As I said in an earlier post there is no way that the DLP was going to throw Parris under the bus, however I never anticipated that the PM would have openly given him the kind on support that he gave today. As Crusoe said ASTOUNDING! So where does this leave us ? Who is [sic] going to support average Barbadians who have [sic] their life savings in CLICO ? My view on this is that an election close at hand and Stuart will not be seeking re-election[sic] after all he has qualified for PM pension already so why hurt is head trying to fix this debacle that is why he was so careless in his speech today. He could not in all honesty expect to regain his seat after that showing so he must be bowing out – Watching
BU is on record that Prime Minister Fruendel made an error by not calling a general election after the death of David Thompson. His explanation as to why he did not rings of political naiveté which does not bode well for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) heading into a general election in a recessionary climate. If the political landscape gives an advantage then is should be accepted and exploited with the ruthlessness that it deserves. The irony for some is that Stuart represents himself as a student of history, recent history supports the view that if former Prime Minister Owen Arthur had called the general election when Thompson and Mascoll were warring the DLP would still be warming the opposition benches.
With a general election constitutionally due in two years Stuart would have been forgiven if he had called a general election to refresh the mandate. The analysis of the last general election suggests that the public profile of David Thompson loomed large. Six months after Thompson’s death Stuart continues to manage a cabinet handed to him by Thompson. The longer he remains inert on the issue of manhandling his men the more it becomes fodder for the opposition and stokes the perception he is dithering on the job.
Up to now the electorate has been sympathetic towards the government’s management of the economy in a global recession. Is it unreasonably though for the people of Barbados and particularly the 38,000 CLICO policyholders to expect a caring government to reciprocate? The CLICO issue continues to be a difficult one for the country economically and politically for the government. The relationship between the Thompson family and perennial CEO of CLICO Barbados Leroy Parris has been part of the national conversation since the news broke about CLICO’s financial problems that Friday afternoon. The Thompson led government took the decision then to reassure the public that CLICO Barbados was largely a well managed company and there was no need for panic. The Mia Mottley led opposition at the time seized on the political opportunity and as they say they rest is history. The life insurance part of the business has been a problem for the government because of an annuity product which CLICO Life Insurance had been given permission to sell. The bottomline is, CLICO has now become a big problem for the Fruendel Stuart government.
During the Estimates Debate in parliament yesterday (16 March 2010) Stuart made his biggest gaffe to date by indicating he did not regard Leroy Parris as a ‘leper’. He further stated “I don’t agree with everything he does. I have never agreed with everything he’s done, but like all other Barbadians he has worked his way up and he has had his ups and downs”.
Prime Minister Stuart has a right like his predecessor to be loyal to Leroy Parris. Most Barbadians however will have a problem with the political correctness of the statement at this time. It smacks of an indescribable insensitivity. The CLICO issue is a hot potato issue for the government, it has the potential to add 200 million to the national debt. The national ‘feeling’ index for Leroy Parris at this time is at an all time low given his surprising action to sue CLICO for 10 million dollars, a company which is unable to honour its financial commitment to policyholders. Why on earth would Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart utter the most insensitive statement to date which is sure to stoke political debate and alienate support is incomprehensible. Following the recent error in judgement by Minister of Finance to be seen publically socially cavorting with Leroy Parris in the Sandy Lane Box on Gold Cup Day makes one wonder if the government has an urgent need for a political strategist to be part of the setup, or do they? Bear in mind all through this fiasco Leroy Parris remains Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation.
It will be interesting to see how the CLICO matter unravels. It would be foolhardy for the government to enter the general election which is on the horizon with this matter in tow which must drag like an albatross. The dilemma for the government by placing the matter in the purview of the Court, it will make decision making a protracted affair. It means the call by the Nation newspaper for the government to speak to the issue is asking it to violate the protocol of sub judice, something they (Nation newspaper) should understand very well.
Some where in the sweet bye and bye there is someone lounging on the beautiful shore who bears a contented smile.

It is obvious that P.M Stuart intends to sink or swim with Leroy Parris, what he has on the DLP is anybody’s guess. Maybe the entire party is so tainted that they can’t wash away the stains. I’ve statedd quite recently that something is in the air and I” state it quite BOLDLY now, ELECTIONS ARE JUST AROUND THE CORNER, there is a heightened sense of urgence which has hit the camp, which has caused Denis Lowe to come out of his sick leave and start putting his house in order, Boyce, Jones,and many others are doing the same. The good news is that, like in St Philip South, Stuart who knows he would be beaten, is throwing in the towel and like Sandie is willing the government back to the BLP. I warned then, during and after the St.John by-elections that the DLP should not boost about their success too long because there is problems brewing in their camp and who laughs last laughs best, it is now unfolding. The problem is a return to the BLP CAN be a return to the last term scenario of the party unless the matter between Arthur and Mottley is resolved and on winning the elections and staying in office for a year or so, for him to bow out and hand the government over to Mottley, maybe the two are playing possum right now. POLITICS IS A DIRTY GAME.
I think the name should be no longer politics.. New name **POLITRICKS**. While all this BS is going on, the people of Barbados who’s not making a good salary is feeling the pinch more than others; It’s time for new blood in hopes that they will get with the program on making Barbadians more comfortable in knowing that someone has their interest and doing what has to be done for the betterment of all; From what I have been reading about Mia Mottley I feel that she can bring something new to the table that can benefit the little man. One things is for sure. Unless the people let their voices be heard loud and clear that they had enough of being BS and taken advantage of. You might be going back for more of the same; **ACTIONS SPEAKS LOUDER THAN WORDS**;
I hope that all goes much better for all Barbadians, which is quite possible if some of the money that’s being made isn’t pocketed by elected officials. The whole situation **STINKS** BIG TIME;
Well….P.M Stuart has shown who he is loyal to and who he is backing….and it’s not the electorate or a Clico policy holder…it serves bajans right though,the old people always tell you that a promise is a comfort to a fool…and Barbados has many fools….”MANY”.
It is really amazing that once again you all are missing the point.
“Ship Sunk
bajan loose lips cost local contractors pickering project
The contract to build one of the largest projects ever undertaken in Barbados has gone to a Jamaican company.
And a “depressed” Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler is blaming the hands-off attitude towards the $1.6 billion Pickering Housing and Town Centre Development in St. Lucy by all Barbadian contractors on the “loose lips” and “irresponsible comments of people in Barbados”.
Sinckler made the disclosure this afternoon as he announced that following charges from Opposition Leader Owen Arthur that the developers had no money to undertake massive venture, officially launched last year by late Prime Minister David Thompson, construction of the first 37 houses there would begin by mid-year.
“The Pickering people came to see me with a team (of) quantity surveyors, architects, (and) builders, who are our brothers and sisters from Jamaica. I was happy to receive them in the Ministry of Finance, but when they came and I was speaking to them I discovered that the lead contracting team on the Pickering project would be a Jamaican construction firm,” he said in the House of Assembly while wrapping up debate on the Appropriation Bill 2011.”
Once again, “the blind is leading the blind”
One of these days my Black people will learn sense.
@Carson
There is no blog or newspaper out there defended government’s position on CLICO and Parris like BU. That said how can we be blind to the cavalier attitude represented by Sinckler and Stuart by their actions and utterances? You can try to shift the conversation all you want, BU,s position is fair we think.
Your lead article is right on. As an investor in CLICO, I knew that there was a risk, but it was many years ago, and the interest rate was not substantially above the average interest rate at the time. Information that I have received about the way Parris behaved inside CLICO, and the way that he and his cronies Thornhill and Brewster lined their pockets at every opportunity, shows that he obviously knew that he had a “godfather” to look after him when things went wrong. What is astounding is that it turned out to be a party of godfathers, whose insensibility to the plight of thousands of CLICO policyholders is second only to that of Parris himself. I, too, have held some sympathy for the government in inheriting the financial crisis, BUT THIS? I am totally flabbergasted, and whether I get back my money or not, I know where my vote is going next time.
DAVID
I am not trying to shift any conversation. Two things abound in the World, Truth and Fantasy.
What is becoming increasingly clear is the fact that we Black Bajan people have a penchant for embracing Fantasy.
I placed the quotation from the newspaper to demostrate the point that we have lost another golden opportunity due the fact that here again we chose to listen TO and embrace FANTASY and ignore the TRUTH.
Freundel Stuart is an extreme disappointment! How could he speak in this manner of a man who is seeking 10 million dollars from a company that he was responsible for sinking. By the way I thought Leroy was Thompson’s friend and did everything to crash the Dems in 2003. The same Stuart lost his seat then. What is the catch? What is this insensitive, stupid and may be even untruthful statement about Leroy being his friend all about. This statement will go down as the most stupid political act by a PM.
@ Carson Cadogan
What was the atmosphere prior to the last election when you jump up and down with your corruption allegation? You don’t think the investors were watching then. So it is ok for you to do it prior to the last election but now it’s bad when the shoe is on the other foot. What goes around comes around.
The simple truth is that investors don’t trust this government and they will not put their money in this economy under this government and they handling of the CLICO matter may have a lot to do with it.
FAIR AND BALANCE
“The simple truth is that investors don’t trust this government and they will not put their money in this economy under this government”
Your logic escapes me. Here is the $1.6 billion Pickering Housing and Town Centre Development in St. Lucy. Investors putting up $1.6 billion in a project in Barbados. One of the largest projects in Barbados ever.
A man with a great affinity for WHITE SEETHRU RUM tells the Contractors of Barbados, “don’t mind the Government no body will put that type of money into Barbados” they listen to the ramblings of an old drunkard who had absolutely no insight into the project. The FANTASY he was spouting became music to their ears.
The investors are anxious to get the project off the ground , encomposing FANTASY the local contractors “skin their ass” at the investors, so the investors look elsewhere to a country where people know the TRUTH when they see it and when they hear it.
The same thing is happening with clico. Some of you are exchanging TRUTH for Barbados Labour Party FANTASY. Then I am to believe that you are so “SMART”.
“Allegations” of corruption? In all the history of Politics in Barbados the last Barbados Labour Party administration was the most corrupt
Have we heard this before? Remember 4 seasons. We will wait and see if the project really gets started. Like the other projects. Has the St. John Polyclinic started in March as was said in the by election. But wait March is not done yet so I will wait. I won’t hold my breath though.
You expect me to believe in an environment where construction has declined that local contractor will give up on an opportunity like this if indeed it is an opportunity. Do these local contractors listening to Owen Arthur include Bjerkhamn and Maloney too?
Bajans are not stupid
FAIR AND BALANCE
Was it yesterday or last week that you and the rest of your Barbados Labour Party family realised that “Bajans are not stupid”?
Maybe all is not lost.
According to the Minister of Finance the Pickering project should start in June this year. Great timing! Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June. Digging foundations in rainy season ?
watching
“Great timing! Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June”
You Barbados Labour Party people are SO intellegent.
Let me see now “Rainy/Hurricane season also starts in June” so therefore we do nothing at all ON ANYTHING until the close of November when it ends. What a wonderful way to push the country forward.
Go to the back of the class WATCHING.
If this project starts in June, we the “intellegent” (Carson’s word) people of the Barbados Labour Party will say that we were wrong. Until then, don’t hold your breath!
Carson why dont you stop your disrespectful behaviour and stop calling Owen Arthur a drunkard. David Thompson indulged in other substances and was a bigger drinker and than Owen Arthur and I have never heard you call you “great” leader a drunkard or a druggie. Stop the nonsense, man. It was the excessive drinking of Absolut Vodka that caused Thompson to get pancreatic cancer that eventually took him. Are you still mourning? Or are you vexed that Owen is still with us and got the DLP on the run?
Carson C. Cadogan
You got any idea who doing all de legal work on dis project … ? What about the engineering work and other elite services? You t’nk it really matter who the contractor or designers is? Man dey could even bring they own labour, as long as specific local interests are satiafied … Wah you think?
Fumble Stuart could never be a disappointment, he din nah good tah begin wid … just another condescending member of our local jack ass fraternity.
What is it that Rihanna sang..”shut up and drive?” Well to the DLP…”Just shut up and call elections”Bajans are waiting on you!!!
Tell dum Carson, and doan forget ‘bout Hammie La and de ackee tree dat get cut down fuh $11,000. Corruption ga-lore.
Fran,
The Dems see nothing wrong in what Leroy Parris is doing, they will take the taxpayers money and give it to him if they have to and to clean up the mess he made at CLICO.
Remember he has used CLICO’s money to bank roll the DLP for years and more so to win the last general elections. The DLP had CLICO, JADA and SOL’s money coming through its ears. I have connections to someone who saw the cheques written by DT drawn on FAMILIES FIRST account where all the money went. Mara should had over that money to the policy holders. Leroy has too much on the Dems for them to cut him loose. He does not have too much up top so they dont know what he would let go!
Prodigal Son
Give me a break, where you see me call names?
democratic labour party ?
answer – ————————————
Prodigal Son
“If this project starts in June, we the “intellegent” (Carson’s word) people of the Barbados Labour Party will say that we were wrong”
It is not if the project will get off the ground in June or not, Ali Baba told the contractors that no one will invest any money in that project. That was the Barbados Labour Party’s TRUTH. I keep saying that if the blind lead the blind they will all fall into a pit.
Now look what happen.
The JAMAICANS will be laughing all the way to the Bank.
I anxiously await more words of TRUTH from the Barbados Labour Party to their followers. As they embrace more and more of it, I am certain that all of you will end up in the poor house.
It is unbelieveable that a man with a bottle of white rum in one hand and a microphone in the other can mislead so many. I think we better shut down the University, all we are getting are people with tons of degrees and little or no common sense.
How could something like this happen?
Our fore parents who went to school at Bromley and the Stand pipe were far wiser than this crop of idiots that one has to deal with today.
Carson Cadogan’s mouthings mirror those of the party to a tee; and shows the state of the government.
well lets see. Have you seen the bidding contract? where they up to normal standard. how much was allocated to mobilization. how was payment to be decided. did the plan follow bs spec for structure. did the contract allow for variance due to architect or builder need for change. did the contract not allow for varying cost of materials. did the contractor show ability to finance the contract. what was the size of performance bond. what was rules binding to settle disputes. where further request for information/explanation about drawing not acknowledge or denied
there are many issue that would arise that make contractors pull out from bidding. i take it chris never asked the contractors their side of the story. Bajan contractors have felt the bug of propose projects then the withdrawing of financing of the projects and kill their cash flow and overdrafts.
Further from whose to say the investors in north ridge development won’t back out because their haven’t been any sales.
In case like this i think the the 4 th estate should ask the very valid question why did no bajan contractors bid and await their answer.
hmmm.. Maybe just maybe Bajans ARE stupid enough to believe in the FANTASY of the DLP promises!
I suspect that soon will be time that Stewart says, “well, let them eat cake!”
To all BU Contributors:
Carson wrote:
“I think we better shut down the University, all we are getting are people with tons of degrees and little or no common sense.”
Previously he wrote:
Carson C. Cadogan | March 12, 2011 at 10:29 AM |
“I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.”
Carson’s incoherent, and often irrelevant, contributions to the blog can easily lead one to conclude that the man has no common sense. I wonder what will happen when Carson’s wife and two daughters graduate.
