The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of Urinary Tract Infections

Submitted by Doc Georgie Porgie

Cranberry juice, obtained from the berries of the plant Vaccinium macrocarpon Ait.,[Ericaceae] has long been advocated by folklorists for the prevention of urinary tract infections [UTI’S].

Originally, it was thought that the juice acted by increasing the acidity of the urine. However, it is currently thought that cranberry possesses “anti-adherence “properties, which prevent bacteria from attaching to the lining of the urinary tract. Two compounds have been isolated from cranberry , which inhibit the adhesion of E. coli to cells of the urinary tract. In addition, an as yet unidentified compound [found only in cranberry and blueberry juice] along with fructose [which is found in all fruit juices ] have been shown to inhibit E.coli fimbrial adhesions.

In a recent randomized, double – blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial involving 153 elderly women who ingested 300 mL of commercially available cranberry or placebo daily for 6 months it was demonstrated that the frequency of bacteriuria with pyuria was significantly decreased [after 4 to 8 weeks] in the cranberry group in comparison with the placebo group. In addition, there was a decrease in the rate of antibiotics prescribed by doctors to treat UTI’S in the cranberry group, suggesting a relevant effect of ingesting cranberry juice. Another small,[n=7] randomized, controlled cross-over trial confirms these findings.

Although no side effects, contraindications or drug interactions are associated with the use of cranberry juice, it is imperative to note that cranberry juice should not be used as a substitute for antibiotics in the treatment of acute urinary tract infections

For the prevention of urinary tract infections cranberry juice may be given in a dose of 150 mL to 600 mL daily or as 300 to 400 mg concentrated cranberry juice capsules twice daily

TURMERIC [Curcuma longa Linn ] Family Zingiberacea

Turmeric is a member of the ginger family which has been used historically for both its flavour [it is a major ingredient in curry powder] and its colour [it is used in the preparation of mustard ].

The primary and secondary rhizomes have been used traditionally in China and India for flatulence, jaundice menstrual difficulties bruises and colic. The active agent in turmeric which is responsible for its characteristic yellow colour and pharmacological activity is curcumin, a phenylpropanoid derivative Circumin is reported to be a potent anti-inflammatory agent, to have significant anti-oxidant activity,to increase bile secretion and flow and to have a variety of other direct effects including inhibition of leukotriene formation,and platelet aggregation as well as increasing the breakdown of fibrin and promoting liver function in many ways.

Among the mechanisms postulated for the action of tumeric as an anti-inflammatory agent are that 1 it has an indirect action via the adrenal cortex, 2- it inhibits cortisone metabolism in the liver, thus increasing the amount of circulating cortisone 3- it inhibits 5-lipoxygenase and 4 it inhibits lipopolysaccharide induced production of tumour necrosis factor [ TNF ] and interleukin-1b[IL-1]..

With respect to its use in rheumatoid arthritis, one clinical study which used the postoperative inflammation model for evaluating NSAIDS found that 400 mg of curcumin was as effective as 100 mg phenylbutazone. Another found that symptoms such as joint swelling, walking speed and morning stiffness were improved to the same degree in patients taking either curcumin 1200 mg daily or phenylbutazone 300mg daily

Tumeric has been traditionally used for a number of liver diseases. Although there are no available human clinical studies which have investigated the efficacy of tumeric in these indications, evidence from experimental studies on animals reveal that it increases bile flow and may play a role in protecting the liver from toxins and that it also provides protection from hepatoxin-induced liver damage

Several animal studies have demonstrated that curcumin may have an inhibitory effect on a variety of experimentally induced cancers because of curcumin’s antioxidant action by inhibition of superoxide production, but the clinical significance of these findings remains uncertain.

Circumin has been reported to decrease cholesterol and lipid levels as well as to have antioxidant properties in animal studies

No drug interactions or adverse effects have been found when tumeric has been used in a dose of 400 mg curcumin three times daily or 1.5 to 3 g tumeric daily. However, prolonged use may sometimes cause gastrointestinal upset, and safety in pregnancy and lactation has not yet been established Individuals with blockage of the common bile duct or gallstones are advised not to use tumeric, because of its reputed ability to increase bile flow. It is note worthy that the German Commission E has approved the use of tumeric as an effective cholagogue and digestive aid

A WORD OF CAUTION

Clinical studies on humans have clearly demonstrated that tumeric has a potent inflammatory action comparable to that of phenylbutazone ,a pain killer which has been discontinued in most countries for almost twenty years. It would seem that tumeric can safely be used in the recommended doses as an adjunct to prescribed arthritis pain killers. Perhaps one can use the tumeric as the mainstay, since it is not reported to have any adverse effects or drug interactions and add your prescribed painkillers only when the pain is unbearable even with the use of tumeric. However it does not seem that there is any clinical evidence which suggests that tumeric can be used for the other indications as advocated in the publications emitting from the folklorists.

One has always to consider a few things when using any extract. What are the active ingredients in the extract ? What are the other constituents of the extract ? Are these ingredients all safe ? What are there adverse effects ? Will they interact with prescribed drugs ? “

Advertisement

179 Responses to The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of Urinary Tract Infections

1. Sorry i don’t got any scientific info but drinking coconut oil in small amounts stops any urinary tract infections.

They are lots of simple cures to common problems but no one does research in the tropics about these things they are just happy popping pills imported from overseas.

2. Georgie Porgie

Hi Ready done

That is an interesting contribution.

Can you tell us more about the use of coconut oil?

How is your aquaponics and hydroponics doing Sir?

3. Alex Fergusson

Yes!!

But what can they use or what can Barbadians give the DLP to cure their incompetence and intellectual weakness?

John Boyce told Barbados yesterday that where ever mold appears in Barbados, the Caribbean or the world – the BLP is responsible.

Suckoo told them last year that in order to save electricity, Barbadian should pull out the fridge plug when not in use.

Dennis Kellman said Barbados has an unofficial fishing agreement with T&T and not to be out done, while the people of Checker Hall, St. Lucy were complaining about dust – David Thompson said that the Arawak cement plant should put a “welcome” sign on its roof.

Will Cranburry Juice work for the DLP or are elections the only hope for Barbadians?

4. Georgie Porgie

THYME [Thymus vulgaris L ] Family Lamiacea or Labiatae

Like other members of the mint family, thyme is rich in volatile oils producing a characteristic scent The oil especially thymol and carvacrol which is used medicanally is extracted from the leaves and flowering tops by steam distillation

Two oils exist, the red oil and the white oil. The red oil is made by redistilling the white oil. Since many sub species exist this can result in differences in medicinal action and composition of the volatile oils .

Traditionally, thyme has been used orally and topically , for parasitic and fungal infections, in respiratory tract conditions such as bronchitis and asthma as an antitussive, expectorant and for relief of digestive upset [i.e. spasm, gas and distension ] Thyme is also thought to promote detoxification by promotion of perspiration

The antispasmodic and bronchospasmolytic action of thyme has been demonstrated in vitro and is thought to be due to calcium channel antagonism exerted by the flavenoid and phenolic components of the extract.

Extracts of thyme has also been shown in vitro to exhibit antibacterial activity, to inhibit the growth of Helicobacter pylori [ an agent associated with the causation of gastric ulcers ] and to have antimutagenic properties.

Thyme oil has been shown to increase respiration and exert a hypotensive action in animals It also has an anti-inflammatory action and exerts a profound antioxidant action possibly by inhibiting superoxide generation.

Thyme oil is a moderate dermal irritant and should only be applied topically after it has been diluted with a suitable carrier oil.

Since thyme oil is considered to be a strong mucous membrane irritant, it is therefore difficult to see how it could be used for its suggested use in the treatment of conditions associated with spasm including bronchitis and asthma. Sensitivity reactions confirmed later by skin prick testing has been associated with thyme

Thyme is reputed to enhance menstrual flow and should therefore be avoided in pregnancy. Although no cases of drug interaction has been reported, cross-sensitivity reactions with other members of the mint [Laminaceae ] family has been noted.

Adverse effects of the volatile oil include nausea, vomiting, digestive distress, headache, dizziness, sweating ,convulsions coma and respiratory/cardiac collapse.

The dose of thyme is 1-4 g of dried herb [often taken as an infusion ] or 2-6 mL[1:5 in 45 % of alcohol] three times daily. 1-2 g [0.5 –1 g in children under 1 year of age ] of the dried herb as an infusion several times a day. or 40 drops [tincture,1:10 70 %alcohol ]up to three times daily.

COMMENTS :The pharmacological information above with respect to thyme seems very promising, but since the possible benefits of thyme have so far only been demonstrated in vitro it would be wise to exercise caution in the use of this herb except for culinary purposes until formal clinical trials are conducted on thyme especially when one considers the side effects mentioned above.

5. Thanks for the info GP.

I use tumeric because I like the taste. I even add it to Bajan pepper sauce.
    Back in the day, poor Bajans used to use fresh tumeric in their “onion gravy” which they put on rice.

I also use thyme fresh and or dried in seasoning.

Thyme as an antitussive for Athsmatics is interesting.
    I am an Athsmatic which I have been able to control by continuously using drugs like Flovent and for the last 2 or 3 years Advair.
    I have not seen any side effects from using corticosteroid medication but I have not had a serious attack in 20 years.

By the way I remove all the Visible fat from any meat I cook or eat.
    Simplistic reasoning tells me that it is a wise thing to do based on what the medical community has said.

6. Alex Fergusson

Yes Hants!!

But what can they use or what can Barbadians give the DLP to cure their incompetence and intellectual weakness so that they will come up with a job creation plan?

7. Georgie Porgie

Hants
    My mom puts tumeric in her pepper sauce too.
    She uses a lot of fresh and dried seasoning also.

Tumeric has a phenyl ring in its structure. Phenyl rings appear to be necessary for hitting pain receptors and are common in pain killers.

I got some good results with a particular patient in the late 90’s with tumeric all though we could not tell the correct dose from the literature from the course I tool in Botanical Medicine. He just boiled a piece in water and drank it. Said it tasted badly, but he got good results. He used to get a lot of gastric problems with the NSAIDS.

Re Thyme as an antitussive for Asthmatics is interesting.
    Remember an antitussive is an agent to help you cough up stuff OK? Not to treat any respiratory condition per se.

You seem to be on good drugs for your asthma.
    You have not seen any side effects from the corticosteroid medication you are using because the dose in the metered aerosols you are using is extremely low

8. Georgie Porgie

Most older Bajans will remember Nettle Bush!

NETTLE(Urtica dooica L., U. urens L.) Family:Urticaceae

Although considered by many members of the public to be a noxious weed causing a characteristic pruritic rash on contact with the skin, stinging nettle is also a common homeopathic remedy, which has enjoyed a long medicinal history in many different models of traditional herbalism. The aerial parts and the roots/rhizomes of the plant are used medicinally.

In traditional herbal medicine, nettle leaves are considered very nutritive and consequently they are often used in situations of convalescence and recuperation.

They are also used to aid milk product-on in nursing mothers , and for its astringent properties in the treatment of bleeding conditions such as from wounds, hemorrhoids and even uterine hemorrhage.

In Europe stinging nettle root has become one the major phytomedicines used in the management of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH), either taken alone, or more commonly administered with other phytomedicines used in the management of BPH such as Serenoa repens (Saw Palmetto) and Prunus africana (African Pygeum).

The European Scientific Cooperative on Phytotherapy (ESCOP) list the ‘symptomatic treatment of micturition disorders (nocturia, pollakisuria, dysuria, urine retention) in benign prostatic hyperplasia as one of the indications for stinging nettle root.

Preparations made primarily from the roots of Urtica dioica L. have been shown in vitro and in vivo to affect many aspects of prostate physiology thought to be implicated in BPH.

These include: inhibition of sex hormone binding globulin (SHBG) to human prostatic tissue; possible suppression of prostate cell metabolism and growth; and weak inhibition of aromotase activity.

A number of human studies and clinical studies have demonstrated the therapeutic benefit of nettle root in the management of BPH.

Detailed reviews of these trials, published in ESCOP Urtica radix fascicule reveals that the clinical trials had a duration of between 9 weeks and 6 months , and suggests that the inclusion of the relatively inexpensive nettle root with more expensive phytomedicines used in the treatment of BPH may form a very cost effective method of treatment.

Oral preparations made from nettle leaf have long been used in the management of various arthritic conditions including rheumatism and gout, due to a diuretic effect resulting in an increased elimination of ‘toxins’ such as uric acid .

In vitro trials have demonstrated that an hydroalcoholic preparation of the leaves of Urtica cloaca possess antiinflammatory properties by influencing the synthesis of leukotrienes and cyclo-oxygenase derived prostaglandins and also by decreasing the production of a number of inflammatory related cytokines in whole human blood.

A recent open randomized pilot study of patients (n=40) suffering from acute arthritis compared the effectiveness of stewed Urtica dioica L. leaves (50 gm daily) plus diclofenac (50mg daily) to a larger daily dose of diclofenac (200 mg).

Both treatments were administered for 14 days. The drug/herb combination was found to be as effective as the higher dose of NSAID in decreasing elevated acute phase protein concentrations and relieving the clinical arthritic symptoms.

The authors concluded that the action of dicolefenac was potentiated by nettle leaves. Although this may seem promising, this was only a pilot study and some criticism has been made regarding the research design.

In a double-blind randomized study, carried our during the peak season for allergic rhinitis, the anti-allergic actions of a freeze-dried preparation of nettle was compared to placebo.

Volunteers (n=98) were assigned to the treatment (300 mg capsules of freeze-dried Urtica clioica) or the placebo group. They were advised to take two capsules at onset of the symptoms of allergic rhinitis.

Assessment was made by comparing diary symptoms and global response at a follow-up appointment after one week of therapy. Stinging nettle was rated higher than placebo according to the global assessment and slightly higher according to patient diary ratings.

In vitro trials have demonstrated that nettle leaves have diuretic, hypotensive, hyperglycemic, central nervous system depressant and analgesic action, but the implication of these findings to clinical practice have not yet been elucidated.

In an open study, administration of 1 5 mL of nettle herb juice was shown to significantly increase the volume of urine excreted by 32 patients suffering from myocardial or chronic venous insufficiency.

Side effects following oral consumption of products containing nettle seem rare, but instances of scanty urination, skin irritation and gastric distress have been noted .

Safety has not been established in pregnancy. Given the information of in vitro and in vivo studies, caution is advisable in cases of concomitant administration with conventional anti-hypertensive, diabetes and diuretic medications.

