Need For Freedom Of Information And Protection Of Privacy Legislation In Barbados. Need For Greater Security At Our Local And Overseas Missions. Need For Integrity Legislation. The Follow Up On Minister Denis Lowe – The Secretive World Of Peter Andrew Allard Part VI

Peter Allard

BU continues our exposé of the secretive world of Peter Allard.  It is important for unsuspecting Barbadians to appreciate how  the tentacles of a rich foreigner could have and possible still can; compromise  the workings of the sovereign state Barbados.  Here is a report which was prepared by Canadian fugitive from justice, Donald Robert Best, who operates under the codename NATHAN, taken from the files of Kenneth William McKenzie in the Nelson Barbados matter. Bear in mind Peter Allard is a rich Canadian who has taken a liking to Barbados. He is the owner of the closed Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary.  He sanctioned and  paid all bills and along with the Knox family, was responsible for one of the worst international invasions of privacy, abuses of legal process and downright stinking behaviour ever to have been exposed anywhere in the world that we are aware. Please note that, although BU has a document which is in the public domain, a decision to redact the report out of respect for the privacy of certain individuals named was taken.

The report details:

• Collecting evidence and contacts on money laundering.
  • Investigating and trying to obtain the names of Bajans with off-shore accounts and companies in the Marshall Islands (close to New Zealand).
  • Attempting to establish contacts with and enlisting the interest and support of Jeanette Molina, a publicity-hungry and highly injudicious (if the report of Mr Best is to be believed) assistant district attorney with the New York County District Attorney’s office who, allegedly and according to Donald Best, “would be interested in pursing any case we [Allard, Best, Knoxes, McKenzie et al] bring her in the New York area”.
  • Collecting the shredded documents from the garbage of David Shorey from his Saint Michael address (next door to the Canadian High Commissioner’s residence, the British High Commissioner’s residence and countless other diplomatic and government residences AND TO GOVERNMENT HOUSE) and shipping them to Canada to be re-assembled.
  • Conducting property searches in the Miami and Fort Lauderdale areas on, among others, Mr Shorey, Lynne Marie Simmons (the daughter of Sir David and Lady Simmons), Leonard and Marcia Nurse, Dan and Shirley Sherman and the parents of Barbados’ leader of the opposition, Mia Mottley, Elliott and Amor Mottley. Mr Elliott Mottley Q.C. is the former attorney-general of Bermuda and a highly internationally respected jurist.
  • Of particular concern, the surveillance, photographing and “staking out” of the Barbados Consulate in Miami. Further, the suggestion that John Knox and Jane Goddard be assigned the task of joining the stake-out for the purposes of identifying Bajans who visit Barbados’ Miami Consulate. BU has provided this evidence with the expectation that the Government of Barbados present it to the US State Department and to the Governor of Florida with an official diplomatic protest.
  • The staking out of the new prison at Dodds and the surveillance and photographing thereof and of its suppliers, including listing their corporate names. This is a clear breach of Barbados’ own prison security.

All of it paid for and sanctioned by benefactor Peter Andrew Allard and the Knox family. These are the same people who have used valuable court time by laying claim they have been threatened. Despite it all Barbadians are known to be law-abiding and peaceful nation and, even under such extreme provocation, we will protect their legal rights, persons and properties as if they were our own and urge others to do the same. So that any violence done to them, real or mental – or imagined – or MANUFACTURED, will be self-inflicted.

Turning to the matter of Minister Denis Lowe, another Peter Allard former associate. Here is an update promised in an earlier blog:

BU questioned Minister Denis Lowe last week about his relationship with Peter Allard. The questions were triggered as a result of information we found in the files of K. William McKenzie. McKenzie, as is now well known, was the lawyer who has represented the Allards (corporately) in many court cases and Peter Allard and the Knox family in the Nelson Barbados Group court matter brought against Barbados and many prominent Barbadians. McKenzie was also responsible for paying the likes of Donald Best from out of the trust accounts of his law firm, Crawford, McKenzie, McLean, Duncan and Anderson LLP.

Although Minister Denis Lowe did not respond directly to BU, he did so through a surrogate. Here was the response the gist of which:

Dr Lowe makes no bones about being helped between the 2003 and 2008 Elections by Mr Allard in providing help with Summer Camps for 150 of our youth, a grass cutting program for the elderly of the community, and generally providing for the aged in the community.

