Paying Lip Service To Culture

After the euphoria of making UNESCO’s World Heritage List the job – we are told – begins to sensitize Barbadians to protect the few buildings and spaces of cultural significance we have left in and around Bridgetown. An educated and enlightened Barbadian should possess an innate desire to safeguard our culture, to ensure who we were is passed on to our children and our children’s children. Wouldn’t this knowledge transfer serve to give truth to the cliché, ‘if you don’t know where you came from, you sure as hell will experience a problem plotting a forward course’.

Sadly there is the truth that Barbadians pay lip service to matters of culture. An example is the Crop Over Festival which was born out of a celebration of the harvesting of the sugarcane and has now been relegated to a beads, feathers and wuk-up affair. The cultural dimension has been prostituted on the altar of economic expediency.

In recent days images of the Empire Theatre floating around Facebook has reinforced BU’s position that we are a people devoid of any need to connect to our culture. How is it that we have allowed a 100 hundred year old building to slip into such a sad state of repair? What is depressing has been the silence of the people.

Advertisement

208 Responses to Paying Lip Service To Culture

1. Charles S.Cadogan Sr

For many years Barbadians, or should I say most Barbadians has this policy let’s wait and see what’s going to happen. Now the new move seem to be destroy all the natural things that made us shine. Or just allow them to decay. For a NEW BARBADOS. This new Barbados with all these new buildings, hotels, resorts, malls, and whatever else they think can bring money, by the way which seem to the policy makers as THE QUICK FIX.. . Has taken over THE CULTURE that should have been preserve from way back when. Too much changes all around, and the real Barbados is getting lost little by little year after year to outsiders. I hope that the powers to be will wake up and leave something for us to show our grandchildren. This is truly very sad fighting so hard to change the face of the country that drew people to it in the first place from it’s NATURAL BEAUTY, to a cosmetic tourist attraction.

2. A through Bridgetown especially will toss up a number of old buildings which should embarrass Barbadians. One that comes to mind is the St. Michael’s Cathedral:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/st-michaels-cathedral-a-national-treasure/

3. @David. Very sad. Some of us in our middle age remember well going to see shows there. It used to be a feature of our Saturdays, as children and teenagers. Some of us may even remember live shows there. Of course, we all remember that it was where our girlfriends’ parents would allow us to take them on dates, before we got our drivers licenses. Over the years, there has been talk of fixing the place up and using it for cultural events, but it has never gone beyond talk. Hopefully now with this publicity, government will see its way clear to preserving this historic building that is held in such deep affection and memories for so many of us older folk so that future generations can enjoy and benefit from it. Maybe it is time the National Trust weighed in. Well done, David, in bringing attention back to this.

4. Are any of you willing to donate CASH from your own pockets to ASSIST in restoring these buildings?

5. Barbadians seem to have stopped racking up high credit card debt, but they continue to struggle with mortgage payments, according to president of the Barbados Bankers’ Association, Horace Cobham.

Later!

6. Walking Fingers

2011-08-23

Government has not abandoned plans to restore the historic Empire Theatre, even as it prepares to construct a new multi-million dollar performing arts and cultural centre on the outskirts of the City.

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said Government officials were now going through a series of proposals for the dilapidated facility located in Bridgetown, but that it was unclear whether it could be restored to its full former glory.

Barbados was to have received funding from the Chinese government to pay for the restoration of the Empire, but after a delegation from that Asian country examined it, they opted to fund a new facility.

Plans for that centre to be located at Brandons, St. Michael were outlined last week by Sinckler during his presentation of a Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly.

It’s all part of a Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan now in train, and which will include improvements stretching from Batts Rock to Needhams Point.

Speaking to the media today at his constituency office in Black Rock, St. Michael, the minister said a number of things were left to be done before the planned performing arts centre could be built.

But he said plans for the Empire had not been shelved but were now being worked out.

“There are a number of proposals I understand from the Ministry of Culture to the projects review process, which I chair as Minister of Finance. There are proposals for the restoration of the Empire Cinema to keep the facade, but the entire inside is practically gone and the roof is gone and so forth,” he said.

“So there are proposals there, which the ministry is going through now with the Infrastructural Committee to select those to ensure that we get the best one, but that would be for very specific purposes.

“We feel that the Empire should be restored, but the point that was made by all of the technical experts was that the Empire Cinema as a theatre should be restored to some extent, but that it [would] likely be too small to be able to hold the numbers that you want,” he added.

Sinckler said the remade facility would therefore “have to be a boutique theatre where people can hold small shows, but the big entertainment shows would not have been able to take place there and that we would have to find a green field site to put an entirely new complex”.

“That seemed to have been the wisest decision on recommendation, and it is a recommendation that the Government now supports,” he said. (SC)

7. Colonel Buggy

I am an avid photographer and have taken many photos around Bridgetown and the island in general,many of which are downloaded on the website Flickr. Shortly after we were accorded the designation of UNESCO World Heritage Site, I decided to remove many of these images from the site,as in my opinion they would not have done the island justice.
    We are a nation of all talk and no action,and I believe that the politicians are only jumping on the band wagon of things Heritage to increase their popularity in order to garner votes,but otherwise could not care less about the conditions of Bridgetown, the Garrison or the island in general. (Dame Billie Miler excluded) Very often I walk through Bridgetown, using many of the routes frequented by tourist,as well as the those off the beaten track. There is an abundance of garbage throughout Bridgetown,that has been piled up in some areas for ages. Take Queens Park, for instance, a mecca for the latest local fashions on Christmas morning. This place was once the pride of Bridgetown, where visitors and locals alike used to spend some quiet and enjoyable times.Today we see tons and tons of grass cuttings, tree clippings and other garbage in that area not far from the children’s play park. The road to the east and the north of the cricket playing field is atrocious. The Queens Park Gallery , once the home of the General Officer Commanding the West India Regiment, is now in a sorry state of disrepair, and the eastern veranda has now become the home of many vagrants and homeless people,a sad sight to see during the day.The out buildings and former stables to the rear are also decaying and home to God knows whom. Recently the Government spent millions of dollars beautifying the Constitution River area, a job well done, but as expected it appears as if no maintenance has been carried out on the area for a long long time,it is unkempt and slowly becoming an eyesore,if not a health hazard. But the Jewel of the Crown in the “Unbeauty” of Bridgetown goes to the Fairchild Street Market area. Imagine almost in the very heart of Bridgetown we have a derelict and abandoned market building, which is used by uncaring individuals as a garbage transfer/collection station.And just outside of the building is an ugly array of shacks in shanty town market,and if you have ever pass the area at nights, you will see the rat population running freely about. This government had issued a notice of its intention to demolish the old market building, but like everything thing else, at the first signs of protest, its starts a back pedaling exercise. This week I was amazed to see an MTW road weeding team weeding grass from the sides of some Bridgetown streets.
    This is just a small area of Bridgetown that I have highlighted.
    To quote an Oistin Businessman. Barbadians, dress in their finest clothes to attend functions in the Frank Collymore Hall, and does not think twice about stepping over piles of stinking garbage in the neighbouring streets as they alight from their Mercedes or BMW cars.

8. The government it its budget referred to floating a 50 million dollar bond to support the creative arts. What are we doing? Is our heart really in it?

9. @ Walking Fingers | November 4, 2011 at 8:52 AM. Encouraging. And without taking political sides, the last time any government made sounds about doing something about the Empire it was a DLP government, but at the end of its time in power. So I am glad to see that it has been taken up again.

Having said that, is the Minister quite sure that the Empire would be too small as a cinema? Not everyone want to go to the cinema at the same time and these days in larger countries there are back-to-back shows. Of course it could not be a multiplex, but I question whether or not Barbados could generate a viable cinema audience for a multiplex.

Certainly, the facade ought to be kept. So now let us wait and see what happens. Hopefully, something.

10. millertheanunnaki

Walking Fingers | November 4, 2011 at 8:52 AM |
    “Plans for that centre to be located at Brandons, St. Michael were outlined last week by Sinckler during his presentation of a Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly.” (Sounds like a repeat of a much earlier PR post).

This Chinese funding is NOT a Gift but a Loan with major conditions attached (100% Chinese labour, furnishings etc). If it is a gift by all means go ahead and start construction within the coming year.!
    The question to be posed to you is this: Which comes first- Entertainment or the Nation’s Health? Should we borrow to build a new entertainment centre or should we borrow to build a new hospital or even a major upgrade to the existing plant (involving the compulsory acquisition of some of the surrounding land)?

11. We have lost the art of seeing beauty in anything unless it has the glitz of bling blinding us. So the new is tossed up never to be maintained and it falls into disrepair. In other countries old buildings are taken care of – not always it is true – many hundreds of years old because they give a history, majesty and solidity.

I remember the Empire and the buzz around the place on Saturday nights, as those agile of mind and body held hands and looked at distant places projected to us on screens.

When I pass the building now – or what is left of it – I avert my eyes and to think it is in a central location in Bridgetown. Why spend dollars on it….it is only for the people.

12. millertheanunnaki

Colonel Buggy | November 4, 2011 at 9:23 AM |
    “the Jewel of the Crown in the “Unbeauty” of Bridgetown goes to the Fairchild Street Market area. Imagine almost in the very heart of Bridgetown we have a derelict and abandoned market building, which is used by uncaring individuals as a garbage transfer/collection station.And just outside of the building is an ugly array of shacks in shanty town market,and if you have ever pass the area at nights, you will see the rat population running freely about. ”

That area reminds me so much of the ugly shanty towns associated with the depressed area of some West African cities and some parts of Port-au-Prince next door. But that is what you get when politicians for the sake of votes pander to the gallery filled with the mob of environmental terrorists with no sensitivity to the basic requirements of public health and hygiene.

13. Maybe someone should be asking for clarification from Minister Sinckler as to what exactly is the Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan.

I certainly aint ever heard of it before.When was this master plan engaged, who are the consultants, when was/will it be shown the the tax payers, how much did it cost?

14. Pingback: Barbados: No Love for Culture · Global Voices

15. millertheanunnaki

File Notes | November 4, 2011 at 12:06 PM | i
    “I certainly aint ever heard of it before.When was this master plan engaged, who are the consultants, when was/will it be shown the tax payers, how much did it cost?”

