The health of Prime Minister David Thompson has occupied the attention of Barbadians everywhere since the news broke of his illness about one month ago. The BU household was happy to see the PM out and about on the weekend albeit showing a figure which was not as rotund as it has been in the past. When the Prime Minister broke the news of his illness four weeks ago, he assured Barbadians he would offer a further update in two weeks. Did BU miss the update? Some Barbadians may hold the myopic view that the Prime Minister’s illness is nobody’s business, not so! Barbadians continue to wait patiently for *official* word on what ails the Prime Minister.
It was last week the land which government donated to Barbadian singing superstar Rihanna in 2008 was ratified by the Parliament of Barbados. Why it took so long, BU is not sure. The gun incident starring Minister David Estwick and Deputy Leader of the Opposition has been outstanding for more than three months. BU understands the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges for consideration. Should we accept that the Opposition is the reason for the delay because Mia Mottley has had to replace Hamilton Lashley on the Committee of Privileges? You may recall Lashley crossed the floor?
Prime Minister David Thompson has been forced to shed his workload and this is our estimation has impacted on the scheduling of the ‘Budget’. Acting Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart has been defending its late delivery by citing previous occasions when it was delivered in the latter part of the year. Stuart needs to be reminded the need for Barbados to manage its fiscal affairs with prudence in the prevailing economic conditions than ever before in our history.
BU remains concern at the slow pace of decision making in government. For example, our best research has confirmed that the proposed amendment to the Immigration Act has not reached parliament. The Prime Minister had promised earlier in the year this matter would be dealt with by June 2010. BU is not optimistic that it will be debated anytime soon. Other key bits of legislation promised by this government are the Freedom of Information and Integrity Legislation. Now that the Prime Minister is operating on a light workload only God knows if these promises will ever be delivered.
A key promise of the government before it gained office was to allocate resources towards reducing the cost of living. Granted the global recession has overwhelmed the Barbados economy like many around the world and made that promise hollow. Commonsense should dictate however that in the current environment there is a pressing need to manage the cost of living. The government seems prepared to let the private sector dictate to the market 100%.
In the 2008 budget, at page 49, under a section called “Cost of Food and Personal Items,” Prime Minister Thompson said “Since assuming office, this issue [cost of living] has been at the centre of Government’s concerns leading to my engaging in discussions with various entities in an effort to obtain their views on the best way to deal with this issue.” “On February 28, 2008, the Cabinet decided that a Sub-Committee on the Cost of Living should be created to provide recommendations on ways to reduce the rising cost of living.” BU believes that Sub-Committee is chaired by Minister Chris Sinckler. Has the Sub-Committee ever met? In the prevailing climate is it fair to suggest there is a heightened role for such a Committee?
BU regrets to suggest that with Prime Minister David Thompson occupied with his health and he should be, the government appears to be moseying along.

I love how WIV loves to deflect discussion from the topic whenever the DLP is under question or attack as he sees it.
The PM looked much better, and we continue to pray for his health. I agree that something should be said, especially as we (Barbadians) have been concerned about his health, and inundated with rumors about infighting to take up positions, as though he will not recover. Stuart has been labelled a night watchman. I did not think of it before, but this week I heard another rumor that HH favours Chris Sinckler for P.M., which could explain why the Deputy P.M. nor Minister of Foreign Affairs, met Secretary Clinton at the airport. Sinckler had the opportunity to look Prime Ministerial. I was wondering about the breach of protocol. I think an update on the PM’s health would clarify the situation or put these concerns to rest.
I too find the slow pace of decision-making very worrisome. The cost of living should actually have moderated or lessened because in this economic crisis prices actually dropped overseas, so the continued price increases in b’dos are more of the same gouging, galloping without let or hindrance by gov’t.