The man has proven himself to be a real ……
Open mouth, insert foot.
josquin
Don’t get tie up.
My family is at University however the are DLP supporters that put them in the sensible category.
No white rum man can mislead them.
@ Carson
“My family is at University however the are DLP supporters that put them in the sensible category.”
Makes no sense. Incoherent as ever.
However, sir, Barbados Underground is not about YOU.
alas ccc is purely political rant again but can we expect better from him. His rants get more illogical each day. he critizes the blp for the selling land but majority of it was never owed by the goverment at the time. then praise the same the dlp for selling land. if anything is sure on this blog ccc will try his best to show the blp is bad and the dlp is good. he quarrel about when blp sold share bnb and icb then doens’t quarrel when bl&p shares are sold. It purely his motive and he helpless pawn to their brainwashing as calling it anything else would mean he lack any sense. though sometimes we wonder if this is true.
anthony
what rants are you talking about?
Do you mean not falling for Barbados Labour Party propaganda?
Being fair and balance?
No you ranting as always
. see you did it again.
Carson, oh Carson, where is your brain. You are on rambling mission, talking up in the air and it dropping right back in your face. Stop the politricks and deal with the issues.
Anyway duty calls, I am outta here.
Josquin, we will have to talk later about BU not being about me.
Folk really do not get misled by CCC. He wants to switch the conversation from Clico to Pickerings, and you all are helping him to do that. Any right-minded, right-thinking , God-fearing person would be horrified at the callous disregard shown by Sinckler and Stuart in the remarks they have made. My ears still ringing like a bomb went off. Could these people be for real?
While I read all your comments with interest we should not be distracted from the issue (s) at hand. Barbadians now are at risk of losing substantial amounts of investments and savings. There are persons of retirement age who now find themselves almost destitute and others who have lost their sole source of income. While we engage in word warfare, bajans are suffering, and if not the EFPS policy holders, simple people who depended on CLICO for regular policies.
This is the cross roads, will we continue to be a people easily led or will we take a stand. Your single vote for the ‘other’ party is no longer enough, we need to send a clear message to the Parris’ and Stuarts’ that you can’t play with peoples livelihood and as a PM, you serve the people who put you there.
Enough is Enough
@DAVID at March 17, 2011 at 3:17 PM…
ROFLMFAO…
@BU.David… It has been said that impersonation is the greatest form of flattery….
Well said David. I am still in shock at PM Stuart’s mouthings yesterday because I thought he was the only one left that had some measure of integrity but he behaved as if he has nothing to lose. He should be offering CLICO policyholders some hope and comfort but instead he all but said brek fuh yuhself. It is frightening because you have at lest two persons in this country who are not elected members of the Lower House of Parliament or selected members of the Senate who are in control of the political direction of this country.
Carson is sitting on his brain so he cannot think straight. He is the perfect example of a FOOL. Carson try and get some tick and flea powder, dem got yuh real busy here today.
What I don’t understand is why would Mr Stuart openly support Mr Parris under these circumstances? Returning Nationals and would be investors will think twice about Barbados before they bring their money here. Does he not think that his utterings will have a negative effect on doing business on this island? Man I really don’t know what to think of how Barbados can economically improve in this climate. This government has lost their way and don’t know how to find their way home. The sh@!% is hitting the fan and more to come. I am soo sorry I gave them my vote last election. Next election better come soon!
Here is a quote from the PM speech that everyone seems to want to disregard
He said the Government was committed “to ensuring that at the level of principal . . . ‘pal’ not ‘ple’ . . . the commitment of the Government is to ensure that people get their principal investments in CLICO. I do not resile from that”.
Give the Government some level of credit for that.
Trade Confirmers crashed and not a boy got a cent.
You BLP sharks who smell blood will have to circle for some while because you are not getting back into government at the next elections because the people are seeing a government working in harsh economic conditions to keep the country afloat.
One of you mention how Jamaica tourism was booming well reports shows that poverty has increase in Jamaica by 20% since last year.
Why do you want this country to fail? Maybe we should develop the Japanese mentality.
At this time fifty workers are sacrificing their lives to stop the nuclear reactors from melting down; this is to save millions not only in Japan but in the US.
I want to know what has become of the CLICO bailout plan David Thompson on his deathbed said that was approved by cabinet. Was this man still lying to the Barbadian public even on his deathbed? I mean, you cant believe anything the Dems say??? Must they always live up to their name DAMN LYING PARTY?
Thompson died on October 23, 2010. It is now March 17, 2011, nearly five months later. Surely if there was a plan approved by cabinet, it should have been made public by now as for sure the government would have had to bring a bill before the House! Or was this plan non existent like the St John Development plan? We have elected members who say nothing about this, how do they face their constituents?
But what do the policyholders get, a PM who would not address the country on any of the revelant issues but comes boldy to Parliament in his strongest speech since becoming PM by the fate of Thompson’s death, …. Leroy Parris is his friend and he will not abandon him.
So policy holders you have to decide if you are going to believe Fumble when he said you may get back something. But in the same breath, Leroy Parris has the right to sue.
Policy holders begin your class action suit as well. Let the courts decide who gets paid first.
I really held out a little hope for Mr Fumble but at the end of the day a Dem is a Dem!
@Charlie
I once remember when everything that Owen Arthur said was twist and turn and taken out of context to look bad. Remember his tribute to DT. Remember his remarks about the St. John queen.
The shoe on the other foot now and the DLP spokesmen now under scrutiny and you all don’t like it. What goes around comes around. The shit now hitting the fan. This is only the beginning.
This is truly mind boggling. I am also flabbergasted at the emotional outburst coming from the mouth of the PM. for “hisfriend”. How can a person who as a leader and sworn to protect country and people put the interest of one person above all else. He could have given that same emotion and sympathy towards the people who are seeking a resolution for the Clico matter. The Pm wasted all his time and energy for naught and has created a tsunami backlash against himself and the DLP. His mouthings were 10+ on the Richter scale.
Charlie you do remember that under the propose deal, none of clico staff is suppose to get back their own annuities. So for a parris to sue to try to get back his while the deal is still in works seem at best foolhardy. To support such action which under minds policy put in place in government is ludicrous. get real please. If the japanese mentality was applied then parris would be selling his assets to help pay back the policy holders and not suing his company to get money that can’t be paid because of decision he made.
Jepter Ince (Physical Deficit) had a hand in this mess at CLICO in pushing the annuity plans. I understand that there was a lot of pressure put on agents to sell these bogus plans which they didn’t mind as commissions were sweet.
Isn’t it strange that so many persons now in the DLP government are all tied up with CLICO?
Clico + Barrack = loss of confidence
This Government is supporting Parris
Case closed
THE MILLIONS THEY receive to run their ad campaigns in the last election have tied them to CLICO
I agree with the former Permanent Secretary, NOT A CENT of taxpayers money should be used to bail out any of the so called professionals who invested in CLICO and refused to carry out their own due diligence. I recall that my family had the opportunity a few years ago to buy insurance and the same annuities being talked about and my husband decided not to because he thought at the time that it was too risky because CLICO was investing too heavily all over the place. He said back then when CLICO falls it was going to take the rest of the Caribbean with it, but we never thought it would be so soon. Well, the chickens have come home to roost. Wunnuh should not be blaming Parris, blame the regulatory services that refused to do what they were being paid to do including the damn BLP government at the time. Wunnuh did tek a risk, now live wid it.
Cinnamon
Bravo, Bravo.
ac | March 17, 2011 at 5:06 PM | This is truly mind boggling. I am also flabbergasted at the emotional outburst coming from the mouth of the PM. for “hisfriend”.
———————–
I happened to switch the radio a minute before Fumble Stewhat started talking shite
I could not believe it when I heard it
Reminded me of the SANDY–Like it or Lump it speech in the House
Simply frigging unbelieavable.
If this DLP government get back in power , I gwine turn Lesbian !
The only point we would disagree with you cinnamon is that we have to blame parris. Was it not him who lead the company in that direction. If he had lead it properly we wouldn’t be talking about clico collapse now would we ?
anthony
As usual you miss the point.
Remember This part of what she said:
“Wunnuh should not be blaming Parris, blame the regulatory services that refused to do what they were being paid to do including the damn BLP government at the time”
@CCC
You seem to political ranting. Did I say the blp have none the blame. no. Just pointing out the if parris had lead the company properly we would have had no issues. that blame rest first on parris/management then everyone else. So stop showing your bias political rant. we know your brainwashed but we expect a bit better for you.
anthony
Again the Barbados Labour Party has you blinded.
Why you did not mention that if the Supervisor Of Insurance had done his job properly none of this would have been a problem. If the last Barbados Labour Party Prime Minister had done his job properly none of this would have a problem either.
You conveniently forgot to mention either of those two jokers but you did not forget Mr. Parris.
@ CCC
If parris did his job no invention of outside parties would be need.
see the brainwashing is very effective.
@CCC
To help get rid of the brain washing hopefully we present a simple senario that should get past it . If someone come to a bank and steal money and they get away with and you don’t cath them until a few year latter . You do blame the bank if it security was bad. You do blame the police if they where lax in catching the crook. Finally all the blame for the stealing the money rest on the robber because if he/she didn’t rob the bank the money would have never gone missing. So you see paris get most of the blame. QED.
Finally going back to your political rants. I didn’t disagree with anything cinnamon wrote other than paris has no blame. I never said no fault was @ the supervisor nor did i say no fault was the the blp. So like before we all know your brainwashed in you the political rant and believe parris has no blame in matter for agree with cinammon statement whole heartedly. One can hope that one day your eye will be opening from the brainwashing until then we expect no better from you.
Why are you all blaming the Dems alone for the Clico fiasco, when the Bees have admitted the the statutory fund deficit started in 2002 and was allowed to continue unabated. The also allowed Clico to repatriate all its cash to the parent in TNT and leave the local entity high and dry. Both are at fault for the way Clico was allowed to flout the Supervisor of Insurance’s authority with impunity. It seems that everyone has forgotten Trade Confirmers, Narsham and the Canadian insurance firm, whose name escapes me at the moment. We have not learned from these debacles. It is time we take a serious look at these occurrences and take the necessary steps to prevent repeats. We are too lapse and trusting where these things are concerned. We need agencies and officials with guts and the teeth to handle these situations. If no changes are made this will happen again in the near future; mark my words.
anthony
From over at Barbados Free Press:
Anonymous
March 18, 2011 at 12:03 am
“@what will they think of next
I also see nothing wrong with what the PM said. I don’t understand why the PM should ostracize the man. The policy holders will be happy they will be getting back the principal.
I would also like to make a suggestion that some sort of biography be created on Parris.
The man in my opinion has done Barbados, and the wider world well. The company hasn’t suffered because of Mr. Parris, there is also a Trinidad component.”
After you read this the Barbados Labour Party scales might fall from your eyes.
@CCC
You seem not to read or follow even simple scenario. The like minded post in bfp have also been brainwashed also. Does not the Barbados clico have to obey regulations. Didn’t parris not run clico barbados. Didn’t clico barbados experience massive problem. To say the trinidad part took money is ok but either parris is complicit to the taking of funds or he lack the professional integrity to not say no to the taking of the company capital. either way parris is wrong and he and rest of management of the company should be facing charges for mismanagement of annuities.
To go over the reason why support parris again would be point less because you failed to read them above, but for the hope of the brainwashing wearing off i shall try again. Parris is sueing clico. in the suit it seeking for 3.5 million in annuities that have mature. the former pm stated in the plan that none of clico policy annuities would be repaid. So parris is trying to circumvent the policy by suing to get back money. Now i hope it is as plain as day why supporting this suit was wrong by the pm. This goes against government own policy that none of annuities of clico staff should be repaid and support of this action by the pm mean it no hold bared on clico. one can always hope for ccc to be removed from the brainwashing but we all know it quite hopeless.
anthony
The person over at BFP brainwashed too.
You BLP supporters are funnier that Laurel and Hardy and the Blues Brothers all rolled into one.
Not for one minute do I feel the need to speak in support of any one involved in the CLICO matter,least of all Leroy Parris who has brought all to a state of bafflement with his impending efforts to recoup ten million. Causing equal bafflement is this thread. Lets look at your take on the importance of history. Does not history say that change of government usually survives one term? If this is so then the ally you seek is not history…..or perhaps it is. The minister cavorting with Leroy Parris at a social and public event has now become grounds for indictment. Pariah ,leper or one may choose to employ a title closer to the bajan vernacular, at the end of the day you know as well as I do that in tiny Barbados the creed of class is as strong and as sturdy as the Berlin Wall . One day that too will fall. Today it still offers the same protection it gave Owen Arthur. It gave Barney Lynch and others long before him. This act of surprise is just that. They say that one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, and the very same applies between foe and friend. The best known middle man in Barbados HN has made millions off of the tax payers and he still has many friends in high places .BU knows this . BU also knows that in tiny Barbados everyone knows someone where ever people gather, therefore if cavorting inside the “Bigwheel Of The Socialites”ever constituted a prima facie case ,picture or no picture the last administration would have lasted two terms. Surely BU does not believe that the PM’s refusal to offer a public repudiation spells doom. Sub judice not withstanding ,to what end would it have served? Just whom whould it have made whole? Let us not forget the sole reason Bajans demanded change. For them to again demand such, there has to be a choice. Any group in which Owen Arthur sits does not qualify.
@ Cinnamon
Don’t be like that though. How do you know CLICO only took money from professionals? Every profession (so called or otherwise) can’t be expected to know the dangers of an insurance company ‘investing too heavily all over the place’?
Frankly, your family (and mine too) ran a mile from CLICO and we are the ones who made a mistake. Thanks to the PM’s long standing friendship with CLICO on-again, off-again boss, they are GUARANTEED to get back their principal by the government.
Can you imagine that? Take out a risky investment; you get over the odd returns on the up-side and a guarantee of your principal on the downside (compliments of the taxpayer). That’s a pretty sound investment strategy if you ask me.
bajans demanded change ?
BIG LIE
I DEMANDED NO CHANGE
If this whole issue had been tied to a known BLP supporter, there would be hell to pay. But as usual, Dems think they can do whatever the hell they like and get away with it and they have supporters who would defend them to the hilt.
How could you people say dont blame Parris? By George, if the BLP wins the next election, I want them to go after him like a raging bull and all the Dems who spent the policyholders money. The statue of limitation would not be up by then.
PRODIGAL SON
What about the BLP man who brought in the new Coast Guard Boats and pocketed tons of money off the deal?
@Islandgal246
You said this @ 4:43pm…….”This government has lost their way and don’t know how to find their way home. ”
I ask you this, Hon. Did they ever know where they were coming from much less where they were heading?
DEM ain’t had a clue either way! The only horrific part is that I’m afraid that I, and many more like me, will be left without a roof over our heads by the time they are through! The the 1970s and 1990s all over again with DIS DAMN DLP regime.
CCC,
If that is true, he should be charged, I dont condone that sort of thing. That’s the difference between us Bees and you Dems on this blog, we Bees, take our licks and say when our party does wrong, the DLP and its supporters are NEVER wrong for you.
