It Is ‘Question Time’ For Prime Minister Stuart

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Barbados models its system of government on the Westminster system, in reality what we have is a watered down version. Take for example the practice of members of the UK parliament getting the opportunity each Wednesday to question ministers, including the Prime Minister, on matters related to the portfolios they have been assigned responsibility referred to as  Question Time.

When the Late Prime Minister David Thompson assumed office he promised Barbadians he would hold frequent post-Cabinet press briefings and he honoured his promise for a couple sessions. To be fair, he compensated somewhat by holding regular quarterly press conferences, in our opinion he became the most accessible Prime Minister to media of all our Prime Ministers. Regrettably he has passed to the great beyond and life moseys on.

We are two years plus from a constitutionally due general election and the Late Prime Minister David Thompson’s successor is an unknown quantity. The prevailing economic challenges will not permit the usual honeymoon period. He has to hit the ground running because Barbadians, we think, are beginning to awake to the realization that the economy is in deep do do. It cannot* be business as usual.

A few questions Mr Prime Minister which are of concern:

Barbadians were alarmed when the news leaked from the highest policy making institution in the land that there was a scuffle between Minister of Agriculture David Estwick and Deputy Leader of the Opposition Dale Marshall. What caused even more consternation was the confirmation that a gun was ‘brandished’ during the fracas. We have subsequently learned that Minister Estwick has attended anger management sessions. Recent public appearances which publicised his relatively calm demeanour has demonstrated he has been receptive to instruction.

Against the foregoing Mr. Prime Minister is it not time to use your influence to insist that the Committee of Privileges rule on the matter?

Most right thinking Barbadians appreciate that the CLICO matter has become a very difficult issue for the government. The financial implications of a bailout which is estimated at 200 million dollars to inflate domestic debt is a burden which no government managing an economy in a recession wants to confront. The public relations clutter which the CLICO saga continues to generate will give the DLP Campaign Manager grey hairs. The reality that the financial woes of the parent created a contagious which exposed inherent flaws in our governance structure confirms what an earlier International Monetary Fund (IMF) report highlighted. Of note has been the lack of communication emanating from the Office of the Supervisor Insurance to assure Barbadians that some institutional strengthening has occurred since that office failed to prudently managed CLICO’s statutory deficit position.

Against the foregoing Prime Minister, Barbadians need to be taken into your confidence. What is on the cards for CLICO? The health of the nation’s psyche depends on it!

Sometime ago BU posted a series of blogs which highlighted a worrying relationship between Minister Denis Lowe  and Canadian Peter Allard, owner of Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary. Peter Allard is also well known for the unmitigated gall of suing the government of Barbados, including late Prime Minister David Thompson and other prominent Barbadians in the Nelson/Kingsland matter. To date Minister Denis Lowe, the Fourth Estate and others have stood idle while Minister Lowe continues to nurse the public purse. We are not happy that Peter Allard assisted Lowe in his election campaign and that he (Lowe) continues to be responsible for a ministry which is of interest to Allard. With a Cabinet reshuffle imminent nothing less than the firing of Denis Lowe will seem to be acceptable.

Against the foregoing Prime Minister, BU remains hopeful that you are able to send an unequivocal message to Minister Lowe that there is a conflict of interest position to which you have to respond. Do you have the balls to make the right decision?

Final question from BU. Our reliance on fossil fuel has reached the point of being ridiculous. Why is it we have not advanced a credible national renewable energy program? Such an approach would help to build energy security. It is time our governments got serious about protecting future generations of Barbadians. This year we learned about a loan (45 million) which government procured from the IADB to build an energy framework.

Against the foregoing Prime Minister, when will you be in a position to announce a coherent government renewable energy program?

The list of questions is not exhaustive.

Advertisement

55 Responses to It Is ‘Question Time’ For Prime Minister Stuart

1. @David,

Just on a point of clarity. Questions are asked and answered in our Parliament all the time. In a Parliament with 650 members, asking questions is a different story. The reason for “question time” is because in the past, Parliament would spend the whole sitting asking and answering questions and no Government business would get done. Therefore a time for questions was allotted.

2. @ROK

Thanks!

