Recent Posts
- Notes From a Native Son: Thinking Big and Planning Small
- The CLICO Saga About To Take A New Twist
- Factors Compromising The Growth Of The Economy
- The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor
- NUPW In The News Again
- Agriculture…It’s All We Really Have
- Drill Darcy Drill
- Development At What Price Pat Hoyos? The Fight By Bajans To Own What Land Is Left
- Update: Registrar Exposed To Action For Defamation By Senior Lawyers
- The Force Compromised By Manpower Shortage
- In Search Of The Perfect Blogger
- Mia Agrees With Law to Protect Perverts and Sexual Predators
- Notes From a Native Son: Material Poverty and the Poverty of Ideas, An Issue for Government
- Hear Our Prayer O Lord
- Will The Fair Trading Commission Protect Consumers From EMERA And LIME?
-
Popular Articles
- The CLICO Saga About To Take A New Twist
- The Democratic Labour Party Caring For The Poor
- Factors Compromising The Growth Of The Economy
- NUPW In The News Again
- A View From The Other Side
- Bajan Girls Gone Wild...
- Agriculture...It's All We Really Have
- “If you don't stand for something, you'll fall for anything”
- Alexandra School Impasse: A Massive Failure Of Public Service Administration
- Welcome
- Development At What Price Pat Hoyos? The Fight By Bajans To Own What Land Is Left
- Domestic Violence And Its Impact On Barbadian Society
-
Top Clicks
Previous Articles
BU Menu
Bajan Music Sites
Blogroll
- 555dubstreet's Blog
- Allegiance
- Bajan Dream Diary
- Bajan Global Report
- Bajan Poetry Society
- Bajan Reporter
- Bajan, The Hitch Hiker’s Guide to Barbados!
- BANGO
- Barbados Consumers Watch
- Barbados Economic Society
- Barbados Labour Party Blog
- Barbados Labour Party Website
- Barbados Restaurants
- Blogoria
- BoyceVoice.com
- Bush Tea At Large
- Caribbean Beat Log
- Caribbean Cricket
- Caribbean Public Relations
- Caribbean Vibes Radio
- CaribWorld News
- Celeb Gossip
- CheapPercussionInstruments.com
- Cheese-on-bread!
- Crushing Fools
- David McQueen
- DC Jottings
- Democratic Labour Party Blog
- Democratic Labour Party Website
- Dreams Of A New World
- eCards for Everyone
- Fly Barbados
- Gallimaufry
- GoGrow:Barbados
- GoWEB Blog
- Green Antilles
- ICT4peace
- Ideas 4 Lease // Halsall
- Jamaica Elections 2007
- Jamaica Labour Party
- Kairosfocus
- MoviesNoOneShouldSee
- Moving Back To Jamaica
- Mullins Bay Barbados Blog
- My Barbados Blog
- my rustic bajan garden
- ON MY WATCH – the writings of SamHenry
- Operation Black Vote
- People's Empowerment Party
- Planet Barbados
- Pull!Push!
- Rupee News
- Seawoman’s Caribbean Writing
- Speaking up
- Superlative1
- Ted
- The Baruba Post Online
- The Browser
- The Goddess Room
- The Manicou Report
- The Observations of a Simple Bajan
- Trinidad & Tobago News Blog
- Trivester
- Weighed In The Balance
- West Coast Blog
- What Crazy Looks Like
- Wikipatents
Newspapers & Forums
Political Discussion
Top Links
- Access Barbados
- Auditor General of Barbados
- Barbados Consumers Watch
- Barbados Economic Society
- Barbados Jazz Festival
- Barbados Portal – BIG
- Barbados Statistical Service
- Capital Chronicle
- Caribbean Jobs Online
- CaribbeanJobsOnline
- CheapPercussionInstruments.com
- Co-opLIFE Advantage
- Constituency Councils of Barbados
- Corporate Affairs & Intellectual Property Office
- freepatentonline
- Global Voices
- Go-Jamaica
- Government Agencies
- Government Websites
- Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary
- Green Antilles
- Guyana Institute for Democracy
- IonBarbados
- Lawbuzz v. AdviceScene.com Litigation
- Ministry of Tourism Blog
- my rustic bajan garden
- National Democratic Movement
- National Hurricane Centre
- Operation Black Vote
- People’s National Party
- Power 106FM
- Random Facts
- Rosemary Parkinson
- TotallyBarbados.com

BU asked Doc GP to do a lecture on Sinusitus because of a couple requests we received. The BU household is afflicted by this condition as well.
