psyche which defines who we are and any factors which seek to impact or change who we are should be managed. Are we preaching a form of nationalism? Hell yes!
michael // October 22, 2009 at 3:57 PM
i forgot to mention that no one minister should have the rite to alter the rules laid down by parliament in regard to immigration laws and rules and the rules should be strictly adhered too, if and when any rules need changing Parliament should notified where a full discussion should be held,i noticed that in the bill a minister that holds responsibility for immigration could change things at his or her will,we need to change this attitude in our governance ,no one is greater than an Act made by parliament
Carson C. Cadogan // October 22, 2009 at 3:58 PM
Earlier today I ran into Sen. Irene Sandiford-Garner in a popular supermarket.
I took the opportunity to speak to her about the green paper on immigration. I raised especially the two points which almost everyone on this blog are speaking about as if it is the gospel truth.
(1) “Imagine anybody can engage in a marriage of convenience,stay in a house together yet seperate conveniently for 2 years and then they get barbadian citizenship.”
(2) “Imagine now all non national children will be getting free primary school education.Imagine that with our tax dollars.”
She assured me that nothing could be further from the truth. She said the persons who are pushing this talk need to go back and read the Green Paper again because it says nothing of the sort. Instead of listening to the interpetation of others read the Green paper for your self.
Speak to the Prime Minister, speak to the Cabinet Ministers about the sections of the paper you do not like before ranting and raving.
mash up & buy back // October 22, 2009 at 4:26 PM
Thank God Mr Barrow provided free education for us the sons and daughters of former slaves to able to read,write and reason,so we don’t need irene sandiford or any other politician to interpret anything for us.
Thank God those days of relying on politicians to tell us what to believe are long gone.
When was the last time irene sandiford had anything profund or significant to say that will further the national debate on immigration,the future of Barbados,the vision for this country etc?
I can’t hear you.
The trouble is after a good start these politicians actually start to believe their own P.R and they think they are all that.
Irene Sandiford has promise but like most modern day politicians they enjoy being seen in the limelight and being addressed as Minister instead of getting their hands dirty and really finding out what it takes to be an effective politician.
Rule # 1 – Never believe you are smarter than your people.
To be honest Irene assinine comments about rhiana was enough to turn me off.
Where there is no vision the people perish.
David // October 22, 2009 at 4:29 PM
Under Section: Temporary Service Provider on p22 of the GP, a clearer description of the process of certifying a Temporary Service Provider (TSP) show be made more clear. Better would be for Barbados to define the certification expected by Barbados of the country of TSP source.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 22, 2009 at 4:52 PM
mash up & buy back
It seems to me like you want to hear what you want to hear and you are not letting the truth get in your way.
Jay // October 23, 2009 at 2:32 PM
@ Carson
MU & BB is right,the Green letter clearly states free primary education for the children of Caricom nationals under CSME.I am completely against this because Bajan tax payers are footing the bill for this when some Caricom nationals have not even payed for their fees in School also Barbados Nationals are NOT offered the same in other CSME countries which makes it even MORE unfair.These are what the particular sections of the Green paper say:
——————————————–
“There are concerns over the impact of this situation on the country’s social services in
view of the high numbers of non-national children entering the schools. Reports from the
Ministry of Education suggest that an inordinate level of school fees remain unpaid. The
Queen Elizabeth Hospital has also reported an increase in the general abuse of its medical
and health care facilities, with an increase in cases of fees for services also remaining unpaid”
&
“Visible Effects
111. As it stands the social services of Barbados stand to suffer from this upsurge of illegal
immigration, along with a policy that facilitates migration. The schools, for example, are
overflowing with the number of non-national children seeking entry. In addition the Ministry of
Education has advised the Department of many cases where school fees are not being paid. There
is a limit to the suitable housing available in this country as can be evidenced by numerous
examples of squatting, and sometimes in protected, water zones. The hospital too is seeing an
increase in cases where money is owed for services rendered and a general abuse of the system
is on the increase.”
————————————-
The words from the Senator is incorrect as they probably haven’t read the Green letter yet.Read the Green paper for yourself!
I am also NOT surprised that marriages of convenience[according to the Nation] are taking place considering the fact the immigration enforcement procedures should be beginning again soon,I think that the enforcment should be increased ten fold though to meet the regulatory requirements of the new Act.Citizenship by birth should be restricted as it has in the Green paper but as well as Citizenship by marriage,that should lead to immigrant status only.There should also be restrictions placed on persons with new status to be able to file so soon for status for others unless they have payed taxes for a certain amount of time exempting Barbados nationals only of course.
David // October 23, 2009 at 2:54 PM
Not sure BU is happy with the WORK PERMIT heading p.74.
Many companies in Barbados have for years misused the work permit process with the help of our respective governments. A key component of issuing work permits is the expectation to train locals to fill many the positions in time. BU concedes that some jobs given level of specialization will require recruitment from outside Barbados. There is a reality on the ground however that many jobs are routinely filled by foreigners for years and years with no visible effort to train and recruit locals. There is mention in the GP to provide training updates/reports to the Immigration Department to ensure locals eventially fill the jobs. Those companies who are not complying should be fined and or penalized in other material ways.
As it is the requirement to train locals is ignored by most companies.
mash up & buy back // October 23, 2009 at 5:48 PM
Jay
I am not sure if I am going to argue anymore on behalf of my people with regards to this immigration green paper.
People need to set their priorities right and think of their children’s future.
This government knows that the people will not read the green paper,or they will not understand it,so you see what most of the commentators are taken up with on this site – Bajan life as we know it.
It is as though they seem the storm tides surging but they are still playing on the beach and ignoring it.
Carson Cadogan’s response tells me 2 things:
Either he was playing the typical yardfowl politics and was lying and did not in fact speak to irene sandiford or;
Irene sandiford is a damn liar and taking bajans for a ride.
Either way THIS DLP GOVERNMENT WILL SINK BARBADOS WITH THIS GREEN PAPER.
IT IS FLAWED.FLAWED,FLAWED.AND WAS DELIBERATELY WRITTEN IN THIS WEAK WAY BY DAVID THOMPSON.
Storm clouds are ahead.
David // October 23, 2009 at 5:57 PM
mash up
There is merit in your concern that Barbadians seem uninterested at this stage. Then again it should not be any surprise because Bajans over the years have preferred to be reactive.