Not sure if parliamentary questions posed in our parliament are treated with the same seriousness as in the UK.

3. I would say that they are. It is one of the few tools available to the Opposition… but even MPs on the government benches ask questions.

4. Can I?
    Mr. PM, is it there any truth to the rumour that government has to borrow every month to pay public officers?
    Mr. PM, has the government examined the public service to determine if the country is getting value for the money invested and expended therein?
    Mr. PM, how hard is the government really trying to cut expenditure?

“The list of questions is not exhaustive.”

5. Mr PM; When are you going to let the people of St John know who the DLP’s candidate for the bye-election will be?

Is any serious thought being given to mandate NIS to sell its BL&P shares?

Is the sale of BNB shares still under consideration?

Has any investigation been done re. the BLP allegations of improprieties concerning the Minister of housing and JADA and if so will there be a need for action?

6. I think they already know the answers raw bake thats why they not asking. Fuel for the next election

7. Mr. Prime Minister
    Can you tell me what was the size of the public sector in 1994 and what it was in 2007.Go on to tell me the wage bill for 1994 and that for 2007. I await your answer sir.

8. Mr. PM, Can you tell us what ever happened re the gunplay that occurred in the precincts of Parliament? Or is that the usual 9-day wonder? Or did I miss the results of the Privileges Committee?

9. Mr. PM, can you tell us what the costs would be to have the public sector downsized and to put all those former employees on welfare?

10. Mr PM
    Can you tell us if you intend to take on any more duties or be just contented to carry the same work laod as a dying PM?

Dont you think it is time that you take on some additional duties and get rid of all those David Thompson political appointees like Harry Husbands, Jepter “physical deficit” Ince, Darcy Boyce, Cranston Browne, the entertainment czar (after all there is no more money for fetes) and the executive chairman, Arnie Walters?

Dont you think that this will save the taxpayers hundreds of thousands of dollars monthly?

11. 1) What is the cost of government ministers (and other officers?) buying FIRST class airline tickets for all their air travel. Is there a need for so many to travel so often? What about video-conferencing for some of those “meetings”? Don’t remind me, if they use video conferencing technology then they can’t do any shopping ’till they drop at those “meetings”!
    2) What is it costing us, the taxpayers, to supply all those very expensive vehicles for ministers, judges et al to be CHAUFEURED around this 14×21 sized country?
    3) What is it costing the taxpayers to have so many ministers in government to govern so few people?
    4) What is it costing us to have all those materials and equipment “borrowed” from, and not returned, to MTW and other Statutory Corporations and ministeries?
    5) What is it costing us, the taxpayers, to have all those vehicles (buses, garbage trucks ambulances) just rusting and deteriorating simply because some minor part needs replacing?
    Now Charlie, do you know whether we will get any answers to these queries? Wheel and come again Charlie, methinks you have opened a can of worms because these are only the “tip of the iceberg”.

12. Mr PM,

Who is responsible for the CBC operations? With the passing of David Thompson, dont you think now would be a good time to end the blatant political destruction going on up there?

Do you know that staff are totally fed up with the David Thompson henchmen: Leroy Parris and Reudon Eversley?

Do you think it is right that any little inconsequential thing that the DLP does has prime time as well as in a news extra and the constitutionally elected Opposition cannot have not even a sound bite, the only exception being when they wanted to exploit for its own purposes the change of the leadership a few weeks ago?

Do you know that the CBC has very little viewership as people refer to it as DLP TV?

13. Charlie they already asked those question.

Mr. Pm

Can you tell me if it is truth that the service increased since 2007. so if in 2007 there was too many people why did you still hire more. Why the wage bill went up by almost 100 million in 2009 compare to the 2008 figures

14. Eh, eh! Buh wey Charlie gorn?? Weh he hidin’ he face now? He start axing queshtuns and when he get some more (just a few!) he run and gorn into hidin?

15. Barbados Uh Come From

@Prodigal Son
    “Do you know that the CBC has very little viewership as people refer to it as DLP TV?”

Prodigal Son my Brother, the name is actually “DLP CBC TV” and that acronym stands for :
    “DEM LIARD PEOPLE’s COLOSSAL BULL CRAP TV” Others like to replace “BULL’ with “BOVINE” but however you describe it, it CBC most definitely does NOT stand for “CREDIBLE BALANCED COMMITTED” as they parrot night after night.