To get to the bottom of this matter we searched the documents which were found in the McKenzie files (Duncan Exhibits A and B) to determine what payments were made (if any) to Lowe. We have to state that we did not find any record of McKenzie’s firm having paid anything to Denis Lowe, EXCEPT. The only reference to grass cutting was found in an e-mail from McKenzie to Allard in which Allard states to McKenzie that he has taken the sum of $1,000 from $8,000 (denomination unspecified) in his safe at Seaview, Chancery Land and given it to Dr Lowe for a grass cutting project involving youth – we will post this e-mail later, but ask the BU family to bear with us as we struggle through almost 100,000 pages of documents and sometimes misplace references – we are commentators and not lawyers.

In the interest of transparency we have listed what the records reflect for your information. Please note that “FEES IN CAD” refers to the fees paid by Allard to McKenzie in respect of McKenzie’s dealings with Dr Lowe and his “grass cutting project with youths”.

DATE NARRATIVE FEEs in CAD
2006-May-04 Meet DL in Barbados $2,480.00
2006-May-05 Meet DL in Barbados $2,640.00
2006-May-11 Meet DL strategy re SPLASH $2,000.00
2006-May-23 Recap meeting with DL $1,680.00
2006-May-25 Meeting with Adrian Loveridge and Dennis Lowe -
2006-Jun-08 Call from DL; e-mails from DL $680.00
2006-Jun-12 Preparation for meeting with DL $1,400.00
2006-Jun-13 Call with DL $2,360.00
2006-Jun-14 Interview with DL $2,000.00
2006-Jun-19 DL $50.00
2006-Jun-22 Review e-mails from DL $137.50
2007-Aug-01 Dinner with DL $340.00
2008-Aug-23 E-mails DL $585.00
2008-Aug-26 Meet Adrian Loveridge and DL $2,115.00
2008-Aug-26 Meet Adrian Loveridge, DL, Jane Goddard and John Knox
2008-Nov-03 DL e-mail $14.00

Dr Lowe’s “surrogate” also stated that Dame Billie Miller and Mr Reginald Farley had each been given $125,000 by Allard. We wish to state that after an extensive search of the McKenzie files and his firm’s dockets, NO SUCH REFERENCES CAN BE FOUND! BU stands by its position that, absent any kind of proof, these allegations against Dame Billie and Mr Farley are unsupported and scandalous, and renews its apologies to both. BU asks the question that, if Dr Lowe was present and a party to such alleged payments, why did he not report them at the time? Lack of integrity legislation perhaps? Or just plain lack of integrity?

In light of the evidence that BU has presented and will continue to present, it is obviously high time that the Barbados Government sent a note to the Canadian and US Governments declaring Peter Andrew Allard and his non-Bajan cronies (including Mr Heaslet) persona non grata in Barbados.

In its next report, BU will focus Peter Allard’s written views and conversations and correspondence with and from Barbados’ former Prime Minister Owen Arthur – AND ON THE SURVEILLANCE CARRIED OUT IN BARBADOS AND NEW YORK ON BEVERLEY ARTHUR, FORMER PRIME MINISTER ARTHUR’S EX-WIFE. It appears that even in the great USA the privacy of individuals is not safe from the machinations of Peter Allard and those who are at he beck and call.

Advertisement

63 Responses to Need For Freedom Of Information And Protection Of Privacy Legislation In Barbados. Need For Greater Security At Our Local And Overseas Missions. Need For Integrity Legislation. The Follow Up On Minister Denis Lowe – The Secretive World Of Peter Andrew Allard Part VI

1. Since writing the above blog, we have come across this e-mail that we would ask Dr Lowe to explain. We do not accuse him of wrong-doing, but what receipts was Mr Allard copying for him? The "$$" he was collecting, was that to reimburse him for the receipts? How much was involved? What was it for? His cell phone bill? Cutting grass? His election campaign? His holiday? WHAT?

2. Straight talk

Are you sure you’re backing the right horse here, David?
    Or the wrong horse for the right reasons.

Not wanting to get into the rights and wrongs of the basic action, but it does seem that the cess pit of political/business elitism is being shaken up and the stench is overpowering.

Can Bajan politicians get away with anything just because they are Bajan, or are they subject to the constitution and its laws?

In view of your posts, I think we are entitled to ask.

3. How much worse can it get? The minute you think you have scraped the bottom of Allard’s sewer, you find there is another now depth he has managed to go to. This Allard is…..I can’t even think of the proper word for him. Money and no sense or behaviour of any kind. As for Denis, well……….that needs to be explained. And soon. Charter for Change, my ass. This is the same old crap as usual. Nothing has changed, except the faces.

4. @ST

Remember how we started this journey, the Other Side Of The Kingsland Affair?

Given the matter filed, BU is on the side of the PEOPLE.

