Can Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Rally His Men?

Let me have men about me that are fat,

Sleek-headed men and such as sleep a-nights.

Yond Cassius has a lean and hungry look,

He thinks too much; such men are dangerous

Julius Caesar Act 1, scene 2, 190–195

credit: Nation newspaper 13/12/2011

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart was the man trusted by the late Prime Minister David Thompson to manage the affairs of state during his sickness. It was a difficult time for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) we can all agree, the protracted global economic slowdown would not have made the situation better.  Stuart, his failings as a human noted, was a calming influence during that time. Some like Peter Wickham argue that he appears to be slow in decision-making. Besides the fact Wickham has overstepped his professional boundary as a pollster, one wonders how would he have known what considerations Stuart had to deliberate over to make those decisions he felt were slow in coming. Could it be that Wickham is simply sharing his opinions which like ours have no empirical support?

The reality of the matter is that our parliamentary system requires the leader of the political party to have the support of the parliamentary group in order to perform the job. When the leader is Prime Minister the procedure to remove him may differ compared to what occurred in the case of Arthur (the Gang of Five) and Mottley.  In both cases there is a common factor, the leader needs the support of the parliamentary group.

BU sources have confirmed that Prime Minister Stuart does not have the support of the majority of key players in the parliamentary group and the party. Some are willing to go public while others are scared and prefer to be protected by the shadows. The charge laid by DLP disaffected members is that Stuart has failed to lead.

Prime Minister Stuart should be aware of this situation by this time if he wasn’t before and is astute enough to read the tea leaves for himself. BU has already advised Stuart to ring the bell and let the people decide. How he does it is up to him. Will he defer to Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler who appears to be the popular choice or will he be nasty about it a la Sir Lloyd. If the disaffected parties can hold their nerves it seems obvious that the DLP cannot venture on the campaign trail unless swords are returned to their scabbards and all line up behind the Old Head or the young Turk.

Some question how the transfer to Sinckler should occur. There is the emerging view in the BU household that the Governor General is not required to call an election or to submit to Prime Minister Stuart’s call for an election if he demands it. Provided the DLP has a leader that is able to form a majority government, the Governor General has the authority to remove Stuart and give the job to Sinckler. The idea that there must be a general election may not be supported in the law.

The parliamentary model of government as it affects how we change leaders often leave a bitter after taste but it is what it is. The same occurred with Mottley when her support shifted overnight to Arthur and left her on the outside looking in. BU supports the call to amend the law so that the people vote for the leader and pre-empt a few people in smoke filled backrooms who currently influence the selection process. We need to protect our fragile democracy from those with deep pockets who in the current system find it easy to manipulate our politicians who carry a ‘hungry look’.

There is enough evidence in the public domain to support that there is a palace coup unravelling in the DLP camp. Sinckler’s continued denials will dent his integrity the longer it takes to accomplish the goal. Many conclusions maybe drawn but the one which comes to the top of the pile is that this is imperfect timing for the DLP.

Advertisement

162 Responses to Can Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart Rally His Men?

1. @ David

” BU sources have confirmed that Prime Stuart does not have the support of the majority of key players in the parliamentary group and the party”

That statement makes no sense, with all due respect. The PM does not need to enjoy the support of the majority of the key players in the Parliamentary group or the party, he or she as the case maybe, need only enjoy the support of ALL of the members of Parliamentary group. Why the reference to KEY players and who Sir are the Key players?

2. @Antz

Do not apply a legal interpretation try being pragmatic instead.

3. There are a numer of problems to which you have adverted..In my view Stuart has the option of going to the polls or handing over to the person who he members want , but right now it has been blowin in the open so he cannot give in to anyone because he has allready said he is not going anywhere. There will be a fifght to the death and those who have made their choice known shall soon be exposed.That is the nature of Bartbadian politics and as the election is so close at hand there is very little that the Dems can do to bring any semblance of order.. PM Stuart cannot bell the cat because he depends too much on his team because he has not as yet been the architect of any work on his own. He does not have a ministry where hsi work can be seen in a tangible way. This group is not like the group in 94. That group had a lot of political experience but these have no political collateral and many came in on a swing.I am now informed that that swing is now betwen 4-6% and can go even further in the present circumstances. these fellows would be out on their behinds Think on these things.

4. Caswell Franklyn

David

Freundel Stuart is Prime Minister, and in the context of Barbados, the Prime Minister has more power than any man has a right to have and the system of governance can still be called a democracy.

That said, there is little barring resignation that any of them can do to remove the PM if he does not want to go. It is the Prime Minister’s Cabinet: if some of them do not support him, the only honourable option is to resign. When any of them resigns, the PM could replace that person with a person from the back bench or the Senate, or he does not have to replace them. The Constitution only requires the PM and a minimum of five ministers to constitute the Cabinet. The Cabinet is already too large and needs thinning out anyway. Most Ministers have precious little to do, that is why they apparently have so much time on their hands that they could have time to plot.

I have complained in the past about the quality of intellect of the members of the DLP parliamentary group, but I don’t think that any two of them are dumb enough to introduce a motion of no-confidence against the PM. Any such motion would be destined to fail for enlightened self interest if nothing else. Those elected to the House for the first time would only qualify for a pension in 2016. Also, many of them were unemploy or under-employed prior to the election. You don’t see that after they were able to afford food on a consistent basis that all of them run to fat. They don’t want to go hungry again.

If they resign from the House as well in an attempt to force the PM’s hand they would be shooting themselves in the foot. Whatever they do the PM has the ultimate self-defence mechanism: he can call an election. And contrary to not so popular belief, the Governor-General has no option other than to act on the advice of the PM.

5. Why would you educate your people and then expect all of them to be yes people. Is there any room for dissent in a democratic institution? The Prime Minister seems to understand that there would be dissent in any organization and so is not worried so why all of the talk about the dissenters.
    Suppose things are not going right must they sit down and not question it?
    We were indoctrinated not to question persons in authority.
    Why can’t the Prime Minister recognize that he has some problem and deal with them to the advantage of the DLP?
    Why can’t he name the supposed most popular person his deputy Prime Minister and capitalized on his popularity.
    I find this a weakness of the parties where no one seems to put the country first but all about self.
    The DLP will win the nest election if common sense prevails with the PM recognizing that Bajans love to know about everything and therefore hold the press conferences that were held in the past. Have confidence in your team as the last PM had confidence in you to make you his Deputy. Do not be side track by these people encouraging you to move this body and replace this body. They did that with Sandiford and he fell for it and pull up stumps and it took fourteen years to recover.

6. it was only a matter of time before mr stuart was fed to the wolves to cover mr thompson’s many sins of commission and omission.cast your mind back to long knives pointed conveniently at mr stuart for declaring that mr parris was his friend when none was pointed in the direction of mr thompson who utilised 10 million of scarce taxpayers money to prop up a scandal ridden company managed not by his friend but confidant.

7. Hang on a minute, Sinckler the man allegedly at the center of the move to replace FS declares he knows nothing of the “nonense.” Donville co-signs Sinckler’s declaration so who are the ministers that want Stuart out? Not Kellman , not Estwick, Not Jones, Not Sealy, not Hutson, not Lowe, so who? Wickham is’nt a minister , besides him and Patrick Hoyos two men who hate FS for the sake of hating it seems we are the victims of one big hoax.

If the Dems remain as they are united behind FS they will win the next election against a fractured, two faction spiteful BLP where the main leaders cant stand to be in the same room as each other. If the Dems fcuk up and go off in the BLP Gang of Five direction they will lose next election.,guaranteed.

8. millertheanunnaki

Expat | December 12, 2011 at 10:36 PM |
    So Brit Expat, what should FS do with the alleged plotters? Would you not recommend a shuffling of the pack to bring loyalists closer to the centre of action?

9. George C. Brathwaite

@david

I believe that you are misinformed in relation to the GG and whether the PM can call elections. Section 66 (2) of the Barbados Constitution clearly lays out the procedures. In recognition that in the scenario that you are describing the PM loses this majority (which is not necessarily on his side but counting the entire Assembly), he has 3 days in which to decide. At this point there are conventions which the GG follows in the same way that the Monarch while having discretionary powers will act on convention.
    Maybe the constitutional lawyers will add or subtract to my comments. I stand guided.

