Brass Tacks, BWA, Crops, and MTW

Here is what Kammie Holder is writing elsewhere - Credit to Nation Newspaper 09/07/2010

Kammie Holder

Negativity, stupidity, red tape, common sense and ignorance in pure Barbados style. The aforementioned adjectives are observations of pervasive descriptives within Barbados.

Why, is it that it that the once popular Brass Tacks talk show now seems to be the embryo for negativity in Barbados. Should not moderators put aside their bull and bias, to inform and educate listeners as opinion leaders?

I heard recently that experts on water authority don’t believe that Barbados is a water scarce country. Is this the same Barbados where taps run dry? Was I dreaming when I saw a Barbados Water Authority truck pumping water into a gully to make soil soft for a motor sport during CBC TV Wednesday evening sports news? Seem to me this is classic Barbados stupidity?

Our existing fresh water resources are under heavy threat from overexploitation, pollution, and global warming.  Twenty litres are deemed to be the minimum daily requirement for drinking, washing, cooking and sanitation. Such unsustainable consumption levels have led to  water scarcity and significantly altered freshwater ecosystems.

Consider also this: Have you ever tried to pay a cashier at 2:30 p.m. within a private company and the cashier booth was closed? In the year 2010 Government revenue collection agencies cashiers stop taking cash at 2:30 pm, whose  idea it is to continue this tradition, surely not the unions. Can’t be, because aren’t these the same unions who seek increases for workers in recessionary times? Is this a case of being hung by red tape?

Mr Ronald Jones, the acting Prime Minister must be commended for showing great common sense with regards to supporting the need for increased agriculture production. Sir, your pronouncements were bold and only when we get our Ministry of Agriculture personnel to show greater leadership, will we have food security and a decreased food import bill. Have we been defeated by an army of gastropods masquerading as giant Africans.

Ignorance should be attributed to those at MTW who appear not to possess the knowledge that the rainy season starts in July. What would it have cost if Joes River Bridge was worked on 24 hours, seven days a week? What is it costing for the building and reinforcement of the temporary road via Joes River Forest? How much more is it costing the Transport Board? People it’s slippery when wet !

Kammie Holder the boy from the village is studying the personality of the erratic but is a determined Salmon swimming up stream!
Advertisement

165 Responses to Brass Tacks, BWA, Crops, and MTW

1. That is a loaded poll .Different strokes for different folks. However I will opin on TM, Reason being that he does not cow tongue to the masses. However he must not go overboard in alienating his audiences. Right now he is my Favourite. That does not necesarily means he is the best.

2. Interesting

I have two problems with Brass Tacks.

Tony Marshall and David Ellis.

David Ellis is tolerable.

But Tony Marshall, he drums up the worst in me. When I hear him put his nonsensical opinions to people I get so upset. He never allows anyone to have an opinion which differs from his. If their opinion differs from his the callers are treated with disdain bordering on scorn.

What Mr. Marshall needs to consider is we are all different and as such each of us has an opinion and if ours differs from his then that is a good thing as it is our differences which make us unique.

However, I must admit that OCM is smart as even though some of us villify and sometimes really feel like cursing Tony Marshall when he is on the show has a steady stream of callers.

As for Tell it Like it is, I miss this and maybe us the listeners need to petition VOB to bring it back. I would much rather hear a live version of a less popular call-in program than a repeat of Brass Tacks which I already heard for the day. They can go back to repeating Brass Tacks at midnight as usual.

3. The fact that his name is being mentioned be it being negatively or positively means that he has the right ingredients necessary to be a successful talk show host even if he is not well liked He is the kind of person that we all “Love to Hate” but instead of tuning him out we vibrate to his show like addicts. Most sponsors would buy on his programe because they know people are always listening. Maybe if he play his cards right he can become Barbados Rush Limbaugh.!LOL

4. @ ac
    he is just VOB’s GP

5. @Crusoe

one caller noted that people were jealous of him because he went to HC.

6. A few weeks ago the topic of all things was Aircraft Braking System, where many a caller viced hie “expert opinion”. This is from a people who are still struggling to keep common old trucks and cars on the road. These call in shows ,which we are inundated with from morning till midnight and every day on most radio stations are good for the radio stations,as it decreases their operating budget significantly,as they do not have to worry about providing listeners with programmes of quality,or even excellent presenters. It is more or less a do-it-yourself programming. Many people have now gone off radio due to the many call-in programmes and the repetition of the same callers participating in almost every programme with an identical subject.
    The only time I tune in for sometime is on Tuesdays and Thursdays when Tony Marshall is on,as a lot of those callers who really want to show the world how clever they are,and to hear their own selves braying, shy away from Tony Marshall.

7. Interesting to hear the news making the rounds that a former leading banker who headed a bank that was our own has been fired. Interesting also to hear that his interest in projects of a self-interest and certain loans made with a busy businessman maybe the reason for the falling out. No this is not pudding & Sous!

8. Whats up with the innuendo and poor spelling. “busy” is spelt “biizzy” or even bizy.
    How many banks we nueses to own?

Thanks David.

9. This question is directed to MTW. Some weeks ago a Ministry of Health Official stated ,as reported in the press, that Private Ambulances, are NOT considered emergency vehicles by his Ministry.
    Daily we continue to see private ambulances with flashing blue lights, blaring sirens , demanding priority on our highways and at traffic lights.
    What is the Ministry of Transport’s, as well as the Police’s, policy on these vehicles? The public needs to know,even if we understand and appreciate the role and function of these vehicles.

10. @Bosun

Barbadians often are forced to call the private ambulance service because of the unavailability or unreliability of the public service. If the private is provided the same service why should they not be accorded the same recognition by MTW?

11. The agriculture reality with repesct to food security is that barbados donot have the available arable land resource to feed itself and this is not taking in account the over 500,000 tourist visitors annually. So the notion of food seurity is a feel -good-political buzz word that does not match the reality on the ground. What we need to do to alleviate some of the pressure off the food bill is to engage in “smart agriculture” production. For land resource challenged society like Barbados this involves a wholesale adoption of hydroponics and green house farming technology in addition to paying more emphasis on our marine resource . When it comes to tapping the potential in shrimp farming,ornamental fish farming , and fish farming in their naturl habitat we are not even scratching the surface. Smart agriculure also involes growing low volume high price agricultre commodities. The spice market and the neutraceutical market comes to mind.

There are a lot of agriculture products that are not indigenous to this region but we could still get invovle in the production of these commodoties. The americans are good at piggybacking off agriculture products that fetch a high price in their market from overseas by growing the product themselves. Even though it may not be the same quality , they still will make money at the lower tier of the market. Examples of this are , Beluga caviar, trufles, Kobe Beef and frois gras ….. some of the most expensive food item in the world.

Vannila is an expensive food item , but the one that top it all is safron. Put it this way you can make more money selling safron than selling cocaine. The draw back of safron cultivation is it is labour intensive and an acre only yield a few pounds. It is a land intensive crop to grow. We need to start thinking in 3D and 4D modalities, one suggestion is that Barbados investor could go to Guyana where there is land abundant and lease large tract of land ( 100 year lease) to grow food for our security. Heck! as I speak the arabs, indians and chinese are doing the same thing for their country by outsourcing their food supply in Africa. A lot of african lands (especially in East Africa) are being bought up by deep pocket investors to produce a secure food supply for their population back home.

12. Vere Brathwaite is/was by far the best local moderator.

13. @Brutus

Forgot about her, have not heard her on air for sometime. She was added to the list!

14. whistling frog

You can say all you like about Tony Marshall,,,,, But I have called the program on several occasions and he is one person who never PLAYS THE DEVILS ADVOCATE,,,,Ihave had encounters with him when he agrees but nevertheless asked for my personal solution but never ever disagreeing just for the sake of disagreeing.On the other hand Mr.Ellis loves to REVERSE your comments and then take you to task…………….Mr.Johnson poooor fellow is what you call an OMNIPOTENT messenger!!!GO figure….Hoyos welllllllllllll!!!Sometimes he hits it with good guest etc but…………Mr. Babb oh he loves to lurk in the in between and giggle,,,,,And so on but you KNOW WHAT<<<??????? IT TAKES ALL KINDS TO MAKE THE SPIN GO AROUND ..KEEP ON GOING BRASS TACKS!!!!!!