Indeed this condition is a pain in the ass but there is hope .One of the remedies though which I could never understand is the pushing of Vicks in the nostrils.Some experts warn against this but suggest it is placed at the base of the nose.Anyways, I wish all the BU family who are dealing with this ‘affliction’ some relief.At least you’ve got the sea water and sun!!
Dr.Porgie
I suffered with this for as long as I can remember. Even had to have the tonsils removed because they would always be inflamed and I would always have a really bad sore throat. I had to pay the late Robert Thomas (ENT genius) a good piece a change to have them removed privately. And if I thought that the sinusitis was bad the tonsillectomy almost took my life. Oh christ, talk bout pain. And yes, I know of labour pains.
Raymond
I too love my Vicks boy. Can’t do widout um when I ready ta sleep. A sister-in-law of mine who was really addicted to it had to have surgery to remove some shite from up her nostrils because of the abuse of vicks. I still got to get a ‘whiff’ befoe I shut me eyes. And when I get up during the nite to go to the bathroom. (dat is if I in piss me bed).
Raymond
Although I disagree with you on the location of the disease (lol) it is indeed very difficult to treat. Hence the frustration of its sufferers.
Some folk are prone to suffer from allergies, and therefore acute and chronic sinutis will haunt them.
Persons who are prone to sinusitis often suffer from allergic rhinitis, and may get attacks following such attacks during the pollen season.
One suspect that increased fumes from vehicles and dust from construction or transport of buiding and other similar things right be contributing to their rhinitis ——-leading to their sinusitis. I was always just very happy to refer suh patients to the ENT surgeons! LOL
Yes Bonny One must be careful with what you put in your nose. Avoid putting things in your nose. You run the risk of inducing a disease from doing. Think its called vasomotor rhinitis medicamentosa
Dont put any unprescribed medicine in your nose even if you find links from pill pushing websites that tell you that the medicines have mild EFFECTS. It might be the SIDE EFFECTS YOU HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT . LOL
I suffered in my previous home from this syndrome…a house laden with water damage and therefore extensive mold. Trust me, as I am now a believer, look to your environment for the irritant.
Dr.Porgie
Man I feel dat i addicted to Vicks. I don’t put it up my nostrils. I just rub it across my nose holes that I can get de vapour or I can’t sleep. I serious as a heart-attack.
The conversation always settles on the kinds of drugs we are using to fight our maladies. Often time people who have the ugly ‘drip’ complain that the several drugs they use have little affect over time. Then there is the operation which offers no guarantee. What next for the acute sinusitis sufferer? BU is aware as pointed out in the presentation there is acute, sub-acute and chronic conditions to consider.
Yes David, your comments about the treatment are really true. Sinusitis is something that medicine has not yet mastered
Thanks for this David and GP.
I was a sufferer years ago and I found that it came about because of my working environs.
The instances began when I moved to working underground in manholes for long periods of time (12hr shifts) for many months.
I had a very bad infection but the medication never worked, I had painkillers and antibiotics for weeks at a time but to no avail.
I was as though my head was about to explode and tying my shoelaces was out of the question. Me eyeballs felt as big as a breadfruit and as heavy as lead. I couldn’t move my eyes so i had to turn my whole head.
