Barbados Under Attack From Jamaican Drug Mules

The much publicized Myrie Affair occurred in April this year. By all accounts Barbados came out of the affair with a bloody nose if we are to judge by the comments made by all and sundry. Despite the vitriol spouted from both sides Barbadians, Jamaicans and onlookers are none the wiser what actually happened to Shanique Myrie when she attempted to cross the border of Barbados. She alleges that she was inappropriately searched by local officials, a charge which was denied. In the absence of substantive evidence who does one believe?

What was evident from the episode is that the Jamaican media and political directorate were in cahoots to ensure Jamaican Myrie’s story was propagated and propagandized. To be expected we had the so-called regionalists like Peter Wickham, Rickey Singh, David Commissiong et al who abandoned the need to be patriotic and gleefully jumped across to the other side of the debate.

BU does not intend to paper over any indiscretions made by Barbadian agencies if any did occur at all in the Myrie incident. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart’s offer for Myrie to return to Barbados to facilitate meaningful investigation remains unaccepted after several months. The haste with which Jamaicans and others across the region used the opportunity to exposed a latent dislike for Barbados cannot be ignored. Some in local media and elsewhere would want Barbadians to ignore the obvious and not rock the CSME boat. It always has to be Barbados to turn the other cheek!

The job description of Barbados’ border patrol lists the same as every other, to protect our society from harmful  interdictions. The job has become even more challenging in the present environment of easy movement of people without the commensurate infrastructure to diligently monitor.

The arrest by Barbados authorities last week of several Jamaicans and a couple Bajans, forcibly brings home the present threat to our borders from drug mules among other scourges. For Barbados to allow others who cannot lead by example to emasculate our local agencies, who through the years have done a good enough job to ensure we enjoy a reputation as a stable environment, is simply wrong. When that witch-hunt is done on the basis of a flimsy premise, all the more reason to err on the right side; home drums must always beat first.

As the economic condition of many around the region in markets known for exporting drugs – Jamaica is at the top of the list – declines, the threat to our border will increase. There is ample evidence the quality of our police and other border agencies have been allowed to deteriorate by successive governments. Law and order is priority one of many priorities in a stable society. Barbadians must not yield to others who have failed to show how they can manage a stable society in the way Barbados has successfully done.  The feistiness of the Jamaican drug mules to ply their trade post-Myrie Affair should demonstrate to the idealistically stricken, what Barbados is up against.

Forgotten in all of this is scarce tax dollars which have to be spent to house the mules at her majesty’s pleasure. Maybe we should consider deporting drug offenders and in those extreme cases impose Visa restrictions on countries which have shown an inability to curb the unlawful behaviour of their  citizens.

Advertisement

136 Responses to Barbados Under Attack From Jamaican Drug Mules

1. Caswell Franklyn

I do not support deporting drug offenders. I favour jailing them and making their stay here a working holiday. They should be sent to prison for a long time and given hard labour, or maybe the death penalty should be imposed and carried out. Parliament would have to change the law, but as we have seen in the past they might be making laws to deal with their own friends and family.

2. Somehow, I link the Myrie affair with this last encounter, maybe Myrie was sent to soften up the barbados government, so that these new mules will have an easy passage through. This mass movement of drug mules may have been planned for a while to be executed for the Rihanna Show. Criminals from other countries especially U.S and Jamaica, are well advanced to the average ones in Barbados, hence our law enforcers are seeing these tactics for the first time. The onus is now on our government to forget regional outcry and do what is needed to curb this menace, failing to succeed can only mean barbados being the next regional country to be over-runned by the drug lords.

3. It is a slap in the face of Barbados that Jamaica would refuse PM Stuart’s offer for Myrie to comeback to the jurisdiction where the alleged misdeed occurred.

Instead they pout and talk about running to a World Court.

To avoid the offer possibly we have heard reports that Myrie has had to undergo psychiatric attention and the like.

While all this is happening Barbados is simply going about its business waiting for the next regional attack.

4. If Myrie’s allegations are true (and I say IF) then it is a criminal act that occurred in Barbados and Barbados alone has jurisdiction. Any appeal to a World Court would have to show that Barbados failed to investigate and, if appropriate (note I say “if appropriate”) prosecute the matter.

However, how in hell can Barbados investigate the matter if the accuser is not made available to Barbadian authorities IN BARBADOS to carry out their investigation?

This seems to me like an end-run on the part of Jamaica and Myrie round Barbados’ undoubted jurisdiction in the matter to get to the World Court.

From a fellow Caribbean country, it is a shameful tactic deserving only contempt and derision.

5. @ The Scout
    Exactly the same thought occurred to me. I once met a UK anti-drug customs officer at a function. She told me that up to 40% of the passengers on Air Jamaica and British Airways flights out of Jamaica into London were drug mules. This was about 4 years ago. The drugs get through by force of sheer numbers. Like the Taliban and suicide bombers, the dealers don’t give a damn about the mules. Some will die and some will be incarcerated. There will always be more to fill the void.

6. legalise it. then the cops can focus on violent crime instead of making criminals out of people that simply smoke a little weed.

7. Boss! Boss! Ze plane! Ze plane!. As Tattoo (Hervé Villechaize ) used to shout in the opening credits of Fantasy Island.

If they caught so many drug mules on one flight the question is who or what did they miss? Did they search the plane where drugs could be hidden in so many secret compartments to be easily retrieved by associates at the other end? Did they search the well dressed businessman (or woman) or UWI student who is returning after a short trip?

Sadly, many of these mules are people without a sou to their names who are looking for an easy pay day while the big fish slip through. They are disposable fodder to foil the authorities while the king pins are well insulated with several layers between them and the traffickers. The drug mules are disposable fodder and cost of doing business in the well organized drug cartels.

As to the suggestion by Caswell Franklyn that Barbados should enact laws to impose the death penalty on drug mules, well we so much want to be like Singapore where “Dada means death” that this is an ingenious idea to catch up in one fell swoop. However I thought that we were a few steps ahead on the evolutionary trail where even murderers are spared the hangman’s noose.

8. Caswell Franklyn

Sargeant

Don’t you realise that drug dealers are worse than murderers. A murderer might kill one person, but drug dealers are destroying a generation. Don’t you see the number of zombie-like young people walking around in a state worse than death as a result of drug use.

As the first person to manage what is now the National Council on Substance Abuse and a director of the Substance Abuse Foundation, I had more than my fair share, first hand, of what the misuse of drugs are doing to this society.

In my book, drug dealing is a crime against humanity. A few would get rich and the country would be left devastated if the Government and the Courts don’t get serious. You see they are shooting up the Police now: I don’t have any facts but I can risk to bet that drugs had something to do with that matter.