The dosage regimen of nettle are :-
    For the aerial parts : 2-4 gm of dried herb (normally as an infusion) or 3-4 mL of liquid extract (I :I in 25% alcohol) or 2-6 mL of tincture (I :5 in 45% alcohol) three times daily and for the root:Daily doses of 4-6 gm of root or 1.5-7.5 mL of fluid extract (1: 1, 45% ethanol) or 5 mL of tincture (1:5, 40% ethanol )

9. Alex Fergusson

It is quite obvious that David Thompson is not drinking his Cranburry Juice.

Two months ago he told this country that the government does not have a cash-flow promblem.

We now know – based on information supplied by the IMF and the Central Bank of Barbados that he LIED.

In its 2009-2010 Estimates, the DLP projected revenues of 2 808 938 602.

It would hold that the Over Draft Facility at the Central Bank would be $280 million.

On page 17 of its Article 1V consultation for 2009, the IMF shows current expenditure and current revenue as a percentage of GDP.

Essentially – current revenue for 2008/09 at 40.3% and expenditure 43.5% and for 2009/10, current revenue at 38.2% and current expenditure 44.9%.

Now, page 10 of the Central Bank EFS for December 2009 shows Advances at 295,590, with Debentures of $75,000.

Hence, when that $266,590 is added to that $25m loan from the Central Bank, the total is $291 million, which exceeds the limit.

Now on page 10 of the Review for September 2009, total current Revenue for 2009 is listed at $1316.5, while Current Expenditure is listed at $1500.5.

In short – that Thompson lied because there is not enough revenue to cover expenditure.

THOMPSON MAY NOT BE A LIER BUT HE LIES, BASED ON AVAILABLE EVIDENCE.

10. mash up & buy back

Georgie porgie

It has also been said that cayenne pepper is a great help to those with arthritis and inflamation of the joints.

Cinanom for diabetes,green paw-paw for high blood pressure and soursop leaves for cancer.

Any feedback on that?

11. Georgie Porgie

mash up & buy back

You mash me up there, man LOL
    I would have to do research on those Sir!

I do know, however, that green paw paw contains the proteolytic enzyme papain that was used in the sequencing of proteins.

I do know too that it is for that reason that folk cook their meat with green paw paw because it acts as a meat tenderiser for the reasons wcited above.

12. mash up & buy back

Georgie

It is well known in local circles here in Barbados and some doctors have confirmed knowing of this that cinnamon has been shown to have some effect on diabetes.

We have destroyed all the local herbs we had growing wild all around and instead planted concrete.

Fever bush,sir-see bush,parsley tea and all the other things we had growing around us are no more.

The old people never used to drink so much tea with milk,some good ole ginger tea and bay leaf tea used to go a long way,and the old people did not have so much mucus on their stomach from the milk.

13. So Georgie

Anything to enhance response time, rigidity and staying power ..(fah men like me with reason to worry)?

14. @ Alex Fergusson

Why are you spamming this thread. We are discussing and getting information that will improve the quality of life for some of us.

For example I will introduce my layman’s opinion that a lot of Athsmatic do not understand that “preventative maintenance using corticosteroids” could reduce dependence on “rescue medication” like Ventolin.

I think it is because Ventolin gives instant temporary relief.
    Corticosteroids treat the underlying problem.

If a Doctor does not explain this to some patients in simple language they will not use these medications effectively.
    My Mother died during an athsma attack in Emerg at the QEH. Heart and Lungs failed.

GP can use his expertise to expand on this.

Now Alex Fergusson please go and drink some cranberry juice with epsom salts and get some relief from the pain the DLP causing you.

15. Georgie Porgie

Re BAFBFP

So Georgie

Anything to enhance response time, rigidity and staying power ..(fah men like me with reason to worry)?

Wait BAFBPF You consulting me here in my capacity as a vet or as an undertaker Which? Murdah!

Now BAFBFP that is a faster straight ball man.

BAFBPF for men like you I will have to do some serious research. Or arrange a consult with either Pat or Bonny Peppa to give you some good old time Bajan advice Murdah.

But I cant tell you my secrets here, man. I want to catch JC by surprise.

16. Georgie Porgie

Actually Hants there are two planks for the treatment of asthma.

1- reducing the bronchspasm by agents like Ventolin etc 2- reducing the inflammatory response and the muck from the bronchi with topical steroids given in aerosols as inhalers.

If you not doing both, you will get planted fairly soon!

Also the asthmatic must have and know what is his rescue medicine for an emergency, and must also use his maintenance therapy to prevent attacks as much as possible.

These are major issues that all asthatics must worjk out with his doctor and get his doctor to explain.

Also try to understand what are the things that trigger your attacks and avoid them.

17. @Mr. Georgie Porgie (probably not his real name)…

I note you’ve been avoiding my direct questions to you on another thread you recently participated in.

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/01/13/einsteinian-science-epistemology-follows-ontology-marrying-the-conundrum-between-biblical-theology-quantum-physics/

Some might reasonably ask why?

18. Georgie Porgie

mash up

I want you to know that the stuff I am posting on herbs is a summary of a summary made by a Medical School in Canada that teaches Botanical Medicine in its Pharmacology Programme.

So they reviewed the world literature on about 45 herbs and wrote up the information as you would in a pharmacology text.

They also referred a lot to both the German & British Formularies. Apparently in these countries a lot of these substances are used in mainstream therapy.

So this information is not folk lore stuff. Even though you will find that a lot of stuff that our fore parents used might/will be mentioned in this thread.

Unfortunately, I dont have my manual with me in the US, so I may not be able to help BAFBFP in his quest for “milk and honey” (Hope I dont have to explain to JC on this score…..any more )

19. mash up & buy back

Thanks anyway georgie for the info.

Don’t let JC get you off the straight and narrow hear brother.

As to Bonny,she only got eyes for Rok,but he like he needs some help,he sounds like he frighten for Bonny boasee.

Nuff talk,no action,Wuhloss trouble!

20. @ Georgie Porgie

I use Advair which is essentially a combination of corticosteroid and “Ventolin”.

I also keep Ventolin as a back up.

I also try to limit exposure to “triggers” one of which is cold air.
    One of the reasons for my planned retirement in Barbados.

Thanks again for your advice.

21. Anyone else notice the drop in life expectancy with the introduction of robert manufacture.

22. @BAFBFP

what yuh need is some good old time loving it better than viagra.
    The doc can’t answer that .He specialise in religion and sumthin else.
    Yuh still me #1.I am going to get in the tub bubbles and all.

23. @BAFBFThe doc can’t answer that .He specialise in religion and sumthin else.
    Yuh still me #1.I am going to get in the tub bubbles and all.

24. Georgie Porgie

PASSION FLOWER (Passiflora incarnate L.)Family:Passifloraceae

Passionflower was prized by the Aztecs as a sedative The part used medicinally is the leaf.

Passionflower is reputed to have hypnotic, sedative, analgesic,and antispasmodic properties The ESCOP monograph (the German formulary) lists therapeutic indications of ‘tenseness, restlessness and irritability with difficulty in falling asleep’.”

In addition, the French and Swiss herbal Pharmacopoeia indicate that it is useful in the management of mild heart conditions. It is thought to be particularly useful in individuals that are weak or exhausted whether through overwork, illness or age. A number of references mention its use in conditions of hysteria and convulsions

It was initially thought that the harmala alkaloids present in passion flower were the primary active constituents. It has since been shown that these alkaloids are present only in trace amounts. It now appears that the flavonoid components are the ones of most importance

Psychotropic, sedative and anxiolytic properties have been demonstrated following the administration of very large doses of extracts of Pincarnata L. in a number of animal models. These actions appear to be influenced by the solvent used in the extraction process. Anxiolytic properties are reported to be evident at lower doses with sedation occurring on administration of larger amounts.

A multi-centered, double-blind study (n= 1 82) demonstrated that a commercial product containing passionflower (Euphytose 0), was significantly beneficial when compared to placebo in the management of adjustment mood disorder with anxious mood. The product was given at a dose of two tablets three times daily for 28 days .21

The impact of passionflower on this outcome is unknown since Euphytose 0 contains a number of centrally acting phytomedicines, including valerian (Voleriana officinalis L. (Valerianaceae)).

The evidence supporting the action of passionflower in the treatment of cardiac conditions appears to come from the presence of C-glycosylflavones. These agents (e.g. vitexin, isovitexin) have been shown to be clinically beneficial in the management of a number of cardiac conditions .

Although a hypotensive action from passionflower has been noted in vivo, concerns have been raised regarding the lack of clinically relevant information available for this herbal product given its widespread use.

Adverse effects to the use of herbal products in which ‘Passiflora extract’ was the primary ingredient have been unconfirmed.

Excessive use should be avoided during pregnancy and lactation . Passionflower may cause sedation and inhibit the ability to drive or use heavy machinery. No reference could be found regarding the influence of alcohol when used concomitantly with passionflower

Passionflower extracts have been shown to increase the sleeping time induced by pentobarbital or hexabarbital in a number of animal models. The clinical relevance of these findings is unknown since the evidence comes solely from animal models and the doses and modes of administration are not generally comparable to those seen in clinical practice.

Until more is known, it would be prudent to be cautious when administering products containing this herb concurrently with centrally acting conventional medications. It seems ,however ,that the potential exists for interactions with concomitant administration of centrally acting medications

Passionflower is rarely given as a single remedy but rather combined with other phytomedicines determined by the indication. Since the constituents responsible for the reputed therapeutic action of passionflower have yet to be conclusively determined, it is not advisable that passion flower be used as standardized extracts. Passion flower is given in doses of 0.25-1.0 g of dried herb (can be taken as an infusion) or 0.5 -1.0 mL (1: 1 in 25% alcohol) or 0.5-2.0 mL (1:8 in 45% alcohol) three times daily.

I wonder what would happen if the chick give BAFBPF passion fruit and slip some passion flower extract in it?
    Seems as if he wont know if he going or if he coming. LOL

BAFBFP I still doing the rearch for you OK? I have to put mash up and buy back on hold and treat your emergency.

25. Ca dear ac

I hear tryin’ tah engage in some secret man tah man conversement fah lil’ advice an’ now I get ketch…

Georgie

I glad you jus’ t’row me tah de wolves ’causen I didn’t want ac hear wah you might ah tell me… ca dear I coulda use de advice doh…! Hah aha

26. Georgie

I hear yah.. thanks man but ac jus’ fin’ out so you might got tah relay de information in french, I could translate…!

27. Pingback: Health For Life » The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of …

28. How yuh doing GP?

Why does circumcision result in lower transmission rates of HIV? I may have misunderstood but I think this is the recent recommendation of the W.H.O.

29. I have a book on herbs and their medicinal uses, but cant lay my hands on it now.

When I find it, (probably under the bed) I will find the recommended remedy for BAFBFP’ problem. he he he!

30. Georgie Porgie

Pat
    He dead already
    By the time you find that book he gwine be like Lazarus!

31. Georgie Porgie

Annony ma boy
    Re
    Why does circumcision result in lower transmission rates of HIV?

I am not sure. But circumcision is supposed to allow a more thorough cleansing of the head and glans of the penis and remove smegma. Consequently there is a lowewr incidence of carcinoma of the penis in folk circumcised very early in life (e.g Jews). My guess is it works the same for HIV……but dont quote me on that. LOL

BAFBFP I will send your answer by UPS or FEDEX man. As man, I cant expose you here on BU, man. After all you is some body too. LOL

32. Pat you laughing at me and you got information under you’ bed…? Wha’ it doin’ under dey anyway..? Wha’ else you got un’neat dey dat I could use…?One t’ing I know ’bout Lazarus do’ is dat he eventually was able tah rise…! So GP holding out “hope” like a true Christian….! Sorry Georgie, thanx, but me still a Atheist…

33. Doc P has sent this presentation to the attention of Hants:

34. @GP

This smegma reference of yours – is this what was commonly referred to as cock cheese?

35. Georgie Porgie

You got it David! LOL

36. Georgie Porgie

BAFBFP
    I still have to treat you man. Even if you is an atheist! Cant let ya suffer, man. I still have to have mercy pun ya. As man!

37. Thanks for the “presentation” GP.

38. BAFBFP

Not to worry, you can take comfort in a response that I once heard Harry Belafonte give to an interviewer after she enquired about what a prostate cancer operation did for his amorous activities. His response “ There are more aspects to love making than the act of sexual intercourse”.

39. Georgie Porgie

Sarge
    You like you carrying that boy to milk and no honey yuh?
    milk but no honey
    or with without honey

40. @ BAFBFP

I found the book. In case you want to purchase one it is:

The Complete Illustrated Holistic Herbal – a safe and practical guide to making and using herbal remedies by
    David Hoffman.

“For increasing libido and of reversing impotence, Damiana, or Turnera diffusa, Ginseng and Saw Palmetto may be used as tonics for the reproductive glands and especially the MALE system”.

I am quoting here again: They not only undoubtedly strengthen the system itself, but can also help to move a person into a state of greater embodiment of their innate wholeness and vitality.

If sexual problems arise in connection with stress and tension, nervine relaxants and tonics such as Lime Blossom, Oats or Skullcap may be indicated (used).

Hops, (humulus lupulus) are expecially good for men if there is a need to reduce sexual over-excitability.
    I guess they are trying to say it could help premature ejaculation but dont want to offend the mens. ha ha ha.

By the way, lime blossom is NOT the blossom from tropical lime trees. It is the flowers and buds from a deciduous tree here in Canada. I picked some from my neighbour’s tree and have it here in the house. This old lady told me it is good for herbal tea. I can send down some as I dont drink it. Too many other herbs in the house.

It also says that Saw Palmetto Berries are particularly effective for enlarged prostate glands.

By the way, it says that ‘corn silk’ will help relieve urinary track irritaion as well. No wonder the Chinese go to the market in the summer and pick it out of the garbage when people husk their corn. I always thought they put it in soup, but maybe that is how they use it. lol.

For those kidney stones and gravel use corn silk, gravel root, dydrangea, stone root in equal parts to make a tea and frink three t imes a day. Use once a day to prevent stones if one has a tendency to get them.

This book is designed for practitioners of holistic medicine.

41. Correction:

“dydrangea” should read ‘HYDRANGEA’ a very beautiful flower.

Lime Blossom are the flowers from the Linden Tree. It is a beautiful tree that has a elegant shape.

Thyme:

With its high content of volatile oil, thyme makes a good casrminative for use in dyspepsia and sluggish digestion. The oil is also an antiseptic substance. It can be used externally as a lotion for infected wounds but also internally for respiratory and digestive infections. It may be used as a gargle in laryngitis and tonsillitis, easing sore throats and soothing irritable coughs. It may be used in bronchitis, whooping cough and ASTHMA. As a gentle astringent it has found use in chilhood diarrhea and bed wetting.

Use the leaves and flowering tops. Collect between early and late summer on a dry sunny day.

Constituents: more than 1% volatile oil which includes thymol, carvacrol, cymol, llinalol, borneol; bitter principles, tannin, flavonoids, triterpenoids.

