How fat do elitist bank accounts have to get;
How small does the middle class have to shrink;
How many tourist do we have to loose;
How high do food prices have to get;
How high do taxes have to reach;
How poor does civil services have to get;
How much Bajan sovereignty do we have to loose;
How much IMF funds do we have to borrow;
What will it take for "we" the people of Barbados to wake up. What will it take?

Advertisement

60 Responses to What Will It Take My Fellow Bajans

1. A GREECE-STYLE SITUATION IS WHAT IT WILL TAKE!!!

Remember, when the creature comforts no longer exist – then folks will BURN DOWN the city, the heights and terraces, the yachts and the marinas…

It will be no different to ATHENS!!!

2. Bajans were known for years to be passive but mentalities are changing..leave everything in the Creators hands some will tell you,but the youths are talking with bullets,i would not want to be a lieing,thieving politician in Barbados when SHTF because as Vybz Kartel would say it will be “Not Nice”.All it would take is for a whistle blower to expose the scams of the last administration to the present one and you will see a difference in Bajans,withholding info from the public is vital for the Elites to survive.

3. Barbados is corrupt to the core that is the next problem,a lot of snakes in suits and people in the know keeping quiet to live lavishly,the people will not be nice to you either when SHTF..remember that.

4. @TB et al

Greece should form an interesting case study for the Barbados government given certain parallels and in the context of an EU/CSME arrangement. Maybe you can write 800 lines to provoke discussion.

5. What exactly is it the article is asking us to wakeup and so?

6. Crossroads

May I add..
    Will people have to die before we move vendors off the highway.
    Will people need to die before we control our ZRs.
    Will people need to die before we recognize GANGS and their culture are not needed in BIM.

When will our Justice system and Police grow BIG BIG BALLS and enforce the law no matter who you are.

7. Donald Duck Esq

where is the minister of finance these days?

8. B. O'llocks

Almost 50% of the people in Barbados are not complaining because their party is in power. And if it does anything unbetold,that the last government did,then they would tell you more or less that it is justified.So rotates the wheel. We will always find ourselves in this situation until the people of this country wake up and realise that the people we put in parliament to represent us are our employees,and not to allow them to turn the tables on us,deeming us beggars and good for a hand out.
    But its not only the government that we should be keeping our eyes on,but also the private sector. This weekend will see a big car rally in Barbados,sponsored mainly by the very merchants who charge us an arm and a leg daily when we do business with them. We the customers are really the ones who are financing these car sponsorships among a host of other activities centered around the Merchants of Bridgetown,and we ain’t saying a word, but will be out in our thousands to watch our rally dollars burn up.

9. Bonny Peppa

My concern is de condition a de roads dat we got to travel on daily man. De roads mashing up we vehicles yet road tax gone high as shoite. I travel through St. George from there by Brighton Plantation right out to Halton corner. Dat stretch of road is awful. They come and patch a few a de pot-wells wid tar or sumting so and by the next day or so, trouble again. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

B’OLLOCKS
    Ya in lie but ya know dat we mentality is dat ‘ya khan eat de money’. Such hogwash.
    I go to car racing ta check de fellas doe. I in got a clue bout car racing. :-)

10. Royalrumble

Donald Duck Esq ask, where is the minister of finance these days?

That’s the million-dollar question being asked these days. Not even the DLP’s hierarchy has offered an explanation on Thompson’s obvious absence from public view.

Ever since the Leader of the Opposition, Mia Mottley drop the bombshell about the $800.000.00 withdrawal by Parris from Clico and the blatant disrespect for the instruction, not to write any new business by the Supervisor of Insurance, Thompson has gone underground.

The policyholders and staff at Clico whom Thompson said he was protecting are eagerly waiting to hear from him especially in light of the most damaging piece of information coming out of Clico. How is it that poor ordinary policyholders in Clico can’t get their small investments out but the Chairman can get out over $1 million dollars? It is clear from all the evidence available that the Chairman of Clico got his money out with the assistance of his friend and Prime Minister Thompson.

Why should the taxpayers of Barbados be asked to bailout Clico for an additional 1000 policyholders when they are already saddled with high water rates, high fuel charges, high food cost, higher fees etc. In fact cost of living has continued to rise under this DLP Government and this bailing out of Clico, which will run into billions will further increase the cost of living to Barbadians.

How did Clico find itself in this state affair? Who spent Clico’s money and where? Why should we not have an idea as to why Clico has failed before taxpayers were ask to fork out our money?

