BU has been investigating a couple of matters which led us to a particular place we do not like. We have decided to release what we have discovered and leave the BU family to slice and dice the information as they see fit. What has been evident from the inception of Barbados Underground is that there are an important few in Barbados whose sole existence is to guard the status quo at any cost. Until ordinary Barbadians buy into a philosophy which says we have to contribute to the job of protecting our fragile democracy through participation, the establishment will continue to flourish.
At a time when the country is going through an economic recession, officials at the National Library Service appear to be squandering taxpayers money to the benefit of a few. Do you remember a little while ago there was the furore over the vast sums of money spent on a public bath and the cutting of an Ackee tree?
A BU source has exposed a little of what may be described as the tip of the iceberg occurring at the National Library Service:
- The son of an officer of the library was awarded a contract to cut the lawn at the St. Philip branch, and paid $2,200. In addition, the individual used the library’s equipment and to add insult to injury left over twenty garbage bags full of grass on the site. After being paid $2,200 to cut a relatively small area of grass, the job was estimated by others at approximately $500. The library then had to make arrangements to remove the grass. The eyebrow raiser is that the library employs a general worker to do exactly what this official’s son was paid to do.
- The same official paid her other son $6,000 to paint the Eagle Hall library on the inside only. Last time BU checked the Eagle Hall library was a tiny place.
- Then there is the payment to the daughter of $6,000 to cater an event at the library. If one could smile at the abuse of tax dollars it would be that the food was delivered after the Minister and specially invited guests had long gone.
Our source admits that there is a lot more abuse of public funds taking place and if the minister responsible is interested it being a good guardian of the public purse he should order a forensic audit post haste!
The second issue touches the local media and the threat to freedom of expression and news manipulation given the concentration in the hands of non Barbadian ownership. Is it healthy for Barbados that a single group should greatly influence how news is being disseminated in Barbados? Bear in mind One Caribbean Media has adopted the Rupert Murdock approach to media acquisition in the region. To ensure a balance we need a few active whistleblowers to keep media operations ‘real’.
- How was The Nation valued at such a high number that OCM could write of $244 million in goodwill? Given that newspapers are closing globally this high valuation seems very strange.
- Was this in fact a strategy by the board to artificially enhance its true worth and so woo investors in its initial IPO into paying far more per share; over $6 than the company was worth?
- Did such a questionable decision emanate from Trinidad, home of the CLICO debacle which continues to rage, and who was the audit firm to approved the goodwill valuation in the first place?
- Was Chairman Sir Fred Gollop party to what appears to outside observers to be an overstatement? What about Harold Hoyte?
If our standard of education is at the level to which we always boast, there should be a reasonable expectation that queries such as those above be investigated and clarified for a trusting public. The tiny paragraph which appeared in the Nation newspaper will not do. Can Barbadians reasonably be expected to rely on the Barbados Advocate and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation to provide balance in the Realm of the local Fourth Estate?
May God help us!

Lazy, Lazy Moderating. Two very good stories lumped together as one.
And the OCM story had so so much more to it!
Now, I don’t think I’ll bother with the rest of my info.
It’s a real shame if the story of corruption at the National Library Service is true. For most of my life I was a loyal patron of the Library Service, mainly using the facilities at the headquarters on Colerige Street. For a very long time it was clear that the upkeep of the infrastructure, the intake of new publications and the morale of the staff suffered massively from underfunding and lack of interest from the relevant adminstration. It really offends me to hear that they may have been frittering away what little money was voted for the National Library Service in acts of low corruption and nepotism such as reported above. Terrible shame. Would it be too much to expect that the Auditor General’s office actually do their job investigate these reports so that the offenders can be exposed to the light of day, and hopefully punished if found to have committed fraud?
Regarding the OCM story, David, do you think that their “Rupert Murdoch approach to media acquistion” is driven by something other than a desire to be a commercial success? I don’t have a strong opinion on this one way or the other…I can’t say that I have detected any change in how the publications that OCM owns are run since they were acquired, but then again, I have been living away from the region for about 4 years, so I might have missed some telling signs…
@Paul
Perhaps we would want to keep our eyes on the fact a heavy concentration of ownership in local and regional media exist which is a potential threat to freedom of expression in our small societies..
