How Will The Fruendel Stuart Government Manage Leroy Parris?

Former President of CLICO Holdings Barbados socializing with Minister of Finance on Gold Cup Day at the Garrison Savannah

A picture is said to be worth a thousand words. BU will not ascribe any meaning to the picture which appears on the back page of the Nation newspaper today (8 March 2011), other than to suggest it smacks of insensitivity on the part of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. No doubt Nation reporter Gercine Carter, credited with the picture, could not believed her luck for what can be surely be described as a ‘kodak moment’.

The CLICO issue has become a concern given its implication for local and regional economies, especially at a recessionary time. We should not forget British American which is owned by CLICO parent CL Financial. CLICO and its figurehead, until recently,  in the personage of Leroy Parris has become one of the most politically charged  discussion ‘pieces’ in recent months. We are where we are because of a lethargy which the Office of Insurance and the political directorate have exercised over CLICO which spans several years. Despite the foregoing the government of the day has the responsibility to manage the CLICO problem with minimum fallout to Barbadians. Who can envy the government at this time!

Of late the concern for BU has morphed to the issue of allowing Leroy Parris to remain as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). BU respects Leroy Parris for what he has been able to achieve, big chip on his shoulder not withstanding. In many ways his ‘rags to riches’ story bears a parallel to that of Cyril Duprey, who was able to build  a financial empire which had Colonial Life Insurance at its foundation from a relatively humble beginning. The fact that Parris is still able to command an invitation to Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup Day speaks to how he has position himself on the social ladder in Barbados.

Parris’ relationship with the late Prime Minister David Thompson was no secret. In the absence of campaign finance legislation – which both parties have avoided over the years – means we can only speculate at the level of campaign financing Parris in his capacity as President of CLICO Holdings Barbados would have directed at the Democratic Labour Party. If BU were to hazard a guess, the DLP has received a significant sum from Parris to fund their political campaigns. Is it unreasonable to question those who believe that Parris received the privilege to Chair the CBC because of his financial support rather than on the basis of competence? Hopefully the Attorney General will move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010 in parliament today. We hope!

Along with the expected Cabinet reshuffle, it will be interesting to observe how Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart treat with the issue of Leroy Parris at the CBC. Does the Prime Minister believe Parris is still able to mobilize significant financing which might explain allowing him to continue at the CBC? Now that he no longer ‘lords’ over the CLICO entity in Barbados will Stuart deem him dispensable and jettison what many believe is political baggage with a general election on the horizon? The report last week that Parris intends to sue CLICO makes for interesting theatre from here on. Perhaps Parris should be reminded of government’s role in  rescuing CLICO and British American. Do we see a conflict?

Maybe the ghost of late Prime Minister David Thompson under the direction from a re-emerging Hartley Henry remains a factor in the decisions by cabinet.

Advertisement

323 Responses to How Will The Fruendel Stuart Government Manage Leroy Parris?

1. Or is it…How Will Leroy Parris Manage The Fruendel Stuart Government?
    ;-)

2. Paul Barnes

I agree with Crusoe…Parris will have more control than Stuart over the moves made in the endgame of this saga…

3. Not allowing politricks to be one of the things I feel strongly about because perhaps I would grow old vex, all I can say for those who have lost all….is it just not shameful? Anywhere else in the world a government would have been brought down, a man or two in jail.

Visited Sam Lord’s Castle the other day and tears came to my eyes…and I thought about all the damage across the land to humans and buildings that CLICO has done. Rape at its best. And now both heads of this company want to return to help it get back on its feet…both heads who have suffered nothing…but have continued their lifestyle as though all they got was a mosquito bite.

There is a house in St. John…close to Redland’s Plantation…in total disrepair. I could turn that into an art centre/farm/deli that locals and visitors would visit, some even staying there as a retreat. A percentage of the profits could go back to the group who have lost money. In fact projects like these could be done with all the properties lying to waste, and being burned down just for so…at least some little pittance could come out of such projects (not necessarily the same, think diverse) so that some likkle monies could begin to trickle into the pot that is now empty and belongs to so many young and old on the island. Perhaps this might be considered.

4. islandgal246

And to top it all he calling fuh his BONUS. Green verbs is still suffering from a never thought.

5. peltdownman

I feel that this matter, more than any other, will bring this government down if they do not distance themselves from this man and deal with him as with any other alleged criminal. Let’s face it, this matter is not too different from the Dudus Coke matter in Jamaica. This government is in effect thumbing its nose at all those policy holders who have lost their savings in CLICO. It is mind-numbing that it is now over two years and NOTHING has been done.

6. peltdownman

At least we never saw pictures of PM Golding partying with Dudus Coke. How do policyholders feel about seeing the Minister of Finance drinking champagne with Leroy Parris when this business is still unresolved?

7. The volcano is beginning to rumble, if the DLP government don’t start dumping ice into the crater to cool it off, it will erupt at a crucial time for the party and that is at elections time. I previously stated that the DLP ardent supporters should not laugh the B’s to scorn because their time will come if they don’t put their house in order. It appears that the party has not taken this Clico issue seriously and it is beginning to come back to haunt them or they just don’t care about the voters, they have gotten a piece of the sweets and just don’t care if they are returned or not because some or most of them have hit the jackpot. How long is too long, when it is ……………?

8. It probably wasn’t deliberate but a gaffe never the less. Isn’t this the reason we have Protocol Officers in the Civil Service?

Sinkcler must appreciate he has been catapulted to senior status and a simple thing like requesting the guest list and making adjustments in agenda is par for the course.

9. david
    You are so right but certainly, these guys are so caught up in the spirit of living the big life that they don’t stop and analyse the negative reprocussions that can come out of it. Let’s face it, being invited to that prestigious box for him was only a dream come true and he would not decline the invitation. That’s why many of our politicians from both sides of the divide are so gullible.

10. Random Thoughts

But David perfectly ordinary, sensible Baans are asking if Leroy Parris is mad? I had 4 people ask me so just this weekend, including one person who was a long time employee of Clico?

How can he be asking for bonus (I thought that “bon” meant good, and that bonuses are only paid if a company had done good?) and to cash in his policies when other people, including this former employee are still waiting for money that CLICO owes them.

Parris was head of the company, and the company mash up.

Surely he bears some responsibility for the company’s failure?

It seems to me that Parris and Henry and this DLP government are banking on the mistaken belief that Bajans are stupid?

Bajans are NOT stupid.

We have never been stupid.

Bajans can’t wait to go to the polls.

We are a very patient, but not a stupid people.

11. islandgal246

That picture indeed is worth many thousand words. Kudos to Gercine Carter!

12. BU’s position is that Parris can sue all he wants but given government, and by extension taxpayers will be CLICO benefactor of last resort he needs to resigned or be fired from his position at the ‘government owned’ CBC. Is he a board member at Invest Barbados?

13. BarbadosFirst

Look at the photo (a million dollar shot, isn’t it) Sipping champagne up in a box watching the prestigous Gold Cup race yet people such as the BARP pensioners cannot get their money out of CLICO and British American to meet their everyday living expenses. BARP complained to the Minister about how the rise in cost of living has affected them, being on fixed incomes. Ordinary everyday Barbadians – is it because we are foolish or dont make large campaign contributions at election time? Or does our vote not count too? Yet this is the same Minister who just two months ago on the platform in St. John piss paraded about the increase in mauby, the poor man’s drink but can be seen in the company of the chamagne sipping elite. Is Mr. Sinclkler the Minister under whose portfolio the Supervisor of Insurance/Financial Services Commission falls? Come on now, time has long past for him to speak to why the policyholders have not been repaid as yet. Sitting and waiting on judicial managers just isn’t enough. Meantime he and his associates enjoying champagne at Gold Cup, pensioners and ordinary hardworking Barbadians who put money in CLICO and British American have to beg to get money to get by, pay the doctor and send school their children at a time when they thought they would have had the benefit of their nest eggs. Take note – 2012, when the majority of those CLICO annuities come due is one year before the constitutional due date for next elections. If wunna think bajans sleepin because their eyes shut, wunna got another thing coming!!!

14. negro Man Again I feel vindicated, even though I wish it wasn’t so, but I said the DLP is going to let their massive victory in the St.John’s by-elections go to their heads. For some stupid reason, they were of the belief that St.John was speaking for the entire country,so they have become more arrogant, somehow they though they had convinced the voting public that Owen was “pass his expiry date’ and they can do as they like, well I still think it isn’t too late for them to get their house in order but time is running out FAST.

15. Well the article seems to be written for publishing yesterday. Though far as i recall while listening to some of the discussion they didn’t mention the bill.

16. peltdownman

@BarbadosFirst
    I don’t think that I would EVER describe Leroy Parris as “elite”. “Lower than a snake’s belly” would be more appropriate.

17. BU is making a request to anyone in BU public to email us CLICO’s most recent financials, asset register etc. Of concern is how CLICO Barbados was able to capitalize the Rayside company. Where did the money come from?

18. That was a misguided photo-op for Sinckler…but then how do you deny your chief benefactor? As I said earlier, Barbados and the DLP are being run by a dead man!

19. It was 2005 david. Clico was still solvent and had excess cash to invest anywhere. The bad deals/ELFs matrurity to follow would be the doom of the company.

20. @Anthony

Define solvent in this case.

What have you based your assessment?

The solvent causes cold sweat for many nowadays.

21. Solvent in this case would mean they had money to reduce the companies overdraft facility so that the bank didn’t seize property and that they paid out rayside for his company share which I assume would have been the lesser of the cost of takeover. They then had funds to pay the staff salaries and pay the company loans. In total inject a good amount of capital into the company.

That of course means nothing now compared to expect losses clico might have when ELF come to maturity next year.

22. Well, well, well, when will Leroy Parris cover his head and hide in shame. Does he know the feelings that looking at his grinning face bring to mind for thousands of Barbadian, CLICO POLICY holders? Does the DLP know that by associating with him and posing with him, all broad smiles while poor Barbadians are scrunting after losing thousands of dollars in mature policy money is excruciatingly wrong? Is Leroy Parris a madman? How could he be taking his company to court when he has already raped it of its assets.
    Millions have been invested in the education of Barbadians. We are neither foolish nor asleep. We continue to watch the continuous association of Mr Parris with the DLP and the deafening silence on the Clico matter and its effects on thousands of Barbadians.

23. @anthony

What was the Supervisor of Insurance saying about CLICO operations at the time? Do you know? Especially as it relates to the reserve requirement.

BTW did the Supervisor of Insurance have a problem with investment/buy out of Rayside?

24. To the point why the government is silent on this matter Minister Sinckler is on public record that he will issue a ministerial statement when the judicial manager is appointed.

Until then hang ‘tuff’.

25. islandgal246

Folks don’t forget that if David was alive his picture would have been replacing Snickler’s.

26. @david

Haven’t clue I don’t think he release public reports. I do know the clico finical report for 2005 weren’t submitted till 2007. Has clico ever submitted a finical report on time in last 10-20 years ?

27. Not necessarily Islandgal, Sinckler was the beneficiary of the blue jaguar that was owned by Parris shortly after elections. It was then placed in Simpson’s motors show window when it was thought that to drive around a car so early in the game would be to blatant an act.

Green verb has no shame.

28. Prodigal Son

The only man missing to complete the total DLP picture was Hartley Henry. Did you notice that these were someways off from the PM?

I could not believe my eyes when reading Sunday’s Sun. The nerve of the man saying he will sue CLICO for his bonus after having raped the company. I heard an old man last week nearly in tears on Brasstacks saying that he invested all the money he brought back from Canada and now cannot get a cent out of CLICO. He said he now has bailiffs running him down. I was moved to hear the plight of this 80 year old man, in the evening of his days reduced to hiding from bailiffs and Leroy Parris got the nerve to be demanding bonus and his matured policies. What about these folks?

Leroy Parris and Lawrence Duprey should be locked up like Alan Stanford and Bernie Madoff!

By the way, I heard that trouble is really brewing in the DLP. The big headed arrogant Chris Sinckler, I was told, told off the PM because the PM did not allow him to act as PM recently. I was told that that he told the PM that I am important, I am the minister of finance and you cannot do without me! I should be acting PM when you are not here. This is what I was told!!!

If this is true, as PM I would have done what I have to do and show him how important he (Sinckler) is!!! Maybe, this is why Hartley Henry arranged the retreat when the PM was away!!!

29. Why the surprise that Sinckler would be in a VIP box with his party’s biggest financier, Chairman of CBC and provider of all those plantation lands for government’s $5/sq ft programme? Stupse

30. Humm wonder when the pm going to do the reshuffle. might see a shift in power then

31. Prodigal Son

Is the DLP government going to still get their hands on those plantation lands now that Leroy Parris is no longer in charge?

Remember all the well laid plans went awry too soon… CLICO went bust and David Thompson died unexpectedly. CLICO was to build and sell a lot of houses to Bajans aboard to make back the money they invested in the DLP. On one of the first overseas trips by David Thompson he took Leroy Parris to the UK to push this project. But things went south very soon!

So the government may be screwed if they are still looking to CLICO for cheap land. If and when they ever appoint a judicial manager he may not allow this!

32. Melvin Skeete

Bullshit. Mr Parris is not head of Clico anymore so it should not have any bearings on any actions government may have to take with this company.
    Melvin Skeete

33. @ melvin
    Who is heading CLICO now?

34. Who? You mean me?

Leroy Parris is not mad, he knows more about CLICO than any of you all. If he say he gine sue dem, then he musse know dat dey cud pay. Wunna should start looking around for a good lawyer to sue them too.

35. He the is the chief one who pleaded with people not to sue clico. maybe they should all sue already.

36. Who? You mean me?
    You are so right, everyone who is due money from Clico should sue them NOW. Parris isn’t a fool, and he is just trying to retreive every cent he got in there before they go flat broke.

37. Carson C. Cadogan

Well, well, well, the usual suspects!

*islandgal246
    *peltdownman
    *The Scout (FRAUD)
    *Random Thoughts
    *anthony
    *FRAN
    *Prodigal Son
    *Rosemary Parkinson

Corrupt Barbados Labour Party members and supporters who don’t have a sensible thought between them. Clowns who relish in childish, I take that back it would be a disservice to children, in mindless babble.

As the bible says if the blind lead the blind they will both fall into a pit. Here on this thread we have the BLP blind leading the BLP blind. No prizes for guessing what will happen to them, we don’t even have to wait for the next general election.

38. islandgal246

To CCC

Carson you are babbling and making no sense at all. You sound very incoherent. Now things must be really bad with you having to resort to the bible. Take a pill and chill!

39. @CCC

At least try to make a sensible argument. Since emera bough bl&p shares your argument have gotten worst by the day. now they contain no facts other the you believe the dlp is the best thing since slice bread which you can’t even show us how.

40. @david

I wonder if cbc would ever be so bold as to do the same here.

41. @anthony

Surely you jest?

42. @David

after pulling a show becuase the former minister of tourism was going to speak on it I think i cbc has no bark left.
    Barbados today is report the pm is to address the country tomorrow night with their sources saying he going to announce a reshuffle and plans for the economy.

43. @anthony

There is too much politics at CBC which maybe strange to say.

For example didn’t the CBC state they had issues with soliciting sponsorship for the show Best and Mason and that is the reason it was pulled?

Have they not replaced the show with a similar show?

On a side note, BCA president Joel Garner has always refused to appear on Best and Mason, guess who appears on the Mid Wicket show last night?

44. David indeed way too much politics who ever is in power. Might as well make these entities run by elected officials at least then we have some chance of changing it up quicker and it being fairer.

45. Cabinet reshuffle tomorrow night?

46. according to barbados today hants

47. checkit-out

re. rumoured Cabinet reshuffle; Where is it in Barbados Today? I can’t find it.

48. @checkitout

Would be page 5 bottom left corner. It was on page 3 till the extra tourism part was added.

49. Question for the BU family.

Where do you get your information about the rest of the world ? CNN? BBC? CBC Canada?

just asking.

50. Random Thoughts

Dear Hants:

Mostly the following: NY Times, BBC, CNN, Toronto Star, and fa’ bare sport the Daily Mail.

Have ta get my Daily Mail fix daily.

51. Anthony;
    Thanks. I found it!

Hants; Re your question about sources;
    Mainly Internet newspapers/journals, eg. Daily Mirror, Space Daily;

Blogs:-Antiwar.com; Information Clearing House; Salon.com;

Real TV news-MSNBC; CNN and BBC infrequently; FOX almost never.

Yuh doing a survey?