10. George C. Brathwaite

@david

Just read Caswell’s comments and he is very much on the ball. That is exactly my understanding from reading the relevant laws embedded in the Constitution of Barbados.

11. In my opinion one of the key issues is that there are a lot of influential people in BIm who are stuck with the notion of the maximum leader. The PM must loom large on the horizon, he must be Minister of Finance, when he speaks no dog must bark. If you don’t fit that mould you cannot be leader.

I hope FS sticks with what he implied in his statement on saturday, and not try to prove he is some alpha male now. That this is a democracy, dissent is part of the thing, lets discuss and settle our differences and move on as a united team.

I don’t know bout all these pundits, most of the bajans I interact with are still very much in wait and see mode, this election is still wide open and will probably be decided by the quality of the campaigns.

By the way, when Stuart speaks he speaks very well. The statement on homosexuality today was a boss statement for me.

12. George C. Brathwaite

@Clone
    Is it clone or clown? Do you think that Sinckler has the national appeal, success in the ministries he had the opportunities to head as a result of two different endorsements by Prime Ministers, or anything going for him to lead the DLP into victory? In which Barbados, when and where? Given the economic climate, given the rising inflation and employment coupled with food prices and taxes, not to mention debt, where does his success reside or his claim to fame? I suggest it is in the minds of Hartley henry, Peter Wickham, and all those who are willing to accept blindly that the DLP would win an election by getting rid of their leader at this time. I am willing to take all bets.

13. George C. Brathwaite

The philosopher king will remain entrenched at least for the time being until he calls the election. We in the BLP will not allow him to be relieved of his duties by a group of DEMS and their sidekicks; but we the BEES SHALL RESCUE the country from the DLP, REBUILD our economy and society, and RESTORE pride in leadership and accomplishments that put Barbados as the Number 1 developing country in the world in December of 2007. Until that time, the philosopher king shall hold his own despite the machinations of discredited pollsters, political pariahs, and a sordid bunch of wild boys whose ambitions are about self and not BARBADOS.

14. george brathwaite stop licking your chops and salivating about the demise of the DLP it not over till its over. PM Stuart knows what he needs to do and will take whatever necessary steps to ensure that the DLP does not make the same mistake The BLP made in facturing its party.

15. Here is the frontpage of the Nation tomorrow. Incredible the names of the people purported to be on the list:

http://bajan.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/nationfrontpage.png

If Ronald Jones is on the list who is acting PM now that the PM is travelling?

16. The PM is certain of the support of Denis Kellman, he should move immediately to make him Deputy PM then reshuffle the cabinet, if he still gets trouble then call elections, who don’t float will sink. Sandy style politics.

17. Dr. George Belle agrees that the feet of the ring leaders should be lopped off at the knees.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/take-action-belle-tells-pm/

18. George C. Brathwaite

@ac

On the contrary my dear friend. I in this particular case is very much in support of the Prime Minister and if you have read my posts here you would understand the underlying principles.
    I am most definitely against persons of the political class on any side threatening to undo what our forefathers sacrificed for. If you know your national anthem, then we all must be strict guardians of our heritage and firm craftsmen of our fate. The DLP was started by Barrow but it is not supposed to be destroyed by a group of power-craving wild boys (oops,I think there is a wild girl in there).
    In Barbados, we have to be able to stand for something less we fall for anything. There was a ruse by the end of 2007 and we know the results of January 15, 2008. Neither the BLP or members of the DLP that have any ethical or moral fibre should fail to support the Office of the Prime Minister of Barbados; Mr. Stuart is no toy-boy. I am a Bee and I may be buzzing, but I am first and foremost a Barbadian and very proud of that. I refuse to accept that Barbadians will allow pollsters, pranksters, pundits, and political pariahs to destroy the reputation of this great nation-state called Barbados. It is my home and who do not like what I said can come after me. I fear not one, no not one for the Lord is my light and my salvation.

19. yeah george you can fool some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time because underneath all that patriotic diatribe is a gloating george who is happy to see the the perceived infighting in the DLP party not forgetting that his esteemed party have many open wounds which need to be healed whilst heading for an upcoming election. i can assure you that the letter is not in anyway asking for the decapitation of our PM but an assurance by those who signed or request it that they are major needs such as contributions and yes public concerns that need to be addressed . nothing on the same level as that of the traitor OSA and his gang of four that saw the demise of MIA.

20. George has admitted he is a Bee and he is buzzing and that is expected. What is happening here is the DLP’s fault and not the BLP.

21. George C. Brathwaite

@ac

I have been around the political scene for quite a few years now. I am also a student and teacher in politics. I can give you a history of infighting and skirmishes in both political parties. The Owen/Mia tiff if you do not mind me calling it that, is cake to what is happening here. In opposition one would expect the jostling for positions, that is where it ought to be played out; NOT IN GOVERNMENT and especially in a manner that undermines the highest executive office in the land. We are not Australia and we may never be as lucky as Australia.
    In my humblest opinion there is but one undisputed leader of the Barbados Labour Party at this time and that is who the members of the BLP shall rally around. I do not have a crystal ball like Peter Wickham nor do I engage in his preferred line of expertise so I cannot speculate or tantalise my head on who shall be the leader in years to come; leave that to Peter. Maybe in combination with Hartley they may be able to pick and choose the timing oof when prime ministers shall go and come, I do not have the time, patience, or even skulduggery to exercise such actions.
    Good night ac. But before I go, if the reports are correct that Sinckler’s signature is on that letter; and after coming on my radio and my tv and said he knew nothing of a letter, what should Judas’ fate be, both as a minister and a possible candidate in the next election?

22. What we know is speculative at best . However where there is smoke there is fire but until a confirmation by the Party is given to the facts of the letter we can be sensational and dramatic ,my friend george is more than buzzing he is also gloating and why not misery loves company.

23. If the facts of the letter indicates that Sinckler was in anyway suggestive or supportive of decapitating the PM he should be thrown to the wolves . However i do not think that he is that foolish to throw his political life away .the contents of the letter if and when revealed would should no ulterior motives . Right now the only black sheep and one i will agree upon with you is Wiki Lips Peter Wickham! Good night to you .Sweet dreams after all the day time drama you are entitled!

24. @ac

To your last point BU has been on the Nation newspaper Facebook page asking for the letter to be published. To date it is a best kept secret. Why the Nation would withhold is unexplainable at this time.

25. George C. Brathwaite

Goodnight BU. Another interesting day in Barbados politics.

26. I have responded in another posting about Sinckler’s denial of his involvement in any plot to depose PM Stuart. This latest action only serves to demonstrate that he is now panicking after finding out that his colleagues will not rally behind him; he has obviously been fooled by his advisors about the extent of his popularity. How will Sinckler deal with the BB message which he himself sent by text inviting colleagues to the meeting at Room 313 Sapphire Drive Apts? (the meeting actually came off at Room 312). That BB message was seen by all of us who cared to see it and PM Stuart HAS BEEN SHOWN IT. Before long one of us will be forced to give it to the press, both overground and UNDERGROUND.
    Sinckler’s conduct, now that his treachery has been exposed, demonstrates that he lacks the qualities of leadership which Wickham’s fraudulent poll seeks to bestow upon him and the DEMS have no doubt about this. They demonstrated that quite emphatically when Stuart beat him by about 4 votes to 1 when he challenged him for the leadership of the party. That result was achieved by a vote across the THIRTY CONSTITUENCIES..Stuart has nothing to worry about when attacks come from persons of such dubious credibility as Wickham , Hartley Henry and Patrick Hoyos who has been an OUTSTANDING FAILURE every where he has worked and in every venture he has undertaken. Sinckler must know, if he has any sense, that his days as a Minister of so important a ministry as that of finance MUST BE OVER. In fact he should not give PM Stuart the opportunity to fire him; he should do the honourable thing and resign. But how can I expect a dishonourable man to take honourable action? I am being carried away.

27. Very interesting. I can’t get no information nohow about what is really happening, so I relying pon you all here on BU.

@George C. Brathwaite | December 13, 2011 at 12:45 AM. Not 100% sure that I agree with all you said. In fact I am sure I don’t agree 100%. But it is thought-provoking. Thank you.