I am not quite sure what gov’t could say with credibility as they have contributed to pushing prices higher – tax increases, utility rates – water, light, gas to come. Now a proposed levy, greater inflation. I thought Cost U less was to be the answer for the citizens, then it was the set up of a BMC styled unit to provide better prices. The touted arrangement with Dominica etc to provide reasonably priced fruit and ground provision is still missing. It is painfully obvious that they came in with words and no plan beyond a statement that we will tackle the cost of living. Words are all DEM have to take our heart away. Shoot, I forgot, they did appoint Todd to deal with it. (LOL)
This only creates more work for their sympathisers on the call-in programmes to keep explaining and excusing the performance, of this unmanned and rudderless ship and to assure B’dians we are not adrift. As a matter of fact the gov’t itself has said so little and certainly not in a very long time given us an update on economic crisies, CLICO and urgent, matters threatening our economy, we only hear the apologists on call-in programmes. i think it insultiinng to suggest that Maxine mcClean speaking in London, is tantamount ot a report to b’dos, and she spoke in generalities. The sympathisers do such a good job, people do not realise that our elected representatives are not speaking in public on these issues – only about constituency councils, bad BLP, housing, bad BLP, building a society, bad BLP, youth forum, bad BLP. NOTHING that addresses the critical issues.
@Adrian
Unless we missed something the Sunset Legislation should have expired by now. Your question about applicable laws to support wiretapping and associated clandestine activities is relevant. Barbadians need to ask some questions. Surprise the BAR Association has not gotten a word in on this matter. If it was about a criminal facing the noose we would have had the airwaves hot.
Whenever did the wheels of government turn fast or faster than is the current situation? The inactment of the CWC 2007 sunset legislation, any others?
Kammie Holder has been asking about legislation to enact breathalizer testing, and Liz’s response to was the process.
————————
Why is Arthur off to Antigua and not England? Could Mia not help the British Government with a better budget in this terrible world economy?
Britain’s new government set out what it dubbed the “unavoidable budget” as it sought to cut one of the worst deficits in the world with billions of pounds worth of cuts and tax rises that will hit everybody from public-sector workers to banks, welfare recipients and video games makers.
The budget represented a concerted attempt to whittle down the size of the state, whose blueprint could encourage other large economies across Europe to lower deficits by chipping away with government cuts.
Things to note:
This government did arrive to find that the cupboard was bare.
Shortly afterwards we entered a world recession, making it very difficult for government to raise the kind of revenue needed to rectify the situation.
On the other hand:
It is unfair on policyholders that nothing is heard from government about CLICO and British American. In this matter government has fallen down in its duty. It is a very serious matter that has been apparently pushed aside.
At a time when European countries are trying to restructure their economies to become more competitive by liberalising their labour laws, Barbados is doing the opposite. The Employment Rights Bill will make Barbados less competitive.
An environmental levy is about to be introduced on locally-produced items that will have a very significant effect on the cost of living if allowed to go through.
Being in government at this time is extremely difficult, no doubt, requiring a delicate balancing act with finances. However, matters such as those I have mentioned above will only worsen the situation, in my opinion.
WIV
Please give us some names of this dastardly act by mia mottley.
I have heard of these private tapping into to ordinary citizens phones.
Tell us more please.Owen and mia are worse than even tom adams and they need to be exposed.
Why should it takes so long for Youth Leader Corey Layne to get a government Ministry to write a simple letter to move his project forward? Nothing has changed as far as trying to WD40 government bureaucracy by the government. Other islands have better systems for processing applications to incorporate in the International Business sector. Like ROK has opined, we have to decide what kind of place we want to build, same old or a new way forward.
The British Government today announced a two-year pay freeze for public
sector workforces, except for workers earning less than £21,000
a year who will receive an increase of at least £250 per year in
these years. This will save £3.3 billion a year by 2014-15.
Shouldn’t Barbados follow the Brits and have a two year wage freeze across the board.
No Barbados does not have to follow the Brits. The Brits are part of the world economy, Barbados just needs to throw out the DLP and elect BLP. It is only due to the BLP patriotism that they have not gone to the four corners of the earth selling their “know how” to fix other economies. It is very doable for them but the DLP simply does not know how to. Just like God must be a bajan we ought to be very thankfull that the BLP is also bajan.
“And some of them are still being used covertly by Muttley to listen yours mine and your friends conversations ask her who she paid bet you would never guess who is on her pay role for providing her with these recordings of everyday people and their telephone calls, a gross misuse of officers of the state in her wanton need for power in this country”
If you believe him, this statement says two things.