On the Clico issue alone I am calling on David Thompson to resign as Minister of Finance and Prime Minister with immediate effect. His handling of the Clico issue has brought the office of Prime Minister into disrepute and has proven that as Minister of Finance to act in collusion with the Chairman of Clico Mr. Parris to breach the Insurance Act of Barbados and flout the decision of the Oversight Committee.

In essence I am calling on Thompson to heed the same advice he gave the BLP administration on the Harwood Housing Inc matter. Failing Thompson’s resignation the BLP should bring a no-confidence motion in the Thompson and the DLP. Additionally the BLP, upon coming to office should have a forensic audit done on Clico and the DPP should be ask to enforced the law.

11. @ Austin, “What will it take for ‘We’ the people of Barbados to wake up. What will it take?”

The answer to all of your relevant questions, is quite simple, yet evades most people.

“Righteousness EXALTS a *nation* But SIN is a reproach to any people.” (Prov. 14:34) emphasis added.

We are a Nation filled with SIN, can we expect Almighty God to favour us, and grant us His blessings in this condition? Greece is no different?

12. @DAVID

Nice piece of homework but time maybe against me at the moment…

By the way, it is now official today – PORTUGAL* is the latest country to implement GREEK-STYLE austerity measures…

It will be interesting to see how the Portuguese public handles this state of affairs…

Europe is in trouble and we all bidding on time in the hope that something magical will happen…

13. Johnny Postle

Bonny baby. I still wating fuh ya to respond to ma.

14. Listen to me Austin you want to know what it will take?

It will take for us as a people to demand that all politicians who have been theifing our money to be thrown to f*&k in jail! Who has the balls to do it?

It will take for us to realise that Barbados is a small dot HOWEVER we are not a dot of asses we know what it is to have nothing but still get something! Therefore, we know that we should hold all senior managers etc. responsible for the BS that they do!

I was watching CBC news yesterday and a farmer from St. Philip was at a lost as to how he will pay for the killing of his animals by 2 dogs. He went on to highlight the water rates and the little stupid f*&king pen that he is allowed to build on the ‘Guvment’s land’. Furthermore, he went onto say that other farmers are facing the same plight but are SCARED to come on TV for fear of being victimised!

THAT IS THE PROBLEM WITH US FOLKS WE SCARED!

But we would make our workmates name shite with the boss to get a position; or for no reason atalll. We curse we own family stink stink and don’t give a shite!

But when it come for you to represent yourself as a people:

WE SCARED!

That is what it will take Mr. Austin for us to demand JUSTICE, AND FAIRNESS FOR A CHANGE!

They do everything for the tourist man who come here for 2 f*&king weeks but me that is pay my blasted taxes can’t get nothing!

GET SOME BACKBONE BARBADIANS! THAT IS WHEN IT WILL END!!!!!!!!!!!

15. Technician

@ B. Ollocks….

When we go to car racing as spectators we patronise the small man who are the vendors looking to make a buck.
    Stages events are free and these vendors make some money.

16. I’m guessing the above questions are rhetorical and Austin is not really expecting a formal reply to how long he/she shall keep on suffering

DONALD BYRD – FALLIN’ LIKE DOMINOES

17. @anonymous & other

Being scared to speak out as a people is exactly what “they” are banking on…
    and I understand the pressure associated with putting oneself at risk of retaliation from government officials and others…. however some things in life are worth fighting and even dying for …

Mandela, Chi, Martin Luther King, Malcom X, Ghandi, …… and our own BUSSA knew and understood this …..

and certain folks in society

18. Where is WIV ? I am sure he can tell us where the PM is. He is always well informed.

19. Part of the problem in Barbados is the weak yellow livered Fourth Estate.

Case in point, we have a Prime Minister MIA and not one damn thing our Fourth Estate can do about it.

It shows the disrespect the politicos have for the Fourth Estate.

God help us!

20. Hi fellow citizens,

I just returned from St. Lucia where I watched the 1st T20 World Cup semi – final to be played in the Caribbean.

I am not into hiding as posited by Donal Duck !

21. Wishing In Vain

DLP Column: Well done, Minister Sealy!

Congratulations are in order for the Honourable Richard Sealy, Minister of Tourism. The Ministry and the Barbados Tourism Authority have done an excellent job in enhancing out tourism viability.

We were successful in hosting the Fireball Barbados Worlds 2010 and the Tourism Conference on Sustainable Development. We have on the cards the Mount Gay Rum Boatyard Regatta and the Sol Rally Barbados 2010, and we are in the final stages of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup Championships.