Yes P.M. Stuart, it’s time for Parris the man at the ‘hellum’ TO GO, as well as Eversley, who previously stated that he had advanced to a higher level, and didn’t want any position at DLP CBC TV. Give him his wish Mr.P.M.

16. Mr. PM
    doan ask me a mountain of questions
    when dere is only one ansa to it all
    Oh,oh,oh,oh, do you luv me, really luv me, as i luv you?
    it’s de ansa ta evryting dat we do.

17. ROK
    I’m still in luv wid you darlin.

I want my arms around you for Christmas
    I need no presents under the tree
    You’re all I want my darling
    And that will be the world to me.

I only want your lovin for Christmas
    No other kind of present will do
    You’re all I want my darling
    Please want me too
    As I want YOUUUUUUUUU.

mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh, tru luv nevva dyes.

18. irelandgal
    cannnnnnnnnnnnnnn stay away from ROk. he so cuteeeeeeee. we gun hah fa share. I want de bottom part from he waist down n you kin tek from de waist up.

19. Bonny why is yuh suh wutless?
    WAIIITTTTTT…….. Irelandgal, who is yuh? Muh name is Islandgal 246 an ah hope yuh ain trying to imposinate muh. Glad tah meet yuh.

20. Please ignore the Dave ‘no-balls’ Speller who loves to be a disruptive force on BU. Spends all day on BU.

21. A few more questions for the PM or perhaps the new AG:

what happened to the promised new stations for the police at the Pine, Cane Garden and Belleplaine. Dale Marshall spoke about them months before the election and nothing has happened since. Money was not an issue as they were to be BOLTS. And this government is no longer philosophically opposed to them?

What happened to the duty free cars promised to public servants? Guess since you have reduced most of them to the ranks of the working poor with this last budget, they can’t afford to drive them anyway.

Has there been any movement on the reduction in the cost of living that was promised almost three short years ago. Please do not use the excuse of the international recession as the answer as there were several signs that a recession was immanent before the 2008 election. Clearly your party was sleep on the job while in Opposition and now squarely in dream land or cloud cuckoo land in government.

And finally when are you going to put us out of our misery and call an election. One sooner rather than later would be deeply appreciated.

22. Can we have an update on the coming of Cost-U-Less?

23. Mr PM,

According to Tony Marshall “the public would like to know” what is going on with the construction of the houses at Constant, is CLICO really that cash strapped?

Is it true that the building at Warrens has run into technical problems? Do you remember how you all lambasted the BLP over the now famous Barrack building?

Also the public would like to know how many of the match box houses that have been built have been sold?

24. @David
    Cost U Less has been renamed Cost U More.

25. Dear Mr PM
    1. Can you tell me when will the SSA be getting more Trucks?
    2. Can you tell me when will the stinking dirty public who litter this beautiful island be brought before the courts?
    3. Can you tell me when will the food prices come down?

26. Living in Barbados – My Observation

The Bad

Terrible service everywhere

Terrible service at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, especially the Barbados Network (you know Returning Nationals program). Why does it take so long to get a container out of the port under this program. Ever tried to reach or get a response from a foreign service officer, permanent secretary or the Minister….it’s impossible!!!

Terrible service in general at CBC TV, cable installation and antennae erection is shoddy…..thats why weeks after the storm (not even a hurricane) lots of people still do not have cable service. Should this be privatized?

Why is there foreign management at CBC and foreign announcers/moderators who seem at a loss when specific bajan issues are being discussed or presented?

Why does Trinidad seem to own much of Barbados and other foreign companies the rest?

Terrible traffic, it is impossible to get anywhere without being stuck in traffic and it doesn’t matter what time of day.

Everything takes forever to get done: Roundabouts at Boarded Hall and Coral Ridge….most of the time no work is being done at prime working hours of the day.

Severe shortages of common items in recent weeks: hot peppers, tomatoes, cucumbers, whole wheat bread and bananas at certain times of the day.

Produce being sold in supermarkets after the “sell by” date.

The high price of everything.