Today in the news Prime Minister of Antigua Balwin Spencer was quoted in the news as saying the liberal immigration policy it has practiced over the years must end. Interestingly he not only cited economic considerations but the impact a liberal immigration policy has had on the quality of Antiguan life.
The Barbados we are proud about is defined by certain characteristics and values which ALL Bajans should fight tooth and nail to protect!
**Adviser to the President** // October 23, 2009 at 8:50 PM
Advice to Peter Millington
Quit while you ar ahead.
Advice to Elombe Mottley
Come back to Barbados
Advice to David Thompson
Lose the idea -(you know what I mean)
Advice to Dennis Clarke
Tell us what has become of fight-UDC
J // October 23, 2009 at 10:24 PM
Perhaps citizenship should have NOTHING to do with marriage. Perhaps every applicant for citizenship should be required to prove that he/she has no criminal convictions or charges; is not dependent on the government for support; and has lived here for at least 5 years.
If every applicant had to prove his or her own worth perhaps the marriages of convenience would disappear.
And sometimes Bajans do take unfair advantage of foreign spouses for example the Bajan spouse can refuse to go to work, knowing that the foreign spouse must continue to support the Bajan as long as the foreign spouse wants citizeship status.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 24, 2009 at 12:41 AM
mash up & buy back and Jay
You both do the DLP a great disservice.
You have sunk your teeth into untruths and refuse to let go.
There is none so blind as he who would not read the Green Paper.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 24, 2009 at 1:12 AM
A bit of information for:-
Jay
J
Mashup & buy back
Negroman
Next month there will be six DLP constituency branches meeting at the Springer School.
In attendance will be the Prime Minister, the Attorney general, the Minister of Culture, the Deputy speaker of the house and others.
How about attending this great gathering and engaging these goodly gentlemen in a bit of “back and forth” on the Green Paper on immigration?
X-MAN // October 24, 2009 at 2:20 AM
Interesting article from a uk newspaper. Sounds familiar?
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1222613/Labour-let-migrants-engineer-multicultural-UK.html
mash up & buy back // October 24, 2009 at 7:29 AM
X-MAN
I believe what that article says about the labour party in Britain opening up the door to let immigrants in to increase multiculteralism in britain is what the Barbados labour party has in mind for Barbados.
Now I am wondering if thompson is not thinking the same way.
Negroman // October 24, 2009 at 11:25 AM
Mash Up & Buy Back
I believe our message is reaching the people that matter most–general population of Barbados excluding the corrupt,wicked nuisances we have as politicians.
Carson Cadogan I have admiration & respect for you as conscious Black man.However,it seems that political affiliation is affecting your thinking on this immigration issue.Mash Up & Buy Back is correct in his analysis on the green paper.If the green paper is put into law,it will be the death of Barbados that we all grew up & know.I read a very interesting comment coming from Dr Harris,the mother of dishonest Peter Harris of CGI Insurance & his equally dishonest & wicked,racist brother Thomas Harris of Josef Restaurant.The comment coming from Dr Harris gave the impression that even though the Hindu festival Diwali might be relative small in Barbados as compare to Trinidad & Guyana,it is not that far off that that festival will not in the distance future be as large as it is in Trinidad & Guyana.I read her comments and smile.The Indian plan for Barbados is well & truly on its way and it is only a matter of time before those rat catchers are in in total control.
Carson Cadogan I would never ever again go to anything political meeting,branch wise or national and listen or share any of my thoughts with the political hum bugs in the disgraced,foolish,backward thinking Democratic Labour Party headed by the mutant David Thompson with the stinking white man’s blood in his veins.
Carson Cadogan I repeat again I was a very active member of that party and I resigned from that party because of the very poor performance of the party after regaining power in Barbados.The party has flip flop on many issues and it is taking the people of Barbados as fools.
The Democratic Labour Party & The Barbados Labour Party could go & rot in hell.Both of those 2 political parties have outlived their usefulness to Barbados.Both political parties are irrelevant to needs of Black Barbadians.
A different Anonymous // October 24, 2009 at 12:04 PM
If the today’s Nation newspaper is reporting accurately, it seems the Guyanese are leaving in significant numbers. Business is down in the Fairchild Street bus stand. The Thompson Gov’t is quietly effective. The illegals know that this gov’t is serious. What more does Negroman or MUBB want?
Anonymous // October 24, 2009 at 12:17 PM
Been said before by J. negroman is a Guyanese.
Carson C. Cadogan // October 24, 2009 at 12:46 PM
Negroman
Buddy
Take it easy Thomas Harris is my good friend.
But I hear you.
mash up & buy back // October 24, 2009 at 12:52 PM
A different Anonymous & others like you,
Those guyanese are only leaving to return again January next year under the new expanded categories such as household help/maids and hawkers and everthing else that david thompson created for them in Georgetown in july of this year at the Caricom Heads of Government meeting.
The Guyanese have been fully briefed by their government and norman faria here so they are not worried.
I am of the firm view that this immigration green paper will result in thompson being one of the most hated prime minister Barbados ever had, because of that one thing:EXPECTATIONS.
Bajan expected Thompson to turn away from the path that owen arthur started on,and no excuse that some of these CSME provisions were already signed on by the BLP will do,because this DLP could have done just what Antigua and Belize did – like negroman reminded us earlier.
After Barbados made such a strong argument against the full implementation of freedom of labour and how Barbados was going to take a hard stance, everyone in Caricom would have understood if the thompson administration had asked for time to pull back from the BLP signed CSME provisions and time to study the impact of these provisions on Barbados – just like Antigua is doing.
Instead Thompson now wants to seal these CSME provisions into Barbados law books which will make it almost improbable that there will be any over turning of these things.
Imagine 2 years in a marriage to a bajan, whether of convenience or not – and you get bajan citizenship.
2 years david thompson, why not 10 years like Bermuda laws allow?
Educating all non national children at primary school free of charge – are bajan taxpayers who are already one of the most taxed citizens in the caribbean now to educate these non national children ?
What about the work permit section 74 that david raised earlier?
What about restricting the ways someone becomes a citizen and insist that children born to non nationals or persons with only residence stautus will not become barbadian citizens but residents of Barbados?
But when your heart is not in what you are doing you will look for any excuse to do what you really want to do.
Thompson’s heart is not in this immigration issue like how the majority of bajans are – to him it is just politics and political gamesmanship.
Act in haste repent in leisure.
There are many person reading these blogs who are quietly thinking about these things.
He will soon find out.