Get with the DLP corruption programme! The Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan has already been prepared under the auspices of the previous Administration. But just like the Marina Redesign project we will have “The Redesign Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan” contract award session. This time DB and possibly Bannister will not be at the trough but CS and his cronies.
    Follow the drift of flotsam from the Pierhead marina to the Brandons entertainment centre and you will see the big picture on the Empire screen.

16. Lol…proposals….how many proposals have we had to hear about…as far as I am concerned anything from Sinckler and them right now is blah blah to me until I see something happen. I have been a professional musician, performer and music producer for 24 years in this island. That building has been unused as long as I have been a professional. Forgive us Mr Sinckler for thinking that this is just another load of cr*p. I have ideas. I posted the photos on facebook. I went in there on Sunday with Michelle Springer. I have no official proposal. I don’t feel I need one. I have 24 years in. And I am pretty sure those proposals in there don’t come from anyone like me. With my experience and my passion. Coz mine aint money driven. Mine is not for personal gain whatsoever. I have ideas. I have posted that on facebook. One person with a proposal in has called me. And I know why. But lemme tellya….any friggin in de riggin I will expose…coz nuttn from nuttn is nuttn for me. What I would like to know is WHY didn’t the Government Of Barbados advertise for expressions of interest? WHY has only a select group been allowed to put forward plans for it’s restoration? All I can do is wonder and assume. And my assumptions are making me upset. I am very passionate about all things Barbadian. I love my country and it’s people. The Heritage Site thing is awesome but there is alot more we can do…it’s all there…some of it left to rot like the Empire Theatre…a friggin disgrace….the changing of Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square…what RUBBISH!….that must change back too…anyway…watch my Facebook for updates…..meanwhile…everyone do something today for the upliftment of our people…for this is how we move forward. Peace…..and war.

17. The attempt to push through the Antiquities Bill makes a mockery and projects a contradiction by government given the ruins which can be found in and around Bridgetown.

18. @ millertheanunnaki

“The Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan has already been prepared under the auspices of the previous Administration.”

What evidence do you have to support this claim, please provide the specifics unless of course you are just guess and or speculating.

19. @Mikey

Thanks for posting the pics, BU did not give credit because the pics bear Michelle’s watermark.

20. @ Disobey
    Well as far as I know there exists a Bridgetown Redevelopment Plan that includes many unimplemented projects that remain relevant like the market for instance. But if the DLP commissioned an ‘improvement master plan’ (whatever that means), then tell BU when the tender to provide such services was advertised.
    People when I see a performing Arts Centre at Brandons is when I will believe Minister Sinckler. By the way wey the people gine park? Madness!!! Why the government don’t ask Jada to BOLT/BOOT the Empire Theatre?

21. millertheanunnaki

@ Disobey:

The marina project along with the Bay Street upgrade is part of this plan.
    But why me? It is Sinckler who referred to it in his budgetary proposals and at other occasions of expelling hot air. He should give the details as suggested by “File Notes | November 4, 2011 at 12:06 PM | ” if it is a new plan.
    The marina redesign project is par for the course along with the new hospital and other airy-fairy announcements.
    Listen man, if the DLP promises to put through Parliament democratically appealing Integrity & FOI legislation before June 2012 I, and many others , would start to OBEY and pay attention to these vacuous pronouncements.

22. Colonel Buggy

What ever became of the grand development project planned for the Bay Street jetty area, including the Old Eye Hospital?
    And speaking of old hospitals, have you seen what has been done to the old historical General Hospital building on Jemmotts Lane, which I believe was once part of the British Garrison. Somebody has decided to attach a Bizzy Williams’ steel structure to that building to house the ambulances ,destroying the beauty of the building.A little thought could have preserved the looks of the building,while allowing it to function as a “garage.”
    The same ambulances has just be moved from another historical building, the Nightingale Nurses Homes, which was left abandoned for many years. Some five or so years ago the Government spent millions of dollars refurbishing that building,only to see it almost returning to its derelict state shortly afterwards. At present the government is spending millions of dollars refurbishing the same building. I hope that when its completed,again, that the theme song at its official reopening , is Harry’s Belafonte’s, “There’s a hole in my bucket.”

23. Again the question: has a prospectus been issued to detail the bond issue of 50 million to be floated in 10 million tranches?

24. Plans, plans, plans…talk, talk, talk. As far as I am concerned I have seen NO administration in my 60 years on this rock that is SERIOUSLY committed to enabling the arts/culture. A lotta long talk, is all. Why do we bother even to listen to them? They NEVER engage the people who know what is going on but prefer to surround themselves with sycophants. When this big state-of-the art centre is built, who will be able to afford to use it? How often will it be used? Why not fix the spaces in Queen’s Park so that the small to medium-size events have an affordable home and let the deep-pocket promoters do their own thing, as they do now?
    On a different matter, I can’t wait to hear the untold story of the Rihanna concert here, who was involved and what it REALLY cost taxpayers!

25. Mikey Hulsmeier

Yeh David I know man…respect to BU for posting

26. Mikey Hulsmeier

ADO!!!….blemma….my man right dey!!

27. Oh, nice one, Mikey and Michelle!

28. @BU.David: “Again the question: has a prospectus been issued to detail the bond issue of 50 million to be floated in 10 million tranches?

As J. Michael Straczynski once wrote: “We will create a crucible

Please… Let us….

29. David | November 4, 2011 at 9:32 AM |
    “The government it its budget referred to floating a 50 million dollar bond to support the creative arts. What are we doing? Is our heart really in it?”

Can we trust any Guvverment wid we money when dem trying to fund Four seasons wid we NIS? When dem keeping company and declaring friendship wid the former head of CLICO , when nuff people money get squandered and never to seen again wid a company dem tell de public dat all is fine and dat de company was strong?

Ah ent buying nuh bonds from any Guvverment ah doan trust dem as far as ah cud throw dem.

30. millertheanunnaki

@ Adonijah | November 4, 2011 at 5:00 PM |
    “Why not fix the spaces in Queen’s Park so that the small to medium-size events have an affordable home and let the deep-pocket promoters do their own thing, as they do now?”

You couldn’t want a better location for a performing arts centre! With the proper upgrade this “rus in urbe ” setting next to your alma mater would fit in well with the drive to make Bridgetown a really classy” Heritage” mini city. But the Cathedral would have to be fixed up and preserved with the concomitant greening and sprucing up of the depressed surrounding areas. But you and I know that there are no big kickbacks or palm greasing in fixing, upgrading and preserving prestigious structures only in knocking down and putting up ugly edifices totally out of character to our natural environment and cultural setting.

31. Mikey Hulsmeier

Thanks Ado

32. Who is Tony Brooks Architects?

On their website there is a message declaring a plan to restore the Empire Theater. What is the date of this declaratipn?

33. For those of younger vintage here is a pic of what the Empire looked like.

34. @David: “For those of younger vintage here is a pic of what the Empire looked like.

And for those who can read, here is a free copy of Machiavelli’s “The Prince” which is required reading in any MBA program….

35. You see you have little trust in agenda of my Government. My Government mean well. We expand to many third world country through development loan. Your preferred friend in North expand by bomb on people head and regime change .. no? You not criticize them but you criticize my people. We good people, but not foolish people …no?

Bridgetown dead town … soon very much ghost town. Action now in north of St. Michael. Intelligent agent inform that Warrens be new capital of island … no? Brandons or any site in St Michael North, velly good plan. Much closer to boom area .. no?

36. @BAFBFP (pretending to be roundtable1001): “Much closer to boom area .. no?

No.

No one would waste the money to drop an actual bomb on Barbados.

They would simply not sell us any more food…

Same effect at the end of the day….

37. Your Government has option to talk to Venezuelan Government as well …no? Mr Chavez offer still best on table and your government ignore neighbor like piranha fish. Your Government not serious Government …

38. Classical/Heritage Building restoration typically cost a lot more than New Construction.

Instead of talking shiite start a charity to assist Government in restoring the Empire.

I will donate piece a change too.

39. Comrade Hassell

I not velly good at disguise. You understand now hypocrisy of whole thing …no

40. @BAFBFP: “You understand now hypocrisy of whole thing …no

I always understood it.

The question is, how many others do?

41. An example is the Crop Over Festival which was born out of a celebration of the harvesting of the sugarcane and has now been relegated to a beads, feathers and wuk-up affair.

WHO ediat wrote that statement ?
    ARENT you getting mix-up with Crop Over and Kadooment ?
    WHY are some people so fixated on one aspect of a situation, usually drawing it out and generalizing to the whole ?
    WHEN is this nonsense going to stop??
    WASNT the gospel concert part of Crop Over
    WASNT the folk concert part of Crop Over ??
    WASNT the wonderful well organized Bridgetown Market, Pan in the city, Pan on the sand ETC not part of CROP OVER
    WHERE DO PEOPLE WHO WRITE SUCH NONSENSE LIVE??
    IN BARBADOS?

JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

42. @All…

Just asking…

Wouldn’t it be really cool if we could trust those we vote for to do what they promised they would do?

43. Does anyone know what the Ministry of Culture is paid to do? How do you possibly occupy these people’s time for 365 days in a year … (Sorry that should read 365 minutes in a day …)

44. Nostalgia ! Deja vue ! all well and good but the reality is that given the time that the Empire has been left to rot there is little or nothing the government can do to restore it., RIP EMPIRE. !

45. Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan like the Tourism Master Plan? lol

46. Walking Fingers

The Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan is a mirage, it does NOT exist, its is a false pregancy.

I dare anyone to provide concrete information about when it was concieved, who are its parents and when was it delievered and who signed the birth certificate.

Coincidentially……….what ever did become of the Coastal Tourism Investment Master Plan, was it terminated in an abortion?

47. Walking Fingers

Is the Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan, aka Marina Redesign and Master Plan the same one which calls for the demolition of the London Bourne Towers, the rerouting of the Lower Bay Street all in the name of creating the “Monaco” of the Caribbean.

Cha Ching Ching……………….can someone, anyone tell Casina Gambling, he should start rehearsing, he will soon be called into in action in Barbados, Bridgetown to be exact.

48. @Hants

If Barbadians didn’t look around and observe the wastage of public funds maybe the donations by citizens you call for wouldn’t be so difficult.

