Is This BLP Shame? Considering Truth And Transition

Submitted by George C. Brathwaite

You know my political affiliation; I have been loyal to the BLP and that is where my support lies — with the political party as a mechanism for ensuring our continued liberties as well as the social, economic, and political development of all Barbadians.

I do not need to be caught up in the euphoria of political transitioning, but I will say, that my political party is not necessarily acting in a manner that I would have thought enlightened persons who should know better would respond to whatever challenges that exist.

If Mr. Arthur has the support of the MPs, so be it. If Ms. Mottley has been found wanting for support or sheer alacrity, is there not a better way of dealing with the matter as opposed to what appears vulgar to the sensibilities of Barbadians even though it may resonate with glee in the opposing political party. Is it reasonable to suggest that notwithstanding the popularity of Mr. Arthur, the show that has now become a public debacle is debilitating for the BLP as an institution?

Some may ask who am I to say that things could be and ought to be done differently. I am a member of the party that has the interest of the party at heart because that is what Barbados needs to take us forward since the couple of years of stagnation that have been swept into the picture.

I believe that if the MPs need Mr. Arthur and that is the democratic choice, then the deed is done according to what the legal parameters suggest. Moreover, if Barbadians are calling for Mr. Arthur that has to be respected and considered without demonising the incumbent or other contenders because that will seriously become a factor once precedents are set.

Moreover, I believe it is an indictment on the people of Barbados, the Barbados Labour Party, and any others who will argue that ‘there is no one else that can improve the lot for Barbadians or rescue the economy from the bowels of recession’ except we return to an individual who has served the country well and distinguished himself among the very best ever produced to lead Barbados in the post-independent period.

That type of reasoning is backward, self-defeating, and does not inspire confidence for the types of persons we are producing and reproducing as a nation in order to take this Barbados forward. The final decision may strategically be the best one for winning an election, is it the best for advancing our people as a collective.

In wishing the BLP and the DLP well, in hoping that Barbadians get what is in their best interest (deserving or otherwise), I leave you with a quote that you may ponder on while the clutches of power shiver with shame and a sense of forlorn. “Nowhere are prejudices more mistaken for truth, passion for reason, and invective for documentation than politics” (J. Mason Brown). Please, BLP comrades and DLP members, ensure that truth and Barbados walk hand in hand and that they precede ambitions for power.

Advertisement

63 Responses to Is This BLP Shame? Considering Truth And Transition

1. @George

It must take alot for you a BLPite to come public with your position. Notice Barney was on the talkshow talking about the advent of social media and he mentioned Barbados Today, a new online newspaper and FB but ignored the blogs. Do you know why that is George?

Just yanking your chord. Let Barney know we will be watching him closely.

2. G.C. Brathwaite

@David
    Barney knows how to handle himself and how to respond in ways that do not incite or inflict pain and damage. I listened to his contribution and believe that he has put things in relative perspective considering the fact that the DEMS do not possess the moral authority to scold the BLP.
    Indeed, I understand that some actions are being undertaken as I type to try to attempt a shift in the balance of powers because currently in a worse case scenario, there is not much light between the leading contender’s to the elevated precipice of power.
    More pointedly, and as Noel stated, rivalries and contentions are a healthy part of a liberal democratic process. As I hinted in my communication, I am more concerned about the manner and whether there are questions of ethics and serendipity that must factor.
    Personally, if I do or do not give open support to either party, it may trigger apprehension. However, truth must precede me and Barbados to whom I owe much, must be the first and ultimate benefactor. I rest my case, let Barbadians and BU bloggers have their say.

3. @George

Who is seen as the weak man, Ronald Toppin? Was surprised to see him supporting Arthur given our understanding that he is some relative to Mia. Also his silent resignation from the FTC remains his Achilles heal. He resigned because the FTC was being directed to follow a path which he did not agree with , right? It would be interesting to hear what a Michelle Goddard or one of the other CEOs who resigned may have to say about the wheeling and dealing which occurred in the early days at the FTC.

4. @Panday
    “I have, gotten you right,” but you are wrong! There is no requirement along the lines of what you are saying which stipulates that parliamentarians must be so guided as he/she decides whom to repose their loyalty in. This is why patronage/pandering to the whims and fancies of his/her equals is an office preserving necessity for any leader in Westminster.