BTW, I thought you went to work, shouldn’t you be on the job being productive?? Or the hotel empty???
de hood,
Have you noticed how many properties are being foreclosed and up for sale in every Sunday Sun? It is frightening.
In the estimates debates, I heard Chris Sinckler (he’s so out of his depths) saying that everything in Barbados is going good etc,etc and that garbage is still being picked up regularly. In my neighbourhood, if I dont call, we have no pickups. Under the BLP, yes, CCC, under the BLP, we had two pickups weekly, now we cant even get one pickup every two weeks.
I agree with you, the Dems aint lost their way, they never knew where they were going. They only knew how to win the election and I think they were surprised that they managed to pull it off with all their lies. Since the late “great” one left unexpectedly, they are totally at sea. But I am sorry he dead so fast, he should be alive to face the heat with Parris. Rats they are/were.
@ccc
Brain washing it the only reasonable answer to people who try to defend this nonsense. You should be ashamed of this trying to defend it but we didn’t expect better from you. What are you to do , the dlp keep cracking at all the points they had over the blp . they sold land , the sold shares, there been cost overruns.
You all acting like Leroy got where he was in Clico by merit lol!
Always remember one thing, Leroy is a man beholden to his older friend Lawrence Duprey and the “special relationship” they enjoyed…ask anyone in CLICO
Given his limited intellectual scope I am sure he used what he had…and “Larry” wanted…to get him to the top…or is that bottom?…of the pile!
Then you put together the “special relationship” David had with Leroy…and Freundel’s unmarried status….and where do you get?
Whuloss…
@You all Missing A Piece
You asked. . . . . .”Then you put together the “special relationship” David had with Leroy…and Freundel’s unmarried status….and where do you get?”
Could the answer be Top? Or could it be bottom? Or perhaps both?
As Dr. GP would say. . . . . . .”Murrdurrrrr!”
With this particular blog generating so much discussion and the Marston Gibson matter scheduled to be debated later today in the house (Gibson blog moved to top of page), BU will not be updated today.
Can someone explain why the Supervisor of Insurance has only now applied to the court to have a JM appointed? Regrettably the matter has been adjourned to May 2. What is happening?
Wait so you mean chris could have talked about it since it wasn’t under judicial management. They now actually applied after they where suppose to in November. smh. Really how can they treat this any worse. It seems like they holding the process up at every step. Now we have to wait till may 2 before the judicial can even decide if to put it under judicial management. I taught the situation was bad not I see it even worse that I could imagine.
@Anthony
I am playing teacher Mildred but I have to correct you on this, you have been making this mistake too often. Taught is the past tense of teach. Thought is past tense of think.
thanks for the correction islandgirl. english has always been sore point for me
Freundel Stuart’s statement in Parliament on the Clico issue has left me speakless, all I can say is
HE IS A NATURAL JACKASS, HE NEEDS NO EFFORT TO BE ONE, FOR HIM IT COMES NATURALLY.
@anthony,
tot is de pass tence uh taught too effin yuh want to write Bajan too. but yuh should listen to teacha Mildred.
@Fran
Good one Lollll…..all he needs now is the tail LOLLLL
Mia Mottley and the Bees vindicated!!!!
THE PEP COLUMN: DLP has no sense of direction
FRIDAY, MARCH 18, 2011 – 12:00 AM
We were utterly bemused when we learnt, a couple weeks ago, that the leadership of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was holding a “retreat” to make plans for the next general election.
And we were bemused simply because, up to now, we still can’t understand why exactly they contested the “last” general election! Indeed, some three years after the last general election we are still trying to work out what exactly the DLP has come to power to do! And now they are talking about the next election?
We would be extremely grateful if Messrs Stuart, Henry, Sinckler, Estwick or Kellman would condescend to inform us and other members of the Barbadian public what exactly – of a positive nature – they have come to power to accomplish.
Surely, they did not come to power simply to raise taxes and bus fares, and to cut back on social welfare entitlements? What precisely is it that they propose to do, that the previous Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Government was not already doing?
As perceptive Barbadians are aware, our party – the People’s Empowerment Party – along with the Clement Payne Movement, played a significant role in bringing about the removal of the BLP Government and clearing the path for an eventual DLP victory.
We were, and we remain, satisfied that the then BLP administration was a failing Government that deserved to be removed.
But in recent months we have been wondering whether a worse evil has not been inflicted on the Barbadian people.
At least the BLP administration had a positive regional policy based on championing the Caricom Single Market And Economy (CSME) and inculcating in the Barbadian people an enthusiasm for Caribbean integration. The new DLP Government, on the other hand, has exhibited and encouraged the worst aspects of a smug, insular, narrowminded brand of petty island nationalism that has severely set back prospects for regional unification.
It is clear to us that the DLP came to power in 2008 with no systematically worked out programme or philosophy. Indeed, we were aghast at the extent to which their election strategy was based simply on spending money on propagandist advertisements and public entertainments. We concluded that big business was assisting them to buy the election, and we were proved right!
And so, before we even begin to think about the next general election, this current crop of DLPites need to enlighten Barbadians as to who and what they are.
What are their ideas? Do they have any? What is their political philosophy? Do they believe in capitalism, socialism, neoliberalism, conservatism, pan-Africanism? What type of state do they favour, and how do they see the role of the citizen in relation to the state?
These are all basic political positions that should be made clear to the citizenry even before a political party comes to power.
What does Mr Stuart consider to be the next stage in the historical evolution of the Barbadian and Caribbean people, and what role is his Government to play in bringing it about?
Ping Pong | March 17, 2011 at 7:14 PM |
Clico + Barrack = loss of confidence
> gain of confidence = – (Clico + Barrack)
> gain of confidence = -(Parris + Ince + Investors – (Barrack Building + Contract debt))
> gain of confidence = 0
ja ja
Unless we are seeing Stuart employing the old tactic or infuriating the public, and using that as a premise for throwing parris under the bus…..you know like Roman days, piss the crowd (vulgus) off then give them want they want and “wash your hands”. Was it Pilate that was a former master of the technique?
Freundel Stuart is a marked man. You see, he has the misfortune to be Barbados’ third APM… Accidental Prime Minister.. and our Accidental Prime Ministers have an unfortunate history.
Bree St John became APM in 1985 when Tom Adams died and he promptly lost the next election… and his seat, in less than two years.
Sandy, the “errant school teacher” became APM in 1991 when the Dipper died. He called elections two years early and lost.
Now we have our third APM, compliments of the death of David Thompson. He didn’t call elections two years early… when he would have won.
Methinks the fickle finger of fate has him firmly fixed in its foresight.
Bummer!
Seriously Inkwell, would you really want Fumble Stuart to win an election ’bout hey?
I supposed unless you get a decripid old white man, you are either a dog (see comments to carson cadogan) or a monkey now directed at freundel stuart.
White is right,black stand back.
Sorry -reference to stuart is likened to being a jackass not monkey.
Hmm.
@mash up and brek down
Now look you have gone and made a monkey outta yuself. Why don’t you keep quiet?
We need a third party BADLY, I am soo tired of recycled politicians. I wish those of you who are so blinded by the party you support to open your eyes. No party is beyond criticism. Why can’t some of you get that into your heads? Wunna heads like a cannon ball?
I could not believe my eyes this morning when I read the Weekend Nation.
Chris Sinckler said in the House as recently as Monday that a judicial manager had been appointed for CLICO. He said in January that one was going to be appointed. Thompson said on his deathbed that cabinet had approved a plan which included the appointment of a judicial manager. The Speaker interrupted Dale Marshall on Wednesday and told him he could not speak in detail into CLICO as it was under judicial management. The PM said the same.
Now we are only now hearing today that the government only went to court yesterday to begin the process which has now been adjourned until May 2. I do not use profanity but I have to now, these Dems are some blasted liars. I mean they cannot tell the truth, ever. Is lying a learnt behaviour in the DLP?
How many more lies can the policyholders of CLICO take from these lying bastards? Chris Sinckler said that he knows everything about CLICO but everybody else must hold off. Hands off, dont dig into CLICO. Dont whip people into a frenzy, you dont know, he want locking up with Leroy Parris.
Goodness me these dems are worthless. For once I can agree with the PEP, their column this week is recommended reading.
Islandgal246
“We need a third party BADLY”
Then form your own. I am sure that you would get about half dozen votes.
@ Inkwell
“Sandy, the “errant school teacher” became APM in 1991 when the Dipper died. He called elections two years early and lost”
Sandi was APM in 1987 but won his own mandate in 1991. He should not be compared with other 2 clowns. I could do with a Sandi now instead of these clowns we got running things. He was decisive and act in the interest of Barbados
@ Carson Cannon ball head
I will get much more than you for sure. You do not have the BALLS to think for yourself…… ooops I meant the cannon.
Heard the Minister of EDUCATION, Ronald Jones, in a news clip yesterday talking about “schewdunts” (students), deese (these), dose (those), chewsday (Tuesday). Does this man realise that he is actually the Minister of Education? When will he learn that he is being heard all over the world?
But then I thought to myself that maybe Carson is right about his university comment.
The BLP in the last few years of their reign had become quite arrogant, but this lot is a mind boggling enigma.
I can’t figure out fa de life a me, ef de movin and ef de movin wey de goin, and wey eh es de sayin or wey eh es da goin, Wuhloss
Inkwell,
I think you are right! Remember that Freundel Stuart has never been re-elected in the same constituency. Once Noel Lynch runs against him, he will beat him. Remember Noel defeated an APM in person of Sandi in the very same constituency. Is history going to be repeated?
PRODIGAL SON
Noel Lynch running again, I thought that he said that he done with politics.
Is this the former Minister of Tourism who the American Govt. refused to grant a work permit?
Have you ever wondered why even though he is a former Minister the Americans cared little about him?
Did you not think it passing strange that he was not granted the visa? Do you know what did David Thompson have to do with him not getting the visa??
Do not get into things of which you know nothing!
Do you know that Jerome Walcott the outstanding doctor was given a contract by PAHO, nothing to do with the Barbados government to do some work with Caricom, your king David Thompson created a stink and wanted heads to roll because Jerome got a contract to work outside of Barbados, mind you?
There was more to that refusal than meets the eye.
prodigal son
Let me tell what is wrong with lynch, outside of the house he can’t get a job like most of the former Barbados Labour Party administration.
Outside of the house no wants Barbados Labour Party rejects. Hence they are fighting tooth and nail to get back into the house. They are useless otherwise.
Boy! Oh! Boy! ccc I sure like the way you drop dem banana peels for the BLPites to slip and slide all over the blog. BTW i yet have to read ccc comment on the way The PM overreact to negativity about”his friend” Parris. CCC you sure have everybody slipping and sliding along the yellow brick road.Talking about a change of game plan!
As usual, he does not address any of the issues or points made. He makes unsubstantiative statements and runs. Typical Dem!
ac
you are not bad yourself.
It is necessary to keep reminding the people of Barbados how awful these BEES are before their revisionists can fool them otherwise. The people must remember that the Barbados Labour Party members and supporters are not nice people.
They wolves in sheep clothing.
Plus I owe it to my late father.
@CCC
Ha! HA! like yuh style Do! they really act like sheep in truth .It is so easy to point them in another direction. Keep throwing them banana peels. That might have a dominoe effect evenutally all dem falling in unisom!.
@ Prodigal
Whose fault is it? CCC have his game on. He didn’t ask wunna to play.
CCC & ac,
Read the PEP’s column today.
Prodigal Son
Where is the PEP column on the net? I’d like to read it.
Josquin Desprez | March 18, 2011 at 3:47 PM | Heard the Minister of EDUCATION, Ronald Jones, in a news clip yesterday talking
————————
Was english handed down from heaven
You people speak as though english is a some sacred cow.
english is just another dialect
I hate to hear wunna people talking shoite !
Check it,
enuff posted it a few threads up @8.57 and it is also on Barbados Today.
Thanks
It was in barbados today article on page 11 in march 17 2011 edition
Fran
I totally agree with you, the BLP in its last term of office became arrogant, that’s why I voted for the DLP with the hope that they had clean up their squabbles and ready to put this country back on a firm footing; boy, oh boy am I disappointed!!!!!. The stability of governance in Barbados is under threat, now we have a bunch of amateur politicians who are just looking to satisfy themselves from the word GO. I fear a return to the BLP would mean, “I told you so, therefore whatever we do you must accept because you don’t have anyone else to turn to.” That’s why we need a serious, genuine third party, persons who have the interest of this country at heart, there are persons in Barbados who have those characteristics, PLEASE come forward and save this country from disaster.
I never read the PEP column. Why start now?
Anytime you have to rely on the PEP column for support you must be in dire straights.
The PEP leader is a known political Pondfly. A man who puts self above everything.
Even his best buddy David Denny had to abandon him because he was making no sense at all.
OFF TOPIC
“Jamaica among 15 countries with top broadband speeds
Published on March 19, 2011 Email To Friend Print Version
KINGSTON, Jamaica (JIS) — Jamaica is ranked among 15 countries in the world with top broadband speeds, chairman of Columbus Communications International, Brendan Paddick, has revealed.
“With Flow’s introduction of up to 100 megabits (per second) of internet speeds into Jamaican homes, I am proud to announce that Jamaica has now moved up the information and telecommunications technology (ICT) ladder…ranking higher than places such as Canada, the United States and even the United Kingdom for broadband speeds,” he said.
Columbus Communications International is the parent company of telecommunications entity, Flow ”
Jamaica has Cable & Wireless just like us, Jamaica has Digicel just like us. Seems like these companies are offering far better service to the Jamaicans for their money than they do in Barbados.
Jamaica also has the Company Flow which we do not have.
I was most disturbed to see the debate reporting yesterday, refer to Own Arthur’s comments on education and schools, basically that one of the major expenditures is to education and therefore the schools need to begin to assist in funding.
While accountability is encouraged and schools should report financial statements, one issue that disturbs me, is that now the populace is up in arms on Government expenditures, the two areas that both parties are attacking are health and education!
Is this coincidence, guileful or just logical?
Commenters i.e. citizens criticise needless spending and in particular, cost overruns and the ‘machinery that enables such wilful spending and lack of accountability’.
In return, in Parliament, opur representatives have not addressed such in legislation but instead choose to attack those two things most dearest, health services and education.
Is it a case of ‘attack is the best defense, ‘y’all want cost cutting…okay, wunna going get it’?
While that interpretation is cynical, it is nevertheless unusual that the representatives are ignoring one of the MOST pressing issues that commenters have raised, while spending energies on attacking ‘pillars of a good society’ i.e. health services and education.
Food for thought!
@CCC
Jamaica has 3g service which also don’t have. Though it is incorrect to say they moved up passed canada/us/uk. their are companied in those use countries that offer 100mbs+ service to consumers if they willing to pay. On purely interesting note the Columbus Communications International which is parent company of flow is based in Barbados.
The Government recently launched the issue of $161 million bonds for the sugar industry. To date, at least $50 million of these bonds have been taken up. Now today Mr Arthur says that the sugar industry can’t repay this investment and the burden of repayment will be carried by the state.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/arthur-sugar-sector-cant-repay/
Now when one juxtaposes Arthur’s (and others’) opinion with the recent behaviour of Government re: Clico and Barrack, is there a high likelihood of default on repayment on those bonds? Let me also remind readers that some people have not received their income tax refunds for last year.