Driving: Why does almost everybody drive so fast on these small roads and why must drivers drive so close to your bumper(behind you)….there is no way of they stopping without causing an accident.

Why do some lottery ticket establishments sell tickets without a problem but are unable to check your tickets for a winner?

Why doesn’t Barbados Tourism understand the USA tourist market? Why does Barbados tourism insist on the use of travel Agents exclusively in some markets? Travel agents are a dying breed, vacationers are using the Internet to plan and book their vacation travel…..yet Barbados tourism invests little in internet marketing especially in the USA market . In addition, in the USA market, Barbados tourism should be concentrating their marketing efforts on the North-east, mid-west, some Central, North and North-west. There is little benefit in marketing to the West Coast, Texas or the South-east.

The new proposals by Barbados Tourism to spend money beginning now through the rest of this tourist season in the UK market is wasted money. The promotions should have been done months ago if at all. Take a look at the UK economy and the severe cuts in spending and increases in the cost of living…., those people just cannot afford Barbados!!!! Barbados tourism needs to plan ahead in the way a number of other islands have.

Why are there so many political representatives in St. Michael and Christ Church….and it is not easy to reach them when needed?

Why do bus drivers drive so recklessly….I understand why ZR van drivers do.

Barbados seems to be pushing entrepreneurship, why doesn’t the Government make it easier to start and conduct a legitimate business? Place forms on the internet that can be completed in 5 minutes to establish a business without the need for lawyers or people holding your hands resulting in long delays in getting started and established….this has been done in many places, no need to reinvent the wheel.

Do countries outside of the few in the British Commonwealth play netball?? Why doesn’t Barbados transition to women’s basketball in the schools? This would provide a lot of opportunities for bajan women at the professional levels worldwide and with colleges and universities in the USA. I would doubt that similar opportunities exist in netball

20/20 Cricket should be given another name, it is void of cricket skills.

Why isn’t Barbados better prepared for storms and hurricanes?

The 2010 budget process was disgraceful….too many personal attacks from the DLP side. The Minister of Economics should be on a diet …..not planning to eat with certain people and not including other people, more food left for him?

Is there an online map of Barbados from where directions can be generated or an address highlighted or pinpointed?

Why can’t you get a car oil change without getting your car washed inside and out, taking up much of a day. In other countries there are garages where your oil and filter are changed in 15 minutes and off you go. It seems like the car wash is more important than the oil change.

ZR vans and bus engines should be tuned on a regular basis, if you’re stucked behind a zr van or bus you end up having to deal with lots of exhaust pollution.

Why don’t more people grow a simple vegetable garden on their property given the cost and scarcity of vegetables?

Bajans will complain and grumble among themselves but not to someone in authority or in an official capacity e.g. store manager or bank manager…..why?

The DLP seem to talk a good game, the BLP do not……but can the DLP get the job done – questionable?

The lines are often too long at banks especially during lunch time, why can’t teller schedules be adjusted during lunch hours to take care of the increased customers during that time.

Why are the Medical consultants and interns at the QEH reluctant to answer questions from patient’s family members.

Unions have a lot of power here, is that one reason why productivity and service levels are so low?

Why can’t qualified auditors be found in Barbados? The result is that these resources are brought in by international companies from outside the country using the permit method? Is this just a way around hiring bajans?

Even with the downturn in the Economy worldwide, real estate prices remain very high here, while in many countries prices have dropped considerably….how/why?

Often, getting things done in Barbados depend on who you know, it usually does not happen by merit or your turn being next.

Why do some businesses and individuals quote you a price in American dollars instead of bajan currency? I could understand if they were dealing with an international persons….but a bajan being quoted in American dollars in Barbados?

Various cuts of steak as you know it in the USA is hard to impossible to find and or get on a retail basis and what does exist is very expensive.

Productivity does not exist.

What do people over age 55 do in Barbados? Outside of politicians, business owners and few other occupations, people over 55 seem to be non-existant in the work force. I’m yet to see anyone looking older than age 50 working in a bank in Barbados. It seems to me that they’re the people with experience who might be able to improve productivity and service.

On the Good Side:

Electricity is good.

Telecommunications and Internet services are good.

Solar water heating is good.