@David. I will take a look at the Constitution later on today, time permitting, but I do believe that you are 100% correct – as you were correct when you said that judges could actually be dismissed.

28. your admonition and warning ac to george is on the right track despite his efforts to indicate to the contrary. i too detect a sense of gloating and excitement in his coments on the present problems of the dlp which if properly handled in this sickening political environment can turn out to be a nine day wonder and consign george to the political wilderness for another five years. as long as the dlp remains united, incompetence or not there will not be another term for the blp under mr arthur whose credibility has been effectively destroyed by mr thompson since the revelation of the cheque in the response to the budget debate of 2006.lest we forget, mr arthur was also criticised by george for hishandling of the mottley issue after going into hibernation following the defeat of his party.

29. and by george for a man suppoedly versed in history and politics ; you ought to know that the dlp was not started by mr barrow. it migt be more factually correct to say the dlp attained national prominence under the leadership of mr barrow.

30. @balance

Would you not expect BLP supported to revel in the opportunity handed to them to gloat. Didn’t the DLP supporters gloat at the replacement of Mottley too long ago?

To your point about independent bloggers commenting of the meeting in the room at Sapphire, many are waiting on the evidence. At this point one can comment that the letter signed by the 11 requesting audience is still a no-show.

31. However one looks at it how there is an attempt to grab power in this way is very distasteful. Call the PM and have a private chat – whisper in his ear that this is how the party faithful feel as well along with others in the parliamentary group. To be texting to ‘others’ in such a clandestine manner is unacceptable.

32. i suspect the “letter” if it can so be called is not as dastardly as being presented to the public . However the revelation and the presentation has done the damage it was intented to do that is to cause dissent within the public venue and shock wave . This too will past and the high drama and the media frenzy surrounding it will be seen for what is was a sleazy and outright attempt to discredit the DLP led by forces who have much disdain for PM Stuart.

33. Cassius where is the letter and most important since you seem to have privelged information why don’t you stop pussyfooting and openly revealed what you knowi i also sense from your comments refering to Sinckler that there is an attempted character asssaination attempt waged upon Chris Sinckler.i also suspect that you are only being used and is not being toldthe truth by the assains.only that which would be sufficient to cause doubts in the public minds on those whom they seek to destroy.

34. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/eager-11/

35. George
    No more Mr.Brathwaite. I see that you are into passing off insults if you cannot deal with the facts presented. What kind of Doctorate did you achieve? For a man with a doctorate to say that Owen Arthur is better than 21 individuals together says you are not a man with a lot of commonsense.
    How can this man be so good and allow an at first 90 million Barbadian dollar prison to be built, which went up to 190 million US and now estimated to be 350 million US dollars. Saddling the tax payers with a 30 million dollar payment every January for the next thirty years. He goes into to parliament and denies he knew nothing of the contract. By the way most of the directors of the company who built the prison were investigated and charge for offering bribes to government officials from various countries Jamaica included for gaining contracts. He is your genius.
    How come he is such a genius and has not been approached any of the international Institutions to solve the economic mess of the world.

36. David Estwick?!! Ronald Jones?!! Say it ain’t so! I see that epitome of party faithfulness, Hamilton Lashley and that most vocal and insightful commentator of public issues, Mara Thompson, are included among the 11.

37. George C. Brathwaite

@Clone

Have you ever checked with mamma’s judgement to see why she preferred a clone to a clown even though it was self-evident there was a clown that could easily become a clone? Thanks for the endorsement on my lack of common sense, I am appreciative.

38. The plot sickens…..FS is either playing the part of a fool to let the true fools show themselves or he just plain foolish. I believe he is smarter than he looks.

39. Dem say we doan hav nuh gangs here in BIM BUT we got de Gang of 5 in de BLP and now de Gang of 11 in de DLP LMAO Gangs gangs everwhere LMAO

40. George C. Brathwaite

@ Clone the Clown

21 Members of DLP sitting and warming the seats of Parliament ( I better say 20 and take the Speaker out of this). They have managed collectively to push back all of the gains made in this economy and none of them can tell you anything innovative, creative, in getting back Barbados on track.
    I am sure I could do better but just as assured that Arthur’s efforts are worth much more than those 21 (now 20) individuals.If you have a problem with my commonsense, let us address the core issues in Barbados. Cost of living, rising prices, rising fiscal debt, rising inflation, rising unemployment, rising taxes, and a rising sense of hopelessness under the DLP. Are any of those things I listed decreasing as we speak, or would you rather continue to blame the external environment and the 14 years under Owen Arthur? Not to answer that honestly needs some common sense my favourite clown called clone.

41. If this story is true…then Kenny Best is the only back bencher left who is not “against” Stuart. Imagine if Stuart decides to fire any Minister then Kenny Best would have to be brought into the Cabinet! I suppose he could be Minister of Education as his language skills are somewhat better than the present Minister. Maybe he could be Minister of Finance as he did score a higher mark in Mathematics (22%) in the common entrance exam than that present Minister. Maybe he could be Minister of Foreign Affairs (and Youth). This would fit nicely with his past experiences according to people in Trinidad.

Nah, it’s all just malicious rumours!

42. Wow! Those names in today’s Nation.

These are not a group of wild boys. These are people who honestly, as far as politicians are capable of being honest, considered that they couldn’t go into a successful election campaign with FS at the helm and were seeking an audience with him to discuss why they felt so and to offer him a way of demitting office.

What palace coup what?

Stuart is now rivalling David Thompson as the worst prime minister Barbados ever had and the eminent signatories are clearly intimating that he couldn’t manage anything.

There will be lots of developments over the next few days. But it will not die a natural seven days wonder death. Stuart will eventually have to come to terms with the fact that several of his senior ministers do not want him to lead. He will eventually have to call an election sooner rather than later. I hope he doesn’t do a Sandy and spite the first comers expectations on their pensions.

Chris Sinckler, has probably missed the boat. he can no longer be in contention for the top post whether or not Stuart takes any action against him specifically.

Mr. Stuart, do the thing that is best for the country, Retire gracefully or failing that, as the matter may have gone too far now, do the next best thing, save the country from protracted indecisions and turmoil, call an election for late next month.

43. Political Scientist

As a political scientist we live by the credo a week is a long time in politics.
    It is with utter disbelief we hear rumours that Sinckler goaded by CIA informer Wickham could trigger events that will hand back the government to a disunited BLP. In cricket jargon the move is happening against the run of play.
    Owen Arthur pinned down by withering fire from his staunchest enemy Mia Mottley now breathes a sigh of relief.
    George Belle discredited for his fradulent polls comes into the sunlight after years in the dark. Arthur’s faction in the BLP is energized. Rawle Eastmond’s faction is deflated. Will Mottley’s faction join the faction of her tormentor Owen Seymour?
    Only if Mia can forget the deep stab in the back she received from Owen and George Payne . It will be a bitter pill to swallow for Mia to forgive the wicked public mouthings by the short man about her lifestyle.
    Barbados can ill afford the political chicanery being served up not at this time when the world in in an economic spin.

44. With just an A level economic certificate it looks like I have a better grasp of worldwide macroeconomics than you.
    You are in denial that the effect of international economics factors on a small developing state like Barbados.
    Do we produce wheat ,corn, oats, soya, enough oil that we do have to import, tin, copper or gold. We produce none of the inputs that can help us lower the cost of living. None of the parties can lower the cost of living in this present economic situation. The DLP just went too far with that promise but they have TRIED TO HELP THE MOST VULNERABLE. The BLP opposed the free bus fares for the school children so the less well-off persons can only vote for the party that saw that as a savings to them.
    Your man now is banking on increasing FDIs by selling more land. Who have the money now to buy land? There are no more Ponzi schemes available at this time. How much more land can we sell? What about food security?
    Come on George your arguments are weak for a Doctor.

45. Do not believe this piece of garbage. The collection of people even acting as a collective does not make any sense. There may be dissatisfaction in the ranks, but nothing like what is being suggested here. The Nation people have an agenda. In any event, it is the media house that benefits financially whenever there is an election. Vicious.