Anyway, I think you get the picture..lol
Well after suffering for so long with no relief, I decided to go to Herbert Cheeseman because at this stage I would have gone to a witch doctor or gone mad (it was that bad).
He gave me a bottle called ‘Sinus Helper’ and another called ‘Mucus Dissolver’. I was to take 6 drops of each in half glass of water , 3 time a day,for 3 days.
On the second day, while sitting at my PC, I felt as though my nose was running, so I went for a tissue to blow. When I started to blow, this brown colored liquid came down with a bad smell and continued for 20 minutes.
I continued the dosage for 3 days and until this day I never had that problem again. My sinuses don’t bother me anymore either.
I will try to see if I can get the ingredients of the 2 ‘potions’ for GP to give me his input
@ GP….
Can you do a presentation on Kidney Stones?
Is there a way to prevent them reoccurring?
I have been there and hope that it never happens again. That brought a big man to his knees….literally!!
This is another problem that seems to be on the rise in Barbados also.
Techie
Seems you had frontal sinusitis. The headaches can be so bad folk think they have migraine. Frontal sinusitis tends to get worse as the day gets hotter.
Is Cheeseman still around?
Seems he gave you a herb that acts as a mucolytic to disolve the mucus in your sinuses to allow it to drain out. Very interesting.
Re Can you do a presentation on Kidney Stones?
I think I have a ppt I taught on that in Curacao. Will look for it.
Earlier this year we posted an animation for John on it to show the sites that caused the most pain.
@GP…..
He was last time I checked, don’t have to go all the way to St.John now.
He had a store in City Centre and the Southern Plaza Complex but I think the City Centre one was closed.
I must confess though, after a bad experience with a very close family member, I have a suspicion on certain medication and since 2001, I have always sought after the alternative route. This is not to say that I have turned my back on traditional medicine (that would prove ludicrous) but for some ailments I have found other remedies and practices that really help, thanks to Mr.Cheeseman .
I also suffer from headaches (severe) at times but I have found so may ways to stop them before popping a pill. One thing that really triggers a bad headache for me is a flickering fluorescent bulb or a TV set.
Hunger is also a trigger, so I have to eat on time because once it starts it only stops when I totally relax myself .
There is another guy …a Dr.Richard Cohen, who deals with acupuncture and a lot of Chinese stuff.
I went to him with severe headaches one day and he stuck 2 needles just above my eyebrows, the headache went away totally in 10 min. This is a headache I had for a week!
He was good too but I haven’t seen him in a while, since he moved from Hastings Plaza.
I believe that the body knows how to heal itself in some instances if we would just let it.
Actually Techie, you have a variant of migraine, from the symptoms that you describe!
This is a very interesting disease with many bizarre presentations. The best approach is to over time note the situtions or food that triggers it, and avoid them.
I can not understand the anaomical or physiological or biochemical basis of acupuncture, but I have seen it work!
@ GP…..
You are correct when you say..’The best approach is to over time note the situations or food that triggers it, and avoid them.’
I have been doing this for a while now. One thing that sets it off is MSG, so there went Chinese food and those mixed seasonings in the packets.
Also, a filter on the pc screen helps.
I also have a headache where the back left part of my skull feels as though it is tightening into a knot. I was told it is a ‘tension’ headache and it seems that way because I only get that type if I am angry or frustrated.It is a dull throbbing pain and it increases if I continue to be angry or emotional so now I am mostly cool and calm regardless. Now the girls think I am cold hearted and mean…lol.
Man you got migraine headaches, tension headaches and headaches from frontal sinusitis. Man you is a real headache! Interesting patient for a conference on headaches. Lol
Yes MSG is a migraine trigger also strobe lights flickering tvs etc cheese
In the 80′s I drove from St Joseph Hospital to the Hilton to hear a supposedly maguffy talk about HEADACHES. He gave me a headache cause he didnt say anything much- at least nothing new. I was looking for some nuggets of truth. some proper protocol to approach the diagnosis of headache.
LOL..