49. Antigua

Has better bays, far better, nudist beaches, government owned service stations and Casinos. All these things coexisting with a devoutly Christian population.

The British may not have anything to do with homosexuals in Barbados, but they have to answer to the level of hypocrisy that has become a major part of the cultural landscape.

50. Political parties receive a lot in donations. If their representatives were serious about developing the country they would put a portion of those donations towards worthy causes. Media houses are traditionally the beneficiary of these donations … now you see why there really is NO fourth estate?

51. @ Walking Fingers
    Were there any public consultations?

52. Those with Facebook Accounts can check out all the pictures snapped of the Empire Theater falling to ruin.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10150916701770484.766161.619295483&type=3

53. David | November 5, 2011 at 12:15 AM |

@Hants

If Barbadians didn’t look around and observe the wastage of public funds maybe the donations by citizens you call for wouldn’t be so difficult.

Fair enough. I don’t live in Barbados I live in Canada.
    In spite of all wastage by government at all levels citizens continue to donate money to charities.

Maybe you will get lucky and the likes of COW, Bizzy an proper pork Bynoe will do like the Canadians and donate some cash.

The A. Bynoe Empire theatre sounds pretty impressive as does “this wing of the “New Hospital” was built by a generous donation from Sir Charles.

It is 4 degrees C but I gine fishin.

Later.

54. All the comments about restoring the Empire Theatre and not one about restoring the Public Library.

Bajans never surprise me, we really love our Bread and Circuses

55. @Sargeant

You should be fair and acknowledge that although the focal point of the blog is the state of repair of the Empire Theater there has been general recognition that Barbadians has done a poor job maintaining its old buildings and places of cultural significance. We couldn’t even mention all of the buildings in need of repair. Perhaps dr. Watson maybe tempted to chime into the discussion here.

56. @David

I am going to be a bit crude but opinions are like a$$holes every one has one and judging from the crap I sometimes read on these pages I can’t tell which end it is coming from. Bajans have the expectation that Gov’t should fix everything, if someone has a hangnail the Gov’t should fix it, no Gov’t whether DLP or BLP can fix everything and there is a cost to fixing/repairing/restoring some of these buildings. Are you willing to pay increased taxes to repair and maintain some of these buildings? As a side issue you referred to the Cathedral isn’t the Cathedral owned and operated by the Anglican Church? If it is falling to pieces why shouldn’t the Bishop implore his flock to contribute to a “Cathedral Restoration Fund”?

Even in countries with deep pockets some Heritage buildings fall apart, the difference is that in these countries some corporations step in to help with restoration or some well heeled citizen will pony up the funds to help rebuild. Of course there is always a “catch” the Corporation may want naming rights etc. There is no history of philanthropy in Barbados (except when COW gives land to athletes or recording artists) so everything falls to Gov’t ( backs of the taxpayers) but if Gov’t spends money to restore all these buildings and then has to expand by hiring people for maintenance and security etc. and taxes increase as a result everyone will bitch about it ( people want to milk the cow but no one wants to feed it).

Here is an idea: join the National Trust, target the buildings that you want to restore, establish a National fund raising program with the objective of beatifying Barbados, cajole some of the companies that operate in Barbados to plough some of the profits into restoring some of these sites ( give them a sweetener by giving them naming rights the empire could be “COW Williams Concert Hall” or “BST Auditorium” etc.).

Of course joining the National Trust requires some commitment and dedication, one should ask how many people that comment on the state of these buildings or Barbados in general are members of any group dedicated to beautifying Barbados?

It is far easier to shout from the sidelines than to have an impact in the game.

57. @Sargeant

However you spin it the record of government is there for all to see.

Barbados is one of the highest tax jurisdictions in the region.

In this case the government has to take the lead by being an enabler.

One simple has to examine how the national budget is carved up when we look at health etc compared to the creative arts.

It must start with educating our people about the importance of our culture and preserving it.

Your reference to joining organizations will not happen unless Barbadians become educated about these things.

Corporations will not get involved until there is an awaking and sensitizing to the issue of culture and the creative arts.

Successive governments continue to score Fs.

58. millertheanunnaki

Sargeant | November 5, 2011 at 11:54 AM |

“Gov’t spends money to restore all these buildings and then has to expand by hiring people for maintenance and security etc. and taxes increase as a result everyone will bitch about it ( people want to milk the cow but no one wants to feed it).”

Totally in agreement with you on this one!
    But to be fair to Joe Bloggs, the politicians- who are the ones putting forward policy and controlling the treasury- need to be hauled over the coals for helping to create this mendicant mentality especially among middle class Bajans. They (the politicians) make all sorts of grandiose promises involving “freenesses” knowing quite well these are either unachievable or would involve a high price which would be paid for through higher taxes.
    Unless the state sticks to its core functions of providing public goods and services only the average Joe and Jane would see Government as a nanny to run to after slightest challenge Life puts in our way.

59. Food for thought,

QEH needs to be maintained.

“Of major concern is the closure of the six main operating theatres due to malfunctioning of the air-conditioning system, an ongoing and recurrent problem which has led to the wholesale cancellation of all operating lists.

60. millertheanunnaki

Hants | November 5, 2011 at 10:34 PM |
    “QEH needs to be maintained.”

I suppose this alleged state of affairs will be dismissed by the powers that be. But when they are found out to be lying the silly excuse that will be given is that repair parts and equipment are on order from overseas just like the situation with the lifts. They might even be boldfaced enough as to say that since we will soon be getting a brand new state-of-the-art hospital it does not make sense spending large sum of money on an out-dated broken facility. So bear with us, folks until 2020 when we will have the vision to see the need for a properly functioning major healthcare institution.
    God forbid, but can you imagine the embarrassment, shame and lingeringly destructive bad name Barbados would have to endure if we were faced with a major disaster involving loads of visitors, say heavens forbid, the “dirty” emergency landing of an international jet liner at GAIA? It is possible that such an event could involve serious multiple injuries requiring immediate surgery and care on a mass level.
    Then what would the officials say? Blame the press, as usual, like Hutson and the international business cock up?

This government cannot find the money to fix some of the operating theatres in the QEH but it can afford the luxury of having on all the lights in the controversial Office Complex in Warrens (soon to be christened “the Barrack & Payne Rat Pen House” with a view of the cave). Can you imagine 7.30 pm on a Saturday evening and nearly all lights in the massive building are shining bright as if solar energy is being generated from the photovoltaic panels on the roofs and BL&P is sending in an invoice marked( only the minimum of charges apply this period. What wastage! What hypocrisy about energy saving from an incompetent government!

61. I think that one thing thats universal in Barbados who ever in charge maintenance is never done until things fall apart.

62. Anyone remembered the Government building, probably originally costing $5 Million to build, which was condemned by its occupiers, not the engineers,after just 17 years service,and replaced by a new one costing some $44Million ? (the public/taxpayers have never been told its true final cost ) . Ironically the same “condemn” building, once the home of the National Insurance Scheme, is still very much in use today by other public servants. If the government ,D,B or whatever is so eager to write off a relatively new building, what hope does older buildings have in Barbados?

63. anthony | November 5, 2011 at 11:37 PM |
    I think that one thing thats universal in Barbados who ever in charge maintenance is never done until things fall apart.
    Quite right there Anthony. If many of our public buildings were subjected to regular planned maintenance, they would not drop to bits so fast. In all spheres of Government we see equipment and such ,some almost new, being scrapped due to a lack of preventive maintenance.
    Recently we hear the Minister of the Environment making the almost annual statement that the Sanitation Service Department is to get a new fleet of trucks. Not so long ago the SSA took possession of a fleet of Freightliner trucks, considered to be some of the best trucks of that class out of the USA, but due to a lack of training and maintenance these trucks are now destined for the garbage dump.The same will happened to the proposed new units. Its a simple matter of…. ” oh dear”Mr/Ms taxpayer, send me a new fleet,I think I have broken this one.”

64. Hants | November 4, 2011 at 8:24 AM |
    Are any of you willing to donate CASH from your own pockets to ASSIST in restoring these buildings?
    Have’n we demonstrated our willingness to do so, when we donated millions to refurbish the George Washington House on Bush Hill?

65. next case is the Transport Boards. how many buses constantly out for mechanical failure due to part shortage or no funds to pay the mechanics

66. Didn’t we receive a grant to refurbish George Washington?

67. With respect to the restoration of the Empire Theatre I believe the artistic community and the promoters in Barbados can start on their own to raise funds. I don’t believe in waiting on Government to hand us everything on a platter. People cherish the things they work really hard to get. There are thousands of examples of this all over Bim. Government or some rich businessmen just giving us a restored Empire is not what I would like to see…let the artists WORK for some of it and then if Government and Big Business step in to assist then fine. We are willing! I have ideas on ways we can start. But I ent sending no proposal. One more proposal to the God knows how many have gone in over the years doesn’t excite me in the least. Enough talk and foolscap paper now. Now we agitate until we get noticed. Simple.

68. What Government CAN do though is clear all that bright red tape from de road and give us it’s blessing….and tek de politics out de culture same time….smooth sailing from dey so

69. Restore what ! there is nothing that can be restored oir refurbish in that skeleton “EMPIRE” looking from the outside does tell the story of the inside. The government needs to tell the truth that the building is beyond anykind of restoration and put the matter to rest. In other countries that building would be deemed “CONDEM” and headed for demolition. Sad but true. No government or Private investor would dare throw money into a delapidated building as what was known as the EMPIRE THEATRE but now is a GHOST. Let’s call a spade a spade” we will get over it.

70. Hmm…THAT’S THE SPIRIT! stupse….slumbering mentality…non believers…and down we go….

71. btw…you need to get yuh eyes checked…you want me set up an appointment with Dr Thomas for yuh?

72. It is interesting, that at this time the Government has indicated the intention to build a new hospital for 800 million initial projection (convert this to 1.5 billion after overruns and mismanagement, which the Government has done nothing to ensure does not happen again – which is one of the reasons and hopes citizens voted for the DLP initially, also why the BLP will now get the chance again, as the DLP has not done so).

But, while we certainly may need a new hospital eventually, the Government cannot even have the never-working elevators changed for a few hundred thousand, have them aintained, so how will they maintain a new 800 million facility?