1. Mia Mottley is indeed a powerful woman that even in opposition she has access to the levers of the state security apparatus.
2. That the current administration has no control over the security systems in this country.
Even in trying to twist out of a conversation that asks uncomfortable questions Hartley stays with his tired tactics about red herrings.
Rather than answer Wayne Capaldi about Government being unable to make a decision he will tell you about the Boogeyman Mottley.
Rather than answer Ian Bourne about the Land Use legislation promised in the manifesto, he will try to tell you about how impressed Clinton was with the ministers.
It would seem that she’s the only one who is….
Rather than face the facts that this government is way out of its depth and doesn’t have the first clue how to restore stability to this economy he will desperately spin lies that when you look at them are unbelievable and also reflect badly on his own people.
But it’s not as bad as having to admit that the BLP was far better for Barbados than this incompetent lot ever will be.
The truth hurts doesn’t it Hartley?
Somewhere between the BLP’s “the sky is falling” and WIV ‘s “don’t worry be happy” is where solutions to our national troubles exist, the problem is no one wants to go there.
We are experiencing an overload of BS on both sides of the house of unprecedented levels, with common sense and putting our nation first totally off the radar.
I am now in the ROK camp of thinking, which points to the system of government we live in the common denominator to more of our national ills.
As a seeker of solutions, one key step needed is to end this love we have for placing lawyers in political leadership positions…. As we more now then ever before need a broader mix of talents to get us out of the ditch we are in…
The non-appearance of the budget could only mean one of three things. 1)The measures are unpopular and nobody wants to deliver it. 2) It has in nothing and therefore cannot be of any assistance to citizens or businesses, therefore it does not matter if it comes or not. 3)The items in the medium term plan borrowings from CDB. IADB and world bank for this year are not forthcoming in time for this year and so the estimates and plans delivered earlier are in shambles or in danger of not being fulfilled. This will require a serious revision, so they might rewriting it.
Take yuh pick.
On the matter of the budget, one would think that the gov’t has important and urgent initiatives to put n place to help the economy. The fact that it drags on and on, indicates either dereliction of duty; or they are lost or something. someone suggested that the non-appearance of the budget could only mean one of three things. 1)The measures are unpopular and nobody wants to deliver it. 2) It has in nothing and therefore cannot be of any assistance to citizens or businesses, therefore it does not matter if it comes or not. 3)The items in the medium term plan borrowings from CDB. IADB and world bank for this year are not forthcoming in time for this year and so the estimates and plans delivered earlier are in shambles or in danger of not being fulfilled. This will require a serious revision, so they might rewriting it.
Take yuh pick.
@peltdown
You need to stop drinking political koolaid, and address facts, not claims. Check the speeches and get the info, don’t rely on D or B for it. If the cupboard was bare, there would be no 2.8b in foreign reserves. If the debt was so terrible and unacceptable, it would have been downgraded under Arthur’s watch, by Standard and Poors. It was high but not terrible, especially in light of the fact that the size of the economy needed reassessing and debt to NIS excluded as is done in other countries from your debt profile. At first it sounded to me like an excuse, until you realise that after all the palaver the DLP did just that so that the debt to GDP ratio was recalibrated to allow them to borrow the 200mU.S without the threatened downgrade to junk status. The claim by the DLp Central bank governor this year and Frank Alleyne two years ago, that our debt profile is good as most of our debt is local. But the interestinng thing is that they never said that, though they claim they will not cheat lie or steal, still does not claim it will tell you the truth. The first thing the DLP did was to add in 2 years 1 .5b more to the debt. Proposing in the medium term plan another 2b in four years. It took Arthur 14 years to accumulate the debt, iit will only take these jokers 6 to triple it. Gooooo figure
. If you are interested in the truth then you have to look, listne, reasearch, ask questionns form differnet sources, analyse, check for counter confirmations, otherwise all these will take you for a ride. Accusations by proclamation and governance by pronouncement. We deserve better than that.
