Cover Drive Is #1 On British Charts

75 Responses to Cover Drive Is #1 On British Charts

1. Read all about it!

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2012/01/29/uk-britain-charts-idUKTRE80S0LH20120129

2. Congratulation of the highest order must go out to this sweet band both together and individually….and all those who believe in them and pushed them forward. And once more because of hard dedicated work, Barbados will shine within the worldwide music industry.

Let us hope that our people will throw all their support being them…and that they not become a point of ridicule as they climb the ladder. So quick to put our own down, it is time that we look at those who leave our shores and remember that to reach anywhere near the top is a difficult climb, and once there, the US and UK media will follow your every step, your every breath of air…they will sensationalize your life for the sake of selling their newspapers and magazines without a care in the world…and all we have to do is stand by them steadfast and know that they carry the Barbados flag everywhere they go.

We must stop the “hate-that-you’re-doing-well” syndrome that we seem to possess and welcome them home with the love they deserve from us. At all times. Not just some of the time.

Rihanna, our many others who do and did well in the international arena, and now Cover Drive, as well as every creative person on this island who puts out a product, whether it be theatre, music, art, production, simple pottery or amazing installations and sculpture..should be revered at all times…for they are the essence of the earth! As a creative person myself, I am not saying ‘revered’ as in idolized…I do believe I can speak for all of us on the island when I say, that I mean ‘respected’. We do not have enough of it. And we are one of the most important aspect of ‘culture’ here.

Remember even the tiniest of signs that market your business, has been put together by a creative person…every Bajan product you pick up has a label created by one of us. Every historic building we knock down is a piece of art being turned into dust. Every tree we fell is nature’s art work.

Generally, Barbados needs more art in public places (giving all artists a chance not just some chosen few…that is not how it works) starting at the airport…more art in schools, more art in the streets, more art in homes, more art in government and private businesses, more art in collections…plainly more art everywhere. Art in any form brings happiness, serenity and goodwill. Just look at the amazing array of artist we have on this island in this beautiful Art Directory put together lovingly and with very little help by Corrie Scott and Kathie Yearwood. We should have more directories like these for all the other aspects of our ‘art’ as indicated above – from musicians to sign painters. Love our own first so that we may love others better. Bless.

http://issuu.com/corriescott/docs/art_directory_barbados_dec_2011

3. Hey, David…that’s great. Thanks for the heads-up, and I’m happy for them. Well, done, Cover Drive!

Let’s not rush and issue them diplomatic passports just yet, though, OK? ;-)

4. @alll

i have no problem with reconizing our own, but there must be a standard of decency we must hold them to, regardless of what fame they bring to our country. is that asking for too much, or we should overlooh their behavoiur just because they are stars.

5. Now there’s a good start to hailing those who are doing a lot of good for our country…and exactly what I am talking about. Already two remarks that whilst in a way ‘congratulatory’ still push that little bit of negative into the melee. Oh! When shall we learn to just give out positive vibes without the little slap.

6. they’ll need a US #1 to make bigger $$$$

7. Indeed Paul!

Let us give credit to Rhianna for opening in Barbados with this no name act at the time.

8. Rosemary – my comment about not issuing them diplomatic passports (yet) was meant to be taken tongue-in-cheek, reflecting on the fact that the Government of Barbados moved with indecent haste to accord that privilege to Rihanna as soon as she achieved stardom. Act in haste, repent at leisure, I always say.

No slight on Cover Drive…I don’t know them from Adam (indeed, if David hadn’t mentioned above that they were Rihanna’s opening act when she performed in Bim last August, I would have sworn that I’d never heard of them before). I truly do congratulate them on their chart-topping coup, and wish them much more artistic and commercial success in the future.

I fully agree with your points about the lack of recognition given to local artistes. Hopefully now that more performers are making names for themselves internationally, this will inspire Barbadians in general value and appreciate their cultural and artistic exponents more.

9. Thanks to the vigilant Adrian Loveridge for highlighting this good news story. When will we realize the contribution the cultural sector can be to GDP.