Actions: carminative, anti-microbial, anti-spasmodic, expectorant, astringent, anthelmintic, anti-catarrhal, diaphoretic, tonic, vulnery.

Ask GP what all those words mean cause I doan no.

42. Georgie Porgie

ST. JOHN’S WORT
    (Hypericum perforatum L.) has been recognized in the West as having medicinal properties since the Classical period ,being mentioned in the texts of Hippocrates, Pliny, and Galen as helpful for wound healing, pain, and as a diuretic.

The use of this herb continued though the Renaissance and Victorian eras. Its most recent historical and contemporary usage has been as an antidepressant, although its antiretroviral potential has received considerable attention since the emergence of the HIV strain viruses.

Relatively recent investigations into the potential antiretroviral activity of Hypericum,has demonstrated antibacterial and antifungal effects of some of its constituents.

In addition, antiviral activity against human poliovirus-1, herpes simplex virus-I, and human immuno defficiency virus-I (HIV-I) has been found in vitro.

Although there is considerable evidence that St. John’s wort has some antidepressant effects, clinical recommendations about its use at present must be tempered by the lack of long-term human data and studies in severe depression, uncertainty regarding mechanism of action, interaction with other medications and concerns regarding standardization and regulation of the content of commercial products .

It must be appreciated that there are potentially dangerous interactions (including hypertensive crises) with the medications listed below.

Consequently,the following drugs should not be used in combination with St. John’s wort or preparations containing derivatives of Hypericum:
    ‘MAOI INHIBITORS: phenylzine, tranylcypromine, isocarboxazid SSRI: fluoxetine
    DIBENZAZEPINE DERIVATIVES: amitriptyline, protriptyline, nortriptyline, desipramine, amoxapine, imipramine, doxepine, perphenazine, carbamazepine, cyclobenzapine, clomipramine, maprotiline, trimipramine
    SYMPATHOMIMETICS: amphetamines, ephedrine (found in many cold and hay fever remedies), methyldopa, dopamine, levodopa, trytophan
    OTHERS: morphine, meperidine, dextromethorphan, foods high in tyramine like cheese!

Note that the use of cheese and cough syrups with St John’n wort can cause ones blood pressure to sky rocket dangerously.This substance must not therefore be taken wily nilly.

Non-clinical studies have found evidence for inhibition of serotonin uptake, decreased serotonin receptor expression , inhibition of benzodiazepine binding , changes on animal behavioural tests of antidepressant activity, increased excretion of adrenergic metabolites, modulation of cytokine expression,” and inhibition of monoamine oxidase.

In humans, there is clear evidence of efficacy in mild to moderate depression A comprehensive meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials of St. John’s wort for depression by Linde et al. was published in the British Medical Journal revealed that in general there are few side effects associated with St. John’s wort when used for depression , and that characteristic EEG and sleep changes seen with tricyclic antidepressants are not observed with St. John’s wort.

Side effects of St John’s wort include photodermatitis, delayed hypersensitivity, gastrointestinal irritation, dizziness, dry mouth ,sedation ,restlessness and constipation.

It is contraindicated in pregnancy and lactation .Prolonged or intense exposure to sunlight should be avoided .

The dosage regimen for St. John’ wort is 300-900 mg of standardized extract (0.3% hypericin) per day, in divided doses or 2-4 gm of dried herb, three times daily.

43. Thyme:

Preparation and dosage:

Infusion: pour a cup of boiling water onto 2 teaspoonsfull of the dried herb and let infuse for 10 minutes. This should be drunk three times a day.

Tincture: take 2-4ml of the tincture three time a day.

44. @anonymous
    My advice to you is to use the glove.

45. To make tinctures:

Soak the herbs in alcohol (preferably vodka), vinegar or glycerine. Leave to steep for two weeks in a tightly closed jar. Shake twice weekly. Strain, bottle and use with a dropper. Alcohol is better at drawing out the oils and nutrients fromt the herbs. The tincture should be diluted with water before use.

46. Thanks Pat;

I cut and paste de t’ing you put up dey. I startin’ de program wid haste… Don’ let ac know dat you talk tah me…!

47. Dacid;

How you get itallics tah print…?

48. BAFBFP
    Make sure you do what Pat say, hear?
    She say soak the herbs not the wood.LOL

49. Georgie Porgie

This one is for all the men especially BAFBFP

SAW PALMETTO [Serenoa repens [Bartram ] Small ] Family Arecaceae or Palmae

Historically, the ripe fruit of this plant was partially dried and used for a number of conditions of the bladder. urethra and prostate in addition to being a source of food. It was also used “to improve flagging reproductive function “as well as “debility and senility in men “.

Today saw palmetto is used as
    a treatment for benign prostatic hyperplasia.,for which it is given as 0.6 –1.5 mL of a liquid extract daily
    or as 160 mg of a liposterolic extract containing 85-95% fatty acids and sterols twice daily.

Most saw palmetto preparations available today, are composed of “liposterolic extracts’ [i.e. they contain the fatty acids and sterols of the fruit.

Several primary mechanisms are believed to contribute to the action of these preparations. These are as follows
    1-Disruption of the arachidonic cascade; Saw palmetto is thought to inhibit both the cyclooxygenase and lipoxygenase pathways resulting in an anti-inflammatory effect which provides some relief for the symptoms of BPH.
    2-Blockade of the receptors at which the androgen DHT –dihydrotestosterone-a causative factor in BPH acts
    3 Non competitive inhibition of 5-alpha reductase the enzyme which catalyses the metabolism of testosterone to DH.
    4Antagonism of DHT binding to prostatic receptors
    5Saw palmetto also has a phytooestrogenic effect by competing with endogenous estrogen for receptor sites and thereby playing a key role in decreasing the symptoms of BPH
    6Saw palmetto does not affect plasma levels of testosterone,follicle stimulating hormone or luteinizing hormone.
    One multicenter open study involving 305 patients who took 160 mg of saw palmetto extract twice daily for 3 months reported a 88% improvement in symptoms of the participants including decreased prostate size and improved urinary flow rate.

Another study of 1334 German outpatients found significant improvement in patients taking saw palmetto with respect to the following parameters :- decreased volume of residual urine, decreased urinary frequency, decreased nocturia and decreased dysuria.

Saw palmetto 160 mg bid was shown to be as efficacious as finasteride [Proscar] 5 mg daily in an international multicentered trial involving 1098 patients but that saw palmetto was associated with fewer side effects.

It was noticed in this study that Proscar produced a greater reduction in prostate size in those with more enlarged prostates, wheras saw palmetto was more effective in reducing the symptoms of men with smaller prostate glands

It would seem that all men everywhere over age 40 should start taking saw palmetto daily in the recommended doses to prevent BPH

Although there are no human clinical trials available to support this view saw palmetto has been used to treat hirsutism in women For this indication it must be recognised that saw palmetto has not been established to be safe for use in pregnancy

Also because of its anti-androgenic and estrogenic activity saw palmetto may interact with existing hormonal therapy including hormone replacement therapy and inpatients on the contraceptive pill

Saw palmetto is well tolerated but will not cure cancer of the prostate as has been reported in the hype of some MLM progams for its sale coming out of North America.

Saw palmetto extracts are definitely useful for prevention and treatment of enlargement of the prostate gland and the symptoms thereof, however, it is not an established treatment or cure for prostate cancer.

One notable side effect is that Saw Palmetto causes breast enlargement in some men.

50. Georgie Porgie

@ Mash up
    This is copied from a text book I have been reading recently

Being Skeptical——— Antiseptics in Your Pantry?

Today, we live in an age when alternative and herbal medicine claims are always in the news, and these reports have generated a whole industry of health products that make often-unbelievable claims. With regard to “natural products,” are there some that have genuine medicinal and antiseptic properties?
    Cinnamon
    Professor Daniel Y. C. Fung, Professor of Food Science and Food Microbiology at Kansas State University in Manhattan, Kansas, believes cinnamon might be an antiseptic that can control pathogens, at least in fruit beverages. Fung’s group added cinnamon to commer¬cially pasteurized apple juice. They then added typical foodborne pathogens (Salmonella typhimurium, Yersinia enterocolitica, and Staphylococcus aureus) and viruses. After one week of monitoring the juice at refrigerated and room temperatures, the investigators discovered t pathogens were killed more readily in the cinnamon blend than in the cinnamon-free juice. In addition, more; bacterial organisms and viruses were killed in the juice at room temperature than when refrigerated.
    Garlic
    In 1858, Louis Pasteur examined the properties of garlic as an antiseptic. During World War II, when pencillin and sulfa drugs were in short supply, garlic was used as an antiseptic to disinfect open wounds and: prevent gangrene. Since then, numerous scientific studies have tried to discover garlic’s antiseptic power Many research studies have identified a group of sulfur compounds as one key to garlic’s antiseptic properties. When a raw garlic clove is crushed or chewed, the active antiseptic compound is produced. Studies using garlic, at least in the laboratory, suggest that this compound is responsible for combating the microbes causing the common cold, flu, sore throat, sinusitis, and bronchitis. The findings indicate that the compound blocks key enzymes that bacterial cells and viruses need to invade and damage host cells.
    Honey
    For the past two decades, Professor Peter Molan, associate professor of biochemistry and director of the Waikato Honey Research Unit at the University of Waikato, New Zealand, has been studying the medicinal properties of and uses for honey. Its acidity, between 3.2 and 4.5, is low enough to inhibit many pathogens. Its low water content (15 to 21 percent by weight) means that it osmotically ties up free water and “drains water” from wounds, helping to deprive pathogens of an ideal environment in which to grow. In addition, when honey encounters fluid from a wound, it slowly releases small quantities of hydrogen peroxide that are not damaging to skin tissues. It also speeds wound healing.
    If that isn’t enough, there also is evidence that honey protects against tooth decay. Professor

Molan’s group has shown that, in the lab, honey completely inhibits the growth of plaque-forming bacterial specie including Streptococcus mitis, S. sobrinus, and Lactobacillus caseii. Honey cut acid production to almost zero and stopped the bacteria from producing dextran, which is a component of dental plaque. Like its use for wound infections, hydrogen peroxide probably is, in part, responsible for the antimicrobial activity.

But beware! Not all honey is alike. The antibacterial properties of honey depend on the kind of nec tar, or plant pollen, that bees use to make honey. At least manuka honey from New Zealand and honedew from central Europe are thought to contain useful levels of antiseptic potency. Professor Molan is convinced that “honey belongs in the medicine cabinet as well as the pantry.”

51. @GP

I followed the blog on BPH as I was being investigated for same. However, after an ultrasound and biopsy of the prostate it was discovered that one of the 13 areas investigated has a malignancy. A CT scan and bone scan were ordered and done. I am awaiting results of these scans. My question is: Are there alternative (herbal/diet) treatments that are proven to work? My uneducated opinion is that chemo/radiation treatments are very hard on the body.

52. Georgie Porgie

Annony
    Lets hope for a start that your bone scan is clear and that there is no spread of the malignancy elsewhere.

I dont know your age which might be a factor that your doctor might take into consideration.

I dont know about any alternative (herbal/diet) treatments that are proven to work for cancer. We know that Saw Palmetto works for BPH but NOT for prostate cancer.

Maybe before you get to drastic measures like chemotherapy and radiation your doctor will discuss certain surgical proceedures now in vogue. BUT WE CAN ALL HOPE & PRAY THAT THESE WILL NOT BE NEEDED

I will not discuss this issue further here because I have to treat you as a patient in this delicate and sensitive issue.

Debating and having fun feuds and discussions on BU is one thing. Since you have asked me a question on a medical matter I have to treat you like if you were my personal patient.

My sincere approach to you is
    1- wait on those scans
    2- pray
    3- give me a wire at lswiltshire@hotmail.com with BU ANNONYMOUS in the subject line using a fictitious email address so as not to identify yourself, and I will tell you the little I know.

53. @Annony
    My prayers and thoughts are with you.Keep in touch with the good doc GP

54. Georgie

Découpage I et déplacement que vous remédiez à et le mettez bord à bord Pat’s

55. Georgie Porgie

BAFBFP
    Is why you cussing me all dem bad word dem? Eh? And what is that you trying to encourage me to do to Pat? Eh? LOL

Wunnah ex Lodge boys pun dis blog aint easy, ya know. LOL

56. @ Anonymous

I wish you luck. I hope it is not too advanced. My father passed a year to the day after his diagnosis.

Write Dr. GP post haste. He will forward the information by return mail. He did it for me.

57. @ Dr. GP

Seems you are appreciated after all. Thanks for all the medical information.

58. Anonymous

Best wishes

GP

Shhhhhhh…ac listening…!

59. @Anon, you may find this link useful.

http://media.ktradionetwork.com/media/images/coldwell/coldwell.html.

60. @ Illulminator

What money making nonsense you trying to sell to Anonymous?

Do you not think that if it was all mind over matter that cancer would NOT develop in the first place? No one wishes these conditions on themselves, so they cant just wish them away.

61. Georgie Porgie

WILLOW Salix species
    Several members of the salix genus have traditionally been used to relieve mild pain,and in the treatment of feverish conditions and rheumatism

The bark of young branches is used medicanally for the phenolic glycosides [including salicin, salicortin ,tremulacin and salireposide ],which they contain

However, when one considers the relatively low quantity of salicin in these preparations compared to conventional salicylate medications,it is unlikely in pharmacological terms that any available willow preparation will effectively manage these conditions.

In other words purchase of these products may be a waste of money.

The phenolic glycosides in willow are thought to act as prodrugs, being converted in the liver
    and intestines in multiple stages to the active moiety, salicylic acid .

As a result these substances have a
    slower onset but a longer duration of action than conventional salicylic acid [aspirin ].

Salicin does not irreversibly inhibit platelet aggregation as aspirin does

Reviews of the literature indicate that side effects which are rare and mild consists of nausea, digestive upset and headache and whereas no drug interactions could be found interactions pertaining to conventional salicylates appear applicable.

The contraindications applicable to the use of conventional salicylates are believed to be applicable to the use of willow products i.e use is contraindicated in asthma, diabetes, gout, haemophilia,
    hyperthrombinaemia, active peptic ulcer disease,G6PD deficiency, individuals sensitive to aspirin, pregnancy and lactating mothers.
    One dosage regime for Willow specifies that it be given as daily doses of preparations [ in the form of dried raw herb,hydroalcoholic or aqueous extracts,tinctures or fluid extracts] equivalent to 60-120mg [up to 240 mg] of salicin daily.

