Truth and Reconciliation Laws that require improved governmental transparency in how they spend the peoples tax money, improved government accountability with legal consequences for unethical behaviour, lower political term limits, effective use of IT to support freedom of information reform, education reform that improves the old and out of touch system we have, redirecting of millions from projects that only service the elites to service backlogged social services….. for starters – BU family member Austin
The current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government is over the hump of a five year constitutional term in office. There is no doubt the perception by the Barbados electorate that the Barbados Labour Party had become a fat and corrupt party played a significant part in their defeat. The disgust by the populace was enough to overcome the fear of voting for an untested David Thompson, a man whose reputation had been tainted by the early 90s when he served in the infamous Sandiford “8% Cut” Administration. Not to forget the wrestle between himself and Mascoll for leadership of the DLP which had the potential of propelling the Barbados system of Government into a tail-spin, and which still has cause for Kellman and Estwick to sit uncomfortably behind Prime Minister Thompson.
At the crux of the campaign message delivered by the Government on its last campaign trail, they promised how they would hold those in the former Government accountable for what they knew were corrupt practices which had occurred. Many Government projects, Government officials and supporting cast were fingered on the election trail prosecution of the then BLP Government. How can we forget VECO, the company awarded the BOLT contract to build the prison with no track record? How can we forget the ABC Highway contract which was awarded to a company name 3S which had no track record of building a prison? The story of Hardwood Housing, Clyde Mascoll, CEO Murrell was used to good effect in the last campaign by DLP political strategists. There were the alleged clandestine dealings at the UDC, SSA, RDC, NHC, NCC and several of the statutory and quasi-Government entities, and the list goes on.
We are over the hump of a DLP Government and not one person in the last Government has been put before the law courts. Instead what Barbadians have had to tolerate is the constant accusations and reminders by DLP officials and surrogates of the alleged corrupt practices which occurred during the last Government. Frankly, the people have reached the point where they are fed up with the constant references to corruption when it is obvious the DLP Government cannot deliver on their election promise, or they have decided to continue with the status quo which says, it is our turn to slaughter the fatted calf. We believe the latter is the case.
Contained in the message how the DLP Government would manage was the promise of laws which would improve the governance framework of Barbados. The fact that well into the DLP term in office Barbadians appear to have forgotten the promise reflects a society which is happy to be manipulated by its politicians and supporting cast. The next general election should be an interesting affair. The blogs no doubt will help to remind the public of the issues. The traditional media seems to have drawn lines at this early stage. The Barbados Advocate is in the pocket of the Government, the Nation Newspaper appears to have taken an anti-government position on most issues, although the strings are being tugged from Port of Spain. The Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation remains the perennial political football manipulated by Government, and the latest online newspaper Barbados Today is busy trying to establish its circulation. However, given the shadows behind Roy Morris it will be hard for him to maintain editorial control come crunch time. We wish him luck.
The Government has removed the issue of transparency from the front burner. Yes, it is currently consumed with managing an economy deep in recession but it has found the time to execute other priorities. Given the platform message of the last campaign, onlookers would have anticipated that a Thompson Government would have moved with haste on the matter of transparency. The government does not have to implement Freedom of Information and Integrity Legislation to be transparent. They just need to make some files public such as, tell the public who owns the PSVs. Tell the public who is on the CLICO Oversight Committee. Tell the people the qualifications used to appoint Board Members. If the Prime Minister knows what happened within the precincts of Parliament concerning Estwick, there is no need to wait on the Speaker or Committee of Privileges – fire that person.
The time has come for Prime Minister David Thompson to shape the legacy of his first term in Office. So far, on the issue of transparency in Government and prosecuting persons fingered by them during the last election campaign, we score them 3 out of 10. The politics of collusion is alive and well. How else can the Government’s backing of Senator Liz Thompson’s candidature for the job of Executive Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change be explained? Only last month Government Senators viciously attacked her performance as Minister of Housing when a contract was awarded to her husband’s company during the last Government. She has also been attacked for overseeing the Greenland Landfill placement in an Eco-sensitive Scotland location. Finally, her role in the famous golden showers has also not escaped Government critics. Are we saying that she has under-performed as a Government Minister but we have no problem with recommending her for a job at the United Nations? Performance is performance is it not?
The politics of collusion is alive and well, we tell you!

I stopped reading at “Assuming office in 2007 in the wake of the Obama historic win which promised change and hope; so too did the David Thompson campaign.”
If the writer can’t get the basic facts right why should I be interested in his opinion? Stupse!
@Anonymous 2010/04/17 at 2:35pm
Why the aggression? Don’t you make mistakes? The fallibility of man remember?
Thanks anyway.