All these events have endorsed the quality of our tourism product. The Minister gave the assurance to the public that hosting the ICC World Twenty20 Champion- ships would be at a fraction of the cost of what taxpayers experienced three years ago. He promised the people of Barbados that the event would have the desired effect that it was intended to have – to encourage spending and expose the country’s product. This event would not mirror the lavish spending on the variety of contracts, which are still churning out bills as we speak today. The massive security contracts that led to our Police being searched by security persons who have the same powers of arrest as civilians on any day of the year would be a thing of the past.

The Owen Arthur administration trumpeted the ICC World Cup 2007 as the foreign exchange saviour to Barbados, stating that the public would be the direct beneficiaries of this grand strategy to transform this island into a host destination. The town was painted red as houses within the environs of the Oval had paint splashed on the front with the back left to the elements of nature. A Restoration Fund was put in place to assist in the upgrade of the housing stock in the New Orleans and the Pickwick Gap areas. A colonel of the army was even put in place to oversee this upgrade. A floating hotel at the price tag of nearly 30 million dollars was docked off shore, while homeowners were encouraged to build on additional rooms in an effort to reap the sweets of the influx of the promised visitors.

All of the above was done under the guise of supporting the success of the ICC World Cup 2007. Of course, we were aware of the calculated political intentions of the purported World Cup distortions. The political intentions of the last administration acted as a compass to inform their policy initiatives concerning the spending priorities for the World Cup financial fiasco. Barbadians were made to believe that the efforts were part of the conditions necessary to host the event, and that anything short of these requirements would have meant omission. The public now has the opportunity to judge from the current experience the true intentions of the Arthur World Cup 2007 debt trap. We are days away from the ICC Twenty20 Finals and life in Barbados goes on uninterrupted, with hotels experiencing bumper occupancy levels.

Minister Sealy has already highlighted the positive impact of the ICC Twenty20 Cricket Series. He indicated that the arrivals for the month of May will move pass the 10 000 mark. The Ministry has done an excellent job at integrating the international sporting activities around this period. All of this activity was undertaken at less than ten per cent of the cost to host the World Cup three years ago.

Yet the critics on the other side would want to give the public the impression that nothing is happening. The taxi drivers, vendors, hoteliers, restaurant owners, beach sports operators, tour operators and craft vendors are all witnesses of the stewardship of the Minister of Tourism. He has kept his word to be on the job and see that the sector is proactive and not responsive. To date, Minister Sealy has been a breath of fresh air as he is a man on the job and not a man looking for a job or a work permit.

Thank you, Minster Sealy! All of Barbados appreciates what you have done thus far. Keep up the good work!
    ǀ

22. I can see that Governments worldwide are following an Agenda and it will not benefit their citizens one bit,it’s called setting up your citizens for a One World Government.,think about it,people worldwide are fed up with the ruling governments in their country and want solutions to them,the future is looking so Satanic it is not funny.

23. It’s not just Barbados though these similar feelings are being felt worldwide.
    http://www.sott.net/articles/show/208425-The-Ever-More-Pervasive-Darkness-of-this-World

24. Donald Duck Esq

WIV

If the Minister is so good, could he let us know why he has not produced the much talked about tourism master plan and what has happened with the restructuring of the BTA? These issues were talked about more than 2 years ago.

Also what has happened about the proposed changes to the tourism development act which was announced in the 2008 budget?

What about this comment from the 2008 Budget “The expansion of the luxury tourism market will include the construction and opening every two years of a major internationally-branded luxury hotel and associated branded residences catering to the five-star and ultra luxury tourism market.”

Any one heard of any new hotel opening two years after the 2008 budget regardless of it being 5 stars or otherwise!!!!!!

25. Both the Damned DLP and Blasted BLP must be smashed in this country!!

Many Barbadians in esp. the 70s and 80s refused to do exactly the same then, and here is it that now in 2010, the broad masses and middle classes of younger generations – through no fault of theirs substantially – are being made to suffer very terribly the very adverse effects of the atrocities, malevolences, evil conspiracies and ill-designs of the DLP and BLP.

For ever since the time of the death of the late great Errol Barrow in 1987 – they have been systematically destroying or undermining many of the important national subnational affairs of this country ( like avenues catering to upward social mobility for the many) that he and so many other outstanding sons and daughters of this land helped to fashion and strengthen and transform for the better when they were alive and in their prime; or when they have not been doing so, ever since that time too, they have been at the sidelines standing idly by casually allowing, et al, whilst many other substantial treasured affairs traditions of this country (family, community, etc. )to be degradated and defiled by some dishonourable people – from here and overseas.