5. Straight talk

Allard roped the “people” in with his despicable broad brush allegation s, lumping us all in with the machinations of the ultra vires untouchables who were his main targets.

He has failed to identify jurisdiction outside Barbados, but his submissions unless answered still leave a blemish upon how Barbados works in reality.

Keep combing those depositions, David, because they are indicative of how we like it so.

Barbadians have the right to be outraged being named as defendants in a lawsuit,
    but when all the behind the scenes machinations are finally exposed, can our leaders justifiably share the same outrage?

6. @ST

Do you think the Fourth Estate in Barbados will feel they have a responsibility to reveal to their audience information which is in the public domain?

Do you believe that by now our journalists should have interviewed Alair Shephard and Denis Lowe on the matters raised here?

Do you think every day they ignore this story like they did the 3S matter there credibility stocks sink?

7. Straight talk

I agree David let it all out, and let the chips fall where they may.

8. Carson C. Cadogan

This is all a storm in a teacup.

9. Allow me to play Devil’s Advocate here, suppose Allard was trying to expose corruption at the local level? Do any Barbadians have offshore accounts in the Marshall Islands? The official currency of the Marshall Islands is US dollars, has anyone ever tried to get US out of Barbados in excess of the annual allowance for travel/business etc.? Let me know how easy that task is.

Out of curiosity I googled “Marshall Islands Offshore accounts” and a bit of information from a couple of websites made me raise a quizzical eyebrow here goes.

1) The Marshall Islands is refusing to co-operative with the OECD regarding customer information exchange, thus making this corporate jurisdiction a secure, long term solution

2) The Marshall Islands has no tax information exchange treaties and refuses to corporate with the OECD on information exchange

In other words secrecy,secrecy, secrecy.

BTW I don’t know who wrote the article but Allard is a private citizen and Diplomatic Protests are sent from one Gov’t to another generally protesting the action of that Gov’t or its citizens or surrogates; if Allard wasn’t acting on behalf of the US Gov’t the Barbados Gov’t can’t send a diplomatic note condemning any action he took, isn’t Allard also Canadian? Similarly they can’t send a Diplomatic protest to the Gov of Florida since the US State Dept is the responsible for US external affairs.

10. @Sargeant

BU is about being fair.

If the exposé puts the spotlight on crooked Barbadian politicians with offshore accounts, so be it.

On the issue of BU asking for diplomatic protest, point taken but where is the harm in making it? BU remembers how private citizens from the Allard side engaged in actions to embarrass the country Barbados. In fact BU is still pissed by it.

BTW the blog is under the BU byline.

11. If you want to instill integrity (as both legislation and in fact) you have to start somewhere. This is the start. That BU brings it to the people of Barbados is worthy of great praise. It takes courage and integrity, elements that appear to be in very short supply in our political servants of whichever party.

I am a little surprised that no one has commented on the fact that a private individual hired a professional investigator to go and appropriate bags of shredded papers left out to be collected and disposed of by the garbage collectors, then transported them to Canada in order to reassemble them, so as to take possession of any and all PRIVATE and CONFIDENTIAL information they contained, in order to use that information in a law suit in Canada.

That is an act that is very little short of someone going into Mr Allard’s (or anyone’s) home and taking his (their) documents and computer records, without any official sanction (like a court order) to do so. It means that, if followed and condoned, ANYONE can go ANYTIME and do as Mr Allard vicariously did. Is anyone okay with that? Because I am not. I catch them and will pepper their asses with a 12 guage.

But David Shorey’s Barbados garbage was not the only victim. I see that this man with the singularly inapproriate name of “Best” (but no doubt he has other false-passport-supported alternative names that are more suited) went on a scavenge for Shorey’s garbage in Miami.

He also went on the scavenge for the garbage of the family of Mia Mottley. In this, he may well have gathered documents under solicitor-client privilege (from Eliott). Or confidential, secret, diplmatic documents from Mia. Remember, at the time she was Barbados’ attorney general. It is entirely possible that she could have been (probably was) the recipient of documents from international law enforcement agencies, relating to people travelling with impunity in and out of Barbados and the USA and Canada – and other countries – Thailand, for some reason, springs unbidden to mind – with forged and false passports. Or, indeed, information compiled for the caputure of terrorist cells intent on the harm, injury and death of innocent civilians.

Now, some jackass who thinks his/her law degree confers brains and original thought, is bound to point readers in the direction of the outdated case of California v Greenwood to support their argument that nothing illegal was done. However, privacy and the breach thereof depends on the reasonable expectation of that privacy. Mr Shorey shredded his documents and left them out for garbage collection. He did not junk his documents into a plastic bag so that any passing scavenger (Best, Allard, McKenzie, Knox or their smaller cousins, the Rodent Family) could break open the bags and read the documents. Shorey had a great deal more than a REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY.