No aggression. But to be honest, I’m starting to lose patience with this blog. Too many howling factual mistakes in recent weeks. Need to do better! Fallible yes, but no need to start making a habit of it otherwise I might as well settle for the mediocrity of BFP or Bourne’s sorry excuse for a blog or even the mainstream media. Believe it or not, I actually expect better of BU.
In that case feel free to list the factual errors when you see them. BU has always and remain receptive to feedback.
For the record you can list the factual errors you have come across.
Annonymous
How can you adjudicate on the contents of the article with out reading it in its entirety. Seems that it is fairly balanced to me..
But then on BU the thing is to “give pressure” and to “challenge”.
At any rate, even at its worse BU is still better than anything in the local media.
With your degree in science and maths you have a reponsibility to maintain or lift the standards
Remember to whom much is given, much is required.
QUOTE –
“There is no doubt the perception by the Barbados electorate that the Barbados Labour Party had become a fat and corrupt party played a significant part in their defeat. That disgust by the populace was enough to overcome the fear of voting for an untested David Thompson, a man whose reputation had been tainted by the early 90s period when he served in the infamous Sandiford ‘8% Cut’ administration. Not to forget the wrestle between himself and Mascoll for leadership of the DLP which had the potential of propelling the Barbados system of government into a tail-spin and which still has cause for Kellman and Estwick to sit uncomfortably behind Prime Minister Thompson>”
……END QUOTE…………>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
I do not agree with the above statement
The DLP WON BEACUSE IT WAS A THIRD TERM FOR THE BLP AND THE PEOPLE IN BARBADOS ARE LIKE THAT , ESPECIALLY THE WOMEN -They get tired of you for nothing-Its a woman thing and women with foolishness now have a lot of say and influence over weakened and emanciated MEN,
Women does just get up one time so and declare that they ‘tired of this and they tired of that’ . “*They tired seeing Owen Arthur or whoever on their TV and they want to see somebody else.*” It is as simple as that -Simple !!!
—-you better tbelieve that. If this were not the case the BLP would still be in power–
Simple !!
—you dont have to accept it but it is accurate.
Any man that has lived with a woman knows that a woman is always changing up the house moving around things, changing up the arrangement of the bedroom, living room e.t.c. -throwing out things that she considers ‘old’ even though these things might still have utility . It is true–yuh better believe it.
It is women who are throwing away their old parents because women are on their career path and cannot be bothered. The society has come to a point where these women who should be at home taking care of people, young and old (babies , toddlers , pre-teens and the old ) are out to work competing with men.THESE WOMEN ARE THE AUTHORS OF MASH UP AND BUY BACK. if an electric clothes iron is not working they throw it in the garbage when all it might need is a change of the power cord.
A -similar thing with other appliances.
GOOD working Televisions are thrown in the garbage e.t.c.
I have used these simple examples to illustrate the mentality of women and as simple as these observations might be because they are not couched in a lot of theoretical and academic mumbo-jumbo , what I say is true ! true ! true !-
Simple !
So the lost by the BLP is nothing to do with DLP competence and strength. David Thompson is a waste of time and when he done with this country , he and his cohorts would have done serious damage with their nonsense, lies and brand of politics , never mind the shyte talk from Thompson- Luckily ONE TERM is all that he will get anyhow ——–not another day —-
Thompson and the DLP ???
A waste !
-Simple !!!
So ”””FIRE””” tell me where are we going to get with the BLP, I see you like talking SHIT TALK you soon shit on your self.
So ”””FIRE””” tell me what are we going to get with the BLP, I see you like talking SHIT TALK you soon shit on your self.
@ ”””FIRE”””
Hmmm…
If you must be so insulting to the women, go date a man then! Prison might be a good start for you…lots of virile men who work out! LOL!
Hahaahha, he is insulting women by stating his observation?? Maybe you are proving his point.
@ Anonymous
On the contrary, I like routine. I prefer GOOD things not to change if it is at all possible! If it ain’t broke, don’t try to fix it!
However, would you then come and insult me as being complacent?
Hahahahahahaha, he is generalizing, as are you. You two would make a lovely couple.
LMAO!
To AVARTARA GIRLEYL
Deal with the points that I made !
—————————–
That is the trouble with many women-
black guardish, ignorant missing the point, ad-hominem arguments and strong headed-never inventing anything but trouble BECAUSE THEY ARE NOT ABOUT PROBLEM SOLVING ONLY PROBLEM STARTING.
You cant make a statement about women unless they come with the foolish cry of ‘insulting women’.If the truth however harsh is insulting then be insulted.
IT IS TIME THAT MEN IN BARBADOS WAKE UP
We were not suffering under the BLP .We are now suffering under the F-DLP,
”””FIRE””” PUN THE F -DLP asses
cost of living up
people getting lay off from government offices
same shyte that Owen saved wunna assholes from in 1994 wunna gone and put wunnaselves back in the same hole.
