Based on the most recent CADRES poll Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is winning the leadership race. What must be of concern is that the Wickham poll was conducted before Minister of Agriculture David Estwick delivered one of the most powerful presentations of the campaign so far at the NCF on Friday night.
How will this translate in the individual constituencies with a 3.4% swing in play makes it a very interesting general election.

@Demni
u forgetting one thing, that liar owen kept the true deficit hidden by engagain in off balance sheet financing, if u know what that mean. He has always been dishonest, and the PM showed tonite that he cannot be trusted.
Go learn some honsety and then come talk to me. You and ur party r discredited and the PM drove the final nail in the coffin. Little children had no right playing with sharp edged tools yah hear.
@Ac
tell damani to go get a copy of the note from freudel. Nothing the blp can be relied on with owing aurthur in charge.
Here is a note.
http://edition.pagesuite-professional.co.uk/launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=3x1CP05r8g1Q&PBID=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a&skip=
another sad day for the BLP as they continue to see their leader OSA exposed for his ruthlesness and unethical behaviour towards his own like a caged animal who devours its own for survival, Survival in the sense that OSA had come to the realistion that MIA was being seen as an assets to his party victory while he was being viewed as a liabilty.Getting her out of the way would have removed that perception he thought in his twisted illogical mind. OSA a man NO ONE CAN TRUST!
On television last night …Of People and Place Sir Don Blackman was elated as much as he sought to be clubbable……but this one’s from epic movie Gladiator ….shadows and dust Blackie boi…shadows and dust…..lol
We have a time bomb on our hands people….
Don Marshall …sorry
@onions
u cant even get ur facts correctly, r u related to owing aurthur?
I point to Thursday….you should too
ole onions rigt now everybody pointing to the NOTE! you should too! like a metorite landed and dessimated the BEES
@ac
U TOO RUTHLESS. U LIKE U WAKE UP TO BURRY THE ROTTEN ONIONS. BUT THEN AGAIN U HAVE TO GET RID OF ONIONS AS THE STENCH AINT COMFORTABLE FOR UR NOSE.
Onions
Time bomb or not, Fruendel has already put an end to Owen Arthur’s ambition to be Prime Minister again. What a clown he would have to be to send a hand written to Fruendel Stuart begging him to take Mia off his hands.
Barbadians want a respectable Prime Minister not one who takes cheques written to him personally, who cashes those cheques on Election Day (21st March 2003) and maniacal enough to want destroy a fellow party member and who whom he has wronged.
SHAMEFUL. Time clean up politics in Barbados, time put OSA into retirement for GOOD.
I see now all DLP hangers on excited and uncontrolable.
“ONETRICK Pony” Having performed well on ONE point.
All of the “ATTRIBUTES” affixed to “ONETRICK” are about the same as could be given to an innocent well meaning CHILD.
DO WE, REALLY WANT A CHILD in Charge of BARBADOS.
Where has “ONETRICK” been for the last HOW LONG???
WHAT has he EVER achieved?” Riducule thats all. “SLEEPY” Leader of the gang of DWARFS.
WHEN he EVEN looked as THO he CARED about ANYTHING let alone BARBADOS.
WOULD any one even have KNOWN if he had been BURIED alongside the last “HONEST” PM THOMPSON??
Of course we can see that he REALLY CARES now?
The TROUGH about to disappear of course the PIGS are Squealing.
WHO Spent 500,000$ on a PM Jolly to Australia,when KIDS in Barbados need operations and are being kept “Waiting”
Politics a TOTALLY DIRTY BUSINESS,how are YOU IN IT and STILL
“Playing ” like you are CLEAN.
Head Honcho of a gang of Political RAPISTS touted as of INTEGRITY HONESTY ,cos you never actually been cought(YET) with your “Dick” in.
We all know that what we have is a choice “Take it or leave it”!!
You ever seen a Dog MIAOW or a CAT Bark!!
What is , IS and always WILL be be .D’s is D’s
Our “ONETRICK” looking to jump back in the bed and get some “well earned (well PAID)rest”.
“FRuendelstiltskin” will wake up again in ANOTHER 5 years.
MEANTIME we all SUFFERING.
For GODS sake ,do we need a POLITICAL CHILD as our leader, we need a MAN of experience and ability ,PROVEN ability ,NOT the “Fumbelings” of a “GOOD BOY”
Me personally give me the “Devil I know” and NOT the “DEVIL I dont”
I will say OSA is up for us all to see and understand ,warts
and all,he is a MAN of the people .There is NOTHING we do not ALREADY know about OSA.
You CANNOT say that about “ONETRICK”
“ONETRICK” for me is too”Smart” too “Slick”.