9. @Sarge. I agree with you. But it is Malaysia, not Singapore. Now don’t let me down by saying, “Well it does me one o dem places,” otherwise the next thing you know, Barbados will be lumped in with Jamaica as being “one o dem places”. However, you are right.

@CF. We are back to normal with me strongly disagreeing with you. I knew the honeymoon was far too good to last.

10. Amused you got to be a real clown or maybe one of those pu__hers, are you? You have any idea the cost of rehabilitation, the cost of housing the bloody drug mules. I remember that some years ago a prominent business man was jailed for life. I felt awful about the situation at the time but when the judge pointed out the pureness of the drug and the potential destruction of the youth and middle aged those who should be the backbone of the country but are not zombies I agree with Caswell. Drugs encourage so many social ills. These people who deal in drugs should be made to do hard labour. They are just like the bloody Taliban very destructive

11. Caswell Franklyn

Amused

You wrote:

@CF. We are back to normal with me strongly disagreeing with you. I knew the honeymoon was far too good to last.

It was good while it lasted, but I can’t help it if you keep coming up on the wrong side of issues. LOL!

12. http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/assets/6771740/ed-cartoon-mon-8-aug.jpg

13. @David
    “To be expected we had the so-called regionalists like Peter Wickham, Rickey Singh, David Commissiong et al who abandoned the need to be patriotic and gleefully jumped across to the other side of the debate.”
    ————————————
    Need to be patriotic my foot. The Myrie situation is\was suppose to be about getting at the truth, not patriotism. As far as PM Stuart’s invitation for Myrie to identify the person(s), her lawyers are saying it was empty gesture (see link below).

http://tinyurl.com/3mu8383

14. @CF. Well done. Gave me a laugh…….good reply. Pity we don’t see eye to eye on many subjects, because if we did……wuhloss!

@fuh real? You got me wrong. I am not objecting to locking drug mules away, throwing away the key and giving them hard labour. I AM objecting to the death penalty. I am on record here on BU objecting to the death penalty for ANY reason. In Malaysia (not Singapore) drug trafficers are subject to the death penalty which is often carried out. THAT was my point. Sorry it was not clear to you. And surely if there was (God forbid) a death penalty for drug trafficking, it ought not to be applied against poor and desperate mules, but rather against the cartel bosses that employ them.

15. @Zack

The BU family is not surprised you would side with Myrie’s lawyers and not your Prime Minister.

You should give your advice to Wickham, Singh et al who jumped to the other side even when no facts are present as to what happened.

16. There is some nastiness that is done to bajans in the name of regionalism. I was two caricom countries when our currency was rumored to be devalued or about to be devalued. The T’dad, especially, refused to take our currency and we had to take u.s dollars. As the bajan saying was there was “bare mock sport”. Jamaicans HAVE Never gone to their papers or publicly keep noise about any treatment they receive at the hands of the u.s immigration. When their planes land, many of these searches are routine. Maybe someone does not want to lose their ability to gain a visa to miami. However, i cannot support the abuse of authority by any one bajan immigration officer.

17. Pingback: Barbados: Threat to Borders? · Global Voices

18. Jamaicans are strong loud people who stand up for their rights. I am missing a lot in this debacle can anyone help me?
    On what date was Shenique Myrie searched? When was she deported? Did she ask to speak to the Jamaican consulate? Is there one? what are the rights of a person at a foreign port if she feels that she is searched inappropriately or unfaired by officials? If this happened to me at a Caribbean port, What should I do?
    I want to know how much time elapsed between her deportation and her claim, moreover, Did she kicked and screamed during or after the incident. Did she tell anyone on the flight?
    Cameras need to be installed throughout the entire immigration and custom areas of the Grantley Adams airport to protect travellers and immigration workers alike. I would also like to hear a proper report of the details however incomplete at this time. What I heard was too vague.

19. Pingback: Barbados: Threat to Borders? @ Current Affairs

20. @David | August 9, 2011 at 12:50 PM | @Zack
    The BU family is not surprised you would side with Myrie’s lawyers and not your Prime Minister.
    ——————————
    You mean just like you’re jumping to the conclusion that I’m siding with somebody? I’m merely looking at both sides of the story, and not just one. i see this this as a human issue, not a Jamaica vs Barbados issue.

Now when you say “BU family”, who exactly are you speaking on behalf of besides yourself?

21. @lemuel. So let me see if I got this right, and I am sure I do. A Jamaican accuses Bajan officials of having performed an illegal cavity search. The PM asks the Jamaican government to have this Jamaican visit Barbados so that the Barbados officials can carry out an investigation into her allegations and, if these allegations can be proved in court beyond a reasonable doubt, Barbados will willingly prosecute the accused parties. They also want to have the Jamaican positively identify the persons she alleges are guilty of assaulting her. However you, in your psychic wisdom, have concluded that, despite the fact that Jamaicans in common with people from Drug Central (Columbia) are stopped by US customs more than any others and have every orifice examined, that Babados’ officials are guilty as accused. I was right. You ARE an idiot. Is that bald enough for you, or am I beating about the bush too much for you? Please feel free to tell me the truth. Don’t hold back or feel you have to be unambiguous.

While you are at it lemuel, take a leaf from CF’s book. Display a little brain power and passion, no matter to what sometimes misguided conclusions it may take you. At least it is interesting and thought-provoking.

22. What do you guys think of the below comment by a Jamaican blogger?

Joan Blanco
    7/27/2011
    For a little caribbean island that has pushed the black majority to the hillsides in their own country we can see why they treat people with Shanique’s complexion appallingly. Black Bajans are a stifled and depressed lot.

23. Even in the full evidence of Jamaican drug mules storming our borders, we have to suffer the apologist crap from some?

Is it possible for some here to appreciate the kind of vigilance required. By our officers patrolling our borders to detect these people who would risk life and limb to freight illegal substances in some body cavity?

24. @Zack. Don’t think much of it. I am amused, not depressed. And I prefer to live in the hills – less salt. And I am then the master of all I survey.

25. Zack is a jamaican and as is typical of most jamaicans they hate barbados,have nothing good to say about Barbados, but can’t stay out of this little Paradise.

The truth about these jamaican drug mules are staring them in the face but they will not acknowledge the truth.

I say ban the whole set of them like St Maarten,Bahams,Caymans,Tortola and the other Caribbean countries are doing.

26. LEMUEL ARETI

To Amused:
    How can you accuse me of not reading in another place, but with your so called logical conclusion, completely miss my point. You are an arrogant ass, and the sad thing is that you are so rpoud of it you wear it fastened tightly to your pushed out chest, if there is one to push out.