Frankley I would still like to know Mara Thomps remuneration. Is she the recipient of both the backbencher’s salary and a dead PM’ full pension? What about that of Erskin Sandiford? He receives a retired PM’s salary which would have been paid in Barbados dollars, but if he is to spend it in China, such a salary will have to be converted to real money. And as an ambassador, is he not also entitled to a series of other expenses/emoluments (in USD) . What is the pay back for this job. What about retired Civil Servant Herbie Arthur (of BTA fame)? How do these things work, and how do we measure the pay back value?
to paul- could it be that the auditorgeneral was only diligent in pursuing these issues when the blp was in power? i am waiting with bated breath to hear his comments on overruns, contractual infelicities as raised by former chairman rice-bowen; construction of roundabouts of which there seems to be no end in sight; collection of licensing fees outside the ambit of the law; illegal sale of fuel by the transport board right under his window and so forth and so forth. over to you mr auditorgeneral.
I agree with “Lazy Underground”, there are two separate issues which you have tried to merge into one. Which one do we focus on?
Given how previous Auditor General reports have been relegated to be used as discussion documents only does it make a difference if the AA investigates?
Yes yes, maybe focus on Earskine Sandiford as an Ambassador. What Barbados possibly gain from such a posting?
I attended the function when the food did not arrive until long after the guests were gone.At the time I thought that something “funny” was up. But had no idea that the “caterer” was an employee’s daughter as alledged here. That caterer should NOT have been paid, and if she was paid she should be made to reimburse the money. What is the point of bringing food to a function after the guests are gone.
And how hard can it be to provide some juice, sandwiches and pastries anyhow?
Any 16 year old should have been able to do that job competently.
I ent noh bout wunna but $2000.00 or $6000.00 is pocket change compared to what de big fishes giving away and collecting. Why nuhbody aint spilling the beans pon dem?
We aint as foolish as we look.
I wuz vex when Starcom din get duh tv licence, but I now see dat behind every dark cloud deres a silver lining in trute.
And isn’t it about time that overseas postings be seen as agencies for the furtherance of Barbadian goods and services in overseas markets? Isn’t this whole habit of repaying party hacks not only stale but now more expensive than ever.. ? I mean wasting money on domestic splurges is one thing, but wasting foreign exchange is a completely different matter … after all here we ain’ talking ’bout tax payers’ money going done the tubes, but money derived from the sale of an exhaustible supply of land to foreigners.. ! How the fu#k can old washed up retired ineffective public servants be expected to ever adequately perform in frontier type environments and responsibilities ..?
@I ain’t Pearlie
You mean you aint “Perlixing Pearlie”? Why, we been missing she from bout here. Somebody better pass by the house an see if she still at she window.
ruth arnetta
You appear to me to be a solution looking for a problem.
During the excesses of the Barbados Labour Party where were you?
Not that I am saying that they are excesses under the Democratic Labour Party.
I would bet my last dollar that this Library woman is a relic from the BLP’s past who does not seem to know what time it is.
@ David Can Barbadians reasonably be expected to rely on the Barbados Advocate and the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation to provide balance in the Realm of the local Fourth Estate?
May God help us!
Are Barbadians relying ont he Nation and OCM group of companies now? Most Barbadians including myself have stopped buying the Nation. If it was credible, balance, committed may be we would continue to patronize it.
May we buy the truth and sell it not.
As far as I am aware, an agency is an operation that acts on behalf of someone or something else, a representative institution. To my mind, the most vital area for representation in foreign lands for Barbados is the presenting of the things that Barbados can produce and provide that the rest of the world can make use of. This kind of representation should be taken on by appropriately skilled individuals. In fact this kind of representation should be taken on by the best available people that are appropriately skilled. These are people who have the where with all to make friends in any environment and create opportunities for sales of our goods and services. This is not the kind of work that people who have made a living by collecting a salary at the end of the month and working till retirement are outfitted to do.