What is so unfortunate but paradoxical however is that some of those people who refused to help rid this country of the DLP and BLP in the 80s, are now some of those who in their 50s and 60s and 70s are sick, tired, fed up, and frustrated with these parties for many reasons including that they are no longer serving any real political purposes.

That is one reason why the PDC, many of our supporters and so many others in this country are NOT going to be like them now or years from now.

We have long studied DLP/BLP politics since the demise of Mr. Barrow and we have concluded that these factions do NOT any longer have the fundamental interests of esp the very productive of those of the broad masses and middle classes of people at heart.

To the contrary, this present crop of leaders and principals of these factions have the fundamental interests of their own selves, those of many of their families, and friends, the fundamental interests of their corporate business and foreign cliques at heart.

And, any leaders and principals of any parties in Barbados, and – by extension – any parties in Barbados that slavishly consistently promote and secure the fundamental interests of themselves/those leaders and principals OVER the very fundamental interests of the people, the public and nation of Barbados MUST invite many calls from within this country for their own complete political banishment from the political landscape.

Hence, as many people as possible in Barbados must answer to these calls by doing whatsoever they can within the four corners of the constitution of Barbados to assist in breaking this foolish demeaning despicable DLP/BLP cycle.

And whatever energies, services and strategies we have, we are going to help do so.

And we are not going to help do so by mainly criticizing these miserable DLP BLP factions, but also by presenting ourselves to many people in Barbados as a growing alternative force with a vision, a series of action plans programs for this country.

We love this country and we desire nothing but forward progress in many areas of life in this country.

So, any social or political group or demographic portion of the population that searches for a brighter better country, must plan for the political ruin and deaths of certain organizations.

Again, the political cycles of life.

Thus, there must be a brighter and better tomorrow for this country – without the DLP and BLP – who – outside of TAXATION, INTEREST RATES, and most of the other things that we have been rightfully fulminating against – are TWO OF THE BIGGEST NATIONAL PROBLEMS THIS COUNTRY FACES.

Both DLP and BLP are NO examples of what parties ought to be like in this country. NONE whatsoever!!!

More than anything else both these jackass parties – who together number less than 800 strong – are along with their fundamental business monied connections – like human barriers – all be they removable though – deliberately blocking the greater progress and development of the vast majority of the people of this country.

We say, smash the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

PDC

26. Deletion – in paragraph 2, line 8 – the following from that part of the line:”, et al, whilst”.

Thank You.

PDC

27. @PDC

Do you have an interest in Barbados Allegiance?

Curious why it would list other blogs and not BU.

28. Opportunities big and small
    You won’t solve all your problems today, but you can take care of one or two of them. You probably won’t get all the way to your destination, but you can definitely make some progress.

Every day offers numerous opportunities to make progress. Make use of as many of them as you can.

Steady, persistent effort may not seem like it’s having much effect at the time you’re doing it. Keep going though, because over time those little steps forward can take you a long, long way.

Right now, there’s a valuable difference you can make. Instead of just letting the next few moments pass by with nothing to show for them, choose to invest them wisely.

Move your world forward a little bit. No one else may even notice, but you will know, and you will benefit, and so will they.

By fully appreciating and utilizing the smaller opportunities, you attract the bigger opportunities into your life. Use what you have, with persistence and faith, and you’ll most surely get wherever you wish to go.

– Ralph Marston

29. Crossroads

@WIV, add to that the Segway World Cup as well, not as big but puts Barbados on the map.

30. David,

No. We dont have a virtual owning interest in BA.

Of course, from that moment we discovered it in late 2009, we had discussions at the time within our party on it, and we have since then been supporting it by way of our making contributions to its development.

But, it is just a potentially great blog like BU was in its early stages.

Now, look how tremendously BU has grown.

But it just did not happen like that.

David, you had to do many things to ensure the growth and development of this blog.

Likewise many commenters had to understand the fundamental differences between BU and other Barbados based political oriented blogs.

And it is clear that BU and the commenters’ approaches and perspectives have been in harmony with one another generally, and that with such a relationship there has been the further and greater growth and development of this BU blog – so much so that it is the No 1 Barbados based internet blog.

Well, Barbados Allegiance ( BA) is essentially a political theoritical blog – which is a welcome addition to the course.