15. Tony Marshall and David Ellis must be paying people to vote for them. The truth is, of the above

David “no spine” Ellis with his slow time wasting delivery must always demonstrate that he has an opinion on every subject that he believes people actually want to hear…

Tony “the Buffon” Marshall must discredit any and all callers, smacking his lips irritatingly in the process , waste time trying to cross examine with totally irrelevant questions,

Stetson Babble actually believes that he is interesting… my God, probably is if you can decipher what the hell he is saying or trying to say.

Patrick HoyAss believes everyone to be stupid… he brings new meaning to the word sarcasm…

Wendell Callender/Mathew Farley… Interchangeable nincompoops… My God they never leave the class room… they are incapable of talking TO people as opposed to talking AT people.

Shontelle Munroe-Knight… Horrible voice.. Man what happen to Dr. Delph. That was a proper female voice for a host.. not these squeeky wanna be’s suppa intellectual types that just serve to maintain the status quo.

Vere Brathwaite.. Horrible voice, nothing more than another one dimensional who should know better

Dennis I could stomach but only ONCE a week please unless of course it is fireworks which allows him to display his genius at interviewing, and he is very good

Don MArshall and Peter Wickham actually do have information that I want to hear and I respect these two people. Don maybe a bit of a bore, and Peter maybe a bit of a bully…

Those results are either cooked or Barbadians in the main are just plain stupid…! I vote Peter Whickham

16. Pretty Blue Eyes

@ BU David & Hants, if you were following my blogs a couple of weeks ago you would have noticed that I mentioned some of the loans that were handed to foreigners by the B.N.B., in January, he was fired, he sent an email to staff members saying he is going to his daughter’s graduation then he is studying some course, then he will be back in July, but who cares. The fact of the matter is that B.N.B. brought on two people a former staff member who usually acted as C.E.O. and had only taken up a position at Consolidated Finance the month before, to train they new C.E.O. then announce to Barbados lying as usual that he is there temporarily.If you go through those loans at BNB and the Credit Cards you would see how Barbadians have been sideline by this bank and women offered credit cards because they looked pretty and this is no lie. Foreigners have been granted unsecured loans and poor bajans that suck salt to repay loans have been turned down.But us bajans like to listen to accents and so the wool would be pulled over our eyes time and time again. Yes he was fired but it was much more than what you mentioned, he has an indirect interest in Limegrove so I do not know how soon we can kick him out but good riddance.

17. IT TAKES ALL KINDS TO MAKE THE SPIN GO AROUND ..

But surely Ba’bados can do a lot better than the bulk of assh’les listed…

18. @Pretty Blue Eyes
    Can u be more specific and direct?

19. Listeners will have their preferences. A feature of Marshall’s moderating which he does better than most is the way he grills the mouthpieces/Communications Specialist who call the show from time to time.

Johnson does the show with passion and has an allround grasp of the issues.

Wickam’s popularity is built on the controversial positions he takes.

The two worst of the group are Callender and Babb.

20. @BAF

However you still keep listening and calling TM.I woder why? I used to listen to the early morning show when Dennis Johnson host, he does know of what he speaks when it comes to music.
    David Ellis is quick to please and not overly aggressive. Can take him or leave him.

21. ac

I grew up on the mid-day call in program. It is a habit that I find hard to break. Of course I was pissed when Earskine Sandiford pulled CBC from the mid-day time slot and forced a situation where Andrew Hatch, Leslie Sean and Stan Riede with their colonial bullshit became the dominant personalities. With all that history, David Ellis and Tony Marshall were/are the first moderators to have me change the channel. Over time they have gottten worse. I listen for the odd occasion when someone new calls with an interesting position on something current. Of course nowadays with the likes of Michael Browne such occasions are severely censored…

22. Many may opine that Elombe Mottley set the standard for talk show radio in Barbados. He was brash but informative and passionate. It would be interesting to know if the station attracted law suits because of his style. It seems the management have allowed the effectiveness of the talk shows to be greatly influenced by what the lawyers threaten*.

In the same way successful businesses accrue for potential operational losses if it becomes recurring so too the radio stations should retain a % of revenue dollar to aggressive respond to the threat of legal action while balancing the need to facilitate free speech.

The irony is PM Thompson in an early press conference mocked that self-censorship of the media in Barbados. Usually it is the politician who takes umbrage at comments made on the shows. Put Thompson to the test, see if his people are inclined to sue!

23. Radio is rsally at an alltime low. The talk show to replace real programming just keeps uninformed moderators talking to slightly less well informed people. It cna be ver yirritating when people say things without regard for facts or coherence in argument, and they are only corrected if the moderator disagrees with the view. I am amused at how their political petticots slip around their ankles, while they pretend to be neutral. interesting how David Ellis could have picked so many DLp operatives as hosts ‘accidentally’, he was embarrassed but defensive about it. Vere does not come on enough but she is careful and conscientious in how she handles the show.

TM is abusive to callers, and while some may speak on things in a manner that is not informed, his way of taking them to task on the air is not right. Some of them are not equals, just ordinary folks. He corrects them like school children and you must say what he says before he will let you go on.

It is pathetic to listen to the demise of really good radio, the excuse that they cannot research and no longer do investigative journalism, there is no time. Spend 6 hours a day on talk radio discussing non-researched topics, and have no time to research to EDUCATE people. Do 4 hours and research then, give us a better quality show.

Look at the quality of research given on Bu by David and GP, and others. look at the balance Bu seeks to bring to comments. In a world of inundated with info it is necessary to educate people so we can keep up and stay informed. Right now VOB is not cutting it.

24. If an analysis is done of the years during the BLP regime of Tom Adams and especially Owen arthur you will see that a massive amount of law suits were filed against the media in particular VOB,the Nation and The Advocate.Owen was the worst but all the other BLP ministers liz thompson,Rommel Marshal,Barney ‘muscle mary’ lynch and the other BLP fowlies all got into the act and VOB and the Nation and even the Advocate paid out.

When you compare that to the regime under the DLP you will find there are less lawsuits by DLP politicians.

It is well known that anytime the BLP get into power they try to close down any public dissent against them so they target the call in programmes and newspapers .
    Their method is to intimidate the public into silence.

The radio station never discusses this however,and tries to give the impression that all the political parties are equally as vigorous in suing them and intimidation.Not True!

A year by year or term by term or administration by administration comparison will reveal how wicked the BLP really is.

It will be interesting if we could look at these lawsuits by politicians and examine them carefully to see what it is they were suing the radio stations and newspapers for,and really what it is they did not want the public to know.

Politicians,ESPECIALLY BLP POLITICIANS,are too thin skinned,they like the adulation that comes with the office but can’t stand the heat of public scrutiny and criticism.

25. In my opinion David Ellis is the best of the bunch…he is a thinker and knows how to articulate. Dennis Johnson is fiery and a bit too argumentative.

26. @BAFBFP

Peter Wickham in my opinion is only good for talking politics, and he doesn’t have much of a personality for hosting the programme.

27. @AC

I don’t know how you could say that Davil Ellis is always quick to please when I always hear him challenging people on certain issues. Up to a few days ago he was taking on Tallboy.

28. @Atman

Each moderator will have a different style. We should be careful not to criticise style over substance.

In terms of being creative with ideas if you get past his academic speak Don Marshall is up there.

29. With regards to the replacement of TILIS with a repeat of Brass Tacks, I too was disappointed with that decision. I heard David Ellis explain to a caller that the decison was made based on listenership, therefore they want to see if listener will will improve with a repeat of Brass Tacks.

Quite frankly I believe they started to encounter difficulty with getting reliable moderaters for the evening programme. If you took notice you’ll realize that moderators were always late for TILIS which was suppose to begin at 6:15pm, and sometimes they were so late that Ronnie Clarke was asked to sit in until the moderator arrived.

30. @David

I only call it as I see it. You may have substance but poor style, and if that’s the case, I will say so. In my opnion David Ellis has the best balance of style and substance, and that’s why he gets my vote. I think that both ingredients are important when it come to hosting a programme.

31. @ Atman
    “Quite frankly I believe they started to encounter difficulty with getting reliable moderaters for the evening programme.”

I so agree with that. It is as if I would have wrote it and inadvertently placed it under another handle

@ Atman

“In my opnion David Ellis has the best balance of style and substance, and ..”