You know we are really a bunch of jokers!! Look at the BTA board!!
We can’t be fu##$$ serious!!! A woman who is hauled before the courts for not paying taxes, with NO tourism experience!! Sitting on the board of our top FX earning industry!!
And the chairman too with ZERO tourism experience!! Does he even have a masters degree or PHD or something that would give us confidence that he can handle the major issues of the day!
Man people wake the fu###$$ up nah!!! We can’t continue with this nonsense!!
Freundel……show some leadership and balls nah!!!! You really sleeping on the job!!
@Bajaabroad
Here is a little bit about Adrian Elcock who attended Pace University but your point is taken. Why would you not want to have a board packed with experience and knowledge powered by the industry it serves.
Adrian M. Elcock is Director, Finance, Marketing & Development at the family owned business Everson Elcock.
@ Carson
Is Verla a relic from the BLP’s past?
As I said before even if it takes another march all across Barbados just like the one during Sandiford’s administration , Barbados needs integrity legislation ASAP. They say that promise is comfort for fools. As much as I may love my party I say that it is foolhardy to believe that this promise can be overlooked.
Given the time left to a general election constitutionally due in 2 years does the government have the time to read the FOIA through parliament? What about the anti corruption bill? There is off course the new immigration act.
If they don’t get these bills which were promised in the last election how will the electorate react? Will it be about the economy?
David they rush to get the supreme court judicature act amended passed. If they wanted to those bill would have been passed long time ago.
@anthony
The issue is even after these bills are proclaimed there is the ‘operationalizing’ of them which is required to make them work.
@david
We wish for proper enforcement of them. Who will do the enforcing ? The auditor general ? the ombudsman ? commissions ?. Do we think they will get anything actually done ? They will not. Only in case of the most idiotic abuse of power would any action take place all the rest will be status quo still. So how do we actually give power to our laws ? That solution to the problem will surely direct the country future.
Perhaps there is a role for the media to highlight these matters. It seems all the actors are happy to go down the same old tired road.
The old road will not cut it. we need some new ones pronto and I don’t think the mass media will ever do such. Our lone tv station is a beacon for party in power. then two competing side with various newspaper and radio station. Nothing will change unless social media act up the other won’t do a thing.
@anthony
You touch on an interesting point regarding the use of social media.
It will be interesting to view the impact of social media on the next general election i.e. see how people are mobilized because of it.
Last election is was a couple of blogs but now the Bajan fraternity on Facebook has become a force.
It is very interesting to note that this official at the National Library , could award contracts to her family in such a manner. What is more interesting is that the monies paid far exceed the norms for the particular tasks. Does this officer not report to any one, given the checks and balances in government accounting, it would appear that the officer in question is getting considerable help from some one senior to her.
One would tend to think that a library would fall under education, if this is the case, Minister Jones will certainly sort this matter out. They are other ministers that are more interested in maintaining the status quo and being liked than actually executing the people’s business. However if Minister Jones is indeed the minister, integrity will soon be returned to the National Library Service.
Wuh loss doan mind Pearlie yah. She house by de bus stop done pay fuh. Me board and shingle ent.
Mr. Minister doan put me at de horspital, nor mtw, I want a pick at de Library, after all, me and me family want some ah dem coppers too.
Only in Bim, I tell yah.
Even if Barbados has nothing to offer the rest of the world, just the effect of having class highly skilled sales agents appropriately deployed to the various agencies (instead of the expensive bureaucrats) well be that of a potential conduit to reach the rest of the world just waiting to be effectively utilized.
Only in Bim?
Not so sure about that. In some of the countries we look up to for setting the standard of honesty in government dealings and in not tolerating corruption by government officials or in business/government dealings, it still goes on, but on a much larger scale.