And as such is quite an issue oriented intellectually driven one – dealing with substance in words – not many emotive emotional issues.

But, what it does need, David – and which is something that we communicated to them some while ago – is greater networking depth which once achieved will bring greater commenter participation.

It has to put a little egg on its face too.

It also has to do some of the things that David and BU have done, to become more viable and prosperous.

But, we just dont know why it does not link you – BU – as it is clear that such will help it.

Or why BU have not done the same.

For, we have been trying to get both of you – BU and BA – and we do not know if both of you have recognized it – to link up – some what obliquely indirectly in a few of out of the many recent posts we have sent to you and them.

But, still you know we in the PDC are all for the non-traditional mass media more than for the traditional mass media in Barbados.

We see the non-traditional mass media as being part of the logic of the overwhelming change that needs to sweep this country.

So, there you go.

PS. We well send this piece to them to invite a comment from them on this matter.

PDC

31. H H
    May I suggest to you that you take a rest for a while. There are a number of issues that the DLP has to clear up and it will be better done without your silly gutter politics, we are beyond that. Look at what’s happening to Manning in T&T and Golding in Jamaica. I am confident that my P.M can calm the waters in Barbados without your antiquated comments. Sometimes the best advice a political strategist can give is to keep the mouth shut.

32. H H
    SILENCE is GOLDEN. Surround yourself with lots of it PLEASE>

33. DT // May 13, 2010 at 10:10 PM

Hi fellow citizens,

I just returned from St. Lucia where I watched the 1st T20 World Cup semi – final to be played in the Caribbean.

I am not into hiding as posited by Donal Duck !

So our PM went down to St. Lucia but did not attend a match at Kensington or the media missed him?

Mr.PM hope to see you at the the 1st T20 FINAL to be played in the Caribbean on Sunday.

34. “RIVERS OF BABYLON” PSALM 137:1

Bob Marley – § Lion of Judah § – One Love Peace Concert

The Lion of Judah shall break every chain,
    the Lion of Judah shall break every chain,
    the Lion of Judah shall break every chain, chain, chain.
    Give us Jah victory again and again.

35. The prayers of the BU household remains with the PM at this time.

36. bootilicious

where is the prime minister ?

in barbados

in miami

in hospital

where ???

37. @bootilicious,

The PM is not well.

read de nation and de advocate.

38. Straight talk

Even more curious David is the fact that PDC’s hosting has been suspended.
    Obviously the host did not share the altruism of its client and needed to put food on the table. Such a shame when political dogma meets reality and falls at the first hurdle.

39. @PDC

It seems strange you would post with such regularity to a blog which has just started up. On the face of it one would assume you have a vested interest in the blog.

To answer your concern, usually new blogs post to the established blogs and build relations while at the same time giving credibility to its message. As far as BU is aware Barbados Allegiance has done no such thing.

@Straight Talk

Hosting can be suspended for a number of reasons, hope is not a matter which is not insurmountable for the PDC.

40. Straight talk

David:
    A small point I realise, but I am Straight talk.
    Whoever is posting as Straight Talk risks being labelled with my intelellectual ability, which as has been clearly exhibited he does not, and surely would not wish to share.
    Please advise him lest he suffers outrageously for my own shortcomings.

41. @ST

Hear you, lets see how it plays out.

42. Bonny Peppa

Johnny Postle, @4:38
    Ich weise nur ein bischen deutch.aber ich weise wie zu sagen ‘ich liebe dich’.
    Tschuss.
    mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Ya sweet devil.

43. BU people sometimes fail to distinguish between spiritualism and extremism or nationalism and extremism which is a bit too extreme or unacceptable..

Fred Locks – Love and Only Love

44. Shanelle White

@Anonymous

Because of you I have decided to start using my real name. I am no longer Scared!

Maybe you should be brave enough as well to use your real name.

Let me start by thanking David for giving us Barbadians (hate the word Bajans)a voice even a small voice to be able to speak out about what we perceive as the ills which plague our society.

@PDC

I dread your posts, however, there is one thing I admire about you, your desire to make Barbados a better place.

Now for my rant!

I am tired of Politicians taking Bardians for a ride. I would love it if Politicians actually try to implement the promises in their Manifestos. I am really tired of Politicians as soon as they are elected to the House disappearing from their constituencies for the next 4 years 6 months. I think we need to realise we have the power to change all of this by saying to them we will no longer accept this. We will no longer allow you to buy our votes cheaply and do nothing thereafter.

We will no longer pay you to sit on the back bench of government and input nothing but draw a salary every month.