I can’t believe that the same person wrote this piece… Atman somebody using your handle man…

32. @Bajan Truth

Note that the quality of BU to use your term is a collaborative effort. Many behind the scenes provide information and we are very happy to have a high satisfaction level regarding the quality of information from our sources and contributors.

33. @ Atman

“David Ellis is the best of the bunch…he is a thinker and knows how to articulate ”

Excuse me, friend, David Ellis is a Parrot…! He will only regurgitate that which was articulated to him. For example, a few months ago when he was asked to give an opinion on the BL&P raising capital by issuing either new shares or bonds, the “thinking” individual DID NOT EVEN KNOW WHAT A BOND WAS… He later tried to save face by claiming that “a moderator cannot know it all”… A BOND for Christ sake…! Someone later outfitted him with a catch phrase “the BL&P could have gone to the market” and that became his tag line response… Thinking person my as#…

Sorry has picked up on another tag phrase to go with the one above and “Counter Cyclical Measures”… It is “Double Dip Recession.

Sorry Atman I mean no insult to you, but this man only sounds good to people who know no better…!

34. @BAFBFP

Man I’m sure we can sit and find some fault about each and every moderator, but overall, I’d still much rather listen to Ellis than listen to Wickham. Not only does Ellis have a more suitable personality for radio, but he can entertain a wider range of topics than Wickham can.

35. Oops, the abbrev for the evening programme should have been TILII rather than TILIS.

36. All those who are related to David Ellis on this blog say YO..O…

All those related to Tony Marshall on the blog say AYE..I

SOMEBODY SCREAM AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH..!

37. How do the current crop of talk show hosts measure up to Elombe and Walter Blackman?

38. My favoritist favorite of all time is HARRY HUSBANDS… but he ge’ a pick now an’ gone quiet… (Sorry Akintolove, yuh’s talk ta much..)

39. The question for me David is how did successive Directors of the National Cultural Foundation measure up to Elombe. Short answer, they did not…! They have all since been ineffectual Party hacks…! (A couple could even be described as scoundrels)

40. The success of the NCF in recent years maybe measured in the economics of the Crop Over Festival. Of course in the process they would have squeezed the culture out of the thing.

41. Bonny Peppa

I TOO LOVE TONY MARSHALL.
    He is a very good moderator. He just don’t tolerate persons making blanket statements and have not one iota to back up their comments. He has little or no tolerance for ignorance. Just like Bonny. I was elected president of a PTA once and I had to resign early a-clock because the shite that some parents would come to ask and expect an answer too, was more than my little tolerance could manage. So before I ‘buse everybody, I resigned long before my tenure was up. Some people would make ya ‘buse’ dem with the nonsense that they talk.
    Tony Marshall is a real sweet fella though. Me an he lock horns more than once on the said Brass Tax but in the end, he was still my numero UNO.

I hate softy, softy moderators.

I love Peter Wickham bad as a person but can’t stand the way he moderates. Especially when he talking shite bout de 11plus or lashing children. But I love he bad.

I can’t stand the way Dennis Johnson skins his teet all de time like a goat. stupseeeee.

TONY MARSHALL, I TOO LOVE YOU.

42. @Bonny

You love old grumpy men who set in their ways…dah is all…ha ha ha. So when I gine meet yuh?

43. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    And what about all those who would LOVE to get close ta Tony Marshall?What should dem say? MEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE?????

44. Bonny Peppa

Atman
    Yes, I LOVE ta ungrumple dem ol men dat set in dah ways.

We gun meet in good time. But be careful wah ya ask fa, hear?

45. @Bonny

Since there is no way I could send you a private message here, when you get a chance pop on over to my forum and send a private message to Gearbox.

46. Robert Deschappe

In my opinion, Don Marshall is the best. He brings an educational aspect to the show, in that he has an in-depth knowledge of various topics, such as local, regional and international issues, “yard fowl” free political opinions, and of the international economic environment. I am particularly interested in what he brings, and more often than not, I learn something.
    Tony Marshall is arrogant and uncouth. I hate his style. I notice that he is tolerant of the opinions of persons such as Dennis Kellman, “The Trinidadian Lady”, Leroy McClean, “Mr.P”, and all those who are supportive of this present administration. However, if one is critical of the DLP, he has no tolerance and he would cross examine them in a very rigorous way, with the main intention of embarrassing them. Check out his treatment of Indar Weir, Winnie, Ivan Linton, Cynthia Forde, et al. But if you are a supporter of the DLP, he would obviously your hero. This is expected, he is chairman of the NIS board.
    Pat Hoyos is extremely sarcastic, and needs to be removed from the programme. Dennis Johnson brings a lay-man’s perspective that is often fresh and free from a political bias.
    Peter Wickham is the public relations officer for the DLP, and CBC is used as the mode to filter the propaganda. Check-out the CBC news and The People’s Business.
    I have two problems with the call-in-programmes:
    1. The choice of moderators; Maxine McClean, Harry Husbands, Stedson Babb, Akentoolove Corbin, Shontelle Munroe-Knight, Ralph Jemmott, Tony Marshall, Mathew Farley, Patrick Hoyos; must we have all moderators who are pro DLP. This encourages calls from supporters of that party, and there is no alternative perspective. The programme goes in one particular direction – accept the opinions of DLP supporters, while dismissing the opinions of those who may have some concern with this administration.
    2. Does Mr. P have to call every single day? he brings nothing new to the show, but the same topics over, and over, and over. Can anyone at VOB ask him to take a break? Good grief.

47. But look, if there is one caller who does sicken me and crack me up at the same time is Julian bla bla bla Hunte. That guy ia a piece of work.

48. Did anyone listen to the call last week between Marshall and Conde Riley of the Barbados Cricket Association?

One could sense the tension emanating from the call.

It was unprofessional of Marshall to demonstrate such open hostility…lol.

49. @ Robert Deschappe

I agree except that the obvious Dees in the bunch go out of their way to come across as fair and unbiased… boring, particularly when you know that they do carry a bias. Peter Wickham has always claimed to be a Dee, which is unfortunate, but he is paid by Government to do what he is doing now. “Don’t bite de hand dat …”

@ Atman

Julien Glyne Williams-Hunte is the most entertaining of all those simpletons that are referred to as regulars. Pity the producer has so little patience with him

@ Bonny

I cannot for the love of God understand how you could like me and Tony Marshall at the same time….

@ David

These PHd’s that have been running the NCF have proven what I have always none to be true, book smart and spineless … fodder for big business interests (and politicians…) Bankers have a tendency to fall into the same category, as demonstrated in an earlier comment on the BNB, Tony Marshall and others.

50. It was unprofessional of Marshall to have waited for the World Cup 20-20 campaign to broadcast the incident between Riley and the WICB.. (not once, but over and over again…!) Hanging dirty linen out when you have world class guests… What an idiot.

When Riley called Marshall went silent. I believe Riley did it on purpose…. Good Mooove

51. Do Radios in Barbados have multiple stations and an on/off switch?

52. @Hants

The show is not only about the host, callers do bring something to the table.

53. Robert Deschappe

Anonymous stated that:

“It is well known that anytime the BLP get into power they try to close down any public dissent against them so they target the call in programmes and newspapers. Their method is to intimidate the public into silence”. What do you expect? Moderators of the call-in-programmes are supporters of the DLP, and many callers use these programmes to cuss the ministers of the former administration, without being cautioned by the moderators, especially Tony Marshall. If the situation was one where all moderators were pro BLP, and callers were given the opportunity to cuss DLP ministers, I am sure that your party members would sue also.

“and even the Advocate paid out”. The Advocate seems to be exercising caution by their method of reporting recently. Everyday from page one to the back page has some article pertaining to any minister of government or anyone affiliated to this present administration. The Advocate should be renamed “The George Street Journal”. Is this type of bias reporting that the Advocate does good journalism? The only reason you love this paper because it is being paid out by George Street.

Check CBC. On Friday 9 July, 2010 at approx. 8:45am, a woman called Larry Mayers on his CBC 100.7fm show to ask him if he read a particular article in the Nation. Mayers interrupted the lady to tell her that he was uncomfortable discussing any article in the Nation. He went on to tell listeners the reason why; the staff at CBC were issued with correspondence which indicated that they were not allowed to discuss anything pertaining to the Nation on the air-waves. This means that this DLP administration has placed a “gag order” on the CBC staff as it relates to the Nation. In all fairness, this type of thing cannot be right in a democracy. But I guess that this is good for all those DLP yard-fowls.