Over time I have them under control though but years ago they were most trouble some.
While we on this now and I have a bit of time, as a child while at Foundation, I always had nosebleeds. Some mild, some for long periods of time and heavy.
I have not had one like that since school days, however while enduring the winters up north I always have a mild on at the start. I think it is because the dry air makes my nasal passage tender and sore (correct me if I am wrong).
What could have caused the ones as a child?
There are about five small vessels that anastomose in an area of the anterior nasal mucosa called Little’s area. Pressure from sneezing and blowing one’s nose repeatedly (usually due to colds) might cause these vessels to ruptures. This is perhaps the commonest cause of nose bleeding in children. TREATMENT IS MASTERLY INACTIVITY (i.e do nothing) & lots of reasurance!
Your conclusion about the cause when you experience the cold air in NYC is probably correct ( I am giving you the benefit of the doubt ………but……….???????? lol)
@Technician
Thanks for sharing, in the exchanges many questions were answered for us.
@ David….
Glad to help.
I no longer suffer but I feel your pain.
I wonder if I could make some $$ being an ‘Interesting patient for a conference on headaches.’
What say you GP…lol.
Techie
Just as sharing your experiences provided information for the BU household FOC; in like manner your participation as an ‘Interesting patient for a conference on headaches’ will also be FOC.
It’s always best to get the information from real patients in thier own words, even though you might fit in to patterns found in the texts.
GP:
“It’s always best to get the information from real patients in thier (sic) own words, even though you might fit in to patterns found in the texts.”
Who is the sole arbiter of patterns?
Whenever did texts provide the innovative breakthroughs?
Answers on a a very small sheet of paper would be preferred.
@ David
I cant open the adobe file. It says it is damaged and cannot be repaired.
This is a disappointment as I suffer with chronic sinusitis due to allergies, dust, pollens, tabacco smoke, etc.
@GPO
Dr. GP, could you forward the slide deck to me under separate cover? Maybe it will come through okay. Thanks.
@Pat
Ran a test and the pdf opened fine. Maybe you should upgrade. Go to ‘Help’ and select ‘check updates’.
Ppt sent Pat.
Bonny peppa and Georgie Porgie
I should be sleeping by now but be christ! you two on my mind! Now then not in a bad way but get this! Squirt if ya got to squirt then put on de vicks! But whey Rok dey?
While thankfully I do not suffer from headaches, occasionally I do get sinusitis (with colds).
On the headaches, I have noticed that migraine sufferers seem to get worse when the barometric pressure is dropped due to weather etc.
However, I (as a layman) am wary of headaches, unless one has a known cause factor, if they go on too long i.e. past a day.
Obvious reasons re aneurysms etc (not to scare you Tech).
Remember, I am a LAYMAN.
On the sinusitis, plain old ‘Vicks or Menthalotum Inhalers’ work for me when I am in the midst of a cold and hence blocked passages……..
@ Crusoe..
Too late with the scaring re aneurysms. Every time I get a headache, especially the tension ones I described to GP, that is this first thing that comes to mind. Like I have said before, a bad experience with a close family member keeps these thoughts in the forefront.
Raymond
Man lil vicks can’ stop a fella from ‘squirting’ man. And ROK is always close by. No fear.
Dr.Porgie
I have a brother whose eyes hurt really, really bad when he’s having a migraine. Sometime ago he even experienced a numbness in his left arm. Is this associated with angina pectoris? I confuse as usual.
Can you explain adenoids? This is sometimes confused with sinusitus. A lie?
Crusoe
De good old vicks in hot water and inhaled works wonders for a conjested head also. But de ol folks use ta cover dem head wid a towel . Don’t see de significance but dem ol folk were right with a lot a dem remedies. I still do it with my grans which makes them wonder what the towel has to do with anything too. But……………….works fa me n dem.
Tech
If I am on the computer steadily, I get a tension headache at the back of my neck and my eyes feel like they would drop out. It makes me really grumpy n touchous when this happens but yet I do it. Addicted to the “net”. You too?