It is said th eyes are the mirror of the Soul,”ONETRICKS” eyes dont say anything GOOD to me.
REMEMBER:
“ONETRICK”THE SLICK DICK ! WHO NEVER HAD A PROPER “ELECTION”
BARBADOS needs an MATURE EXPERIENCED MAN at the WHEEL not a BOY Fumbling with his “DING A LING”
@jUST
WHO SPENT OVER 80MILLION ON A DUMP AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DUMPED THERE. U KNOW HOW MANY LOWER INCOME HOUSES THAT COULD HAVE BUILT. WHO SPENT MORE THAN 2MILLION ON ST JOSEPH HOSPITAL INQUIRY AND WHAT WAS THE OUTCOME. WANT MORE
DEMS FEEL THEY WINNING……FOLLY…WHY WORRY …LIKE BEFORE LEFT DEM….if they say is so, is so remember?
“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like one Tubby Liard, (ably aided and abetted) by one twitchy Ariel, who say DEM din provoke a fellow Dugid to call tubby a scunt ( with apology) in Parliament.“If DEM say is so, is so“..
And like one low Dung beetle who say DEM ain’t swap no 19.9 acres of Bagatelle dump lands for 9.9 acres of River Bay fertile and “whey my cut” .“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a certain Serta Slumberer who say the Deloitte Report WAS LOST, in which was clearly shown $3.3 million passing thru a company called D T Thomps Associates.“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a(once) Fresh Milk Cartoon which say that if the expiry date of certain milk did long pass, it should soon be gone. “If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a certain martial Lucian who say Thomps Associates din involve in no passage of $ 3.3 million to nobody on her watch.“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a certain Tourist Seale who say no family and friends connections din fly on GOL Airline to Brazil on largess and do the samba.“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like one Jonesing Minister who say he din see no King Report on Alexandra school on his desk and he din know what was going on.“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like one Molassesy fellow who say he forgive and forget his once ‘eagerly compatriots’ and all is well in Aire D Campe..and that this had no influence on the school bell calling late nor no connections to the heads, tails and seats SOON rolling ALL bout in nuff school yards .“If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like ole flunking Geese who Quixs to scandalize people but was accustomed getting nuff poorakey marks and is still last in ‘class’ to this day. “If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a miss Lashley boy chile, who was accompanied by certain unknowns first class en route to the Olympics costing tax payers $17,865.89 and he din the only one either. “If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like one Ivy fellow who some how come upon a law degree but still having nuff problems handling the Queen’s English. “If DEM say is so, is so“..
Like a certain Cowboy Dan who din learn NOT to carry his guns to town, however now buy a pink poodle to accompany him to Brambly Cross, even though a pitt bull is his preferred canine of choice..“If DEM say is so, is so“.. But wait wha about the five John Deere tractors?
IS LIKE ALL A DEM WANNA DO AS DEY LIKE… but not for AS LONG as dey like.. MARSHAL OWEN GIVE DEM 5 MORE DAYS….to pack up and get outta town.
VOTE THE C.U.P WHEN YOU HEAR THE SHOUT THE MASTERS OF MASSIVE FRAUD ,
BLP AND THE DLP COVER AND COVER UP.
SHAMGAR IN JUDGES
1 Start where you are. YOUR BRAIN
2 Use what you have. YOUR HAND
3 Do what you can. VOTE C.U.P
FREEDOM OF INFORMATION WILL LET US ALL KNOW WHO HAVE INTEGRITY . VOTE FOR THE COALITION OF UNIFIED PARTIES .
WE WILL OPEN THE BOOKS TO THE PUBLIC
VOTE TRUTH NOT PARTY WE HAVE IT
VOTE ON THE 21st DAY OF THE 12th FEBRUARY MONTH, OF THE YEAR 2012 =9 21+12+12=9 HIDDEN MATH,, its not 2013 as yet.They pick this date for a reason ,
As I see it both these parties are the devils we know all too well, It will continue to be a win win situation for both parties and a lose lose situation for taxpayers, until taxpayers are able to rid the country of each and every one of them.
@all
today’s paper confirms the conundrum. Under Major issues, 69% of persons are concerned about cost of living, unemployment and the economy while only 8% are concerned about leadership.
Yesterday under performance in their respective position (PM or LOO) and approval/disapproval, the difference between Arthur and Stuart is marginal. But yet we have 39-36 in favour of Stuart with a massive ‘bump” for Stuart.
Would be good to see the ratings on individual attributes but it’s clear that Stuart has increased in the eyes of the electorate (not hard since he was viewed so lousily before) while the attacks on Arthur have taken their toll. Neither of these observations can dictate what will happen on Thursday given that the swing is still enough to carry seats away from the DLP. Let the ground game begin!
