Photo: Nigel Browne
Yesterday a 160 word story appeared in a local daily. It reported the troubling story about the Puckerin family of St. Philip who found an explosive device equipped with detonator lodged in the groundsill of their house. Thankfully the fuse although found to be burnt did not result in an explosion.
The news story went on to detail that a statement was made at District C Police Station; the expected empty quote from the police Sergeant Denis Small was mentioned. One sentence which BU almost missed if that is at all possible in a 160 word article, “Small said that in 2008 and 2009, there were similar reports in St. John.”
Why the hell would the little known Puckerin family attract this kind of attention on no less than three occasions that we know of? Why would the newspaper feel compel to report this story? It appears there is a story behind the story and as usual it is left to the blogs to make the more important story public.
It appears Shawn Pinder the nephew of a local don Nigel ‘Bounty’ Pinder got 15 years for manslaughter when he last appeared in our Courts. Do you want to guess who he killed? You guessed it correctly, Arden Puckerin who lived at the same address which has been threatened by explosion on three different occasions according to police records. BU has been repeating like a stuck record that our lawn has started to sprout weeds. We are far behind Jamaica as far as garrison communities taking root in our society goes but all the signs are with us that if we do nothing our destiny will mirror the path West Kingston has followed.
Under the stewardship of Commissioner Darwin Dottin our criminal statistics stack up wonderfully well compared to our neighbouring islands but are we to be satisfied? Should we be concerned at how sub-cultures are beginning to take root? Hell yes! Will our politicians do anything to help? Hell no! Will our lawyers do anything to help? Hell no! Where can Barbadians turn to for help?
The power lies in PEOPLE power, WE have the power but we don’t know it yet!

We use to have some feared cops in RBPF, the last of which has been treated like a little school boy by the current COP. What has become of Inspector Bowen?
In the eighties there was “Don” from the Orleans area; his name escapes me now. He loved big bikes, may have owned some minivans etc. Does anyone remember his name?
No gloves, no protective gear.
Wanna sure dis was a explosive?
However, the point is that Barbados has to be careful to stop the existing dons from expanding their criminal activities.
What is quite interesting is that such names as you mention above have been around for over twenty years, but still in business.
Does that not seem unusual? Who is protecting? These are FRONTMEN.
Who is / are the REAL DONS????????????????????
Therein lies the answer, invite Interpol to do a national assessment and investigation to trace monies etc, to prosecute the REAL DONS.
Easy, the answer is.
Will we do it? LOL.
@Hants: “No gloves, no protective gear. Wanna sure dis was a explosive?
And, further, three people watch (closely) while one touches…
Can anyone say “stupid”?
The Nation’s fear in publishing may be the same as the people of Tripoli gardens: fear of the dons and their henchmen
@afraid
Your comment is understood. However when one of the estates of the realm quivers what will result? The answer is scary.
@BU.David: “The answer is scary.
IMHO, “they” *want* you to be scared. To be afraid. To be unsure of where you find yourself…
Those who are scared are the most likely to purchase beyond their means and/or do what they’re told to do and/or to believe what they are told to believe…
It is a carefully managed game.
You et al must see this.
No?
Oh dear me the big questions is how do people protect themselves, proactively instead of after the fact.
@Mia: “Oh dear me the big questions is how do people protect themselves, proactively instead of after the fact.
My sincere opinion is there is only one way to protect oneself:
Have no enemies.
@Chris
With respect your position on this matter is coming over rather esoteric. The fear is real and understandable. These criminal elements will not buckle meekly. Who will be prepared to draw a line in the sand in the name of what is right? To answer that you have to define a WHO which has become blurred given the penetration of the scourge. Remember our journalists work in the Fourth Estate to pay the cashier at the supermarket. There is no vocation of love here. Coincidentally the BAJ has a meeting today.
@BU.David: “The fear is real and understandable.
With equal respect, is the fear *actually* real? Or is this simply fearism?
Just about any idiot can build a bomb which will go “boom”. So why didn’t any of these three?
@BU.David: “To answer that you have to define a WHO which has become blurred given the penetration of the scourge.
