Hopefully the Myrie issue will be fully investigated and the matter put to bed, although we doubt it! It seems passing strange that Jamaica and Guyana should be the countries complaining about treatment meted out at our border. These two regional countries represent the largest land masses in the English speaking Caribbean. In a sensible world regional labour flows should be in the other direction. Not to forget St. Vincent which has also been making negative noises directed at Barbados. St. Vincent like Jamaica has become a major source of drugs entering Barbados.
It is worthy of discussion that both Jamaica and Guyana have resorted to exporting labour of late to the tiny islands of the Eastern Caribbean. It appears to be a consequence of the harsh economic times being experienced by the respective economies, or is it? Casual observation detects that a large body of unskilled labour has been entering Barbados from these two countries. The argument which is given by the apologists is that our agricultural sector has been the beneficiary of a Guyanese presence, so what it the point? The Barbados Workers Union has given its blessing to a registry or some enrolled system being implemented to regulate labour to this sector. The solution has always been a simple one!
In the case of Jamaica we could explain the apprehension demonstrated at our border by stating that there is probably no country in the world which does not feel and act similarly. We all know why. BU does not condone actions by our officials which would seek to dehumanize anyone. There is a legitimate reason for Barbadians to fear the consequences of an influx of Jamaicans into Barbados. Our court and prison are already providing ample evidence that we are correct in our fear. Also Barbadians have become very aware that our red light activity has become saturated by Jamaican and Guyanese personnel. Last week Barbados Police were involved in two major drug busts where Jamaicans and Guyanese figured prominently.
It was interesting to listen to Prime Minister Bruce Golding making the point last week that Jamaica has been the most welcoming of Caricom countries to Caricom nationals. He then made the other point that Barbados is a tiny island which can fit comfortably into the parish of St. Thomas or some other Jamaican parish. Sometimes one is left to wonder if these regional politicians are serious. It seems all of patriotic Jamaica has welcomed the opportunity to dump on Barbados last week. No doubt it will continue. Surprisingly we have had many Barbadians who have done the same. Mia Mottley will be remembered for leading the charge by being critical of Minister of Foreign Affairs Maxine McClean at the height of the impasse, Jamaicans have been using as a rallying cry against Barbados. Then again BU always knew our level of patriotism would run a distant second to Jamaica.
When we listen to some of the utterances coming out of Jamaica we forget that it was only a few months ago a section of downtown Kingston held that country under siege in a bloody battle which will be remembered for a long time. It was not the battle itself which rattled Barbadians but the fact ordinary Jamaican citizens in their numbers sided with Dudus Coke – a drug lord – against authority. The unrest was preceded by allegations which implicated the government in nefarious dealing with the underworld element. Barbados must continue to be vigilant about how it protects its border. It is because of how we have managed our society over the years that many have been running to Barbados to enjoy the peace and security of a stable society. People like Rickey Singh for example.
To those who question the bona fides of Barbados’ commitment to the regional integration cause they should wheel and come again. Was it Barbados who withdrew from the West Indies Federation? Is it Barbados who is delinquent in contributions to regional institutions like UWI for example? Is it Barbados who has refused to make the Caribbean Court of Justice its final court of appeal? Is it Barbados who is owed millions under the Caribbean Multilateral Facility? Barbados has always met its obligations under the revised Treaty of Chaguaramas. The one issue which our detractors have sought to hold our feet to a fire is on the vexing and global issue of immigration.
Does it make sense that Jamaica and Guyana with a combined population of about 3.5 million, and a physical space of 80,000 square miles, should be rushing in numbers to emigrate to Barbados? We should add the two countries are blessed with natural resources. Despite the foregoing Barbados continues to meet its obligation under the treaty by allowing labour in the skill categories named in the CSME arrangement to work in Barbados, which is more than can be said for other Caricom members. Unregulated movement proposed by some makes for an amusing and duncey story if examined with commonsense. How can Barbados an island of 166 square miles open its borders to all and sundry simply because of some dream? Shouldn’t the realities of doing so help to guide our decision making? We have other small islands in the region like Antigua sinking under the weight of the immigration matter. Should Barbados remain hitched to a position where there is sufficient evidence to show that flex is required in decisions previously made? The fact that Barbados should be cautious on the issue of immigration does not mean we are xenophobic. It seems this is the label which is easily ascribed because Barbadians who live on a 166 square mile rock are saying hold on, let us have a rethink here.