27. Amused @12:46 pm,

When are you going to stop pretending to be a lawyer? The mandatory death penalty is imposed in Singapore on anyone found with more than a specified amount of drugs. From the Schedule to the Singapore Misuse of Drugs Law, Cap 185, 1998.

6)UNATHORISED TRAFFIC IN CANNABIS WHERE THE QUANTITY IS —
    (A) NOT LESS THAN 330 GRAMMES AND NOT MORE THAN 500 GRAMMES – – – MAXIMUM 30 YEARS OR IMPRISONMENT FOR LIFE AND 15 STROKES –
    MINIMUM 20 YEARS AND 15 STROKES –
    (B) MORE THAN 500 GRAMMES – – – DEATH –

28. By the way, David, this is not a nationalism issue. Money from drugs does not know a nationality. Some Barbadians were caught as well and the drugs were to be sold here. Should we not do like we tell the US and curb our demand? The drugs were not for Jamaicans to use or sell!

29. @jack spratt

Are you serious?

We are dealing with an issue of the invasion of Jamaican drug mules.

Why do you always like to muddy the discussion.

Attacking this issue does not preclude any concern about the demand for drugs.

30. So why are you on about the nationality of the drug mules? It is as if you are asserting that they are bringing drugs into pure innocent drug-free Barbados. You had better wake up. Why “invasion”?

Incidentally,your waters are not muddy; your agenda is clear!

31. Here in New York where profiling has become the tool of choice, flights out of Jamaica are routinely refered to as suspect and the passengers and their luggage are dug up……..not searched in the same manner as other flights. Their response? THUNDEROUS SILENCE. While I do not advocate indecent nor disrespectful treatment to visitors it stands to reason that the frequency with which our Jamaican brothers and sisters are found wanting in relation to the drug trade, there is bound to be such an occurrence from time to time.

32. @jack spratt

Should little Barbados not learn by the actions of several countries around the world which have had to confront this very problem?

Perhaps you feel that Barbados should ignore the fact that Jamaica is one of those countries whose GDP is fueled by the underground drug industry.

33. It’s hard for me to understand the statement that we are “under attack” by persons smuggling cannabis as the plant has never caused an overdose in all of human history and it’s been scientifically proven will never cause cancer or significant lung damage in even the heaviest users.
    We can’t say the same for our national drug alcohol can we?

34. Caswell Franklyn

Peanuts

What you have written is utter rubbish. That is the same nonsense that the advocates of marijuana use put forward, and you are copying it without thinking.

Smoking marijuana, like smoking tobacco produces so many different chemical compounds that they have not all been identified. Can you identify these compounds and then tell everyone what are the effects of smoking them on the human body. You are spouting other people’s ignorance: think for yourself, that is assuming that you can.

35. Please refer to the work of Dr. Donald Tashkin, head of cardio-pulmonary research at UCLA. After studying more than 2000 people for a period of time (can’t remember how long) and allowing for other factors he has determined, in a peer reviewed study, that cannabis use does not increase cancer risk regardless of amount consumed (some subjects were found to have smoked as estimated 22000 joints in their lifetime).
    Sorry for spouting the ignorance of the Emeritus Professor of Medicine
    Medical Director of the Pulmonary Function Laboratory.
    Would you like a link or are you more competent in this area such that you can have a different and equally valid opinion?

36. I am amazed at how marijuana smokers will still smoke marijauna although it has to be shitted out. In essence, you are smoking somoene’s shite. I know it teh drugs are wrapped in some latex material but just imagine these smokers wont eat chinese cabbage from chinese but woudl smoke marijuana that has been laced with shite and farts.

37. @Peanuts
    There has also been a study that said that black people are inferior to whites and it was peer reviewed. Just go on ocmmon sense sometimes.

38. The Bajan authorities were right to search the cavities of Ms Myrie aka “Liar”. Everyone knows that the cavities of Jamaicans are very big and wide, a large number of them also being rotten. Following a close second are the cvities of Guyanese. Bajans continue wunna search- carry a spotlight, face mask, rope and an disinfectant.

39. Zack
    You sound like a typical Jamaican, DUMB. Yes, I’m BARBADIAN from a small island but ALL bajans hear when the school bell rings, that much cannot be said for jamaicans. Therefore, we’re dealing at two different levels of intelligence, it makes little sense trying to reason with you, you don’t have what to reason with.Thank God there are a FEW Jamaicans who lived near a school.

40. @Str8 Up
    Yes I know that a lot of people are held on incoming flights from Jamaica who would have swallowed small bags (I hope they swallowed and not the other way around although I guess it comes out the same way) and then get busted. Personally I suspect that those are the decoys while the larger more profitable quantity arrives securely.
    I find that the home grown product is far superior and a little cheaper too!
    Could you at least give a name or a link as to the study on race. It would be interesting to know who was behind it and what exactly was being studied.
    It’s encouraging to see that you have made an improvement in your spelling but unfortunately it seems to come with a rise in xenophobia and misoginy. Please revert to bad spelling.

41. By the way, Peanut of the wonderful spelling, it’s “MISOGYNY”!

I know… typo! Right?

42. There are young men and women in our country today whose only claim to fame is their vagabondish behaviour. They are proud of the charge sheet; if they do not sport a tattoo where a knife or a bullet has penetrated their flesh they don’t feel good about themselves,” The Honourable Minister Jones, Minister of Education

and we worry about Jamaican drug mules ?

43. @amusing

Can’t we worry about both?

44. @Amused

I was a bit busy and couldn’t respond earlier but I see that Jack Spratt has supported what I wrote about Singapore “Dada means death” for drug smugglers. The same is also true for Malaysia and Thailand.

45. sure david.. we can worry about both and even more but we need to get to the point of doing something.. pick your poison .. but the security people are already doing something about the mules..do we have a handle on our homegrown situation ? am i worried about the mules or t masked men with guns killing and raping. people would fret and worry about drugs coming in ( for reasons that no one seems to want to admit) but are terrified to their bones of the violent crime upsurge.
    who knows, but i suspect there is a connection between the two.. but it would be an admission that bajans are also complicit.. but the home drums must beat first.. so shelve that idea

46. Amusing
    There is a link between the two, obviously the guns are a product of drug supplies. I believe the drug lords are trying desperately to destablise this country, it’s up to the citizens of this country anfd the administration to curb this

47. @Cuh Dear | August 9, 2011 at 4:54 PM | Zack is a jamaican and as is typical of most jamaicans they hate barbados,have nothing good to say about Barbados, but can’t stay out of this little Paradise.
    ————————————–
    Wow, I am now a Jamaican? Whatever!
    What some idiots like you and others here don’t seem to understand is that even though it is a fact that drug mules are bringing drugs in their stomachs and body cavities, each and every suspect must still be processed in the appropriate way and by the appropriate personnel. . .it is the law. So we still don’t know what happened in the case of Shanique Myrie.