Ping pong
I don’t think there is any risk for non repayment as these are government back bonds vs court settlement vs a company bail out. The government continues to repay bonds by issuing new ones. The sugar industry hasn’t in any recent time repayed any of their bond whether it be bees or dee so a total revamp of industry is need as suggested by aruther and estwick.
Anthony
thanks for your reply. This present administration does not give me confidence that they will behave in a principled manner when confronted with issues that conflict with the personal interests of members of government or with political party interests. On the specific issue of the bonds for the sugar industry, I am skeptical that branded sugars will be a profitable project. Other than that I am not aware of much else being pursued in the sugar sector. Minister Estwick is however expending some energy in addressing the problems of agriculture and initiatives to combat praedial larceny and to ensure phytosanitary quality control of agricultural products are welcomed. It is passing strange that the sugar industry does not fall under his ministry (i.e. agriculture).
anthony
“the Columbus Communications International which is parent company of flow is based in Barbados.”
well, well, well
I wonder why we are not making use of them.
PING PONG
You still letting the WHITE SEETHRU RUM man mislead you.
Don’t you remember that he said that no one has any money to invest in Pickerings?
You Barbados Labour Party people dumb, blind, stupid, gullible, sieve brained, forgetful, peabrained, foolish, ignoramous, absurd, unwise and all the other nice adjectives.
@ping pong
The branded can be a profitable project. all we have to do is go in any supermarket in the states/uk/europe etc and we see multiple companies offering branded sugar. tate lyle has many of variety of branded sugar here. It is time we leave the bulk sugar market it not even profitable for us to continue there. we keep losing money there. the branded sugar market sell bajan sugar at a premium at anywhere between 5-20 times the price of bulk sugar we are currently selling and should turn a profit for the sugar industry.
@ ccc
Show how the lack of infrastructure development by lime when the pillage us for all those years, with all the profits they made we should have a far better network that we currently have. we should be just like trinidad and jamaica offering normal consumers service up to or exceeding 100mbits and actually getting those speed.
There is an obscure law somewhere that states that in the event that less than 30 percent of the population turns out to vote the entire result will be scrapped in favor of bi-partisan management until such time as an improved system of determining a suitable government is formulated…! I will be part of any NO VOTE Campaign that is in the offing …
Anthony,
If given a choice, would you buy branded sugar over “ordinary” sugar in a plastic bag? The world is in a recession, won’t consumers be looking to economise? Branded sugar offers no benefit to the consumer over unbranded sugar other than fancy packaging. In Barbados, a kg of sugar may sell for $5. Branded sugar sells for $40/kg! I suppose if ONLY branded sugar is made available then this will have a major impact on the fortunes of sugar producers (and there goes those promises of lowering the cost of living!). However, is it likely that this value added will go to Barbados or to the distribution companies in the UK like Tate and Lyle?
“Seethru”Arthur is the most unpatriotic Barbadian in Barbados. Every utterence is calculated to cause maximum damage to Barbados. That fact that nothing he has rambled on about in the recent past has Bourne any fruit does not stop him from continuing to make a Royal Ass of himself.
He is an enemy of the state. The worst thing about this is despite the failure of all his predictions there is a class of nincompoops called Barbados Labour Party supporters who would have us believe that he is still relevant today.
I my opinion he relevant to the Mount Gay rum factory.
anthony
I agree with you.
@ping pong
but the market you wish to attract it not the normal market. you wish to attack people who have cash to spend . the branded sugar isn’t going to be marketed at bajan but as luxury good. LVMH the world leader in luxury good has at steallar year with revenues & profits growing 10+%. So the luxury side is growing and we should take what piece of the pie we can.
@ Crusoe
What Owen was talking about is in essence referred to co-location of services/shared uses. Schools in Barbados offer tremendous opportunities for generating income. Why must plants with various types of facilities only operate between 8am – 5pm Monday to Friday; closed during the holidays.
should have read:
Why must plants with various types of facilities only operate between 8am – 5pm Monday to Friday and be closed during the holidays?
Speaking about branded sugar Anthony comments about a market that you wish to ATTACK! … Could not have put it better Padre.
In all my recent life I have never seen a super market put Branded Sugar (Mum’s or Muscovado or w’aever) on the shelf along with the regular package sugar so as to give the Market a true choice …! We does get attack too regular ’bout hey …!
@ ping pong
If given a choice, would you buy branded sugar over “ordinary” sugar in a plastic bag?
Bush Tea has bet ‘a package of green tea’ that ping pong has brought branded water in a plastic bottle, over ‘ordinary’ water from the pipe…. like the many thousands of others who do so daily…
Bush Tea
I have bought “branded” water in Barbados maybe ONLY about three times in my life. This was done out of curiosity as to what the attraction was all about. Some bottled waters are different from tap water for example there are flavoured waters and the fizzy kinds like one from France (can’t remember the name) but at the higher price, bottled water will stay on the shelf as far I am concerned. Also the reality that the hygiene of many (most?) bottled waters is suspect is sufficient for me to stick to tap water which is fine for me. Anyway I take your point but why do people buy bottle water and are these “motivators” applicable to sugar? Can people be fooled that branded sugar taste better, has higher sucrose content, is healthier, is more hygienic than sugar packed in a plain plastic bag? I take Anthony’s target market approach i.e. snob appeal but is this a large enough market to help make our sugar industry profitable again? Also are we differentiated enough from other sugar producers to dominate the branded sugar market or at least carve out a niche for ourselves? As an indicator our sea island cotton projects have not turned out as well as predicted and we had to sell Mount Gay to the French to access that luxury market.
@ping pong
The sea island cotton project was never given the help it need to get into the market. The buzz word for most of these sugar would be to add organic infront the name. that normally get people interested for what ever reason pleases their mind. as for snob market. ideally it said 5% of the world control 80% of the wealth so why not target the 5% for all it worth.
Here is an idea, why not chlorinate the damn sugar and sell it as an artificial sweetener …? My God we got all the cane, and a sea full of chlorine, not to mention boat loads of diabetics around the world that could find a use for Branded Artificial (Organic) Sweeteners …! We could brand it Barsucralose and pay our traditional friends Tate & Lyle a little something something for the use of their patent (or hold on till it expires)
@ ping pong
…just pulling the old leg a bit… the bush man probably bought a couple bottles in my time too.
The point however is that most people are not like us ping (most other folks are ‘normal’…) and with the correct marketing approach, you can sell them fresh air in a can and make millions.
In fact, you probably know the story of bottled water – where a famous marketer bet that he could get people to buy water in bottles over free piped water….. the rest is history.
Branded sugar is a viable product. It could be marketed as organic, clean, healthy, etc; and it could be ‘fortified’ with various spices (Grenadian?) , herbs or other enhancers -such as garlic, aloe etc; and touted to achieve appropriate benefits…
Lastly, a pretty package and a ridiculous price and we would have a sure winner… of course bush tea and ping pong will stick with our good old bajan brown, but David, BAFBFP and the other ‘normals’…. ? couldn’t get enough of the stuff….
What you think Rihanna’s perfume is…? li’l cus cus mixed with some bush teas..and with a pretty name….and a big price.
…wanna just lucky that the bush man don’t want no more money…
In theory what you guys are suggesting is doable.
The only question for BU is the assumption that the brand would penetrate deep enough to generate the required revenue from the get go.
It takes time to build a brand, it takes money to build a brand, in takes expertise and mucho money to build a global brand.
The thing is David I wouldn’t feel any more foolish buying sugar because it got a brand stick on the package than getting trick into buying ‘good old bajan brown’ which is really packaged Guyanese scrap sugar … LOL
Actually Bush Tea
I think that your idea of branded spiced sugar a very good idea! At present the branded sugar idea is just sugar in a pretty package. There is nothing to lure the consumer by suggesting that there something really different about the branded sugar. There could be aloe and sugar, cinnamon and sugar, nutmeg and sugar, mustard and sugar (for basting ham). The bottled water consumers believe that they are getting cleaner water or water with some mineral or vitamin that will improve health. It may require some food chemistry work and the marketing effort that David alluded to but what do we have to lose?
actually there are already spiced sugar which are even more expensive than the just the branded sugars.
Hell why not package the spices and brand them as “Sweetened” …? Just saying …
Tests carried out in Canada showed that most bottled water came from local pipes. But people still buying it by the cases.
I would buy branded sugar with a flavour like vanilla.
I would simply buy a branded sugar named Pat … ja ja
@ Under-Disguise
Agreed sir, English is not from heaven, nor is it a sacred cow.
However, if it is your first language, and had you paid attention in school when it was being taught, surely you would have understood the reasoning behind what I wrote.
Minister if Education —- proper English. See the implications!
You have proven beyond a shadow of a doubt that you (in your words) are a “shoite”.
@ David
The only question for BU is the assumption that the brand would penetrate deep enough to generate the required revenue from the get go
..skipper, you sound so ‘bajan’ that the bush man nearly ‘dead wid laff’….
Dave, this is a simple no-brainer…. What penetrate what deep what..!!??
First of all, unlike bottled water, bajan sugar actually IS a very good product.
Secondly, it is UNIQUE, and LIMITED in supply… (even better than gold)
Thirdly, it has a long and interesting history – tied to such emotional concepts as slavery, plantations, pirates, naval history and rum…a marketing dream.
….how could it get any better…?
Then there is your question of ‘penetration…’
YOU SERIOUS?
What penetration? Barbados is a paltry 21 X 14 village with a couple families on it. All we need are 10 good customers and our production is all gone…. get 12 customers and we can double the price and limit production like OPEC…LOL
Why don’t we do any of this obvious stuff…?? LEADERSHIP!!!
-BECAUSE, as the bushman explained some time ago, we are a bunch or educated retards, with some of the most idiotic leaders conceivable.
-Because we have a university that is more focused on attracting government funding than on producing EFFECTIVE alumni…. and they are rewarded with more and more dollars for less and less impact.
-Because we have been fed on mendicancy and yard-fowlism at all levels – and everyone is just looking for handouts…
The sugar industry is a case study in incompetence, idiocy, nepotism and waste. Look at the management structure; the managers; the thinking and the planning, and it becomes obvious why it will ALWAYS be a liability…..
..so how are we addressing the problem of our water system falling into disrepair…? Did we contract someone from a well run utility like Light and Power to reform the water department…? OF COURSE NOT!!!
(…that would make far too much sense…)
We sent someone who has been a key player in the sugar industry for years… highly experienced in ineptness…. and we ACTUALLY expect results LOL!! ha Ha!
@ David
We should praise God that these are indeed the last days…..can you imagine things getting any worse..??!!
@ bush tea
this would be funny if it wasn’t so serious.
@Bush Tea
Yes it is a good product but it still has to be marketed to guarantee the sales necessary for it to be a profitable venture. There are many good quality products which never made it.
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/baico-suit/
guess it wasn’t long before more people started suing.
@anthony, yes and it indicates that the ‘Clico Matter’ does not lie just with our Parliament and that of T&T, thank gosh! Denzil Douglas aint about to let go.
Maybe the local policyholders and pensioners should contatc him and develop an action plan.
Old saying ‘dah fuh lick yuh!’ The ‘small’ islands goin learn the big islands how to ‘regulate”.
How ironic.
This legal battle should be interesting. CCJ going to have a regional case on its hands.
Looks like the money shortly going get tie up. And if ‘any’ gets paid hurriedly, it will bring much into question.
The downside to judicial management, it is going to take years to exhaust the process and money. Perhaps this is what some were trying to avoid.
David, but if you ain’t getting it anyway, at least not yet and the ‘trust’ is not there, does it make a difference?
And yet again the parasitic members of our Jack Ass community are due to gain big payouts under the guise of aiding helpless policy holders, investors and employees.. You see if and when there is a settlement , the Jack Ass community must be paid first, if of course they were not already paid, and in the event that there is anything left the others will get little piece. “Pigs at the trough” at a whole new level…
@crusoe. The ccj has not jurisdiction as a appellate court for the oces or trinidad and tobago. barbados , guyana and belieze remain the only signatories for appellate jurisdiction so there will be no region case the ccj can enforce.
@ David
There are many good quality products which never made it..
..precisely the Bushman’s point. A fool and his money are soon parted.
So what is our expensive education system all about..?
If others from less expensive education systems can sell bottled pipe water to ping pong and bush tea, what does it say that we can’t sell bajan gold…?
When it comes to CLICO, the bushman took a decision years ago to keep as far from that organization as possible after hearing the ‘leader’ for the very first time. Wise men and their monies are difficult to separate…..LOL!!
LEADERSHIP IS EVERYTHING!!!
…..makes one wonder about Barbados doesn’t it?….!!
Well, weel. I didn’t hear right. You heard Estwick. The man waxed lyrically, with a well crafted speech that acutally made snese. Imagine he abandoned the bluster and shouting he uses tocover lack of substance and be brought out the big gun for them. The man made alot of sense, when he spoke about agriculture. He could move up now. Left Chris scrambling. But I could not believe my ears, Estwick actually said that land must be used to maximise its highest economic value, Arthur to the life. The man had an epiphany and ketch some sense. Estwick also suggested that Guyana should be the place to ease land to do commerical farming, Arthur to the life. If he keeps on like this theDems might actually have someone who could help them guide this country.
Bush Tea
the sales of Clarks shoes and blue soap (now referred to as cake soap) has increased because of Vbyz Kartel singing about them in his songs. Maybe we can get him to sing about sugar! Check out his lecture at UWI (Mona). Forget about Stuart or Sinckler
or Arthur. This is the real leader of young people.
[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-8gdAnOPf1Q&w=640&h=390
@Bajan Truth
The part of Estwick contribution you have omitted is that his argument was framed in the context of the need for Barbados to embrace a food security policy. Not sure Arthur and Estwick are in the same place at all.
I think the branded sugar idea is great, start small and build. In terms of marketing use Bajans living overseas or link it to the advertising used by the Barbados Tourism Board. They’ve used Rhianna, so now they can use sugar. When the reps go to the Travel show in the UK etc. take sugar samples with them and sell from the booth (if that is allowed). Start small and expand. Once word is out we have a world class sugar, like our rum brands we’re good to go.
In terms of Clico, the Government and the appeal to the court for a judicial manager I am totally confused.
As a person who surrender their policy I received a letter from Clico Feb 2011 stating that:-
‘We sincerely apologize for the delay in settling the payment of your policy.
Recently, the Minister of Finance in Barbados indicated that cabinet had take a decision to place CLICO International Life Insurance under judicial management and the accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche has been appointed as the Judicial Managers .
We at CLICO support this action as it will allow for the restructuring of the company and the orderly settlement of deposits. In light of this decision by government, we have suspended all payments until the judicial manager had been fully installed and has had the opportunity to review the state of the company.’
What is really going on?
the people who know what going on aren’t telling us anything other than we are creating fear by drumming up attention on topic because no action has been taking place. they only just ask for judicial manger to be be put in this last week but the matter has been adjourned till may 2. It looks like a long road ahead to deal with the mess.