10. …and look out for Threads of Scarlet…they have out one amazing tune – Ruby Red Roses…fantastic with so much international appeal…good work will pay off. Again…congratulations Threads of Scarlet and John Roett…magnificent production!

11. Listen to Threads of Scarlet

12. ….and do check out Corrie Scott and Kathie Yearwood’s Barbados Art Directory, link above – see what amazing art is coming out of this little island, and artists are having a hard time even buying a canvas to paint on. And as for the paint!! Expensive. Expensive. Expensive.

We need more done for the creative people of this island. Perhaps an issue of a special card once you prove that you are in the business, and I mean in the business of being serious about your work…a criteria could be that you actually have produced something like maybe an art show, a musical video, CD whatever…think you get the gist – that allows for say duty-free imports of paint, canvas, brushes…musical instruments…etc etc.

Minister of Culture…???? What say you Sir. Here’s the opportunity to bring us into the fold….look at us, hear us and heal us!!!

13. Functioning in this disguised slave society and carrying the slave-master’s burden on your back continually can force you to be so busy that you are too busy to meditate, too busy to think, and too mentally lazy to act in pursuit of real freedom. Too busy running after the illusory freedom that money promises, and thereby unknowingly collaborating in the perpetuation of global bondage by collective truth neglect.

Caught in that trap you are faced with the perennial challenge of how to muster the mental energy to stretch your mind beyond the present-day slave hustle for hamburgers, rice and peas, and sex.

But dare to do this and you will frustrate the desire of the Enslavers whose plan is to keep your mind trapped and stagnated in a mental cage.

Shatter the psychological chains that limit your mental taste-buds to that which is fleeting, emotionally titillating, and sweet to the senses.

Mental growth, your very survival, and the safeguarding of your long-term future require that you acquaint yourself with the bitter truth just as much as you have childishly preoccupied yourself with that which is sweet. Take into consideration that deadly diseases often require bitter medicine if death is to be averted.

On these web pages you will be introduced to both the bitter truth and the sweet, so knowledge awaits you

IF YOU ARE WILLING AND PREPARED TO GROW.
    http://www.rastafarivisions.com/galleries.html

14. VIDEOS

THAT WILL OPEN YOUR EYES

TO SEE.

INFORMATION

THAT WILL HELP YOU

TO KNOW.

THE TRUTH

THAT WILL HELP YOU

TO GROW.
    http://www.rastafarivisions.com/

15. Hoo rah. Congrats to Cover Drive.

16. I would like to congratulate Cover Drive for making #1 on the British Charts.

17. chocolate city hussle

i will not say congrats due to the fact that throughout the video are images of demonic worship. from 1:33, slow the video down and see the image of a goat head on the wallpaper. continue to slow the video and u would see persons/things incostumes of a goat/pig among the dancers. why? continue and u would see the drummer turn to his left and bow to the goat head on the background. the cover of the album has 2 fist wearing the Triangulum which is a symbol of satanic worship. i saw somewhere in another forum that the song would be a hit due to the unseen spirits behind it. but this is not unusual since many in the entertainment industry are going to satan aka ‘rainman’ for success. yet, somewhere someone claimed that they are followers of Christ but actions speaks louder than words. i know i will be heavily criticized but the video is there slow it down and freeze some of the images. u will see these symbols too. btw the goat is symbol used in satanic and masonic worship. it represents satan who goes all out to ensure that the ignorant does not believe he exists. it is a pity because the song could be promising. oh well ;-(

18. Oh! dear Lawd, save us. :)

19. uʍop ǝpısdn ʇou sı ʇɐɥʇ ɯɹıɟuoɔ noʎ uɐɔ

20. Carson C. Cadogan

We are excellent at pulling down each other.
    We find it so hard to give Jack his Jacket here in Barbados.
    Well done COVER DRIVE!!!!

21. Ras, Hope you don’t get angry

22. Carson C. Cadogan

It is good to see Bajans at the top of the British charts again. I recall in 1996 Mark Morrison who is of Bajan parentage blasted to the top of the British charts with “Return of the Mack” the first black male solo artist to reach #1. The next year it was #2 the United states. The song was also in the top 10 of many Euro charts.