@ noOneInParticular
    Once again de ugly man fails to deliver. Chuspe. I hope taxpayer money did not pay for his PhD

Can anyone really point to a real difference between these two things call political parties? We all know why they exist, why pretend otherwise and that they are something more? chupse.

5. @David: “It would be interesting to hear what a Michelle Goddard or one of the other CEOs who resigned may have to say about the wheeling and dealing which occurred in the early days at the FTC.

I suspect not just in the early days of the Favouring The Companies (FTC), but even now…

It will be a *very* interesting day when the promised FOIA is enacted….

6. My intelligent agent inform that Comrade GCB and Comarade Barney both fastest men in Barbados for one year each only and both originate in East… no? Now both have very big mouth for many year and full of Yeast no?

7. Good job at trying to do damage control GCB.

However it should be noted that to summons your leader to a meeting after releasing the summons to the press is downright disgusting.
    It speaks to the character of the honourable?Owing and his renegades.

There is no sugar coating this attempt to Oust Mia Mottley.

8. @ Hants

That is the point I was trying to make.

Mia Mottley has been convicted, sentenced and is now being invited to a trial in a Kangaroo Court on Monday by those five men.

That seems like political bullying, blackmail and vulgarity. Why seek to embarrass Barbadian women so?

So when those 5 men get her in that room on Monday, what will they do to her?

9. @Bajan Panday

Cut the melodramatics man. It will not wash on BU.

10. G.C. Brathwaite

@Hants
    They will fight back Hants, because Mia, more than likely, will fight to the end. Indeed, that is why she is or was the leader. Like Owen, she has the tenacity to fight to the end; they potentially make an awesome team working together, but ill-directed fights may devour them both. It bothers me, because unless there is an exorcism, one wonders how long the saga will continue given that they both possess the capacity to fight even when the odds appear against them. That cannot be what we want as Barbadians for Barbados.

11. George
    When did you witness this awesomeness in the fourteen years?

12. G.C. Brathwaite

@Charlie

When I reflect and do the comparisons, with the exception of a couple of things, there has been insignificant progress since the two would have left office. Put differently, while the DEMS promised much immediately before the 2008 general election and soon thereafter inclusive of the Throne speech, Barbados has been besieged with economic stagnation and unwarranted lingering on the job; the country has hardly moved forward overall and in several important areas of the economy including the all important employment and job creation sphere, we have been dismal under the DLP regime. While I do not see Arthur or Mottley as demagogues but as skillful servants of the people, I cannot help but inform you that their talents alone are unmatched in the current Cabinet by the evidence put to Barbadians from this DLP’s stewardship. Shall I say more? Many would say that talk is cheap; the DEMS have shown that they can talk the talk, but with few exceptions, the walk is troublesome and extremely difficult for them.

13. One G.C. Brathwaite wrote ……. It bothers me, because unless there is an exorcism, one wonders how long the saga will continue given that they both possess the capacity to fight even when the odds appear against them.
    …….That cannot be what we want as Barbadians for Barbados.

The demise of either DLP or BLP or serious third or new party arising out of any fallout, is exactly what Barbados need. I had hope it would come about during the Mascoll/Thompy fight, and I will hope for the same with the Arthur/Mia fight. These two half baked institutions that have been used from their inception as pawns in a power grap is ironically why we have progress this far , and have plateaued. The stalemate is in the system and these two parties.

14. Comrade Hinds has say it all no? Thank you from the East

15. G.C. Brathwaite

@ Adrian Hinds
    My dear friend, it would challenge us and benefit us more to correct flaws in the system and the tow political parties that have a history and an almost shared philosophy. To bring something new is not corrective but merely an interlude, a patch. History and philosophy are foundations upon which to build. Starting from scratch is more difficult without the aid of chartered paths.

16. In all the excitement we seem to have forgotten that neither Arthur nor Mottley have delivered any blueprint to support a reordering of the economy. Certainly tourism, FDI, IB and remittances cannot cut it going forward.

17. @ David

David | October 15, 2010 at 7:02 PM | In all the excitement we seem to have forgotten that neither Arthur or Mottley have not delivered any blueprint to support a reordering of the economy. Certainly tourism, FDI, IB and remittances cannot cut it going forward

My response:

I do not think you are accurate on that point. I read Miss Mottley speech to the BCCI on you page – does that not qualify.