48. @jack spratt | August 9, 2011 at 7:22 PM | So why are you on about the nationality of the drug mules? It is as if you are asserting that they are bringing drugs into pure innocent drug-free Barbados. You had better wake up. Why “invasion”?
    Incidentally,your waters are not muddy; your agenda is clear!
    ——————————-
    You are seeing right thru him Jack. . .his agenda is clear.

49. @Zack

BU will call it as we see it you are free to do the same. Remember Nero fiddled away while Rome was bunning.

50. islandgal246

“I believe the drug lords are trying desperately to destablise this country, it’s up to the citizens of this country anfd the administration to curb this”

I wonder who and where these DRUG LORDS from? Barbados? BAJANS?

51. islandgal246

If the market for illegal drugs wasn’t that good would there be that many drug mules?

52. @Str8 Up | August 9, 2011 at 8:47 PM | The Bajan authorities were right to search the cavities of Ms Myrie aka “Liar”. Everyone knows that the cavities of Jamaicans are very big and wide, a large number of them also being rotten. Following a close second are the cvities of Guyanese. Bajans continue wunna search- carry a spotlight, face mask, rope and an disinfectant.
    ———————————
    I wasn’t going to respond to the nonsense you wrote above, but I decided I would ask you one little question. Considering that no one has a choice of which ethnic group they will born into, likewise we have no choice of which country we will born into. So my question is, if you had happen to be Jamaican or Guyanese, would you still be spouting this same vile bullshit?

53. @The Scout | August 9, 2011 at 9:16 PM | Zack
    You sound like a typical Jamaican, DUMB. Yes, I’m BARBADIAN from a small island but ALL bajans hear when the school bell rings, that much cannot be said for jamaicans. Therefore, we’re dealing at two different levels of intelligence, it makes little sense trying to reason with you, you don’t have what to reason with.Thank God there are a FEW Jamaicans who lived near a school.
    ———————————
    How is it that bright intelligent people like you assign nationalities to persons based on the comments they make? Do you really think that is smart? I guess I would be Bajan if I was singing the same stupid tune as you right? People like you are norrow-minded, insular, and ignorant.

54. @David | August 9, 2011 at 11:20 PM | @amusing
    Can’t we worry about both?
    ——————————–
    Yes we can, but why do you choose to paint Jamaicans as the scum of the earth who want to destroy Barbados with drugs? I have no problem castigating drug mules, but let’s not castigate the entire nation of people while we’re at it. And while we’re castigating the drug mules we have to look inward and castigate our locals who are involved in the drug trade and crime.

55. @amusing

The biggest threat from drugs in our region comes from Jamaica, fact*. Did you listen to the news today about the Guyanese government confiscating container loads of cocaine source of origin, Jamaica!

56. @David | August 10, 2011 at 2:23 PM | @amusing

The biggest threat from drugs in our region comes from Jamaica, fact*. Did you listen to the news today about the Guyanese government confiscating container loads of cocaine source of origin, Jamaica!
    ———————–
    Wrong! We get alot more canabis coming out of St. Vincent (by boats) than we do out of Jamaica, and we get more cocaine\crack out of South America.

57. david.. correct on the threat of drugs from jamaica, and that has been so for donkey years..so you are not breaking new ground here.. but i’ll help anyway …, then we must ensure that our security apparatus are given the adequate tools and infastructure to interdict the drugs entering our country.. period.. full stop. csme or go alone, will never stop the flow.. visas are required for jamaicans to visit the usa.. does that stop the smuggling of drugs ? ask the americans as you are very keen at “looking” at other countries. I personally don’t give a rats ass what other think when i have to implement to secure my borders and neither should you. But unfortunately for you, you can’t resist the temptation of trying to wedge your view on regionalism into the drug trade picture hence your “worry”.
    i read the cocaine article you may be refering to, but it was the other way around..guyana to jamaica.. two peas in a pod in this regard. But you should know know the correct origin of cocaine are neither country.. the container like the mules are just vessels .

58. @amusing

Let’s agree to disagree, open borders will NOT work.

Check USA/MEXICO.

59. @ZACK. We will never know what happened to Ms. Myrie until she lays a complaint with the Commissioner of Police, that is the beginning of seeking redress for alleged wrongs. Let her return to Barbados and let the investigation move forward. The Government of Barbados cannot compel her to return, nor quite frankly should the thought of the government of Barbados paying her travel and accomodation even cross her mind.

60. islandgal246 | August 10, 2011 at 1:29 PM |
    I wonder who and where these DRUG LORDS from? Barbados? BAJANS?

Start with Lawyers on both sides.

61. @Amusing
    Do you really believe that the majority of cannabis and cocaine on the streets of Barbados is out of Jamaica?

62. @Amusing

Let’s not forget that Caribbean countries are transhipment points for drugs leaving Colombia in South America destined for the USA, so that needs to be taken into consideration when talking about drug shipments being intercepted in the Caricom countries.

63. @BMcDonald | August 10, 2011 at 5:00 PM | @ZACK. We will never know what happened to Ms. Myrie until she lays a complaint with the Commissioner of Police, that is the beginning of seeking redress for alleged wrongs. Let her return to Barbados and let the investigation move forward. The Government of Barbados cannot compel her to return, nor quite frankly should the thought of the government of Barbados paying her travel and accomodation even cross her mind.
    ———————————
    Her lawyers are saying that the Barbados gov’t is not making good on its invitation to Myrie to return and identify who finger raped her. Is there some additional logistics that is required of the Barbados gov’t?….I don’t know. Her lawyers also said that she is willing to travel here at her own expense. So what is the delay?….I still don’t know. Obviously somebody isn’t doing what is necessary to make it happen….but who? I don’t know.

64. @Zack et al…

If I may throw out two radical ideas?

1. If drugs weren’t illegal, there wouldn’t be as much profit motive from those who make serious money from breaking the law.

2. Why is it that alcohol and nicotine are “legal”, even though it is generally accepted that they are clearly mind altering drugs?

65. @Chris

I cannot agree with legalizing cannabis or cocaine except by doctor’s perscription (don’t know if they are any medicinal purposes for cocaine). Even though many people see cannibis as a soft drug, it can have more harmful effects on the mind than alcohol or nicotine. Cannabis is known to induce paranoia and nervousness.

66. @Zack: “I cannot agree with legalizing cannabis…

Do you really understand why cannabis was made illegal?