52. Anthony.
    Solvent in this case would mean they had money to reduce the companies overdraft facility so that the bank didn’t seize property and that they paid out rayside for his company share which I assume would have been the lesser of the cost of takeover.

ANTHONY you made the above submission. But the birdie in the room said…..”You should have stated that the bank (owned by the said Clico Group) reduced the overdraft facility, thus causing the company to suffer because of a cash flow. So the bank didn’t seize the property, it paralyzed the financial status of the company and leaved it to die, then fool us that it rescued the construction company.

They then had funds to pay the staff salaries and pay the company loans.

ANTHONY you made the above submission.

Again, the birdie in the room said “Remember Clico paid salaries on two occasions on behalf of the construction company. You must also take in consideration all this drama took place during/prior to the award of the ABC extension. Read between the lines and see why the urgency of the take-over”.

In bajan parlance, if yuh friend buy clothes fuh yuh wife, give she money, tek she out and den on top of it sleep in yuh matrimonial bed wid yuh wife. Remember, he aint horning yuh, he just helpin’ yuh out. Mek sense from dat. Bonny, where are you?

53. leave it to die

54. Clico policy holders and average Bajans on the whole are spineless wimps who bend over to take licks time and time again from the B& D parties..by the time you wimps wake up it will be too late and Leroy will be long gone..watch and see.Can you blame him,instead of a lash or a good beating he will be met with praise while smiling all the way to the bank..bajans want the ten million David and Marion release to this fraud and we want it like yesterday..lol just kidding i not a policy holder but it made a good joke didn’t it..lol

55. It is unfortunate that we have not been able to ban together the way the Trinidadians have done.

56. What’s up Carson? Got YOUR money, did you?

57. I thank tell my why for more the back story. So basically clico screwed over rayside just as they did the policyholders.

As for Bonny she was suppose to have gotten an eye operations by now so i guess she recovering still.

58. islandgal246

Carson Cadogan cannot face the truth so he is not making any sense. Any type of criticism of the government makes us an enemy in his eyes. Carson I am neither BLP nor DLP and I really cannot follow any party blindly with total obedience like you. I can think for myself without the bias. I know that you could never get to that place and I almost feel sorry for you. So adieu! Hasta la vista baby! Scram, Vamoose!

59. MIA wid Dem. lol.

“The Queen’s Counsel (QC), who is representing Four Seasons in her capacity as an attorney-at-law, stressed the importance of having a brand name hotel like Four Seasons in Barbados, and LAUDED GOVERNMENT for its intervention.”

60. Hants
    That’s what is called dividing one’s career from politics

61. Honestly in this case I think government should have done something sooner. The collapse of this project is one of main factors for the hurt of economy in 2009.

62. I smell a rat, HH organised an elections retreat in the absence of the P.M, it is alleged Sinckler was mad because he was not made acting P.M when the P.M went overseas, Denis Lowe returning to work before his sick leave is over, Denis Kellman not giving up until his three months period is up and now an alleged cabinet reshuffle by the P.M. My predictions are that they will be drastic changes in cabinet with David Estwick becoming Dep P M.

63. What will Freundel tell the nation tonight? Will Sinckler be shuffled?

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticle.php?ptitle=PM addresses country tomorrow&article=3303

64. I won’t bet one way or the other on Freundel addressing the nation tonight or announcing a reshuffle. At this stage, announcing a reshuffle would mean that Freundel would have taken a decision on his own steam without having been backed into a corner to do so and that is not like him.

But someone might say, the mere act of HH organizing and being DLP spokesperson for an important meeting of the DLP attended by various organs of the party, would have necessitated swift action by the PM immediately on his return even to the extent of removing the portfolios of those who dissed him in full view of the public. After all a PM must show that he understands the power he can wield. But Freundel has shown that he has endless tolerance to things which would have been enormous slights to mere mortals. Freundel has returned over 1 week now and nothing has happened as far as we know.

Some might argue that what will happen will be revealed tonight in the putative address to the nation and that Freundel will act in his innimitable ponderous style when he absolutely has to, having taken over a week to cogitate on the matter.

With another PM I might think that there will be a reshuffle soon, with Freundel, the inscrutable, anything can happen, but very slowly.

65. Mash Up & Buy Back

The BLP desperate for a distraction.

I never see an opposition party push for a reshuffle in the government like this before.Ha,ha.

66. News reports are now saying it was just a rumour…no PM address tonight.

67. Hants | March 10, 2011 at 9:07 AM | MIA wid Dem. lol.
    ;-)

68. What is that about ‘many a true word…’? Criss cross…

A clever person bides their time, till the right moment for reaction to a backstabbing…

69. Prodigal Son

According the DLP defenders like Mash Up & Buy Back and CCC, all is well with the Dems, it is all the Bees’ fault. Continue to bury your heads in the sand and say that the Bees want a reshuffle. It is you all who are not managing the country properly and people are crying out under the pressure.

When the estimates are laid in the House next week, the government has said that there is a one BILLION DOLLAR deficit between government’s revenues and expenditure and this is on top of the FIVE HUNDRED AND FIFTY MILLION DOLLARS from last FY.

This is what we need the DLP to focus on. Things are going to get ugly about here. Meanwhile, you both get agitated when people point out that the cabinet is fighting for power amongst themselves and the PM labours along on his merry way not addressing the Nation. What happened to the weekly press briefings, oh the late DT then started quarterly press conferences, hey he’s been dead for more than three months!!!

Hey CCC is Dennis Lowe back at work yet?

70. My brand of patriotism is as follows:

Any attempts to bailout CLICO, and place that burden on the tax payers will be meet by swift, silent and severe retribution. DLP you have been warned. Bailouts are immoral, RAPING masses of fellow Barbadians is a crime punishable by……..

No company is too big to fail, and the executives if found guilty of fraud, should be jailed. THERE I SAID IT, JAILED…..lube up and don’t drop the soap.

As for CLICO, seized the assets, and liquidate.

Neither the BLP nor DLP can save us, there is too much greed and selfishness. It is the duty of all patriotic Barbadians to restore the values of honesty, decency, and service. Politicians are not our Lords they are servants, and the youth of this country are not sheep, do not underestimate the message this corruption is sending to them, they will not pay for this with taxes……this will get very ugly, and heads will roll.

71. @ David,

When will you be getting on the Save Cove Bay blogwagon (new word created by Hants).

72. Be more specific Hants.

73. Page 3 Barbados Today

74. AOD
    Well said, neither the BLP nor the DLP can save us now, bajans are going to hacve to show their true worth and let both parties realise that we the voters are their managers.

75. At some point Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will have to explain his decision to manage the slim ministry he has when compared to previous PMs.

76. Random Thoughts

David Thompson went ‘long without explaining heself. Maybe this one will do the same.

77. Has anyone seen today’s Nation re. Leroy Parris? Even the most patient and tolerant of person’s would be fuming.

78. It seems a 101 strategy with the death of Thompson, the DLP government would have sought to distance itself from Parris and CLICO which currently translate’s to political baggage. There seems to be a dithering culture which has enveloped the government even if it is a perception.

79. Check out Today’s nation article by Timothy Slinger
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/parris-suing-clico/

Very Interesting! Especially the part about David Thompson

80. more hilarious each day checkit-out. I think the policy holder should sue paris to get their money back now since he done this nonsense. he was 3 policy total valued @ 3.5 million and want them back what about all the other than want their back and you begged them not to sue the company. Further from that how is it you can’t find contract for the committee then find them when you want to sue. Yet even more our late pm witness the said contract the committe was looking for :( . On side note anyone also notice how the sueing amount is exactly equal to the capital inject by the central bank. Maybe it was for parris to get his money ?

81. Sounds like a contract was signed and witnessed long after the fact.

82. @CCC,
    YOU FOOL, I don’t care about D, B, P, I am interested in my country and the slide that is so evident in all spheres of this society.

Anthony,

You are quite observant. Imagine David Thompson was a witness and signatory to this contract yet when the oversight committee ask about contracts, none can be found and D Thompson was Prime Minister at the time of their appointment . Was he operating at the time as Prime Minister, Friend or Lawyer, and as Prime Minister shouldn’t he have had the interest of policy holders first above all else.

If Leroy Parris is suing CLICO, it tells me that he knows the financial position of the company and that their can payout $10 million, so I do hope that those policy holders whose policies have matured or want their money will band together and also sue CLICO.

This country is really corrupt and people’s rights are being eroded and they seems to be no justice.

83. Anthony; Good analysis! Let Parris talk and sue to his heart’s content. I am sure that in the wash a lot more will come out about David Thompson and his involvement with the Clico infelicities.

Parris. Keep it coming!!

84. This seems to be the backlash from the massive spending during the general elections campaign. There is much more to come, some information that will shock this country like that earthquake shook Japan. David I can’t say anything more, you will soon get the report. Not me and that Pele case .

85. Wonder what reports shows that would be so shocking.

86. Nothing can shock me about David Thompson and his involvement in the CLICO scandal.

87. Oops! I meant to say nothing can shock me about David Thompson and his involvement in CLICO before and after the scandal.

88. Is it true that the last cabinet meeting chaired by David Thompson and attended by the present PM Stuart and most of the present cabinet members, agreed to an over $300 million bail out of Clico? If so … what do we expect Government to “do” about Clico?

89. anthony
    Like the Late Burton Hinds would have said ” I’m minding my business but I would like to know if it is true that there is the possibility that there will be another by-election before the end of the year. While still minding my business, is it true that certain members of the ruling party would like to have a snap elections before the news is leaked out. Is this why there was this rushed election preparation meeting recently?

David
    I’m an alarmist so I’ll sit back and watch matters unfold. I WILL SAY NO MORE>

90. A snap elections wouldn’t be in the dlp interest at this time. The mass of people are mad at measures all over. I would hope they not that dumb. Guess we just have to wait to see this report.

91. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Please explain:

Dennis Lowe and Allard; Michael Lashley and Johan Bjerkhamn;
    David Thompson and Leroy Parris;

As you would say Carson, 14 years of the corrupt BLP.

Corrupt DLP… three years, and counting?

92. anthony
    You’re way of course but I cannot say more. This is too big for me, I don’t fight in that dividson. When would the mess hit the ceiling is the millions dollar question. Time longer than twine and when you dig up in mud you got to get tainted, there is much more in the mortor than the pestle.

93. Ok you just have me even more confused now. I guess I just have to wait.

94. Prodigal Son

Let the fish gather, after this we will not hear a word from certain people on this blog shouting on every blog about “the corrupt BLP”. I too am hearing sordid stories, CCC will not come on this blog after the explosion. Sorry to hear that the queen is not well!

95. Prodigal Son
    You seem to know too much, I’m ashame of you. I was listening to the BBC tonight and I didn’t hear anyone say that the Queen is not well. What is wrong with her?

96. Carson C. Cadogan

One of the side effects of being in opposition is the fact that you have a lot of free time on your hands.
    Being that they have nothing much to do now, the members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party are using this free time to conjure up all types theories, speculations, false stories and just plain old rubbish. I guess this is their way of keeping each other’s company as they mourn the loss of the gravy train.

Just look at the thread:
    SCOUT(FRAUD)
    JOSQUIN
    CHECKIT OUT
    FRAN

A sorry bunch of misfits who can’t even run their own homes but think that they are somehow qualified to tell the Democratic Labour Party how to run this country.

The blind leading the blind.

97. Carson C. Cadogan

anthony

“Barbados today is report the pm is to address the country tomorrow night with their sources saying he going to announce a reshuffle and plans for the economy.”

when is the reshuffle again anthony?
    You guys are more fun than a barrel of monkeys.

98. Well I’m fuming about the article in the Nation today. As you said so many people being told that the company is under judicial management and you can’t get a cent! Yet I suspect Mr Parris will get his and as far as he is concerned too bad for anyone else. But as they say the more money you have the more you want. If that’s how you are when you got money, let me stay poor.

My consolation is that everyone in life gets their comeupance. I will get mine for my wrong doings and he will get his. Just leave it to God.

Meantime I agree that Clico Policy holders need to stand up and be counted. I vaguely remember at one point Mia Mottley was trying to get a group of people together to fight Clico. Whatever happened with that?

99. CCC
    Nice to hear from you, I’ll enjoy every nasty remark you make about me now but remember “he who laughs last, laughs best.” I’m NOT a supporter of any party. I’m just an honest bred and born barbadian, who when I see dishonesty and downright nastiness I will speak out about it. I will NEVER be so blinded that I would allow anyone to tell me that two and two is five when I know differently; thank God I can think for myself.

100. CCC
    I guess that when this mess hits the ceiling and falls back into your face, you’ll be too busy cleaning that bad smelling thing that you wouldn’t be able to talk to me or anyone else. So my friend, speak up NOw because very soon you will have to put your tail between your legs and I hope it covers the right part of you before you becomes a statistic too

101. CCC
    I don’t remember the band that sang the song” another one bites the dust.”, maybe it wouldn’t be an oldie- goldie for too long.

102. Carson C. Cadogan

ZACK

“What will Freundel tell the nation tonight? Will Sinckler be shuffled?”

Was Sinckler shuffled?
    I seem to have missed it.

103. CCC
    You are going to miss a lot of things poor fellow. You should do like me, stay on the outside look in and praise where and when praise is due and criticise when necessary too. You fellows get too attached to any one party and therefore must take the shame with them too.

104. I doubt that contract existed.

105. Prodigal Son

Scout,
    You are being slow tonight, (LOL) it’s the queen of Barbados to whom I was referring. Look for her to get more sick as the gory details come out.

Re PM Fumble, every time someone gets wind of his plans, he back peddles, what’s with this man, is he going to continue doing the work of a dying man? Al Gilkes said a few weeks ago he had all the details, next day a press release denying it, same thing a few days ago, Barbados Today leaks that there will be a reshuffle, Fumble denys it. HH will soon outfox him and get a few members to sign something and take it to the GG.

Watch and see!

106. Prodigal Son
    I like playing the foolish part, after all I was deemed an alarmist, so I don’t want to scare anyone. Is the barbadian Queen really sick? does she have pancreatic cancer too? Oh my God, i don’t believe you, the King had it, the Queen got it, all that is left is the Kingmaker and the Chairman.

107. @CCC
    As you show i said barbados today reported it. I never said it would happen. You are truly getting worse each day. I remember there was time you argued properly and would put down person properly. Maybe the government taken the life out of you or maybe you need to visit the doctor but something is obviously wrong with you.

108. Prodigal Son

Is a judicial manager really in place at CLICO?

I seem to remember someone asking in an email to Brasstacks if a judicial manager was in place and PHONY Marshall said yes, there is one in place. A few days later, I heard the same Sinckler saying that they were now appointing someone and that he would make a ministerial statement later. Later has not arrived yet and I now understand why, they are wining and dining with Leroy Parris and intends to let Leroy Parris finish raping CLICO.

David Thompson could have so easily extended the life of the Oversight Committee but William Layne was asking too much and knowing too much for David Thompson’s comfort. He has a lot to answer for!!! The Dems talked about Thompson having a legacy, well CLICO will be be his legacy. How fitting.

Policyholders, you have my sympathy. There is a know it all man called Massiah who is on Brasstacks everyday, he is forever telling the policyholders that they have to give the comapny time and they need to be patient. He has no money in CLICO so he could afford to talk nonsense. I wonder what he said when he read today’s Nation!!!

109. Carson C. Cadogan

I would bet all the cheese in the moon, that if Leroy Parris was white no one this blog would have a bad word to say about him.

110. Fair and Balance

It seem like the shit is beginning to hit the fan on CLICO. The Late PM seem to have given Parris all the tools he need to keep the DLP in line.
    Notice after all the talk Clico has not been put under judicial Management. The simple reason is to safe guard Parris money. If the company is place under court appointed judicial Management then Parris cannot get them amount he is claiming. So Parris is making his move and once a settlement is made then the government will follow through on the Judicial Management. This must be Parris payback for financing the DLP election.
    Notice I don’t hear much nowadays about forensic audits it was a popular phrase during the days before and after the election. I think one is needed now. $80,000 monthly salaries and million dollar bonuses wow Barbados Wall Street and Fortune 500 Company.

111. Prodigal Son

Come to think of it, these Dems are not smart.

With Thompson having gone to the great beyond, they had the perfect get out clause in the CLICO connection, the perfect excuse to distance themselves from Leroy Parris and to get to hell away from the CLICO mess, never mind they all towed the line and defended CLICO and Parris hook line and sinker during Mia’s no confidence resolution.

Instead, they are still cosying up to the man. Dems wise up, the man has no more CLICO to flood you with money whenever you call elections! Wise up and break for yourselves!!!!