At least on YouTube she promised to expand and explain it further in coming months. Guess she will not now since she will be fired on Monday by arthur and his gang of 4.

18. Bajan Panday
    You mean the Avinath Persad theory that was read at the BCCI conference.
    If that was Mia Mottley’s philosophy it would have been with her when she was the Minister of Economic Affairs.
    What has she done for the Credit Unions in her last five years to now speak of giving them ownership?
    Are we going to sell our sea and airport to China? Well Jamaica is considering selling one of their ports to China.
    As David said, neither Owen nor Mia said anything lately that will give any rational thinking citizen reasons to believe that they can do a better job.
    George
    All of the rhetoric about this economy not doing well must be put in context with what is happening in the other Caribbean countries first and then the world. The BLP has been saying that Guyana economy grew by this amount but that would be expected of economies like that.
    In the USA, 95000 persons loss their jobs last month, what do you expect about an economy left with so much debt by your high class government. You are doing a PhD therefore your writings must reflect rational thought.

19. Everybody seems to be concluding that Mia will be fired on Monday. But is this necessarily so? I agree that it is the most likely outcome, but, Isn’t it possible that in the hours between yesterday afternoon and next monday morning, some accomodation could be in the process of being worked out? Isn’t it possible that Owen and George Payne might have taken their eyes off the ball by offering Mia a chance to defend herself in a “court” that includes three people who presumably support her? Isn’t it possible that Mia, now given the opportunity to defend herself and her record as opposition leader might do so in such a manner that the Arthur camp would not be able to find anything but a frivolous rationale to continue to push for her dismissal? Is it possible also that there might be some other considerations, present or future, that can be offered to one or more of the other three who signed to allow one or more of them to change their vote or abstain?

Now this might be merely a total misreading of the situation but is there any possibility that Mia could still win out in this situation?

One of the reasons for almost everyone considering that it is a done deal and that Owen Arthur will be endorsed as the New leader of the Opposition on monday is that any result other than that will cause the five that signed to lose considerable “face”. But could it be that the invitation to a hearing had just that objective. i.e. providing a vehicle that might allow both Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur to walk away on monday afternoon, vindicated in their opposite stands, if a superior defence by Mia makes it utterly laughable that she should be dismissed for not having done an adequate job as leader of the BLP parlimentary group.

I think it is almost impossible for the Owen Arthur / George Payne faction to prove that her documented record in carrying the fight to the DLP and exposing one possible malfeaseance after another, has been a bad one. We need to note that the letters do not imply that they will be looking at things extraneous to her record as parliamentary leader of the BLP. Therefore natural justice would seem to suggest that they should not be able to try her on other grounds and have it stick.

20. G.C. Brathwaite

Trial? Natural justice? What idealistic discourse are you attempting to put together?
    From many miles away, anyone can see that this is not about Mia’s oppositional politics in relation to the DLP; this public spectacle (which it should not have reached that stage) is about the internal dynamics and cohesiveness of the parliamentarians as well as the broader members of the political party. If some members are or were never prepared to play ball with Mia (and it could easily occur with Owen because such is the nature of party politics especially when in opposition), then ‘justice’ will not be a denominator. It is simply where the majority will throw their support at any given time (and that is always subject to change based on a number of things that can change according to the political climate and available resources). It is my judgement that Mia did a good job and no doubt as an assertive politician she has my support. On the other hand, it appears as if ceteris paribus that Owen’s popularity has not diminished to the extent that supporters of the party and the MPs are willing to have a longer term vision. Whether the party pays for the absolute mishandling of the situation, time will surely tell. It is therefore sufficient to say there will be no trial, no justice and equally as unlikely no Mia unless as leader she is prepared to make major concessions. Should that occur, there is to my mind no sense in leading. In fact, to use Owen’s words, I would not want to be leading a political party so divided that it has become publicly pervasive. So pray tell me, who is the winner and who is the loser? The answer to that question makes for poetic justice.

21. You think this is a girl guides cake sale?
    You really believe that big people would go to all of that trouble to set up, a make up, hug up and kiss up get up?

Me ah de last man standing….
    When the smoke clears…

22. Asman; I think you are right. I was merely pointing out that there are other possibilities than the one that everyone thinks is the likely outcome.
    If those guys were really tough they would not have left that little door open. Anyhow! We will see what happens on Monday after the big boys cake sale.