Sit up straight, use two fingers and not three, and tek yah time… go slow
Bonny Peppa
Re I have a brother whose eyes hurt really, really bad when he’s having a migraine. Sometime ago he even experienced a numbness in his left arm. Is this associated with angina pectoris? I confuse as usual.
Can you explain adenoids? This is sometimes confused with sinusitus.
1 We all know you is a confused ole ‘oman! LOL
2 Let me set up a ppt on the tonsils- “adenoids” is one of these – actually one of a series of five sets of lymphoid tissue in oropharyngeal area.
3 The symptoms you describe for your brother’s migraine are variants of the disease.
I will never forget the first time while still a student I saw a serious case of migraine. Nurse friend of mine collapsed in church with the symptoms of a stroke. We took her to hospital and she was admitted, but was discharged next day. She was later that day diagnosed by a maguffy as “migrainous hemiplegia.”
That was not yet standard text book stuff in those days. (Such diagnostic skills highlight why we need the consultants at the hospital.)
Later on when I graduated, I saw a young girl with a weakness of the tongue only, another with weakness of one side of the face, and I have seen some other bizarre things.
Characteristically these symptoms occur BEFORE the headache starts. Sometimes the headaches may not even come on at all. Migraine is thought to be due to spasm of cerebral blood vessels. The symptoms seem to relate to the location of the vessels where the spasm occurs and the intensity of the spasm.
For instance the girl who had the stroke like symptoms had spasm in Broca’s area where many strokes occur. Hence her symptoms mimicked a stroke. She had the headache after she was discharged from hospital.
Migraine headaches can last for days and are quite painful, but migraine variants scare the daylights of those who experience them.
I had a young girl who went on a trip to Venezuela and did everything in the book that was wrong. She said she didn’t like the food do she ate lots of cheese sandwhiches. She went to a disco with strobe lights where she had some alcohol. She had taken some hot chocolate before setting out to the fete. She awoke in a hospital! On discharge, she returned home and came to me soon after in tears! Reassured her like a big daddy. LOL
Hope this helps
As promised Doc GP has asked to upload A Rough look at the tonsils and adenoids.
Bonny and others
The key points in these two ppt presentations are the Anatomy slides. If you get the location of the sinuses you will understand why you get the pain in the respective areas. You know all about the symptoms and treatment from your experience.
Also note that what we refere to locally as ” the tonsils” have a different location drom the “adenoids” even though both organs have the same basic function. If you understand the anatomy this helps a lot.
@GP
You stated in the presentation that the tonsils have a protective function i.e. to trap and remove bacteria. What about those people whose tonsils become constantly inflamed and have to get them removed? Does it mean this group becomes more susceptible to infections? What are the other down sides?
They may not necessarily become more susceptible to infection. They use the other four sets of lymphoid tissue in the ring. It seems that we come with more equipment than we need (e.g some when only die from cirrhosis when they have damaged 90 % of their livers I once read.)
There is certainly enough back up lynphoid tissue in the area if we remove one set of tonsils.
There is some debate as to if tonsillectomies should be done, for the same reason you point out.
Tonsillectomies must certainly be done for tonsillar abscesses because of the risk of infection of the brain.
Sinus allergies are usually related to the below (either, or a combination):
1. Food and drink
2. External/Internal evironment
3.Exercise
Not sure if the condition can be cured, but it can be greatly helped.
Mucus forming foods must be avoided. Ex, bread, pastries, chocolates.
A vegetarian diet (based on research, reading and common sense) is preferable.
The environment where one spends time should be assessed for variables such as dust and bad odours.
Exercise is a must! Cardio is esential. For example running, walking, swimming.
I guarantee (by experience) that once this is practiced, the sinuses will dry up.
However, it will take a few years. It is not a quick fix; one must be patient.
I can not see how exercise and cardio can be a must for the cure on the basis of the anatomy presented by GP. Can you explain how this will happen please.