Carter’s provides good service.

Express Hardware provides good service.

The airport is ok except for Immigration on arrival….there are often too few immigration personnel and they’re never welcoming.

Taking transportation from the airport has been improved.

The parking attendants at the lot in bay street are professional and provide good service.

Garbage pickup works well in my part of Christ Church.

Bajans wear the latest fashions/styles. Don’t know how they afford it

Free transportation to certain members of the public – good,

Public health care- ok.

Oistins – good on Friday nights.

Fresh fish right out of the ocean is the best.

Cars seem to be well cared for.

27. Prime Minister Stuart do you know if the Barbados Tourism Authority (BTA) employs a Web Content Manager whose responsibility is to ensure information is correctly updated to its websites?

Please not the following:

Videos are incorrectly linked to a development area e.g. http://barbados.dev.mmgworldwide.com/video.aspx?id=2010.

The links should be to VisitBarbados e.g. http://www.visitbarbados.org/video.aspx?id=2010 .

The link below is also to a development area (also known as staging area) – note the barbados.stage in the address. This corresponds to the VisitBarbados page – http://www.visitbarbados.org/barbados-rum-runners-trail.aspx which has the same video issue.

28. Mr PM

Would you please let the public know what is going on with the Commissioner of Police?

Is he on leave or was he forced to go on leave?

Is he being pushed out for political reasons?

I have noticed his absence on the day of David Thompson’s funeral, at the Independence parade and yesterday I noticed Bertie Hinds all over the place and rightly timed to be in St Philip to “accidentally” meet and greet Mara Thompson.

Do you know that people are saying that the Dems are playing politics with the police force and is splitting the force right down the middle with Dems on the side of Bertie Hinds and Bees on Darwin Dottin’s side?

Should the government be pushing Dems against Bees in a special area like the police force?

29. little girl from down in d village

Dear Mr. Prime Minister,

At the beginning of your government’s term of office, job number 1, 2 and 3 of your government was listed as cost of living. What we have had is an increase in cost of living. What is being done to address this issue particularly with the growing section of the population known as “the working poor”

Also very worrying is the lack of any further word on a possible solution to the CLICO International Life and British American “issue” This is going to be big as it not only involves Barbados but the OECS islands as well which your predeccessor said that the Government of Barbados has to assume responsibility for in the CLICO/BA affair. When will we hear of the Government’s approach to solving this problem

Health continues to be another major concern in the island. We heard of the plan to set up a philanthropic foundation to fund the new hospital/refurbishment of the QEH but has this actually been done? Given that the sale of the government’s remaining BNB shares has fallen through with Republic Bank of Trinidad, what is the alternative plan for funding the hospital refurbishment. The hospital plant is under tremendous pressure from demand for health services and there is a need to act on this.

When will we have a serious traffic management and road maintanance plan implemented in Barbados instead of the piece meal approach which we have been subjected to? Case in point, the continued tinkering of traffic arrangements in the Wildey Triangle area. The traffic jams is taking a toll on Barbados’ productivity at a time that we can least afford it. The state of roads is leaving much to be desired and the damage to vehicles cannot continue as very often owners appeal to Ministry of Transport for compensation for damages incurred as a result of the poor state of the roads. We were subjected to an increase in road taxes in the last 3 years – lets see those extra road taxes being put to good use!

Agriculture needs a helping hand. Sugar is being produced unprofitably but yet we continue to import high levels of food which costs us in terms of foreign exchange for which we have limited earning capacity due to decreased tourism receipts and foriegn direct investment. Why not lets get a strong agribusiness promotion going.. farming to feed the country. Incentives and support given to agriculture will pay for itself many times over

Finally, when will the Health and Safety at Work legislation come into being in Barbados? The workforce of Barbados demands it, along with a decent living minimum wage to be implemented

30. Third World you have some very good questions.

Personally, I think that Transport needs to be looked at …….. rapidly.

I find that there is no innovation from the supposedly creative thinkers within the B’dos Transport system. What is wrong with creating a transfer system, making sure that buses are the only vehicles used within Bridgetown BECAUSE of a better bus system.

If we can get a better more timely bus system I am sure that many persons would leave their cars in the garage.