23. Any outcome, other than the obvious, makes the whole thing a pappy show.

Experienced politicians seeking re-election, tend to dislike pappy shows being listed on their CVs

24. Owen Arthur get beat by the DLP. Yuh mean he cuh get beat by Mia too?
    Dah wud mek he a real ningcumpoop.

25. Owen could form another party easily. So could Mia, and I would seriously consider joining it, because I think it is in the national interest to have more vehicles via which more Barbadians can vie for political office. I strongly believe the best that Barbados has to offer never ventured near George or Roebuck street and have no intension of so doing.

26. Funny thing these Mottleys

And as it gets nastier and nastier for those BLP ones like Henderson whatever you maybe and Greenidge guess you two will be out of work come Monday but so to George Payne if what I am reading takes hold, he too will be a gonner, could not happen to a better bunch, a den of crooks and criminals all of that lot they are crooks.

Move on George
    Sources say that some in the BLP are seeking to have MP George Payne expelled.
    Sat, October 16, 2010 – 12:40 AM
    MOVES ARE AFOOT to have St Andrew MP George Payne expelled from the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) on an allegation that he breached the party’s constitution.

SATURDAY SUN investigations have revealed that a coalition of BLP candidates has retained the services of legal counsel and is preparing to carry out a probe into Payne’s conduct.

It’s the latest twist to a bitter leadership fight that pits Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley against her former leader, former Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

But Payne, who has been in the forefront of efforts to have Mottley removed from the BLP’s helm, could be faced with a fight of his own, as the group’s lawyers review Chapter 15, with specific reference to Section 81 Clause (b), of BLP’s constitution.

The rules indicate that the national council of the BLP reserves the right to discipline, through suspension or expulsion, any member: “If through writings or utterances or in any other way it can be established that he acted in [a] manner inimical to the best interest of the party.”

Quizzed about the development, Payne reacted with surprise. In fact, he told the SATURDAY SUN it all “sounded like a joke” to him.

Meantime, the plot thickened yesterday as some party insiders expressed discomfort with Payne presiding over the national council. This after the St Andrew MP, who is being challenged by Mottley for the chairmanship of the BLP, cancelled a council meeting on Thursday night, which was slated to discuss complaints of vote rigging ahead of this monthend’s internal elections.

St James North MP Rawle Eastmond, who is supporting Mottley’s bid for the chairmanship, went public last weekend after discovering that someone had sent in a list of 56 delegates from his branch to the BLP’s general secretary Cynthia Forde without his prior knowledge or that of his branch executive.

Yesterday, a party source raised concerns about the postponement of Thursday’s meeting.

And in another turn of events, a member of the BLP’s Women’s League revealed that a list of 210 delegates had been sent in to the general secretary although the women’s arm had not met officially to choose delegates. She said the concerns were similar to those highlighted by Eastmond.

However, when contacted Women’s League president Pat Parris denied the allegation.

“The executive met and agreed on a number of delegates and every since then I have been receiving requests from various female members of the party asking to be delegates of the Women’s League. There are thousands of women in the BLP . . . During the past four years whenever we had an annual general meeting we had in excess of 200 members,” she said.

When asked if the delegates were “officially selected”, Parris reiterated that the executive “met and agreed” on a number of delegates. She said she would not comment on the term “officially selected”. (WG/KJ)

27. De BLP going to court over this issue? Such a move will make their fight much worst than the DLP pass leadership fight. This could lead to a break away from the BLP. I am salivating at such a prospect.

28. Barbados labour party Public relations Officer Raquel Gilkes, said the following on Facebook:

The purpose of a political party is to organise for the acquisition of governmental power and authority. The success of a political party is measured by how often they do this.

That people feel there is another reason for having a political… party is a source of wonder to me.

29. GC Brathwaite:
    with the political party as a mechanism for ensuring our continued liberties as well as the social, economic, and political development of all Barbadians.

Raquel Gilkes:
    The purpose of a political party is to organise for the acquisition of governmental power and authority. The success of a political party is measured by how often they do this.

Are these two statements similar in anyway? Do they similarly define the political party?

30. Mia has to go, its that simple. If not this bunch will toss her thru the window and out to the far reaches of polical isolation. Her resignation is probably being typed as we blog.