Every shyte the DLP mashing up- even Crop Over
I know some DLP supporters who have openly said that the DLP doing shyte and every nite pon TV talking a bunch ‘o’ shyte —still campaigning ??. The TV thing is nonsense every nite—-Tired ‘o’ de shyte
I am going to be very glad to see the back of the DLP
really———–
-Simple !!!
A FRIGGING WASTE ~
I am very Specific .
I am not generalizing about one shyte !
That is a trap you trying to set for somebodyand a trap door for you to escape at the same time when yuh come talking about generalizing. over 90% is good enough for mean to say women.and mean ALL –you want something to quibble bout ?
quibble bout dah !
Fire
If you are a BLP supporter and dissing women like that what are you saying about your leader?
I think you are also dishonest in your arguments that bajan women voted out the BLP for change sake.
The BLP supporters keep insulting the intelligence of Barbadians by saying that Barbadians were foolish in voting out the BLP
You are forgetting the many things Barbadians young and old were putting up with and waiting for a chance to vote the party out.
1 The arrogance of the Prime minister
2 The influx of Caribbean persons into Barbados supported by the government
3 The get rich attitude of the ministers
4The cost over runs on every conceivable project
5 The Prime minister receiving a cheque in his name and cashing it for the party
6 Clyde Mascoll moving from an opposition leader to a government minister, the first anywhere in the world.
Some person else could add the rest.
FAIRPLAY
YOU ARE WAY OFF BASE
you missed the point completely -study yuh head !!
You are going to say that I dissing women.
you need to study yuh head
———————————
Those 6 points that you mentioned even if all of them were true –this country was doing well——-
There was absolutely no need to change the government-none ~
change to David Thompson and a band of wild boys—-
guns in parliament and all
man —–be off do ~
Fire
I also recognise that you are getting desperate. You are shouting, cursing and really making yourself a nuisance on the blog.
Are you one of those who fed at the trough and now the money has run out and want to get back at it so fast.
Chill a little.
Your time will come again but I hope that FOI and integrity legislation are in place when you get back so that we can lock up some of you in that ridiculously price prison.
David I think you should warn him about his language on the blog.
well you can call me a supporter of truth
politically I am supporting PDC
I dont like the lies of the DLP
and I hate to hear people vilfying other people
Owen Arthur and the BLP did a lot for this country
They were in for 3 terms , it was expected that a 4 th term would be ticklish and the peop-le just wanted change –not change for any real reason.
Stop trying to manufacture reasons in the DLP favour for a DLP win at elections -a DLP Government that came to power as surprised as anybody else that they won when all they expected were a few more seats.
Anyhow the DLP is a perfect perfect Government doing everything correct and running the country well fulfilling all their promises, declaring their assets, finding work for people, reducing the unemployment to 0 %, reducing the cost of living, banning music from the ZRs and minibuses, having ITAL in place
collecting the cell phone tax and the tax on lottery winnings, importing fruits from Dominca, giving duty free cars to Public Officers, firing David Estwick, giving Kellman a ministry. All these things have done and the DLP deserves another term————-in opposition !!!——–
Simple !!!!!
Fire
We were not doing so well in 2006 and 2007. We were living the good lie. We just borrowed a lot of money to keep up our living beyond our means lifestyles.
So you were prepared to watch all kinds of wrongs perpetuated and let them past because you perceived we were doing well.
I am a person who comes into contact with many Barbadians and I do not see the suffering you are always talking about.
Things are rough for some persons now but it was rough for them in the last 14 years also.
I have some problems with this government. Like how can they nominate the woman who put a dump in our national park to an environmental position in the world? I believe they should be voted out for that. You basically said she was a fraud in all of her contract dealings and now you nominated her for a top position in the UN.
This tells me that politician making sport at we.
Actually Fair Play, Bush Tea sees nothing wrong with sending Liz to the UN. This may be a master stroke.
The UN is the second biggest waste of time and money in the last 100 years. It has been infiltrated and hijacked by a bunch of scamps with hidden agendas.
Its various agencies are all just expensive centers for promoting globalization, homosexuality, feminism and greed – mostly through bribery and graft – It is in fact nothing more than a convenient tool of the Illuminati……
Liz is probably well suited for the position.
@ ”””FIRE”””
“IT IS TIME THAT MEN IN BARBADOS WAKE UP”
Man Fire, why don’t you leave the ‘men’ alone nuh? … and the women too….
What men wake up what??!!
…wake up and realize that reality is a nightmare? that they are all a bunch of eunuchs?
Where you see these ‘men’ that you want to wake up? you mean the sissy males we got bout here? … frighten for their children and controlled by mixed up women?