Another regime suggests that it may be given in doses thus : 20-40 mg of salicin,1-2 mL of liquid extract [1:1 25 % ethanol],5-8 mL of hydroalcoholic tincture [1:5,25 % ethanol] or 5-10 gm of raw herb three times daily

62. Georgie Porgie

HERBAL HINTS
    HERBS THE DOS & DON’T’S

DO buy products that detail all the ingredients .Products by Nature’s Way are highly recommended since this firm is owned by a German parent company which is subject to meticulous European standards,compared to other sources.

DO buy standardized extracts when possible

DO consult your doctor before taking any herbal medicines to check on interactions with other drugs or other potential problems .

Herbs are drugs and should be treated with respect .They are not to be taken lightly because they are natural products . Some of the most toxic substances in the world are natural.

If your doctor knows nothing about herbs consult a licensed naturopath .These have usually taken extensive course work in botanical medicine.

DO your homework and read on the subject first but rely on medical research not packaging claims.

Agencies in the U S A are busy translating Germany’s Commission E monographs on herbal medicine. This is a famed and widely used government funded study by an agency equivalent to the F D A .

DON’T ever give herbs to infants and children under age 2; their immature livers cannot detoxify many substances. and since comprehensive tests have not been conducted to determine their safety.

DON’T take any herbal preparation if you are pregnant, attempting to be pregnant or nursing

DON’T take a large quantity of any one herbal preparation Take the dose recommended on the label since you have no idea how much is considered toxic nor do you know whether you have a biological susceptibility to that product

DON’T take any herb you are uneducated about for a prolonged period since sometimes the effects are cumulative.

63. Georgie Porgie

Recent surveys in Canada reveal that 15-25 % of the populace use some form of alternative or complementary medicine.

Similar surveys in the USA report an incidence of use of 34 %.In the US survey, only 1/3 of the respondents admitted the use of a complementary health provider implying a high level of self medication .

Canadians spent $ 150 million on herbal products in 1995 and $170 million in 1996 .In the US $1.5 billion were spent on herbs in 1995 and sales are escalating !

Although we have no reliable reports of the numbers of Bajans using herbal products or the sums spent thereon,it is evident from the number of health stores springing up and the display of a number of herbal products on the shelves of supermarkets and pharmacies that herbal medicine is being used in Barbados on an increasing scale.

Botanical medicine is becoming big business for pharmacists in Barbados as it is for pharmacists elsewhere in the world .

Although many see botanical medicines as a new ‘niche ;’ for pharmacy ,there are opponents of this view who emphasize that pharmacists have little or no training in this field .

Most practising pharmacists in Barbados have received no formal training in botanical medicine.
    Their knowledge of this subject may then be safely described as sparse .

This situation is particularly alarming when one considers the rate at which botanical products are being placed on the shelves of our drug stores Since knowledge of botanicals is lacking by our pharmacists, from whom is the Bajan public seeking advice with respect to the herbal preparations sold in our pharmacies ?

It is clearly evident that continuing education seminars providing instruction on topics of botanical medicine is imperative .In depth courses for pharmacists are required !

One of the cornerstones of pharmaceutical care is helping patients to make informed decisions
    about their health care.

One does not have to be a nuclear scientist , to appreciate that to be able to teach
    or to disseminate information ,that one must have themselves been taught or have acquired the information.

As patients therapeutic choices expand to include the use of botanical preparations ,pharmacists
    are being asked to play a role in helping them negotiate the maze of volumes of [mis]information to
    enable them to assist their clients in making the best informed choices ? But how can they be taught without a teacher?

As patients chose to use botanical preparations, it is mandatory for pharmacists to provide monitoring ,advice,and to report adverse effects ,herb-herb or herb-drug interactions when
    necessary.

This new role for the pharmacists obviously requires a practitioner who has a good working knowledge of botanical medicine and the aptitude for problem solving .

The need for courses to
    provide local pharmacists with the necessary foundation of knowledge from which they can counsel their
    patients about the botanicals they are selling is clearly a must.

Besides training some form of regulation is in order. Several question arise and several problems immediately loom. Many herbal products are sold in supermarkets as food supplements . This must be regulated .After all herbs are drugs and are potentially dangerous. Drugs should always be dispensed or sold by personnel trained to do so .

Supermarket staff are not equipped to counsel anyone about drugs or herbs.
    Assuming that the Community College [which currently trains local pharmacists ] can put on the necessary courses to update our pharmacists,to whom will the pharmacists report their findings of adverse effects or product interaction ? To the Drug Service or the Chief Medical Officer ? the Minister Of Health,

All of these agencies are already knee deep in a myriad of easier problems which they seem to be unable to efficiently solve .

What happens {as does occurs] when patients take their herbs and do not inform their doctors.The patient may be blissfully ignorant of the side effects or the possible drug –herb interactions .

In so doing who is to blame when ought goes wrong ?What about the problem of labeling ? For example, many people use Schilling oil with some good effect. Iam still trying to ascertain what is/ are the active ingredient[s] in this preparation.

Patient counselling tips
    Ask yourself or family member or friend

Is the herbal product being used to treat a self limiting conditiion?
    Is a herbal therapy appropriate?
    Is the herbal therapy appropriate?
    Is the patient taking any other medications[conventional or unconventional ?]
    Are the herbal products available of good quality ?
    Is the patient currently under the care of a complementary health care provider?
    Are there any other factors you must consider [e.g. pregnancy,cardiac conditions, diabetes etc ]

64. Georgie Porgie

HERBAL CAVEATS

It has become increasingly very fashionable to use herbal teas and other herbal preparations in Barbados . This is very evident from the number of capsules powders and tea boxes on display on the shelves of supermarkets and health stores .

A phletora of such products beckon your dollar with promises of curing insomnia, hay fever, obesity and even cancer.

Use of these concoctions are supposed to bestow radiant health to the user. However most of the labels offer very little specific information for their use nor is there important information with respect to adverse effects , cautions contraindications etc

Of course sales personnel are at hand to tell you that this one cures PMS or that the other is useful for digestive maladies, advice that these salespeople are unqualified to give as they have never studied pharmacology or pharmacognosy [plant ,animal and mineral pharmacy ] or attended medical school.

How many of our pharmacists have even taken a course in Botanical Medicine?. I am not trying in this article to kill any ones joy or love for herbal products and the desire for many to be natural .

However, there is a need to understand that herbs are drugs and that some of the most lethal substances are naturally occurring .The public needs to be aware too that since there no laws to ensure that these products be proved effective, let alone safe who knows if the herb you are taking will heal or harm you ?

The cynic and the silly will argue that there have been more adverse reactions to prescription and over the counter drugs than to any herb but it is more correct to say “ reported adverse reactions “ since the public is unaware of the side effects and possible interactions of herb with foods chemical preservatives in food and with prescribed drugs .

An herb is a plant or plant product valued for its medicinal, savory or aromatic purposes. the use of herbs as medicine is probably as old as humankind .

The ancients learned about them probably by observing which plants the animals ate when they were sick .However since the remedies of our ancestors are not classified as medicine here in Barbados, there are no standards regarding ingredients and labeling .

Although it is very difficult to have a new drug approved ,there are no such difficulties [at least on this side of the Atlantic ] in having a herbal product on the shelves of supermarkets and heath shops as indicated by the fact that the Americans bought $ 1.5 billion worth of herbal concoctions in 1995 and sales are escalating !

This trend is fueled by word of mouth, several multi level marketing programs touting “health supplements “ as well as books and articles by reputable authors, Naturopaths and other Alternative Medical practitioners.

Plant based supplements have thus become increasingly popular in that country and once it is good for them we seem to think it is good for us in Barbados .

In the USA, the FDA has to prove an herbal product is dangerous before they can pull it from the shelves. In the USA as in Barbados anything goes when it comes to the use of herbs[ except cannabis ]- it’s a mine field for consumers for there are absolutely no standards of quality.

In November1995 ,Consumer Reports tested 10 different brands of ginseng and found huge variations of active ingredients in each .Some brands have hardly any ginseng at all !

There is a need in Barbados for regulating herbal supplements as drugs and thereby reduce the roulette gamble of chosing products since the products which would be approved would be those manufactured by companies which can show that their products are safe and have the specific healing properties which they claim.

The reputable drug manufacturing companies have not become involved in the preparation of herbal products because they say that it costs one third of a billion dollars to conduct the randomised double blind trials necessary to get a single drug on the market. Since herbs aren’t patentable . manufacturers cannot make back this investment.

The plant world has many gentle and safe plants that can boost your immune system , reduce insomnia , ease migraine , relieve stomach aches etc but care has to be exercised in their use .

That is the major plank of this essay and is well illustrated by a report of a woman in the USA, who died after drinking large quantities of an herbal weight loss tea for several months which contained senna .

Senna has been used here in Barbados for ages and is perfectly safe if used in the small doses commonly employed for a day or two. But high doses over prolonged periods of time will deplete potassium levels in the body causing the heart to stop, as was the case with this lady. The tea’s label did not even mention the risk of long term use of senna ,and was certainly criminal in advocating its use as an agent for weight loss!

Alternative medicine and the use of herbs is traditional in much of the world and in Western Europe many, countries have approved herbs to be used as drugs both prescribed and over the counter.

Research on herbs in the USA and at our UWI is woefully lacking. but in countries such as Germany ,England and a few Asian countries large scale studies of the efficacy of a number of herbs have been scientifically ascertained .

These articles on BU are being written by a professional advisor qualified in Botanical Medicine who has been perusing reports from relevant sources to prepare the articles you have been seeing in this column in the public’s interest.

The herbs presented in these articles on BU are thus a scientific guide to what researchers do know. This guide will help you to decide as you wander and wonder through the maze of currently available herbal potions .

If one of the herbs you hope to use is not mentioned here, caveat emptor .

65. GP

One notable side effect is that Saw Palmetto causes breast enlargement in some men
    Sometime you just can’t win

66. Georgie Porgie

Yes Sarge. This is one of the side effects that the Health store owners dont tell the consumer.

67. @ GP

You are right to warn about the side effect. Browsing through my book last night I saw a warning for pregnant wormen. Apparently the particular herb can cause stomach spasms and initiate abortions.

The health food store I shop at has a fulltime naturapathic doctor, who is availiable for consultations in the same way you can request one with a pharmacist re prescriptions drugs.

The leading herbal company here is Swiss – Jamieson’s. I have used some of their products over the years :- St. Johns Wort, Echinacea, Black Cohosh.

68. Alex Fergusson

How you know that the DLP does not know what it is doing and why Barbadians now fell DLP Ministers should drink Cranburry juice and call elections by June

++++++++++++++++

by CLYDE MASCOLL

THE BARBADOS ECONOMY performed much worse than expected in 2009 because of a difficult external environment and some poor domestic policy choices.

The unwarranted heavy taxation created a larger working poor population, who continue to live on the knife’s edge, given the mortgage commitments, the car loans, rising costs of health, home and car insurance, the bemusing food bills and the utility bills, to mention a few.

It should surprise no one that in spite of the taxation budget in July 2008, with most of the measures taking effect in October 2008 and January 2009, the Government collected less indirect taxation in 2009.

An indirect tax is a tax on expenditure and so in a recessionary environment, nominal expenditure is expected to slow down, if not fall, especially if inflation abates.

http://www.nationnews.com/comments/guestcolumnists/mascoll-column-jan15-10-copy-for-web

69. Georgie Porgie

Pat

All drugs and herbs have potential side effects or may react with foods or other agents we might be using.

We have a rule in Medicine that “All women of child bearing age are pregnant- unuil proved otherwise.” This is especially important with abdominal pain to avoid the risk of missing an ectopic pregnancy – which is life threatening.

I teach my Pharmaology to observe this rule when prescribing drugs to avoid the risk of a drug affecting the fetus adversely.

Since the thalidomide fiasco in the early 60′s we ought always to think of pregnancy in the women of child bearing age for whom we prescribe.

It is good that your health food store has a fulltime naturapathic doctor, who is availiable for consultations.

Be careful with St. Johns Wort; treat it just as you would any antedepressant. Be sure to avoid cheese, bovril etc with its use.

70. Alex Fergusson

Would drinking Cranburry juice have prevented the DLP from imposing the unwarranted heavy taxation that created a larger working poor population, who continue to live on the knife’s edge, given the mortgage commitments, the car loans, rising costs of health, home and car insurance, the bemusing food bills and the utility bills, to mention a few?

71. Georgie Porgie

WILD YAM diascorea villosa L

Wild yam [diascorea villosa L},family diascorea is to be distinguished from the vegetable yam [ Ipomea batatas [convolvulacea] Many different species of the genus discorea exist,but diascorea villosa is the one most often used, the roots being the part of the plant which is employed medicanally. It is note worthy that the therapeutic actions of the plant dissapears on storage

The mechanism of action of diascorea villosa has not been elucidated.

Diosgenin, a substance isolated from the Mexican wild yam was considered of prime importance in the pharmaceutical manufacture of a number of steroidal substances ,especially in the manufacture of early oral contraceptives.

Unfortunately with out any evidence to support the claim, wild yam extracts have been marketed as a “hormonal precursor “ ,particularly as’ natural’ progesterone products .

Confusion has also arisen by claims that diosgenin can be converted into the steroidal substances dehydroepiandrosterone [DHEA ]and progesterone,following oral and topical administration .

Despite evidence to support these claims products have been marketed [and are available in Barbados ]as ‘hormonal precursors.

Investigations by Araghinikam et al demonstrated that oral administration of a compound containing 90 % wild yam extract did not increase serum DHEA levels in a group of elderly patients

A later similar study by Dolbaum ,in which saliva specimens were analyzed in a group of women taking products containing Mexican wild yam, agreed with the findings of Araghinikam.

Reviews of the literature have revealed no cases of drug interaction or of adverse reactions for the plant itself.

However cases of “hormonal effects [early menopause symptoms, masculinisation of females and hypertension ] to a commercial product have been reported.

However, since no details to the exact composition of the product were given little can be said of the clinical relevance of this report.

Because of the lack of information on this product, wild yam should be avoided in pregnancy and grave concerns must be entertained regarding the effect of products referred to as Mexican wild yam and conditions with a strong hormonal aspect such as breast and prostate cancer

Traditionally wild yam is reputed to have anti-spasmodic, anti-inflammatory, diuretic and anti-rheumatic properties and can be given orally for intestinal colic, diverticulitis, irritable bowel syndrome and bilious indigestion, arthritis ,joint inflammation, ovarian pain ,painful menstruation and labor.

I must confess that my recent excursion in the literature on wild yam has dampened by enthusiasm for its use .Clearly caution is advocated here . A word to the wise is enough !

72. Georgie Porgie

TEA TREE OIL
    Tea tree oil is produced by steam distillation of the leaves of Melaleuca species ,a member of the myrtle family. Addition to its medicinal applications it is now extensively used in the cosmetic and skin care industry

In 1985 oil of Melaleuca was standardised such that the oil should contain 30 % or more terpinen-4-ol and less than 15 % cineole .