“Muttley as the lead person at Caricom level for security at CWC 2007″
A very good artisan (IT Developer) that had his entire project huffed from beneath his nose (after years of promotion and investment) because the lead person at Caricom had more confidence in a TransAtlantic company (3M’s) implementing the Barbadian’s ideas, has now put Caricom in court. The team representing Caricom against a world class artisan tallent is a world class academic, Henry Forde. Now tell me de truf… dis whole BLP DLP elephant is not only in de room, it stinkin bad bad bad…! (Of course the case will go no where, in fact the court files have already been lost)
Yardbroom,
Somebody now wake you up? I can only try to give you some enlightenment by pointing you here
http://bajan.wordpress.com/2010/03/04/it-is-the-governments-fault/
and here
http://bajan.wordpress.com/2009/04/08/an-in-depth-and-riveting-analysis-of-the-public-service-vehicle-sector-psv-in-barbados/
I have come to the conclusion that, despite paying lip service, the Government really does not want to do anything about the PSV problem… and it has nothing to do with the owners.
The punishment being inflicted on owners and operators is satisfaction enough.
@ Inkwell June 22,2010 @ 8:38pm
Hi Inkwell,
The increase in bus fares which your article sough to advance, – thanks for the links – no doubt has some merit which I do not intend to dismiss. However, you also stated:
…”It will be difficult to reverse the “minibus culture” which unfortunately has been allowed to become ingrained over many years, but any attempt MUST be based on an increase in bus fares so that owners and workers can earn an income which bears some semblance to ever escalating cost of living”…
From the above, if I may respectfully suggest, you attempt to put the cart before the horse. Before any increase in fares is made, “order” should first be restored, thus those to benefit would be the people most “suitable” to move the industry forward.
Disorder and bad behaviour should not be seen to be rewarded…it serves no purpose putting clean water in a dirty vessel.
Today, Clico apologises for not being able to pay. Talking about wheel moving slowly, Clico is no longer under the direction of the oversight committee, so directors and executives can now resume doing as they like. Given what happened before and during oversight, payout of over 1m to Parris, while others cannot get 10,000, God knows what might be happening now. This is crass negligence on the part of the DLP government. While on that an investigation should be made of the Supervisor of Insurance, did he or did he not inform the previous Minister of Finance of these issues with CLICO. Mr. Layne would definitiely know as he was P.S. to that P.M. and the info would have passed through him. We need to know.
Where in the Constitution or the law does it say that the Minister of Finance must be elected, Alex fergusson?
Hi Yardbroom,
Re: “Before any increase in fares is made, “order” should first be restored, thus those to benefit would be the people most “suitable” to move the industry forward.”
The Government has pursued this policy for several years…and it has failed. While it seems to be the right way to go, it is not practical. Don’t forget, we are dealing with the lower socio-economic level, both workers and the great majority of the owners.
These people are approaching desperation in the struggle to survive. It has not worked and it will not work, telling them, be a good boy, forget the $1.50 that is not standing at a bus stop, don’t hustle, don’t go off route to escape a traffic backup, don’t overload, God will provide.
Well Yardbroom, God has not been providing and the owners and operators have been left to fend for themselves in the face of unfair Government competition, unfair Police treatment and ever increasing operating costs.
You want them to behave? Treat them fairly. Then, if they don’t, you have every justification in throwing the book at them.
As it is, punishing every misdemeanor is only further alienating the entire sub-sector, when it has a valid case for a rethinking of the official position.
@Inkwell…
I have to tell you, you guys crack me up.
Please tell me I’ve got it right here… You’re Curly, Yardbroom is Larry, and Crusoe is Moe.
Right?
Chris
Your boys at the FTC can pull together resources to investigate banking rates and they say that it will take a long long time to complete… You t’ink the fellas lookin’ fah somet’ing tah do? Wah dey investigating details dat de Supervisor of Bannks should already have…
Why you don’ put dis in perty English and submit it to David as a topic for commentation..? I is only a Brumley graduate..
@ Inkwell
We are agreed that those from the “lower socio-economic level” in society, engaged in transport are entitled to a fair return for their labour. We concur that those owners who have invested in mini vans, should have a reasonable return on their investment. You have said the behaviour of some ZR personnel – or words to that effect – is unacceptable and should be addressed.
Since we are agreed on the first two items, only the third need concern us now. We seek the same outcomes only the methodology to be employed is contentious.