Because the hemp plant produced a very good fiber. Much better than (and much faster growing than) that derived from wood (read: trees).

Do your research… Ever heard of “hemp ropes” from about 300 years ago?

A certain company (owned by a certain individual) had a big investment in tree harvesting in the Americas…

And, all of a sudden, hemp was made illegal in the “great US of A”.

Hmmmm….

67. It is amazing that Jamaicans like Zack and others can come on this blog freely and push the shanique myrie lies – like for example the government is refusing to allow her to come to Barbados to identify the alleged person.

Intrestingly he ignored the main part of the government ‘s response in the said Nation and Gleaner newspapers – where the Barbadian Government is insisting that she must also be questioned when she comes to Barbados.

Notice how the Jamaican Gleaner and the Observer puts on the drug mule story for a couple of hours,and remove it completely from the archives so that no negative comments can be posted like they did with the Myrie lies.

68. The “first offense” penalty for foreigners drug trafficking in Barbados should be deportation and a lifetime ban from returning to Barbados.

The taxpayers should not be feeding and rehabilitating foreigners.

69. @Hants: “The “first offense” penalty for foreigners drug trafficking in Barbados should be deportation and a lifetime ban from returning to Barbados.

Shouldn’t that be “…trafficking in to Barbados…”.

Words matter….

70. @ Christopher Halsall.

71. For those who think BU is too harsh by protecting her borders especially from the greatest threats here is a question.

Why is it some islands in the Caribbean have sought to institute Visas for Jamaicans to enter?

72. @ Cuh Dear co-sign. You notice it Zack deliberately left out the critical part where Bdos Gov are correctly and reasonably saying Myrie must be interviewed and questioned on her return. Zack, Golding, Myrie lawyers and the jamaican poulation want Myreie to return here go to Immigration point out whoever she chooses as her attacker and that person without right of defence or trial be convicted to Dodds. Thats like Tivoli Gardens justice under Duduss only difference is instead of dodds the accused immediately goes six feet under.

73. @Christopher Halsall | August 10, 2011 at 7:11 PM | @Zack: “I cannot agree with legalizing cannabis…
    Do you really understand why cannabis was made illegal?
    Because the hemp plant produced a very good fiber. Much better than (and much faster growing than) that derived from wood (read: trees).
    Do your research… Ever heard of “hemp ropes” from about 300 years ago?
    ————————————
    I think you on drugs yourself. What you explained above makes no sense.

74. @Cuh Dear | August 10, 2011 at 7:33 PM | It is amazing that Jamaicans like Zack and others can come on this blog freely and push the shanique myrie lies – like for example the government is refusing to allow her to come to Barbados to identify the alleged person.
    ——————————-
    IDIOT!

75. @Zack: “What you explained above makes no sense.

Then there is an error between your ears.

76. @Hants | August 10, 2011 at 7:42 PM | The “first offense” penalty for foreigners drug trafficking in Barbados should be deportation and a lifetime ban from returning to Barbados.
    The taxpayers should not be feeding and rehabilitating foreigners.
    ———————————-
    I agree with you 100%.

77. @z | August 10, 2011 at 8:25 PM | @ Cuh Dear co-sign. You notice it Zack deliberately left out the critical part where Bdos Gov are correctly and reasonably saying Myrie must be interviewed and questioned on her return. Zack, Golding, Myrie lawyers and the jamaican poulation want Myreie to return here go to Immigration point out whoever she chooses as her attacker and that person without right of defence or trial be convicted to Dodds.
    ————————-
    Another idiot…or the same one.

78. @Christopher Halsall | August 10, 2011 at 8:39 PM | @Zack: “What you explained above makes no sense.
    Then there is an error between your ears.
    ———————————-
    If it makes you feel better to think so.

79. Str8 Up | August 9, 2011 at 8:47 PM |
    “The Bajan authorities were right to search the …………………………..”
    Are you a man born of a woman, have sisters aunts and other female relatives? How would you like anyone to describe them as you vividly did?

80. lol zack still not acknowledging that the jamaican legal team dont want myrie to be interviewed by officials and dat is y tings stall up.

81. @jeff | August 10, 2011 at 11:21 PM | lol zack still not acknowledging that the jamaican legal team dont want myrie to be interviewed by officials and dat is y tings stall up.
    ——————————-
    Can you point me to any evidence to support what you are saying? This reminds me of the situation with the former IMF boss and the hotel maid who accused him of sexual assault. They want to say she doesn’t have a case because her credibility is in doubt, but each case should be judged on its own merit.

82. Why are we beating up on Zack. When alcohol was banned, President Kennedy’s father got rich enough out of the trade to allow him to run for president of the USA. Even if “illegal” drugs are legalized, profit shall still be in it. This time like cigarettes we can destroy our young, middle age and old herb smokers’ brain legally.
    For years a business man who recently dies was the major mover and shaper of the drug trade in barbados, but people like amused and the others here would not have the balls to talk of about destruction that the man from swan wrought on this nation. The trade is now in the hands of his son. What about the syrians from swan street. Come on do any of you have the balls. Will we continue to see prominent citizens playing happy birthday on instrument o them in the Nation newspaper. What about our good lawyers and other nice people in barbados who profit although they are not on the street peddling the stuff.

83. @Zack
    You should apologize to the BU family, on behalf of the young Jamaican woman who concealed 5 lbs of marijuana in her private part. She made
    the whole of CARICOM feel ashamed. You country is becoming the laughing stock of the world. European countries aren’t reporting it as 5 pounds, their story is ”Jamaican woman conceals 10,000 grams of
    cannabis in cavity”. Are you proud of your countrywoman holding that record?

84. @zack do you have any evidence that barbados is stonewalling the case?

85. With is the latest count of people apprehended?

With these drugs not making it to the streets what do you anticipate will happen?

Fighting on the streets?

Bajans are truly allowing the ‘you are welcome bullshit to all’ to blur their commonsense. All of what is unfolding has been predicted by the BU family.

86. Recently on the west coast, several gardeners were fired for growing marijuana in the gardens of a wealthy expat.

87. Zack: I continue to support you. we have bajan drug mules. A woman recently was going around deacons road saying that her daughter had disappeared. She turned up in london attempting to bring concealed drugs into that country. The the mother wanted know who was going to support the daughter’s two or three children. Should the british customs and immigration be allowed to disrepect that bajan woman. would ALL of barbados be outraged. I am not saying the myrie was telling lies or the truth but there is a principle here that needs to protection, a basic human right to treated with dignity.

88. @lemuel: “…but there is a principle here that needs to protection, a basic human right to treated with dignity.