It is important that the commercial product not be derived from other Melaleuca species because some of these contain high concentrations of cineoele, a skin irritant that also reduces the antiseptic effectiveness of terpinen-4-ol

Tea tree oil has antiseptic and antimicrobial properties and has been reported to act against a number of bacteria, fungi and yeasts including Candida spp, Trichophyton rubrum and Staphylococcus in vivo.

It has been used in the treatment of acne, oral thrush, fungal vaginitis and fungal infections such as tinea pedis [athlete’s toes ] and ringworm.

With respect to the treatment of acne ,the efficacy of a 5% tea tree gel was compared [ in a clinical trial involving 124 patients],to that of a 5 % benzoyl peroxide lotion after three months. The tea tree oil was shown to have a longer onset of action and to be less active on the inflamed lesions but to exhibit a much lower incidence of side effects [such as dryness,itching and scaling of the skin ] than benzoyl peroxide.

A randomised multicentre,controlled clinical trial involving 117 patients with onychomycosis compared the efficacy of tea tree oil 100% with 1% clotrimazole cream over a six month period and found that both preparations were comparable in efficacy,cost and the same incidence of side effects [7 %].

In another randomised,double blind trial carried out over a five week period involving 104 patients with tinea pedis,the efficacy of a tea tree oil cream 10% was compared to 1 % tolnaftate cream or placebo ,tea tree oil was found to be as effective as tolnaftate and superior to placebo in the relief of symptoms.

Tree oil should not be given orally because it is strongly irritant when thus administered.

Although tea tree oil is very mildly irritating on topical application it does not result in either sensitisation or phototoxicity

CARE should be taken when using very concentrated tea tree oil products in children and fair skinned people No cases of drug interaction has been reported

Tea tree oil has definitely been shown to be useful in the treatment of some fungal infections. However. many tea tree oil products used in the cosmetic and toiletries industry contain only small amounts of active substance and the medicinal efficacy is often very questionable.

IN OTHER WORDS YOU MIGHT BE GETING ROBBED!

When using a tea tree oil product therapeutically for the conditions discussed above,it is best to adhere to the Australian guidelines for terpine-4-ol/cineole content for optimum results.

73. Alex Fergusson

There was a time when men were describe as good when they did something remarkable like create jobs, reduce the national debt, find a cure for an infectious disease or manage the economy well.

Not so in Thompson’ case. We are told that David Thompson is good because he is going on tour to Haiti.

So the DLP is the party of touring, talking, traveling, feting and gimmicks.

The tour to Haiti is an example.

74. @ Georgie Porgie

Interesting letter in the Nationnews today written by another Kolij contemporary; Smokey Burke.

75. Alex Fergusson

Imagine! david Thompson said that Barbados does not have a cash flow problem, yet the Central Bank reprot for 2009 says something completely different.

Is Thompson lost or did he lie?

There is a fiscal crisis created by the DLP and as a result current expenditure is exceeding curent revenue.

So much for integrity legislation and good governance.

76. Georgie Porgie

Yes Hants.

Smokey is a smart chap who was a victim of the “system” at HC in our time.

Once some one thought ill of you for no real reason you were reported to and ill spoken off in the “Retreat” and virually discarded.

Too many boys arrived at HC and failed in that system or were failed by the system or not developed by the system.

How does a chap enter HC with top marks in a National Exam and fall through the cracks?

It is amazing the stories I have heard from chaps for who no one took interest in their real personas- rather than whom they were thought to be.

77. How does a chap enter HC with top marks in a National Exam and fall through the cracks?

When you find the answer, let me know!!

On another note, GP, my mum went for a checkup at her doctor and he told her the blood pressure was high. She said ,”ok Doc, leave it to me, dont give me any tablets.”
    She came home and boiled mauby bark (bitter as hell) and drank it,without sugar, every morning for 3 days. On the 4th day she went back and her BP was ok.
    Do you know of any wonders in mauby bark?

78. @ Technician

I am not a Dr. but I have hypertension. Blood pressure is not constant, it fluctuates. She should have had it read daily over a period of about two weeks to get an accurate reading. Because it was up when she saw the Dr. does not mean she was suffering from hypertension. Sometimes just going to the Dr. is enough to stress people out.

When ever I go, the nurse takes 3 readings from two different machines. If she does not like the reading I have to sit for half an hour and she reads it again.

79. Georgie Porgie

Technician
    Re
    How does a chap enter HC with top marks in a National Exam and fall through the cracks? When you find the answer, let me know!!

Believe you me it happens here? And it is a shame especially when it is a poor boy.

Re Do you know of any wonders in mauby bark?

No I dont. I am not aware of any research on mauby bark. Note that the information I am sharing was researched over seas.

I wonder how many people take mauby as serious as we do? Who? why? where? We get the bark from overseas, not so? They gave me something they called mauby in St Kitts that was alchoholic and nothing like our mauby.

Maybe you mom didnt really have hypertension, as there is very much truth in what Pat says above. Also is your mom very slim or very big? Cuff size is very relevent to determining BP.

Also note that our love for mauby (and beer) as one gets older is the fact that the tate buds for bitter tends to predominate as we get older I am told.

When we are very young its the taste buds for sweet that seem to hog the show, and we revel in sweet things………probably to ensure that children get energy from carbs?

80. Alex Fergusson

Now that the evidence show that contrary to what Thompson told this country – Barbados has a cash-flow, what?

81. @Georgie Porgie

If you get the chance read Smokey’s article. It is interesting with regards to his illness and the relevance of prayer and healing.
    here is a couple excerpts from his letter

“As some are probably aware, I was diagnosed four months ago with “an aggressively malignant cancer” (not my words) and to this point, despite myriad tests, I have received no earthly treatment”

“I had an unscheduled visit one day from Mike Sealy, who said God had sent him to pray for me and anoint me! I humbly acquiesced and although I felt nothing physical at the time, there was a serenity that came about me.

While others (relatives and concerned individuals) were remonstrating about the ineptitude of our beloved QEH, I was cool and unpanicked.

As you may know by now, the swelling has disappeared and I have to tell you that the lump, which is now very soft, is also very small to the point of virtual disappearance. “

82. When the Good Doctor or Pat returns, ask them if they know anything about “finger grow”, a tree with some fine leaves, that use to be prevalent in Barbados years ago.

It was said to have special properties that would make wrong things right.

It has virtually disappeared from the Barbados landscape.

83. Alex Fergusson

@ Maekai

No ask them about competence juice and give the DLP some

84. Georgie Porgie

Hants
    Please send me the link for the article about William (aka Smookey) Burke. I cant find the article

Meakai
    I am totally ignorant about “finger grow

85. Doc, you may have heard it called a different name.

It was said that tea brewed from the leaves of this tree, would cause a woman to abort, if it was drank early in the term.

I think it is now illegal to posses it and the only place that I know where you can still see it growing is Cave Hill.

86. Mekai

You are referring to the Neam tree I think.

87. Meakai

Could you describe the tree and its leaves, flowers and fruit if any. This wuld help me with identifying it in my herb book as you do not have the botanical nor Latin name.

88. @ Georgie Porgie

http://www.nationnews.com/comments/letters/LEAD-letter-smokey-jan-14-10-copy-for-web

89. @ Alex Ferguson

Stop mewling, whining and puking all over this blog like a baby. cheupse man, go find employment or something to occupy your mind and time.

90. Georgie Porgie

Thanks Hants

91. @ Hants…

Thanks for the link also, Smokey is a very good friend of mine but as I am in the USA, we have not communicated for a while. I hurt me when I heard of his illness only a month ago but I am glad that he is better today. Hopefully he will be making the tour this year to Dominica and we would talk then.

92. @BAFBFP
    Sweetie i’m missing you!

93. Alex Fergusson

DLP Promised change but now telling the people lies

+++++++++++++++

Barbados, where is your sense of outrage?

The Report of the new Central Bank Governor shows that, contrary to what Prime Minister Thompson told thsi country – the DLP Government has a fiscal crisis or a cashflow problem – where current Expenditure if far more than Revenue.

Now that you know that you cannot trust the DLP and that the DLP – our Government – is telling us lies – what?

94. Georgie Porgie

MEADOW SWEET [ Spiraea or Filipendula ulmaria [L] Maxim ] family Rosaceae

The aerial parts of this plant are rich in salicylate-rich volatile oils and salicylic acid was first extracted from it, the term aspirin [acetylsalicylic acid ] means ‘from Spiraea]
    The useful healing properties of meadow sweet are now generally thought to be due to the presence of salicylates in the volatile extracts of the aerial parts of the plant.

However,long before the chemical identification of the active components of meadow sweet , it has traditionally been indicated for digestive upset[ including ulceration ,dyspepsia and hyperacidity],rheumatic conditions and pain.

Thus meadow sweet is often combined with other “ digestive’ herbs such as chamomile, licorice, marshmellow and peppermint .

Also many herbal painkillers contain meadow sweet combined with extracts of willow bark

Pharmacologically, extracts of meadow sweet has been shown by a few clinical studies done by Russian workers to exert an anticoagulant and fibrinolytic effect both in vitro and in vivo and when applied as an ointment to show increase regression of cervical dysplasia in 32 patients.

Extracts of meadow sweet have been shown by clinical researchers elsewhere to possess bactericidal and bacterostatic properties

Animal experiments with various extracts of meadow sweet have been reported to cause the following effects; to lower vascular permeability and increase bronchial tone in cats ,to increase histamine induced bronchospasm in guinea pigs, increase tone in vitro in guinea pig intestine and rabbit uterus and to potentiate narcotic action

Whereas an anti ulcer action has been noted in some animals the ulcerogenic nature of histamine was potentiated by an extract of meadow sweet on the guinea pig..

The cautions/contraindications and drug interactions of meadow sweet are the classic ones which are generally associated with salicylates [e.g. aspirin].

Therefore meadow sweet should not be given concomitantly with oral anticoagulants, individuals sensitive to aspirin, or patients suffering with asthma .gout ,diabetes haemophilia, active peptic ulcer disease, hypoprothrombinemia orkidney and liver disease.

Since meadow sweet has been shown to affect uterine smooth muscle in vitro it should be avoided in pregnancy and lactating mothers

There are no side effects reported for the use of meadow sweet when it is given in the following suggested doses . 4-6 g of dried herb three times daily or 1.5-6 mL fluid extract [1:1 in 25 % alcohol]three times daily or 2-4 mL tincture [1.5 in 45 % alcohol ] three times daily .

95. Georgie Porgie

SCULLCAP
    (Scutellaria lateriflora L.)Family:Lamiaceae also known as Labiatoe

Many different species of the genus Scutellaria are used medicinally, although most texts identify lateriflora as the most common species.

Inaddition,ScutellariabaicaiensisGeorgi(BaikaIScullcap/Huang -qin) is a major medicinal herb used in traditional Chinese medicine.

In the western tradition the aerial parts of the plant are used medicinally, whereas the roots of Baikal Sculicap are used within the Traditional Chinese Medical model

Scullcap is reputed to have a sedative, anti-spasmodic, and anticonvulsant properties.

Oral consumption is considered useful in the treatment of conditions related to nervous tension and exhaustion . It is often used in patients with hysteria, spasms or convulsions.

Extracts of Scutellaria and its constituents have been shown in vivo and in vitro to: inhibit lipid peroxidation, possess antibacterial and antiviral properties, influence arachidonate metabolism, influence lipolysis and lipogenesis, decrease release of histamine from rat mast cells, and decrease serum lipid levels

Large doses of scullcap can cause giddiness, confusion, drowsiness and convulsions. In addition, herbal products containing skullcap as one of the ingredients have been implicated in a number of cases of hepatotoxicity, which has resulted in the removal of a number of herbal skullcap preparations from the market in the United Kingdom.

Given the lack of information and the cases of possible hepatotoxicity mentioned above, products containing scullcap should not be used in pregnancy or lactation .2

While no clinical examples could be found, given skullcap’s reputed sedative action it should be used with caution in patients taking conventional centrally acting medications.

Skullcap is given as 1-2 g of dried herb/2-4 mL of liquid extract (I : I in 25% alcohol)/ 1 -2 mL of tincture (I :5 in 45% alcohol) three times daily.

96. Alex Fergusson

Here is more evidence that the DLP lied to the people of Barbados.

Here are a few of what it promised to do in its first 100 days in office. It has now been in office for 731 days:

++++++++++++++++++++++

100 DAY PROMISES

Land continues:

 WITHIN 100 DAYS of gaining office in the next general election, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) will put a strict land and agricultural policy in place, since nothing is currently untouchable under the current administration.
    Nation, March 16, 2008.

 Within the first 100 days of winning the Government, the DLP would introduce an Agriculture Protection Act requiring two-thirds majority of both houses of Parliament for a change-of-use from agriculture for any area over two acres.

 Amendments were also promised to the Land Acquisition Act, requiring Government to pay compensation on the replacement value rather than the market value of property; while providing a $2.50 subsidy per square foot to first-time landowners with lots up to 5 000 square feet.

Energy

 Within the first 100 days of taking office, his administration would remove the Value Added Tax (VAT) on electricity bills for domestic users and a review of other household utility bills.

 VAT would also be removed from manufacturers’ electricity bills once they could demonstrate they were working towards exportation and earning foreign exchange.

97. Alex Fergusson

Can anyone say exactly why did our WAIT-AND-SEE Prime Minister decide to TRAVEL-To-SEE, when he could have seen what was happening in Haiti on CNN and BBC World, like the rest of us who may even care more about the people of Haiti, than he does?

98. Georgie Porgie

SLIPPERY ELM
    (Ulmus rubro Muhl.) Family: Ulmaceae

When the bark of Slippery Elm is mixed with water it produces a thick viscid mucilage, composed of a number of sugars, tannins sesquiterpines and calcium oxalate. This mucilage was used in conditions where the mucous membranes were inflamed and irritated, both externally and internally. It was also applied externally to sores, wounds and abscesses.

Slippery elm is reputed to have demulcent, nutrient, emollient, astringent and antitussive properties.

Oral consumption is considered useful in the treatment of any condition presenting with inflamed mucous membranes including gastritis, peptic ulcer disease, enteritis and colitis.

Due to their astringent action, slippery elm products are also used within the herbal tradition to treat diarrhea and food poisoning

Slippery elm is also often taken as a lozenge for the relief of coughs and minor throat irritations External application, usually as a poultice, is used for ulcers, boils, wounds and abscesses .

Research has shown that mucilage has a demulcent action and that the tannins have astringent properties.

There are no known adverse or drug interactions associated with the use of this medicinal herb.

However, products prepared from the whole bark are used as abortifacients. This caution is not applicable to powdered slippery elm obtained from the inner part of the bark.