23. Ras, who’s that Journey song by on your website & whats it called?

24. Rosemary’s post was ok except the bits of hypocritical comments.
    You ask to give praises, then you berate 2 comments, yet still after the praises in your initial post, you too went down the negative road, albeit an informative reason. You could have left out the other remarks and just shower the praises. There will always be negatives, Just sing the praises and move on.

25. Sorry Technician but perhaps I am just dumb ’cause I ent get what you saying at all, at all. Hypocritical comments? Negative road? Berate two comments? Ketch yuself do…everything I wrote, I meant is a very positive way and I spoke the truth about how things go…at the same time so very very proud of our creative people. Read again with a positive attitude and you might get it. And I am not berating you either. Just answering an accusation that is not rightly deserved. But then…you have a right to say what you will…so maybe I should say – Bless!

26. Congrats to Cover Drive. Another example of the abundant talent Barbados has.

Wishing them continued success.

27. Congrats to Cover drive and I am happy to see that our own is making it in the BIG world.

Chocolate city hustle….hustle yuh ponkananny outta hey! Dint yuh mudder tell yuh dat eff yuh cahn say someting nice shut to hell up!

28. chocolate city hussle

@islandgal246 | January 30, 2012 at 3:22 PM |

it might be nice but it is certainly true. sorry for u folks

29. chocolate city hussle

it has nothing with it being good to see Bajans on top. it has to do with the exchanging of one’s soul for short term fame. many bajans are out there who never contributed to demonic worship ad are successful.
    Shontelle – Impossible and Livvi Franc – I’m that Bitch are just a few. they are fantastic.

30. Chocolate City pussycat…You are one SICK pussy!

31. RE
    kiki | January 30, 2012 at 1:34 PM |

“Ras, Hope you don’t get angry”
    Rather than get angry I would say THANKS for using your technical ingenuity in the service of GOOD. It would be even more helpful though, if you added the web address and name of artist etc.

32. Ras, I added your details on the Youtube screen
    “THE VISIONS AND PAINTINGS OF RAS JAHAZIEL @
    http://www.rastafarivisions.com/

I will try update the movie via youtube

33. She only get dah because she red … ha ha ha … Murda! Who gun kill mah now …

34. Heard their song today, not my cup of tea, but clearly many other people like them. Congratulations to Cover Drive on their success on the British Charts, and I wish them bigger and more success in the future.

35. chocolate city hussle

@islandgal246 | January 30, 2012 at 4:20 PM |
    “Chocolate City pussycat…You are one SICK pussy!”

thank u…i’d rather be considered that than to be foolishly blinded like u… u have chosen (btw, i don’t care) to criticize what i’ve written yet i’m ABSOLUTELY SURE u and others have chosen NOT to slow the video DOWN or go the the places i’ve pointed to confirm what i’ve written. that is expected, u CANNOT afford to have to be confronted with the truth. Blissfully and fully blinded by choice, u are being led where the Rainman expects u to go

36. BAFFY …….this are a group who got to the top of the charts! What de rass colour got to do with this? Naomi Campbell got to the top without being red. I know it is harder for dark skinned artists to get noticed in a white world/country BUT it is the consumer market that will decide whether they will be successful or not. Good marketing and talent are prerequisites the consumer will always have the final say.

37. Chocolate city idiot…..people like you will always see whatever you want to see.

38. This shows the power of social media. Almost 2 MILLION views. Imagine if it had a backdrop of Barbados.

39. “slow the video down and see the image of a goat head on the wallpaper. continue to slow the video and u would see persons/things incostumes of a goat/pig among the dancers.”

Chocolate city goat head…….IT TAKES A GOAT TO RECOGNIZE ANOTHER GOAT AND A PIG TO SEE ANOTHER PIG!

40. Ras Records

41. maybe alleged illuminati symbolism is why there are 2 million clicks?!