31. JUSTICE SEEKER

Efforts have been made to find out from those in Mia’s and Arthur’s constituencies what they feel about their leaders at this time. Why has no one sought to find out what St. Andrew constituents feel about George Payne, in the midst of this confusion? After all, he is doing more talking than either Mia or Owen. Why not focus on the man in the midst? He has “set” the two on each other, as he used to do in his boy days dog-fighting, and now is standing back to see who mauls who worse. This is the old “divide and rule” scenario he is going after.

32. After reading all of the above, it would seem to the average reasonable person that george pain is the problem and the solution for the BLP.

It seems from your bloggers that it started with his vote rigging which people in some civilised countries like America, Canada and England would call: electoral fraud, election rigging and corruption.

Are we to belive that if he were ever to become Minister of Finance that they would have to station the BDF outside the Treasury Building?

Seems like geore pian has split the BLP by putting a wedge between Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur. That seems to be the only problem that party faces to me.

arthur likes to say, if there is a problem, face it and fix it. Let us see if arthur will let george pain destroy his legacy.

33. The BLP is now looking for a “fall guy”.
    They can kick George Payne out of the party with “compensation” and he becomes the villain who instigated and caused the” problem”.

The BLP is now using 4 spin bowlers and an all rounder. Bare spin even though the wicket tekkin pace.

Read Joey Harper’s column.

34. Opposition is at sea

This charge against George Payne and the BLP is deeper than we first believed, this charge as was just reported to me is that George Payne is known to have forged signatures to register these people in favour of Owen in various constituencies.

With this being the case why would any of us not feel concerned by these developments that if the leadership of the BLP sees it fit to pad a voters list and forge signatures of persons for an internal BLP matter why would you feel that they would be honest and not pad a voters list or commit fraud and theft for a NATIONAL ELECTION ???

35. Barbadians ought to better understand why this junta is trying to stage a coup on Monday led by George Payne and Owen Arthur.

Society cannot rationalize this injurious kind of conduct by saying how bright someone is, when the focus is about malpractice and character.

The world has seen many of this kind who were bright and tortured innocent people. Leaders who were put in positions who imprisoned innocent people in order to gain and regain power and then inflicted their cruelty on man, woman, and child.

Why are we not hearing the voices of the women’s groups or christian groups who role is to mediate and see that justice is done. What attempts have been made to bring those who are demonized like George Payne to christian feelings so we can rid our society of this political nastiness.

In our Saturday Sun16th,2010, one Pat Parris talks about delegates who were agreed upon. One cannot escape the link of malfeasance in her statement when asked if the delegates were officially selected, she avoided the precision of the question (being part of the mongoose gang) because this is another ugly act by the Owen and George Payne marriage to elect George again to chairman of the party at the annual conference.

But George must always remember a leopard don’t change his spots and the same way Owen discarded him like a menstruous rag before, he will do it again because for Owen it is all about political expediency.

36. PappyP wrote

“Why are we not hearing the voices of the women’s groups or christian groups who role is to mediate and see that justice is done. What attempts have been made to bring those who are demonized like George Payne to christian feelings”

Loo PasppyP George Payne’s mother was a good Christian woman. I knew her for 40 or more years. If as you imply George is not a Christian, and if his own mother was not able in 40 years to bring him to Christian understanding why the ass do you think women’s grups should try to make a Christian of a hard back old men.

All or most of these politicians were raised by Christian mothers.

Most of them have long rejected Christianity; since Christianity conflicts with their lodge memberships and their lust for money for power and for sex.

Why then do you think that is it the fault of the women’s groups if so many of our men choose to sell their souls to the devil.

I am one of those who have not prayed for the Prime Minister. If he wants prayers let him pray for himself, and let his family and freinds pray for him. I know for a certainty that he has never prayed for me. The same for George, Owen and the rest. The know where to find God if they want to. God has not changed addresses in billions of years.

If the fellas choose to deliver themselves into the hands of the devil, then let them.

37. If the fellas (both parties) have turned their backs on God it must mean that there is something which they value more than Godliness.

SURELY WE ALL UNDERSTAND THIS.

38. PappyP wrote “But George must always remember a leopard don’t change his spots and the same way Owen discarded him like a menstruous rag”

As someone who knows more thatn a little something about menstrous grags please bear with me while I educate yu.

Menstrous rags are NOT discarded.

They are carefully launderes, dried in teh sun, carefully folded, and stored carefully for next month. Because as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow there will be a menstruation next month.