Then too, where are the CITIZENS AND TAXPAYERS of this country going to get over a billion, more like 1.5 after overruns, mismanagement and interest costs maybe even 2 billion, at this time, when after May 2012 the economy will be struggling?

Or is this just an election promise for the upcoming January election?

The country simply does not have 800 million to spend right now.

Yet, no one has asked how this is to be accomplished?

Without the integrity controls and accountability controls that the citizens asked and the Thompson administrtion promised after the election, one shudders to a potential disaster this billion dollar project could be.

Word to the wise.

73. People would see only what they want to see. The building has been standing there over 20years or more what does anyone expect that can been done to restore it. The government has been pursuing outside investors to help in financing and with no result. Sorry but we have not towed the line on this project but had preferred to stand in the line. This is a wake up call on how we must appreciate what little we have when we have it for in the end it might be too late, Looking from the outside in does not a story tell!

74. @Mikey

Good luck with the artistes mobilizing. This would be precedent setting.

Suggestion is to select a representative group and approach the government; a MOU or something similar would have to be signed off.

75. Thank you David. I will accept any advice on how to move forward. @ac check my facebook page….BU has posted the link…you will see inside and out. That building aint goin nowhere b…..also…for the most part of however long it has been abandoned the roof was still protecting it…it’s only Tomas last year that put it in its’ present state….jus my common sense view

76. @Crusoe…Lawd have mercy…I went to visit a friend at QEH 2 months ago…talk about getting into a time machine and going back 30 years….scary as hell to get sick in Bim if you aint got money…nothing to do with the great doctors and nurses we have…just the site of that place and stories of lack of supplies scares the livin shit outta me man…alll de fancy tings we got and to have our hospital like that is a crying shame

77. Also it might be a good idea to coopt Senator Bradshaw to support the team. Yes she is a budding politician – don’t hold it against her – but she has a track record of working in the cultural field, she is a lawyer and other skills which a representative team would find useful.

78. Mickey i am sensitive to the arts and culture and i do respect your spirit and optimistic approach in the handling of the EMPIRE THEATRE. However I am of the opinion’too little too late” This project would take million of dollars to undertake. Personally i do feel a sense of loss while i write my comments but i have also realised that the longer the building remains their in its present state it only serves as a political football and not a true representative of what was. so i have become resolute and content that those things which we had and are no more would be well preserved and cherished in the bosom of our minds. Good luck with your endeavours !

79. Thanks ac….get on board tho…just in case :) …. the more the merrier….check http://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=10150925249045484&id=619295483

80. I have no problem with Senator Bradshaw..intends to call her and Mr Hoyos…..once the intentions are pure I want everybody…Deez Beez Geez Effz…doesnt matter to me…coz ultimately we gonna need to get the political games outta the culture in it’s current form to move forward with speed.

81. Look! Go after Private investors local or foreign . There is much that can be done with the site that would include ART and culture and at the same time showing respect for The EMPIRE that was. Even though it would be not in its originality there are those people who would be willing to give what is necessary to build a new state of the ART building.Philanthropist are a rare breed and they like to see and enjoy the fruits of their labour. So i say if the proposals are right and highlighted for recommendations of a new State of the Art building many would jump on board leaving the politicians out of it. I for one in any proposal recommended would like some of what can be salvage from the the building be included in whatever areas necessary in the design or archives/

82. But ac….we dont know yet that it can’t be restored…or do we?…I missing something?…..Heritage first man….we got the status…lets work it

83. millertheanunnaki

Money would be better spent getting the Graeme Hall Nature sanctuary cleaned up and available to visitors both local and overseas. Our tourism business badly needs refreshing with some diversification in the area eco-friendly activities.

The Empire can remain a memorabilia digitally preserved unless a private benefactor is willing to step in and restore the relic say by next year before the ravages of the tropical heat and rain take their full destructive toll.

84. How easy we are to sever our umbilical cord from history and our culture. Is Bridgetown a heritage site or not? Do we need to energize the population by our actions the importance of what culture is all about?

85. @david

I taught they did their own fund raising here and in the states

86. Yes we do but we pretend as if we are looking for that glimmer of hope that one day something would be done to correct the problem while in the mean time hostilty and resentment raised its ugly head on these problems among us. Those like you who who has a social awareness of doing well must not be blindsided and must be fully aware that the underlying lynch pin is dollars and profit and there is where the Story of Restoration begins and Ends.

87. Mikey Hulsmeier

lol…man…how depressed we are nuh?…disillusioned…downpressed…it dont have to be so….BELIEVE nuh…what the hell else we got to lose?..A restored Empire Theatre with the all it’s history documented and the BEST of what we have to offer on show on a WEEKLY basis would not be appealing to tourists?…what bullshit…I am offended

88. No body wants to severe their umbilical chord for that can never happen. However their are things which we can’t always do ourselves and their is nothing wrong with asking for help. Many a person living on the street today was too “Proud to Beg’ but for some of them that is their only hope of survival. Sometimes we need to drop the “PEACOCK MENTALITY” in favour for what is necessary ,As the late David Thompson said”We are not an ecocomy but a society” and those worlds should ring true world wide”

89. Mikey Hulsmeier

Yes but let us get it rolling first on our own….make them see we serious now…course we want help but we aint gotta wait for them to start

90. Mickey i would propse you write letters to philantophist and have their input as to wether it is feasible or wise .Knowelegable input and sound reasoning and common sense should be the first order of business before one ploughed forward and get stuck in mid stream. Therefore very good reserach is the first order of business before money is put into such a project. They might be one who would be willing to see your point of view because of your determination to do what you see as right. keep the faith !

91. Six malfunctioning operating theatres at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) will be back in full swing by tomorrow following laboratory tests and cleaning to ensure they are safe for use.

And QEH management is looking to set up a maintenance system to avoid similar developments in the future.

92. Complex Reflex

@ Mikey Hulsmeier

You could contact Mr. Maloney at Preconco or Mr. Philip Tempro at JADA and see if you could make you plans compatable with their plans for a bar and beer garden for the restored Empire.

93. They said that before and it happen again and it will probably continue to happen in future once QEH is still underfunded as it is today.

94. millertheanunnaki

There is an imaginative way of funding the restoration of the “Ole Empire”!
    Now that we have poor old England in our sights ready to shoot down because of her affront and effrontery to tell us what to do about our laws why not force (blackmail) the mother country to come up with some money (not aid) for reparations for over 150 years of slavery and 350 years of colonial exploitation.
    Now the amount demanded could be a tidy sum that would not only cover the cost of restoration of the Empire building befitting an independent nation but also the replacement of the QEH, but on condition we rename it the King Willie Sugar & Crack Addition Recovery Centre.

We are too ashamed and proud to tell Dave Cameron and ole Lizzy the Truth but would prefer to go to the Land of Dragon- where any thing that moves is eaten- with bowl in hand to be further screwed in a desensitizing way by the men in glasses dependent on the aphrodisiacal high of African Rhino horns and Elephant phallic shaped tusks with Asian tiger balls for a balmy effect.

95. millertheanunnaki

@ anthony | November 6, 2011 at 11:15 AM |
    There is more than funding to the reasons for the QEH troubles. Very poor unprofessional management exacerbated by a culture of political interference and the pompous and arrogant attitudes of most doctors who see themselves as gods and beholden to no law and despite being educated and trained at taxpayers expense still seek to exploit the system for further selfish gain and personal aggrandizement.

96. @ac Restore what ! there is nothing that can be restored oir refurbish in that skeleton “EMPIRE” looking from the outside does tell the story of the inside. The government needs to tell the truth that the building is beyond anykind of restoration and put the matter to rest. In other countries that building would be deemed “CONDEM” and headed for demolition. Sad but true.
    That is definitely not so. I have seen ancient buildings in Jerusalem, much older that anything that we have here, being restored with all of the insides removed, and the shell of the outer walls supported by props,until foundation columns are erected to tie the outer walls to.
    Our problem is that we take the easy way out. We can no longer run with the hares and hunt with the pack. We cannot expect to maintain World Heritage status, if we intend to lick down and rebuild

97. When I came back to Barbados there was a burnt out eyesore of a building at the corner of Deighton Road and Dalkeith Hill, to the east of the Seventh Day Adventist Complex.It was formerly the Jack Smale school. Some years ago this building was beautifully refurbished to its original splendor by local artisans.
    Perhaps what we need in Barbados is a Coup, (don’t panic!) a Cultural Coup, where we take things cultural out of the hands of government.

98. LOL…A COUP!…talkin my language now!….Cultural of course :)

99. Signup to get on the ‘Restoration Empire Theatre’ mailing list:

restoration.empiretheatre@gmail.com

100. Thanks David

101. Complex Reflex

Can somene say ‘flash mob’?

Will the Empire be the rally cry for a fed up Barbados?

102. In the economic times it will not take much to get people to rally.

All it takes is a cause which many will identify and credible leadership.

103. Beer Garden?….maybe…but…umm…where de beer garden goin?…on de side outside?….me thinks that Maloney & Tempro will have to fit in to what we trying to do….beer garden can go anywhere in the world…jus sayin…nuttn against ideas tho…..also…there are plans in the making for ways to get the attention…peacefully of course…no vexation necessary once we get to that point…join the email list…restoration.empiretheatre@gmail.com

104. Fed up is right…now is the time!….also…if I may be real…word out is that the Deez have done close to nothing in 4 years…I realise they took over at a very difficult time…I am not political…we have been blessed in Bim with good leadership over my 40 years…we are lucky…BUT…I’m thinking the Deez need to do some epic stuff in the next year or the Beez gonna buzz dem out…so again…now is the time…all in the interest of our country and it’s people

105. @Colonel Buggy

Do we have that kind of money like Israel who have the backing of the USA and all the different wealthy organisations that pour millions of dollars into restoring historical medevial buildings and which turn generates revenue for Israel. Those projects art not cheap. Churches and other organisations worldwide chip in REmember Israel is known as “THE HOLY LAND” so there is the difference and investment wise it is all worth it.

106. Lets maximize our history…allll of it…not minimize….we have alot man

107. there is a face book page called “the beat foundation with plans in the works for restoration of the Empire theatre in 2012 .seems committed and have proposals all drawn up in which they are asking the govement to donate 200K .

108. IS millertheanunnaki Peter Miller ???
    IS Adonijah Peter Alleyne ????
    IS Mikey Huls—(whatever) the Red Boy ???
    IS Complex Reflex that certain person ??

JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

109. millertheanunnaki

JUST ASKING | November 6, 2011 at 9:55 PM |
    “IS millertheanunnaki Peter Miller ???”

How dare you compare the wide range of intellectual issues contained in my threads with any mumbo jumbo emanating from a two-bit politician’s brain?

110. OK…since we have now mentioned Beat Foundation…Since posting my pics on FB they have contacted me to let me know they are on the same page. I met with them today and their ideas are awesome. Undeniable…they have done some incredible ground work….if they are ignored we must wonder why…..I gave them my ideas for fundraising to add to theirs……stay tuned….Red Boy…lol

111. Who owns the Empire Building?

112. @BAFBFP Probably Elombe Mottley or some lawyer.

113. LOL Elombe …

Hulsmeier and others should know that the GoB has NO business repairing a privately owned property … unless it is owned by Elombe Mottley or some lawyer.

114. Far as I understand it belongs to the Crown. How can I find out?

115. one would normally need to send a lawyer to registry to search the title deeds to find ownership.

116. http://www.landregistry.gov.bb/index.php?categoryid=27 <- see point 7

117. With respect to point 7…what about the Screw Dock in Cavans Lane??…what a wasted place eh?…I have asked so many Bajans if they know what it is…they don’t….I understand it to be the only one in the world….if that aint worth attention then what is?…..and again…Trafalgar Square…what Heroes Square what?…nuttn to do with our Heroes in there…..putting up paintings on de Treasury for Heroes Day?..lol…tacky man…stupse…….fix dat yuh…….Make Heroes Square where Mr Barrow is…Bring Sir Gary and all the other statues in there and make it nice.

118. oops..i ent see de link…i thought u meant point 7 in dis post…lol…still tho…

119. The screw dock as far as I can see appears to be approaching a point where it will be deemed too far gone to recover. People have been allowed to do whatever they wish around that old relic, including bonfires either to roast fish of burn garbage and this has damaged much of the woodwork, causing the ironmongery to fall into the water.
    The majority of Barbadians are not interested in the preservation of relics. Did we not scrap and discarded the 134 year old Chamberlain (Swing) Bridge, replacing it with a spanking new plastic bridge in 2006 , which embarrassed the government a short time after its commissioning,when it failed to operate during Rihanna’s triumphant entry into Bridgetown,and has been a source of trouble ever since. I am quite sure that we have the resources in Barbados to have overhauled the Swing Bridge and keep it working. That bridge, maintenance wise, was childs’s play compared with the maintenance and upkeep of Andrews, Bulkeley ,and the many other sugar factories on the island.
    But we are a funny people , I recall the days when the Bus concessionaires were operating ” wood pecker ” buses built mainly on Bedford and Austin Chassis.We complain bitterly ,describing some as donkey cart, and could not wait to get rid of them. We embraced the new style Leylands, AEC’s Mercedes etc etc. Today we are paying good money to travel on excursions on replicas of those old “Board and Shingle” buses.

120. lol @ mikey confusion

screw dock might be too far gone . It would could be rebuilt as it was but it would be all new parts but i say do it anyway it part of history. ( on that note we actually need a decent sized lift to help with the fishing fleet while getting the boat from that area may probe challenging it supplement use could be that as well. we would still need a bigger lift in deep water harbour for the fishing fleet. one should be installed urgently ) Not sure about it being the only one but definitely one of the last of it design that hasn’t been totally destroyed as yet

121. @ MICKEY

I hear that Beat foundation is planning to start the restoration project of EMPIRE in 2012 is there any truth in that?

122. The Sugar Mill at Nicolas Plantation in St Peter went out of operation in 1947. A few years ago it was beautiful restored by the Cave family, and is an attraction to both visitors and locals alike on those days that it is open to the public. The small steam engine is a beauty to watch.

123. Can anyone advise, with specificity, what exactly is the Bridgetown Improvement Master Plan as referred to by Minister Sinckler when speaking about the Empire Theatre?

124. Beat Foundation have met with me. The proposal that they sent into Government for the restoration of The Empire is awesome. I have a copy. For those interested please send an email to restoration.empiretheatre@gmail.com
    I will be working alongside Beat Foundation from here on in. If we don’t make it happen now one thing is for sure…I will be goin down keepin a hell of alotta noise…as I have done on Facebook for the last 2 years…people are starting to listen now…if it takes Fs and Rs to make people listen then so be it. That is me…not Beat….Beat just needs the artists help…I know allll the artists…so forward we go. We gonna help ourselves….and we accepting help once we get started…Goverment…your role now is to clear the bullshit from in front us…thanks and sleep well

125. millertheanunnaki

Mikey Hulsmeier | November 9, 2011 at 9:08 PM |
    “Goverment…your role now is to clear the bullshit from in front us…thanks and sleep well”.

And don’t forget guv to cough up the coppers to pay for the “airy-fairy” project to allow the “right brainers” to suckle from the cultural pig! All the project presenters have to do is to shout to the audience: “Bridgetown the UNESCO Cultural Heritage site (despite the filth, fumes, garbage and growing Shanti shacks)! Tourists will come in the thousands to spend foreign exchange to see what the old flicks shop can sell to them!

126. @ millertheanunnaki

Thomas Carlyle despised it when he said: “Sarcasm I now see to be, in general, the language of the devil; for which reason I have long since as good as renounced it”.

Maybe you could give us something constructive for a change, is that asking too much?

127. millertheanunnaki

The Alchemist | November 10, 2011 at 6:19 AM |

“By nature man hates change; seldom will he quit his old home till it has actually fallen around his ears.”
    Today is not yesterday: we ourselves change; how can our works and thoughts, if they are always to be the fittest, continue always the same? Change, indeed is painful; yet ever needful; and if memory have its force and worth, so also has hope.
    “Weak eyes are fondest of glittering objects”.
    “For suffering and enduring there is no remedy, but striving and doing”.

You alchemist, know the source of the above quotes: The truth always hurt!

Get real and use your alchemical skills to convert some of the right brainers to left brainers.
    But I will offer some more destructive advice before any constructive advice!
    Demolish the health hazard! When last you passed that eye sore? It’s now a dumping place for rats, vermin and vagrants. Is that the image you want to present to visitors under the guise of a world heritage site visit? The average Bajan unfortunately doesn’t care a nihilistic pennyworth about the appearance of their City’s environment judging from the garbage and Styrofoam food containers floating about. If you think I am being unduly sarcastic then take a walk (in your case drive) due north east of the derelict and turn an “open” eye to the bus terminus and its surroundings and get a dose of reality that should be integral to your restoration and renovation programme.
    If you want to save this perceived piece of historic theatre in memory of 1940’s / 50’s Bridgetown then put your money down the Probyn site memory lane.
    Stop the long talk about restoration and get on with the real job using private money starting with a major contribution from rich people like you since you know how to turn base metal into gold.
    But there is one magical conversion I bet you can’t pull off (even by prayers and intercessions at the St. Michael & Al Angels collapsing edifice)! Get the Government through Chris to divert some of the resources from his pet constituency entertainment concrete project down Brandons to assist with the saving of the Empire as part of our colonial heritage thus retaining the quintessential quaintness of the “ole Earl of Carlisle” town. If you can lobby and succeed in getting the political parties to make this an imminent electoral pledge then I would view you from Newtonian eyes and my sarcasm would turn to total admiration with the highest form of praise to wit! (Remember that sarcasm can sometimes be the highest form of flattery!)

Your wish, Mr. Magician, is my command!

128. @ millertheanunnaki

You wrote ” Demolish the health hazard! When last you passed that eye sore? It’s now a dumping place for rats, vermin and vagrants. Is that the image you want to present to visitors under the guise of a world heritage site visit? ”

You my friend are a philistine……………..you are ignorant because you are ignorant. Because it is old, unused and an eye sore, you want it demolished, removed from the landscape only to be recalled in the memories of those who live long enough to remember.

129. millertheanunnaki

Disobey | November 10, 2011 at 9:30 AM |

WELL IF YOU CAN’T STOP THE LONG TALK AND FIX IT UP IMMEDIATELY,THEN AT LEAST CLEAN IT UP! OR WILL THIS BE THE SUBJECT OF A LONG DEBATE AND INTELLECTUAL POSTURING.
    PUT YOUR HANDS, GLOVES & SPADES WHERE YOUR MOUTH IS AND GET ON WITH THE CLEAN UP JOB. OR IS THIS TOO HARD TO DO OR BENEATH YOUR PSEUDO-MIDDLE CLASS UPBRINGING?

Those who can do, those who can’t talk the type of rubbish now engulfing the poor Empire Building.
    On your bike, my ignoramus brother, and clean up the place! Obey your the little voice in your heart telling you to put your mind in gear and hands in action before your tongue in motion!

You disparagingly labeled me as “philistine”. For goodness sake, read the extract from an earlier blog repeated below and see if your accusation is still applicable

“Preserving old historic buildings and areas of natural beauty is not part of the intellectual make up of the local political class or administrators. When these people travel overseas they are primarily interested in concrete shopping malls and restaurants; hardly visiting buildings and places of historic importance, bookstores, museums or centres for the Arts.

Their philistinism is manifested in their preference for ugly high rise concrete buildings (ovens) that are not in keeping aesthetically with the natural tropical environment and climatic conditions. This aping of the concrete jungle is seen as evidence of progress and economic development to which the tourist will be attracted. On the contrary’ the visitors want conveniences alright, and also friendly service and value for money spent- but more importantly the want to experience a different type of vacation in a relaxing hassle-free tropical setting with natural beauty and some cultural quaintness around them. Not a horrible imitation of the built environment and social rat race as a reminder of what the might be escaping from.

But there are more bribes and kickbacks in the award of contracts for “new concrete mausoleums” than for the refurbishing and up-keeping of those treasures of architectural and historical significance.”

Over to you, Disobey!

130. @millertheanunnaki.
    I must agree with you. Either fix it or pull it down and this goes for all of the derelict and semi-derelict buildings not only in Bridgetown but island wide. From the occasional SSA bulk rubbish collection,it is evident that we are a people who like to hold on to fridges, other appliances and old cars in our back yard, although we have no intention of putting them back into use.
    We have been talking , long since that cow have come home over the Empire Cinema issue and are unable to even make the first step in clearing the weeds from this almost city centre location.