46. Both these political parties are not worthy of this attention. They cannot be sued for breech of contract and the level of candidates that come forward leaves a hell of a lot to be desired. Both Thompson and Stuart are lawyers and Jones is a school teacher. None of these men have any business running the affairs of anything, particularly holding responsibilities that require good and effective decisions to be made.

47. To Political scientist:
    You need to give the analysis on why Mia persuaded Sinker to do this dastardly deed. Carson is right when he said opposition forces are included; Mia is friend and supporter of each face you see on the front page of the Nation this morning. As my sources are indicating Mia is right in the middle. The plan after the over throw was to call elections with Mia “attempting” to do all possible to see the BLP lose; if result was close Mia and her crowd were to cross the floor. Miller, why your girl Mia did this to the BLP and the DLP and Barbados, but Mia want to be the alpha dog of politics in BIM.

48. Eva skin teet aint a laff

@lemuel-hmmmmmm interesting and so elemenatry Watson. Mottley,Sinckler,Wickham axis. Muhahaha who is the hetro cos therein lies the leader.

49. millertheanunnaki

Clone | December 13, 2011 at 9:24 AM |
    “Do we produce wheat ,corn, oats, soya, enough oil that we do have to import, tin, copper or gold. We produce none of the inputs that can help us lower the cost of living. None of the parties can lower the cost of living in this present economic situation.”

The DLP and its clones (propagandists) knew that in 2007. OSA told you so! But it was the BLP in bed with the local merchants that were responsible for the high cost of living, cost of living cost of living.
    Those who speak with twisted tongues should have their ears lopped off to fill their mouths.

50. Based on the information in circulation it seems that the Gang that couldn’t shoot straight is making things easier for the Sticky fingered Gang to regain control of the Treasury.

Sometime ago Freundel made a speech in which he said men like Colin “Puffy” Reid (Latin teacher) did not teach him the art of treachery. Freundel its time to dust off that speech.

What a mess!!

51. TO Eva Skin:
    What is more interesting is that most people looking on are missing that Mia is pulling the strings behind the scene with a big laugh.

52. William Morris

The Palace Coup did not get the numbers expected so some of the fellows who signed are now trying to hide in the shadows of others.

Curiously I note that nowhere in the Nation front page article today do they say these ate 11 men and woman who signed the letter. In the Sunday Sun the Nation News says they have a copy of the letter, WHY HAVE THEY NOT PRINTED IT AS SURELY THIS WOULD BE MORE IMPACTFUL THAT PICTURES ALONE, TRUE?

Who will be the first to challenge the Nation News to produce the evidence? Estwick, Brathwaite or Jones?

53. William Morris

Good catch … my sentiments exactly

54. George what gains made? All revenue is going to wages and repaying outstanding debt that “a flourishing well-run economy under the BLP government” left without savings, bonds, investments for this torrential rains financial crisis. In addition, new housing projects, welfare grants, child care needs and education.

Step back and check. Tell us the investments the BLP made during the time of plenty lead my your astute Economist OSA (your mouthings not mine, though I respect your view I do not agree) that will bring returns to Barbados’ economy during financial worldwide crisis this year or next.

Joseph in Egypt a foreign land stored in the time of plenty and had in a severe famine. Tell me the wisdom shown by your “established, beloved” leader OSA?

55. Carson you do not need it. However, you have my full support.

David and BU continue to ask for the letter with affixed signatures (not names typed on it) but legitimate signatures as stated in the Nation.

The Nation is looking quite ugly in the rich red colour. I can see people spitting on this paper very very soon and with good reason.

56. @Morris

BU asked the same question last night on the Nation newspaper FB page.

@lemmie

Why are you blaming Mia? Was it Mia who ran to the GG to remove Stuart and consequently forced his early retirement?

57. Let’s face it, during the sickness of the late P.M, Stuart allowed things to drift, even though we were deep in a recession. After Thompson’s death Stuart did not or better still has not stamp his authority, and things continue as Thompson left it, that why many said Thompson was running things from the grave. Even duriong this crisis which the DLP now have, the P.M calls a press conference and some secondary students would have done a better job. One thing Stuart doesn’t do is give the quarterly Cabinet reports that Thompson did. If there is one person who is vocal enough to come out anbd speak against their P.M and fellow parliamentarian, then there is reason for concern. To run off to USA without dealing firmly as a leader shows cowardice. I remember in the 70′s Errol Barrow wanted to change the constitution and some members of his government were not in favour, Mr Barrow told them to be in parliament on the day of voting or deal with the backlash,they were all there and voted for the amendments. A leader has to be a bit of a dictator sometimes and show his/her colleauges who is in charge. Mr Stuart you can call the shots, you have less to lose than many of those who challenge you, so show them who is in charge, ask Owen what he did when he was challenged.

58. @David

I not getting involved in the BEE/DEE cross-talk because I haven’t spent
    enough time on the ‘Rock’ over the past 48 years to make a meaningful input. However I dont think the editor of the Sunday Nation would be that naive to use the words ” Eleven Government members of parliament yesterday affixed (past tense) their signatures to a formal letter” unless he/she had proof that the letter was written and signed. I shall be listening to the 12.30 4.30 5.30 and 9.30 V.O.B news to hear if Mr. Adriel Brathwaite responds to the article on the front page of Today’s Nation. He is our Attorney General and the person who should be very au fait with the libel laws of Barbados.

59. Those who ride on the back of a “tiger” will find it difficult to dismount…..stand firm Prime Minister Stuart; they wanted you to speak, yes speak on your own terms, hold the line.

For if they are so confident let the electorate decide.

60. The AG au fait wjth libel laws? This AG is turning out to be the wosrt AG. I was at a formal function recently where he was the featured speaker and the man was so under dressed, it was embarrassing, he rambled all over his face, seemed unprepared and left as soon as he finished rambling. I am still surprised that he is one of the eleven. Et tu brute?

61. My new cabinet would be as follows: Freundel Stuart PM and Minister of Finance,Immigration, Defence and Security, Richard Sealy Deputy PM and Minister of Tourism & Industry, Denis Kelman Minister of Commerce, Small Business& Rural Deveolpment, Stephen Blackette, Minister of Housing,Lands and Urban Development, Dr. Denis Lowe Minister of Education and Youth Affairs, George Hutson, Minister of Transport and Works, Dr. Byer-Sookoo, Minister of Health, Patrick Todd, Minister of Community development, sports and culture. Of the dissidents I would retain James Paul for Minister of Agriculture, Hamilton Lashley for Ministry of Social Care. After that the rest can be filled by Senators even if it means added new ones and replacing people like Harry Husbands and Maxine McClean who seem to be of the same ilk as the bandits. Haynesley Benn could remain. These are just a few thoughts . I am always thinking that as a trade off Dr. Estwick may be given Minister of Finance to ease his disgruntlement..

62. ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    lemuel | December 13, 2011 at 9:38 AM |
    To Political scientist:
    You need to give the analysis on why Mia persuaded Sinker to do this dastardly deed. Carson is right when he said opposition forces are included; Mia is friend and supporter of each face you see on the front page of the Nation this morning.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I thought it was only me. When I saw this development I immediately figured that someone was attempting to rule vicariously, through this move and there had to be a power behind the throne.
    Power corrupts and total power corrupts totally. We would rather kill Barbados than to let someone else have it nuh?!
    What are we to make of this hungry mess. Will we as Barbadians, keep a cool head and be ready to stand on the side of what is right and decent or are going to fall into the morass, of who we like and who we can get favours from they get in power.

Is this for the good of the majority or for the good of a self-titled, self-aggrandised, self-entitled few. Give me the facts and let me make my own decision. Thanks

63. There is a tide in the affairs of men that, taken at the flood leads on to fortune, omitted, all the voyage of their lives is bound in shallows and in misery, On such a full sea are we now afloat” From my recollection of a famous Shakespeare quotation, I think Donville Inniss was probably exposed to the same work at HC.

Donville Inniss was impressively Prime Ministerial in his interview reported in Today’s Nation. Chris Sinckler has lost his pick. He better look for a job.

I haven’t hear of Owen or Mia commenting on the issue, yet the DLP people here are taking preemptive strikes on them. That’s politics for you!