On that basis, based on this evidence, I believe that Barbados should criminally prosecute Allard, McKenzie and Best, in absentia if necessary, and seek their extradition to Barbados. To NOT do so, is to send a message that many of those who have set up tax residency here might find less than satisfactory.

The alternative, of course, is to establish an old gas can in front of everyone’s house where they can roast marshmallows or corn or breadfruit as they watch their documents burn on a daily basis. And we can do away with shredders altogether. Barbados/USA under a haze of smoke – and to hell with recyling.

In the case of the Mottley family, the evidence provided by BU shows that, at a time when Mia was a member of the Barbados cabinet and was, in fact, attorney general, her shredded documents private and confidential to Barbados and covered by diplomatic privacy might well have been gathered, shipped to Canada and reconstituted there. That is a matter for the CIA, the FBI and HOMELAND SECURITY. I think you will find that it transcends any decisions by the US courts.

But what goes around, comes around. And today Mr Allard and Mr Best and their cronies must be reflecting on that, as they watch THEIR private documents (formerly covered by solicitor-client privilege, but now in the public domain) being poured over and discussed by their victims – the PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.

12. So, I must be careful when I am overseas to disguise myself if I want to visit one of my countries diplomatic missions on a confidential basis. I must remember that and take make-up lessons. I am thinking of it as a fancy dress party.

If I am ever employed at one of Barbados’ diplomatic missions, I must remember to demand extra pay, as I may be followed, my private life invaded and my every off-duty action reported to “Big Brother Allard”.

Of course, if I happen to be known to John Knox or Jane Goddard, I am in real trouble as they may see through my disguise and instantly be able to identify me.

But, Allard gave us Graeme Hall (now closed and defunct) and a denigratory law suit conducted with all the international publicity he could generate (which, fortunately wasn’t much – YET) and this is the way he wants it and out of perpetual and boundless gratitude to him, we ought to accept this.

Yeah. I buy that. SURE!!!!!

13. Still waiting for an explanation from Minister Lowe (surrogates) on the many meetings he held with foreigner leading up to the last general election.

Was is all about grass cutting and youth camps? Why did you ask Allard for two camcorders?

14. Do not let this story die, our governance has been compromised. Thanks to our politician who take favor money. No ITAL, No FOI we were fooled by the DLP. Bajans, stop being so damn ignorant SeeSaw politics. David, can you help with guidelines for the formation of a party along the Tea Party line. I have no confidence in the BLP or DLP!

15. @David. I have just read the e-mail signed “Marnie”, who is clearly an employee of Allard in Barbados. I am glad that you also attached (or she attached) Denis Lowe’s “Charter for Change”. I recommend all Bajans to read this. Although I endorse it enthusistically for the most part, I strongly disagree with two of the points:

* That a PM cannot serve any more than 2 terms. The PM is not the head of state as is the US President. In any event, we have seen the flaws in the US system. For example: I would guess that most Americans would be delighted to have Bill Clinton back in the White House. I suggest that most of them were very sorry to see him have to go in the first place.

* The setting of general elections at a date determined at the time of the previous election – that is unworkable in Barbados. What if there is a national emergency? Will you choose to, effectively, change horses in mid stream. It lacks flexibility and there is no viable reason to deny ourselves flexibility in this sort of event.

Both these are attempts to adopt and adapt the US system. I don’t see them working within our system at all and I believe we would do ourselves a serious disservice by trying to adopt them.

The rest, however, are exactly what is needed. Dr Lowe is responsible for placing them before us and he was elected largely on the basis of them.

So, Dr Lowe, you have been questioned on finance matters. Kindly let us see you lead by example and implement your own Charter. Explain YOURSELF. And neither you nor your “surrogate” must make defamatory and unfounded accusations about others, as an expedient of diverting attention from yourselves.

We, your employers, are waiting!!!! And if you do not respnd to us, we will know exactly how to deal with you when your contract comes back up for renewal.

16. Reconstructing shredded documents in investigations is normal.

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/2566716/Cocaine-baron-taken-down-by-shredded-documents.html

It even engages the attention of universities.