Why you don’t let the people sleep nuh!!!? stuuuuppppsss!!
You know what a MAN is ””FIRE”’?
….a man is a being made in the image of God. Tell me when last you see someone like that!!
Can you please refer to the bunch of sleeping jokers bout here as ‘males’.
…and what you expect the poor women to do in the absence of real men? obviously they got to try a thing..
Owen ya shoulda never bring in so much ‘non bajans’ to compete with the working class. We vote is count, a non bajan elite class is ok because we don’t see them as a treat to our standard of living. But your ‘elite class’ want to much. Wanna should know better, maintain or better we standard of living to keep the peace you have.
They are other ways to get more service for you money.(though more difficult/ expensive)
And ya shoulda never sell we bank.
@Fire i see some merit in the point your making, but how do you think it get so? Is there a scientific reason? How women get in power? Can you bring numbers to aid your arguments? And you surely don’t think all women that bad?
LOL
BUSH TEA
LOL LOL LOL
@READY DONE
just one point
Guyanese came in but yet the un-employment rate was down—
——————————————————————-
I remember well it was the plight of Bajan men driven away by over-ambitious, demanding , hard to reason with , INFLEXIBLE AND UNFORGIVING BAJAN women who were driven to the arms of Guyanese women.
———————————————————
Women build houses and live alone -Men build houses and put women in them. Because women were gaining more control through their feminine wiles and building more houses the demand for artisans was high and the pool of artisans were not enough to service Barbados’ needs.
It came to a situation where artisans started to rip off some of these same women not because they wanted to do so but due to the fact that women know very little about anything but want to push their noses in everything nowadays –’not knowing their place’ and causing confusion and stress throughout the workplace and throughout society in general–
Believe me , it is True !
Whether you accept it or not
This ripping off of, especially women, in the society simply because of a lack of artisans was manifested in such areas as artisans taking money and not finishing the work, overcharging and other unprofessional behaviour. The solution was to bring in Guyanese artisans who were prepared to work cheaper if not better. Together with the desire of Barbadian men for ‘Love’ , the increase of Guyanese in Barbados became evident and pronounced.
In any case Guyanese have been coming to Barbados for donkey years and trading with Bajans.
Things seem to be heating up before the sitting in the House of Assembly on Tuesday next week. According to media reports Dale Marshall has reported the matter to the Police with much fanfare. Why? We don’t know if they have no jurisdiction in the matter. Since BU broke this story we have been in wait mode. Let us see how it plays out next Tuesday.
I won’t even begin to address the many long and totally ridiculous comments made about bajan women in response to this article, as it simply seems to petty and weak minded a position for such a serious topic.
The elites did well in the Owen years (fact) and have been successful at convincing non-elites that they too where in good shape. They used economic growth figures which often did not translate into tangible benefits for the working man, as part of their “MO”. The “bait and switch” approach has in large part been successful and a major component of the BLP brain washing campaign, as you can see from BLP responses to a wide range of topics on BU.
The reality of our situation is that the impact of the recent global recession has pulled the curtain to expose the harm done in the Owen “so called” good years. Economic harm that now leaves the working class, yet again, to pay the price as financially fit elites ride these tough times out.
Honestly speaking the current PM has been struggling with being the transformational figure he campaign on, but is trying. He has taken a “soft” handed approach to bringing about real reforms, when what is needed is a “hard” handed approach, with the bajan working family in mind and at his back.
Our loyalty should be to country first, BARBADOS, not DLP or BLP… We should not be so rigid in our thinking that we ignore solutions to our challenges that may exist in both camps.
@ David
Don’t you love our leaders – especially the political ones?
Maybe this topics should have been “the politics of confusion”. Can you believe that we have reached this stage of economic meltdown – made even worse now by – (of all things), a volcano in Iceland- immediately after a somber Central bank Governor essentially told us that his best plan was to borrow some more money and hope that tourism picks up soon…..
….and these people playing cowboy and indians in parliament?
BTW, I wonder what Marshall reported to the police…? “please Mr. commissioner, he David Estwick curse me and threaten to beat me …. and he had a bulge in he pants…”????
It is obvious that tourism IS NOT going to pick up anytime soon. What is plan B? when do they plan to work on that – and also on a plan C?
This is a clear case of clutching at straws….. and if our leaders are drowning what is to become of us…?
The Speaker could really do us all a favour by giving both of them guns and then locking them in a room for 5 minutes.
@Bush Tea
You acid man!
The truth is by now we should have some soft plan, even in the face of the economic storm to quote the Governor. Frankly the BU household is very uncomfortable in light of the known strategy of government. On top of it to borrow Austin’s words we need to think Barbados and leave the adversarial politics aside for the moment. Yes we know some will rush in now to say Westminster system of politics breeds an adversarial approach. In extraordinary times extraordinary actions are required.