The dose of slippery elm is 5 mL of liquid extract (1 : 1 In 60% alcohol) three times daily OR 4-16 mL of a 1:8 decoction of powdered bark three times daily.

The decoction should be made in the following manner: ” Use 1 part of the powdered bark to 8 parts of water. Mix the powder in a little water initially to ensure it will mix.

Bring to the boil and simmer gently for I 0-1 5mins. Drink half a cup three times a day. As mentioned above, slippery elm is often sold as lozenges and is often mixed with other demulcents notably Althaea officinalis L. (Malvaceae) or Marshmallow.

99. @ DR. GP

My book says only the inner bark is used as medicine. All other info is same.

100. @ Alex Fergusson

Why are you spamming these articles where people are discussing health issues and other meaningful topics?

Why can’t you post your political comments in relevant articles ?

Show some consideration for your fellow bloggers.

101. @ GP and Technician

More about Smokey.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/smokey-issue-copy-for-web

102. Georgie Porgie

UVA-URSI [Arctostaphylos uva ursi [L]

The leaves of this plant have been used as a urinary antiseptic for uncomplicated infections of
    the lower urinary tract [e.g cystitis, urethritis and prostatitis ]

The therapeutic efficacy of cold water infusions of this plant is dependent on the conversion of phenolic glycosides,[especially arbutin ] to hydroquinone ,a known antimicrobial agent. Whereas some researchers think that arbutin is absorbed intact and undergoes hydrolysis in the urine to hydroquinone, others argue that this conversion occurs in the gastrointestinal tract and that the hydroquinone is then transported as a conjugate systemically and the hydroquinone is then liberated in the urine .

The resulting anti microbial activity in the genitourinary tract, which is noted only when the urine has an alkaline pH of 8 or more is thought to protect the uroepithelium and prevent the retention of microcalculi.

Antimicrobial activity has been demonstrated in vitro for uva-ursi against a number of organisms which causes urinary tract infections , including Staph aureus ,Bacillus subtilis, E.coli and Shigella sp.

Side effects of large doses of uva-ursi include nausea and vomiting and [because of the toxic
    potential of hydroquinone] ,tinnitus, shortness of breath, cyanosis, convulsions ,delirium and collapse.

Uva-ursi is contraindicated in kidney disorders, pregnancy and lactation .Prolonged use
    [more than two weeks ] and excessive doses should be avoided due to the presence of hydroquinone
    and the large amount of tannins in the concoction.

Cold water infusions are prefered to hot ones since less tannins are extracted thereby. Caution should be exercised with drugs known to interact with
    hydroquinone.

The dosage of uva-ursi is 1.5-4 g of dried leaves OR 1.5-4mL fluid extract [1:1 in 25 % alcohol ]three times daily or “ cold water infusions of the crude drug equivalent to 400-800mg arbutin per day in divided doses given with an alkalising agent such as NaHCO3

In Bowman & Rand’s Textbook of Pharmacology, we read that chronic infections of the urinary tract are difficult to manage successfully ;the cure rate for chronic infections is no greater than 20 –30% regardless of the type of antimicrobial therapy employed .

Again the sulphonamides are probably the drugs of first choice in most cases, although these are not always as effective as in the past, because of an increasing incidence of resistant organisms.

Some authorities recommend continuous treatment for chronic infections, whereas others prefer intermittent treatment .

In any case the urine should be examined bacteriologically at regular intervals Many physicians prescribe prolonged courses of antibiotics for chronic urinary tract infections but there is little evidence that these are superior to the sulphonamides, and their prolonged use may lead to untoward effects, particularly superinfection.

With respect to uva ursi, note that its antimicrobial activity has only been demonstrated for a small number of organisms and at that only in vitro [out of the body in experiments ] but there are no clinical trials to prove its efficacy in vivo [i.e in the living ].

Note also that it is not recomended for prolonged use. Its side effects and contraindications must be considered revolting .

I would therefore avoid it and stick with a suitable drug as indicated by sensitivity tests. In the case of cranberry juice ,however, it is note worthy that, not only are they no reported adverse effects, contraindications or drug interactions but the efficacy of cranberry juice in the management of chronic urinary tract infections was shown in many clinical trials before a large ,randomised double –blind ,placebo controlled trial, demonstrated conclusively its efficacy for this indication

Because of its lack of adverse effects contraindications and drug interactions and the conclusive results of the trials I would be prepared to use it as an adjunct in the treatment of chronic urinary tract infections along with suitable antimicrobial therapy, but I won’t be prepared to consider uva ursi at all for this indication Not on the available scientific evidence.

103. Georgie Porgie

Thanks Hants for this additional info

104. @ GP

It is good that Smokey has put this in the public domain.

The long lime periods it took for tests and treatment appears to be an issue worth discussing.

Let us hope and pray for a good outcome for Smokey.

105. @ All

For those of you who are not in the know, the common name for Uva-ursi is BEARBERRY. Only the leaves are used.

It can help in some instances of bedwetting, for gravel in the kidneys and as a douche for vaginal infections.

106. @BAFBFP

c,a doit etre amour

107. @ BAFBFP and ac

Why dont you start a romantic thread?
    It is amazing how the two of you pop us with your sweet nothings all over the place…….

Go ahead now cuss muh.

108. @Pat
    when there is so much bitterness in the world a little love won”t hurt.

109. Alex Fergusson

@ Hants

I took your advice. Seems I was keeping it alive and REAL.

Not a single post today. Seems clear that some bloggers motivate responses.

Note also that David boasts of millions of hits. You Kind, Sir -say you are in Canada.

My point is made.

110. @ Alex Fergusson

It is good to see you are focussed and commenting on the Political articles.
    You and Sylly G are a formidable combination.

I am focussed on GP’s health topics.

111. Alex Fergusson

@ Hants

Happy New Year. I agree, there is a connection between:

(a) quality of life investment;
    (b) retirement training planning and councelling,
    (c) active ageing,
    (d) promoting longevity as a national strategic objective,
    (e) The promotion of good health and wellness, and
    (f) Seeing health in its broadest possible context, that is to say: spiritual and moral health, environmental health, economic and social health, technoligical health, cultural health

When serious discussion starts, I will contribute.

112. Georgie Porgie

VALERIAN [ Valeriana officinalis L and other species of Valeriana ]

The tuberous root and rhizome of several species of this plant have been used for many centuries
    as a sedative , anti nauseant, anticonvulsant , for gastrointestinal and urinary symptoms ,for the treatment of migraine and as a pain killer.

Research directed at the interaction of valerian constituents with the GABA neurotransmitter receptor system remain inconclusive and as yet the mechanism of action of valerian in general,and as a mild sedative in particular remains unknown.

Valerian extracts appear to have some affinity for the GABA-A receptor. This activity appears to be related to the relatively high content of GABA present in aqueous extracts of valerian is sufficient to account for the release of GABA from the synaptosomes and may also inhibit reuptake. Since GABA does not cross the blood –brain barrier efficiently at low concentrations ,these in vitro results do not support the clinical data.

Extracts of valerian have been reported to decrease gastrointestinal motility and to exhibit antipyretic and anti-inflammatory effects.

ANIMAL STUDIES
    Behavioural studies on rodents have demonstrated that valerian has some sedative properties.

Valerian extracts produce changes in behavioural tests such as rotorod performance,activity,and augmentation of barbiturate-induced sleep similar to changes observed with benzodiazepines. Anticonvulsant effects were also demonstrated.

One study reported that methanolic extracts of valerian were able to decrease immobility in the forced swimming test in mice, and reversed reserpine-induced hypothermia,which suggests potential antidepressant activity. EEG changes in rats have also been found.
    Cerebral nuclear medicine imaging in rats using radiolabelled glucose showed CNS depressant effects for a dichloromethane extract of valerian.

HUMAN CLINICAL STUDIES
    Valerian appears to have a mild sedative effect which makes it suitable as a hypnotic.

Subjective parameters of sleep quality, a decrease in the latency of sleep onset ,and awakening were
    improved with valerian ,in the absence of side effects. Objective EEG measurements confirmed this
    trend but did not reach statistical significance. Objective laboratory sleep observations showed no significant difference between placebo and valerian The efficacy of valerian in treating primary insomnia or insomnia associated with disease states has not been adequately evaluated,nor is there substantial evidence to suggest that valerian is superior to existing medications or other treatments for insomnia.

There is some evidence of cytotoxicity associated with the use of valerian and it should be avoided in pregnancy until further data is available even though some authors seem to think it is safe for use in pregnancy.

Little data on specific drug interactions exist, but since valerian evidently has some hypnotic-sedative effects, the concomitant use of valerian preparations with other CNS depressants including alcohol should be avoided as these agents are likely to potentiate its effects.

The dose of valerian is 2-3 g of root or rhizome[or equivalent dry extracts] orally three times daily or at bedtime OR 1-3 mL of tincture [20% concentration by volume in a 70 % ethanol solution]three times daily or at bedtime.

113. Alkaline, Ionized Water
    Alkaline, ionized water is anti-oxidant electron rich, restructured, micro clustered, active hydrogen saturated water. Its molecular formula shifts from H2O to H+ OH-, after it goes through an electrolysis process that changes the pH (potential of hydrogen) of the water to alkaline, ionized-rich water. As a result, this water contains essential minerals, such as calcium, magnesium and potassium in an ionic form that can be assimilated immediately into the body. It is a powerful antioxidant, more powerful than any single food or vitamin supplement because it contains active hydrogen, which supplies huge amounts of extra electrons to the body.
    Alkaline, ionized water unique characteristics are recognized in the medical field for their effectiveness in assisting the body in rebuilding itself from dehydration and the many types of illnesses and diseases. Some of the areas that people have noticed improvements in their health include arthritis, chronic fatigue, leg cramps, migraines, diabetes. Also heartburn, poor circulation, gout, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, asthma, skin rashes, dermatitis, psoriasis, obesity, diarrhea, indigestion, heart disease, allergies, constipation, stomach ulcers, hepatitis and cancer.
    Alkaline, ionized water is known to have smaller clusters of 5 to 6 water molecules, as a result of the electrolysis process, which makes it a super-hydrating water. Tap water is typically 12 to 15 molecules per cluster, which is double the size of alkaline, ionized water. Smaller water clusters also mean your body can easily absorb the minerals in this water into your cells in mere seconds. Reverse osmosis, distilled and tap water will slosh around in your stomach and often flush key minerals out of your body because they lack this important property. This is particularly important for your metabolism since smaller elements pass through cell membranes more easily to eliminate acidic waste and flushes toxins from your body more effectively.
    When you reduce active oxygen from the water, you increase its power to slow down the oxidation process, which eliminates “free radicals” safely from your body. This effectively helps to slow down the aging process. Active oxygen is not healthy for the body and is what you feel if you have ever exercised too hard and felt your lungs burn. The process of reducing and removing oxygen from the water is called ORP (Oxidation Reduction Potential). Drinking water where oxygen has been eliminated creates a healthy body.

For additional information visit http://www.purplewater.com

114. Anon, thanks for posting the info on alkaline ionized water. I’ve been drinking the water for 6 months now and my cholesterol level went from 280 to 195 in that time. The joint pain that I’ve been experiencing for more than 10 years has disappeared. I was baffled that simple water could be so effective in treating such ailments, but after reading what you’ve posted I now understand why it is so effective.

115. Georgie Porgie

Sweet and healthy

I think that a lowering of your cholesterol of that magnitude in such a short period of time is significant.

I would be very interested to hearing more about this product. Is this available in Barbados? If so, where?

116. GP

It certainly is significant because I have not taken Lipitor in more than 5 months. My health goal was to get off of medication that has so many side effects.

The water aparatus is called the Kangen Water Machine and it’s available through distributors. If you are interested in the machine please email me at holisticwater@gmail.com. And yes, I know of several distributorships in Barbados

117. Georgie Porgie

Sweet&Healthy

Were you exercising and dieting and losing weight simultaneously in this time period?

Could any or all of these have contributed to your reduction in cholesterol levels and your being sucessful in eliminating Lipitor and its side effects?

Or are you honestly attributing your sucess to this water ONLY?

118. Dr. GP:

I strongly recommend exercise and a healthy diet to everyone. However, my schedule does not permit me to excise, other than walking to and from my car (smile). As far as dieting is concerned, I have a weakness for sweets (no need to say anymore). What I did eliminate from my diet were juices and soft drinks. I basically ate what I wanted, but drank 9.5 kangen water, along with my meals. Tea and soups were also made with kangen water, and yes, I did lose 25 pounds in 6 mounths by basically eliminating soft drinks and consuming 1/2 gallon of kangen water daily.

Another site to visit for information: http://www.holisticwtr.com.

119. @ Dr. GP

Before you buy, just google Kangen and look at the article: Dont Buy a Kangen Water System.

Some very interesting information. Could be true, it is still up and no court cases are on-going to my knowledge.

120. Georgie Porgie

Sweet&Healthy
    You have certainly made some powerful and interesting claims.

I off course have no experience with the product.

I see that Pat has some contra- diction or contra- indications to present.

It would be interesting to hear these, in the spirit of balance, caution and fair play, as we discuss and explore the mechanism of action of this water system, and the relevant chemistry of the ionisation of water involved.

I have not yet looked into the chemistry and biological or cellulara aspects of the product.

The first thoughts might be how can water be harmful unless you drink dirty water or fallinto a large body of water, or a large bofy of it falls upon you.

Pat do you have litterature with relevant chemistry that we can compare the claims of this sweet and healthy lady, and your contra- diction or contra- indications in a proper way?

121. Dr. GP

The literature out there says that Kangen is the brand name of the machine and that it is ionized water like any other inonized water.

The literature also says that Kangen marketing is a pyramid scheme, thus making the product extremely costly. I saw reports of $4000 US. Some say that people buy the machines and also sell the water.

An ex exployee of the company says that employees can buy a machine from the company for $200 US, that the mark-up is exorbitant, among other things.

In tests, it is rated at three and a half stars and there are two other machines that rate four at a lesser price.

Some results from all brands of machines are positive, but the cost of the one (Kangen) is more than twice that of the other. Some companies have several models.

There is apparently some type of chemicals that go into the Kangen machines but are not identified by Kangen. Apparently they say it is saline solution but when asked if one can substitute their own solutions are told No. The container of chemicals state “do not drink”, but yet go into the water and has to be bought repeatedly.

122. @ Sweet&Healthy

If it works for you keep doing it.

GP your medical opinion would be welcome.

My opinion is based on a little knowledge about the use of blogs as a marketing tool.

I will accept a shortened life and drink filtered tap water or bottled water as usual.