Agriculture pist poor. Fossil fuels people – and the list goes on …….

Another thing is the production of the Civil Service. Some people don’t do NADA.

But because they are friends with the Senior Officers they get away with MURDER! Whilst others suffer humiliation and insults!!!!!!!

Mr. PM the ball is in your court. We know nothing is never done overnight but please make your Ministers produce!!!!!

31. Apollo 13
    you did livin pun de moon too long. de two parties did playing politics wid de public servants n appointments fa years. Whay you did hidin? Pun Jupita? stupseeeeeeeeeee. Why you gettin on like you evva sa saprize now? man behave yaself do.
    when ‘we’ in, wunna out n when ‘wunna’ in, we out. you kno dah too. or you just tryin ta be dang’rus? stupseeeeeeeee.
    (i would like a lil pick now as a ‘consultant’. I nevva consult nabody in ma life but i is a quik-lerner) LOLLLLL

32. JC
    ‘creative thinkers at de Transport Board”?
    whay dem come from bosey? dem hire a new crop las nite?
    I does get ‘bad-feelz’ whenevva de PRO, i tink dah is wah she is, tryin ta tawk or xplain sumting.
    You son at 11yrs or howevva ol he is now, would do a betta job. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.
    Doan put ‘creative’ n ‘thinkers’ in de same sentence when referrin to dem day bosey.
    A parro bout de bus-stan mite do a betta job at restructurin dah mess.

33. Interesting the PM is not being asked – what is the status of the new immigration act?

34. @ David
    what new Immigration Act? They just made a few changes to the draft left by the BLP. While you are at it, what about the new Freedom of Information Act and the new Integrity Act? And the legislation needed to give effect to the new management arrangements at the Barbados Water Authority where we now have an Executive Chairman. None of our Statutory Corporations have that and the existing legislation provides for a Chairman. They are not the same.

35. Mr. Prime Minister,

What about the Barbados Network of Returning Nationals and the Diaspora and the meetings that were held earlier in the year and talk about improving the program because the foreign exchange brought in by these folks contribute significantly to the Barbados
    economy!!

Where are the improvements? Was it all just talk….PR???

The feedback is that the program is not doing well under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and John Blackman….

Time for a real change??

36. Mr. PM…..what is going on at the Ministry of Tourism?

UK Taxi drivers to spearhead the new UK tourist promotions….some of them to be brought to Barbados to experience the Island and take the message back to the UK????

Are you guys serious?

What about bus drivers, train drivers, pilots? You could get more pop for the money.

What about uk travel agents? Oh, ok ….you already use them and see how that has worked!!!!!!

I must say this is thinking out of the box……wayyyyyyyyy out of the box!!!!

37. May I quote Taximan @ Dec 10, 2010 at 5:06 am
    “UK taxi drivers to spearhead the new UK tourist promotions. . . some of them to be brought to Barbados to experience the island and take the message back to the UK????

Are you guys serious?”
    May I suggest, the Ministry of Tourism is trying to transfer a “social more set” from Barbados to England, which is not transferrable. Taxi drivers in England, are not like their brothers in Barbados, and most English people would not think of asking their local taxi driver, where to go for holiday.

In England, most people seeking a new holiday destination, get information from TV, the internet, newspapers, radio and the “Golden Nugget” of them all. From friends, family and colleagues who have visited a particular location.

On return, colleagues ask, what was your holiday like? It is from that summary, many holidays are booked, that is why it is so important to give “good service”. People who come to Barbados can go almost anywhere, but it is pleasant service with a smile, friendliness of the people, personal safety, value for money and the weather which often decides.

If the above can be properly provided; with a tweak here and there, Barbados will take some beating, but we must always be aware that people are making comparisons. . . and that comparison when choosing . . . is not generaly with a particular island in the Caribbean, but with tropical destinations. We must always be up to the challenge.

38. They did that???? my that really far out of box. think chauffeurs would have be a better option.At least they constantly deal with similar clients all the time.

39. Seems to me that there are more questions than answers! Quite scary!

40. Have any of these people who who came up with this “brilliant” idea to bring UK taxi drivers here ever visited the UK?