112. Fair and Balance

This line should read “If the company is place under court appointed judicial Management then Parris cannot get the amount he is claiming”

113. Maybe noone wants the job ? I am sure layne would gladly do it now :P

114. CCC
    How race get in this? you getting worse wrong is wrong in any colour. Poor fellow you’re so blinded, tell me when is your birthdate that I can gfet you a white cane.

115. Prodigal Son

For being so arrogant, Leroy Parris needs to be made an example of. Just like Bernie Madoff and Alan Stanford.

CCC, when in trouble, pull the race card. Did you hear the 80 year old man on Brasstacks this week lamenting that he invested all his money he returned with from Canada into CLICO and cannot get back a cent of his money and that he has to hide from bailiffs?

What does colour have to do with this? Did you not hear of the man who invested his life’s savings in CLICO and now cannot send his children to university? Or does this not matter to Dems, the party is more important and that Leroy parris is only being criticised because he is black! Well, look what a black man has done to black people?

Is this alright with you, CCC?

116. Prodigal Son

How in God’s name could Leroy Parris be worth a salary of BS$80,000 per month? A friend of mine who worked at CLICO told me this months ago when the scandal broke but I dismissed it as impossible but it is really true. Lord have mercy! Some people with a far better IQ than his would have to work for years to earn $80,000.

A man that cannot string ten words together in good English! Wow, when I grow up I want to be as lucky!

117. A few questions which BU has posted already but is worth repeating:

1. Who are the directors of Rayside Grenada capitalized with $1 million?
    2. Who are the directors of Rayside Trinidad capitalized with $27 million.
    3. When where these companies capitalized and are these companies trading?
  118. Carson C. Cadogan

PRODIGAL SON

“his life’s savings in CLICO and now cannot send his children to university?”

I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.

So I don’t understand your point. Neither am I worried about Clico.

119. Carson C. Cadogan

PRODIGAL SON

“How in God’s name could Leroy Parris be worth a salary of BS$80,000 per month”

A black man can never be worth that money,right? That type of money is reserved for whites, Indians and Orientals? Right?

How much does COW get do you know? How much does Allan Fields get do you know? But I bet when you find out whatever it is it will be the right amount for them because they have a different skin colour than Leroy Parris.

Am I hitting the nail on the head PRODIGAL SON?
    Because he is Black he does not deserve much, is that not correct?
    Because he Black he should be living paycheck to paycheck just like you, right?
    Because he is Black YOU must do everything in your power to pull him down.

Do you remember how crabs in a basket live? Do you remember what they say about Black people and Crabs?

120. How in God’s name could Leroy Parris be worth a salary of BS$80,000 per month

The more appropriate question – what justification can be found to pay Parris an 80k package based on the financials which Clico Barbados has published.

121. Carson C. Cadogan

It is a sad thing to say, but even in the 21st century Black people continue to be their own worst enemy.

Some of us have learned nothing at all. Some of us are getting older but certainly not wiser. What a shame. This is allowing people of other races to continually wipe their shoes on us.

122. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“what justification can be found to pay Parris an 80k package”

The mere fact that he is Black you will never find any justification at all.

He is the wrong skin colour.

Plain and simple.

123. Prodigal Son

CCC
    As far as I know, COW owns ALL of his businesses unlike Leroy Parris who does not own CLICO. So COW can determine his pay. The companies Alan Fields managed are controlled by a Board of Directors, they determine his pay and they are answerable to their shareholders.

You are a race baiter. As soon as you cannot defend the indefensible, you resort to name calling and now race. Leroy Parris does not own CLICO.

But honestly, do you have a heart? How can you defend Leroy Parris in the light of all that is being revealed. Leroy Parris can boast openly that his son (who is maybe under ten years old) has a wardrobe full of designer clothes that he only looks at and there are people out there suffering because of his naked greed and you got the nerve to talk about skin colour.

You conveniently refused to touch on the plight of 80 year old man I mentioned who was crying on Brasstacks now having to dodge bailiffs. The man who cannot send his children to university now, invested that money for the said purpose, where is he to get money from now that what he put aside for the very purpose is now gone? Do you know how muc overseas universities cost? Not every discipline is taught at UWI!

You seem to be able to afford to loose your investments in CLICO so good for you. Bravo!!

You do not know me so do not assume that I am living from paycheck to paycheck, I am comfortable that is why I am concerned about my fellow countrymen and the devastating effects that the policies of the party you support so blindly are having on poor Bajans!

I am not pulling down anyone, just stating facts! If you would only stop burying your head in the sand and listen to the horror stories of employees of CLICO and the nasty condescending way he treated his staff, you would think again about what you said!

Have a great day my fellow Barbadian!

124. Prodigal Son

Scout,

Do you know if the government of Barbados purchased Todds Estates from CLICO in 2009? Has the government began to build low income houses there yet? I think I heard them say that during the famous by-election.

Is it true that Leroy Parris now lives in the plantation house? If so who gave him permission to live in government property? Is he paying rent? What of the big sprawling mansion that he built some years ago? Does this said mansion belong to CLICO?

Just asking????

125. @CCC

You aren’t making alot of sense, and having read your position regarding the DLP on this and several other posts I guess you have to remain consistent and defend them and Parris.

Race has NOTHING to do with any of this, but you already know that. You keep harping on that and leaning away from the crux of this issue, which is Clico has been horribly managed under Leroy Parris and for one, and secondly a clico financed government which is supposed to protect it’s citizens refuses to do what must be done. (I’m referring to judicial management, now, not after parris gets his millions.)

Another thing, who is running the country? Freundel seems to be at pains to demonstrate how much he does not want the job. It was thought that after the by-election he would shuffle the cabinet, make it his own and govern. He has done no such thing, and you laugh at the people who speak about the proposed shuffle leaks as tho, they’ve nothing better to talk about. IT NEEDS TO BE DONE! Is he going to carry a diminished portfolio into the next election and hope to win something?!

If he doesn’t have the balls for the job he needs to step aside. Likewise the DLP.

Go ahead.. call me a BLPite now..

From what I read here, most of the responses come from a demographic much older than the one I belong too, but I’ll tell you the electorate is much younger, and we are much more informed, and discuss these issues among ourselves every day. Don’t expect to throw a party and get our votes.. We voted on issues during the last election and will do so again in this one..

if we vote at all.. both parties are full of the same bullshit.

excuses, corruption, and inaction.

126. David Thompson gained the confidence of the electorate when he convinced us that the BLP administration was corrupt, and that he intended to bring integrity to parliament through the transparency and freedom of information legislation.

We were told by Thompson and the DEMS that CLICO was sound, and he gave them $10 million of tax payer’s money. He refused to put the company under judicial management. We saw the contract with SSS being terminated, and work going to CO Williams and Rayside. Leroy Parris was appointed as Chairman of CBC, which, after complaints from the DEMS that they were not able to be seen or heard on CBC TV during the last administration, has now become the propaganda/public relations arm of the DLP.

Leroy Parris is now suing CLICO, and we are now hearing about a job contract for Parris, one of the signatory being David Thompson, (no evidence of which was found during the investigation by the Government appointed Oversight Committee) coming to the fore. Thompson was involved in his capacity as CLICO’s lawyer, and subsequently when he became prime minister, he chose to use his position to protect his friend and the company.

This is a blatant demonstration of conflict of interest, and hypocrisy. Therefore, based on his promises, and to those supporters who have held him up as a saint, we can only conclude that we were betrayed by David Thompson and the DLP.

This whole affair is corruption.

127. @ Carson C. Cadogan

“It is a sad thing to say, but even in the 21st century Black people continue to be their own worst enemy.”

I agree with you 100%. Leroy Parris, a Black man, has the gall to sue the same company for his money, that he begged policy holders not to sue for their money. He IS our worst enemy.

128. ahh i see ccc like normal trying to play the race card . This is the normal occurrence when he lack any points to defend his side of the argument. I guess by the same assumption he cannot fathom a father putting money aside in barbados to pay for college overseas. Now that his daughter is of age that he want the money back to send her for education overseas. ccc see no solace in his situation. Like i said before ccc argument have gotten weaker to non existent since emera got the majority of bl&p shares.

129. @anthony

Accept your point in principle but there is the other point that we need to keep forefront.

There is a normal risk which is inherent in any investment made in any financial institution.

The issue here is whether the regulator (Supervisor of Insurance) and by extension government was negligible and then the further point if government believed it had to play a role because CLICO was deemed too big to fail.

The strategy of government could be said to have partially worked but the executive annuity plan has made dumping the life company a problem.

CLICO is a mess but recent actions by Parris gives an insight to how he is thinking.

He was loyal to Thompson, now Thompson is off the scene he will run amok if allowed.

130. Prodigal Son
    I heard that Parris moved out of the house at Dayrells Hill because too many houses were being built too close to his but I didn’t know he moved to Todds. I don’t fight in that class, I might get pancreatic cancer.

131. islandgal246

Green verbs doan have too much common sense but he got nuff dollars and cents and want more. Do tell him nutting, let him expose all of Clico’s business. All the policy holder should now bring a law suit against the company. I wonder which lawyer got the guts to take the case.

Carson Cadogan has shown how little he has between his ears. He is so maladjusted that he has become a raving PIT BULL and will attack anyone. What a MAD DAWG!

132. @Prodigal Son
    What is even more vulgar and nasty about this whole thing is, the money which this man was being paid is the policyholders money, and this narcissist believes he has been wronged, what gall!

He was able to cash out two matured policies so that he could start to build another house some where in Long Bay costing millions, while people beg and beseech this company to pay them. This is wrong, unfair and unjust. and then to add insult to injury is to see those whom you have elected carousing with this man in the midst of this thing, how contemptible.

What is even worse that David Thompson knew what was going on with this company, took taxpayer’s money to bailout this company, knew of the contracts the oversight committee inquired about and said nothing as Prime Minister while people suffered.

How sordid! my empathy goes out to that returning national and the many others who would have invested with this company and cannot get their money.

133. Prodigal Son

David,
    “He was loyal to Thompson, now Thompson is off the scene he will run amok if allowed.”

He is running amok.

Who in the DLP can stop him, he knows too much and has all the dirt on the Dems. Do not forget he has used CLICO’s funds to bankroll the DLP (except for a paltry sum when Clyde Mascoll was the leader) for many years.

David Thompson, while holding up a cheque and claiming corruption in the BLP, was spending CLICO’s millions like money was going out of style. Parris had a corporate jet at Thompson’s disposal for many years and when Thompson was questioned about his love of flying on private jet, Thompson got up in the house and talked low talk about not having been born in Sandy Lane with a gold spoon in his mouth like Mia. Even Richard Sealy had to correct him that Mia was not born in Sandy Lane.

I well remember how our present PM and the same Stinkler lampooned Mia during the no confidence debate bringing class into the debate, “the Bees cannot take it that poor black boy now heads a billion dollar company”. Well, things dont look too good now, yet Parris wants all he can get. Hey, Parris, you are not in charge anymore, you cannot get your hands on anymore of the policyholders’ money.

Dodds should be your next home!

134. The question remains, does PM Fruendel have the guts to fire Parris?

The man is suing CLICO and by extension it means the government will have to be out of pocket given the current situation.

135. Prodigal Son

Fran,

I have a friend in Grenada who invested a great deal of money with CLICO. When his policies matured, he contacted the office here. Terrence Thornhill asked him to bear with them and to hold strain. He kept calling after the time frame agreed on passed and then Thornhill refused to takes his calls. My friend is till waiting for his funds.

And we have someone here who would dare bring race into this debate.

136. We should all learn for the failures in non traditional investment vehicles.

Investment rule of thumb going forward should be 75% Government bonds ,GICs and if you have children real estate.

You can “gamble” 25% on the stock market.

Don’t be too greedy or gullible.

137. To Anthony and David

What have me peeved is the contractual arrangement involving the three signatories. We have to ask the following question. Are the three monthly cheques totaling 80 thousand dollars realistic in today’s business world? What would merit the company to pay $25,000.00 per month as a bonus? Should we view these outrageous salaries as a mean to divert/remove monies from the company? Can we view this behaviour as money laundering? Was the purchase of homes in Florida financed by the company or by individual financing? How was the funds transferred from the Caribbean to this state? Was the Central Bank of either Caribbean countries notified about these transfers? Was the finance ministry notified of these transfers? Can anyone inform BU if any other conglomerate pays/paid any employee such humongous salaries/bonus/consultancy per month in Barbados or Trinidad? We always boast about our literacy rate is above 90%…..Is it really true after hearing what took place at this company? But again, these things can only happen here in Barbados.

Hi, let Carson lead in these answers. He knows where his navel string bury.

138. The late PM has always been a stranger to the truth, and lies and innuendo served him and the DLP well since the elections. But as Estwick said time longer than twine!!

139. Carson C. Cadogan

I can’t imagine why Black people hate black people so.

Leroy Parris, maybe you should put white powder all over your skin like Al Barrack and no one on this blog would have a bad word to say about you. They would mistake you for a white man

Just remember in the books of some Black Bajan people,BLACK, SUCCESFUL AND NOT HAND TO MOUTH encourages scorn and redicle from most Black Bajan people.

140. Prodigal Son

Take your blinkers off and see the truth staring you right in the face. What has colour got to do with the issue at hand? You do not seem or want to understand this. Has COW’s companies done anything like this to black people?

Nobody on this blog begrudges Leroy Parris and if to be successful and not hand to mouth as you put it, you have to do it off the backs of the said black people, what does that say about him.

How does he sleep at night knowing that his actions are causing so many people so much pain? It just shows that as much as he has and is not hand to mouth according to you, I doubt he is a happy man! So what does it profit a man to have so much and lose his own soul? He must be jumpy every time his door bell rings.

141. Carson
    It is useless to respond to you litany of diatribe. No one on BU other than you is dealing with colour. You are behaving like a wild animal backed into a corner. Carson, sometimes we have to stop and listen and keep our mouth shut, that’s the only way we can gain knowledge.

142. islandgal246

Carson you are such a nicompoop! A pile of cat shi#e! You have missed the whole point. You have no feelings for the other BLACK Bajans who have invested their hard earned money, yes I and emphasize HARD EARNED. They are the ones who have been DUPED by CLICO under the leadership of Leroy Parris. You have no shame for outwardly supporting this man who is asking the policy holders not to sue the company, when he is prepared to sue the same company for monies owed. He should be in jail with Stanford and Madoff! Colour has nothing to do with this. Only a small minded idiot like you will pull the race card.

143. Prodigal Son

Tell Me Why,

Hear, hear!

144. Imagine if the world economy did not go into recession.

Bajans who invested in Clico would be rich and Leroy Parris would be the greatest.

Win some lose some.

145. islandgal246

@Hants

So Leroy should still be rich while others lose everything? If your money was involved you would be singing a different tune no doubt. You like you just as foolish as CCC.

146. @David, I just read this

“Leroy Lynch, a 61-year-old attorney-at-law, will appear in the District “A” Magistrates’ Court today on theft charges involving over $2.2 million.”

dum dum dum, another wun bites the dust.

He was a very good high jumper at Kolij.

Anyhow don’t waste time discussing this. The matter will be “resolved” and we will hear no more about it.

and we will continue to be Anonlegally Amused as we await the appointment of MG.

147. Prodigal Son

The world recession had nothing to do with the collapse of CLICO. It was naked greed and bad investments of policyholders money. Bad management period.

Read some of the TT papers on Lawrence Duprey’s business dealings. These crooks thought they were so clever that the forensic auditors are having a hard time finding the money trail. Remember when the scandal broke, Leroy Parris admitted in the press conference that he was flying back and forth for months to meetings. They went cap in hand to the Manning government and were in talks long before the recession began.

They bought up a lot of swamp land that Americans were only to happy to sell them, they bought companies for many times more than they were worth, invested in a lot of speculative real estate that they cannot now off load.

It was bad, bad business practices, it just so happened that the recession came along the same time.

As for David Thompson, when the information start to come out. all this talk of his legacy, huh, heads will roll!

148. @Hant

Leroy Lynch matter is mentioned HERE.

149. Thanks David.

150. @islandgal246,

I am sympathetic to people who lost their money.

I think that in a perfect world, every thing Clico, Parris and the Clico executives own should be sold and the proceeds distributed among the investors.

This is on the assumption that all investors were warned that they could lose their money and that Parris and Clico mismanaged the investors money and caused the company to fail.