See what I mean? I pointed out an error and it was changed to this: “Assuming office in 2008 in the wake of the Obama historic win which promised change and hope, so too did the David Thompson campaign”.
2007 changed to 2008. Almost there David. Try again and see if you can get it right. Hint: what does “in the wake of” mean?
Bush Tea
Wulhloss Bushie,yuh acid today doh.
Put them in a room with gun for 5 minutes?,wuhloss,wuhloss.
@Anonymous 2010/04/18 at 2:23pm
For some reason we had the chronology of events regarding Thompson and Obama elections all wrong in the old brain. Thanks for your patience. The sentence was removed because the meaning has now become irrelevant.
So wanna looking fuh miracles.
Instead of waiting for Government, why don’t you all come up with ideas
to create jobs since we live in a capitalist society and we are still in a
world recession.
Free ideas.Manufacture Cosmetics from plants and fruit grown
in Barbados.
Package flying fish ready seasoned. I buy packs of frozen flying fish
in Canada and would buy more if they were seasoned.
I gine an get someting to eat. uh gone.
@ David and Mash Up
…..Sorry ’bout the pH level.
However it is not as bad as it sounds, in my considered opinion, all that would be required after the 5 minutes would be janitorial services. LOL
How can these people not see the seriousness of the situation that we face? Do we have to wait until chaos is fully upon us?
Do they understand the role that leaders take upon themselves?
The role of an opposition is even more critical at such times. They need to be making serious inputs into the discussion. So far, Mia has been talking pure nonsense about non issues….. like some 5th form school girl.
For the sake of Barbados the BLP needs to get rid of her ASAP and don’t bring back Arthur either – unless he can explain that cheque that he cashed (while keeping a straight face).
This brings me to Dale Marshall.
Here is an opportunity for a new start for this important institution and what do we get? a ‘Mia – like’ issue about some ‘incident’ with a old fat government minister.
What nonsense. The fact that Marshall did not put some lashes in Estwick’s behind right there and then creates some concerns in bush tea’s mind about his readiness. But then to make it worse by going around crying fowl like a little girl is pathetic.
Bush tea’s position is either beat the man there and then, or move on….quietly.
It is clear to the bushman that all these people are just too soft to deal with the situation that face us. Thompson wants to offend no one…..so no progress in FOI as promised. No progress with charging those who stole our money like it was theirs – from Hardwood to Veco.
…and all we get from the opposition is the same faces that represented the suspect issues awaiting charges…..
……and wanna wonder why the bushman acid….?
Oops David,
the other anonymous has a point. Obama won in November, 2008 AFTER the DLP won in January, 2008.
@Bush Tea
It is fascinating how the most unlikely (presumably) of places can affect Barbados. This is the second time that events in Iceland are having a deleterious effect on the economy of Barbados. The first time was when three Icelandic banks failed. There were projects in Barbados that had to be stopped as these were being financed by the Icelandic banks. Now there is the erupting volcano which has stopped air traffic in most of Europe. Historical records indicate that this volcanic eruption could go on for at least 3 months!
Wunna did not train Marshall well at you-know-where! I hope he was not a cadet too.
Look Hants, Bush Tea in a bad mood today hear? you better watch youself…. LOL
Which organization you know of- where the leaders are clueless and ineffective, but the members ‘came up with ideas’ and saved the day…?
Do you understand the role and influence of leadership?
You think we can just juck 10 flying fish into a plastic bag and send it off to Canada? All these things require leadership, organization and administration.
The only difference in a recession is that the need for good leadership is MUCH more critical. As Bushy said already, any idiot can steer a boat in calm whether, but when the storm winds come …. unless we want to all drown, all idiots step back!!
We have heard the call in program moderators/producers using the Hants’ approach which will only stifle feedback from John Public. If something is negatively affecting John Public, why should s/he be or feel pressured to deliver a solution at the same time s/he complains? Agree with BT; let the people with brains and who earn the big money come up with the solutions. That is why they are in the positions.
Man when people want to justify shit they would talk more shit.
AUSTIN your diatribe is exactly that -shit
You cannot convince me of anything
The English from whom we have learnt has perfected the art of telling lies to fool unsuspecting people.
You can say anything to justify your argument but as far as I am concerned -yours is mere speculation.
The Barbados economy has always been a challenge
You and Thompson sound like little girls complaining about this and that. Get on with the job and stop whining . Goverments take over from Governments and should govern. It sounds sissy to be constantly blaming Owen Arthur and it is unfair comment to boot because the man did well
Nothing that you write will convinced be otherwise because the truth is there. People like you are too bias.
To ignore the impact of women on situations is to bury your head in the dust and to deny that women exists and that they wield cosiderable influence on society. YOU WOULD BE A JACKASS TO IGNORE THIS REALITY.