Please show me where I *ever* mentioned the World Health Organization (WHO). And it is interesting that you would raise this — seems like a distraction to me…
@BU.David: “These criminal elements will not buckle meekly.
IMHO, more fearism…
Keep them scared; keep them afraid…
What is your agenda BU.David?
@Chris
Relax, WHO the pronoun is what is being referred. Have a reread of what was written. The explosive is a visible representation of the subculture which has started to take root. In other words the TNT is the tip of the berg.
@Chris. The most appropriate word relating to the police and the other person who handle those explosives, is STUPID with a capital F.
I’ve been in many a situation where explosives were common place and the MO was ,search for it, observe it, but leave the handling to the expert Ammunition Technicians.
There could well have been a trip switch hidden under the “come on” explosive device set to trigger off another hidden device.
We may not have neighborhoods like the ones in Jamaica yet, but any one can take a drive up to Cox hill in St. Phillip and see the Garrison that “Bounty” has built. Well fortified and growing!
@David: “Relax, WHO the pronoun is what is being referred.
I am very calm. And, frankly, am enjoying this. (Please note that one should not CAPITALIZE a word for *emphasis*, since it might be confused with an acronym. It should instead be *bolded*; or wrapped with *asterisks* if working in the plain-text.)
@David: “The explosive is a visible representation of the subculture which has started to take root. In other words the TNT is the tip of the berg.
The *alleged* explosive, TNT. Or perhaps C4?
But the empirical shows that four individuals (three from the BPF) were comfortable standing within a meter of the alleged explosive device (at least, during the photo-op).
This might suggest that they all knew that the alleged explosive device posed no danger?
I argue my above points stand….
@CH and Hants ‘Christopher Halsall // June 13, 2010 at 2:48 PM
I resent you making fun of our brave members of the force….
RFLMAO….
Dear BU:
I recall that when Arden Pinder was dumped in front of Bayview Hospital, dead or half dead that his own mother came, took one look at him, commented that she had warned him against the criminal life and that he got was EXACTLY WHAT HE DESERVED.
Dear BU:
This is about RIGHT and WRONG.
Arden Puckering was WRONG.
Shawn Pinder was WRONG.
Arden’s mother was RIGHT.
BOTH Arden Puckering and Shawn Pinder got EXACTLY WHAT THEY DESERVED.
I don’t know if BU knows the ancient West African saying “Hard ears you won’t hear, own way you will feel”
If the young men (and not so young men) in the Pinder and Puckering families (and other families) won’t hear then they will FEEL, and if we have to double the size of the prison at Dodds in order to accomodate them, then I and all sensible Barbadians are quite happy to pay the taxes to make a bigger prison.
Some men are so stupid that they need to be kept in prison until they are old and doddery.
Dear BU: Save your passion and your “ink” for something else.
Hard ears you won’t hear, own way you will feel. So spake the elders.
The ancient wisdom is always right. ALWAYS.
David/BU you wrote “Remember our journalists work in the Fourth Estate to pay the cashier at the supermarket. There is no vocation of love here.”
Dear David/U: There is no need to tell lies on journalists in Barbados. Why do you think that you can get away with saying that they only do their jobs for money, that they have no love and no vocation for thier calling. You carry out a survey David to get this “gem” of MIS-information.
So you is a hero David now? You are the only one speaking out because you have so much courage? and don’t care nuthing’ ’bout money?
Look don’t mek me laugh?
Oh no Crusoe, you dead wrong my friend get your facts straight. Wheel and come again!
@Chris
The explosive object did not have to explode to serve the purpose we suspect which was to intimidate. The is a state of affairs which can be changed around in quick time not so?
@ Chris halsall
Lots of explosives are quite stable without the fuse and detonator attached. you can actually light C4 without it exploding.
What the paper showed was a staged photograph long after the bomb / explosive had been disarmed. It goes like this: A reporter tells a policeman i want a shot of you “disarming ” the explosive and voila you have a photo.
Another thing, you said just about any idiot can build a bomb which goes boom. Given the recent historical records of bombs which failed to explode or just fizzled I am quite sure that is not true.
@Boom: “Lots of explosives are quite stable without the fuse and detonator attached. you can actually light C4 without it exploding.