David // October 24, 2009 at 1:31 PM
Under Citizenship by Birth p59
Have to say BU finds the recommendation troubling under this heading . The fact that one of the parents has a long term work permit should NOT be enough to deem the off spring a citizen of Barbados. We are inclined to recommend that all children of immigrants should NOT be awarded citizenship unless one parent is a bona fide citizen of Barbados.
What does the BU family think?
David // October 24, 2009 at 4:54 PM
The biggest paradox which BU continues to battle is the ease with which our regional leaders would abdicate our sovereignty to the unelected bureaucrats of CARICOM yet hang on for dear life to the Monarchy and Privy Council. Why would the same leaders not want to repatriate the vestiges of our colonial past?
mash up & buy back // October 24, 2009 at 5:33 PM
Well said David,well said.
These so called ‘Leaders’ who can’t lead a donkey to pasture,so eagerly give up th cherished,sovereign rights of its people WITHOUT CONSULTATION,and after the deed is done they now come asking – how you like it?
You have anything to say on this matter?
Where was the consultation of the bajan people when david thompson went down to guyana and expanded the categories to include who so ever will?
Because Thompson believe that when he finish do he shite in Guyana he could come back here in Barbados and talk some pretty,pretty talk and people will swallow everything he say;
Dem days done skipper,dem days done fuh real.
Negroman // October 24, 2009 at 5:41 PM
David
The BU sign that you use is attached to an Anonymous post that is stating that I am Guyanese.
David did you make that comment?
Carson Cadogan if you have that scum Thomas Harris as a friend my brother you really want a friend.
Mash Up & Buy Back
The Guyanese are leaving as you said only to return with the correct documentation to make them legal.After all it is the same David Thompson that stated the illegal Guyanese once they are not deported are eligible to return to the country after spending I think he said 6 months out of the country.They are only leaving to get the correct documentation.
David Thompson initially proposed amnesty for non-nationals from 2004 instead of 1998 .It is through the urgings of Maxine McClean the then minister of immigration,Antoinette Williams the then Permanent Secretaryin Defence & Security &other senior government officials that highlighted to David Thompson the thousands upon thousands of illegals especially the Indo-Guyanese scums who would have benefitted from that amnesty,that the our mutant leader with the stinking white man’s blood in his veins relented.David Thompson wanted to give amnesty to almost all the illegals in Barbados.That would had been the biggest political blunder in the history of Barbados.
Mash Up & Buy Back yes I agree with you David Thompson is not that keen on this immigration issue and is only reacting to the wisshes of the people.After all he went to Guyana and his first word were “His grand father was a pan boiler from Guyana”
David // October 24, 2009 at 5:49 PM
@Negroman
Thanks for bringing to our attention, we had not even noticed.
Someone appears to have used our Gravatar sign, ummm.
Last time a similar thing happened was when a commenter did the same thing to David Madsen’s son Ian.
General Lee // October 24, 2009 at 6:36 PM
David, I do not think that you are correct in your interpretation of that particular recommendation.
“Recommendation:
32. It is recommended that the legislation should be amended to stipulate that children born in
Barbados shall NOT be deemed to be citizens of Barbados, where neither parent enjoys the status of
immigrant, permanent resident, or citizen, nor qualifies under the Caribbean Community Act, 2003-8
Comprehensive Review of Immigration Policy and Proposals for Legislative Reform 60
which makes provision for matters arising out of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.”
I think this says that the child is a citizen if one parent “enjoys the status of immigrant, permanent resident, or citizen,
“However, that child should be allowed to reside if their parent is on a valid, long-term work permit, or has
permission to reside and work.”
I am hesitant to agree with this. Given that primary education will be free, what is to stop people from bringing their children here to exploit this opportunity.
What needs clarification is:
“nor qualifies under the Caribbean Community Act, 2003-8
Comprehensive Review of Immigration Policy and Proposals for Legislative Reform 60
which makes provision for matters arising out of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas.”
General Lee // October 24, 2009 at 6:47 PM
Re: The two year thing, how will the authorithies know for certain that a man and woman where cohabiting as husband and wife.
Does the applicant have to produce a child, two years or younger for DNA testing?
If so, is this an attempt to increase the reproductive rate in an aging population?
What if there is no child and one parent claims infertility?
Two years is definitely too short.
General Lee // October 24, 2009 at 6:47 PM
Re: The two year thing, how will the authorities know for certain that a man and woman where cohabiting as husband and wife.
Does the applicant have to produce a child, two years or younger for DNA testing?
If so, is this an attempt to increase the reproductive rate in an aging population?
What if there is no child and one parent claims infertility?
Two years is definitely too short.
General Lee // October 24, 2009 at 6:49 PM
David sorry about the double post.
mash up & buy back // October 24, 2009 at 7:44 PM
General Lee
David is right when he speaks about non nationals with work permit their children will get citizenship.
A child born to a person qualifying under the Caricom community Act gets citizenship.
That is any maid,artisan,nurse,construction worker who is here as a skilled person under the CSME arrangement will qualify and have children will be a bajan.
Just so..
Trust me just as we are reading this on this blog,other non nationals are too.
Expect them to come prepared.
JC // October 24, 2009 at 10:20 PM
I am not hearing from L. Holder or YB and others. I am not pleased at all! David Thompson, you are not going to get my vote not now or ever!
I remember when one of those questionnaires came to my house I rated you high however sir, you are a disappointment!
A HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT!
NOT MY X………….
My friends aint voting either cause this aint what we vote for! Get the Guyanese to vote for you!
Negroman // October 24, 2009 at 11:31 PM
JC
Glad to know that you have come to realise that stinking mutant David Thompson with the stinking white man poisonous blood in his veins is nothing but a big disappointment.He is a total let down.I am not surprise though because he acts & thinks like the typical white man,that is he is a schemer & a liar.
I hope all Black Barbadians boycott the upcoming general elections.JC lets start a campaign of encouraging Black Barbadians to boycott the damn elections.
Stinking,mutant David Thompson with the stinking,poisonous white man’s blood running through your shite infested veins, you are a 1 term Prime Minister.
This shitty paper on immigration serves us right because foolish Black Barbadians including Your Truly went & voted for a non-national mutant like David Thompson to be our leader.
We have a non-national Prime Minister enacting legislation to stop non-nationals from gaining Barbadians citizenship.
Brother Scout I have not seen you posted anything for a while.My brother I am eagerly looking forward to hear from you & my darling Bonny Peppa.