If you break the law in your own country, or any other country (including trying to enter another country) you are a criminal, and are exposed to criminal prosecution under that country’s laws.

If you don’t like this truth, don’t break the law anywhere you are or go.

It is really not rocket science….

P.S. In some countries, being found with illegal drugs (citizens and foreigners alike) results in execution.

P.P.S. In some countries, alcohol is an illegal drug.

P.P.P.S. Put that in your pipe and smoke it….

89. To Halsall:
    Even when one is incarcerated, it does not mean that one should be treated as the jailer or guard so desires. No where do I contend that the full weight of the law should not be engaged to correct or curb contravention of the law. I am simply saying that even criminals have rights, and do not become mere animals to be mistreated by you and your family who may occupy positions of power. In your haste to join the ranks of “amused”, you missed my point.

90. lock dem up for life every single one as they land ..thats what cuba does ..they have no problems ..and i am jamaican …never pushed drugs in my life never will but i see the effect it has on individuals and countries ..lock de up for life dun talk..

91. @lemuel: “Even when one is incarcerated, it does not mean that one should be treated as the jailer or guard so desires.

On this point I agree with you.

The point I was trying to make is the “drug mules” we’ve been hearing about lately have been moving between commonwealth countries.

Gods forbid some stupid person be convinced to “body pack” drugs into Asia….

92. To halsall:
    What has happened in this conversation over the myrie affair is that jamaican nationalism raised its ugly head, then bajans were outraged that she could have the temerity to accuse “our” not too robust immigration and customs of infringing on her rights. Then we on this blog got all caught up in our own agenda to press home our point or advantage with the written word. But the fact is that no country has the right to conduct a body cavity search without due process and I would go as far to suggest that it be treated like a search warrant where government officials have to present a clear case before permission is given to search, BUT THERE MUST BE PROBABLE CAUSE!!!

Thanks for your agreement with me.

93. @oh come on | August 11, 2011 at 10:53 AM | @zack do you have any evidence that barbados is stonewalling the case?
    —————————–
    I never made that accusation idiot. All I said was “I don’t know” who is responsible for the delay. Unlike some of you idiots, I refrain from casting blame on one side or the other without sound evidence.

94. @Chuckles | August 11, 2011 at 9:56 AM | @Zack
    You should apologize to the BU family, on behalf of the young Jamaican woman who concealed 5 lbs of marijuana in her private part.
    ————————
    Another bloody idiot. You idiots are coming out of the woodwork like flying ants. Do you know anything about me?

95. @David who wrote:
    Bajans are truly allowing the ‘you are welcome bullshit to all’ to blur their commonsense. All of what is unfolding has been predicted by the BU family.
    ——————-
    You have more bullshit in your brain than that woman had weed up her crotch. And I keep asking you, who the hell is the BU family? You’re always with the same cry, the BU family predicted this, and the BU family predicted that…..I mean, are you really that desperate for attention?

96. @lemuel: “But the fact is that no country has the right to conduct a body cavity search without due process and I would go as far to suggest that it be treated like a search warrant where government officials have to present a clear case before permission is given to search, BUT THERE MUST BE PROBABLE CAUSE!!!

You are wrong.

And this is important to understand.

When a foreigner presents themselves at the border of the country they wish to enter, they surrender all rights from the country they came from, and subject themselves to the laws of the country they wish to enter.

(Caveat — there may be inter-juridical agreements between jurisdictions, but the individual should be very careful trusting they can leverage upon these.)

This may not be “correct” from an ethical standpoint, but it is “correct”, enforceable and justifiable under the law of *many* countries; and internationally.

Know this truth.

97. @lemuel | August 11, 2011 at 1:47 PM | Zack: I continue to support you. we have bajan drug mules. A woman recently was going around deacons road saying that her daughter had disappeared. She turned up in london attempting to bring concealed drugs into that country. The the mother wanted know who was going to support the daughter’s two or three children. Should the british customs and immigration be allowed to disrepect that bajan woman. would ALL of barbados be outraged. I am not saying the myrie was telling lies or the truth but there is a principle here that needs to protection, a basic human right to treated with dignity.
    ———————-
    Thank you. It is a serious allegation and we need to ascertain the truth without jumping to conclusions. We need to know who is stalling the process right now, and why, without jumping to conclusions.

98. #Christopher Halsall | August 11, 2011 at 2:03 PM | @lemuel: “…but there is a principle here that needs to protection, a basic human right to treated with dignity.”
    If you break the law in your own country, or any other country (including trying to enter another country) you are a criminal, and are exposed to criminal prosecution under that country’s laws.
    ———————
    Chris, the fact of the matter is that if Myrie’s accusations are truthful, it means that she was processed inappropriately and in a illegal manner. This is the point that Lemuel is making, so please don’t confuse the issue.

99. To halsall:
    Tel ; expalin to me, and list those countries that can remove all of your rights just by entering their jurisdiction. You are making sport at the UN and all those agreements and regulations that UN countries have signed. Remember most countries in the world are in the UN. Countries must have a good reason to search at their borders. Oh I forgot, you have your own island and country; you may lose it in an international law suit.

100. To Zack:
    Halsall will try to but he cannot confuse me or the issues that I am dealing with. He or she or it has to forget nationalism and think for once, not like uwi graduates.

101. @lemuel: “halsall … expalin to me, and list those countries that can remove all of your rights just by entering their jurisdiction.

If you are not a citizen of that country, every single sovereign nation.

Do you not understand international law?

102. @Lemuel who wrote:
    But the fact is that no country has the right to conduct a body cavity search without due process and I would go as far to suggest that it be treated like a search warrant where government officials have to present a clear case before permission is given to search, BUT THERE MUST BE PROBABLE CAUSE!!!
    —————————–
    I would have to research and get confirmation of what the law is on this particular issue, but what I know for sure is that two customs officers of the same sex as the person being searched must be present, and they are not suppose to insert any fingers or foreign objects in your body.

103. @Zack: “…if Myrie’s accusations are truthful, it means that she was processed inappropriately and in a illegal manner.

Please note your own use of the conditional word “if”.

If the world was flat, then ships might fall off the edge.

But, as we all now know, the earth is not flat, and ships do not fall off the edge.

If Myrie is telling the truth, then she should be comfortable proving this.

104. Halsall:
    Even even international law has its limitations. You or no one else can do as they like at the borders, especially to citizens of other countries, unless they want to start a war. Do you think that it is by chance that Iran is TAKING those US CITIZENS TO COURT to justify restricting their freedom? Think of the madness you are suggesting!!

105. @Zack: “…but what I know for sure is that two customs officers of the same sex as the person being searched must be present, and they are not suppose to insert any fingers or foreign objects in your body.