Reconstructing Cross-Cut Shredded Documents by means of …
    File Format: PDF/Adobe Acrobat – View as HTML
    by C Schauer – Related articles
    May 17, 2010 … Reconstruction of shredded documents in the absence of shape in- …. London. ACM Press, July 2007. [34] A. Ukovich and G. Ramponi. …
    https://www.ads.tuwien.ac.at/publications/bib/pdf/schauer_10.pdf

Politicians are not immune from scrutiny

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/politics/article3953909.ece

http://www.news.com.au/tasmanias-deputy-premier-quits/story-e6frg6ox-1111116011213

I wonder if the missing FBI report turned up?

Obviously this guy is one thorough SOB who no bad guy/gal would want on their trail.

17. All this $$$ at his disposal and GHNS is closed?

18. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“Still waiting for an explanation from Minister Lowe”

You seem to want explanations on a selective basis. What about Loveridge, Miller and Farley? Don’t you want explanations from them as well? Or are you going to continue to bend over backwards in an effort to protect them?

19. This link was sent to the Advocate and posted on the Barbados Today Online and Nation Newspaper Facebook pages. Also the leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley was sent the link. BU wonders when the Opposition Party will start to ask Minister Lowe the hard questions arising from this report. Under the BLP Arthur government we became accustomed to the politics of inclusion. Are to be become accustomed now to the politics of collusion between the two parties?

20. @GIGO, probably aka NATHAN or GOAT. I live for the days when it is a full moon in your mind and you visit your supreme wisdom on us poor, ignorant Bajans. You honour us. But you know there are many who are not like me and cannot see the honour you do us. I am going to tell on them in future.

So, great, noble and supreme teacher, what is this about “chain of evidence” that we see on the TV programs? What are all these silly rules about how the evidence is collected? What are all these silly rules about privilege and confidentiality? And those rules about national security are, frankly, just dumb, don’t you think? And why should private investigators need to be licensed or they are committing a crime in certain countries, like the USA? And that silly law about STALKING…..well, it is just SO unfair to you, don’t you think?

Worst of all, and I really want your comments on this. Seems that law enforcement and national security agencies worldwide think that Nathan (are you he) and some of his associates are not being entirely frank and truthful with their border and revenue agencies and that Nathan and his associates may just have breached their stupid laws all about that silly privacy and national security that they set so much store on. Seems that there is even an outstanding prison sentence against Nathan in Canada for quite rightly refusing to obey their stoooopid courts. Because of that, they, such nincompoops, seem to think they are tracking HIM. And WE know that he is tracking THEM – after all, you told us so.

I am sure you will agree with me that they are being very silly and that Nathan will just show all the security and law enforcement agencies what for and that their pathetic little laws and regulations designed for our protection are just……infantile. After all, why would we want to have our privacy protected from you? And it will show that you are NOT a little boy whistling in the dark so that he won’t shit his pants with fear.

Yours abjectly (with the obligatory cow-tows of course),

Your Slave.

21. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

Don’t forget that you are not the only person with “documents”.

22. @Carson C. Cadogan. Cudear, man, all poor David doing is telling Denis Lowe that he forgot to put on he pants and he credentials exposed and like…….dey done look like what he say. And if you got documents, man we gypsy, so share them.

23. Yes indeed, share what documents you have, we dare you.

As they say put up or shut up.

24. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“Yes indeed, share what documents you have, we dare you”

Do you recall that I challenged you to make yourself known and stop being anonymous? Damaging other individual’s reputations while hiding yours like a coward. It is easy to hide and snipe is it not? You are not man enough to declare your identity and continue to write the hogwash that you are currently writing.

I am still waiting.

However there is an old Chinese saying, ” be careful with what you want, because you may get it”.

25. @Carson

Thank you for nothing.

Forgot to include David Ellis of VOB earlier.

26. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

Rest assured that you will not succeed in your drive to “Blacken” allard.

27. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“Thank you for nothing.”

You are welcome!

28. @Carson

Do you think he will succeed in blackenning the many Barbadian defendants when he restarts this matter in Florida?

29. Anyone who would seriously trust, carte blanche, politicians, lawyers, investment advisors et al from any country has to be NAIVE!

Politicians are worse than an army of occupation that is raping and pillaging the populace because eventually AOO go home.
    Anybody with miniscule observation knows that lawyers in Bim routinely cheat and charge clients excessively and this includes the full colour spectrum of lawyers. Conveying a house in Bim could easily cost 10 times what it would in Canada. I have a cousin in Canada who works for a rich Bajan who has asked if she would like to come home to Bim to work full time on their RE projects.

Personally I dont care how anyone receives detailed ,accurate info and exposes such info for all and sundry to see. EXPOSE THE CROOKS then jail their rass. Bloody blight on decent Bajans

30. @Carson C. Cadogan. Man is dat a real name? CCC. Man, stop being a such a pussy or people will start guessing what the middle C in you name stands for.