David // October 25, 2009 at 10:42 AM
Mr.Laurie’s article maybe relevant to the GP given that the Barbados government has factored heavily our obligations to Caricom/CSME under the Treaty of Chaguramus.
Anonymous // October 25, 2009 at 6:59 PM
ha ha ask anyone who knows about the boat which Barbados had to pay for in Canada and I thought all of us were Caribbean people …… oh what a laffLOL!
X-MAN // October 25, 2009 at 7:00 PM
This is essential reading. Fellow Afro-Bajans please remain vigilant. Your region is in peril.
Commentary: Debating the Syrian/Lebanese control of Antiguans and Barbudans
By Dr Isaac Newton
de gap // October 26, 2009 at 7:49 AM
“The Green Paper knocks them for six”
Just skimming thru the much anticipated green paper, it looks like they got it mostly right. Children born to illegal immigrants will not automatically attain citizenship by birth. Sham marriages should also be a thing of the pass with the two year requirement. The two year requirement provides a sufficient deterrent to would be fraudsters without placing undue hardship on legitimate couples. And for all my Panamanian people born to Bajan mothers before 1966, they finally showed you some love.
Jay // October 29, 2009 at 2:32 PM
There is one crucial aspect of the system that I don’t know if the “Green Paper” addresses.I think that any person that has EVER had illegal presence in Barbados should never get an immigration benefit,even through marriage.I think that should be specified in law that anyone with unlawful presence can never get an immigration document in Barbados.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // October 30, 2009 at 4:36 AM
As an American born to a Bajan family, I have been told all my life that Barbados is the token as to what Blacks can achieve as a nation. However, I know that this isn’t true, due to the fact that the politics of the Island tells another story.
To all my Bajan Bretheren, Yes I maybe a yankee, but here me out.
I personally do not wish for the face of the Bajan people to change. As a High income nation that is majority Black, Barbados is under immense pressure to signify what people of the African Diaspora can achieve economically and Politically. After much research on the topic of immigration, my heart of course goes out to the Bajan people.
I have taken some time to analyze the “green paper” and am appauled at the lack of process that is required of immigrants in order to gain citizenship. As pointed out by Negroman, the idea that someone can just simply become a citizen by marrying a Bajan for two years is sickening. Not to mention, that it would obviously lead to “charity marraiges” between Bajans and non-nationals. Such laws cannot be allowed to take effect. If anything, I concur that the Bajan gov’t should be more aggressive in terms of bureaucracy, and not fear how CARICOM or other nations in general view them. Bajans abroad respect the rules and regulations of other developed countries, if anything Bajans in Barbados should enjoy that same luxury.
I will make a list of propositions as to what the ‘green paper’ SHOULD have in its contents in terms of immigration:
1) To be eligible for a Bajan citizenship application, one must live in the country for a sum of at least 12 years
2)To enter Barbados as an immigrant, one must have proof of a stable job, and prove that they can sustain themselves economically
3) A person can gain Bajan citizenship through their spouse. However, they will have to be married to them for a total of 8 years, and must take residence in the country (under the same roof of course) for at least 10 years
4)All immigrants are required to submit proof of work annually to the government in order for them to stay in Barbados (i.e. work permits, letters, cheques)
5)All immigrants are required to apply for a work permit every year, hence provide proof of enployment
6) Immigrants are required to pay federal taxes and are expected to provide proof of their tax payments when applying for citizenship
7)Non nationals who commit a violent crime (i.e. rape, murder, the bitter stuff), will be incarcerated and imprisoned for a total of 6 months, then deported from Barbados to their homeland, hence equating to Banishment (never to come back)
8)Immigrants cannot bring their families to Barbados, unless members of the family are also able to prove that they can contribute to the economy
a)documented immigrants cannot sponsor another immigrant (cover for them), each member is expected to go through the process as an individual
9)If a child is born to two non-citizens on Bajan soil, then that child is not a citizen of Barbados.
a)children may only gain citizenship if they have at least 1 parent (or should it be the Father?) that is a citizen.
10)Children that are non citizens are not required to go to school (if anything, the families should pay for thier education)
11)Anyone who has/d been deemed as an illegal immigrant are required to leave the country
12) And lastly, to become a citizen, one cannot have a criminal history, whether it be in Barbados or in another country
I would mention that healthcare should not be given to non nationals, but I’m afraid of being labeled an extremist. The proposition that I made should be more than realistic for the government to implement. I any of you agree with me, please, feel free to add on to this proposition. As mentioned before, I maybe American, but I believe that Bajan citizenship should be a well established, respectable/ed, and most of EARNED. Too many times have I seen Bajans here in the states willing to tough out the immigration policies, its time that “WE” do the same.
And to those who may say that I’m a racist and a xenophobe, I implore you to look at the population compared to the size of the nation. Barbados is too damned SMALL for a whole surge of immigrants to take refuge in. You may cry extremist, I refute that it is in the best interest of the people and the nation if we limit the presence of immigrants in order to maintain stability.
**Might I add that the rest of the younger generation should pay heed to this issue. At this rate, if I do not see improvement, I may just take it upon myself and become a politician for the people, and push for stircter immigration laws. Hell, I’ll even run for Prime Minister, and see to it that these laws are implemented!! What say you my Afro Bajan Bretheren?**
Negroman // October 30, 2009 at 7:42 AM
Angry-E- Bajan
I agree with all of your proposals and I also with the proposals Jay outlined in her post directly above yours.
Former minister of immigration Maxine McClean & the original members of her team including Antoinette Thompson her then Permanent Secretary suggested a 7 & 5 years periods of marriage by non-nationals to Barbadian partners.I think it was 7 years if a non-national man weds a Barbadian lady & 5 years if it a non-national woman weds a Barbadian man.I suspect those proposals were discarded by our Prime Minister,the inept oversized idiot we have as our minister of immigration Arnie Walters & the present permanent secretary Gilbert Greaves.
I do not think any right thinking Black Barbadian who cares about the future of Barbados and that of our children & grand children could in all honesty support many of the proposals outlined in that nonsense document the green paper on immigration.
The non-national weak,indecisive twerp we unfortunately have as our Prime Minister is too damn weak and is very much dependent on his financial backers to really bring about a comprehensive overhaul of our immigration system that would limit the number of non-nationals gaining Barbadian citizenship.David Thompson needs the Indians money to finance his political campaign.
The demographic shift in the Caribbean is well on its way.In Guyana the Chinese are emerging as a strong business community in that country.There are Chinese restaurants & shops everywhere.A similar thing is occurring with the Spanish type Brazilians.