You want to see unimpeded corruption that makes what goes on in Bim look like a kid tiefing a sweety from a huckster’s tray, but mostly gets a free pass from the media and the public? Watch this video of the US military’s dealings with “defense” contractors and Dick Cheney’s rise from government employee to a high level position at Halliburton. The big difference is they have managed to put a superficial veneer of legality on their corruption. Even John McCain has to admit on camera, in so many words, that this is the case.
Check out also how Monsanto execs move smoothly back and forth between Monsanto and the FDA (a government regulatory body) allowing them to set the rules and regulations which allow Monsanto to peddle its GM seeds etc. without proper testing and with no regard to the valid concerns expressed by scientists about the environmental dangers and the potential dangers to human health that are inherent in their products.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/jeffrey-smith/youre-appointing-who-plea_b_243810.html
When you read what goes on, you really have to wonder just how many honest people are left in the world. Me and who else?
Because other countries do it that does not make it ok for us to follow. We need to set standards for our selves and not go by the standards of other countries. This can be said in all walks of Government administration. Accountability and taking full responsibility seems to be none existent in Government. Both political parties are guilty of this.
When the BLP was the government of the day, every month you had a report from the Auditor General highlighting misdeeds and blatant slackness from public servants which I had no problem with if public servants were doing crap.
Now that the DLP is the government, not a report has surfaced from him in the last three years. I read somewhere that the Auditor General said that his department is short staffed.
Dont you find it passing strange that only since the Dems are in power that the department is short staffed? Is his hands tied up? I also need to put some fire under the Oppostion, the PMC needs to be meeting and getting to the root of this corrupt DLP government. The sharing of the fatted calf has to stop.
The government seems to be spending all the taxes they collect as well as NIS funds without any scruples with nothing to show for all the millions that they are spending. How could the government take up NIS funds and unlend it to the Public Workers Credit Union to purchase CLICO Mortgage Finance? Where and when will this blatant foolishness stop? When the NIS cannot meet its monthly pensions or pay unemployment benefits as more and more people are laid off????
We heard alot about three S’s and the ABC Highway under the BLP. Since 2008, the DLP has been spending money on the highway, you hear of no tendering process or what companies are bidding or how much the contracts are awarded for but work is going on for three years. Yet as expected from this government , not a word to the public.
Did you see DLPTV wasting taxpayers money and no doubt having to pay workers overtime to be at a fete given by Chris Sinckler showing him “wucking” up behind a woman last night? Pray tell me, what was the value to the public of this?
Oh, Father in Heaven, deliver us from the DLP.
Prodigal Son,
stop telling lies and trying to mislead people.
Not only does the Auditor General provide detailed reports, they are on the Internet for all to see – as revealing as they are http://bao.gov.bb/content/annual-reports
If emphasis was placed on sales before anything else, the ability to be attractive in the market place, production capabilities will quickly follow. Producers need large markets to survive and in a place like Barbados, such a market can only be had through exports. This neck of the woods is simply too dependent on the rental/sale of land and the tax laws in other countries to be considered a sustainable economic model. It is as if those who taken the responsibility to determine macro policy are just too ashamed (or indeed proud) to admit that the educational and reward policy presently being followed is inappropriate for a developing enterprise.
But then again, is it realistic to expect individuals who have thrived in this deficient and unsuitable environment to be true agents of change? Armed with the knowledge that political parties are funded by the types of operations that feed off of the domestic populace, it cannot surprise that these institutions have proven incapable of formulating and presenting programs with even the slightest chance of shifting the focus of development to a workable export driven product. What in fact has developed over the years is a re-focusing on the completely unsustainable sale of land and the delivery of elite back office skills to overseas wallets.
BAFBFP !
Take a rest !
That is not a name —–Rambling Rose
Why don’t you go and Ramble elsewhere?
Murder! Murder!
Duh trying to kill muh.
Help ! Help!
Somebody help nuh.
Chris? Freundel? David? Hartley? Mara?
Wuh part wunna is?
Dah man Stephen Worme … Uh mean Emera now send a bill hay fuh six times de amount dat I did paying fuh de last six monts.
You cud believe dah foolishness?