David has not run for public office. Therefore, he is not accountable in a situation like this. However, he an a part of the electorate who employs those who successfully ran for public office and ARE accountable – and he is exercising his right (as are we all) to ask for an accounting of not only money, but also ethics, in keeping with the Charter proposed by Dr Lowe. As for his anonymity, just who in hell do you think you are to demand that of ANY blogger? You must think you are Keltruth. Maybe you ARE Keltruth!!! Or BFP. But that is for you to know and NOT for us to find out. And Vice versa. And don’t give me no shite about that is your real name so we should all give ours. That is YOUR choice. Anonymity is OURS. I recall my old mentor the late BWWR saying, words to the effect of, “You can show me yours if you like, but I am not showing you mine.

But I still waiting for these documents you got. Try and post them, do. We all waiting.

31. Looka trouble! Dig David! Dig!.

Yuh songin like a man wid uh ess or 2 up yuh sleeve, man.

Uh jess hope yuh know wuh yuh diggin, and who yuh diggin it fuh!

32. It is amazing we have some issues laid bare for Barbadians to peer at and we have these frivolous positions being brought?

No wonder **** people laughing at we.

33. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“we have these frivolous positions being brought?”

Being anonymous and trying to damage others good name is what kind of position?

34. @Cadogan

You may have the last word.

35. David // August 5, 2010 at 1:27 PM

It is amazing we have some issues laid bare for Barbadians to peer at and we have these frivolous positions being brought?

No wonder **** people laughing at we.
    __________________________________________Oh get over yourself David! That’s an occupational hazard, what makes you so special that people can’t take “frivolous positions” with you? You of all people, Great Self-Apointed Guardian of Free Speech in Barbados should know that even “frivolous positions” are entitled to be taken and aired in the name of said free speech. Ef yuh doan want um pon yuh blog yuh know weh fuh do! Of course, that would open you to charges of hypocrisy …. hmmm. Stupse.

36. @Anonymous 2010/08/05 at 1:42 PM

Where is logic in being frivolous? Was anyone stopped* from bringing their frivolous positions?

You may have the last word as well.

BU knows when cages are being rattled.

Stay tuned!

37. BU knows when cages are being rattled.

Stay tuned!

Cages rattled. And somebody feathers ruffled. But free speech still ruling the roost!! Wuhloss.

Dig, David! Dig!

38. I’m not sure BU has grasp the magnitude of the emails that have been published.

It totally exposes the wheeling and dealings that compromise our democracy and leaves the peoples work undone….

Dennis should resign tomorrow, he is not a public servent he is just another opportunism that has been exposed.

Unfortunely I suspect this is not even the tip of the corruption iceberg..,,

dam we in trouble…

39. CCC

You spout such asinine things.

40. Carson Cadogan said:

“Damaging other individual’s reputations while hiding yours like a coward. It is easy to hide and snipe is it not?”

Carson also said:

“Rest assured that you will not succeed in your drive to “Blacken” allard”
    —–

I find your comments interesting Carson,

Last year I made a similar comment about the damage that the blogs cause to the reputations of good people. You didn’t seem sympathetic then. In fact, you scoffed at my post. However, you now seem sympathetic for Peter Allard?

That just shows me that people only think that reputations are of any worth when it is their reputation (or the reputations of their friends) being sullied.

Just as a reminder I have reposted my comment below:

“There are many commentators on BU who claim that they desire “the truth”, which is a noble pursuit so long as that truth relates to a matter of public importance rather than the personal lives of private individuals. However nowadays it is very difficult to distinguish fact from rumour (especially on a blog).

So until corroborated by a credible source, I always take the view that any scandalous, defamatory story I read on the bajan blogs (especially BU or BFP) is either a half truth or a blatant fabrication. Blog administrators are not journalists. They are not taking all reasonable steps to ensure a story or an allegation is accurate before they post it (or allow it to be posted).

It always amazes me how commentators are willing to believe some of the unsubstantiated claims made by anonymous bloggers and are willing to label it “the truth”. Some of these commentators are not domiciled in Barbados and are desperate for any information that they can get from the homeland. Their implacable desire for the latest scoop from Bim seems to make them more susceptible to believing unfounded claims. When they see these claims repeated over and over again they become “the truth” for them.

I would just remind people that a reputation is a valuable thing. So when a poster (in David’s view) “tarred the reputation of BU without a concrete basis for doing so”, David was defensive because he believed that the poster was placing an undeserved blot on his escutcheon. Even Mash up and Buy Back is upset that “BFP writes the nastiest thing about BU”. Just imagine if David’s identity was known. Those types of comments could have really done damage.