My initial comments sought to address the “inertia” now evident. You stated ” I have come to the conclusion that despite paying lip service the Government really does not want to do anything about the PSV problem…and it has nothing to do with owners.”
At least we are agreed there is a problem, and it is “not” being addressed. I am willing to concede that it might not be the owners, but only by having a proper analysis and a competent person delegated to take on that task and bring order, are we likely to have a satisfactory outcome.
@ HH/WIV
Is this the same brilliant team that was going to ‘balance the budget and have a small deficit”? The same team that Thompson reshuffle and reshuffle, and still no better?
Was this the brilliant team that stop the flyovers, instituted the most dangerous 300 yds in B’dos at Wildey, where you have to take your life in your hands; the same team that transfered the traffic jam from Pine Hill to the Wildey triangle, that still has not solved the traffic problem at Warrens; the same brilliant team that wanted to institute an unworkable cellphone tax?
You making me question Mrs. Clinton’s powers of observation or did they keep quiet to look intelligent and agreed smilingly. It might have been refreshing to her not to get push back about the U.S.A. I noticed that they are still sending back more criminals so I would have to conclude that they really did not put critical points to her. Is it true that Chris embarrassed himself with Mrs. Clinton by not being able to stop talking? Poor soul. Try again, don’ mind and stop beating yuhself up.
Crusoe wrote:
“Well, you will at least accept that ‘bright” is a relative term, then?
So, compared to Lynch ‘our finest hour’ and Liz Thompson who sited a landfill on a major landslip area, the current DLP members look like Einsteins.
Then again, you cannot blame them alone, as apparently the outgoing Cabinet in 2008 could not differentiate between US Dollars and Barbados dollars, as it came to explaining the cost of the new prison.”
+++++++++++++
Here is my response:
Are you aware Sir that Senator Elizabeth Thompson – Attorney-at-law (double Masters) was awarded by the internationally respected: United Nations for her contribution and leadership on the Environment?
I understand your desperation as it relates to the cost of the new Prison at Dodds and the new way the DLP and the Central Bank is accounting for loans. I will address that in my next post but consider this, because it is really what you and the DLP must focus on:
“According to an IMF Report on the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union (ECCU) dated April 30, 2009, the combined exposure of Clico Life Insurance and British American Insurance Company (Baico) to policy and deposit holders in the ECCU amounts to about EC$2 billion (about 15 per cent of ECCU Gross Domestic Product), against which ECCU governments would probably not be able to provide credible guarantees.
The reports also state that the ministers of finance and central banks of the ECCU, Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados announced that a US$80 million Liquidity Support Fund will be established, designed to support the position of BAICO operations in the ECCU.”
Isn’t Barbadian taxpayers’ money is going to be used here?
The acting Prime Minister and the new Governor of the Central Bank recently assured policy holders that they will be no loss of their investments with Clico Life.
But how did we reach this stage when – sick or no sick – Prime Minister David Thompson of Barbados told this country that Clico was “sound,” “well managed” and “well regulated” and that it was “an attractive entity?” It was the Central Bank of Barbados that told Barbadians that their money was safe.
The Barbados Labour Party has been proven correct and the entire country now know the truth. So what would compel a Government of Barbados to give a guarantee in circumstances where the full extent of the exposure remains unknown?
With the life of the Oversight Committee now at an end and in the absence of judicial management or a forensic audit, where is the protection for policy holders, their family and the Treasury of Barbados?
Barbadians must always remember that when the No-confidence Motion was brought against the Minister of Finance for his poor handling of the Clico fiasco, the entire DLP opted to stand with Clico instead of with policy holders. The Dems made it clear that the motion was “frivolous,” “vexatious” and that it should be “punished with laughter.”
Despite the easily foreseeable serious threat Clico poses to Barbados, no one associated with the DLP sees it as a matter of urgent public importance. Isn’t it strange that no one in the DLP is now saying anything about Clico?
Why is the DLP not placing Clico under judicial management or ordering a forensic audit into that company?
Why such loyalty to a company that poses such a serious threat to Barbadians?
Here is your assignment Mr. Crusoe: Why such loyalty by the DLP and its Ministers to Clico, even though it poses such a serious threat to Barbadians?