To the opposition, the constituency councils are a good idea but bad execution. Those persons who make up the council should be elected similar to the way that the City Councilmen of the US are elected you have a campaign and explain your strengths, weakness and ties to that constituency before being allowed to be a member. It is good to have a strong opposition but with a strong hand there must sometimes be a softer slap. Remember to know what the massess want you have to mingle with them

To the government, I would really love to be able to budget every month. Would love to know that I can set aside $300.00 per month to put gas in my car not $300.00 this month $320.00 the next and so on. By the way, I think you need to rethink the free camps and bus rides. We are turning Barbados into a Welfare society. There are ways and means of establishing which families are needy and making the necessary injection of cash to them without having to spend millions while only reaching a few. Remember to know what the massess want you have to mingle with them.

By the way, to all of you out there who don’t like Kerrie Symmonds. Newsflash in all of my few years here on this earth he is the ONLY Politician that I have EVER seen outside of elections walking around his constituency and introducing himself to his constituents and asking what are there concerns and what did they think he could do to assist or make their situation better.

Sad thing is, I am not a member of his constituency.

To the greedy Real Estate Agents and greedy land owners who try to “juck” out our eyes with the high price of land.

A true Real Estate Agents job is to determine the area where the land is located and also consider the amenities to which the land is close be it Banks, Schools, distance to health care etc. Also part of this is the distance to the city as well as whether the area is considered lower, middle or upper income. Being a real estate agent is considering all of these factors and then adjusting the price accordingly.

Instead we see land all over Barbados selling at over $15.00 per square foot this is ridiculous.

St. Lucy is near to Speightstown which has banks as well as health professionals, it has several schools however, it is nowhere near the Hospital. This is a disadvantage and as such the price should reflect this.

St. Philip the same thing. The usual practice is the farther out of the city you go the cheaper the land is.

My rant ends here for now

45. Bajan Truth

@WIV
    One thing I have noticed, that people who cannot do much have to pull down those that do, so their puny efforts will not suffer from contrast. Take away all negative gimmicks, exaggerations about the opposition, and examine the actual performance of DLP. Thin, thin, thin. Have not done much. I had to laugh at Sealy talking about how well the Sherbourne conference centre project is being managed, on time and under budget. They only demolished the old structure. Nutten ain’t buil’ yet. LOL. why should that present a problem to do on time and under budget. It only means costs estimates were overstated or the job not done properly , pleaseeeeeeeee!!!!Get on with the damn job of stabilising the economy, it is still sliding.

If there was one event strangled by the political sabotage of the media it was that event World cup 2007. Kensington actually made a profit in 2007, but you might not have heard the late Stephen Alleyne’s reports. Stranglely this current one suffered some of the same troubles, but how differently it was dealt with. Where is the outrage about treatment of vendors; where is the reporting how much money vendors were able to make; tourism numbers and spend comparison; did homeowners get any business this time; traffic and line-waiting inconvenience. Where were the matches held? Oops that’s right at the same white elephant you criticised. It was praised by international attendees and users. What about the park and ride system, where did you get that from? If we did not have the white elephants could we have hosted the second world cup. Repeating the systems and process for T20 would not have been hard to do. Building a house and then throwing the party is hard. Doing the second party is a piece of cake. Growwwww up.

Ask Mr. Sealy about the Four Seasons project, we desperately need the 800 jobs, it was restarting since last year. Not here yet??!!!. By the way many hotel workers are still on short hours and layoffs, and that is nothing to the ones who were made redundant. Met some in town, looking for stuff to sell food side the streets. Oops some would have gotten some work with numbers up this week, thanks to the white elephant.

European economies are in trouble and so is Britain, tourism arrivals will fall more. Euro is fallen against the dollar – our destination is more expensive to our largest market. What is the plan? Double dip recession feared in Europe, affects the American recovery, check CNN. How is Sealy going to bolster tourism? Discounting will not get us out of the hole. Now if he could come up with a strategy and make it work, B’dos would give him a rousing round of applause. T20 was one event, it will not pull tourism out of its hole, and if he is depending on it to make a reputation as a Minister of Tourism lol. WIV/HH tell him not to rest on his laurels yet, he will need them for fig leaves to cover his ‘bareness’. Time will tell

46. @Shanelle White who wrote “us Barbadians (hate the word Bajans).”
    and then wrote
    “I am tired of Politicians taking Bardians for a ride”.

You could really show your love for the word BARBADIAN by ALWAYS spelling
    it correctly.