As it relates to John Lovell; before there was “Talk ya talk priest” on Fridays, he used to have a guest in the studio by the name of Rawle. This man can be identified as one whose sentences are ambiguous (not clear or decided). He likes to use a lot of “big words”, (a mouthful, but still says nothing) and is an ardent supporter of this administration. These two gentlemen would have a stream of DLP supporters call the programme to spout their political diatribe. What could be more bias than this. What about using CBC to telecast the DLP lectures, and the constituency conferences, where the representative can be heard and seen on national television, not discussing things that are relevant to the country, but week after week BLP bashing. Is this not political.

Ever notice that since Cox died, Reudon Eversley has been secretly appointed in the job that Cox had at CBC?

Who is targeting whom.

54. Straight talk

Did we ever get the final accounting from the World Cup organisers on Green Hill.

It was promised by September 2007, and delayed by an untimely death, but was it ever published?

If so, I missed it and would be interested in seeing our accrued benefit.

55. Matthew Farley . No not for me .he is caught between a rock and a hard place with his opinion. Recently he was trying to explain to a caller that it was o.k. for the bajan songstress to be ambassador to the youth of Barbados and her outrageous antics is all because of her lifestyle.Then on the other hand he is quick to crrticise the wukinup generation in Barbados. He is such a hypocrite!

56. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    If you can’t for the love of God understand how I could like you n Tony Marshall at the same time, well try for the love of Me to understand . I love you both dearly, especiallly……………………….

Atman
    You in easy a’tall hear. I wonda why you in summucha hurry to meet me. You like trouble? Why Gearbox? Am you he?
    Julian Hunte does got me cryin too. I know his wife Ann and she’s a really nice person. Very quiet nice lady but I can’t for the life of me understand how she tolerates……………………..ok, won’t say anymore. But she’s really nice.

57. Bonny Peppa

ac
    Dis fella Kammie Holder in look bad a’tall. Wah u tink? He look kinda cute too.

I see Ashanti Trotman pun TV tonite. He makes my heart flutta. I just luv de grey hairs men.
    ROK my darlink, shout ma nah.

58. I dislike opinions such as those expressed by BAFBFP
    and the name calling ?

a complete turn off

BAFBFP sounds like a typical male chauvinist pig and bigotry seems to be a trait

whe will we rid ourselves of that kind of mentality
    – ?

59. @Bonny

I am Gearbox at my forum so when you ready just join and send me a private message and I will answer all your questions then.

60. Pretty Blue Eyes

@Alpha – what do you mean be more specific.Bajans have been applying for loans and credit cards and BNB many are turned down.I know for a fact that many BNB credti card holders with limits of Bds$10,000.00 and over and some business credit card holders have been offered cards because of their looks, some have the decency to refuse.The gentleman who was fired wife is a major shareholder in the Limegrove project which is financed by BNB. The Limegrove branch of BNB was not constructed for people of lower class as a matter of fact, one day the former C.E.O. came there and saw staff from Barbados Water Authority waiting to apply for loans, he called the Manager and told him point blank he does not want those kind of people there, he said there shoes would dirty the floor.He does not speak to staff members, he says speech is a bajan thing.His secretary was never offered a seat at any of their meetings with him, she had to take notes and write minutes standing up, it is always his thing to look down his nose at others.I am hesitant is writing the really nasty stuff, I will hold that back until I feel a bit more comfortable with it.

61. Bajan Truth

I lost respect for the media and call-in programme moderators. David Ellis started a campaign about three years before the last election. ‘But wait, nobody really asks this govenrment to account for anything, everything cannot be good. Let us start to question them.’ That was good, that is democracy and important for us as a people. How it evolved was unethical and disgusted me. From then there was an avalanche of daily criticism justified and unjustified against the then gov’t. This is necessary to keep arrogance and complacency in check, which Bees suffer from in abundance. Excellent managers of the economy and building high quality of life, but smug.

Callers were encouraged to call in and complain by Ellis, Farley, Wickham, Marshall. ‘the public has a right to know’, they need to call and explain this and explain that. Three years ago call in programmes had B’dos like it was in shambles, the political tide was not turned by the then opposition it was the orchestration of the call-in programmes behaving like an opposition with six Dees as moderators. Till b’dos sounded like it was in devastation and things untolerable in the country. Don’t hear them now – cost of living is several times higher, services are cut, jobs lost, hospital still bad, people hungry and businesses closing. Country suddenly got better.

At the time I used to listen to parliamentary debates on Tuesday, as Parliament was kept regularly, not like now. When you check the news, call in programmes and newspapers after the debate very little was carried that answered questions in the public domain, THAT WERE PROVIDED IN PARLIAMENT. I have yet to hear marshall, Ellis, Wickham provide an explanation to the public as vociferously as they do now information heard in parliament that addresses an issue in public as long as it made the Bees look good. Side issues to the main topic raised or spoken to by Parliamentarians would be recorded but seldom reflecting the response to issues the public wanted to hear and SHOULD KNOW – hospital, greenland, traffic congestion to name a few. As far a sDavid Ellis and his crew were concerned unless a minister called the programme and answered their questions you were not being accountable and transparent. The call- in programme was now the parliament ala David Ellis.

I gradually lost respect for the media – call in, radio, papers, T.V. I take it with a pinch of salt. Ellis said on air he was there to bring a balance, but I could only conclude that meant for him balance the public’s views of the parties so they thought less well of Bees and more favourably of Dees; not bring info for all sides to get a 360 degree look at an issue and present it for the publics digestion and discussion, regardless of who it favoured.

62. @Bonny Peppa

Don’t be fooled by that picture. Dat picture may have been taken a few years ago. Any how back then he looked al’right. He is a very very sensitive., warmhearted , and kind.
    ON his looks I’ll give him 3 Stars.
    On his PERSONALITY 4Stars
    On his intelligence I” ll have to think about that!

63. @PIG RAT

Back Off BAF. Go find someone else to pick on .e.g GP. He likes when people pick on him. Try it you would enjoy it.
    WARNING: Leave BAF Alone fuh me pleeze…………………………….This is my Final WARNINGto you.

64. @Bajan Truth

At that time to which you refer Starcom and the Nation newspaper appear to take an anti-government position recognising that the in fighting in the DLP threatened our democracy at the time.

Our opinion

65. Cut the crap,the moderators like david ellis,mathhew farley,dennis johnson,patrick hoyos,mark forde,wendell callender are all pro BLP.

So people like bajan truth and the other BLP sympathisers that on here tryin to say otherwise are only pulling the wool over wunnah eyes.

VOB and the Nation are wholly owned subsidiaries of the BLP,it’s only that now VOB is trying to be careful because they need a t.v. license from this government.

Ever wonder why owen arthur never gave them it?Because he didnot want a t.v channel that he could not have direct control over and maybe the Dees feel the same way.

All of VOB lawyers have been BLP senior persons like Henry Forde,Phillip pilgrim who was also a moderator and now Hal Gollop.

Why you think they have known BLP supporter Mike Browne as the producer?It is that the BLP party message will not be allowed to die.

Mike browne does not allow the caller known as ‘the st john polyclinic man’ to speak for more than 10 seconds why is this so? The caller has since stopped calling because he is always cut off regularly now.

All persons of whaterver political leanings should be free to express their views.

66. On the program recently a man called in and gave TM .a wicked tongue lashing one that i thoroughly enjoyed. . I was eagerly awaiting TM respond but theman hung up.I think that might have been my friend BAF. The fact that he can make people that aggravated says he is doing his job. However it is important that he give balance on both political side. IT makes for good programming. One side becomes boring after a while and people would tune the host/hostess out.deminishing their popularity

67. Kammie Holder

@ Bonny Peppa and AC thanks for the kind words. Oh by the way I am anything anyone wants to believe I am. I never sweat the small stuff, I further accept that whatever happens to me is life and I must always fight for my continued existence. The picture was taken in April 2010,if in doubt ask my Facebook buddy David King.