Man Bush Tea I doan have to read an spell fuh you.
I am trying to make a point that Bajans need to create their own employment
other than sell fry chiken an pie from a van long side de road when times get rough.
I just gave two ideas.
Manufacture a line of cosmetics using plants and fruit grown in Barbados.
The pack of 5 flying fish I paid $6.99cad IN CANADA would be worth $10cad if seasoned.
The Tidal Brand is already well packaged for marketing and appears to be selling well
in Canada so “enhancing” the product would be easy.
@David
What Hants approach you talking bout? I have no problem with
wanna cuttin de Guvment tail lef rite an centre (or center lol)
but I sometimes let my personal situation govern my input.
I am self employed and have to find a way to survive regardless
of the leadership of Government.
Now David and Bush Tea carrying sharing licks and I will carry on
trying to find a way to bring a “NEW” business to Barbados that
will employ some of my Bajan brethren.
While wanna down dey beatin up pun one nudda,
Barbados is still generally considered to have weathered
the recession very well under a stable government.
Aren’t we all in this together? and if someone has a idea or a solution what’s wrong with that to voice it or maybe present it to a government official for futher study! Hants is being generous with his idea and some of us are rejecting it without giving it a chance.Isn’t that what politicians do when they are trying to tear down the opposition.We the people should not follow their example.
Barbadians do not possess the self confidence to acheive what you have outlined above MR HANTS,
Barbadians’ self confidence has been undermined by years of slavery and indoctrination. Read the post on this blog immediately above this post. Barbadians especially the influential ones do not have the confidence to even dress properly to ‘suit’ the climatic conditions in the tropical environment in which we live
Dominated by the English for all the years of slavery and thereafter -emancipation, we have be left to believe that we have no value and nothing that we do is valuable. Today I heard a caller on the call-in program telling the moderator and Steve Blackette that we should export -WUKKING -UP. Steve Blackette and Matthew Farley together with the Permanent Secretary-a woman whose name escapes me now laughed at the man. Steve Blackette asked mockingly, if he was going to package it in a plastic bag and sell it. Well this is the kind of mentality that we have here in Barbados. If the Europeans aint say it can be done , well it cant be done But I have news for Steve Blackette and all others —THIS PACKAGING OF WUK-KING UP IS BEING DONE RIGHT NOW as we move around. I was shocked when I SAW AN INFORMERCIAL advertising WUKKING-UP as a form of exercise that you can buy in a package of CDs ha! ha !—–They call it a name I dont remember but it is a Caribbean name that reflects Rhythm and dancing. I nearly fell down when I saw that. I could not believe it !!!!
So we laugh and scorn and mock at Black people , undermined their confidence while people make money off of the very things that we failed to use. This even happens to our lovely country which we take for granted not realising that people would like to carry way BARBADOS from us.
We have done this from slavery where we mock and laugh at everything that black people in Barbados bring to the table. We mek sport at people, we tease and fatigue people and make it very hard for people to achieve anything. In short we undermine their confidence. This was a practice during the slavery and subjugation that we passed through. This has led to so much evil in this Barbadian Society , you would not believe.
But believe it
cause it is true.
It is discrimination, that is what it is and it is manifested in how certain people respond when black people bring anything to the table. It is the reason why a Black man would go to a bank with a brillant idea only to be rejected and then sometime later ‘somebody else’ is financed to implement the same idea.
It is the reason why people used to say and that we have no culture, why people would laugh and mock at you if you attempt to do anything outside the box -if you attempt to do anything —outside what the Europeans said was to be done. You are nothing therefore you have no culture-you are not people , you are savages , monkeys and property (slaves ) ,
How can you have ‘culture’ ?
People have culture ! -You are nobody ! (and we have heard that expression) so you have no culture. So how can you have a music form ? Spouge music -what is that ” It sound like horses trotting , it is monotinous —it is this , it is that —-in short it is not music—away with spouge–that is not music ——–embrace something from outside—–look to ‘overseas’
In the same way your music was condemned as ‘devil music’ banja –no good. Steel pan was banned, Landship was scorned and mocked and Tuk -the music that is part of it not elevated nor accepted. Eddy Grant tried to package it as RINGBANG for marketing purposes and what did we get—-pure negativity—-why ?? we have no confidence in our selves. So tell me how we gwine produce and market something. Do you know how many people have been discouraged from attaining their dreams due to negative comments
How can you be an artist ? what is that ?-go and get a job working for the “man” –he controls you—-you want autonomy ? No ! GET A COLLAR and TIE job
Work your ass off, never become anything in the company——-massa’s sons who are not half as bright hold the top positions with all the perks and what do you get after years building up the business-a rocking chair–go home you are no more use to me—enter the next victim.