I vex az ram gate, and besides I ain’t in nuh gud mood nieder, causing I spen $50 in gas and when I leff de gas station, de needle did only move from empty to 1/4 empty. I feel dat de tank got in a hole but I gine hah wait til de morning brek out to check um out. I hope too much more doan leak out time den .
This is bare igruncy!
The most deliberate example of Government’s conviction to be perpetually in service to outside interests came with the changing the name of Barbados’ primary Industrial Development institution to the Barbados “Investment” and Development Corporation with its spin off Invest Barbados, each equipped with their agencies located in the developed markets of the US and the UK. Add this to the fact that Barbados is probably the only island in the Caribbean that continues without the services of a Development Bank that is accessible by productively oriented locals and the scene is set for an economic development model that is void of creative endeavor and truly productive enterprise. Now really, who stands to benefit from all this ..?
Barbados has had the fine experience of seven Prime Ministers in its existence, of whom five were lawyers and the other two teachers of some sort. Of these seven people only two are known to have produced anything physical, and of course these things were books (one of which was about cooking). The concept of leadership by example would never be relevant since it would have been clear in the early that the whole idea of physically producing stuff was never part of the serious national agenda.
to jane- please do not confuse the auditor general with the accountant general who produces monthly financial reports; the auditorgeneral audits the accounts of the various govt deepartments and produces a report of his findings to be laid in parliament by 31/12/
@BAFBFP
You can keep plugging away at what is a noble message but it will take human enterprise of a kind we have not seen in recent decades to usher the transformation you yearn.
What a shame … I had so much more to say. Islandgirl I know you is a producer and I t’ank you for the support
BAFBFP your ideas are sound but along with a Development bank you need venture capitalist who are willing to put up the cash required to develop products.
Barbadians with money are still mired in a buy and sell mentality.
Investing capital for development of “new” products is considered “tying up money”.
In Canada companies are doing product development (concept,design and prototyping) here and manufacturing in China and then selling the finished products to the North American and European markets.
Hants
I am wary of what you’re saying. We do have Venture people here, but their conditions are so stringent, in fact one of these companies even insists that you employ a named consultant (which of course you pay for as part of your package with the VC company) that they become very unattractive to most, particularly “young” enterprising people with ideas.
Funding like design and production, is of course relevant, but for me the most important piece of the puzzle is the selling component, the selection and deployment of the agents, the people whose only responsibility is to open doors and create opportunities.
As a former P.S; I really do not understand the postings about the Library; from my knowledge;unless there has been a change in the procedure of arriving at payment to anyone paid from Government; an LPO first has to be generated and approved by someone who has Level 20 security; is the officer been accused a Level 20 approver; if not I think the finger pointing is in the wrong direction; and if people are not sure of what they are speaking about; it is sometimes best to do your research first before you make accusations.
Bob. You beat me to it; if people do not know the procedures of the Civil Service it is best to keep their mouths closed. I too am a retired Civil Servant and I know that the procedure before any payment can be processed; is as follows an LPO must be generated first; before any work is undertaken; and from my knowledge unless the system has changed in the two years since I retired; only someone with Level 20 security can approve an LPO; so whoever approved those LPO’s should be accountable for the discrepancies if there are any. Moreover if the procedures were followed where an LPO was generated the work done/the food delivered the individuals should be paid. If the food was late so what? I have attended numerous functions where I purchased tickets and 1. The food was either not quite ready for serving or late. 2. And then on top of that had to stand in long queues before I could be served. Have we become such a GREEDY BUNCH OF PEOPLE that every function we attend food is the ultimate thing that matters. SHAME ON ALL OF YOU. I thought that after not having the uses of a Library for such a long time you would be more than delighted to go to its official opening.NO WONDER THE POWERS THAT BE TOOK THERE JOLLY SWEET TIME IN TRYING TO FIND A SUITABLE LOCATION FOR THE LIBRARY. Most importantly how did all of this pertinent information get out. Is there someone in the said Library who is leaking information. ??????????????????????
@Joan & Bob
Are you saying the blog is false?
By the way why have you decided to post using different names?