The damage is done. Whatever happens neither the fractured DLP or the fractured BLP have an advantage as a party. The Economy and the numerous mistakes the DLP has been making suggests that they are going to have a serious fight on their hands at election time next year.

64. One other point.

As I’ve stated here before. It is in the BLP’s best interest that Freundel Stuart stays on as PM. His lack of leadership skills and propensity to preside over mistake after mistake is just what the BLP will be happy with. Their job is going to be a bit more difficult with almost anyone else at the helm of the DLP. Hence they will support him and excoriate the “wild boys”.

The wild boys most likely recognize the danger to Barbados and their party if Stuart stays there as PM much longer. They could not have got the support of some of the senior Government ministers if they did not have a good case for requesting Stuart to leave. So far I have not heard of an ultimatum.

Reading between the lines. To me, it looks like they thought that they were doing what was best for their party and Barbados by trying to convince Stuart to demit office without fanfare. Someone put a spoke in their plans and I would think they would be more sensible than to allow Mia Mottley to lead them in a matter like this. There’s a double agent in there somewhere.

65. @Checkit-out

How do you explain the group running to the GG before the alleged request to meet with Stuart?

66. @ JB I would put Irene Sandiford-Garner as Minister of Health, she seems to be able to get things done, after he incident SC Warrens had up lights quick and fast. We must do away with this recycling, after a while just a whole set of worn out people who just looking to get what little money left in the coffers.

@check It. I feel if you check it you would see that the people don’t want the old hat of either the Dees or the Bees. Surely there are some young ones with a built in desire to see this country move forward. Out political like cannot be held in the hands of these few people. Stupse.

67. David; Is there any truth in the GG rumours? If so, this thing was festering for over a month and Freundel did absolutely nothing discernible about it. Isn’t that enough for some people to ask him to leave.

IslandGirl; You may be right but only an election will tell for sure. I think there needs to be a mix of old wise heads and young wise and energetic heads with the enthusiasm and drive to mould the society and economy into a true 21st century one..

68. To David and All:
    A situation like this mess we are seeing does not drop out of the sky just like that. Other forces are involved. If the leaders of this eleven were not sure of a back up plan to make sure they regained the purse strings and the financial trough, they would never try a thing like this. I f it had worked, they needed to be assured that with a close elections they would still be the victors. That is where Mia and her gang came in. Remember the unexpected removal of Husbands to run in St. James North. That assured Rawle another term and agent in the BLP camp. This thing is nastier that it looks on the surface. There is much more here than meets the eye.

Mia is Mara’s children god mother; she is Estwick’s cousin; she is Donville’s school friend; she knows Jones from union days when she was Minister of Education; she and Sinker were best friends when she was member of the DLP young socialists; she knows Hammie la and was instrumental in his crossing from the DEMs; should I go on before you people take this seriously?

69. Btw what happen to Cassius the one who talked as if he had inside info.

70. Barbados First

Perhaps PM Stuart will give the rebels in his Cabinet an early Christmas gift. He may be patient in his usual approach to disciplining these dissidents – patient man ride donkey but remember that Dipper Barrow fired two senators under a streetlight. Let us see a copy of the letter sent to PM Stuart signed by the dissidents. In the meantime PM Stuart and his loyalists should focus on delivering Cost-U-Less, the cheap fruits from Dominica, the state trading agency to provide basic foodstuff, improving the water distribution network AND REDUCING THE COST OF LIVING as was promised by the late PM Thompson.It would show that they arent selfish focussing on just winning the next election but concerned for Barbados. On another note, there is also talk of a third party being formed between the people’s choices of Sinckler and Mottley to challenge the established DLP and BLP. It is expected that this new party would have a majority of members in Parliament based on those MPs showing support to either Mottley or Sinckler.

71. To Barbados First:
    Are we the only ones seeing this development. These young saps actually believe that they are the Errol barrows and Grantley Adams of this century time and place. What they have not taken into account is that the people of this time and place are not the same people of that time and place and all of we went school to. Do know that in mathematics it took the three volumes of books to demonstrate that 2 + 2 = 4. What is the reality of what we are witnessing here politically?

72. On a tangent somewhat – can anyone imagine if Stuart absented himself from parliament and Arthur reverted to his old ways of giving the poorakey parliament a pass the vacuum which would be created?

Leaves one to shudder.

73. Here we go again!

And Mara name pon de list! Oh what is dis, oh what is dis list?

74. All the PM has to do is to reshuffle the cabinet once all this is true, and put them on the back bench or dull ministries that way he can give his loyal subjects like Denis Kellman a push up. I would deliver the reshuffle in a xmas eve message on CBC TV if it were me.

If I get trouble after that, then call elections in the New Year.
    Who don’t float would sink.

Can James Paul, Stephen Lashely deliver their seats easily? I think not.

75. I am not in favour of no “loyal subjects” getting no push up, more than 50% of the time they can’t do the jobs and they are more trouble then profit.

76. The nature of politics means that there is a place for keeping those loyal close but it must balance with the ability to do the job. The Brutus move has exposed the dearth in talent and options open to the PM.

77. @Undertaker | December 13, 2011 at 12:40 AM |
    The PM is certain of the support of Denis Kellman, he should move immediately to make him Deputy PM then reshuffle the cabinet, if he still gets trouble then call elections, who don’t float will sink. Sandy style politics.
    ===========================
    Another jackass who puts self before party and country.

78. @ David
    How did the Nation get a copy of the DLP poll?

79. @David | December 13, 2011 at 5:59 AM |
    However one looks at it how there is an attempt to grab power in this way is very distasteful. Call the PM and have a private chat – whisper in his ear that this is how the party faithful feel as well along with others in the parliamentary group. To be texting to ‘others’ in such a clandestine manner is unacceptable.
    ===================
    Now com’on…don’t you think that all the necessary internal protocols and requirements would have been met by now? Even the calypsonians had their sing of Stuart’s silent leadership. It doesn’t take a Harvard graduate to figure that by now Stuart’s leadership would have been a topic of discussion within the party.

80. Barbados First

If you were PM Stuart, would you want to be distracted with constantly having to peep over your shoulder as Chairman of Cabinet about members within the Cabinet looking to oust you….and prevent you from properly delivering on your manifesto (contract) with the electorate? The excuse of a bad global economy aint holding water not when the electorate can clearly see what is going on with the in-fighting within the DLP parliamentary group. Dont think for one minute that any member of the rebel 11 will resign, so PM Stuart should take them out of their misery….and if he doesnt, the Barbadian electorate will do it whenever the next elections are called. Oh yes, we gine beat them dissidents with our X (what a set of power hungry ungrateful bastards)

81. @enuff

Do we know that the DLP commissioned the Cadres poll?

82. I think that the behaviour of the eleven should be punished with laughter. Sinckler is Stuart’s pal. He appointed Adriel to his position and Stuart is rewarded with this stunning and stinging rebuke by him.There are eleven named but I am forced to ask are these all? I think not. But the ballless man now seek to absolve themselves from this nonsense. I think that the people of Barbados can judge from their behaviour if they are worthy of their support. It is an act of pure cowardice and self deceptiion that small boys want to behave like big men but do not have the balls to say I sign the paper and I still feel that the PM is a liability to our chances. They must stand by their word. I know the majority of people believe like the Oceans11 that Stuart is unelectable as a leader. they knew that when they picked him but they were influenced because they wanted to appear united. you can fool some of the people some of the times. but it is a shame when you fool yourself.Stuart’s behaviour in the present impasse demonstrates his unfitness for the pressures at hand. He is indecisive, unsure and generally inept and nothing will change that.
    I cannot believe that none of these men did not tell him of their concerns. I cannot believe that these men did not say what they are found in their ridings so the move to confront Stuart in this manner seems a little out
    of hand. Think on these things .

83. @ David
    You are smart. It clearly was not the Nation and based on comments by the pollster when barbadostoday mentioned its existence back in July it is the Dems or someone with their interest at heart. I have however been reliably informed that it was in fact requested by the PM.

84. Minister Ronald Jones has released a Press Release (to traditional media) that he has not signed or attended any meeting in connection to this matter. The pressure now should focus on the Nation to produce the letter with the 11 signatures.

85. Carson C. Cadogan

Don’t worry the Nation newspaper will be asked to produce the “evidence” when the Lawsuits begin.