Indeed David, the said same page. Arthur had stated in Parliament some time ago that the needs for food security do not require more than 150 acres and he further suggested to Barbadians that they start kitchen gardens. Estwick and Benn both since becoming Min.s of Agriculture have repeated this advice to Barbadians. The said same page.
@ Cinnamon
I read with interest, your contribution three days ago to the
CLICO detate. There is a missing link in this CLICO saga and
I hope you can help me. Why did the supervisor of Insurance
in Barbados, allow CLICO to continue with investment plans
without Security Deposits being paid? Another question, how
long ago did this practice of no deposit start? Yet another
question, was the post of supervisor of insurance created 3 years
ago? And yet another question , would you say that both parties
are at fault for not spotting this error (BLP 14 years and DLP
1 year before the rippling effects of the world recession began) ?
And finally, since the investors in my opinion aren’t entitled
to one red cent, don’t you think that the investors receiving
their deposits or part thereof is very generous of the present
Government?
@David
I was overseas for the past 6 months and have not been following
the Drug Service debate in Barbados. I was made to understand
on my return, that as from next month I would have to pay
a handling fee for my two medications if I have the prescriptions
filled at a private pharmacy. I decided to call the two pharmacies
where I get my chronic disease medications, and both said that they don’t know how much money I would have to pay since they have not received any correspondence from the Drug Service. I thought that something was fishy, so I decided to call the Drug Service. The pleasant young pharmacist asked me for the name of the medication and the strength of it. When I gave her the information, she told me that drug #1 will cost 12 dollars
and drug #2 five dollars. If I a non-pharmacist can get this
information from the Drug Service, can you tell me why the pharmacists can’t get up off their backsides or send their messages to the Drug Service and get the relevant information? Are they afraid that people like I would take our prescriptions to the Polyclinics if they give us the information on the phone? Whatever the reason is, they are playing with people’s lives.
In many ways we live in a paradise, but everyday we seem to awaken to a different Barbados. One that has made significant strides in development but at the same time appears to be slipping backwards. Somewhere along the line our leaders appear to have lost their collective way and it appears to be a Caribbean phenomenon. The inability to make hard decisions, to hold fast to certain values we once held dear and individualism seems to have a strangle hold on our politics and politicians.
Take our education ‘system’, if we can call it that and the recent spate of sexual incidents in our schools. Have we sought to look after the social needs of our children by having counselors and social workers in schools? All the while we continue to build extravagant schools but lacking in the required staff. It is as if we are waiting for our very own Columbine. How can we blame our young people for acting like thugs when the example is played out everyday in our politics?
Branded sugar you say? Before we can even think of having viable agricultural industries we must have the most basic of infrastructures in place and currently that does not exist. A farmer related a story of trying to get a form signed at the Ministry of Agriculture and having to wait three weeks for a signature. Try calling and leaving a message for someone there and you will see, if they do get the message, which is unlikely, they will not return your call. This exists throughout the entire ‘system’. We have forgotten what we are trying to achieve.
Maybe in another year or two we will go the route of banning mobile phones while driving, a position I totally agree on, after all it provides an unnecessary distraction. But I ask what about the drunk drivers, aren’t they distracted too? I wonder how many mobile phone users cause accidents as compared to drunk drivers. And will the law speak to police officers driving police cars? Just a thought.
And finally the debacle we find ourselves in now, CLICO. There is little to be said that has not already been voiced in one forum or another. Today I see a regional call on behalf of policy holders in the Eastern Caribbean and yet another friend of Leroy Parris declaring his friendship. But this one was different somehow, words were better chosen, more guarded, better articulated to mind the sensitivities of the general populace. A lesson well taught but probably a little too late. Here again our system fails us and even when the wheels of justice seem to be grinding, it is slow and seems veiled in mystery. Just try calling to ask about the (should be by) now concluded process of Judicial Management at BAICO. And if you didn’t know the law allows for anyone to see the JM’s report. You can try but so far my efforts have been in vain. If I was a conspiracy theorist I would have to believe that decisions are made behind close doors to the disadvantage of the average bajan. Your recourse you ask?
The new Chief Justice ……the system continues to fail us.
DAVID – NOT BU
@Chuckles
Good to see you commenting again.
The Drug Service has been a problem over the years with rampant abuse by participants.
The change as we understand it is that government has passed on the dispensing fees to the private pharmacists who in turn passing it on to you the customer using a sliding scale.
The threat to them obviously is that if you fill the prescription at the government pharmacy they lose the business.
They are probably still dealing with it. We live in a land where mendicancy is a culture.
@David,
People on this blog have been preaching food security for a long time.
Now the ministers are on the bandwagon.
Could it be that they read about it on this blog and like the buzzwords “food security”?
Here is a Google on some of what is involved in appointing a Judicial Manager.
@Hantsie
Could be, what we know if we judge from their references to the blogs in parliament is that they read what people like post
On a serious note, the blogs have demonstrated that they are attuned to what ordinary Bajans are thinking and importantly have a general idea where we need to go as a country.
wunna know what food security is though?
David of BU;
Thanks.
Very Interesting to know that; The main effect of Judicial Management is to place a moratorium on debt payments
http://www.deloitte.com/view/en_SG/sg/services/financial-advisory/reorganisation-services/business-recovery-services/judicial-management/index.htm
The judicial management regime provides corporations with statutory moratorium against legal suits from creditors, while the judicial manager assesses the business position and then generates a strategy on the best way forward. The judicial manager will assume the role of management and controls the day-to-day operations of the business.
Could tek fa’ evah … While de grass growing de horse starving …
Who is going to attack St Kitt’s PM for saying in today’s Sunday Sun that Leroy Parris is his friend? Only person that the Nation Newspaper and all the BLP writers could attack is our PM. All Dems should stop buying the Nation and as for T t hat VOB radio that cannot play in my house no more, just imagine BLP news is more important for them before any Government news, they broadcast that Dennis Kellman is now the appointed minister and all like today the man is still acting.they also broadcast that the PM was to address the nation, and that he is to reshuffle his cabinet, how on earth could any person think that with the estimates coming up, would any right thinking person think about reshuffling?Stop spreading the rumours the people of Barbados are following what is going on around the world and know that we still have it good, just the other day a woman told me her friend sister has been sending US $1500.00 each month for the last nine months to her sister to help her out with mortgage ,car payments, and food so that the sister who lives here ensures that her son who is down there studying have some where to live and when she visits she has a place to stay, this is two years now that the sister lost her job and cannot find one, we have a lot to thank God for,but yet we murmur and complain all the time,what does little Barbados have? we don’t have nothing, all we have is ourselves and today oil prices gone to US $101 a barrel so before the week out iol prices gone up again, what we need to do is to live more closer to God and the Nation newspaper and VOB turn to God instead of the BLP. GO AND GIVE ALL OF YOUR LIVES TO JESUS CHRIST NOW!
Rose stfu!! stupse
@rose
I think you missed the important line in the discussion.
“Well if Parris is doing that and people think the timing is wrong , he is going to pay the necessary (price) for that.”
so the st kitt pm is showing that he understand if people think it utter nonsense if parris is sueing clico at this moment, even if he his friend the move will be viewed as unpopular. Our pm showed no solace with shareholders which the st kitts one did. the situation is different.
Leroy Parris certainly knew how to win friends and influence people. Everybody said this man is an idiot and has limited command of the English language but the man is not stupid. He used the power he “had” to win friends and influence people who had more book knowledge than himself and outfoxed them all, including the late “great” David Thompson. He died too fast, he should be alive to face this music.
I found Denzil Douglas contradicted himself in that interview badly. At one point he said that he does not see Parris as the owner of the company but to each question following that statement, he refers to “his company” meaning Parris’ company. Through his, Douglas’ friendship with Parris, he took up millions of the St Kitts’ social security funds and put in CLICO. Parris does not care about their friendship or if he and St Kitts get back their money, Parris wants his. Dog!
A friend of mine took his early retirement package and invested most in British American and now has not received a cheque from them in over a year, good thing he had the sense to put some in a bank and this is what he has been living off of. And Leroy Parris living large and in charge. How he sleeps at night is beyond me.
Patrick Hoyos article in yesterday’s Sun is good reading.
This government promised the gullible electorate during the last election that 40% of all government work and procurement would go to small and medium sized enterprises.
Would you believe that this government, in fact Michael Lashley is giving all the building jobs to Jada? I could not believe my eyes this morning when I saw Jada again digging out in Valery, Brittons Hill to start building a few houses which some small contractors could easily do since most of them are catching their royals right now with no work to do.
My goodness, does this government have a heart? Do they care about small contractors? Or they feel that by giving free bus fares and free summer camps that this is all the people want?
I do not understand how the people of Barbados are so easily fooledby the DLP all the time that they are for the small man and the BLP is about big business. I hope the people of Barbados wake up now and see what two faced deceivers this DLP is!
Prodigal Son ..
you by any chance know who doing the legal work for Jada ?
No, please tell me.
I consider this CLICO issue as nothing but a storm in a tea cup.
This government has promised that all policy holders are guaranteed their principle investments in CLICO will be honoured.Why all the fuss?
This CLICO issue will never be a major political issue in the upcoming general elections.It is an issue that the majority of “ordinary Barbadians” is not that interest in.Many average Barbadians do not care about the troubles in CLICO Insurance.In fact many Barbadians viewed insurance as a “rip off” industry that has fleeced and continue to fleece Barbadians out of their hard earned money.
This government has not contributed to the troubles in CLICO Insurance and I see no reason why heat should be put on the government to come up with measures to save CLICO.I believe once the policy holders are guaranteed to get their principle investments in the company back,I think that will satisfy those policy holders.I know and I can appreciate the financial burden that will be put on the economy of Barbados when the government has to deal with those returns,but I do not think it will be that severe to cause any significant damage to our economy.
This CLICO issue is a non-political issue that very few Barbadians worry about.The opponents of this government please look for real issues affecting this country to highlight so that we could have meaningful dialogue on those issues.Stop nit-picking at trivia.
David & BU,I read recently in a Bahamas Newspaper that China is building a massive hotel in The Bahamas and that China wanted to contribute over 8,000.00 workers or about 75% of the workforce on that project.Well,well,well.
Our new masters are at our door.
Prodigal Son
Bajans can now be easily fooled simply because they are catching at any lifeline they can find, the BLP failed them, now the DLP is doing the same. Until some NEW PARTY is formed among persons who have the welfare of Barbados and barbadians at heart, we would continue to slide and we seem to be picking up speed.
Negroman
Good to hear from you, hope everything is O.K with you. On a serious note though, you accuse me of being bias towards the BLP but I say it as I see it, but for sure your bias is so strong towards the DLP that you can really say the CLico issue is a storm in a teacup? Well if that is so, that teacup is a VERY big one. PLEASE take the DLP specs off your eyes, I know you can see better than that without them
@Negro man
Storm in a teacup! you sound just as ridiculous as the PM with his outlandish defense of Parris. People lost their savings and livelihood! When you people gonna get it! This problem needs to be resolved like “yesterday.” As far as the BLP they have their own dirty laundry but that is not going to stop them from dragging the Clico issue for all it is worth . It is high time to get this matter out ou of the way before election comes around
@Negroman
Are you a jackass, a storm in a teacup? Wait are you Stuart in disguise? if so apologies Mr. PM. Did Parris or perhaps Thompson walk away with their principal or they got their interest. If you had 300,000 or 100,000 invested with Clico to grow your money so you would have sufficent to live on in retirement, would you be satisfied that you will get back 25,000 up front and have to wait 12 years for the remainder. Am I missing something here or you? if your policy matured last year, this year or will mature next year how happy will you be with knowing that Parris suing to get 10m after getting 3.5m before you get yours? I wonder how much David got?
Not an election issue. Jack, 40,000 persons have policies with Clico, the politicians call them greedy and should be grateful; tell them they creating a frnezy and should shut up. And drinking champage with the friends; lied to, questions dodged; Son I can’ wait to put my x and fix those dogs.
BAJAN TRUTH
Don’t try to fool people, you have never voted for the DLP in your life.
NEGROMAN
“In fact many Barbadians viewed insurance as a “rip off” industry”
A few years ago a friend of built a house and I asked her if it is insured. “Insured, you crazy, all insurance companies do , is take your money and you get nothing for it, when something happen they try their best not to pay you”, up to this day she has not insured her house.
I have many friends that the only thing that they have insured is their cars because it is required by law if you want to drive them on the roads. The majority of Bajans don’t trust insurance companies.
@Prodigal Son
You could have easily have recommended Harry Russell’s column as well.
CCC
You are one of the biggest jackasses I’ve ever communicated with, anyone who would encourage someone else not to insure their house is a TOTAL idiot. I think it should be compulsory that houses in Barbados be insured, after the little storm we had last year the Barbados government had to spend millions of dollars to assist uninsured house owners; the insured persons were able to claim from their insurance. What if we are hit by a cat 1 or 2 hurricane, can this government repair or rebuild all those damaged houses? I knew you were stupid but I thought you were just playing devil’s advocate, now I know you’re even too stupid to be a devil. I hope Negroman don’t agree with you or I might have to think differntly about him too.
SCOUT
Engage your brain before putting your mouth in drive. I know that you old and can’t see very well but re-read the comment.
It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!
Negroman; With respect.
I think you’ve missed the essential points in the matter.
The important thing, in my estimation, is not that an arguably small portion of the electorate has been directly affected by the CLICO debacle but that David Thompson and Stuart and Sinckler can be seen clearly and directly as giving unwonted comfort to the big-up CLICO executive, Parris, and appear to be much more interested in his personal welfare than in that of the 40,000 or so persons who have been estimated to have had direct hits on their pensions or other investments with CLICO and the other 40,000 or so who would have suffered indirectly. Since the sums are significant to the individuals directly or indirectly affected it can clearly be made a serious election issue by the opposition.
But the important political aspect of the whole story is what it tells us about the ineptness and other negative attributes of the DLP government.
There are legion seeming infelicities surrounding the CLICO story, eg. the apparent effort of the Government to avoid Judicial Management until the bitter end; David Thompson going around the Caribbean from early in the story and apparently taking on CLICO’s debts for the public of barbados in an economic environment that was already horrific for government finances; The termination of the Oversight committee and leaving nothing in its place for nearly a year thereby allowing the company to get away with serious infelicities, perhaps including paying Parris 3.5 million dollars, apparently against the earlier agreement with the Oversight committee; the fact that David Thompson, on his very sick bed when he was incapable of doing any other business for Barbados, tortuously chaired what turned out to be his last Cabinet meeting that worked out a solution of the CLICO crisis that has not yet reached the light of day (except through an early leak on Barbados Today); The fact that the DLP government, to a man, raised not one dissenting voice to all these seeming infelicities.
The list can go on and on. It would therefore be a most inept opposition that would not ensure that everything around CLICO is teased out, dissected and discussed at every gathering in Barbados whenever an election is called and that discussion is almost certain to give reasonable people second thoughts (if such is needed) about their current government, especially when it comes on top of the many clear instances of missteps made in the management of the economy by this Government.
What “storm in a teacup” what?
“It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!”
CCC it also take a very special breed of a bow wow like you to be a DLP supporter! A pit bull like you should know!