You think I don’t know this? Much like TNT. Even gun power (or gasoline) only burns brightly when lit without being contained.
@Boom: “Another thing, you said just about any idiot can build a bomb which goes boom. Given the recent historical records of bombs which failed to explode or just fizzled I am quite sure that is not true.
I would argue that instead there are a *lot* of *really* stupid idiots out there…
And there are a few who wish to scare others….
@J
This is not about the two tainted families. This is about the underground elements which feed the whole thing. These two families may die or go to prison if they continue to do what they are doing but guess what? Others will replace them if we don’t slice this cancer from our communities.
BTW is this constituency under the PM’s care?
David if right now the PM needs a nurse maid to take care of him, you really think that he can look out for constituents?
Be practical man.
Dear David:
Forgive me for repeating
“If young men (and not so young men) won’t hear then they will FEEL, and if we have to double the size of the prison at Dodds in order to accomodate them, then I and all sensible Barbadians are quite happy to pay the taxes to make a bigger prison.”
Some men are so stupid that they need to be kept in prison until they are old and doddery.
And if from time to time the State has to do a little “Tivoli Gardens” on them so be it.
SOME MEN ARE SO STUPID THAT THEY NEED TO BE KEPT IN PRISON UNTIL THEY ARE OLD AND DODDERY.
In the BAJAN BLOG a story
China Farmer uses canon and fireworks to fight off government eviction!Funny but true
This thread is cracking me up.
The image reminds me of a Madd skit except the crooked teet big guts PC Broomes is missing.
@Boom who wrote “What the paper showed was a staged photograph .”
That is even more laughable. 3 Police Officers and 2 civillians staging a photo about an explosive.
No Glove,No protective masks.
Oh sorry. de fella in de middle wearing he protective badge.lol
When I first read the story I wondered who had that family in their sights. Then I was concerned about the handling of the explosives but knowing Barbados I also wondered who may have “handled” the “fireworks” prior to the Police being informed e.g. if a family member called the Police and said “look what we found under our house” and handed over the evidence to the Police thereby destroying any fingerprint evidence.
David, you have managed to connect a few dots which seem to lead to a certain conclusion, the Police should be able to put 2 & 2 together but whether they can come up with the right answer while providing the requisite proof remains to be seen.
Crusoe because you are anonymous it does not give you the right to malign the dead and incarcerated families. I use my name as wish to present the facts and not rumour, neither will I seek to libel or slander. Arden was first taken to FMH. Arden, was just another Paro who would do odd jobs and stealing the alleged quantity of drugs would not have been part of his modus operandi. Fruits and vegetables were his thing. Neither does it make the whole Pinder family bad because one is imprisoned for manslaughter. Is Arden Puckerin family bad because he was a drug addict? Never heard so much jobbi in a long time.
From Nationnews.
“Here, District “C” police officers, examining part of the dangerous device under the watchful eye of a family member.”
BU folks please go read the Nation story so wunna wud see I en tellin lies.
RFLMAO
This is definitely a gem for Eric Lewis to work with.
In the Bajan Global Report
China farmer uses canon and fireworks to prevent government eviction. Funny story must read!
If we can get back to the role of the media which is critical to maintaining stability in the country. What is the role of the Barbados Association of Journalists (BAJ)? BU understands the BAJ held a meeting yesterday which fell very short of the mark so don’t look for any help from that quarter any-time soon. Why is the BAJ not commanding the respect or support of the older/senior journalists?
BU cannot forget the Nation Group sending home journalists as soon as the recession started. VOB sent home the whole sports department. We need for senior and other journalist alike to breathe some life into the movement of journalism. It must be seen as more than a pay check. Until we do journalists will go through the motions. On the flip side, until the journalists bring respect to the profession the media houses that employ them will continue to treat them like dirt.
Why the hell should Vic live large the way he does and his reporters scrambling to earn $2,000 per month? Do you know Vic, his wife and teenage daughter all drive Audis?
Pure madness!