This is going to be bigger than the St. George Secondary School pornography fiasco where the Nation newspaper tarnished Teachers reputations forever.

Kaymar Jordan will be looking for a very big rock to hide under!!!

86. millertheanunnaki

@Barbados First | December 13, 2011 at 3:43 PM |
    “Dont think for one minute that any member of the rebel 11 will resign, so PM Stuart should take them out of their misery….and if he doesnt, the Barbadian electorate will do it whenever the next elections are called..”

Give him until the first week in the New Year. If he does not act decisively one can only conclude that all the rumours bandied about are indeed merited of some serious thought. Rhianna might just be right when she said the Bajans favourite word to describe a foolish person is the sweetest thing a man and some women would kill for.
    But FS might be seeing it differently. It’s better to be born lucky than rich. I have achieved my ultimate dream as top dog but the responsibilities and headaches are not for me. I know nothing of the economy just big words like the Don Blackie. I don’t give a damn. Look at the colourful and garish shirts I wear. Doesn’t that tell you something?

87. @ millertheanunnaki

Leave PM Stuart and his madras shirt under a jacket with pinstripe pants alone!!!

88. David

You need a topic that exposes the use of public funds to prop up private property owners when scores of Government owned buildings (at Newton, Harbour, Grazettes and other parks) remain vacant and derelict. Space is being made at a Bizzy Williams owned complex to house Ministries in Government.

Now when tax payers monies are used in this fashion one has to ask if it is in repayment for funds obtained during a political campaign of some sort. Why should tax payers pay for the debts of Political Parties?

A similar arrangement existed (and probably still exists) between BS&T and the Government.

89. Miller
    In this world of modern technology, you expect these cowards to come out and declare their hands after being exposed? They can all claim, the signature was not done by them, but in true bajan parlance” where there is smoke, there is fire”, and sooner than later the explosion will happen. I predicted a political volcanic expolsion and I was hoping it never happened but the volcano is rumbling . This is going to make Barbados look really bad, maybe the only positive to come out of this is the return of many non-barbadians to their countries and we true bajans to begin putting this country back together; Oh for Barrow’s duppy to come to our assistance. Luther Vandros sang, ‘dance with my father again’ someone can compose “only to have errol for one more term.” Had errol Barrow live 24 more hours, things would have been different

90. And that is why the NHC built Warrens so that gov’t money could be recycled (rent used to build houses to avoid JadaGate) rather than go to private property owners. Unfortunately the execution went awry….another story.
    The current Housing minister argues that they should stick to building only houses, yet we surprise he allegedly signed a letter.

91. enuff
    The Minister of Housing and a couple of the alleged persons who signed that letter, were ready to jump ship when the DLP had their turmoil with Thompson and Mascoll, so it wouldn’t surprise me if they are ready to do it again.

92. millertheanunnaki

@ BAFBFP | December 13, 2011 at 5:38 PM |
    “You need a topic that exposes the use of public funds to prop up private property owners when scores of Government owned buildings (at Newton, Harbour, Grazettes and other parks) remain vacant and derelict.”

There is a government agency with less than 40 employees that does not generate not one cent in revenue or earned not even US$ 1.00 in forex for the country yet has a monthly rental bill in excess of $60,000.00 (Yes, sixty thousand per month!) payable to a supporter and financial backer of the pip.

93. Looking at the pics in today Nation, the faces of these persons looks puffy, as though they are overfed or simply enjoying the good life. I was told that one particular person eats at least three shares of food at every function he attends.

94. it looks like since Roland Jones has issued a statement of denial Wunna BLP supporters have gotten very quiet. I hope fuh wunna sake none u wunna operatives didn,t have nothing to do wid these character assassination attacks. my eyes on one Cassius all of a sudden he gone into retreat,He was singing like abird about wuh he know.

95. @ ac
    Anybody can issue a statement. What about the other 10? lol

96. The focus swings fully to the Nation now. Acting Minister Jones has practically accused them of fraud.

If this is the case expect a law suit.

97. Didn’t any of you see David Estwick on CBC midday news calling on the Nation to produce the letter with his signature on it?

If the Nation fails to produce, I think the credibility of that paper and a lot of you know-it-alls will be in Maxwell Pond

98. Enuff also Dr Estwick challenge anyone to produce documentation showing where his signature is attached to the “socalled” letter. and now that makes three . who have denied . Try finding Cassius the BLP operative and hangman who was eagerly awaiting the demise of Chris Sinckler he was of recent here on BU telling what he knew about this master plan. Boy the backlash against the BLP is one that they will never ever recover from.

99. it would be a waste of time and money going after the Nation . After all when it is all said and done their credibilty would be their own undoing.

100. Lashley told Marilyn Rice-Bowen to bring proof too.

101. Jones, Michael Lashley, Estwick have all denied and are said to be consulting lawyers.

102. If the letter appears in t’row’s Nation?

103. You Bees will be on your knees tonight saying all kinds of Hail Marys
    and praying that the Nation can produce a letter tomorrow.

We will see what we shall see……………..

104. Enuff stop talking. it is evident that their is no letter. But it is amazing that all the frothing mouthed and hand clapping has come to a complete silent with the new revelations even George Brathwaite seem to have flew the coop. wuhloss last night it was licks like peas for Chris Sinckler now tonight yuh could hear a pin drop. but i still hoping Cassius de hitman would drop in and fill in the blanks . Cassius had promised to deliver the letter on Underground ot Over ground. Cassius wha happen. yuh still down loading it

105. “However, the DAILY NATION is sticking to its story. The newspaper has further been informed that Stuart held private talks with individual members of the complaining group before leaving the island yesterday for New York.”

106. Carson C. Cadogan

The Nation newspaper will pay for its mouth.

Starcom network paid Muscle Mary $60000
    00 for one question which was put to Muscle Mary.

It walk right into the trap. Its hatred of the Democratic Labour Party will be its undoing. Plot indeed.

I have a big rock in my backyard that Kaymar Jordan can hide under if she wants.

FREE MONEY, FREE MONEY, FREE MONEY.

107. The credibility of both the Nation and the Government, plus the Governor of the Central Bank is at stake. No-one can believe much of what is said, it is surprising that the AG,whose picture is on the front page, is not the one defending the eleven, if there was true togetherness, they would ALL come with one voice and defend the “rumors.” As I’ve said before, where there is smoke, there is fire.

108. This matter is simple, forget the smoke and fire business. The Nation can stick to its story but it now has to produce that letter.

109. @ David
    You really believe it is a hoax? That letter coming at Haggatt Hall next elections. lmao

110. @enuff

It is not what anybody believes, it is about ethics in journalism.

111. and scout can you please show us the smoking gun so far the nation can;t retrieve it. maybe you can give them a helping hand., Scout my man”Pull de trigger:Btw why is it surprising that the AG hasn’t said nothing. Sinister indeed!think you have been reading too many tea leaves maybe what you might need is a Bush TEA bathe , BUSH TEA Where art Thou!ac calleth thee

112. @enuff

That poll was reportedly commissioned by members of the private sector a while back. It was also reportedly leaked by them.

113. David
    Agreed, the Nation MUST produce proof and the only proof is a copy of the letter. I think at this time somebody’s credibility is at stake, if this letter is produced and the signatures are there, Mr Stuart has no choice but call a general elections. It would be foolhardy on the Nation to print such a story without concrete proof, failing to produce the information could mean the closure of the newspaper. Was it not printed in the Barbados Today too?

114. @ david
    Haha like it now started? Can’t handle the hypocrisy. What about ethics on the blogs?

115. It would be interesting to see what will happen if the Nation cannot provide the proof and the Nation has to pay out thousands of dollars? What happens if they do like the Government and delay for years the payment? will the Courts level against them? Or has a precedent been set by the Government?

116. @enuff

Be specific and cut the games.

117. @Scout

Newspapers have liability insurance for this kind of thing.

118. ac
    Wednesday’s Nation is not out as yet. Let’s wait and see what other information they come with tomorrow. Can’t put all the news in one paper, then they would lose sales, you give it piece by piece, so a?c my friend wait for tomorrow and see who the cowardices are.