OFFTOPIC
Yet another former teacher of Louis Lynch School on White Park road has died of Cancer.
Checkit-out
How do you know that Parris was paid 3.5 million?
@CCC
The writ states that he was paid 3.5 million in jan 2009.
CCC
My intellegence has told me not to go down to the LOW level you’re at to debate you. I heard the last time you attend the doctor, he gave you a C.A.T. scan because of your constant headaches and he found that there was nothing between your ears, just a empty space. CCC I wouldn’t have had to give you a C.A.T. scan to realise that you have no brain. Let me pay for the op for you to get a brain inplant, I’ll donate a rat brain so that you can run right into a cat’s mouth.
SCOUT
You are so corny.
anthony
you saw the writ?
Prodigal Son
Call and ask them nah… 439-9242
@CCC
As the nation hasn’t been sued or been force to make a retraction i think it is true don’t u ?
anthony
The nation also said two weeks ago that a bushmaster was an AK 47.
3.5 Million … Jesus H Christo
No the police reported it as a ak 47. please get your facts right just as it is 3.5 million stated on the court documents.
anthony
Ok, so your nation just publishes whatever is given to it without checking.
actually the police correctly identified it. It it highly modified ak 47.
http://m.barbadostoday.bb/bbt/db_258712/contentdetail.htm;jsessionid=7B2BD7CA86B71AEC59B6800CE36DE7FC?contentguid=nY8j0uHP&detailindex=2&pn=2&ps=10
http://thearmslocker.net/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2_5&products_id=18&zenid=rlj23hn1to0alj5prtjqv1b2t3
anthony
who provided the nation with those photo shopped “court documents”?
Was it you, as you knew that they don’t check anything, they just print whatever is given to them?
anthony
I was just about to write that the Police would not not make such an infantile mistake.
No ccc you just getting shutdown on every point. first it was bushmaster not it police got it right. try to stick to one story
anthony
here is another “accurate” piece of information from the the nation:-
“The sophisticated radiance class cruise ship Jewel of the Seas made its inaugural visit to the Bridgetown Port today docked with approximately 21 000 guests and 850 crew”
You see the misinformation yet?
lol ccc your just mad you can’t get a decent point . You miserable on an extra 0. 3.5 million was written in word
anthony
Your “reliable” nation said that it was an AK 47 not the police. They would not make such a mistake. Don’t get tie up.
Anyway as you know better than most, the nation is wrong with monotonous regularity.
@CCC
Your just showing the desperation the dlp wanting the parris matter hushed up
anthony
you have not answered my question yet.
Do you see the misinformation in the paragraph I quoted?
anthony
Let me put you out of your misery, the nation article stated that:-
“The sophisticated radiance class cruise ship Jewel of the Seas……………….docked with approximately 21 000 guests and 850 crew”
The Jewel of the Seas which was built in 2004 has a Passenger capacity of, wait for it, 2,501 passengers.
Yet the nation stated as FACT that if docked in the Bridgrtown port “with approximately 21 000 guests”.
How do you fit ” 21 000 guests” on a ship built to carry 2,501?
Oh, you nation newspaper is so accurate!
anthony
Another thing to note. No one challenged the nation, the “information” was accepted as FACT by almost all and sundry.
“As the nation hasn’t been sued or been force to make a retraction i think it is true don’t u ?”
CCC
The Late P.M David Thompson stated at the opening of parliament at the Oval that AS HE SPOKE, the P.M of Dominica was sitting there with him and the first shipment of fruit and vegetables would be arriving in Barbados within two months. This announcement was recieved with GREAT CHEERING. That shipment has not yet arrived and no-one sued the .M. Why should someone sue the Nation for a simple misprint? I must admit though that there are too many in that newspaper, like there are too many mis- announcements by this government.
@CCC
Your argue for misinformation. If wasn’t true parris lawyer would be uprage and chastizing them. to compare that to simple typographicall error is hilarious. Just admit it you lost all your marbles now.
Negroman writes….” This government has not contributed to the troubles in CLICO Insurance and I see no reason why heat should be put on the government to come up with measures to save CLICO.I believe once the policy holders are guaranteed to get their principle investments in the company back,I think that will satisfy those policy holders”
Are you for real?
Dont you know that the DLP had MILLIONS of CLICO’s policyholders money during the last general election and millions more before that. Did you think it was Leroy Parris’ money? He seemed to believe that the policyholders money was his. The corporate jet that Parris and Thompson jetted around the world with was financed out of CLICO’s policyholders money not Thompson’s or Parris’ money. They raped that company. Thompson by way of the massive legal fees and money Parris gave him to put in FAMILIES FIRST account and now Parris wants more to finished off the company.
No wonder the Dems have to stick with Parris.
Policyholders, rise up.
Scout,
I agree with you, David Thompson knew (or if he he did not know then he was more fluff than I realised) that you cannot import fruit or flowers out of Dominica because of a dangerous fruit insect. As he was announcing that to the blind DLP supporters that day, I said this man is lying to the people, how can he not know that you cannot import fruit from Dominica just so?
This was a Hartley Henry scam as you know he, Thompson and Skerritt are good friends. It was also to fool their blind followers that they were on the job from day one. Remember that the DLP had all the answers and they were going to bring down the cost of living.
I hope the people of Barbados have awoken out of their sleep and have seen the DLP for what they are…a DAMN LYING PARTY.
We may not like the BLP all the time but they do deliver to the people of Barbados and sadly enough no third party seem to survive here. I had hoped that the NDP would have survived but alas, that too failed.
I was most disturbed while reading the Business Authority that Mr Horace Cobham was talking about the banks having so many delinquent loans. I have noticed many houses being sold out in Sunday’s Sun.
Signs of 1991 again.
Brother Scout, greetings,I am an unapologetic supporter of the Democratic Labour Party and as a consequence, my bias for the party will be apparent.However when I see it fit to criticize the Parry,I will do so with out any fear.
CLICO is a Trinidad owned company.Trinidad had a general election last year and CLICO was not a mayor political issue in that election.CLICO has subsidaries in many other Caribbean countries including Guyana.There is pending presidential elections in Guyana later this year and the CLICO issue is not going to be a major political issue in those elections.Right here in Barbados there was a bye-election a few months ago and the CLICO issue did not came up as a significant issue in that election.
I will maintained the CLICO issue is a storm in a tea cup that this government will address & resolve in an amicable way to the satisfaction of all concern.
anthony
As I said before It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!
You have my permission to continue to embrace FANTASY and oppose to TRUTH.
PRODIGAL SON
“the DLP had MILLIONS of CLICO’s policyholders money”
How do you know that? ………………and don’t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.
@ Negroman
What the DLP has to do for you to criticise them? Answer a few questions, did or did not the gov’t of Trinidad take swift action against Cilco, had it iunder JM in short order? Did or did not the Guyana gov’t take swift action in putting Clico under judicial management. So why should it be an elction issue. Did Bissessar defend Duprey and drink champagne with him> Did Manning defend him as his friend, lied and dragged his heels in dealing with them? While dealing with them efficiently does not help you win an election, handling them as badly as this gov’t has, lying to the people and protecting your friend will cause you to lose it.
@ Anthony
It must be tiresome to trade punches with an incoherent moron like Carson. He has taken issue with printing mistakes that were made by the Nation newspaper. So what?
March 12, 2011 at 10:29 AM
“I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.”
March 21, 2011 at 7:51 PM
“The majority of Bajans don’t trust insurance companies.”
Is Carson saying that he does not trust insurance companies as well, and his previous statement about him having money in CLICO is indeed untrue?
Incoherence at its best.
CCC
Don’t be an ass, when Clico made contributions to political parties whose money you think they were spending. That ain what Thompson meant when he spoke in Parliament about contribution ot BLP.
JOSQUIN
Lord have mercy.
I must repeat: As I said before It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!
I will tell you what I have told SCOUT.
“Engage your brain before putting your mouth in drive.”
I am going to have to get a series of cookie cutter answers for you Barbados Labour Party people. It is quite tiring pointing out the obvious to you.
Re-read the comment again, SIR.
BAJAN TRUTH
Good lord. You too!
I hear that Organ transplants are being touted in Barbados. As Soon as they start I will recommend that all Barbados Labour Party supporters get Brain transplants. That is the only way to cure their blatant folly.
I will have to take out one of my cookie cutter questions for you. I will start with you.
“How do you know that? ………………and don’t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.”
CCC is as annoying as the man they call Mr P on Brasstacks. Even Dems say he is annoying and they hate to hear him. The only difference with Mr P and CCC is that Mr P will on some rare occasion criticize the DLP, like today. But for CCC, the DLP is always right and has never done anything wrong even when all the facts indicate that the Dems lied through their teeth to win the last elections and now cannot get the country manage.
It is useless engaging CCC, he does not deal in facts or reality, only what he believes.
@islandgal246 | March 21, 2011 at 9:44 PM | “It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!”
“CCC it also take a very special breed of a bow wow like you to be a DLP supporter! A pit bull like you should know!”
Island Girl 246, you have given Carson a most undeserved pedigree. Carson in no measure could be classified as a Pit Bull! Can’t you see that this brain-dead moron, is worst than a starving salmon tot retriever. Please call the RSPCA and compassionately ask them to put Carson out of his misery. Mr. Wayne Norville … uh beg yuh …. send the dog-catcher van for Carson quick … and besides he might even be rabid. a real danger to society!
Bajan Truth,
You are so right.
Trinidad, upon Lawrence Duprey coming to the government with cap in hand, took decisive action and placed CLICO under judicial management. The Trinidad government began forensic audits of the companies, halted all the power of Lawrence Duprey even though he protested and went to court even.
The Bahamian government took immediate action and liquidated the company.
Guyana took immediate action also and people got back their principal deposits. I have a relative there who got back their deposit.
Barbados under David Thompson, dilly-dallied because Leroy Parris was his friend. David Thompson assured Barbadians on the Friday night after the collapse was made known earlier in the day that CLICO Barbados was separate from Trinidad and that the company was well managed. On the Saturday morning following this assurance, he took $10 MILLION dollars of taxpayers money and gave it to a well managed company without even going to Parliament for permission.
When Mia Mottley started to whip up things and alert the public on what was going on, David Thompson tried to appease the public by appointing an Oversight Committee, knowing full well he had no plans to implement any of the recommendations or to extend its life.
But the grim reaper took him away.
I maintain that all the monies still in FAMILIIES FIRST account should be handed back to CLICO to pay some poor person like the 80 year old man who the agent ran down to invest his money in CLICO and who now has to hide from the bailiffs because he cannot get a cent out of CLICO. Poor man, he will soon die of stress, this cannot be easy for him at 80 years old.
But in the mean time, corrupt officials still in CLICO still find it possible to allow Leroy Parris to come back on the board (as if he ever left) and gave him 3.5 million dollars and three payments of $30,000.00. Who are these Trinidad persons on the board? Are they lackies of Lawrence Duprey?
Jeffrey Brewster and Terrance Thornhill also have to be held accountable as well. They have profited largely too from the policyholders’ monies. They were Leroy Parris’ accomplices, they are the educated ones in CLICO and received large salaries and bonuses as well.
Do you think that had this happened to a company to with Bees had a close connection that the Dems would not have made heyday of the situation? The Dems are good at opposition politics, I give them that.
PRODIGAL SON
You still have not answered my question.
“the DLP had MILLIONS of CLICO’s policyholders money”
How do you know that? ………………and don’t tell me you saw it in the nation, that does not count.
CCC
You got the guts to tell someone they need a brain transplant, even for someone to gey a brain transplant means there was or is one there, poor thing, in your case there is nothing to transplant, there is just a big hollow space between your ears. I told you that before, but I forgot you were too dumb even to understand that, you’re worse than I though. To say you are brain dead would be paying you a compliment.
Negroman @10.31A.M
I agree with your first paragraph, I too am in a similar vein, but this new DLP has fallen FAR from what the original or old DLP stood for; I have lost faith in this party that I would have become a martyr for, and that hurts me. The old DLP had a man just like Parris, who Barrow cut loose after he lied and stole his way to great riches, yes, Barrow empathised with him, I saw him almost cried but in the interest of the party and this country, he disassociate hinself from him, the difference is that Barrow dids not allow himself to be the creature of anyone. I’ll continue to say, only if there was twenty-four hours more of Errol Barrow.
Negroman
This cannot be a storm in a teacup issue, the late P.M was too involved and I was somewhat concerned during the last elections where the money for both parties came from. The DLP didn’t have to play into Parris’ hand to win that elections, or maybe, they were too involved already. There are too many policyholders suffering, while Parris and Co. are living LARGE. What we have heard so far is just the tip of the iceberg, there is a lot more to come out and many persons will hang their heads in shame. There wasn’t much talk about the Clico issue in the last elections because that was a by-elections, like a true distance runner, the BLP is keeping a lot of information for the sprint home at the finish at the finals. I have said before , he who laughs last laughs best and the DLP is giving the B’s a chance to laugh at them too close to elections; it took them over fifteen years to regroup and this time it is going to take longer, this country can’t take another three terms of the BLP, WE NEED A NEW PARTY, dedicated to the upliftment of Barbados and not themselves.
Truthman Burton
I second calling the RSPCA for that rabid Carson Cadogan. I have never come across such a pompous assinine individual. He is such an idiot who likes to let everyone know that his family are university educated and that he has money to loose in CLICO and that doesn’t bother him. He is a DLP stooge. The day may come when he may be on the bread line and we will see if he will still feel the same way about CLICO and his money. What an ass#%le!
correction….. lose
I think we need to take collection for ccc to get a ct scan for his brain something is obviously wrong in it. One cannot be this foolish without brain damage. Normal dlp do understand that what parris has done is ludicrous. That support for him will kill the party. ccc of course way beyond the normal dlp support he is the alpha supporter. they can do no wrong in his eyes. lol
as for the case in trinidad. while the bailout for clico could be massive they have the oil reserves they can count on and failing that the country heritage & stabilization fund. we have no such luck of any massive oil reserves here. the added burden of extra debt with put government services at further strain.
anthony
Your head hard? you giving CCC a lot of credit, the man can’t have a brain transplant because there is no brain to transplant, there is just a empty space between his ears.
YOU ALL STILL NOT ANSWERING MY QUESTION.
Why is this so difficult to do?
That is the same attitude the Barbados Labour Party took with the DLP when they were in office. They refused to answer Parliamentary questions and now out of office you are continuing in the same vein.
Carson it you who don’t like the answer and keep asking the same question over and over. How about this. Go and prove us and nation wrong. Go to court registry and ask for the writ. I sure you find out some interesting things that Thompson witnessed in it.
anthony
What is needed is a proper answer.
@ccc
what is need is you showing us we are wrong since your not understanding our answers
@Prodigal Son,
unfortunately it seems that it is one particular bank that is selling off these houses more than the others.
@ Island Gal, et al
Carson is like a man on a ship that sinking, the water coming over the hull filling up the ship and Carson still saying it can’t sink. A fool has no delight in understanding.