I overheard a conversation between some Indo-Guyanese & a gentleman who appears to be Spanish type Brazilian at a hotel in Guyana.The conversation was about the future development of Guyana.The Spanish type individual suggested that Guyana should seek to import at least 1 million Chinese,1 million Indians & 1 million Brazilians over a 10 year period I think the man said.This gentleman went on and said some very disgusting things about Black People.I saw him looked at me at the next table in a sheepish way and I looked him straight in his eyes to indicate to him that I have heard every single word he had said about Black People.The point I am making it seems that the Guyana government is embarking on a policy of changing the racial demographics of Guyana by the apparent encouragement of attracting more & more Chinese,Spanish Brazilians & Indians and at the same time reducing the Black Guyanese population by denying them opportunities & killing them.
The new green paper on immigration I suspect is going to give rise to a situation similar to the one I outlined in the previous paragraph.It seems the other ethnic groups in Barbados especially the rat catchers Indians are in total control and are getting all that they ask for from this government.
Mash Up & Buy Back,I am not surprise that the person who murdered that lady in St Peter is a Guyanese.
mash up & buy back // October 30, 2009 at 7:54 AM
Negroman
After all the crime david thompson saw the guyanese committing over the past few years,this easy citizenship garbage is what he comes up with.
I think he should pay attention to what happens to prime minister after they leave office,he might just go down in history as one of the most hated prime ministers Barbados ever had.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // October 30, 2009 at 1:20 PM
Negroman, don’t say that Thompson is an a**hole because he is foreign born. Remember, I am also a foreign born Bajan (My father is VERY Bajan). If anything, Thompson is an a**hole because he has the devil’s blood coursing through him. I’m currently a college student, and I’ve done some research on how to become prime minister, and to become an MP. If the ‘Green paper’ doesn’t get revised and have more stictness implemented, then I will take it upon myself to move to Barbados and become PM myself. I will become an MP, and see to it that that the proposals that I made will pass!! What do u say Negroman? s it possible? Am I being realistic? LOL, would I get your vote?
y. paris // October 30, 2009 at 3:44 PM
To Angry Yank-e Bajan
I totally agree with ALL your recommendations. Prime Minister Thompson needs to grow a set and replicate the immigration policies of places like Bermuda and the Cayman Islands.
There is no need to import one million guyanese into guyana, just deport the guyanese ‘in the caribbean’ back to guyana.This would give the caricom sister states breathing space and less pressure on social services.
Christopher Halsall // October 30, 2009 at 4:02 PM
@y. paris… So, following your thinking and logic…
It is reasonable to assume that you would be supportive of the USA, and the UK (and Canada et al) deporting everyone who are not able to claim immediate birthright?
(Pack your bags…)
What goes around comes around, as they say….
y. paris // October 30, 2009 at 5:48 PM
To Christopher Hallsell
I support any and all countries who make it their priority to lookout for their local citizens above everyone else. Illegal aliens should not be able to enoy social services that are available for citizens. I don’t blame any country for wanting to and deporting illegals from their countries. In fact this is being done all over the world and barbados and sister caricom countries are no exception! Small islands cannot be expected to bear the brunt of illegal caricom immigration. Why can’t a big country such as Guyana get its house in order so that guyanese don’t have to run here and there. If Jagdeo would provide opporunities in his country, his citizens would stay in guyana and build the country. Barbadians have built Barbados and should be able to enjoy their country. As for me, I am not an illegal alien. I have citizenship in three countries and I am not Barbadian. But as someone born and raised in the “caribbean”. I agree with Barbadians and they must do what is right for Barbados.
I will say it again, CARICOM is a joke and at end the end of the day, each island have to look out for themselves.
Christopher Halsall // October 30, 2009 at 6:02 PM
@All Bajans currently living abroad.
Please immediately surrender yourself to your nearest police station.
You are no long welcome….
Angry Yank-e Bajan // October 30, 2009 at 6:30 PM
I concur with y.paris. The CARICOM deal wentout the window along with the concept of their being a West Indian Federation. The fact of the matter is, West indians aren’t united as united as much as we’d like to be. There is still alot of work to be done in terms of the economies of certain islands. If CARICOM truly wishes to work, then there is a lot of catching up to do in this field. That said, if these nations do not clean up their act, they cannot expect us to babysit their nationals, its completely absurd, and it will cause chaos not only in Barbados, but in the 6 founding nations that are able to sustain themselves.
michael // October 31, 2009 at 12:14 PM
To chistopher haisall
kiss my stinking R*** h***
Jay // October 31, 2009 at 4:13 PM
The biggest Christmas present government can give Barbados citizens is to ensure that immigration enforcement is on track & NO MORE AMNESTY.You either have a strict immigration policy or you don’t.I have to admit there are some good things in the paper but it also opens the door on quite a few other things.
@Angry Yank-e Bajan
I’m also in the US & been looking at this issue very closely for some time & some of the recommendations you mentioned make sense.The thing is the immigration laws that are there currently would have prevented the immigration mess.The problem is the Government doesn’t seem very willing to not only enforce the immigration laws but seem to be trying to create new avenues of a more open system which could bring mass immigration & the problems associated with it from the rest of the CSME countries.The current system says that only Barbados nationals & permanent residents have access to free health-care & education but the law also requires every person in the country to attend school & hence why we have a lot of non-national & illegal children within Barbados schools also the hospitals cannot turn away someone who has an injury so what happens in Both cases is that Illegal adults do not have the money to pay the school fees & health-care resulting in the system which should have been enforced being compromised while having huge amounts of fees owed currently.
The bottom-line in this mess is why would any Government be so accommodating to people who would run Government institutions into the ground through debt,damage the social welfare of the country through racism & narco- trafficking & promote a lawless chaotic system by not having the laws enforced.Sounds like the wild wild west.
The problems facing the Immigration system are huge.
- ~10% of the total population in Barbados is that of illegal immigrants.Most are made up of Jamaican,Vincentian & Guyanese illegal immigrants.
-Grantley Adams is used as a hub for most of the other Caricom countries.
-Education & Healthcare fees are being unpaid by illegal immigrants according to the Green paper.
-Barbados is a densely populated country already.
-Barbados Immigration laws are NOT being enforced due to a so called “Amnesty”.From since when does the de-facto process by Governments to enforce the laws of the land only accommodate a set of people only.Are Bajans given an amnesty for not paying their taxes that pay for the people in Government to do what the people ask,I think not,maybe that should be proposed next if this keeps up.