I am a proud Bajan who loves the dialect learned from my Barbadian ancestors.

Leh de cussin begin!

47. Shanelle White

@Anonymous

Thanks for pointing out my error. Always appreciated.

From that you could only pick out the fault. Typical!

@ Everyone

Line 9 of my above post Barbadian is spelt incorrectly.

48. Dah was me Hants dat pick out de fault Shanelle White .
    Welcome to BU.

yuh gine soon climatize an onstan wha gine on bout hey.

de rest uh yuh post did good doh but we does mek nuff sport
    an share nuff licks bout hey.

49. Bonny Peppa

Shanelle White
    Lemme tell ya sumting, Kerrie Symmonds was my representative and de ONLIEST time I use ta see he is ‘roun election times. So you talking not what you know of. And I was in he constituency from Tom Adams time. I doan see nun a dem, na time. George Hutson came a callin once or twice since he was elected so doan get tie-up.All a dem guilty as charged. Kerrie Symmonds my big toe.

By de way, I luv my bajan dialect and prefer to be called a bajan. B/dian is a bit too long.

About using your real name, who’s there to verify whether it’s so or not, or who cares?
    BU has given us all the opportunity to air our views be it using a pseudonym or the real name. That is our choice.

Welcome aboard nevertheless. And my name is Monica Lewinsky. Pleased ta meetcha.

50. BONY WRECKER PEPPER

I want to

51. hahahhahahahLOLLOLOLOLOL. BP u is bear trouble hahahahahah onlyyou can make me laugh like this hahahahahahahah!

52. David,

We recognized that Barbados Allegiance has provided the link to you – Barbados Underground.

Hope you do the same to them.

PDC

53. @PDC

It was added. Thanks for your intervention.

54. If there was one event strangled by the political sabotage of the media it was that event World cup 2007. Kensington actually made a profit in 2007, but you might not have heard the late Stephen Alleyne’s reports. Stranglely this current one suffered some of the same troubles, but how differently it was dealt with. Where is the outrage about treatment of vendors; where is the reporting how much money vendors were able to make; tourism numbers and spend comparison; did homeowners get any business this time; traffic and line-waiting inconvenience. Where were the matches held? Oops that’s right at the same white elephant you criticised. It was praised by international attendees and users. What about the park and ride system, where did you get that from? If we did not have the white elephants could we have hosted the second world cup. Repeating the systems and process for T20 would not have been hard to do. Building a house and then throwing the party is hard. Doing the second party is a piece of cake. Growwwww up.
    —————————————————————–
    Another event sabotaged from day one by political media was the ABC Highway project .
    Now Barbadians are finding to their cost that flyovers were the right solution after all.
    Never mind another road widening scheme is to start at a cost of 50 million .
    Where are the screams of anguish and outrage from the Bape this time?

55. Bonny Peppa

ru4real
    ‘…………….that flyovers were the right solution after all’.

Please elaborate.
    I am two steps away from Jinkins on mornings trying to get to work……………… on time.

56. Wishing In Vain

Minister Stephen Lashley – Working for youth

Minister of Youth Family and Sports, Hon. Stephen Lashley has not slept a day since taking up his new post. Congratulations are in order for the manner in which he has gone about the business of mobilising our touth to participate in the governance process. The recent announcement of a National Youth Forum by Minister Stephen Lashley augurs well for the country at this time.

We have noticed, since coming to office, a very large gap in the agenda of the Youth Policy and we set about closing this gap by designing policy, building partnerships and establishing relationships. This will be fully explained in a Press conference to be held at the Elsie Payne Complex on the morning of Saturday May 22nd, 2010.

It is anticipated that this event will have in attendance various stake holders, sponsors, partners, and youth representatives. The timing of the National Youth Forum comes against the background of a desire to increase participation in the decision making process as stated in our Youth Manifesto.

In an address to the nation’s youth, Prime Minster Thompson stated that the Youth Manifesto was “a contract between this great party and the young people of Barbados. It is the means whereby we intend reclaiming and empowering you to craft our fate”.

The policy dumping that took place in the last Barbados Labour Party administration within the Youth Ministry cannot constitute an agenda that has led to meaningful youth interventions. We witnessed the politicising of the Youth agenda that led to a break down in the values of our youth. The Barbados Labour Party stood by with their arms folded as the minibus culture took root and firmly planted itself in the fabric of our society. We saw the decimation of community groups within rural Barbados as little attention was paid to the cries of the youth. The establishment of Youth Commissioners was done at great expense to the public purse and to date, we are still at a loss as to the real impact of their agenda.