131. millertheanunnaki

@ColonelBuggy | November 10, 2011 at 2:09 PM |
    Thanks, Colonel!
    Travel broadens the mind and experience is the best teacher!
    What’s the sense of having an old building with historical importance and cultural attractiveness and treat it like how some Bajans want to treat their old folks by robbing them of their pension and savings and then dumping them at the QEH?

132. @ ColonelBuggy

While we are at it lets just tear down everything old, historic and not being used right?. We done evaporate Cods House to make way for a much needed car part in White Park road.

Should we now put the wrecking ball and bulldozers on everything “unused & derelict”?

If we “lick down” everything historic and do a good job of that task, we might, just might get a chance to re-write histoty and give future generations of Barbadians a more sanitized and favourable history.

Everyone should realise I say the above in jest. Barbados must be an immature society if cannot and will not deal with his history, appreciate what part it played in forging this Nation. Some blame what they have been given others use it, wisely I might add.

133. Mr. Alchemist, when we go to to London, St Petersburg and elsewhere we see buildings well over 1000 years old, in immaculate condition and many times still functional. Many of these buildings, except for the occasional bombing during some war, had never been considered derelict at anytime,simply because they were subjected to periodic maintenance throughout their long life. Something that we are no good at,after a public building in this country reaches the grand old age of 10.
    Sometimes we have to remove a cancerous organ from the body to save a patient, or a scar in the face to improve ones beauty.

134. millertheanunnaki

The Alchemist | November 10, 2011 at 8:02 PM |
    “Should we now put the wrecking ball and bulldozers on everything “unused & derelict”?”

It was never posited that old buildings should be knocked down! What is being said by level headed persons is that special attention needs to be paid to old buildings of cultural and historic interests. Look after them and care for them! Maintain them in a condition that they would not pose a health hazard to the public or an eye sore to passersby but a thing of beauty in the eyes of the cultured thus making it a joy for a long, long time!
    Understood?

135. millertheanunnaki

ColonelBuggy | November 10, 2011 at 8:15 PM |

Do you see what one has to deal with when some people refuse to have a panoramic perspective on life? Tunnel vision, myopic views and a geographically constrained mind set are not the attributes of an alchemist; a person known to have a penchant for risk taking and exploration of new horizons of knowledge.

136. @ millertheanunnaki

Alot of long talk and walking and talking backwards. I guess you are the only one fortunate enough to have the pleasure of travel, stupse you aint even worth the discourse.

That notwithstanding, I cannot see either logic or connection to point of view which in essence promotes ” If the GOB (or anybody else for that matter) won’t
    maintain it, then tear it down”

What is even more stunning and incomprehensible is the fact that there is no marker indicating where in Bridgetown, Codd’s House stood, and explaining that it was from these premises (now a car park) that the ancestors of the overwhelming majority of today’s Barbadians learnt that they were finally free of the scourge of slavery.

I was at the time resident in Jamaica when Codd’s House was demolished and wrote to the late J.M.G.M “Tom” Adams, then Prime Minister asking quite politely, how it was that a black government of Barbados in the 29th century could so cavalierly remove a structure that embodied a transcendental moment in Barbadian history.

The answer came back that not everything could be saved.

November 27, 2008
    Brief Guest Column: Preparing for independence
    by Karl Watson

137. @ millertheanunnaki & ColonelBuggy

Shall we make a car park where the Empire stands, once destroyed?

Clearly educated yet unable to put it to good use.

138. these issues always take on a life of their own when elections are near at hand politicians way of feeding into the public trough, the gullible public eagerly goes along for the ride. swallowing up all the bull sh..t they are being fed anybody with an IQ of 22 knows the political football EMPIRE is being kick down the field so we will have until 2013 to listen to the unkept promises which will be made in favour of repairing the unrepairable . The damage has already been done .

139. millertheanunnaki

The Alchemist | November 10, 2011 at 9:03 PM |
    No, stupid! We want you and your ilk to clean up the place and get private donors or pressure government to refurbish the cultural site within a year. If this is not possible then it should be demolished and the spot use for whatever purpose T& C P approves.
    Jesus, thick as a plank between the ears!

140. millertheanunnaki

The Alchemist | November 10, 2011 at 8:59 PM |
    “Alot of long talk and walking and talking backwards. I guess you are the only one fortunate enough to have the pleasure of travel, stupse you aint even worth the discourse. ”

You, Sir, can be no match for me, even in a million Newtonian light years!
    So forget it and stick to your regional and local perspectives on life!

141. This Empire matter has resurfaced because of the action of citizens and not politicians, Mikey a music producer and Michele Springer, who subject to correction, is a journalist.

142. Mikey Hulsmeier

Journalist is correct

143. @ millertheanunnaki

I fear the day I am a match for you, actually I would hate to even be compared with you. However, that said……….what exactly do you mean by ” We want you and your ilk to clean up the place and get private donors or pressure government to refurbish the cultural site within a year. If this is not possible then it should be demolished and the spot use for whatever purpose T& C P approves.”

Which ILK is that, white, asian or jew? Please enlighten us given your travels to far corners of the planet. We get it, you have a passport and an have used it. Let me guess London, New York and Toronto………………..a simpleton you are my boy.

Is it, you view the Empire as a colonial relic, a symbol of something you despise and anyone (according to your classification) who supports its restoration, irritates your amoebalike existence?

I know sometimes it hard to tell the deviation of the two but are you a politician or an imbecile?

144. @ millertheanunnaki

Report Card – Miller T. Anunnaki

HISTORY ____________ (D) FAIL.

It is hereby strongly suggested that Millar butress his ignorance with ample reading. Start with Sugar & Slaves – the Rise and Fall of the Planter Class in the English West Indies, 1624 to 1713 by Richard S. Dunn

145. Here we are , fanatical about the reconstruction of a building, yet have no qualms in attempting to severely demolish a fellow man because his views are not compatible with ours.

146. @ ColonelBuggy

Choose you words carefully, people are not fanatical about the Empire. These people, myself included are sypathetic to our heritage………all of it, the good, the bad and the ugly.

Millar wises to promote the political and national yardstick which says if the politicians won’t do anything with a heritage site or building and it is derelic then it should be demolished.

Tell me, what will that achieve but a quickening of the pace at which our historic sites are removed forever.

I don’t think Bajans quite understand that Codd’s House gone, all for the sake of making a blasted car park. I am not comparing slavery and the holocaust but you think the Jewish people would let you demolish a concentration camp in Poland………………….for any reason, much less a CAR PARK?

” A straight oar looks bent in the water. What matters is not merely that we see things but how we see them.” Michel de Montaigne

147. the politicians have been the ones spouting off at the mouths how they had and have plans in the works for restoring the EMPIRE only not being able to keep their promises. Now along comes these other organisations and the said politicians are again pretending to be interested . POLITICS OR POLITRICKS! in the past year i have read more than twenty stories where Minister this or that have mentioned theword”RESTORATION and FUNDING for the EMPIRE ” with the same result nothing being done.that is why it is a political football and will remain so .

148. @ ac

I am with you on this. I will you one thing for certain, during the upcoming election season, we are gonna see alot of beautiful artist impressions of projects.

“Personally, I hold that a man, who deliberately and intelligently takes a pledge and then breaks it, forfeits his manhood” – Mahatma Gandhi

This might account for why we have so many girls in our politics.

149. but alchemist no need to have a brain aneurysm over differing points of view from others, the intent is not to demolish the project pre say but they maybe well indeed feeling a sense of betrayal at the way the EMPIRE is being treated and have concluded that the building in its dilapidated condition only serves as a reminder that our social consciousness in also in need of repair..

150. Have we become so cynical as a people that because politicians take up a cause or associate themselves with it ordinary citizens can’t believe in that cause?

It does not matter what the politicians are doing here, what matters is that ordinary citizens, in this case Mikey and others see the merit in restoring part of our heritage which is being allowed to disappear.

151. not cynical, but suspicious that as it gets closer to elections the drums beats louder and sounds coming from those in power are reminiscent of ones we heard before
    Funny David it is for you to say”It doesn’t matter what the politicians are doing here ! when you are always shouting about FOI.!maybe you have a case of foot and mouth disease.

152. @ac

You really shouldn’t muddy the argument with literal translations.

What we have here is Mikey and a group of ordinary citizens trying to bring awareness to a bad situation.

You can ascribe whatever motives you want but until this group does something which test our strength, BU will be supportive.

153. David i am in no position to muddy the water. Citizens standing up to the Powers that be is admirable . However one should not overlook and point out those ones who are only supportive for political gain. Aren’t you the one who said that the organisations should wing it without the politicians.Awareness of The EMPIRE has been bandied about for over thirty years there is nothing new about that even the Chinese as of recent had their say about it. There is nothing NEW to be said the only thing that would be new is when or IF something would be DONE for all to see.

154. @ David

I can see this leading somewhere, don’t know where exactly but somewhere.

The problem as you know David, is after the private citizens take up the cause and move into action…………it going to become very difficult to stop the politicians from moving in and claiming victory.

155. It does not matter if the politicians join the cause, it does not matter if the politicians claim victory – what matters is that the Empire Theatre which reflect 100 years of heritage is restored.

156. millertheanunnaki

There is a good ole Bajan saying: “While the grass growin’ de horse starvin’!”
    Start rolling the film! The audience fidgeting and soon will be clapping and booing!
    Lights, cameras, ACTION!

We are looking forward to see a sprucing up (environmental band-aid) of the place by 31 December 2011.
    The old playhouse needs a New Year’s face lift!

157. the ball has been in the politician hands as far as i can remember . so why should they claim any credit for what others have done.spoken like a true politician

158. I have created a Facebook Group called The Empire Strikes Back. Please join and also spread the word about this and the email address restoration.empiretheatre@gmail.com
    I have never seen the artistic community of Barbados mobilize so quickly. This time, if we do go down we goin down BLAZIN’…rest assured….fanx

159. But have you seen the number of building, similar in construction and in similar condition as the Empire Cinema within the Ministry of Health compound on Jemmotts Lane that was once the General Hospital.