151. Truthman Burton

Hi all, I have been away from the blog for a while. My heart bleeds for Japan, but the signs portend more bleeding on the horizon, because Barbados has better prepare for a Tsunami to hit us too:
    “The Leroy Parris/CLICO/Thompson/Stuart /DLP Tsunami”

Carson, I am terribly embarrased for you. What Prodigal Son and the others have been trying to point out to you, [as if they haven't made their case clear enough], is that the MARKETPLACE usually pays a man his value.

Based on the returns and the long term viability of the companies he has been managing, Parris’ value in the marketplace is NOT commensurate with the enormous $80,000.00 p.m. salary and perks he is receiving, not to mention a TEN MILLION DOLLARS BONUS.

These matters have nothing at all to do with the colour of the man’s skin! You are the only one screaming the race card and you are so off-based, that I feel stupid just telling you this.

If a private company is performing solidly in an independently sustainable fashion [no Gov't subsidies, no bolstering with tax-payers' money like the Ten Million from the Central Bank] the shareholders, the policy holders, could have no reasonable objection to paying Parris the sort of salary he is receiving.

But you mean that (1) policy holders can’t get their money, (2) BARP pensioners $500,000.00 in investments looking real doubtful, (3)Parris’ organisation belatedly placed under Judicial Management, (4) no money seemingly available [except by Thompson's promise out of tax-payers' money] to settle THREE HUNDRED MILLION PLUS DOLLARS in annuities immently due, (5) insolvency setting in hard … all these things and more …. and you talking about skin colour CARSON?? What kind of foolish excuse is that? You can’t see the amount of suffering Parris’, Thompson’s, and Duprey’s plundering and mismanagement has caused? And yes, blame Stuart too … he has been the docile/compliant one!

152. Truthman Burton

That’s “imminently”

153. Truthman Burton

That Unquote on page 9 of Today’s Saturday Sun is truly a gem.

Could The Nation publish the whole series of photographs from that Sandy Lane Private Booth encounter between Sinckler and Parris, so we could see the entire range of emotions exhibited by these bosom-buddies on that Gold Cup ocassion?

Should be hilarious, but instructive too!

154. Read some of the TT papers on Lawrence Duprey’s business dealings
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    The forensic auditors are looking at funds disappearing by the issuing of cheques. The auditors should be looking into the enormous salaries by certain high-end personnel. If Leroy Barbados is receiving 80 Thousand, you can guess how much Duprey Trinidad receiving. Instead of auditing the company, the emphasis should be the individuals. What say you Anthony or Prodigal Son and other intelligent bloggers minus the robot brain CC.

155. PM Stuart is in a fantastic position to garnish support from the electorate by distancing himself from this debacle. It might be risky, but I will remove Sinckler who was a close associate of Thompson/Parris and place neutral Estwick in his position. Then I will call in a JM or a Forensic Auditor to go through the financial transactions of CLICO. If Owen Arthur received $7,500.00 from Clico, do tell me how much money Thompson/DLP received.

156. As tempted as I was ,I resisted based on the premise that all the facts are not yet in .C.C.C was able to change my mind. To advance the argument that Leroy Parris is being bashed because he is black ,is the type of comment that negates any and all salient points that may follow. Are you kidding me? They who lost their monies ,what colour were they? All white ? Even so would that be all right? I think not. When all is said and done those who can least afford to take the hit not just should be, but must be the first to be made whole. As they say the longest walk begins with one step. Let this action serve to be the first in that right direction.

157. Yes it is said that a picture is worth a thousand words ,but must we take everything in its literal sense? Truthman Burton wants to view still shots and deduce confirmation about bosom buddies . Did he see arch enimies as he looked at the stills of Mia and Owen? Just wondering and at the same time trying to keep the focus where it belongs.

158. Carson C. Cadogan

TELL ME WHY
    “we have to stop and listen and keep our mouth shut, that’s the only way we can gain knowledge”

Where on this thread do I find this knowledge?
    Or do I have to use my electron microscope to find it?

159. Carson C. Cadogan

Truthman Burton | March 12, 2011 at 5:04 PM |

I have just wasted a whole two seconds of my life reading your comment
    It is really amazing to me. All of these Labourites on one thread and it is extremely difficult to find one sentence by them that make any sense at all. If this is the best of the Barbados Labour Party, no wonder you are warming the opposition benches.

160. Well i would suggest the jm need to go today rather than some time in the future. They need a whole team of forensic auditors to go thru the books to see where the money has went. I won’t be surprised if they are huge short term loan to the parent company back by it assets. Further from that you need to examine the accounts of the executives to see if money pass thru them. Currently most people view the government unwieldiness to act as supporting the same people who made massive contribution to their party and as such are angry at them

161. Carson C. Cadogan

This thread should be renamed,

“Barbados Labour Party Scare tactics gone Wild”

162. CCC if you haven’t notice your point are all falling flat. you should really go visit the doctor. He may prolong your life some more at rate your going at.

163. Sir Bentwood Dick

Yes Man CCC..tell them!! Go for it! Or better yet, here is Sir Humphrey, explaining it better…

164. I saw this quote in today’s Sun newspaper in England “DEPUTY PM Nick Clegg yesterday declared he wanted to “wring the necks” of selfish bankers. The Lib Dem chief spoke of his fury at multi-million pound bonuses still being paid out – calling the greed “a red rag to my bull”.
    This is the same way I feel about Leroy Parris.
    How can he at this stage be looking for a 10 million dollar bonus.
    I hope none of my taxes are used to give him any bonus.
    First of all, his weekly salary is more than my yearly salary by 2 and that should allow him to live a comfortable life for the balance of his life here on earth.
    I think there was a ponzi scheme like behavior in CLICO.
    The BLP s people trying to link everyone with this man must recognized that for fourteen years this company was allowed to go unchecked. Now the DLP is doing the same thing.
    It is IRONIC that the DLP campaigned on Freedom of Information and integrity legislation and when they got into office recognized that there is free money to be got like the BLP.
    A new party that pledges to implement these corruption busting legislations in one week after winning the government or they will resigned immediately, will win the government.

165. Sir Bentwood Dick

link did not work ..here is the URL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pxeRT8pcTo&NR=1

166. Random Thoughts

Quoting CCC March 12 at 10:29 “I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.”

You idiot you can afford to boast, but the only reason you can have 3 family members at university is because the tax payers are paying tens of thousands of dollars a year to keep them there.

But maybe the taxpayers AKA the electorate is getting sick and tired of this. It is not so much that we like the BLP, but it may be time to trade in this set of rascals for the other set.

And if you are not worried about CLICO why does Leroy Parris seem in such a desperate hurry to get his money? Since you are so patient, why can’t you teach him patience too?

I don’t have any money in CLICO, but I have relatives and aquaintances with money in CLICO. Some have been trying to get their money back for many, many months now and can’t get a cent back.

I thank God that I used such money as I had to feed my children and if I need to ask where my money went I just need to look at the shit in the well out in the yard.

If I had put money in CLICO the result would have been the same shit.

But at least my children enjoyed the food.

167. Random Thoughts

Quoting GBL at 11:34 today “…a clico financed government …”

Except that this is not a CLICO financed government although the DLP and CLICO may like to think so. CLICO may have financed the campaigns of both parties, but the Barbados government is financed by the money and sweat of hard working, over burdened, overtaxed Barbadians.

We need to remind BOTH parties of this.

168. I hope Parris is getting good advice because I don’t think he can be paid while Investors are owed money.

If I were him I would be quietly working to help Investors get their money back instead of taking the Company court.

Bad judgement imho.

169. Random Thoughts

We Bajans are a bunch of jokers.

A man who cannot speak, read or write English is the Chariman of CBC.

But if ya say one ya gotta say two. A few years back the BLP appointed as Chairman of the Child Care Board a man who by his own admission had shamefully neglected his own children.

Night does run till day catch it.

170. Random Thoughts

Dear CCC:

If Leroy Parris loved black people so much how come he routinely fired his unmarried employees who gave birth?

The man a bastard himself and the father of a bastard seemed to have a problem with unmarried black women giving birth to black babies.

Who then is full of self hate?

You CCC is a joker and piecea man.

171. Truthman Burton

@HAMILTON HILL | March 12, 2011 at 7:18 PM |
    “Yes it is said that a picture is worth a thousand words ,but must we take everything in its literal sense? Truthman Burton wants to view still shots and deduce confirmation about bosom buddies .”

Hamilton, you could not help but take a shot at me, couldn’t you? And as if dragging some irrelevant remark about Owen and Mia will clarify the nasty CLICO MESS, and remove the shameful activity from the bowells of the DLP!

Look at the Photograph heading up this thread, Hammy, and tell me if you don’t see great happiness and a sense of comraderie akin to Bosom-buddies, as these big cheeked, high-on-the hog, fatted-up guys sip what looks like pink Sandy Lane Grade champagne?

Then take a look at today’s Saturday Sun picture on page 9, and tell me if you don’t see a completely different emotion.

You wouldn’t be curious to see all the pictures? Incidentally, the hype about the queen seems to have died down. Is she in the island? Hartley not playing that card anymore? Maybe as the Office Manager, she can shed some light on this CLICO mess.

Carson, I am really sorry for you. You should have spent more time reading my comments, since you appear to have a slow brain.

Maybe you have been drinking too much of Leroy’s favorite brew, “decapitated coffee” (that’s what Mr. Malapropism/Green Verb-Leroy calls decaffeinated coffee) and now you have gone and lost your head.

172. Carson. Don’t you think it is about time that you start using your ‘virgin’ brain. You are behaving like a mechanical toy emitting only programmed sounds. Be a man, use your brain and you will gain knowledge. Here endeth my time with you.

173. Truthman Burton

Carson, man you are a glutton for punishment! SOS TO GEORGE STREET! WOULD SOMEBODY COME FOR CARSON?

174. @David

There is a normal risk which is inherent in any investment made in any financial institution.
    And the greater the risk the greater the reward but I digress, now I know that CLICO was offering a higher interest rate on GIC’s etc. than the Banks, did anyone stop to think that the investments were riskier or were people expecting to find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

One of my close relatives had a substantial amount invested in CLICO and when it came renewal time ( a year before the implosion) he sought my advice. I hemmed and hawed and made some general comments but being on the ground he saw which way the wind was blowing and decided not to renew and laughed all the way to the Bank.

It is strange that among the claims in Parris’ suit is his “bonus”. If a company does well under your management you are entitled to a bonus but the company seems to be on the verge of insolvency, the man has what people of Jewish descent would call “chutzpah”.

Perhaps there is method to this madness and Parris is staking his claim to be first in line as one of the creditors when the inevitable happens.

175. @Truthman Burton

Don’t make such a fuss over those pictures we were not born yesterday. The rich and the well connected have always wined and dined politicians and Bajan politicians are not shy about being wined and dined.

Sinckler is still green behind the ears so he allowed the Nation Photographer to take pictures of him enjoying the festivities, a seasoned BLP politician would have told her where to stuff that camera.

I also remember seeing your former Minister of Tourism bedecked in his finest bling drinking that Sandy Lane lemonade (Chanpagne) during the PGA tour event at the Green Monkey.

A picture can tell a thousand tales now if we can only find those pictures that George has of Owen……

176. Carson C. Cadogan

I am still desperately trying to find something useful on this thread.
    I hope to find it before the next century.

177. Yup we keep look @ your comments CCC and say how could he be lacking so much brain matter. It just shocking.

178. @ Truthman Burton that pot shot was sent as a gesture of welcome back. We all know that you would prefer not to send me on a mission of recriminations , for I can sight many other instances ,other than the one sighted by Sargeant . The point is that they all do. The difference is that Chris sipped champagne ,while your boy guzzled cool aid.

179. Sir Bentwood Dick

Okay, okay..lets lighten the mood again..

-Two politicans were having a heated debate. Finally, one of them jumped up and yelled at the other, “What about the powerful interest that controls you?”
    And the other politician screamed back, “You leave my wife out of this!”

- A little girl asked her father, ‘do all fairy tales begin with “Once upon a time”?
    The father replied, ‘No, some begin with – If I am elected.’

- It’s tough being a politician. Half your reputation is ruined by lies the other half is ruined by the truth!

- Redundancy: An airbag in a politician’s car!

- There are two sorts of politicians: those who can talk nonsense on any subject under the sun, and those who don’t need a subject.

- During Britain’s “brain drain,” not a single politician left the country.

- Statesmen tell you what is true even though it may be unpopular. Politicians will tell you what is popular, even though it may be untrue.

Yes, all cut and pasted…but who cares??
    ;-) )

180. Contrary to some on this blog who would want to make it a political issue, this CLICO AFFAIR goes beyond politics even though there are political threads running through it.

THIS IS ABOUT POOR PEOPLE’S MONEY!

People who saw an opportunity to invest their money and now cannot get back those savings, and in most cases this was all the money they had.

This is about the insensitivity and the lack of empathy on the part of our politicians to speak out on the behalf of those who funds have been extorted.

This is about the need for justice for these individuals who can least afford to be robbed.

This is about a company that engaged in a scheme offering much more than the market could bear in order to coerce people into investing.

This is about the lies that are being told concerning this whole matter, and the lack of guts on the part of our government to do something.

This is about your friend, your cousin, your relative, your daughter, your son who cannot get back his/her money.

This is about people feeling hopeless having lost their investment.

When Trade Confirmers went belly up, I know of individuals who committed suicide or ended up at the psychiatric hospital, because their money was lost.

So for the idiots that would want to make this issue a partisan political one, think again. Yes politicians were and are involved but THIS ABOUT PEOPLE’S LIVES WE ARE TALKING ABOUT.

181. Carson C. Cadogan

FRAN

Don’t fool yourself this is all about politics and the need to pull down a Black man who made it.

182. Cough as we see CCC still need to go to doctor. It about getting back the money that was given in good faith to clico.

183. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“BU remains steadfast in the position that CLICO is being dismantled at an unholy pace by respective Caribbean governments. This is a Black owned company which up to 2 months ago was held up as a symbol of a successful Caribbean company. If Prime Minister Thompson is able to get the life insurance sold and keep the other parts of CLICO in tact resulting in protecting jobs and policyholders not only in Barbados but in the EC, history may yet speak very kindly of him. The fact that he had the courage to take a different route from the other Caribbean governments may demonstrate why Barbados is considered a leader in the Caribbean”

Do these words sound familiar to you?

184. Carson wasn’t that before the truth was found out :)

185. Do these words sound familiar to you?
    ………………………………………………………………………..

People ain’t lookin’ at words, but action. Carson, get a mirror and look at yourself whilst reading the diatribe that you keep writing defending your political cronies. Deal with the facts like a man and stop decrying fellow bloggers who understands the pain of all those insurers who might loose thousands of dollars.

186. Carson C. Cadogan

DAVID

“We agree with you. Again this is another issue where Barbadians should feel that there is a bipartisan effort to ensure we are able to ward of financial disaster. This is critical against the global financial challenges facing no(t) only Barbados but the world. It is a very sad position we find ourselves in. POLITICS RULE

The question we have for Mottley if you want to play politics: what were the reserve levels of CLICO just a year earlier?”

Doyou remember these words especially the part, “POLITICS RULE”?

As I said earlier, I will need my electron microscope to find anything worthwhile on this thread.

Again:
    FRAN
    Don’t fool yourself this IS ALL about politics and the need to pull down a BLACK MAN who made it.

187. CCC keeps stretching for some points that we all know that was killed by revelation of fact that latter came out.

188. Carson C. Cadogan

TELL ME WHY

“Here endeth my time with you.”

You are back!

189. to carson.c. i hate to have to defend the blp but the truth must prevail. based on your comment, it would mean that no one in the dlp had any commonsense for the past 14 years when they warmed the opposition benches. i tell you that they should thank owen seymour arthur for the political mistakes which allowed their return to government and to keep it for another term. you remember the song-rice gone up-sugar gone up-flour gone uo-everything gone up. good luck my diehard dlp friend

190. all i have to say about the photograph evoking such comment is that sinckler is a true friend not prepared to bite the hand that fed the party and that is what true friends do; not jump ship at the sight of trouble. the apocrypha says a tur fried is a stong delight and those who have found him hath found a treasure.

191. I waan get somting strait. Effing de banks offering me 2.5% and a man come and offer me 8 or10% pun de dollar, and me ears prick up, me eyes open wide and me mout start tuh run wata. Effing I decide to swallow he bait and gih he all o my back money and den later on I hear that he company in trouble and I mighten not get back me money, you feel that I shud hold he and he boss responsible fuh not explaining dat dat was one o de possibilities or dat I shud blame myself for gambling wid all o my back money?