In what country(s)’ jurisdiction(s) are you claiming to be speaking authoritatively?

106. Hi Halsall:
    Do you know of the pressure that the US and Britain and now under as it is now clear that they were involved in restricting the freedom of other nationals in foreign prisons. This was under the terrorism legislation which gives the kind of power to do cavity searches. So in Barbados we shall label drug mules as terrorists and cavity search them each time.

107. @Christopher Halsall | August 11, 2011 at 3:49 PM | @Zack: “…but what I know for sure is that two customs officers of the same sex as the person being searched must be present, and they are not suppose to insert any fingers or foreign objects in your body.”

In what country(s)’ jurisdiction(s) are you claiming to be speaking authoritatively?
    —————————
    That is the Barbados law as it pertains to body searches conducted by customs officers at the airport. Any invasive body searches must be done by a doctor at the hospital. Are you familiar with local law?

108. @Zack: “Are you familiar with local law?

Very.

But perhaps you can present to us all here where the Barbados law says what you claim it does.

109. To Halsall:
    You talk of your knowledge of international law. That thing called a passport gives me or you or any one else the right to call or refer any complaints or challenges with regard to any right infringement at any port of call. That is why there are structures called embassies and consulates. that is why all official passports are given certain treatment at ports of call or entry. I am leaving you for Zack to mop up.

110. @Christopher Halsall | August 11, 2011 at 3:46 PM | @Zack: “…if Myrie’s accusations are truthful, it means that she was processed inappropriately and in a illegal manner.
    Please note your own use of the conditional word “if”.
    If the world was flat, then ships might fall off the edge.
    But, as we all now know, the earth is not flat, and ships do not fall off the edge.
    If Myrie is telling the truth, then she should be comfortable proving this.
    ————————–
    You just reminded me that it is a waste of time having a useful conversation with you. Are you implying that she isn’t comfortable? How would you know this? And even if she isn’t comfortable, are all victims (rape or otherwise) always comfortable proving their case? The problem with most of you is that you see yourselves as judge, jury, and executioner, and most times you really don’t have a damn clue about what is actually going on. Will the Barbados gov’t ensure that all personnel (immigration, customs, and police) who were on duty the day in question, be present for Myrie to identify from if or when she returns? I’m only throwing out the question, but neither you or I can answer that with any certainty.

111. @lemuel: “That thing called a passport gives me or you or any one else the right to call or refer any complaints or challenges with regard to any right infringement at any port of call.

You are wrong.

A passport is simply an instrument of identification.

@lemuel: “That is why there are structures called embassies and consulates. that is why all official passports are given certain treatment at ports of call or entry.

Again, you are wrong.

Even without a passport, a citizen of a country can leverage upon their country’s embassy or consulate in the country they find themselves in trouble in, IF SUCH DIPLOMATIC RELATIONSHIP EXISTS.

@lemuel: “I am leaving you for Zack to mop up.

While I don’t particularly enjoy fighting with under-armed combatants, I am prepared for the attack by Zack….

112. @Christopher Halsall | August 11, 2011 at 3:57 PM | @Zack: “Are you familiar with local law?”
    Very.
    But perhaps you can present to us all here where the Barbados law says what you claim it does.
    ————————
    Then you should know….but if you’re still in doubt ask Maxine McClean.

113. To Halsall:
    Where are you from Mars? Does a passport not identify you as a citizen of country x, y or z? It is not mere identification. Do you know that even if you are remanded by another country, they are supposed to let the embassy if there is one in that country know one of its nationals has been remanded. Do even know what is AN OFFICIAL passport? You love to fulminate your wrong, wrong, but you are wrong wrong wrong. Over to Zack.

114. @Zack: “Then you should know….but if you’re still in doubt ask Maxine McClean.

So then, you are admitting you do not know the answer.

115. @lemuel: “Does a passport not identify you as a citizen of country x, y or z?

Yes, it does.

But it does not give you the right to violate the laws of the country you are entering.

Nor does it give you the protection of your laws within the country you have entered.

Citizenship of a country simply gives you the right to ask for that country’s help if you find yourself in trouble wherever you happen to find yourself in trouble.

Importantly: your country may not always be able to help you.

At the end of the day, trying to stay out of trouble (read: don’t break the law) is a really good personal policy.

Shoving illegal drugs up (or down) your available orifices (or hiding them in your luggage) may not end well….

116. @Zack

Nothing but love to you from the BU household:-)

117. Oistins fisherman

lemuel and Zack two effing clowns who I assume are jamicans. Look guys you are not only pains in the ass you are what Bajans call wrong and strong. You are not convincing me or any Bajan who thinks for himself of anything. You may as well quit with the tag tam bullshite. Wunna ever heard of Tawana Brawley a Afro American girl who claimed in the greatest sincerity she was raped or abused by white cops. 300 million Americans believed her and Rev Al Sharpton built his career of her case. Guess what about 20 years later Miss Brawley said she made it all up. She had lied thru her mouth her teeth her ass thru every orifice. The innocent sounding girl that the world believed was a stone cold LIAR!

Miss Myrie could be cut from the Brawley cloth can you tag team jackasses understand that. Myrie maybe lying her ass off. The Bdos gov is saying we have to question her to find out if she is factual or not. Its like a court case both sides get a chance to question. Then btween the Bajan and Jamaican lawyers we will see how we proceed. The Jamaican lawyers cant demand she not be questioned . What kind of Trench Town justice is that. Look zack and lemuel dont get me vex yuh!

118. @Christopher Halsall | August 11, 2011 at 4:36 PM | @Zack: “Then you should know….but if you’re still in doubt ask Maxine McClean.

So then, you are admitting you do not know the answer.
    ——————————–
    If you want to see it as that idiot.

119. @David | August 11, 2011 at 6:48 PM | @Zack
    Nothing but love to you from the BU household:-)
    ————————-
    Yeah….love is good…same to you…but I’m still puzzled as to who the BU household\family is that you claim to be speaking on behalf of. Are your wife and children here?…..and do they share your point of view on all issues?

120. @Oistins fisherman | August 11, 2011 at 9:16 PM | lemuel and Zack two effing clowns who I assume are jamicans.
    ———————
    Another “johnny”…..or a repeat johnny with a different name. But a johnny by any other name is still a johnny.

121. @All the johnnies and idiots
    Remember that assumption is the mother of all f-ups. Every case must be judged on its own merit, and not past episodes. Don’t be a shithead…uh beg yuh.

122. Why you all hungry ass jamaicans don’t go back to the land of wood and water and sell wunna drugs and prositiute wunna diseased selves back dey inna Jamaica.

We sick of wunna all.