Just Observing
It is funny how all the time the polls were lying and now they are correct. It also seems as though Barbadians have short memories and are easily deceived. Do you the people of Barbados remember the promises made by the DLP last elections? The cost of living was to be their main focus; and what did they do? Within the first 3 months of their tenure they imposed all the taxes they could on the people of this island. They even wanted to tax the phone cards that people who cannot afford to pay a monthly bill use. Here we are suffering from heavy taxation, massive jobs loss in the private sector, persons working 2 or 3 days and could hardly feed their families, no leadership for the past 5 year, ministers who verbally abuse mere citizens for their point of view and the country at a stand-still because the persons we put there to work for us are pessimistic and think nothing can be done because of the economic climate. Are we really going to be fooled once again by those incompetent people who were elected for the past 5 years and are now coming out of hibernation? Are we going to vote for a party whose views are that of sharing the fatted cow with party supporters only or are we going to be responsible and elect a government who sees to the need of all Barbados. I know where my vote is going and it is one less vote for the DLP. I will also ensure that all of my immediate family do the same as we all feel the pinch and CAN’T TEK DEM NA MORE.
@ We Dun Wid Dem
You are not reading the political cues corrently little man. The next poll on Tuesday or Wednesday will show that the swing is in favour of the DLP. This is Wickham moving to get his polls to co-incide with the reality on the ground. Remember a pollster is only as good as the accuracy of his last poll and that is compounded if that last poll is the one before a general election.
This election has come down to this, the people do NOT want a damaged leader, they don’t want to be embarrassed about their Prime Minister and that being so, Owen Arthur is damaged goods in the peoples view.
@ David
I am prepared now to declare a 23 – 7 victory for the DLP. In this regard it is easier that I list those BLP candidates who will be elected on Thursday than the DLP winner, they are:-
1. Owen Arthur
2. Mia Mottley
3. Cynthia Forde
4. Gline Clarke
5. Santia Bradshaw
6. Ronald Toppin
7. Ian Gooding-Edghill
@Observing(…) | February 18, 2013 at 10:29 AM | As I warned before. DLP-ites, please do not gloat. It is not over and gloating is a complete turn-off for the undecided. Continue to fight for every vote. A little humility (and humour) would go a long way right now.
@O THE POINT | February 18, 2013 at 1:13 AM |
“u have not listened to what the pm said attentively he said that there are no 30 000 clico polyholders in barbados and he gave a figure of 14-15000,”
I have listened to and the PM said that the 30,000 was the entire Caribbean not just Barbados. so am i to assumed that in Barbados alone, the figure is 14-15,0000 policyholders and the other 15-16,000 is made up of policyholders from Guyana, Trinidad, Grenada, Dominica, St. Lucia, St, Vincent, Antigua, St. Kitts. BAHAMAS? SHOCKING….
SO WHO IS LYING?
I posted this earlier but forgot a point”
it seems obvious that Arthur will lose his seat, Freundel will keep his and the BLP will win the elections but i am hoping too that George Payne, Dale Marshall and Noel Lynch will also lose theirs. What Arthur did to Mia will come back to haunt him in this elections.
the DLP is the only political group that has sought since the death of Errol Barrow to sacrifice the salaries of public servants at the bottom of the salary scale. they did it in the 1990s AFTER Sandiford had given his cabinet, Permanent Secretaries, Heads of Depts and Directors a huge wage increase, calling it a salary adjustment. four months following, he introduced a wage cut of 8% across the board which obviously affected those at the bottom and in no way touch those at the top.. the BLP won the elections in 1994, Arthur returned the 8% wage cut. the DLP won the elections in 2008. Thomspon cautioned that he was looking into wage increase and denied that he will give the public servants a wage freeze. yet in 2011 Freundel, his cabinet, PSs, Dep PSs, Heads of Depts and Directors got salary increases with back pay retroactive 2007, it was again called a salary adjustment. a Director who would be at the bottom of those at the top got $25,000 back pay, u could imagine how much then the PM, Cabinet, Permanent Secretaries etc would have gotten. while that was going on Ronald Jones was pleading with teachers not to push for a salary increase and Sicnkler was doing the same, since ‘the economy cannot accommodate it.
Public servants at the bottom have not gotten a salary increase since 2008. with all the untruths mixed with truths about the public service, it is no wonder that no one cares about that group that is often abused verbally. the DLP will understand the public servant’s level of anger and frustration on Feb 21. yes, the economy is in shambles but the DLP made it worse.