192. the revelations arising out of former chairman of clico Mr Leroy Parris’s lawsuit against clico for outstanding monies are to say the least nothing short of astounding and smells like a dead rat. it should be also noted that the chairman of the oversight committee Mr William Layne pointed out in his interview published in today’s sunday sun that he encountered no political interference in the execution of his duties. he said too that work of the committee was hampered by the lack of information and presentation of contractual arrangements. it is inconceivable then that cerain contracts sought by the committee through the life of its existence without success and bearing the name of the late great prime minister can now surface before the court in support of mr parris’ claim. i am loathe to cast asperions on the character of persons alive or dead without having been seized of all the facts but it does indeed boggle the mind as to why in heavens name did the late ghreat primeminister not persuade or encourage his client to assist the committee in the proper execution of their duties by handing over the contract to the committee which he appointed or was the setting up of the committee intended to be farce or reflect impending criticism. it is instuctive to note too that Mr Parris in his seemingly dontcarish response to the concern of the comittee over the writing of new plicies in breach of the instructions of the committee allowed all and sundry to know that he had informed the Minister of Finance which could lead to the reasonable inference that he was performing this illegitimate act with the blessings of the late great prime minister. i am left to wonder how much damage this irresponsible statement could have done to the health of Mr Thompson. bro cas- am i right in the inferences drawn. now over to you carson c.cadogan the corruption czar.

193. Sir Bentwood Dick

Parris is to the DLP as Fields was to the BLP. Deeply involved in strategy, deeply involved in business, both Chairmen of CBC. Under BLP BS&T went under Trini ownership, under DLP Clico was under Trini ownership and went into financial seizure. Field et al have also now sold out Banks Holdings to an essentially unknown (to the public) buyer. Night does run till day catch it.

194. Carson C. Cadogan

Nuhbody | March 13, 2011 at 4:29 PM

“effing I decide to swallow he bait and gih he all o my back money and den later on I hear that he company in trouble and I mighten not get back me money,”

That is the same thing that happen with Trade confirmers.

As I said before some of us getting older but not wiser.

195. @ nuhbody

The depend on when you got in the bank where offering 4-5%. It wasn’t just any man. It was one of the largest insurance companies in barbados if not the largest then back by government regulations that said that fund should be manage properly.

So stop trying to make it seem like the people was greedy and this was back alley deal. It was all above board. The only thing you can fault people for it putting all their egg in one basket nothing else.

196. A picture is worth a thousand words, but I only need four. Sinkler is an idiot.

197. @ anthony

No man, I am not saying dat people were greedy, I wuz jus trying to find out ef it neva cross dem minds, given de Trade Confirmers debacle that CCC mention and whichin most people over40 hear bout, if dem shudda been more skeptical and not put all o dem eggs in one basket like you said.

Now effing you saying that guvment, by their actions or lack thereof, caused people to believe that everything wuz proppa and above board, shud they not now accept some liability?

Who should be responsible for educating potential investors as to the inherent risk in any particular venture?

198. Stop worrying about that picture and ponder how many more meetings occur away from the glare of the cameras and with whom.
    The picture should be seen for what it is; the tip of the iceberg.

199. Carson C. Cadogan

AT LAST, this was like pulling teeth.

After all the garbage on this thread which is masquerading as “wisdom”. I have now encountered only one post that makes any type sense.

A lot of the problems being encountered by these jokers stems from what?

To a large extent GREED. Their money were safe and sound where it was. But just like TRADE CONFIRMERS they were enticed with promises of milk and honey. The Banks, Credit Unions which are properly regulated and where their monies were relatively safe even though the yearly returns were small all of a sudden appeared to the gullible not to be the place to keep their hard earn currencies.

One of these days I hope my Black people will learn. Things that happen to people in the past are warnings to us in the present and we ought to learn from the misfortunes of others. We all know that Black people commited suicide, we all know that Black people wound up in the Mental Hospital after the collapse of TRADE CONFIRMERS yet we ignored all of this and remove our monies from safe havens with what effect?

What did the Barbados Labour Party when TRADE CONFIRMERS ran into trouble?

I can not help saying that we are getting older but not wiser.
    We also show that we know little about money management. Black people should never put all their monies in one place. Some funds, should be lodged in investments, some should be in the Credit Union, some should be in the Banks etc.. This mitigates against calamities.

I made the point that I have two daughters at Univerity and my wife also even though I have money in CLICO I am not worried. That is why. My risk portfolio is spread wide.

What we are witnessing here is people with more money than common sense!

As “NOBODY” said:
    “I shud blame myself for gambling wid all o my back money?”

These people are in no position to demand anything. They have their hands in the Lion’s mouth so they have to ease it out.

As DAVID said when he was speaking with common sense:
    “Again this is another issue where Barbadians should feel that there is a bipartisan effort to ensure we are able to ward of financial disaster”

All the POLITICS which are being played out on this thread is going to help no one.

200. Carson C. Cadogan

My work here is done!

201. The thrust of this blog remains even though Carson has tried manfully to relegate it to one of race. Lets sum up again:

Question: Why was Layne and the Oversight Committee unable to find records which have miraculously turned up in the possession of Parris as evidenced in his law suit?

Answer: It clearly shows Parris was a hostile participant in the exercise.

Question: Why would he be hostile?

Answer: He had a plan to take back the company, remember Lawrence Duprey signal he wanted to do same in T&T and was ignored.

Question: Why would Parris be allowed to remain as Chairman of the CBC in the prevailing circumstances, where he is in effect suing the taxpayers of Barbados given that government is committed to bailing out the life company?

Answer: Parris may hold some deep dark secrets and or promised to bankroll the party in the next election, we have not discussed it but Parris is a wealthy man.

Question: What is the role of Hartley Henry now that he has been invited to plan a role on the political tactics of the party?

Answer: Unknown

202. islandgal246

@Carson C Cadogan

And Good Riddance to you!

203. @Ruth Arnetta

am loathe to cast asperions on the character of persons alive or dead without having been seized of all the facts but it does indeed boggle the mind as to why in heavens name did the late ghreat primeminister not persuade or encourage his client to assist the committee in the proper execution of their duties by handing over the contract to the committee which he appointed or was the setting up of the committee intended to be farce or reflect impending criticism
    Was Parris still Thompson’s client after Thompson became PM? Not sure why you would write “his client” but all leave the explanation up to you.

Based on precedent Thompson would have relinquished all representation of Parris/CLICO prior to assuming office. I seemed to remember that Thompson was battling his terminal illness at the time the Oversight Committee was examining the CLICO mess.

However this is where law intersects life and some people don’t seem to get it.
    From the moment Thompson accepted a retainer from Parris /CLICO he is bound by the lawyer/client code (Legal Professional Privilege). That means he can’t discuss or divulge any information that his client relayed to him unless it is with the express permission of the client.

We may not like it but that’s the law.

204. That picture is about LIFE in BARBADOS .

Could have been Owen or MIA in the same picture.

205. There is the question of the Executives Annuities.

Who approved them?

Why were they being sold by CLICO?

Even Layne in his newspaper interview today says there was serious case of the regulator falling asleep at the wheel.

206. Executives Annuities. mmmmmm

So the Executives who bought these annuities were not aware of the risks or were they duped ?

207. Prodigal Son

I pity the person who can think that persons on this blog are only pulling down a man because he is black and that he made it. Made what? Gotten rich off the backs of the same black people. Raped the very company that employed him to get rich? I bet that when all is said and done the majority of policyholders will be black people who according to someone were gullible.

Not me, I never liked the” looks” of that company, never seemed right to me and when I heard that they had taken over British American, I took my money and put in Bartel Credit Union where I know it is safe.

Thompson did not have to interfere with the Oversight Committee. He set up the Committee to fool Bajans he was doing something. It was a farce. Remember Thompson was a political animal.

Thompson was still PM, his doctor and him told the people of Barbados that his brain was still lucid and that he could still function. Thompson deliberately bided his time and allowed the Committee’s time to expire without extending its life until a judicial manager could be put in place. Remember Parris said he communicated with the minister of Finance who was David Thompson at the time. This was deliberate, so William Layne would never have been able to see the long wicked hand of David Thompson at work! You have to understand the man David Thompson. Remember what Hartley Henry said of the modus operandi of David Thompson while delivering the funeral political speech, clip the enemies’ wings so that they could still fly.

There had to be a reason why the Committee’s life was not extended, they were allowing the time to run out. But did not Thompson tell Barbados during his death bed cabinet reshuffle that a plan was approved by cabinet and was now in place. What has happened since? Wait do not tell me, Fumble is still keeping house, waiting for Thompson to return.

This whole mess smells to high heavens and God knows what he was doing when he took David Thompson away. Mara will have to answer some questions, she is/was the office manager at Thompson Associates. All the CLICO campaign money went into (MY) FAMILIES FIRST account. The sorry DLP will have to clean up the mess.

Michael Lashley, here is real mess to clean up!

208. Another question,

1) Did David Thompson have policies in this company ?
    one would assume that as attorney and friend of Parris, most likely he and his wife did.

2) Did he cash in his policies the same time as Parris,
    most likely he did

3) If Parris was being paid 8o,ooo.oo dollars per month, what was the retainer’s fee for Thompson.

Carson answer dat cause you like you pun de payroll.

209. Now effing you saying that guvment, by their actions or lack thereof, caused people to believe that everything wuz proppa and above board, shud they not now accept some liability?

Ahh you now see what has happen. Annuities are government regulated instruments as such they need approval before they can be sold and back by the statutory funds.. So we at least you see the problem the government has unlike CCC. while he make an awful racial argument he does give some good finical. The people who invested all their money in clico obvious didn’t think or were coerced into doing. But really that doesn’t given any excuse for the annuities to fail. They failed because of poor management of fund by clico and as such the company and its leadership shall held accountant-able as with politics that allowed it to be done.

210. SARGEANT, sincee thanks for your efforts to put the facts straight; i should have said former client and friend as indeed he was. one more thing, i was saying that mr thompson should have breached the lawyer/client code and divulged mr parris’ business but he could have offered the advice to his former client and friend to hand over the contract unless there was some antivcipated fallout fon this course of action. in my view any action which renders the work of the oversight committee ineffective contributes to a waste of taxpayers money. don’t you thinkso?

211. Dear Mr. Cadogan: I would like to inform you that I am not a Bee or a Dee or an Eee. Not even an “F”. But what I am is a human being who has lived on this island and loved every minute of it since I was twelve years old, and that is a long time ago. My grandfather was a Barbadian, I married a Barbadian and have a Barbadian child. I work hard and whatever I do, I try to do it to the best of my ability for the good of the country I live in. I harm no one. I try to be at one with the land and spend my time as much as possible pushing everything that is local, hopefully quietly ensuring that what we produce for our table is also good for our health. I have many times said I am not political. I know people on both sides of the political coin and love them equally. But I do have a right, a human right, given to each and everyone of us, to on occasion voice my opinion or to make a little joke here and there to lighten up things…Your raw accusation is offensive but then…you also have a right to that. So according to this little video clip, I would say that, what the parson was preaching from the pulpit about the “f-word” in same would be appropriate to say to you… because it is after all still Sunday…and my Sunday best is on. So yes Sir…I do “forgive” you. I send you love and plenty of light and may you also be “f-ed” by all the others you so quickly chose to label in this blog.

https://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=1796710685452&comments

212. Prodigal Son

Mr Layne said in today’s Sun that the Committee’s work was hampered by lack of information and presentation of contractual agreements. Low and behold, Leroy Parris can now have the same missing documents to sue CLICO. But how in heavens’ name can Leroy Parris be sitting still on CLICO’s board and now suing the same company? This is total madness!!! You see why some of these people should be in Dodds?

Remember in the early stages David Thompson said that he had asked ICBL to purchase CLICO Life. What Thompson did not know is that he could not make ICBL buy CLICO especially since there was bad blood between the two companies and the government because as soon as Thompson became PM, all of the government contracts which ICBL had were taken away and given to CLICO General. Thompson had to share the fatted calf and CLICO had to start making back some of their money lavished on the DLP glitzy campaign.

Furthermore, the government no longer owned majority shares in ICBL. But the main problem was that Leroy Parris thought ICBL was stupid and was going to buy a pig in a bag. He was uncooperative and refused to provide the information that ICBL wanted. They therefore pulled the plug on the negotiations. Thompson never again mentioned the ICBL and CLICO deal.

That’s legacy for you!

213. @Ruth Arnetta

Perhaps someone should ask Layne if he thought there was political interference in the day to day operations of the Oversight Committee. He is retired what does he have to lose?

There was a war of words between Layne & Parris when the Oversight Committee presented its findings and from my reading of the article Parris did not exactly cooperate with the Oversight Committee.

A little bird told me that Layne was supposed to examine the Books and present his report and let the facts speak for themselves but somehow he strayed into the political arena with his candid comments. I think that politicians are unaccustomed to Civil Servants being so outspoken with the Press so there was some fallout even among his peers.

Does anyone know the terms of reference for the Committee?

214. Random Thoughts

Quotind enuff ” | March 12, 2011 at 2:17 PM | The late PM has always been a stranger to the truth”

Do you mean that David Thompson was a damn liar, and that he lied even on his dying bed, and that having a pastor around was only another means of fooling people, because in truth David Thompson was NOT a Christian. David was a complete and utter non-believer. He believed in no God, no afterlife, therefore he felt free to do whatever he liked because he knew that once his body hit the dirt in St. John that was it.

215. Random Thoughts

A lawyer is NOT oblidged to tell lies for his clients.

A lawyer is free to refuse a client’s work if her feels that such work is morally or legally compromising

216. @Random Thoughts

Who said anything about a lawyer lying on behalf of his clients? Since the conversation is about Thompson’s role as a lawyer at what stage did his work for CLICO/Parris become morally or legally compromising?

217. As far as having Parris as a client, with the long history between them, when CLICO hit the fan, the decent thing for Thompson to do was to resign as Prime minister, fortunately fate dealt with this problem.

218. Random Thoughts

Didn’t CLICO and or Leroy Parris fire those employees who refused to sign the documents for those toxic Executive Flexible Premium Annuities?

If he fired the employees does that not mean that he knew that he was selling junk and when the employees refused to be morally or legally compromised he fired them?

Don’t ask me ask NIS.

The shit ain’t hit the fan yet. A good number of these multi million dollar Executive Flexible Premium Annuties come due in 2012, just wait until the doctor/lawyer/banker class annutiy holders realize that they won’t be getting a fcuking cent, because the money just ain’t there because the whole thing was a ponzi scheme from the beginning, just wait until the doctors, lawyers, bankers and engineers realize that their money was used to pay Leroy Parris $80,000 a month, plus benefits, on top of benefits. Just wait until the doctor/lawyer/engineer Harrison College boys who have never worked for $80,000 per month in their lives realize that they were screwed by the elementary school boy.

David Thompson CLICO’s legal adviser permitted the rape of CLICO and he was ready to permit the rape of ICBL as well, but ICBL refused to pull its panties down and lay down. The rapists like a lot of rapists was a coward (now a dead coward) and when ICBL refused to play the fool he left them alone.

David Thompson’s legacy is $19 mllion of the tax payers to his family and friends at the Barbados Turf Club, $10 million of the tax payers money to CLICO, and untold loses to ordinary Barbadians.

He is without a doubt the worst Prime Minister Barbados has ever had. But when push came to shove not all the tief’ money in the world could save his sorry ass.

David Thompson left no honorable legacy. He had no morals. He had no shame. He had no love for the Barbadian people. The love of money is the root of all evil.

And what does it profit a man if he gain the whole world and loses his own soul.

And I don’t care what Hartley Henry said at the funeral. Hartley can’t think for me.

However I like William Layne’s thoughts as expressed in today’s Sunday Sun “I don’t believe Government should come and give money to a group of people who ran a company into the ground…any government that does that should be [drawn] quartered and dragged through the streets.”

219. Random Thoughts

Quoting Sarge “at what stage did his work for CLICO/Parris become morally or legally compromising?”

Dear Sarge:

Don’t ask me ask David Thompson.

Some people are never morally compromised because they have no morals that can be compromised.

220. @Sargeant

The terms of reference of the Oversight Committee has never been fully known. The findings of KPMG(?) evaluation of CLICO assets is being anxiously awaited.

221. Did they do a complete forensic audit also david ? It will of course be a very interesting report when it released

222. Unfortunately Sinckler has indicated he will issue an ministerial statement only when the JM is appointed.

Then perhaps we will know.

BU has to reitterate we are very disappointed by Leroy Parris’ recent action.

His action is akin to rubbing salt in a wound.