After all, is not sinusitis an inflammatory condition of air spaces in bones of the face. There is no connection between these bones and the heart. Or am I missing something? also explain how a vegetarian diet will help an inflammatory condition.
Dear Mr.Anonymous,
It is not exercise and diet alone. Please do not misconstrue or rearrange my comments; it is a combination of all the things mentioned above.
If you can’t (wont) see a connection between exercise -breathing – lungs, then I – and no one else – can help you.
If you can’t see a connection between what you eat and the health of your body; then, my friend, you are beyond help. In fact, no one can assist you.
Drugs are a short term plug, but they DO NOT cure the problem.
Great assistance can be obtained if one can pinpoint the GENESIS of the problem.
Dear Mr. Facts
I think that you have not grasped the Anatomy that GP has presented and that you do not understand the physiology either.
I asked you to explain how exercise and cardio can be a must for the cure of sinusitis based on the Anatomy presented , not respond with more BS that demonstrates your ignorance of the situation.
The sinuses are spaces in bones in the face/head which drain by very narrow mouths or holes into the nasal area. You can diet and exercise and do all the cardio you like , but unless you remove the triggers that cause the inflammation in the sinus spaces, or unless you can widen the holes to allow the sinuses to drain, or give something to thin out the mucous stuff coming from the sinuses, tell me where is the “connection between exercise -breathing – lungs”.
You do not use your sinuses to breathe fool.
How does what you eat prevent you from getting an infected or inflammed sinus? Tell me that Sir? And tell me what is the GENESIS of the problemin sinusitis, Sir? Running, walking and swimming actually makes my frontal sinusitis worse. OK?
I repeat and it can be easily verified that sinusitis is an inflammatory condition of air spaces in bones of the face, and that there is no connection between these bones and the heart.
@ Facts…
I am fit, have been for years. I am a cyclist, play soccer, certified and active scuba diver. Yet still I suffered badly from sinusitis and headaches for years. My personal traoine also has a bad case and he is ev en fitter and healthier than I am. What else are we missing here then.
Sorry, should be personal trainer.
Thanks Gentlemen,
I think you’ve missed the import of my message.
Exercise will not cure sinusitis – I don’t know if there will a cure in our life time; however, there are things that we can do to live a less-stressful life (And Sinusitis is extremely stressful and sometimes embarrassing).
I am not trained in Physiology, medicine, Human Biology or such like, but I can tell you(as one with similar problem, including Asthma) that I have seen a remarkable turnaround in my health since I’ve changed my diet and CONTINUED with cardio exercises which I started from a teenager.
I cannot quote scientific research, as that is not my field; however, I am sure, based on books I have read over the years (written by researchers) that a change in diet and exercise (mainly cardio) will strengthen the body as well as maintain optimum body weight.
Anonymous, you can curse me and use as much sarcasm as you wish, I know I am right!
I have seen the change in my body and can speak for others who have experienced the same.
Technician – If what you said about yourself is correct, your sinusitis persists because there is something close to you (or, that you are using) that you are allergic too.
The solution is to find the bug. It may take some time, but it can be spotted by trial and error.
One does not have to live on Ventolin and Becotide inhalers for life. While one may still need them from time to time, you can assist yourself with simple abstinence.
Abstinence in itself is not easy; it is a lifetime commitment and involves lifetime change.
BU prides itself on free speech, but this harbors the sustained stupid utterances from the misguided. Mr Facts has now changed his song to “ Exercise will not cure sinusitis – I don’t know if there will a cure in our life time.” We are so glad that he has learned something on BU.
Facts admits that he is not trained in Physiology, medicine, Human Biology or such like, so we must excuse him when he says that sinusitis is a similar problem to asthma.