68. @ BAFBFP.
    “But sure Ba’bados can do a lot better than the bulk of as****** listed”
    Just like politics, the more intelligent and qualified persons, sit back, or perch on the paling, and allow these as****** to rule to roost.

69. Dah day when the BLP was in power and Dennis Johnson was hosting the program, he call for de resignation ah ever’body involved in the open ended contract with 3S and the ABC highway (he even implicate the Prime Mis’ter and all)

… Man I was so proud that day… I feel Dennis get pull since den… De man was hostile den… mek mah proud…

70. Whither the radio call in programs in Barbados??

Of what use have many of these programs been to enlightened educated defamation-free polite frank discussion on many issues and matters over the years in this country???

Well, apart from being a function of the constitutional right to freedom of expression, making sure that some constructive solutions to the problems of some people and some other entities would have been found, and making sure that Radio stations earn a couple more dollars, test for their own popularities at given times and test too for potential subversive political elements among a string of listenership/people, they have wickedly served over the years to help stop some people who other wise would have resorted to taking serious forms of political action ( political protests, political mobilization, rallies – individually or otherwise ) to make their grievances known and to advance certain political social causes, from actually resorting to taking those and other kinds of political actions in their own and some others’ interests.

The radio call in programs would have for a long time been deliberately taking the winds out of the political sails of many people and organizations in this country.

The call in programs have – at the political level – virtually replaced many forms of constitutionally sanctioned political action – mostly for a kind of elite-controlled agenda setting political discourse.

And have subjected the broad masses and middle classes to a form of crude cronistic corrupt middle class DLP/BLP political domination – WHICH MUST BE TOPPLED EVENTUALLY by those of those classes and groups that have long been made victims of this oppression.

But, like many things which certain people over and over again think they have under rigid or definite control, only later to realize those unbridled foolish thoughts being blown to smithereens by the effects of other relevant phenomena, Mr. David Ellis, Mr.Tony Marshall, Dr. Don Marshall, Mr. Peter Wickham and others are right now, at this juncture, realizing or being forced to see right before their very own eyes, that the particular on-air information and communication channels that the CBC, STARCOM network have constructed, such as Guttaperk, Brasstacks, Tell it like it is, etc., and over which they themselves would have been so willingly presiding – are being rightfully jettisoned by many of the broad masses and middle classes, in favour of other modern more liberalizing more integrating mediums of social and intellectual exchange.

So, the David Ellises, the Tony Marshalls, the Dr. Marshalls, the Peter Wickhams that have been relishing being able to control the verbal exchange content and flow between them and the listening public – mainly in the damn interest of preserving the status quo – are right now presiding over fast diminishing, less interactive older listening audiences.

Too, no longer are they capable of saying to the broad masses and middle classes what they should be or should not be made to be informed of or about – from the points of view of their own opiniated stuff and a chosen few, or what they should or should not be able to discuss among themselves, and to what extent.

Too, not only have the call in programs been made into victims of their own with their compliance with some old stupid defamation laws – rather than vigorously making sure that the “right” changes come about – with their sticking to this archaic formulation of these talking heads cum moderators cum semi-radio personalities sterilizing and stagnating, rather than the individual parent stations – or at least some of the moderators – having the foresight and wisdom to come together and set up their own talk radio /reality reporting radio/internet station involving so many different perspectives in the country.

But also the days of the traditional radio station, newspaper and TV formats – wherefore usually some so-called educated Black middle class agents mainly cosy up to the ruling elites for some supper, and at the same time carry out a course of the net pacification and hoodwinking of the broad masses and middle classes, are almost over – simply because traditional radio, TV and newspaper are on their way out as the dominant means of mass communication information based agenda setting discussion in Barbados.

But, at the end of the day, the modern mass media, internet blogs, certain aspects of social networking sites, are, in one sense, politically speaking, some what taking over from where the calling programs in this country are leaving off – being the dominant factor in the NET PACIFICATION AND WEAKENING of the broad masses and middle classes of this country.

Whereas, these modern mediums can be used to articulate, aggregate and dissemination the political views of some persons on whatever subjects, they can NEVER replace, broadly speaking, the political organization as the central organizing unit in politics, political education, political mobilization, for (possibly) organizing government – all at the same time in this country.

So, would it not be eminently better for more of the broad masses and middle classes to build and develop new parties with a range of philosophies and techniques for helping to further develop the Barbadian society in these modern times than for so many thousands of them to assume behaviourial traits and patterns normally associated with western eurocentric symbols, identities, personalities, cultures via social networking via the internet, and from there to help create more fundamental national problems for the country – corrosive foreign cultural influences, involving trade and balance of payments imbalances, that these parties will in turn have to deal with eventually, or not??

PDC

71. ac // July 11, 2010 at 7:56 AM

On his intelligence I” ll have to think about that!

Interesting that you should say so. The few times I’ve read KH in the Nation, Ive been less than impressed by both the content and style. Doesnt do anything for me Im afraid. Bit of an intellectual flyweight to be honest, and seems sometimes to be trying too hard and taking himself more seriously that other people will ever take him. Just my opinion.

It’s symptomatic of a bigger issue though – the Nation is clearly struggling with a pretty ordinary line-up of columnists in much the same way the VOB is struggling with an ordianry line up of moderators. Question is, is this scarping of the barrel more a reflection on the media houses themselves or more a reflection of the calibre of thinkers/advocates we have in society today?

72. To be fair to Kammie has he positioned himself as an intellectual?

Here is the footer on his weekly columns:

Kammie Holder the boy from the village is studying the personality of the erratic but is a determined Salmon swimming up stream!

73. btw, one of the things that struck me about his column is that he never really seems – in my opinion – to properly develop/delve into an issue, so it comes across as superificial, surface-scratching, trite stuff. Now, in fairness to KH, I get the impression it’s due to the very short column space he’s allowed. Or it could be that he just doesnt have any depth to him. Time will tell.

74. David // July 11, 2010 at 12:51 PM

To be fair to Kammie has he positioned himself as an intellectual?

Even boys from the village can have depth of analysis without being ‘intellectual’ in the strict university sense.

It’s OK though, I know u gotta protect one ur contributors cos u hungry for content for the lil blog, lol.

75. And other thing …

He could really ease off with this self-indulgent “the boy from the village” business. He’s A boy from the village. He one come from the village?

76. @Anonymous

Believe it when we write that you are not correct. BU could easily post a blog every other day and be done with it.
    It is the comments from the BU family which gives vent to the issue, don’t forget that man.

You can have the last word, lol.

77. @Kammie

One good word deserves another, From what I have read from your contributions.One thing for sure you are not aloof. Not overly serious about what you contribute in your submissions and always seem able to make fun of ourselves. However with a little more nudging from the BU family you would accomplised your goals amd master the art of editorial writing. Nice meeting you!

78. PIG THE RAT

why the (expletive) people like Anon. always want to dissect and bissect.categorise and stigmatise people.
    what kind of complex are you kind of people suffering from

cheeeeeeze !!!!!!

79. Pretty Blue Eyes

@Bonny Peppa, I love your antics are you man or woman, seriously you make good points and put them over in a funny tactful way!!!

80. Pretty Blue Eyes

@Bonny Peppa

don’t answer, I believe you are a man pretending to be a woman in love with those grey haired men, just trying to fool us bloggers, if that’s your fetish go for it!!!!

81. PIG THE RAT // July 11, 2010 at 2:22 PM

why the (expletive) people like Anon. always want to dissect and bissect.categorise and stigmatise people.
    what kind of complex are you kind of people suffering from

A complex called commitment to excellence and abhorrence for overhyped mediocrity. I know, its rare in the tropics, so you may never have heard of it. It explains in part why everyone who can beat a tot is a “star” between June and August, for example.

Anyway, nothing more from me on this blog. Continue to wallow in your small island mentalities and I’ll continue to enjoy my complexes and neuroses. Then see whose approach is ultimately more productive. Carry on …

82. Bonny Peppa

Kammie Holder
    You’re all right to me and for me. I’ve never read your column cause I can’t read very well. LOL. But I was just complementing you on your handsome look. I kinda like it.
    When I tried putting a face to your name, I conjured up an older fella like Gladstone Holder. Not this handsome young prince at all.