Somebody told me a joke about something Arthur said at a political meeting sometime ago. They said that Arthur said of Kellman that if his head was an apartment for rent, it would have to be rented unfurnished. Roflllll. That exactly describes Carson.
to ac- you seem to be speaking in riddles and as a result giving ccc a measure of comfort he does not deserve. ccc is a purblind partisan political jackass who should bury his head in shame rather than trying unsuccessfully to defend a party illequipped to run a shop far less a government.the blp was thrown out because of allegations of corruption successfully sold to the country by the dlp; but at least they seemed to know how to run a govt. let him speak of the corruption we are seeing before our eyes now with the clico debacle, the honest thompson signature and all and the operations of the families first account. what goes around, comes around.speak or ccc or forever after hold your peace.
Ruth i was not speaking to ccc. In part there was a hidden message for the Blp. I do like the way CCC is able to take an issue and comfortably spin it in what ever direction he sees fit while others followed. He is being himself whether we like it or not.
I can not say it enough,
It takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter! (cookie cutter statement)
There is nothing too bad, to UNTRUE for Barbados Labour Party members and supporters.
First they were saying that Barbados is seeing a big reduction in visitor arrivals. When the statistics were realeased, what was the TRUTH? Extremely good visitor arrivals. Another BIGG LIE of the Barbados Labour Party exposed for all the World to see.
They followed that LIE with another LIE in order to remove the egg from off their faces. The Govt. is paying the Brazillian Airline to bring Tourists here the Barbados Labour Party said from the floor of the House last week. LIE, yuh hear LIE that is LIE from the CORRUPT Barbados Labour Party.
ANOTHER LIE which was exposed today by the Hon. Richard Sealy.
The Barbados Labour Party is so desperate it is unbelieveable.
During the Estimates, Ronald Toppin gave facts and figures on every flight by GOL to Barbados.
The DLP members jeered him but could not refute the facts.
Richard Sealy comes on DLP TV tonight to refute the charges but brought no facts. What kind of clown is he? If you are refuting charges, you HAVE to produce figures and facts to contradict what Toppin said not only saying you refuting charges and that what Toppin and Kerry said is wrong.
Tell the people if the government pays GOL one dollar, two dollars or three dollars but you cannot say they are wrong when they produce evidence out of Sealy’s ministry with the facts and figures.
Sealy also needs to tell the people of Barbados too how much the government is paying JET BLUE and American Airlines for that flight out of Dallas.I have a contact in that ministry who confirms that government is paying GOL, JET BLUE and American Airlines. Lies, lies and damned lies.
And only another idiot like you would believe Sealy.
There is a simplicity in CCC to be found in most DLP supporters, and at toxic levels in parts of the country. A statement with no claim of evidence with no foundation in fact is readily accepted. Even when actions do not match words the depth of the political ignorance of some Dems is that the words are indeed fact despite the truth of their reality. We building a society not an economy. The paper today makes interesting reading on the hypocritical position of this gov’t that when it comes to the critical things, the society is not their priority.
My Biggest disappointment with Seally is that he is an engineer and not one of the regular members of the Jackass community… Now how do you refer to the likes of Seally (and Boyce for that matter)?
RIGHT ON CUE.
Laurel(Prodigal Son)and Hardy(Bajan truth) in a their mad rush to convert TRUTH into FANTASY.
There is something to be said for people who can’t stand the TRUTH. It is not pretty.
Maybe we should start an ignore ccc policy since he can’t seem to understand that he so far gone that there seems to be no help. Who say agree say aye.
to ac- this is supposedly a serious forum of enlightenment. what is there to like about a contributor spinning comment to suit himself? it is true that one does have the right to express thire views but that does not mean it is a license to misinform.
anthony,
Agree, sometime ago I felt that we should totally ignore him but the man blogs so much rubbish that it annoys like hell. But ignore him, I will. He will then disappear and let serious discussion continue.
Even Mr P a diehard DLP supporter today on Brasstacks condemned what is going on in CLICO. He wanted to know how one man could get 3.5 million dollars and small people begging for theirs cannot get a cent.
I have said already that Leroy Parris, Jeffrey Brewster and Terrance Thornhill need to be held accountable for the CLICO mess, they were Leroy Parris lieutenants, they are the educated ones. At some point, they should have stood up to the uneducated Parris and refused to sign the cheques plundering CLICO. Phony Marshall was on this board, he likes to tell callers… tell the peple of Barbados… I would like him to tell the policyholders what he did to stop Parris from raping the company. To resign when the shit hit the fan is not enough.
Who allowed Parris back on the board, did he ever leave? Do these Trinidadians have any right to be on the board in Barbados? These questions need answers. This government will pay dearly for their complicity with Leroy Parris. Maybe he has too much dirt on them , no wonder they have to stick with him…he is not a leper, Fumble says.
He has been dithering and fumbling since Thompson took sick and this is the first time he did not fumble but defend his friend.
PRODIGAL SON
The Barbados Labour Party has been wrong on so many issues that it is difficult to take them seriously.
Hence people like you need to come on this blog to try and mislead others into believing that a 6 is a 9. You are so afraid that electorate will continue to see The Barbados Labour Party for what they are. A party of GANGSTERS whose only interest is to return to office and resume the plunder of the Barbados Treasury.
LIE after LIE after LIE. One LIE to cover the proceeding LIE is the method of choice of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party.
The Govt. continues to exposed these LIES on a basis that is really becoming quite monotonous. Hence the desperation of PRODIGAL SON and the like minded. As I have said many times, THE BLIND LEADING THE BLIND.
The Hon. Richard Sealy is the latest Minister to poke holes in another Barbados Labour Party LIE.
Let us wait and see what new LIE the Barbados Labour Party will come up with to cover the LIE about GOL Airline.
@CCC: “The Barbados Labour Party has been wrong on so many issues that it is difficult to take them seriously.
Could you (or anyone) update us all as to the status of the promised Freedom of Information Act and the Integrity Legislation?
mr stuart might have inadvertently put his foot in his mouth to his own detriment; but the clico problem is not of his making but of his much loved revered squeaky clean predecessor. i suspect the sudden tendency to use mr stuart’s gaffe to fling the wrondoing on his doorstep is to deflect blame and crticism away from mr thompson who signed away millions of policy holders’ savings to mr parris in the most adverse of circumstances.
@ruth arnetta: “…the sudden tendency to use mr stuart’s gaffe to fling the wrondoing on his doorstep is to deflect blame and crticism away from mr thompson who signed away millions of policy holders’ savings to mr parris in the most adverse of circumstances.
And, let us please not forget that the Right Honorable David Thompson (Ret.) spent a great deal of time on CLICO’s jet — both before and after his illness.
May he rest in piece….
Carson C Cadogan… you are in the wrong job…you should be the official spokesperson for the DLP. In fact you should also be their official yarn weaver, so far you have woven thousands of miles of pure yarn for them. keep it up and the next election will show how much your yarn is worth. Stuuuuuuupse
Scoutie….. I agree that we need a third party badly, but it seem that many are afraid of taking on the two parties. It seems that instead of putting Families first the government should PUT BARBADOS FIRST!
To Mr PM….. when you lie with dogs you will get fleas and when you show us your friends and it will show us who you really are. Remember WE the PEOPLE elected your government to work on our behalf, not on the behalf of your friends.
YOU ALL BETTER CEASE AND DESIST TROUBLING LEROY NOW….I NOT STANDING FOR THIS NONSENSE ANY LONGER…I MADE MONEY WITH HIM AS HIS LAWYER AND HE IS MY PAL…NOT A A LEPER….AND WE MADE HIM CHAIRMAN OF CBC TOO…SO STICK THAT IN YOUR PIPE!!!
NOW CALL OFF YOUR CANINES OR I’LL LOOSE MINE….DOC GLOCK ESTWICK WITH HIS PIECE….
now where is my security detail to take me back to Ilaro court?
@ruth arnette.
It is ccc right to free Speech whether we agree with what he says or not. Enlightenment only comes about when we are free to agree or disagree with each other. Unfortunately most people sees “enlightenment ” only when others agree with their point of view. Whatever information or misinformation he gives can only be corrected by discussion. Arguably his comments are presented in a way to support the party of his choice and in his defense i will say that he takes an issue and move the goal post forward and others to follow.
to ac- that is your opinionn however skewed it is. to enlighten, one must be logical and sensible in argument and debate.
to christopher halsall- i was not aware of his incursions on the jet of clico; i thought it was the jet of SOl of whom it is reported to be receiving payback for campaign contributions to mr thompson’s coffers by way of the annoying fluctuations in petroleum prices to the disadvantage of the consumer.
HA HA HA HA ….. Murdah …. HA AHA AH ahum…
FS …
… Yah gun kill mah HA HA HA AHA HA HA HAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
AC
I never in my life been afraid to be the lone voice.
On this blog I am the person maintaining sanity. The people of Barbados must be protected from these Barbados Labour Party revisonists.
I know that I am right, these jokers are just hanging onto FANTASY. I am on the side of TRUTH.
There is an old Jewish saying:
If everyone pulled in the same direction, the World would keel over.
The Corrupt Barbados Labour Party members and supporters on this blog are all perplexed.
How is it we can all hang onto to every LIE and FALSEHOOD emanating from the lips of Owen”seethru”Arthur and the other Gang of 5 and accept it as GOSPEL and Carson C. Cadogan does not? Why can’t he be more like us and drink every drop of VERBAL SEWAGE being dispensed by the Barbdos Labor Party ?
If he had any sense like us he would accept that white is Black and left is right and LIE is Truth. After all we are so “intelligent!
Like us he ought to be in the forefront misleading the Bajan public so that the Barbados Labour Party can be returned to office and its members can get their greedy hands back into the Cookie jar.
What is the matter with this Guy?
Ruth,
The dead king used the CLICO jet until CLICO went bust. The two of them treated the officers at the jet centre with disrespect, would come in and throw their passports in the officers’ faces. When their wives were with them, they too said not even good day. How the mighty have fallen.
When the CLICO jet could not take to the skies anymore, the dead king tu rned to SOL’s jet and when he got sick, it was at his command. The plane used to bring him in at 2 am to avoid the public’s view. On the final time the SOL jet was summoned from Miami to bring the king home when he allegedly walked off, when the jet got to New York, it was sent back as the docs said the king could only go home on an air ambulance, hence the government had to pay up front for it, some US$88000.00. Not that I had a problem with that as he was PM.
But yes, SOL is being repaid by the illegal sale of diesel at the Transport board etc.
Eh,eh, I heard on DLPTV news tonight that the fraud Leroy Parris has resigned from the board of directors at CLICO. Omigosh, I am stunned. I wonder when he will be back on again through the back door when no one is watching.
@ac” annoying fluctuations in petroleum prices to the disadvantage of the consumer”
—-
What? No, the fluctuations are because the GOVERNMENT is not longer paying for the consumer to drive about burning foreign exchange.
Or put another way, the taxpayer is njo longer paying for other taxpayers to driver about, burning foreign exchange.
Consumers must pay economic value for the gas burned, especially in a time when both our fiscal deficit and foreign exchange are in deep doo-doo.
PRODIGAL SON
“But yes, SOL is being repaid by the illegal sale of diesel at the Transport board etc”
Another Barbados Labour Party LIE. Who started it? The BLP Arch DRUNKARD, “Seethru”.
How many times that man resign? Like a duppy that would not stay in the grave? He resign from CBC though? he will rise again.
Reading between the lines, it is not inconceivable that sometime in the future most of the underhanded dealings by David Thompson re. the CLICO affair and other matters will come to light in a way that cannot be denied nor spinned.
CCC and arguably Stuart, will be the only ones left on deck then. But even they might realise that it is hopeless defending the indefensible.
Leroy Parris is the key. He made DT and FS. His vanity and greed are likely to destroy their trumpeted accomplishments and memory in one case. Just consider what is the most likely reason for LP still being on the CBC board?
It might be in FS’ best interest to beg him to stop litigating as FS has no real power over LP. Events suggest that he, and much of the DLP hierarchy, are too compromised by past largesses and perhaps excesses to have any clout over the man.
Thank you all … Now I am fairly clear in my mind what the P in DLP stands for … thank you all, thank you..!
The pressure is on with the resignation of Parris from the CLICO board of directors. BU expects his resignation from the CBC board to follow.
Maybe clico lawyers informed him that he can’t sit on the same board who he is suing. And only then relinquish power yet again. Of course at the end of suit we will see parris back on the board unless the jm stop it.
@ david
I don’t think he will give it up. Are not the board position are suppose to be changed this year ? He will simply not be given it back with the explanation that it hand nothing to do with clico or the suit, that just wish for “Fresh” new management to have a chance.
@Checkitout
Reading between the lines, it is not inconceivable that sometime in the future most of the underhanded dealings by David Thompson re. the CLICO affair and other matters will come to light in a way that cannot be denied nor spinned
Why limit it to Thompson and CLICO? We just went through an election where there was great perception and verbiage about corruption within the last Gov’t particularly with two deals which will cost the Bajan public directly and indirectly for several years
I wish that the details and origin of these deals would come to light, Thompson promised forensic audits etc. but it was a politician’s promise to a gullible public.
I wish, I wish… but as the old saying goes “if wishes were horses beggars would ride”
I will continue to say to the day that I die,
“t takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!”
Barbados Labour Party supporters have no shame at all. In the early days of Barbados Underground and Barbados Free Press, the members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party were strident in their efforts to close down both blogs. They used all methods at their disposal in an effort to discover the identities of the blog owners and commentators. Both blogs were considered as enemy number one of “Seethru’s” Govt. at the time. Mia Amor Mottley said that the blogs were undermining Parliament and must be controlled, Owen said that the blogs were unpatriotic. I spoke to a former BLP Minister and he said to me at the time that Bajan Blogs are not for sensible people. To this day the nation and Starcom avoid mentioning the names of the blogs like the Plague.
Now all of a sudden the blogs belong to the members and supporters of the Corrupt Barbados Labour Party. The very people who vainly sought to close them down in an attempt to keep the People of Barbados in total and complete darkness.
It was the blogs which were in the vanguard of enlightening the darkness of Bajans. People like me were there from the beginning.
The JOHNNY-COME-LATELIES such as:
BAJAN TRUTH
PRODIGAL SON
ISLANDGAL246
RUTH ARNETTA
TRUTHMAN BURTON
JOSQUIN
anthony
and the few other nincompoops were too busy PLUNDERING THE TREASURY.
In our efforts to stop them we prevailed.
All of a sudden they are here to save Barbados. Don’t make me laugh.
Now the blog owner DAVID is siding with these CROOKS. These are the same people if not for support from people like me probably would have succeeded in shutting him down.
JOHNNY-COME-LATELY Barbados Labour Party supporter RUTH ARNETTA is saying that the blog is a forum for enlightenment. you think, ruth? When did you discover this?
Captain your ship is sinking, Captain the seas are rough but I think it too late to undo the damage. If someone was to conduct a survey it would show how discontented the population feels about the ruling party and how helpless they feel about life in Barbados. The government has to do what is right and just and that is just not happening. There must be an investigation into CLICO here and the wider world.