-Housing is probably the biggest & varied issue of this entire matter but I don’t think anyone here needs to have an expanded definition of that particular problem.
David // October 31, 2009 at 4:45 PM
The New Zealand just passed an amended Immigration Act. Some learnings maybe?
Angry Yank-e Bajan // October 31, 2009 at 5:16 PM
@Jay
Then if thats the case, then I will take it upon myself to become MP. Anybody mind briefly explaining how it works? To clarify, I’m asking, if I were to run as a candidate, where do I look for funding? Do I need to further my studies in a law degree?
y. paris // October 31, 2009 at 6:33 PM
Has any of you bloggers seen the kaieteur news or guyanaobservernews.org today? There is a story about 14 year-old young man experiencing hell in custody , genital area soaked with methylated spirits then set alight by police. The title of the story is TORTURE. What in the world is happening in Guyana? Do human rights exists in Guyana? Is Guyana a barbaric, uncivilized country? There is a gruesome, disgusting, awful picture of this young man on the front pages. Do human beings do this type of thing to another? The people of Guyana need to put their racial differences aside and do what is good for the country. Caricom leaders need to speak out against what is going on in that country and tell Jagdeo to get his act together. Do sister caricom states want to be associated with a country that does these things to an individual(s)? I think not!
X-MAN // November 1, 2009 at 4:29 AM
The parallels between the UK and Barbados with reference to their immigration policies are remarkably similar:
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/comment/columnists/minette_marrin/article6898174.ece
Good to see that foreign Bajans are now taking part in this debate
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 1, 2009 at 7:14 AM
I’ve read up on some of the requirements to become a Bermudian citzen, and I find it Brilliant!! They not only included the fact that immigrants should annually aubmit proof of work, but they have a category of “Guest Worker”, which makes immigrants specify that they are there to work on a default of 1 year, hence causing the immigrant to choose guest “status”.
Another thing about what is interesting is that it has the “permanent resident” selection as well, meaning that the person is entitled to the job market, but does not have the right to vote, free healthcare (you know, the luxuries that Bajan citizens are entitled TO, the ones that they DESERVE).
OH, but here is when I’m sold, You not only have to be married and live with your spouse in the country for a lengthy time, but you also have to pay a hefty fee in order to be considered for the spousal citizenship. And here’s the Jaw Dropper…All the rights you gained in that marriage as a citizen through rhe marriage, gets revoked if the marriage falls apart!! THIS SHOULD DEFINITLEY BE ON THE TABLE. I AM ALSO ADDING THOSE 3 LAWS TO THE PROPOSALS!!!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Law_of_Bermuda
y. paris // November 1, 2009 at 10:18 AM
To Angry Yank-e Bajan
I think you can make an excellent prime minister of barbados. The island needs individuals who think like you, to preserve Barbados as we know it for future generations.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 1, 2009 at 5:59 PM
@y.paris
I am am grateful for your input. I am seriously thinking about becoming a politician in Barbados. If the current regime doesn’t get it right, then I WILL see to it that this PROBLEM is FIXED to the fullest extent. Bajans, make some noise for your government, tell them that you want stricter laws implemented. Mind you that this isn’t small talk, I WILL stand for the people of Barbados and do what’s right, even if I have to risk my reputation for the Sanctity of the NATION, and most of all, of the BAJAN PEOPLE!!!!!!!!
David // November 1, 2009 at 6:02 PM
Strange enough there has been no discussion about the Green Paper in the mainstream media, none at all. No panel discussions, no expert analysis, no nothing.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 2, 2009 at 1:11 AM
I found a blog issued by a Guyanese native, and read what he had to say about the illiegal immigration of the Guyanese moving into the country:
http://mediaimran.wordpress.com/2009/05/23/guyanese-ignorance-on-bajan-immigrant-issue/
He also implied that Bajan authorities are moving in on ALL forrms of immigrants and are demanding that such treatment should stop. The blogger also wrote that Bajan authorities should only focus on the ILLEGAL immigrants, you would think that he would get it through his thick skull, ALL the immigrants should be treated that way, since they come to our country under the false pretense of them HAVING to be accomodated by Barbados because of CARICOM. I CRY BULLSH*T!!!!!
michael // November 2, 2009 at 5:55 AM
To Angry yank-e bajan i am watching your comments with interest what you have said I do agree with you. At first I did not agree with every thing that Negroman had said but after reading his comments and looking at it from his perspective i can see where he is coming from I will have to agree with him,not sure that i would want to use some of the descriptions he has used, but he has every right to use them if he think that they are appropriate.Why do you thing that the main stream media is not commenting about the green paper?well it has me baffled seeing that it is very important that the government should know what the bajan people think of it,I feel that government have taken the view that this is what should be done and that is that , although the government said it was looking for comment from the public, no ministers has made any comments on the green paper as it is proposed if they have I stand to be corrected ..I think the government see the public as mushrooms keep them in the dark and feed them on bulls**t
mash up & buy back // November 2, 2009 at 7:56 AM
Michael
I too am concerned about the lack of attention the media both print and electronic is giving to this green paper.
That is how citizens in a country loose their rights – when they don’t stand up and speak.
X-man // November 2, 2009 at 9:52 AM
“The revolution will not be televised”
Gill-Scott Heron
“Black people, how low can you go?”
Public Enemy
michael // November 2, 2009 at 1:37 PM
what yank-e bajan said in the list he made out for citizenship should have been where the government should have started in relationship to the green paper, in stead we have got a green paper that could have been drawn up by some one sitting in the UN with an eye on what would be acceptable to the G20 which include Euorpe,America china and India,also the idea of fingerprinting bajans is tossed in as a good idea with out showing a justified reason for doing so,you know as bajans how we always say it is the law,which mean we should comply,but we never ask who is making the law and is it what we want,I was once told this by an old man ,”The law is for the guidance of the wise and the control of fools”.I wonder under which heading our ministers would place us.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 2, 2009 at 3:10 PM
Wait, then how are we supposed to the government what we want from this paper?? Where’s the outlet in which I can submit my proposal? I can write on the behalf of the Bajan people. I believe some one mentioned that the government is waiting to hear from the public, yet I’m not finding anything in which I can make some noise. WHAT THE HELL KIND OF PARTY DOES THIS TO THEIR OWN PPL??
mash up & buy back // November 2, 2009 at 3:17 PM
Angry Yanke bajan
When you write send a letter to the prime minister,copy it to the minister of immigration arni walters and send a copy to the nation and advocate newspapers.