123. Thank you Hants, it does work for me and millions of people world-wide and I will continue to use it instead of the prescribed drugs that so many of us today seem quite happy taking.
    I was taught that if you do not have anything good to say about something, keep your mouth closed. I see Pat seems very content on misinforming readers on BU about kangen water. Pat, could you please tell this forum what kind of chemicals are in kangen water? Malicious, misinformation will not stop this water ionizer from helping the millions it has already helped and will continue to help. The water around the world is in a dire state and you might not want to accept it now, but you’ll have to do so if you live long enough to see what they are recycling and returning to us to drink.
    If anyone finds a water ionizer for $200 that can give them the same type of results as the kangen water machine please go ahead and purchase it. But many of us who’ve had those so called cheaper versions, got no good results and had to resort to the originator, yes, the originator of water ionizers, the Kangen manufacturer.
    My health is too important to me to consume anything cheap, after all God gave me one body to house my mind and soul and to say I’ll continue to consume things that will destroy this body is sheer ignorance. As far as I’m concerned, $4,000 to maintain good health is nothing compared to a stint in the hospital, prescribed drugs or even a funeral, which incidentally is well over BD$12,000.
    A wise man once said that a little education is a dangerous thing and I couldn’t agree with him more. When I last checked, pyramid schemes are intangible, you get nothing in exchange for putting your hard earned cash into a scheme, unless you are lucky enough to bring other investors in and cycle yourself off the board and then you’ll get your investment back and much more, if you are lucky. Well I have news for you Pat, you do get something tangible with Kangen, a life changing machine (that rids your body of the excess acid, cleans your colon and much, much more), once you give the company your hard-earned money. I say that’s a fair trade, wouldn’t you. And yes, you can make money if you refer others to purchase this machine. It’s called a referral program. I hope I’ve been able to clear- up any misconception you might’ve had about the kangen water machine.
    Educating and edifying the masses should be the goal of everyone, even on a blog. Compassion and caring for others is another reason I’ll ask those of you who drink tap or bottled water to get tested for giardia and cryptosporidium at your next medical check-up.

124. Georgie Porgie

Sweet & Sexy ……….I mean Healthy
    Re
    I’ll ask those of you who drink tap or bottled water to get tested for giardia and cryptosporidium at your next medical check-up.

This is an interesting point! Do you have any statistics of the prevalence of the protozoans giardia or and cryptosporidium here, there or anywhere?

It would certainly be interesting to know the situation in Barbados drinking water these days.

Can you indicate how the sytem you advocate removes these organisms or their cysts etc from drinking water.

125. @Dr GP

“It would certainly be interesting to know the situation in Barbados drinking water these days.”

Excerpts from an IBD America article published in 2004:

“I miss our water when I travel outside of Barbados, whether it be New York or Europe,” says Joseph Griffith, a manager of the recently completed South Coast wastewater plant. “I guess I’m just used to it.”
    But now, supplies of the prized water are rapidly reaching their limit. In 1978, Bajans used 10 gallons of water per day, according to John Mwansa, acting chief engineer of the Barbados Water Authority (BWA). Now the use level stands at 60 to 63 gallons a day for residents, and 179 gallons a day for hotel guests. “We have reached the limit,” says Mwansa. “We have taken out as much water from the ground as we can.”

Several factors account for the growing water scarcity. For one, Barbados ranks among the driest countries in the world, comparable to the kingdom of Jordan in terms of available water per inhabitant. Moreover, six out of the past 10 years have been abnormally dry. Despite the near-universal coverage of the public water system, about half of all water production is classified as “unaccounted for,” meaning that it is lost through leakage of aging pipes and other defective equipment, or through unmetered consumption.
    To compensate for these losses, the BWA has been forced to inject growing quantities of artificially desalinated water into the system. Bajans who fill their flasks from the tap are no longer drinking the true “coral-filtered” water they prize.

Tough choices. If it is to avoid restricting consumption, the BWA must address the problem on a number of different fronts. One is to upgrade the pipeline and distribution system to reduce losses. Another is to find cost-effective ways to recycle wastewater and new alternatives to increase supply. The government is working to update the rate structure, since the price for water on the island has not been raised for 12 years. A final challenge is to clamp down on illegal connections and take action on delinquent accounts—steps that will inevitably provoke a public outcry.

Barbados is taking action on almost all of these fronts. It has built two desalination plants since 2000 and has leased a third one that is mounted in a trailer, although this supply solution is subject to controversy because of its expense. The BWA plans to recycle wastewater and to upgrade the distribution system to reduce leakage and other sources of waste. A new wastewater plant to be situated on the island’s west coast will include a facility to reprocess wastewater for agricultural use and for reinsertion into underground aquifers. The government estimates that it can recover through new investments in treatment and recycling up to 5 million gallons of wastewater a day for nonpotable uses.”

“Can you indicate how the sytem you advocate removes these organisms or their cysts etc from drinking water. “

Most developed countries have reached the stage of recycling fecal matter water for potable use. In the US, most municipalities combine 25% of recycled water, which is treated with hundreds of chemicals before it is blended with the other 75% from the reservoir, well, etc. and return to consumers for consumption. The DEP is open about this policy and have warned customers that the government allows 2% of whatever is found in the water to remain there. In other words, of the hundreds of chemicals use to treat the fecal matter water, there is not one chemicals to this date that would eliminate giardia and cryptosporidium. According to a BWA employee in 2008, ‘only chlorine is used to treating tap water in Barbados.’

Kangen water ionizers are manufactured with a carbonate filter that filters out the basic stuff like lead, rust, bacteria, arsenic, rocket fuel, etc. After the water leaves the filter it travels over 7 large plates made of medical grade platinum and titanium (both of these metals are precious and very costly—platinum when last I checked is trading at US$1,400 an ounce). Check the science behind the cheaper machines, the small size of their plates, along with the aluminum-meshed they are made with can not withstand the 1400 millivolts it takes to electrode and eliminate parasites like these protozoans from the water.

126. Georgie Porgie

Sweet&Healthy

Can I call you to hook up for a drink—of water? LOL ROTFLMAO

You have certainly brought some facts and information to this debate. And I commend you for this because the quality of your contribution is far above the usual bovine excrement that is infused into BU waters offered for drink on this blog.

Any was we will continue to pick to pieces your claims, and we look foward to your continued able defence of your position. We shall see how this goes.

I am not writing off your product yet and I sincerely want to embrace you to the BU fold, and to myself with wide open arms! LOL

Keep up your good posts!

127. @Dr GP: Thank you! And yes you can call me for a drink of kangen water anytime.

What is your area of practive?

128. Georgie Porgie

Sweet & Healthy

You are so very sweet to extend such a kind invitation to me.

I am just a washed up extinguished GP who teaches at Medical Schools when I get a pick here or a pick there. I love Biochemistry and Pharmacology, but I have also taught a bit of Pathology and Cell & Molecular Biology.

So I am very interested in your water and drinking with you and discussing it further.

129. @ Sweet&Healthy

My dear lady, I googled the net and read many articles on ionized water machines and reports from users. I do not drink ionized water. Dont think I will if the machine costs $4000 US. I have lived my almost three score and ten without it.

However, if you are a proponent of this machine and “thinks” it has help you, kudos. I still think eating healthily and exercising will do the trick. I have been doing that and lost 40 pounds, have no problems with the arthritis that almost crippled me and have kept my sugar, cholesterol and blood pressure in check.

If Health Canada has not approved and from tests verified that it does the things it claims to do, it is not for me. My taxes pay for these scientists to do such and advise us the consumers. I may just go into the site and see what they have to say about this product.

We always tend to defend the product we are using especially if we have been sold it with a good story. Whatever you say, it is sold by the pyramid method, which adds to the cost considerably. And yes, Kangen employees can get the machine for $200.

We heard the same thing about the goji berry juice scam which was also a pyramid scheme. To each his own.

I dont drink filtered or bottled water, but I do boil mine. When I was home last March, I had to boil the water too. Too much chlorine, you could smell it from the moment you opened the tap. I used to drink copious amount of local water but last visit I drank mostly coconut water.

130. This presentation on water has been uploaded at the behest of Doc GP.

131. @ Sweet & Healthy

The below is from Health Canada:

‘Water taken from lakes, rivers, mountain streams and ponds may contain invisible but harmful micro-organisms called pathogens. These bacteria, viruses and protozoa can cause symptoms ranging from mild nausea and fever to severe diarrhea and hepatitis. Currently the most common pathogens are the protozoa Giardia, which cause diarrhea commonly called “Beaver Fever”, and Cryptosporidium, which also causes diarrhea. These protozoa can be found in the feces of many domestic and wild animals and can spread to surface waters. Boiling drinking water will remove all known pathogens.”

They do not recommend ionization. They said filtering would remove crystosp. before boiling.

Methods of treatment are: boiling, disinfectant tablets, chlorine bleach,
    tincture of iodine,UV irridation, ceramic filtration and ozonation.

There is nothing wrong with our household drinking water.

From reading the posts on this Kangen machine, I guess you bought one, hook line and sinker, and as is recommended, your “sponsor” recommended that you also sell to recoup the price of the machine. Only thing is, this scheme has 8 levels (or points). Takes many sales to recoup that $4000 US.

One bloke enthused that he made $100,000 in a year from this scheme and that was a parttime job. He said even though he no longer sells many machines he still makes money. I say good for him, I hope he is happy ripping gullible people off.

Seven titanium and platinum plates eh? Must be the size of a grain of rice. The company would be better off to sell the precious metals. They would make more money in the market than they would from the machines – and no overhead or staff to boot!

132. @ Dr. GP:

I just sent the below request off to Health Canada. I will await their reply and post.

“I would like any information you may have, tests, results, etc. on the Kangen Water Ionization machine, or any other machine that ionizes water.

Do these machines have any medical benefits and if so, what are they. Are these benefits proven and repeated in controlled experiments.

Have these machines, if on sale in Canada, been rated and approved for consumer use by Health Canada.

Thank you.”

133. Georgie Porgie

Interesting posts Pat.
    David my ppt is not coming up when I click on it. I am getting a 404 error.

134. @Dr. GP

I read your presentation. Do I understand it to say that the body, ( the machine that the BBE created, as per Bush Tea,) compensates for low H ions and disassociates if there is too much? Then, if the body balances itself out, what is the use of extra ionized water?

Or, simple minded person that I am, have I misunderstood the presentation?

Seems like a waste of money.

135. Sweet&Healthy

Dr GP:

Here is something I came across on the internet that was reported by AP back in March 2008.

“A vast array of pharmaceuticals — including antibiotics, anti-convulsants, mood stabilizers and sex hormones — have been found in the drinking water supplies of at least 41 million Americans, an Associated Press investigation shows.

To be sure, the concentrations of these pharmaceuticals are tiny, measured in quantities of parts per billion or trillion, far below the levels of a medical dose. Also, utilities insist their water is safe.

But the presence of so many prescription drugs — and over-the-counter medicines like acetaminophen and ibuprofen — in so much of our drinking water is heightening worries among scientists of long-term consequences to human health.

In the course of a five-month inquiry, the AP discovered that drugs have been detected in the drinking water supplies of 24 major metropolitan areas — from Southern California to Northern New Jersey, from Detroit to Louisville, Ky.

Water providers rarely disclose results of pharmaceutical screenings, unless pressed, the AP found. For example, the head of a group representing major California suppliers said the public “doesn’t know how to interpret the information” and might be unduly alarmed.

How do the drugs get into the water?

People take pills. Their bodies absorb some of the medication, but the rest of it passes through and is flushed down the toilet. The wastewater is treated before it is discharged into reservoirs, rivers or lakes. Then, some of the water is cleansed again at drinking water treatment plants and piped to consumers. But most treatments do not remove all drug residue.”

136. Sweet&Healthy

@Pat

Yes, the kangen water ionizer is approved by the Canadian Ministry of Health and Labour. Lucky Canadians! They know a good thing when they see one. Not like the US and their lobbying machine. Most things get stuck in all of that bureaucratic red tape for decades.

137. Pat
    I was thinking the same thing from my reading of Slides 21-23 in GP’s presentation

Ionization of H2O releases hydrogen ions [H+] & hydroxyl ions [OH-]

In an aqueous solution, most of the water molecules remain intact, but some can dissociate into hydrogen ions (H+) and ( OH-) only to rapidly recombine in a reversible reaction represented thus: H2O H+ + OH-

also Slide 26

For the chemical reactions in all cells to work properly, there must be a correct balance of H+ and OH-

Besides water, other compounds in cells can release H+ or OH- and affect cell function

So why do we need to drink ionized water $& H ?

138. Sweet&Healthy

I’ve been away from BU for 1 1/2 days and the posts on kangen water ionizers have picked up. I’m truly enjoying the debate, even the negative ones because just 2 days ago I’ve been blessed with 5 sales, 3 at $4,000 and 2 at $6,000. Yes, Kangen has an industrial machine that retails for $6,000. Go figure!

@Pat, what ever floats your boat and works for you continue to do it. I wish you nothing but the best of health.

139. Pat & S& H

Again from GP’s presentation we read that “ No organism, can develop and grow without water.All chemical reactions in organisms occur in liquid water.An aqueous solution, which consists of solutes in water, is essential for chemical reactions to occur. Most biological activities occur in aqueous (water-based) solutions. Water is able to dissolve small non polar covalent molecules, ionic compounds, and other polar covalent molecules.Water soluble molecules are described as hydrophilic (water loving). Hydrophilic molecules dissolve in water. Those molecules that are not soluble in water are hydrophobic (water hating or fearing). Hydrophobic molecules – repel water.

Is it not true that most drugs are hydrophobic? So how come that all these drugs are found in drinking water? Surely this does not occur in Bajan drinking water.

Again we read, and I quote “A substance with a pH of 7,such as pure water, is said to be neutral; it is neither acidic nor basic because it has equal numbers of H+ and OH-……In fact, the acidic soils of the Amazon rain forest contain less than half as many bacterial species as do the neutral soils of the deserts in the American Southwest.

Would this not indicate that we need acidic water rather than alkaline? Why cant city authorities acidify water slightly to kill microbes before neutralizing the water before sending it out for human consumption?

140. Pat & S&H once more!

GP informs us that “For our purposes, an acid is a chemical that donates H+ to water or another solution. By contrast, a base (or alkali) is a substance that accepts hydrogen ions in solution, often by combining them with the hydroxyls of the base.
    Then in slide 28 he says “A substance with a pH of 7,such as pure water, is said to be neutral; it is neither acidic nor basic because it has equal numbers of H+ and OH-.