Duprey in Miami has several companies within companies under Colonial Development Group, LLC one of them http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0OQD/is_1_8/ai_n11843195/?tag=content;col1
another is http://www.answers.com/topic/colonial-development-group-llc This is the DYL group http://www.thedylgroup.com/company.html
CLICO has many faces and I am sure there is a paper trail but who will have the gumption to take them on. A forensic audit should be a priority.
Carson you are a desperate crazy wild man shooting at every one and every thing. You are missing the whole point. You have labelled me a BLP supporter but I beg to differ. Like religion I do not support any one party. I can think for myself and will make decisions based on what I see in front of me, behind me and down the road.
Sargeant;
I might appear to be limiting it to the current administration for now because they had three years to do something about the perceived infelicities of the last BLP administration and so far have done zilch. They are the ones who are in the driver’s seat now. They are the ones in whose administration the CLICO sh*t hit the fan. They are the ones that are implicated by the revelations coming out of Parris’ lawsuit for his several millions from the CLICO enterprises not the BLP.
It is clear that people in the past BLP administration (read Owen Arthur here) took significant campaign funding from Parris and it may be possible that they looked the other way and committed some infelicities themselves. But the evidence so far suggests that the current administration is deep in the CLICO doodoo by itself.
I am suggesting in my post above that the likely coming revelations will show more about infelicitous dealings with CLICO by the current administration than the BLP one.
Where any revelations pinpoint the BLP, let the law deal with them or the individuals involved also. It will be interesting to see how the new CJ will handle this ball if it ever comes before him.
Slightly off topic but related to previous posts:
Parliamentary Secretary in the Prime Minister’s Office Senator Harry Husbands says Barbadians must get used to competing with international and regional workers for jobs on the island.
Speaking in the the Upper House as the Estimates Bill 2011 to 2012 was debated, Senator Husbands conceeded that his view may not be government policy, but he suggested that if the country wants to grow its International Business sector and the tourism industry, then the process of granting work permits has to be flexible.
@islandgal
CCC is beyond help. Let us just ignore him so he can a continue on ranting to himself . He can’t see truth in front his eye so until he does let ignore him all.
@CCC (March 24, 2011 at 9:15 AM): “I will continue to say to the day that I die, “t takes a special breed to be a Barbados Labour Party supporter!”
Please correct me if I’m wrong here CCC, but I don’t believe you answered my question about posted at March 23, 2011 at 12:58 PM.
Let me please repeat the question here and now so you don’t have to look it up:
Could you (or anyone) update us all as to the status of the promised Freedom of Information Act and the Integrity Legislation?
@CCC… News flash…
One does not have to be a BLP supporter or a DLP supporter, nor a Republican nor a Democrat, or a Communist nor an Socialist (or even a Christian nor a Buddhist)…
…to be fed up with the bovine excrement most of us face from most of our so called “leaders”.
I promise you this: We will keep asking the questions.
And we will keep track of when (and by whom) the questions are not answered.
chris
As I told already do your own research. I do mine.
That is the main reason that I can not be fooled the supporters and members of the Barbados Labour Party on this blog and it has them and you mad as hell.
@CCC: “As I told already do your own research. I do mine.
That’s funny…
Because, without a Freedom of Information Act (something promised by the Retired David Thompson to be delivered within 100 days of his election) I (and all others) can’t do our own research on serious matters.
We are all at the sufferance of who we know; who we’re related to; how much money we have; and those so connected — etc. It simply doesn’t scale for the People. (It is, however, very profitable for those few so very well connected.)
@CCC… For the record, I have no party affiliation.
I would simply like to see the politicians of Barbados keep their promises to their People.
(Or is that too much to ask, of both the BLP and the DLP???)
Chris
What is promised will be delivered.
@CCC: “What is promised will be delivered.
So, then, where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson to the People of Barbados (read: the electorate) within 100 days of his being made the Prime Minster of Barbados?
Chris
Please put on your glasses.
again:
What is promised will be delivered.
@CCC: “What is promised will be delivered.
Not according to most observers…
But then, maybe everyone is stupid, except for those few who have special connections and/or special beliefs….
Chris
………….will be delivered.
What tense is that?
@ CCC
Why is it that you so remind me of the guy who arrived at home in a real terrible state and told his wife that while he was on his way home he was the only driver going the correct way on the highway. All the others were going the wrong way. His wife calmly told him she was only just hearing on the evening news that there was this lunatic driving the wrong way against traffic on the highway and was hoping that it would not have been him. Time for you to go take your meds, CCC.
de hood
I will only say this once:
One can not be on the right way and be a member or supporter of the Barbados Labour Party at the same time.
@CCC: “……..will be delivered.
@CCC: “What tense is that?
That would be the future tense. Answer given.
On the other hand, I have now asked you the following at least four times. Might you answer?
Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson
chris
I was beginning to think that your glasses were in need of changing.
My answer:
What is promised will be delivered
“What is promised will be delivered”…… you all don’t have much time left Carson, you are such a cacca hole you are leaving a trail, look behind !
Ref to comment by enufff
Somebody please tell Parliamentary Secretary. Harry Husbands”Home Drum Beat First” and bajans not going to stand idlly by while the jobs are given to foreigners. Hell No!
@CCC”: “I was beginning to think that your glasses were in need of changing.
Excellent. So, now that we have established that my eyesight and my comprehension are nominal.
Let me please ask you et al for the fifth time:
Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson during the last election?
A reply of “What is promised will be delivered” isn’t an answer to this question, by the way.
It comes across a bit like “soon come; soon come…
Quoting Christopher Halsal “Where is the Freedom of Information Act promised by the Right Honorable David Thompson during the last election?”
Chris you won’t get it because David Thompson was NOT right and he was NOT honorable.
@Random Thoughts: “Chris you won’t get it because David Thompson was NOT right and he was NOT honorable.
But, but, but… He promised a FOIA.
Next you’re going to tell me that there isn’t actually a Santa Claus (or, should that read, clause?)….
chris
btw I really enjoying this, “What is promised will be delivered”
@CCC: “btw I really enjoying this…
I as well.
It’s healthy when adversaries are able to laugh with each other while fighting…
More should try it (IMHO)….
Chris
This really a pleasant way to pass the evening, don’t you think?
@CCC: “This really a pleasant way to pass the evening, don’t you think?
I’m wearing a T-Shirt and jogging pants?
What are you wearing?
T shirt and jeans. watching a bit of food network.
Good game ccc. Ch should have known better! What de hell
AC
Chris and I have crossed paths before and sometimes we agree to disagree until the next time.
@CCC: “watching a bit of food network
Oh… Can you cook?
Of course. Better than most people that I know.
Anyway I have to go now. Long day ahead of me tomorrow.
Plus I have to be fresh and ready to tackle any new LIES from the Barbados Labour Party.
You know how they are, not to be trusted further than you can spit.
@CCC: “You know how they are, not to be trusted further than you can spit.
Take care, Big Bajan Boy (BBB)…
(It was good for me; was it good for you?)
As we all know, No One is to be trusted; at the end of the day….
What you all think made Parris’ resign? If a person has the cajones to decide he is not moving despite all that has gone before; the effrontery to accept a place back on the board after filing a lawsuit agianst said company; demand to be paid those obscene sums for bonus in the face of such a disaster? What made him go? Strange, very strange.
I dont think he really left. Saying he resigned was just a ploy to fool the policyholders that he was out of there. He was probally advised by the late “great” David Thompson. These people do not play by any standard accepted practices.
I would like to know who appointed that board in the first first. Who appointed the Trinidadian board members? Do you they have work permits or do they need work permits to sit on boards in Barbados? What type of renumeration packages are they receiving and are they paying taxes on the money paid to them?
This company does not play by any accepted business practices. Maybe Sinckler and finally told him look we defending you and you making us look bad by suing the company. Who knows with this DAMN LYING PARTY.
Can you imagine that CLICO is still retaining some agents who were close to Leroy Parris, although they cannot write any insurance and paying them as far as my sources tell me $12,000 per month and this is whlie policy holders cannot get a cent or no medical claims are being honoured.
Prodigal Son
You are prefectly correct about CLICO agents still being paid a monthly salary which is based on what they were earning when they were selling the EPA’s.
@Prodigal Son | March 25, 2011 at 9:49 AM |
“Can you imagine that CLICO is still retaining some agents who were close to Leroy Parris, although they cannot write any insurance and paying them as far as my sources tell me $12,000 per month and this is while policy holders cannot get a cent or no medical claims are being honoured.”
Pray tell Prodigal, how on earth could something like this be happening?
This toxic government, moving more slowly than the ubiquitous African Snails, but far more deadly, as they (the government) destroy the lives and spirit of the majority of Barbadians, deceitfully procrastinated in putting a Judicial Manager in place for CLICO, in the face of a wise, well-reasoned request over two years hence, to institute the appointment.
Who can now doubt that the apparently negotiated intention among FRIENDS and PALS, (Fumble’s description) was to allow time for the “The Man At The Hellum” to get back on to the Board to facilitate the continuation of rape and pillage, and finally to lay a greedy suit against “himself” for TEN MILLION DOLLARS.
Against himself, yes, for after all, he was still a Director of the company that he and his “very special friend” Duprey built! Imagine the imbecilic, asinine, bizarre scenario of a man practically suing himself! All without the slightest regard, no interest at all, for his suffering policy holders, who CAN’T get one single cent!
Top that off with a country’s Prime Minister, AS HE IS, non-performing and holding down a massively diminished dead-man’s portfolio, boldly declaring that he will not treat his “special friend” like he is a leper. What is this but Official tacit approval for wrong-doing?
The hearing re the appointment of a Judicial Manager has now been adjourned to May 2011 (more delay) and most likely there will be further delay as the company may very well file an appeal!
Oh what a sorry mess from a group who vociferously declared with illegal BILLBOARDS all over the country that: “WE ARE READY TO SERVE.” They actually meant: “VOTE DEMS … WE ARE READY TO SERVE OURSELVES.”
Hi David,
I see that you are censoring me. Why don’t you simply ban me? I would find some other way to denounce the nonsense that this Government and it’s supporters continue to perpetrate against suffering Barbadians.
Hi David,
Please accept my apologies. You did not censor me. Just a simple mistake on my part. I am neither hasty nor paranoi as the accusations will come … just a mistake.
Remember Owen Arthur was with him too…….he sold BNB to CL Finance.a Clico company. Also from 2006 Clico was seen to be heading for trouble and that government did nothing……..this really is not a government problem because Clico is a private company. Better yet Leroy better remember that lawyers and judges also have policies with Clico Life
to ac- if all countries held that myopic view , then the world would be in turmoil and all thse barbadians who were able to progres as aresult of breaching te immigration requirements of the usa and britain and canada would not have had the opportunity. what happened to jesus’s admonition to be your brothers’ keeper. the notion of home drum beating first might be noble but selfish.
@Ruth arnette
Countries like USA and Canada can afford to extend a welcome hand to immigrants because of its vast resources and and overwhelming need for workers, Barbads is a much more smaller and jobs here are not enough to suffice the local population. Comparing tiny island to those mega counties is ludicrous. They have more . Barbados has very little
Prodigal Son
When I made the claim that Clico were paying their agents at the rate they were getting when they were selling new policies David of BU dismiss my comment as incorrect. I had that information directly from Agents who told me they were going to ride it out until it is stopped. Some of these Agents were getting as much as $15,000 a month. One Agent even went to work at Sagicor and was still getting paid from CLICO.
Fair and Balance,
Isn’t this sad when policyholders cannot get 1% of that back. In today’s Sun, we read that Guyana has settled with the policyholders there and Trinidad is paying back some money. But what we have here…… the head of the ponzi scheme making another farce resignation. In fact people were lead to believe that he was no longer associated with company, only to find out he was still on the board making decisions.
The Supervisor of Insurance has to say if her hands were tied and why the department only filed for a judicial manager a few days ago when the thug for a minister said in November that a judicial manager was in place. The Speaker of the House even interrupted Dale Marshall during his contribution telling him the matter was sub justice and he cautioned him. Low and behold, they were lying.
If I had money in CLICO, I would be down there everyday until I got it ALL.
Just to change the conversation a bit though still dealing with the audacity of this government. I read on another thread that this government is going to create another constituency. I checked my sources and it is indeed in the pipe works as well as the introduction of hundred of thousand of new ID cards, more than the population of Barbados. Why?
Can you imagine a goverment that is facing a deficit of ONE BILLION DOLLARS this Financial year can even think about adding more stupid expenditure to the debt. Even if St Philip South is too big, so what? Also paying two Ministers of the Environment. I understand that Lowe sent people to NHC to get jobs and Kellman sent them back telling them that Lowe is not the Minister! LOL!
I agree with Appollo 13, they changed the law to accommodate one man to become CJ, change the law to accommodate this for now as the economy is in dire straits no matter what the lying Minister of Finance says.
They could make a decision on this quickly but not for the poor CLICO policyholders! Sorry bunch they are.
A DLP friend of mine told me that every time they get the government, there is some crisis and it makes it look as if they cannot manage the country. I had to let him know that the Sandi crisis was Sandi-made, it had nothing to do with a world crisis. Sheer arrogance and incompetence!
@ ac
“Ref to comment by enufff
Somebody please tell Parliamentary Secretary. Harry Husbands”Home Drum Beat First” and bajans not going to stand idlly by while the jobs are given to foreigners. Hell No!”
I agree with you. Tell Harry to fire the CEO of the QEH and the General Manager of CBC. Bajans could do dem jobs too.
I just returned home from Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre where the final twelve Constituency Councils were launched.
The feature address was given our Prime Minister The Hon. Freundel Stuart Q.C.
Empowering Communities for a better Barbados.
Now we see that in both Guyana and Trinidad people with EFPA’s are being paid by gov’t. How will this gov’t justify not compensating these people, especially as the regulatory system failed the people. Also what about the institutions that they wish to exlcude, these are instituions that have real people who can ill afford to lose their money, such as BARP, NIS, and company pension funds etc.
@ CCC
Constituency councils are not empowering communities. The councils do not represent the decentralisation of governance when councillors were chosen by central government and the Ministry still has direct control over their affairs. When councillors are elected, and or mechanisms such as participatory budgeting and project evaluation are in place to allow for meaningful engagement of constituents in the decision-making process then the government can talk about empowerment.
We all know the true purpose of the councils, which is to empower the DLP candidates.
to ac- i expected that comment. if that is the position we find ourselves in because of size, al the more reason we should keep our tail quiet and not inflame the situation with aggravating statements made byyou. by the way, the govt which ought to be taking comfort with your support by their actions do not support your position having according to joasquin appointed expatriates both black and white from larger countries to positions in barbados which can be done by barbadians.
well said enuuf to their credit the dlp political support base has always been garnered through the promotion and infiltration and indoctrination of the various non governmental organisations. the constituency councils would be no different.
@ Ruth
Aggravation. ! call it what you want. The fact of the matter is if you can’t afford to feed your own. then tell me the sense in trying to feed others. No this is more than five barley loaves and two small fishes. Right now the fish are scare and they are plenty mouths to be fed. First let start by feeding our own and if an left over then we can share. We elect governments to do what is right for the people and at times the government must be reminded of this . It is not my words that would inflame the situation . but those of our elected officials who for one reason or the other refuses to hear the cries of the people.