Menstrous rags are cherised and treated well because they are so useful and so important.

Only an idiotic woman would discard her menstrous rags.

And no woman who expects a period in 30 days is an idiot. She can’t afford to be.

She has to be ALWAYS prepared.

39. Only a man would think that a menstorus rag is dirty and ought therefore to be discarded.

Ever woman and every girl knows that that which seems dirty can be washed and renewed and can be made useful again.

I can’t believe that I have to come on this blog and teach class 1 Biology (and the class 1 economics of washing and reusing)

Georgie Porgie where are you when we need you most?

40. The Barbados Labour Party was not removed from office because of its performance, as I recall, the convincing ARGUMENT was cost overruns but more so: “corruption.” That a cheque for $75,000 was presented, made a convincing case.

No one could have imagined that close to 3 years after that general election, the issue facing the same BLP would be the same corruption PM Thompson highlighted, this time parading within the BLP as electoral fraud and internal election rigging.

Imagine, over 210 delegates selected when no AGM has held. Imagine again, $560 paid for 56 delegates unknown to Rawle Eastman whose constituency the Nation Newspaper said they were purporting to represent.

Those 266 persons who were slected through a corrupt and fraudalent process – were intended to vote against Mia Mottley.

That my friends seem like the same corruption that PM Thompson and the DLP told us about in 2008. It is the same corruption the BU family and Barbadians despise.

It is why the DLP must be congratulated for bringing the Prevention of Corruption Act. It is left to be seen if GEORGE PAYNE will be lead spokesperson for the BLP, when debates starts in the House.

IT IS LEFT TO BE SEEN WHETHER THE BLP IS SOFT ON CORRUPTION.

ALL EYES ON YOU–BARBADIANS ARE WATCHING.

41. Hants | October 16, 2010 at 10:47 AM | The BLP is now looking for a “fall guy”.
    They can kick George Payne out of the party with “compensation” and he becomes the villain who instigated and caused the” problem”.
    =========================================

The fall guy could be Henderson Bovell

42. Police investigate electoral fraud claims after journalist is beaten up

Three Labour candidates standing in local elections in the London borough of Tower Hamlets have been spoken to by police investigating allegations of electoral fraud using falsely-registered postal votes.

The inquiry by Scotland Yard Special Branch officers in the impoverished east London borough is part of a nationwide probe into 50 claims that electoral rolls from London to West Yorkshire, some of them in marginal constituencies, have been packed with fictitious or absent voters in the run up to this week’s poll

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/police-investigate-electoral-fraud-claims-after-journalist-is-beaten-up-1962536.html

43. @ Hants and Adrian Hinds

As regards yours above, I was going through the Nation Newspaper archives when I came across what appeared to be a story where the then Leader of the Opposition David Thompson, wrote to Prime Minister Arthur about Hardwood .

Mr. Arthur seemed angry and upset that Thompson had written to him as PM saying: “do or else.”

“Do or else” is usually regarded as a demand followed by a threat or: “blackmail.“

Judging from what you have written above, it would seem that the gang of 5 have already convicted Mia Mottley, sentenced her and will now invite her to her trial on Monday at 10:00 a.m.,

On the back of that, they will seek to blackmail her with: “do or else: the scapegoat. This sounds like Julius Caesar and the Conspirators.

I suppose we will have to wait until Monday to know whether the corruption within the BLP is institutionalized or segmented and whether there is hope for principle and integrity.

Oh, by the way! Arthur said then that he would never support this Leader of the Opposition (Mia Mottley) if as Leader of the Opposition she ever writes to PM Thompson in such a manner because when you are aspiring to a high office you must respect it.

Note that he is now part of the gang of 5 who wrote to Opposition Leader Mia Mottley demanding that she attends her trial after already being convicted and sentenced.

Vulgar and the very worse of the BLP.

44. Panday most of what you say is without merit, foundation, or truth. A lot of feelings and emotions flows throughout your contributions. Overiding all that you have said are facts.
    1: Fact; PM or loto although leadership position the holder serves at the pleasure of his parliamentary equals.
    2: Fact; The PM or LOTO gain their position via their respective parliamentary teams.
    3:Fact; Mia Mottley sought and retain their loyal support 2009
    4: Fact; 2008 Mia publicaly endorse and reaffirm the process by which the LOTO is chosen
    5:Fact; That exact process is being used in 2010 in the exact manner that it was use to endorse and elevate Mia.