223. Why, CLICO?

By Wade Gibbons | Mon, March 14, 2011 – 12:09 AM

ECONOMIST and former Government minister Clyde Mascoll wants CLICO Holdings (Barbados) Limited to explain to policyholders why it agreed to a $10 million performance-based package with its executive chairman Leroy Parris three years before that actual performance.

Last WEEKEND NATION revealed that Parris was suing CLICO Holdings for breach of a contractual arrangement where he was due the multimillion-dollar handshake by May 15, 2008. The arrangement with CLICO was signed by Parris on May 15, 2005, and among those signing and witnessing the deal was Parris’ attorney-at-law at the time, late Prime Minister David Thompson.

Speaking last night at a Barbados Labour Party St Thomas branch meeting at Sharon Primary School, Mascoll charged that in addition to the financial troubles plaguing CLICO, many of the island’s major enterprises were experiencing financial losses, including Banks Holdings, Barbados Shipping & Trading, Barbados National Bank, LIME, FirstCaribbean Bank, WIBISCO and Almond Beach, which he said was down $20 million in profits in 2010.

He said no one in Barbados could argue that he or she was better off today than in 2008, noting that perhaps only one man could now say that.

“The average Barbadian cannot, by any measure, be better off. Whether it is their ability to purchase food . . . to pay rent . . . the ability to put gasoline in their cars . . . to pay insurance . . . to buy a policy, they cannot be better off now. This economy has declined since 2007 in real terms by ten per cent,” he said.

Mascoll noted today’s Estimates to be debated in the House of Assembly would do nothing for Barbados.

He said Government had decided to understate its level of expenditure. He added since last year Government had deliberately underbudgeted for entities such as the Barbados Water Authority, University of the West Indies, Barbados Transport Board and the Sanitation Service Authority, in order to make the figures appear better than they actually were.

224. tell-me-why do you not rmember that the central bank governor saiid that there was nothing wrong with mr parris drawing out his money. obviously then there would be no difficulty in mr parris obtaining permission from the governor to transfer funds anywhere.

225. @ruth

Your last comment is misleading and you know it.

226. I thought gov’t had agreed to repay persons, or Thompson stated that gov’t would ensure that people did not lose their investments, and this was made not only to Bajans but to the OECS. Thompson and Darcy Boyce left them and we high and dry. True to form, blame the people. Greed. How is it greed to take the highest offer for your investment, from an entity regulated by gov’t? Greed is taking more than you are entitled to, more than is good for you or by acting in a manner so as to deprive others of what is rightfully theirs. So if the company had offered 5% like the rest would the investment be safer? Was there not a care of duty that should have been exercised by the regulators, Clico Board, Clico chairman and management, whether it was 5/10/20%? Should they all not see prison?

Now could the morons on this blog please explain if you can truthfully state that investors and policyholders are guilty of the above, or was it Leroy Parris and Clico? Can you state that David Thompson is innocent in this matter. Did he profit by having investments and getting out early with his friend PARRIS? Is his widow Mara enjoying the benefits of this ‘greed’, wiping her mouth and looking on the people of B’dos with limpid gaze with not a word, except a vow to carry on Thompson’s work. Thompson family secure while mine lose out. Parris wife sipping champagne, while I now got to budget for my weeked beer. Stupse.

227. All BLP supporters
    How can the CLICO problem only be a DLP Government problem?
    This issue should be non partisan because for fourteen years CLICO developed into a seemingly financial stable company and Barbadians had cash to invest .The government of the day was the BLP. There were problems with CLICO before the DLP came to power.
    There was limited oversight in the world to these large financial institutions and many CEOs became very rich just like CLICO CEOs.
    He had so much money that he was sought after by both the leader of the BLP and DLP. Unfortunately Owen Arthur was exposed for having this cheque and not David Thompson.
    David Thompson is dead and so no vilification of him now can solve the problem. Attack the living for not solving the problem.

228. @ Charlie

No one ever said it was dlp only problem. The problem here is that the opposition gave advice and upto to this day it still hasn’t been followed. The opposition is to blame for not regulating the company enough. Both parties have vested interest in clico. The issue is now that the government at hand doesn’t want to do anything to clico which it must do. So it keeps increasing the worry daily that clico is above the law. The failure of goverment currently to do anything and parris sue the same company that currently employs him have us all of us bajan pissed.

229. Oh last part it not vilification if it the truth. parris was close friend to david. david set up on commission to look into problem but at every turn the commission met resistance. Some of the same contract they where looking for david witness. So one can show the pm set up a commission that he himself wasn’t going to help or it was meant to fail from the start. either way is not vilification but showing the truth that was kept from us.

230. Random Thoughts

A word to the wise is sufficient.
    A Ponzi scheme is
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ponzi_scheme
    A Ponzi scheme is a fraudulent investment operation that pays returns to separate investors, not from any actual profit earned by the organization, but from their own money or money paid by subsequent investors. The Ponzi scheme usually entices new investors by offering returns other investments cannot guarantee, in the form of short-term returns that are either abnormally high or unusually consistent. The perpetuation of the returns that a Ponzi scheme advertises and pays requires an ever-increasing flow of money from investors to keep the scheme going.
    The system is destined to collapse because the earnings, if any, are less than the payments to investors. Usually, the scheme is interrupted by legal authorities before it collapses because a Ponzi scheme is suspected, or because the promoter is selling unregistered securities. As more investors become involved, the likelihood of the scheme coming to the attention of authorities increases. While the system eventually will collapse under its own weight, the example of Bernard Madoff’s investment scandal demonstrates the ability of a Ponzi scheme to delude both individual and institutional investors as well as securities authorities for long periods

231. That contract never existed…I am sticking this position.

232. islandgal246

It really doesn’t matter which government was or is in power regarding the CLICO debacle. It has to be addressed and those who are responsible for misleading investors must be brought to justice. I agree with Random thoughts that it was more like a PONZI scheme. Assets of the company and those of the directors must be seized and sold to repay the policy holders. There must be a PUBLIC inquiry ASAP and charges must be brought. The present government unwillingness to do this will result in a loss of support. So far their performance has been less than impressive and does not give any confidence to the electorate that they are capable. If the BLP is successful they will have to tackle this head on or they will lose the respect of the population. This is a very serious matter that NO government should ignore.

233. @Charlie

Whenever a situation occurs in Barbados that has a direct link to the Barbados Labour Party, all and sundry come on this blog to attack Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur. People like you, Hants, Sergeant, Carson C. Cadogan, et al.

Now that a situation has arisen that involved your late beloved David Thompson and the DLP, and people are exercising their rights in expressing an opinion, they are labeled as BLP supporters. What rubbish, can anyone not express an opinion against the DLP with being a supporter of the BLP?

It seems to me that you people are firm in your belief that the Democratic Labour Party is beyond criticism. Because when the DEMS are involved, we should take a non-partisan view of the matter.

Get over it, no matter how you try to pass blame, play the race card, or try to use technical jargon, your government has to take full responsibility because of the way they responded to the CLICO situation.

If in 2010 Layne could not find evidence of a contract that was signed in 2005, which only came to the fore during the law suit proceedings, then only God knows what other documents were hidden or partial presented to make the company appear as though it was financially sound during the 14 years you are always so quick to talk about.

234. islandgal246

To all CLICO and BRITISH AMERICAN policy holder please get together and organize a protest march to show that you want the truth and JUSTICE. DO NOT SIT BACK AND CRY IN PRIVATE! GET UP STAND UP STAND UP FOR YOUR RIGHTS. DON’T GIVE UP THE FIGHT!

This will cast a shadow on any type of investments in the future in Barbados. No one will trust anyone including the government especially when they want to sell bonds to raise revenue.

235. Humm chris says the clico has moved into the judicial management / high court stage. who is this judicial manager and when was he/she appointed.

236. I do not think that this government will move with any haste to push the appointment of a judicial manager forward. The life of the Oversight Committee ended in June 2010, David Thompson was still lucid and able to manage Barbados according to him and his doctor. If he was serious, David Thompson would have put the company under judicial management then. The Oversight Committee was another of David Thompson’s deceptive ways of doing things.

What has me peeved in this whole thing is that we are now learning thanks to the BIG IDIOT’s law suit that Leroy Parris is back on the board and that is having a say in the managment of the company. I have never seen such nonsense in my life. By the way, is it legal that this company has mainly Trinidadian directors? Is this right?? To think that this man is a director and is now suing the same company having raped it to the point now it is in so much trouble.

I agree with enuff that the contract printed in the Nation was signed after the fact. Never trusted David Thompson. I also agree with islandgal246 that the directors AND LEROY PARRIS need to be held accountable and given the same treatment as Bernie Madoff and Alan Stanford.

Leroy Parris does not have a heart, I am convinced. For him to have received since this debacle, $3.6 million and three payments of $30,000.00 and more than $1/4 million in matured policies even in the face of little people not getting back a penny and want more tells you that he is a man with a SEARED conscience.

I hope he rots in hell with David Thompson.

237. Random thoughts & IslandGal

It is a PONZI SCHEME, and the cold hard facts are that investor s/ policyholders will not get back their money.

@Anthony
    that statement is to appease anxious policyholders, but we had enough of the lies.

238. in what way? enlighten me and i will withdraw te comment and apologise.

239. The DLP are going to regret the day that David Thompson met Leroy Parris.

240. Truthman Burton

Carson Cadogan and Hamilton Hill, in the face of the people’s outrage over this scandalous CLICO debacle, both of you continue to trivialise/ diminsh the importance of the issue, simply because you are blinded by DLP loyalty.

Parris certainly has not reciprocated the do-or-die loyalty that Thompson demonstrated to him, seemingly over and above the commitment and responsibility that he (Thompson) should have shown for the collective citizenry of Barbados.

Parris, after a long period of silence in regard to expeditiously providing updates to his company’s Policy and Annuity holders, has suddenly burst back on the scene, not in the interest of his clients, but consumed with his own greed to claim TEN MILLION DOLLAR!!
    He doesn’t even care that in that process, he has sullied the rigged reputaion of his loyal-to-the-end, dead and excessively idolized King, by revealing a dubious contract of some year’s vintage, signed by the same dead king.

If only the dead king could be brought back to life in the same way that DEAD CONTRACT was revived only to satisfy a greedy need!

The contract was conveniently HIDDEN from the THOMPSON appointed Oversight Committee. The elusive document appears to have been reported to the said Committee as being NON-EXISTENT during the time THOMPSON WAS ALIVE yet THOMPSON said nothing to his own committee, to inform them that HE KNEW such a contract existed!!

Now there is Sinckler in the House today, appealing for light to the people of Barbados, pleading with them to keep quiet, while Sinckler surreptitiosly eases back into directorship positions at the SAME companies he is suing for TEN MILLION DOLLARS!!!

Sinckler appealing for light, while his “boss” P.M. Stuart reclines in blissfully extended hibernation …. drowned in inertia, and unresponsive to the needs of the people of Barbados.

Siickler appealing for light, while he hobnobs with the enemy of the people, laughing and drinking pink Sandy Lane champagne, confused about whether his loyalties should be with the citizens or the plunderers!!!

And you want to defend that behaviour, Hamilton and Carson?

241. Truthman Burton

Hamilton and Carson, read that shocking account of the CLICO matter in Today’s Nation Editoral and give the readers of this blog the benefit of your comments.

242. Truthman Burton

Mr. Stuart, wake and do something! i am tired of your fancy speeches. If you do ONLY this one thing, go right this minute up to the Pine at CBC DLP TV and RADIO, and dismiss PARRIS on the spot!!

243. Josquin
    I never branded you or anyone a BLP supporter. I posed a question to all BLP supporters. If you are one then answer the question. Read my post on this thread and you would see that I am not a hardcore party supporter as CCC. I am supporting the government right now because they have done a magnificent job in keeping the country from the collapse that the BLP keeps predicting.
    I would never support Leroy Parris in his actions .In fact I want all frauds in the political and financial sector put in Dodds. That is why I find it strange that none of you are making a call for Integrity legislation to be passed.

244. @ Truthman Burton did you read my first post? Where or how was I blinded by loyalty? Anytime and everytime I make a contribution to BU, I do so on the premise of ” To Thine Own Self Be True”. If I were one that stood to lose money in this mess I would be going crazy all like now, so therefore I do not take lightly the implications that this can have for those who can least afford to take the hit. I am confident that you Truthman (Mr.Slick/ Mr. Shrewd Tactician )Burton did not miss my point , but chose not to goad me for recriminations that you know I can find ,which may shine the light where its glare may cause discomfort for you. At the end of the day as a man that needs to work six days every week just to survive, I know my place. Yes I love my party ,but I love my people more. And you ? …….Can you say the same? Answer me that.

245. What you mean by not making a call for integrity legislation to be passed. I surely made the call for it be implement as is the FOI that was promised in 100 days after election.

246. I am astounded on two things. Firstly, that it has taken this long for a judicial manager to be appointed, secondly, that persons who were in management before the obvious CLICO ‘issue’ have now resumed their positions on the Board, without an explanation of the current status and without an apparent resolution in place.

Furthermore, that the resumption to a position on the Board took place, apparently anyway, ‘in the dead of night’, gives an alarming impression.

I hold no brief nor sway for any party, but at this point one is given to asking ‘what gives?’.

If this situation is not presented to the people by no less than the PM in a clear manner, while also presenting the plan of action at the same time, it looks like the next election will be very interesting indeed.

One would expect that the BLP is getting its machinery in gear with haste.

If much more time goes by with this issue ‘unsettled’, the result of the next election will be a foregone conclusion.

Terrible, terrible management of the issue.

247. Prodigal Son

Can you imagine that Chris Sinckler in the House today telling the media and the Opposition to cool it and not to inflame things re this CLICO matter? Is he for real?

They are so out of touch with Bajans. why did he not tell Leroy Parris the same thing, cool it and wait for your money, let some poor people like the 80 year old man who invested all the money he brought back from Canada get some money. Or Leroy do you have a heart, how could you sue CLICO?

I hope the Dems are prepared for the backlash, Bajans are furious over this on top of the high cost of living.

248. We waiting for who will be announce the JM since chris announce that their is one.

249. @ Charlie

Sorry to disappoint you sir, but I am not a BLP supporter.

However, would you mind indicating to me the “magnificent job” that this administration is doing to keep this island “from collapse?”

As it relates to Integrity Legislation, I agree with you 100%. This administration promised such to be forth coming immediately after they assumed office. Based on their speeches, I was of the belief that they already had something drafted and documented, which could have been used as the basis for discussion, while charting a way forward.

But after seeing what has transpired with CLICO, maybe integrity legislation will not make the light of day anytime soon. I guest it was just another election gimmick.

250. @Josquin

Did you take the time to read what I wrote in this thread about this subject? Or do you think you can score cheap points by referring to me as a DLP supporter? It is pretty strange that you wrote that documents were hidden for 14 years to make CLICO appear to be strong; do you know something that the rest of us don’t? Or are you trying to distance the former BLP Gov’t from this issue.

There is enough blame to go around for both parties and I believe the DLP made a mistake when this issue first surfaced. The root of that mistake lies in the relationship that Thompson had with Parris. If the Gov’t had done what the T & T Gov’t did with regard to CLICO then they wouldn’t be in this bind. The DLP failed because this was their first crisis and they had no experience in crisis management, Thompson should have jettisoned Parris and let the chips fall wherever they may.

Now to the BLP, for 14 years under a BLP Gov’t with a PM as Finance Minister and a Superintendent of Insurance reporting to the PM we were led to believe that CLICO was a well run entity. Now that the $hit has hit the fan and the assets supporting those high interest Investments are found to be of dubious value folks like you try to distance the BLP from all the crap. Where was the BLP Gov’t when it was supposed to be looking after the interest of Bajans?

251. When all is said and done CLICO remains a private company. Until the JM is appointed the incumbent management can do what is pleases. Does anyone think Thornhill, Brewster and the lot have the balls to go against the man who made them?

252. David wrote,”Does anyone think Thornhill, Brewster and the lot have the balls to go against the man who made them?”

No David, they fraid de Trinidadians they are taking instructions from.

Surely you can’t credit Leroy Parris with masterminding this debacle.

253. @Hants

Parris cracks the whip.

254. @ Sargeant

“It is pretty strange that you wrote that documents were hidden for 14 years to make CLICO appear to be strong; do you know something that the rest of us don’t? Or are you trying to distance the former BLP Gov’t from this issue.”

You accused me of not taking the time to read your contribution. Surely you have not read mine. If you actually read and understood what I wrote, I am sure that there is nothing stated or implied that you, sir, are a DLP supporter, nor did I insinuate, {either directly or by innuendo} that papers were hidden from the BLP, as is suggested by your above quote.