The Rat Pig
    BU is just an off-spin of every day life in Bim. So wah you expect? Dis in nah Sundee school session. BU represents the good, bad ,indifferent and wusless folks like, ya-kno-who? So doan tear ya coat pardner.

ac
    But if he is kindhearted, warm,sensitive, I won’t worry bout de intelligence. He mek up fa dah in all dem udda areas areddy. He look too sweet doe. He look kinda shy too. Now I doan like shy men a’tall. Leff dah shy ting fa de women. Cause Bonny does play dat she real shy fa de first. I like men dat aggressive yet gentle n warm. LOL

83. Bonny Peppa

Pretty Blue Eyes
    I am all woman dawlink. You can’t get more woman than I am. I even have breast and a vagina to prove it. Fa true.
    I just like to make my sport and pass the time but I can get serious if I want to which isn’t very often.

Anonymous @ 6:03
    We don’t only beat tots from June -August. We also wukk up stink, stink ,stink at de Pork Limes, Brewster’s Rd. fetes. Wadaddah fetes etc. and den on Kadooment Day, oh shite, all hell does brek loose. You doan know wah ya missing in dis ‘small island mentality’ boy.
    Right now I hay wukking uup stink, stink ta Lil Rick ‘Ga Down’. De only problem is dat when I ga down, I does can’ get back uup. De ol knees, oh shite man. De arfritis n rumatism but um in stoppin me from ‘doin-bad’ kadooment day.

So Anonymous,enjoy life and doan be sa harsh pun we small islands. We is people too.

ga down, ga down, ga down, doan stan down day, cum uup, cum up, cum upppppppp.
    Murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, ma waist/waste.

84. Bonny Peppa

Atman
    Man de las time I try ta get on pun you I kun get on all I try. You gun gotta help me get on. Tell me wah ta do.

Hold ma bird, hold ma bird, hold ma birddddddddd.

85. Bonny

People dat know good good know dat I am very very shy, very rough and very cold… true true

86. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    …………..an hansum as hell too. ya leff out dah vital part.

87. Bajan Truth

@ David exactly true they were trying to be the opposition, but they only had to present and print the truth. It would have preserved the democracy.

@ Anonymous // (1)

If an analysis is done of the years during the BLP regime of Tom Adams and especially Owen arthur you will see that a massive amount of law suits were filed against the media in particular VOB,the Nation and The Advocate.Owen was the worst but all the other BLP ministers liz thompson,Rommel Marshal,Barney ‘muscle mary’ lynch and the other BLP fowlies all got into the act and VOB and the Nation and even the Advocate paid out.

Anonymous 2 Cut the crap,the moderators like david ellis,mathhew farley,dennis johnson,patrick hoyos,mark forde,wendell callender are all pro BLP.

===================

Wendel is definitely BLP at the moment he has been dee and Bee. Mark to me is just careful, Dennis seeks to be fair and call a spade a spade. You would have to be more than partial to think that David Ellis supports the Bees.

Now explain why the hell the ministers suing the radio station that ‘belong to them and propping up their message’, that you say they own and have BLP lawyers. Is it a form of schizophrenia, are they idiots or self-destructive? or is your argument flawed? When you are trying to push a lie,try to examine your argument from all around to make sure it makes sense. Gp I am going to beg you to give lessons in critical thinking, argument and composition. If you have slides on a brain undergoing decomposition we could all learn from it.

if I were you I would claim that the anonymous at top is not the same as the one who wrote the second, cause you cannot be for real. Got to borrow from Bonny stupseeeeeeeee……..

88. Kammmie Holder

@ Anonymous ah sorry dat yah dont know how to decipher elementary junk from I DI OTS like me who went school in August. Bro, true intellectuals like you must never refuse to help the boys like me from the village to become so intellectualized. Help mah please. Anonymous, I consulted my oracle Squeeler the pig and was told ” Only a fool thinks he knows everything”. Squeeler predicted that Spain would win World Cup!

89. Bonny Peppa

BajanTruth
    But ya can’ just use my ‘stupseeeeeeeeeee’ and not pay me my copy-rites. I lookin fa my dues. Pay up or ga up.

Kammie Holder
    Ask Squeeler wah he see in de fucha fa de two a we. (I hope weddin bellz)

90. @Bonny

Just go the this link below and click on “Register”. Registering is quick and easy and you get immediate access.

http://bajantuhdebone.freeforums.org/

91. What became of the moderator Mark Forde? He was the only one who ever made commonsense to me and I would listen to him. I think all the rest on that list are a complete joke, perhaps with the exception of Peter Wickham.

92. Why—these people always feel that they are mightier than other people

Anon !!! -you are just human like anybody else
    Stop trying to belittle people.

you dont have two heads ( I am sure the way you talk –you have to be female)
    you dont have six eyes –even though you might have 6 pairs of spectacles.
    you dont have 8 brains
    20 sexual organs
    15 botsies
    you have not lived 365 years
    ——–
    what gives you the right to call people names ??

because you live over n away

Humble yuhself !

93. BP

You got me cracking up!

Anonymous

Man come back and give your opinion nah. You are making this thread DAMN Ineresting!

94. Georgie Porgie

JC

Is why you say u luvs me like how de pig love de mud and how de butcher luvs de pig and u always running from me?

95. A very interesting exchange took place between David Ellis and Mr. P this morning and I just listened to it again on the repeat.

Firstly, Mr. P asked Ellis if his company recognizes David Thompson as the current PM of Barbados, so Ellis thought it was a ridiculous question and replied with an equally ridiculous question. Anyway, Ellis asked him what was his reason for asking, and Mr. P said that he went into one of Starcom’s offices and saw two pictures on the Wall, one of the Governor General and the other of Owen Arthur. So Ellis asked him to identify which office it was, and Mr. P replied by saying “man you does work fuh Starcom, not me”.

If what Mr. P said is true, then I think that is a bit ridiculous and disrespectful, but I’m not sure if I could trust what he says.

96. Bonny Peppa

Atman
    I gun try one mo time ta get on pun you my Dew-drop.

JC
    Porgie playing Romeo wid you. Preten dat you name Juliet fa now n ansa he nah.

RatPig
    Ya got ma cryinnnn. How you mean dat de body got ta be female from de way dem talk? De body sound male ta me from de way dem talk. And we could go on n on guessing de body gender which isn’t important really.
    But I got a lil quizz hay fa you now. Effen ya get it right ya gun get free gasoline fa a year ta put in ya bicycle. Here goes:

Two flies in a room, how can you determin their gender/sex?

97. And Bonny I does beat women bad bad bad…. Rihanna Fenty bad…!

98. @Bonny

I want tuh ansuh dah quizz. De fly dat pun de TV remote is a male, and de one pun de phone is a female. Uh rite?

99. Actually on second thought I have to withdraw my comment that “If what Mr. P said is true, then I think that is a bit ridiculous and disrespectful”. I seemed to forget for a moment that Starcom is a private company…unless all media houses are expected to mount a picture of the current PM…I don’t know. Anyhow, Mr. Ellis did say that if Mr. P was correct about what he saw, then it shouldn’t be so.

100. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    I would prefer you ta ‘lick’ me not beat me. Bonny rale sof n fragile so ya gotta handl wid care.

Atman
    De male fly in my quizz was pun a beer bottle not na remote. Gotcha. No free gas fa you. But I got sumting betta fa you. Mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

101. @Bonny

You is a bare tease girlfriend. lol

102. where is Technician? Looking!

103. Bonny,

Just tell me dat yoh don’ like mah na mo’… You can’ like me and Marshall. I give you ample reason to duck out, man ga long nah…!? Lef me tah ac, you deal wid bATMAN; his radar is unquestionably fix(at)ed…!

104. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    You should be glad to be part a my band. Even ef ya only on back-up vocals. Causen ya dun kno who is de lead singa? Yes, my tweet-hart bATMAN. I too luvs he, hear?

105. Frankly I don’ cay ’bout being part ah your so called back up vocals… you eider chose between me and Marshall or human bein’… hell, just for the sake of all that is holy in this world, lef me tah fu*k out of your fan club…! Point made

106. Watching, absorbing and listening!!!

It is a fact that Kammie Holder is sensitive, kind- hearted, warm and about the intelligence, did you ever put your hand in his mouth? Then yuh cyar judge de man!!! To add a bit, he has a sexy voice on-air too! Voice tone is very important if you want to be heard!!! And he definitely attracts attention to be one of the topics of discussion here! Eat ya heart out fellas!!!