119. OH SCOUT ;Why get into the what wil or shoudu or couldu. Never mind all that . Right now we only concentrating on the Nation delivering the letter.Maybe by tommorow the only fire might be the Nation going down in a blazing inferno fueled by the public fury.

120. scout i have waitedfor about three days. if i wait any longer i might get constipated. BUsh man would tell yuh it is not healthy to keep that kinda stuff in the system fuh too long. Becase BB might put the kinda end yuh not hoping for!

121. @Enuff

@ David
    You really believe it is a hoax? That letter coming at Haggatt Hall next elections. lmao
    ——————————————————————————

You mean Hats, Smiley Wuk fuh Wuk and See-Through going to need so much time to forge the signatures? lmao more

122. @ David
    No games here. I was simply stating fact.

123. Sure, and it was also a ‘fact’ that David Eswick and Ronald Jones signatures were on the letter

124. Caswell Franklyn

David | December 13, 2011 at 7:49 PM | This matter is simple, forget the smoke and fire business. The Nation can stick to its story but it now has to produce that letter.

The Nation does not have to produce anything until a lawsuit is filed. If the Nation has libeled anyone, let them sue and stop this dry talk

125. ac
    Everyday that a piece more information is released, more papers are sold, if all the information is given on one edition, then that’s only one sale. You seem frighten? Why? The Nation has to bring the proof or else.
    David
    I agree, but will the insurance pay for such reckless journalism?

126. @Caswell

Come on, don’t go legal. The Nation in its frontpage story on Sunday based that article on a letter which it purports to carry the signatures of 11 DLP members from the parliamentary group who sought an audience with PM Stuart. At least three members out of the eleven have subsequently called the nation story a lie. The Nation to protect its integrity needs to produce the letter. Why should it have to go to Court if the letter is in the possession of the Nation?

127. @ Cornwell
    UWP in StLucia out after one term, Standard & Poors changes our outlook to negative, IMF confirms unemployment is 12.1% (not a word of dissent from GoCB or Government by the way), NIS funds Four Seasons and a DLP poll done since June before all these negatives shows the DLP down and out. Yet the BLP concocts a story that there is a plot to oust PM Stuart?
    Wheel and come again, this is all damage control. How a DLP owned poll get in the Nation’s possession?

128. C.F
    You are so right, the Nation is innocent until proven guilty, if they do have the proof, call their bluff and tell them go ahead and file a case.

129. Butt head tha’s if there is anything to produce. and then again why risk losing million of dollars in revenue via readership and advertisement plus legal fees when it would be easier to deliver the letter . Right now holding on to such important information is more damaging to the paper and its stock holders.

130. Denials Denials but to no avail. It seems that some in the DLP are confirming that there was a meeting at Dover. It seems that some are saying that they know nothing about the letter. If that is so then it seems to me that their friends and colleagues are prepared to implicate them in the action and so they must train their ire on their friends. There is a letter I dont think that is in dispute. Who signed or did not sign is not so important if they have expressed their minds on the matter. What I think is so unconscionable is that it is reported that there was a parlimentary group meeting at George St. where they could have discusssed their concerns. Stuart is only a man if they felt that they would lose with Stuart I think they should say so but to leave a meeting where they could have told him so and go some where else is cowardly and dastardly. They are puny men and should be treated as such. Their exposure is necessary not because they have expressed their view but because they did not stand up like men. Think on these things

131. David
    If you get 3 out of 11 in an exam you are considered a big failure, If only 3 or 4 members can come forward they too have fail miserably. They need to come forward as a united group and deny the charges or as I said there is fire coming from that smoke.

132. TRUE TO FORM> Doesn;t these “SOME” that you are speaking of have names. Please don’t take us down that hypothetical road of twist and turns again.and while you are at it please bring the letter along. until then we will not believe the story that you are posting

133. Is there any proof in the humor that there will soon be a NEW THIRD party formed by disidents from the two major parties?
    Like my friend
    JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

134. Would this NEW PARTY be large enough to claim a right to govern the country? Unlike the NDP who took over the opposition, this party is rumored large enough to be the majority party in parliament and thus entitled to govern the country.

135. ac
    Don’t get so worried, if there is a letter, the Nation would have to produce it at some point in time, I believe the Nation too have their attorneys, so don’t rush the brush. Politics on the whole is a game of twists and turns, at the end the only losers are the voters and the general public. I’ll sit back and enjoy with dismay the outcome of this political Soap Opera

136. Caswell Franklyn

David

I am not getting legal. If the nation does not produce the letter, those MPs who are crying out would have to put the Nation in court to protect their good name. If they sue and the Nation produces a letter then it would become a matter of perjury when they file affidavits in court knowingly swearing to lie. If you have a conviction for perjury you can’t be a member of parliament. I prefer court judgement, not political spin.

137. To Carson Cadogan:
    Stop splitting hairs. A letter written to Freudel Stuart was given to the Nation Newspaper. The only thing you seem to be holding on to is if it was signed by the gang of eleven. That is not the point the letter indicated to the PM that the people wanted to discuss a few things with him. Freundel told them he would only meet people one by one not a group. This why Donville was able to say he met with the PM over the weekend; he said that as a comment in the News. Splitting hairs here does not make the dastardly deed disappear. It seems that most of them got cold feet so all did not affix a signature to the letter. But the fact is that there is a letter. So stop your non sense.

138. To Scout:
    You seem to be seeing what i am seeing. Sinker knows as did Branford Taitt when he went up against Barrow that he has no more future in the DLP. Mia also knows that she has no future in the BLP. Never mind what stupidity is put up here about who she controls, so they must try a Barrow break away. Richie was not successful may be they shall be, but not with my vote.

139. Methinks the fellas are unhappy with Stuart but in the face of a party rank and file scared by the memories of 1994 and maybe uncertainty about Sinckler as the leader, the concerned parties probably decidedly to leave unwell alone.

If Stuart dismisses the whole matter and goes on as usual the damage to the DLP from this spat may actually be quite small. They still have othe problems of course. Th elites and King-makers in Bim do not want Stuart that is his bigger problem.

Now George Belle’s comments is one of the reasons its good to live long. Now Belle the old radical, who wanted to tear up everything, is part of the status quo, young people must stay in their place and wait their turn. No matter how much crap the older heads doing, stay in your place, deal with it and wait your turn. Well, well.

His views are part of the reason why our politics remain so problematic. For these people, the PM can only be a maximum leader.

140. Belle and protege, Tennyson Joseph seem to want to frame things purely in terms of ideology. Maybe whatever his other qualities Stuart is just seen as an ineffectual leader.

141. To Poor Class:
    Put aside your bias; George Belle hit the nail on the head as to the reason for this seemly rash piece of political behavior. Mia is in hurry before she gets that heart attack from obesity to be PM and Sinker before he gets his heart attack is also in dastardly hurry to become PM. What Sinker does not know is that that man Stuart loves being a PM, health or no health.

142. To Poor Class:
    Are you one of the supporters of the rebel eleven. It seems so by your hard take on people who have nothing to do with the dastardly situation, or is this a DLP strategy to move the conversation elsewhere.

143. @ David

The Nation MUST prove it’s a credible news organisation given that the varacity of its stories are being called into question by some MP’s in their denial of being involved.

The Nation MUST as a minimum produce the letter and anything less than a true copy print of the letter showing all 11 signatures, will leave that news organisation in very serious trouble.

In the event that the Nation newspaper does NOT print the letter, then the management at that organisation must know that someone will shortly after a reasonable period has expired start a facebook page calling on Barbadians and advertisers to STOP by their newspapers and STOP advertising with them.

The key now is for entities like the Advocate, Barbados Today, Barbados Underground and the Barbados Free Press to demand that the Nation produce the letter failing which they will be branded a uncredible news organisation.

144. Lemuel for you people everythijng is party politics eh. Instead of giving us serious analysis the political scientists are spouting based on their own agendas. Wickham wants Stuart out, Tennyson Joesph loves Stuart with the old guard socialist views that he shares and belle keeps saying people must bow to power and office.

145. I am intrigued by the fact that the apparent decision to “invest” NIS money in Four Seasons has come to a head just ahead of the time it is rumoured that elections will be held!!