123. To Oistins fisherman:
    Atleast we the suppossed j’an are thinking. At not time did we indicate that myrie had a right to come and bring drugs or anything illegal to B’dos. What is wrong in asking, requesting the right and proper way to undertake an investigation? Did you know that J’ca and Guyanna fed you B’dians in the 50′s, 60′s and 70′s.

124. By the way fisherman you do not dismiss opponents by simply cussing them or dismissing their positions as ineffectual I could spend sometime taking you apart, but I feel your stupidity and irrationality. Where is my opponent Halsall? Is this all B’dos has to offer a fisherman and a cuh dear. By the way cuh dear did you cry when “bobbles” died.

125. If what the government of barbados is saying is true then it makes me wonder why jamaican lawyers do not want shanique myrie to be questioned. you see if during interrogation they investigate and find any lies in her story (eg. where she was supposed to be staying, purpose of visit or the mystery man that known to facilitate whores working in the country) it seriously raises credibility issues on the rest of her case. you can bet that the authorities have probably interrogated the man she was to meet and already have his confession of intent to human trafficking or his total denying even knowing shanique myrie. also the lady from hillaby would have been questioned. why hasn’t the shop owner from hillaby come forward in this young lady’s defense as her character is being assassinated but prefers to stay silent? the Jamaican lawyers arent stupid, they know that and would be trying to block any attempts by the Barbados authorities to poke holes in her credibility and i suspect an interrogation will do just that.

126. To Vincent:
    I do not object to anything you are saying, but i know the number of stupid people who believe they have authority at b’dos port of entry. by the way, if she was being met by a known fair dog/ monger, it does not mean she was in the business of picking fairs. In fact, b’dos has now made it official, it alright o pick a fair, no stress. I believe that the woman did look good; refuse the advances form the wickers at the airport and was probed by one of them. come on b’dos, the wickers and bullers are in charge there ask peter wickham and mia mottley.

127. @lemuel: “Where is my opponent Halsall?

Right here…

But since you didn’t reply to my reply to you dated August 11, 2011 at 4:44 PM, and Zack’s only response was to call me an idiot when I showed he was a few bricks short of a shit-house, I didn’t feel I needed to speak further….

128. @lemuel
    no u don’t understand, her credibility would be shot if the fair monger confessed that he brought her here to sell OR if the hillaby woman swears she never made arrangements and doesn’t know her. the Jamaican lawyers don’t want to do anything to risk even poking one hole in her credibility as it is her credibility right now that is casting a doubt on whether the incident happened or not.

129. For the information of Halsall [who pretends to know everything and knows not he knows not] and for the enlightenment of the “BU family, the following is taken from the Customs Act, Cap 66

232. (1) Where any officer is informed or has reason to searcht)t suppose that any person on a ship or aircraft, or any person who has landed from a ship or aircraft, or any person whom the officer may suspect to have received any goods from any
    such person, to be carrying or to have any uncustomed or prohibited or restricted goods about his person, such officer may search such person.
    (2) Where any such person, upon being questioned by any officer as to whether he has any uncustomed or prohibited or restricted goods upon his person or in his possession or in his baggage, refuses to answer or denies having the same, and any such goods are discovered to be or to have been upon his person or in his possession or in his baggage, such goods shall be liable to forfeiture.
    (3) No officer shall be liable to any prosecution or action at law on account of any search made in accordance with this section.
    233. -Before any person is searched he may require to be taken with all reasonable despatch before a magistrate or the Ei;;‘,“’ Comptroller or other superior officer of customs, who shall, required if he sees no reasonable cause for search, discharge such person ~~esearch. but, if otherwise, direct that he be searched.
    234. A female shall not be searched except by a female.

130. @jack spratt… Quoting Barbados Act Cap 66, paragraph 234: “A female shall not be searched except by a female.

Thanks for that jack.

Your above supports what I have said, and contradicts what Zack has claimed.

131. @All Bajans…

Is it not a little embarrassing that the “Barbados Information Gateway” (BIG) portal (you know, the URL “http://www.gov.bb/portal/page/portal/BIG_Portal_Home_Page” which is redirected to by “http://www.gov.bb/”) doesn’t actually work?

132. Lemuel
    You said Jamaica fed Bajans in the 70′s? where did you get that from? For your information, the crisis in the early 70′s was a landmark for Barbadian help to BIG JAMAICA. Not only did Barbados bounce back quickly from the oil crisis then but our then P.M Errol Barrow loan money to Jamaica to prop them up, and you got the guts to tell me Jamaica was feeding Barbados? Since those days Jamaica dollar that was once stronger than the U.S dollar is now a little higher than the Guyanese dollar.

133. As an outsider looking in ,and even more as a person with interest across the caribbean i notice one thing and i am writing from jamaica as a visitor for the first time..the impression i got of this place when i was in the eastern caribbean is that its a crime field with lots of dead people all over the streets,my second day here in jamaica and i find it so vibrant ,alive and with very sociable people and to be honest looks more first world than all the other islands i have been to ..yes i see bad areas but kingston is so vibrant ..i read the posts earlier, and i am saying to myself, are some of these people writing even aware of how different things are on the other islands..people seem to just get on with there lives without the hate …every country has its problems not everybody can be good ..
    dont paint a country because of a few ..i guess ireland where i am ,from shares comparison with jamaica in some sense ,not much liked but get along anyways.. …

134. Colonel Buggy

Only when it suits some.
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/Costa-Rica-wants-free-trade-agreement-with-Caricom

135. To Vincent:
    Stop trying to play top lawyer here. The IMF man raped and battered that woman in new york, but idiots like you believe that she was associating with bad people so she is a liar. Why do you continue to stress cridibilty. Even if myrie is a fair dog, it does not mean that the wickers and bullers at the airpost did not take advantaGE OF HER KNOwING OR HOPING SHE WOULD NOT make the big stink that is being made.
    To Scout:
    You are a real bajan . You bajans would be hungry but PRIDE would insist that you pretend to be full. Because barrow did thai and that it does not mean that the proceeds from the number of J’can who were visiting and shopping in B’dos did not help to feed all or some of you. I hope you understand the impact of the tourism dollar.

To Halsall:
    Was busy so I could not repsond, but you still remain my favorite sparing partner, so gird you back for more blows.

136. Lemuel
    Why did Jamaican come to Barbados to shop? The answer is because it was cheaper and therefore you Jamaican benefited.However, I know of thousands of Trinis who were coming over here to shop but I don’t know of that many Jamaican who made the trip. Sorry a little bee just told me Jamaican came here instead of going to USA to shop so as to help our economy, or was it because they couldn’t get a US visa?

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s