1) bragging about giving free busfare to children who totally abuse the system, giving free houses to those who do not contribute and have no intention of contributing to the system,
2)spending vast amount of money on summer camps
3) NOW THOSE SINGLE PARENTS, WILL BE ALLOCATED $200 PER CHILD PER MONTH FOR FOUR MONTHS, IF THE FATHER DOES NOT PAY CHILD SUPPORT. IN THE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES, DNA TESTS ARE DONE TO CONFIRM PATERNITY, IF THE PARTICULAR INDIVIDUAL IS THE FATHER, WITHOUT HIS SAY SO, HIS SALARY IS GARNISHED. THE COURT CARES LESS ABOUT HOW MUCH BILLS HE CLAIMS HE HAS TO PAY, AND MORE ABOUT HOW MUCH WILL BE TAKEN FROM HIS SALARY FOR HIS CHILDREN, BUT NO IN BARBADOS, THE DLP DID A VERY BACKWARD MOVE, INSTEAD OF PAYING FOR DNA TESTING, WHICH IS MUCH CHEAPER, AND IF CONFIRM , GARNISH THE FATHER’S SALARY FORTHWITH, THEY WENT THE MORE EXPENSIVE ROUTE AND WILL TAKE IT FROM OUR TAXES
As it stands right now, those fathers who have to pay child support are probably smiling to themselves, knowing that if they do not pay, the country will do the job.
AND THEY CALL THAT DEVELOPMENT
the rich do not need assistance, the poor gets it and the those in the middle who contribute have an income so they cannot be considered for any kind of hand outs. why could they not introduce some kind of financial assistance to those in the middle who ALWAYS make the ultimate sacrifice? we are not begging but if the DLP can willy nilly give houses to those who could care less about themselves why could they not introduce some kind of programme where the middle class could benefit? Barbados is the only country in the world where the middle class is punished for being middle class and the poor is rewarded for being poor. if it continues like this, i imagine that some weak person will purposely put themselves on the borders of poverty to get that house that they have been denied. nothing wrong with assisting the poor but for heaven sakes, stop robbing the middle class
Smooth Chocolate; Boss post again.
http://epaper.barbadostoday.bb//launch.aspx?eid=23009217-5ad2-4f04-a21c-9e4b6ef458bc
I cannot believe that in this 21st century, when so many businesses are being closed down in Barbados and employees are sent home that the ruling party, DLP could actually claim as their road to fame the folowing:
1. a refurished cafeteria at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital
2. a refurbished post office at Oistins, christ church
3. AN IMPROVED ROUNDABOUT AT WARRENS
4. A NEW BLOCK AT PARKINSON SECONDARY SCHOOL
5. A walk-over at the Pine
6 High rise housing (how many in these housing are fully employed, how many are illegals, how many are unemployed?)
if that is what is coded as development for the 5 years they were in control of this island’s resources, then that is a total embarrassment to anyone looking on.
Four Seasons is still a mess after Minister Sinckler took $60 million from the NIS and GAVE it to that company. that money could have been better invested.
DO NOT BRAG ABOUT CRAP THAT COST POSSIBLY UNDER $20 MILLION WHEN YOU LITERALLY GAVE AWAY $60 MILLION OF THE PEOPLE’S MONEY YOU CLAIM YOU CARE ABOUT. that is only one wastage.
My God you could have done better than that
@Smooth Chocolate | February 18, 2013 at 7:53 PM |
” Barbados is the only country in the world where the middle class is punished for being middle class and the poor is rewarded for being poor.”
i did not see the original blog but this is fantastic and so accurate, i was in recent discussion with a medical doctor who has been living here for about 20 years and his diagnosis is the same. it boggles our minds that the middle class in Barbados do not benefit from any taxes they are contributing. something is wrong when a party could take over the reigns of an island and in the face of recession, hand out houses to those who refuse to contribute, put illegals in government rental units and yes it actually happens. I know of young employed Barbadians working for salaries up $2,600 monthly, who had applied for a rental unit and was denied only to discover that illegals were given keys…check Country Towers, St. Michael
it looks to me that this government relishes the desire to finance those who will not give back and yes, punish those who have the ability to contribute. sad times in Barbados
RESTORATION MINISTRIES
COVENANT LIFE
NEW DIMENSIONS
STUPSE,STUPSE. U FAH REAL
@SMOOTH CHOCOLATE
Tell me where i can find the information that PS’s got a salary increase, aprt from the 10 percent public officers got when the new administration came to power. David Thompson was advised against the magnitude of the increase.
R u aware that there were post that were considered related and hence because of the relativity, there had to be adjustments, for example, u had some postion where Heads were in the S4 Grades and there was a need to move them to the S3, thats why some postions were adjusted. someone like u should know better, but then again, why am I surprised about ur logic.
@Garden Beer
u r froth now, r u?