Asthma is an inherited malady by persons said to be atopic. Although there is an inflammatory component to asthma there is also the feature of constriction of the bronchi. Consequently, asthma unlike sinusitis can kill you quite quickly. And no matter of cardio or exercise will prevent that. In fact many athletes die yearly from exercise induced asthma! So you are not right at all. You just talking shite!
Cardio and proper dietary habits are great for everyone but to think that they are the prescription for all ills is to have a pipe dream.
Technician tells you about his experience, and you telling the man he still has sinusitis and that he needs to find and spot some bug that he is allergic to by trial and error.
What a load of cow’s wallop. Did this man read what he wrote though? If he sing that shit he could maybe win the calypso crown in the clown category. Now he talking about abstinence. But abstinence from what though? He lost me yuh?
@ Facts….
If you read my earlier posts, you would see that I am no longer bothered by sinusitis thanks to 2 potions I got from Herbert Cheeseman. However, I was as fit as a fiddle during my time of suffering.
What I still suffer from is migraine and stress headaches and let me tell you, excercise sometimes bring them on.. lol, especially when I train too hard. I agree though, that lifestyle change plays a huge part in my relief. No Chinese food period, they all lie about MSG and the others I have already posted plus those mentioned by GP.
Techie
I had put up some stuff on a blog in a discussion with Crusoe on the evils of mono sodium glutamate. But glutamate is one of these useful bad boys. Lol. Glutamate has a big job as a scavenger of ammonia and an exchanger of ammonia. It is also a neuro transmitter in the brain but in excess he is a problem!
You see the glutamate that is made in the body for the jobs it has to do is not long lasting, because the glutamate is quickly converted to another amino acid or a keto acid.
I have yet to find out why the glutamate taken in our diets differ in its effects from that in MSG, because MSG is definitely implicated in some disease processes
@ David
Thanks, I needed an upgrade but it still did not open. However Dr. GP sent it on.
Sorry I can’t get to the blog but once a week or so. Me harvesting me garden and keeping down the weeds. Callaloo coming out me ying yang: Jamaican green, Fillippino red, Congolese tiger tooth, Chinese variegated. You name it I have it.
Tomatoes ripening, celery almost ready, potatoes getting there. Picked my first okra today and steamed it in the microwave, man it tasted good. Early corn should be ready in weeks. The peanuts have flowered, so I should get a good crop. Sweet potato vines taking over the beets and carrots. Wax beans about 3 inches – should be in the pot before week’s end.
Just don’t envy me. I am up with the birdies at 5:30 to be in the lot by 6 am to beat the sun. But this food tastes good, even raw.
@ Dr. GP
I sell my callaloo. However, since you have helped me out so much this year, yours is free. You can also have an African corn or two that can be roasted. Then you can play ship on sea, sailing free…..
@ Bonny Peppa
You can get your veggies from J. She farms an acre. My alottment plot small.
Keep on keeping on Pat
@ J..
Can you send some contact info re directions to me @ chase130371@hotmail.com.
I am so tired of the imported tomatoes and carrots but I cant seem to find much local ones or I am always too late.
Sorry..that request was to Pat….not J….getting old…lol.
@ Technician
You can come up North to get those tomatoes. I planted only heirloom tomatoes this year. They don’t produce large clusters, and the vines are very long. But they smell and taste like what my grandfather used to grow. To compensate, I planted twice the amount – about 20 plants.
My carrot seeds were bought in Bim two years ago. Sweet for days raw. Not so sweet cooked.
I suggest you grow your own. If you dont have lots of land, try some half barrels or old tires.
Yes You can stack old tires and make a tire garden. This idea was patented my the late Colin Hudson. You should be able to get his paper from the Future Center Trust.
Dear Technician:
The tomatoes are not doing too well, just to much rain lately. The rain knocks the blossoms off. Chinese cabbage, cucumbers and eggplant doing ok. Haven’t planted carrots yet. I have a full time job, the garden is my weekend thing. Like Pat I am up with the birds. But in the rainy season even without much land you can grow enough for a family and a bit to give to friends and neighbours.