I stated that BASED on the fact that a contract that was signed in 2005 has now come to the fore, one can conclude that it is possible that other documents were hidden.

You quote is actually misleading, and in future, please take time to read and understand what has been actually written, before being consumed by your exuberance in your haste to reply.

255. Truthman Burton

Right on Josquin!

Now this:
    (1) @Melvin Skeete | March 9, 2011 at 1:47 PM |
    “Bullshit. Mr Parris is NOT head of Clico anymore so it should not have any bearings on any actions government may have to take with this company.
    Melvin Skeete”
    Melvin my friend, have you not heard? Parris IS at the head AGAIN! And we all thought he had resigned/retired, but HE IS BACK, sneaky, underground style ….. meaning that NOBODY out here knew, and despite grabbing $3.5 MILLION as recent as 2009, grabbing four payments of $30,000 each, as recent as 2010 along with salary, he wants $10,000,000 (TEN MILLIONS) right now!!!
    Political strategist Hartley, what you got to say about this BIG-UP GREEDY DEM, who is still “AT THE HELLUM” running things …. oops, I meant RUINING things up at CBC DLP TV & RADIO?

(2) The queen has resurfaced! Saw her tonight on CBC DLP TV in a PR opportunity talking ’bout land up St.John. If and when she gets up in Parliament in the Estimates debate, maybe she can spend a little time to update us on the CLICO DISGRACE. As Office Manager at Thompson & Associates, and privy to the files, she should be able to shed some light, and even so, seems she might be the ONLY one (maybe HH as well) that the dead king shared with before he left.

I am betting that MARA will not unbuckle her teeth one iota about CLICO tomorrow in the House! And talking about houses, what about that MILLION DOLLAR house allegedly jointly bought in Martins Bay by the queen and PARRIS’ wifey ? With a cashed-in CLICO policy maybe? OR!!

256. @Josquin

Quote “Whenever a situation occurs in Barbados that has a direct link to the Barbados Labour Party, all and sundry come on this blog to attack Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur. People like you, Hants, Sergeant, Carson C. Cadogan, et al.”

Quote: It seems to me that you people are firm in your belief that the Democratic Labour Party is beyond criticism. Because when the DEMS are involved, we should take a non-partisan view of the matter.

Quote: If in 2010 Layne could not find evidence of a contract that was signed in 2005, which only came to the fore during the law suit proceedings, then only God knows what other documents were hidden or partial presented to make the company appear as though it was financially sound during the 14 years you are always so quick to talk about.
    The above quotes are part of your earlier submission and twist it however you will but the implication of my support for the DLP is quite apparent in the first two excerpts. As to the last quotation I concede that you did not state that documents were hidden for 14 years but questioned whether documents were hidden or partially presented during that period.

For the record I did support the DLP during the last election and I have made the reasons for doing so abundantly clear in past posts, however I will not hesitate to criticise them if warranted.

Finally, there was nothing hasty about my response, check the time stamp on your post and the time stamp on my response.

257. @Truthman

Why would Mara speak about CLICO when Minister Sinckler implored the press to stop throwing gas on the issue to inflame a nervous public? The government’s position is clear, it will say nothing to jeopardize the matter given it is sub judice.

258. Truthman Burton

Wifey Faye is fair game yuh know. She not only good for posing with pink Sandy Lane champagne in hand ‘longside her man who loves “decapitated” coffee, and smiling sweetly for confused Sinckler. (Remember the photo at the top of this thread). She also good for suddenly buying million dollar houses for cash, in her name!

259. Truthman Burton

David, as far as I know, it is not sub judice. Have you been informed of this matter being officially lodged judicially, and do you know who is the judicial manager? Mia called for this to be done must be ’bout three years ago? Nothing, nothing ain’t happened yet to the best of my knowledge.

Confused Sinckler playing for time to ease the pressure off him, Stuart and the boys. Right Honourable Owen really stung today, like an energized Bee. Amongst other things, this careless out-of-its-depth Government borrowed nearly TWO BILLION DOLLARS (was it in one financial year?) and only spent $148, 000 on developmental capacity-building capital works.

260. @Truthman

Three questions for you:

Isn’t the government waiting on the court process for a JM to be appointed?

Hasn’t Parris filed a law suit against the company?

In the Sun this weekend didn’t Layne agree with the decision in the first instance to sell the companies as going concerns?

261. Truthman Burton

If confused Sinckler wants no gas thrown to inflame people, tell him that instead of hobnobbing in private, privileged booths with Parris, (who appears to have no compassion, nada feelings for his poor disenfranchised clients), he (confused Sinckler) should douse Parris with some cold water …. extinguish his hot passion for aggravating an already enraged public.

I agree with Right Honourable Owen Arthur’s suggestion that Parris’ peculiar action to obtain a queerly conceived hefty bonus, should be unreservedly condemned.

262. Truthman Burton

Re my above statement:

“Amongst other things, this careless out-of-its-depth Government borrowed nearly TWO BILLION DOLLARS (was it in one financial year?) and only spent $148, 000 on developmental capacity-building capital works.”

I meant to say $148, 000,000.00 The actual reported figure is $144,000,000.00 Sorry for the inadvertence.

263. @Truthman

The issue of the 1.5 billion dollars was discussed at detail on BU a while back.

264. Given that the ruling DLP government, has not done a good job of running this country, I still thought that they would have won the next elections, however, that is not possible right now and CLICO would be the main reason. David Thompson used the ABC h/way as his main weapon to destroy the BLP but that is in no way as bad as this CLICO affair. The solution, arrest Leroy Parris, charge him and anyone else with him for FRAUD and this would bring back some credibility to the DLP but allowing him to remain in job plus chairmain of a State run institution means that this government is also in bed with him and is proving themselves just as guilty. Mr Min Barbadians are much more intelligent than you think, all the “so-called” good work your party did to win this massive by-election in St John will backfire in your face very shortly. it is unfortunate that Mara had to be mix-up in this confusion, but she was warned to stay out and she ignored the warnings, now I hope her children don’t have to bear the cruel bajan public when this whole thing unfolds. After all they are innocent children that is going to need the support of genuine friends.

265. If we are going to jail Mr Parris a number of DLP minister will also go with him. Do we really think that Parris will not spill the beans on all and sundry? So donot expect this DLP government to lynch Mr Parris a number of them are in his back pocket!! He has been wielding a great deal of power and influence in the party for a number of years. Parris also had input into who should have been candidates. I will not be holding my breath hoping that this government will throwLeroy Parris under the bus.

266. Truthman Burton

David, why on earth have you dumped this popular thread near to achival status, but insist on keeping dead, almost uninteresting topics like the “Jagdeo Thing”, the “Israeli Psyche thing” and the “Caribbean Stock Report thing” on the front page?

This is topical man! The people want to know about this. Confused Sinckler frighten you?

267. Truthman Burton
    Can’t you see that this topic is dominated by six BLP votes and your arguments are going nowhere? The Barbadian public, as a senior citizen said on the radio today are watching international news and are seeing that Barbados is holding its head above the water.
    How come we are this miserable position and savings in commercial banks and credit un ions are still so high.

268. @ Charlie

Simple economics, read any text book. During periods of recessions, there is an increase in savings. This does not translate into the fact that Barbados is holding its head above the water. One cannot conclude that there is corresponding economic growth through domestic savings.

269. Prodigal Son

Nobody pays that old man on Brasstacks any mind.The only moderator who tolerates the nonsense he spews out everyday is PHONY Marsahll because he sings in the DLP choir.

This man has been telling the policy holders of CLICO to hold strain and be patient. In light of all the revelations, I have not heard him say a word of Leroy Parris’ naked greed or told him to hold strain and dont sue the same company on which he sits on its board.

You Dems continue to bury your heads in the sand and think that this CLICO thing is going to go away.

I would like Chris Sinckler to tell Barbados who is the judicial manager.

270. It was not a man. It was a mature female voice that I heard for the first time. She gave the government credit for the handling of the country. You see, most Barbadians understand that his is not just about an economy but about building a society. That point is killing Clyde Mascoll because he does not understand the society he is all about numbers and that is why he will never make a good leader. He knows his stuff but most bajans do not pay him any attention because he always sounds like it is my way and no other person can prove him wrong. You know what I am talking about when you opposed him.

271. Actually from what i heard most bajan are pissed on clico and that will cost the dlp the election if they continue doing nothing. the fiscal measure done are also hurting people quality of life. most retired people are wonder if too waste the day trying to deal with government pharmacy or to go to private and spend the money. food bill are hurting everyone.

272. Oh my! Here we go again with slogans that make absolutely no sense. I thought that that economy vs. society one had been firmly put in the rubbish bin.

273. Check it out here is an example
    Owen and Mia paid no attention to what was going on at Glendiary and the prisoners conspired and burn it down. The management of the prison was crying out about the overcrowding. No one listen. That fire then cause the economical geniuses to build a new prison which would have cost more money than a new hospital. You are getting the picture. This new government is now faced with a bill every January of 30 million dollars US.
    The economy was the focus, like sell land to the highest bidder etc, bolt projects which allowed some fraud to take place.
    Just a simple thing like free bus fares would have favoured the society where parents do not have to look for money to send their children to school.

274. Random Thoughts

Quoting charlie “Owen and Mia paid no attention to what was going on at Glendiary and the prisoners conspired and burn it down. The management of the prison was crying out about the overcrowding. ”

But Charlie: The old Glendairy was built in the 19th century for 350 people and had exceeded that number by 1950. In 1950 Owen was in short pants and Mia was not conceived yet.

The truth is that planning for a new prison was not on any government’s priority list.

You should stop trying to fool people.

275. Glendairy should not have been allowed to be burnt down. In that way you would not have been forced to build a new prison so fast.
    In the rush to build no one paid attention to the tremendous costs of the new prison.
    St.Lucia built a new prison too but not with the costs overruns as this one here. Too many persons get rich using these scenarios.

276. islandgal246

“Glendairy should not have been allowed to be burnt down”.

Which planet are you on? Did the authorities light the fire? You were there with the fire chief?

You are like many living in the past tense. That is why this country is at a crisis point. We are trying to move forward with the same tools that were used in the 1800′s.

277. Charlie
    People like you see through a defected one eye, if you purchase a Suzuki car and I a Toyota bus, can they cost the same thing if both are bought new? What isthe size of St.Lucia.s prison as compared to Barbados’? What is the difference in cost? that is the construction cost and the mortgaged cost of both? I’m sure if you peeped through the other eye and focus with both, you would find that Barbados’ prison is a much better deal. It is time you fishcake politicians stop twisting the truth .

278. Charlie you said:
    Just a simple thing like free bus fares would have favoured the society where parents do not have to look for money to send their children to school.

TmW is socking it to you that “Free Bus Ride” is not solving the problems with parents. The said money that parents used to give students is now going to the purchase of cell phones and donkey hair for the weekend and even school. Social assistance could have remained where the entire populace benefited from the fuel subsidy. That subsidy had a financial impact across the board. So stop with your political rhetoric and bring sensible programs to the fore.

279. islandgal246

Perhaps the prisoners should have been housed at your home Charlie, to save the tax payers money.

280. BTW. Barbados would be better off with the abolishment of the so-called Community Council. and the Free Summer Camps. Let Government work with the Private Sector and give alternative programmes for the children. Do tell me…. Can anyone state the true benefit that children achieve during these camps? Forget the food aspect.

281. Charlie. Barbados would be better off with the abolishment of the so-called Community Council. and the Free Summer Camps. Let Government work with the Private Sector and give alternative programmes for the children. Do tell me…. Can anyone state the true benefit that children achieve during these camps? Forget the food aspect.

282. Sorry for the double posting. An error message appeared when posting the first message, thus the reason for re-submitting.

283. “This new government is now faced with a bill every January of 30 million dollars US.”

I thought it was $30 million BARBADOS.

284. you are quite correct enuff.

285. Prodigal Son

The DLP is encouraging Bajans to look to government for everything. I hate to heard this foolish statement they are about building a society, well see how far you are are getting building a society of mendicants and not looking after the economy. I cannot believe, yet I was saying it all along that this government has been using NIS funds to pay its bills. Owen Arthur confirmed during the estimates that 69% of NIS revenue is now being used up by the government, this surely cannot be right.

Tell Me Why is right, parents do not have to pay bus fares and now but they are buying expensive brand names for their children. I went into LIME, Sheraton sometime ago to get a new phone as the one I had for over three years stopped working. A teenager was ahead of me, she must have been under 18 years old as the service agent sent her to get dad. When she returned the agent told the dad, $1399.00. I do not get into person’s business but I could not help but gasping that a parent would buy a school child a Blackberry for$1399. I bought one for $300.00. But you cannot be vexed with the people, government will provide for them.

Did you hear PM Fumble saying in the House today that Leroy Parris has the right to sue for his money, is he for real? And the nerve of Mara Thompson telling the BLP stop making CLICO a political football. She had better prepare to tell what she knows as office manager of Thompson Associates and how much of the policyholders’ money is in FAMILIES FIRST account and how much her husband plundered as well.

These people are shameless.

286. I would hope you heard wrong prodigal for pm to say the one person has more right to the money than all the rest of shareholders is bordering on ludicrous. Didn’t the former pm in his plan for bailing out clico issue that none of directors or manager/staff policy shall be reimburse for their polices ( http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/314m-clico-rescue-plan/ ). So maybe that why parris is making issue with his with law courts. One would hope the law courts rule that due to judicial management coming to company they will not hear the case and let the judicial manger deal with it.

As to mara it is not political football. it political Gibraltar that is not moving and not easing. they need to do something. bajan are not impressed by these speech to defend parris while they have yet to do anything to further the recovery of money for policy holders.

287. Prodigal Son

On his deathbed, David Thompson told Barbados that cabinet had finalised a plan for CLICO, I am sure he did. Also during Darcy Boyce’s press conference (when he was forced to do it as Bajans wanted to know who was in charge of the economy), Darcy said that cabinet had finalised a plan. Where is this plan, has anyone ever seen it?

I am told that Thompson set up the Oversight Committee to apease the policyholders as Mia at the time was stoking the fire. But behind the scenes, he allowed Parris to let the agents write new policies in breach of the Supervisor of Insurance warning not write any new policies. He allegedly told Parris he would cover him but pancreactic cancer took over the…….. . Remember Parris admitted that he wrote to the Minister of Finance who was David Thompson.

Thompson was a devious pos. I laughed then and I laugh now at all the LIED tributes paid to him. He intended to protect Leroy Parris that is why the Oversight Committee had a specific tenure but the grim reaper had other plans.

As yet the government has not had the decency to tell the policyholders who is this supposed judicial manager. Chris Sinckler is saying he cannot say much because the company is under judicial management. Where Sinckler? But lo and behold, I heard Dale Marshall today saying that this supposed judicial manager has been seen visiting Leroy Parris’ home.

What kind of crap is this? Lord have mercy, man. This is becoming more unbearable.

And to think our PM has the gall to say that Leroy Parris has the right to sue for his money. The policyholders in CLICO need to make a stink in front of the PM’s office and demand JUSTICE!

288. Indeed who is this mysterious JM.

289. Mash Up & Buy Back

Prodigal son and all the other BLP yardies are so liar – ed.
    The P.M. said that like every bajan, leroy parris has the right to sue since this is a democracy.However he said at least parris understands the rule of law, and used the appropriate channels and that it is up to the courts to deal with parris’ law suit..

Typical BLP shannigans to keep repeating a lie,that the prime minister said leroy parris had a right to sue for his money,therefore implying that the P.M was behind parris supporting him in his law suit.

Pure lies

Check out the open bias at VOB they are leading with a story that the P.M. defends Parris and says he will not desert him.

What I heard the P.M. says is that Parris is not a leper and should not be disowned.He also said he does not always agree with Parris but like a number of bajans,parris worked his way up through the company and had his success and his failures.

A balanced approach I think.

290. islandgal246

@Mash up and break down

“However he said at least parris understands the rule of law, and used the appropriate channels and that it is up to the courts to deal with parris’ law suit..”

So is the PM is implying that the policy holders do not understand the rule of law? Instead of disassociating themselves with Parris it seems that they are tightening up the bonds. Time will tell, it only takes time.

291. Jerome Watson

I may be `late `to the party, but is it true that Clico insurance agents are all being paid salaries as though they are still selling policies?