Perhaps the time has come for Barbados to examine its options. Should we seek membership in the OECS? Should we follow the path of the Bahamas and annex to a developed country? What is evident is that the regional integration movement which should be helping Barbados to grow is doing the opposite.

i talk tu me lawyer bout dis peace treaty and he say it is one big trick and i must read the fine print carefully.
@Charles Graham 37 41… u c wh47 1 m34n?
Looks like something straight off the drawing board,complete with compass and square.
@Chris, I am puzzled by the numerals. Come a little clearer.
@ac Tell your lawyer that peace veils vulnerabilities on either side,but an element of peace is also trust. And I trust the integrity of the signers of the treaty. Plus, consider the the alternative to peace.
@ O come on
Looking back re the Ja bashing, perhaps we all were too emotionally engaged and have learned lessons from our mistakes. I certainly have.
@Yardman, I am still waiting to hear from you. I beg of you, Yardman, sign off on the treaty before anything that we would not want happen. You know what I mean. Remember de yutes who like to unleash their dawgs! We must act responsibly, Yardman and send the right message.
Peace to all Bajans and people everywhere!
Yes yardman because the conseqences would be dire for your people every where!
DENROY DAVIS was Murdered by a shot to the back of his head in BARBADOS. it is linked to the spying ring controlled by Sir Alan Sugar, Edwina Curry and Venessa Feltz (as posted before) on Ms Bolmin in england his cousin. These people had ms bolmin secretly filmed, phone tapped and critisized and followed by jamaicans for THIRTY YEARS. They have been now running around with an illegal tape of her for years spoiling her life and employment and as well as showing her neighbours and friends. I hope the fools know their is an investigation going on and will be caught.
Barbadians beware of certain people with illegal video tape of black woman and sex allegations like the Myrie case which is a smoke screen to cover this murder or any other.
People in barbados have nver seen such violence and crime until certain people reached our shores, its time to do what all the other countries are doing and send them back to kill each other.
Long week, hard work. Onto lighter thoughts. Here is something for you Bimbrosbro.dont this warm your heart, or as Lowdown would say, your ‘cockles’.
See how helpful and community oriented young bajan lasses are?
http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/message-with-a-smile/
@Charles Graham
tink i gonna take my lawyer adviceone of the co signers of de treaty is a numerologist. not even you can uderstand what he saying,
@BitSol
You are so funny LOL
@ Charles Graham
My Ja Bro, Charles, I will only sign the peace treaty if you remove that piece of SH*T Bajan name from it. —-> BAJAN is a snake of the worst kind.
@BAJAN, you wanted to know which tasks you did for me? Remember when I asked you to go and dig up some dirt on Jamaica for all of us to see – You took my directives and went and dug up dirt/old news twice and paste them here. Bajan, I knew you were a follower so I decided to lead you, You likkle P***Y-Hoole.
To the rest of the gang here, no disrespect to you all, peace and love – Too bad you guys can’t get rid of the rotten egg(Bajan)
@Yardman
As another Yardie to you, I say Let’s forgive — even Bajan,too, Yardman. I fear what the little yutes dem in UK, US and Toronto might interpret from any prolonged back and forth — You know what I mean. These yutes are dawgs owners…some several dawgs, and we know them all to well!
During the verbal war, Yardman, several things were said, many of which, I myself found troubling. But now, regardless of the hurt, let us lick our wounds and move on, especially as in the past our two peoples got on very well. You know that those Bajans who live in JA are nice people; they cause no harm, and feel completely at home among us. So let us not bring any bad blood between us.
Bajan has extended an olive branch, man, accept it, forget the past and move on, as is our nature anyway. Again, Yarman, remember that I am a Yardman, too, and I am making the appeal.
Next time I am in Ochi, we’ll meet up and have a beer over a pan of jerk pork. I take Islandgal suggestion that we should leave out the ganga tea. Wisely said!
So, please, especially for the women’s sake, sign on to the peace ting, too, Yardman Me know sa yo aggo dweet. A so I say, Yardman. One love!