45. @ Adrian Hinds

Seem fair to conclude that all of what you said is bang -on if you are convinced that the real issue here is leadership, eventhough it does not appear so.

Judging from last Sunday’s Sunday Sun and today’s Sun on Saturday, the issue seems to be election rigging, and internal electorasl fraud.

I think that is what the Americans, Canadians and English would call corruption and it highlights the significance of the DLP bringing a Prevention of Corruption Act at this time.

46. @POOPY P…….”Owen discarded him like a menstruous rag before,”

@ J ………thank you for giving this old fool a lesson.

@ Poopy P………What the hell do you know about menstrous rags? I was liking you till I read this. Why couldn’t you use another description, ….like toilet paper, shoite paper but to attempt further degrade women and their menstrual cycle shows how ignorant you are. It also says exactly what you think of the menstruation cycle. Without it you would not be here! You stupid moron! That is how the woman’s body rids itself of an unfertilized egg. How can you think this as being filthy? You uneducated jackass!

47. “St James North MP Rawle Eastmond, who is supporting Mottley’s bid for the chairmanship, went public last weekend after discovering that someone had sent in a list of 56 delegates from his branch to the BLP’s general secretary Cynthia Forde without his prior knowledge or that of his branch executive.”

Here is more on corruption:

http://www.cbsnews.com/video/watch/?id=4915423n

48. It does not matter what I think is the motivation for the BLP parliamentary team to seek in 2010 to take away from Mia Mottley what they gave to her in 2008 and reaffirm in 2009. The constitution nor the BLP laws does not require that the parliamentary team have a valid reason for their action. All that is required according to Mia Mottley is that the leader be the person in whom they are well please.

49. @Bonny Peppa …….

Hope yuh feeling betta, ah too sorry. I got nuff limes and eff yuh want some email me from muh blog. Ah miss yuh, dis blog ain de same wid yuh gone. Get well and come back soon yuh hear.

50. J, pappy’ P ain’ t wrong. In the bible,when the rag becomes worn, you does throw it out,it becomes good for nothing. George time up check how close he come to getting beat in the last election.

51. When all is done, the BLP will still win the elections. Thompson was able to rid teh DLP of Mascoll and within months faced an election and won. The BLP will do the same.

52. And it is the prime time for the BLP to win. First it starts with drying up the economy. Laying off ppl after the Xmas period by the thousands after you received deferalls on taxes and Hotel funds. Then you get your big businesses to hoard all the foreign exchange. Then you have strike after strike and plan another march as in Sandiford’s tenure.
    The DLP is doomed. Owen shall return and rescue them all over again.

Whether you hate Owen or not, whether he is corrupt or not, he has done nothing that David “Mr. righteous” Thompson did not do, so in my opinion he is best suited to return and win the elections. It is all in the game of politics.

53. Owen I Love you.

54. You see that arrogance and utter stupidity. Corruption being winked at!? That is why the Don’t Knows, Won’t Says is now some 42%.

Yes, corruption does matter to many – the independent vote who are neither B nor D but want the best for Barbados.

Your winking at corruption is why the BLP’s ass was kicked out of office in 2008.

The DLP is now beinging a Prevention of Corruption Bill which will account for a lot, unless the BLP can recommend impressive amendments when the Bill is debated in Committee.

Failing that, electoral fraud and election rigging plus – with the $75,000 cheque still fresh in people’s mind and more, the BLP will be in erious trouble.

That will not be fair to the clean candidates it is now running.

Which do you think the people will prefer – a corrupt BLP or an incompetent DLP?

55. Anonymous Numero Uno

Panday, what is the size of the cheque from CLICO to THOMPSON? OWEN has already explained what happened to the $75,000 campaign contribution, so don’t keep lingering on it.
    HOW MUCH DID THOMPSON GET? $10,000,000.00? MORE THAN THAT? If Owen received a measley $75,000.00, how much you believe Thompson received?

56. When i saw these words recently in the text “The Mind of Adolf Hilter” by Walter C Langer, I immediately thought i had seen or heard this person before, please read:

“Since the events of last year, his faith in his own genius, in his instinct, or as one might say, in his star, is boundless. Those who surround him are the first to admit that he now thinks himself infallible and invincible. That’s why he can no longer bear either criticism or contradiction”. He thinks he is omnipotent.
    Does this sound familiar to you ?