They cant have, because if not, they would know that UK taxi drivers are for the most part uncouth and almost never talk to their passengers bearing in mind most of them cant even speak English. The UK taxi drivers now are from Eastern Europe, Pakistan or some remote part of Africa who dont speak the Queen’s language.

But who in their right mind would ask a taxi driver for advice on where to vacation? Which taxi drivers are they thinking about targeting? The airport ones or the yellow cabs on the streets of London, Manchester or Birmingham whose only business is to watch the meter go up and skate through traffic?

The brilliance of this government never fails to amaze me. Like for instance, breaking up the BTA into two separate companies, wow, whatever became of that brilliant idea???

I am no Einstein, but if the BTA has money to “blow”, wouldn’t it make more sense to offer a rebate on the Airport Departure Tax (APD) as an incentive to people who want to come? To me this would make more sense than picking up taxi drivers who dont give a rat’s tail about Barbados and bringing them here which would entail tickets, hotel, food and transportation costs. People would actually come to Barbados if they knew that when they arrive, they would get a rebate on the tax paid, money they would then spend back in Barbados, thus saving foreign exchange.

41. that sounds like a way better idea than taxi driver suggesting vacation spots.

42. Mr. Prime Minister

It is a little embarrassing that the Opposition has named their candidate for the upcoming by-election and the government continues to dither, not good.

43. @ David
    I am not at all surprised, that the Government has taken its time, in naming the candidate for the bye-election in St John. The rules governing dates etc are laid down, I am sure they will follow the rules.

It is within the remit of the Governmen, to name their candidate, when it is in their best interest. . . that is politics. In the same way, they will call a general election, when they think it is best for them and the country.

On a more general point, the opposition has to get their candidate well know to the electorate; that is best done with a head to head with the government’s candidate and the exposure that will generate. The government to my mind, has a different view fron the opposition. Why should you do what the opposition has done, if it is not in your interest to do so.

The above is not taking a stance for a particular party; it is just “practical politics”.

44. Good point Yardbroom!

45. David and Yardbroom;

OK. Taking the point to its logical conclusion. The DLP should name their candidate only on Nomination day. That will show them. It will also, IMHO, tell the voters in St John exactly what the DLP think of them.

46. @Checkit

That would be extreme man!

47. David; No! Yardbroom’s point is extreme. We are talking about the St. John seat here. There is no contest. Justifying intransigence by cobbling up a high sounding strategy seems to be the name of the game here. The DLP, by naming their candidate as late as possible, isn’t harming the BLP candidate in any way. Indeed, it is giving him a chance to get a few more votes, not that it matters, since whoever the DLP chooses will win by a landslide.

In my view, delaying the announcement of the choice suggests more that there is intense discussion going on about who should be the candidate and some intransigence by the PM, rather than some grand strategy by the DLP.

If they make such heavy weather about a simple seat that is in the bag, only heaven knows how they will handle the General Elections. They might even make the general elections a real contest.

48. @ checkit-out Dec 13, 2010 at 9:30am

Quote “David; No! Yardbroom’s point is extreme. We are talking about the St. John seat here”. . .
    Hi checkit-out

My point is not extreme, you are trying to make the point that the St John bye-election is a foregone conclusion and the DLP will win. The DLP is “perhaps” taking the view, nothing can be left to chance – or taken for granted – and will fight the seat with the same rigour as any other seat. They therefore respect the people of St John, and are not taking them for granted and will use the rules to their advantage. . . you might not believe that, but it is another point of view.

49. Barbados Uh Come From!

Inertia and Silence from the Government on numerous important issues has become the norm!

Here is another group from whom I would wager (though I am definitely not a betting person) you will receive CONTINUOUS COMPLETE SILENCE, no matter how many times you ask them for a response to GLYNE MURRAY’S bold, truthful and insightful article on page 7a of THE SUNDAY SUN , DEC 12th entitled, “HOW COULD THE EVANGELISTS!”

Yes Glyne ….. I applaud you for rightly and fearlessly exposing the blatant spiritual prostitution exhibited by certain leaders of the “evangelical” community in Barbados!

I have not witnessed such a frenzied expedition into false prophesy, and the illegal seizure of God’s function, as the the recent activity exhibited by these “evangelical” leaders BEFORE and AFTER the passing of former P.M. Thompson!

