Submitted by Porridgeboy
When quizzed on the Barbados economy supporters of the Democratic Labour Party reply by asking, what would the Barbados Labour Party do differently to the Democratic Labour Party in the worse global recession ever.
The Dems supporters are ‘well programmed’ and they recite very well “the problems Barbados economy faces stems mainly from the Global melt down which took place in 2008” and there is nothing wrong with them trying to convince themselves, but is this teaching really true?
Here are the facts:-
Some how whenever the word deficit is mentioned to them they all run and bury there heads in the sand, refusing to accept that the problem that Barbados faces is the deficit which the current Government seems incapable of closing at any time soon. During the period 2008 – 2011 they have taxed everyone in the tax bracket and those out side by means of VAT and everything within their grasp to the point that the poor are deeper in poverty and the middle class are now becoming poor. Their social handouts are no longer cutting the deal.
In 2008 when the BLP relinquished power, 2.5 billion dollars was left in the treasury that if it was spent wisely, was enough money to take us through, if not out of, any turbulence that was foreseen on the horizon.
This government, led at the time by Mr. David Thompson, came to power in 2008 knowing very well what the global economic condition was, the signs were there since 2007. In his first budgetary address to this country the then Prime Minister said “The performance of the Barbados economy during the remainder of 2008 and into the first six months of 2009 is largely dependant on the performance of the global economy’’ On paragraph 1 page 18 of his Budgetary Proposals 2008 he continued, “Growth in the major source markets (the UK and the US) will largely determine the outturn for tourism which is expected to be the main drive of activity” Paragraph 2 same page they admitted that there were aware that a global meltdown was imminent since 2007. There were also warned over and over not only by Mr. Owen Arthur MP in his contribution to the same budget of that year, but by external agencies such as the IMF, Moody, Standards & Poor, Economic Society of UWI, former Governors of the Central Bank. This administration continues to be in opposition to any advice given and governs as though it’s still in opposition. Simply put they down right did as they like.
Mr. Owen Arthur MP in his contribution in the 2009 Budgetary Proposals to the Parliament of Barbados urge the government to use some of the 2.5 billion that was left by the past regime as a buffer to absolve the shock of the melt down, Instead free bus fares were given to school children (the Jury is still out on this one), Housing Estates such as Haynesville, Rosemont, The Farm, Bonnets all these young estates, in they rights were given to tenants at no cost. The Pine and Gall Hill were understandable because of their age and would have paid for themselves. Constituency Councils were set up at a cost of $60 million dollars and given $100,000 .00 dollars yearly, (do the math on that one) to do what? O yes, every observant and right thinking Barbadian know what that is all about, National Summer Camps were taken out of the hands of the private sector and made free to all children between the ages 5 -15 with stipends of $ 500.00 dollars paid to volunteers every fortnight, it was the first time in history that people who give free of their services were paid, Fete at Six Roads Roundabout for the handing over of keys to home owners for the Six Roads Project built by the NHC, the propping up of the Clico Insurance Co & British American Insurance Co in the sum $10 millions dollars each , and the cash just kept rolling out as if they had a money tree to pluck it from. Is it any wonder that we are facing another downgrade?
Today four years later the tree is all but dried up, and this Government does not know what fertilizer to use to bring it back to life. They continue to play the blaming game and are now running around like chickens with their heads cut off hoping for some miracle to happen. No wonder some are now admitting they have failed to manage the economy.
Lookout Freundel, the DEMS days are numbered.

miller,
I wondered too today after hearing Dr Sukoo being in charge of the Royal visit if Maxine had fallen out of favour. Come to think of it, she was the pick of the dead king, he stood up for her when a certain star boy cussed her and told her no one voted for her.
I hope for their sakes, the visit comes off well as Dr Sukoo dont seem to be too organised judging from the fact that she has been moved in all the reshuffles and also that she always look so dishevelled.
Maxine never strikes me as all that brilliant, everybody I know says she has done a poor job in Foreign Affairs and is really a square in a round hole.
apollo with bilions of dollars at hand why not a new hopital instead of a “Bandaged one” didn’t the people deserve better. Why not roads that do not turn to rivers when it rains ? why not proper drainage? Why not productive agriculture? Why not proper schools?i mean the BLP had 14years to Rebuild this country and all he left was 2billion and some debt? BtW With all that money why didn’t the BLP pay Barrack? and how about poverty with all the money the BLP had POVERTY should have been like the dinasour EXTINCT! Now you showing me a few hand to mout projects that cost maybe 2billion dollars and i should say what an accomplishment. OSA Show ME the Money and it was lots of it ?
@ac
Ac baby you are back……I hear the St John Polyclinic (and a school) is all you all got to show four years and $4 billion spent… I hear it got in a lot of rusting rebarrs and should be condemned.
But you know what is all YOU GOT ..so carry on….its the last chance
So sssshhh the walls might speak out.
By the way…someone ask me to ask you if you all really serious about contesting these elections with all these blunders we seeing ?
Any comments ?
@onions-
On the issue of Housing Owen Affa and Wuk Fa Wuk should be shame! the BLP’s shoddy excuse of a housing policy cannot compare with what this DLP Housing Minister has acheived in 4 years in a global recession – The best performance by a government in housing in recent memory – you ain’t shame that you talking bout Billie Miller -ask the people in Cat’s Castle about the neglectful BLP housing policy.
You focus on Coverley – if the people buying the houses, more power to them.
Wake up onions- check Valerie, Marchfield,Country Towers, Deans Town, Stuart’s Lodge,Four Hill, Work Hall, the lots in the West Terrace extension, I could go on and on.
Remember when the BLP take out the big ads in the paper telling people about the Lady Bird and all these other houses, people rush down by NHC and nothing happen-it PAUSE!
This NHC building houses and the contractors getting pay while the work is being done.
Hang ya head in shame man, The Housing Minister Choice 2013 – Michael Lashley or Wuk Fa Wuk- It obvious man – the people going with Lashley- That is the word on the street! You or Under Weir can’t stop it!
Feel free to continue the conversation HERE.