292. Mash up

The pm open a can of worm defending parris , he should have said nothing as he says the opposition should do. It never looks good for a former ceo/chariman to sue his own company for non payment while it own policy holder have not been paid yet. It look idiotic of him and greedy regardless if it within the rule or law or not. defending such action make the bajan more pissed each day about how clico is being handled.

Not leaper yes I think he should go defend madoff and standford with such words and see if the crowds don’t call him an idiot.

293. Prime Minister Stuart has made another error in being seen as siding with Parris.

He can be friends with Parris all he wants but as anthony explained above if he is serious about retaining the government in an already bad situation i.e. recessionary climate and the ClICO crisis, what advantage would he seek to gain by his mouthings?

It is as illogical as one one get.

It is easy to predict at this early stage that if the BLP gets its act together it will be plain sailing for the BLP come next election.

Bear in mind that the BLP gave the last election to the DLP.

294. Mash Up & Buy Back

Anthony

Agree totally that parris suing his Company is pure idiocracy.

Nevertheless whilst I agree that those innocent policy holders like those with medical insurance,life insurance etc should not be made to suffer,I can’t see how the hell we can be cussing a government for not bailing out risk takers who invested money expecting quick,large pay outs.

This Company Clico should not be allowed to fail because of its large agriculture holdings,historic and valuable property at villa nova and sadly former sam lords,a large home grown barbadian road construction company etc.

Clico Barbados is a barbadian success from a one door insurance agency to this large outfit, and say what you will,lerpoy parris however arrogant he is,had some part in that Company’s success.

What I don’t like about the BLP style politics is how much they are willing to destroy the whole house to gain political mileage.

Mia mottley started it,owen arthur and dale marshall along with their cohorts at the Nation newspaper and Vob are carrying on this destructive behaviour without a care about the long term effect on this country.

International investors are listening and looking and in the long run these politicians will all get their pensions after their 2 terms but it is we the tax paying,struggling public that will be left holding the bag.

295. Prodigal Son

If I had money in CLICO, tomorrow I would be a one man band demonstrating in front of the PM’s office demanding justice since he is defending Parris to the hilt. They are friends, the PM says. This is the most talk we have heard from Fumble and it is to defend his friend. Jackass for you! And Chris Sinckler got the nerve to tell the media and the BLP do not whip up a frenzy. I like Sanka Price’s article in today’s Nation.

Wait and Mara got into the act today. She needs to tell the policyholders about their what happen to their money as well.

She is/was office manager at Thompson Associates, a house was purchased in her name with Parris’ wife, all the campaign money went into FAMILIES FIRST account. Mia Mottley never told the policyholders since she was David Thompson’s friend how much David Thomspon took out as well. Mara should account to the policyholders and stop the foolish rhetoric about “we as lawmakers cannot get on etc,etc yet we send children to conflict resolution classes”. Did Hartley Henry write that nonsense for her today?

I just do not understand how people can be so blind and come on this blog to defend the indefensible. Just like Leroy Lynch, Leroy Parris should be up at Dodds. People are hurting and you DLP supporters cannot be fair at all. Leroy Parris was a lackey for Duprey, I can tell you that for sure and that is how he made his way to the top. It was not by any skill or intelligence that he possessed because we all know he is an idiot.

How could a man mash up a company say he resigned (this was only to cool down things) and now because he opened his ignorant mouth, we now know that he is back on the same board he is now suing? Can he really go back to a board meeting after his actions??? Did he ask for his money and the board refused, hence the lawsuit? Why did Fumble not tell policyholders today to sue CLICO as well??

Only ’bout here!!!

296. Mash Up & Buy Back

This too shall pass David!

This too shall pass.

Hopefully the Dlp will see an up turn in the economy before their term is over so they can stop playing catch up with the hand that was dealt them by the BLP and their bad policies.

Even if not so,the Clico happenings implicate first, the owen arthur administration government, and the consequent action or lack thereof of the DLP.

The majority of the people on the ground are not concerned about Clico,but about feeding their children and thankful for the free bus fare to see them through these rough times.

The public servants are happy that they have retained their jobs,including the BLP plants who Owen flooded the civil service with.

Clico,I am saying is an issue for a small but vocal section of the population.

297. I seem to remember last year there was the issue that the prision cost 700 million. the dlp people went wild with it. never mind it wasn’t true. This story is true.

Imagine if madoff and standford had the balls to sue their companies after the scandal broke. Imagine if obama had said it ok for them to sue their companies. You know the senate/congress would impeach him claiming corruptions. The pm best interest was the keep quiet on the topic and not say a word. By supporting parris it continues to show that parris has the dlp in pockets as he always did.

Now as for mia. the same advice she gave 2 years ago is the same advice they now doing. putting the company in judical management. You think any jm worth who has integrity would want back parris on the board overseeing the company. NO. they would have shot down parris appointment back to board. Chris said they would be in jm. It not almost 4 months since the budget. We know british american has a jm. does clico have one. that is million dollar question. Now the part here is these risk takers bought Insurance annuities as the rest of buisness. they annuities are back but the goveremnt regulation. as such if they failt to due lack of goverment oversight they have as much right to sue the goverment/clico and barrack did. Clico has wafts of assests that some people are dying to get their hand on. The land acquisition budget for this year is 6 million that not even 1/10 of sam lords value. Far better to sell it crane as they wanted it so they can develope it right away. this would inject cash into the company and payout start. the farm lands would be bought by any number of investors that are waiting on heels to snap them up.

Internation investors/ IFI are also looking @ barrack saga and look at it as government not want to pay it bills. The pm has little options in this. Install a Jm immediately and set the forensic auditors on clico assets. See what toxic for what not. Sell good assets . the difference would then be financed thru government bond issue.

298. Mash up and buy back ought to shut up and step back.

299. somehow i don’t 40,000 people are small. these 40,000 have wives/husbands, daughters/sons, brothers/sisters. the end result might be majority of the population effected. This isn’t a small problem, it is a huge/expensive problem that needs to be dealt with today.

300. Mash Up & Buy Back

Anthony Isn’t it true that the final cost of the prison to barbadians tax payers will be in the region of 730 plus million dollars?

Isn’t the final cost what is ultimately the issue that really matters?

Secondly you say that International investors are looking at the Barrack saga,then my brother they would have to be looking straight at the owen arthur government and in aprticular george payne and dale marshall and the BLP government who started the mess and had the money to pay barack when the sums were much smaller and refused to do so.

Howzdat!

301. Yes David; PM Stuart continues to make what seems like unenforced errors. There was no need for him to defend, or even appear to defend, Parris in the wake of Parris’ suing CLICO for the enormous sums he has, and in the process, involving David Thompson in the matter.

Mash Up’s defence of Stuart is somewhat egregious. The DLP government is on record as begging policy holders to hold strain and presumably not to sue, yet Stuart defends Parris instead of castigating him and suggests that Parris is the only one who has the sense and acumen to sue. Does he not realise that he is now telling all the aggrieved policy holders who think that they have a modicum of common sense that they should also sue? The message is not that of an astute PM and is totally counter to Chris Sinckler’s message that called for the media and others to hold strain for now.

Stuart seems to be just stringing words together without thinking of the import of what he is saying.

Very disappointing for a PM who has to lead us in these difficult times.

Where are the calm sensible voices of the DLP parliamentarians on this matter or are they none, just worshippers of a dead DT? There must be a few that can see that standing firm with Leroy Parris at this time cannot be a good strategy, especially where he is suing a bankrupt Company for astronomical sums and so many people in the general public are seriously suffering from the economic turmoil, escalating prices and reduced incomes. There are very few people in Barbados that can have any sympathy whatsoever for Parris. By aligning himself with Parris when there really is no real need to do so, the PM is putting himself and the DLP clearly on the side of the perceived exploiters in the community and against the common man, despite all their contrived slogans that say otherwise.

302. Prodigal Son

Mash up,

So dont say a word, let Leroy Parris get off scotch free for his ignorance and arrogance. You know that CLICO insurance company had no right investing so much of its money in the kind of assets they acquired.

I remember saying when I was constantly reading that they were acquiring so many plantations and Sam Lords; then the most ill advised one, the Rayside group that this company will have trouble in the long run and it has come to pass.

The problem arose when things began to tumble down in Trinidad as Duprey was doing the same thing in a worse way and Parris was under his directive. But remember, all this land was hogged up in preparation for when the DLP got back the government.

They were going to get permission to subdivide all these plantation lands. Leroy Parris went on every overseas trip in 2008 with Thompson speaking to Bajans and telling them to invest in the houses that were to be built. I live along a secondary road, MTW dug up my road and for months nothing happened. When I called the depot, they told me that they, MTW was to pave the road but they were told to stand down and that Rayside would be paving the road. Weeks after this conversation, true enough, Rayside paved the road. So all the work looked like it was to go to Rayside whilst government paid MTW workers do idle.

So when you look at how CLICO was investing the policyholders’ money, they did indeed had a plan but sadly, all hell broke loose in Trinidad too fast and the grim reaper took David Thompson away. God does not sleep.

Hence the sorry mess. You cannot separate CLICO, Leroy Parris and David Thompson.

303. Prodigal Son

Mash up,

You really think public servants are happy and that jobs are safe?

I understand that Personnel is/was conducting an audit on every department with a view to layoffs, (they may change their minds now that we out here know). Government cannot pay its monthly bills and instead of focusing on this Fumble defending Parris.

By the way, the people may need more than help with the bus fares, they need help to purchase groceries to feed their children.

By the way, has the government paid any child support yet as promised in St John? They need this as well.

304. No ball
    if final cost matter so much. why does the government actually state the final cost for the two warren towers building or the final cost of abc project or the judicial centre or coast guard building or the final cost of the airport and sea port improvements . See purely politics :)

No ball again
    on barrack matter the government appealed. the appeal reach judgement on july 10 2008. The dlp was hoping the appeal was successful as the blp.

305. This is an issue the DLP is going to have to confront sooner rather than later. No sense in pretending that it would vanished into thin air . The act are astounding . People lives have been changed and not for the better . Whether they be two people or a hundred and two it doesn’t matter.People are demanding answers. Minister Sinckler should have known better than to asked the people to clam down. It was like throwing gasoline on fire. He should have reached out to those policyholders in a more compassionate manner. I advice the DLP to do like Obama did Rev. Wright cut all ties with Parris because in the long run he might be the albatross that causes the DLP to sink.

306. Mash Up & Buy Back

Parris through his company clico has provided campaign money for the DLP when perhaps no one wanted to have anything to do with the DLP – especially during that 1994 -1999 period.

The BLP under owen had Allan Fields,COW, and the said leroy aprris financing his party.

I think Stuart’s statement may be seen as his dealing on a principled basis as it relates to remaining loyal to those who helped you when you were down.

Let’s get real o.k., in both the BLP and the DLP this situation exists.

Owen paid his media point man Victor Hinkson a unauthorised pension out of the taxpayer’s purse.Purely out of loyalty to arthur.

All stuart seem to be saying is: look,I don’t always agree with leroy parris,but this man was my agent and friend of the party and while I am not condoning all of his action,I will not pass him by like if he has the plague and he has a right under the law to exercise a private action to sue for what he believes he is rightfully owned.

307. See there the problem. public defence of this action is view as support parris action in putting clico up the road. the pm should have kept quiet on the matter and distance himself from it.

308. One thing Stuart must remember. The policyholders interest comes first and foremost before his friendshipwith ParisPeople lost their money. Nobody gives a hoot about their friendship. As a politician he should not be that naive .

309. You should be Mash up and replace. Come on my friend, remove thyself from your highup pedestal and place thy ears close to the ground and you will realise that our PM is in hibernation and must rudely shaken from his slumber. The PM destroyed his chances in regaining his position as PM in the next election. He has committed political suicide by siding with Parris. Even if he is a close friend of Parris, and even if he agreed with Parris suing for what Parris alleged is his, he should have kept his feelings to himself. Boy oh boy!!!! David forget to groom him to be a Prime Minister. An entire by-election and he could only decry Owen. Now the estimates and he could only defend Parris. No wonder Mara said that both parties are constantly fighting and nothing is being done.
    Mr. PM read the blogs and listen to Brass Tacks and you will measure the agony of the people.

310. I listened to the news and could not believe my ears.

One word.

ASTOUNDING!

And I do know english, no I do NOT mean outstanding!

The only other word that comes to mind is ‘frightening’. I wonder how many are still scraping their jaws off the floor as I write this?

311. The fact that the PM made a political blunder does not mean the end of the DLP. One has to be a diplomat when it comes to dealing with such sensitive issues. It is clear that the PM is trying to serve two masters at one time. which is self defeating. His first concern should be his duty to country and itspeople

312. As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus ,however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who going to support average Barbadians who their life savings in CLICO ?
    My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking relection after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why hewas so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honesty expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out.

313. Prodigal Son

Subject to correction, but I do no think that Stuart has ever been elected twice in the same constituency. He won in St Philip South, then lost it. He then came to St Michael South and lost. 2008 was the first time he was elected in St Michael South. Maybe he knows his pattern and knows chances are his election pattern will continue.

Hence his bold move to commit political suicide by openly defending Leroy Parris. They could have cut him loose and said he was Thompson’s friend and cut him as ac said like Obama dissed Wright. I think the Dems’ heads are buried in the sand and they have not gauged the mood the electorate.

They took a six for nine after St John and are thinking that St John is the barometer reading for Barbados.

314. Prodigal Son

Mash Up,

That’s the mistake Leroy Parris made, CLICO was not his company. The money belonged to the policyholders. It was not Leroy Parris own to give away as he saw fit.

315. Mash Up & Buy Back

Like the minister of finance chris sinckler said in the house today,the BLP modus operandi is to create panic and spell out doomsday scenario.

Imagine if as he said, a jamaican contractor is going to come in here and build Pickerings because no bajan contractors offered a bid, because of the high class crap spoken by arthur about the project having no money,then it just reinforces what we already know:

Dale marshall that big buffoon,Mia the biter ,george the corrupt pain and owen the drunken tief – are all secured with pensions intact.They don’t care a hoot about whether barbados suffers when they scare off investors with their gloom and doom and talking down barbados.

Then they will tell you they’re helping the people – when they really mean helping the people down.

Steupes.

316. at least you stopped the defending such carless behaviour by the pm.

well lets see. Have you seen the bidding contract? where they up to normal standard. how much was allocated to mobilization. how was payment to be decided. did the plan follow bs spec for structure. did the contract allow for variance due to architect or builder need for change. did the contract not allow for varying cost of materials. did the contractor show ability to finance the contract. what was the size of performance bond. what was rules binding to settle disputes. where further request for information/explanation about drawing not acknowledge or denied

there are many issue that would arise that make contractors pull out from bidding. i take it chris never asked the contractors their side of the story.

317. Watching/Prodigal Son
    I made a contribution on the NEW BLOG just before reading these contributions and I’m saying the identical thing both of you are saying . P.M Stuart would go down as one of the few really lucky politicians, he has done NOTHING for either of the constituencies he represented and will come out smelling like a rose after performing like how a “stinking missy ” smells. It is because of his poor representation of St. Philip South that he was defeated and instead of accepting another defeat, like Sandie, he will bow out and relax in his new found glory and laugh at the others. This is bad for the rest of the party because it means, having to rebuild again, it wasn’t easy before and it will be worse now. Maybe it’s time for a NEW PARTY, NEW DIRECTION,NEW IDEOLOGY

318. Lol at a crow like “Snickler” wanting Bajans to sit back and be quiet and don’t get whipped up in a frenzy while these fuckers give it to us without any grease…SMH.

319. Mash up and Buy Back;

Do you and Sinckler think that Bajan contractors are totally stupid? Do you think that they would be stupid enough to accept Owen’s words about lack of access to funds without checking the documents and taking a chance on what would be, on the face of it, the most lucrative contract in this guava season? Contractors grab at everything at the best of times. Why would they pass over the possibility of nuff work for their staff and money for themselves? It can’t be that they resiled on bidding because Owen said there was no money. There has to be another explanation why bajan contractors seem to have passed on bidding for the pickerings contracts. Listening to Arthur makes absolutely no sense.

That has to be the dumbest thing that Sinckler has said recently or our contractors are totally stupid (and they aren’t)

320. @David
    Did i hear correctly last night when Dale Marshall say that Leroy Parris is suing Clico Holdings and not Clico Life Insurance. The inference is that these are two separate entities and that it is Clico Life Insurance that is under judicial management.

321. @Fran

Your observation is noted.

CLICO Holdings is the umbrella company which houses all the assets.

322. Pingback: When Insensitivity, Ignorance And Commonsense Collide, The CLICO Saga Continued |

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s