And, Yardies out these treat bajans as not only cousins, but brothers and sisters. They are not our big problems.
Peace and love to all Yard People, Bajan people, and people everywhere. One love!
@ac
Nuff respect. Peace and love!
Hi Crusoe, thanks for the link. Very nice n public-spirited. When saw the white man immediately thought it was Blighty but soon realised it was Bim. Got my qualms bout too many uh them being in my country cos they don’t really want us in theirs n treat us like *hit while here, but i in going into dat now. i done wid controversy. doesn’t seem any point!
@ Chris
2 ys u r 2ys ub.I c u r 2y’s 4 me.
Well, well ,well ! i must have read a thousand postings on this issue, and the one conclusion i’ve drawn is this: either only the degenerate Bajans blog, or ALL Bajans are degenerates! I deep doen want to believe it’s the former, and not the latter, for that would be unthinkable! Are you people completely devoid of shame? Or, are you too ashamed, and are trying to mask your shame with self-delusion? Either way, I pray you are not too dim-witted to grasp this: the issue is not one of immigration, but one of whether a serious and heinous criminal act was commited by a few cops. Jamaica gets far more tourists than all the other islands. More important, we have far more legal, and illegal foreign residents than Barbados. From global companies, to thousands of individuals looking for more, or better opportunities – we have them all! It is well established that Jamaica and it’s people – this individual included – has more to be proud of than can be enumerated here. And the beauty, culture and food of the place is second to none. Still, police officers the world over , sometimes commit the worst possible crimes. If the alleged atrocity in question should ever occur in Ja, my shame and outrage would be enormous. After all, we claim to be, and are recognized internationally, as an developing nation. That the distinction of developed nation comes with specicific moral, legal and humanitarian obligations, seems completely lost upon you poor souls! After all, how developed can you be if you dont even know yourself? How can you love your fellow
(black) man , or yourself, for that matter, when you feel inferior to the white man??? Sadll i can say is, you are confirming the rumors of backwardness that i have heard for many years.
NEWS FLASH….. JAMAICAN DANCEHALL BUSINESS RUNS TINGS OFFICIALLY… STAY TUNED MORE NEWS AT 11
(PRODUCTION JUNCTION WHATS YOUR FUNCTION?!)
Just wanted to check that peace was holding, but apparently not,
@yardman & marcus
marcus who and what the hell are you, another jamaican chatin f**kery. All the boasting but your country is still the toilet and i don’t see you running things anywhere. Your people are just flying and fleeing your own terrible situation down there, run what exactly -crime.
I was readin’ some of these postings and some of you sound truely sick, This little myrie incident is an open and shut case of a pro working on behalf of some yardie idiots who want money-by any mweans necessary.
Barbados government should throw all your idiot backsides out, bajans have their own culture, that doesn’t include sucking the big mans dick. many of you so called players are controlled like slaves and many people know it! its slavery all yours girls are prostitutesanyway and thats what they came to barbados to do, just like myrie, she even sounds suspect when you look at the facts.
Its a shame barbados even puts up with you jamaicans, especially if you feel that way about us – i mean i don’t know who you lot think you are but you ain’t shit to us really. You can take all your silly boasting and foul shit back to jamaica tomorrow -you won’t be missed.
BARBADOS NEEDS MORE TIGHTER CONTROLS ON ITS BORDERS, before we’re flooded with vermin and other undesirables from hell.
by the way our tourist numbers are up, up, up and have won numerous tourist awards. F- the videos they’re ancient now -stale like your bulla bread.
Just know this, bajans at home and abroad are watching this myrie thing as well as all the other BOGUS claims with winein’ bitchasses moaning about some old old case, if you want old cases of airport abuse in jamaica i can give you all you need, bring it on!
Fools stay out of barbados, take your sorry asses elsewhere -the world is big enough, take your pick.
Yardie, backyard dog.
@marcel
You write like Bajan.
BU will close this blog at 6PM EST.
We hope and pray this incident has tabled some issue which as a people we need to work on.
“BU will close this blog at 6PM EST.” la-di-dah
Pingback: Barbados Under Attack From Jamaican Drug Mules |