57. The Barbadian version of Julius Caesar

When Mia Mottley goes to BLP headquarters tomorrow at 10:00 for her trial (having already been convicted and sentenced by the gang of 5) it will be akin to decency, integrity and the future of the BLP, coming face-to-face with electoral fraud, election rigging, blatant disregards for the BLP’s Constitution, corruption and the BLP‘s past.

Unfortunately, on this occasion, the entity that will lose will be the future of the BLP and integrity, since Mia Mottley will be sacked.

Why?

She is unlikely to play ball and will not allow herself to be blackmailed, neither will she negotiate or make a deal for her survival as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition.

The fiasco now unfolding within the BLP therefore seems like a Barbadian version of William Shakespeare’s tragedy” ‘Julius Caesar.’

58. Bajan Panday; I am still slightly hopeful that another scenario will play itself out tomorrow. It is informed by Pappy’P's contribution above. Attacking such an individual with extreme provocation, but with facts and within the bye-laws of the relevant constitution, and letting the “jury” see how he stands up to the strain might pay some unexpected dividends.

59. Anonymous Numero Uno

@Bajan Panday
    “Anonymous Numero Uno | October 17, 2010 at 12:40 AM | Panday, what is the size of the cheque from CLICO to THOMPSON? OWEN has already explained what happened to the $75,000 campaign contribution, so don’t keep lingering on it.
    HOW MUCH DID THOMPSON GET? $10,000,000.00? MORE THAN THAT? If Owen received a measley $75,000.00, how much you believe Thompson received?”

Hi Miss Panday, you never seem to answer my questions. You keep talking about $75,000.00, and I am still waiting for your reply to my question above. Can you contact George Street and supply Barbadians with some info? Mrs. Bissessar in T&T reported that the oppostion party there, while in Government received multi-millions of dollars from CLICO.

You are suggesting that the coming Integrity legislation should adress the $75,000.00. What about the multi-millions of CLICO’S money that MUST HAVE GONE to Thompson and the DEMS? At least we know that some time ago, Owen either tore up or returned to the man “at the hellum” a large CLICO cheque. Did Thompson return any any of the amount he received?

Come on Panday, I want to hear from you on this particular matter.

60. Anonymous Numero Uno

I heard new Minister of Finance Hon. Chris Sinckler declare this morning that he was accused of having too much power when he was transferred to the Ministry of Social Care, where he personally hand-picked and appointed about 450 members of Constituency Councils.

Mr. Sinckler, what ever pretty pretty dipsy-doodling or fancy juxtapositioning you are now employing to fool people about the DEMS’ agenda, please know that you can’t boast of Free Secondary Education, and still expect Barbadians to be gullible foolie foolies!

YES, much too much power was reposed in you to expedite those blatantly partisan appointments, and YES, YOU WERE NOT JUST SIMPLY TRANSFERRED to Social Care Ministry. YOU were put there as part of the DEMS’ AGENDA, to undermine the electoral process by using taxpayers’ money to support politically-tainted largesse in the various communities, which would ensure another TERM of office for the DEMS!

Who else in the DEMS but Mr. Sinckler, could accomplish such an obnoxious and pernicious assignment?? It’s a calling very much of the Cammie Tudor genre i.e. infused with ennuendo, deception, and a real crafty tongue.

61. We Want To Know

What happened G.P. Come back man…….we miss you! You too, Royal Rumble.

62. I heard today the statement from The Hon. Mia Mottley, and I must say I was extremely proud of her. She handled herself with grace even though she was grieved. She spoke of changing the face of politics from insular to a more a collective participation, of moving the country from where the wealth is concentrated in the hands of a few to a more general distribution of wealth.
    These are high ideals but are attainable with someone who has guts not necessarily balls, perhaps she is the one to do it.
    Mia i am proud of you!

63. The BLP needs no advice from ac
    The BLP RAN THIS COUNTRY WELL
    BRINGING BARBADOS FROM THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR IN 1994.

JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS
    and unemployment was brought down to 6 % BY THE BLP even with imported labour.

IS BARBADOS BETTER OFF NOW THAN PRE 2008 ?

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN.

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    None of wunna DLP sympathisers /Owen Bashers cannot be comfortable answering these questions so go ahead and attack me -the person me
    KISSMYA’I LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR’ MCCLEAN

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s