42. This girl sounds just like RiRi … same same voice! But look at the rack on this chick … Look at the booty! My God … RiRi Look Out, this is one mama comin’ thru’ …

43. Chocolate city hustle the song “lick ya down” is catchy and if anything kept viewers watching the video I would imagine it was stunning girl in the low cut shirt and not the man in the goat head??? Not sure why you say slow it down, its not like the costumes are invisible to the naked eye.If that was the sinister aim then surely they’ve failed??!

44. BAFBFP

You are a good judge of voices and assets.

I would not be surprised if the girl becomes a solo artist in the future.

45. Congrats Cove Drive

Cover Drive’s success coming on the heels of the juggernaut Rihanna is fantastic news for the island but hey people dont drag them down. Marlon Husbands, the preachers and ngative bloggers we talking about you all.
    Nation newspaper, ricky jordan, sanka price, slinger and the rest give the youngsters a break dont begin down pressing them as youve done to Rihanna. When will we ever learn.

46. Hants

They ain’ no such thing as a dirty ol’ man. I ain’ no Christian so when I see goats and other symbols that offend them I say Yea … But some these jokers would rather seek out negatives w/o true back ground knowledge than to bear witness to the obvious … The word “Assets” don’ go far enough to Asses what this Bajan is offering up to the Naked eye … :)

47. This girls is a Alison Hinds with a RiRi voice

48. As luck would have it the government has circulated a draft Cultural Industries Bill. Let us hope it makes a difference to raising the talent we have around the place.

http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/Cultural_Industries_Bill_2011.pdf

49. Bajan artists and musicians must use the internet to promote themselves.

Government support for “cultural” industries is great but the internet offers opportunites to be discovered or to sell your music.

50. Government help for Cover Drive and Rihanna was non existant as far as we know imagine if they had help its high time to pass the cultural industries bill to assist the young music tyros in Barbados they have clearly demonstrated they can take on the world and win.

The talent is here no doubt.

51. old onion bags

Hear a voice crying in the wilderness ..prepare ye the way of the Lord.

52. Smooth Chocolate

@TheKnowledge | January 30, 2012 at 7:13 PM |

i understand what some people are saying. you do not see the sinister goat head when the video of Lick Ya Down at normal speed. it is embedded in the design of the flowery background. it is only when the vid is slowed and at Full that u see it. when i first saw it, it was shocking. the persons in costumes is obvious. but why are they in the vid and what part are they playing? why did the guy turn and bow to the goat head? it is a catchy song but also full of questions

53. anonymous

The harsh reality is that a group of lawyers and other bureaucrats have already been paid BIG money to draft this bill. And before it comes to fruition they will continue to be paid. These shites frown on any form of productive endeavor, and can be expected to be the least effective at implementing all this fine planning that is described in the bill. What is hilarious is a mention of a committee … a word that stands for a group of egotistical historians and (yes) lawyers and other academics who will also receive a stipend or something for their participation, and at the end of the day accomplish nexkin to nuffin … mark my word. The Lawyer PM will cash in on some wonderful mileage as well … They can all fly in hell!

54. Smooth Chocolate

A goat is a harmless animal.

55. Smooth Chocolate

@BAFBFP | January 30, 2012 at 11:35 PM |

the secret society members, the satanic worshipers, the warlocks and witches who went into harrison’s cave last year October, casting spells on the young people of barbados; the warlock who was thrown out of Barbados after he was discovered but not before he had taught some young school children how to cast spells, are all laughing along with u too. y did they then embed the picture of a goat head among the flora background? y did they not use a cat, dog, a bird? don’t just pass it off…anyhoo, time will tell. eyes wide shut we all want to be

56. I have sorted out the problem with the world, its due to stupidity and the world needs to become cleverer about things such as finance, social issues, living and looking after each other. Its fairly obvious when you are bright, but more difficult to get others to be. Everyone has to raise their awareness up several notches

57. Anything that shines the spotlight on Barbados in a positive way is a good thing period!
    Now the detractors would you please leave the room and take your little goats and devil worshippers along with you !