Check with your local barbados embassy office for the adrresses.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 2, 2009 at 3:19 PM
@ Mash Up & Buy Back
Thank You, I’ll be sure to send the Proposal!!!
David // November 3, 2009 at 7:05 AM
All over the world immigration policies are being examined and amended. In Barbados and the Caribbean we have these intellectuals who have become so married to a way of wanting to do things that they have elected to toss pragmatism out the window.
Angry Yank-e Bajan // November 3, 2009 at 12:11 PM
Here is a draft of the proposal that was sent to Barbados. I sent it to the atillean, cbc.bb, the prime minister’s office, and I left it as a comment on the website of the Barbadian parliament.
Here is the link to view the page: http://www.barbadosparliament.com/viewblog.php?rec_id=18
Lets see if the government will listen.
Jay // November 4, 2009 at 12:27 PM
@David,I have to say if you think “immigration policies” are the biggest problem then I would have to disagree.CSME is the biggest problem for Barbados in the long run even if we do get the illegal immigration mess under control.The fact that Barbados is signatory due to the BLP has long term ramifications.
A good example is currently what is happening in the EU[which is basically now a country] after the Lisbon Treaty was signed by very unwilling populouses & leaders is this what we can expect for Barbados as well?Remember when the Prime Minister agreed with including domestic workers into CSME for Barbados is this what can be expected of a “Community of Sovereign states”?Check out the following articles to see what I mean concerning not what is currently talking about Lisbon,but the issue that we truly have to prepare for,the erosion of Barbados as a sovereign country.
Skeptic Czech President on EU treaty-http://www.jbs.org/jbs-news-feed/5587-klaus-signs-lisbon-treaty
No referendum for British voters on Lisbon-http://news.sky.com/skynews/Home/Politics/David-Cameron-On-Lisbon-Treaty-Tory-Leader-To-Announce-British-Sovereignty-Act/Article/200911115433064?lpos=Politics_Top_Stories_Header_2&lid=ARTICLE_15433064_David_Cameron_On_Lisbon_Treaty%3A_Tory_Leader_To_Announce_British_Sovereignty_Act
Ireland says ‘yes’ to New World order.-http://www.newswithviews.com/NWV-News/news168.htm
black royalty // November 6, 2009 at 11:03 PM
does any body here see anything wrong with the pm new electronic id card
black royalty // November 6, 2009 at 11:40 PM
new world order
Anonymous // November 11, 2009 at 7:39 PM
Negroman,David & others
Have you noticed how almost every month we are realising that david thompson is walking back from all the big talk he gave us last year about the strict amnesty programme?
Did you hear tonight’s news where david commissong is now pleased that the government has given the undertaking that even though those persons do not qualify for an amnesty according to the rules laid down,YET ARNI WALTERS AND DAVID THOMPSON ARE GOING TO ALLOW ALL THESE PEOPLE TO APPLY AND LOOK AT THEIR CASE SYMPATHETICALLY ON A CASE BY CASE BASIS TO ALLOW THEM TO NOW GET PERMANENT RESISDENCE WHICH ENTITLES THEM TO FREE SCHOOL,FREE MEDICAL TREATMENT,THE RIGHT TO VOTE,AND UNDER THE NEW IMMIGRATION LAWS THE RIGHT TO MARRY AND BRING IN THEIR FAMILIES.
WHAT DID WE DO WHEN WE REMOVED ARTHUR AND PUT IN THOMPSON?
What commissong has done is set up the guyanese and faria and commissong to then highlight the case of these persons who may have children here and then have their application rejected to try and make the government feel guilty and retract on that denial of permission.
This is pure shite.
I now realise why thompson removed maxine mcclean and selected arni walters as the minister of immigration, because it is obvious he could not get maxine mcclean to go along with this shite.
Man I will never vote for thompson or the Dems again EVER.
David // November 12, 2009 at 12:23 AM
Prime Minister Thompson has made certain promises to Barbadians, The CADRES poll has confirmed those expectations and concerns. All we as patriots can do is to continue our advocacy role. The people will have the chance to decide come next general election.
michael // November 12, 2009 at 6:50 AM
I am surprised that no reporter in the in the main stream media or (should i say the forth estate) has called the prime minister and ask him for a response to the seemingly about turn he is making with regards to his immigration policy
ac // November 12, 2009 at 9:58 PM
To those of you who are standing up to keep Barbados and not willing to give it away lock, stock and barrel I salute you.
Keep your eye on the prize .Don’t blink.
The forefathers of this wonderfulcountry must be turning over in their graves . Why are the politicians in such ahurry to give Bim away so easily.
Continueto keep the Politicians feet to the fire.
sad very sad // November 12, 2009 at 10:07 PM
we are still slaves, slave minded ; slavish and would be slaves again and again cant think for we self ,we believe in people more than we self
Jay // November 13, 2009 at 2:20 AM
Just to give a heads up.The Bahamas doesn’t seem to capitulate to anything immigration wise so far this year they have deported over 5000 individuals.Why can’t Barbados?The Politicians need to stop dragging their damn feets & get to work on deportations,anything less will result in their effective end as a politician.
———————————————
http://www.bbc.co.uk/caribbean/news/story/2009/11/091112_thursdaypmbriefs.shtml
Bahamas deports thousands
Immigration officials in the Bahamas say they have deported close to 5,000 illegal immigrants so far this year – the majority of them, Haitians.
These repatriations are part of the country’s stepped up campaign to rid the Bahamas of undocumented migrants.
However, deputy director in the department of immigration, Roderick Bowe, says the department does not expect things to get any better anytime soon, as traditionally hundreds more Haitian nationals flock to the Bahamas during the Christmas holiday.
mash up & buy back // November 13, 2009 at 7:09 AM
Jay
You don’t know what we dealing with now here with thompson.
He will come to a sad political ending if he is not careful.
mash up & buy back // November 13, 2009 at 7:48 AM
David/BU
Check out the PEP column in today’s Nation.
David could you do a BU article using that pep column to show how the P.M. is fooling bajans and back tracking on promises given?
I can’t think of a bold headline as yet, can you think of something?