It is the same for every one of these people who are the constantly in the cross hairs of BU and BFP. These are real people we are dealing with just like you and me. The only difference is that they don’t have a rampart of anonymity to protect them.

Do I expect that my desultory harangue to change anyone’s minds about the dangers of gossip and rumours on blogs? No I don’t. People want to hear this stuff regardless of the reliability and the partiality of the source. The reputations of good people will probably continue to suffer because of this insatiable hunger for scandal and public embarrassment (whether true or untrue).

I commend BU for those submissions that cover matters that are truly of substance. However, submissions such as this one, and some others, definitely fall way short.”

41. @Anonlegal

Thanks for the reminder of the weight of responsibility we carry.

BU reminds you in this case the documents supporting this particular blog are in the public domain.

42. David,

I agree. In this case it would seem to me that there some basis for criticism. However, I am just shocked at the concern that Carson has for Mr Allard’s reputation. He is here making a very similar point to the one I made a year ago. It was a point that he didn’t seem to accept then.

But now he is rushing to defend of someone’s reputation.

43. Perhaps he is being provocative by playing devil’s advocate.

44. @Austin

Why should the Minister resign?

He confirmed money changed hands for grass cutting and youth camp, this was before he was in government, forget that he was a Senator.

45. @ David. I am wondering why one Mr C.C. C is getting so defensive about Mr Allard. Is he on his payroll or what? or is he another one of those tribalist who are blinded by loyalty and guided by a mentality of the herd.

My grandmother use to saw if you throw a rock in a pig pen the the pig that squeal is the one the rock hit.Blogger C.C.C. reminds me of the the above saying.

46. Carson C. Cadogan

zion1971

It seems as though you consider loyalty a cardinal sin.

47. Is taking a bribe and giving a bribe equally illegal?

48. Hants // August 5, 2010 at 11:57 PM. The law is very precise in what it defines as being a “bribe”. Unfortunately, the general public, misguidedly, is not – so defamation can result. In light of the report on which these comments are made, I am going to indulge in a little caveat rumpus (cover my ass) and preface my reply by saying that nowhere is Allard accused of bribery and nowhere is Minister Lowe accused of accepting a bribe. Minister Lowe is merely asked to explain certain things. To date, he has refused to comment and/or made comments through an alleged surrogate, all of which I suspect he will soon discover will constitute political suicide, which is also not illegal.

But yes, in most cases bribery (the giving or taking of a bribe) is illegal.

I have been updating myself on this report and comments from time to time. It is a salutory lesson on how a politician and his party’s “spin doctor” have managed to respond to a minor bombshell so as to turn it into a major political-nuclear explosion.

“No comment” would be completely out of order, as just who the hell does Denis think he is to refuse to give account of himself to his employers.

“Grass cutting” I am sure is a part of the story, but NOT the part that requires the supervision of a senior member of the Ontario Bar billing his time at Canadian$400 per hour; meetings with same lawyer and one Loveridge and John Knox and Jane Goddard; and the provision of two camcorders. So grass cutting does not begin to cover it. And we, the electorate (less one CCC) are demanding to know more.

What shocks, dismays and annoys me the most, however, is the unsupported and defamatory attacks on Billie Miller and Reginald Farley through a surrogate on the blogs. This, to me, is extreme cowardice. Let the Minister repeat his alleged surrogate’s comments outside of the House. He will then doubtless find that he will need every cent he can get his hands on. That a member of the Government would make such crass, defamatory and unsupported accusations against anyone, far less Dame Billie and Mr Farley, shows a want of manners and proper upbringing and is not a person whom we want to have representing us. People will think Bajans ain’t got nuh manners or broughtupsy.

Minister Lowe, this is not going to go away unless you make a clean breast, without the substandard spin doctors from whom you appear to be taking advice. It may abate, but come next election, it will come back and it will bite you on the ass so hard you will never sit again – at least in the House.

Frankly, I wish the PM well and I hope he soon returns full time to run the country and deal in a transparent manner with these issues. It is either him or Mia – and I would prefer (no disrespect) not to have Mia. But if the PM doesn’t do something and Owen takes back over from Mia (as I think will happen), let me be very clear, with deep regret I will vote BLP.

@Carson C. Cadogan. I associate myself with the comments of my fellow-blogger, Anonymous, regarding you. You are a total pussy.

49. Carson C. Cadogan

Amused

You are more fun than a barrel of monkeys.

50. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

Florida or as a matter of fact anywhere in the USA is a great place for JUSTICE.
    Do you remember what happen to Roger Khan and what will happen to Dudus and what will happen to Buju?

This has you and your Barbados Labour Party masters running scared, the Democratic Labour Party refused to prosecute them, no such luck in the USA.

The Americans know who they are dealing with, remember a certain man had to return to Barbados because he could not a USA work permit?

Stay tuned as you would say!

51. Carson C. Cadogan

This is one round Allard will not lose.

52. @David. I suggest we just let CCC have the last word. Time and events will show what will happen……and I am hopeful that BU will be there to keep us in the picture and to champion the rights of Barbados and Bajans of all walks of life.

53. Right will eventually win and from what has been presented Allard and his co-conspirators are wrong. CCC can talk what he likes, talk is cheap

54. @Well well. Well said.

55. Carson C. Cadogan

Well Well

Talk is not cheap, that is why quite a lot of people had to pay dearly “fuh duh mout”.

Why do you think that DAVID is hiding who he is under a rock somewhere. He does not want to risk his pension money.

56. CCC, that may be true but David has put into the public domain documents which are a scathing attack on the unscrupulous dealings of Allard and others. Surely you cannot sit and condone what is obviouly a violation of personal rights by Allard et al.

Allard came to Barbados and from the start was a pomus upstart, his attempt to embarrass the Government and people of Barbados is reprehensible.

From your writings you seem to support his position…. you obviously have information that we don’t, but from what is presented there should be a special place in St. Philip for Mr Allard .

Until I see evidence otherwise, cannot be held in high esteem.

57. @CCC

It appears to me that you have absolutely no backbone and to be able to stand on principle. You are a mockery of a man; you have no balls and certainly no moral fabric. I am not saying that you should forget about loyalty, but with all that has been presented thus far, maybe the more logical thing would be to shut up and disappear., even change the subject (at least it may be deemed to be a clever move on your part). You are truly a sorry excuse as a man and political operative; who is paying you my friend? They mean you absolutely no good.

58. It seems that “Amused” has no monopoly on being amused if not simply amazed, how certain individuals can derive so much “knowledge” about others, who voice their opinions. To state that CCC has no balls” nor “moral fabric” or that he is a “mockery of a man” because he dares, yes, dares to express his open and free opinion that differs from that of the moderator of this blog, shows a somewhat anal or uneducated mind. Con-vision, who is paying you?

59. Ah, our friend Anon (2) has ascended. Now we are complete. And not amazed, but VERY amused.

60. @Aonon (2) // August 6, 2010 at 6:08 PM who wrote:

It seems that “Amused” has no monopoly on being amused if not simply amazed, how certain individuals can derive so much “knowledge” about others, who voice their opinions. To state that CCC has no balls” nor “moral fabric” or that he is a “mockery of a man” because he dares, yes, dares to express his open and free opinion that differs from that of the moderator of this blog, shows a somewhat anal or uneducated mind. Con-vision, who is paying you?

Do you really believe someone educated or otherwise would come to such a conclusion unless there was mounting evidence. Read all of CCC’s inputs on this blog. Go back as far as you like. By the way, I am not educated if it means plying the same trade as you. If you offer to pay, I can think for you, right now you appear a bit trampled by your own recognition that you are doing exactly what you accused me of. Tahtah.

61. Con-vision // August 6, 2010 at 8:51 PM. That is a VERY good reply. Hats off. As my sweetheart Bonny would say, “Ah cryin wid de laughter”.

But you know, there is always a tendancy in humankind to “tar”, as it were, others with the same brush. We know that Allard paid bloggers – 5 years ago, his going rate was $650 (nationality unknown) a week. I don’t think I have any need to go further and state the obvious, although it would be kind of CCC and Anon (2) and GIGO if they could satisfy my burning curiosity as to (a) the nationality of the dollars; and (b) with cost of living increments, what the going rate is today. Or are they, Lowe-like (or is that Lowe-life) going to deny being paid.

62. Sounds to me like Allard and the Knox family should be called the BARBADOS STOCKERS. What a web they have spun for themselves. To descusting

63. I think Allard got fleeced by McKenzie, “Nathan” and Lowe among others. He was the gift that kept on giving. Did he get any value from all of this investigative work done by “Nathan” and the money paid to or on behalf of Lowe? And McKenzie got paid by the hour to coordinate it.

For all his allegations of wide-spread corruption in Barbados, you mean he could not find someone he could pay off to give him some real evidence?

Of course the documents in BU’s possession might eventually prove me wrong.

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s