So our confidence has been undermined and undermined and undermined and we are still in the process of being undermined. The Black people who are in positions have adapted and adopted the bad attitudes handed down from Slavery and used them to treat BLACKS bad bad bad and this is true because white people in this country in this present day are still treated by BLACKS with awe and respect . There is a marked difference in how service-people for example, and people in society in general respond to a whiteman or an Indian-Test it and see !
And get this (and this comment will see me being called weak -minded and insulting to women but I aint care) WOMEN are the greatest offenders when it come to poor service in service areas. If yuh black, if yuh aint dressed to their satisfaction or possess a face considered black and ugly and devoid of Eurocentric notions of beauty-you are treated like dirt and discriminated against. White women cum to BARBADOS and posed off with black Rasta -rough looking men. do you know how many women ask what she see in he doh ???. Get this and GET VEX
–my heart beating with excitement here !!! ha! ha!
WOMEN -Bajan Women are the repositories of all the negativity and discrimination passed down from slavery and they display it everyday in the way they deal with people-their men, family and other people in the society. They hold on to it and the worse thing is that they now have more power than before. An old man told me that women dont ‘think’ they ‘feel’.
If women are not controlled this society will pay a great price.
LESBIANISM will thrive——-the logical conclusion to that is destruction of the Human Race
If yuh doubt me
Ask me
I dont expect any support for my comments and I dont care for people are blind and cannot see or refuse to see.
HANTS
I however support your idea
200% support
What a comment ””FIRE”’
That should be a separate post by itself.
Fire you is kill Ready with the harassment of the women.
I got a solution for you. Let the MEN blame themselves. Why? because we is the leaders so we is who to blame, if everyone just sit down and point fingers nutting ent gin get fix.
The children hard ears? Blame the fathers them ent strict enough.
The wife horning? Blame the husband them ent doing na home work.
The road want fixing? blame the men cause them is play to much dominoes for the people money.
Once we know where the problems lie we could fix them, plus the women ent going to ever accept responsibility for nutting bad.
If we except the blame we could accept the glory when it get fix.
The politics of collusion continues. Hamilton Lashley announces who will be returning to the fold.
@ David
What a travesty!! How can the government seriously welcome Hammie into their fold and still cleaning up a mess at UDC?
Interesting to listen to Patrick Hoyos asking the hard questions on the evening call in program about whether the ABC Highway project was given out to tender. One problem, it’s almost three years too late but better late than never.
Hoyos is late to the party but better late than never. Many as many of us have been asking the same questions on the blogs for a couple of years and have yet to hear an adequate explanation on the system which determined the selection of the Principals responsible for the construction of the ABC Highway or the Prison.
Those two were arguably the biggest projects undertaken by the previous Gov’t and the whole process was as clear as mud.
Enuff
How can the government seriously welcome Hammie into their fold and still cleaning up a mess at UDC?
The politics of inclusion was good enough for Owen so David seems to be taking advantage of it but he should remember “Dog luck ent cat wun”
I think I gwine call Hammie, I got a clammy cherry tree to cut down yuh know dem does look like ackee.
Off Topic
Wuhloss!!!! Wuh looka muh crosses!!! Barbados Today is reporting that Bjerkmann is no longer in Barbados, that he left by private plane today.
So wah happen to de policemen that was supposed to guarding him to “arrest” him if he tried to leave de island?
Bjerkman got all lawyered up and de Police couldn’t even ask him his name.
Wuhloss!! Wuhloss!! Wuhloss!!!
I just tell de missus dat if I get into any trubble in Buhbadus get Johnny to represent me, I don’t want any anybody else, Johnny or nutting doing.
De rich get justice de poor get prison
Over to you Freundel
DAVID
“If the Prime Minister knows what happened within the precincts of Parliament concerning Estwick, there is no need to wait on the Speaker or Committee of Privileges – fire that person”
I know that you are not serious. Look at it this way.
DAVID is accused of some wrongdoing by his next door neighbor. The matter is reported to the authorities. The case is working it’s way through the proper channels.
The owner of a blog who heard about it reported, “there is no need to wait on the Judge and Jury—— lock him up”.
YOU ARE BECOMING QUITE REDICULOUS.
”””””’FIRE””””””
With regard to your post sent at April 18 2010, we say in your own words, brilliant.
The PDC seconds the suggestion made by person going by the pseudonym – Bush Tea – that that post become a seperate lead thread on BU.
PDC
We finally got to know this week end who is on the oversight committee. Any comments on the inclusion of 2 retired partners from the audit firm who audits the Barbados accounts of the clico group?