Ion slide 29 we read “Acids and Bases Must Be Balanced in Cells An acid is a chemical substance that donates a H+ to a solution; a base accepts the H+ The pH scale indicates the acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Cell chemistry is very sensitive to changes in pH

Then from slide 42 onwards he points out that “Buffers Are a Combination of a Weak Acid and Base………….Buffers prevent pH shifts…………..Buffers are aqueous systems that resist changes in pH when small amounts of a strong acid or base are added…………A buffered system consist of a weak acid and its conjugate base. “

Then he says “Buffers are a mixture of a weak acid and a weak base that maintain acid/base balance in cells. Excess hydrogen ions can be absorbed by the base and too few hydrogen ions can be provided by the acid.” So wont the buffer systems in our bodies negate or cancel out the effects of this ionized water?

Have not people been living for donkey years in Barbados without this ionized water?

141. @ Sweet and Health

There is no CANADIAN MINISTRY OF HEALTH AND LABOUR.

Please dont quote the Enagic spin to me.

142. Pat & S & H again!

Finally slide 44 where GP asserts “As microorganisms—and all organisms—take up or ingest nutrients and undergo metabolism, chemical reactions occur that use up or produce H+. It is important for all organisms to balance the acids and bases in their cells because chemical reactions and organic compounds are very sensitive to pH shifts.

Likewise, when most microbes grow in a microbiological nutrient medium, the waste products produced may lower the pH of the medium, which could kill the organisms. To prevent pH shifts, cells and the growth media contain buffers, which are compounds that maintain a specific pH. The buffer does not necessarily maintain a neutral pH, but rather whatever pH is required for that environment. Most biological buffers consist of a weak acid and a weak base If an excessive number of H+ are produced (potential pH drop), the base can absorb them. Alternatively, if there is a decrease in the hydrogen ion concentration (potential pH increase), the weak acid can dissociate, replacing the lost hydrogen ions.

If GP’s Biochemistry notes are correct, I really cant see why we need ionized water. It seems that the buffer systems in the body would obviate any effects of such water when it gets into the body and the cells.

143. @ Anon

My understanding exactly.

It seems I was right in my first assumption. Sweet and Healthy is a SALES PERSON for the product. As such anything he/she says from now on is suspect. Maybe they came here just for the marketing.

144. @sweet&healthy

You would have found out by now that the BU family is a rather discerning one.

145. Sweet&Healthy

@Anon

“Is it not true that most drugs are hydrophobic? So how come that all these drugs are found in drinking water? Surely this does not occur in Bajan drinking water.”

2 reasons anon, maybe they haven’t tested the water in Barbados for pharmaceutical drugs yet. Another, maybe the recycled water hasn’t been returned to the public yet, it’s inevitable.
    @Dr, GP
    Regarding Anon statement: “Why cant city authorities acidify water slightly to kill microbes before neutralizing the water being sending it for human consumption.”
    In science 101 we were taught that the human body is at its healthiest when it’s 80% alkaline and 20% acidic, but nowadays, most of us are 20% alkaline and 80% acidic. In 193?, German scientist Otto Warburg , who won the noble prize said, “no disease, especially cancer, can strive in an alkaline environment.” Given the high rates of cancer, especially in Barbados, I would say that Warburg was a man before his time and was correct since a lot of people, especially the ones who take tons of vitamins, drink bush tea, nooni juice, monavie and things of that nature are still getting cancer at an alarming rate.” Anon, I seriously hope that the government don’t act upon your suggestion and acidify the water. God help those without a kangen water ionizer if they do.

146. @Anon

You have to give credit to Dr. GP. He did not argue nor comment. Just posted his presentation from one of his classes.

He that can understand will understand. He who does not will spend $4,000US on a machine with no verifiable benefits.

Now I understand why Bush Tea refers to us as MMEs and the Creator as the BBE. Our maker had to have been one BIG BOSS ENGINEER!!! The body is a magnificent creation.

There is a lady, 105, in Hillswick Village. Mrs. Trotman has never drank a drop of ionized water. She walks everywhere, does her own cooking, reads, sews, cleans, etc. Her daughter helps with her laundry and yard work. I saw her last year, she is still sharp. Two houses from her is a 91 year old. In the same condition. Neither one is on any medication for anything. They are both slim women and have never heard of ionized water.

A scam is hatched and a fool born everyday.

147. @Sweet & Healthy

Now that you have had your 15 mins. of
    free publicity. I think it is time to close
    shop.
    Adios amiga.
    By the way if you stop eating all dem sweets you will lose moreof them extra love handles.
    Dont bother responding because i ain’t no fool.

148. Sweet&Healthy

@Pat

LOL the last place I would sell anything is around Bajans. For them, health is minor compared to huge houses, the lastest cars and gear.

149. Sweet&Healthy

@ac.

“Love handles and lose more weight. ” I’m fit as a fiddle at desired weight. Maybe, if you bought a kangen water ionizer you’ll lose yours. The company has direct sales. google them.

150. Sweet&Healthy

@David, I think you should rethink “discerning” more like narrow-minded.

151. @Seewt &Healthy
    I now what i say is true look at how quick
    you are to repond about your weight .
    You have no shame peddling your what-
    ever . Yeah fiddle alright that is”the mother Fiddle”.As for me buying that junk you are peddling don’t hold yuh breath. I ain’t that stupid. Now that you
    have been “busted” Leaveus on BU alone
    and go find another sucker klown.

152. Sweet&Healthy

@Dr GP

“You have certainly brought some facts and information to this debate. And I commend you for this because the quality of your contribution is far above the usual bovine excrement that is infused into BU waters offered for drink on this blog”

Boy you weren’t lying when you said some of these folk on BU could infuse some bovine excrement into a conversation. Hahahahaha!

153. S & W would tell you she pees gold and diamonds if it meant she would get a commission on a sale of one of those water systems.

154. Sweet&Healthy

@ac stop behaving like a child. If you don’t want to read what I’m posting, leave the topic and join another.

155. @SOIT & Healthiefy

I know you would like for me to go away
    so you can peddle more of that gargage
    on this blog. from your first comment i
    had detected an measure of insincerity about you peddling that garbage.
    Now to save your face you need to take your crap elsewhere before you get more negative publicity from me.

156. Sweet&Healthy

@NF

Apparently you did not see my earlier post. Here it is again.

LOL the last place I would sell anything is around Bajans. For them, health is minor compared to huge houses, the lastest cars and gear.

157. GP
    You very quiet Sir? Wuh happen man? Sound yuh voice nuh?
    You don’t usually let any one come on BU with (to quote you bovine excrement) on health issues or misquoting the Bible.

@ Sweet&Healthy
    Im sure you know that the Public Health Lab in Bridgetown checks water samples from all over Barbados weekly.

We don’t use recycled water in Barbados. We use some desalinized water—which is more likely to be alkaline than acid. Wuh you think?

I suggested that city authorities should acidify water slightly to kill microbes BEFORE neutralizing the water being sending it for human consumption.” i.e AFTER the microbes are killed the water could be brought to ph 7 or so by neutralization.

What is science 101?
    How could the body be at its healthiest when it’s 80% alkaline and 20% acidic, when there are buffers to keep body fluids close to pH 7.4?

Who says that “nowadays, most of us are 20% alkaline and 80% acidic” ?. science 101?

There is nothing wrong with taking vitamin supplements everyday. After all the vitamins are most often co- enzymes and co factors necessary to help the enzymes in our bodies do their work efficiently.

Who drinks bush tea in Barbados any more?

Are you trying to say that the high rates of cancer in Barbados is due to acidity in our water that is filtered through calcium carbonate limestone? And that ionized water will reduce cancer rates in Barbados?

Is it not more accurate to say that those folk who didn’t die from infectious diseases because of the advent of antibiotics, or child hood illnesses because of the advent of vaccines have lived long enough to succumb to cancer?

Maybe we should get the good doctor, who seems to be lost somewhere, to put up one of his power points on how cancers generally develop.

158. Sweet&Healthy

@ac

Your negative publicity will not, and I repeat will not stop kangen water ionizers from selling. You can write it across the sky and these machines will still continue to sell.

@Dr GP

How much acid does the body produce when one is being negative?

159. only guillable and weak minded people
    would fall for such crap
    Water ! Water! every way
    Stop selling that crap to drink

160. Sweet&Healthy

@Pat

Don’t wait for the the price of the machine to sky rocket to US$10,00 before you decide to purchase one. Trust me, you’ll be needing such a machine in the near future given the state of drinking water everywhere.

161. Sweet&Healthy

& also @ac

162. S & H
    Seriously can you explain how ionized water works….and how it is (on the basis of what we have been taught by the good doctor) that the body’s buffer systems does not negate the ionization by these machines?

After all, the ionization of water is a natural thing in the body according to slides 21-23 and slide 26 of Slides 21-23 in GP’s presentation.

Is the Dr wrong? Has he lost his Biochemical marbles?

163. ac kicking taday.. kickin’..! I waatching Autralian Open down under so ah slippin in an’ out…!

164. Sweet&Healthy

@ac

Dr GP and I are meeting to drink some ionized water, seems like you might need to tag along. Your body pH might be way below 7.0 with all of that negative ranting.

165. @ suiot & Hefty
    That product is a big hoax on people.And
    as far as talking about bajans and how we spend our money .At least we have enuff sense not to be suckered into one of
    your water scams.GULP! GULP!

166. Sweet&Healthy

AC is resorting to personal attacks. Is that how you debate?

You know, I’m forgetting where I am. A Bajan blog, I don’t need to say anymore.

167. S&H

If you can’ cook man stay out de kic’hen… hahaha

168. @soit & Hefty
    and while yuh at it forget selling dat wata
    Now go concentrate on losing dem extra
    pounds dat wuld do yuh sum good.
    Too many con artist out da we dn need another one.Next yuh would be telling people they need to special cup to piss the water fuh it to work.

169. Sweet&Healthy

@BAFBFP

This isn’t a kitchen, it’s a barnyard.

170. SweetHealthyKind&Compassionate

@ac

Sorry I have to give up on this tic for tac with you tonight, but I am watching Hope for Haiti.

Hope to pursue this debate at a later date. Have a good night!

171. @ Sweet&Healthy

You are aware that the bloggers at BU can use Google or Bing and find useful information simply by typing words like ionization,ionized water.

We are also fortunate to have good Bajan brainiacs like GP who gives us the benefit of his knowledge of Biochemistry.

There are others like Pat who knows that you are not credible when you invent a Canadian government ministry.

Last but not least is ac who smell a rat from the beginning.

If the Kangen machine is as good as you say why does it need to be sold in a mutilevel marketing scheme?

172. @ GP

check this out.

http://www.chem1.com/CQ/ionbunk.html

173. @SOit &Hefty
    SLIPPERY WHEN WET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

174. @HANTS
    I love your sense of humour”buddy”yuh had me lafing .

175. Anyone seen Lowdown today?

DURING HURRICANE JANET, an old Bajan was reportedly bracing his chattel house with a pole. Just then the wind whipped up, causing him to send up a reminder up to Heaven. “Lord,” he declared, “ah ain’t resisting; ah only propping, okay?”
    In those days many Bajans appended “God willing” or “if the Lord spares life” to every future promise, acknowledging that there are forces greater than man, forces we should be ever mindful not to think we can conquer.
    The world was in wonderful balance. There were crops and crop eaters; prey and predators. Everybody got a piece of the action. Man ruled the roost but the lowly mosquito drank his blood, the pests took some of his crops, the mongoose some chickens.
    “Yuh can’t get all!” was a popular Bajan consolation, and even the much-maligned planters followed the biblical injunction to leave the gleanings for the poor, the stranger, the fatherless and the widow. Many who would otherwise have gone hungry made a meal for their family by sprouting potatoes.
    Our animals and crops were in harmony with their environment. Milch cows with a bit of Zebu blood in them had built-in resistance to tick-borne diseases. Yard fowls thrived without having their feed laced with low-level antibiotics. The well-covered ears on our local corn didn’t need spraying nor did other crops.
    Alas, just as “hell and destruction are never full, so too the eyes of man are never satisfied”. Change came rapid. Cane holes which hoarded precious water, gave way to furrows which hustled it into the road. Mules fed on local grass, cane tops and molasses were replaced by trucks and tractors. Hand weeding, by sprays and more sprays.
    We imported Canadian milch cows, American hybrid corn seed and varieties of a range of vegetables which vastly outyielded anything we had before.
    But, oh God, we paid a price. The new varieties needed spraying with ever stronger chemicals againsts pests and diseases. And you had to import seed for planting each time. Resistant weeds took over. Tick fevers became a never-ending battle.
    But agriculture is just one small aspect of a wider phenomenon: the man-gods. Humans who want to have a perfect man-controlled world where there are no mosquitoes, diseases, disasters or, if they had their way, death. And all these man-gods ask is that we forget God and Nature and put our future in their hands.
    One can almost imagine Mother Nature chuckling in her rocking-chair. She just loves challenges like the “un-sinkable” Titanic or the “un-breakable” cell phone which a BBC reporter smashed last week. She’s tickled pink by terms like ‘hurricane-proof’ or ‘earthquake-proof’.
    I am no fan of scientists and professionals. Not, mind you, that I don’t envy some of their research experiences. Like the King’s College London team who checked 1 800 young women to conclude there is no G-spot. Or those who discovered there are 35 sexy places for a woman to touch a man. (“Okay, Sandra, touch there one more time. Aieee! Yesss! Yee-haw!”)
    But what gets me about these man-god jokers is that they want to enforce their particular agendas by law. Countries must accept genetically-modified foods. A doctor this week on BBC called for a law against eating butter. Some want to outlaw meat consumption. Control freaks at every turn.
    Now Tony Marshall is declaring that a building code as a guide for construction isn’t enough. He wants it rammed down our throats by law. A waste of time, Marsh!
    Stop by any house-building site. You will most likely see no architect, no engineer, no town planning officer. You will see workmen. You may see improperly mixed concrete; blocks left unfilled or no steel used although so specified.
    Tell me, Marsh, who is going to police these aspects? Who is going to take down a building if the specifications weren’t followed? The court system is already choked with a log-jam of untried cases. And you want to bring in something else to be enforced by law? And saddle poor people with supporting man-god engineers and architects?
    By all means encourage home-owners to follow the building code. But that heavy-handed approach sets up bad vibes. And Mother Nature will take note.

176. @ sweet n healthy

As Jamaicans say, den keep yuh rass out we yard.

Yuh like yuh tink we be sub-literate or sumting.

177. aweet &hefty in some of she comments have bad mouth bajans spending habits
    Talk about kicking a gift horse in the mouth .Then she got de nerve to promote
    that bilgy water of herson the bajan web-site.De only compassion she has is for she bank bookwhile laughing allthe way too.

178. Pingback: Alkaline Antioxidant Water Ionizers – Are They Really Useful? | Weight Issues

179. I found some great products that helped me increased my bust line. Check out my blog for info on how I did it.

Breast Enlargement Cream,Breast Enlargement Without Surgery, Herbal Breast Enlargement

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s