160. It is ironic we are discussing the restoration of the Empire Theater and others are boasting of the following:

UNESCO Executive Board elects new Chairperson
    UNESCO’s Executive Board has elected Alissandra Cummins of Barbados as its Chairperson for 2012-2013. Ms Cummins, an acclaimed authority on Caribbean heritage, museum development and art, received 53 votes from the 58-member Board.

Four countries abstained, and another was absent.

Alissandra Cummins has a long association with UNESCO.

From 2004 to 2010 she served as President of the International Council of Museums, a leading UNESCO partner in cultural activities.

A widely published author, she has also held high-level posts on a number of key UNESCO committees, including the World Heritage Committee and the International Advisory Committee for the Memory of the World Programme.

Since 1985 she has held the position of Director of the Barbados Museum and Historical Society.

UNESCO’s Executive Board oversees the execution of the programme adopted by the General Conference.

161. millertheanunnaki

David | November 11, 2011 at 6:21 PM |
    Alissandra Cummins is a fine, competent, knowledgeable person with a passionate personality and a “get-up-and-go and do” spirit. She is deserving of every accolade and high recognition that is bestowed upon her. A true role model for the cultural and heritage “neophytes”.
    Congratulations and all the best in your endeavours, Ms Cummins!

162. The comment was not directed at her capacity to do the job but more the fact it exposes a hypocrisy in this matter of preserving our heritage as a people.

163. millertheanunnaki

But David, you must accept that without the involvement and high profile of Ms Cummins, and indeed Dr. Watson, this designation would not have been so forthcoming for the political bandwagon hoppers to make capital out of.

164. WHY not take over the Globe Cinema ?
    WOULDNT the Globe be a better bet than the Empire rotten building ??

165. Just asking,

I had thought the same thing. A functioning theatre that needs some renovation, with plenty of parking on (I think) Govt land opposite, is better than an albatross that needs a huge amount of work, with little parking nearby.

Despite the wish to bring old buildings into service, Govt simply has no money to spend needlessly. Therefore, a functioning theatre is better.

Sell the Empire to a businessman with the proviso that the facade remains.

It could be a mall or a small hotel for cruise transfers or business visitors, change the face of Bridgetown by putting a decent hotel in the area? Get rid of all the dilapitated buildings.

A bulldozer is not too much per day for a good city cleanup.

166. @Crusoe Sell the Empire to a businessman with the proviso that the facade remains.
    A good practical suggestion ,not only for the Empire, but also many of the other buildings in and around Bridgetown that have fallen into disrepair. Then we can enjoy the best of both worlds.

167. @crusoe &Colonel

How much do you think they will be willing to pay. There is a foundation who has sent the gov. a proposal for restoring the building. but guess what they are not going to put the 1st dollar towards restoration . they are asking the goverment to pot up 200k and an additional 300k towards investing. So there you have it nobody wants to throw their money into a project that is seemed worthless much less buy it it belongs to the government and in the end they would fix it or demolish it.

168. as the building is over 100 year old it falls under the national trust care as such they can only restore it. If the building burns down ( like sam lords ) they can building anything on the spot.

169. David | November 11, 2011 at 6:21 PM |
    “Alissandra Cummins is a fine, competent, knowledgeable person with a passionate personality and a “get-up-and-go and do” spirit. She is deserving of every accolade and high recognition that is bestowed upon her. A true role model for the cultural and heritage “neophytes”.”

David at BU … You be velly sick or not velly smart… You not know what you speak. Maybe you not speak on this topic for rest of life …no?

170. Maybe millertheanunnaki keep quiet for now … no?

171. WHY not take up the Globe which is being closed down pretty soon (hint) ??
    ARE you going to wait until it is closed down and shut -up for many years before you decide to do something about it ?????
    WHY dont you Bajans move now to acquire the GLOBE CINEMA which will soon closed down as a cinema after decades of showing good movies ????

172. @JUST ASKING!

Why don’t you buy the GLOBE and fix it up yourself , Maybe you can run Xrated pictures you would make a pretty penny. Put up or shut Up.

173. @ac
    I believe that the Government would be willing to offer some concessions to anyone who decides to purchase the building and develop it while maintaining the facade, as it did with the people who refurbish the old British Military Hospital, now Pavilion Court , opposite the Coconut Court Hotel on Hastings Road.

174. AC =WHY are such a cunt ?

175. AC =WHY are such a cunt ?
    So there is some truth in Rihanna’s statement?

176. DID you doubt her ???

177. The restoration Empire Theatre shifts gear:

Happy Monday all, the meeting will be on Sunday 20th November. I am still working on a time. Thinking early in the morning so as to accommodate those who have Sunday lunches and brunches and country drives. You will appreciate that we can’t plan it around everyone’s schedule so if we are to pull this off properly we will have to make the time. Please stay tuned. Spread the word about this email address. Copy this email to anyone you think would be interested in this project. Remember to join the Facebook Group THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK on my FB Page. We have 238 members already.

Thanks.

Mikey.

178. @JUST ASKING

Is that the best you can do.your verbal diahrea does not impressive me.
    Now stop wasting time . Go Buy The Globe! CLOWN!

179. @ac

Buying the Globe is fine but it does not respond to the need to restore the Empire which is reflective of over 100 years of Bajan history. It is not simply an economic transaction but a whole lot more.

180. Please allow me to introduce myself to this forum. My name is Jim McGowan – I am a founder of BEAT|Barbados along with my life partner Tamara Marshall, and I am also a Trustee of BEAT Foundation.

I am writing to advise and to confirm that BEAT foundation have in fact submitted a Proposal to Government for Restoring of the Empire Theatre – it is our understanding that our proposal is one of three that Government is now reviewing and considering. We have presented our proposal to the Infrastructural Committee, which is comprised of many Cabinet Members and we are now awaiting their decision.

BEAT foundation is a new charitable organization founded in Barbados that was established to be a catalyst in helping to develop the Creative Arts Industry. The founding Trustees are myself, John MacKenzie, Andrew Pilgrim and Guy Beauvais. As individuals and now as Trustees of this Charity we have each committed and have dedicated ourselves to seeing the Empire be fully restored to it’s former glory.

I am writing this post as I understand full well that “fear of the unknown”, speculation and or misinformation can often derail what is a “Good Cause”. First impressions seem to be lasting ones, and thus I will do my best to answer any questions or address any concerns early and openly in this forum with respect to BEAT foundations proposal. I would like to make the unknown be known and so that readers can make an informed decision as to whether they believe the BEAT proposal has merit and is worthy of public and political support.

@ David – Thanks for creating this posting in the BU blog, it has been insightful and fascinating to read.

@ Mikey – Thanks for your passion towards the Empire, and for your endorsement of BEAT foundations proposal further up. I believe we share a similar goal in this regard and I also believe that it will take the wider community to get engaged and help make it happen. Myself, the directors and Trustees of BEAT would look forward to working closely with you and the supporters you have mobilized. Together Forward!!!

@ AC – I would like to address your earlier comments and clarify. The BEAT proposal put to Government made a request – and it very clearly stated it was not a requirement – that BEAT was inviting Government at its discretion to make a donation to the cause. Also you appear to have quoted another line from the proposal which I would like to address. To clarify, BEAT has already put in funding and time to evolve the EMPIRE project and our proposal. What you are alluding to in the proposal is where we stated “potential benefactors” who are very interested in supporting the Restoration Project would not wish to be the first dollars in, but would rather see this initiative be organized and led on a local level by an alliance of members in the CREATIVE ARTS community. If and when it becomes a community initiative, with Government permission, they would be willing to “help out”. It is their aim to empower the Creative Community in taking the initiative and moving forward and will respond with support. This offers a great opportunity and in my view is not a negative as you may have thought and have expressed above.

@ ALL – The question of who “owns” the EMPIRE in my view is a different issue than who has “control” of it. At present the Government has control, but in truth the EMPIRE really belongs to the people of BARBADOS and should be restored and used for PUBLIC BENEFIT and to be managed by a diverse board of trusted and credible citizens. This is the plan and goal of BEAT foundation.

Once again I applaud Mikey Hulsmeier for taking initiative and for energizing and beginning to mobilize the wider community. At BEAT we are about “evolution” and not revolution, and thus we wish to work with the wider community, members of the Creative Community, various organizations and businesses, Politicians and community leaders, Social Media influencers, who together in a constructive, planful, positive and a professional manner, can come together and undertake a collaborative effort to see the “Empire Rise Again”

181. Straight Cannon

@ Jim McGowan

I fear this is just another ‘lotta long talk’ as we Bajans say.

I say to you and those of you who might have an interest in the genuine restoration of the Empire, what are you going to do to show everyone, the citizens, the politicians, the civil servants and the visitors that you are serious and can SHOUT a co-hesive call for this worthy cause?

” Even a purely moral act that has no hope of any immediate and visible political effect can gradually and indirectly, over time, gain in political significance” – Vaclav Havel

Do something meaningful or go home quietly so eager citizens can find a genuine cause.

182. BEAT
    Try and marry the woman-(Tamara) Tomorrow
    what life partner what ? What yuh w

183. Mr. Mccowan

First let me applaud your efforts an initiative in wanting to see the Empire restored. My initial feeling after reading the Proposal are mixed and they are questions which should be address. i also note that as part of the proposal you are asking to lease the EMPIRE for 2,500 bds ,monthly. for a total of 99years. So what if the government rejects . You also stated that it is not a requirement for the government to give financially .So in that case how does the project continue if no one wants to put in 1st dollar. I think their is some ambiguities which are misleading and in part that is why the government is hesitant to move forward from Jan until present time.

184. @David

Ref. commentNov/14/ 6.34pm

I am not the one who is proposing Bajans buy the Globe your comment should have been forwarded to JUST ASKING. For the record i am fully aware of the historical connections to the EMPIRE whether i agree or not
    how it is being handled. Furthermore i am not so dumb as to equate the Globe and the EMPIRE history as one of the same.

185. @ac et al…

There are times, however, when there is value in breaking what is known as the “fourth wall”.

Also what is known as “speaking to the audience”….

186. millertheanunnaki

@ ac | November 14, 2011 at 5:40 PM |
    “…. that is why the government is hesitant to move forward from Jan until present time.”