146. Nothing gives me more pleasure than to see one of Bims two major political party engaging in a potentially self destructing, if not in the least, a weakening internal conflict. I firmly believe that Barbados is being held back as long as these two parties remain intact.

If the reports are correct, that these eleven parliamentarians have approached the PM with concerns about his “style” as if to suggest that he and his approach is the reason they are likely to face defeat in the next election, they are wrong. The economy is defeating incumbent governments all over the globe; what the DLP is facing is bigger than Fruendel’s apparent hands off approach. The DLP’s best and probably only approach to surviving the next election, is to continue talking positive, is to demonstrate unity of purpose, to highlight any and all positives to be found in the economy and to contantly remind the country of the likely reasons they got rid of the BLP.

I dismiss concerns about a no confidence vote, and further discount any likelihood that such would be successful, and more specificully that it would be successfull to the benefit of the DLP. Things may have change since the last successful no confidence vote against a sitting PM. Sandy may have been the last PM to suffer the humiliation of a no confidence vote and still retained the power to call elections. So that currently if the alledged eleven disgruntle DLP parliamentans were to support a no confidence vote along with the nine or ten BLP members, Fruendel would be immediately strip of his office and the power that comes with it – unable to call elections – the GG would have to insist that Parliament get on with the business of governing which may include having to choose a new PM in the current parliament, still guided by the constitution which simply states “the parliamentarian who commands majority support shall be the PM- thus NOT making it certain, that the leader of the eleven will be that person. It could be one of the DLP parliamentarians who abstain from or vote nay in the no confidence motion or it could the Leader of the BLP.

Even if the eleven were to have their way with no a confidence vote, and its leader were to become the PM, the economy and the added treachery of thier actions as is the potential perception of sufficent voters, could result their efforts being a lost cause. At the end of it all, it is the economy stupid.

147. @ Miller

Who this Ministry is …? Not the one dey in by the Gymnasium and C&W in dah building where de Castilho’s used to live nah …?

148. George C. Brathwaite

@ac and like minded minds
    I assure you that I am in for the long haul. I am a 100 % Bajan and I shall fight for the integrity and good reputation of my country. For those of you who know politics, the top is now spinning in mud. Time will tell and I assure you that something happened which pre-empted the PM’s statements on Friday and certainly Kellman’s clarity that he could not be part of any suicidal mission. One cannot deny that the meetings took place and concerns were raised and support was solicited. I may be a BEE but the political divide only realistically separates those too blind to see otherwise. Always remember that the DLP is a suckling made from the fabric of the BLP. At the end of the day, I am willing to take on bets; who sold out whom and who is the beneficiary. Sinckler has been duped to believing that he is prime ministerial material not realising that he has not yet proven himself to be an effective minister in any portfolio. My full support remains with the Office of the Prime Minister of Barbados. If you doubt me, dare FS to touch that Cabinet without repercussions.

149. @ac
    Cassius never spoke of any LETTER; indeed I know of no letter. I know about and saw the TEXT MESSAGES that were sent by Sinckler..You must be more careful in your reading ac.

150. The Nation said it is sticking by its story. Wen a paper says it is sticking by its story it must have credible and irrefutable evidence that it is on the ball. Never mind what some may say you can bet your bottom dollar that there is some credibility in the published story.Some times we think we can split hairs but the story remains believable when it seems that the PM has responded to it.
    Some people are quarrelling with the men for writing the letter. I cannot quarrel with them for writing a letter to the PM. If they think their chances of reelection under the present regime is reduced I think they should say so and say so loudly.but I think it should be done in caucus so that all can air their views. I do not think Stuart is capable of winning the next election. the concerns of the 11 must be addressed and a solution found. Immersing this prblem is legalese and simplistic nonsense wil not tackle the real problem,. That problem is FS and the only question is can the DLP win with Stuart? Surely more than half the team think not. Why should I think any different.
    Think on these things

151. political scietist if mr thompson can forgive mr stuart for his bitter attacks upon him at an annual dlp conference and mr estwick can forgive mr brathwaithe and mr ince for publicly trying to prevent him for running fror a seat he now holds for life; then anybody can forgive anybody in our political scheme of things.

152. to mr stuart’s credit he seems not to be bothered by the purported machinations of some of his disciples otherwise he would not leave the country not once but twice.barbadians tend to know everybody’s business how come we cannot substantiate the comment that the supposedly disaffected members approached the GG without success before resorting to the letter approach.

153. Cassius i am of the assumption that you are privy to some of the intricate details surrounding this political madness but most important i would think that one such of yourself who seems to know what is happening would be privy to information of the whereabouts of “A letter: and have categorically denied not knowing about “A letter”i find it interesting that as close as you are to the scenes of the crime that you you know who the murderers are but can’t associate them to the weapon in this case the letter. The plot thickens.

154. @george Brathwaite

What bLong Haul? what integrity ! Btw barbados still waiting for integrity legislation . Since you like to BUZZ find out what plans does the BEES have for putting integrity legislation on their platform in the upcoming elections , Before you spin out of control try not to dig yourself too deeply in the mud believing the :Yellow journalism of your favourite soon to be defunct Nation newspaper

155. @ ac.
    Yes dear ac, I AM PRIVY TO THE MADNESS and it was not difficult to so become, given the obscene and barbaric approach of the plotters. You will in time find out that THOUSANDS of people WORLD WIDE are also privy to the madness. They too have seen the BB text messages. When you yourself see them, do me a favour, just let me know you have finally seen them. We must together make every effort to protect this beautiful land of ours, which beyond any doubt, finds itself in the hands of a man of the highest moral standards and integrity, from all attempts at destroying the traditions we have fought to establish and hold dear. THAT IS MY SIMPLE AGENDA my friend.

156. @ ac.
    . ..and dont be drawn into any sterile debate about integrity legislation in Barbados, IT WILL BE EXTREMELY DIFFICULT , nigh impossible under our present legal scheme for ANY GOVERNMENT to put MEANINGFUL legislation in place to do what politicians since the days of the Barrow/Adams era have been talking about. Ignore the constant rantings about this from one group when the other has replaced it in government.

157. very interesting forone who have been close to the madness i will take your word on what you know including that of not knowing about the letter which is the most damaging part of the madness As for the integrity legislation i am fully aware that it would never happen too many skeletons in the closets.

158. miller
    You wouldn’t have to vote for that new party right away, once they command a majority, they would automatically become the government of the country. What they would have to do is immediately start adjusting upward the living conditions of Barbados, by dropping the cost of living and enact the Integrity Legislation and Barbadians will vote them back in when the general elections are called in 2013. This will make Mia P.M Sinckler Dep P.M and the Owen and Fruendal supporters (yardfowl) will be left on the paling.

159. ” He who alleges MUST prove ”
    The Nation News insists it has a letter prepared and signed by the “EAGER 11″ then naturally the Nation News will have to produce that letter.
    Those who claim they have no knowledge of / or did not sign any such letter would have to consider the impact on their credibility……IF INDEED THE PURPORTED LETTER…….IS AUTHENTIC.

Sunday 18th December , 2011 could be MISERABLE DAY for some……in this the Season of ADVENT !

160. @ David

The Nation Newspaper is yet to print that it has a letter signed by 11 MP’s. That may be the inference some are taking but in a strict legal sense I don’t think expressly printed that.

By the way, what’s the name of the lady at the Nation News who is very close to OSA, the name is slipping me at the moment?

161. millertheanunnaki

The Scout | December 14, 2011 at 10:06 AM |
    “This will make Mia P.M Sinckler Dep P.M and the Owen and Fruendal supporters (yardfowl) will be left on the paling.”

MAM is staying put in the Beehive as the Queen. Soon the drone will disappear from the scene and all her worker bees will clean the hive of tainted honey from Jemmotts lane. The wild bees from prior park will accordingly be dispersed and everything will flow like milk and honey. Those who the gods have anointed cannot be destroyed by evil men.
    Rephrase your sentence quoted above to read:
    “This will make Mia P.M and Sinckler Leader of (the Opposition)”.

162. To Miller:
    Now you are showing your slip or as we used to say can can. Your Gods can not wish whatever they want but the God who intervenes in the state of men shall decide if that shall be or not.

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s