107. HAH AHA AH AHA ….

108. Bonny you better mek up you mind yeah cause BAFBFP like he ready to dunnnnn!!!!!!!!!!

109. Today we learn that in spite of the technology available ,the BWA is unable to trace leaks in the system in the St.Joseph/St Thomas/St Andrew area,and as a result is going to embarked on a shut down of these areas to ‘allow the reservoirs at Golden Ridge and Castle Grant to refill”. Reminds me of the Harry Belafonte’s song, “There’ a hole in my bucket”. Commonsense would dictate that if there is considerable leakage in the system, which now prevents the people of the affected areas from accessing water through their taps for days on end,merely topping up the reservoirs, will only end up with more wastage of water due to the illusive leaks,and they will be back at square one, having completed a circle of madness.There was a time when the foreman at a Water Works Department reservoir was able to trace a leak , within feet of the actual leak, even when there was no visible sign of water oozing to the surface. He walked the line , regularly and took periodic soundings using low -tech instruments,and a Mark 1 Ear. Certainly in 2010 we could do better, and after the Minister a few nights ago made the bold statement that the BWA is staffed by the most competent people that you could ever find anywhere in the world, or words to that effect. And he wasn’t performing in one of the Calypso tents either.
    But is Castle Grant reservoir still in service? last I heard it was abandoned due to cracks,/leaking in its underground tank.Plus it was ramshackled and run down,and not fit for human consumption.
    The people of the east coast may be affected, but I would bet my last pay packet that the people on the eastern end of the East Coast road are not affected, as they have the back up of the overhead tank at St Elizabeth village which is fed from Newcastle, via a pump house next door at Cattlewash. Even if low pressure causes the St Elizabeth tank to remain low, there will always be a feed to the Cattlewash pump house,and by extension the Cattlewash gentry.
    Where are the two “Joes River Parliamentary Bridge Inspectors.” On second thought they may only make the situation worse,as they did with the Joes River Bridge which could have remained opened to buses and cars as it was only the edges which collapsed, but the main carriage way bridge footing was, and is, still pretty sound.

110. Bonny Peppa

BAFBFP
    I want you ta know dat you is de boss and I gih you permission ta say so. Holla all ya want.

JC
    Trust me, he gun done when i gih he permission and he know um too. So leh he do bad fa now.

Bosun
    My darling, I live in one of the above mentioned areas and for as long as I can remember, I’ve experienced water outages. And I can tell you when your water is off, it takes a toll on your body. I get so frustrated at times that I feel like I would ‘go-off’ and lick off all de rasthole pipe cops but then I would still got de expense. Earlier this year, to keep my sanity, I had to go and get a water tank. That in itself is a very expensive venture. Right now I am out of pocket of over $3000. including labour. And my tank is only 800gals. How can the average person afford this sorta shite?

111. But Bonny I am a Handyman extraordinary, I could have done that job for you at no extra cost, as long as you had promised not to lick off my pipe cop.
    But we are not as badly off as Bermuda,apparently each house has a storage tank and a truck comes around ever so often and fill it up. For some time, recently there was a problem with delivery,and householders had to go without water for a few weeks.

112. Bosun
    Well,well,well, nah, when you tink dat you got um bad, there’s always somebody else gottin um worsa.
    I would lick you off not de pipe cop, my rolley-polley.

113. BP
    “I want you ta know dat you is de boss and I gih you permission ta say so”

Damned Straight woman… now where I put dem pills again…!?

114. Robert Deschappe

Bosun // July 14, 2010 at 12:16 PM
    Today we learn that in spite of the technology available ,the BWA is unable to trace leaks in the system in the St.Joseph/St Thomas/St Andrew area,and as a result is going to embarked on a shut down of these areas to ‘allow the reservoirs at Golden Ridge and Castle Grant to refill”.

It seems strange to me that St. Thomas, St. Andrew, and St. Joseph are having increased water problems. But then again, this administration is keen on its public relations. For example, a NPC pipe was turned off in the Ivy, then we can see Kenny Best in the newspapers and on television championing the cause of his squatting constituents. I have seen Hanesley Benn giving awards to people and children in St. Peter. Irene Sandiford-Garner was out front in the honouring of Ryan Brathwaite, (and they are not the elected representatives in these constituencies).
    Based on this and other trends that have been developing, I will soon see Irene Sandiford-Garner being highlighted in the media going to the rescue of the residents in St. Andrew; the person who will replace Rouse will be highlighted in St. Joseph, and either Dottin or his replacement in St. Thomas.

115. Robert Deschappe
    You confusing me. But it doesn’t take much to confuse Bonny. Is probably the early onset of alzheimers.
    Are you blaming this administration for the water woes in these parishes? Please say no.
    For as long as I have been living in this parish, and that is more than half my life, and I am 50 pluses, we have been experiencing water problems. And for your info. the late beloved Tom Adams was my representative before he passed and also the now retired attorney-general. Did they or were they able to solve the mystery? Nooooo.
    So what is your problem my man? I am having problems with your argument. Please take off the blind-fold before you stumble and hurt yaself.

This water problem calls for technical brains which seems to be null n void from both parties.

So shush ya snout.

116. Bonny you aint as slow as you make out to be. You aint easy!!! LOL

117. JC
    chuckle,chuckle.

118. Georgie Porgie

JC
    Are you as slow as you pretend to be?

119. @ David

Did any Nation columnists ever contribute in any meaningful way to BU pre January 2008?

120. Never slow GP, just careful. How are you was thinking about you and decided to visit the blogs in between work.

GP when are you coming to Bimshire?

It would be nice to meet you!!!!!!!!

Smile!!!

121. Georgie Porgie

I have to lose my big belly before I check a young chick like you.

You will laugh at me with Bonny Peppa.

I have to spend some serious time on my bowflex before I come home in persuit of my JC. LOL

122. @Alpha

BU is not aware.

123. @Bonny. You are quite correct,this water problem needs technical brains,and a bit of commonsense thrown in. But over the years we have stop listening to the ‘old men round the corner” who have a wealth of experience and knowledge,and we have downgraded,and clipped the wings of our technicians and artisans in preference to university graduates who now hold the reins, but haven’t a clue how to tackle problems. I recall the PM,Thompson, over the drainage issue ,declaring that he does not want to talk to the university graduates, but to the men at the corner. One wonders if he did. There was a time when we could put men like Lionel Moe or Colin Hill to manage these trouble government departments , and expect much improvement in a relative short time. Along with their management skills they brought a sense of discipline.

124. Come with belly and all( which I doubt you have)!!!

Just come it would be nice to see who is GP!!!!

125. @ ac….

I still here lurking in the shadows reading and trying to learn a thing or two..lol.

Internet access is limited, so along with studying, my time on BU has been cut somewhat.
    I am just trying to catch up on some of the topics I missed, see that GP got another one on his case but we all know the good doctor can play any ball.

126. @GP, I thought that WAS the point of you coming here…for JC to spend some time on your ‘bowflex’?

RFLMAO

So, sorry and childish I know, but alas, it was too good to miss the opportunity…

127. @Technician.
    i was thinking you might have taken another vacation in Ft.Lauderdale. Anyhow keep in touch I’ve been missing reading your comments. Missing Yuh! Take care!

128. Georgie Porgie

Crusoe
    You got it wrong man.
    Wuh happem man . You brightah than dat LOL

I have to spend time on my bow flex before I can come there. Or else you guys will crack up when she reports dat GP is a man who thinks he in Mission Impossible Murdah!

129. Can’t resist. I figure he was a short greyed head Big Belly Man. LOL

130. @ac…

Not FL….that is GP’s domain…lol.

NYC is where I go.

Will be there later to take my exams though, so I am enjoying the sun before the winter catches me ;)

@ GP..

Man stop fretting about the big belly nuh…de tool box should hold all your tools
    de garage has to match the size of the car, de tent has to cover the table and chairs…..ya get my drift doc?…ROFL!!

131. @ Technician.
    HE ought to fret bout dat big belly. It is hard to find yuh way around wid one dem and some things also hard to find!

132. Georgie Porgie

Just got this one in my email
    A man and his wife were celebrating 50 years together. Their three kids, all very successful, agreed to a Sunday dinner in their honor.