The other issue which must be address is the extent the RBPF and politicians have become ensnared in the web of crime in our communities. Ofter times when the dust settles it is not the pushers or small fry who makes the problem but those in leadership positions in our society. Let us stop the rot. Call crime stoppers, call the police hotline, do whatever to protect Barbados from following the path of Jamaica.
@Kammie Holder,
No, why attack me, can’t you even read?
Look again at the name of who makes postings before attacking other commenters.
It is time our leaders show they have balls.
It is about time we the PEOPLE start to hold our leaders accountable!
The next general election will be interesting because it look likes an army of Barbadians on Facebook will now join the blogs to communicate messages.
To all those politicians who have been running from BU, you have been put on notice.
BU will take communication and freedom of expression the next level.
You will have your lawyers standing by and we will have ours.
To be fair BU will give you a chance to put your side but you must be willing to open communication channels NOW.
Don’t come running before the election.
Crusoe, with apologies heartfelt it was J`s comments wanted to address which were misinterpreted. Sorry now I am a man of straw!
Really ?
I would listen and take in Ian Bourne if he had an honest bone in his body or had he been a neutral observer he is none of the above, he is a joker and an idiot.
He does not gain a passing mark for honesty and truthfullness so therefore he has nothing to say that I would listen to.
…………………………………………………
I cant believe BFP let you post this because it’s the truth. Ian Bourne and father Desmond Bourne operate BFP and lucliky for Barbados most people who read the blog knows its full of lies. The BFP goal is to mash up our lovely island. Ian and Desmond Bourne should give up the blog business and go to a fat farm to lose their fat obesity and sloppy appearance. Two disgusting looking clowns.
Obesity may very well mash up Ian Bourne before he could mash up Barbados.
@BU:
I made mention of a former Big Man from the Orleans who’s name escapes me. Some 20 years ago he was reigning and people had similar concerns then as they do now with this Pinder fella.
I do not wish to make light of the concern, but I believe that a number of those politico’s in St. Phillip are making noise about Pinder not of any real concern or desire similar to BU but for as you may now guess, for political gain.
What became of the Big man from the Orleans? who was his lawyer? what is his name?
“Small said that in 2008 and 2009, there were similar reports in St. John.”
Am I missing something here? Small’s quote above says “similar reports in St John” not “similar reports at Puckerin residence” who is making the assumption that the previous reports were at the Puckerins?
@crossroads
We have our sources.
Bury your head in the sand OR
understand what is happening UNDERGROUND.
@BU.David: Further to our above exchanges…
You say WHO in answer to my “they”…
Let me please give you and others an example (but only a single example — not the complete set) of the “they” who want to keep you scared for profit.
http://www.dedoimedo.com/computers/windows-poor.html
As seen on TeleVision! (Actually, SlashDot.org.)
Buy now!!!
lol, like a true journalist, ok blog on
Just a thought.
Did our Forensic Science Lab check out these explosives before the experts of the RBPF Bomb Inspection Team pictured, picked it up ungloved.
Kammie Holder
But why you attacking my man Crusoe wrongfully? It is J dat talk de ‘jobbie’ bout de families not my Crusoe. Apologise to he now fa ma man.
And I agree wid J too so she in talkin na ‘jobbie’.
But I like de word “jobbie’. I in hear it fa long. LOLLLLLLL.
By de way, how we know dat kammie Holder is reallly he? Talking ’bout using a pseudonym. Attach a pic den we would know fa sure.
Chris
I is a real, real idiot, na joke, and I don’t know how to build a ‘bomb’. I can hardly light a match, farless………….
My condolences to the family of Tyrone Estwick who is being laid to rest as we speak. He was my lawyer many years ago and always found him to be a real gentleman. Didn’t even know dat he was my ‘brotha-in-law’. (I marrid ta he brotha David)
@Bonny Peppa…
You know how to whistle, don’t you darling?
You just put your lips together and blow….
@BP…
I actually mean suck…
Blow is just an expression….
(This is meant in good humour.)
Chris
My darling, I’m not good at whistling so I will stick to my sucking. But thanks for the clarity among the clutter.
De English language is a bitch at times, hear. stupseeeeeeee.
@ .Anonymous // June 14, 2010 at 2:44 PM
who wrote “Just a thought.”
There in lies the problem. There was no thinking.