58. Smooth Chocolate

Just in case you are not aware, any person that practices a traditional earth-centric religion is considered pagan and a witch/warlord. Christianity does NOT and has never impressed me. I say big up the “devil worshipers” if only for the sake of pissing wunna off …!

59. warlock

60. @BAFBFP
    “A goat is a harmless animal”

Not if you stand too close with your back turned. A friend of mine got butted right through the paling!

Congratulations to Cover Drive

61. Ri Ri musse tell um bout de goat ting

62. BAF now i know fuh sure you are a”real devil” horns and all

63. Investment Markets, pyramids, ponzi’s, illuminati’s it all makes sense now
    which way shall we head to now east or west

64. chocolate city hussle

@BAFBFP | January 31, 2012 at 7:52 AM |

“… big up the “devil worshipers” if only for the sake of pissing wunna off …!”

what an ignorant statement..

65. When the artist looks into the canvas it becomes a crystal ball revealing past and present and future and even THE UNSEEN.
    http://www.saatchionline.com/art/Painting-Acrylic-THOUGHTS-AND-MEMORIES/325031/1378228/view
    ARE YOU ABLE TO SEE?

66. Think on these things

You Ri Ri haters realise RiRi discovered Cover Drive she’s not only gone where no other Barbadian has gone before she is now unearthing Bajan talent ready to beat the world. She’s done for Cover Drive what Evan and Jay Z did for her kudos to her for giving back and helping her own people big time.

67. Adrian Loveridge

The Twilight video has now had over 2 million views and what a shame it was not filmed in Barbados.
    CBC has had all the opprtunity in the world to air it between Days of Our Lives and the News but they seem to think we prefer Kenny G and Toni Braxton. As much as I like these two artists, give our youth some inspiratiion and encouragement, knowing to that they could become a Cover Drive.

68. Adrian Loveridge

Correction ‘opportunity’.

69. @ Chocolate City…..
    This is not a personal attack against you but I noticed especially with ‘black’ mainstream artist, a lot of people like yourself suggests that the only way they realize success is because they engage in some form of demonic appeasement or they are members of some secret society. Some artist who are popularly named as doing such are Jay-Z, Beyonce, Kanye West, Rhianna and now you are saying Cover Drive. Cant ‘black’ people be successful in their own right because they are smart enough and have worked hard to achieve it?
    And sorry to say most of this tearing down is form fellow blacks and I dont understand why we constantly continue to pull down out own.

70. @ Island Gal

‘It’s more difficult for a black group to be noticed in a white country’…or words to that effect.
    You know, I’m not clear that you are right. Much depends doesn’t it on the fashions of the time, what captures the imagination NOW and, sometimes even what talent is on offer and how it’s marketed? Thus Rhianna has a lot of zest and a raunchy aura – though, frankly, I don’t rate her as Barbados’ answer to anyone very much as a singer relying so much, as she does ,on electrical enhancement – but then you don’t have to be Galli-Curci to get on. And Rhianna (however you spell her name) has – and good luck to her. And BLACK can be an advantage. Think of how Boney M ‘took off’ in the ’70′s…..all those sexy braids and gyrating thighs touching the repressed desires of white audiences already schooled on the nakedness of Ipi Tombi.

71. @ Rosemary Parkinson

Thankyou for your posts. Yes, there IS so much talent in our little island in the middle of nowhere very much. To everyone out there and beyond – we are BIGGER than you will ever know and as we think we are. See: the world is captured on this little dot of coral.

72. We are all prostitutes for money when we work and give up our personal loyalties and integrity. Throughout history the most talented black actors and actresses were given bit parts like jig-a-boos tap dancing for shirley temple, or smiley culture offered the role of rapist (which he turned down) and miles davis as a cocaine smuggler on miami vice. If we had enough talent to sell out to the Money Makers Movers and Shakers we would. So see illuminati symbolism as representing their backers not the artists. Maybe the artists are warning you about the system

BU welcomes your comments: comments on the site do not always reflect the views of BU.  For more information checkout our Comments Policy at the top of the page. If you see an error report it, include a link to the story.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s