“Happy Anniversary Mom & Dad”, gushed son number one. “Sorry I’m running late. I had an emergency at the hospital with a patient…..you know how it is, and didn’t have time to get you a gift.”

“Not to worry”, said the father. “The important thing is that we’re all together today.”

Son number two arrived and announced, “You and Mom look great Dad. I just flew in from Los Angeles between depositions and didn’t have time to shop
    for you.”

“It’s nothing”, said the father. “We’re glad you were able to come.”

Just then the daughter arrived, “Hello and Happy Anniversary! I’m sorry but my boss is sending me out of town and I was really busy packing so I didn’t
    have time to get you anything.”

After they finished dessert, the father said, “There’s something your mother and I have wanted to tell you for a long time. You see, though we were very poor, we were able to send each of you to college. Throughout the years your mother and I knew we loved each other very much, but we just never found the time to get married.”

The three children gasped and all said, “You mean we’re bastards?”

“Yep”, said the father, “and cheap ones, too!”

133. It seems that Tony Marshall hasbecome less combative with those who call in onhis program as of recent, Could it be that he has read the various comments in regardto him on BU.

134. ac
    I hope he read de one dat tell he hummuch I luvs he. I mean Tony Marshall.
    Contrary to how you picture Dr. Porgie, i picture he as a tall man bout 6′.2, brown-skinned, receding hairline wid a few sprinkles a grey hair and wearing some sexy-ass silver framed specs. I feel he like wearing white bush-jackets too. LOLLL

Dr.Porgie
    I love dem ‘cheap bastards’ joke baddddddddd. I almost fall off my chair. dah baddd.

Technician
    I gun be in NY soon. Long Island ta be exact. wah gun happen? :-)

JC
    I agree wid you. Even if he got a big belly you gun accept he wid wide open arms. I tinking bout disguising as you and gine n meet he too. If I get ta he first, you gun be in real trouble JC. Trus me. ya is my sista from anotha motha but I doan mix business wid pleasure, hear. LOLLL

135. Georgie Porgie

Bonny

“a tall man bout 6′.2, brown-skinned, wid a salt and pepper afro and wearing some sexy-ass silver framed specs. I feel he like wearing white bush-jackets too”

Pretty close . Very good! LOL

136. ac

“It seems that Tony Marshall has become less combative with those who call in on his program as of recent, Could it be that he has read the various comments in regard to him on BU.”

That is absolutely correct. The same is also true for David Ellis… subdued! And that is the point. I beg forgiveness for those that I have offended, but there is some method to my madness. Unfortunately what you are witnessing from these oaths will not last too long.

But ac you soun’ing real cute… neat and cute. Forgive me but I almost said Innocent as well… Man why you don’ explain an t’ng or two to Bonny..? You don’ feel she gettin’ a lil’ too big..?

137. Should I feel in the least bit responsible for the change in the moderators’ responses of course not, my ego really ain’ dah big, but you’ve got to admit, at least for the moment “Something’s happening, and it’s so exiting…”

138. @BAFBFP

Bonny throws out a sprat to catch a whale and so far she only can catch de the sprats .including you LOL Watch out she throw a wide net!
    Technician been to smart fuh she so far . He not stupid!

139. Tony Marshall must not let the chronic callers hog the airwaves. That too can become boring and tedious on the listener. At times he need to dismissed them using the TM method. Some of them begin to feel like they celebrity and go on forever repeating the same old same old thing.People like them need to cast into the radio lake of fire Pronto.

140. @ GP…

Bonny like she got Paul de octopus yuh?!?

141. Techy you and GP got all de women now. I hope wunna know how tah handle..

142. I must interupt. I WAS THE FIRST TO SHOW INTEREST IN GP!!!!!!!

Don’t forget it!

Hi Tech

Nice reading you (smile)!!!!!

143. @ BAFBFP….

I will tag you ;)

@JC….

Same here… as always ;)

144. Robert Deschappe

Bonny Peppa

I think that your confusion can be blamed on the smut that is in your head. Are you the author of some of the smutty calypsos that Hartley, Ronald, and Stephen are talking about?

145. Georgie Porgie

Techie
    I dont know what she using, but I hope she dont tell wunnah no more staistics bout me. LOL Murdah. She too accurate for comfort bosie! LOL

146. @BAFBFP

“I hope yuh know how to handle them”

Question : Can you ? The last time you try handling one you ran out of gas!

@Kammie Holder

You very quiet man ! What happen.? Say something Hello!

147. Ummm…. the poll says it all so far? :lol:

148. Bonny Peppa

Robert Deschappe
    Yes idiot, I penned smutty calypsoes for Sparrow and Kitch too. And if you ever meet the same Hartley, Ronald or Stephen at a Crop Over fete, they would be wukkin up stink to the same smut too. And as for you, with a name like that you would probably have a problem with rhythm. So you can do your wukkin up indoors, OK?

Tech
    You got a lotta long talk fa me bout Paul de ocotpus but just now you gun feel one a my tentacles. You wait. Ya tricksta.

Dr.Porgie @ 10:43
    Bonny good so. :-)

ac
    I tell you dat dis Kammie Holder like he real shy. So doan look fa much. But I got two friends that work at de Nation and I gun ask a question n get back ta ya. I curious too.

JC
    Dr.Porgie luvs you n not anudda so doan get frighten. He got eyez fa only you.Ya lucky devil.

BAF
    Good nite my dawlinks. Stay as sweet as ya are. (wink, wink)

149. ac

I didn’t know that I ran out of gas… cadear, you shouldda tell me before yah up and gone public. As horrible as I am I don’ deserve dat man. Still can’ get pas’ how people as smart as you and Bonny could like Tony Marshall… nah…!

150. @BAFBFP

Yuh couldn’t care less of wat i say. No respect . Yuh talking it allup wid all de women .Now yuh say what.! Look out there is a Venus Fly Trap waiting fuh yuh!
    As for TM.Maybe I am sadistic.

151. BAFBFP
    ‘………..how people as smart as you n Bonny could like Tony Marshall…………’

Maybe because opposites attract. :-)

152. De above Anonymous is only me.

153. @Bonny

I tink BAF fell asleep. He must be tired playing Hard ball wid de girls. WE too much fuh he!

154. ac;

Oh shoot, sorry man but I din fall nawhere, I get distract. Can’ give any details right now…

155. @ac

You are correct, there has been a change in the tenor of exchanges on the VOB talk show. Yesterday Stetson was most sullen. By the way, is it not unprofessional for these guys to be oozing their moods in the public domain? Have no idea what has accounted for it.

156. David
    I must be given de accreditation for their new approach on the VOB talkshows. I called to let them know dat I am listening to dem again, hence the new attitude. LOLL

TONY MARSHALL, I still luv ya bad dawlinks.

157. @ac who wrote:

It seems that Tony Marshall hasbecome less combative with those who call in onhis program as of recent, Could it be that he has read the various comments in regardto him on BU.
    ===============================================================

I have notice that too…he seems to be controlling that urge to dominate the programme. I’m sure that if he didn’t read this blog himself, somebody at VOB did and informed him of how he’s been perceived by the public.

158. I couldn’t believe that Stetson Babb said that “Cricket is just cricket…emotional candy” a month or two back. I tell myself that this man can’t be in his right head to say that about a sport that has defined our region and given us notoriety in the world for over two decades as the kings of the sport. He got tuh be an idiot.

159. @Atman

You would expect that kind of statement from Stetson but to place it in a promo for the program? What are we missing here? It would only have served to highlight his ignorance. Was Mike Brown telling him something? lol

160. @ Atman
    ” He got tuh be an idiot.”

@David
    “to place it in a promo for the program… served to highlight his ignorance”

HAHAHA AHAHAHA
    But what wunna expect from a whole platform ah idiots hahahah … AH DEAD…!

161. @BAFBFP

Is that picture your twin ego he is better looking than you . Tell him ac say give her a shout out!

162. @David

The fact that the change in tone came right after this submission is very telling!

163. ac

alright…

164. David they read my submissions hahaha

165. What the unscientific poll confirms is what we knew already. Tony Marshall, Don Marshall, David Ellis, Peter Wickham and Dennis Johnson are regarded as the top talk show hosts. The gap between them and the rest is sick.

@ac

Yes BU has confirmed that the parties were made of the poll :-)

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s