David // November 13, 2009 at 8:18 AM
@mash up
BU read it and like you have some concerns that changes are being made to the immigration arrangement and Barbadians are not being included in the loop of communication. Long ago we communicated to the BU family it was our understanding that government wants to thread very cautiously on the immigration matter. Until January 1 2010 comes and we see a difference in actions of yore, we remain sceptical. We have a blog queued up for later which touches on the matter and has been is a work in progress from yesterday, as always we will have something to say on this matter in the coming days. Barbadians let us make our voices heard on this matter our children’s future depends on it.
mash up & buy back // November 13, 2009 at 8:23 AM
Thanks David,Please use a stinging headline.
Negroman // November 13, 2009 at 1:25 PM
It is not surprising that our lame duck,poor excuse for a Prime Minister we unfortunately have at this moment is reneging on his promise expulsion of illegal immigrants.He & his government were never serious and were only responding to the concerns of Barbadians. at that moment.
David Comissiong,anti-man Bharat Jagdeo,musty Norman Faria,Ricky Singh,stinking Shridath Ramphal & the local rat catchers/mango sellers Indians & the Guyanese have intimidated & scared the mutant,non-national Prime Minister into submission.David Thompson is the weakest leader Barbados has produced so far.
I was never impressed with the attitude this inept government was conveying regarding immigration.This government was blowing hot & cold and is still blowing hot cold sending all types of conflicting messages.There is no set policy on immigration by this corrupt,nonsensical,bunch of political time wasters we have as a government.
Our Prime Minister original position in his amnesty proposal was to offer the amnesty to those were here prior to 2004.However,because of the large influx that came between 1998 & 2004 and if the amnesty was offered thousands upon thousands of non-nationals especially the Indo-Guyanese scums would had benefited.Therefore,I am not surprise that the other non-national David Comissiong could state that extensions & careful considerations are be given to non-nationals who were here 5 years or more.I will repeat David Thompson wanted the amnesty from 2004 and not 1998.He only agreed to the 1998 recommendation from his advisers but his true intention was to give the amnesty from 2004.
David Thompson is so weak a leader that he had to go to Guyana and explained to Bharat Jagdeo & Ralph Gonsalves his reason for implementing a new immigration policy for Barbados.I was never in agreement with the sperm & ovary waster Prime Minister David Thompson the red rat decision to go to Guyana and have that press conference.It showed weakness on his part.
Guyana recently expelled about 30 American Mormons who were working & living illegally in Guyana.There was no ifs & buts the mormons had to go.Antigua is deporting Guyanese almost daily.In Trinidad a Guyanese friend of mine sister was denied re-entry in Trinidad because she overstayed her welcome there on a previous occasion.As Jay outlined in her post The Bahamas is expelling illegal immigrants by the thousands and although it is a severe financial burden on the country,it is still pursuing that action.Those countries are doing what those countries perceived to be right,but in Barbados it is a completely different matter.
Sperm & ovary waster the red rat David Thompson is a monumental disaster for Barbados.Our mutant leader should really come to the people of Barbados and let us know that he is not keen on removing illegal immigrants from Barbados and is handicapp because he is dependent on the money that his party is receiving from the rat catcher/mango seller Indians.
Look at Barbados today we have all non-nationals in charge of our country & dictating our immigration policy.Non-national Prime Minister David Thompson, David Comissiong a Vicentian.musty Norman Faria a Guyanese,Ralph Gonsalves a Vicentian,anti-man Bharat Jagdeo a Guyanese & the rat catcher/mango seller Indians.
X-MAN // November 13, 2009 at 6:56 PM
The gulf between your government (led by a man who’s 50% Bajan) and those of Afro-Bajan descent seems to be widening.
This man is selling you out to the lowest bidder. If you’re not happy with him ask him to step down. This man has no interest in the Afro-Bajan. He lacks vision.
Overseas Bajans struggling in Europe or America do not appreciate this man selling the country off like some down market street hawker.
Thompson you have to leave office. You are a disappointment. Do you not understand the mind set of those who were enslaved by one of your parents ancestors?
Afro-Bajans do not want to forced out of their country. You are fortunate Mr Thompson you do not stand out. The world is your oyster; however for us Afro-Bajans we stand out in the crowd. That can be problematic. Doors are rarely opened to us.
I understand that you are a lawyer. You probably could earn more money practising in your profession. You’ve been in politics for a long time. Infact far too long!
This Afro-Bajan demands that you step down. Your best is not good enough.
Negroman // November 13, 2009 at 9:21 PM
X-Man
Very well said.I concur with everything you have said.That mutant,red rat with the stinking poisonous white man shitty blood running through his veins does not understand or give a damn about Black People.He cannot empathize with us because he is only half of us.That is the problem with these mutant people we unfortunately have in our midst.
Stinking David Thompson you must go.We do not need you as our Prime Minister.Your shelf life has expire.Leave now or we the Black people of Barbados are going to force you out of office.
David Thompson you are a monumental disaster as a Prime Minister.
David // November 14, 2009 at 9:57 AM
All comments posted on BU have been forwarded to the relevant PS. If a BU family member needs to email directly please do so at gapplewhaite@barbados.gov.bb.
mash up & buy back // November 14, 2009 at 3:09 PM
David
What do you mean’has been forwarded to the relevant P.S.?
P.S. of which ministry,and also did you select some comments or forwarded evrything just as is?
Who is gapplewhaite@barbados.gov?
David // November 14, 2009 at 4:01 PM
@mash up
We had made a note of that email which after reading a website sometime ago:
Gillian Applewhaite
Barbados Government Information Service
Bay Street
St. Michael
Barbados
Tel: (246) 426-2232/42
Fax: (246) 436-1317
Cell: (246) 264-8052
E-mail: gapplewhaite@barbados.gov.bb
We have assumed communication sent to the GIS will be routed to the relevant PS. Bear in mind individuals should have sent their comments directly to government. We sent the link to the email for whatever it is worth. We know the blog is monitored anyway.
Negroman // November 15, 2009 at 3:27 PM
David
Yes I agree with your idea of sending the postings of us the contributors to your blog to our inept,weak & stupid Prime Minister David Thompson.I hope you will send all my postings with all the terms I have used to describe him.I have no qualms of insulting our Prime Minister.He has insulted the thousands of Barbadians who have voted for him with his weak,indecisive leadership especially his handling of the immigration issue
We must let the mutant,non-national Prime Minister know that we mean business and if he is unable or afraid to take drastic action on this immigration issue,we will get rid of him.
David Thompson act or we act on you & remove as Prime Minister by any means necessarily.
Anonymous // November 15, 2009 at 7:51 PM
Negroman
You think thompson listening to poor,black bajans?
They are only useful for the vote.