I’m a bit surprised that there have been no comments on this blog about the news in yesterday’s Nation Newspaper that showed, with quotes and copious information, that the VECO contract was awarded after a COMMITTEE recommended that award following a process where committee members each awarded points on various aspects of the tenders. The article does not hint in any way that the tendering process was overruled by a minister but that the contract was awarded to the tender which was unanimously awarded the highest points in the competition with the local consortium which also tendered for the Prison project. An interesting point made in the article was that a current Government Minister in the Finance Ministry was a leading member of the technical committee that recommended the award to VECO in the last administration.
Given that for sometime now it has become an act of faith on the Blogs, including this one, that there were significant infelicities by the then minister, it seems that perhaps the major purveyors of the stories suggesting such should explain to us how the votes by the committee mesh with the current legends of past Ministerial malfeance in the Veco affair and the process used by the Minister(s) to award the contract and profit from that award. Perhaps those persons could also explain how the current Minister in the Ministry of Finance could have obviously sanctioned an award which his current government (and the Central bank with which he also worked) is now portraying or hinting as being a wasteful drainage on our economy.
Oops! I think I might have made a mistake above. I don’t have the newspaper with me so I can’t check now but It was probably the 3S contract and not the VECO one that was the subject of the Nation Article yesterday.
@Checkit-Out
Do you want to guess who broke the story of the shenanigans about 3S in Barbados?
David it was on this site way before elections and weeks before the Nation opted to publish it, they seemed to need the clearance of the BLP to allow it in the press, I think if you revisit this matter that some documents were produced featuring the court action in the UK , Danos and his Jamaica Kick Back Agreement.
It was brought to BU first and exposed by BU first.
Am I not correct David ?
Just wanted to establish the point of credibility.
The blogs literally begged the Nation and the Advocate newspapers to cover this matter.
It was only mentioned when it became an embarrassment not to do so.
The fact that the Nation is investigating VECO and other matters now the trail is cold is piss poor journalism.
Maybe it would be useful to repost the opening salvos of the story and the Court Documents that were produced at the time.
Here is the September 2007 blog which asked some questions about 3S. A search of BU by inputting ’3S’ in the Search Box will bring a ton of blogs. We have come a long way since then.
Hi David
Ignore my second post last night. Looks like alzheimers was threatening.
Despite the fact that the Nation is somewhat late in following up on this story and good reporting should have revealed the facts earlier that wade gibbons is now reporting. Isn’t it worthy of comment, after taking the kudos for breaking the sleazy story of Veco and its tentacles across the region, that a current Minister in the Ministry of Finance was a member of the committee that overwhelmingly recommended the award of the contract to VECO above the submission of the local consortium and that his personal vote was overwhelmingly in favour of Veco (if we are to believe the Nation story). Might not this also tell us that there might be another side to the blatant corruption story as pushed by the blogs and which I personally believed?
To try to explain, A contract of the magnitude of the prison contract has to go to tender. A committee of knowledgeable experts are tasked with evaluating the tenders received. The individual scores of the experts are tallied. The bid with the highest final score is normally submitted to the accounting officer of the lead Ministry concerned with a recommendation for that bid to be awarded the contract. Usually the best bid technically and monetarily is given the nod. It would appear that the committee that Wade Gibbons is reporting on was a group of honourable, presumably non-political, eminent persons with a mix of technical, financial and legal expertise, therefore their recommendation would have had significant weight and would have been somewhat difficult for a Minister or Accounting officer to overturn.
What is passing strange is that the committee all gave the highest marks to Veco in the face of a competing bid by a high powered consortium of Bajan firms and a British firm which had very significant expertise and an excellent track record on building prisons, yet which made the very basic and fatal mistake of not providing information on “capital cost, interest rate on the lease, or maintenance cost. ”
It is quite possible that Veco tricked the committee and the then Minister responsible for the prison project. But given the membership of the committee it would seem that for a minister to overrule their considered recommendation would have been at his/her peril.
The apparent leak of the details of the recommendations for the award of the prison project seems to suggest that at least the blogs should work out the points at which the suggested infelicities occured and show how it was done. Was there a conspiracy by a significant number of the committee members to recommend the award of the project to veco? How did the current Minister in the Ministry of Finance come to make such an egregious mistake? Were the infelicities strategically planned for later, after the project had started, and be related primarily to manipulating cost overruns? If so, did the committee do a good job re. due diligence research on veco and the consortium as well?
To repeat, I don’t think that the revelations from wade Gibbons deserve to be swept under the carpet. Who knows, there may be much more in this story than meets the eye.
@Checkit-Out
If the Gibbons story is true Boyce needs to answer some questions, it obviously becomes a credibility issue. The truth is BU does not run with Nation stories, we will wait for cross-confirmation. The Nation does not show BU any respect and we have reciprocated. in the interim if you feel to submit a view words on the matter feel free.