Mr. MCcowan, sorry for being intrusive but ac needs to put back into his “CCC” apologetic cage! We are not surprised, cc, at your party’s hesitant, indecisive, constant ‘change-of-mind’, ‘don’t know-what-is-going on’, ‘blame it on the international recession or the BLP’ approach to governance except when it comes to the award of the marina redesign contract or the lease of land at Coverley.

Don’t let ac the inside man pull any red herrings across the trail. Let the government lease the property to your outfit for peppercorn rent and start the restoration process without more ado!

187. If the artistes are using it to uplift the arts what harm could leasing it do?

The government should welcome the proposal.

A simple clause inserted in the agreement/MOU to protect governments interest should ensure the other party remains honest in the transaction.

188. @All… So let us please break the “fourth wall”…

Most of those who claim to represent you are lying to you.

They promised to provide a Freedom of Information Act to you.

They haven’t delivered.

They promised to provide Ingenuity Legislation to you.

They haven’t delivered.

Why should be believe any of them now?

189. A” simple Clause” Not as simple as you think. if the government agree to that proposal they wouldn’t deserve another year of goverance.

190. @ac

Ok ac you have the last word, we will let the place continue rot.

191. millertheanunnaki

ac | November 14, 2011 at 7:12 PM |

Why not a straightforward clause? The intention is to get the Empire back to a state worthy of admiration befitting a cultural icon!
    So why can’t the government use some of the money earned from the taxes included in the price of petroleum products to refurbish the Empire site? Tell me if I am wrong but I would swear there is an element of cost for culture included in the price build-up for petroleum products. Where is this piece of taxation currently applied?

Those who have an interest in seeing the Empire restored follow up on this lead. Don’t let ac mamaguy you!

192. It would make a nice strip joint …

193. If the Empire is going to contribute meaningfully to the development of cultrual arts, then tally ho.

If it is being restored ‘because of former glory’, then so what?

In three hundred years all the island and world may be bush and or ruins, who knows.

We move on and if the land space can be better utilised, then so be it.

If BAFBFP’s strip joint would make more money and bring more tourists, it can be used for that too.

But the deciding factor for restoration should be that it can be viable for contribution to Barbados’s FUTURE development.

The past done gone. Move on nicely.

194. That space where the old Detco Motors used to be opposite the Empire building (next to the old harbour Police), would make a nice window to the sea.

Bulldozer? Or is this land reserved for the condominiums when the marina is built, as per original plans?

I assume that if the Empire building is leased out for 99 years, the proviso is that it will be used for only one purpose i.e. that of cultural arts and any other use would result in lease termination?

Just asking of course.

195. @ac I just put the first dollar….care to put the second?

196. @ Crusoe

” If BAFBFP’s strip joint would make more money and bring more tourists, it can be used for that too.”

Applies to casino gambling too?

197. What about a strip club with gambling, the new Bush Hill

198. @Sonapanic,

Nothing at all wrong with casino gambling, nothing. Many in Barbados go to Vegas every year to gamble and people fly form all over to go to Vegas, it is a business.

@ Your last point, don’t be facetious. Bush Hill is a cheap whore stop, not a casino nor properly run club of any sort, you are being ridiculous, do I detect that ‘righteous indignation’ as in ‘not here’, while bullers-for-hire queue up to be picked up behind Coleridge Street and drugs are had freely all over?

199. @ Crusoe

I am not familiar with the night time activities at Coleridge Street, are you?

We might soon get your wish for casino gambling, hold strain and watch the Pierhead, the inorganic portrayed as the organic.

200. I am very pleased to see the dialogue and level of interest in this blog. As promised I will attempt to address or clarify some the concerns posted above.

@ AC – said – “First let me applaud your efforts an initiative in wanting to see the Empire restored. My initial feeling after reading the Proposal are mixed and they are questions which should be address.” – Jim McGowan says – thank you for applauding the efforts – we may have started the ball rolling with a proposal but it will take the wider community to get it done – so let me have your questions and I will do my best to address them – one by one.

@ AC also said – “i also note that as part of the proposal you are asking to lease the EMPIRE for 2,500 bds ,monthly. for a total of 99years. So what if the government rejects.” – Jim McGowan says – a proposal is just that, a starting point, and Government can advise the adjustments needed to make it work. Their concerns would have to be mitigated before any final agreement could be put in place and ultimately it will require both sides being satisfied.

@ AC also said “You also stated that it is not a requirement for the government to give financially .So in that case how does the project continue if no one wants to put in 1st dollar. Jim McGowan says – Imposing a requirement from Government in this economy would be onerous and there are many competing priorities in need of Government funding and social assistance. It is because we believe we will raise the funds and will be making our best efforts in doing so we would go ahead with or without requiring funding from Government. Should they wish to support this project down the road, we would be grateful but not demanding of it.

@ AC also said – “I think their is some ambiguities which are misleading and in part that is why the government is hesitant to move forward from Jan until present time. – Jim McGowan says – There are some concerns that have been made known to us and we are working towards addressing those concerns. At the same time we are aware there are other proposals which are also being considered by Government, and I am not in a position to speak about these other than to say, it does appears a responsible process for the reviewing of the various proposals is taking place by Ministry of Culture Staff. So we will need to continue being patient for now.

@ CRUSOE – “I assume that if the Empire building is leased out for 99 years, the proviso is that it will be used for only one purpose i.e. that of cultural arts and any other use would result in lease termination?” – Jim McGowan says – This proviso would be satisfactory to include in the final agreement as the sole purpose for our proposal and the mandate of BEAT foundation is to help build capacity for the creative arts.” Strip Joints and Casinos are definitely not part of our plan – LOL

In closing I would be remiss in not acknowledging that Politics is being mixed in with the discussion. My concern is that the Empire restoration may get derailed once again if it becomes a political football. Barbados is divided and fractured by Politics which is its very nature, I would like to see a fully restored EMPIRE be a source of pride for all. Consequently it is my hope that we can unite citizens in this cause, despite that they may ordinarily be split across political divides. The Empire is worthy of receiving the full support of those who love the Island and as such I will refrain from responding to questions that appear to be of a political nature. –

Finally thank you to those who are responding and have an interest. Open dialogue and addressing differing viewpoints will help to ensure those interested to know can make decisions based on information and not speculation. Keep the questions and concerns coming. – Jim

201. Given the proposal there are two main problems. 1 the all important financing 2 parking for number of vehicles.

In the interim 2 can be dealt with using the pierhead parking lot and shuttling people in long term that area will be taken up by the pierhead marina. alternative parking would be needed for the 1000+ patrons. maybe using city centre and Princess Alice Highway Car Park they can take care of most of need but more parking would likely be need and proper shuttle service. Knowing this future headache for the theatre they made allocation parking as required by the town planner the lessors problem in the drawn up conditions of the lease. That maybe be a huge sticking point for government and probably get negotiated down or out or some other benefit given in turn for not being the government issue.

getting back to the important issue of no1. with recent change to charitable contribution it could be done by corporate Barbados. However corporate Barbados is still not much in giving mood so would take some encouragement. maybe chief financier would get it name in building? sagicor and many other do have impressive retained earning/new equity cashflow that could do the construction. maybe other incentive can be taught of to get finance in. Now for those questioning the lease amount. the government is proving the building as is and not paying for the renovations. as such normally there is a good discount on the normal rental rates for what such an equivalent building would get. Tied into the lease agreement is they are getting 2.5% of gross from operations contract. These are far better term than jada gave the government for coverly.

202. Thanks again Mr , Mcgowan your response has been valuable i will continue to stay in touch concerning the progress of the Beat foundation and the EMPIRE,BTW i am not here to make waves but since our government is being approached it is only fair that public have some input.

203. Thank you again for posting.

@ Anthony – re Concern No 2. – Parking. The issue of parking and even more importantly the safety of people coming to and fro is one the Trustees discussed, were concerned with, and thus have addressed this issue in our proposal. In the end this will be an issue for whatever activity or use occurs in the location and in reality this is a problem where the solution can be managed. The bottom line for BEAT foundation was that the importance of restoring an ICONIC heritage building and bringing renewal back to Bridgetown far outweighed this logistical problem.

@ Anthony – re Item 1. – The all important financing issue. The success of the project will require an extensive Fundraising and Capital Campaign. We have appointed a Chairman of the Fundraising Committee and have strategies and plans for how to attain the fundraising goals. However we will need an indication from Government for the acceptance of our proposal so that we can “legally” proceed with their consent to raise funds. The ideas you have put forward are indeed good ones, and we would welcome on board those in the community who would like to volunteer and be a part of that campaign when it has been blessed to proceed by the powers that be.

@ AC – concerns and questions are welcomed and are not viewed as waves. We also believe the public has a right to know what it is that BEAT is proposing for a public building, and this is why we have posted our proposal on line and put it in the public domain. We know BEAT foundation cannot succeed without first building relationships in the community and that those relationships will only come when we can gain the trust of others. I sincerely believe that the Trustees we have on board are well known, honest, and well regarded members of the community, and in the end nothing can happen in BEAT foundation that is not blessed by or mandated by the board of Trustees.

204. millertheanunnaki

@ Jim McGowan | November 15, 2011 at 9:28 PM |

You indicated that BEAT is prepared to entertain suggestions from John Public. My concern is this: Why should you pay the Government lease charges other than a nominal fee of say $100.00 per annum for a site that is the government’s legal, moral and political responsibility to maintain in a condition suitable to their being a member of UNESCO and Bridgetown having the designation as a World Heritage Site. But more importantly, do you know that every time the tax paying motorists put fuel in their vehicles some of that money paid to BNTCL includes a fee towards the development of arts and culture in Barbados? You should ask the authorities to justify any lease payments other that a nominal fee as consideration for any contractual arrangements undertaken for the restoration of the Empire. Don’t forget also the special favours that were done for the BTC -$19-20 million of VAT forgiven and all that!
    Take these things into consideration when you sit around the negotiating table.

205. @miller

look at you so anti this government that you would deny them revenue which the Beat has made in their proposal for leasing the EMPIRE .

206. @ac

he offering them the terms jada got for coverly.The rest after that is all true.

207. Please continue to post comments to a more recent blog on this subject to ensure the discussion flows:

http://bajan.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/beat-foundation-submits-proposal-to-government-to-restore-the-empire-theatre/

208. Pingback: The Empire Strikes Back II, The Big Picture |