The lack of leadership within the Ministry of Youth has been rectified. The appointment of Esther Byer-Suckoo and her current successor, Minister Stephen Lashley, has added a renewed focus and vigor to a once neglected policy agenda. The youth can be assured that the future endeavors of this Thomspon-led Government will be embellished with their views. We have identified “active involvement of young people in the political process” as a priority and as the most effective way of securing their future.

The Forum will among another things:
    • Consult extensively with young people through their representative organisations;
    • Initiate on-going public discussion among young people on the role of politics in the development of Barbados;
    • Strengthen the capacity of youth organisations to reach out to young people and hear their views;
    • Devise and implement a programme of political education for young people who aspire to be political leaders;
    • Establish a Youth Parliament to address, on an on-going basis, the issues that affect young people.

The above will ultimately contribute to the formulation of the National Youth Policy. The document that is created will be a peopl-driven agenda, designed by the youth of this nation. For the first time in 15 years, the youth of this country will have a Government that places their agenda firmly on the table as a priority area of development and growth. We are assuring this country that our nation’s youth will be viewed as a critical part of our human resource development as we continue to rollout Pathways to Progress.

57. Wishing In Vain

Regatta enhanced by several new features

YESTERDAY’S opening ceremony at the Barbados Yacht Club, Bay Street, St. Michael signalled the start of several new features of this year’s Mount Gay Rum/ Boatyard Regatta.

The opening ceremony itself is new to the event but the Organising Committee wanted to formally welcome sailors from Barbados and across the Caribbean to one of the biggest events on the sailing calendar. Entertainment, food and brief speeches including remarks from the Hon. Richard Sealy, M.P., Minister of Tourism who was full of praise for the regatta which has attracted the largest number of sailors this year.

Additionally, in celebration of the 25th anniversary of the Mount Gay Rum/Boatyard Regatta organisers have added a number of other new elements to this year’s festivities.

Sailing officially begins today at 10 a.m. from the Carlisle Bay Centre, St. Michael where several classes including the new and increasingly popular J24 will begin their quest for victory. As a new edition the J24 class has attracted close to half the entries.

Another innovative addition to this year’s regatta and a secondary reason for the record number of entrants this year, is the inclusion of youth crews from St. Lucia and St. Vincent & the Grenadines who are competing in Barbados for the first time as part of a wider Caribbean effort to ensure that the young sailors get exposure to competition.

Marc McCollin, Mount Gay Rum Brand Manager, says that he has been working closely with the Organising Committee to make all the new elements a success:

“Twenty-five successive years is a fantastic achievement and Mount Gay Distilleries is honoured to have supported the sailing community for such a long time…we have undeniably contributed to the development of sailing in Barbados, the Caribbean and throughout the world therefore we are keen to continue our assistance particularly this year as we celebrate our silver anniversary”.

The significance of this year’s regatta has also been noted by the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) and the Government of Barbados, who have both recognised the potential that it holds for the further development of Sports Tourism in Barbados.

The BTA has partnered with the Barbados Sailing Association to provide logistical support to the regatta, particularly for the “Feeder Race” which started in St. Lucia and concluded the day before the official start of the regatta. As a result of this several new sailors are in Barbados enjoying the festivities associated with the regatta.

The closing ceremony is scheduled for Sunday May 23, 2010 at the Boatyard, Bay Street, St. Michael where live entertainment, a fireworks display and honorary presentations will be made in addition to the awarding of prizes.

58. Wishing In Vain

Your Gov’t at work for the Nation.

59. Err..yes. Ho hum….

Regatta or Zenyatta, isn’t that a Police song, Zenyatta Mondatta?

Dont stand so close to me, I believe we are spirits in a material world, walking on the moon, voices inside my head, I am driven to tears, I hope that someone gets my message in a bottle, I’ll be wrapped around your finger, Roxanne, every little thing she does is magic,

do do do, da da da…..

What Mondatta?

That is for the likes of you fellas, not the likes of me, rich in pseudo-intellectuallism but monetarily poor folk.

Enjoy the thingamajigy, its good if it bringeth a few tourises.

60. Bonny Peppa

crusoe
    Listen, come ta de front a de class. you is a genius. never before on BU has there ever been a better colloquialism.
    “rich in psuedo-intellectuallism but monetarily poor folk’
    Is this the same as, ‘champagne mout n mauby pockets’?
    Crusoe, you AM a genius.

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s