As Mr. Murray states, “….the evangelical movement should be required to publicly explain and justify the extreme nature of the stance of some of its members ….”

Having been “told by god” (and I have deliberately commonised the name god, since it is NOT the one true God they heard from) they “guaranteed” that P.M. Thompson would be back at his desk in Bay Street. And if it was NOT the one true God they heard from, who was it? DEMONS?

Sorry Mr.Murray, all you will get from these “heavily-lettered” false prophets is COMPLETE SILENCE, in acquiescence with the ones they have fanatically turned their attention to, away from the One who is supposed to their First Love, Jesus Christ.

50. Yardbroom;

I am suggesting that you are merely providing a somewhat transparent excuse for the Government’s failure to act quickly on this matter. By waiting so long to name its candidate the Government is sending a message, not that the action is a strategic one, but that they have a difficult choice in deciding who to GIVE the seat to.

They show no respect for the people of St John in this matter as they are in effect saying “we can put whomever we like in this seat and give the people little or no notice and they will vote for our candidate”.

If it were a reasonably competitive seat they would have to give their candidate enough time to canvass as the one anointed. AS it is, it is quite possible that there might be 5 or so DLP candidates canvassing, all in the hope of getting the official nod.

The ONLY rational reason (outside of incompetence) for the lateness in naming the candidate is that they are trying to limit the time of exposure of the Candidate to the full St John electorate to try to forestall or limit any personal attacks that could be damaging to the DLP in the GENERAL elections whenever they are called. To that extent you are probably correct about the strategic nature of the apparent lack of action.

Indeed, if you look closely, that strategy is really only of value if Mara Thompson is the chosen one. For any of the other candidates it would be of some benefit if the anointment was done early. For Mara, and the possibility of deleterious statements being made against her late husband on the election campaign, the strategy limits that possibility.

The strategy seems to send a quite clear message that Mara is the one.

51. @ checkit-out
    Quote:”. . .Indeed, if you look closely, that strategy is really only of value if Mara Thompson is the chosen one. For any of the other candidates it would be of some benefit if the anointment was done early”…..

Quote:” Mara is the one.”

Hi checkit-out
    If I did not know you to be a reasonable person, I would say you are being a little mischievous,”anointment” . . . now be fair.

52. Maybe they are now trying to find David Thompson’s St John Development Plan before announcing the date. Surely, they cant come back to the people after 23 years and tell them nothing on the fictitious was done.

53. Mr. PM when are you going to do something about the promise the former PM made to the OECS to provide them a bailout for their CLICO losses?

54. @checkit-out

The Minister of Finance in response to Mia Mottley call for a ministerial statement on CLICO stated he will do so at the appropriate time but it would not contain any new revelation from what has been disseminated already by government. It is interesting to note he stated he will not divulge any information about the CLICO matter on the Internet or elsewhere, no doubt a response to this particular blog maybe :-)

55. What escapes me is the rationale for stating that you have decided the date of the by-election but are keeping it to yourself for the time being. What sense is that, we all know when it must be held by and you are unlikely to catch the Opposition napping. It just demonstrates the poor planning and lack of foresight of the DLP. With all due respect to the late Prime Minister, it was fairly evident that he was going to have to be replaced sooner rather than later. The survival rates for his type of illness is very low – unfortunate, but true.

How can a set of supposedly responsible people who want to run a country leave this kind of decision to the eleventh hour? In Management there is a succession planning, political parties need it too. The same way a meeting was held in October to decide who would hold the number 1 and 2 positions after Mr. Thompson’s demise, some sort of weeding out could have been taking place for the St. John seat. This is a very poor performance, but in keeping with what we have seen over the last three years. Mr. Thompson’s widow should think long and hard before getting herself further involved with this pack of jokers. She should stay out of the fray and retain the respect of the people of this country. She will have a very hard time of it if she enters the political arena, maybe not in a by-election but definitely in a general election.

But I suppose that having been made to look like idiots over the recent picking of a new CJ before checking to see if he met the legally established criteria, one is now reluctant to announce the date of a by-election when the whole country knows the what the legal position is. Go figure!

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s