Prehaps they figured the criminal was very smart and would have worn gloves. therefore no prints.
We need Eric Lewis to get PC Broomes to explain.
Sincere apologies to David for not discussing the state of journalism and focussing on the comedic value of the Nationnews report.
@Chris and Bonny…..re Suck and Blow. Do you know that the automobile engine works after the same principal as any randy man? The 4-Strokes —namely,Induction -Compression- Power and Exhaust.
Put another way. ….Suck—-Squeeze—- Bang—- Blow.
Bosun
you is one bright, smart fella ya hear? you is a ‘roads- scholar’ or wah? (4 roads or 6 roads, which?) I too luv a smart man, hear?
The above e-mail rings soooo true and probably can be applied to many other countries as well . I think Haiti would fit very well in there too.
Hants you idiot, Once the detonator and fuse have been removed it is about as dangerous as fertiliser. So yo don’t need gloves or a shield or protective equipment once that is done. If you don’t know what you are talking about then shut up. People like you always want to believe the worst even when it is absurdly implausible.
Do you think that you could get a nation reporter or photographer to risk their life to take a picture ? LOL
The bomb was already disarmed and that was a staged photo much like the ones you see with the Top common entrance performers. Do you think parents and teachers wait until the camera arrives to hug their children/students? the photographer says “OK let me get a big hug for the story” and thats the pic you see. Same thing with the explosive photo.
@Bad man saying nothing………Some years ago a veteran ATO (Bomb Disposal Officer) with many tours and years of experience in Northern Ireland was giving a demonstration to policemen in the Midlands, and he accidentally blew himself there in the class room. And he was an expert .
@Bonny…….that’ll be a “Rode Scholar,” but I am still Riding mind you..
Bosun
And nevva had a fall while Ridin needa, a betcha. I keep tellin dese peeple dat you is a Boss.
@Bosun… I suspect you and a few others will appreciate this…
You can now buy retail in the great US of A a 1W (one (1) Watt) blue laser diode for less than USD $200; smaller than your thumb.
Wouldn’t you like to face that mounted on an enemies gun sights?
Hell, they wouldn’t even need to pull the trigger for the high-velocity atoms — the photons alone would be enough to blind you instantly and set your skin on fire…
I hear there’s a discount if you buy in volume, or if you are an OEM….
@Adrian
Is the “big man” from the Orleans that you’re referring to Winston “Iston Bull” Branch?
Evil will flourish when good men do nothing. B’dos is too small for evil to be unknown. The question is, the people who know are saying and doing nothing. This blog is too small to do the job of galvanising our communnities. We need a strategy to get our communities to rise up, give reports and information. Lock the perpetrators and the corruptors to france up. I would pay more taxes to house them at Dodds too. The 4th estate, calypsonians, and politicians, and churches have the wider reach. Someting really happening, and not enough doing to make sure the wrong something don’ happen.
Interesting to note the Commissioner of Police in a terse statement lamenting the lack of forensic options available to the force.
@Bajan Truth
While it true David defeated Goliath you should consider that promoting change is hard in any circumstance. Yes BU RSS Feeds flow to Twitter and Facebook where thousands of Bajans are exposed to the messages of BU. However you should consider using multiple channels to get your message out.
Christopher Hasal made the comment that” the only way in his opinion to protect oneself it to have no enemies ” Suppose you are disliked by your friends…….
Atman // June 16, 2010 at 6:09 PM
@Adrian
Is the “big man” from the Orleans that you’re referring to Winston “Iston Bull” Branch?
==========================================
Yes! wuh became of him?
The DLP is not protecting or even empowering the youth–it is exposing them to the elements.
But while you and your parents are struggling – DLP Ministers and its members are getting obese on the fatted calf. How could that be fair?
And, in share disrespect – the DLP tries to buy the loyalty and silence of young people with a free Fete this week end.
Where is the budget? where are the refunds of the thousands of the tax payers that are yet to receive from last year? hmmmmmmmmm no money no love….
@Adrian
He still lives in the Orleans and I see him from time driving his big SUV. Don’t know if he’s still in the drug business, but he’s been keeping a rather low profile.